About Bohanan's Prime Steaks and Seafood

219 East Houston Street
Suite 275
San Antonio, TX 78205
View Larger Map

Bohanan’s fame is founded on sublimely tender prime beef grilled over fragrant mesquite wood. Enjoy extraordinarily delicious Akaushi beef, Chef/Owner Mark Bohanan’s large custom cuts of prime aged corn-fed beef, succulent seafood flown in fresh daily, and spectacular table-side desserts flambé. Imbibe a classic cocktail at the first-floor Bar at Bohanan’s, then join us upstairs for the best steak you’ve ever eaten. Located in a historic building in downtown San Antonio about a block from the River Walk. AAA Four Diamond rating and Wine Spectator’s Best of Award of Excellence.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Navarro or Saint Mary's

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(210) 472-2600

Website:
http://www.bohanans.com/

Entertainment:
Enjoy live entertainment from South Texas Jazz on Friday & Saturday Evenings!

Parking Details:
Curbside valet available. Valet service will be added to the final bill.

Public Transit:
Bohanan's is located in the center of downtown San Antonio; walking distance from most downtown hotels and conveniently located to city's public transportation.

Executive Chef:
Mark Bohanan / Owner

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Grilled Fish Tacos
Filet
New York Style Cheesecake
AKAUSHI BEEF
 Chilled Watermelon & Champagne Soup
Cheese, Almonds & Fruit Plate
Macaroni and Cheese
Shrimp Cocktail
Broccoli
Candied Jalepenos Over Whipped Cream Cheese
European Quail
40 Oz Porterhouse Steak
Yamizaki 18 Japanese Whiskey
Bananas Foster
Bone In Ribeye
Seared Tuna Appetizer
Southside Cocktail
Chocolate Decadence Bites
Moscow Mule
Hummus Trio
Candied Jalapenos
Truffle Potato Chips & Almonds
Chicken Salad Sandwich
BLT
Rum Honeysuckle
Pineapple Coconut Habanero Sorbet
Watermelon Champagne Soup
Meat
Hefeweizen
Ribey
Spiced shrimp with boozy cocktail sauce
Prawn
16 oz NY Strip
crab
Shrimp Wrapped In Bacon Stuffed With Jack Cheese And King Crab
Chateau Stack
Jumbo Lump Blue Crab Cocktail
Grilled Oysters

Private Dining

Bohanan’s is the perfect place to make your special event one to remember. The exquisite cuisine, elegant ambiance and outstanding service will ensure that your special event will be the very best experience for you and your guests.

Bohanan's Prime Steaks and Seafood Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
San Antonio
Best Food
San Antonio
Best Service
San Antonio
13 More
Best Ambiance
San Antonio
Romantic
San Antonio
Special Occasion
San Antonio
Steakhouse
San Antonio
Most Booked
San Antonio
Best Overall
San Antonio
Best Food
San Antonio
Best Service
San Antonio
Best Ambiance
San Antonio
Romantic
San Antonio
Special Occasion
San Antonio
Steakhouse
San Antonio
Most Booked
San Antonio
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

Special Occasion (213)
Romantic (167)
Notable Wine List (127)
See All
Fit for Foodies (91)
Good for Groups (64)
Vibrant Bar Scene (52)
Hot Spot (34)
Scenic View (32)
Neighborhood Gem (28)
Great for Lunch (17)
Late-night Find (15)
Great for Brunch (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Historic (1)
Great Beer (1)
Business Meals (1)
Authentic (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Sort By:
Newest
3118 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Best service I've experienced.

 
 (Austin)
·Dined 3 days ago

Best service I've experienced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Cocktails were awesome. Given complimen ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined 5 days ago

Cocktails were awesome. Given complimentary champagne as we were celebrating a birthday. Great wine list with knowledgeable staff. Steaks were very good, went with the Wagyu filet. Ended with the Madagascar Crème Brule. Great dining experience for special occasions, one of my all time favorite steakhouses.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Quite possible the best level of custome ...

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined 6 days ago

Quite possible the best level of customer service e I have ever experienced. My daughter was asking for some Powerade and the waiter told me they didn't have it in the restaurant. Next thing you know, he ran across the street to buy it for my daughter!!! I'd give them a million stars if I could.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It has been a great experience everytime ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined 7 days ago

It has been a great experience everytime. I appreciate the quality service and food. I plan to dine there again in the near future.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

This is definitely a great dining experi ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined 7 days ago

This is definitely a great dining experience. Our service was a bit slow at the start but that improved. It's a bit on the pricey side, even for the standard Starks and I never like these places that serve a la carte. Runs the cost up for no reason. Otherwise a great stark, great wine list and can definitely recommend if it's in your budget. Likely the best in San Antonio.

Tags: Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for Groups, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Exceptional food Impeccable service Best ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Exceptional food Impeccable service Best in San Antonio

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service is impeccable! thanks for a gre ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Service is impeccable! thanks for a great experience!1

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant was all around great. t ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

This restaurant was all around great. the service was excellent and the food was amazing.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Filet was amazing. Service was a bit slo ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Filet was amazing. Service was a bit slow and I had to ask for several things. Overall a good experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Meal and service was top notch. Highly r ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Meal and service was top notch. Highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It was a great meal, with great service, ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

It was a great meal, with great service, and great experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

If I am ever in San Antonio, I always al ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

If I am ever in San Antonio, I always always plan a dinner at Bohanan's ! By far the best filet I have ever had to date. Portobello mushrooms were fabulous!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bohanan's once again lived up to its pas ...

vip
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Bohanan's once again lived up to its past excellence! We had three "first timers" with us and they all agreed that it was one of if not the finest meal they have had anywhere. The staff was great and went above and beyond what can be expected. A trip to San Antonio without a meal at Bohanan's is indeed a missed opportunity. Compliments again for a great evening.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place for special occasions or spe ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Great place for special occasions or special date. Food and wine outstanding. Great service and exceptional steaks. Would recommend this establishment for great steaks and awesome wine list and liquor menu.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Enjoyed a date night with my wife. Great ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Enjoyed a date night with my wife. Great atmosphere and have recommended it to many of our friends and family. The staff was very attentive and we will definitely be back soon.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Romantic, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

You want the Best! Bohanan's delivers on ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

You want the Best! Bohanan's delivers on all. Always will go to them when entertaining or special occasions, for you know you will not be disappointed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was an excellent dining experience. ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

This was an excellent dining experience. The food, service and atmosphere was fantastic. It is a place to go to celebrate any special occasion.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is a great restaurant. The food and ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

This is a great restaurant. The food and steaks were great - had the Japanese Steak, it was delicious. The service was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good, but didn't meet expectations. Defi ...

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Good, but didn't meet expectations. Definitely not a good value. Many other restaurants in SA with better quality for the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value2

Bohanan's often carries the superior Jap ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Bohanan's often carries the superior Japanese Wagu steak. Ask for it if you want a truly elegant steak. Great venue, superb service, gracious hosts - hands down the best steakhouse in San Antonio (and with seafood to match).

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Took my husband for his birthday, he ord ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Took my husband for his birthday, he order the BLT sandwich and got a crab sandwich. My husband did not mind the mistake from the waiter, until he noticed a hair in his food- that was when he decided to return the food. The most unpleasant part was that I actually ordered the crab salad, and I was thinking that my salad was also prepared in the same place where they prepared my husband's crab sandwich. Just a really bad experience, which shocked me after all the good reviews I read online.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3
value3

Josh is utmost server, I think.

vip
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Josh is utmost server, I think.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Went early before a show at the Majestic ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Went early before a show at the Majestic on a Wednesday. The place was packed when we arrived for our 6:30 reservation. Given the circumstances the service was ok but surely not their best. Of course the food is always great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2

Great table, looking out to the Majestic ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Great table, looking out to the Majestic Theater. Service was excellent, great martini. The steak was overcooked, wanted medium rare. They offered to cook me another one, but there wasn't time before we had to leave for the theater. They comped the steak and threw in a $20 Aturo Fuente. Love Bohanan's and will certainly be returning.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

We had reservations for 6pm and told the ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

We had reservations for 6pm and told them we were going to the show at the majestic at 8pm. There were six of us - all there by 6:15. We ordered.... We got our food at 7:45 - this was unacceptable. They did give us a discount but with their prices - it doesn't do much for a miserable evening. We couldn't enjoy the meal and made for a very stressful evening.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

Outstanding food and service. There was ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Outstanding food and service. There was another party that was quite loud, which made it hard to hear in the dining room. Decor was beautiful and would recommend it to anyone!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have eaten at Bohanan's several times ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

We have eaten at Bohanan's several times and are NEVER DISAPPOINTED! Food, service, quality are consistently OUTSTANDING! Always recommend it to all of our acquaintances.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Hands down this was the absolute best pl ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Hands down this was the absolute best place we had the pleasure to dine at while in San Antonio. From the moment my girlfriend and I arrived the staff was polite and up beat. The light jazz being played set the atmosphere for a classy and old school good time. The mirrored second floor dining area looked like it had been preserved from the 20's with a well worn hardwood floor and warm lighting. It was there in this feasting hall fit for royalty that we had the greatest service imaginable. The staff members Ignacio and Mo could not have been anymore personable and professional. They were so great that when my favourite uncle eventually passes away I want it to be these two men to be the ones to tell me. A young man, who I believed was named Alex, was on point with refilling our waters without being intrusive. All members recognized what a treat it was for a young couple such as ourselves to be able to enjoy a place such like Bohanan's and never did they make us feel out of place among the bankers and land barons in we were sitting near. The drinks were potent and flavorful. The steak was worth a contract with the devil himself. The wine selection was as impressive as the Taj Mahal. If I were forced with a gun to my head to find one teeny tiny itsy bitsy little thing to criticize it would be that the pear in the arugula salad was not ripe enough and had more of a bland apple flavor, but that IN NO WAY took away from the whole experience. My only regret will be that I didn't have the opportunity to smoke a cigar and hear more of that wonderful music. Thank you to everyone at Bohanan's for a fantastic experience!

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

An extraordinarily forgettable experienc ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

An extraordinarily forgettable experience. We were celebrating our 30th wedding anniversary. The seating, service and food was disappointing. The only aspect meeting the quality of a fine dining experience was the cocktails. It was a milestone in our life we will remember. Unfortunately, it will not be a fond memory.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

The food and service was excellent. The ...

vip
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

The food and service was excellent. The filet was grilled to perfection as requested and the lobster mac and cheese was a nice choice for a side dish. The sommelier Fabian was very helpful in assisting with a wine selection.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food and service. Would highly ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Excellent food and service. Would highly recommend Bohanan's!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Watch your bill. They overcharged us by ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Watch your bill. They overcharged us by 35$. We ordered the Mesquite Salmon for 39$. They served us the Gulf Salmon for 34$. When we explained that there had been a mistake, they said they would get us the seafood sauce that came with the Mesquite Salmon right away. They did, but then charged us an additional 14$ for it! That means they charged us 48$ for a 39$ meal and they did this to both women at the table. Also, they served our side to a different table, told us they would take it off, but didn't, resulting in a total overcharge of 35$. When I got the bill and pointed it out, she said she got our order confused with the OTHER Mesquite Salmon. When she walked away, we asked the busser for a menu...there was NO other Mesquite Salmon listed on the menu. When she returned to collect the bill I questioned her about this, she stammered and said ALL of the salmon is mesquite grilled and started arguing with me and saying it was a simple miscommunication with what I ordered. Evidently, the other woman at our table had the same "miscommunication" because she was also overcharged for the exact same item and reason.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value2

The staff, food, and service was great w ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

The staff, food, and service was great with one notable exception and how it was handled. My friend ordered a filet medium well. It was delivered medium rare and we had to send it back. I also sent my ribeye back as I didn't want the awkwardness of each person eating alone. Instead of cooking new steaks they opened up her filet and finished cooking it. My ribeye must have been put in a warmer or quickly warmed up on the grill and put on the plate it was originally served on. I know this because the two pieces I had cut off were in the same place on the plate. Result was two steaks that were a dry. The taste was good, but not at the quality I would expect for Bohanan's - more like a Saltgrass. Profuse apologies and they comped the sides. So, "ruin" the $80 in steak and comp the $30 in sides.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

We have friends that rave about this pla ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

We have friends that rave about this place. We finally made it there. We were not disappointed. The restaurant has unique atmosphere about it. Our steak entrees were made just to our liking . Our sides of macaroni and cheese, portabella mushrooms, and asparagus were outstanding compliments to our meal. Sergio and the rest of the wait staff were great.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My steak was very good; my wife's sea fo ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

My steak was very good; my wife's sea food was excellent.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Impeccable service and amazing food! Jo ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Impeccable service and amazing food! Jose went above and beyond to make my husband's birthday celebration extra special!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best meal we had on our vacation! The fi ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Best meal we had on our vacation! The filet mignon was the best I have ever had!!! Service was top notch!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Server Tommy Taylor is an absolute pro. ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Server Tommy Taylor is an absolute pro. The food at Bohanan's will not be surpassed and is consistently excellent. Wine list accommodates all price ranges, tastes and places of origin.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was dinner to celebrate our anniver ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

This was dinner to celebrate our anniversary. From valet to wait staff service was excellent. Our waiter Jose and John his assistant went above and beyond to make our evening great. The entire staff was friendly and worked well together. Dining level was bright and elegant. Bar was dark with character. Pricey but well worth it.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The restaurant bar area is very nice. J ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

The restaurant bar area is very nice. Jazz music and drinks are excellent. The upstairs restaurant is also lovely. We were greeted by a polite, well-informed waitress and her training sidekick. Service was smooth until after the appetizer, a delicious french onion soup. Unfortunately, we did not see our waitress for another 20 minutes. When she did arrive she brought us a sorbet then left the table. We waited another 35 minutes for our food with no sign of a waiter and no explanation for the wait. When my husband asked about the status of our order it was brought within 5 minutes. Our filet and sides were cooked perfectly.

We paid a handsome sum for this meal which I believe deserves impeccable service in return.

I have wanted to eat at this restaurant for over a year and finally had a chance. Unfortunately, if I return it will be to have a drink at the bar area and listen to live jazz.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.