About Bob's Steak & Chop House - Woodlands

1700 Research Forest Drive
Shenandoah, TX 77381
View Larger Map

Bob’s is the traditional American Prime Steakhouse, combining simple elegance, a lively atmosphere, big drinks, fine wine and large cuts of the finest prime steaks, chops and seafood. Come visit us and enjoy the taste of prime beef served by people who take real pride in the name "Bob's Steak & Chop House.”

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:30pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:30pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Six Pines Drive

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(281) 292-2627

Website:
http://www.bobs-steakandchop.com/locations/the-woodlands/reservations/

Catering:
Off-Site Catering is available

Parking Details:
Complementary Valet Parking

Executive Chef:
Kyle Evans

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cigar Room, Full Bar, Indoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon - Thu 4:30PM - 6:00PM 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Fri 4:30PM - 6:00PM 9:00PM - 11:00PM

Sat 9:00PM - 11:00PM

Private Dining

Whether you’re having an intimate dinner, a gathering after work or a corporate function, everything about Bob’s Steak and Chop House makes you feel like you belong. With five private and semi-private dining rooms at your disposal, Bob’s has the prefect space for every occasion!

Bob's Steak & Chop House - Woodlands Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (46)
Good for Anniversaries (43)
Good for a Date (42)
See All
Romantic (35)
Business Meals (34)
Good for Birthdays (32)
Notable Wine List (28)
Worth the Drive (24)
Cozy (23)
Quiet Conversation (23)
Good for Groups (17)
Private Room (15)
Bar Seating (15)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Handcrafted Cocktails (14)
Fun (10)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Authentic (9)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Outstanding Value (7)
Modern Decor (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Casual (6)
People Watching (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Seasonal (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Family Style (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Great Beer (2)
Live Sports (2)
Healthy (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Local Ingredients (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Fireplace (0)
Sort By:
S
803 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

A bit pricy but one of the best steakhou ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined 3 days ago

A bit pricy but one of the best steakhouses I have been to. On par with any top Houston steakhouse.

Tags: Authentic, Worth the Drive, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was good, but nothing left me cravi ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined 3 days ago

Food was good, but nothing left me craving to come back.

Service was nice enough but seemed a little too casual for the atmosphere and price, came across a little strange to us because the service didn't seem to match the level they appear to try to be.

Manager frequently checked on our table which was probably saving grace of our waiter, but again seemed a little to casual.

Walked away feeling it would be ok to come back, but I'm not in a big hurry to eat here again.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Not only was the food exquisite but so w ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined 4 days ago

Not only was the food exquisite but so was the service. The servers strive to make the guests feel at home. Everyone was very friendly even as we walked in. The whole Bob's staff made our first time dining in definitely one to remember. We will for sure be coming back!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Gluten Free Options, Casual, Private Room, Good for Groups, Fun, Live Sports, Notable Wine List, Outstanding Value, Seasonal, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As usual... fantastic!

 
 (Houston)·Dined 4 days ago

As usual... fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always, Bob's was incredible. Not onl ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

As always, Bob's was incredible. Not only was the food great, but we had a great experience thanks to our waiter, Clint. Clint was friendly, informative, funny, and made us feel right at home. Next time we go to Bob's, we will certainly request Clint!

Tags: Authentic, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service. Everybody in my group got ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined 6 days ago

Great service. Everybody in my group got a different kind of steak. All the steaks were cooked perfectly and were fantastic pieces of meat. I used to be a fan of Flemmings, but I think Bob has got them beat hands down.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

this was a business meeting and we were ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 6 days ago

this was a business meeting and we were able to have a discussion without interruption. great service and great food except the bone in prime NY Strip. it was cooked properly however, it was very tough and only about 1/3 was consumed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food. Ribeye and bacon wrapped stu ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Great food. Ribeye and bacon wrapped stuff shrimp were awesome.

Tags: Romantic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful dinner and service, the only d ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Wonderful dinner and service, the only downside to the evening were at the very end of our dining experience they put a large (20) party next to us and they were very loud. So we could no longer hear each other talk.

Tags: Cozy, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

We decided to try Bob's after hearing go ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 7, 2017

We decided to try Bob's after hearing good reviews. We were not let down, food is fantastic and so was th service.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

This has now become our go to restaurant ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on January 7, 2017

This has now become our go to restaurant in The Woodlands for our special occasions. It is our third year in a row for our Anniversary and they always note it and treat us like we're special. We really appreciate that. A special thank you to them for playing music at a low background level so we don't have to raise our voices to communicate with each other (one of the primary reasons we no longer frequent Perry's).

If you want a quiet dinner this is the place. All service from the valet, hostess, servers and managers was A+. The food was superb. We'll be back!

Tags: Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food is good, but the service is why we ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Food is good, but the service is why we keep coming back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very nice ambiance, quiet, classy, and u ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Very nice ambiance, quiet, classy, and upscale. Waiter (Jordan) was pleasant, professional, and helpful. Food was very good, which was expected given the pricing. It did not disappoint, as it might have if the food quality and preparation did not live up to the prices. My prime, New York strip was cooked to perfection and delivered with plenty of juices on the plate to soak each bite in. We were not in any particular hurry, and if there was any glitch, it was having the salads brought to us before our first drinks had been delivered. The drinks were slow to arrive, and so we did not have time to talk and enjoy them before food started arriving. It was not busy in the slightest that evening. One in our party was celebrating a birthday and it was nice to have a complimentary dessert offered even though we were not eating dessert there that night. It was quite a substantial piece of cake and it surprised me that the restaurant did not skimp on the portion like many higher priced restaurants tend to do. The waiter prepared it in a to go box knowing that we would not be staying. Most restaurants, would have been cheap and not offered it to go if we were not staying or paying.

Tags: Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We celebrated our grandchildren's birthd ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 4, 2017

We celebrated our grandchildren's birthdays. Service, friendliness and ambience were great. Steaks were good, but a little over cooked. Desserts were awesome. We ordered the fried lobster as the waiter's recommendation for an appetizer. We were TOTALLY shocked to see it was $59. Won't do that again.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food, steaks were tender and c ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Excellent food, steaks were tender and cooked like we wanted, great service so we will definitely come back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nathaniel was our waiter and he was phen ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Nathaniel was our waiter and he was phenomenal. Our service was wonderful we had drinks quickly and appetizer out quickly as well. Refills were timely and our food came prepared to perfection. Always happy with our experience here thus far- we highly recommend to our friends and family- the service this time was wonderful due to our waiter being very personable. We even purchased a gift card for our in laws to come!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

I have no idea why we would go anywhere ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 1, 2017

I have no idea why we would go anywhere else for a top notch steak. My go to place. NYE was energetic and we loved it. We'll be back...again...and again...and again. Oh yea, ask for John's cheesecake for dessert. It's money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Steaks always excellent and served as or ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Steaks always excellent and served as ordered. Top notch service and not over-priced.

Tags: Private Room, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Outstanding Value, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Casual, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Restaurant staff checked in with me on d ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Restaurant staff checked in with me on day prior to reservation. We arrived a little early and were promptly seated. Good table spacing. Wait staff were excellent. Appetizers were very good. We had a seafood platter with sausage on the side. Included a fried lobster tail, calamari, bacon wrapped shrimp. Very tasty. Wedge salad was very popular and well done. Chopped salad also excellent. The steaks left a little to be desired. While tender, it was not the steak I expected for the price. There was extra effort to prepare as ordered. Crab cakes were small and again, we expected more for the price. The house specialty, the glazed carrot, was different but could be more tasty. We skipped desert and headed home for New Year's Eve. We enjoyed our meal, but were not impressed. Our party of 8 were unanimous in our review. We expected to pay for a great dinner. In the end, we got off to a good start but expected more for our money.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Excellent food & service. Clint was our ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Excellent food & service. Clint was our server and did an outstanding job.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is by far our favorite steakhouse i ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 31, 2016

This is by far our favorite steakhouse in the area. We frequent this establishment at least once a month. From the patriotic decor of the vintage American flags to the impeccable service offered, with the highest quality steaks, dining here is a must. There simply aren't enough good things to say about this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The waiter was the best! Attentive and k ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on December 30, 2016

The waiter was the best! Attentive and knowledgeable,.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Excellent dining experience. Greg was a ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Excellent dining experience. Greg was a phenomenal server and was super attentive! Everyone made us feel at home. Andres even brought my 3 year old daughter a little bag of gumballs.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went to Bob's for our anniversary. T ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 29, 2016

We went to Bob's for our anniversary. The wait staff was extremely attentive and the food was delicious! Will definitely return on another special occasion!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very friendly staff, Manager visited the ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Very friendly staff, Manager visited the table several times to chat. Lovely evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This has always been my must stop while ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 28, 2016

This has always been my must stop while visiting Houston.... Steak are just like Dallas. Service ...Well even better...

Tags: People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

wonderful food and staff!!

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 28, 2016

wonderful food and staff!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Does Bob live here? Seriously, a great p ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Does Bob live here? Seriously, a great place for a down home dinner!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food, had the best steak of my l ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Amazing food, had the best steak of my life tonight, and the previous best was a different steak from here another time! Our waiter Clint literally made our Christmas Eve. Will be requesting him every time we come back. Second year here on Christmas Eve and it will probably be a yearly tradition.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was my first and last time to dine ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 25, 2016

This was my first and last time to dine at Bob's. BIG disappointment. At the prices they charge, service should be outstanding. It was poor. The steak and sides should have been outstanding. They weren't. The filet mignon steak was dry and the "skillet fried" potatoes were more like bland mashed potatoes. The signature oversized carrot was nothing more than something taking up space on my plate. It was flavorless. The chopped salad was average. For what they charged for it, I expected a lot more.

There are several great steakhouses in The Woodlands. Bob's is overpriced and below average.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

They go out of their way to assure a gre ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 24, 2016

They go out of their way to assure a great dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Our family went for Christmas Eve dinner ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Our family went for Christmas Eve dinner and it was amazing a truely memoriable evening. The food and service was great. Thanks to everyone at Bob's.

Tags: Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very attentive staff. Food was excellent ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Very attentive staff. Food was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Holiday dinner with my family and Bob's ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Holiday dinner with my family and Bob's made it awesome.

Thank you John and crew for making it a memorable experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Having had the pleasure of dining in eve ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Having had the pleasure of dining in every upscale restaurant and steakhouse in The Woodlands, I've come to appreciate the experiences that can still surprise and standout amongst the standouts. I definitely have my favorite places, and I can safely add Bob's to that short list.

Bob's atmosphere is the traditional dimly lit cozy steakhouse vibe, and I like that the fabrics and upholstery in the dining rooms sufficiently do their job in absorbing sound, so one can actually enjoy quiet exchanges here - an increasingly rare luxury as today's restaurant designers stick with stone and concrete design choices. (Hint for restauranteurs: hard surfaces are easy to clean and "look pretty" but are horribly unforgiving for glaringly loud noise and garish conversation.)

We ordered bacon-wrapped shrimp and tomato-mozzarella salads in addition to our steak entrees. The app and salads were good, on par with those we've had at other highly rated places. Of course, the stars of our meal were the steaks. Both my ribeye and my niece's filet were prepared perfectly, but it's the flavor and spot-on seasoning that were truly outstanding! That first bite was divinely memorable. Also outstanding were the roasted Brussels sprouts - for those who have come to love this quirky veg, you will savor the perfect crispness and caramelized nuttiness achieved in Bob's version. Bravo.

Perhaps the most unexpected surprise of our experience was the incredibly polished yet disarmingly friendly service provided by our server extraordinaire, Clint. I appreciated that he paid close attention to my very stringent dietary requirements, but what we really enjoyed is that he made us feel like we were old friends, and all of us in his station were guests at his dinner party. Clint's uniquely personalized service was like no other we've experienced in restaurant dining in any price range.

Needless to say, I will be returning very soon with my boyfriend, and I'm happily adding Bob's to our Favorites list.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous from the moment we walked in! G ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Fabulous from the moment we walked in! Great service, our waiter, Clint was delightful! Food was excellent! SO delicious👍We will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Best filet ever! Service excellent. Hug ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Best filet ever!

Service excellent. Huge wine list. Great ambiance. Smaller than a lot of the other area steakhouses, which is why we like it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Being from New Orleans I know food and h ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Being from New Orleans I know food and having lived in Texas for 19 years I know steaks and Bob's delivered!

Our server Michael was amazing. The wine, filet and the brussel sprouts we divine. The filet was perfectly cooked and the true tast of high quality beer came through...we will for sure eat here again! And SOON!

Tags: Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

most of the food was too salty including ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 18, 2016

most of the food was too salty including the vegetables.Nice bread and shrimp cocktail

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

My husband and I took our daughter to Bo ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on December 18, 2016

My husband and I took our daughter to Bob's to celebrate her return from England. We had a terrific time! They allowed us a last minute reservation and we had amazing service! The booth was beautiful and actually easy to have a conversation in even though the noise level was incredibly loud. The cocktails were wonderful, the appetizers creative, and the meal overall delicious!!! We all loved it. Our waiter was great! We will absolutely be back! Bob's is a gem!

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Disabled Access, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Fun, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.