About Bohanan's Prime Steaks and Seafood

219 East Houston Street
Suite 275
San Antonio, TX 78205
View Larger Map

Bohanan’s fame is founded on sublimely tender prime beef grilled over fragrant mesquite wood. Enjoy extraordinarily delicious Akaushi beef, Chef/Owner Mark Bohanan’s large custom cuts of prime aged corn-fed beef, succulent seafood flown in fresh daily, and spectacular table-side desserts flambé. Imbibe a classic cocktail at the first-floor Bar at Bohanan’s, then join us upstairs for the best steak you’ve ever eaten. Located in a historic building in downtown San Antonio about a block from the River Walk. AAA Four Diamond rating and Wine Spectator’s Best of Award of Excellence.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Navarro or Saint Mary's

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(210) 472-2600

Website:
http://www.bohanans.com/

Entertainment:
Enjoy live entertainment from South Texas Jazz on Friday & Saturday Evenings!

Parking Details:
Curbside valet available. Valet service will be added to the final bill.

Public Transit:
Bohanan's is located in the center of downtown San Antonio; walking distance from most downtown hotels and conveniently located to city's public transportation.

Executive Chef:
Mark Bohanan / Owner

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Grilled Fish Tacos - Bohanan's Prime Steaks and Seafood, San Antonio, TX
Filet - Bohanan's Prime Steaks and Seafood, San Antonio, TX
New York Style Cheesecake - Bohanan's Prime Steaks and Seafood, San Antonio, TX
AKAUSHI BEEF - Bohanan's Prime Steaks and Seafood, San Antonio, TX
 Chilled Watermelon & Champagne Soup - Bohanan's Prime Steaks and Seafood, San Antonio, TX
Cheese, Almonds & Fruit Plate - Bohanan's Prime Steaks and Seafood, San Antonio, TX
Macaroni and Cheese - Bohanan's Prime Steaks and Seafood, San Antonio, TX
Shrimp Cocktail - Bohanan's Prime Steaks and Seafood, San Antonio, TX
Broccoli - Bohanan's Prime Steaks and Seafood, San Antonio, TX
Candied Jalepenos Over Whipped Cream Cheese  - Bohanan's Prime Steaks and Seafood, San Antonio, TX
European Quail - Bohanan's Prime Steaks and Seafood, San Antonio, TX
40 Oz Porterhouse Steak - Bohanan's Prime Steaks and Seafood, San Antonio, TX
Yamizaki 18 Japanese Whiskey - Bohanan's Prime Steaks and Seafood, San Antonio, TX
Bananas Foster - Bohanan's Prime Steaks and Seafood, San Antonio, TX
Bone In Ribeye - Bohanan's Prime Steaks and Seafood, San Antonio, TX
Seared Tuna Appetizer - Bohanan's Prime Steaks and Seafood, San Antonio, TX
Southside Cocktail - Bohanan's Prime Steaks and Seafood, San Antonio, TX
Chocolate Decadence Bites - Bohanan's Prime Steaks and Seafood, San Antonio, TX
Moscow Mule - Bohanan's Prime Steaks and Seafood, San Antonio, TX
Hummus Trio - Bohanan's Prime Steaks and Seafood, San Antonio, TX
Candied Jalapenos - Bohanan's Prime Steaks and Seafood, San Antonio, TX
Truffle Potato Chips & Almonds - Bohanan's Prime Steaks and Seafood, San Antonio, TX
Chicken Salad Sandwich - Bohanan's Prime Steaks and Seafood, San Antonio, TX
BLT - Bohanan's Prime Steaks and Seafood, San Antonio, TX
Rum Honeysuckle - Bohanan's Prime Steaks and Seafood, San Antonio, TX
Pineapple Coconut Habanero Sorbet - Bohanan's Prime Steaks and Seafood, San Antonio, TX
Watermelon Champagne Soup - Bohanan's Prime Steaks and Seafood, San Antonio, TX
Meat - Bohanan's Prime Steaks and Seafood, San Antonio, TX
Hefeweizen - Bohanan's Prime Steaks and Seafood, San Antonio, TX
Ribey - Bohanan's Prime Steaks and Seafood, San Antonio, TX
Spiced shrimp with boozy cocktail sauce - Bohanan's Prime Steaks and Seafood, San Antonio, TX
Prawn - Bohanan's Prime Steaks and Seafood, San Antonio, TX
16 oz NY Strip - Bohanan's Prime Steaks and Seafood, San Antonio, TX
crab - Bohanan's Prime Steaks and Seafood, San Antonio, TX
Shrimp Wrapped In Bacon Stuffed With Jack Cheese And King Crab - Bohanan's Prime Steaks and Seafood, San Antonio, TX
Chateau Stack - Bohanan's Prime Steaks and Seafood, San Antonio, TX
Jumbo Lump Blue Crab Cocktail - Bohanan's Prime Steaks and Seafood, San Antonio, TX
Grilled Oysters - Bohanan's Prime Steaks and Seafood, San Antonio, TX

Private Dining

Bohanan’s is the perfect place to make your special event one to remember. The exquisite cuisine, elegant ambiance and outstanding service will ensure that your special event will be the very best experience for you and your guests.

Bohanan's Prime Steaks and Seafood Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (118)
Good for Anniversaries (99)
Good for a Date (83)
See All
Romantic (79)
Notable Wine List (72)
Business Meals (68)
Good for Birthdays (54)
Worth the Drive (49)
Pre/post Theatre (44)
Quiet Conversation (39)
Handcrafted Cocktails (36)
Historic (35)
Fit for Foodies (30)
Bar Seating (26)
Good for Groups (25)
Authentic (24)
Vibrant Bar Scene (22)
Creative Cuisine (20)
Live Music (20)
Neighborhood Gem (19)
Cozy (19)
Local Ingredients (13)
Private Room (12)
Fun (11)
Happy Hour (11)
Great for Lunch (9)
People Watching (9)
Tasting Menu (9)
Seasonal (8)
Comfort Food (7)
Paleo Friendly (6)
Scenic View (6)
Outstanding Value (6)
Healthy (5)
Disabled Access (4)
Casual (4)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Family Style (2)
Quick Bite (1)
Fireplace (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Great Beer (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
3520 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Melissa says 👍

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined 3 days ago

Melissa says 👍

Tags: Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Disappointing

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined 3 days ago

Disappointing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

The Mero sea bass was the best I've ever ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined 3 days ago

The Mero sea bass was the best I've ever had and the ribeye steak my wife had almost melted in your mouth. Loved the attentive staff also. Very special restaurant !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wow! A true dining experience. Great fo ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined 4 days ago

Wow! A true dining experience. Great food, great wine, excellent service. Treat yourself when in San Antonio, this place is a gem!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The hospitality of our servers made us f ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 4 days ago

The hospitality of our servers made us feel very warm and welcome. Upon arrival, there was a birthday card signed by Chef Bohanan congratulating Sara on her 28th birthday. We were sat at very romantic table next to the window with a view of the city. The dishes were classic. We ordered at New York Strip and it was cooked perfectly. The wines were interesting and excellent, and the bartenders made Sara a beautiful cocktail. We'll definitely be back when it's time to celebrate.

Tags: Cozy, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Historic, Business Meals, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

service was poor. ordered best steak 125 ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined 4 days ago

service was poor. ordered best steak 125.00 and was tuff with no moisture and over cooked. ordered coffee 3 times before served. after meal had to wait for check for about 20 min.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Sergio was our waiter. He did an excel ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined 4 days ago

Sergio was our waiter. He did an excellent job in helping us choose wine and dinner. Perfect evening.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waiter Sergio was amazing. Very goo ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 5 days ago

Our waiter Sergio was amazing. Very good wine list with a good selection of international Reds. Had a beautiful Amarone at a very good price. Food was above and beyond your average high priced steak house. Prime steaks were better than the chains such as Palm, Mortons, Ruth, and Bobs. Sides were more creative than the chains that included a show stopper with the lobster cream corn. I have been to high end steak houses all over the world and this is my new favorite place

Tags: Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Cozy, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food and service. BJ was prom ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 5 days ago

Excellent food and service. BJ was prompt and courteous and provided a great atmosphere

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Returned to Bohanans for another nice m ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined 5 days ago

Returned to Bohanans for another nice meal. Found they changed the menu but still had all my favorites.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Loved our waiter BJ and loved our visit ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined 5 days ago

Loved our waiter BJ and loved our visit with the manager, Sergio.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great Service. Great Food. Gabriel made ...

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined 6 days ago

Great Service. Great Food. Gabriel made our Birthday Dinner even more special with his personalized service.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

It will be extremely difficult to find a ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 8, 2017

It will be extremely difficult to find a better meal, anywhere in the US

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Main course , tuna steak was cold ! Even ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Main course , tuna steak was cold ! Even medium rare it should be warm . Side dish was nice and hot ! So it loooed like kitchen did not time well in serving such a expensive piece of tuna.

Tags: Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

The curoggi (sp?) filet was the most unb ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 8, 2017

The curoggi (sp?) filet was the most unbelievable steak I've ever had. Ill never look at a filet the same way again. Our server, who wa

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5

Wonderful service and the food was excel ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Wonderful service and the food was excellent as usual! Can't wait to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The restaurant was very nice, the staff ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 8, 2017

The restaurant was very nice, the staff was very informative and respectful! Food was priced very well for the quality. The only downside I found was I think personally it could've been a bit more bright in order to see the menu better and the food, but other than that I would recommend this for any special occasion, such as an anniversary, date, birthday, or just as a fancy dinner night with your significant other!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Live Music, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Amazing service! Well coordinated effor ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Amazing service! Well coordinated efforts by all the service people. And.. the food was fabulous.

Tags: Historic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We made a 10p reservation (Friday night) ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 7, 2017

We made a 10p reservation (Friday night), and the restaurant was moderately busy when we arrived at 9:45. We ended up waiting over 5 minutes at the lower hostess desk until someone came over to redirect us upstairs, then a longer wait at the upper hostess desk. To cap our initial experience, the couple without a reservation that came up in the same elevator was seated first.

We ordered the 'chefs specialty,' Chicken Tortilla soup, and the. escargot for appetizers... both were fine, but nothing special.

My wife & I split the chateaubriand for two, as we often do, for our main course, and it was average at best, which made it a poor value overall. I could get a similar quality meal for half the price at black angus back home.

The service beyond the hosting stations was good, although there were three significant breakage incidents by the support staff. Startling!!

Overall, a decent meal and neat property, but not worth the price (and doesn't live up to the hype). It was our first visit to San Antonio, so it put a damper on the weekend overall.

Tags: Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

awesome waitress, amazing food, good ser ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 7, 2017

awesome waitress, amazing food, good service. me and my boyfriend went there just for fun and it was perfect!!! highly recommend the ribeye. the filet and lobster tail are amazing as well potatoes au gratin and mac. bring a fat wallet but it's worth it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

While it is quite pricey, food and servi ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 5, 2017

While it is quite pricey, food and service are excellent.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Our absolute favorite restaurant in town ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Our absolute favorite restaurant in town for steaks. Great atmosphere, service, food, and great view of bustling downtown and Majestic theater when sitting by one of the windows. We love this place

Tags: Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always such an amazing experience at Boh ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Always such an amazing experience at Bohanan's. Best cocktails and steaks in the city.

Tags: Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Local Ingredients, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The wait staff as well as the culinary s ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The wait staff as well as the culinary staff appear very professional. The butter, the bread, the little items that accompany the main selection are properly presented and of the highest quality. I have never eaten anything there that was not perfection.

Tags: Seasonal, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Pre/post Theatre, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Was very nice. Would visit again.

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Was very nice. Would visit again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

My sister, cousin and I arrived at Bohan ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 1, 2017

My sister, cousin and I arrived at Bohanan 's on time for our New Year's Eve reservation only to have the hostess stutter, stall and finally tell us that they were still getting a table ready for us. Mind you, we made the reservation months before. She seemed very busy on her tablet as if she was changing our table. It felt like she sized us up and decided we didn't measure up to Bohanan's standards. Arriving in the dining room, yep, we were escorted to a booth in the back, in the corner near the wait staff's water station. Our server, Preston, however was fabulous. He made us feel welcomed and gave us excellent service. The food was magnificent! I ordered a filet to be cooked medium and it was cooked medium-well, but it was perfectly seasoned. The manager was very apologetic about my steak even though I told him it was fine. He insisted on comping my steak which I appreciated. Other than the seemingly disrespectful reception from the hostess, we enjoyed our dinner at Bohanan's and would recommend it for an exceptional steak experience.

Tags: Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Bohanan's is great for any special occas ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Bohanan's is great for any special occasion. It's pricey but so worth it for the food and excellent service. They know what you need even before you know what you need. They really take care of you.

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful food, drinks, service. I highl ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Wonderful food, drinks, service. I highly recommend this restaurant and bar for any occasion

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

All aspect of the meal was outstanding. ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 31, 2016

All aspect of the meal was outstanding. From our arrival to the last sip of coffee everything was looked after by the staff and our waiter Mo was knowledgeable and professional. The whole team of wait staff is highly trained and cover any request immediately.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Had a wonderful evening. All seafood pla ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Had a wonderful evening. All seafood plates we ordered were exceptional in taste and presentation. Dessert was amazing. Can't wait to go back. Wait staff was very friendly and added to the overall dining experience.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Worth the Drive, Fun, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Underwhelmed and Bohanans was my favorit ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Underwhelmed and Bohanans was my favorite.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Bohanan's treated our special occasion a ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Bohanan's treated our special occasion as though it was special for them. Everything was done to perfection. Our waiter Albert was the epitome of what an outstanding waiter should be. Great food and a great staff made this a wonderful experience.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went ot Bohanan's while visiting San An ...

vip
 (Panama City)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Went ot Bohanan's while visiting San Antonio, visit with wife and Kid. The steak were very tasteful and well executed, had 24oz bone in Rib Eye, big enough to share for the 3 us. Great Service from Ignacio. Will return when in San Antonio

Tags: Historic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

A wonderful overall dining experience w ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 30, 2016

A wonderful overall dining experience with very attentive service, steaks with a great smoky flavor, great cocktail menu. Sommelier was best I have experienced in 10 years, knows his list and what will match your taste. Pricey but so are most places that focus on steak, there is a lot of excellent fish on the menu as well.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great experience. Save your pennies and ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Great experience. Save your pennies and enjoy spending them here on well-executed steakhouse classics, a strong wine list, lovely room, and attentive service. This is as good as you'll find in San Antonio.

Tags: Fun, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Historic, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Just great

 
 (Tulsa)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Just great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great meal and service Escargot and ste ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Great meal and service

Escargot and steak were on point

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Service at lunch was extremely slow and ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Service at lunch was extremely slow and inattentive, particularly since it was not crowded.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value3

The wait staff made experience and they ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 28, 2016

The wait staff made experience and they were fun and energetic. Also food was the best I've had. The place made us feel very special and it was a memorable experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent Service by Jessica and staff a ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Excellent Service by Jessica and staff around her. Great steak! Definitely a quality experience while we were in San Antonio. If you like Mortons, Ruth Chris, Shulas, Flemmings, you'll Love Bohanans!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.