Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.10mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.10mi

About Bohanan's Prime Steaks and Seafood

Bohanan’s fame is founded on sublimely tender prime beef grilled over fragrant mesquite wood. Enjoy extraordinarily delicious Akaushi beef, Chef/Owner Mark Bohanan’s large custom cuts of prime aged corn-fed beef, succulent seafood flown in fresh daily, and spectacular table-side desserts flambé. Imbibe a classic cocktail at the first-floor Bar at Bohanan’s, then join us upstairs for the best steak you’ve ever eaten. Located in a historic building in downtown San Antonio about a block from the River Walk. AAA Four Diamond rating and Wine Spectator’s Best of Award of Excellence.

219 East Houston Street
Suite 275
San Antonio, TX 78205
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Navarro or Saint Mary's

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(210) 472-2600

Website:
http://www.bohanans.com/

Entertainment:
Enjoy live entertainment from South Texas Jazz on Friday & Saturday Evenings!

Parking Details:
Curbside valet available. Valet service will be added to the final bill.

Public Transit:
Bohanan's is located in the center of downtown San Antonio; walking distance from most downtown hotels and conveniently located to city's public transportation.

Executive Chef:
Mark Bohanan / Owner

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Bohanan’s is the perfect place to make your special event one to remember. The exquisite cuisine, elegant ambiance and outstanding service will ensure that your special event will be the very best experience for you and your guests.

Bohanan's Prime Steaks and Seafood Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (130)
Good for a Date (114)
Romantic (110)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (102)
Notable Wine List (80)
Good for Birthdays (65)
Business Meals (63)
Pre/post Theatre (61)
Worth the Drive (47)
Handcrafted Cocktails (43)
Quiet Conversation (43)
Fit for Foodies (30)
Good for Groups (29)
Creative Cuisine (28)
Authentic (28)
Cozy (27)
Bar Seating (25)
Neighborhood Gem (22)
Fun (18)
Happy Hour (15)
Local Ingredients (15)
Vibrant Bar Scene (14)
Scenic View (11)
Hot Spot (10)
People Watching (10)
Live Music (9)
Paleo Friendly (9)
Tasting Menu (9)
Late-night Find (8)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Great Beer (5)
Seasonal (5)
Great for Lunch (4)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Casual (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Live Sports (1)
Organic (1)
Spicy (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
4032 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined 2 days ago

Went with a close group of business friends celebrating the past year thr hostess was nasty when we arrived because we were 15 minutes early. We sat ordered our meal it took 3 hours and one steak was cold. The staff profusely apologized and we nice but what a let down.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

I have been in famous steak houses in New York and Chicago but this one is so far ahead I don't know who's in second. First, the staff treats guests as valued guests, second the steaks are the best and finally, everything else they serve is just perfect. This will always be a must for me in San Antonio.
Make a reservation as soon as you decide to dine there

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre, Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 3 days ago

Excellent, as always! The service, ambiance, cocktails, and food cannot be beat!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Seasonal, Paleo Friendly, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Tapas, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Authentic, Romantic, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 4 days ago

To noisy couldn't hear waiter. Couldn't hear my wife talking to me across the table. We expected more for the price. Waiters walked around a lot seemed busy, but only stopped at our table to take order and deliver food. Service slow. Had reservation seated 15 minutes after our reservation restaurant was not busy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value1

 
·Dined 4 days ago

We chose Bohanan's for my husband's birthday. He is a steak lover and has enjoyed your restaurant on several occasions.
Last night was a sub par experience. We ordered 2 rib eyes - one medium and one medium well. When the steaks were brought to the table, one was clearly a strip. The other was a medium rib eye. When he told our waitress she argued with us, saying that it was a ribeye and telling us a story about an HEB t-bone she had cooked the night before that "looked" like a strip when she ate it.
My husband did not want to cause a fuss, so he just ate the strip. We had also ordered mac and cheese, spinach and steak fries. When the sides came, we were given corn instead of mac and cheese. When we asked her to bring the mac and cheese, she didn't acknowledge us or say "I'll be back in a few minutes with mac and cheese." She just kept walking. She did bring it about 10 minutes later, but I thought she should have at least acknowledged.
When the check came, sure enough, we were charged for a strip steak and ribeye. We were also charged for the corn.
This makes sense as to why we received the strip instead of 2 rib eyes - the order was placed incorrectly. We asked her to charge us appropriately for what we had ordered (there is a price difference between the 2 stwaks

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined 4 days ago

I took my sister to lunch for her birthday. The service and food were excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined 5 days ago

Exceptional food and service!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 6 days ago

My husband and I were celebrating our first wedding anniversary. From the moment the valet opened my door to the moment we left, we treated like royalty. There was a card on our table congratulating us on our first year, several staff members congratulated us, we received a complimentary glass of champange and tje waiter took extra special care with us througout the entire experience. My husband and I will definately spend our next anniversary at Bohanans.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined 6 days ago

I was pleasantly surprised by the lightness of the atmosphere in the second-floor dining area compared with the dark bar on the first floor.

Service was very good (with an element of the magical "look at these steaks" up-sell . . . which worked on me).

The dinner was delicious.

I'll be back!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 17, 2017

We madd reservation for dinner and asked for a special area to be seated and they gave us a table with a view as asked! Gerard & Peter were excellent servers!! They both went beyond to make us feel confortable and make our dinner experience one to remember!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 17, 2017

Everything was really good except my wife's steak was ordered medium well and came rare to medium rare. They were very apologetic and didn't charge us for her steak or desert stating those mistakes are not part of who they are. My steak was perfect as was everything else about the meal. If her steak had been as ordered, the rating would have been 5 stars.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raum Frankfurt)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Have dined at Bohanan's several times before attending a symphony concert at Tobin. My server, Rick, was very friendly and made a very good wine suggestion to go with my steak.
My problem with this restaurant is that several times the main meal was served before I had finished my salad. Called attention to this problem more than once, however, the kitchen did not make an adjustment to their timing. I DO NOT PLAN TO EVER GO TO THIS RESTAURANT AGAIN - I AM GIVING UP!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Excellent Service and Food.
One of the nicest restaurants I have visited.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 15, 2017

It was great Rich took great care of us!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on September 14, 2017

Great steaks and customer service. Wine selection is notable. Ask for a window view, more romantic and good for conversation.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 14, 2017

Sergio, Peter, and Mike took excellent care of us. The food was phenomenal! Dry aged strip with a baked potato and cream corn was AMAZING!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 13, 2017

Food was great, wait staff friendly and attentive, but waiting more than an hour for the meal and 30 minutes for the bill made our 4 year old very restless.
Would not go there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 13, 2017

Very pleasant service and several items were excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on September 12, 2017

Great! Recommended for visitors and locals alike.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 12, 2017

See my review on Yelp, love Bohannans!!!! Repeat customer for years

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on September 11, 2017

I booked Bohanan's through Open Table and requested a special table for our 41st anniversary. They did accommodate us with a nice table. Our food was good but felt a bit let down. Nothing special was done for our anniversary...no complimentary dessert, champagne, etc. I have never gone to a restaurant that didn't do something special for an anniversary. This place is very nice for an upscale dinner but not so nice for a special occasion dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

Food was excellent and service was great! Would highly recommend for a anniversary dinner.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on September 10, 2017

The steaks are by far the best I have ever had. The sides and desserts are pricey as the steaks. Caters to upper income who can spend hundreds on a meal

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Austin)·Dined on September 9, 2017

I have been to the bar many many times and finally decided to try the restaurant. It was amazing and I will definitely go back. We had the caprese salad, lump crab, filet, red snapper, creamed spinach, macaroni and cheese and the carrot cake. Every single thing was so very delicious.

Tags: Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on September 9, 2017

One of my favorite steak houses in the US. Waiters are very skilled service is just outstanding, and the food, whether steak or seafood, is prepared perfectly. Expensive, but worth it.
\

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fun, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Great steak! The Aukashu steak was excellent!

Overall just a great place. Good wine, good atmosphere, and excellent food!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

Perfect service and amazing food! The experience is worth the price.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 8, 2017

We had occasion to sample Bohanan's. Both the tortilla and the French onion soups were fantastic; we both left there agreeing that they were the highlight of the meal. We were rather shocked at the price of several of the steaks; they certainly exceeded the price for comparable cuts of beef at some of the pricier Vegas outposts. The steaks were good, but they did not leave us wanting for more.

The service was also a bright spot, with our every need catered to, but we couldn't help but feel like the server somehow felt like we were naive to the steakhouse scene. It was nothing we can pinpoint, of course, but we never felt compelled to address it, either.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on September 7, 2017

This place was amazing! Best filet I've ever had and the fois gras was incredible. Great service and awesome drinks. I highly recommend the "Godfather" cocktail and the mushrooms marinated in red wine.

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Happy Hour, Romantic, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Austin)·Dined on September 4, 2017

We had a great evening. Our concert at the theater across the street was cancelled for the evening of our reservation. Bohanon's let us know about that before the theater which we really appreciated. They pushed our reservation to a later time so that we could have a relaxed meal. There was a birthday card for my husband on the table. Our waiters were excellent. We shared everything we ordered. That was a good plan as the portion sizes are very generous. They were very accommodating of the sharing , even with an elegant tableside serving of half a lobster tail to each of us. I hope we have an opportunity to return one day soon

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Our visit to Bohanan's was to celebrate our 24th anniversary on a Saturday evening at 6:00pm. We wanted a classy, upscale steakhouse experience and we definitely got it. Were quickly seated and visited by our three servers who were a great team that never let our glasses go empty (not even close) and had our meal brought to the table at the perfect pace. No rushing, but also no lagging.

The chef's starter of cream cheese with candied jalapenos served with crostini was a nice welcoming touch. We were also served a complimentary champagne toast in honor of our anniversary. After being left to make our toast and enjoy the moment, we ordered salads, steaks, and sides. My heirloom tomato salad was perfectly dressed with a balsamic vinaigrette that was rich and sweet, pairing excellently with the bright, acidic tomatoes and Manchego cheese. I would have licked the plate if socially acceptable to do so, but the wife talked me out of it.

For the main course, I had the 12 oz strip and asparagus with Hollandaise and the wife had a filet and baked potato and we shared a side of burgundy mushroom sauce. The steak was among the very best I've ever had, definitely worth the price. Both steaks were cooked perfectly medium and had wonderful flavor and texture, seasoned just right. The surprise star of the show was the sauce, absolutely other-worldly. It was rich, smooth, and velvety, obviously taking hours to prepare. We will order this sauce every time we return, but I will make sure to have saved some bread to dip and dunk so I don't have to embarrass my wife by pouring the gravy boat of sauce into my mouth.

The obvious question is the final tab. For two salads, two steaks, two sides, one order of sauce, two martinis and one espresso (no dessert, we were way too full!), our check was right about $200 and worth every penny. Impeccable service, relaxed and friendly staff (voted best in San Antonio!), and amazing food prepared excellently. We will return.

Tags: Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Impeccable service and great food. A,San Antonio gem.

Tags: Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Amazing food and service! The lobster creamed corn is a must try. Yum!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on September 3, 2017

This could arguably be the best restaurant in San Antonio. The staff is very professional and the food is amazing. They have a wonderful wine list always kept at the right temperature. Their steaks are incredibly tender. This visit I tried their macadamia crusted red snapper; excellent. On the night we were there, they had live jazz music down stairs.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

The service that the staff provided, was the Best. The wait staff was very attentive, and very personable, and they made BIRTHDAY celebration special.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Staff was very professional and accommodating. Food and presentation was outstanding. Wine and dessert was wonderful. Of course the food was amazing.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

Best service and best food my wife and I have ever received. It was our 1 year wedding anniversary and the staff made us feel so special. They even hand wrote an anniversary card for our table. We will definitely be going back here and recommding it to all of our friends and family.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

A-mazing as usual. They never disappoint and Mose ALWAYS brings it! Favorite!

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 1, 2017

One of my favorite restaurants. Food is always great and great service. We went to celebrate my wife's birthday. The staff is detailed oriented - had a birthday card on the table when we arrived from the note I put in the OpenTable reservation.
Never disappointed by Bohanan's. Thanks.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on August 30, 2017

Always fabulous. First class service. Delightful dinner.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.