Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.28mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.28mi

About Boiler Room

A converted boiler room in the Bemis Bag building, built in 1896, The Boiler Room is an ingredient driven modern American/French restaurant. Chef Paul Kulik's menu changes daily to reflect local farm product availability. Now open six days a week for dinner, offering hand crafted cocktails and an extensive domaine driven Old World wine list.

1110 Jones St
Omaha, NE 68102
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Contemporary French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
11th and Jones

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(402) 916-9274

Website:
http://www.theboilerroomrestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Reserved street parking available immediately in front of the restaurant free of cost.

Executive Chef:
Paul Kulik

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Follow The Boiler Room Restaurant on Facebook to receive updates on our frequent wine dinners with great importers and winemakers!

Boiler Room Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.8

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (33)
Special Occasion (30)
Good for Anniversaries (30)
See All
Fit for Foodies (28)
Romantic (25)
Notable Wine List (22)
Local Ingredients (22)
Creative Cuisine (20)
Handcrafted Cocktails (20)
Open Kitchen (18)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Business Meals (10)
Cozy (10)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Worth the Drive (10)
Healthy (8)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Historic (7)
Authentic (7)
Modern Decor (6)
Good for Groups (5)
Hot Spot (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Fun (4)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Casual (2)
Organic (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Comfort Food (1)
Scenic View (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Tapas (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Seasonal (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sort By:
S
1199 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined 5 days ago

I highly recommend the Boiler Room. My wife and I go there often. Great food and great atmosphere with first-rate service. The menu is very good; it has never disappointed me. Wonderful food combinations that are very well prepared. I enjoy being able to view the kitchen area and watch the food being prepared.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined 6 days ago

My wife & I went on a Friday night & the ambiance, food & overall appeal of the restaurant were very good. Rustic & industrial looking location with brick-face, but very quiet & romantic . The appetizers were unique and excellent, we had the Asparagus Rotolo and something with Pork Belly, asparagus & egg white emulsion. We also enjoyed a cheese plate with a local Prairie Cheese plate. For our main courses, the chef was nice enough to prepare a special vegetarian plate for my wife (which changes daily but is apparently always available) and I had the Pork + Italian sausage with beets & polaenta. Both were delicious & good size portions. My wife tried a couple different types of wine & I had the Blonde Redhead, which were delicious. Our bill was about $130 + tax. We would definitely go back for a special occasion

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 6 days ago

Simply looking for a non-chain dinner, we opted for the Boiler Room. The menu was interesting and the presentation perfection. It was not your average fare while being completely edible. Friendly staff who were attentive and appropriate. We had a unique experience.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Cozy, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Several disappointments....could not get a Bloody Mary (what bar cannot fix a simple BM?). Then no brand name gins (ie, no Bombay, no Beefeaters). The entrees were very limited and the food was OK but not great. Service was good, a little pushy in the beginning. Overall it was average and at these prices there are lots of places to choose from that deliver much better than average. Disappointing....used to be better. Reminds me of our last experiences at Grey Plume so maybe it is a top-down type of problem. Same management.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Great! It deserves all the raves and accolades.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on June 6, 2017

Our waiter was quite helpful. Offered samples of wine to select a bottle from. The menu, although limited had very good appetizers and entrees. Especially enjoyed the Pork Tongue Pastrami. Overall, we had a very enjoyable anniversary, and will definitely visit again.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on June 5, 2017

Fantastic service and perfect som recommendation! The food contains loads of local ingredients and is amazing. Wine list is a droolworthy collection of French things....loads and loads of whites and rose and bubbly options! Charcuterie is not to be missed. You will wish you went here sooner if it's your first time.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Business Meals, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Boiler Room is an A+ all day everyday!! Their food is flawlessly prepared and their service is wonderful. Best restaurant in the city

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Everything from the food to the service was top notch I highly recommend this

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Healthy, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Loved the food. Our waiter Timothy was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Tim was the best as always. The food was 5 stars as always. Boiler Room is the best of everything in every way.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Tulsa)·Dined on May 25, 2017

The food, service, and atmosphere was fantastic! It was a wonderful place to celebrate a special occasion.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Service and food were fantastic. Our waiter arranged for a private table in the wine cellar, it was absolutely an amazing setting for a romantic dinner on our 1st wedding anniversary, highly recommend!!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 20, 2017

I want to like this place so bad! Service was atrocious, food was overpriced, and staff was rude. Don't waste your time here, go to the Grey Plume instead.

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 14, 2017

My wife and I had a great first-time experience at The Boiler Room. Both the food and service were excellent!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Healthy, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Beyond fantastic; a phenomenal experience from top to bottom. I cannot recommend highly enough. Our waitress was amiable and informative. Her recommendations were spot-on and my cocktail was exactly what I wanted. The appetizers and entrees were perfect; my mom has a number of food allergies, and the kitchen was thoroughly accommodating. And the creme brulee was the best I've had. I can't wait to find an excuse to go back.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Healthy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Great choice of wine, but a bit pricey. Nonetheless, one can find a good affordable wine with a minimum of knowledge. Short menu, but includes meat and fish, all well prepared and quite different in taste (our waiter gave us the wrong plates and it took us a few minutes to realize it ourselves, so we had a few bites and therefore tasted 4 out of the 6-7 main courses available). The decor is stunning and the music good, but not overwhelming, a big plus for me.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Modern Decor, Fun, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (London)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Fabulous menu. Knowledgeable serving staff.

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Food was excellent and service was too. Definitely recommend the homemade charcuterie and squid ink pasta

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 6, 2017

We always eat here for the Berkshire Hathaway meeting and view it a real treat each time.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Absolutely amazing! Corking fee waved if you buy a bottle from them. Great food, extensive European wine list. Service was attentive without being intrusive. Definitely a return customer!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Great service, great ambiance, excellent food and a place for good conversation. We thoroughly enjoyed our dining experience and I highly recommend.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic, Fun, Good for a Date, Healthy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Afternoon Coffee, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Great find. Great waitstaff and delicious food! Setting is a very cool old warehouse...large but comfy place. Everyone very attentive.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Tapas, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Open Kitchen, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Omaha)·Dined on April 29, 2017

As always, cocktails, meal, wine and service was exceptional. The best special occasion (but don't just wait for one) restaurant in Omaha especially with parking always in front of the door.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Great for a special night--it's my destination restaurant when I'm passing through Omaha.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 24, 2017

Great wine choices; killer cocktails; yummy food. Service was outstanding. Boiler Room stands up well to any major city's best!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Have never had a bad experience and tonight was no different. Tim is the best server in the city.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Our server Anna was amazing! She really made the experience fabulous! Thank you!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Notable Wine List, Open Kitchen, Romantic, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Every bite tasted amazing and looked like a piece of art on the plate - we had 2 appetizers, 2 entrees and dessert. Also a great bottle of wine. Would highly recommend.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on March 27, 2017

Without a doubt one of Omaha's finest restaurant! The ambience is lovely and the food excellent. Drinks are amazing too!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Another amazing meal! I have never ordered anything bad at this restaurant, and never had bad service. Drinks are great too. I love that there is always something new every time we go.

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 24, 2017

This was very romantic restaurant! Our waiter was excellent and so attentive. The menu was very limited, however what we did order arrived perfect! The roast pork loin was the best I've ever eaten. The wine selection was fabulous. We would definitely return!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Omaha)·Dined on March 14, 2017

The food was excellent, the vodka martini was perfect, but the experience was too rushed. There needs to be more to expand it. No soup, no salad. Just a cold piece of complementary bread. If you don't order an appetizer, it's entree, desert, and out the door in 45 minutes or less. If I'm spending over $150 for two, I expect more.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on March 12, 2017

We felt so special from the minute we walked in the door to the moment we said goodbye. Our server was personable and patient, taking time to explain ingredients and preparation. A wonderful experience for us!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Local Ingredients, Historic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Over priced with just ok service and food. We waited over 30 minutes to get out first drinks. In fairness, we were told they were busy but the two tables beside ours were empty. We are foodies who have eaten all over the world and we don't mind paying for good food and wine. The BR had been highly recommended and it just didn't live up to our expectations.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on March 10, 2017

The Boiler Room was highly disappointing in terms of service and the quality of the food served. When eating, our server tried bussing both our meal plates and cocktail glasses before we were finished. She was also very invasive during our time spent at her table. She was constantly rearranging the dishes in front of us and even asked us to move our hands so she could place a dish in a specific spot on the table. She would also move our drink glasses around. It was very strange and made for an uncomfortable experience. We were also less than pleased with the desert option. We couldn't even cut into the tart that we had ordered because it was so hard. We had to pick it up to bite it in order to eat it. The portions are very small, which is expected to be the case at a classier restaurant. Despite being delicious, the price is not reflective of its quality. I would not recommended this restaurant to fellow date night goers.

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Our first trip to this restaurant. After I made the reservation online I called to ask if they had valet and they told me no, to just park in front and come in and get a tag to put on windshield, which I did. I told them it was our first time here and this was a business dinner. He asked if we wanted to be in a quiet area away from everyone which I liked. Overall it was a great meal and experience. My business partner from NYC was even impressed.
Only complaint is the City of Omaha needs to put some attention to fixing the street out front.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on March 5, 2017

All the wait staff was great. Food and wine selection was great also.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Was disappointed in the service and quality of food. The waitress was apologetic, but surely, you can anticipate the number of diners you will have since there are reservations. The chicken entree was overdone. The sirloin was very underdone. There was an expansive wine list, but no cranberry if you wanted a cran vodka. Several people at our table were very uncomfortable with the chairs. We had a back corner table which was a bit isolated from everyone else. The only thing we could see was the kitchen below which added to the high temperatures in the restaurant. We chose this restaurant based on reviews and recommendations. We expected to pay high prices, but, also expected to get value and great service. The menu is limited, yet, again, another reason it should not take so long.
I wouldn't go back or recommend it to anyone.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Everybite was amazing! Plating presentation and table service was impressive. The pork belly app was deliciously paired with pickled shitaki mushrooms on a silky bed of potatoes. Whole fried cod was crispy buttered goodness.

My only negative was the slight pours on the wines. I was quite surprised by how little the glass was filled. For such a great job on every other detail, it truly was a glaring stand out. I only mention this to hopefully improve the pours so future diners may have a nice glass of wine with their amazing meal.

Tags: Historic, Open Kitchen, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.