About Bobby Van's Steakhouse - DC

809 15th St., NW
Washington, DC 20005
View Larger Map

Bobby Van's Steakhouse has been named Top Steakhouse in the Washington Magazine and best Porterhouse in DC in the Washingtonian. Along with our Prime, dry-aged beef, we offer the freshest seafood and wonderful specials. Our wine list is a best of Award of Excellence by Wine Spectator.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Friday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Between H and I Sts.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(202) 589-0060

Website:
http://www.bobbyvans.com/

Public Transit:
McPherson Square Metro

Private Party Facilities:
Three private dining areas; three that can open up into one large room holding 95 persons seated; Minimum of twelve persons for a private room

Private Party Contact:
Management: 2025890060x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Filet Mignon - Bobby Van's Steakhouse - DC, Washington, DC
crabcake - Bobby Van's Steakhouse - DC, Washington, DC
Escargot - Bobby Van's Steakhouse - DC, Washington, DC
Ribeye Steak - Bobby Van's Steakhouse - DC, Washington, DC
Bread - Bobby Van's Steakhouse - DC, Washington, DC
Green beans - Bobby Van's Steakhouse - DC, Washington, DC
Petite Filet Mignon - Bobby Van's Steakhouse - DC, Washington, DC
Chicken Parmesan - Bobby Van's Steakhouse - DC, Washington, DC
Apple Tartlette - Bobby Van's Steakhouse - DC, Washington, DC
 Sweet Potato Fries - Bobby Van's Steakhouse - DC, Washington, DC
Crab Dip - Bobby Van's Steakhouse - DC, Washington, DC
Nachos - Bobby Van's Steakhouse - DC, Washington, DC
Chocolate Lava Cake - Bobby Van's Steakhouse - DC, Washington, DC
Waygu Hanger Steak - Bobby Van's Steakhouse - DC, Washington, DC
Dry-Aged NY Strip - Bobby Van's Steakhouse - DC, Washington, DC
Mac & Cheese W/ Prosciutto - Bobby Van's Steakhouse - DC, Washington, DC
Double-Cut Veal Chop - Bobby Van's Steakhouse - DC, Washington, DC
Bread & Butter - Bobby Van's Steakhouse - DC, Washington, DC
Harry's Salad - Bobby Van's Steakhouse - DC, Washington, DC
Prosciutto Mac N Cheese - Bobby Van's Steakhouse - DC, Washington, DC
Heirloom Tomatoes & Mozarella - Bobby Van's Steakhouse - DC, Washington, DC
New York Strip - Bobby Van's Steakhouse - DC, Washington, DC
Apple tart - Bobby Van's Steakhouse - DC, Washington, DC
Bobby Van's Crab Cake - Bobby Van's Steakhouse - DC, Washington, DC
Asparagus - Bobby Van's Steakhouse - DC, Washington, DC
Sweet Chili Calamari - Bobby Van's Steakhouse - DC, Washington, DC

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Bobby Van's Steakhouse - DC Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (42)
Good for a Date (36)
Business Meals (35)
See All
Romantic (33)
Good for Anniversaries (31)
Good for Groups (24)
Quiet Conversation (23)
Great for Outdoor Dining (21)
Good for Birthdays (20)
Great for Lunch (19)
Fit for Foodies (16)
Notable Wine List (13)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Cozy (11)
Authentic (9)
Comfort Food (9)
Bar Seating (8)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Happy Hour (7)
Family Style (7)
People Watching (7)
Fun (7)
Worth the Drive (7)
Historic (6)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Casual (5)
Hot Spot (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Private Room (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Great Beer (2)
Scenic View (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Healthy (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Sort By:
S
1857 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

From the greeting at the door, to the wa ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 2 days ago

From the greeting at the door, to the wait staff, to the food, it was all excellent. Thoroughly enjoyed my deal as did my guests.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Dated, faded, and below average food.... ...

vip
 (London)·Dined 2 days ago

Dated, faded, and below average food.... especially for the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1

Food wasn't the greatest. Their in house ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Food wasn't the greatest. Their in house steak sauce was like cocktail sauce.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

I called them a few minutes before my re ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 2, 2016

I called them a few minutes before my reservation to let them know I was stuck in DC traffic. They were fantastic and very accommodating. I live going there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A great place for girls night out. We a ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 1, 2016

A great place for girls night out. We always share an appetizer, salad and an entre. Good size portions. I always take something home for the next day.

Tags: Family Style, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mid filet was burned outside and overcoo ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 30, 2016

Mid filet was burned outside and overcooked. Side dash was average. Service was good and environment is average.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

The steaks were not delicious that night ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 26, 2016

The steaks were not delicious that night and were considered to be highly overrated in flavor and tenderness. The price was what was to be expected if the steaks mathched the taste, flavor and tenderness of the steaks at other high class steak restaurants. My guest and I were very disappointed. When we came into the Restaurant, we thought that from the appearance of the decor, that surely that this was going to be a great and memomorable experience. However, we were very disappointed once we tasted the steaks (filot mignon and rib eye) that were not only lacking in tenderness but also in taste.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

Great place. Great service. A repeat v ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Great place. Great service. A repeat visit with our two children. After Thanksgiving DC outing.

Tags: Authentic, Family Style, Cozy, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food and Excellent service

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Excellent food and Excellent service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had an excellent dinner to celebrate ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 20, 2016

We had an excellent dinner to celebrate our friend's birthday, and it was everything we could have asked for. They were incredibly accommodating to our group, and treated us to a lovely evening. We will certainly return!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Fantastic food and service. My husband a ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Fantastic food and service. My husband and I went to DC for our anniversary and decided to give this restaurant a try. So glad we did!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Rod, our server, was excellent. The Fre ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Rod, our server, was excellent. The French onion soup was the best.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

This place is amazing. The servers, ambi ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 18, 2016

This place is amazing. The servers, ambiance, decor and food are top-notch.

It helps a lot when you use the deal on Groupon....which also adds to the appeal of this world-class restaurant since they know they will attract more business by making more dining options available to a wider customer base. I'll be back soon:)

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My server was excellent and very attenti ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 17, 2016

My server was excellent and very attentive. Our Porter was amazing and cooked very well.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Family Style, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Romantic, Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was fantastic and the service w ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 15, 2016

The food was fantastic and the service was outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great wait staff! Food served promptly. ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Great wait staff! Food served promptly. Mr Jonathan Langle very attentive.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I believe I chose the wrong dish. Short ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 14, 2016

I believe I chose the wrong dish.

Short ribs. Came only with fat...

Couldnt eat!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

Great steak Adequate service Nothing to ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Great steak

Adequate service

Nothing to write home about

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3

Good food, Great service, very sensitve ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Good food, Great service, very sensitve to varios dietary requirements... but the room was freezing, and the waiter said that noting can be done...

Tags: Fun, Business Meals, Gluten Free Options, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Our server Rodney is the BEST! He is pr ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Our server Rodney is the BEST! He is professional yet personable. Always is very attentive! On Saturday a little girl celebrated her 13th birthday and he surprised her with dessert that had candles lit.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Overpriced and the food was just okay. T ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Overpriced and the food was just okay. The steaks over cooked, the seafood tower had mostly ice and the asparagus were not trimmed. The service was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

If you want a good steak, i definitely r ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 10, 2016

If you want a good steak, i definitely recommend. Our meal on this particular visit was quite good. Steaks perfectly seasoned and prepared. Service still leaves something to be desired but overall everything was good.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Fantastic. We were seated promptly in a ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Fantastic. We were seated promptly in a cozy booth. The maitre'd recommended the porterhouse for two since we're both steak fans. Man was he right on with that recommendation. Basically it's a huge slab of meat consisting of two cuts: NY Strip and Filet, cooked on the bone. We ordered it medium rare. Both the presentation and the taste were spectacular, and it was the correct temperature. Our appetizer (calamari) and dessert (bread pudding) were also right on point.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The service was outstanding. My water an ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 8, 2016

The service was outstanding. My water and wine glasses were never empty. The steak and french onion soup were outstanding. My side, aspargus, left something to be desired. I dined at Ruth's Chris just the week prior and the aspargus there was also lacking so perhaps it's just not the right season for asparagus. This is a great, high end steakhouse.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Always our go to for steak!!!! Great se ...

vip
 (Mobile)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Always our go to for steak!!!! Great service from Rodney as always.

Thanks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sitting outside on a nice fall evening. ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Sitting outside on a nice fall evening. Drinking a Seabreeze to bid summertime cocktails a 'see you soon' goodbye. Presented with a perfectly - charred medium rare bone-in ribeye that covers the plate along with creamy mashed potatoes with a nice garlic floavor and a dish full off mushrooms and carmelized onions by servers who are attentive and friendly. Life is good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Celebrated an anniversary here. Steaks a ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on November 1, 2016

Celebrated an anniversary here. Steaks are large so one of us ordered the crab cakes and the other ordered steak and we shared a bit of surf and turf. Food always good here.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Hostess allowed my client to stand outsi ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 1, 2016

Hostess allowed my client to stand outside for 10 minutes when we were in the restaurant. She should have directed her to us, as we had a reservation, and she knew we were there. It was embarrassing and a waste of time for the client, who was annoyed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Good place to go for lunch. I had the bl ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 1, 2016

Good place to go for lunch. I had the blacked catfish ettoufee. It delicious. The bread is wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The wait staff are always excellent

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 30, 2016

The wait staff are always excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The service and the food was excellent! ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 29, 2016

The service and the food was excellent! Highly recommended and excellent value!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Attentive service. Rib eye steak was med ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Attentive service. Rib eye steak was mediocre, at best.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5

You get what you expect. Good quality fo ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 24, 2016

You get what you expect. Good quality food served by attentive staff at a premium price.

Tags: Good for Groups, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Mike pours a wonderful martini and makes ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 24, 2016

Mike pours a wonderful martini and makes great suggestions. It always feels comfortable when I come here. Greeted by John and attentive service, this is a consistent choice for a good experience. However, I made multiple reference before my guest arrived and while we dined,that it was her birthday. However, no special recognition or acknowledgement was ever made.... not even when encouraged to order dessert... I paid .... no candle, no song no complimentary anything even well wishes.... not usual for BV's... maybe just an off night...

Will always return anyway.

Tags: Modern Decor, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Historic, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Not up to its old standards... steak was ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Not up to its old standards... steak was "OK" at best.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

This is a fairly typical upscale steakho ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on October 22, 2016

This is a fairly typical upscale steakhouse. Service was great, though, and drinks were generous. One if the best steaks I've ever had. Portions were enormous, and our waiter was kind enough to triple wrap our leftovers so we could fly home with them the next day

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful environment and great food... ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Wonderful environment and great food...

First time there and can't wait to go back...

Only thing I don't like is having to pay for valet parking but that may be the norm in the area being that I am from down south.

Go if you haven't been!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Quick Bite, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Happy Hour, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had lunch at Bobby Vans - we each had ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on October 21, 2016

We had lunch at Bobby Vans - we each had burgers plus an appetizer of a crab cake, which was delicious. My burger was okay; my wife especially liked her burger. We would go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The place looks nice, quiet romantic bu ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 20, 2016

The place looks nice, quiet romantic but the food is very overpriced for what you get and not that tasty. Mediocre at best

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value1

Always a favorite for date night or othe ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Always a favorite for date night or other special occasions.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.