About Bobby Van's Steakhouse - DC

Bobby Van's Steakhouse has been named Top Steakhouse in the Washington Magazine and best Porterhouse in DC in the Washingtonian. Along with our Prime, dry-aged beef, we offer the freshest seafood and wonderful specials. Our wine list is a best of Award of Excellence by Wine Spectator.

809 15th St., NW
Washington, DC 20005
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Friday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Between H and I Sts.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(202) 589-0060

Website:
http://www.bobbyvans.com/

Public Transit:
McPherson Square Metro

Private Party Facilities:
Three private dining areas; three that can open up into one large room holding 95 persons seated; Minimum of twelve persons for a private room

Private Party Contact:
Management: (202) 589-0060

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Filet Mignon - Bobby Van's Steakhouse - DC, Washington, DC
crabcake - Bobby Van's Steakhouse - DC, Washington, DC
Escargot - Bobby Van's Steakhouse - DC, Washington, DC
Ribeye Steak - Bobby Van's Steakhouse - DC, Washington, DC
Bread - Bobby Van's Steakhouse - DC, Washington, DC
Green beans - Bobby Van's Steakhouse - DC, Washington, DC
Apple Tartlette - Bobby Van's Steakhouse - DC, Washington, DC
 Sweet Potato Fries - Bobby Van's Steakhouse - DC, Washington, DC
Crab Dip - Bobby Van's Steakhouse - DC, Washington, DC
Nachos - Bobby Van's Steakhouse - DC, Washington, DC
Chocolate Lava Cake - Bobby Van's Steakhouse - DC, Washington, DC
Waygu Hanger Steak - Bobby Van's Steakhouse - DC, Washington, DC
Dry-Aged NY Strip - Bobby Van's Steakhouse - DC, Washington, DC
Mac & Cheese W/ Prosciutto - Bobby Van's Steakhouse - DC, Washington, DC
Double-Cut Veal Chop - Bobby Van's Steakhouse - DC, Washington, DC
Bread & Butter - Bobby Van's Steakhouse - DC, Washington, DC
Harry's Salad - Bobby Van's Steakhouse - DC, Washington, DC
Prosciutto Mac N Cheese - Bobby Van's Steakhouse - DC, Washington, DC
Heirloom Tomatoes & Mozarella - Bobby Van's Steakhouse - DC, Washington, DC
New York Strip - Bobby Van's Steakhouse - DC, Washington, DC
Apple tart - Bobby Van's Steakhouse - DC, Washington, DC
Bobby Van's Crab Cake - Bobby Van's Steakhouse - DC, Washington, DC
Asparagus - Bobby Van's Steakhouse - DC, Washington, DC
Sweet Chili Calamari - Bobby Van's Steakhouse - DC, Washington, DC
Petite Filet Mignon - Bobby Van's Steakhouse - DC, Washington, DC
Chicken Parmesan - Bobby Van's Steakhouse - DC, Washington, DC

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Bobby Van's Steakhouse - DC Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.5

ambience

4.2

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (46)
Business Meals (39)
Special Occasion (37)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (31)
Romantic (30)
Quiet Conversation (28)
Good for Birthdays (23)
Good for Groups (21)
Cozy (15)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Great for Outdoor Dining (11)
Family Style (11)
Pre/post Theatre (11)
Authentic (10)
Happy Hour (9)
Notable Wine List (9)
Fun (9)
Great for Lunch (9)
Bar Seating (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
Historic (8)
Comfort Food (7)
Casual (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Private Room (6)
People Watching (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Quick Bite (3)
Scenic View (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Outstanding Value (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Great Beer (1)
Seasonal (1)
Healthy (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Vegan (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
2028 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Everything was amazing and they made me ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined 5 days ago

Everything was amazing and they made me feel special on my Birthday. I'm already planning to go back next month for Valentine's Day.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Superb. There's nothing negative to say ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 5 days ago

Superb. There's nothing negative to say about Bobby Van's. If you go, you won't regret it.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Casual, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dined at Bobby Van's Steakhouse - DC to ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 6 days ago

Dined at Bobby Van's Steakhouse - DC to celebrate my wife's 55th birthday. Everything I requested with the reservation was taken care of including a warm greeting from from maître d'hôtel. A great dinner and experience, we'll be back again.

Tags: Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our experience was excellent, from the f ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 6 days ago

Our experience was excellent, from the food, to the waiter (Rod), to the atmosphere. We enjoyed the salmon special and the filet, which was unreal!

Bravo!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Romantic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

solid restaurant with it's active gather ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 12, 2017

solid restaurant with it's active gather. Good food and service and a nice ambience. Won't win any Michelin stars, but it's not trying to.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food, great ambiance. Came here fo ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Great food, great ambiance. Came here for a date night with my wife, and was pleasantly surprised. The waiter was excellent and steak was amazing.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A high point of our trip to DC. I had t ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 6, 2017

A high point of our trip to DC. I had to compare many aspects of the trip to the services or accommodations in NYC. Up until the dinner we had found the DC area somewhat wanting in comparison. We used the same hotel chain and were not impressed at all with the staff or accommodation/infrastructure upkeep. We had eaten at Bobby Vans in New York. Although we found it nice it was not outstanding in ambiance or meal quality. The DC hotel was superb from beginning to end. We we greeted directly in a warm fashion. The wait staff was very attentive and always accommodating . The steaks were perfectly done, not all the common any more. The room was nicely lit and quiet. We never felt rushed or ignored. It was a great experience and a high point of our trip.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

The tuna special was magnificent, but I ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 5, 2017

The tuna special was magnificent, but I would recommend that you inquire about the price of the specials if you don't want to be suprised by how special it was.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Excellent food, superior service. I alw ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Excellent food, superior service. I always have lunch at Bobby Vans when guests are in town. They never disappoint. They are convenient and priced reasonably. Both lunch and dinner are easy choices for good food and friendly service. Five stars for me!

Tags: Good for Groups, Afternoon Coffee, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have eaten at this restaurant several ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 4, 2017

I have eaten at this restaurant several times. This time we had the most attentive, but not overbearing waiter. I had always ordered and loved the filet mignon in previous visits but decided to order the steamed lobster this time. I was disappointed. It wasn't warm and lacked flavor. I know that our waiter told the chef but nobody came out to talk with us. I will probably return and order the filet and hopefully get the same server.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

My second time here and just as wonderfu ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 3, 2017

My second time here and just as wonderful as the first time. A great dinner!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had recently eaten at another nice steak ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Had recently eaten at another nice steakhouse a week earlier and thought this was not as good. Alone, this is still a very good steakhouse. I tried the surf N turf which came with a petite filet minon and lobster. The steak was very good, simple seasoning, but the lobster was overcooked, tough and rubbery. I had to break open the claws myself and the body was simply split in half. I don't think I should have paid so much for lobster that wasn't ready to eat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The place is extremely expensive and foo ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 3, 2017

The place is extremely expensive and food is not great. We did the porte house steak. Great to go with a Groupon, not in a budget.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service4

The tuna tartare was delightful! We star ...

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on January 3, 2017

The tuna tartare was delightful! We started our meal that as an appetizer, then followed it up with a petite filet and the crab stuffed shrimp carbonara. Everything was absolutely delicious! Of course the steak was cooked to perfection and melted in your mouth. The carbonara was rick and creamy; the crab stuffed shrimp were exceptionally flavorful.

Tags: Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Always a nice meal. Food quality is grea ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Always a nice meal. Food quality is great! Kids aren't shunned or frowned on, but not a "kid" restaurant. Separate rooms for different customers. We go with and without kids and have a great time either way. Service is always top notch!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Private Room, Cozy, Modern Decor, Family Style, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Not good. It was not a great New Year's ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Not good. It was not a great New Year's Eve experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1

My girlfriend and I ate here for New Yea ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 31, 2016

My girlfriend and I ate here for New Year's Eve! Great choice! The service and food was outstanding.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We ordered the Porterhouse steak for 2 - ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 30, 2016

We ordered the Porterhouse steak for 2 -- EXCELLENT! -- and it was more than enough. Suggestion is to order the steak medium rare or even MRR as it will cook slightly as it is served on a hot place. The porterhouse was sliced to perfection and the server did an terrific job of plating a few slices to start. The portions of the shared sides - creamed spinach and mushrooms with onions - were just enough for 2. Overall Bobby Van's is a traditional, authentic steakhouse, designed for meat lovers with a warm ambiance suitable for a winter night out.

Tags: Private Room, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Wonderful place!!! Waiter was a little s ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Wonderful place!!! Waiter was a little standoffish...maybe he was having a tough day. Food was excellent though. WIll come back again.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Superb place for a business lunch! This ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Superb place for a business lunch! This is a lovely place for lunch - the food is delicious and not expensive.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A great STEAK and the lobster and oyster ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 29, 2016

A great STEAK and the lobster and oyster Rockefeller were good. I'm a very picky martini guy both came out identically delicious. Loved the cozy atmosphere and the staff amazing that of a fine dining establishment

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The waiter was extremely attentive to ou ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 28, 2016

The waiter was extremely attentive to our needs, but the food was not up to our expectations. We ate at 3:00, well after the lunch and prior to the dinner rush. My son's hamburger was undercooked and had to be sent back, and my husband's short ribs were more accurately described as a short rib. One.

Great service, though!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5

excellent service and fresh food. not my ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 28, 2016

excellent service and fresh food. not my favorite crab cake in the world but generally great food and drinks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Decided to take three family members who ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Decided to take three family members who are in town for the holidays out to lunch. Researched the Bobby Van's lunch menu and we all decided that it looked good. It had something for everyone. One Crab cake sandwich, two California Burgers, and one Classic Burger. All of the sandwiches/burgers came with French fries, onion rings, and a pickle. You could even have them customized ( bread and other toppings). They were all great and the prices were very reasonable. We all took home leftovers.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was excellent. Great French Oni ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 24, 2016

The food was excellent. Great French Onion Soup, Outstanding Steaks and Excellent Creamed Spinach. The service was wonderful as usual. I will continue to come back to Bobby Van's

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and wonderful service - a lit ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Great food and wonderful service - a little pricey, but Groupon helped.

Tags: Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Food was perfectly prepared and waiter w ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Food was perfectly prepared and waiter was attentive to our needs. The one negative is the waiter did not tell us about any specials but after we ordered our meal we overheard another waiter giving specials to another table. We will definitely return and recommend to others.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Felt and tasted like we we're eating at ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Felt and tasted like we we're eating at some chain/franchise restaurant. Especially when they served us what they called NY Cheesecake. What a joke.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Overall, our experience was not bad but ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Overall, our experience was not bad but it was just mediocre and certainly not worthy of the hefty price tag. Service, while professional, was inattentive and impersonal, which was disappointing especially considering the restaurant was not at all busy. The biggest letdown was the quality of the meat. The lamb loin chops and veal chop were cooked precisely to the proper temperature but both cuts were tough, lacked seasoning, and didn't have the outside crust normally found at highend steakhouses. On a positive note, the seafood tower appetizer was quite nice and the warm bread was tasty too. The sides (baked potato, Brussels sprouts, and mushrooms with onions) were all very good as was the bread pudding flambé.

The atmosphere is typical, old school American steakhouse with dark wood accents, linen tablecloths, and uniformed waitstaff. It would be a good place for a business dinner. They also have space for a private party in a side room enclosed by French doors.

Tags: Good for Groups, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Served very old beer. The beer expired t ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Served very old beer. The beer expired three months ago.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

Our waiter, Silbano, was terrific! Thank ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Our waiter, Silbano, was terrific! Thanks for the special birthday treat :) If you use a groupon you get more bang for your buck at half off! The fish of the day was delicious and so were the habanero potatoes, would def. recommend.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Unfortunately the portions were too larg ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Unfortunately the portions were too large. I would rather get half as much food for 3/4 of the price than leave half of it. Also my meat (petite filet) was tough and not cooked to specifications. I asked for medium well and got medium to medium rare.

The saving grace was that the wait staff was excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value2

I absolutely love coming to this restura ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 20, 2016

I absolutely love coming to this resturant. The service, ambiance and the food are the best, and the fact that I can use a Groupon to help cut expenses or give as gifts is significant for a resturant of this caliber. I have even dined her alone and I was treated and served just as well as I have been when dining with others. I will always recommend this resturant to others.

Tags: Hot Spot, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was delicious and the service was e ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Food was delicious and the service was even better. John the maître d is outstanding. The place is old-school in the best of ways and the atmosphere is such that you can actually carry on an audible conversation.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

The food is very good, expensive, but go ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 18, 2016

The food is very good, expensive, but good. Have to admit, that I only go there if I have a Groupon. But, I love taking guests to Bobby Van's...it's a true luxury, and a great way to show off DC's fine dining scent, and to let your guest know that you think they are pretty special as well!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The steak was good. Good old steak house ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 18, 2016

The steak was good. Good old steak house feel. Menu is generic outside of the normal steak dishes. Service is not the most attentive for this price point. We were left forgotten most of the time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

Our dinner was amazing! Rod, our server, ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Our dinner was amazing! Rod, our server, was friendly and helpful.

Tags: Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a great experience.

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Always a great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always reliable. Had a delicious hambur ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Always reliable. Had a delicious hamburger and my guest had a great grilled chicken salad. Lunch and back to the office in under an hour!

Tags: Business Meals, Bar Seating, Romantic, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

4 out of 10. Disappointing experience an ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 11, 2016

4 out of 10. Disappointing experience and grossly overpriced for $50+ entrees. Food was okay, not great. Salad was bitter. Steaks were grisly - both the Cowboy and the Filet, although cooked accurately. I've had better at Sweetwater Tavern, Mike's American, even Outback, etc., for about 1/2 of what I spent at Bobby Van's. Mashed potatoes were dry, not savory nor delicious. Shrimp Cocktail was far-below average in size and quality for the $20 (Old Ebbit has far better for about the same $). Crab was excellent - get this appetizer. Oysters Rockefeller was cold. Couldn't get a reservation on Open Table until after 9:00, and when we got there, there were easily 10-12 open tables...in other words go early. Feeling a bit misled as it appears the restaurant was trying to manage the flow of patrons going through the door throughout the evening. NOT the fine dining experience that I was hoping for. No dress code (for fine or even upscale dining, I expected more than t-shirts, flannel, ball caps and jeans). Springs from the bench leather were noticeable from the beginning... not particularly comfortable or relaxing with a wire getting your attention every time you moved in your seat. Waiter dropped food on the floor and the greeter expected us to step over the mess to get to our table - classy. Waiter told us the kitchen was closed so desserts would be limited - huh? This was probably an awesome restaurant, when Bobby was involved, but now that it's a conglomerate, the quality was lost. I probably won't be going back. If you want to wear jeans and have an "okay" steak that is overpriced, then go here. It was supposed to be a special occasion, but I soon realized the food and ambiance was just average.

Tags: Business Meals, Notable Wine List
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.