About Bob's Steak & Chop House - Woodlands

1700 Research Forest Drive
Shenandoah, TX 77381
View Larger Map

Bob’s is the traditional American Prime Steakhouse, combining simple elegance, a lively atmosphere, big drinks, fine wine and large cuts of the finest prime steaks, chops and seafood. Come visit us and enjoy the taste of prime beef served by people who take real pride in the name "Bob's Steak & Chop House.”

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:30pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:30pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Six Pines Drive

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(281) 292-2627

Website:
http://www.bobs-steakandchop.com/locations/the-woodlands/reservations/

Catering:
Off-Site Catering is available

Parking Details:
Complementary Valet Parking

Executive Chef:
Kyle Evans

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cigar Room, Full Bar, Indoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon - Thu 4:30PM - 6:00PM 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Fri 4:30PM - 6:00PM 9:00PM - 11:00PM

Sat 9:00PM - 11:00PM

Private Dining

Whether you’re having an intimate dinner, a gathering after work or a corporate function, everything about Bob’s Steak and Chop House makes you feel like you belong. With five private and semi-private dining rooms at your disposal, Bob’s has the prefect space for every occasion!

Bob's Steak & Chop House - Woodlands Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Houston
Steakhouse
Houston
Best Overall
The Woodlands
5 More
Best Food
The Woodlands
Best Service
The Woodlands
Best Ambiance
The Woodlands
Best Value
The Woodlands
Most Booked
The Woodlands
Best Restaurants in The Woodlands ›

Special Occasion (46)
Good for Anniversaries (38)
Romantic (34)
See All
Good for a Date (34)
Notable Wine List (30)
Business Meals (26)
Quiet Conversation (24)
Good for Birthdays (22)
Cozy (18)
Good for Groups (17)
Private Room (15)
Worth the Drive (13)
Bar Seating (12)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Authentic (6)
Modern Decor (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Tasting Menu (3)
Fun (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
People Watching (3)
Casual (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Live Sports (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Healthy (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Great Beer (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Family Style (1)
Sort By:
S
747 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The cigar room puts this place a step ab ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 19 hours ago

The cigar room puts this place a step above the others. Perfect service, and the food was out of this world.

Tags: Business Meals, Bar Seating, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Thanks Bob's for a fabulous dinner! The ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined 2 days ago

Thanks Bob's for a fabulous dinner! The general manager took us on a tour of the kitchen. My friends said it was the cleanest kitchen they've ever seen & these guys are in the restaurant business. The food couldn't be any better! The steaks are so good and just melt in your mouth like butter. The shrimp appetizer was to die for. We got to meet the young lady who does the private events. Wow! She was very friendly & accommodating. In our line of work she would come in handy. The restaurant smelled of Christmas cheer and was super cozy. I need to hire whoever decorated the christmas tree. It's gorgeous!! Now if I can just get my husband to bring me back the before christmas season is over again. You are our new favorite restaurant!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Bob's is our favorite and always fantast ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined 5 days ago

Bob's is our favorite and always fantastic!! Strongly recommend!

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Never a bad experience at Bobs. Try the ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined 7 days ago

Never a bad experience at Bobs. Try the Cajun lamb pops or sausage and peppers as an app.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bob's is always an excellent choice. Gre ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 30, 2016

Bob's is always an excellent choice. Great food, service and ambiance. My last visit was no exception.

Tags: Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My family and I went to Bob's Steak and ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on November 27, 2016

My family and I went to Bob's Steak and Chop House in The Woodlands for Thanksgiving; we had a fabulous dinner and experience. Chef Brian went out of his way to make sure our food was just right. Similarly, the General Manager and Waitstaff were very attentive. Can't wait to go back again soon!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Casual, People Watching, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My mother was visiting from out of town ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 27, 2016

My mother was visiting from out of town and this was all of my party's 1st time. Our server Michael was fantastic! Funny, knowledgeable, and generally awesome. Manager stopped by more than once and was also great. Food was beyond expectations. Pricey, but a better value than other high-end steakhouses and well worth the cost if you can swing it. My new favorite steakhouse in the Woodlands and gives Killens a run for its money. Looking forward to a return trip.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A High End Steak House that's worth it! ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 26, 2016

A High End Steak House that's worth it! Ask for Michael for your server. He's fabulous!

Tags: Disabled Access, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Cozy, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my second meal at Bob's. Again ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 25, 2016

This was my second meal at Bob's. Again I am highly satisfied. The service is absolutely flawless, and I am usually the critical sort. My first visit I was with "the guys" and we were after a large slab of beef. We were all impressed with the Porterhouse and Cote de Boeuf Ribeyes cooked perfectly. This time, I brought my mother and son and being aware of the quality I set my eye on the 16oz filet mingon, medium rare+. It was without a doubt the best filet I have ever enjoyed. Really want to note that Jordan is very knowledgeable but more importantly he is able to make you feel welcome and comfortable that he actually cares if you are enjoying the meal he is serving. Over all it is apparent that this restaurant is well managed. High marks for me.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The steaks and the service were equally ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 24, 2016

The steaks and the service were equally superb. It was worth every penny.

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food, Michael is a great waite ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Excellent food, Michael is a great waiter and John the manager is always a pleasure!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I won't be back. Mundane food, in genera ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 23, 2016

I won't be back. Mundane food, in general, except the tomato salad was OK. The wedge lettuce was cold and that was good, but the bacon was trivial and not much tomato. The steak had a weird seasoning that really detracted. The Brussels sprouts were terrible. The mushrooms had an unpleasant sauce that I suspect was wine. Non drinkers do not appreciate being surprised with alcohol added to dishes.

Way too expensive for mediocre food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

My wife and I visited Bob's and were flo ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 22, 2016

My wife and I visited Bob's and were floored by the quality of food and service. Donna our server attended our every need. We were also able to meet the new Chef so we could give our compliments. We will certainly be back soon.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Outstanding Value, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Private Room, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything about our dining experience w ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Everything about our dining experience was very nice. Service was excellent as the steaks. I will definitely be back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bob's is Bob's everywhere. This is just ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Bob's is Bob's everywhere. This is just like the ones in Dallas, at least the menu. I think Bob's steaks are just about perfect.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Bob's never disappoints. The steaks, as ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Bob's never disappoints. The steaks, as well as the seafood, melt in your mouth. The food is always fresh, and the servers very attentative. I must say, my husband and I are regulars at Bob's, but would like to encourage everyone who has never visited, to give it a try. You won't be sorry!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Private Room, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Jordan, John and Andreas were great!

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Jordan, John and Andreas were great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I went for our anniversary. ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 18, 2016

My wife and I went for our anniversary. First time going. Food was delicious and service was wonderful. Will definitely be going back.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was great and so was the service. T ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Food was great and so was the service. This is our second visit to this location and awesome both times. We will be going back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been for several special occasio ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 15, 2016

We have been for several special occasions, this time we took 4 other family members and they loved it.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

They really made us feel welcome and our ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 13, 2016

They really made us feel welcome and our steaks were amazing.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding meal, great waiter, GM took ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Outstanding meal, great waiter, GM took the time to come to our table. By far the best steak not only in The Woodlands but in Houston, been to all the prime steak houses in Houston but none match the quality of Bob's. Highly recommend for that special occasion.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The atmosphere is fantastic. The food is ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 13, 2016

The atmosphere is fantastic. The food is amazing. Our server, David, was knowledgeable, courteous, and attentive. Been here several times, was my wife's first time, and we'll be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great restaurant, especially like the ci ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Great restaurant, especially like the cigar lounge. Our server Jordan was the best!

Tags: Bar Seating, Romantic, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another great dining experience at Bob's ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Another great dining experience at Bob's Steak & Chop House! The staff is fantastic and makes you feel welcome from the moment you walk in the door. The drink menu is extensive and gives you lots of "creations" to chose from. Bartenders Marissa and Robert were very friendly and attentive.

Chef Brian surprised us with an appetizer of his own design followed by an amazing meal. My ribeye was cooked to perfection! John Poates the General Manager went out of his way to make sure we were well taken care of as did Andres and Garrison. Thanks to all for a great evening!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great Beer, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Private Room, People Watching, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

William was our waiter and he was fantas ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on November 11, 2016

William was our waiter and he was fantastic, very attentive and makes great recommendations!

Will be back! :-)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

ARTISTRY... amazing creations! Chef Br ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 11, 2016

ARTISTRY... amazing creations! Chef Brian and boss John Poates breathe hospitality. Brian was so kind to design a special: appetizer scallop and risotto cake. WOW. Drinks: stupendous. Top notch service with the smile from Marissa and Robert.

I had the feature of the day- sea bass... Oh my. Oh yummy. Cooked to perfection.

Warm and charming is team John Poates, Garrison, & Andreas.

Yes, I will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The entire management and wait staff are ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on November 11, 2016

The entire management and wait staff are fantastic! The team shares the responsibility of always making sure we are well taken care of. Steaks are incredible and the cocktails, perfect. Can't ask for more.

Favorite app is the lobster bites! 👌🏾

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Thursday at Bob's is my spot for cigars ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Thursday at Bob's is my spot for cigars and whiskey. Sometimes the group I go with, dine in as well; sometimes we just smoke and drink in the enclosed humidor. Regardless of the night, we are always well pleased. Ask for the tour of the kitchen and freezer, impressive!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service from the second you pull i ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Great service from the second you pull in. Food is fresh and served well. No detail is missed at all.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Based on the stellar reviews I expected ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Based on the stellar reviews I expected a great dining experience. Well, it was iffy. The food was good, but my T-bone had so much fat and gristle that the edible part turned out to be much smaller than it looked. All in all not worth $50-60. My husband's strip was very good, and the salads were notable. But odd things happened. First of all, they whisked away the pickles after we'd each had one. If this is grandma's signature dish, why take it away? The table was plenty big enough to leave it there. And in all my 62 years I've never been told that it was against health regulations to leave the toppings for the baked potatoes on the table. You had to put them on while he stood there, and then he took them away. Say what?!? What if I wanted more sour cream later? Next they whisked the bread away before we could protest. Our waiter tried hard but he came too often and got annoying. So for $250 (and that was with a very moderately-priced wine; it could easily have been $300 or more), no I don't think I'll be back. This place has too many rules for a relaxing dining experience.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

We enjoyed our evening at Bob's however ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 6, 2016

We enjoyed our evening at Bob's however one of our friends ordered a steak and he was very disappointed with the quality of the steak as it was tough. I would say that my salmon was delicious but it seemed like it had sat out for a while and wasn't quite as hot as I would have liked. I did not ask to send it back though The key lime pie was amazing! Our waiter was very good but got busy with a large table and was largely missing in action once that happened.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

We had an appetizer and entree. We had ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 6, 2016

We had an appetizer and entree. We had a long wait between the appetizer and entree so perhaps they are use to people also ordering salads. We were surprise that we had to poor our own wine (perhaps we didn't order an expensive enough bottle). They offer to substitute a side for the included potato. This is a full side so find something to share or you will leave it on the plate. You will also get a carrot with the steaks which is pretty taste. They should consider running the HVAC fan during dining hours. We went from getting a little warm/stuffy to cold when the A/C kicked in. The steak was very good once it arrived. We probably go again.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

My wife and I celebrated our 27th Annive ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 5, 2016

My wife and I celebrated our 27th Anniversary at Bob's and had a wonderful evening. The service was outstanding and the food unbelievable. We will be back soon!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Sunday Lunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was fabulous! The service, fo ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Everything was fabulous! The service, food and the ambience were perfect. Steak was cooked to perfection. Thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Although we found the service to be exce ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Although we found the service to be excellent, we were sadly disappointed by the steaks, which was the whole reason for coming. The steaks here are very expensive, so we expected them to be amazing. The style here seems to be to cook certain cuts with a huge pile of char on the outside. The 22 oz bone-in-ribeye was medium on the inside, but the heavy char meant we couldn't enjoy a single bite. Perhaps some people like that, but we thought it tasted horrible. The 9-oz. filet did not have the char, and was again cooked to a perfect medium inside, but it tasted like a roast instead of a steak. Perhaps because it was so thick it had to be roasted. The bread and wine were excellent.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

Dinner was delicious. Salads and Desser ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Dinner was delicious. Salads and Desserts may have been the best ever. We split the large bone in steak. Will probably just try the small filet and ribeye next time. Enjoyed our server Clint. Was very attentive.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great ambience. Love the cheesecake and ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Great ambience. Love the cheesecake and the classic martinis

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

We have visited Bob's twice this fall, a ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 4, 2016

We have visited Bob's twice this fall, and we enjoyed each visit. Our most recent visit included our son and his fiancé. The meal was delicious, and the wait staff attentive through most of the meal. Once our entrees were brought over to us...the staff seemed to disappear...which I understand is a mechanism to allow us to enjoy our meal, but they were gone too long...not around to refill our drinks. We will visit again, but at the forefront, we'll mention how service was lacking. I'm confident they will course correct. The truth is...the food is amazing...so amazing that we will return again sooner rather than later.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Bob's Steak & Chop House is fantastic. ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Bob's Steak & Chop House is fantastic. My wife and I have have chosen Bob's for the last 3 years on our anniversary. Our waiter Nathan was wonderful. He gave us great information on the wine and the specials. We have never been disappointed with our dining experience. The food is fantastic and filling. The General Manager John always makes you feel like you are his top priority.

In a time when customer service is on a decline, Bob's Steak & Chop House succeeds.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.