About BOKA Restaurant + Bar

1010 First Avenue
Seattle, WA 98104
View Larger Map

"At BOKA our menus feature ingredients from local fishers, farmers and ranchers that are guided by the principles of sustainability. Our wine list features an eclectic selection of wines from around the world, with a focus on the Northwest. We strive to create, through food, beverage and service, an unforgettable experience in a beautifully designed, cozy and comfortable atmosphere."

-Executive Chef,Roach Kerri



BOKA is a vibrant, communal blend of lounge, bar and restaurant. Sleek, contemporary design is infused with a menu of urban American food, handcrafted cocktails, and a wine list reflecting a heavy Northwest influence. Meal services include breakfast, lunch, cocktail hour, dinner, late night, weekend brunch and seasonal patio dining.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Organic, Northwest

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Friday 6:30am-11:00am
Lunch: Monday - Friday 11:00am-2:30pm
Happy Hour: 2:30pm-6:00pm & 9:30pm - close. 7 days
Dinner: Mon-Sun 5pm-close

Brunch: Saturday - Sunday 8:00am-2:30pm

Studio 1000 is open for Hotel 1000 and BOKA guests, and can also be reserved for private events.

Cross Street:
Madison

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(206) 357-9000

Website:
http://www.bokaseattle.com/

Entertainment:
Follow us on Twitter for the latest news.

twitter.com/bokarestaurant

twitter.com/bokachef

Parking Details:
Valet parking is complimentary when you dine at BOKA. With a $15 minimum purchase parking is free for up to 3 hours.

Executive Chef:
Peter Birk

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Check our events page for ongoing and special events http://www.bokaseattle.com/events.aspx

Restaurant Photos

Promotions

Scratch Bloody Marys all day, all weekend $8

Saturdays and Sundays from 8:00 AM - 2:30 PM

Bottomless Bubbles $10 all day Saturday and Sunday

Saturdays and Sundays from 8:00 AM - 2:30 PM

COMPLIMENTARY VALET PARKING when you dine at BOKA

Special valid Apr 23, 2016 - Jul 23, 2016 all week from 6:30 AM - 11:30 PM

Promotions

Scratch Bloody Marys all day, all weekend $8

Saturdays and Sundays from 8:00 AM - 2:30 PM

Details
Scratch Bloody Marys $8 all weekend. Not valid on Seahawks Gamedays or Holidays. Excludes Tax and Tip. Excludes holidays and Seahawks home games. Special valid Apr 23, 2016 - Jul 23, 2016 on Saturdays and Sundays from 8:00 AM - 2:30 PM.
Bottomless Bubbles $10 all day Saturday and Sunday

Saturdays and Sundays from 8:00 AM - 2:30 PM

Details
Bottomless Bubbles $10 all day Saturday and Sunday, excludes holidays and Seahawk Sundays. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Apr 23, 2016 - Jul 23, 2016 on Saturdays and Sundays from 8:00 AM - 2:30 PM.
COMPLIMENTARY VALET PARKING when you dine at BOKA

Special valid Apr 23, 2016 - Jul 23, 2016 all week from 6:30 AM - 11:30 PM

Details
Enjoy free valet parking when you dine at BOKA. not valid on Seahawk game days or holidays. Excludes Tax and Tip. Receive up to 3 free hours. Must spend a minimum of $15. Special valid Apr 23, 2016 - Jul 23, 2016 all week from 6:30 AM - 11:30 PM.

Private Dining

Our Studio 1000 is a perfect place for your private dinner or cocktail event. Up to 30 for dinner and 50 for cocktails, the Studio provides a contemporary, sleek, urban haven for your private event.

BOKA Restaurant + Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

4

ambience

4.2

noise

Moderate

81% would recommend it to a friend

great for lunch (20)
fit for foodies (17)
neighborhood gem (14)
See All
special occasion (11)
good for groups (10)
romantic (8)
great for brunch (7)
hot spot (6)
vibrant bar scene (6)
great for outdoor dining (4)
late-night find (3)
notable wine list (3)
kid-friendly (2)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
886 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Great for a Business Lunch

Dined 6 days ago

Great restaurant for a business lunch. Always a table available and the food is always consistently good. My only complaint was that I ordered a cup of soup as an appetizer and it came together with the meal. I hate it when they do that.

Tags: great for lunch
food2
ambience2
service3

This is a very average restaurant with v ...

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

This is a very average restaurant with very average food. Staff is very nice.

food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Our waitress was not very informed about ...

vip
Dined on April 26, 2016

Our waitress was not very informed about the food when questions were asked. I also had to ask for my receipt as it was not returned with my change--it had to be retrieved from the trash.

food2
ambience3
service1
value1

Easter was okay

Dined on March 27, 2016

First let me start out by saying that place is so cute. We all arrived about 20 min before our original time and the hostess sat us quickly which I loved. The food was sub par. everyone's food was kind of cold. and we waited for a long time for our order when the place wasn't busy at all. They had on the menu that they serve bottomless mimosas during the weekends ( the main reason I booked the place) to only be told when we arrived and ordered our drinks that they don't do that on holidays. Which I wish they would have posted on their website or even change their menu's for the day. Because at the bottom on the menu that all of us received stated Bottomless - $10. I just wish the experience was a little better due to it being a holiday and having someone from out of town with us.

food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Mehh

Dined on March 23, 2016

Have to say not impressed, was like a typically run hotel restaurant event though it most likely isn't. Fish tacos had small pieces of fish in them and were cold. Roasted Tomato soup was flavorless. Could have had a better lunch at Blue Water Taco.

food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Great service. A nice place for lunch.

Dined on March 21, 2016

The service was great. The ambience was great. The food was good.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Another good surprise In Seattle

vip
Dined on March 18, 2016

I hit Boka with a local friend on a good night - St. Pat's. It was sparsely populated and quiet so we could easily catch up with each other. The casual food was good and the service was excellent. They said it can be noisy when there are parties or sports events, so I would call in advance if you want a quiet place. It was within walking distance of my hotel and I had expected so-so food. It was much better than that and there was LOTS of it. Had the fish tacos and could not eat anything else.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Boka gets a 10

vip
Dined on March 11, 2016

Had not been to Boka before but been by it a few times so decided to try for a business lunch and was very happy I did. Great location for downtown and they even valet park if you need it. Menu is terrific and server was super, professional, friendly, responsive. Enjoyed everything and will not hesitate to return for lunch or dinner. Highly recommend! Boka gets a 10.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Best burger in Seattle. Bonus is the inc ...

vip
Dined on March 6, 2016

Best burger in Seattle. Bonus is the included garlic truffle fries. Also one's the most original desserts I've had in a long time. Gorgeous restaurant and bar. Extra bonus...free valet pkg for dinner patrons.

food3
ambience3
service4
value4

Friendly staff and tasty food

Dined on February 24, 2016

We enjoyed the cheese curd appetizer. My burger, though cooked more than I ordered, was very good. I would definitely go back.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service

Dined on February 18, 2016

Lunch at Boka is comfortable and always tasty. Tracey, out server, was great!!!

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Valentine's Day

Dined on February 15, 2016

My wife and I had a very nice meal and experience here for Valentine's Day 2016. The food was delicious and our server was perfectly attentive.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5

Love the lights and interior of the rest ...

vip
Dined on February 14, 2016

Love the lights and interior of the restaurant. Service was fantastic and food was great!

food3
ambience5
service5
value5

Noisy and food was ok

Dined on February 5, 2016

Restaurant noise level is too high! Ssh!! I am all for someone having a fun time but when people are heckling so loud I can hear who I am talking too it's an issue. Staff was great, but it would have been nice to have them talk to each other. Kept on being asked for water when we just had our cups filled up and then someone brought us a bottle of water....well we were done with our dinner by then. At least that should have been given at the beginning of our dinner. Overall noise level was way too noisy. Most likely won't come back because of this. Additionally your Boka burger has zero flavor to it. Even added an egg and bacon, still tasteless.

Tags: late-night find
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Please update your menu

vip
Dined on February 1, 2016

Menu needs to be updated. Food selections are minimal. This restaurant has changed in the last few years. There isn't anything on the current menu I would come back for. Nor would I recommend this restaurant to a friend until the menu changes.

food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Great Find Downtown

Dined on January 25, 2016

The food was very good, mix of comfort food (fried chicken) and the unusual (scotch egg and Drunken Monkey dessert). Service could have been a little more attentive but not major problem. Would definitely go back.)

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Veggies

Dined on January 23, 2016

We had some great vegetable dishes here! Flavorful, fresh, innovative flavors

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Best Meal Yet at BOKA

vip
Dined on January 12, 2016

My wife and I have been to BOKA several times. Though we generally liked it, it was never among the top restaurants in Seattle. This time, however, it was as good as it gets. We are both vegetarians and greatly appreciated the various choices offered to us. Every dish was superb, flavored exquisitely and subtly. The roasted cauliflower with yoghurt harissa and the ricotta gnudi were particularly noteworthy, but the kale salad and roasted beets were also quite wonderful. Our only minor complaint was with the artisinal cheese which, though only $7 was a bit skimpy. I would rather them charge more and provide more cheese. It was nicely adorned with crackers, walnuts and strawberries. The service was very friendly and efficient--we were well cared for. It was nice to see BOKA progress to the big leagues, and we hope that they continue.

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience4
service4

Came for brunch and it was very good. La ...

vip
Dined on January 9, 2016

Came for brunch and it was very good. Large servings and a good selection of choices. Cool location on first ave. can be a bit expensive depending on what you buy. But the food was very very good.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic first time experience! Food wa ...

vip
Dined on January 5, 2016

Fantastic first time experience! Food was great & service was phenomenal! We will go back again for special occasions...

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, late-night find
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Handy downtown location

Dined on January 1, 2016

If you are attending SAM, it is a great alternative to the TASTE restaurant for brunch or lunch. Good choices, well prepared and good service.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

For 12/31 BOKA only had $75 prix fixe dinner

Dined on January 1, 2016

For 12/31 BOKA only had $75 prix fixe dinner and did not offer standard dinner menu. This was not known when I made dinner reservation through OpenTable. So we left BOKA and dined elsewhere. The 2 stars are for OpenTable (and perhaps for BOKA) for not making the $75 dinner explicitly known on the web page. I could not skip the star rating for making this review.

food1
ambience3
service5
value1

Service was great;the food left much to be desired

Dined on December 26, 2015

Portions were very small and the food tasted like it was reheated frozen food- I might as well have brought a lean cuisine. Nothing came out of the kitchen hot. For the price, it was not worth it. Although it was Christmas, so this might not be an issue on normal days.

food5
ambience4
service5

A Favorite Spot

vip
Dined on December 14, 2015

BOKA has become my go-to business lunch location. The food is accessible and creative at the same time and the willingness to change the menu and add/remove items ensures that making it a repeat spot will never be a mistake. The wait staff is incredibly engaging and willing to either engage with - or put up with, I can never tell - a bit of humor to make the dining experience more enjoyable. I highly recommend BOKA and will continue to come back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
food4
ambience3
service4

Quiet on Sunday Night

vip
Dined on December 14, 2015

We went to celebrate a birthday on a Sunday night. The reviews were very positive and we had never been before so decided to try it out. It is located in the Hotel 1000 downtown. The decor seemed hip and trendy with walls that are backlight that cycle through cool colors. We were at a booth and the light effects were not overwhelming. There were less than 10 tables in the restaurant filled and the place felt kind of dead which was disappointing. Aside from that, the service was very good and the food was quite good too but slightly pricey which seems typical for hotel restaurants.

Tags: romance
food5
ambience3
service5

Odd late night dining atmosphere

vip
Dined on December 13, 2015

BOKA has been our go to late night dining place after shows for several years now. As usual, the food was excellent - fish taco, mac 'n cheese, onion petals, toasted cheese sandwich and tomato soup - and the service provided by Danae was first rate! What made us uncomfortable was the fact that they turned the lights up high and began cleaning the restaurant and closing up for the evening while we were still there! When I asked about it, they indicated that they were closing earlier - not sure if just for that evening or forever. Either way, it made us feel unwanted and we won't likely be back, which is a shame. So few late night Open Table options in Seattle.

food2
ambience2
service1
value1

One of the worst dining experiences in m ...

Dined on November 26, 2015

One of the worst dining experiences in my 3 years living in Seattle. Restaurant opened at 2pm and our server announced she was taking her "break" less than 1 hour later. Disappointing service and mediocre meal. Terribly overpriced. Will not be returning.

food5
ambience4
service5

Best Chicken Sandwich Ever

Dined on November 25, 2015

Get the chicken sandwich. Then order another. It was really good. End of review.

Tags: great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5

Great service & great food.

Dined on November 19, 2015

Great service & great food.

food3
ambience3
service2

Went for a work lunch and the whole meal ...

vip
Dined on November 16, 2015

Went for a work lunch and the whole meal took longer than an hour, mostly spent waiting for food.

food3
ambience4
service4

Excellent tomato soup and grilled cheese ...

Dined on November 15, 2015

Excellent tomato soup and grilled cheese. Ceaser salad was very good and the fried smelts were a fantastic touch. My fish tacos were very disappointing. Completely lacking in taste and mushy

food4
ambience4
service5

Nice date night

Dined on October 30, 2015

DH and I went to BOKA on a Thursday night and were surprised that it wasn't packed, during Restaurant week to boot. We had a quiet romantic booth for 2. Our server was lovely and attentive. When DH didn't like his beer choice, she replaced it no questions asked. Our fish tacos and burger were good, not outstanding, but definitely nothing to complain about. Unpretentious, nice decor, good food and service.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

This place was perfect for meeting friends .

Dined on October 24, 2015

The staff was attentive and the menu had enough selections so that everyone could find something to like. Omelets are good as are the eggs benedict. Good for a small group.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion
food3
ambience3
service5

Lamb not up to par

Dined on October 23, 2015

The service was attentive because we came after the symphony so the afterwork crowd was dispersed. The salads were tasty as was the fish, but the lamb my husband ordered was mostly fat and not worth it. The lentils that came with the fish were not evenly cooked, some even very chewy. The only place in Seattle that knows how to cook lamb is Mr Gyros, a felafel gyros joint.

Tags: late-night find, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Best Pregame Seahawk Dining

Dined on October 5, 2015

Breakfast or Lunch, with an awesome Happy Hour, you can't beat the food, service and atmosphere. Very inexpensive valet parking just a few blocks walk from CenturyLink make Boka the place if you're a Seahawk fan going to the game.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch
food4
ambience5
service5

Great specialty cocktails

Dined on October 1, 2015

Stopped in for a late night bite. Enjoyed the fish tacos and fried cheese curds. Overall the cocktails were the greatest!

Tags: late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5

Boka is the Best

Dined on September 27, 2015

Been going there before every Seahawk game for years with my wife who passed away on August 1st from pancreatic cancer. Rachael, the hostess asked where my better half was and told her about losing her battle with cancer. At the end of our breakfast she graciously had compt our bill. What a surprise and I really nice thing to do. Obviously I will continue to go there before the games with other friends and family who really enjoy the great food and awesome service.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch
food3
ambience3
service4

Pre-Hawks game spot

vip
Dined on September 27, 2015

We've gone to BOKA for several years prior to Hawks games. Its a great location, has had a nice menu, fun atmosphere and offers valet parking for the brunch + game for $15! This last time was almost as good as all other times. The service is still great, everyone was in game spirits, but they've changed the menu. Its not as good. I know we're talking eggs and pancakes here, but they used to have some fun breakfast sandwiches and omelets on the menu that just aren't there anymore. Normally I look forward to brunch, the menu here just didn't do it for me. It might be time to find a new spot . . . bummer!

food4
ambience5
service5

Love the staff

Dined on September 27, 2015

We go before the morning Hawks games. Always happy when we get our favorite server, Diana, though we've enjoyed our experience with other servers as well. Food could be awful if service is great, fortunately, the food is good and there's always a reasonably priced bottle of wine to be had. Good music playing as well, just ads to the atmosphere and gives you a mental uptick before heading to the game. Must make reservations for Sunday mornings before games.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great for groups bcuz u order family sty ...

vip
Dined on September 13, 2015

Great for groups bcuz u order family style small plates! Taste everything & servers r so educated on menu. All fresh local produce so amazing for a foodie like me. I will revisit again. Love this place

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.