About Boiler Room

1110 Jones St
Omaha, NE 68102
View Larger Map

A converted boiler room in the Bemis Bag building, built in 1896, The Boiler Room is an ingredient driven modern American/French restaurant. Chef Paul Kulik's menu changes daily to reflect local farm product availability. Now open six days a week for dinner, offering hand crafted cocktails and an extensive domaine driven Old World wine list.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Contemporary French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
11th and Jones

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(402) 916-9274

Website:
http://www.theboilerroomrestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Reserved street parking available immediately in front of the restaurant free of cost.

Executive Chef:
Paul Kulik

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Follow The Boiler Room Restaurant on Facebook to receive updates on our frequent wine dinners with great importers and winemakers!

Boiler Room Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.7

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Nebraska
Fit for Foodies
Nebraska
Notable Wine List
Nebraska
5 More
Contemporary American
Nebraska
Best Ambiance
Omaha
Fit for Foodies
Omaha
Notable Wine List
Omaha
Romantic
Omaha
Best Restaurants in Downtown / Old Market ›

Special Occasion (51)
Fit for Foodies (46)
Romantic (41)
See All
Notable Wine List (37)
Neighborhood Gem (20)
Hot Spot (13)
Good for Groups (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Late-night Find (5)
Scenic View (2)
Sort By:
Newest
1025 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We have visited the Boiler Room on our w ...

 
 (Nebraska)
·Dined 6 days ago

We have visited the Boiler Room on our wedding anniversary for the past 5 years in a row (celebrated our 30th anniversary last week), and each visit we leave feeling special! The entire staff treats us like royalty, and we will continue this tradition for many more years to come. From the perfect romantic table (same one every year), the complimentary taste of champagne when we arrive, and the amazingly attentive (but non-obtrusive) service, and the stunning quality of the meals we've ordered, this is our favorite 'special occasion' restaurant in Omaha!

Tags: Historic, Romantic, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Honestly, everything from when we entere ...

 
 (Nebraska)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Honestly, everything from when we entered to when we exited was great. I have no complaints. The good was melt in your mouth no matter what we all ordered.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Being new to the area we have tried all ...

 
 (Nebraska)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Being new to the area we have tried all the recommended eateries. This place must be too sophisticated for the locals. Superb and far better than the overrated favorites! Service and ambiance were exceptional. We shared charcuterie and the bass for two. Made my husband's birthday celebration an unexpected treat!

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

If you are in Omaha, and looking for a s ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

If you are in Omaha, and looking for a stellar dinner experience, don't miss Boiler Room.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Omaha's finest dining experience -- food ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Omaha's finest dining experience -- food, atmosphere and service. Brought a visitor from Los Angeles to dinner, and she was thoroughly impressed with all of the above. "I wouldn't expect this in Omaha," she said.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Pros: unique layout, excellent wine menu ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Pros: unique layout, excellent wine menu, attentive service. Wagyu beef with garbanzo beans was delicious. Dessert of corn cake with blackberries was outstanding.

Cons: we were seated on the lower level, and our location under the stairs made it feel more claustrophobic than cozy. I had a hard time getting past the musty smell of the whole space--it was like a damp basement. This impacted the whole experience. Our meal of Arctic char had some sort of accompaniment that was so overbearingly salty that it made your throat burn and was nearly inedible.

On the whole, I'd be likely to try somewhere else next time I'm in Omaha, but would be willing to give the place another chance if I had the opportunity.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

appetizers were superb (3 of 3), entrees ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

appetizers were superb (3 of 3), entrees missed (3 of 3), dessert very good, cocktails mediocre

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

From the outside, it was just a simple p ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

From the outside, it was just a simple place in the old market. Open the door and wow. What a great vibe. We were warmly greeted and seated! Terrific service, bar tender was excellent, waitress was knowledgeable/warm and we felt right at home. We tried the grouper and the rabbit. great presentation, wonderful combination of flavors! We will go back next time we hit Omaha.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

First time dining here. I will definitel ...

 
 (Nebraska)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

First time dining here. I will definitely be back. It was amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Great service, good recommendations from ...

 
 (Nebraska)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Great service, good recommendations from knowledgeable waitress .. everyone's food was beautiful and cooked to perfection.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Stellar, full dining experience as we en ...

 
 (Iowa)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Stellar, full dining experience as we enjoyed bass for two and wine recommended by our server. Epic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fabulous and great service!! As always! ...

vip
 (Nebraska)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Fabulous and great service!! As always! Always a spectacular dining experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I reserved a table for a friend from Los ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

I reserved a table for a friend from Los Angeles and he and both thoroughly enjoyed our dining experience. Great spot, interesting ambiance, wonderful server. Highly recommend this to anyone who appreciates great food and great atmosphere.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a great late night dining experie ...

 
 (Nebraska)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

We had a great late night dining experience. Top of my list of where to go again when we are in Omaha

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The service was great. We had several pe ...

 
 (Nebraska)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

The service was great. We had several people us out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This has been our go-to spot in Omaha wh ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

This has been our go-to spot in Omaha when we want a special meal with outstanding service. They always deliver. The menu is ever changing with creative, refined and well-balanced dishes, and the service is professional and attentive. Paul Kulik was present in the dining room, and assisting with wine choices. He surprised us with an outstanding, and well-priced rose which we loved. We are relocating and will greatly miss Boiler Room.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was very disappointed when going to th ...

 
 (Nebraska)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

I was very disappointed when going to the boiler room I knew that it was known to be one of the top 10 maybe even top five in Omaha. We dined on a Wednesday which I'm sure was a slower Night for them which I had no problem with. I wante to be clear that the food was amazing. I was completely upset with the service of the restaurant. Being that I figured the dinner would cost about $300 between me and my girlfriend I would have hoped to have seen at least one of the employees smile if not look appreciative that we were there and overall create a better ambience for us. We ended up only spending about $180 and I guarantee you we would have spent much more like getting a second bottle of wine or a dessert had the service been better. I would not recommend this place to anyone due to that time we dined there… We will just stick to going to the flat iron!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service1
value2

Food was absolutely spectacular. We had ...

 
 (Nebraska)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Food was absolutely spectacular. We had a 5:30 reservation prior to an event at 6:45. Door was locked when we arrived a little early, had to wait outside in the hot sun. But, once inside was completely taken care of.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Unique menu, excellent service, great at ...

 
 (Nebraska)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Unique menu, excellent service, great atmosphere. One of a kind in Omaha.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The ambiance at the Boiler Room is perha ...

 
 (Nebraska)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

The ambiance at the Boiler Room is perhaps it's most notable feature, with the bird's eye view of the kitchen inherent in the layout. The food is always delicious as well.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Great place with outstanding service. S ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Great place with outstanding service. Special occasion kind of place.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Simply the best!

 
 (Nebraska)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

The Boiler Room is divine and decadent. The staff and service are 'spot on" and the menu is always full of fantastic choices. We were celebrating two birthdays and a med school scholarship and had a wonderful, special and evocative meal. Our drinks from the talented bartender (cocktail master) were delicious and seasonal.

It remains the "go to" for any occasion, but definitely for "special" occasions.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Top notch dinnerfor our anniversary

 
 (Nebraska)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

We had a great time for our anniversary. It is certainly a special occasion restaurant, one where you east something you have never had before in an elegant and unique environment. I had the porchetta and my wife had the salmon. Both were excellent. Then we actually got 2 deserts for a change, and they were also incredible. Only a handful of wines by the glass but the server let me taste 2 so I could make sure it was the one I wanted.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful Date Night

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

We were seated on the balcony overlooking the kitchen so we got to watch the chefs prepare the food! The Cocktails and Food were all delicious. I highly recommend the Charcuterie. We had the Pork & the Steak and they were both great! I would HIGHLY recommend the boiler Room to all of my friends.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a delightful evening at the Boile ...

 
 (Nebraska)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

We had a delightful evening at the Boiler Room. Everything was delicious and prepared perfectly. Mour service was impeccable. The wine recommendation was outstanding!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great special occasion spot

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Food was top notch, portions were perfect and the views of the kitchen was quite exciting.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

What a great restaurant. The food was de ...

 
 (Nebraska)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

What a great restaurant. The food was delicious and the presentation was beautiful. The atmosphere was very classy and the service was excellent. We never had to wait for a drink refill. It is a perfect place for a romantic dinner.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely Date Night with the Hubby/Birthday Dinner

 
 (Nebraska)
·Dined on May 4, 2016

This is probably the fifth time I've been to the Boiler Room. Wonderful as always! This was the first time I've sat at the bar before dinner and Alec, the bar tender, was great. Made tending bar seem fun and easy (and I know it is not an easy task). Anna, our waitress, was lovely and knowledgeable. She helped me pick a wine for dinner; she was indeed spot on! We got a complementary dish from the kitchen (for my birthday) and it was the scalloped stuffed, tortellini. AMAZING! So rich, so creamy, so perfect! Had a wonderful evening, great food, great staff!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a favorite stop in Omaha. Only s ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 3, 2016

Always a favorite stop in Omaha. Only spot I have to visit when I am in town. Menu is simple but thoughtfully constructed and great cocktails and Old World wines.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Boiler Room Review

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

We have gone to the Boiler Room several years in a row, and while it is not a value play, the food is very good, and the wait staff attentive and helpful.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Exceptional doesn't begin to describe it.

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

The only last minute reservation (on super busy weekend in Omaha) we could get was at 5:30 pm last Friday night (04/29/16) at the Boiler Room. I would never normally want to eat at 5:30 but it turned out to be perfect (and we plan to do it again next year). I think the staff was unhurried, fresh and ready to serve - timing was great. Our server Ruby was delightful - delivering just the right amount of everything (including a look at the beautiful coffee table book on the making of the restaurant while we awaited our food). The small menu is eclectic (most of it were things neither of us eat) but lo and behold one entree worked for each of us, along with a first course for my husband and a really lovely 1 piece cheese plate for me. Perfection was the pork chop (with sunchoke soubise, a crispy farm egg, Iowa ramps and baby turnips). My husband never eats swordfish but that's what he had and he loved it. The restaurant is beautiful (check out the book - it's fascinating) - the lighting is good, the terra cotta and plaster(?) face figures on the walls were a cool change of art-pace and the large, still-life photos were breathtaking. There wasn't one thing we didn't love about this dining experience (hard to understand the recent not so good reviews). We came from Baltimore for a conference and absolutely will never miss having another meal at the Boiler Room. Can't wait to go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Out standing experience

 
 (Nebraska)
·Dined on April 28, 2016

I would highly recommend the Boiler room , very special a dining experience wonderful food, attentive and knowledgable service

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not for everyone

 
 (Nebraska)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

We went out for a much needed date ava my husband picked the boiler room based on the ratings. We hadn't been out in a while and really needed a romantic evening . There are only 5 choices on the menu 3 were fish which I can't eat. So I chose the steak. I honestly could of gotten a better one at long horn and saved a lot of money and gotten more food. For such an expensive place I expected more. Spent just shy of 100 dollars. This was for 2 glasses of wine, a piece of fish and a steak. Very disappointed

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

The overall experience at Boiler Room wa ...

 
 (Nebraska)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

The overall experience at Boiler Room was not as we anticipated. Based on previous written and verbal reviews, it did not live up to its reputation. The wait staff presented themselves as uneducated in areas of educate, food comprehension and overall service & professionalism. The food was appreciated, however, was lacking in overall satisfaction, presentation and balanced use of ingredient. Simply put, the Boiler Room was ranked of an overall two star rating due to the quality versus investment, and overall atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

My new favorite restaurant in Omaha. Gre ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

My new favorite restaurant in Omaha. Great food, drink, service and ambiance. Definitely worth the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, exceptional service, and coo ...

 
 (Nebraska)
·Dined on April 13, 2016

Great food, exceptional service, and cool vibe.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Spot for Special Evening

 
 (Nebraska)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

This is a wonderful spot for a special occasion or date night. Our server was awesome going over the menu in great detail. It's the perfect place for a night out with your significant other.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Not that great

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on April 7, 2016

The food wasn't that great. The salad was salty and weird, the pasta with crab was swimming in butter and the fish had a very salty top layer, but when you got through that layer, it was decent but not great. I would not go back for the food, but the service was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value3

Tops in Omaha

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

You won't find a more sophisticated restaurant in Omaha. Fantastic, inventive food; creative bar program; lively, classy atmosphere.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dinner

 
 (Nebraska)
·Dined on March 22, 2016

Felt like I was getting scammed on the wine. Given a great for my first glass in a smaller glass. The next glass, which was supposed to be the same, was clearly different and in a much larger glass with more wine.

The food is good, but the stuffy wait staff will make you feel like you don't belong there.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.