Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.28mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.28mi

About Boiler Room

A converted boiler room in the Bemis Bag building, built in 1896, The Boiler Room is an ingredient driven modern American/French restaurant. Chef Tim Nicholson's menu changes daily to reflect local farm product availability. Now open six days a week for dinner, offering hand crafted cocktails and an extensive domaine driven Old World wine list.

1110 Jones St
Omaha, NE 68102
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Contemporary French, Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
11th and Jones

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(402) 916-9274

Website:
http://www.theboilerroomrestaurant.com/

Entertainment:
Kitchen View

Catering:
none

Parking Details:
Reserved street parking available immediately in front of the restaurant free of cost.

Public Transit:
none

Executive Chef:
Tim Nicholson

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Follow The Boiler Room Restaurant on Facebook to receive updates on our frequent wine dinners with great importers and winemakers!

Boiler Room Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

Noise

Quiet

95% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (37)
Special Occasion (36)
Good for a Date (35)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (32)
Notable Wine List (31)
Romantic (29)
Creative Cuisine (27)
Local Ingredients (27)
Quiet Conversation (25)
Good for Birthdays (18)
Handcrafted Cocktails (17)
Cozy (14)
Worth the Drive (14)
Authentic (12)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Healthy (11)
Seasonal (10)
Business Meals (9)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Fun (7)
Bar Seating (6)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Disabled Access (4)
People Watching (4)
Organic (4)
Casual (3)
Happy Hour (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Vegan (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Great Beer (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Tapas (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Sort By:
S
1266 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 2 days ago

Food was terrific and the cocktails were exceptional. However it’s very pricey and had a bit of a limited menu for our tastes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Omaha)·Dined 6 days ago

Always an exceptional experience in every respect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Omaha)·Dined on October 15, 2017

Fresh-beautifully prepared and presented. Would go again in a heartbeat! Especially quiet evening during the home team's game/blowout loss, but never felt rushed at all when the staff could've easily rushed us out.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on October 14, 2017

Service and food were excellent from start to finish.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on October 14, 2017

Well done. Compliments to the chef and we will come back.

Tags: Disabled Access, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 14, 2017

Read reviews and had a recommendation here... the crudo was excellent, swordfish ok and the pork was crazy salty, dessert more like an ice cream cake than brownie sundae. Would not visit again as the reviews didn’t match the food and the server could have not been more DRY no personality or recommendations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 13, 2017

WHAT AN AMAZING CULINARY EXPERIENCE. WE CAME FROM CHICAGO AND WERE BLOWN AWAY BY THE QUALITY OF THE FOOD AND THE AMBIANCE OF THE SETTING.

Tags: Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on October 11, 2017

Menu was something we weren't used too but the waiter was so willing to tell us what we needed to know. Did think it was pricey but the ambience was amazing.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 8, 2017

We recently celebrated our anniversary there and everything was outstanding! Food was very good, the wine the server suggested was excellent and the desserts the best we’ve had in a long time! Thank you for making our night special!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Wonderful dining experience in the Old Market. Wine list was suberb and our server had great recommendations.

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on October 4, 2017

Fantastic food. Quality presentations. Always enjoy coming back.

Tags: Casual, Sunday Lunch, Fun, Great for Brunch, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Healthy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on October 2, 2017

The food was delicious, and the atmosphere was charming. I highly recommend The Boiler Room for a birthday or anniversary dinner.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on October 1, 2017

Once again the staff and the cuisine at the Boiler Room did not disappoint. As a treat for our 8th wedding anniversary my wife and I booked a table with a request to overlook the open kitchen, which was granted without a fuss.

The host was attentive and knowledgeable - our custom menus had a 'Happy Anniversay' greeting on them and he was more than helpful in explaining the cocktail menu so help us make the perfect selection.

Again when selecting our dinners (after a delicious charcuterie) the waiter helped make the perfect wine pairing, even brining a small sample of the red he had selected as a compliment to the sparkling white my wife went with.

The food was, as always, delicious. The steak was cooked perfectly, and the chicken was exquisite. It's easy to tell the ingredients come from local farms and producers, and the chef allows the local flavors to speak for themselves.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 30, 2017

Fantastic staff. Never a moment that lacked service. Beautiful meal, cooked perfectly. We had the chicken and steak, both were prepared and plated exactly as expected for the environment and price point. Desert filled in my sweet craving in a lovely way.Now, we will be back and very likely it will be soon.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, People Watching, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 29, 2017

My wife and I have been trying to get to Boiler Room for a couple of years now and it just hasn't worked. So last week for my birthday we made it happen. Wow, have we been missing out! What a brilliant concept that they pull off with flying colors! We loved the atmosphere - which really feels like you're in the boiler room of a huge industrial building, but with very understated and comfortable tables, chairs, etc. The food was unbelievable and the service even better. I will never miss an opportunity to fine here again.

Tags: Cozy, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 29, 2017

The staff seem odd and make you feel uncomfortable and not welcoming. Had the sausage to start, which was wonderful. Our entrees were just ok. For the price, and the way the waits made you feel, I would not recommend. Also there was a large, loud table next to us, so the whole atmosphere was ruined in order to have a quiet, enjoyable dinner. The place itself is very unique but the food, price and noise level was not the best. Probably won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 26, 2017

Enjoyed a great meal while visiting Omaha for work. Great wine list even by the glass.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 24, 2017

Jeffrey seated us at a two top on the lower level in the wine room. Awesome space, and we were the only table in this area. Food, Service, and ambiance was great. Very enjoyable!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 23, 2017

Food was exceptional, waiter was not. We will definatley return and should have a better experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on September 20, 2017

great restaurant-creative menu and great vibe; the cheese course and all the food was very good

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 19, 2017

One of the best restaurants in Omaha. Amazing food, service and cocktails. Only complaint is the absence of a meaningful selection of CA wines on the wine list (predominantly French and Italian), but plenty of good Bordeauxs and Brunellos to choose from.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on September 17, 2017

The food was amazing and the waitress was so knowledgeable about the food and the drinks. It was a great experience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Most amazing dining experience ever!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on September 13, 2017

Anniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Special evening for our family and was great treat. Wonderful, personable service and fantastic flavor.

Tags: Healthy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 7, 2017

Exceptional service and food. We will return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on September 2, 2017

The restaurant and food was great, but even though we had this reservation they did not have a table for us when we arrived.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on August 31, 2017

One of the best meals I've had (striploin venison), absolutely delicious. Excellent service to go with it.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 30, 2017

Great wait staff, great food and environment and very cool repurpose of the space. A must in Omaha!

Tags: People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Disabled Access, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Great setting for a foodie's night out. Able to accommodate vegetarians or other dietary concerns- just ask the chef. Interesting, delicious foods. Good wait service - did not rush, knew the menu. No American wine on list because they want you to try new things - wine list is excellent with a broad price range. Did not appreciate waiter opening up one wine without us being asked. We tasted it, sent it back and were not charged. After checking with us on our taste preferences, he selected a fabulous and reasonably priced wine.

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Vegan, Paleo Friendly, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Gluten Free Options, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 25, 2017

Industrial chic decor was very inviting, looking much better than you expect from the outside. Rough exterior and beautiful interior. The service was very attentive yet not intrusive. Steak was perfectly cooked. Excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
·Dined on August 24, 2017

A supurb dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on August 23, 2017

We have been visiting the Boiler Room to celebrate our anniversary for the past 6 years (in a row). During each of our previous visits, we were given 'the royal treatment,' with incredible personal service. Each year (until this year), special menus were produced welcoming us by name and congratulating us on our anniversary. Our waiter brought us a small complementary glass of champagne each year (until this year) to celebrate our anniversary. These little extras made the experience uniquely enjoyable and kept us coming back for 6 consecutive years.

Unfortunately, though, this year's experience was a resounding 'meh...'.

Hopefully, it was an anomaly, as we have totally enjoyed our experience at the Boiler Room for each of the past 6 years (except for this year).

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value1

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 22, 2017

This restaurant is a great example that you can have a creative chef and bartender, but the front of the house can wreck a dining experience. Our waiter was clueless and unhelpful. They have an open kitchen format, and although the chefs were not noisy, for some reason the maître d' keeps yelling above the din. Truly pointless. This restaurant bills itself as specializing in "local products," and yet 3 out of 6 entrees were seafood (in Omaha??). This is supposed to be a hot spot in town, but we would not return.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on August 22, 2017

Had not been back to Omaha in more than seven years and was excited to taste what has been widely acclaimed as the best restaurant in town. The food is above average and the pricing is reasonable. However, the service was almost non-existent and, when available, done with disdain and pretension. Admittedly, I was a bit more casual (still in designer jeans and a nice casual shirt) than I would normally be as we had spent the day driving around Nebraska to see the eclipse. However, I was quite surprised to overhear the maître d' whisper to the waiter who greeted us: "They are downstairs people--do not sit them in the main dining level." So... off to the basement bar we went which was not bad (despite the HVAC system dripping down on me from twenty feet in the air). The restaurant was clearly understaffed for what was a quite full restaurant, but our waiter managed to do an okay job. However, when I asked for the somm, I was told they only had a director of wine (and this for a restaurant with bottles > $1,000!). The director finally showed up ... only to be the same person as the maître d'! Further, instead of trying to pair our wine with our food choices, he only asked... how much and red or white. Shockingly, he then departed only to return with his selection--no discussion of our preferences. And it was not like we were bottom feeders--I had given him a $100 price limit for a Monday night.

Unfortunately, I cannot recommend an upscale restaurant with such obvious service flaws. For those looking for a great meal in Omaha, I would recommend V Mertz as they always treated me well when I lived in Omaha.

Brian

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value2

 
·Dined on August 21, 2017

FOOD ( BOTH FISH AND BEEF DISHES) WAS OVERLY SALTY. WAITER WAS PLAIN WEIRD

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Food was original and outstanding. Excellent attention to detail

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Annie was very knowledgeable about the menu. Great pairings of wine.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 19, 2017

The food was great, the wine list was virtually endless, and the service was outstanding...they were extremely attentive. Each course had something unique. We'd look forward to visiting again and since the menu offerings change regularly, would be excited to see what is new.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Omaha)·Dined on August 19, 2017

The absolute best dinner we have had in a long time! We live in Denver and try new restaurants all the time. My parents love boiler room so when we were back- we decided to try.

Fantastic meal- from drinks to appetizers to the main fare. So much flavor in every bite, presentation is wonderful, and the wait staff are incredibly knowledgeable and so professional.

Absolutely recommend this restaurant for dinner- any special occasion, date night etc. you will not regret!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.