About Bohanan's Prime Steaks and Seafood

219 East Houston Street
Suite 275
San Antonio, TX 78205
View Larger Map

Bohanan’s fame is founded on sublimely tender prime beef grilled over fragrant mesquite wood. Enjoy extraordinarily delicious Akaushi beef, Chef/Owner Mark Bohanan’s large custom cuts of prime aged corn-fed beef, succulent seafood flown in fresh daily, and spectacular table-side desserts flambé. Imbibe a classic cocktail at the first-floor Bar at Bohanan’s, then join us upstairs for the best steak you’ve ever eaten. Located in a historic building in downtown San Antonio about a block from the River Walk. AAA Four Diamond rating and Wine Spectator’s Best of Award of Excellence.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Navarro or Saint Mary's

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(210) 472-2600

Website:
http://www.bohanans.com/

Entertainment:
Enjoy live entertainment from South Texas Jazz on Friday & Saturday Evenings!

Parking Details:
Curbside valet available. Valet service will be added to the final bill.

Public Transit:
Bohanan's is located in the center of downtown San Antonio; walking distance from most downtown hotels and conveniently located to city's public transportation.

Executive Chef:
Mark Bohanan / Owner

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Grilled Fish Tacos
Filet
New York Style Cheesecake
AKAUSHI BEEF
 Chilled Watermelon & Champagne Soup
Cheese, Almonds & Fruit Plate
Broccoli
Shrimp Cocktail
Macaroni and Cheese
40 Oz Porterhouse Steak
European Quail
Candied Jalepenos Over Whipped Cream Cheese
Yamizaki 18 Japanese Whiskey
Bananas Foster
Bone In Ribeye
Hummus Trio
Southside Cocktail
Candied Jalapenos
Truffle Potato Chips & Almonds
Chocolate Decadence Bites
Seared Tuna Appetizer
Moscow Mule
BLT
Pineapple Coconut Habanero Sorbet
Rum Honeysuckle
Chicken Salad Sandwich
Watermelon Champagne Soup
Ribey
Meat
Hefeweizen
Spiced shrimp with boozy cocktail sauce
Prawn
crab
16 oz NY Strip
Chateau Stack
Shrimp Wrapped In Bacon Stuffed With Jack Cheese And King Crab
Grilled Oysters
Jumbo Lump Blue Crab Cocktail

Private Dining

Bohanan’s is the perfect place to make your special event one to remember. The exquisite cuisine, elegant ambiance and outstanding service will ensure that your special event will be the very best experience for you and your guests.

Bohanan's Prime Steaks and Seafood Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
San Antonio
Best Food
San Antonio
Best Service
San Antonio
15 More
Best Ambiance
San Antonio
Notable Wine List
San Antonio
Romantic
San Antonio
Special Occasion
San Antonio
Steakhouse
San Antonio
Most Booked
San Antonio
Best Overall
San Antonio
Best Food
San Antonio
Best Service
San Antonio
Best Ambiance
San Antonio
Notable Wine List
San Antonio
Romantic
San Antonio
Special Occasion
San Antonio
Steakhouse
San Antonio
Most Booked
San Antonio
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

special occasion (219)
romantic (177)
notable wine list (129)
See All
fit for foodies (98)
good for groups (73)
vibrant bar scene (55)
hot spot (36)
neighborhood gem (30)
scenic view (29)
late-night find (17)
great for lunch (17)
great for brunch (7)
great for outdoor dining (4)
kid-friendly (2)
Sort By:
Newest
3070 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I was stunned by the excellent quality o ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined 4 days ago

I was stunned by the excellent quality of the seafood and the ambiance of the restaurant. I had read on line reviews of this restaurant before I went. As I told my waiter, they deserve every one of the rave reviews I had read.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Best dinner resteraunt in San Antonio an ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined 4 days ago

Best dinner resteraunt in San Antonio and possibly all of Texas. Everything was delicious and the entire staff friendly and helpful. We will be back although it may only be on our anniversary every year.

Well worth the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our second visit to bohanan's and again ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined 5 days ago

Our second visit to bohanan's and again very pleasurable just a couple of service problems with the order but they made a great effort to get it corrected quickly.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Bohanan's is the BEST! The food is alwa ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined 5 days ago

Bohanan's is the BEST! The food is always outstanding. The service is always impeccable. My family goes there for all of our special events and sometimes just because we deserve a treat. This was my parent's 50th Anniversary dinner. There were rose petals on the table and complimentary good champagne was served. I had taken in a photo and greeting card that were elegantly displayed and waiting when we were seated. Jenny our server was so attentive, but not in the way, great with her recommendations and never rushed us even though she did not get another seating for that table, because we enjoyed every moment for so long. And make sure you have the Bananas Foster for dessert.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome restaurant. Went there before a ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined 5 days ago

Awesome restaurant. Went there before a concert. The staff are very professional and take good care of their guests. The food was incredible. They have some of the best steaks I've ever had, but be prepared to pay $100+ for top-of-the-line above-prime grade steaks. Totally worth it. Sophisticated atmosphere.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Average at best, food was okay but not v ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined 6 days ago

Average at best, food was okay but not very exciting

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Outstanding from making the reservation ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Outstanding from making the reservation to the greeting and ambience. The staff was espically very professional and knowledgeable. Food was just a we orded as well fine wine list.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food and drinks were very good. Ser ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

The food and drinks were very good. Service was good. It was noisier than we'd like, and the dining room felt crowded

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

First time visit based on several online ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

First time visit based on several online reviews. Was not disappointed. A San Antonio gem. Food was excellent , service was superb, wine list was great. Waiter provided several options for wine, they were actually out of the one we chose. The waiter suggested an excellent alternative at the same price as our first choice. No hesitation to dine here again on my next visit to SA

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My customers always appreciate that I ta ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

My customers always appreciate that I take them to Bohanan's for a business dinner. The service is outstanding, friendly. The pace of service is professional and exact. Steaks are delicious.

My industry has a conference in San Antonio every year and I always go to Bohanan's at least once.

Tags: good for groups, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Bohanan's is a go to place for dinner do ...

vip
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Bohanan's is a go to place for dinner downtown. I simply felt like a second class customer though. Was it because I booked on Open Table? There appeared to be a lot of people coming in for dinner treated warmly and with open arms - perhaps locals? Anyway, I'll come back and have many times over the years. Just let your hair down a bit Bohanan's!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Outstanding! Great service, food, ambia ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Outstanding! Great service, food, ambiance. We had a great meal and a great time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Bohanan's is outstanding! Beginning with ...

vip
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Bohanan's is outstanding! Beginning with how you are greeted at the entrance, and their incredible variety of cocktails, (like their Manhattan with the Iceberg); to their wine list and finally the entrees. Our waiter Sergio, was very knowledge and very flexible. He understood the meaning of service. We were able to mix, match and combine off the menu. I strongly recommend any of the Steaks.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very, very Good service, food, and resta ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Very, very Good service, food, and restaurant. We had a great time.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

6 of us sat on the porch on the second f ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

6 of us sat on the porch on the second floor that overlooks the Majestic Theater all lit up and twinkling - the ambiance was wonderful as was the service. Some of the group opted for the Wagu beef and I had the escargot and salmon, everything was delicious especially the side dish of lobster creamed corn. For dessert the clear winner was the soft and fudgy brownie. My favorite of the whole evening was the Blackberry Fix cocktail which will bring me back time and again for the freshly muddled blackberries in a gin mix.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Bohanan's gives you a dining experience ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Bohanan's gives you a dining experience that you will remember fondly and that will definitely make you want to come back again. From start to finish, the service is outstanding and the food is excellent.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and have made Bohannon's our ann ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

My wife and have made Bohannon's our anniversary tradition. The wagyu beef was excellent as well as the service. We definetly do not mind the drive from Austin to San Antonio to end up at Bohannon's.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Hosted a business dinner that included a ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Hosted a business dinner that included a world class chef. Presentation, Food, and Service were excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Some of the best steaks my wife and I ha ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Some of the best steaks my wife and I have ever had. Great place to eat when visiting San Antonio

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We always enjoy Bohanan's.The staff is g ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

We always enjoy Bohanan's.The staff is great and the food outstanding.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love this place its a must every time we ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Love this place its a must every time we go to San Antonio. Once you eating here any other steak place will never be the same. Its that great.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

An absolutely magnificent dining experie ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

An absolutely magnificent dining experience from beginning to end. By far the best restaurant my wife and I have dined at ever. Tremendous!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Jose Diaz was excellent. He took good ca ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Jose Diaz was excellent. He took good care of us and created an awesome banana foster.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We chose bohanan's for my husband's 7 ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

We chose bohanan's for my husband's 70th birthday celebration. Every moment of the evening was special. The waiter, tommy, and every member of the staff, was solicitious, friendly and unobtrusive. The food was outstanding, the porterhouse as tender and flavorful as promised. The cocktails were perfect. The night was a total delight, and we were treated like royalty. Thank you. You could not have made us happier.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Everything was excellent. Food was super ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Everything was excellent. Food was superb, the staff were knowledgable, professional, and friendly. Thanks for making my wife's birthday special!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been to Bohanan's on several occ ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

We have been to Bohanan's on several occasions, and always find it to be great. It is probably one of my favorite places to dine, anywhere. Their steaks are first class, seafood always fresh and prepared properly, and great drinks and wine.

What else could you want?

It is not the place to go on a budget though, but certainly worth the trip.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The service was fantastic and the food e ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

The service was fantastic and the food excellent. Waiters are very knowledgeable and helpful. Perfect place to take a date for a romantic night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was our second trip to Bohanan's an ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

This was our second trip to Bohanan's and it was still very good. The servers were extremely attentive and offered good recommendations for what to order. The food was cooked exactly as we expected and the the mixed drinks were some of the best that I've had in a long time.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent cuts Notable wine list Elegant ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Excellent cuts

Notable wine list

Elegant ambience

Attentive service:

A memorable dining experience for a visitor to San Antonio

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love the food, but the whole experien ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

We love the food, but the whole experience keeps us coming back. This is where we reward ourselves (wife & I) for special occassions.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My fiancé and I planned a date night at ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

My fiancé and I planned a date night at Bohanan's and were not disappointed. The food was perfect and service impeccable.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I agree with some of the other reviews; ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

I agree with some of the other reviews; very good food, but it doesn't feel quite worth it when you get the bill. Cheapest red wine was $56. You have to have some in the high 30's/40's. We limited our table to 2 bottles, just like we will limit our visits here, due to pricing. Great steak though!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

We began in the bar where the bartenders ...

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

We began in the bar where the bartenders really know their stuff. Great specialty cocktails or they will make something to suit your taste.

The dining room experience was incredible. Service was the very best. Attentive and friendly at just the right time for us. The A-5 filet was the very best quality steak I have ever had as well it should be at $125 for a 9 ounce cut. I know, I know. How could it really be worth that much. I, too, was skeptical but it did not disappoint. My wife had the Meso Sea Bass and it was equally great. We followed up with the Lobster creamed corn side dish with small chunks of lobster meat and then rounded out the evening with the Creme brûlée. Very satisfying and definitely will be back!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always a great experience. Food is excel ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Always a great experience. Food is excellent and service is spectacular.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a wonderful time at Bohanan's. T ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

We had a wonderful time at Bohanan's. They went out of their way to make the night special for my wife who was celebrating her birthday. The staff was outstanding and very attentive to every detail - especially Sergio, Ignacio and Redmond. The steak was amazing!! Would highly recommend it.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was good

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

It was good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing place for a date or special occa ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Amazing place for a date or special occasion. Perhaps the best steak I've ever had. Took my girlfriend for her birthday and she had a magical time. They are genuinely friendly and helpful in every way. Can't say enough good things!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

One of the top bars ...bar none! Very we ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

One of the top bars ...bar none! Very well stocked with highly rated spirits and the bartenders/mixologists treat their craft very seriously. The food again was excellent, prepared just as ordered. The prime filets were a perfect medium rare, and they had the confidence to not ask us to cut into it when it arrived to ensure it was prepared to our liking. The only two pieces of constructive feedback we'd give is that their wine by the glass selection is extremely limited. Second, the presentation of the meats in vacuum sealed plastic is a bit of a turn off. Everything else is so elegant. This approach seemed to cheapen the experience. anyw

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Bohanan's is a favorite for my wife and ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Bohanan's is a favorite for my wife and I since we stumbled across it years ago. We were going to see a play at the Majestic and decided to make it a special evening. We saw Bohanan's, and my wife knowing that I am an avid carnivore recommended we try it. It was phenomenal. Since then we have been there before plays and to celebrate our anniversary.

We have recommended it to several friends and family. We have told them to be prepared to pay a little more than you may be used to for your dinner, but know that the experience and the quality of the food is well worth it. We most recently went with my brother and sister-in-law to celebrate their 44th wedding anniversary. They loved it. We are never disappointed and always enjoy the friendly and excellent service.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Unique atmosphere and setting with an ou ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Unique atmosphere and setting with an outstanding bar downstairs and then upstairs to the open dining room.

Excellent beef and wine selection.

Stellar service throughout the evening.

Tags: good for groups, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.