About Bohanan's Prime Steaks and Seafood

219 East Houston Street
Suite 275
San Antonio, TX 78205
View Larger Map

Bohanan’s fame is founded on sublimely tender prime beef grilled over fragrant mesquite wood. Enjoy extraordinarily delicious Akaushi beef, Chef/Owner Mark Bohanan’s large custom cuts of prime aged corn-fed beef, succulent seafood flown in fresh daily, and spectacular table-side desserts flambé. Imbibe a classic cocktail at the first-floor Bar at Bohanan’s, then join us upstairs for the best steak you’ve ever eaten. Located in a historic building in downtown San Antonio about a block from the River Walk. AAA Four Diamond rating and Wine Spectator’s Best of Award of Excellence.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Navarro or Saint Mary's

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(210) 472-2600

Website:
http://www.bohanans.com/

Entertainment:
Enjoy live entertainment from South Texas Jazz on Friday & Saturday Evenings!

Parking Details:
Curbside valet available. Valet service will be added to the final bill.

Public Transit:
Bohanan's is located in the center of downtown San Antonio; walking distance from most downtown hotels and conveniently located to city's public transportation.

Executive Chef:
Mark Bohanan / Owner

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Grilled Fish Tacos
Filet
New York Style Cheesecake
AKAUSHI BEEF
 Chilled Watermelon & Champagne Soup
Cheese, Almonds & Fruit Plate
Broccoli
Shrimp Cocktail
Macaroni and Cheese
40 Oz Porterhouse Steak
European Quail
Candied Jalepenos Over Whipped Cream Cheese
Yamizaki 18 Japanese Whiskey
Bananas Foster
Bone In Ribeye
Hummus Trio
Southside Cocktail
Candied Jalapenos
Truffle Potato Chips & Almonds
Chocolate Decadence Bites
Seared Tuna Appetizer
Moscow Mule
BLT
Pineapple Coconut Habanero Sorbet
Rum Honeysuckle
Chicken Salad Sandwich
Watermelon Champagne Soup
Ribey
Meat
Hefeweizen
Spiced shrimp with boozy cocktail sauce
Prawn
crab
16 oz NY Strip
Chateau Stack
Shrimp Wrapped In Bacon Stuffed With Jack Cheese And King Crab
Grilled Oysters
Jumbo Lump Blue Crab Cocktail

Private Dining

Bohanan’s is the perfect place to make your special event one to remember. The exquisite cuisine, elegant ambiance and outstanding service will ensure that your special event will be the very best experience for you and your guests.

Bohanan's Prime Steaks and Seafood Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
San Antonio
Best Food
San Antonio
Best Service
San Antonio
15 More
Best Ambiance
San Antonio
Notable Wine List
San Antonio
Romantic
San Antonio
Special Occasion
San Antonio
Steakhouse
San Antonio
Most Booked
San Antonio
Best Overall
San Antonio
Best Food
San Antonio
Best Service
San Antonio
Best Ambiance
San Antonio
Notable Wine List
San Antonio
Romantic
San Antonio
Special Occasion
San Antonio
Steakhouse
San Antonio
Most Booked
San Antonio
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

special occasion (232)
romantic (189)
notable wine list (136)
See All
fit for foodies (97)
good for groups (71)
vibrant bar scene (65)
hot spot (36)
neighborhood gem (29)
scenic view (28)
late-night find (20)
great for lunch (17)
great for brunch (6)
great for outdoor dining (4)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
3024 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

For a highly rated Zagat restaurant the ...

Dined 3 days ago

For a highly rated Zagat restaurant the service was not good. Forgot cocktail and got order wrong. Food was just OK. Travel regularly both domestic and Europe and Asia. Disappointment with dinner and will not be back.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful high end restaurant. Service ...

Dined 3 days ago

Wonderful high end restaurant. Service was exceptional and the food was delicious! We had crab cake appetizer and it was probably the best crab cake I've ever had. The grilled red snapper topped with cream sauce lump crab, scallops and mushrooms was also very good. I will definitely return!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always eat at Bohanan's when we are work ...

Dined 4 days ago

Always eat at Bohanan's when we are working in San Antonio!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Jose was wonderful, with very attentive ...

Dined 4 days ago

Jose was wonderful, with very attentive service. The was extraordinary; had the bone in filet which was great to share with one other person. A group of 6 and we all ordered different sides to share which was a great way to taste different itema. The heirloom caprese salad was an off menu offering that was devine. Lovely meal!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The most fabulous dining experience I ha ...

Dined 6 days ago

The most fabulous dining experience I have ever had. Wait staff was excellent, friendly, very attentive. The food was first rate. I give it five stars!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good and service were outstanding. Great ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Good and service were outstanding. Great wine and great steak!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Everything was great except for the unti ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Everything was great except for the untimely seating.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful experience. Excellent service ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Wonderful experience. Excellent service and delicious food.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bohanan's Prime Steak and Seafood exceed ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Bohanan's Prime Steak and Seafood exceeded our expectations and we will certainly be returning on our next visit to San Antonio. The staff went out of their way to be welcoming and we never felt rushed. Our cocktails were fantastic and the escargot appetizer was probably the best we have ever had. We ordered the Chateaubriand for Two, medium rare, and it was cooked perfectly. The beef was absolutely delicious, as were the potatoes, carrots, and asparagus. We were so full we could not order dessert but would have loved to. We cannot wait to go back to Bohanan's to experience another exceptional meal!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is the best steakhouse in San Anton ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

This is the best steakhouse in San Antonio. Great drinks great menu. Food is outstanding

Tags: romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best restaurant in San Antonio and one o ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

Best restaurant in San Antonio and one of the best in Texas. Amazing menu, old world service, great wine selection, and the steaks are incredible.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Although I though the restaurant was kin ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

Although I though the restaurant was kind of pricey, the food quality was well worth it and I enjoyed my time there

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service3

Seems like a nice place. Lunch menu was ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

Seems like a nice place. Lunch menu was mostly sandwiches. Service was ok. Not worth the price. Preferred Perry's.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This steakhouse is amazing! Better over ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

This steakhouse is amazing! Better overall experience than at the finest Vegas restaurants. The character of the interior is powerful with all the gorgeous wood. Servers are professional without being too serious. For our anniversary, they brought the four of us little champagnes to toast with. Caprese salad, steak fries & broccoli were yummy. Filet was flavorful & perfectly cooked. I highly recommend it & hope to return when in the area again!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was amazing, but not as amazing as ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

Food was amazing, but not as amazing as the coustomer service. Timing was perfect, never a moment of wondering what was coming next. Best restaurant I have ever been to hands down.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service, delicious food, delec ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

Excellent service, delicious food, delectable dessert!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Katina was a wonderful server. Great foo ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Katina was a wonderful server. Great food. Thank you.

food5
ambience5
service5

Best meal in San Antonio ever

Dined on June 12, 2016

Best meal in San Antonio ever

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent and attentive service. First c ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Excellent and attentive service. First class food. The grade of steak was one of the best we have had. Seafood was also prepared well. Not inexpensive, but the quality of the food is more than worth the price. Would recommend this for special occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bohanans remains my favorite restaurant ...

vip
Dined on June 11, 2016

Bohanans remains my favorite restaurant in the city. Bone in Filet was not only tender, but flavorful unlike any filet I have had . The service is outstanding. Great experience again.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic as always. They never disappo ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Fantastic as always. They never disappoint. First class.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dinner was absolutely phenomenal! I cann ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Dinner was absolutely phenomenal! I cannot wait to go back. From the moment we walked in the service and attention to detail was outstanding. The food was perfect, the Old Fashion was perfect, and the wine recommended to us was great! Our server Rick, as well as the rest of the staff, was very knowledgeable and helpful. The staff maintained an excellent level of professionalism, while also being very personable.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

above and beyond -- quality , service -- ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

above and beyond -- quality , service --incredible 35th anniversary !!!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always fantastic

Dined on June 11, 2016

Bohanan's is my favorite go-to restaurant in San Antonio. We always visit the bar first to have one of their legendary cocktails and an appetizer. Dinner never disappoints. And, the people watching is fun too!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Best Steak Ever

Dined on June 11, 2016

If you want an outstanding steak and don't mind spending the money, Bohanons is a must! The baked potato is large enough to share. Great place to celebrate a special occasion.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bohanan's has been my favorite San Anton ...

Dined on June 10, 2016

Bohanan's has been my favorite San Antonio restaurant for many years now. Mark Bohanan not only has great talent for delicious steaks and seafood but also for hiring and retaining the best staff of any eatery I've ever seen. His employees are dedicated to making the guest feel special from start to finish. The atmosphere of the Bar at Bohanan's is retro,warm and intimate. One almost expects to spot Frank, Dean and Sammy gathered around a table there. The restaurant's dining room is elegant and bright without being pretentious.The Houston room looks out on Houston St. and is a special treat during holidays when the trees are illuminated. There are a hundred reasons to make Bohanan's your favorite of SA. I can't think of a single reason not to.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Hospitality at its finest

Dined on June 10, 2016

From start to finish, everything was outstanding. Service portions were generous and the staff didn't rush us through our experience. Wine service from Fabien was 'top notch' and our steaks were tender and flavorful. Highly recommend.

Tags: romantic, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

The service was amazing, the food was to ...

Dined on June 7, 2016

The service was amazing, the food was to die for, and the cocktails were onpoint. We ordered steak and and seafood, both dishes we delish.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Dining

Dined on June 1, 2016

As always, Bohanan's never fails to deliver the best in preparation of their foods, the expertise of their wait staff, and the wonderful ambiance of their restaurant!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience1
service4
value3

Fantastic Food! Beware of the posh stuffiness.

Dined on May 30, 2016

The bar is so pretty. We enjoyed a cocktail waiting in the lounge then we were ushered upstairs. The lighting is too bright, the music down to low, the staff was was too uppity. We felt like we couldn't even laugh. It was just way too stuffy for our liking to ever go back which was too bad because the food is excellent. We truly enjoy gourmet dining typically.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience5
service3

Very expensive. And I enjoy fine dining ...

Dined on May 30, 2016

Very expensive. And I enjoy fine dining on a regular basis. Not worth the price in my opinion. Very exquisite atmosphere and fine presentation. They are more keen on etiquette than most restaurants in Texas, which I liked to see. Could have lived without the showing of raw steaks in packaging. I'm not at the supermarket. The bar downstairs was excellent looking with a less-than-friendly barman serving us.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The filet & banana's foster was amazing!!

Dined on May 30, 2016

I LOVED this place!! My filet was amazing and the ambiance was perfect. This place had an old charm feel and our waiter was great. We will definitely come back!!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Perfect for special events with family o ...

Dined on May 29, 2016

Perfect for special events with family or friends. Nice to see that everyone dressed up to dine.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our favorite steakhouse anywhere!

Dined on May 29, 2016

Bohanan's is just so special to us. We love visiting San Antonio, and when we do, we often obtain a reservation at Bohanan's. The whole dining experience is always a winner. On this, our anniversary, the staff went out of their way to make us feel welcome. The steaks are done to perfection, and the seared Fois Gras is an option you won't want to miss. The Lobster Creamed Corn is a recent addition to the menu, and it makes you forget all about potato options! You cannot go wrong. My neighbor was enjoying his first visit with the Tomahawk (bone in) 24 oz Ribeye. If you are into Kobe Beef, and I am not, it is available. Everything is done right. To serve at Bohanan's, you must have previous experience of at least 4 years at a 4-5 star, so the wait staff is exceptional. One caveat, do not come to Bohanan's if you are in a hurry. Let the staff know if you have theater tickets, or whatever. It is not a restaurant that rushes you in and out. So just enjoy the experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Top Notch Experience

Dined on May 28, 2016

The wait staff were amazing & amicable throughout our dine in experience. The dinner & drinks were super! The tiramasu dessert rocked! We would dine in again! Thanks for a pleasant time.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Best steak I've ever had!!

Dined on May 28, 2016

Best steak I've ever had in my life! Service is impeccable, food is amazing, great upscale dining experience. Bar downstairs is perfect for after dinner cocktails & the live jazz music on Fridays is great.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing literally the best restaurant ex ...

Dined on May 27, 2016

Amazing literally the best restaurant experience we ever have in our life

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Steaks were perfectly cooked. Great spe ...

Dined on May 26, 2016

Steaks were perfectly cooked. Great special occasion restaurant.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dinner was amazing! Staff was exceptiona ...

Dined on May 26, 2016

Dinner was amazing! Staff was exceptional. Wish we could have gone back our second night in town, but didn't make it back feom our day trip in time. I will tell all my friends visiting San Antonio:)

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service5

There service is second to none. Food te ...

Dined on May 25, 2016

There service is second to none. Food temperature and taste is perfect, but slowly as the evening came on it got so noisy you had to speak very loudly across a table for 2!

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.