About Bohanan's Prime Steaks and Seafood

219 East Houston Street
Suite 275
San Antonio, TX 78205
View Larger Map

Bohanan’s fame is founded on sublimely tender prime beef grilled over fragrant mesquite wood. Enjoy extraordinarily delicious Akaushi beef, Chef/Owner Mark Bohanan’s large custom cuts of prime aged corn-fed beef, succulent seafood flown in fresh daily, and spectacular table-side desserts flambé. Imbibe a classic cocktail at the first-floor Bar at Bohanan’s, then join us upstairs for the best steak you’ve ever eaten. Located in a historic building in downtown San Antonio about a block from the River Walk. AAA Four Diamond rating and Wine Spectator’s Best of Award of Excellence.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Navarro or Saint Mary's

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(210) 472-2600

Website:
http://www.bohanans.com/

Entertainment:
Enjoy live entertainment from South Texas Jazz on Friday & Saturday Evenings!

Parking Details:
Curbside valet available. Valet service will be added to the final bill.

Public Transit:
Bohanan's is located in the center of downtown San Antonio; walking distance from most downtown hotels and conveniently located to city's public transportation.

Executive Chef:
Mark Bohanan / Owner

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Bohanan’s is the perfect place to make your special event one to remember. The exquisite cuisine, elegant ambiance and outstanding service will ensure that your special event will be the very best experience for you and your guests.

Bohanan's Prime Steaks and Seafood Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (134)
Good for Anniversaries (116)
Good for a Date (109)
See All
Romantic (95)
Notable Wine List (82)
Business Meals (76)
Pre/post Theatre (58)
Worth the Drive (57)
Good for Birthdays (55)
Historic (47)
Handcrafted Cocktails (46)
Quiet Conversation (46)
Fit for Foodies (34)
Good for Groups (32)
Bar Seating (28)
Cozy (27)
Authentic (27)
Vibrant Bar Scene (25)
Fun (19)
Creative Cuisine (19)
Live Music (18)
Neighborhood Gem (18)
Happy Hour (18)
Local Ingredients (16)
People Watching (16)
Scenic View (11)
Private Room (10)
Hot Spot (10)
Great for Lunch (9)
Tasting Menu (9)
Late-night Find (8)
Seasonal (7)
Comfort Food (7)
Casual (7)
Outstanding Value (6)
Paleo Friendly (6)
Healthy (5)
Modern Decor (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Family Style (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Fireplace (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Great Beer (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Dancing (1)
Sort By:
S
3626 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great service. The waiter was very knowl ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined 2 days ago

Great service. The waiter was very knowledgeable and friendly. The food was great.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I love the place and the foo ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined 3 days ago

My wife and I love the place and the food was great but the service and delivery from the kitchen took forever and we were very disappointed. It was our 25 wedding anniversary and at the last minute I switched from Little Ryan steak house to Bohanan's due to our positive experience at Peggy's in Boerne where we go often.

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

Overall service was excellent. The only ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined 3 days ago

Overall service was excellent. The only complaint was that they messed my order. They brought a medium filet and I ordered it medium rare. It was our first time going to this restaurant, but I would recommend it to my family and friends..

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent service and the steaks practic ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined 3 days ago

Excellent service and the steaks practically melt in your mouth. Side items were excellent. We were a little disappointed in the apple tart dessert, which was not nearly as attractive as photos we had seen, but it was pretty tasty; just hard to eat with a spoon that wouldn't cut through pastry easily.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place was amazing! Jerome, the wait ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined 4 days ago

This place was amazing! Jerome, the waiter was fantastic! If you are looking for a great steak and good environment with top shelf drinks this is the place!! I highly recommend this place!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

After initially sitting us in a very col ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined 5 days ago

After initially sitting us in a very cold, small side room, they made quick adjustments and got us a table in the main room by the windows. From that point on, the evening was great. Food was fantastic as was the service. Glad I requested to move tables because I would not have been happy!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing, best filet I ever ate. Unbeliev ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Amazing, best filet I ever ate. Unbelievable. Service is fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had an amazing time, immaculate atten ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined 6 days ago

We had an amazing time, immaculate attentive service, and I cannot rave enough about the quality and taste of the food here. They made our Valentine's Day extra special. We will definitely be returning.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was a romantic evening with a wonderf ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined 6 days ago

It was a romantic evening with a wonderful meal. Very elegant. Great service and food. We will definitely be going back.

Tags: Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was in the company of my daughter and ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined 6 days ago

I was in the company of my daughter and was pleasantly surprised at the elegance of the restaurant. The service was outstanding and I was pleasantly surprised at the customer service and the quality of the food, it was the best.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Romantic, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Jose really took care of us, and made i ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined 6 days ago

Jose really took care of us, and made it a incredible evening..

Tags: Authentic, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is amazing and the service is p ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

The food is amazing and the service is pretty good. My only complaint - lunch service should happen much faster than dinner. Trying to have an extended lunch break there is challenging. Lots of time sitting and waiting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best steak I've had. Such a great menu, ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined 7 days ago

Best steak I've had. Such a great menu, it's hard to decide but maybe the price will do that for your

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The restaurant is fabulous. The food is ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined 7 days ago

The restaurant is fabulous. The food is superb. Albert was our server and did an incredible job taking care of us. Everything was awesome!

Tags: Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very disappointed!! We were told how gre ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Very disappointed!! We were told how great the restaurant was!! We ordered appetizers and they came out pretty quick. Waited 30 minutes and asked the waiter where our salads were. He did not put them in and then he brought out 2 when all 4 had ordered salads. Took another 15 minutes. He told us about steaks that were not on the menu. Red haired Chinese and black haired Chinese. We fell for them. Do not recommend these!! Plus over priced!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

Food is second to none, and worthy of th ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Food is second to none, and worthy of the # 2 steakhouse in Texas as voted on by Texas Monthly.

The wine list could use some work as I could not find my Silver Oak, potentially moving it to # 1!

The live jazz quartet was a very nice touch.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall greatness!!!! The service, and ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Overall greatness!!!! The service, and food could not have been better.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Service is great and waiters are extreme ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Service is great and waiters are extremely attentive. Our meal was also fantastic.

Tags: Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Historic, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was mine and my boyfriend's first t ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 12, 2017

This was mine and my boyfriend's first time dining here. It was our Valentine's date. We sat in the newer "back" room, which was recently refurbished, and it was so beautiful. I loved the atmosphere, and of course the wooden floors. The food was great and the wine list was as well. The service was amazing, everyone was so tentative and friendly, and seemed truly concerned about how our experience was going. I definitely would go back and suggest this to others.

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Live Music, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The service was outstanding and the food ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The service was outstanding and the food was very delicious. We will definitely go back 😀❤️ and highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Armando was excellent waiter He was v ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Armando was excellent waiter

He was very kind and considerate of our needs and very helpful in describing the steaks to help us decide what was right for us

It was a night that will forever be remembered made our daughter 20th birthday a complete success and we will return thank you!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a wonderful time. Our service was im ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Had a wonderful time. Our service was impeccable as usual. Excellent ambiance and food.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for a Date, Live Music, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

My boyfriend and I were celebrating his ...

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on February 12, 2017

My boyfriend and I were celebrating his first month in his career. Waiter was awesome! This was our first fine dining experience and the staff made everything wonderful and special for us. This will definitely be our "go to" spot for any special occasions/dates. Thank you all for being so amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service was outstanding. De ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The food and service was outstanding. Definitely the best steak I've tasted.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great time having v-day dinner with my w ...

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Great time having v-day dinner with my wife. Service, food and entire evening was outstanding. One of the best restaurants in San Antonio and we eat out a lot. Will be back soon. Thanks!!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Hot Spot, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love this place. The appetizers and ma ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 11, 2017

I love this place. The appetizers and main course is unbelievable. Have been here many times and will continue to come back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

We had reservations for 6 for a Friday n ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We had reservations for 6 for a Friday night. They seemed busy but not overwhelmed. We were asked early on if we had to be somewhere and told the server that we did not. We were there to enjoy a great meal! First we ordered drinks which were good overall. We also ordered several "chargilled" oyster appetizers. When they arrived we were met with 6 fried oysters on top of some bread. Not sure how that translates but we were still in good spirits - this was roughly 8:45. We had ordered different meals for our entree including steaks, lobster tail, big eye tuna and shrimp as well as sides. We lasted until 10 with still no entrees before we had had enough. This was way too long of a wait with no explanation. The wait can be tolerated if the food is great...but it was not. The steaks and tuna were good although the sauce for the tuna had glazed over like it had sat for too long. The lobster tail you could of bounced off the floor it was so overcooked. The shrimp were completely overdone as well. Creamed spinach was blah. Last straw for this place. They did at least apologize and discounted the check, but we will not be returning to this restaurant in the future.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value2

If you are looking for impeccable servic ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on February 11, 2017

If you are looking for impeccable service, fabulous food, and in a beautiful San Antonio setting, then Bohanan's is the place to be. It is such a pleasurable, personalized experience. We love taking our friends and relatives...never disappointed!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding food, great service. Expect ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Outstanding food, great service. Expect to pay for a dining experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Historic, Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

We came to San Antonio to celebrate my b ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 10, 2017

We came to San Antonio to celebrate my birthday and I wanted a steak. So my wife chose Bohanans. I had the Rib eye which was juicy and so tender it cut like a hot knife through butter. My wife had the mesquite grilled red snapper royals which was amazing also. The service was superb and our server was friendly and knowledgeable. The price was reasonable and the location is perfect. We will definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Well worth it! Everything was perfect! T ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Well worth it! Everything was perfect! The appetizers were excellent, steaks were cooked perfectly and the staff was extremely knowledge and attentive!

This is what every steakhouse should be like. I'd give it 6 out of 5 stars!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my fifth visit to this outstand ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 10, 2017

This was my fifth visit to this outstanding steak and seafood restaurant. It's one of my all time favorite places to take business colleagues who have not dined in downtown San Antonio. Bohanan's never disappoints!

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

La comida muy buena, como siempre pero e ...

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 10, 2017

La comida muy buena, como siempre pero el servicio no fue muy bueno. Falto amabilidad de parte del mesero, si comportamiento fue como si nos estuviera haciendo el favor de atendernos.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

The Sea Bass was excellent. However the ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 9, 2017

The Sea Bass was excellent. However the wine pours by the glass were very short for the pricem

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Ambience, Service, Food was all exceptio ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 6, 2017

Ambience, Service, Food was all exceptional! It was an outstanding dining experience!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall a great experience, service was ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Overall a great experience, service was excellent, atmosphere was lively. I would definitely visit again.

Tags: Romantic, Historic, Fun, People Watching, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We haven't been to bohanans in years so ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 5, 2017

We haven't been to bohanans in years so when my husband requested it for his 40th bday I booked. It was a surprise party and a very special occasion. Service was impeccable; the waitstaff and sommelier were incredible. However, a few complaints: my 11oz filet ($47) was overcooked, medium not medium-rare as requested. The asparagus side was disappointing. The biggest, fattest asparagus I've ever seen, bland of course because as any cook knows the skinnier the asparagus the more flavorful. Hollandaise on top was scant and flavorless. Even though the restaurant left a nice birthday card on the table there was no dessert or anything on the house to celebrate. Man and cheese was good but the sides are small - not enough to share among 6 people. Ambiance was nice.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value3

Decided to return to this restaurant for ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Decided to return to this restaurant for our anniversary dinner and was not disappointed. Food, service, wine and the atmosphere were all great.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Second visit Food and service absolutely ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Second visit Food and service absolutely over the top

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Romantic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great ambiance, food, drinks, and servic ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Great ambiance, food, drinks, and service.

Jazz usic in bar downstairs was fun afterwards.

Tags: Fun, Live Music, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.