About BOKA Restaurant + Bar

1010 First Avenue
Seattle, WA 98104
View Larger Map

At BOKA our menus feature ingredients from local fishers, farmers and ranchers that are guided by the principles of sustainability. Our wine list features an eclectic selection of wines, with a focus on the Northwest. We strive to create, through food, beverage and service, an unforgettable experience in a beautifully designed, cozy and comfortable atmosphere."
Executive Chef,Roach Kerri

BOKA is a vibrant, communal blend of lounge, bar and restaurant. Sleek, contemporary design is infused with a menu of urban American food, handcrafted cocktails, and a wine list reflecting a heavy Northwest influence. Meal services include breakfast, lunch, cocktail hour, dinner, late night, weekend brunch and seasonal patio dining.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Organic, Northwest

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Friday 6:30am-11:00am
Lunch: Monday - Friday 11:00am-2:30pm
Happy Hour: 2:30pm-6:00pm. 7 days
Dinner: Mon-Sun 5pm-close

Brunch: Saturday - Sunday 8:00am-2:30pm

Studio 1000 is open for Hotel 1000 and BOKA guests, and can also be reserved for private events.

Cross Street:
Madison

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(206) 357-9000

Website:
http://www.bokaseattle.com/

Entertainment:
Follow us on Twitter for the latest news.

twitter.com/bokarestaurant


Parking Details:
Valet parking is complimentary when you dine at BOKA. With a $15 minimum purchase parking is free for up to 3 hours.

Executive Chef:
Kerri Roach

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Check our events page for ongoing and special events http://www.bokaseattle.com/events.aspx

Restaurant Photos

Smoked Trout Salad
Panzanella Salad
Maple Old Fashioned
Blazing Saddles
Black Mussels
Asparagus and Kale Salad
s'mores
Mac and Cheese
Grilled Cheese and Tomato Soup
Celery Root Soup With Smoked Pork Shoulder
Ahi Tuna Poke
Boka Burger
Mac and Cheese With Crispy Onions
s'more
Tot Fondue
Black & Blue
Rockfish Sandwich
Pan Seared Cod
Grilled Octopus Salad
"Double R" Ranch New York
Mussels
Onion Rings
Lotsa Alcohol
Duck Breast
Seared Ahi
Pretzel Bites
Cheese Plate
Brioche Donut Holes
Croissant French Toast
Tostones
Pulled Pork Sliders
Grilled Cheese Sandwich
Duck Pasta
Jasmine Vesper Martini
hot ham and cheese sandwich
Apple martini
warm Dungeness crab salad
Truffle Fries
Iced tea
Seafood Pasta
Mushroom soup
Grilled Sirloin Tips
bear burger
Apple Frittera With Bourbon Caramel Sauce
Burrata Crostini
Crispy Cauliflower And Olives With Harissa Aioli
Apple Fritter
Orange Dragon Sushi Roll
Deep Fried Apple Pie
Lamb Sausage "Zilla" style
Tomato Soup & Grilled Cheese Sandwich"
Ruben
Grilled Chicken And Brie Sandwich
Bacon burger
Vanilla Malt
Chickpea cakes
Buttermilk Pancakes With Fresh Berries
Corned Beef Hash and Eggs
Fried Razor Clams
Apple Of My Eye
Fish Taco
S'more Please

Private Dining

Our Studio 1000 is a perfect place for your private dinner or cocktail event. Up to 30 for dinner and 50 for cocktails, the Studio provides a contemporary, sleek, urban haven for your private event.

BOKA Restaurant + Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

3.8

ambience

4.1

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

78% would recommend it to a friend

great for lunch (17)
fit for foodies (11)
good for groups (9)
See All
neighborhood gem (8)
great for brunch (7)
great for outdoor dining (7)
special occasion (6)
romantic (5)
vibrant bar scene (4)
notable wine list (3)
hot spot (2)
late-night find (2)
kid-friendly (2)
scenic view (2)
Sort By:
Newest
894 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

BOKA really lacked in the service depart ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined 5 days ago

BOKA really lacked in the service department. While all the staff were nice and pleasant (gaining them an extra star), this was one of the slowest services we experienced as regular restaurant diners. The food is edible, but I don't think that should be the standard for a restaurant to go by, purely edible food. As is common with hotel restaurants, the menu is unoriginal and boring and everything is very overpriced. Would return to drink or with a menu revamp.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

I was a disappointed in the service and ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

I was a disappointed in the service and food here at Boka. I have gone here since I moved to Seattle from Chicago 10 years ago and I rarely have I been upset or disappointed with its food and service. However, this time around, service was lagging (we waited 15 minutes after my friend arrived) to get our orders in and the waitress kept checking if our bill was ready to be paid (how rude!). Food-wise - the good-tasting food that was once offered (like the Blackened Salmon Tostata) was reduced to sandwiches with no flavor yet prices raised. That is very disappointing. The only thing that saved the meal was the truffle fries which we paid extra for. It will take a lot for me to return back here and that is very sad to me.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value2

We had great service. My colleague is ve ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

We had great service. My colleague is very picky and our wait person went out of his way to accommodate her every need. The restaurant is lovely, the food selection varied and the quality excellent. I wish they had more gluten free options, but I would say that about most restaurants. From the hostess to the valet, everyone is well trained and courteous. Bathrooms rock.

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our experience was incredibly disappoint ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Our experience was incredibly disappointing. We had a reservation for 3 people and were still asked to wait 10-15 minutes for our table. Then when we were shown to our table it wasn't large enough for 3 people to sit comfortably. Incidentally I noticed several other large tables with only two diners at them.

Once we moved to a larger table, service was very slow. We were sitting outside and felt like we were mostly forgotten.

Finally, we ordered a cup of coffee for the end of the meal (with a long wait) and it was $6.00 for a cup of coffee. This is absolutely ridiculous.

While the food was fine (nothing special) - I would not return nor recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value1

Good for Business Lunch

 
 (Poconos)
·Dined on June 6, 2016

Took a few clients for lunch here as we were staying across the street at the Alexis. Outside seating was great, plenty of shade and spacious enough for our group. Waitress was fantastic and answered all our questions about the menu. Well priced for the value.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

BOKA changing

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 6, 2016

I love BOKA for brunch before games and especially for lunch meetings. I heard Hotel 1000 is now Lowes and that BOKA will be no more. I hope that the wonderful staff and food which is always great are not lost under the new restaurant theme.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great for a Business Lunch

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

Great restaurant for a business lunch. Always a table available and the food is always consistently good. My only complaint was that I ordered a cup of soup as an appetizer and it came together with the meal. I hate it when they do that.

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

This is a very average restaurant with v ...

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

This is a very average restaurant with very average food. Staff is very nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3

Our waitress was not very informed about ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on April 26, 2016

Our waitress was not very informed about the food when questions were asked. I also had to ask for my receipt as it was not returned with my change--it had to be retrieved from the trash.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

LOVED IT!! Everything here was amazing! ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on April 19, 2016

LOVED IT!! Everything here was amazing! Had the most fun server/bartender who made my experience great! Every dish was perfect and delicious. I will absolutely be back, and recommend this place highly. Great bar scene as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was ok. They overcharged my cre ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on April 6, 2016

The food was ok. They overcharged my credit card. I had to call repeatedly and they said they'd send me a check. (Why not just put it back on my credit card?) It's been 3 months and they've still not fixed my overcharge.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Easter was okay

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

First let me start out by saying that place is so cute. We all arrived about 20 min before our original time and the hostess sat us quickly which I loved. The food was sub par. everyone's food was kind of cold. and we waited for a long time for our order when the place wasn't busy at all. They had on the menu that they serve bottomless mimosas during the weekends ( the main reason I booked the place) to only be told when we arrived and ordered our drinks that they don't do that on holidays. Which I wish they would have posted on their website or even change their menu's for the day. Because at the bottom on the menu that all of us received stated Bottomless - $10. I just wish the experience was a little better due to it being a holiday and having someone from out of town with us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

Mehh

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on March 23, 2016

Have to say not impressed, was like a typically run hotel restaurant event though it most likely isn't. Fish tacos had small pieces of fish in them and were cold. Roasted Tomato soup was flavorless. Could have had a better lunch at Blue Water Taco.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Great service. A nice place for lunch.

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on March 21, 2016

The service was great. The ambience was great. The food was good.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Another good surprise In Seattle

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 18, 2016

I hit Boka with a local friend on a good night - St. Pat's. It was sparsely populated and quiet so we could easily catch up with each other. The casual food was good and the service was excellent. They said it can be noisy when there are parties or sports events, so I would call in advance if you want a quiet place. It was within walking distance of my hotel and I had expected so-so food. It was much better than that and there was LOTS of it. Had the fish tacos and could not eat anything else.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Boka gets a 10

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on March 11, 2016

Had not been to Boka before but been by it a few times so decided to try for a business lunch and was very happy I did. Great location for downtown and they even valet park if you need it. Menu is terrific and server was super, professional, friendly, responsive. Enjoyed everything and will not hesitate to return for lunch or dinner. Highly recommend! Boka gets a 10.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best burger in Seattle. Bonus is the inc ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on March 6, 2016

Best burger in Seattle. Bonus is the included garlic truffle fries. Also one's the most original desserts I've had in a long time. Gorgeous restaurant and bar. Extra bonus...free valet pkg for dinner patrons.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Friendly staff and tasty food

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on February 24, 2016

We enjoyed the cheese curd appetizer. My burger, though cooked more than I ordered, was very good. I would definitely go back.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

Great food and service

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on February 18, 2016

Lunch at Boka is comfortable and always tasty. Tracey, out server, was great!!!

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Valentine's Day

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

My wife and I had a very nice meal and experience here for Valentine's Day 2016. The food was delicious and our server was perfectly attentive.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Love the lights and interior of the rest ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Love the lights and interior of the restaurant. Service was fantastic and food was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Noisy and food was ok

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on February 5, 2016

Restaurant noise level is too high! Ssh!! I am all for someone having a fun time but when people are heckling so loud I can hear who I am talking too it's an issue.

Staff was great, but it would have been nice to have them talk to each other. Kept on being asked for water when we just had our cups filled up and then someone brought us a bottle of water....well we were done with our dinner by then. At least that should have been given at the beginning of our dinner.

Overall noise level was way too noisy. Most likely won't come back because of this.

Additionally your Boka burger has zero flavor to it. Even added an egg and bacon, still tasteless.

Tags: late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

Please update your menu

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on February 1, 2016

Menu needs to be updated. Food selections are minimal. This restaurant has changed in the last few years. There isn't anything on the current menu I would come back for. Nor would I recommend this restaurant to a friend until the menu changes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Great Find Downtown

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on January 25, 2016

The food was very good, mix of comfort food (fried chicken) and the unusual (scotch egg and Drunken Monkey dessert). Service could have been a little more attentive but not major problem. Would definitely go back.)

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Veggies

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on January 23, 2016

We had some great vegetable dishes here! Flavorful, fresh, innovative flavors

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Best Meal Yet at BOKA

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on January 12, 2016

My wife and I have been to BOKA several times. Though we generally liked it, it was never among the top restaurants in Seattle. This time, however, it was as good as it gets. We are both vegetarians and greatly appreciated the various choices offered to us. Every dish was superb, flavored exquisitely and subtly. The roasted cauliflower with yoghurt harissa and the ricotta gnudi were particularly noteworthy, but the kale salad and roasted beets were also quite wonderful. Our only minor complaint was with the artisinal cheese which, though only $7 was a bit skimpy. I would rather them charge more and provide more cheese. It was nicely adorned with crackers, walnuts and strawberries. The service was very friendly and efficient--we were well cared for. It was nice to see BOKA progress to the big leagues, and we hope that they continue.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Came for brunch and it was very good. La ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on January 9, 2016

Came for brunch and it was very good. Large servings and a good selection of choices. Cool location on first ave. can be a bit expensive depending on what you buy. But the food was very very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Fantastic first time experience! Food wa ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on January 5, 2016

Fantastic first time experience! Food was great & service was phenomenal! We will go back again for special occasions...

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Handy downtown location

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on January 1, 2016

If you are attending SAM, it is a great alternative to the TASTE restaurant for brunch or lunch. Good choices, well prepared and good service.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

For 12/31 BOKA only had $75 prix fixe dinner

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on January 1, 2016

For 12/31 BOKA only had $75 prix fixe dinner and did not offer standard dinner menu. This was not known when I made dinner reservation through OpenTable. So we left BOKA and dined elsewhere. The 2 stars are for OpenTable (and perhaps for BOKA) for not making the $75 dinner explicitly known on the web page. I could not skip the star rating for making this review.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Service was great;the food left much to be desired

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on December 26, 2015

Portions were very small and the food tasted like it was reheated frozen food- I might as well have brought a lean cuisine. Nothing came out of the kitchen hot. For the price, it was not worth it. Although it was Christmas, so this might not be an issue on normal days.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value1

A Favorite Spot

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on December 14, 2015

BOKA has become my go-to business lunch location. The food is accessible and creative at the same time and the willingness to change the menu and add/remove items ensures that making it a repeat spot will never be a mistake. The wait staff is incredibly engaging and willing to either engage with - or put up with, I can never tell - a bit of humor to make the dining experience more enjoyable. I highly recommend BOKA and will continue to come back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Quiet on Sunday Night

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on December 14, 2015

We went to celebrate a birthday on a Sunday night. The reviews were very positive and we had never been before so decided to try it out. It is located in the Hotel 1000 downtown. The decor seemed hip and trendy with walls that are backlight that cycle through cool colors. We were at a booth and the light effects were not overwhelming. There were less than 10 tables in the restaurant filled and the place felt kind of dead which was disappointing. Aside from that, the service was very good and the food was quite good too but slightly pricey which seems typical for hotel restaurants.

Tags: romance
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Odd late night dining atmosphere

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on December 13, 2015

BOKA has been our go to late night dining place after shows for several years now. As usual, the food was excellent - fish taco, mac 'n cheese, onion petals, toasted cheese sandwich and tomato soup - and the service provided by Danae was first rate! What made us uncomfortable was the fact that they turned the lights up high and began cleaning the restaurant and closing up for the evening while we were still there! When I asked about it, they indicated that they were closing earlier - not sure if just for that evening or forever. Either way, it made us feel unwanted and we won't likely be back, which is a shame. So few late night Open Table options in Seattle.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

One of the worst dining experiences in m ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on November 26, 2015

One of the worst dining experiences in my 3 years living in Seattle. Restaurant opened at 2pm and our server announced she was taking her "break" less than 1 hour later. Disappointing service and mediocre meal. Terribly overpriced. Will not be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

Best Chicken Sandwich Ever

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on November 25, 2015

Get the chicken sandwich. Then order another. It was really good. End of review.

Tags: great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great service & great food.

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on November 19, 2015

Great service & great food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Went for a work lunch and the whole meal ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on November 16, 2015

Went for a work lunch and the whole meal took longer than an hour, mostly spent waiting for food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

Excellent tomato soup and grilled cheese ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on November 15, 2015

Excellent tomato soup and grilled cheese. Ceaser salad was very good and the fried smelts were a fantastic touch. My fish tacos were very disappointing. Completely lacking in taste and mushy

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Nice date night

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on October 30, 2015

DH and I went to BOKA on a Thursday night and were surprised that it wasn't packed, during Restaurant week to boot. We had a quiet romantic booth for 2. Our server was lovely and attentive. When DH didn't like his beer choice, she replaced it no questions asked. Our fish tacos and burger were good, not outstanding, but definitely nothing to complain about. Unpretentious, nice decor, good food and service.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.