Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.10mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.10mi

About Bohanan's Prime Steaks and Seafood

Bohanan’s fame is founded on sublimely tender prime beef grilled over fragrant mesquite wood. Enjoy extraordinarily delicious Akaushi beef, Chef/Owner Mark Bohanan’s large custom cuts of prime aged corn-fed beef, succulent seafood flown in fresh daily, and spectacular table-side desserts flambé. Imbibe a classic cocktail at the first-floor Bar at Bohanan’s, then join us upstairs for the best steak you’ve ever eaten. Located in a historic building in downtown San Antonio about a block from the River Walk. AAA Four Diamond rating and Wine Spectator’s Best of Award of Excellence.

219 East Houston Street
Suite 275
San Antonio, TX 78205
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Navarro or Saint Mary's

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(210) 472-2600

Website:
http://www.bohanans.com/

Entertainment:
Enjoy live entertainment from South Texas Jazz on Friday & Saturday Evenings!

Parking Details:
Curbside valet available. Valet service will be added to the final bill.

Public Transit:
Bohanan's is located in the center of downtown San Antonio; walking distance from most downtown hotels and conveniently located to city's public transportation.

Executive Chef:
Mark Bohanan / Owner

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Bohanan’s is the perfect place to make your special event one to remember. The exquisite cuisine, elegant ambiance and outstanding service will ensure that your special event will be the very best experience for you and your guests.

Bohanan's Prime Steaks and Seafood Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (138)
Good for a Date (128)
Romantic (122)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (116)
Notable Wine List (93)
Good for Birthdays (69)
Business Meals (69)
Pre/post Theatre (61)
Handcrafted Cocktails (58)
Quiet Conversation (49)
Fit for Foodies (47)
Worth the Drive (44)
Cozy (35)
Authentic (33)
Creative Cuisine (33)
Bar Seating (31)
Good for Groups (30)
Neighborhood Gem (26)
Fun (22)
Local Ingredients (18)
Scenic View (17)
Live Music (16)
Vibrant Bar Scene (15)
Happy Hour (15)
Hot Spot (14)
People Watching (13)
Tasting Menu (12)
Historic (12)
Sunday Lunch (10)
Late-night Find (8)
Comfort Food (8)
Private Room (7)
Paleo Friendly (6)
Casual (5)
Great Beer (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Seasonal (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Great for Lunch (4)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Spicy (3)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Live Sports (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Family Style (2)
Tapas (1)
Fireplace (1)
Dancing (1)
Vegan (1)
Waterfront (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Organic (1)
Sort By:
S
3928 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined 2 days ago

Service was wonderful, but time between courses was a little long. Just enjoy the conversation and ambiance while waiting!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined 5 days ago

Always a great dinner at Bohanan's. We were entertaining several folks from out of town who had never been to Bohanan's. Everything was perfect and we had a great dinner and service. Thanks to the entire team for making this another memorable night.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 6 days ago

Old school great service without being fussy. Everything was as it should be considering the high prices.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Austin)·Dined 7 days ago

My wife and I decided to have our Anniversary dinner here and all I can say is that everything was amazing.
They had a nice setup ready for us with a greeting card wishing us a "Happy Anniversary" signed personally by Bohanan himself.
Most importantly, the service and the food were great! We shared the 24 oz. Bone-in Rib Eye steak with a few sides and appetizers.
We live in Austin but we will be back for sure!
Highly recommended!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 21, 2017

Absolutely amazing evening! Every detail was perfect

Tags: Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 20, 2017

Wonderful place, come here every time I get to San Antonio!

Tags: Authentic, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 20, 2017

Richard is amazing. Most amazing Kobe beef and wine list.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on July 17, 2017

Great food, atmosphere and service. Bohnanan's never disappoints. Best steaks and sea food in SATX.

Tags: Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 16, 2017

We went for my parents anniversary. We had a lovely champagne toast to celebrate. We all enjoyed the steaks and many of the sides. Oyster app was good and the Caprese salad was fantastic. There was some confusion on which sides we ordered but we didn't comment and kept all of them. The only side that I didn't care for was the lobster mac and cheese- I wouldn't recommend this at all. It was bland and disappointing with barely any lobster (at first i thought it was pimentos or something else) and was $25. This was one of the items we didn't order (hence my confusion on it being lobster) but kept anyway. I wouldn't have minded paying that if it was good but between all of us we didn't even eat 1/3 of the small dish of it. I enjoyed the portobello mushrooms with the rich Demi glaze, the au gratin potatoes were good (plain but good), asparagus were good, and goat cheese mashed potatoes were also good. The atmosphere was great, restaurant set up was great, service was great. This was my parents second time at the restaurant and my first but I think we would try again. I have tried several of the places on the list of best steak places in the US and I am surprised this came in at number 2- it was great but I am just surprised it was above some of the others. I would recommend giving it a try!

Tags: Romantic, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 15, 2017

The best steakhouse in San Antonio... Period! If you are looking for a dinning experience that is like none other you have to try Bohanan's !

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Romantic, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Always a treat to dine at Bohanan's. Terrific staff.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Outstanding meal! Ignacio was our waiter, along with Katena - they made our evening, along with the great food. Still the best steaks in San Antonio.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on July 14, 2017

I took my wife here for our 3 year anniversary. The first thing that Bohanan's gives you is a feeling of comfort and class. walking through the bar area you are immediately greeted and taken care of. The oyster appetizers were amazing and the entrees were breathtakingly good. We had reservations at 7PM and did not leave until 1030 PM. After dinner we took a seat downstairs and listened to the live jazz playing for most of their session. Worth the time and money. They do not disappoint.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Late-night Find, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Live Music, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on July 14, 2017

We love this restaurant for every reason and have NEVER been dissatisfied! The location, ambiance, the service and food are like no other; exceptional! Anytime we are downtown, this is our go to place. Chef Mark Bohanan is a genius and his food/restaurant is proof! We take all our friends and go whenever we can. A great place for fun, romantic evening and delectable food. Also love his new restaurant in Boerne, Peggy's on the Green!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Cozy, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Spicy, Sunday Lunch, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on July 13, 2017

I have an amazing experience every time I dine here!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Food was delicious and service excellent. We would go back and recommend it as well. Suitable restaurantfor most events.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Fantastic early 20th century charm. The service is great with several people catering to your every need. The food selection is very good and the quality of the food is among the best of any place I have eaten. If you are looking for fine dining this is the place to go. Valet parking is only $10 so take advantage of it.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Richard was an excellent server and gave special attention to my wife for her birthday. Very nice first visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 10, 2017

Steak was great. Wine by the glass selection is very small. Service was very slow, 1 hour passed before we received our soup and salad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 10, 2017

Wonderful food and atmosphere. Superior service and attention to detail during s business meal.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 10, 2017

The crab cakes were fabulous, along with the ribeye! A great night of spectacular food and superb service. Will come back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Service and ambiance were amazing. Always a great time.

Tags: Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Excellent food and service, as always. Not cheap. Good wine selection and great prime and Wagyu steaks.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on July 7, 2017

The food, the service, everything was outstanding!!!

Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Authentic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Casual, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on July 7, 2017

10year Anniversary!! Good time!! Food and Service is wonderful!!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on July 5, 2017

Great service; excellent cocktails; delicious food. We will definitely return to Bohanan's!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 5, 2017

One of my favorite steak houses in the US! I fly all the way from California to visit this place.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Authentic, Disabled Access, Vibrant Bar Scene, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Late-night Find, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on July 3, 2017

I have eaten at many fine dining Steakhouse restaurants. This was on par with them all, and maybe even a little better priced! Overall, it was a wonderful dinner that added to a wonderful evening!

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Late-night Find, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on July 3, 2017

As expected the evening was perfect. Richard and Edgar's service was impeccable and of course the meal was outstanding. Great anniversary dinner experience.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on July 2, 2017

My friends and I had an awesome experience. Everything from the appetizers, the sides, the steaks were phenomenal. Our server was excellent as well and really new every thing about the menu he was selling. Came in there expecting to pay a certain amount and left paying and tipping more because the service was excellent and the food was worth the price.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Anniversary

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Our server, Rich, was very attentive and did an outstanding job introducing all of the special features not shown on the menu.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Not disappointed by the food or the service. I did request a specific server but he was off.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Cozy, Live Music, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Great place to eat! The food was fantastic, and the service was superb! Will definitely return and recommend. The ambiance was wonderful.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Live Music, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Everyone is all about the new restaurants but if you want good food, great drinks and outstanding service, you have to come here. I came here for a special occasion and made my requests through Open Table which the restaurant had no problem honoring on a busy Friday. You will want none as every waiter and floor staff is providing everything you could ask for.
Alot of restaurants in the city may have that new flash and pizazz but I find the service not as professional and not polished. Come here if you want to show someone you care.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 26, 2017

Amazing! Took my date here for our first date and it was unforgettable!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Disappointing experience. The Porterhouse was particularly tough.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 25, 2017

We were at a teaching convention for the week and wanted to splurge for a friends birthday. A birthday card was placed at the table prior to our seating. That was a very nice touch, but I was disappointed there was not a dessert display for our birthday guest. The wait staff was very accommodating and the food was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 24, 2017

33rd Anniversary dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value2

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Ignacio was amazing. Best host ever. He made the evening more enjoyable

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.