About Bodega on Granby

442 Granby St.
Norfolk, VA 23510
View Larger Map

A Spanish/ Mediterranean influenced eatery specializing in tapas style dinning.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Tapas / Small Plates, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:


Dinner:

Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 12:30am


Closed Mondays & Sundays

Cross Street:
E. Charlotte St.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(757) 622-8527

Website:
http://www.bodegaongranby.com/

Executive Chef:
Austin Horn

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Bodega on Granby Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.1

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Fit for Foodies
Norfolk / Virginia Beach
Best Restaurants in Norfolk ›

fit for foodies (16)
neighborhood gem (10)
special occasion (9)
See All
late-night find (7)
romantic (7)
notable wine list (4)
hot spot (3)
good for groups (3)
vibrant bar scene (3)
great for lunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
73 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

The food was really delisius but the ser ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

The food was really delisius but the service es very slow and don't are familiar with de Menu , and how you have a spanish restaurante in town and you don't have nobody who speak spanish????

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

In your sphere

Dined on May 7, 2016

Very enjoyable. fourth visit, never been disappointed. Relaxed atmosphere, tasty diverse small dish menu items that are great to share. True treat in store with the chocolate sphere desert, I won't spoil with detail, but it is a recommended surprise.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

Good food but poor service. We were ther ...

vip
Dined on April 12, 2016

Good food but poor service. We were there 45 minutes before any food arrived, then the wrong bread order arrived then delicious salad. Another 10 minutes before anything else arrived. An order of (3) crispy artichokes almost arrived--one dropped onto the floor by the waitress with a promise of more to come (never arrived). We needed to leave to go to a concert. One dish arrived after we paid the bill and were ready to go out the door. The food was good but the experience was a bit maddening.

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience3
service5

A very nice tapas menu; really enjoyed t ...

Dined on March 29, 2016

A very nice tapas menu; really enjoyed the seafood paella.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love the small plates

vip
Dined on March 20, 2016

First time we dine with entertainment here and it was delighted

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always on My List!

Dined on March 15, 2016

I have enjoyed eating at Bodega many times over the past few years. It's a neighborhood staple. The food is good and you have small or meal sized options. Their weekly specials are solidly priced and one of my favorite times to dine there. The service is efficient and friendly.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Food Not Available

Dined on March 12, 2016

First of all, the food (tapas) we had were very good, especially the garlic shrimp and garlic mushrooms. However, what we went there for was the paella since it is hard to find a Spanish (Spain) restaurant. Even though there were 4 or 5 paellas listed on the menu, the waitress told us that they were not making any that night. This was early on a Saturday night and for them to not have one of the main menu items for their customers is very disappointing. We were in town for a conference and excited about finding this restaurant, and would have made the 2 hour trip back to Norfolk occasionally just to eat there if the paella had been good but not just for tapas.

Tags: late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5

Every selection was perfect!

vip
Dined on March 5, 2016

Every selection was perfect!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fun, tasty tapas experience.

Dined on February 21, 2016

First off, although I have never visited Spain, I have experienced tapas dishes in many European restaurants run by Spaniards, so my expectations for a tapas restaurant are high, when I took my wife recently. Bodega did not disappoint, in that regard. Each dish was succulent, although as much fusion-oriented as old-school Spanish. I really enjoyed the Shawarma lamb dish, and many others are also memorable. The atmosphere was conducive to a romantic dinner. We ordered a few wines by the glass, and we were happy with all of our selections. All in all, we both would happily go again, and we rate this as one of the best restaurants in Norfolk.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

choices, choices, choices.

Dined on February 14, 2016

Tapas experience isn’t always great, tiny portions, overpriced, poor quality, slow service...but when portions & price are reasonable, service is timely & quality is great, yea, it’s a great experience in my opinion. Wife & I always get different dishes all at once(don't like waiting for each, these aren't full entrees), no duplicates allowed(own rule),& leave room for more so we can have more of the best. They have good variety to satisfy our interests. That night my fav was a tossup with tuna tartare w/avocado & crispy artichoke, with ceviche running close behind. Wife‘s fav was garlic shrimp, followed by crispy artichoke. Only food issue was fried calamari. Not bad, but compared to rest, not in same league. We prefer batter bit more cooked, but they were still good enough that we finished them all because calamari being tender more important. I’m also not a fan of fried foods being served in paper cones. Food at bottom often ends up limp/soggy. As for drinks, no skimping on glasses of wine, got 4-5oz in each, & wife’s mixed drink perfectly mixed(not weak, not too strong). Server was attentive, quick & genuine. Nothing worse than server making you feel like you are bothering them. Ambiance(light/music soft) would’ve been 5star if wasn’t a freezing night. We were seated close enough to door that every time it opened we felt freezing air rush over us. Heater over door kicked in when door opened, but it followed cold that hit us each time. Without a real foyer, don’t know if it’s preventable, maybe a curtain in second doorway?(they have like a glass/wood wall built around door but it has wide door opening with no door). We asked to switch tables but night was booked(again, Valentine’s) but server did offer us spot at bar which we passed on. Nonetheless, we will be back again to try more dishes. Simply put, very good food to satisfy multiple tastes.

Tags: fit for foodies
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

Poor Service and Bland Food

Dined on February 12, 2016

Poor service. Employees gave the appearance that the patrons were interrupting their chat session by the kitchen. Paella tasted like plain yellow rice from a bag that had been poorly cooked and had a mushy texture.

food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Good food/atmosphere

Dined on February 9, 2016

We stopped by Bodega for dinner and drinks before a show down the street. The food was great and the atmosphere was exactly what we were looking for. I would definitely go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, late-night find
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

We have always enjoyed this restaurant, ...

Dined on February 5, 2016

We have always enjoyed this restaurant, however this time we were very disappointed. We arrived at 6:30 and were told there were no more BBQ ribs and they were temporarily out of saffron for the paella. I order a crab cake and brussel sprouts. Crab cake was scorched, the brussel sprouts were never delivered. The lamb chops and pork satay that my husband ordered were overcooked. We were very disappointed and hope this was unusual and Bodega will get back to serving delicious food.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a wonderful experience!

Dined on January 30, 2016

First, the manager called me a few days prior to coming in because I wanted to make sure they had paella for my mom's birthday! I had mentioned we were not able to have paella on New Year's Eve because they couldn't make that dish on a special event night or a night where they have events at local venues. Not only did they have paella but it was incredible. The staff treated us like royalty. They even gave my mom a signed birthday card. I would highly recommend this restaurant for any occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Its been better.

Dined on January 28, 2016

This was the third or fourth time I had been to Bodega. Previously it had been great. This time it was OK. My guest and I each ordered three small dishes. Since it was a tapas place I thought they would bring the dishes one at a time but they brought everything all at once. By the time we got to the meat dishes they were cold. My friend ordered sangria and said it was watered down plus was crammed with fruit, not much bang for the bucks there. I had the lamb chops. I ordered them medium. They were not done medium but well done. They were tough and dried out, almost like they had been reheated. They were also the end pieces which could explain the toughness. Also the second chop , again maybe because it was the end piece, was sliced very thin. I almost did not see it on the plate at first. Cheese plate was good and my friend liked her salad and empanada. Service was OK.

food1
ambience3
service3
value1

Not authentic to the name!

Dined on January 26, 2016

Food is not authentic to that of Spain, Mangement needs to obtain ingredients from Spain. They were out of a lot of menu items including vegetables, bread and paella....items that can be found at any food supplier or grocery store. Waiter was very pleasant but uneducated about the menu items. I would not recommend for dining, until the menu is authentic. Drinks with friends yes.

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

A wonderful find!

Dined on January 23, 2016

Their motto "Small Plates, Big Drinks" is fair. At a dinner for two the Tortellini was a conservative serving while the Lemon Chicken was a generous-sized plate. The appetizers and main courses were freshly prepared and delectable! The flourless chocolate cake was rich, but a tad small. The sangria was delicious and full of fruit--if you're going to get it, enjoy the pitcher! The staff were very prompt and attentive, but didn't rush us out after the meal. If you're looking for well-prepared food and an enjoyable dining experience then you've got to try this place!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Delicious tapas

Dined on January 9, 2016

Tasty tapas to be shared with friends. They are happy to split the check, which is preferable when sharing many dishes. Overall, delicious food.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

All four reviewers say excellent!

Dined on December 19, 2015

Our party of four enjoyed a variety of foods... all were excellent! The pear salad and the she crab soup were perfect and the cod with pesto rice was divine. We will definitely eat at Bodega again!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

So delicious!

Dined on December 12, 2015

We went here before a show at the Norva. We ordered 2-3 dishes per person and it was all so yummy. The calamari is among the best I've ever had.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Atmosphere to Start The Evening

Dined on November 7, 2015

Nice meal with full assortment of drinks. Perfect location near Chrysler Hall. Park in the garage, have a meal, and catch the show.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4

The garlic and french bread superb.

Dined on October 31, 2015

The garlic and french bread superb.

food5
ambience5
service5

Service is always good!! Food is served ...

Dined on October 16, 2015

Service is always good!! Food is served hit and delicious! The manager, Angel, is very welcoming and always thanks you for coming to the restaurant ! Great place for a cocktail , tapas, or a full meal!

food5
ambience5
service5

Delightful waitress, Katie, was attentiv ...

Dined on October 13, 2015

Delightful waitress, Katie, was attentive and professional! Food was served in a timely manner! This was our second time there! Going again tonight, October 16,2015! Love this place and worth the drive from Virginia Beach!

food4
ambience4
service5

Enjoyable evening

Dined on October 9, 2015

First time eating off a tapas menu. There were 4 of us so each time we ordered, we all ordered something different to share. Selection was excellent as was all the food we ordered. We enjoyed a few pitchers of the house sangria. Tables are a little small for four people eating tapas, plates, a pitcher and four glasses but the staff made the room work. I liked the fact that we ate at our own pace and there was no pressure to "move it along". A bit pricey when you order as much as we did but the whole dinner experience made it worth while.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4

Thursday Night Sangria Night !

Dined on October 8, 2015

It's wonderful that they have pitchers of Sangria on Thursday night for a little more than half of the regular cost. However, this particular night we noticed (as did other patrons around us who also questioned it), the pitchers seemed to be filled with more ice then product. We each were able to have 1 full glass of sangria then another 1/2 glass each (not including ice or fruit). A little disappointing to say the least. Especially when they say you get 4-6 glasses of Sangria in a pitcher. Also, our waiter Will was not as attentive as he has been in the past. As the place became busier, we were left hanging at the end of our meal and had to call the manager over to ask for our check. This happened even though Will had walked by our table at least 4 times but didn't take a moment to look over to see if we needed anything further that evening.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience4
service4

Deserves a second try

Dined on September 29, 2015

Hadn't been to Bodega for several years so 6 of us went before an event at Chrysler Hall. Restaurant was packed and the kitchen was clearly overcome by the number of people all ordering and wanting to leave at the same time. My wife's food didn't arrive until everyone else had finished. My crab gnocchi was ok, as was my wife's chicken, but neither memorable. This is a tapas place and even the larger plates are not that big, so even if sharing you'll likely want more than 1 choice per person. I always like the atmosphere and our server did a good job under trying conditions. We'll give it a second try when not so crowded and kitchen can deliver a higher quality.

Tags: fit for foodies, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious food and The best flan we have ...

vip
Dined on September 6, 2015

Delicious food and The best flan we have ever had

food5
ambience5
service5

Small plates, big taste

Dined on August 21, 2015

This is a great tapas bar. The wait staff is very helpful and makes good recommendations. There is a delicious variety of food options but I love the ceviche and garlic shrimp. I am a big fan of small plates - just the right amount of food.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4

Great Food

Dined on July 18, 2015

The restaurant was charming and the server was attentive. We went during Restaurant Week and ate from the special menu. The calamari was delicious. The steak au poivre and bronzed salmon were both delicious accented with a tasty sauce. The chocolate sin torte was rich and the cheesecake was smooth and yummy. I am anxious to return and sample a few more things from the vast menu.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4

Food was absolutely delicious!

Dined on June 9, 2015

Dining with 2 great friends, the waitress was sweet and did her absolute best to talk over the excited patrons getting ready for a concert. All of the food was delicious! The only hurdle was it did not come out at the same time. The menu does suggest that if you want to eat at the same time, to let the waitstaff know. We didn't think it was necessary as we ordered tuna, caesar salad, caprese and foccacia bread. Surprisingly, the caprese came out last. Either way, food was great, ambience was beautiful and waitstaff did their best to keep up with the crowd. Full house and not an open table. We went to the bar after we ate and had three shots. Bartender was new, so owner helped her out. Will be back with the hubby!

food5
ambience5
service5

Great find

Dined on June 6, 2015

Definitely has to be one of the great finds we have found recently, we went with another couple and was blown away by the food. Will go back for more!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

10 on a scale of 1-10

Dined on May 30, 2015

We had the tapas portions of the lobster bisque, oyster stew and oysters Rockefeller. Eggplant Parmesan and Linguine, wonderful as were the moroccoan skewers and crème brulee, wow, what a meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Enjoyed it!

Dined on April 30, 2015

Great mojitos, excellent oysters rockafeller. Attentive service.

Tags: fit for foodies, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4

Simply enjoyable

Dined on April 24, 2015

When you walk in, you don't feel like your in a restaurant , more like a small intimate café. The atmosphere is relaxing and the food is wonderful. Two Thumbs Up!!!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service3

Not authentic but still good. Fair sele ...

Dined on April 11, 2015

Not authentic but still good. Fair selection. Nice atmosphere. Great location.

food5
ambience3
service5

Great place on Granby St

Dined on April 8, 2015

We have been to Bodega twice and the food and service are great. If you have a Norva show to attend or if you just want to do the Granby St bar hop, consider having your dinner at Bodega first! Also a great place to just stop in for a drink, with featured craft beers, wines, and great mojitos-

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Bodega was excellent!

Dined on April 1, 2015

Our server was attentive and knowledgeable about the menu. Each dish was well prepared and delicious. Serving sizes were generous for tapas. We will not hesitate to return.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5

ggitwjwm

Dined on March 28, 2015

As usual, the specials were special and the plates beautifully served. Portion size seemed slightly reduced from previous visits but every morsal was fresh, perfectly cooked. One of our favorites.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4

Great selections of tapas. Small but co ...

Dined on March 28, 2015

Great selections of tapas. Small but cozy. Reservations are a must.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.