About Boerner Botanical Gardens

9400 Boerner Drive
Hales Corners, WI 53130
View Larger Map

Zilli Hospitality Group welcomes you to Boerner Botanical Gardens to experience fine cuisine amid a spectacular natural setting. Introducing ZHG’s Sunday champagne brunch year-round. The Garden Room’s floor-to-ceiling windows bring the beauty of this horticultural showplace right to your table every time of year. Also available for private event rentals. Stay tuned for upcoming Easter and Mother’s Day Special Brunch.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Comfort Food, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Year Round
Sunday Brunch - 10:00am - 2:00pm

Cross Street:
Whitnall Park Drive

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(414) 409-3959

Website:
http://www.zillihospitalitygroup.com/boerner-restaurant/

Catering:
All catering at the Gardens is performed exclusively by Zilli Hospitality Group.

Parking Details:
Complementarity parking for more than 300 cars.

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Beer, Full Bar, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Boerner will feature a special Mother's Day Brunch and Easter Brunch.

Restaurant Photos

  • Boerner Botanical Gardens
Boerner Botanical Gardens

Boerner Botanical Gardens Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

3.8

ambience

3.7

noise

Moderate

75% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Brunch
Wisconsin
Great for Brunch
Milwaukee
Scenic View
Milwaukee
Best Restaurants in Hales Corners ›

great for brunch (25)
scenic view (18)
good for groups (15)
See All
special occasion (15)
kid-friendly (9)
fit for foodies (7)
great for lunch (3)
neighborhood gem (3)
great for outdoor dining (1)
romantic (1)
Sort By:
Newest
123 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience4
service2

Disappointed. Ran out of a number of th ...

vip
Dined on June 19, 2016

Disappointed. Ran out of a number of things and had to wait to replenish. Ran out of beef and it did not return. Desserts tasted as thought they were store-bought. Thankfully they had an omelet bar and really good French toast.

food2
ambience2
service1
value2

I was not impressed with the Father's Da ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

I was not impressed with the Father's Day brunch at Boerner Gardens. The food selections were average, but there were not as many as I had expected, and the presentation was marginal. The staff were not very helpful at all, even with the limited expectations for a brunch. The drink orders were simple but they were messed up. I was most disappointed with the dessert selections. We waited for almost 20 minutes for the staff to replenish the meager desserts, and when they finally did bring more, there was a rush by the patrons, leaving the table empty again. We just decided to leave and forego the option, so Dad got no dessert on Father's Day. I would not recommend it.

food2
ambience2
service2
value1

For less $ I could have gone elsewhere & ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

For less $ I could have gone elsewhere & had a better meal. The mgr. was talking over our table w/ another customer that was so loud I was ready to ask for another table. The waitress by passed our table several times w/o asking if we needed a refill. I can understand because they were so under staffed for a Fathers Day event. This isn't the first time I've been here for a Brunch. But it will be the last. Best Regards Joseph D Evans

food3
ambience4
service5
value3

It's hard to keep food hot at a large bu ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

It's hard to keep food hot at a large buffet like yours for brunch. However, we did enjoy our visit and though it was pricey, I hope we can return soon. Thank you!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, scenic view
food5
ambience2
service3
value3

The food was delicious and offered a wid ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

The food was delicious and offered a wide variety and good value for the price, however from the moment we walked in the hostess was curt with us, asking if I had just made my reservation because she didn't see it - I had made my reservation weeks in advance. Once she found it, she was unfriendly as she sat us. The server was very slow and inattentive even though there were only 4 families dining in the entire restaurant. We were also disappointed to learn that there was a separate price for touring the gardens, and that it was not included with the price of the brunch.

food2
ambience2
service1
value1

We were really looking forward to this h ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

We were really looking forward to this high rated brunch. A little hard to find. Signage could have been better. Still got there a few minutes before our reservation time. My husband had to go in to find somebody to seat us. (After waiting about 10 minutes at the door.) The hostess apologized for the wait. Once seated the waitress did come and brought us water. She asked if we wanted an anything to drink. If we hadn't known from the web-site what the options included with the brunch were, we would have never known. She never mentioned the beverages that were included. She invited us to go and help ourselves to the buffet. Again, if we didn't know... Just think it would make sense to ask if we had been there before and give more info to newbies. Several of the trays were empty. Some that weren't were almost empty. There seemed to be plenty of salads and pastries, but not a lot of anything else. I usually love salads, but they didn't look appetizing. Fruit was pretty basic, melons and blueberries and pineapple. On a subsequent trip I found French toast and crepes. That's what belonged in those empty trays. No wonder they were empty; they were actually very good. That is still no excuse for the trays being empty though. I did enjoy my omelet. Thank you. My husband tried the beef and chicken and thought they were bland. I tried the salmon. It was barely warm and I could only taste the rosemary. I tried two bites and put it aside. Dishes were not cleared quickly. At one point I had two empty plates. Dessert were O.K. There were several options, but most pretty run of the mill. Disappointed. And we waited for the bill. They took the payment quickly and brought back the receipt quickly. Thank you. Overall, disappointing and overpriced.

food4
ambience4
service3
value4

70th Birthday

Dined on May 22, 2016

This was our second visit and was a little disappointed with some of the food being slightly cool and not much in some of the serving dishes. We were there at ll:30 am so it wasn't because it was near the end of brunch. Also, last year our waitress was super with keeping dishes off the table when we were finished and keeping our water and coffee full. This year we had to continually look for her. However, the food choices were still very good, and you can't go away hungry.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Food wascold had to inform manager stern ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Food wascold had to inform manager sternos wereout! Waitress didn't offer champagne we hadtoask for it they ran out of entree! Not a pleasant mothers day brunch! Bloody and shrimp were good

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect Mother's Day

Dined on May 8, 2016

My family and I went to the Botanical Gardens for the Mother's Day Brunch. Excellent service, tasty food, and gorgeous gardens to walk around after. Will definitely return in the future!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

1st time here

Dined on April 10, 2016

We liked the service, always greeted with a smile and very attentive to our needs. We were a little disappointed with some of the food being offered. The French toast seemed to be old with hard crusts. A few other items seemed to be dry like they had been out too long. Most of the food was very good. It was not real busy while we were there, and that may have been why some of the dishes were they way they were. For the price of the meal, I know they could do better.

food2
ambience2
service2
value1

Botanical Gardens Easter Brunch

Dined on March 27, 2016

Several complaints about this brunch. I wrote Zillys a letter with my concerns and issues and they never responded. For an expensive brunch, $42.50 an adult for cost/tax/tip, it was disappointing.

food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Not a restauraunt.

Dined on March 20, 2016

This is banquet space in a county park hall. Strange. We walked out.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great buffet!

Dined on February 21, 2016

Food is always great! Really awesome at Easter and Mother's Day. Even though nothing was in bloom at this time, I love the setting with the large windows. Can't wait to go back again!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience3
service5

We went to Sunday brunch as a family. Ev ...

Dined on December 27, 2015

We went to Sunday brunch as a family. Everything was very nice

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Pulled out all the stops.

Dined on December 13, 2015

I was so impressed with this brunch spot. We went on Dec 6th, mainly to see Santa at Boerner botanical gardens. The buffet was so amazing, we decided to return to celebrate a special event the following week. Due to low turnout (we were the only ones there!) we were served family-style and it was even more impressive than the buffet. The hostess was just wonderful and they made us feel like VIPs. I recommend this location to anyone who likes to eat!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food2
ambience5
service5

No carving meats

Dined on November 22, 2015

When this brunch was managed by Bartolotta's, they always had carved meats. I took my daughter to brunch for her Birthday and was very disappointed that they did not have any carved meats at all. For the price of this brunch, there should be carved ham, turkey or beef.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service4

great Brunch

Dined on September 13, 2015

Our brunch was great and the extra attention we received to celebrate our 40th wedding anniversary was touching! We will definitely return. Omelets were made to order and best we ever had!!!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5

Great Setting for Brunch

Dined on August 2, 2015

Boerner Botanical Gardens is a wonderful setting for brunch. Indoor setting but great view of portion of garden. Good variety of food offerings and desserts.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service4

Worth the Money

Dined on July 12, 2015

I brought a group of college girlfriends whom were visiting and we all had a fantastic brunch! For $22, it was worth the cost with the variety and selection of meats. It included everything from specialty drinks (Bloody Mary & Mimosa) and juices which our group all wanted. More so, how can you not try the Omelet station. After brunch, we walked the beautiful scenery of the gardens which is discounted when you dine for brunch. I will definitely return with many more friends and families!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view
food1
ambience2
service3

A step down from Baralotta

Dined on June 28, 2015

I've been to brunch at Boerner several times in the past and had a lovely time. This was my first time dining since Zilli took over and sadly it was not as good as when Baralotta catered. Before, the catering stations were spread throughout the back portion of the ballroom with actual chefs cooking the food as it was made to order. This added a showmanship quality which was engaging and entertaining for guests. It seemed that before there was a greater selection of foods, whereas this time around there were fewer choices. Before I would always get the freshly made Belgian waffles whilst this time the only comparable option was generic rock-hard waffles or basic cinnamon French toast. The quality of food just did not compare to my previous experiences and was not worth the price. The host was extremely gracious and charming though our server was nice enough. Overall it was disappointing because it did not live up to the experience it once was.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Great view and great food

Dined on June 21, 2015

This was delicious with a gorgeous view. A great way to celebrate father's day. We will be back next year!!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service5

I'll be back- for sure!

Dined on June 21, 2015

Service was outstanding. The ratio of servers to diners was more than adequate, yet they didn't hover. The assortment of food was diverse and beautifully presented. I'll be back once I can get work off the calories.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5

Father's Day Brunch

Dined on June 21, 2015

We have attended the Father's Day Brunch at the Botanical Gardens for over 5 years now. The atmosphere and set up is really great. Good variety of brunch options. However, I will say that the total value of the meal has decreased. The cost has only gone up slightly, but the quality of the food has decreased. My entire family is vegetarian, so I can only speak for those options. There used to be a hot item you could order from the kitchen, this year there was not that option. The salad offerings were lacking what prior years offered. None of the desert options were outstanding and in the past there had been a few great offerings. I will continue to go back, because of the atmosphere and tradition, but a little disappointed this year.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, special occasion, scenic view
food3
ambience4
service3

Boerner Sunday Brunch

Dined on May 31, 2015

Brunch was pretty good overall. They didn't have tags in front of the food so sometimes it was a guess as to what the dish was. They had chicken (dry), beef tips with mushrooms, several potato dishes, green beans with almonds, salmon pastry, omelets to order, bacon, sausage, waffles, French toast, fruit, cheese, several deserts and other things I'm not remembering. Staff/service was good. Then walking through the gardens was really nice.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view
food4
ambience3
service5

Very good..better if price included admission

Dined on May 31, 2015

Food was very good and staff exceptional. Pricey....Would be better if price included admission to the gardens.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service4

Sunday Brunch

Dined on May 17, 2015

The only reason I didn't give our experience 5-stars was because we had to hunt for the hostess for at least 5-minutes and then were told it would be a few more minutes for our noon reservation which began to worry me. However, everything from there on was excellent. Our waitress explained all the different food stations, took our order for beverages and continually checked with us to see if we needed anything. The food was beyond excellent. Everyone in our party tried to taste a little of everything, but there's just too much to choose from. Can't wait to go back.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

graduation

Dined on May 17, 2015

Thank you for helping to make my daughter's graduation day very special.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience3
service5

We had a wonderful time. The food was excellent

Dined on May 10, 2015

Breakfast area was excellent, very yummy. We all sampled the short ribs and they were nice and moist. Pork was out of this world. The staff was eager to please us. We had my very, very elderly grandmother with us that was not able to eat a lot and they prepared us a box of desserts that grandma really enjoyed.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding

Dined on May 10, 2015

we took my mother to Mother's Day brunch at boerner botanical gardens provided by zilli and it was just outstanding. Great food, great service and a great scenic view. I highly recommend it to all

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience3
service5

Outstanding Brunch with a friendly crew

Dined on May 10, 2015

Had brunch at the gardens. We had a great table near the windows. Excellent food made from scratch, champagne, omelet bar and yummy desserts.

Tags: great for brunch
food3
ambience4
service4

Rushed Brunch

Dined on May 10, 2015

There were plenty of items on the brunch menu, but most if them were very "heavy" food items. It would have been nice to have healthy selections besides fruit. The staff was very nice and accommodating. They did rush us a bit to leave, it was uncomfortable. In the future if the admission to the gardens could be included it would avoid confusion. We were asked to leave the gardens not realizing the fee was not included. I wouldn't call this a brunch at the botanical gardens if the gardens are not included with the price of the brunch. It was pricey and the food was mediocre.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
food1
ambience5
service1

Bad food. The place was freezing cold. I ...

Dined on May 10, 2015

Bad food. The place was freezing cold. It was mothers day and we ended up, all wearing coats, as we ate. The food was expensive and not good.

food2
ambience3
service4

Expected more

Dined on May 10, 2015

Pork and beef were VERY dry. Ran out of some fruit and desserts. Food was very mediocre. Definitely expected more.

food5
ambience3
service5

Mother's Day

Dined on May 10, 2015

Our waiter. Andreas, and all of the other restaurant staff we came into contact with during our meal, were stellar! Their professional attentiveness, coupled with the beautiful view of blooming tulips just outside the window near our dining table, gave my Mother a very memorable Mother's Day this year. She has eagerly shared her brunch experience with family and friends ever since, so thank you for such a lovely respite and for allowing me to give her such a special day.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, scenic view
food3
ambience2
service5

Mother's Day Brunch 2015

Dined on May 10, 2015

I must preface this review by saying that we were well compensated for the many things that went wrong with our visit. We had a group of 12 and were seated in the"other" room away from the beautiful atmosphere of the regular dining room. Several of our guests had great difficulty walking, and hence it made getting to the food in the first place difficult. Several of the men in our group complained about the food not being hot - we saw a rush of added Sterno containers being added under the large serving containers immediately - and several of the meat items were not only cold, but tough. Our server, Ali did a wonderful job of keeping everyone's needs attended to. I have mixed feeling about coming back, I've been there before and everything was great.

Tags: great for brunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic

Dined on May 10, 2015

Mother's day brunch with my Wife and family.....Everything was superb, from the make your own bloody mary's to all the different foods available. The attention to detail by the staff was excellent. My Grandchildren especially loved the desert bar..... Zilli Hospitality Group really knows has to put on an event.....Kudos' to them.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience3
service4

Easter Brunch

Dined on April 5, 2015

This was the first time at the Botanical Gardens. The food was good and there was a great variety of items to choose from. Wait Staff were polite and very attentive to our needs. I would definitely come here again and would recommend it to friends. A little pricey, but worth it. It was a nice experience and all five of us enjoyed it.

Tags: great for brunch
food4
ambience2
service4

Great Easter Brunch

Dined on April 5, 2015

We tried Boerner this year for Easter Brunch. We were very pleased with the selection of items. They had breakfast options, lunch options, and plenty of meat and fish options. There was an array of fresh fruit and the root vegetables were outstanding. I wish I could have taken a to-go box home of veggies! The desserts were little so you felt like you could have a taste of everything. The caramel bread pudding was out of this world. Great Bloody Mary Bar! We will most likely be coming back for Mother's Day. Great service too! Friendly staff!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups
food5
ambience4
service5

Easter Brunch

Dined on April 5, 2015

We arrived at our scheduled reservation time, and we were seated right on time. The staff was very pleasant, the food was delicious, and it was a very nice way to spend our Easter Sunday together with family. Thank you Boerner

Tags: great for brunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Better this year

Dined on April 5, 2015

Was a little reluctant about continuing our Easter brunches when Bartollata left. Last year was good. Everyone was satisfied. But this year much better! Will continue the tradition!

Tags: great for brunch

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.