About Boiler Room

1110 Jones St
Omaha, NE 68102
View Larger Map

A converted boiler room in the Bemis Bag building, built in 1896, The Boiler Room is an ingredient driven modern American/French restaurant. Chef Paul Kulik's menu changes daily to reflect local farm product availability. Now open six days a week for dinner, offering hand crafted cocktails and an extensive domaine driven Old World wine list.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Contemporary French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
11th and Jones

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(402) 916-9274

Website:
http://www.theboilerroomrestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Reserved street parking available immediately in front of the restaurant free of cost.

Executive Chef:
Paul Kulik

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Follow The Boiler Room Restaurant on Facebook to receive updates on our frequent wine dinners with great importers and winemakers!

Boiler Room Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.8

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Nebraska
Fit for Foodies
Nebraska
Contemporary American
Nebraska
2 More
Best Ambiance
Omaha
Fit for Foodies
Omaha
Best Restaurants in Downtown / Old Market ›

Special Occasion (30)
Romantic (27)
Notable Wine List (25)
See All
Fit for Foodies (24)
Creative Cuisine (20)
Good for a Date (20)
Good for Anniversaries (19)
Handcrafted Cocktails (19)
Open Kitchen (16)
Local Ingredients (15)
Quiet Conversation (15)
Worth the Drive (14)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Historic (10)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Business Meals (9)
Modern Decor (8)
Authentic (8)
Hot Spot (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Seasonal (4)
Cozy (4)
Late-night Find (3)
People Watching (3)
Happy Hour (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Healthy (2)
Scenic View (2)
Organic (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Fun (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Great Beer (1)
Casual (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Sort By:
S
1064 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

If I could give six stars for service, I ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on November 27, 2016

If I could give six stars for service, I would. Best service in town. Incredible ambiance.

Tags: People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We came to The boiler Room with our fami ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on November 27, 2016

We came to The boiler Room with our family as a special gathering for the Thanksgiving holiday. We had a good experience.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

The food, service, and ambiance excelent ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on November 20, 2016

The food, service, and ambiance excelent but I have to say that was the smallest martini and olive tha I have ever seen.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Service was SLOW. Food was of marginal ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Service was SLOW. Food was of marginal quality. The grouper was raw in the middle. The porcetta appetizer was ALL fat...no meat. Way over hyped and over priced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

This was a weekend dinner, with reservat ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on November 13, 2016

This was a weekend dinner, with reservations, for first-time diners. The swordfish was delicious as was the sirloin. They have a wide variety of wines. Ours went well with the meals. Cinnamon dessert was plenty for two. Service was fine. Pricing is at a special occasion level. We will go back when we can. Restaurant is now on our short list of favorites in Omaha.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Best food and experience found between L ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Best food and experience found between Lincoln and Omaha. Both times we've made the trip from Lincoln, and we were giddy the food was so good.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went in for a friends birthday and every ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Went in for a friends birthday and everything was wonderful! Great food, drinks, service, and atmosphere. One of the best fine dining restaurants in Omaha. Highly recommend if you are a foodie!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our entire party was underwhelmed by the ...

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Our entire party was underwhelmed by the food and the service. We started with the calamari. Although the calamari itself was well prepared, the dish had pockets of pure salt in it, essentially ruining it. When one of our guests asked to substitute a side on an entree, we were told the chef would prefer not to since they carefully craft the flavor profile of the dish. While I am sure this is absolutely true, it is also absolutely horrible service and uneccessisarly pretenious. When you serve a handful of entrees, you should be prepared to have a little flexibility in protein and side pairings. While the one fish entree we ordered was good, the two beef entrees were tough and unevenly cooked... one coming out sub-rare and the other medium+. Both were ordered medium rare. For the price, there are numerous other choices for fine food and excellent service. The wine list and suggestions were fantastic, however.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Excellent in almost all respects. Prices ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Excellent in almost all respects. Prices are significantly high and over the top. Definitely for most "regular" people this would be a special occasion venue only and one for which people saved up.

All of our food was superior - so was the wine. I have a hard time paying $30 or more for a meal that might be more like one reasonably priced in the "high teens" to low 20's. Such high prices might diminish the experience if on a budget (even for a special occasion) or if not floating in big money.

Great fun watching meals being prepared in the kitchen below. Wait staff friendly and informative. We had a lovely dinner and all agreed it was "an experience" and not just dinner. Will save up so we can do this again sometime.

Tags: Romantic, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Very good. As a person who NEVER shares ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Very good. As a person who NEVER shares his food, I felt like I had to share mine with my wife because it was so good. My wife had the pork loon and I had the lamb belly. Both amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great service, nice ambience, but the me ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Great service, nice ambience, but the menu had little to offer; the flank steak was okay, but the rest of the meal was poor. For the price, go elsewhere.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Just love this place - always a special ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on November 1, 2016

Just love this place - always a special treat - from the handcrafted aperitif to the after meal cheese plate sooo perfect - dinner for three with wine and appetizers was approx $200 a deal for food this special and the atmosphere - I should treat myself more often - you should too!

Tags: Special Occasion, Historic, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Business Meals, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Late-night Find, Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

one of our favorite places to eat in oma ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on October 31, 2016

one of our favorite places to eat in omaha: rich, elegant old-world decor and beautifully presented, delicious, very fresh food...i was impressed that the waiter knew what our allergies were from when we had been there before. it has become our go-to halloween get-away.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Great place to help us celebrate our 1st ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Great place to help us celebrate our 1st Anniversary. Wait staff, bartender & the cooks were amazing.

Tags: Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Open Kitchen, Notable Wine List, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I go here a lot, I always enjoy the food ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 26, 2016

I go here a lot, I always enjoy the food but have yet to have good service! If this place would hire the right people and train their staff it would double their business.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

Tenth visit to the Boiler Room for my wi ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Tenth visit to the Boiler Room for my wife and I, excellent as always.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

It seems the quality of the food is slid ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 20, 2016

It seems the quality of the food is sliding. We had the same fish that we have had on two different occasions. This time it just tasted bland and greasy. Truly a disappointment. Probably won't go back. Too bad really because the first time we were there a year ago we thought, finally, a great restaurant for seafood. The atmosphere is delightful but the food just not consistent enough.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value2

If you are looking for a impeccable, ups ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on October 16, 2016

If you are looking for a impeccable, upscale dining experience this is your place.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our meals at The Boiler Room Restaurant ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on October 13, 2016

Our meals at The Boiler Room Restaurant was amazingly delicious. We had the swordfish and the salmon entrees, as well as cheeses as appetizers and a beautiful chocolate dessert we shared. We started with hand crafted cocktails that were exceptional and a glass of wine with dinner. It was one of the finest meals I have had in many months! I will be back soon!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic space. Great service. The ch ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 11, 2016

Fantastic space. Great service. The charcuterie was excellent. Cheers board to add is a good choice. Small plates are the way to go. Very cool scene.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Wonderful atmosphere, ambiance and decor ...

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Wonderful atmosphere, ambiance and decor. We loved the iron, unfinished ceiling and open kitchen. Menu was a little limited but we found things we liked. Wait staff was a little erratic, with us having to wait on missing butter, empty wine glasses and with used dishes longer than at other nice restaurants.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

We had heard favorable reviews of the Bo ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on October 8, 2016

We had heard favorable reviews of the Boiler Room for years but this was our first time. We were not disappointed. The service, menu, and atmosphere were excellent. They did not make us feel rushed in our date night.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My visit to The Boiler Room was agreeabl ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 4, 2016

My visit to The Boiler Room was agreeable. It’s a beautiful space. Though I did sit drumming my fingers a bit after being seated, a server did eventually show up and explain that a large table was monopolizing her. I had a Rieger vodka martini with Dolin vermouth, more herbal than the usual. I had the pork belly appetizer and a blackfish (tautog) main; both were well-made and somewhat similar in preparation but delicious. Though I don’t usually do sweets, I was tempted by a pear strudel cake, which turned out to be one of the very best desserts I’ve ever had, bravo. They are not shy about the prices so be ready.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

AMAZING food, wonderful service, awesome ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on October 2, 2016

AMAZING food, wonderful service, awesome evening! Definitely order dessert!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Open Kitchen, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a wonderful experience all around. ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 2, 2016

What a wonderful experience all around. The appetizers were delightful, as were the cocktails!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place has always been a touchstone ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on October 1, 2016

This place has always been a touchstone for our family with a great mix of interesting food, excellent bar programs, attentive service, and a funky/comfortable room. Lately the execution of the menu has seen a big uptick of quality after a period of indifference. However, the service level has not been equal to the task. While they try very hard, their flow doesn't seem to work well. Tonight it took almost 40 minutes till our initial drink arrived from the bar and the rest of the meal seemed to lurch along with the timing off on every course. I get the notion that they are looking to put hand crafted quality into everything that is served ( and they often achieve great things) but efficiency often requires manpower and maybe they are a little tight on the front of house staff.

Again, the food is as good as ever, but they need to get their groove back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value2

The Boiler Room is an Old Market gem. Th ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on September 25, 2016

The Boiler Room is an Old Market gem. The food and atmosphere feel like that of a larger metropolitan, but the service makes one feel like an old friend. I highly recommend you visit if it even slightly piques your interest.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Molecular Gastronomy, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Organic, Historic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Open Kitchen, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Seasonal, Handcrafted Cocktails, Late-night Find, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The ambiance is top drawer with food and ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 24, 2016

The ambiance is top drawer with food and service to match

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We chose the Boiler Room for the last ni ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on September 24, 2016

We chose the Boiler Room for the last night of Omaha Restaurant Week. It did not disappoint!

The pre-fixe menu was well thought out and the wine pairings were excellent. The service was superior. The ambiance was delightful. Overall.....a fantastic experience!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was a great way to celebrate our birt ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on September 23, 2016

It was a great way to celebrate our birthdays! We've wanted to come for a long time, and the occasion finally got us there. Actually, thanks to a friend for the gift!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

In the past, this was one of my favorite ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on September 20, 2016

In the past, this was one of my favorite restaurants for special occasions. This time we had friends from out of town with us. The servers were rude and condescending. We were embarrassed that we brought our out of town guests. We will never go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value3

The food was superb. We were there durin ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on September 16, 2016

The food was superb. We were there during Restaurant Week, so I got the 3 course prix fixe menu, and even the salad was something special. I would highly recommend this place for a special occasion.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

When we drove up to the parking space ri ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on September 15, 2016

When we drove up to the parking space right in front of the restaurant, the manager came out to give us a Parking voucher. Then, he stood by the door and waited for us so he could open the restaurant door for us. He seated us and I noticed printed on the menu was " happy anniversary". I had put that on the comments section when I made the online reservation. What a special touch!! We had a main waiter, but we noticed any staff that walked by would refill our water glass or replace our chilled water bottle. It seemed that all the staff would take care of others' tables when they noticed anything was needed. Nice! Our table overlooked the kitchen and it was very interesting seeing the chef and staff prepare and plate the food being served. Just a wonderful dining experience.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing dining experience.

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 9, 2016

Amazing dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food is amazing, excellent service.

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Food is amazing, excellent service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was our first visit to the restaura ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on August 27, 2016

This was our first visit to the restaurant, we were on a double date and could not have been more excited when we walked into the restaurant for our 6:00 reservation. The restaurant atmosphere was very cool, I really enjoyed the set up. However, shortly after sitting down we proceeded to have a 2 hour dinner with perhaps the worst waiter I've ever had. When asked about the craft cocktails, he had zero knowledge to share. When asked for a dinner recommendation he was short and lacked any description of the food. I told the table that I refuse to order dessert and asked for the check. The waiter responded, "I'll get the check after I clear all your plates." Very rude. We each had two drinks over a painful two hour period, we would have had more, but he barely showed up to see how we were doing. At the end of the night, it made sense that he was getting chewed out by the manager when we walked in, I just wish he wouldn't have been assigned to our table. I will never go to the Boiler Room again. If you are going to charge a premium, food alone will not keep your restaurant successful. A professional staff with decent service and appreciation for the amount of money you spend will go a long way.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value2

Always a wonderful experience. No excep ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on August 26, 2016

Always a wonderful experience. No exception this night.

Extraordinary fish and vegetables.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

We have visited the Boiler Room on our w ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on August 23, 2016

We have visited the Boiler Room on our wedding anniversary for the past 5 years in a row (celebrated our 30th anniversary last week), and each visit we leave feeling special! The entire staff treats us like royalty, and we will continue this tradition for many more years to come. From the perfect romantic table (same one every year), the complimentary taste of champagne when we arrive, and the amazingly attentive (but non-obtrusive) service, and the stunning quality of the meals we've ordered, this is our favorite 'special occasion' restaurant in Omaha!

Tags: Historic, Romantic, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Honestly, everything from when we entere ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Honestly, everything from when we entered to when we exited was great. I have no complaints. The good was melt in your mouth no matter what we all ordered.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Being new to the area we have tried all ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on August 13, 2016

Being new to the area we have tried all the recommended eateries. This place must be too sophisticated for the locals. Superb and far better than the overrated favorites! Service and ambiance were exceptional. We shared charcuterie and the bass for two. Made my husband's birthday celebration an unexpected treat!

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.