Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.10mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.10mi

About Bohanan's Prime Steaks and Seafood

Bohanan’s fame is founded on sublimely tender prime beef grilled over fragrant mesquite wood. Enjoy extraordinarily delicious Akaushi beef, Chef/Owner Mark Bohanan’s large custom cuts of prime aged corn-fed beef, succulent seafood flown in fresh daily, and spectacular table-side desserts flambé. Imbibe a classic cocktail at the first-floor Bar at Bohanan’s, then join us upstairs for the best steak you’ve ever eaten. Located in a historic building in downtown San Antonio about a block from the River Walk. AAA Four Diamond rating and Wine Spectator’s Best of Award of Excellence.

219 East Houston Street
Suite 275
San Antonio, TX 78205
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Navarro or Saint Mary's

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(210) 472-2600

Website:
http://www.bohanans.com/

Entertainment:
Enjoy live entertainment from South Texas Jazz on Friday & Saturday Evenings!

Parking Details:
Curbside valet available. Valet service will be added to the final bill.

Public Transit:
Bohanan's is located in the center of downtown San Antonio; walking distance from most downtown hotels and conveniently located to city's public transportation.

Executive Chef:
Mark Bohanan / Owner

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Bohanan’s is the perfect place to make your special event one to remember. The exquisite cuisine, elegant ambiance and outstanding service will ensure that your special event will be the very best experience for you and your guests.

Bohanan's Prime Steaks and Seafood Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (153)
Good for a Date (127)
Good for Anniversaries (125)
See All
Romantic (104)
Business Meals (87)
Notable Wine List (82)
Pre/post Theatre (63)
Worth the Drive (62)
Good for Birthdays (58)
Historic (45)
Quiet Conversation (44)
Handcrafted Cocktails (43)
Fit for Foodies (39)
Bar Seating (34)
Cozy (33)
Good for Groups (33)
Authentic (30)
Vibrant Bar Scene (27)
Creative Cuisine (26)
Neighborhood Gem (24)
Fun (18)
Private Room (18)
People Watching (17)
Live Music (16)
Local Ingredients (15)
Happy Hour (15)
Scenic View (15)
Hot Spot (14)
Tasting Menu (9)
Seasonal (8)
Comfort Food (8)
Great for Lunch (8)
Paleo Friendly (7)
Casual (7)
Outstanding Value (7)
Late-night Find (7)
Healthy (4)
Great Beer (4)
Family Style (4)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Fireplace (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Wood Oven (3)
Modern Decor (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Dancing (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Live Sports (1)
Sort By:
S
3708 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 2 days ago

Incredible meal. Patrick and Peter were excellent. Definitely will be back

Tags: Good for Groups, Business Meals, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 3 days ago

Golden Anniversary. Couldn't have been better. Outstanding food & service. Each person greeted us by name & knew it was our anniversary. Terrific in every way!

Tags: Cozy, Private Room, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Romantic, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined 4 days ago

Great food, great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined 4 days ago

Everything was excellent from cocktails to salads to our meal. Service was impeccable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined 4 days ago

We went for our anniversary. We arrived a touch late for our reservation, but we were escorted straight away to our table. Everyone we encountered was very attentive and the Chateaubriand for two was just the right size for us. After-dinner coffee was disappointing. It was not a good cup of coffee. However, the tequila tres leches cake was delicious! Overall it was a great evening, but it can get a bit loud.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined 4 days ago

The best steakhouse I have ever been to!!!'

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Fayetteville)·Dined 4 days ago

One of the best steak houses we've been to. Had the steak, Au gratin, asparagus, wine & dessert. All wonderful. The wait staff was impeccable as well. Loved it

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Excellent service and food. Seems as though waiters are coached to "push" certain items.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined 5 days ago

My wife and I were in the restaurant for an anniversary occasion and everyone working in the restaurant made us feel that we were special. Thanks to Preston, Philip, and Ryan along with the wine steward for their attentive service. The food was superb and the ambience was outstanding. Thanks to Bohanan's for establishing a dress code.

Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined 6 days ago

Have dined here many times. Service is always top notch. Great atmosphere, especially for business / special occasions. Pricing a bit much. Steaks good... just not great when looking at the price.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 22, 2017

Great food, excellent service and ambiance. Highly recommend.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 21, 2017

Great ambiance ! Food rather expensive but the steak was totally worth it! Our waiter was very knowledgeable and courteous!
Happy with my experience

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 21, 2017

Fantastic experience. Exceptional wait staff and the food was fabulous. Highly recommend a visit to Bohanan's.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 20, 2017

Amazing food--- we had the lump crabmeat cocktail for an appetizer and were amazed at how good it was! We each got a filet and split two sides. The wine was awesome as well! And the dessert! We had a chocolate tart with salted caramel infused whip cream. Atmosphere, food, service-- all top notch! We celebrated our first anniversary and they treated us so well! Definitely recommend this place. We can't wait to come back to San Antonio to come again!

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Incredible, attentive service, from the doorman to the manager. Everyone was on board to make the dining experience one to remember. Bohanan's sets the bar quite high! Steaks were everything we expected, then some. One of our best meals ever (in 40 years as a couple). Highly recommended.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Great food, wonderful atmosphere!! Having a business meeting, family gathering or a group of up to 12, request the Wheeler Room. Why would a small interior room on the second floor have a closed opaque window in it? Discover this special "hidden" amenity during dinner to give your guests a special treat!! We had a party of 12 which is the maximum the room will hold, but with a round table in the room it was a perfect intimate private dining experience. With 12 it was "tight" but didn't feel cramped at all. The staff was highly attentive, but engaging and not stuffy, if we wanted to eat well and have a good time, they made it seem they were going to enjoy the evening with us! Highly recommend the restaurant and the Wheeler Room.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Fun, Business Meals, Private Room, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Best steak and service i've ever experienced. Ordered the Waigu high end filet for $125, cooked to perfection and it was like butter tender.

Tags: Romantic, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 17, 2017

I would highly recommend dining here. The food and service was top notch!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Historic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on March 17, 2017

I was not impressed with the food. I was expecting Perrys steakhouse quality and it was more like Texas Roadhouse quality. I ordered my steak medium and it came out rare- medium rare.

The service was amazing. They made my boyfriend and I feel very special on our birthday celebration.

I wish the food was better for price.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Very good steak. Vegetables the best but mashed potatoes turned out a little too soft. Service very good but large table ordered right before us and we understand why it took a while to get the dinner. Yes we would go again and yes we would recommend to our friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Great food and excellent service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 16, 2017

This is our second visit to Bohanan's. The food and service lived up to our expectations once again. Both on and off menu offerings are excellent. Service was impeccable.

Tags: Cozy, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 16, 2017

One of the best steaks I ever had in my life! Great crab cakes, tortilla soup red snapper, seated tuna, service is spectacular!

Tags: Wood Oven, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Comfort Food, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Excellent meal from the first course to the last
You will not regret a visit to this magnificent place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on March 15, 2017

The steaks and seafood are as good as it gets. And the level of service is consistent with the food. The restaurant invests heavily in wait staff, and it is intriguing to observe how they work together to provide outstanding service. They are not overbearing, but proactively right on top of every need that you might have. The restaurant is right across the street to the Majestic Theater (Empire and Tobin are close), so great for pre-post theater dining and desert. The valet parking is a nightmare after the theater lets out - either wait until after the show and have desert, or go to a parking garage a couple of blocks away and walk - waited 30 minutes (literally) at the valet stand for our car.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Went to celebrate a special birthday and it was a terrific experience from start to finish. The restaurant is beautiful, service is impeccable, and the food is among the best in San Antonio!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Great experience, our server Donald Johnson was super

Tags: Business Meals, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on March 14, 2017

This is a five star Resturant in every way. Excellent for special occasion or meal before a show at the Majestic

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Amazing staff who went above and beyond to cater for my 5 year old. Excellent beverages! Food was perfection! Looking forward to our next trip back to San Antonio!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Took the family for spring break. Top notch service and food. True fine dining. Oh by the way they make a great old fashioned cocktail.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Excellent service and food was nicely prepared and presented. Planning a return visit

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 13, 2017

A local historical gem! I was attending a conference in San Antonio (SA) and wanted to have something from a local establishment. What an experience! The location of the restaurant is in one of the historical building of SA. Our waiter (Preston) and his assistant (I think his name was Mike), were great. They were very attentive to our needs and were very knowledgeable about the menu. Preston made an impressive presentation about their extensive steak selections, even though only one person of the six in our party ordered a steak. The rest of us ordered the red snapper (which had three different options as to how it was prepared) and several side dishes (everything is a la carte). While Bohanan's is on the pricey side, it was worth every penny. Every item we ordered was excellent and exactly as Preston described it.
Worth the visit and the treat.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Service was the best I have ever had at any restaurant. The ambiance coupled with the service is what made this place 5 stars. The food was 3 and a half stars. The steak I had was good but I don't feel it was worth $40 plus. It was good, but not the best I have ever had. Something I would make at home as I like cooking a lot myself. Mac and cheese that was supposedly "the best mac and cheese" was way overrated and definitely "creamy". I felt the cheese was salty and overpowering, like they only used the block of Velveeta cheese spread. The crab cake was really good, but again worth $16? Not too sure. They made me a strawberry lemonade from the bar (which is not on the menu). The first one was too tart/sour, and they brought me a sprite instead on the house as well as another strawberry lemonade because the bartender wanted a 2nd try. And boy was that one by far better and very delicious! Opted out of getting a dessert, but my waitress brought me 2 truffles in the cutest little box with their name and logo on it for free anyways. Excellent service.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Outstanding Value, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on March 13, 2017

It was a fantastic meal. I would definitely return again.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Expressed desire to have special table by windows. Got stuck in a back booth next to server checkin station. Seated over an hour before we even had appetizers . Drinks not delivered until after 45 min. Poor timing via service and for a high end restaurant our head waiter never once had help which contributed to the poor timing and long wait. Not a memorable bday for my husband. Food without service is pointless ...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value2

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Excellent dining experience. Probably the best steak that I have ever had.I would highly recommend .

Tags: Cozy, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Went spur of the movement and was pleasantly surprised. Our waiter, Alex, was outstanding.

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 12, 2017

One of the best steakhouse, great service, wonderful night.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Being retired military, we have seen our share of restaurants world-wide. I regret to say that Bohanan's was probably the best we've ever had. The service alone was worth the trip. The wait-staff was incredible. The steaks were cooked to perfection and were absolutely delicious. No need for salt/pepper or steak sauce. The best steaks have their perfect flavor. Perfect place for a special occasion.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Live Music, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Bohanans used to be my favorite steak place hands down. Not anymore. Two of our steaks were well done, but unfortunately we didn't have time to send them back. This has never happened in the 10 times we've eaten there. We also learned they got rid of their dessert menu, which was one of our favorites, and now offer 3 nightly desserts. So it's a crap shoot if what you liked previously will be served that night or not.

We have hosted our company Christmas party here as well as several birthday gatherings.

We will frequent Chart House at the Tower instead of Bohanans now. Bring back the apple tart dessert!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.