About Bobby Van's Steakhouse - DC

809 15th St., NW
Washington, DC 20005
View Larger Map

Bobby Van's Steakhouse has been named Top Steakhouse in the Washington Magazine and best Porterhouse in DC in the Washingtonian. Along with our Prime, dry-aged beef, we offer the freshest seafood and wonderful specials. Our wine list is a best of Award of Excellence by Wine Spectator.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Friday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Between H and I Sts.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(202) 589-0060

Website:
http://www.bobbyvans.com/

Public Transit:
McPherson Square Metro

Private Party Facilities:
Three private dining areas; three that can open up into one large room holding 95 persons seated; Minimum of twelve persons for a private room

Private Party Contact:
Management: 2025890060x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Filet Mignon
Escargot
crabcake
Ribeye Steak
Bread
Green beans
Petite Filet Mignon
Chicken Parmesan
Apple Tartlette
 Sweet Potato Fries
Crab Dip
Nachos
Chocolate Lava Cake
Waygu Hanger Steak
Dry-Aged NY Strip
Mac & Cheese W/ Prosciutto
Double-Cut Veal Chop
Bread & Butter
Harry's Salad
Prosciutto Mac N Cheese
Heirloom Tomatoes & Mozarella
New York Strip
Apple tart
Bobby Van's Crab Cake
Asparagus
Sweet Chili Calamari

Bobby Van's Steakhouse - DC Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.6

ambience

4.3

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (49)
Romantic (30)
Great for Outdoor Dining (26)
See All
Notable Wine List (25)
Fit for Foodies (25)
Great for Lunch (24)
Good for Groups (22)
Neighborhood Gem (18)
Vibrant Bar Scene (10)
Hot Spot (6)
Late-night Find (5)
Great for Brunch (3)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1775 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Not everyone dining is using a Groupon. ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

Not everyone dining is using a Groupon. Inconsistent service, smaller than normal portions, burned food. And outside seating next to the squeaky door that opens and closes a million times made this a meal to forget. We were asked about the Groupon when we ask for the check. We didn't have one. Even if it's discounted no one deserves a rushed experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

The food was delicious. Perfectly cooked ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

The food was delicious. Perfectly cooked and presented. It was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Friend and I went during restaurant week ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Friend and I went during restaurant week to give the restaurant a try. For $35 p/p it was a great value but since the food was fairly bland I would only go back if it were during a promotional week such as RW. They were not actively promoting RW and when we sat down were only provided with a standard menu. We were promptly brought waters but then after that, multiple servers kept passing by without asking us if we wanted additional beverages or to start us off with anything (We never had one set server). Once we ordered additional beverages we inquired about the restaurant week menu and they then provided it to us. Overall, it was very nice to sit outside and enjoy the summer night while eating dinner but the food wasn't memorable and service was average.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

Went to Bobby Van's because I remember i ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Went to Bobby Van's because I remember it being delicious the only other time I ate there, about 12 years ago. We were able to get in with no advanced notice and were seated immediately. bread and butter were delicious. I had the lobster, it was OK, but nothing I would recommend to anyone. They provide slightly warm butter and didn't do anything to keep it hot, so I had to keep asking for fresh, warm butter. My coworker, ordered a baked potato, which was barely above room temperature, and wasn't even warm enough to melt butter. Lastly, a coworker had the steak, which was supposed to be medium, but turned out to be charred on the outside (Pittsburgh style was not requested, and this didn't look like Pittsburgh style) yet is was medium rare to rare in the center. I will not be returning my next visit to DC.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Ordered steak medium and it came rare. W ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Ordered steak medium and it came rare. Waiter argued that I should've sliced it before He left. Manager compensated but very disappointing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1
value2

Went for restaurant week, loved everythi ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Went for restaurant week, loved everything.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We went here for Restaurant Week. I was ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

We went here for Restaurant Week. I was surprised that they didn't pass out a restaurant week menu, we had to ask for it and were handed crumpled paper pre-fix menus. I have been to to other steakhouses during Restaurant Week and they always include the special menu inside the regular one and its usually a great value. I thought the service was, just ok. The food was just ok. The steak was burned and not especially good. My take: Go to Ruth's Chris.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

My wife and I decided to go to Bobby Van ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

My wife and I decided to go to Bobby Vans at the last minute and were pleased to get a reservation with open table. We started with a couple of drinks, finally a bartender that knows how to make classic drinks. We started with the seafood appetizer, which we always enjoy (lobster, shrimp and oysters). I had the steak, always well prepared and tender, my wife ventured over to the seafood and ordered Grouper. She said it was one of the best she has had (we normally only have grouper when we are on the gulf coast in Florida).

The service is always pleasant, helpful and unobtrusive.

Highly recommend for a nice dinner, we will return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was a nice evening. We looked at oth ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

It was a nice evening. We looked at other places but settled here because of the stars and were looking to an upscale evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

Though the service was good, and the foo ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Though the service was good, and the food initially tasted fine, I got an extreme case of food poisoning after dining here. I spent most of Saturday being so sick that I needed to go to the Emergency Room. I will not be recommending this restaurant or ever returning. It was an expensive meal and an even more expensive ER visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value2

Thanks to David - the manager, for using ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Thanks to David - the manager, for using my Restaurant Week/Groupon combo. I called in advanced to ask if I could use both (restaurant week special for me) and Groupon for my friend, and they said yes, as long as Groupon meal was ordered from the main menu. When it came time to pay the bill, they didn't want to honor it at first, but quickly honored both. Thanks much. The food and service were great.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

We went during Restaurant Week. Our se ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

We went during Restaurant Week. Our server was excellent. He was very courteous. The food came out quickly. It was delicious. We will definitely go back to try other items on the menu.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always great. Service and food. Amazing. ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Always great. Service and food. Amazing. Great for night out

Tags: Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent steak cooked to perfection.

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Excellent steak cooked to perfection.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I was excited to book Bobby Van's Steakh ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

I was excited to book Bobby Van's Steakhouse during restaurant week. When I got there the restaurant week menu was just OK. There was only one steak on the entree list for a Steakhouse. The only appetizers were a Caesar salad or the soap of the day, which happened to be tomato soup the day I went. That was very disappointing. The service was worst than the menu. I had to ask the waiter to bring us bread. After he took our order it took over 40 minutes for entree to come out. We saw the waiter more after the check did then throughout the entire dinner service. I had to continually call the waiter over instead of him consistently checking on us. This is the worst dinner service I have ever received during restaurant week. The food was good. The New York Cheesecake was great. No i can say I tried this restaurant but I will not be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

The staff is very attentive and polite. ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

The staff is very attentive and polite. Food is great the Thai chile calamari us my fav!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A friend and I went for restaurant week. ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

A friend and I went for restaurant week. We both had the filet mignon, cooked differently, but both steaks were tender and juicy. The food was excellent, the bread superb, and our waiter Nelson awesome. My friend told him what type of drink she wanted, and he brought her one not on the drink menu. She loved her French martini. I would definitely recommend this place and would go again if I visit DC again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The ambience was great and service very ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

The ambience was great and service very good; however, I was shocked by the high prices, given that it showed just two $$.. based on that, I was expecting slightly higher prices, but not outrageous. I would rate it much higher for price.. The food was good, but not outstanding, which is what I would have expected given the high price. And, I found the menu to be a bit limited; would have liked more options. All sides were extra.... and at high prices.

There are much better options in the area.. with lower prices yet, excellent food. They have priced themselves way out of the market for what they offer!! I would NOT recommend it nor will I return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

A friend and I were in Bobby Van's a cou ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

A friend and I were in Bobby Van's a couple of months ago (in May) and the service, although the young man was very respectful, was horrible. Everything we ordered was wrong. We finally had to accept some of the wrong items because time was scarce. This time, everything went right, to the point we told the manager how pleased we were with the service. I had told myself I wouldn't return there after the May fiasco, but it was my friend's birthday and she wanted to try again. I'm happy we gave Bobby Van's another chance; our server, Rod, was exemplary!

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent dining at a top quality steakh ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Excellent dining at a top quality steakhouse. We were visting Washington and Bobby Van's Steakhouse came highly recommended.The service was first class as well as the food. Well worth the visit and i will without doubt go again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great dining experience would definitely ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Great dining experience would definitely go again. Did not have much time there. But the staff was great food was awesome.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Impeccable service. Ourserver, Rod, did ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Impeccable service. Ourserver, Rod, did a fantastic job. The hash browns delicious, yet a huge portion. Will definitely be back.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Our waiter made everything great. His se ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Our waiter made everything great. His service and suggestions were excellent and made our 25th anniversary the best!!

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Everything was perfect! the only thing i ...

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Everything was perfect! the only thing i would have done differently was that i should have ordered the NY strip instead of the ribeye.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great business lunch. We dined 'al fresc ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Great business lunch. We dined 'al fresco' on 15th Street!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a great knowledgeable staff and o ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Always a great knowledgeable staff and overall dining experience!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good steak - service is adequate - wont ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Good steak - service is adequate - wont rush back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2

The manager at the front desk greeted us ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

The manager at the front desk greeted us very warmly. It was our 33rd wedding anniversary, and he had complimentary champaign delivered to our table. Steak and scallops were very good. We were very pleased with Bobby Vans and would highly recommend it to others.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Celebrated our 38th wedding anniversary ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Celebrated our 38th wedding anniversary at this wonderful restaurant. It had been recommended and I'm thankful we listened. Food and service was excellent. Best porterhouse every ate. Service was over 5 Star. Hope to return again one day.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were in DC during our wedding anniver ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

We were in DC during our wedding anniversary, so we're delighted to go to Bobby Van's where the food and service are perfect for a special occasion.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very good but very expensive! Look forwa ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Very good but very expensive! Look forward for my return!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Great waiter and service. Food was excel ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Great waiter and service. Food was excellent and my steak was cooked perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful service, good food and reasona ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Wonderful service, good food and reasonably priced for steak, seafood and salads! I greatly enjoyed my meal and will certainly return often.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service, and the food was pretty g ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Great service, and the food was pretty good, but too expensive for what it was

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Really enjoyed my time at Bobby Vans, th ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Really enjoyed my time at Bobby Vans, the food was excellent

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The waiter was great. Beautiful bariton ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

The waiter was great. Beautiful baritone voice, extremely pleasant and relaxed, and very helpful with the menu. The lamb loin chops were perfect. The restaurant was very quiet for a Saturday evening downtown, but I didn't mind. Didn't care for the Smoketree Pinot Noir - too light , but they have a decent variety of wines. The patio dining was pleasant. You're covered in case it rains.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

July 8 - Rod Grigsby is a great server. ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

July 8 - Rod Grigsby is a great server. When dining at Bobby Vans, I make it a point to have Rod serve the dining table. The food is very good. I had the petit filet and we had brussels sprouts for the table.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I've been to Bobby Van's Steakhouse many ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

I've been to Bobby Van's Steakhouse many times and have always found the food and service consistently exceptional.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The New York strip steak and the crab ca ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

The New York strip steak and the crab cakes were fantastic. Great steakhouse with attentive service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

When I think of Bobby Van's, I think of ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

When I think of Bobby Van's, I think of fine dining in DC. However, I can't say that my experience matched that expectation. The restaurant looked really nice. It was kind of slow for a Fourth of July when we went, considering the restaurant is located just blocks from the National Mall. we were not greeted right away after being seated. The server was very brief, not engaging and didn't go over any specials for the evening, even though the list of specials was on a chalkboard literally above our heads, which we noticed later on. We ordered cocktails, the busser brought our bread and only after all this happened did we get water poured for us when the water pitcher was sitting above our booth the entire time. The server was brief with the food order. It was obvious that we liked the bread, and he never offered us more. Server didn't check on us after we received our appetizers. He never brought out fresh silverware after our appetizers. When the main courses arrived, we got a "how is everything" within 10 seconds before we could even take a bit of food, and then we didn't see our server again until it was time for a check. Any time a plate needed clearing or a water glass needed filling, it was done by a busser. I noticed that the same server stacking up dirty dishes in front of the guest at the table next to us before picking them up. The server's dessert offer was less than impressive. He didn't seem interested in trying to gauge our desire to have dessert, but was rather pleased when we said we would pass on dessert. He seemed relieved, because it meant he could leave sooner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.