Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.28mi
  2. Distance: 0.47mi
  3. Distance: 0.49mi
  4. Distance: 0.50mi
  1. Distance: 0.28mi
  2. Distance: 0.47mi
  3. Distance: 0.49mi
  4. Distance: 0.50mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.28mi
  2. Distance: 0.47mi
  3. Distance: 0.49mi
  4. Distance: 0.50mi
  1. Distance: 0.28mi
  2. Distance: 0.47mi
  3. Distance: 0.49mi
  4. Distance: 0.50mi

About BO-beau kitchen + garden

BO beau kitchen + garden is located in the Village of La Mesa. BO beau offers Sophisticated Comfort Food with Global Inspirations. We have 24 Beers on tap, a worldly wine list and a full bar with eclectic cocktails.

8384 La Mesa Blvd
La Mesa, CA 91942-9218
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary French / American, Global, International

Hours of Operation:
Dinner


Tuesday - Wednesday: 4:30pm - 9:00pm;
Friday & Saturday: 4:30pm - 10:00pm;
Sunday: Brunch 10:30am- 1:30pm
Bar menu 1:30pm- 4:30pm
Dinner 4:30pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Spring Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(619) 337-3445

Website:
http://www.cohnrestaurants.com/bobeaukitchengarden

Parking Details:
Park on the street there are meters or in the lot behind us on Allison Street OR in the residential areas around us.

Executive Chef:
Tyler Shipton

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Ask about our special Valentines day menu!

BO-beau kitchen + garden Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (37)
Great for Outdoor Dining (36)
Good for a Date (29)
See All
Casual (27)
Good for Birthdays (24)
Fit for Foodies (24)
Comfort Food (19)
Creative Cuisine (18)
Good for Groups (17)
Fun (16)
Special Occasion (15)
Kid-friendly (14)
Good for Anniversaries (14)
Modern Decor (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Romantic (11)
Happy Hour (10)
Healthy (10)
Cozy (9)
Worth the Drive (9)
Great for Brunch (8)
Notable Wine List (8)
Family Style (8)
Authentic (7)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Bar Seating (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Business Meals (7)
Seasonal (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Disabled Access (5)
Great Beer (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
People Watching (5)
Tasting Menu (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Fireplace (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Tapas (2)
Private Room (2)
Organic (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Vegan (2)
Scenic View (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Sort By:
S
741 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined 3 days ago

The four of us dined on a Sunday evening around 7:30 and had the patio seating almost to ourselves. It was a lovely San Diego quiet Evening in the garden. Two of us had the skirt steak that was excellent, one had the Mussels and really enjoyed them and the last diner, the salmon which was superb. The menu is not necessarily a foodie menu but the plates we had were really quite good.

The service was good and the front desk folks were really friendly. Overall we had a lovely experience at BO-beau kitchen + garden.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 3 days ago

Casual urban atmosphere, a bit pricey. $10 for a very skinny bloody Mary .

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 4 days ago

My first time here. Love the ambiance. Food and service were also solid. Fish of the day was yellowtail and cooked to perfection.

Odd thing was that open table made it seem like the place would be packed based on limited reservation slots open. However when I got there it was 60 percent full the whole time. Maybe they didn't have enough staff? I would call the restaurant if OpenTable is booked out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined 5 days ago

We are big CRG fans and Bo Beau's has fun outside casual dining with nice choice of food and drink.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Great Beer, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 17, 2017

I wish there had been music in the patio. Either a band for watching or DJ for jazzy background music. The patio is big enough, so why not right?

Tags: Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Great for Outdoor Dining, Modern Decor, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 14, 2017

This is my second experience. Brussels sprouts were fantastic but the overall food quality, wait time, and customer service I experienced is not worth the price nor the visit. The outdoor seating is pleasant but I do not recommend this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Went to Bo-Beaus for Mother's Day brunch. Menu was limited with very few egg options. Took 5 minutes after being seated for anyone to come to our table. Our food was okay. Nothing exceptional. Heard a lot of I am sorries from wait staff for slow meal delivery to wrong dishes delivered to incorrectly cooked food. Not planning a return visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We were 5-minutes late and the front desk cancelled our reservation in Open Table. When I arrived at 7:50pm for a 7:45pm reservation, they had no clue who I was....that type of business behaviour is unacceptable!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 13, 2017

The food is great, especially the Brussels sprouts.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Loved it! I had forgotten we'd been there before years ago with my sister but I'll blame that on pregnancy brain. All the food we ordered was delicious!!! I seriously "licked" ever plate clean. A must order are the Brussels sprouts!!! I ordered the beet salad and grilled salmon & my hubby ordered their beef bourgignon (sp?) but they were both excellent and so were our drinks!!! I thought the atmosphere was lovely and was a bit worried about the seating being outside, but it's San Diego and it was perfect. It wasn't too cold at all. We will definitely head back there again on future date nights.

Tags: Romantic, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Family Style, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 13, 2017

One of our favorite spots for birthdays and other occasions!

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 13, 2017

The main dish was mouthwatering; however, the side dishes could use some help.

Tags: Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Food was great! The tables to both sides of us were really too close. Definitely would ask for different seating next time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on May 12, 2017

This was a second visit and sadly disappointing. First time was fabulous...this time all three meals were mediocre. I had to send my steak back to the kitchen twice as it was too rare, then I settled for over cooked. The brussel sprout appetizer is fabulous, yet we won't be going back. Too pricey for mediocre and overpriced wine/cocktails.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 6, 2017

While dining outside was a tad on the cool side it offered a quiet place to hold a decent conversation. We totally enjoyed the "famous" Brussel sprouts for an appetizer and all thought our entrée was the best. Our selections ranged from stew to steak and tacos. Our waitress was efficient, friendly and courteous.

Tags: Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Handcrafted Cocktails, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Fireplace, Quick Bite, Healthy, Disabled Access, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 4, 2017

I love this restaurant. Food is great, service is great and I really enjoy the environment inside and out.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Casual, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 3, 2017

I've been twice in a week but had to order the same vegetarian meal both times as there's only the one option. It's very good but a little choice would be nice. Great fries and Brussels sprouts without bacon.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Disabled Access, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Casual, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Healthy, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Another fantastic evening at Bo-Beau. The service was a little slow this time around. Waitress could have been more attentive.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Romantic, Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Vanessa was our waitress and she was AWESOME! Food of course was delicious as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Great vegan option. We enjoyed our drinks and food. Waitperson was great.

Tags: Vegan, Great for Outdoor Dining, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Came here on vacation with my wife and 3 children. Food was very good, ate outside and appreciated the heaters and blankets. Brussel sprout appetizer was huge and we couldn't possibly eat it all. I had the paprika chicken and it was fantastic. Kids checked out the bus, but their reaction was that it was kind of gross. It could stand to be vacuumed or mopped. Overall a good night!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 23, 2017

The food was pretty good. The Brussels sprouts were amazing, however I wish the server would have told us how big an order was and we wouldn't have ordered two for our party of four. My husband's mussels in a curry sauce tasted wonderful. My steak was just okay.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Warm, friendly, attentive staff. Atmosphere was delightful! Food was delish!

Tags: Fireplace, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 22, 2017

This restaurant and service we're great but the food was flavorless.

Doug Hele

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 16, 2017

The restaurant was very nice. I tried the chicken and waffles. The portions were perfect. Just enough to get you full, the chicken pieces however were overdone making them dry and the waffles were so hard they felt like bricks ! The waitress was kind to bring some new waffles. My husband and son enjoyed their food, that's why I didn't give the food a lower score.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Had Easter Brunch here on Sunday. We ate on the patio, a beautiful setting & the weather was perfect. They had a special menu that was very good. I had the chicken sandwich and they accommodated my diet restriction of no dairy. Service was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Nice experience. Early for reservation and sat immediately. We were seated in between two larger tables which was only a problem because half of the restaurant was empty. Good food and a nice place to go.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 13, 2017

BO-Beau always treats and feeds us wonderfully well. The manager, Michelle, is peerless and her staff always great. Reliably fine food in a nice environment.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Healthy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 10, 2017

$10 for a 3 ounce glass of wine served in a cup. Felt like drinking out of a hotel bathroom cup that you have to use if you don't a real wine glass.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Brussel Sprouts and Jalapeno Deviled Eggs are amazing!! Fish and Chips special was good, but the sauce was a little salty. All of the flatbreads were great too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Flatbread was a little undercooked for us Brussels sprouts were excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 8, 2017

We did the Springtime in Paris special. It was very good and fun.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Good vegan entree, fine chardonnay. Attentive waitstaff. Convenient La Mesa location and pretty garden dining.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 2, 2017

We have been going here for years, and with a few exceptions, the food has been good. One problem, we like something and soon it is off the menu. Maybe there has been lots of chef changes. The other recent problem is, the menu has become over-priced. Main courses, appetizers etc are way up. It now costs $30. for two soups and two beers! Add the cost of entrees and you are talking $75-80 without tip! Too much for what you get. The service is always good, though.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Great waitress, delicious food, fun atmosphere. Who needs more!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Very good food with one possible caveat. The brussel sprouts as an appetizer were amazing, as is mentioned in many reviews. We were able to order it with the meat on the side as we had two vegetarian members. The waitress was pleasant, but perhaps overworked. The attention wasn't too prompt- one of our dinners had to wait a fairly long time for her tabasco sauce, which was initially doled out in a very small dose. However, the waitress made good recommendations as to food and wine. Two diners had the salads, which were good if unremarkable. Another diner ordered the flatbread pizza, which looked delicious. I ordered the Mussels and Fries in curry sauce, which was an incredible dish. Hours later, I was sick. Not sure if it was the curry or the mussels- or perhaps a reaction to the one glass of cocktails that I had. I've never had mussels before so your experience may be better!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 25, 2017

We went to BO-Beau for our anniversary and it was fabulous! The food was stellar - the brussel sprouts are to die for - and the ambiance was great. When it got chilly, the server brought out a blanket so I stayed warm throughout dinner. We had a fabulous evening! And the downtown La Mesa area is great to wander around before or after a meal.

Tags: Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 24, 2017

My Husband and I were in need of a date nite and this restaurant was perfect...the ambiance, the service, the food was spectacular!!! We will definitely come back!!!

Tags: Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Love it my favorite place!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Best Brussel sprouts!! Love the patio. One our favorite local spots.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Casual, Fireplace, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Kid-friendly, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.