Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.56mi
  2. Distance: 0.96mi
  3. Distance: 1.36mi
  4. Distance: 1.38mi
  1. Distance: 0.56mi
  2. Distance: 0.96mi
  3. Distance: 1.36mi
  4. Distance: 1.38mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.56mi
  2. Distance: 0.96mi
  3. Distance: 1.36mi
  4. Distance: 1.38mi
  1. Distance: 0.56mi
  2. Distance: 0.96mi
  3. Distance: 1.36mi
  4. Distance: 1.38mi

About Boerner Botanical Gardens

Zilli Hospitality Group welcomes you to Boerner Botanical Gardens to experience fine cuisine amid a spectacular natural setting. Introducing ZHG’s Sunday champagne brunch year-round. The Garden Room’s floor-to-ceiling windows bring the beauty of this horticultural showplace right to your table every time of year. Also available for private event rentals. Stay tuned for upcoming Easter and Mother’s Day Special Brunch.

9400 Boerner Drive
Hales Corners, WI 53130
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Comfort Food, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Year Round
Sunday Brunch - 10:00am - 2:00pm

Cross Street:
Whitnall Park Drive

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(414) 409-3959

Website:
http://www.zillihospitalitygroup.com/boerner-restaurant/

Catering:
All catering at the Gardens is performed exclusively by Zilli Hospitality Group.

Parking Details:
Complementarity parking for more than 300 cars.

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, Full Bar, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Boerner will feature a special Mother's Day Brunch and Easter Brunch.

Specials

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Specials

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Details

Special menu this Mother's Day. From Carved Sirloin to Salmon Fillet and Shrimp Cocktail to our Complimentary Bloody Mary Bar. You will find something for everyone this Mother's Day. Adults 36.95 Children 21.95 Under 3 Complimentary

Boerner Botanical Gardens Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

3.9

ambience

3.8

value

3.4

noise

Moderate

69% would recommend it to a friend

Sunday Lunch (10)
Great for Brunch (10)
Special Occasion (8)
See All
Scenic View (8)
Good for Groups (6)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
People Watching (3)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Seasonal (2)
Family Style (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Cozy (1)
Casual (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sort By:
S
147 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

The food was fantastic! The amount of variety on the brunch was not overly extensive, but met the variety for a simple but elegant brunch.

Tags: Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 5 days ago

Food is good. It is a smaller buffet but still has some good choices. The service is lacking. The server seemed confused and often got drinks wrong or forgot all together. No drink cups for kids. We had to take our own dirty plates to a bus station because no one came to take them. There were only about 30 people seated and the two servers were overwhelmed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 5 days ago

Sunday brunch. Mediocre food. Poor service

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 5 days ago

We took friends from Ireland here for brunch. We waited in the lobby for awhile trying to figure out if we just seat ourselves or if they had someone to do that. Someone came and promptly took us to our table. Since we had never been there he explained how it works and said someone would be with us shortly. We again waited and no one came so we began going in to get food. The food was great but the service was not. The servers barely smiled and were not very personable. We only saw 2 people working all the tables so they had their hands full. Overall, we did enjoy ourselves and would probably come again, we'd just know what to expect the next time around.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Very disappointing. Just returned from Easter brunch which was very well reviewed and based on written menu chose it over favorites that are tried and true. Will never book here again as the food was unappealing and mediocre at best. I expect when I go to a restaurant, which we do often, to enjoy appetizing food that I am unable to make as well. This was not the case here and it was very expensive... more so than exceptional brunches we have been very happy with. I do not mind at all paying for an expensive meal but then I expect it to be worth the money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3
value1

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We had a two o'clock seating, and everything was clean, and well kept. Everything was fresh, and full.
The only complaint I do have is that we only saw our original waitress in the very beginning, for drinks. I wanted a cup of coffee at the end, before I went to the desert bar. I finally told a different waitress. She said no problem, but then kept waiting on her section, and never brought it. I was getting a little impatient, so I asked a third waitress, and told her about the second one never getting my coffee. She was Johnny on the spot, and brought four to the table. One for each of us. I thought that was very nice of her. I did not leave a tip however, because I didn't see much of our original waitress, but once.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 16, 2017

I took my family and a friend there for Easter brunch. We were warmly welcomed, there were activities for the children and a huge choice of food, all well prepared. The wait staff was attentive and friendly. There was no problem getting around in a wheelchair. It was a beautiful day and we were seated at a family-friendly round table near the windows overlooking the garden. We will be returning for special occasions.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Scenic View, Great for Brunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Comfort Food, Disabled Access, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We were there for Easter brunch 3 years ago- it was wonderful! This year not so much. The quality of the food had gone down. The price is high, esp for children. The service was fine. We wouldn't do it again. The gardens were the redeeming feature.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Brunch was outstanding. They really know how to present their foods with class. The fresh flowers all over the ballroom were so well enjoyed. I tried like all 7 desserts and the server said they were all made in house. So yummy. Every staff member that we encountered gave us a great big hello, welcome. Great experience.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Easter Brunch was all that we could ask for. My son said the price was appropriate for the tasty food and beverages we had. Service was excellent, which is always important. Though there was a large number of diners, including many groups, dining was comfortable.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Great for Brunch, People Watching, Family Style, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Very disappointed this was our Easter Brunch. Server was late to the table and only came a total of three times. Pastry was stale.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 16, 2017

The gardens are beautiful when in bloom but for a special occasion brunch, they should have kept with the other company that catered. The food has gone downhill and is ordinary now. We used to come for Mother's Day but won't be back for brunch on any special occasion. Very boring selection and not very good dessert. Coffee was blah and orange juice watered down. Not very happy.

Tags: People Watching, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Food was cold and had a strange chemical taste. Had to flag down waitress to get refills of coffee and juice. Very poor experience will not be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 16, 2017

It was better last year. Didn't think the food was that good for the money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Will definitely come back. Just attended the Easter Brunch with my kids and grandkids. The food was excellent. The complimentary bloody mary's were a hit will all of the adults at the table. The mac and cheese fit the bill for my 3 yr old grandson.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Wonderful buffet spread for Easter Brunch. There was definitely something for everyone.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Casual, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 26, 2017

RETURNED FOR OUR FREE MEAL THAT WAS WORSE THAN MOTHERS DAY! SERVICE, BLOODYS AND CHAMPAGNE WERE GREAT. FOOD WAS VERY SALTY UNPLEASANT TASTES, AND ODD MIXTURES OF SALAD , MENU ON WEB DOESNT MATCH WHAT WAS SERVED. FOR A WELL NONE PARK THEY NEED A NEW VENDOR, ALSO THE BUFFET TABLES WERE SO FULL OF SOILED FOOD FROM THE BUFFET , NO ONE WAS CLEANING SPILLS FROM THE BUFFET FOOD. SAD!!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service5
value1

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Before I made this reservation, I called and asked if they served enough items that were gluten free. I was told that they did. When we got there on and looked over the brunch, we found that it was not gluten free friendly. It was lucky for us that the person who would have needed that type of menu was ill and couldn't be with us. They didn't even have a green salad on the salad section. We also were disappointed in the service. They did not have servers going around asking if anyone wanted their coffee refilled. I had to ask to have refills. They also didn't refill the supply of food on the buffet. Several things were empty for some time. All in all, I would never bring a group to this buffet.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Our family went to Christmas brunch at the botanical gardens Dec. 4. The service, food and music were outstanding! We had been there for Christmas brunch at least a dozen years in a row when Bartolotta ran it and were always happy with the experience, but the new operator Zilli is measurably better in our opinion. Seating is not as tight, the staff went out of their way to make us feel welcome and the food was WAY above what one would expect even from a holiday brunch. The french toast, apple pie crepes, all of the salads and the beef short ribs were simply the best we have ever had! The omlets were second to none and the deserts were great. Considering that the adult price for this holiday brunch of $22.95 included mimosas and bloody marys in addition to coffee, juice and milk makes this the best brunch value we have ever had! We will definitely return to try their regular Sunday brunch!

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 9, 2016

This was a group from Meetup that regularly does Sunday Brunch. The quiet atmosphere and the view were terrific! The food was delicious, varied, freshened and replenished regularly. The staff was attentive. Definitely a do again experience!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on August 14, 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our experience having brunch for my birthday at Boerner. The staff was super friendly, we were seated immediately at a table with a lovely view of the gardens, ordered drinks and went to the buffet. The charming chef made us fabulous omelettes and several staff explained all the dishes (which were also beautifully labeled). The presentation at the buffet tables was just beautiful, with a bounty of food of every variety. We especially enjoyed the French toast (like no other!) and the Nutella Crepes, but everything was fresh and delicious. We can't think of a thing that needs improving other than that more people need to know about this place! Best brunch we've had in Milwaukee and a great value for the price.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on July 31, 2016

Wonderful location for a brunch for two, or for a group of friends/family. Breakfast items include made-to-order omelettes, cinnamon French toast, cheese and blueberry filled crepes, sausage and bacon. Additional lunch fare included beef, mashed potatoes, baked fish, and vegetable. A variety of appetizers were available, as well as a dessert table with several items to choose from. Bottomless coffee, Mimosas and Bloody Marys made the buffet complete. The server was very attentive.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on July 24, 2016

We enjoyed our brunch with friends. The food was good, with a fairly large selection of different breakfast and main meal dishes. The omelets were a little over-browned though.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 19, 2016

Disappointed. Ran out of a number of things and had to wait to replenish. Ran out of beef and it did not return. Desserts tasted as thought they were store-bought. Thankfully they had an omelet bar and really good French toast.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 19, 2016

I was not impressed with the Father's Day brunch at Boerner Gardens. The food selections were average, but there were not as many as I had expected, and the presentation was marginal. The staff were not very helpful at all, even with the limited expectations for a brunch. The drink orders were simple but they were messed up. I was most disappointed with the dessert selections. We waited for almost 20 minutes for the staff to replenish the meager desserts, and when they finally did bring more, there was a rush by the patrons, leaving the table empty again. We just decided to leave and forego the option, so Dad got no dessert on Father's Day. I would not recommend it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 19, 2016

For less $ I could have gone elsewhere & had a better meal.
The mgr. was talking over our table w/ another customer that was so loud I was ready to ask for another table.
The waitress by passed our table several times w/o asking if we needed a refill.
I can understand because they were so under staffed for a Fathers Day event.
This isn't the first time I've been here for a Brunch. But it will be the last.

Best Regards
Joseph D Evans

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 12, 2016

It's hard to keep food hot at a large buffet like yours for brunch. However, we did enjoy our visit and though it was pricey, I hope we can return soon. Thank you!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 12, 2016

The food was delicious and offered a wide variety and good value for the price, however from the moment we walked in the hostess was curt with us, asking if I had just made my reservation because she didn't see it - I had made my reservation weeks in advance. Once she found it, she was unfriendly as she sat us. The server was very slow and inattentive even though there were only 4 families dining in the entire restaurant.
We were also disappointed to learn that there was a separate price for touring the gardens, and that it was not included with the price of the brunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 22, 2016

We were really looking forward to this high rated brunch. A little hard to find. Signage could have been better. Still got there a few minutes before our reservation time.
My husband had to go in to find somebody to seat us. (After waiting about 10 minutes at the door.) The hostess apologized for the wait.
Once seated the waitress did come and brought us water. She asked if we wanted an anything to drink. If we hadn't known from the web-site what the options included with the brunch were, we would have never known. She never mentioned the beverages that were included. She invited us to go and help ourselves to the buffet. Again, if we didn't know... Just think it would make sense to ask if we had been there before and give more info to newbies.
Several of the trays were empty. Some that weren't were almost empty. There seemed to be plenty of salads and pastries, but not a lot of anything else. I usually love salads, but they didn't look appetizing. Fruit was pretty basic, melons and blueberries and pineapple. On a subsequent trip I found French toast and crepes. That's what belonged in those empty trays. No wonder they were empty; they were actually very good. That is still no excuse for the trays being empty though.
I did enjoy my omelet. Thank you.
My husband tried the beef and chicken and thought they were bland. I tried the salmon. It was barely warm and I could only taste the rosemary. I tried two bites and put it aside.
Dishes were not cleared quickly. At one point I had two empty plates.
Dessert were O.K. There were several options, but most pretty run of the mill. Disappointed.
And we waited for the bill. They took the payment quickly and brought back the receipt quickly. Thank you.
Overall, disappointing and overpriced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 22, 2016

This was our second visit and was a little disappointed with some of the food being slightly cool and not much in some of the serving dishes. We were there at ll:30 am so it wasn't because it was near the end of brunch. Also, last year our waitress was super with keeping dishes off the table when we were finished and keeping our water and coffee full. This year we had to continually look for her. However, the food choices were still very good, and you can't go away hungry.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 8, 2016

Food wascold had to inform manager sternos wereout! Waitress didn't offer champagne we hadtoask for it they ran out of entree! Not a pleasant mothers day brunch! Bloody and shrimp were good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 8, 2016

My family and I went to the Botanical Gardens for the Mother's Day Brunch. Excellent service, tasty food, and gorgeous gardens to walk around after. Will definitely return in the future!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 10, 2016

We liked the service, always greeted with a smile and very attentive to our needs. We were a little disappointed with some of the food being offered. The French toast seemed to be old with hard crusts. A few other items seemed to be dry like they had been out too long. Most of the food was very good. It was not real busy while we were there, and that may have been why some of the dishes were they way they were. For the price of the meal, I know they could do better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 27, 2016

Several complaints about this brunch. I wrote Zillys a letter with my concerns and issues and they never responded. For an expensive brunch, $42.50 an adult for cost/tax/tip, it was disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 20, 2016

This is banquet space in a county park hall. Strange. We walked out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 21, 2016

Food is always great! Really awesome at Easter and Mother's Day. Even though nothing was in bloom at this time, I love the setting with the large windows. Can't wait to go back again!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 27, 2015

We went to Sunday brunch as a family. Everything was very nice

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 13, 2015

I was so impressed with this brunch spot. We went on Dec 6th, mainly to see Santa at Boerner botanical gardens. The buffet was so amazing, we decided to return to celebrate a special event the following week. Due to low turnout (we were the only ones there!) we were served family-style and it was even more impressive than the buffet. The hostess was just wonderful and they made us feel like VIPs. I recommend this location to anyone who likes to eat!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 22, 2015

When this brunch was managed by Bartolotta's,
they always had carved meats. I took my daughter to brunch for her Birthday and was very disappointed that they did not have any carved meats at all. For the price of this brunch,
there should be carved ham, turkey or beef.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on September 13, 2015

Our brunch was great and the extra attention we received to celebrate our 40th wedding anniversary was touching! We will definitely return. Omelets were made to order and best we ever had!!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.