About Boiler Room

1110 Jones St
Omaha, NE 68102
View Larger Map

A converted boiler room in the Bemis Bag building, built in 1896, The Boiler Room is an ingredient driven modern American/French restaurant. Chef Paul Kulik's menu changes daily to reflect local farm product availability. Now open six days a week for dinner, offering hand crafted cocktails and an extensive domaine driven Old World wine list.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Contemporary French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
11th and Jones

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(402) 916-9274

Website:
http://www.theboilerroomrestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Reserved street parking available immediately in front of the restaurant free of cost.

Executive Chef:
Paul Kulik

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Smoking Area (patio only), Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
Follow The Boiler Room Restaurant on Facebook to receive updates on our frequent wine dinners with great importers and winemakers!

Boiler Room Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
Nebraska
Romantic
Nebraska
Contemporary American
Nebraska
4 More
Notable Wine List
Omaha
Romantic
Omaha
Special Occasion
Omaha
Contemporary American
Omaha
Best Restaurants in Downtown / Old Market ›

special occasion (65)
fit for foodies (56)
romantic (56)
See All
notable wine list (53)
neighborhood gem (34)
hot spot (17)
late-night find (9)
good for groups (9)
vibrant bar scene (6)
scenic view (5)
great for lunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
998 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a great restaurant. The food was de ...

Dined 4 days ago

What a great restaurant. The food was delicious and the presentation was beautiful. The atmosphere was very classy and the service was excellent. We never had to wait for a drink refill. It is a perfect place for a romantic dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely Date Night with the Hubby/Birthday Dinner

Dined on May 4, 2016

This is probably the fifth time I've been to the Boiler Room. Wonderful as always! This was the first time I've sat at the bar before dinner and Alec, the bar tender, was great. Made tending bar seem fun and easy (and I know it is not an easy task). Anna, our waitress, was lovely and knowledgeable. She helped me pick a wine for dinner; she was indeed spot on! We got a complementary dish from the kitchen (for my birthday) and it was the scalloped stuffed, tortellini. AMAZING! So rich, so creamy, so perfect! Had a wonderful evening, great food, great staff!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Always a favorite stop in Omaha. Only s ...

Dined on May 3, 2016

Always a favorite stop in Omaha. Only spot I have to visit when I am in town. Menu is simple but thoughtfully constructed and great cocktails and Old World wines.

food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Boiler Room Review

Dined on April 30, 2016

We have gone to the Boiler Room several years in a row, and while it is not a value play, the food is very good, and the wait staff attentive and helpful.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Exceptional doesn't begin to describe it.

Dined on April 29, 2016

The only last minute reservation (on super busy weekend in Omaha) we could get was at 5:30 pm last Friday night (04/29/16) at the Boiler Room. I would never normally want to eat at 5:30 but it turned out to be perfect (and we plan to do it again next year). I think the staff was unhurried, fresh and ready to serve - timing was great. Our server Ruby was delightful - delivering just the right amount of everything (including a look at the beautiful coffee table book on the making of the restaurant while we awaited our food). The small menu is eclectic (most of it were things neither of us eat) but lo and behold one entree worked for each of us, along with a first course for my husband and a really lovely 1 piece cheese plate for me. Perfection was the pork chop (with sunchoke soubise, a crispy farm egg, Iowa ramps and baby turnips). My husband never eats swordfish but that's what he had and he loved it. The restaurant is beautiful (check out the book - it's fascinating) - the lighting is good, the terra cotta and plaster(?) face figures on the walls were a cool change of art-pace and the large, still-life photos were breathtaking. There wasn't one thing we didn't love about this dining experience (hard to understand the recent not so good reviews). We came from Baltimore for a conference and absolutely will never miss having another meal at the Boiler Room. Can't wait to go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Out standing experience

Dined on April 28, 2016

I would highly recommend the Boiler room , very special a dining experience wonderful food, attentive and knowledgable service

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Not for everyone

Dined on April 24, 2016

We went out for a much needed date ava my husband picked the boiler room based on the ratings. We hadn't been out in a while and really needed a romantic evening . There are only 5 choices on the menu 3 were fish which I can't eat. So I chose the steak. I honestly could of gotten a better one at long horn and saved a lot of money and gotten more food. For such an expensive place I expected more. Spent just shy of 100 dollars. This was for 2 glasses of wine, a piece of fish and a steak. Very disappointed

Tags: notable wine list
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

The overall experience at Boiler Room wa ...

Dined on April 23, 2016

The overall experience at Boiler Room was not as we anticipated. Based on previous written and verbal reviews, it did not live up to its reputation. The wait staff presented themselves as uneducated in areas of educate, food comprehension and overall service & professionalism. The food was appreciated, however, was lacking in overall satisfaction, presentation and balanced use of ingredient. Simply put, the Boiler Room was ranked of an overall two star rating due to the quality versus investment, and overall atmosphere.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, exceptional service, and coo ...

Dined on April 13, 2016

Great food, exceptional service, and cool vibe.

food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Spot for Special Evening

Dined on April 9, 2016

This is a wonderful spot for a special occasion or date night. Our server was awesome going over the menu in great detail. It's the perfect place for a night out with your significant other.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food2
ambience3
service5
value3

Not that great

Dined on April 7, 2016

The food wasn't that great. The salad was salty and weird, the pasta with crab was swimming in butter and the fish had a very salty top layer, but when you got through that layer, it was decent but not great. I would not go back for the food, but the service was great.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Tops in Omaha

vip
Dined on March 26, 2016

You won't find a more sophisticated restaurant in Omaha. Fantastic, inventive food; creative bar program; lively, classy atmosphere.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service2
value2

Dinner

Dined on March 22, 2016

Felt like I was getting scammed on the wine. Given a great for my first glass in a smaller glass. The next glass, which was supposed to be the same, was clearly different and in a much larger glass with more wine. The food is good, but the stuffy wait staff will make you feel like you don't belong there.

Tags: notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Perfect

Dined on March 19, 2016

Just the best in Omaha and an absolute treat for Becky and I, I love wine but I'm an absolute novice in this area. It would be very nice if you had a wine steward with possible samples for helping people like myself. Felt embarrassed to ask so we went with mixed drinks and beer.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great date night

Dined on March 12, 2016

We always have a wonderful time at the Boiler Room. This particular night we were celebrating our 10 yr anniversary. The shrimp appetizer was so amazing it put me into labor! Dinner reservations at 6 pm and a baby at 9:11 pm. It was a wonderful night!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful food and service at the Boiler Room

Dined on March 10, 2016

I had dinner alone at 5:30 p.m. on a Thursday evening because I was checking the restaurant out for a group event in April. The location is across from the Kaneko, but 11th & Jones St parking is difficult. However, it's worth it to dine here. The restaurant was quiet, probably due to the early time. The service was outstanding as was my John Dory entree. The sauce with gnocchi and vegetables was delicious, but a bit salty for my taste due to my reducing salt intake for some time now. I look forward to our upcoming group event!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious! Great service that moved at a ...

Dined on February 27, 2016

Delicious! Great service that moved at a comfortable pace. Very enjoyable atmosphere.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

glad I tried it

Dined on February 17, 2016

This was my first time to eat at Boiler Room and while it wasn't all that I had imagined, it was very good and I would definitely recommend that others go at least once. The food and drinks are quite pricey but delicious and our service was outstanding. I really liked the space but the staff (with the exception of our own server) was a bit hoity-toity. Again, not all that I'd hoped but I'm glad I tried it.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Been here three times and everything I'v ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

Been here three times and everything I've ever gotten here has been amazing - food and cocktails.

food4
ambience2
service4

Very nice restaurant, but very expensive ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

Very nice restaurant, but very expensive for what you get.

food5
ambience5
service5

The decour at boiler room is modern and ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

The decour at boiler room is modern and unique. It is like no other dining experience. The service was prompt and the attitude of everyone we interacted with cheerful and fun. The food was great as is expected at Boiler Room and when you expect good food it is always harder to deliver. They have never disappointed.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Favorite Omaha restaurant. Never disapp ...

Dined on February 7, 2016

Favorite Omaha restaurant. Never disappointed. This time was no exception.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience2
service2
value2

High Expectations not met

Dined on January 23, 2016

We are returning guests at the Boiler Room since we have had several good experiences there. That was why we had booked a table for six to celebrate my wife's birthday. The waiter showed us to a table placed below the stairs where a ice cold draft hit us every time the front door opened. We asked for a different table but the staff told us that it wasn't a option. Instead the cranked up a electrical heater next to the table. We were uncomfortable and cold. The food was good, but the service was slow and sloppy - just like they didn't care. We left after the main course because it was just to cold to stay. We had looked forward to a good dinner but left disappointed.

food4
ambience5
service5

It's an interesting, unique space.

vip
Dined on January 20, 2016

It's an interesting, unique space.

food3
ambience4
service4
value3

First impressions

Dined on January 16, 2016

We went to the Boiler Room for a special occasion. The ambiance was very nice and easy to have a nice quiet conversation. The service was impeccable. The food was good but a bit pretentious. I would recommend giving it a try. For me it won't be the menu that brings me back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience2
service2
value3

AMAZING food but lack luster service

Dined on January 11, 2016

My friend and I went to dinner to celebrate a personal accomplishment; we made reservations for 5:30 on a weeknight. We had received great recommendations from friends, but I would rate our experience as average--mostly because of the service we received. Our server was kind of rude to us and not very personable. I am not sure that he introduced himself, he just asked what we would want to order off of the wine list. He took our order for drinks and came back later to take our appetizer and main dish orders. Afterwards, he dropped off the check. He did the bare minimum to serve our table, and seemed cold and short when he was speaking to us. It definitely put a damper on our celebratory mood. Besides the service, we were not entirely disappointed with the Boiler Room. The door man was nice, our drinks were delicious and the food was amazing; I highly recommend the rabbit or the lamb. However, I believe that my experience at a restaurant relies quite a bit on the service I receive, especially at higher end restaurants. The Boiler Room has such an amazing reputation in Omaha, so I was very much surprised with my experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Is this Omaha??

Dined on January 3, 2016

All-around outstanding experience. Very unique to be able to walk into a restaurant on the second level and see the food being prepared below. Classy, very polite waiter. Steak was to die for. Great place for a special occasion or anniversary, as it is a little pricey. I hear the menu changes often so would love to return.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

AMAZING!

Dined on January 1, 2016

We went for New Years Eve on a recommendation from one of the Chefs girlfriends. The menu that evening was a one set menu and price. It was 5 courses and a wine pairing for each course. The food and wine was AMAZING! For us it was worth the price. We had the most unbelievable table very private. My husband called it the Harry Potter table because it was under the staircase but it still had great views to the open kitchen and next to the wine cellar. We wouldn't do this place as a regular Friday night but more of a once in a while, special occasion. I'm not sure how child friendly it is but I wouldn't bring my kids. HIGHLY RECOMMEND!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service2

Service was surprisingly poor this eveni ...

Dined on December 31, 2015

Service was surprisingly poor this evening. We originally decided to sit at the bar but after barely being recognized by the bartender and having to tell him we wanted to order drinks (odd given he's the bartender), we opted for a table. The gentleman serving us was kind but slow. He offered very few details about the menu and was infrequently around. We enjoy long dinners but this one was painful. Doubtful we will return unless invited.

food4
ambience5
service5

Wine menu is outstanding with knowledgea ...

Dined on December 29, 2015

Wine menu is outstanding with knowledgeable staff. Great mixologist! The desserts are weak and should be skipped. I also noticed a few chefs "tasting" repeatedly with the same spoon without cleaning.

food5
ambience5
service5

Wine list-extensive

Dined on December 27, 2015

Wine list-extensive

food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Always great

Dined on December 25, 2015

You can't go wrong at The Boiler Room. Love it and have loved it for years. Odd though, after dinner, I wanted to buy a $200 gift card as a Christmas Gift (as it was Christmas Eve), and they told me they were out of them. So I didn't get one. They offered a bottle of wine as they were all out of gift cards. Hmmm. I ended up getting one at the new kid in town, The Market House.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Lynn Mack

Dined on December 24, 2015

I am a physician/mom-eat out about 5x per year for special occassions. Comparator restaurants are Grey Plume, J. Coco, Le Bouillion. Ate here Christmas Eve. Had the charcuterie and wagyu steak. These were good and similar to the other restaurants named in terms of quality, presenation, taste. All of these restaurants have excellent wait staff. Minutia that impacted experience: arrived at 5:20 pm for 5:30 pm reservation to find the doors locked but staff inside. This was our 7 inches of snow day. Parked in front but had to navigate snow to get to entrance in high heels. While standing at the locked door I called to see if I could be let in but was told "No" so I let them know I would be waiting in my car. Once the doors were unlocked I then had to go back to my car again to put a coupon on the dash board from the restaurant so my car wouldn't be towed. Inside the restaurant was chilly so would recommend warm clothes or don't check coat. By end of meal I was pretty cold so wanted something hot like a cappuccino but the machine was down. The waitress did make us single cups of coffee-if we wanted refills needed to wait 8 mintues for additional cups to be made.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great place for special occasion/splurge

Dined on December 18, 2015

Service was great. Food was excellent, we all had seafood and were very happy with our selections. The rustic feel of the building and the layout are very unique and make for a great experience. We took an out of country guest here and he had a great experience, I would definitely take someone here to impress them and show them a unique and tasty place to go in Omaha. As a side note: It may be helpful to have servers know some history of the restaurant because it is a really neat building. Maybe more servers are knowledgeable about this than others, ours was a little vague, but was still a very good server.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was cooked to perfection and th ...

Dined on December 12, 2015

The food was cooked to perfection and the presentation was immaculate! The staff was attentive but not smothering. A great date night made better by a great dining experience.

food5
ambience5
service4

As Always

Dined on December 6, 2015

My wife and I have dined at the Boiler Room 12 to 15 times. This time was no exception...Excellent

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service4

Mixed experience

Dined on November 29, 2015

We went to Boiler Room for our anniversary, since we had enjoyed it in the past and my husband wanted a lamb dish. The cheese plate, bread and wine were all wonderful, as was my roasted pork. However, the lamb was a disappointment. The spices/garlic overpowered the meat's flavor, which resulted in a suasage-like flavor. We ended up bringing half of the lamb home and hope that it's more edible mixed with other food in small pieces. Also, everything came quickly, with hardly any time between courses, more like you'd want it if you were rushing to a show. Maybe we should have said we wanted to take our time...

food5
ambience5
service5

Put this on your list of favorites!

Dined on November 27, 2015

Fantastic dynamic food and drink menu that changes so that every visit is unique. Top quality service rounds out the experience of fun and excellence!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service3

Great atmosphere

vip
Dined on November 25, 2015

The menu is eclectic and has wonderful choices. My swordfish was very good and all of us at the table enjoyed our meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Not just a meal; it was an experience

vip
Dined on November 24, 2015

One of the best dining experiences, period. The Boiler Room is restaurant / bar for those with a taste for the unexpected. Enter with an open mind, and allow the staff to take you on an adventure. First, the cocktails (both on-menu and their takes on classics) are unique. Even their version of a French 75 makes it truly their own (in a good way, a very good way). Alec is a true mixologist and alchemist. Once seated for dinner, asked Tim to "bring us stuff...and pair each course with a wine of their choosing." This was the best decision of the evening. Both rabbit and lamb are outside my comfort zone, but was delighted when Tim brought both dishes. Desert was sublime. Nary a "typical" dish on the menu, so if you have a limited palate, check the ever-changing menu before making reservations. Highly recommended.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.