About Bohanan's Prime Steaks and Seafood

219 East Houston Street
Suite 275
San Antonio, TX 78205
View Larger Map

Bohanan’s fame is founded on sublimely tender prime beef grilled over fragrant mesquite wood. Enjoy extraordinarily delicious Akaushi beef, Chef/Owner Mark Bohanan’s large custom cuts of prime aged corn-fed beef, succulent seafood flown in fresh daily, and spectacular table-side desserts flambé. Imbibe a classic cocktail at the first-floor Bar at Bohanan’s, then join us upstairs for the best steak you’ve ever eaten. Located in a historic building in downtown San Antonio about a block from the River Walk. AAA Four Diamond rating and Wine Spectator’s Best of Award of Excellence.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Navarro or Saint Mary's

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(210) 472-2600

Website:
http://www.bohanans.com/

Entertainment:
Enjoy live entertainment from South Texas Jazz on Friday & Saturday Evenings!

Parking Details:
Curbside valet available. Valet service will be added to the final bill.

Public Transit:
Bohanan's is located in the center of downtown San Antonio; walking distance from most downtown hotels and conveniently located to city's public transportation.

Executive Chef:
Mark Bohanan / Owner

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Grilled Fish Tacos - Bohanan's Prime Steaks and Seafood, San Antonio, TX
Filet - Bohanan's Prime Steaks and Seafood, San Antonio, TX
New York Style Cheesecake - Bohanan's Prime Steaks and Seafood, San Antonio, TX
AKAUSHI BEEF - Bohanan's Prime Steaks and Seafood, San Antonio, TX
 Chilled Watermelon & Champagne Soup - Bohanan's Prime Steaks and Seafood, San Antonio, TX
Cheese, Almonds & Fruit Plate - Bohanan's Prime Steaks and Seafood, San Antonio, TX
Macaroni and Cheese - Bohanan's Prime Steaks and Seafood, San Antonio, TX
Shrimp Cocktail - Bohanan's Prime Steaks and Seafood, San Antonio, TX
Broccoli - Bohanan's Prime Steaks and Seafood, San Antonio, TX
Candied Jalepenos Over Whipped Cream Cheese  - Bohanan's Prime Steaks and Seafood, San Antonio, TX
European Quail - Bohanan's Prime Steaks and Seafood, San Antonio, TX
40 Oz Porterhouse Steak - Bohanan's Prime Steaks and Seafood, San Antonio, TX
Yamizaki 18 Japanese Whiskey - Bohanan's Prime Steaks and Seafood, San Antonio, TX
Bananas Foster - Bohanan's Prime Steaks and Seafood, San Antonio, TX
Bone In Ribeye - Bohanan's Prime Steaks and Seafood, San Antonio, TX
Seared Tuna Appetizer - Bohanan's Prime Steaks and Seafood, San Antonio, TX
Southside Cocktail - Bohanan's Prime Steaks and Seafood, San Antonio, TX
Chocolate Decadence Bites - Bohanan's Prime Steaks and Seafood, San Antonio, TX
Moscow Mule - Bohanan's Prime Steaks and Seafood, San Antonio, TX
Hummus Trio - Bohanan's Prime Steaks and Seafood, San Antonio, TX
Candied Jalapenos - Bohanan's Prime Steaks and Seafood, San Antonio, TX
Truffle Potato Chips & Almonds - Bohanan's Prime Steaks and Seafood, San Antonio, TX
Chicken Salad Sandwich - Bohanan's Prime Steaks and Seafood, San Antonio, TX
BLT - Bohanan's Prime Steaks and Seafood, San Antonio, TX
Rum Honeysuckle - Bohanan's Prime Steaks and Seafood, San Antonio, TX
Pineapple Coconut Habanero Sorbet - Bohanan's Prime Steaks and Seafood, San Antonio, TX
Watermelon Champagne Soup - Bohanan's Prime Steaks and Seafood, San Antonio, TX
Meat - Bohanan's Prime Steaks and Seafood, San Antonio, TX
Hefeweizen - Bohanan's Prime Steaks and Seafood, San Antonio, TX
Ribey - Bohanan's Prime Steaks and Seafood, San Antonio, TX
Spiced shrimp with boozy cocktail sauce - Bohanan's Prime Steaks and Seafood, San Antonio, TX
Prawn - Bohanan's Prime Steaks and Seafood, San Antonio, TX
16 oz NY Strip - Bohanan's Prime Steaks and Seafood, San Antonio, TX
crab - Bohanan's Prime Steaks and Seafood, San Antonio, TX
Shrimp Wrapped In Bacon Stuffed With Jack Cheese And King Crab - Bohanan's Prime Steaks and Seafood, San Antonio, TX
Chateau Stack - Bohanan's Prime Steaks and Seafood, San Antonio, TX
Jumbo Lump Blue Crab Cocktail - Bohanan's Prime Steaks and Seafood, San Antonio, TX
Grilled Oysters - Bohanan's Prime Steaks and Seafood, San Antonio, TX

Private Dining

Bohanan’s is the perfect place to make your special event one to remember. The exquisite cuisine, elegant ambiance and outstanding service will ensure that your special event will be the very best experience for you and your guests.

Bohanan's Prime Steaks and Seafood Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
San Antonio
Best Food
San Antonio
Best Ambiance
San Antonio
11 More
Romantic
San Antonio
Special Occasion
San Antonio
Steakhouse
San Antonio
Most Booked
San Antonio
Best Overall
San Antonio
Best Food
San Antonio
Best Ambiance
San Antonio
Romantic
San Antonio
Special Occasion
San Antonio
Steakhouse
San Antonio
Most Booked
San Antonio
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

Special Occasion (135)
Romantic (101)
Notable Wine List (88)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (85)
Good for a Date (71)
Business Meals (65)
Good for Birthdays (47)
Worth the Drive (41)
Handcrafted Cocktails (40)
Pre/post Theatre (36)
Quiet Conversation (34)
Fit for Foodies (34)
Authentic (29)
Bar Seating (28)
Good for Groups (25)
Historic (25)
Vibrant Bar Scene (23)
Neighborhood Gem (20)
Creative Cuisine (20)
Cozy (19)
Live Music (18)
Private Room (17)
Scenic View (13)
Local Ingredients (12)
Happy Hour (12)
Outstanding Value (10)
Fun (10)
Casual (9)
People Watching (8)
Hot Spot (8)
Great for Lunch (7)
Comfort Food (6)
Healthy (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Seasonal (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Family Style (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Great Beer (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sort By:
S
3292 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

My husband and I celebrated our annivers ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined 7 days ago

My husband and I celebrated our anniversary at Bohannan's and we were treated like royalty. It was a fantastic quiet and romantic meal that was perfect for the occasion.

Tags: Business Meals, Historic, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service and ambiance were outstanding, h ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined 7 days ago

Service and ambiance were outstanding, however I chose to eat at Bohanan's to experience Texas beef that is not available in San Diego. In this regard only, it was disappointing. My dry aged T-bone for two was without exceptional taste which was exactly why I had made the selection. The meat was grilled/served perfectly but unfortunately did not measure up to the price, "the most expensive is not always the best."

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Steaks weren't that great.

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 7 days ago

Steaks weren't that great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Came to dinner for mine and my boyfriend ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Came to dinner for mine and my boyfriends 2 year anniversary! Wish we could remember our servers name he was awesome as well as the server assistants. Couldn't have asked for a better experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome food & spectacular service. It's ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Awesome food & spectacular service. It's a little more expensive than most comparable restaurants tho. Steaks are just wonderful. The service from how we were greeted until we left was perfect. Also great bar downstairs with some nice jazz.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor, Business Meals, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Live Music, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Hands down, best steak I've ever eaten. ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Hands down, best steak I've ever eaten. Our server was very friendly, efficient, and provided excellent recommendations for our meal. Although pricey, we enjoyed our meal very much. When I think of all the great restaurants I've eaten at over the world, I will remember my dining experience at Bohanan's and look forward to returning there in the future.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Splendid, splendid, splendid, splendid, ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Splendid, splendid, splendid, splendid, splendid!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was our 2nd time dinning here. Firs ...

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on November 26, 2016

This was our 2nd time dinning here. First time was amazing. This time our friends could not eat their steaks. Very disappointed.

Tags: Romantic, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value2

Great service and wonderful food. Steaks ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Great service and wonderful food. Steaks were exceptional. A drink was accidentally dropped on me but this was quickly taken care of by the staff and the management. The side dishes where top notch. The lobster cream corn was out of this world. I would pass on the truffle oil fries next time though. We celebrated my wife's birthday and they greeted us initially with champagne complements of the house. A nice birthday card waiting for my wife on the table was a nice touch as well. We will return over and over again. This place serves San Antonio proudly.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Historic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

In my opinion, (having visited many if n ...

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 23, 2016

In my opinion, (having visited many if not most of the "best" steakhouses in Texas), Bohanan's is without equal. This place is the best steakhouse in the state.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fanstastic food. I have been to a number ...

vip
 (Manitoba)·Dined on November 21, 2016

Fanstastic food. I have been to a number of steakhouses in various cities - Capital Grille, Chris Ruth's etc. - and this is probably the best one. Definitely recommended - not necessarily cheap but top notch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Spectacular experience, worth every penn ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Spectacular experience, worth every penny!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful new find!! We travel to San An ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Wonderful new find!! We travel to San Antonio periodically for fun getaways and will definitely come back to Bohanon's! Downstairs bar is great and had a live jazz trio. The atmosphere is also great. Definitely worth the trip!

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dined at Bohanan's before attending a sy ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Dined at Bohanan's before attending a symphony concert. The grilled crab cakes and the side dish of creamed spinach were most delicious. Fabien, the sommelier, suggested the perfect wine. My server, Albert, and his assistant, Miguel, were extremely friendly and attentive. It made the evening memorable for me.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Second trip to Bohanan's. The only inti ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Second trip to Bohanan's. The only intimidating part is the wine list. The food was incredible with impeccable service.

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The atmosphere was very nice; classy spo ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 19, 2016

The atmosphere was very nice; classy spot; special occasion...our server/host was solid; really enjoyed the experience!

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We've liked Bohanan's in the past (proba ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on November 19, 2016

We've liked Bohanan's in the past (probably one of my top 3 steakhouses in the country), but the steaks were a disappointment this time. Everything else was great, especially the cocktails, but for the price, the steaks should be better than what we got. They were cooked perfectly, but the flavor was average.

Tags: Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Excellent service and great food. Drinks ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Excellent service and great food. Drinks were well made as well. We will be back

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had an amazing meal celebrating our 1 ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 19, 2016

We had an amazing meal celebrating our 15th wedding anniversary. We had some of the best meat that we have ever tasted.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing steaks matched with incredible s ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Amazing steaks matched with incredible service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were celebrating a birthday and we re ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 18, 2016

We were celebrating a birthday and we received red carpet treatment. Thanks for making our night memorable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bohanan's, as always, was elegant in bot ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Bohanan's, as always, was elegant in both presentation and service. Staff are engaging and provide a very personal feel to the service.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A very good steak and seafood house in S ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 17, 2016

A very good steak and seafood house in San Antonio ! Our steaks were cooked to perfection, the service was over and above norm by Steven ..........He and many others helped make our evening a very good one. Good wine list, excellent food and great service....... You must make a reservation to get in.........!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Waiter was great, appetizers and salad ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Waiter was great, appetizers and salad delicious (though suffered later from mild food poisoning from the grilled oysters), medium rare steak came out medium and starting to toughen, spinach side oversalted, redo came back rare but at least tender, spinach still salty, a bit disappointing for a top 10 steak house at $200 for one meal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

excellent wait staff , very attentive , ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 16, 2016

excellent wait staff , very attentive , Value for Dollar the food is average and over priced .

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Awesome, a real gem in downtown SAN Anto ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Awesome, a real gem in downtown SAN Antonio. I will definitely be back!

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect, as always.

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Perfect, as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were seated in a room just to the rig ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 14, 2016

We were seated in a room just to the right as we came off the elevator. It was very nice but a little cold. Food was great, drinks were perfect and the dessert was delish. It was a great 35th anniversary dinner. Next time we are in town we will definitely go there again but will request to sit closer to the beautiful bar area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic. We had a group of eight peop ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Fantastic. We had a group of eight people in a private room. The food, the service and the atmosphere were all outstanding.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Fun, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent service, food and atmosphere. ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Excellent service, food and atmosphere. I would highly recommend going there for dinner.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A little over the top, but worth it! Wh ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 13, 2016

A little over the top, but worth it! What a fantastic find. Husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our meal at Bohanan's. The candied jalepenos on a bed of whipped cream and served with toast points were spot on. We really didn't need a 2nd serving but didn't turn it away. For appetizers, we ordered the crab cocktail and frenched oysters, both were fantastic. I had the 7 oz filet from the menu and he wanted to try the 11 oz bone in filet off the menu. It was pricey but SO worth it. Mine was perfect as well. I had the garlic sautéed spinach and he had a huge loaded baked potato. We tried the pecan pie for dessert, it was fun wrapped in phyllo dough with a side of vanilla ice cream. I was a little disappointed that our waiter, Peter, did not ask if we were celebrating a special occasion since we told him it was our first time there when he asked. Overall, it was a wonderful meal and I can't wait to go back.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Bahanan's was a beautiful place with gr ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Bahanan's was a beautiful place with great food and exceptional service. The staff is very friendly and professional with much knowledge on the product. I highly recommend Bohanans for a special evening out.

Tags: Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The hospitality and everyone took care o ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 12, 2016

The hospitality and everyone took care of us. The food was awesome. I was the designated driver and the bad a** mock tail was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Sergio is the best waiter on the planet. ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Sergio is the best waiter on the planet. Love this restaurant

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent steak & service. Beautiful cu ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Excellent steak & service. Beautiful cut of filet. Highly recommend!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is an outstanding restaurant. Best ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 11, 2016

This is an outstanding restaurant. Best I've been pop

to in the US in 20 years.

Impressive in almost every expected criteria: greetings,

food, service, attention to

detail, and professionalism by all personnel.

Sadly, the noise became intolerable as the restaurant became full.

Save the noise level, this place is a winner 👍

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

We were visiting San Antonio for the fir ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on November 7, 2016

We were visiting San Antonio for the first time, attending a wedding with friends. After several nights of partying and "tourist" food, we wanted to go somewhere special for our last night. We made the right choice with Bohanan's. The service was outstanding from the moment we walked in, not pretentious or stuffy but knowledgeable and attentive. We all ordered different steaks and they were perfectly done. The choices of sides for the table were just right also. We had to pass on desert! If we're ever in San Antonio again, Bohanan's will be at the top of the list.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a great dining experience. The pric ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 7, 2016

What a great dining experience. The price was very expensive but at the end it was worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We always look forward to dining at Boha ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on November 6, 2016

We always look forward to dining at Bohannan's when visiting San Antonio or The Majestic Theatre. This trip left us disappointed! Our food took 50 minutes to come out and when it did our steak was well done instead of medium. We didn't have time for them to prepare another steak because the initial order took so long. They apologized and took the steak off the bill, but we still ended up paying $300 (including tip) for a ruined experience and meal.

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value2

We had a great time. The night started o ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 6, 2016

We had a great time. The night started out on the right foot when we were led to a three-sided booth that gave us both a small bit of privacy as well as easy access to our server. Husband said this was the best steak he has ever had. We split a 40oz Porterhouse. Drinks were awesome. Got a toast on the house to celebrate our recent marriage and husband's birthday. We really did enjoy our time here. So glad we were able to dine here! Definitely would recommend this place.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Live Music, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.