About BOKA Restaurant + Bar

1010 First Avenue
Seattle, WA 98104
View Larger Map

At BOKA our menus feature ingredients from local fishers, farmers and ranchers that are guided by the principles of sustainability. Our wine list features an eclectic selection of wines, with a focus on the Northwest. We strive to create, through food, beverage and service, an unforgettable experience in a beautifully designed, cozy and comfortable atmosphere."

BOKA is a vibrant, communal blend of lounge, bar and restaurant. Sleek, contemporary design is infused with a menu of urban American food, handcrafted cocktails, and a wine list reflecting a heavy Northwest influence. Meal services include breakfast, lunch, cocktail hour, dinner, late night, weekend brunch and seasonal patio dining.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Organic, Northwest

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Friday 6:30am-11:00am
Lunch: Monday - Friday 11:00am-2:30pm
Happy Hour: 2:30pm-6:00pm. 7 days
Dinner: Mon-Sun 5pm-close

Brunch: Saturday - Sunday 8:00am-2:30pm

Studio 1000 is open for Hotel 1000 and BOKA guests, and can also be reserved for private events.

Cross Street:
Madison

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(206) 357-9000

Website:
http://www.bokaseattle.com/

Entertainment:
Follow us on Twitter for the latest news.

twitter.com/bokarestaurant


Parking Details:
Valet parking is complimentary when you dine at BOKA. With a $15 minimum purchase parking is free for up to 3 hours.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Check our events page for ongoing and special events http://www.bokaseattle.com/events.aspx

Private Dining

Our Studio 1000 is a perfect place for your private dinner or cocktail event. Up to 30 for dinner and 40 for cocktails, the Studio provides a contemporary, sleek, urban haven for your private event.

BOKA Restaurant + Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.6

service

4.1

ambience

4.0

value

3.4

noise

Moderate

74% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (8)
Modern Decor (6)
Creative Cuisine (5)
See All
Romantic (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Business Meals (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Special Occasion (3)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
People Watching (3)
Healthy (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Cozy (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Good for a Date (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Seasonal (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Organic (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Family Style (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sort By:
S
1000 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined 3 days ago

Very disappointing this time around. I've dined here many times before. I always ordered their grilled cheese and tomato soup. It was the best. Noticed it was being made differently so decided I'd give the new version a try. It was terrible. The flavors didn't really jive. There was an apple compote in the grilled cheese and the brioche bread was burnt. I was surprised they brought it out so apparently burnt. I was pressed for time and really hungry, so I didn't send it back. The flavors really didn't go well together at all, and I'm sure the burnt bread didn't help. The tomato soup was pretty tasteless. Not worth $17.00. I will say however, the service was great.

I would still come here for their cocktails, as their bar is pretty cool. I won't come back for the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value1

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Good restaurant. We came in for breakfast since we weren't impressed with the one offered at our hotel. The food was good, not great but it was good experience and I would go again.

Tags: Quick Bite, Modern Decor, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The setting and the atmosphere was just right for what I was looking for.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Boka offers a short but delightful menu of excellent choices (we were there for lunch). We had the Boka burger and the Black bean burger. Both were very good--loved the cheese on the burger! The fries are crisp and salty. My only comment is that the portions are large--no way could we (two women) eat that much. Can you offer the same selection only in a "lunch" sized portion?

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Nice ambiance, friendly staff, great food. Went for an early Valentines Day Lunch and loved it!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Food is always great, but $6.00 for tea is insane. One is better off having alcohol. I've always had great serve there, but our waitress was super flat and distracted this time. I'm coming back on 2/22. I hope it's better then.

Tags: Casual, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 2, 2017

very overpriced,very overpriced,very overpriced,very overpriced

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value1

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 2, 2017

We love BOKA - great vibe, food and service!! A wonderful place to celebrate

Tags: Late-night Find, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 28, 2017

I loved the cool atmosphere! Lighting was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 22, 2017

the signature drinks were fantastic. my food was good, but not spectacular, and not warm enough for me... there was not a large crowd, and it came out to the table right away, so I'm not sure what the problem was.. it wasn't cool enough for me to complain about, but would have been much better hot. I would try them again if convenient to my schedule and location

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 15, 2017

BOKA has been one of my favorite restaurants for years and they never disappoint. Our server was always attentive, friendly, willing to provide suggestions and always aware of what our table of 10 might need. The food is always delicious, the place is a delight, and my friends who had not gone before have vowed to return on their own. I was pleasantly surprised at their handcrafted cocktails!

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Happy Hour, Organic, Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 14, 2017

This is hotel bar with paper menus. Fiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiilllllllllllllerrrrrrrr.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 8, 2017

We stayed at Hotel 1000, and loved it. What we were extremely disappointed in was BOKA, the restaurant associated with the Hotel. We had dinner Saturday night 1/7, and then breakfast again on 1/8. Our server on Saturday night should not be in the customer service industry. We had to wait 15 minutes to get our drinks that we ordered after waiting for 10 minutes at our table to even place our drink order. I finally flagged down a suit and tie wearing employee and asked if he could send our server over so we could put our food order in. He ended up taking our order and finally our drinks showed up. Cobb salad with steak left much to be desired, but the burger was tasty.

The next morning for breakfast we were met with a sullen bartendress, who stalked around, obviously not happy with her job, and made us some bloody mary's and then put in our food order at 9:05 a.m. Our food finally came out at 9:50 a.m. We asked a few times about the status, as one of us had a flight, and the response was that they were busy in the kitchen. Finally we were able to get her to check on our order, and begrudgingly she did. She said there were still a few tables ahead of us. Just a note, the restaurant was not even 50% full, and we were the only two sitting at the bar. Breakfast ended up being on the cold side and not very tasty.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value3

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 8, 2017

I made a reservation for 12 people for a gals celebration night. The tables were ready when we got there and our server greeted us immediately to take drink orders. Our server, Stephanie, was quick to make great recommendations on food and wine. We loved our meals from appetizers to dessert. She was very accommodating and GREAT with our large group and truly made things easy. I'll definitely think of BOKA for other occasions. Oh, and the Seahawks were on that night. The TVs were easy to see from where we were so us 12s could watch and cheer on our team. Thank you Stephanie and thank you BOKA!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Casual, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 1, 2017

I can't remember the name of the person who served us but she was excellent and paid attention to every detail.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Overpriced New Year's Eve dinner, food was mediocre at best, there's a reason why we were some of the only people in the restaurant!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value1

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 26, 2016

The venison was fabulous! Usually do not expect much from restaurants on Xmas eve, but his was great!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Great downtown location. Felt high class, but very reasonably priced.

Tags: Casual, Outstanding Value, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 9, 2016

great at customizing our order to suit our dietary needs

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 9, 2016

I love BOKA, I generally go there every few months, and recommend it often. The Bear burger is AMAZING, best veggie burger in the city. Also tried the lamb fries for the first time, they were phenomenal.

Tags: Casual, People Watching, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 30, 2016

We enjoyed the Beet and Caesar salads. The cup of tomato soup tasted great but the serving size was maybe 5 ounces and the $8.00 Truffle Fries (normally light golden in color) were brown and overcooked. Our server even made a comment that the truffle fries were overcooked but she did not offer a new order and there was no adjustment on our bill. I will give them another try but the new menu and the serving sizes appear to be too scaled down.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Got family together for a birthday brunch and chose Boca primarily for its location but had a nice brunch experience with excellent service. I did feel that the Mushroom Omelette lacked inspiration, just a single type of mushroom and not nicely sliced, but the overall experience waqs very good.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We were looking for a traditional Thanksgiving meal that offered choices for diners who did not want to eat turkey, and BOKA fit the bill. The white meat was moist and too plentiful to eat all of it, and the dark meat was very flavorful, cooked very well. The tradition sides and the tasty deserts topped off the meal perfectly. The fine restaurant is all it promises.

Tags: Family Style, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Great food! Can't go wrong

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Super nice staff; nice low noise level for conversation; awesome free valet parking; perfect place for pre-Sounders dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Met a former colleague for lunch. Great place for location and the food is very good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 11, 2016

I like Boka because of it's location (close to the ferry), it's good food, and the fact that it is quiet. I note that you have "energetic" as the opposite of "quiet" . I call "noisy" the opposite of "quiet" -- and noisy ruins a conversation for me.

Tags: Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Service is always great here. Very nice accommodating wait staff. The free valet parking is a big incentive for me to come here as a quick meet up spot.

The food could use some major improvement... the Cobb salad was underdressed and the mushroom fettuccini was bland (considering I like my food not very salty that means it's pretty bland). I've had happy hour food here which has been fine but I wouldn't come here for dinner again.

The cocktails are always spot on here so all good in the alcohol department.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 31, 2016

Food was good. Selection seemed limited compared to months ago. Service was great. Our waitress was very attentive.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 19, 2016

My wife and took advantage of Boka's Seattle Restaurant Week menu. All three courses were superb. We especially liked the smoked salmon sashimi appetizer. Mark, our server, was attentive without being intrusive. Very willing get answers from the kitchen about ingredient and preparation questions we posed.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Always the best place to meet for brunch before Seahawks games. Valet parking and easy stroll to the stadium make this our chosen place for many years now.

Service and food are always the best!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Casual, Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Loved the Croque(sp) Madame sandwich on the brunch menu.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 13, 2016

The meal started out fine, with an attentive and patient server allowing the two of us, who had not seen each other in 20 years, to get reacquainted. An ice tea fan, I asked if the restaurant brewed its own tea, and he assured me that they did. What he did not tell me is that coffee grounds had also shared the same brewing equipment and distinct coffee taste was evident in the tea. (Fortunately I always carry my own, and he did not object to bringing a glass of ice for me.)

Then the food came. Each of us had ordered two small courses, but he brought it all at once. For my guest, who ordered soup and salad, this might have been acceptable. For me, with soup and a hot appetizer, it was not. I was clearly taken aback, but the server did not offer to remove one and re-fire it later.

I have been there once before, for the equivalent of a burger. A simple order might be fine.

I had invited this person to one of my regular places but her preference was for somewhere near her office. I go to new places with good friends to try them out before attempting to bring dates or prospective clients: this lunch is an example of why I do.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Food is yummy and fun cocktails!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Delicious! A great choice for dinner, the food was impressive and the wait staff was wonderful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 25, 2016

We used to come here before every afternoon Seahawks game. The service used to be great, loved out servers, now, they're okay. Pricing is out of control now. Wine is way over priced and a CUP of coffee was $6. Completely unacceptable. Unfortunately, we won't be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value1

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 15, 2016

BOKA is the restaurant for the hotel we stayed in, Hotel 1000. We had our first Seattle meal here, after flying in from NYC, and it was decent, and somewhat innovative. The breakfasts were better, where we found healthy, and preferably plainer fare. Service was acceptable.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 11, 2016

Boka was one of our go-to places for pre-Seahawks brunch. It had good food, good location and a nice parking package. But this last Sunday was the last time we will go. The food is still pretty good, but the service has hit an all-time low. While our reservation was ready when we walked in, what should have been no longer than an hour for brunch, ended up taking almost 2 hours. Our waitress began with a snarky remark and then caught herself and tried making up for it the rest of the time. It took forever to get some eggs and not all of our meals arrived together -- a couple were up to 10 minutes after the first ones. All in all, we were really disappointed. We literally had to run to make the kick-off. Bummer, since there aren't many great places to go pre-game.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on September 11, 2016

Went to BOKA last year while visiting Seattle & it was quite good. This time not so much there was hardly anyone there at 7pm on a Saturday night that should have been a sign The black cod was dry & over salted I'm not sure if it was really black cod.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 10, 2016

I wasn't impressed, came for bottomless mimosas for a birthday brunch celebration. Learned they did away with that option sad. The food was bland not enough selection for brunch. I guess I found the server a little short, curt/ rude. Didn't seem friendly our eager to ask question my large party had (11). Again, this was not a good bday choice. The ambiance was nice!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 29, 2016

average food and nothing special in the surroundings or service. Just adequate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 12, 2016

The crab fettuccine was very good. The scallops were great, but not good value for money at all. The best part of our meal was the cheese and charcuterie plate. The restaurant was noisy. The service was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 11, 2016

I have eaten at BOKA several times and generally it is pretty good. The last time we went, however, the service was dreadful. Our waiter was really slow and did not even take our order for about 15 minutes after we were seated. This is not acceptable for a lunch in downtown Seattle.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 10, 2016

Boka is consistently a great go-to lunch spot. Great food and service!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 23, 2016

BOKA really lacked in the service department. While all the staff were nice and pleasant (gaining them an extra star), this was one of the slowest services we experienced as regular restaurant diners. The food is edible, but I don't think that should be the standard for a restaurant to go by, purely edible food. As is common with hotel restaurants, the menu is unoriginal and boring and everything is very overpriced. Would return to drink or with a menu revamp.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 20, 2016

I was a disappointed in the service and food here at Boka. I have gone here since I moved to Seattle from Chicago 10 years ago and I rarely have I been upset or disappointed with its food and service. However, this time around, service was lagging (we waited 15 minutes after my friend arrived) to get our orders in and the waitress kept checking if our bill was ready to be paid (how rude!). Food-wise - the good-tasting food that was once offered (like the Blackened Salmon Tostata) was reduced to sandwiches with no flavor yet prices raised. That is very disappointing. The only thing that saved the meal was the truffle fries which we paid extra for. It will take a lot for me to return back here and that is very sad to me.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value2

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 19, 2016

We had great service. My colleague is very picky and our wait person went out of his way to accommodate her every need. The restaurant is lovely, the food selection varied and the quality excellent. I wish they had more gluten free options, but I would say that about most restaurants. From the hostess to the valet, everyone is well trained and courteous. Bathrooms rock.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 13, 2016

Our experience was incredibly disappointing. We had a reservation for 3 people and were still asked to wait 10-15 minutes for our table. Then when we were shown to our table it wasn't large enough for 3 people to sit comfortably. Incidentally I noticed several other large tables with only two diners at them.

Once we moved to a larger table, service was very slow. We were sitting outside and felt like we were mostly forgotten.

Finally, we ordered a cup of coffee for the end of the meal (with a long wait) and it was $6.00 for a cup of coffee. This is absolutely ridiculous.

While the food was fine (nothing special) - I would not return nor recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on June 6, 2016

Took a few clients for lunch here as we were staying across the street at the Alexis. Outside seating was great, plenty of shade and spacious enough for our group. Waitress was fantastic and answered all our questions about the menu. Well priced for the value.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 6, 2016

I love BOKA for brunch before games and especially for lunch meetings. I heard Hotel 1000 is now Lowes and that BOKA will be no more. I hope that the wonderful staff and food which is always great are not lost under the new restaurant theme.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.