About Bohanan's Prime Steaks and Seafood

219 East Houston Street
Suite 275
San Antonio, TX 78205
View Larger Map

Bohanan’s fame is founded on sublimely tender prime beef grilled over fragrant mesquite wood. Enjoy extraordinarily delicious Akaushi beef, Chef/Owner Mark Bohanan’s large custom cuts of prime aged corn-fed beef, succulent seafood flown in fresh daily, and spectacular table-side desserts flambé. Imbibe a classic cocktail at the first-floor Bar at Bohanan’s, then join us upstairs for the best steak you’ve ever eaten. Located in a historic building in downtown San Antonio about a block from the River Walk. AAA Four Diamond rating and Wine Spectator’s Best of Award of Excellence.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Navarro or Saint Mary's

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(210) 472-2600

Website:
http://www.bohanans.com/

Entertainment:
Enjoy live entertainment from South Texas Jazz on Friday & Saturday Evenings!

Parking Details:
Curbside valet available. Valet service will be added to the final bill.

Public Transit:
Bohanan's is located in the center of downtown San Antonio; walking distance from most downtown hotels and conveniently located to city's public transportation.

Executive Chef:
Mark Bohanan / Owner

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Private Dining

Bohanan’s is the perfect place to make your special event one to remember. The exquisite cuisine, elegant ambiance and outstanding service will ensure that your special event will be the very best experience for you and your guests.

Bohanan's Prime Steaks and Seafood Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
San Antonio
Best Food
San Antonio
Best Service
San Antonio
15 More
Best Ambiance
San Antonio
Notable Wine List
San Antonio
Romantic
San Antonio
Special Occasion
San Antonio
Steakhouse
San Antonio
Most Booked
San Antonio
Best Overall
San Antonio
Best Food
San Antonio
Best Service
San Antonio
Best Ambiance
San Antonio
Notable Wine List
San Antonio
Romantic
San Antonio
Special Occasion
San Antonio
Steakhouse
San Antonio
Most Booked
San Antonio
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

special occasion (260)
romantic (209)
notable wine list (155)
See All
fit for foodies (112)
good for groups (86)
vibrant bar scene (82)
hot spot (44)
neighborhood gem (38)
scenic view (34)
late-night find (32)
great for lunch (17)
great for brunch (8)
great for outdoor dining (6)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
2983 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service5

We were there on a Saturday evening and ...

Dined 5 days ago

We were there on a Saturday evening and the restaurant was quite busy. However we had great service and never felt that we were hurried. Both my husband and I had filet steaks and they were fabulous. When in San Antonio I would definitely go back to this restaurant again!

food5
ambience5
service5

We took our 13 year old son and his frie ...

Dined 5 days ago

We took our 13 year old son and his friend for their first fine dining experience. Our server did an EXCELLENT job of providing the full experience. As expected the meal was superb. The kids were offered a 4oz filet with sides that was a perfect size. We have never been let down by the food or service and this time was no exception.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing food and service. My wife and I ...

Dined 5 days ago

Amazing food and service. My wife and I went to celebrate our anniversary. The restaurant was very well run. I have had equally good but never better service. The food was amazing. I can't wait to go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place to spend a wonderful anniver ...

Dined 5 days ago

Great place to spend a wonderful anniversary with my wife! Worth every penny, food was delicious! Staff was superb and thoughtful.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful Experience

Dined 6 days ago

Another beautiful experience at San Antonio's best restaurant. From the valets to the general manager, all were attentive and polite. Our waiter was very personable and delivered outstanding service. Can't wait to return!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

It was the first time for us to take our ...

Dined 6 days ago

It was the first time for us to take our children to Bohanan's, and they really enjoyed it.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5

The food and service was impeccable. Th ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

The food and service was impeccable. The escargot and the steak was one of the best I have ever had. So delicious. Our waiter, Peter mester was professional and very outgoing. He is a star. I am from San Francisco and I would consider it among the best I have ever been to and will recommend it to all my friends, family, and acquaintances to go to when in San Antonio. Great food and service.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Must try: Baked Potato, Lobster Creamed ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

Must try: Baked Potato, Lobster Creamed Corn, Filet and Bearnaise Sauce!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A Must Try

Dined on May 17, 2016

Great wine menu and seafood offerings.Also one of the finest steak selections that I've ever seen. Very quite atmosphere and our waiter,Tommy, really took care of us.He is a nice gentleman and extremely professional.This restaurant is a must try if you're in San Antonio.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This has got to be the best restaurant i ...

Dined on May 16, 2016

This has got to be the best restaurant in San Antonio. If not, I'd like to know what is better.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The most amazing meal...I highly recomme ...

Dined on May 16, 2016

The most amazing meal...I highly recommend this restaurant!

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Bohanans is Fantastic!

Dined on May 15, 2016

We dined at Bohanans for fhe first time and were VERY impressed. Classic ambience, exceelent service, and straks beyond compare. We highly recommend Bohanans as The Place to have a memorable steak dinner if you are in San Antonio. You will be impressed, no doubt!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Fantastic!

Dined on May 15, 2016

My wife and I visited Bohanan's because we got a gift certificate for a birthday. The greeting staff were really nice and courteous; we got seated right away. The waiter disappeared for awhile after giving us wine menus but this was our only complaint. The steak and sea bass were cooked beautifully and it was the best meal we've had. Parking can be tricky - we parked in Houston St garage and had to loop around two blocks because of one way streets. Either pay up for valet or fight the traffic. 5 stars!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

First class service, attention to detail ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

First class service, attention to detail, etc. Food exceptional.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything you've heard and more!

Dined on May 14, 2016

We finally got to try Bohanan's and I can say without hesitation, that it was the best meal I have ever had outside New Orleans. I gave it five stars in every category, but wish I could give it six for ambiance. It's pricy, as any good steakhouse is, but this place is so much more than a steak house. The pre-prohibition era cocktails are fun and interesting (and delicious), the bar with the jazz group is very cool, the whole vibe in the dining area makes you feel like you're in a swanky speakeasy, the service is excellent and - THE FOOD!!!! This is a very special place, run by the chef/owner, with a great staff. These folks really just have it all figured out. This is what a great restaurant should be. You know it's a special place when you're still talking about it a week later.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Recently we've visited Ruth's Chris (RC) ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Recently we've visited Ruth's Chris (RC) and Fleming's Steakhouse (FS). We all agreed that our steaks were prepared exactly to our taste. We thought RC and FS were excellent but Bohanan was outstanding. The Red Snapper dishes were also outstanding. Our servers were tremendous.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Highest Level of Service

Dined on May 13, 2016

Excellent evening beginning with all service in suit and tie. The maitre d actually pulled the table away from the booth so I could gracefully sit. Attentive service. Excellent food. A little on the high priced side, we frequent nicer restaurants and this is excellent but still higher than other great places. We will be back For special occasions.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5

The service is wonderful and the decor a ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

The service is wonderful and the decor and ambiance make Bohanan's special. We'll be back!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We came to Texas to get a good steak and ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

We came to Texas to get a good steak and this place delivered!

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were going to be downtown for the con ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

We were going to be downtown for the concert across the street so we made reservations at Bohanan's. This has always been a great place to celebrate and tonight was no exception. Our table was set with rose petals and our waiters were sure everything was perfect. My macadamia encrusted red snapper was exquisity, served with miniature bok choy. So tasty and just the right amount. My husbands steak looked delicious and he said it melted in his mouth. We had a view overlooking to the Majestic and we arrived there with minutes to spare. One of the managers, Carlos came by and checked on us. Everything was impeccable and delicious from start to end.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience5
service5

Service was excellent! Sea Bass was perf ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

Service was excellent! Sea Bass was perfect. My husband said his strip steak was not the best he's ever had. Wine list was extensive albeit very pricey. Would loved to have known about sitting in the Terrace room as our seats offered no view.

food3
ambience4
service4
value2

The service was very good - they clearly ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

The service was very good - they clearly were making an effort to cater to their guests. The waiter was very poised and professional. The food was good. I remember feeling like the steak was OK but not cooked or seasoned at the level the prices should command. They had more expensive cuts and options (Wagu, dry-aged, etc.) but at those prices they should get the basics down to a science first in my opinion. There is a small humidor and cigar menu which was a nice treat. Overall, a very nice experience but the value proposition needs improvement.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Jose Diaz is in a class by himself. One ...

vip
Dined on May 12, 2016

Jose Diaz is in a class by himself. One of the very finest servers I have ever had. The wine sommelier was exceptional too.

food2
ambience3
service3
value1

The shrimp coctail was not good. The st ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

The shrimp coctail was not good. The steak was ok, but too expencive. We had to pay extra for the sauce. The restaurant did not live up to expectations. The restaurant is strongly overrated.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was terrific. The wait staff w ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

The food was terrific. The wait staff was even better. Mose was the best waiter I have ever had at any restaurant....anywhere. You simply can't beat Bohanan's.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Trully enjoyed!!!

Dined on May 9, 2016

I have truly enjoyed my Mother's day meal with my wife. She too, enjoyed the seafood offered and left the establishment completely satisfied and happy with our service, meal and ambiance.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Really fantastic steak and service helpe ...

Dined on May 9, 2016

Really fantastic steak and service helped me set up an amazing experience for Mother's Day.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exquisite dining experience

Dined on May 8, 2016

Bohanan's provides a memorable dining experience with an array of options including many off the menu specialty steaks. I would highly recommend the bone in Ribeye or the Wagyu (japanese raised) filet mignon. For dessert the bananas foster is a delicious treat with an exceptional presentation.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding as ususal

Dined on May 8, 2016

We love Bohanan's it is so wonderful. Husband had the Lamb and it was so good. All I can say is this is the best restaurant in San Antonio.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Have eaten here a few times in the past ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Have eaten here a few times in the past & was disappointed with the staff, food & experience :( Will go back but will STAY downstairs in the bar for drinks & small plates (no need to go upstairs anymore)

Tags: vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Best Ribeye Steak and Lamb Chops Ever!

Dined on May 7, 2016

The steak and lamb chops were cooked to perfection. The service was the best we've experienced in years. We will be going again!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best steak in The Alamo City

Dined on May 7, 2016

Outstanding bar options, great food, awesome service, fantastic ambience.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service were excellent. My sma ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

Food and service were excellent. My small company comes to San Antonio once a year for a convention, and we all look forward to the night we get to eat at Bohanan's. I hear feedback including, "I've been looking forward to this all year," "I love that place," and "That was the best meal I have ever eaten!"

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Great seafood as well as steaks

Dined on May 5, 2016

Great seafood as well as steaks

food5
ambience2
service5

Food was amazing! Steak was perfect. Ser ...

Dined on May 4, 2016

Food was amazing! Steak was perfect. Service was impeccable. The only downfall, restaurant's smell, especially in the bar where you pass to head upstairs to restaurant.

food5
ambience5
service5

The whole experience for my wife and I w ...

Dined on May 2, 2016

The whole experience for my wife and I was extremely awesome and will be returning in the future. Great food and service.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What an experience!

Dined on May 1, 2016

We have dined at this restaurant several times and we keep coming back due to the high caliber of service and excellent food they provide. It was our 10th anniversary and we were made to feel very special. From the corner booth (with rose petals on the table) to the champagne toast - we felt like we were the focus of the restaurant. We received team service and each person was great. I have to give special kudos to Jenny - her service was outstanding. Professional yet personable : She helped make our experience special. The food? Outstanding! The candied jalapeños and cream cheese spread was fantastic. Between the wild Alaskan salmon and the perfectly prepared strip steak we were happy campers! Great food, great drinks (try the Between the Sheets) and even better service!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing place!

Dined on May 1, 2016

This place is great to celebrate special occasions. The service is really amazing. The food is supberb. I highly recommend this place.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great that the staff prides themselves o ...

vip
Dined on April 30, 2016

Great that the staff prides themselves on their service. They excel at it. The food is above reproach.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best steakhouse in San Antonio.

vip
Dined on April 29, 2016

Bohanan's is clearly the top steakhouse in the city. The lowest quality meat they serve is Allen Brothers Prime, top 2% in the country. Of course they have many Japanese style cuts to choose from as well. Fabien, the sommelier is the best in the state of Texas and will find you a perfect wine for whatever price budget you have. If you are looking for a top dining experience you will get it here. They also have my favorite bar in SA downstairs. Enjoy!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.