About Boerner Botanical Gardens

9400 Boerner Drive
Hales Corners, WI 53130
View Larger Map

Zilli Hospitality Group welcomes you to Boerner Botanical Gardens to experience fine cuisine amid a spectacular natural setting. Introducing ZHG’s Sunday champagne brunch year-round. The Garden Room’s floor-to-ceiling windows bring the beauty of this horticultural showplace right to your table every time of year. Also available for private event rentals. Stay tuned for upcoming Easter and Mother’s Day Special Brunch.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Comfort Food, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Year Round
Sunday Brunch - 10:00am - 2:00pm

Cross Street:
Whitnall Park Drive

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(414) 409-3959

Website:
http://www.zillihospitalitygroup.com/boerner-restaurant/

Catering:
All catering at the Gardens is performed exclusively by Zilli Hospitality Group.

Parking Details:
Complementarity parking for more than 300 cars.

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, Full Bar, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Boerner will feature a special Mother's Day Brunch and Easter Brunch.

Restaurant Photos

  • Boerner Botanical Gardens
Boerner Botanical Gardens

Boerner Botanical Gardens Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

3.9

ambience

3.7

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

69% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Scenic View
Wisconsin
Scenic View
Milwaukee
Special Occasion
Milwaukee
Best Restaurants in Hales Corners ›

Great for Brunch (10)
Scenic View (9)
Special Occasion (7)
See All
Fit for Foodies (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Romantic (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Casual (1)
Business Meals (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Sort By:
Newest
126 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We thoroughly enjoyed our experience hav ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our experience having brunch for my birthday at Boerner. The staff was super friendly, we were seated immediately at a table with a lovely view of the gardens, ordered drinks and went to the buffet. The charming chef made us fabulous omelettes and several staff explained all the dishes (which were also beautifully labeled). The presentation at the buffet tables was just beautiful, with a bounty of food of every variety. We especially enjoyed the French toast (like no other!) and the Nutella Crepes, but everything was fresh and delicious. We can't think of a thing that needs improving other than that more people need to know about this place! Best brunch we've had in Milwaukee and a great value for the price.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful location for a brunch for two, ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Wonderful location for a brunch for two, or for a group of friends/family. Breakfast items include made-to-order omelettes, cinnamon French toast, cheese and blueberry filled crepes, sausage and bacon. Additional lunch fare included beef, mashed potatoes, baked fish, and vegetable. A variety of appetizers were available, as well as a dessert table with several items to choose from. Bottomless coffee, Mimosas and Bloody Marys made the buffet complete. The server was very attentive.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We enjoyed our brunch with friends. The ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

We enjoyed our brunch with friends. The food was good, with a fairly large selection of different breakfast and main meal dishes. The omelets were a little over-browned though.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Disappointed. Ran out of a number of th ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Disappointed. Ran out of a number of things and had to wait to replenish. Ran out of beef and it did not return. Desserts tasted as thought they were store-bought. Thankfully they had an omelet bar and really good French toast.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

I was not impressed with the Father's Da ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

I was not impressed with the Father's Day brunch at Boerner Gardens. The food selections were average, but there were not as many as I had expected, and the presentation was marginal. The staff were not very helpful at all, even with the limited expectations for a brunch. The drink orders were simple but they were messed up. I was most disappointed with the dessert selections. We waited for almost 20 minutes for the staff to replenish the meager desserts, and when they finally did bring more, there was a rush by the patrons, leaving the table empty again. We just decided to leave and forego the option, so Dad got no dessert on Father's Day. I would not recommend it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

For less $ I could have gone elsewhere & ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

For less $ I could have gone elsewhere & had a better meal.

The mgr. was talking over our table w/ another customer that was so loud I was ready to ask for another table.

The waitress by passed our table several times w/o asking if we needed a refill.

I can understand because they were so under staffed for a Fathers Day event.

This isn't the first time I've been here for a Brunch. But it will be the last.

Best Regards

Joseph D Evans

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

It's hard to keep food hot at a large bu ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

It's hard to keep food hot at a large buffet like yours for brunch. However, we did enjoy our visit and though it was pricey, I hope we can return soon. Thank you!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

The food was delicious and offered a wid ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

The food was delicious and offered a wide variety and good value for the price, however from the moment we walked in the hostess was curt with us, asking if I had just made my reservation because she didn't see it - I had made my reservation weeks in advance. Once she found it, she was unfriendly as she sat us. The server was very slow and inattentive even though there were only 4 families dining in the entire restaurant.

We were also disappointed to learn that there was a separate price for touring the gardens, and that it was not included with the price of the brunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value3

We were really looking forward to this h ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

We were really looking forward to this high rated brunch. A little hard to find. Signage could have been better. Still got there a few minutes before our reservation time.

My husband had to go in to find somebody to seat us. (After waiting about 10 minutes at the door.) The hostess apologized for the wait.

Once seated the waitress did come and brought us water. She asked if we wanted an anything to drink. If we hadn't known from the web-site what the options included with the brunch were, we would have never known. She never mentioned the beverages that were included. She invited us to go and help ourselves to the buffet. Again, if we didn't know... Just think it would make sense to ask if we had been there before and give more info to newbies.

Several of the trays were empty. Some that weren't were almost empty. There seemed to be plenty of salads and pastries, but not a lot of anything else. I usually love salads, but they didn't look appetizing. Fruit was pretty basic, melons and blueberries and pineapple. On a subsequent trip I found French toast and crepes. That's what belonged in those empty trays. No wonder they were empty; they were actually very good. That is still no excuse for the trays being empty though.

I did enjoy my omelet. Thank you.

My husband tried the beef and chicken and thought they were bland. I tried the salmon. It was barely warm and I could only taste the rosemary. I tried two bites and put it aside.

Dishes were not cleared quickly. At one point I had two empty plates.

Dessert were O.K. There were several options, but most pretty run of the mill. Disappointed.

And we waited for the bill. They took the payment quickly and brought back the receipt quickly. Thank you.

Overall, disappointing and overpriced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

70th Birthday

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

This was our second visit and was a little disappointed with some of the food being slightly cool and not much in some of the serving dishes. We were there at ll:30 am so it wasn't because it was near the end of brunch. Also, last year our waitress was super with keeping dishes off the table when we were finished and keeping our water and coffee full. This year we had to continually look for her. However, the food choices were still very good, and you can't go away hungry.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Food wascold had to inform manager stern ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Food wascold had to inform manager sternos wereout! Waitress didn't offer champagne we hadtoask for it they ran out of entree! Not a pleasant mothers day brunch! Bloody and shrimp were good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Perfect Mother's Day

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

My family and I went to the Botanical Gardens for the Mother's Day Brunch. Excellent service, tasty food, and gorgeous gardens to walk around after. Will definitely return in the future!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

1st time here

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

We liked the service, always greeted with a smile and very attentive to our needs. We were a little disappointed with some of the food being offered. The French toast seemed to be old with hard crusts. A few other items seemed to be dry like they had been out too long. Most of the food was very good. It was not real busy while we were there, and that may have been why some of the dishes were they way they were. For the price of the meal, I know they could do better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

Botanical Gardens Easter Brunch

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

Several complaints about this brunch. I wrote Zillys a letter with my concerns and issues and they never responded. For an expensive brunch, $42.50 an adult for cost/tax/tip, it was disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

Not a restauraunt.

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on March 20, 2016

This is banquet space in a county park hall. Strange. We walked out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Great buffet!

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

Food is always great! Really awesome at Easter and Mother's Day. Even though nothing was in bloom at this time, I love the setting with the large windows. Can't wait to go back again!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went to Sunday brunch as a family. Ev ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on December 27, 2015

We went to Sunday brunch as a family. Everything was very nice

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Pulled out all the stops.

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on December 13, 2015

I was so impressed with this brunch spot. We went on Dec 6th, mainly to see Santa at Boerner botanical gardens. The buffet was so amazing, we decided to return to celebrate a special event the following week. Due to low turnout (we were the only ones there!) we were served family-style and it was even more impressive than the buffet. The hostess was just wonderful and they made us feel like VIPs. I recommend this location to anyone who likes to eat!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

No carving meats

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on November 22, 2015

When this brunch was managed by Bartolotta's,

they always had carved meats. I took my daughter to brunch for her Birthday and was very disappointed that they did not have any carved meats at all. For the price of this brunch,

there should be carved ham, turkey or beef.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5

great Brunch

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on September 13, 2015

Our brunch was great and the extra attention we received to celebrate our 40th wedding anniversary was touching! We will definitely return. Omelets were made to order and best we ever had!!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Great Setting for Brunch

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on August 2, 2015

Boerner Botanical Gardens is a wonderful setting for brunch. Indoor setting but great view of portion of garden. Good variety of food offerings and desserts.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Worth the Money

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 12, 2015

I brought a group of college girlfriends whom were visiting and we all had a fantastic brunch! For $22, it was worth the cost with the variety and selection of meats. It included everything from specialty drinks (Bloody Mary & Mimosa) and juices which our group all wanted. More so, how can you not try the Omelet station. After brunch, we walked the beautiful scenery of the gardens which is discounted when you dine for brunch. I will definitely return with many more friends and families!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

A step down from Baralotta

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 28, 2015

I've been to brunch at Boerner several times in the past and had a lovely time. This was my first time dining since Zilli took over and sadly it was not as good as when Baralotta catered. Before, the catering stations were spread throughout the back portion of the ballroom with actual chefs cooking the food as it was made to order. This added a showmanship quality which was engaging and entertaining for guests. It seemed that before there was a greater selection of foods, whereas this time around there were fewer choices. Before I would always get the freshly made Belgian waffles whilst this time the only comparable option was generic rock-hard waffles or basic cinnamon French toast. The quality of food just did not compare to my previous experiences and was not worth the price. The host was extremely gracious and charming though our server was nice enough. Overall it was disappointing because it did not live up to the experience it once was.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3

Great view and great food

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 21, 2015

This was delicious with a gorgeous view. A great way to celebrate father's day. We will be back next year!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I'll be back- for sure!

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 21, 2015

Service was outstanding. The ratio of servers to diners was more than adequate, yet they didn't hover. The assortment of food was diverse and beautifully presented. I'll be back once I can get work off the calories.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Father's Day Brunch

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 21, 2015

We have attended the Father's Day Brunch at the Botanical Gardens for over 5 years now. The atmosphere and set up is really great. Good variety of brunch options. However, I will say that the total value of the meal has decreased. The cost has only gone up slightly, but the quality of the food has decreased. My entire family is vegetarian, so I can only speak for those options. There used to be a hot item you could order from the kitchen, this year there was not that option. The salad offerings were lacking what prior years offered. None of the desert options were outstanding and in the past there had been a few great offerings. I will continue to go back, because of the atmosphere and tradition, but a little disappointed this year.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Boerner Sunday Brunch

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on May 31, 2015

Brunch was pretty good overall. They didn't have tags in front of the food so sometimes it was a guess as to what the dish was. They had chicken (dry), beef tips with mushrooms, several potato dishes, green beans with almonds, salmon pastry, omelets to order, bacon, sausage, waffles, French toast, fruit, cheese, several deserts and other things I'm not remembering. Staff/service was good. Then walking through the gardens was really nice.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Very good..better if price included admission

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on May 31, 2015

Food was very good and staff exceptional. Pricey....Would be better if price included admission to the gardens.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Sunday Brunch

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on May 17, 2015

The only reason I didn't give our experience 5-stars was because we had to hunt for the hostess for at least 5-minutes and then were told it would be a few more minutes for our noon reservation which began to worry me. However, everything from there on was excellent. Our waitress explained all the different food stations, took our order for beverages and continually checked with us to see if we needed anything. The food was beyond excellent. Everyone in our party tried to taste a little of everything, but there's just too much to choose from. Can't wait to go back.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

graduation

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on May 17, 2015

Thank you for helping to make my daughter's graduation day very special.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a wonderful time. The food was excellent

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on May 10, 2015

Breakfast area was excellent, very yummy. We all sampled the short ribs and they were nice and moist. Pork was out of this world. The staff was eager to please us. We had my very, very elderly grandmother with us that was not able to eat a lot and they prepared us a box of desserts that grandma really enjoyed.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Outstanding

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on May 10, 2015

we took my mother to Mother's Day brunch at boerner botanical gardens provided by zilli and it was just outstanding. Great food, great service and a great scenic view. I highly recommend it to all

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding Brunch with a friendly crew

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on May 10, 2015

Had brunch at the gardens. We had a great table near the windows. Excellent food made from scratch, champagne, omelet bar and yummy desserts.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Rushed Brunch

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on May 10, 2015

There were plenty of items on the brunch menu, but most if them were very "heavy" food items. It would have been nice to have healthy selections besides fruit. The staff was very nice and accommodating. They did rush us a bit to leave, it was uncomfortable. In the future if the admission to the gardens could be included it would avoid confusion. We were asked to leave the gardens not realizing the fee was not included. I wouldn't call this a brunch at the botanical gardens if the gardens are not included with the price of the brunch. It was pricey and the food was mediocre.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Bad food. The place was freezing cold. I ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on May 10, 2015

Bad food. The place was freezing cold. It was mothers day and we ended up, all wearing coats, as we ate. The food was expensive and not good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1

Expected more

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on May 10, 2015

Pork and beef were VERY dry. Ran out of some fruit and desserts. Food was very mediocre. Definitely expected more.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

Mother's Day

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on May 10, 2015

Our waiter. Andreas, and all of the other restaurant staff we came into contact with during our meal, were stellar! Their professional attentiveness, coupled with the beautiful view of blooming tulips just outside the window near our dining table, gave my Mother a very memorable Mother's Day this year. She has eagerly shared her brunch experience with family and friends ever since, so thank you for such a lovely respite and for allowing me to give her such a special day.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Mother's Day Brunch 2015

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on May 10, 2015

I must preface this review by saying that we were well compensated for the many things that went wrong with our visit. We had a group of 12 and were seated in the"other" room away from the beautiful atmosphere of the regular dining room. Several of our guests had great difficulty walking, and hence it made getting to the food in the first place difficult. Several of the men in our group complained about the food not being hot - we saw a rush of added Sterno containers being added under the large serving containers immediately - and several of the meat items were not only cold, but tough.

Our server, Ali did a wonderful job of keeping everyone's needs attended to.

I have mixed feeling about coming back, I've been there before and everything was great.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5

Fantastic

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on May 10, 2015

Mother's day brunch with my Wife and family.....Everything was superb, from the make your own bloody mary's to all the different foods available. The attention to detail by the staff was excellent.

My Grandchildren especially loved the desert bar.....

Zilli Hospitality Group really knows has to put on an event.....Kudos' to them.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Easter Brunch

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on April 5, 2015

This was the first time at the Botanical Gardens. The food was good and there was a great variety of items to choose from. Wait Staff were polite and very attentive to our needs. I would definitely come here again and would recommend it to friends. A little pricey, but worth it. It was a nice experience and all five of us enjoyed it.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.