Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.56mi
  2. Distance: 0.96mi
  3. Distance: 1.36mi
  4. Distance: 1.38mi
  1. Distance: 0.56mi
  2. Distance: 0.96mi
  3. Distance: 1.36mi
  4. Distance: 1.38mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.56mi
  2. Distance: 0.96mi
  3. Distance: 1.36mi
  4. Distance: 1.38mi
  1. Distance: 0.56mi
  2. Distance: 0.96mi
  3. Distance: 1.36mi
  4. Distance: 1.38mi

About Boerner Botanical Gardens

Zilli Hospitality Group welcomes you to Boerner Botanical Gardens to experience fine cuisine amid a spectacular natural setting. Introducing ZHG’s Sunday champagne brunch year-round. The Garden Room’s floor-to-ceiling windows bring the beauty of this horticultural showplace right to your table every time of year. Also available for private event rentals. Stay tuned for upcoming Easter and Mother’s Day Special Brunch.

9400 Boerner Drive
Hales Corners, WI 53130
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Comfort Food, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Year Round
Sunday Brunch - 10:00am - 2:00pm

Cross Street:
Whitnall Park Drive

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(414) 409-3959

Website:
http://www.zillihospitalitygroup.com/boerner-restaurant/

Catering:
All catering at the Gardens is performed exclusively by Zilli Hospitality Group.

Parking Details:
Complementarity parking for more than 300 cars.

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, Full Bar, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Boerner will feature a special Mother's Day Brunch and Easter Brunch.

Boerner Botanical Gardens Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

3.9

ambience

3.8

value

3.4

noise

Moderate

70% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (22)
Great for Brunch (19)
Sunday Lunch (15)
See All
Scenic View (12)
Good for Groups (8)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Worth the Drive (5)
Family Style (4)
Afternoon Tea (4)
People Watching (4)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Seasonal (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Cozy (2)
Casual (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Historic (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Business Meals (1)
Sort By:
S
162 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 6 days ago

We had a very nice time and everyone enjoyed it. Would do it again. A bit pricy for those who are not big eaters but there is plenty to eat if you desire. Liked the casual atmosphere and service was great. Friendly people.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Casual, Cozy, Afternoon Tea, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Tasting Menu, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The food and the service was excellent. There were many people there, so the noise level was high . It was very crowded in the waiting area. Mother's Day is very popular. Would have to come again to see if the noise level and crowd decreases

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 14, 2017

This was for Mothers Day. The food was good. The service sucked. The waiter dropped off the bill right after we sat down, before we had even gotten food. When we did go up for food I saw him check to see if we had paid.

We had gone back to get more food and they cleared our table of everything including half of my Bloody Mary. When we walked up with our plates they were shocked. They offered me another drink but I was rather upset by then and said no. I won't go back. I understand wanting to turn tables but this was terrible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We had a great mother's day brunch! Kid friendly buffet with fancy but affordable food. The flowers in the botanical gardens can be seen from most tables.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Scenic View, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Some of the food was cold
Compared to last year, the staff was more attentive to our needs
We were seated quickly
Expensive

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Scenic View, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Great Mother's Day Brunch with a walk through the gardens afterwards!

Tags: Seasonal, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Well I made a reservation for 3 and was sat at a small table for 2 that was shoved in a corner where the servers had to go around us every 5 minutes (or less). My son, seated in a highchair, was forced to be bumped into by these servers because they couldn't give us an appropriately sizes table even when j asked for the table I had reserved. Also the food was only to-do. NOT worth $40 a person.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value2

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Sunday brunch used to be fantastic here when it was catered by Batolottas. Now that Zillys has taken over the food it was below average. Many items were cold, meat entres were over cooked, desserts were dry and flavorless. No waffle station, just soggy French toast that was not even hot. At $36.95 it was a disappointment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We have been coming here for Mother's Day brunch for the past three years. This will be our last time. The food and service were both very underwhelming. No more Bartolotta's I would expect is the reason for the decline in the quality of the food. The brunch was sold out so we will clearly not be missed. Thank you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Great venue for Mother's Day Brunch! Some of the food however left a lot to be desired. The Breakfast/Omelet stations and the Salad station were very good. Food was hot and very tasty. The Lunch (hot food) however was all overcooked and everything was very dry. Some of it seemed to have been pre-prepared and just heated up for the brunch. Being overcooked there was no flavor to any of the meat dishes. Very disappointing as previous visits for brunches at this location were very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3
value2

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Very good food and nice selection. The room is beautiful and tables are spaced out appropriately. Our server was not on top of things but it was a brunch so the important parts of the meal were taken care of. Lots of selection and desserts in addition to main dishes.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 7, 2017

This was our first experience here. There was no clear direction as to where the entrance was because there was a craft fair going on so we had to ask an employee who seemed agitated that we interrupted her. The manager made up for her rudeness and directed us to the hosting stand. Afterwards, we were directed to our table, which was conveniently located.

Despite the tables being arranged beautifully, it was lacking ambience in the room. It felt like we were eating in a corporate office building reception area or conference room. Liven the room please, maybe seasonally. I appreciated that the tables were arranged with plenty of room so you will not feel crowded.

Our server was pleasant, professional and very attentive during our entire meal.

The buffet was arranged in a manner that made it difficult to access some serving utensils and difficult to read what was in the chafing dish because they alternated the signs on both sides of the buffet table. Keep it straight and on one side to make things easier for your patrons.

Although they had a fair selection of brunch items, most of the food was either lacking quality, overcooked or appeared to have presentation issues. I was not impressed. Due to these issues, I felt it was not worth the price and would not recommend going to this brunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service5
value1

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 7, 2017

The food was much more wonderful than their menu suggested. Very attentive service. Boerner Gardens is the perfect place to have Sunday brunch. I am sure I will be back many times!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 30, 2017

We were pleased to celebrate our son's birthday at the garden.
Your Pastery chef heard my "cry" that the lemon bars were gone by the time I checked the dessert table. She brought me two lovely "ends" that she had not put out because she thought they would not show well on the table. Her special attention to me was an unexpected gift.

Thank you,
Matilda Franks

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 23, 2017

The food was fantastic! The amount of variety on the brunch was not overly extensive, but met the variety for a simple but elegant brunch.

Tags: Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Food is good. It is a smaller buffet but still has some good choices. The service is lacking. The server seemed confused and often got drinks wrong or forgot all together. No drink cups for kids. We had to take our own dirty plates to a bus station because no one came to take them. There were only about 30 people seated and the two servers were overwhelmed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Sunday brunch. Mediocre food. Poor service

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 23, 2017

We took friends from Ireland here for brunch. We waited in the lobby for awhile trying to figure out if we just seat ourselves or if they had someone to do that. Someone came and promptly took us to our table. Since we had never been there he explained how it works and said someone would be with us shortly. We again waited and no one came so we began going in to get food. The food was great but the service was not. The servers barely smiled and were not very personable. We only saw 2 people working all the tables so they had their hands full. Overall, we did enjoy ourselves and would probably come again, we'd just know what to expect the next time around.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Very disappointing. Just returned from Easter brunch which was very well reviewed and based on written menu chose it over favorites that are tried and true. Will never book here again as the food was unappealing and mediocre at best. I expect when I go to a restaurant, which we do often, to enjoy appetizing food that I am unable to make as well. This was not the case here and it was very expensive... more so than exceptional brunches we have been very happy with. I do not mind at all paying for an expensive meal but then I expect it to be worth the money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3
value1

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We had a two o'clock seating, and everything was clean, and well kept. Everything was fresh, and full.
The only complaint I do have is that we only saw our original waitress in the very beginning, for drinks. I wanted a cup of coffee at the end, before I went to the desert bar. I finally told a different waitress. She said no problem, but then kept waiting on her section, and never brought it. I was getting a little impatient, so I asked a third waitress, and told her about the second one never getting my coffee. She was Johnny on the spot, and brought four to the table. One for each of us. I thought that was very nice of her. I did not leave a tip however, because I didn't see much of our original waitress, but once.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 16, 2017

I took my family and a friend there for Easter brunch. We were warmly welcomed, there were activities for the children and a huge choice of food, all well prepared. The wait staff was attentive and friendly. There was no problem getting around in a wheelchair. It was a beautiful day and we were seated at a family-friendly round table near the windows overlooking the garden. We will be returning for special occasions.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Scenic View, Great for Brunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Comfort Food, Disabled Access, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We were there for Easter brunch 3 years ago- it was wonderful! This year not so much. The quality of the food had gone down. The price is high, esp for children. The service was fine. We wouldn't do it again. The gardens were the redeeming feature.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Brunch was outstanding. They really know how to present their foods with class. The fresh flowers all over the ballroom were so well enjoyed. I tried like all 7 desserts and the server said they were all made in house. So yummy. Every staff member that we encountered gave us a great big hello, welcome. Great experience.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Easter Brunch was all that we could ask for. My son said the price was appropriate for the tasty food and beverages we had. Service was excellent, which is always important. Though there was a large number of diners, including many groups, dining was comfortable.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Great for Brunch, People Watching, Family Style, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Very disappointed this was our Easter Brunch. Server was late to the table and only came a total of three times. Pastry was stale.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 16, 2017

The gardens are beautiful when in bloom but for a special occasion brunch, they should have kept with the other company that catered. The food has gone downhill and is ordinary now. We used to come for Mother's Day but won't be back for brunch on any special occasion. Very boring selection and not very good dessert. Coffee was blah and orange juice watered down. Not very happy.

Tags: People Watching, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Food was cold and had a strange chemical taste. Had to flag down waitress to get refills of coffee and juice. Very poor experience will not be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 16, 2017

It was better last year. Didn't think the food was that good for the money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Will definitely come back. Just attended the Easter Brunch with my kids and grandkids. The food was excellent. The complimentary bloody mary's were a hit will all of the adults at the table. The mac and cheese fit the bill for my 3 yr old grandson.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We attended for Mother's Day brunch and found the variety of food and the available options to be exceptional. There truly was something for everyone, including our young children (ages 5 and 2). The omelet station was so great with a nice selection of ingredients available. The bloody mary bar had a nice selection as well. My wife was in love with the petit fours. Our server was always on top of getting a refill on drinks for the kids as needed.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Wonderful buffet spread for Easter Brunch. There was definitely something for everyone.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Casual, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 26, 2017

RETURNED FOR OUR FREE MEAL THAT WAS WORSE THAN MOTHERS DAY! SERVICE, BLOODYS AND CHAMPAGNE WERE GREAT. FOOD WAS VERY SALTY UNPLEASANT TASTES, AND ODD MIXTURES OF SALAD , MENU ON WEB DOESNT MATCH WHAT WAS SERVED. FOR A WELL NONE PARK THEY NEED A NEW VENDOR, ALSO THE BUFFET TABLES WERE SO FULL OF SOILED FOOD FROM THE BUFFET , NO ONE WAS CLEANING SPILLS FROM THE BUFFET FOOD. SAD!!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service5
value1

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Before I made this reservation, I called and asked if they served enough items that were gluten free. I was told that they did. When we got there on and looked over the brunch, we found that it was not gluten free friendly. It was lucky for us that the person who would have needed that type of menu was ill and couldn't be with us. They didn't even have a green salad on the salad section. We also were disappointed in the service. They did not have servers going around asking if anyone wanted their coffee refilled. I had to ask to have refills. They also didn't refill the supply of food on the buffet. Several things were empty for some time. All in all, I would never bring a group to this buffet.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Our family went to Christmas brunch at the botanical gardens Dec. 4. The service, food and music were outstanding! We had been there for Christmas brunch at least a dozen years in a row when Bartolotta ran it and were always happy with the experience, but the new operator Zilli is measurably better in our opinion. Seating is not as tight, the staff went out of their way to make us feel welcome and the food was WAY above what one would expect even from a holiday brunch. The french toast, apple pie crepes, all of the salads and the beef short ribs were simply the best we have ever had! The omlets were second to none and the deserts were great. Considering that the adult price for this holiday brunch of $22.95 included mimosas and bloody marys in addition to coffee, juice and milk makes this the best brunch value we have ever had! We will definitely return to try their regular Sunday brunch!

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 9, 2016

This was a group from Meetup that regularly does Sunday Brunch. The quiet atmosphere and the view were terrific! The food was delicious, varied, freshened and replenished regularly. The staff was attentive. Definitely a do again experience!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on August 14, 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our experience having brunch for my birthday at Boerner. The staff was super friendly, we were seated immediately at a table with a lovely view of the gardens, ordered drinks and went to the buffet. The charming chef made us fabulous omelettes and several staff explained all the dishes (which were also beautifully labeled). The presentation at the buffet tables was just beautiful, with a bounty of food of every variety. We especially enjoyed the French toast (like no other!) and the Nutella Crepes, but everything was fresh and delicious. We can't think of a thing that needs improving other than that more people need to know about this place! Best brunch we've had in Milwaukee and a great value for the price.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on July 31, 2016

Wonderful location for a brunch for two, or for a group of friends/family. Breakfast items include made-to-order omelettes, cinnamon French toast, cheese and blueberry filled crepes, sausage and bacon. Additional lunch fare included beef, mashed potatoes, baked fish, and vegetable. A variety of appetizers were available, as well as a dessert table with several items to choose from. Bottomless coffee, Mimosas and Bloody Marys made the buffet complete. The server was very attentive.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on July 24, 2016

We enjoyed our brunch with friends. The food was good, with a fairly large selection of different breakfast and main meal dishes. The omelets were a little over-browned though.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 19, 2016

Disappointed. Ran out of a number of things and had to wait to replenish. Ran out of beef and it did not return. Desserts tasted as thought they were store-bought. Thankfully they had an omelet bar and really good French toast.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 19, 2016

I was not impressed with the Father's Day brunch at Boerner Gardens. The food selections were average, but there were not as many as I had expected, and the presentation was marginal. The staff were not very helpful at all, even with the limited expectations for a brunch. The drink orders were simple but they were messed up. I was most disappointed with the dessert selections. We waited for almost 20 minutes for the staff to replenish the meager desserts, and when they finally did bring more, there was a rush by the patrons, leaving the table empty again. We just decided to leave and forego the option, so Dad got no dessert on Father's Day. I would not recommend it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.