About Bobby Van's Steakhouse - DC

809 15th St., NW
Washington, DC 20005
View Larger Map

Bobby Van's Steakhouse has been named Top Steakhouse in the Washington Magazine and best Porterhouse in DC in the Washingtonian. Along with our Prime, dry-aged beef, we offer the freshest seafood and wonderful specials. Our wine list is a best of Award of Excellence by Wine Spectator.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Friday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Between H and I Sts.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(202) 589-0060

Website:
http://www.bobbyvans.com/

Public Transit:
McPherson Square Metro

Private Party Facilities:
Three private dining areas; three that can open up into one large room holding 95 persons seated; Minimum of twelve persons for a private room

Private Party Contact:
Management: 2025890060x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Area, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Filet Mignon
Escargot
crabcake
Ribeye Steak
Bread
Green beans
Petite Filet Mignon
Chicken Parmesan
Apple Tartlette
 Sweet Potato Fries
Crab Dip
Nachos
Waygu Hanger Steak
Chocolate Lava Cake
Dry-Aged NY Strip
Mac & Cheese W/ Prosciutto
Bread & Butter
Double-Cut Veal Chop
Heirloom Tomatoes & Mozarella
Prosciutto Mac N Cheese
Harry's Salad
Apple tart
New York Strip
Bobby Van's Crab Cake
Asparagus
Sweet Chili Calamari

Bobby Van's Steakhouse - DC Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.1

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

special occasion (71)
romantic (43)
fit for foodies (38)
See All
good for groups (32)
notable wine list (29)
great for outdoor dining (24)
neighborhood gem (24)
great for lunch (21)
vibrant bar scene (11)
kid-friendly (7)
hot spot (6)
late-night find (6)
scenic view (3)
great for brunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1729 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We really enjoyed our meal at Bobby Van' ...

Dined 4 days ago

We really enjoyed our meal at Bobby Van's Steakhouse. The service was great and the food was amazing! We had the macaroni and cheese appetizer and that was spectacular. We followed that with a filet mignon and crab cakes. The bread pudding dessert was out of this world! We've been meaning to go to Bobby Van's and we're glad we did. We'll be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5

I enjoyed the service but was not blown ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

I enjoyed the service but was not blown away by the food. Actually my entire party was underwhelmed..

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was great. Ambiance was good. every ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Food was great. Ambiance was good. everyone had filet and each was perfect. Our waiter, Rod, was fantastic.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service4

Porterhouse very good done perfectly.. B ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

Porterhouse very good done perfectly.. Brussel sprout side dish yummy... Mussels great...

food4
ambience4
service5
value5

The food and service are consistently go ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

The food and service are consistently good. They accommodate me bt fixing a lunch entrée which is no longer ooon the menu.

Tags: great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We had a fun time and the food and servi ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

We had a fun time and the food and service was very good. Our waiter, Michael, was the best. He and my husband were a pair...made it very entertaining.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent Meal and Service!

vip
Dined on June 10, 2016

My husband and I dined at Bobby Van's on a Friday evening. We were seated outside and it was a beautiful evening. Our waiters were Jose and Mike and I can't be complimentary enough about their attention to detail and friendly demeanors. They really made the evening. The food was awesome too!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful!

Dined on June 8, 2016

Perfect place for an early dinner before a 7pm high school graduation at DAR.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Delicious Meal

vip
Dined on June 4, 2016

I've dined at the Bobby Van's in NYC (Times Square). The consistency of the steaks is the same whether in NYC or in DC. Thumbs Up for the filet mignon which were both cooked to perfection (medium and medium rare) as well as the bone in rib-eye. The shrimp cocktail appetizer was disappointing. The shrimp were soggy and certainly not jumbo-sized. The sides of hash browns were tasty and even better the next day. We were seated in the outdoor patio on a beautiful night with a cool gentle breeze. If you can snag an outdoor seat, its well worth it especially on a cool night. Our server was excellent. Service was unobtrusive.

food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding experience and dinner. We tr ...

Dined on May 27, 2016

Outstanding experience and dinner. We truly loved it. Quality food. Attentive service.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant always has great food an ...

Dined on May 27, 2016

This restaurant always has great food and excellent service. The ambiance is upscale but without a stuffy feel.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Old school DC charm. Classy bar and rich ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

Old school DC charm. Classy bar and rich feel. Great place for business entertaining and or special occasion. Come every year and this is one our the first request from our group.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

We were very disapponted with the experi ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

We were very disapponted with the experience we had at Bobby Vans. We have been to the restaurants in NYC and loved them so naturally decided to go here when it was my husbands birthday. The restaurant did not seem clean, the service was less than stellar and the food was just ok. Won't be returning.

food2
ambience4
service1
value1

We were very disappointed in the service ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

We were very disappointed in the service and the food. The NY strip was tough and had too much grizzle. The Filet was dry with no flavor. The waiter was too attentive bordering on being a pest. He came over every few minutes - too much. The salad was bland with store bought croutons. For this price everything should be made in the restaurant. We will not be going back.

Tags: notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Excellent meal and service

Dined on May 13, 2016

This was our first visit to Bobby Van's and we had an excellent meal and service. Unfortunately, the table next to us was very, very noisy, or I would give them 5 stars all across the board. Our waiter apologized for the noise several times, but it wasn't his table, so we get it. Our steaks were cooked to perfection and we enjoyed the brussles sprouts with blue cheese as a side dish. Would love to go here again when visiting D.C.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Met the Manager, John. We traded informa ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

Met the Manager, John. We traded information on wine. He is a gentleman and we were able to book a table for the a large group the next evening which was also a fine dining experience.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience5
service4

Food was ok. Service was very good. I go ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Food was ok. Service was very good. I got the ribeye and flavour was good, but I like a smaller but thicker cut. I would eat there again.

food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Rushed

Dined on May 7, 2016

We've been many times to the restaurant. Seemed rushed this time, particularly in trying to sell us more wine. In and out in about one & 1/2 hours. Better steak houses around with more trendy ambiance.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Special Evening

Dined on May 6, 2016

My wife and I had never been the restaurant but decided to try it during weekend in DC. What a jewel. The wait staff were superior, especially Apolinar. We shared a fillet and never had a better piece of meat, cooked to perfection - medium but still pink. The vegetables were also superior, especially the Brussel sprouts. We rarely have desert but the bread pudding was worth the calories. Outstanding wine list. Overall superior evening.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Great for special occasion.

Dined on May 5, 2016

I took a friend who is graduating from graduate school there to celebrate. Expensive meal, but very worth it. Great food. I had the petite filet mignon. Absolutely delicious. She had chicken parmesan - also delicious. Great location.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food2
ambience1
service5

Service was excellent, but the food was ...

Dined on May 4, 2016

Service was excellent, but the food was mediocre at best. For a $75/person meal you wouldn't expect them to be playing mid-80's rock bands for dinner music. Now we know why the bar was full and the restaurant was empty. I'd say the food was equivalent to a TGI Friday's and way overpriced. Definitely a one and done.

food4
ambience5
service5

Service, the server was very helpful in ...

Dined on April 25, 2016

Service, the server was very helpful in recommending his menu favorites.

food4
ambience4
service4

Good food and reasonable prices for a ce ...

Dined on April 21, 2016

Good food and reasonable prices for a centrally located restaurant

food5
ambience5
service5

Best steakhouse in DC. Service is amazin ...

Dined on April 21, 2016

Best steakhouse in DC. Service is amazing. This is what a Resturant needs the strive to be

food2
ambience4
service2

Food was bland. All of us definitely dro ...

Dined on April 20, 2016

Food was bland. All of us definitely drowned it with more salt and pepper. Service was slow and a bit awkward. Drink wasnt refilled. There was also a spider on the table that the host saw and left. The server and busperson also saw it and just placed drinks and menus around it. No one once bothered to get the spider off the table.

food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful evening. Food was prepared per ...

Dined on April 16, 2016

Wonderful evening. Food was prepared perfectly. Wait staff were very personable and very attentive.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love this restaurant!

Dined on April 13, 2016

This restaurant is wonderful for a lunch or dinner with friends, business partners or a loved one. The food is excellent and the service is impeccable. The atmosphere is upscale without being stuffy. The food is delicious and well presented. I highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Can't go wrong

vip
Dined on April 9, 2016

My sister and I always have such a wonderful dining experience when we come to Bobby Van's. We of course have our favorite dishes and always leave with wonderful leftovers for a great lunch the next day.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5

Bobby Van's never disappoints. A great s ...

vip
Dined on April 8, 2016

Bobby Van's never disappoints. A great steakhouse experience is consistently delivered. The ambience is classic. The service is crisp and professional, yet warm. Classic steakhouse fare is well executed and nicely presented. You'll find a fabulous crab cocktail and perfect shrimp cocktail among the appetizers. Caesar salad is crisp and garlicky, with anchovies available on request. The Porterhouse rules, with a meaty strip and tender filet straddling the bone. Classic steakhouse sides are beautifully prepared. No culinary trailblazing here. Just great food, well prepared and served up with a helping of classic style. It should be on your list of DC go to's.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service and good foods

Dined on April 8, 2016

Everybody seems very dedicated and friendly. All staffs were very attentive and professional. I def. would go back there soon.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a people pleaser!

Dined on April 4, 2016

We had a delightful meal and fabulous service from Paulo - the pace of the meal was perfect - and the food was terrific. Highly recommend them for any occasion you might have!

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Details,Details,Details

vip
Dined on April 1, 2016

Loved the food, but for these prices I felt that the wine glasses looked very inexpensive and the ladies room needed to be cleaned more often. Again, no complaints on the food or service.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5

Great overall experience

Dined on March 31, 2016

Great overall experience

food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Good service, but the food was ok

Dined on March 18, 2016

The service was good. The food was not what I expected. The crab cakes had an overwhelming taste of peppers. The string beans were bland but the baquette was fresh and hot. The dessert was good. Overall I will probably not visit this location again because I love the NY location the most.

Tags: good for groups, romantic
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We love it.

Dined on March 17, 2016

We've been here several time and each time everything has been reliable and consistent. Solid service and food. We usually get the steaks which is always on point. This visit happened to be on a Friday during Lent so we ordered linguine & clams and a lobster. Both were wonderful.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great evening with the family

Dined on March 12, 2016

Had a terrific evening with my family -- great food, great service.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service exrdorinaire!

Dined on March 10, 2016

As always the food was superb! Our waiter was the best of the best! Such special treatment and it was only lunch!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very enjoyable

Dined on March 5, 2016

Wonderful meal and great service - Rodney is the best!

Tags: special occasion
food3
ambience4
service4

Food. Was just ok. Not worth the high pr ...

Dined on March 5, 2016

Food. Was just ok. Not worth the high price

food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Excellent food. A bit over priced.

Dined on March 5, 2016

The food was wonderful. The prices I think are definitely on the high side compared to other steak chains. Our only complaint was the interior decor. For the price being paid, you would think they'd have a more grand decor like Clyde's.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.