About Bobby Van's Steakhouse - DC

809 15th St., NW
Washington, DC 20005
View Larger Map

Bobby Van's Steakhouse has been named Top Steakhouse in the Washington Magazine and best Porterhouse in DC in the Washingtonian. Along with our Prime, dry-aged beef, we offer the freshest seafood and wonderful specials. Our wine list is a best of Award of Excellence by Wine Spectator.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Friday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Between H and I Sts.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(202) 589-0060

Website:
http://www.bobbyvans.com/

Public Transit:
McPherson Square Metro

Private Party Facilities:
Three private dining areas; three that can open up into one large room holding 95 persons seated; Minimum of twelve persons for a private room

Private Party Contact:
Management: 2025890060x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Filet Mignon
crabcake
Escargot
Ribeye Steak
Bread
Green beans
Petite Filet Mignon
Chicken Parmesan
Apple Tartlette
 Sweet Potato Fries
Crab Dip
Nachos
Chocolate Lava Cake
Waygu Hanger Steak
Dry-Aged NY Strip
Mac & Cheese W/ Prosciutto
Double-Cut Veal Chop
Bread & Butter
Harry's Salad
Prosciutto Mac N Cheese
Heirloom Tomatoes & Mozarella
New York Strip
Apple tart
Bobby Van's Crab Cake
Asparagus
Sweet Chili Calamari

Bobby Van's Steakhouse - DC Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (57)
Romantic (35)
Great for Outdoor Dining (33)
See All
Great for Lunch (31)
Fit for Foodies (29)
Notable Wine List (29)
Good for Groups (29)
Neighborhood Gem (18)
Business Meals (14)
Good for a Date (14)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Vibrant Bar Scene (10)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Hot Spot (9)
Comfort Food (6)
Cozy (6)
Late-night Find (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Bar Seating (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
People Watching (3)
Authentic (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Scenic View (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Healthy (1)
Family Style (1)
Private Room (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Fun (1)
Great Beer (1)
Historic (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1794 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I had the surf and turf which consisted ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 3 days ago

I had the surf and turf which consisted of a butterfly steak with lobster. Amazingly delicious.

Tags: Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were looking for somewhere to have a ...

 
 (London)
·Dined 4 days ago

We were looking for somewhere to have a late dinner close to our hotel, and chose Bobby Van's Steakhouse, initially planning on having a steak. Instead, I had oysters and my wife had shrimp and grits, both of which we enjoyed. Her main was the crabcake, while I had the fish of the day, which was salmon, grilled on a bed of pilau rice. Again, very enjoyable. Hardly the sort of fare expected in a steak house, but was really good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Salad was prepared waaay before being se ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 6 days ago

Salad was prepared waaay before being served as it was stone cold. Tomatoes should not be cold. Steak was close to rare when asked for medium- and it was cold. Very disappointed as I was hoping for a delicious experience. I'd only go back and hang in the bar as we've done before.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

The people who work there are fantastic. ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

The people who work there are fantastic. I happen to hear the table behind us...two young women who both lied ans said the waiter told them they could both use Groupons. They were clearly lying. The manager was so kind he talked to the women and ok'd both of them using Groupons even though it was quite clear they weren't supposed to. He treated them quite well even though everyone could hear/tell they were not telling the truth.

Everyone is treated royally there. Thanks BVs!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Fun, Great Beer, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Been many times - food was okay this tim ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Been many times - food was okay this time and if I had not been several times - i would not return, however being that i have had outstanding food before - I will return to hopefully have a better experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

The service is very good and I love the ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

The service is very good and I love the complimentary bread!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

What a delicious meal! I took my husband ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

What a delicious meal! I took my husband for his birthday and have nothing but excellent comments. We shared the Harries Salad, filet mignon, and the shrimp scampi. The portions are perfect for 2 people. The food is extraordinarily delicious. Our waiter, Rod, was courteous and very attentive. It is totally worth it!! Thank you Bobby Van's for making our evening very special!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place for team lunch.

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

Great place for team lunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Sat outside on a gorgeous day - enjoyed ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

Sat outside on a gorgeous day - enjoyed the tuna appetizer, the steak salad and chicken parm. Couldn't ask for a nicer meal on a nicer day. Fabulous all around.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have the special of the day which was ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

I have the special of the day which was blackened snapper over a seafood patella. Very tastey

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

I took my mom out to bobby v's and she h ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

I took my mom out to bobby v's and she has had ruth chris but i read reviews about it but i always judge by attending myself. My mom loved this place over her go to ruth chris decision for her bday. She said thanks to me and my brother for showing her a good time. She loved the selection from apps to the steak. She got the steak a perfect temperature and also had more than enough steak to be full. My brother and i had some steak and the tuna and oyster dish. Needless to say we felt pleased paying for excellent food and service for the price. Will visit again as i live and work in dc. It was a great find.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was great from the food to th ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Everything was great from the food to the waiter. I definitely will be going back soon

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, great service, overall good ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Great food, great service, overall good experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Great good only item not 5 star was the ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Great good only item not 5 star was the cake which we wanted more mousse less dryish cake (but still good) we absolutely loved aberlour scotch was on the menu - my husbands grandfather is from the village in Scotland it is made! Yay!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Thanks for the best mac & cheese. We wan ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Thanks for the best mac & cheese. We want that recipe

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Bobby Van's Steakhouse is a great place ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Bobby Van's Steakhouse is a great place to have a nice quiet to talk over the events of the day with a glass of wine and a great meal. I visit often and everything is always perfect.

Tags: Cozy, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Rod was excellent!

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Rod was excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great diner from start to finish. The s ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

Great diner from start to finish. The steak and seafood both were spot on. The wine list provided numerous quality options. The patio is a nice option for an after-diner coffee. A good environment for a business discussion.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waiter, Rod G. was excellent, he wa ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

Our waiter, Rod G. was excellent, he was personable, professional, sweet and knowledgeable. He made our dining experience wanting to return to the restaurant again.

Tags: Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Not everyone dining is using a Groupon. ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

Not everyone dining is using a Groupon. Inconsistent service, smaller than normal portions, burned food. And outside seating next to the squeaky door that opens and closes a million times made this a meal to forget. We were asked about the Groupon when we ask for the check. We didn't have one. Even if it's discounted no one deserves a rushed experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

The food was delicious. Perfectly cooked ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

The food was delicious. Perfectly cooked and presented. It was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Friend and I went during restaurant week ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Friend and I went during restaurant week to give the restaurant a try. For $35 p/p it was a great value but since the food was fairly bland I would only go back if it were during a promotional week such as RW. They were not actively promoting RW and when we sat down were only provided with a standard menu. We were promptly brought waters but then after that, multiple servers kept passing by without asking us if we wanted additional beverages or to start us off with anything (We never had one set server). Once we ordered additional beverages we inquired about the restaurant week menu and they then provided it to us. Overall, it was very nice to sit outside and enjoy the summer night while eating dinner but the food wasn't memorable and service was average.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

Went to Bobby Van's because I remember i ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Went to Bobby Van's because I remember it being delicious the only other time I ate there, about 12 years ago. We were able to get in with no advanced notice and were seated immediately. bread and butter were delicious. I had the lobster, it was OK, but nothing I would recommend to anyone. They provide slightly warm butter and didn't do anything to keep it hot, so I had to keep asking for fresh, warm butter. My coworker, ordered a baked potato, which was barely above room temperature, and wasn't even warm enough to melt butter. Lastly, a coworker had the steak, which was supposed to be medium, but turned out to be charred on the outside (Pittsburgh style was not requested, and this didn't look like Pittsburgh style) yet is was medium rare to rare in the center. I will not be returning my next visit to DC.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Ordered steak medium and it came rare. W ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Ordered steak medium and it came rare. Waiter argued that I should've sliced it before He left. Manager compensated but very disappointing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1
value2

Went for restaurant week, loved everythi ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Went for restaurant week, loved everything.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We went here for Restaurant Week. I was ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

We went here for Restaurant Week. I was surprised that they didn't pass out a restaurant week menu, we had to ask for it and were handed crumpled paper pre-fix menus. I have been to to other steakhouses during Restaurant Week and they always include the special menu inside the regular one and its usually a great value. I thought the service was, just ok. The food was just ok. The steak was burned and not especially good. My take: Go to Ruth's Chris.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

My wife and I decided to go to Bobby Van ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

My wife and I decided to go to Bobby Vans at the last minute and were pleased to get a reservation with open table. We started with a couple of drinks, finally a bartender that knows how to make classic drinks. We started with the seafood appetizer, which we always enjoy (lobster, shrimp and oysters). I had the steak, always well prepared and tender, my wife ventured over to the seafood and ordered Grouper. She said it was one of the best she has had (we normally only have grouper when we are on the gulf coast in Florida).

The service is always pleasant, helpful and unobtrusive.

Highly recommend for a nice dinner, we will return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was a nice evening. We looked at oth ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

It was a nice evening. We looked at other places but settled here because of the stars and were looking to an upscale evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

Though the service was good, and the foo ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Though the service was good, and the food initially tasted fine, I got an extreme case of food poisoning after dining here. I spent most of Saturday being so sick that I needed to go to the Emergency Room. I will not be recommending this restaurant or ever returning. It was an expensive meal and an even more expensive ER visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value2

Thanks to David - the manager, for using ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Thanks to David - the manager, for using my Restaurant Week/Groupon combo. I called in advanced to ask if I could use both (restaurant week special for me) and Groupon for my friend, and they said yes, as long as Groupon meal was ordered from the main menu. When it came time to pay the bill, they didn't want to honor it at first, but quickly honored both. Thanks much. The food and service were great.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

We went during Restaurant Week. Our se ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

We went during Restaurant Week. Our server was excellent. He was very courteous. The food came out quickly. It was delicious. We will definitely go back to try other items on the menu.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always great. Service and food. Amazing. ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Always great. Service and food. Amazing. Great for night out

Tags: Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent steak cooked to perfection.

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Excellent steak cooked to perfection.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I was excited to book Bobby Van's Steakh ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

I was excited to book Bobby Van's Steakhouse during restaurant week. When I got there the restaurant week menu was just OK. There was only one steak on the entree list for a Steakhouse. The only appetizers were a Caesar salad or the soap of the day, which happened to be tomato soup the day I went. That was very disappointing. The service was worst than the menu. I had to ask the waiter to bring us bread. After he took our order it took over 40 minutes for entree to come out. We saw the waiter more after the check did then throughout the entire dinner service. I had to continually call the waiter over instead of him consistently checking on us. This is the worst dinner service I have ever received during restaurant week. The food was good. The New York Cheesecake was great. No i can say I tried this restaurant but I will not be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

The staff is very attentive and polite. ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

The staff is very attentive and polite. Food is great the Thai chile calamari us my fav!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A friend and I went for restaurant week. ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

A friend and I went for restaurant week. We both had the filet mignon, cooked differently, but both steaks were tender and juicy. The food was excellent, the bread superb, and our waiter Nelson awesome. My friend told him what type of drink she wanted, and he brought her one not on the drink menu. She loved her French martini. I would definitely recommend this place and would go again if I visit DC again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The ambience was great and service very ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

The ambience was great and service very good; however, I was shocked by the high prices, given that it showed just two $$.. based on that, I was expecting slightly higher prices, but not outrageous. I would rate it much higher for price.. The food was good, but not outstanding, which is what I would have expected given the high price. And, I found the menu to be a bit limited; would have liked more options. All sides were extra.... and at high prices.

There are much better options in the area.. with lower prices yet, excellent food. They have priced themselves way out of the market for what they offer!! I would NOT recommend it nor will I return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

A friend and I were in Bobby Van's a cou ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

A friend and I were in Bobby Van's a couple of months ago (in May) and the service, although the young man was very respectful, was horrible. Everything we ordered was wrong. We finally had to accept some of the wrong items because time was scarce. This time, everything went right, to the point we told the manager how pleased we were with the service. I had told myself I wouldn't return there after the May fiasco, but it was my friend's birthday and she wanted to try again. I'm happy we gave Bobby Van's another chance; our server, Rod, was exemplary!

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent dining at a top quality steakh ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Excellent dining at a top quality steakhouse. We were visting Washington and Bobby Van's Steakhouse came highly recommended.The service was first class as well as the food. Well worth the visit and i will without doubt go again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great dining experience would definitely ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Great dining experience would definitely go again. Did not have much time there. But the staff was great food was awesome.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.