About BOCA

114 E. 6th St.
Cincinnati, OH 45202
View Larger Map

Boca is Chef David Falk's ode to Europe. It is a one of a kind dining experience marrying world-class, chef driven cuisine with gracious service at an affordable price point. Boca's design couples contemporary european and american stylings with touches of rusticity in an airy urban space. The elegant and inviting surroundings welcome guests for an afternoon cocktail, a small bite before a great show at nearby theaters, a casual dinner with friends, or a luxurious night out in Cincinnati.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, French, Italian

Hours of Operation:
Monday - 5:00pm to 10:00pm
Tuesday- 5:00pm to 10:00pm
Wednesday - 5:00pm to 10:00pm
Thursday - 5:00pm to 10:00pm
Friday - 5:00pm to 11:00pm
Saturday- 5:00pm to 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Between Main and Walnut

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(513) 542-2022

Website:
http://bocacincinnati.com/

Parking Details:
BOCA offers valet parking directly in front of our restaurant. There is street parking on 6th street east of the restaurant and on Main street. There are lots available on Walnut just south of 6th street on both the east and west sides of the street.

Executive Chef:
Jeremy Lieb

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

BOCA Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Cincinnati / Dayton
Best Food
Cincinnati / Dayton
Best Ambiance
Cincinnati / Dayton
6 More
American
Cincinnati / Dayton
Best Overall
Cincinnati
Best Food
Cincinnati
Best Service
Cincinnati
Best Ambiance
Cincinnati
American
Cincinnati
Best Restaurants in Cincinnati ›

Special Occasion (82)
Fit for Foodies (77)
Romantic (63)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (62)
Good for a Date (58)
Creative Cuisine (51)
Notable Wine List (41)
Pre/post Theatre (34)
Tasting Menu (32)
Business Meals (32)
Open Kitchen (32)
Good for Birthdays (31)
Hot Spot (28)
Worth the Drive (22)
Modern Decor (19)
Handcrafted Cocktails (19)
Neighborhood Gem (19)
Local Ingredients (17)
Quiet Conversation (15)
Bar Seating (15)
People Watching (14)
Good for Groups (13)
Authentic (13)
Seasonal (11)
Vibrant Bar Scene (11)
Cozy (10)
Fun (9)
Private Room (8)
Historic (8)
Molecular Gastronomy (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Tapas (4)
Casual (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Family Style (2)
Organic (2)
Scenic View (2)
Healthy (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Fireplace (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
1324 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food was excellent. GM was a bit on edge ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

Food was excellent. GM was a bit on edge. Waiter could not have been nicer. Bread could use less salt.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Private Room, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I and two friends had dinner after enjoy ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 3 days ago

I and two friends had dinner after enjoying the Christmas show at Ensemble Theatre. Everything was lovely and delicious. Only suggestion for improvement I can offer: drink service was Very Slow. We waited 10 minutes to order and another 10 to get drinks.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Vegan, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Love Boca. Server was great, loved her. ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Love Boca. Server was great, loved her. My grilled romaine was not dressed well nor grilled properly, I ate less than half. I unfortunately ordered a vegetarian pasta, thought it would be have Parmigiano sauce, but it tasted like I was eating a stick of butter. Ugh. Love the vegetarian menu option.

My husbands food was also too rich. He loved his bolognese.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

Boca was outstanding. The food, ambience ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 30, 2016

Boca was outstanding. The food, ambience, service and total dining experience were superb.

Tags: Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

BOCA is for special occasion and last ni ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 30, 2016

BOCA is for special occasion and last night was one of those! BOCA never fails to Rockies exactly what we wanted in a special way.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food & service. High brow with ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 30, 2016

Excellent food & service. High brow without being snooty or pretentious. Server made us feel important. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone who wants to share a wonderful dining experience with that special person in their life.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We both had the chef's tasting menu whic ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 28, 2016

We both had the chef's tasting menu which consisted of 4 savory dishes and desert. The servings were just the right amount and the different dishes very good and creative. We will definitely go there again.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was a pre-theater dinner before Pha ...

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on November 26, 2016

This was a pre-theater dinner before Phantom of the Opera; if you're attending any event at the Aronoff, BOCA is literally around the corner. My first visit, I was eating solo. I tried to get some idea of their offerings from their online menu (which changes seasonally). I had an Open Table reservation; was quickly seated in a lovely area filled with mirrors and comfortable seats. Although vibrant conversation abounded, people in my area had no problems speaking to their tablemates at normal levels. My server was efficient, offered good recommendations; was pleasant, easy to talk to, helpful (especially since I finished my meal an hour before the Aronoff would open their doors - she told me 'no problem' as far as lingering over coffee until it was time to go). The meal itself: it isn't for those used to the typical "meat and potatoes" menu (and I love that on occasion). BOCA takes it to a different level; not so much experimental, but making things a little challenging from what we're accustomed. The sourdough type bread with crunchy salt was a great start. The Beef Short Rib Tartare with the pickled egg yolk, parmigiano, crisp fingerling strips; the meat was tender, the flavor played off the sour and crunch. I went with a small plate for my entree; at my server's recommendation I chose fresh made pasta with a homemade sausage and creamy sauce. Filling, tasteful, hit the spot, even with the small size. I ended with the Maple Mascarpone Cheesecake - unlike any cheesecake I've ever had. The flavors were a perfect combination, creamy, melt in your mouth. The coffee was fresh and didn't taste "cheap". I didn't have wine with dinner, but my before-dinner amaretto sours were well made and substantial in quantity. If you go, check out the restrooms on the second floor, accessible by staircase or elevator. Each one is a small, individual room with its' own setup and usable by any gender. A visit to it alone was a treat. I'll make a return visit to BOCA.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Organic, Gluten Free Options, Pre/post Theatre, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

This was my first time dining at Boca. ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 26, 2016

This was my first time dining at Boca. My mother, sisters, and I go out to for an annual holiday dinner each year. We chose to do one of their tasting options and did not regret our decision. Every dish was truly delicious. My favorites were the scallop with brussels sprouts and also the beef tenderloin Boca. The wait staff was very attentive and helpful with assistance in wine selection. Thank you for the memorable evening!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Phenomenal restaurant. It's an absolute ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Phenomenal restaurant. It's an absolute must for foodies. Cincy gem

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

How special is this place..........We lo ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 23, 2016

How special is this place..........We loved the entire experience. Our server was perfect. The portions were perfect. The food was over the top delicious and drinks spectacular.

We sat near the open kitchen and the show was intriguing.......very professional. I'm coming back.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My family of four has eaten at Boca abou ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 23, 2016

My family of four has eaten at Boca about six times. This last meal was one of the best we have ever had, and we eat out about three times per week. Boca has energetic, knowledgeable wait staff, excellent food options and knockout desserts. Highly recommended!

Tags: Good for a Date, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding meal and top-notch service b ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Outstanding meal and top-notch service by David. We look forward to returning!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It does not get any better than Boca. Th ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 23, 2016

It does not get any better than Boca. Their service is top notch and when the sous chef Kevin McDonald is in the kitchen the food could not be better.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Open Kitchen, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Boca never disappoints! The fall menu is ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Boca never disappoints! The fall menu is amazing, especially the Gnocchi and Beef Wellington. Wine pairing with our courses was perfectly recommended, as always. Boca is perfect for any occasion!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails, Seasonal, Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Little things mean a lot. Without eveni ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Little things mean a lot. Without evening mentioning, the host brought me a gluten free menu because they had that note on file from our prior occasions. First class experience. Superb meal.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Romantic, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Brussel sprouts were the best ever taste ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Brussel sprouts were the best ever tasted. We liked them even better than the scallops and the scallops were excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We chose to take a tour of Italian wines ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 19, 2016

We chose to take a tour of Italian wines paired with amazing menu options. Our waitress was incredible with her knowledge of Italian wine regions, steering our choices, making it a memorable night. Boca is always good, this time over the top!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I am going to stop using Open Table beca ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 18, 2016

I am going to stop using Open Table because every time I do I get seating in the worst table. This is now the third time this has happened and I believe there is a trend.

Also my wife and I each had three items from the menu, a small, a pasta/rice and a main course and did not find them to be very special. Though I will say that we each thought the desert was outstanding

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

We did the full tasting with wine pairin ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 18, 2016

We did the full tasting with wine pairings. The wines were incredible, and the food was out of this world. The crab & truffle pasta, and the beef wellington may be the 2 best dishes I've ever eaten. It's expensive, but what's the best meal you've ever eaten worth to you?

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always - very nice, but food temperat ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 17, 2016

As always - very nice, but food temperature was not hot enough for my satisfaction.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

My wife and I chose Boca for dinner befo ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 17, 2016

My wife and I chose Boca for dinner before seeing Phantom of the Opera. This was our first time and it was excellent. The food and ambiance was worth every penny. Staff go out of their way to make your evening very special.

Tags: Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My wife and I visited Boca for the first ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 16, 2016

My wife and I visited Boca for the first time and the experience was exceptional. The service was professional and courteous, the food was out of this world, and the ambiance was perfect for our anniversary dinner. I would highly recommend Boca to anyone, it is one of the best meals I have ever eaten.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

When I expressed my disappointment for n ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 15, 2016

When I expressed my disappointment for no longer having the Boca Burger on the menu a manager overheard my comment that it being the best burger ever...went to its sister restaurant next door and surprised me with sliders!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Portions like our desert and scallop app ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Portions like our desert and scallop appetizer were incredibly small. If you can't put two scallops on a dish then don't even bother putting it on your menu. Or if you are going to only serve one scallop for $24 then make sure it's a very big one.

Second all three dishes that we had were submerged in truffle oil. Truffle oil is obviously a very strong, bold and rich flavor. You only need a very very small amount. We all thought that our dishes were ruined by the amount of Truffle oil. Service was good. Not great as I personally would never suggest that one scallop appetizer to the table . Atmosphere was great. That was the highlight of the restaurant. It seems like the restaurant spent too much money on decor and is now trying to make up for it in the price for food with small portions. MIGHT be back for a cocktail at the bar but never will be back for dinner on a date or for business.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service2
value1

Great dining experience. The service was ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Great dining experience. The service was as amazing as the food. The seafood risotto is to die for.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

We had a lovely dinner. The food and am ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 11, 2016

We had a lovely dinner. The food and ambiance were amazing! Thank you!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Always fantastic food and desserts.

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Always fantastic food and desserts.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Love the atmosphere, nice lighting, cozy ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Love the atmosphere, nice lighting, cozy sitting with amble room. Food is always very good. It's great to have tasting portions so you can try a variety of entrees. It's our favorite Cincinnati restaurant for dinner or just drinks and appetizers!

Tags: Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Absolutely one of the best dining experi ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Absolutely one of the best dining experiences we've had. Great service, relaxing atmosphere, comfortable ambiance, food was tremendous, great choices, staging was perfect. We will definitely be back.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Open Kitchen, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We've been here twice for special occasi ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 6, 2016

We've been here twice for special occasions and it has been excellent both times! The service is great; food is both unique and delicious; and the atmosphere is perfect for a special occasion, date, or just a wonderful meal. The cocktails were very good, too! Highly recommend - we will definitely make this one of our regular go-to's.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing! It was my first time and I real ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Amazing! It was my first time and I really enjoyed myself and our server was so amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Celebrated my first year anniversary din ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Celebrated my first year anniversary dining in at BOCA. It was our second time there. First time experience was not very good, but this time was phenomenal. Amazing service by our waitress Kristen. Thank you so much for a wonderful experience.

Beef Wellington is pricey but it's out of this world.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

OUTSTANDING. What else needs to be said ...

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on November 6, 2016

OUTSTANDING. What else needs to be said. This restaurant is amazing. Service, food, ambiance.

Tags: Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The handmade pasta was simply stellar. E ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 5, 2016

The handmade pasta was simply stellar. Each bite was a gift, a joy, a blessing. OK, so I liked the pasta! LOL ... The service was excellent, as expected. Attentive, not intrusive, accommodating. The noise level was as it should be. Vibrant, but not overly loud. Highly recommended!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My husband and I specifically waited to ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 5, 2016

My husband and I specifically waited to visit Boca (during the fall menu), as I wanted to order the Beef Wellington. We needed to make our reservation well in advance, in order to secure a Friday evening at 7:15. We were surprised at how casual the average diner was dressed. Casual, and not particularly dressy casual.

Service was excellent. Our waiter visited our table at all of the appropriate moments, no more, no less. He was a very good listener, as we explained what we hoped to experience food-wise, and gave us good advice, in terms of what portions were good for sharing, and in terms of timing the courses.

Our first course was the scallop with Brussels Sprouts. We both felt the sprouts were over-cooked/mushy. The scallop was perfectly cooked. We also ordered a basket of the Blue Oven Bread.

Our Primi Course was a pasta Bolognese, with a tomato and sausage ragu. We shared a full order, which was perfect. Pasta was cooked perfect il dente, and the ragù tasted like the ingredients were fresh. Highly recommend.

For secondi we ordered the Bronzino and Beef Wellington. The Wellington can only be ordered as a full entre, but the staff divided it for us. Both were well-prepared, and tasted good.

We also shared a bottle of Rosso Montalcino, which is one of the less expensive bottles on the menu ($58). It was good. Our meal, before tip, totaled $209.

Btw, we were seated on the first floor, and it was very bustling and noisy. If you want quieter dining experience, we recommend you request the second floor. Restrooms are located on the second floor, and are the best ever!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value2

Everything was wonderful and David S our ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Everything was wonderful and David S our server was outstanding

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Boca is outstanding! The service, food , ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 1, 2016

Boca is outstanding! The service, food , atmosphere and wine selection are all top notch .

Our server , David , was informative, pleasant and knowledgeable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was a combined celebration of two b ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 30, 2016

This was a combined celebration of two birthdays and a wedding anniversary, so we wanted it to be special, and it was. Had two glasses of a good, dry sparkler at the bar while waiting a few minutes for our table. Excellent server, although when we asked to talk to the sommelier he sort of put us off and volunteered to assist in a selection. We didn't argue, and his recommendation was OK, but if you ask to see the sommelier (especially when he said they had two "around somewhere") you should get to talk to the sommelier. Otherwise he was fine and gave and re- gave descriptions of the menu items. The food was excellent (glad they've kept the brussels sprouts) and best of all, most of the dishes came with a choice of half or whole portions. We opted for the halves because we were eating later than usual and while the server warned about the size of the portion it suited us just fine. Had it been earlier I would have ordered, and if you're really hungry you should order, the full portions. The after dinner drinks selection is pretty limited, a surprise for such an upscale place, not to mention the extent of the bar, which is a Zinc, by the way, very French. A bit loud for me, especially with the open kitchen, and I'd like to be seated in the upper level if we go again.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The food was very good - quite unique fo ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on October 29, 2016

The food was very good - quite unique for Cincinnati, and certainly one of the best restaurants food wise in the city. The seafood risotto was my favorite dish, with all ingredients perfectly cooked and fantastic flavor. The pommes soufflés are also wonderful. I was however slightly disappointed with the beef tenderloin Boca; it wasn't bad, but certainly wasn't anything special.

The service inside the restaurant was great - the waiter was quite knowledgeable - however, the valet was terrible. The valet rudely informed me that I needed to pay cash prior to parking, and would have to walk to an ATM to get cash before I could leave my car; fortunately there is self parking closer than the ATM, and even for a lower price. I understand this service is outsourced, but Boca should do a little more work to ensure the valet's service is in line with that of the restaurant's, since they do advertise this as a service.

The atmosphere is nice, however many of the tables are quite close together - close enough to easily hear conversations from neighboring tables.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.