About Bodega on Granby

442 Granby St.
Norfolk, VA 23510
View Larger Map

A Spanish/ Mediterranean influenced eatery specializing in tapas style dinning.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Tapas / Small Plates, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:


Dinner:

Tuesday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm

Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 12:30am


Closed Mondays & Sundays

Cross Street:
E. Charlotte St.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(757) 622-8527

Website:
http://www.bodegaongranby.com/

Executive Chef:
Russell Sawyer

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Bodega on Granby, Norfolk, VA
  • Bodega on Granby, Norfolk, VA
  • Bodega on Granby, Norfolk, VA
  • Bodega on Granby, Norfolk, VA
  • Bodega on Granby, Norfolk, VA
Bodega on Granby, Norfolk, VA
Bodega on Granby, Norfolk, VA
Bodega on Granby, Norfolk, VA
Bodega on Granby, Norfolk, VA
Bodega on Granby, Norfolk, VA

Bodega on Granby Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.0

ambience

4.3

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Tapas (6)
Cozy (4)
Fun (4)
See All
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Authentic (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Good for a Date (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Bar Seating (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Romantic (1)
Casual (1)
Special Occasion (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Business Meals (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
S
88 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Delicious food, cozy ambiance, great ser ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 4 days ago

Delicious food, cozy ambiance, great service and easy parking.

My favorite place!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Tasting Menu, Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was excellent but very small portio ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 7 days ago

Food was excellent but very small portions for some options and price was high. For example crab cake was 12.99 and we had a party of 3, so each of us had one bite and the baked Brie was a 1.5 inch square that we each had a bite of for 8.99. Probably best for a party of two.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Bodega is always changing the staff and ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Bodega is always changing the staff and the menu. Both are unfortunate and lessen the experience. The latest menu, assumingely due to the latest chef, as well is a huge disappointment. There is no hostess on a Saturday night and you have to wait for a waiter to notice you to be seated. No longer enjoyable and won't return, used to be a favorite restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value2

Wil was awesome greeting us and seating ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Wil was awesome greeting us and seating us. He was also our waiter. Reason for my friend and I coming was to enjoy dinner before a concert. It's a great location close to the Scope. Being that it was. It's our first time at Bodega, we didn't know what to expect but I found the spot to be intimate and cozy. Food-wise, it was just ok for me. I had the Cubanini dinner special that came with shoestring fries. The carnitas used for the sandwich was tender and easy to eat, however the sandwich needed some kind of seasoning or something. It was a bit dry for me. I also ordered for the first time in my life, a Moscow mule, however I wasn't feeling the apple cinnamon flavor they offered so I asked if they can make it with pineapple. Interesting drink. They asked if we used the valet, which we didn't, but I'm assuming it's because they will come get your car, and if so, that's pretty cool.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Absolutely amazing!!! Was a surprise fin ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Absolutely amazing!!! Was a surprise find, and worth every minute and penny. Definitely recommend

Tags: Authentic, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Tapas, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bodega is an attractive, warm place; the ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Bodega is an attractive, warm place; the servers were courteous, but a bit slow on a night when they said they were understaffed. We went for a pre-concert snack and drink; for convenience and closeness to Chrysler Hall, you can't beat the location. The tapas were only OK, however; when compared to some really good tapas places like Jaleo in DC, nothing stood out. Our major disappointment was the sangria. We love a rich red sangria, fortified with brandy and brandy-soaked fruit -- but this tasted like Kool-Aid. (Truth in reviewing: my dad liked it, so we got him seconds.) We want to find the go-to pretheater downtown restaurant; unless and until there's a new sangria recipe, we'll keep looking.

Tags: Happy Hour, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Very quiet for a Friday night. Great foo ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 26, 2016

Very quiet for a Friday night. Great food and wine and a very relaxed atmosphere.

Tags: Cozy, Tapas, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

This was our second visit to Bodega as w ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 5, 2016

This was our second visit to Bodega as we visited during restaurant week previously and really enjoyed it. This visit not so much. The Seafood paella was watery and tasteless. Not worth the $18 we spent on it. The poached pear salad had frozen raspberries on top and when I told the server she just brushed it off saying oh I guess we need to thaw those more. No apology. She never bothered to even ask how our meal was. I had to tell her myself. We will not be returning to the Bodega.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

Met some former colleagues for tapas and ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 4, 2016

Met some former colleagues for tapas and drinks and we sampled the entire Happy Hour menu. Each item was only $5 so that was an easy decision. We continued with several other small plates which were okay, but not as great of a value. Our server, Tara, although new was outstanding and seemed to know a lot about the menu and was also spot-on with service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

We love Tapas and when our friends recom ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on July 29, 2016

We love Tapas and when our friends recommended we meet at Bodegas we were quite excited. We ordered several items off of the tapas section of the menu and all 4 of us split each dish. All tasted good. One odd note was that the cheese platter was not served with any crackers or bread or item to put the cheeses onto. The second note was that the beer was WAY overpriced. $7 a glass is crazy.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

TERRIFIC!

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 4, 2016

Excellent food and atmosphere! One of the best gems in Norfolk!

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Poor service.

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 4, 2016

Poor service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1

Bodega was busier than they expected?

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 4, 2016

We went to dinner before a concert, and chose Bodega because it is half a mile from the venue and perhaps less likely to be packed. We were mistaken, but the staff was working very hard to serve in a timely manner. The kitchen must have been backed up, but the food was well prepared and we enjoyed our meals. The only real problem was the noise level. It was hard to carry on a conversation. I would return and I would encourage others to dine there, but at a quieter time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

Nice spot, nice location!

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 1, 2016

We were in town for a show at Chrysler Hall and located this spot on tripadvisor. We all had high hopes after reviewing the menu. The atmosphere is good. Location is terrific.

While we were pleased overall, We did have a couple of issues, our server was not very well versed in the pricing or what items were on the menu. (She told us $18 for a pitcher of sangria but, it was $28, and didn't know what a chorizo was when we asked if it was a traditional Spanish chorizo or the softer type you get here in the States.)

The manager seemed on the ball and we were able to get our waitress over to the table by asking him (she didn't check on us or ask for our order) . I try not to judge a restaurant solely on the server but, she made it very hard NOT to be negative.

The tapas arrived individually at the table instead of all at one time and contrary to what other reviews said it is NOT enough for three people to share (unless each of you has ONE bite of each item) So, technically NOT Tapas. They were pretty good overall, flavorful, and interesting. We had cheese platter, Garlic shrimp and country bread, Spanish Country Bread, Serrano Ham and Manchego grilled cheese, fried oysters, sangria, and martinis. Prices were decent and I would try this restaurant again if we had a different server.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

The food was really delisius but the ser ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 7, 2016

The food was really delisius but the service es very slow and don't are familiar with de Menu , and how you have a spanish restaurante in town and you don't have nobody who speak spanish????

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

In your sphere

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 7, 2016

Very enjoyable. fourth visit, never been disappointed. Relaxed atmosphere, tasty diverse small dish menu items that are great to share. True treat in store with the chocolate sphere desert, I won't spoil with detail, but it is a recommended surprise.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Good food but poor service. We were ther ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 12, 2016

Good food but poor service. We were there 45 minutes before any food arrived, then the wrong bread order arrived then delicious salad. Another 10 minutes before anything else arrived. An order of (3) crispy artichokes almost arrived--one dropped onto the floor by the waitress with a promise of more to come (never arrived). We needed to leave to go to a concert. One dish arrived after we paid the bill and were ready to go out the door. The food was good but the experience was a bit maddening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

A very nice tapas menu; really enjoyed t ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 29, 2016

A very nice tapas menu; really enjoyed the seafood paella.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Love the small plates

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 20, 2016

First time we dine with entertainment here and it was delighted

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always on My List!

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 15, 2016

I have enjoyed eating at Bodega many times over the past few years. It's a neighborhood staple. The food is good and you have small or meal sized options. Their weekly specials are solidly priced and one of my favorite times to dine there. The service is efficient and friendly.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food Not Available

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 12, 2016

First of all, the food (tapas) we had were very good, especially the garlic shrimp and garlic mushrooms. However, what we went there for was the paella since it is hard to find a Spanish (Spain) restaurant. Even though there were 4 or 5 paellas listed on the menu, the waitress told us that they were not making any that night. This was early on a Saturday night and for them to not have one of the main menu items for their customers is very disappointing. We were in town for a conference and excited about finding this restaurant, and would have made the 2 hour trip back to Norfolk occasionally just to eat there if the paella had been good but not just for tapas.

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Every selection was perfect!

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 5, 2016

Every selection was perfect!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fun, tasty tapas experience.

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 21, 2016

First off, although I have never visited Spain, I have experienced tapas dishes in many European restaurants run by Spaniards, so my expectations for a tapas restaurant are high, when I took my wife recently. Bodega did not disappoint, in that regard. Each dish was succulent, although as much fusion-oriented as old-school Spanish. I really enjoyed the Shawarma lamb dish, and many others are also memorable. The atmosphere was conducive to a romantic dinner. We ordered a few wines by the glass, and we were happy with all of our selections. All in all, we both would happily go again, and we rate this as one of the best restaurants in Norfolk.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

choices, choices, choices.

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 14, 2016

Tapas experience isn’t always great, tiny portions, overpriced, poor quality, slow service...but when portions & price are reasonable, service is timely & quality is great, yea, it’s a great experience in my opinion. Wife & I always get different dishes all at once(don't like waiting for each, these aren't full entrees), no duplicates allowed(own rule),& leave room for more so we can have more of the best. They have good variety to satisfy our interests. That night my fav was a tossup with tuna tartare w/avocado & crispy artichoke, with ceviche running close behind. Wife‘s fav was garlic shrimp, followed by crispy artichoke. Only food issue was fried calamari. Not bad, but compared to rest, not in same league. We prefer batter bit more cooked, but they were still good enough that we finished them all because calamari being tender more important. I’m also not a fan of fried foods being served in paper cones. Food at bottom often ends up limp/soggy. As for drinks, no skimping on glasses of wine, got 4-5oz in each, & wife’s mixed drink perfectly mixed(not weak, not too strong). Server was attentive, quick & genuine. Nothing worse than server making you feel like you are bothering them. Ambiance(light/music soft) would’ve been 5star if wasn’t a freezing night. We were seated close enough to door that every time it opened we felt freezing air rush over us. Heater over door kicked in when door opened, but it followed cold that hit us each time. Without a real foyer, don’t know if it’s preventable, maybe a curtain in second doorway?(they have like a glass/wood wall built around door but it has wide door opening with no door). We asked to switch tables but night was booked(again, Valentine’s) but server did offer us spot at bar which we passed on. Nonetheless, we will be back again to try more dishes. Simply put, very good food to satisfy multiple tastes.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Awesome quaint little spot.

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 14, 2016

Awesome quaint little spot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Poor Service and Bland Food

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 12, 2016

Poor service. Employees gave the appearance that the patrons were interrupting their chat session by the kitchen. Paella tasted like plain yellow rice from a bag that had been poorly cooked and had a mushy texture.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

Good food/atmosphere

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 9, 2016

We stopped by Bodega for dinner and drinks before a show down the street. The food was great and the atmosphere was exactly what we were looking for. I would definitely go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We have always enjoyed this restaurant, ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 5, 2016

We have always enjoyed this restaurant, however this time we were very disappointed.

We arrived at 6:30 and were told there were no more BBQ ribs and they were temporarily out of saffron for the paella. I order a crab cake and brussel sprouts. Crab cake was scorched, the brussel sprouts were never delivered. The lamb chops and pork satay that my husband ordered were overcooked. We were very disappointed and hope this was unusual and Bodega will get back to serving delicious food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

What a wonderful experience!

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 30, 2016

First, the manager called me a few days prior to coming in because I wanted to make sure they had paella for my mom's birthday! I had mentioned we were not able to have paella on New Year's Eve because they couldn't make that dish on a special event night or a night where they have events at local venues. Not only did they have paella but it was incredible. The staff treated us like royalty. They even gave my mom a signed birthday card. I would highly recommend this restaurant for any occasion.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Its been better.

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 28, 2016

This was the third or fourth time I had been to Bodega. Previously it had been great. This time it was OK. My guest and I each ordered three small dishes. Since it was a tapas place I thought they would bring the dishes one at a time but they brought everything all at once. By the time we got to the meat dishes they were cold. My friend ordered sangria and said it was watered down plus was crammed with fruit, not much bang for the bucks there. I had the lamb chops. I ordered them medium. They were not done medium but well done. They were tough and dried out, almost like they had been reheated. They were also the end pieces which could explain the toughness. Also the second chop , again maybe because it was the end piece, was sliced very thin. I almost did not see it on the plate at first. Cheese plate was good and my friend liked her salad and empanada. Service was OK.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Not authentic to the name!

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 26, 2016

Food is not authentic to that of Spain, Mangement needs to obtain ingredients from Spain. They were out of a lot of menu items including vegetables, bread and paella....items that can be found at any food supplier or grocery store. Waiter was very pleasant but uneducated about the menu items.

I would not recommend for dining, until the menu is authentic. Drinks with friends yes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

A wonderful find!

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 23, 2016

Their motto "Small Plates, Big Drinks" is fair. At a dinner for two the Tortellini was a conservative serving while the Lemon Chicken was a generous-sized plate. The appetizers and main courses were freshly prepared and delectable! The flourless chocolate cake was rich, but a tad small. The sangria was delicious and full of fruit--if you're going to get it, enjoy the pitcher! The staff were very prompt and attentive, but didn't rush us out after the meal. If you're looking for well-prepared food and an enjoyable dining experience then you've got to try this place!

Tags: Late-night Find, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Delicious tapas

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 9, 2016

Tasty tapas to be shared with friends. They are happy to split the check, which is preferable when sharing many dishes. Overall, delicious food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

All four reviewers say excellent!

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 19, 2015

Our party of four enjoyed a variety of foods... all were excellent! The pear salad and the she crab soup were perfect and the cod with pesto rice was divine. We will definitely eat at Bodega again!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

So delicious!

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 12, 2015

We went here before a show at the Norva. We ordered 2-3 dishes per person and it was all so yummy. The calamari is among the best I've ever had.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Atmosphere to Start The Evening

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 7, 2015

Nice meal with full assortment of drinks. Perfect location near Chrysler Hall. Park in the garage, have a meal, and catch the show.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The garlic and french bread superb.

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 31, 2015

The garlic and french bread superb.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Service is always good!! Food is served ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 16, 2015

Service is always good!! Food is served hit and delicious! The manager, Angel, is very welcoming and always thanks you for coming to the restaurant ! Great place for a cocktail , tapas, or a full meal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Delightful waitress, Katie, was attentiv ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 13, 2015

Delightful waitress, Katie, was attentive and professional! Food was served in a timely manner! This was our second time there! Going again tonight, October 16,2015! Love this place and worth the drive from Virginia Beach!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Enjoyable evening

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 9, 2015

First time eating off a tapas menu. There were 4 of us so each time we ordered, we all ordered something different to share. Selection was excellent as was all the food we ordered. We enjoyed a few pitchers of the house sangria. Tables are a little small for four people eating tapas, plates, a pitcher and four glasses but the staff made the room work. I liked the fact that we ate at our own pace and there was no pressure to "move it along". A bit pricey when you order as much as we did but the whole dinner experience made it worth while.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.