Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.10mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.10mi

About Bohanan's Prime Steaks and Seafood

Bohanan’s fame is founded on sublimely tender prime beef grilled over fragrant mesquite wood. Enjoy extraordinarily delicious Akaushi beef, Chef/Owner Mark Bohanan’s large custom cuts of prime aged corn-fed beef, succulent seafood flown in fresh daily, and spectacular table-side desserts flambé. Imbibe a classic cocktail at the first-floor Bar at Bohanan’s, then join us upstairs for the best steak you’ve ever eaten. Located in a historic building in downtown San Antonio about a block from the River Walk. AAA Four Diamond rating and Wine Spectator’s Best of Award of Excellence.

219 East Houston Street
Suite 275
San Antonio, TX 78205
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Navarro or Saint Mary's

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(210) 472-2600

Website:
http://www.bohanans.com/

Entertainment:
Enjoy live entertainment from South Texas Jazz on Friday & Saturday Evenings!

Parking Details:
Curbside valet available. Valet service will be added to the final bill.

Public Transit:
Bohanan's is located in the center of downtown San Antonio; walking distance from most downtown hotels and conveniently located to city's public transportation.

Executive Chef:
Mark Bohanan / Owner

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Bohanan’s is the perfect place to make your special event one to remember. The exquisite cuisine, elegant ambiance and outstanding service will ensure that your special event will be the very best experience for you and your guests.

Bohanan's Prime Steaks and Seafood Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (159)
Good for Anniversaries (132)
Good for a Date (129)
See All
Romantic (126)
Notable Wine List (92)
Business Meals (91)
Good for Birthdays (68)
Handcrafted Cocktails (63)
Pre/post Theatre (59)
Worth the Drive (53)
Fit for Foodies (49)
Quiet Conversation (45)
Authentic (40)
Cozy (39)
Historic (34)
Bar Seating (34)
Creative Cuisine (33)
Good for Groups (28)
Vibrant Bar Scene (28)
Neighborhood Gem (26)
Fun (21)
Hot Spot (20)
Private Room (20)
Happy Hour (18)
Local Ingredients (17)
Live Music (17)
Scenic View (17)
People Watching (16)
Tasting Menu (9)
Late-night Find (8)
Casual (7)
Comfort Food (7)
Healthy (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Paleo Friendly (6)
Family Style (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Afternoon Coffee (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Great Beer (5)
Great for Lunch (4)
Wood Oven (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Seasonal (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Tapas (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Dancing (2)
Spicy (2)
Live Sports (2)
Waterfront (1)
Vegan (1)
Fireplace (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
S
3818 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 3 days ago

The atmosphere and the food were excellent! Waitstaff was very attentive. We were on our honeymoon and had a fantastic time.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Tasting Menu, Authentic, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined 4 days ago

Compliments to Chef Bohanan's on both of his incredible restaurants and fantastic staff!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Afternoon Coffee, Local Ingredients, Late-night Find, Hot Spot, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene, Sunday Lunch, Molecular Gastronomy, Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Romantic, Live Music, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Live Sports, Afternoon Tea, Spicy, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 5 days ago

We discovered this place on OpenTable. What a find! The food is outstanding and our waiter was attentive and knowledgeable.
We will always have this memory of this fantastic meal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined 5 days ago

Lovely ambiance and spectacular presentation of food. Old fashioned grand dining. Wait staff was extremely helpful but not intrusive. Seafood meal was outstanding.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined 5 days ago

Other than being a little pricey, great experience. Consider lowering your prices so that we can come more often 😀

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good Vegetarian Options, Pre/post Theatre, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined 5 days ago

It was a fabulous experience and can't wIt until we can come back. Our service staff was outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined 6 days ago

Simply the best steak house in San Antonio! Excellent service from Alex and Daniel to the manager Carlos. The food was amazing. Highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

A must if you are looking for steak in San Antonio!! The staff spoiled us!! Simply Amazing dining experience!

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined 7 days ago

Enjoyed the tender, juicy ribeye steak and the excellent macadamia encrusted red snapper. Closed the evening out with creme brulee. Burton's service and all servers were excellent as is the norm at Bohanans.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined 7 days ago

Everything we expected - could not have been better

Tags: Local Ingredients, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on May 18, 2017

The food was good but the service was lacking. We waited close to an hour before getting our meals and they neglected to bring out some of the orders altogether.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 17, 2017

We were told it was the place to dine. ..we were not disappointed...will be back again!

Tags: Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Bohannons always delivers no matter what good occasion. Classy, fun and scrumptious. Never disappoints!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Historic, Fun, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for a Date, Molecular Gastronomy, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Authentic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Based on advertising, as the second best steak house in Texas with wonderful food and ambiance, I made a reservation for Mother's day for me and my wife since kids were away.
We were put in an auxiliary room which was large and almost empty except for a large party of rude, loudmouth people. The volume kept increasing and we finally told the management to move us since they were making our meal miserable.
They then showed us the main dining room which was large and almost full but it had several available tables.
However, the manager said he'd prefer to give us a nice quiet side room. It turned out that the room was freezing with no individual AC controls -- but interestingly, there was a large floor heater beside the table so it was clear that they were aware of the problem.
We complained - so they turned the heat up to make the rest of the meal bearable but at this point, we'd lost our appetites
Needless to say, after this fiasco - we expected, based on the reputation of the restaurant, that we'd receive some consideration. Instead - we were offered desert -- but the bill was still over $300.00!
This was a major disappointment for what was supposed to be a special evening for me and my wife - one which will not be forgotten. We paid over $300.00 for a ruined evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on May 14, 2017

This Reservation was for my wife in honor of Mother's Day. I wanted my son to partake in this event, so that he realize the importance and how precious sharing moments with his mother is. And to experience a venue, that has an exquisite ambience, excellent cuisine, and a well diverse menu and a excellent professional staff.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Family Style, Creative Cuisine, Fireplace, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on May 14, 2017

Bohanan's is usually impeccable, but on Mother's Day, my husband found a hair on his $47 steak and my daughter found a hair on her $9 asparagus. One hair? Gross, but forgivable. Two hairs in same meal? Eww. I called the manager, Mia, to let them know. She came across as kind of nonchalant about it. This place is too expensive to be cutting sanitation corners in the kitchen.

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Enjoyed the Ribeye, love the charred taste. I will patronize this restaurant in the near future.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Booked reservation for my boyfriends 50th birthday. Ended up getting engaged during the day so we had a double celebration. The staff was awesome and very attentive. By the time we rode the elevator up the host greeted us and congratulated us. They also gave us a glass of champagne. They sat us in a booth that was secluded from the main dining room. It was nice but at the same time the waiters would gather over there to talk, and they stored things in the same area so it was kind of loud at times. The food was all very good. The only exception was we ordered the wedge salad and the dressing seemed very salty. I would recommend Bohanans's. There's plenty of steakhouses that may be nicer but when your on a road trip this place was fine.

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Food is always great! Our server Gabriel is one of the best!

Tags: Live Music, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 12, 2017

My first dining experience at Bohanan's was very enjoyable. The staff service was impeccable from the moment we walked up on the sidewalk to our departure. Alex, our server was exceedingly competent, attentive and his hospitality was indeed, something to rave over. The food and drink were exquisite. We will be back.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Dinner and the service was excellent the lamb rack was the best I have ever had and I would recommend it to anyone.

Tags: Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Best wait staff… best food… one our our best dining experiences ever!

Tags: Business Meals, People Watching, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 10, 2017

I joined my husband on his business trip just to experience Bohanan's which he experienced a few years ago. We arrived early and had a nice time relaxing and having a cocktail at the bar. When we were seated in the dining room, four different servers introduced themselves and informed us that they were all going to assist us for the evening. (Thank you for making us feel so special.) We were asked if we were celebrating a special occasion and informed the staff that it was our 24th wedding anniversary. We were presented a champagne toast..very nice. My husband ordered a wine that turned out to be no longer available. The sommelier suggested a comparable wine that paired well with our dinner. Dinner was delicious and filling from the caprese salad to the tender steaks cooked to perfection. Our only complaint was your dress code that was stated on the OpenTable reservation. We didn't mind dressing business casual but noticed others dining in less than proper attire.

Tags: Happy Hour, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 7, 2017

A must in San Antonio. Consistently fantastic in all aspects.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Private Room, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Great meal but we were seated in a private room. Prefer the main dining room.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Outstanding !!! The best meast I have eaten in my life with a very goosd service. I also recommend to stay in the bar before going up to the restaurant. The jazz group is fantastic !!! We really enjoy our dinner !

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Fun, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Bohanan's never disappoints!!! Great food as always with impeccable service.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Steaks were delicious. Selections of wine was nice. The service was excellent. This place definitely gets a thumbs up.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Absolutely fabulous! We celebrated my Mom's 98th birthday and got royal treatment. Food, service, ambiance. Scott, Gabe, Jessica. Bohanan's is our favorite for special occasions. Last summer we celebrated our 50th anniversary there. It's the best in San Antonio😊.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 6, 2017

This is an amazing restaurant! But I recommend getting the steak cooked one level above what you usually get (i.e. medium instead of medium rare). They definitely don't overcook like other places!

Tags: Historic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Shreveport)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Traditional Texas Cattlemans ambiance, great all the way around, but the steaks are the stars.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 6, 2017

The wait time was too long between courses sat down at 7 and did not get the entree until after 9. The lobster was cold, and the steak was not evenly cooked far past well done on the ends and med rare in the middle. I have not written them off just yet everyone has a bad day sometimes, but the service was great and the ambience was pleasing as well. Dessert was the best the creme brûlée was amazing!!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value1

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on May 5, 2017

The service was friendly and highly qualified and attentive. The food was delicious and perfectly cooked.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Fun, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Great food. Great steak and cocktails.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Son graduation

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Everyone was really nice from the moment we walked in. We were welcomed by pretty much everyone on the way to our seats and made us feel special until we walked out the door. I took my boyfriend for his birthday on a Thursday night and this place was still filled with couples and groups of people, yet no one looked to be ignored. Everyone was being taken care of and our dining experience was a pleasant one. Our steaks were great and cooked to perfection. I really want to thank Mr. Fox who took great care of us, as well as the gentleman who helped him out. His name escapes me and I feel really bad about that, but he was very helpful as well. I am sure we will being going back.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Better service upstairs in restaurant than in bar on first floor. Food was really, really good and upstairs service excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Service excellent. Steak overpriced and sides standard

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on May 3, 2017

We had oyster and escargot appetizers both were very good.
Chateaubriand was the main course. It was very good as well.
They cut it in half for us, my wife likes it cooked medium rare and I like it medium well.
The Bananas Foster was good and the waiter did a good job in making it.
We had a very good time dining here and would recommend it for special occasions.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Historic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Best restaurant experience I've have had!! The service was outstanding and the food was amazing. I highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Historic, Great Beer, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.