Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.28mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.28mi

About Boiler Room

A converted boiler room in the Bemis Bag building, built in 1896, The Boiler Room is an ingredient driven modern American/French restaurant. Chef Paul Kulik's menu changes daily to reflect local farm product availability. Now open six days a week for dinner, offering hand crafted cocktails and an extensive domaine driven Old World wine list.

1110 Jones St
Omaha, NE 68102
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Contemporary French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
11th and Jones

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(402) 916-9274

Website:
http://www.theboilerroomrestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Reserved street parking available immediately in front of the restaurant free of cost.

Executive Chef:
Paul Kulik

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Follow The Boiler Room Restaurant on Facebook to receive updates on our frequent wine dinners with great importers and winemakers!

Boiler Room Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (31)
Fit for Foodies (29)
Good for a Date (29)
See All
Special Occasion (25)
Open Kitchen (24)
Good for Anniversaries (24)
Creative Cuisine (24)
Handcrafted Cocktails (23)
Local Ingredients (21)
Notable Wine List (14)
Cozy (13)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Historic (11)
Business Meals (11)
Worth the Drive (11)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Authentic (8)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Modern Decor (7)
Hot Spot (6)
Bar Seating (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Healthy (4)
Fun (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Seasonal (2)
Comfort Food (2)
People Watching (2)
Organic (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Private Room (1)
Live Music (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Family Style (1)
Casual (1)
Scenic View (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sort By:
S
1173 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined 5 days ago

Have never had a bad experience and tonight was no different. Tim is the best server in the city.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined 6 days ago

Our server Anna was amazing! She really made the experience fabulous! Thank you!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Open Kitchen, Romantic, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Every bite tasted amazing and looked like a piece of art on the plate - we had 2 appetizers, 2 entrees and dessert. Also a great bottle of wine. Would highly recommend.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on March 27, 2017

Without a doubt one of Omaha's finest restaurant! The ambience is lovely and the food excellent. Drinks are amazing too!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Another amazing meal! I have never ordered anything bad at this restaurant, and never had bad service. Drinks are great too. I love that there is always something new every time we go.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 24, 2017

This was very romantic restaurant! Our waiter was excellent and so attentive. The menu was very limited, however what we did order arrived perfect! The roast pork loin was the best I've ever eaten. The wine selection was fabulous. We would definitely return!

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on March 14, 2017

The food was excellent, the vodka martini was perfect, but the experience was too rushed. There needs to be more to expand it. No soup, no salad. Just a cold piece of complementary bread. If you don't order an appetizer, it's entree, desert, and out the door in 45 minutes or less. If I'm spending over $150 for two, I expect more.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on March 12, 2017

We felt so special from the minute we walked in the door to the moment we said goodbye. Our server was personable and patient, taking time to explain ingredients and preparation. A wonderful experience for us!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Historic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Over priced with just ok service and food. We waited over 30 minutes to get out first drinks. In fairness, we were told they were busy but the two tables beside ours were empty. We are foodies who have eaten all over the world and we don't mind paying for good food and wine. The BR had been highly recommended and it just didn't live up to our expectations.

Tags: Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on March 10, 2017

The Boiler Room was highly disappointing in terms of service and the quality of the food served. When eating, our server tried bussing both our meal plates and cocktail glasses before we were finished. She was also very invasive during our time spent at her table. She was constantly rearranging the dishes in front of us and even asked us to move our hands so she could place a dish in a specific spot on the table. She would also move our drink glasses around. It was very strange and made for an uncomfortable experience. We were also less than pleased with the desert option. We couldn't even cut into the tart that we had ordered because it was so hard. We had to pick it up to bite it in order to eat it. The portions are very small, which is expected to be the case at a classier restaurant. Despite being delicious, the price is not reflective of its quality. I would not recommended this restaurant to fellow date night goers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Our first trip to this restaurant. After I made the reservation online I called to ask if they had valet and they told me no, to just park in front and come in and get a tag to put on windshield, which I did. I told them it was our first time here and this was a business dinner. He asked if we wanted to be in a quiet area away from everyone which I liked. Overall it was a great meal and experience. My business partner from NYC was even impressed.
Only complaint is the City of Omaha needs to put some attention to fixing the street out front.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on March 5, 2017

All the wait staff was great. Food and wine selection was great also.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Was disappointed in the service and quality of food. The waitress was apologetic, but surely, you can anticipate the number of diners you will have since there are reservations. The chicken entree was overdone. The sirloin was very underdone. There was an expansive wine list, but no cranberry if you wanted a cran vodka. Several people at our table were very uncomfortable with the chairs. We had a back corner table which was a bit isolated from everyone else. The only thing we could see was the kitchen below which added to the high temperatures in the restaurant. We chose this restaurant based on reviews and recommendations. We expected to pay high prices, but, also expected to get value and great service. The menu is limited, yet, again, another reason it should not take so long.
I wouldn't go back or recommend it to anyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Everybite was amazing! Plating presentation and table service was impressive. The pork belly app was deliciously paired with pickled shitaki mushrooms on a silky bed of potatoes. Whole fried cod was crispy buttered goodness.

My only negative was the slight pours on the wines. I was quite surprised by how little the glass was filled. For such a great job on every other detail, it truly was a glaring stand out. I only mention this to hopefully improve the pours so future diners may have a nice glass of wine with their amazing meal.

Tags: Historic, Open Kitchen, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on March 4, 2017

First class the entire night. From our host, Anthony welcoming us by name, to our waiter Evan taking care of everything. My wife and I were very impressed and will return as often as possible!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on February 26, 2017

The main course was perfect as it was last year when I visited this restaurant for the first time. So when I decided to take my girlfriend here again exactly a year later it was very disappointing. Our waiter truly made us feel unwelcome, we didn't order wine or even really get a chance to look at the wine menu and he rolled his eyes and took it with him when we said we would start with water. I asked for a suggestion and he just told me it doesn't matter how you do it really, honestly it felt like he didn't even want to be there and didn't want to be bothered with us. I understand he might do this all the time but its a special occasion for me I don't do this often and I would appreciate at least some fake enthusiasm and a fake smile over roling your eyes and just cutting everything short. Maybe it was just that last year's waiter set the bar so high making the experience next level. This year my waiter changed the way I see this restaurant for sure.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value2

vip
 (Omaha)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Been to Boiler Room many times. All but the last was incredible. Most recent visit, server was weak. Seven of us out for dinner. Forgot to put in first plates, I reminded him, and they came out with entrees. He was unable to describe our food when presented. He poured an Italian Barbera into my friends glass that was half full of Beaujolais. Did nothing to fix. Steak was super chewy and had little flavor. Salmon undercooked. I still love this restaurant, and will go back and recommend, but hope this was a fluke and not a sign of things to come!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 24, 2017

My husband and I enjoyed a wonderful dinner at the Boiler Room. It was a quiet night because it was raining and there was an impending snowstorm. We drank dirty martinis. My husband ordered the chicken confit entree and I had the barramundi entree. Both were well prepared and very tasty. For dessert, we chose a blood orange creme brûlée and a strawberry Napoleon. Our favorite was the creme brûlée. We had a nice view of the open kitchen and bar. We would highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Open Kitchen, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 22, 2017

Amazing food and super fun to watch the chefs do their thing. Server was a little patronizing/rude but easy to ignore when the food and ambiounce is so good :)

Tags: Special Occasion, Paleo Friendly, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 21, 2017

Service is always impeccable, staff is well trained on the menu and beverages on hand. Interesting wine selection available. Always love the ambiance there - especially with the new trend in restaurants that are too loud to hold a conversation.
I had the scallops appetizer, and unfortunately, they were incredibly over salted. The tile fish was super. Our guests were very pleased with their meals, so I'm thinking my scallops were a one off accident. I will definitely return.

Tags: Business Meals, Open Kitchen, Romantic, Historic, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on February 18, 2017

The Boiler Room is one of the finest restaurants in Omaha. From the environment to the professional wait staff, not detail is missed. The food is beyond amazing; some of the most unique and flavorful dishes you will find in this area. Above all else, the deserts were out of this world. I would recommend to anyone looking for an amazing place in downtown Omaha.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Romantic, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on February 17, 2017

It's as fabulous as billed. Great atmosphere, food and service at a fair price. I would highly recommend The Boiler Room.

Tags: Special Occasion, Historic, Good for a Date, Live Music, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Boiler Room is my favorite place for a special dinner. I am NEVER disappointed!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Boiler Room is always excellent. How many more letters to get to 50?

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The food was excellent and just the right amount. The Sea Bass was perfect, the best I've ever had. The Ribeye melted in your mouth. The cocktails were good, not your usual distillery's, just different from what I am use to. We went for Valentine's Day and they had a nice selection set up. Don't know if I will go again, a bit expensive for me, but I am glad we went. It was a very pleasurable experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on February 12, 2017

They didn't have the main dish or wine that we asked for. The menu was very limited to what they wanted to make that night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value4

vip
 (Omaha)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The food as always was outstanding. First time I have ever had slow service. Waiter did not know wine list recommendation as well as previous waiters.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Thanks to The Boiler Room for a lovely early Valentine's Day dinner!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Love the Boiler Room!! Always perfect, food, service and ambiance!

Tags: Healthy, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Cozy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Server was pretentious; told me they did not serve a particular variety of bourbon (basil hayden) and rudely asking if I really understood how manhattans are made. When our party (a business dinner) asked if any entrees were not to be missed, he told us he didn't know how to answer that and then just stared at us. It was hard to have an enjoyable meal with this level of arrogance from the server. The place was empty on a Thursday night at 7:00. Perhaps others have had the same kind of service and decided not to go back?

The food was quite good, but no salads of any kind on the menu and hard to get anything green. Good place for meateaters who like to be insulted!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Perfect, as usual. This is my wife and I's favorite fine dining in Omaha.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Seasonal, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Paleo Friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on February 5, 2017

The Food Was Truely Outstanding!! There were four us unfortunately two of the meals were brought out to table and it was ten to fifteen minutes before the other two were brought out!!

Tags: Romantic, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on February 4, 2017

I cannot remember not being able to eat a dinner, but it happened here. I travel through out the united states monthly and have to eat out often and i cannot remember eating red not pink but red pork. I cannot describe. Its that bad. I couldnt separate the sides and determine what they were. Just a bad experiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 2, 2017

As a foodie it can be tough finding great, interesting cuisine while traveling. The food here is GREAT and interesting! Pastrami butternut squash on the lamb belly dish was shockingly amazing. The bar has an amazing selection of European wine. Overall fantastic dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Food was good. Got seated an hour after our reservation time

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Exceptional. The table we requested, great wine list and help finding the perfect wine and amazing food!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on January 29, 2017

The Boiler Room is an amazing restaurant. The food is exceptional and absolutely unique. The service is impeccable. A little pricey for Omaha but the quality is as good as you will find anywhere in the US.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Organic, Romantic, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Our dinner was fantastic! The only negative was the carrot cake ... a totally new recipe is needed or removal from the selection. The cheese board was delicious...we just let the server decide the cheese. Grab the Boiler Room book and peruse after ordering. We were out for a celebration and quiet talk. It was a leisurely dinner and a success.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on January 21, 2017

The food was amazing. Creative and not your avaerage Omaha steak place.
Superior service. Our waitress went over everything.
Outstanding!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Romantic, Special Occasion, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on January 14, 2017

The food and the service were outstanding. The waiter was very attentive without being intrusive. The food and drinks were excellent and the ambiance was great. I hate going to a restaurant and having to yell to the other person because the music is so loud. Boiler rooms background music was soft, and we were able to have great conversation. Highly recommend

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.