About Bobby Van's Steakhouse - DC

809 15th St., NW
Washington, DC 20005
View Larger Map

Bobby Van's Steakhouse has been named Top Steakhouse in the Washington Magazine and best Porterhouse in DC in the Washingtonian. Along with our Prime, dry-aged beef, we offer the freshest seafood and wonderful specials. Our wine list is a best of Award of Excellence by Wine Spectator.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Friday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Between H and I Sts.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(202) 589-0060

Website:
http://www.bobbyvans.com/

Public Transit:
McPherson Square Metro

Private Party Facilities:
Three private dining areas; three that can open up into one large room holding 95 persons seated; Minimum of twelve persons for a private room

Private Party Contact:
Management: 2025890060x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Area, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Filet Mignon
Escargot
crabcake
Ribeye Steak
Bread
Green beans
Petite Filet Mignon
Chicken Parmesan
Apple Tartlette
 Sweet Potato Fries
Crab Dip
Nachos
Waygu Hanger Steak
Chocolate Lava Cake
Dry-Aged NY Strip
Mac & Cheese W/ Prosciutto
Bread & Butter
Double-Cut Veal Chop
Heirloom Tomatoes & Mozarella
Prosciutto Mac N Cheese
Harry's Salad
Apple tart
New York Strip
Bobby Van's Crab Cake
Asparagus
Sweet Chili Calamari

Bobby Van's Steakhouse - DC Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.5

ambience

4.2

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

special occasion (64)
fit for foodies (37)
romantic (33)
See All
notable wine list (31)
good for groups (29)
great for outdoor dining (25)
neighborhood gem (21)
great for lunch (20)
vibrant bar scene (12)
hot spot (7)
kid-friendly (3)
late-night find (3)
great for brunch (2)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1746 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The manager at the front desk greeted us ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 6 hours ago

The manager at the front desk greeted us very warmly. It was our 33rd wedding anniversary, and he had complimentary champaign delivered to our table. Steak and scallops were very good. We were very pleased with Bobby Vans and would highly recommend it to others.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Celebrated our 38th wedding anniversary ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined a day ago

Celebrated our 38th wedding anniversary at this wonderful restaurant. It had been recommended and I'm thankful we listened. Food and service was excellent. Best porterhouse every ate. Service was over 5 Star. Hope to return again one day.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great waiter and service. Food was excel ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Great waiter and service. Food was excellent and my steak was cooked perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful service, good food and reasona ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Wonderful service, good food and reasonably priced for steak, seafood and salads! I greatly enjoyed my meal and will certainly return often.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service, and the food was pretty g ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Great service, and the food was pretty good, but too expensive for what it was

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Really enjoyed my time at Bobby Vans, th ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Really enjoyed my time at Bobby Vans, the food was excellent

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The waiter was great. Beautiful bariton ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

The waiter was great. Beautiful baritone voice, extremely pleasant and relaxed, and very helpful with the menu. The lamb loin chops were perfect. The restaurant was very quiet for a Saturday evening downtown, but I didn't mind. Didn't care for the Smoketree Pinot Noir - too light , but they have a decent variety of wines. The patio dining was pleasant. You're covered in case it rains.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

July 8 - Rod Grigsby is a great server. ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

July 8 - Rod Grigsby is a great server. When dining at Bobby Vans, I make it a point to have Rod serve the dining table. The food is very good. I had the petit filet and we had brussels sprouts for the table.

Tags: vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I've been to Bobby Van's Steakhouse many ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

I've been to Bobby Van's Steakhouse many times and have always found the food and service consistently exceptional.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The New York strip steak and the crab ca ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

The New York strip steak and the crab cakes were fantastic. Great steakhouse with attentive service.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

When I think of Bobby Van's, I think of ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

When I think of Bobby Van's, I think of fine dining in DC. However, I can't say that my experience matched that expectation. The restaurant looked really nice. It was kind of slow for a Fourth of July when we went, considering the restaurant is located just blocks from the National Mall. we were not greeted right away after being seated. The server was very brief, not engaging and didn't go over any specials for the evening, even though the list of specials was on a chalkboard literally above our heads, which we noticed later on. We ordered cocktails, the busser brought our bread and only after all this happened did we get water poured for us when the water pitcher was sitting above our booth the entire time. The server was brief with the food order. It was obvious that we liked the bread, and he never offered us more. Server didn't check on us after we received our appetizers. He never brought out fresh silverware after our appetizers. When the main courses arrived, we got a "how is everything" within 10 seconds before we could even take a bit of food, and then we didn't see our server again until it was time for a check. Any time a plate needed clearing or a water glass needed filling, it was done by a busser. I noticed that the same server stacking up dirty dishes in front of the guest at the table next to us before picking them up. The server's dessert offer was less than impressive. He didn't seem interested in trying to gauge our desire to have dessert, but was rather pleased when we said we would pass on dessert. He seemed relieved, because it meant he could leave sooner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

We had a great time. Excellent service. ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

We had a great time. Excellent service. Food was great and the wine was very good.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I f have been dining there for several y ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

I f have been dining there for several years with very good experiences, I often always order the porterhouse for two , it has always been tops in that category, always fresh,however, this last dining experience, the Porterhouse left a lot to be desired, it appeared and tasted like it was a old cut and/or not seasoned very well, I was disappointed , The porterhouse was one of my favorite , I can only hope this was just an isolated indecent.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

The server Rod is the best thing that ev ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

The server Rod is the best thing that ever happened to the restaurant. I will only dine with him.

The food is superior to most places I've been in DC. Great care is taken to make sure everything is just so.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I would have rated the experience much h ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

I would have rated the experience much higher if it were not for one of your bartenders being rude. Don't know his name, nor do i want it, but he was covered in tattoos.

what a rude guy - working there should be a privilege not a right.

in general everything else was great.

Tags: notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

We arrived at 6pm on a Friday for our we ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

We arrived at 6pm on a Friday for our wedding anniversary and it was slow. Perhaps for this reason we were swarmed by servers. We had so many interruptions that we felt rudely rushed and found it hard to have a conversation.

The food was barely averagebut the price paid wasvery high. We ordered the specials and perhaps they are better at the dishes they make daily. The fillet mignon stuffed with crab and blue cheese was tender but tasteless. My wife had a shrimp dish and didn't even want the leftovers. We had some really expensive seafood appetizer that was fresh but also tasteless and came with a sauce that tasted just like mayo and another that did nothing for the dish. The wine recommendation was also poor.

We won't go back and can't recommend it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

We really enjoyed our meal at Bobby Van' ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

We really enjoyed our meal at Bobby Van's Steakhouse. The service was great and the food was amazing! We had the macaroni and cheese appetizer and that was spectacular. We followed that with a filet mignon and crab cakes. The bread pudding dessert was out of this world! We've been meaning to go to Bobby Van's and we're glad we did. We'll be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I enjoyed the service but was not blown ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

I enjoyed the service but was not blown away by the food. Actually my entire party was underwhelmed..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Food was great. Ambiance was good. every ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Food was great. Ambiance was good. everyone had filet and each was perfect. Our waiter, Rod, was fantastic.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Porterhouse very good done perfectly.. B ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

Porterhouse very good done perfectly.. Brussel sprout side dish yummy...

Mussels great...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

The food and service are consistently go ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

The food and service are consistently good. They accommodate me bt fixing a lunch entrée which is no longer ooon the menu.

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

We had a fun time and the food and servi ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

We had a fun time and the food and service was very good. Our waiter, Michael, was the best. He and my husband were a pair...made it very entertaining.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent Meal and Service!

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

My husband and I dined at Bobby Van's on a Friday evening. We were seated outside and it was a beautiful evening. Our waiters were Jose and Mike and I can't be complimentary enough about their attention to detail and friendly demeanors. They really made the evening. The food was awesome too!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful!

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

Perfect place for an early dinner before a 7pm high school graduation at DAR.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious Meal

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

I've dined at the Bobby Van's in NYC (Times Square). The consistency of the steaks is the same whether in NYC or in DC. Thumbs Up for the filet mignon which were both cooked to perfection (medium and medium rare) as well as the bone in rib-eye. The shrimp cocktail appetizer was disappointing. The shrimp were soggy and certainly not jumbo-sized. The sides of hash browns were tasty and even better the next day. We were seated in the outdoor patio on a beautiful night with a cool gentle breeze. If you can snag an outdoor seat, its well worth it especially on a cool night. Our server was excellent. Service was unobtrusive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Outstanding experience and dinner. We tr ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Outstanding experience and dinner. We truly loved it. Quality food. Attentive service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This restaurant always has great food an ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

This restaurant always has great food and excellent service. The ambiance is upscale but without a stuffy feel.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Old school DC charm. Classy bar and rich ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

Old school DC charm. Classy bar and rich feel. Great place for business entertaining and or special occasion. Come every year and this is one our the first request from our group.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were very disapponted with the experi ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

We were very disapponted with the experience we had at Bobby Vans. We have been to the restaurants in NYC and loved them so naturally decided to go here when it was my husbands birthday. The restaurant did not seem clean, the service was less than stellar and the food was just ok. Won't be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

We were very disappointed in the service ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

We were very disappointed in the service and the food. The NY strip was tough and had too much grizzle. The Filet was dry with no flavor. The waiter was too attentive bordering on being a pest. He came over every few minutes - too much. The salad was bland with store bought croutons. For this price everything should be made in the restaurant. We will not be going back.

Tags: notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

Excellent meal and service

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

This was our first visit to Bobby Van's and we had an excellent meal and service. Unfortunately, the table next to us was very, very noisy, or I would give them 5 stars all across the board. Our waiter apologized for the noise several times, but it wasn't his table, so we get it. Our steaks were cooked to perfection and we enjoyed the brussles sprouts with blue cheese as a side dish. Would love to go here again when visiting D.C.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Met the Manager, John. We traded informa ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

Met the Manager, John. We traded information on wine. He is a gentleman and we were able to book a table for the a large group the next evening which was also a fine dining experience.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was ok. Service was very good. I go ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Food was ok. Service was very good. I got the ribeye and flavour was good, but I like a smaller but thicker cut. I would eat there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

Rushed

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

We've been many times to the restaurant. Seemed rushed this time, particularly in trying to sell us more wine. In and out in about one & 1/2 hours. Better steak houses around with more trendy ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Special Evening

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

My wife and I had never been the restaurant but decided to try it during weekend in DC. What a jewel. The wait staff were superior, especially Apolinar. We shared a fillet and never had a better piece of meat, cooked to perfection - medium but still pink. The vegetables were also superior, especially the Brussel sprouts. We rarely have desert but the bread pudding was worth the calories. Outstanding wine list. Overall superior evening.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great for special occasion.

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 5, 2016

I took a friend who is graduating from graduate school there to celebrate. Expensive meal, but very worth it. Great food. I had the petite filet mignon. Absolutely delicious. She had chicken parmesan - also delicious. Great location.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Service was excellent, but the food was ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 4, 2016

Service was excellent, but the food was mediocre at best. For a $75/person meal you wouldn't expect them to be playing mid-80's rock bands for dinner music. Now we know why the bar was full and the restaurant was empty.

I'd say the food was equivalent to a TGI Friday's and way overpriced.

Definitely a one and done.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service5

Service, the server was very helpful in ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on April 25, 2016

Service, the server was very helpful in recommending his menu favorites.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Good food and reasonable prices for a ce ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on April 21, 2016

Good food and reasonable prices for a centrally located restaurant

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Best steakhouse in DC. Service is amazin ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on April 21, 2016

Best steakhouse in DC. Service is amazing. This is what a Resturant needs the strive to be

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.