About Boiler Room

1110 Jones St
Omaha, NE 68102
View Larger Map

A converted boiler room in the Bemis Bag building, built in 1896, The Boiler Room is an ingredient driven modern American/French restaurant. Chef Paul Kulik's menu changes daily to reflect local farm product availability. Now open six days a week for dinner, offering hand crafted cocktails and an extensive domaine driven Old World wine list.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Contemporary French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
11th and Jones

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(402) 916-9274

Website:
http://www.theboilerroomrestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Reserved street parking available immediately in front of the restaurant free of cost.

Executive Chef:
Paul Kulik

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Follow The Boiler Room Restaurant on Facebook to receive updates on our frequent wine dinners with great importers and winemakers!

Boiler Room Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (33)
Good for Anniversaries (27)
Creative Cuisine (24)
See All
Good for a Date (24)
Special Occasion (24)
Fit for Foodies (23)
Open Kitchen (20)
Quiet Conversation (18)
Handcrafted Cocktails (18)
Local Ingredients (16)
Notable Wine List (16)
Business Meals (15)
Worth the Drive (13)
Historic (13)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Cozy (11)
Pre/post Theatre (11)
Authentic (9)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Modern Decor (7)
Bar Seating (6)
Healthy (5)
People Watching (4)
Seasonal (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Tasting Menu (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Fun (3)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Organic (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Family Style (1)
Private Room (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Live Music (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Casual (0)
Sort By:
S
1155 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined 3 days ago

Amazing food and super fun to watch the chefs do their thing. Server was a little patronizing/rude but easy to ignore when the food and ambiounce is so good :)

Tags: Special Occasion, Paleo Friendly, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 4 days ago

Service is always impeccable, staff is well trained on the menu and beverages on hand. Interesting wine selection available. Always love the ambiance there - especially with the new trend in restaurants that are too loud to hold a conversation.

I had the scallops appetizer, and unfortunately, they were incredibly over salted. The tile fish was super. Our guests were very pleased with their meals, so I'm thinking my scallops were a one off accident. I will definitely return.

Tags: Business Meals, Open Kitchen, Romantic, Historic, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Omaha)·Dined 7 days ago

The Boiler Room is one of the finest restaurants in Omaha. From the environment to the professional wait staff, not detail is missed. The food is beyond amazing; some of the most unique and flavorful dishes you will find in this area. Above all else, the deserts were out of this world. I would recommend to anyone looking for an amazing place in downtown Omaha.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Romantic, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on February 17, 2017

It's as fabulous as billed. Great atmosphere, food and service at a fair price. I would highly recommend The Boiler Room.

Tags: Special Occasion, Historic, Good for a Date, Live Music, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Boiler Room is my favorite place for a special dinner. I am NEVER disappointed!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Boiler Room is always excellent. How many more letters to get to 50?

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The food was excellent and just the right amount. The Sea Bass was perfect, the best I've ever had. The Ribeye melted in your mouth. The cocktails were good, not your usual distillery's, just different from what I am use to. We went for Valentine's Day and they had a nice selection set up. Don't know if I will go again, a bit expensive for me, but I am glad we went. It was a very pleasurable experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on February 12, 2017

They didn't have the main dish or wine that we asked for. The menu was very limited to what they wanted to make that night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The food as always was outstanding. First time I have ever had slow service. Waiter did not know wine list recommendation as well as previous waiters.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Thanks to The Boiler Room for a lovely early Valentine's Day dinner!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Love the Boiler Room!! Always perfect, food, service and ambiance!

Tags: Healthy, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Cozy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Server was pretentious; told me they did not serve a particular variety of bourbon (basil hayden) and rudely asking if I really understood how manhattans are made. When our party (a business dinner) asked if any entrees were not to be missed, he told us he didn't know how to answer that and then just stared at us. It was hard to have an enjoyable meal with this level of arrogance from the server. The place was empty on a Thursday night at 7:00. Perhaps others have had the same kind of service and decided not to go back?

The food was quite good, but no salads of any kind on the menu and hard to get anything green. Good place for meateaters who like to be insulted!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Perfect, as usual. This is my wife and I's favorite fine dining in Omaha.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Seasonal, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Paleo Friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on February 5, 2017

The Food Was Truely Outstanding!! There were four us unfortunately two of the meals were brought out to table and it was ten to fifteen minutes before the other two were brought out!!

Tags: Romantic, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on February 4, 2017

I cannot remember not being able to eat a dinner, but it happened here. I travel through out the united states monthly and have to eat out often and i cannot remember eating red not pink but red pork. I cannot describe. Its that bad. I couldnt separate the sides and determine what they were. Just a bad experiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 2, 2017

As a foodie it can be tough finding great, interesting cuisine while traveling. The food here is GREAT and interesting! Pastrami butternut squash on the lamb belly dish was shockingly amazing. The bar has an amazing selection of European wine. Overall fantastic dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Food was good. Got seated an hour after our reservation time

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Exceptional. The table we requested, great wine list and help finding the perfect wine and amazing food!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on January 29, 2017

The Boiler Room is an amazing restaurant. The food is exceptional and absolutely unique. The service is impeccable. A little pricey for Omaha but the quality is as good as you will find anywhere in the US.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Organic, Romantic, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Our dinner was fantastic! The only negative was the carrot cake ... a totally new recipe is needed or removal from the selection. The cheese board was delicious...we just let the server decide the cheese. Grab the Boiler Room book and peruse after ordering. We were out for a celebration and quiet talk. It was a leisurely dinner and a success.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on January 21, 2017

The food was amazing. Creative and not your avaerage Omaha steak place.

Superior service. Our waitress went over everything.

Outstanding!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Romantic, Special Occasion, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on January 14, 2017

The food and the service were outstanding. The waiter was very attentive without being intrusive. The food and drinks were excellent and the ambiance was great. I hate going to a restaurant and having to yell to the other person because the music is so loud. Boiler rooms background music was soft, and we were able to have great conversation. Highly recommend

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Free parking out front - if there's a parking spot available. Otherwise, paid parking is available nearby.

Dining room was spacious, with somewhat odd paintings of food on the walls. Bathrooms are outside of a fire door, are quite utilitarian and have the typical East Omaha smell.

The menu is creative and very, very limited. You need to familiarize yourself with it before you go and be ready to accept that the focus is very much on serving a large portion of protein with small, ornamental sides - more of a garnish than a side. Substitutions are frowned upon, although the chef did allow me to make a substitution on one side because of a food intolerance. With the Wagyu beef, you have no choice on how you want it cooked - on the rare side of medium rare. (I objected and my beef came out WELL - completely ruined a fantastic cut of beef.) The bread served before the meal is a very pungent rye bread, and there is no creativity in its serving - small chunks are just dropped on the tiny bread plate. If you don't like rye bread there are no alternatives.

The service seemed to be focused on the tables of 4 or more, rather than on the tables of 2, which is a pity, since I was there for a special occasion. The servers and the maitre d' work together through the experience - topping off waters, sometimes clearing plates, but everyone seems to enjoy folding napkins that a guest has set down on a chair when they excuse themselves. Rather a pretentious touch, when there were other services that could have been rendered instead (clearing plates, wiping off crumbs, refreshing the lonely lime slice that was offered for an entire bottle of sparking water which was left uncapped for an hour and a half . . .) I felt judged by our waitress because of my food intolerances and my desire to have my beef cooked to my pleasure; service was noticeably lacking after we placed the order.

More adventurous, hip eaters would probably enjoy this experience more than we did.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on January 13, 2017

What a great spot! I'm still a little blown away that this place is in Omaha. Such a cool vibe, food is impeccable, service was outstanding! Definitely will be back!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Open Kitchen, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on January 11, 2017

My wife and I dined here at 5:30pm on a Wednesday evening in January. Alec was our server. We had the pleasure of experiencing a great meal with notably competent staff! The house charcuterie was the first food item on the table, which we chose to enjoy with a craft cocktail - mine was a tequila cocktail with a very tasteful amount of habanero influence. Alec ascertained our general wine preference with a couple quick questions and chose one for us that he thought would pair well with my monkfish and my wife's John Dory: both of these were flavorful dishes. It was a Sancerre from the Loire Valley, and I believe it was a Sauvignon blanc. On its own the wine was perfectly acidic with so much green apple, pear and bright citrusy floral aromas. We loved it! With my lobster-like monkfish, gnocchi and fennel in a saffron-lobster broth, I felt like this crisp, citrusy, medium-high acid wine changed completely. Now it was very creamy, and a new bouquet opened up for me. Wonderful pick, Alec!

We ended the meal not with dessert, but with a savory alternative instead: yellowfin tuna from the small plates menu. Alec brought a couple glasses of another white wine he felt paired with the tuna very well. It was a pleasure to be a sponge around someone so competent with wine and cocktails. Alec was great.

The ambiance was a pleasure, the food was fantastic, the wine and cocktails met all my expectations. We'll be back for sure.

Tags: People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 11, 2017

The unique menu changes every day, but we tried 5 different entrees - each elegantly presented and delicious. Very extensive (if expensive) wine list. This is a great place for a special celebration.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Had not been here for years. TOTALLY disappointed. will NOT return again. not sure why your restaurant rated #1 in Omaha. Lackluster food, service, and overall experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

vip
 (Omaha)·Dined on January 10, 2017

The food was well prepared and delicious. Our server courteous and helpful. The ambience comfortable but the music varied between none and too loud.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on January 10, 2017

The Boiler Room is my favorite restaurant when I really want to make it special. The food is always perfect, and the wait staff attentive and impeccable! Best food, best cocktails, best staff.

Tags: Romantic, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Cozy, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on January 1, 2017

It's not worth $110/person. The food was okay. You can get better food elsewhere for less. They think they are better than they actually are.

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Best meal we have had in Omaha! Love the ambiance. So amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We had a wonderful experience at the Boiler Room for our 10th Anniversary. Our waiter was very knowledgeable about the vast wine and cocktail selection and helped us choose wisely based on our food selection. We would highly recommend the Boiler Room for special occasions!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Great ambiance, best Wine list in Omaha, good service and food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 30, 2016

All in all, yes we will definitely go back. The food made it well worth it. But it was clear our waitress was spread too thin, not her fault, but a management error for sure. Due to that it took forever to get initial service at our table. Our waitress made up for it though after we voiced our disappointment. The bartender, although sporting a major ego/attitude mixed good drinks, just hope to God that when you are there he doesn't have friends come in; as soon as that happened he totally ignored us...this is not an over-exaggeration at all. He even asked us to move down a few seats to accommodate his friends' plates of food on the bar. I'm sorry, but we were there first, were comfortable, and if they want that much food, get a G.D. table! I guess at least he finally acknowledged us...So go for the food and hope for a different bartender and full staff...also request to sit upstairs, not on the lower floor, all ambience is lost down there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2

vip
 (Omaha)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Steelhead appetizer was amazing with just a perfect touch on the trout; branzini deboned by staff was also very good--a few too many French lentils, not enuf beets, but who's to complain!

Wait staff very helpful and unobtrusive--a real plus in our minds.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Molecular Gastronomy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Excellent service, very attentive, superior classic cocktails.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Boiler Room was a very relaxing experience. Alex was an exceptional waiter and helped us select our entree. Thank you for a nice experience.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Historic, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on December 23, 2016

We celebrated our 37th wedding anniversary at The Boiler Room last week. It was the first time we had been there and, coincidentally, there was a review in the Omaha World-Herald just a few days after we had made our reservations. The review proved to be on point! Everything we ate was exceptionally tasty. From the house made charcuterie and grana padano stuffed sausage, to the chicken confit and wagyu beef steak, all were well prepared and presented with a flourish. Our server was knowledgeable, friendly and very helpful in explaining the various dishes on the menu. We will definitely go back again, especially for the charcuterie! The menu changes often and while it isn't a "large" menu, we still had several different choices we wanted to try.

Tags: Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Historic, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Took almost an hour for our entrees to come out of the kitchen. It was a weekday and not that busy. The waiter said everyone was sat at once. They were out of both duck dishes and there was no salad or greens on the menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Very good food. A unique atmosphere that can't be found anywhere else other then omaha. Service was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Food was very good, had butternut squash soup which was divine and sea bass. It was a special occasion and they made it even more special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (Omaha)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Always a seamless experience. Great cocktails . Impeccable service. Plate preperation perfection.

Thank your for another great dinner

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on November 27, 2016

If I could give six stars for service, I would. Best service in town. Incredible ambiance.

Tags: People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on November 27, 2016

We came to The boiler Room with our family as a special gathering for the Thanksgiving holiday. We had a good experience.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on November 20, 2016

The food, service, and ambiance excelent but I have to say that was the smallest martini and olive tha I have ever seen.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Service was SLOW. Food was of marginal quality. The grouper was raw in the middle. The porcetta appetizer was ALL fat...no meat. Way over hyped and over priced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on November 13, 2016

This was a weekend dinner, with reservations, for first-time diners. The swordfish was delicious as was the sirloin. They have a wide variety of wines. Ours went well with the meals. Cinnamon dessert was plenty for two. Service was fine. Pricing is at a special occasion level. We will go back when we can. Restaurant is now on our short list of favorites in Omaha.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Best food and experience found between Lincoln and Omaha. Both times we've made the trip from Lincoln, and we were giddy the food was so good.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Went in for a friends birthday and everything was wonderful! Great food, drinks, service, and atmosphere. One of the best fine dining restaurants in Omaha. Highly recommend if you are a foodie!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Our entire party was underwhelmed by the food and the service. We started with the calamari. Although the calamari itself was well prepared, the dish had pockets of pure salt in it, essentially ruining it. When one of our guests asked to substitute a side on an entree, we were told the chef would prefer not to since they carefully craft the flavor profile of the dish. While I am sure this is absolutely true, it is also absolutely horrible service and uneccessisarly pretenious. When you serve a handful of entrees, you should be prepared to have a little flexibility in protein and side pairings. While the one fish entree we ordered was good, the two beef entrees were tough and unevenly cooked... one coming out sub-rare and the other medium+. Both were ordered medium rare. For the price, there are numerous other choices for fine food and excellent service. The wine list and suggestions were fantastic, however.

Tags: Notable Wine List
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.