About Boiler Room

1110 Jones St
Omaha, NE 68102
View Larger Map

A converted boiler room in the Bemis Bag building, built in 1896, The Boiler Room is an ingredient driven modern American/French restaurant. Chef Paul Kulik's menu changes daily to reflect local farm product availability. Now open six days a week for dinner, offering hand crafted cocktails and an extensive domaine driven Old World wine list.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Contemporary French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
11th and Jones

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(402) 916-9274

Website:
http://www.theboilerroomrestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Reserved street parking available immediately in front of the restaurant free of cost.

Executive Chef:
Paul Kulik

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Smoking Area (patio only), Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
Follow The Boiler Room Restaurant on Facebook to receive updates on our frequent wine dinners with great importers and winemakers!

Boiler Room Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Nebraska
Fit for Foodies
Nebraska
Notable Wine List
Nebraska
8 More
Romantic
Nebraska
Special Occasion
Nebraska
Contemporary American
Nebraska
Best Ambiance
Omaha
Fit for Foodies
Omaha
Notable Wine List
Omaha
Romantic
Omaha
Special Occasion
Omaha
Best Restaurants in Downtown / Old Market ›

special occasion (60)
fit for foodies (53)
romantic (47)
See All
notable wine list (44)
neighborhood gem (28)
hot spot (15)
good for groups (7)
late-night find (7)
vibrant bar scene (6)
scenic view (5)
Sort By:
Newest
1013 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I reserved a table for a friend from Los ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

I reserved a table for a friend from Los Angeles and he and both thoroughly enjoyed our dining experience. Great spot, interesting ambiance, wonderful server. Highly recommend this to anyone who appreciates great food and great atmosphere.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a great late night dining experie ...

 
 (Omaha)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

We had a great late night dining experience. Top of my list of where to go again when we are in Omaha

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The service was great. We had several pe ...

 
 (Omaha)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

The service was great. We had several people us out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This has been our go-to spot in Omaha wh ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

This has been our go-to spot in Omaha when we want a special meal with outstanding service. They always deliver. The menu is ever changing with creative, refined and well-balanced dishes, and the service is professional and attentive. Paul Kulik was present in the dining room, and assisting with wine choices. He surprised us with an outstanding, and well-priced rose which we loved. We are relocating and will greatly miss Boiler Room.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was very disappointed when going to th ...

 
 (Omaha)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

I was very disappointed when going to the boiler room I knew that it was known to be one of the top 10 maybe even top five in Omaha. We dined on a Wednesday which I'm sure was a slower Night for them which I had no problem with. I wante to be clear that the food was amazing. I was completely upset with the service of the restaurant. Being that I figured the dinner would cost about $300 between me and my girlfriend I would have hoped to have seen at least one of the employees smile if not look appreciative that we were there and overall create a better ambience for us. We ended up only spending about $180 and I guarantee you we would have spent much more like getting a second bottle of wine or a dessert had the service been better. I would not recommend this place to anyone due to that time we dined there… We will just stick to going to the flat iron!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service1
value2

Food was absolutely spectacular. We had ...

 
 (Omaha)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Food was absolutely spectacular. We had a 5:30 reservation prior to an event at 6:45. Door was locked when we arrived a little early, had to wait outside in the hot sun. But, once inside was completely taken care of.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Unique menu, excellent service, great at ...

 
 (Omaha)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Unique menu, excellent service, great atmosphere. One of a kind in Omaha.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The ambiance at the Boiler Room is perha ...

 
 (Omaha)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

The ambiance at the Boiler Room is perhaps it's most notable feature, with the bird's eye view of the kitchen inherent in the layout. The food is always delicious as well.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Great place with outstanding service. S ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Great place with outstanding service. Special occasion kind of place.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Simply the best!

 
 (Omaha)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

The Boiler Room is divine and decadent. The staff and service are 'spot on" and the menu is always full of fantastic choices. We were celebrating two birthdays and a med school scholarship and had a wonderful, special and evocative meal. Our drinks from the talented bartender (cocktail master) were delicious and seasonal.

It remains the "go to" for any occasion, but definitely for "special" occasions.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Top notch dinnerfor our anniversary

 
 (Omaha)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

We had a great time for our anniversary. It is certainly a special occasion restaurant, one where you east something you have never had before in an elegant and unique environment. I had the porchetta and my wife had the salmon. Both were excellent. Then we actually got 2 deserts for a change, and they were also incredible. Only a handful of wines by the glass but the server let me taste 2 so I could make sure it was the one I wanted.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful Date Night

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

We were seated on the balcony overlooking the kitchen so we got to watch the chefs prepare the food! The Cocktails and Food were all delicious. I highly recommend the Charcuterie. We had the Pork & the Steak and they were both great! I would HIGHLY recommend the boiler Room to all of my friends.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a delightful evening at the Boile ...

 
 (Omaha)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

We had a delightful evening at the Boiler Room. Everything was delicious and prepared perfectly. Mour service was impeccable. The wine recommendation was outstanding!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great special occasion spot

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Food was top notch, portions were perfect and the views of the kitchen was quite exciting.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

What a great restaurant. The food was de ...

 
 (Omaha)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

What a great restaurant. The food was delicious and the presentation was beautiful. The atmosphere was very classy and the service was excellent. We never had to wait for a drink refill. It is a perfect place for a romantic dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely Date Night with the Hubby/Birthday Dinner

 
 (Omaha)
·Dined on May 4, 2016

This is probably the fifth time I've been to the Boiler Room. Wonderful as always! This was the first time I've sat at the bar before dinner and Alec, the bar tender, was great. Made tending bar seem fun and easy (and I know it is not an easy task). Anna, our waitress, was lovely and knowledgeable. She helped me pick a wine for dinner; she was indeed spot on! We got a complementary dish from the kitchen (for my birthday) and it was the scalloped stuffed, tortellini. AMAZING! So rich, so creamy, so perfect! Had a wonderful evening, great food, great staff!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a favorite stop in Omaha. Only s ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 3, 2016

Always a favorite stop in Omaha. Only spot I have to visit when I am in town. Menu is simple but thoughtfully constructed and great cocktails and Old World wines.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Boiler Room Review

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

We have gone to the Boiler Room several years in a row, and while it is not a value play, the food is very good, and the wait staff attentive and helpful.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Exceptional doesn't begin to describe it.

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

The only last minute reservation (on super busy weekend in Omaha) we could get was at 5:30 pm last Friday night (04/29/16) at the Boiler Room. I would never normally want to eat at 5:30 but it turned out to be perfect (and we plan to do it again next year). I think the staff was unhurried, fresh and ready to serve - timing was great. Our server Ruby was delightful - delivering just the right amount of everything (including a look at the beautiful coffee table book on the making of the restaurant while we awaited our food). The small menu is eclectic (most of it were things neither of us eat) but lo and behold one entree worked for each of us, along with a first course for my husband and a really lovely 1 piece cheese plate for me. Perfection was the pork chop (with sunchoke soubise, a crispy farm egg, Iowa ramps and baby turnips). My husband never eats swordfish but that's what he had and he loved it. The restaurant is beautiful (check out the book - it's fascinating) - the lighting is good, the terra cotta and plaster(?) face figures on the walls were a cool change of art-pace and the large, still-life photos were breathtaking. There wasn't one thing we didn't love about this dining experience (hard to understand the recent not so good reviews). We came from Baltimore for a conference and absolutely will never miss having another meal at the Boiler Room. Can't wait to go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Out standing experience

 
 (Omaha)
·Dined on April 28, 2016

I would highly recommend the Boiler room , very special a dining experience wonderful food, attentive and knowledgable service

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not for everyone

 
 (Omaha)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

We went out for a much needed date ava my husband picked the boiler room based on the ratings. We hadn't been out in a while and really needed a romantic evening . There are only 5 choices on the menu 3 were fish which I can't eat. So I chose the steak. I honestly could of gotten a better one at long horn and saved a lot of money and gotten more food. For such an expensive place I expected more. Spent just shy of 100 dollars. This was for 2 glasses of wine, a piece of fish and a steak. Very disappointed

Tags: notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

The overall experience at Boiler Room wa ...

 
 (Omaha)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

The overall experience at Boiler Room was not as we anticipated. Based on previous written and verbal reviews, it did not live up to its reputation. The wait staff presented themselves as uneducated in areas of educate, food comprehension and overall service & professionalism. The food was appreciated, however, was lacking in overall satisfaction, presentation and balanced use of ingredient. Simply put, the Boiler Room was ranked of an overall two star rating due to the quality versus investment, and overall atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

My new favorite restaurant in Omaha. Gre ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

My new favorite restaurant in Omaha. Great food, drink, service and ambiance. Definitely worth the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, exceptional service, and coo ...

 
 (Omaha)
·Dined on April 13, 2016

Great food, exceptional service, and cool vibe.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Spot for Special Evening

 
 (Omaha)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

This is a wonderful spot for a special occasion or date night. Our server was awesome going over the menu in great detail. It's the perfect place for a night out with your significant other.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Not that great

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on April 7, 2016

The food wasn't that great. The salad was salty and weird, the pasta with crab was swimming in butter and the fish had a very salty top layer, but when you got through that layer, it was decent but not great. I would not go back for the food, but the service was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value3

Tops in Omaha

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

You won't find a more sophisticated restaurant in Omaha. Fantastic, inventive food; creative bar program; lively, classy atmosphere.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dinner

 
 (Omaha)
·Dined on March 22, 2016

Felt like I was getting scammed on the wine. Given a great for my first glass in a smaller glass. The next glass, which was supposed to be the same, was clearly different and in a much larger glass with more wine.

The food is good, but the stuffy wait staff will make you feel like you don't belong there.

Tags: notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value2

Perfect

 
 (Omaha)
·Dined on March 19, 2016

Just the best in Omaha and an absolute treat for Becky and I, I love wine but I'm an absolute novice in this area. It would be very nice if you had a wine steward with possible samples for helping people like myself. Felt embarrassed to ask so we went with mixed drinks and beer.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Great date night

 
 (Omaha)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

We always have a wonderful time at the Boiler Room. This particular night we were celebrating our 10 yr anniversary. The shrimp appetizer was so amazing it put me into labor! Dinner reservations at 6 pm and a baby at 9:11 pm. It was a wonderful night!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful food and service at the Boiler Room

 
 (Omaha)
·Dined on March 10, 2016

I had dinner alone at 5:30 p.m. on a Thursday evening because I was checking the restaurant out for a group event in April. The location is across from the Kaneko, but 11th & Jones St parking is difficult. However, it's worth it to dine here. The restaurant was quiet, probably due to the early time. The service was outstanding as was my John Dory entree. The sauce with gnocchi and vegetables was delicious, but a bit salty for my taste due to my reducing salt intake for some time now. I look forward to our upcoming group event!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Delicious! Great service that moved at a ...

 
 (Omaha)
·Dined on February 27, 2016

Delicious! Great service that moved at a comfortable pace. Very enjoyable atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

glad I tried it

 
 (Omaha)
·Dined on February 17, 2016

This was my first time to eat at Boiler Room and while it wasn't all that I had imagined, it was very good and I would definitely recommend that others go at least once. The food and drinks are quite pricey but delicious and our service was outstanding. I really liked the space but the staff (with the exception of our own server) was a bit hoity-toity. Again, not all that I'd hoped but I'm glad I tried it.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Been here three times and everything I'v ...

 
 (Omaha)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Been here three times and everything I've ever gotten here has been amazing - food and cocktails.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very nice restaurant, but very expensive ...

 
 (Omaha)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Very nice restaurant, but very expensive for what you get.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4

The decour at boiler room is modern and ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

The decour at boiler room is modern and unique. It is like no other dining experience. The service was prompt and the attitude of everyone we interacted with cheerful and fun. The food was great as is expected at Boiler Room and when you expect good food it is always harder to deliver. They have never disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Favorite Omaha restaurant. Never disapp ...

 
 (Omaha)
·Dined on February 7, 2016

Favorite Omaha restaurant. Never disappointed. This time was no exception.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

High Expectations not met

 
 (Omaha)
·Dined on January 23, 2016

We are returning guests at the Boiler Room since we have had several good experiences there. That was why we had booked a table for six to celebrate my wife's birthday. The waiter showed us to a table placed below the stairs where a ice cold draft hit us every time the front door opened. We asked for a different table but the staff told us that it wasn't a option. Instead the cranked up a electrical heater next to the table. We were uncomfortable and cold. The food was good, but the service was slow and sloppy - just like they didn't care. We left after the main course because it was just to cold to stay. We had looked forward to a good dinner but left disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2
value2

It's an interesting, unique space.

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on January 20, 2016

It's an interesting, unique space.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

First impressions

 
 (Omaha)
·Dined on January 16, 2016

We went to the Boiler Room for a special occasion. The ambiance was very nice and easy to have a nice quiet conversation. The service was impeccable. The food was good but a bit pretentious. I would recommend giving it a try. For me it won't be the menu that brings me back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.