About BO-beau kitchen + garden

8384 La Mesa Blvd
La Mesa, CA 91942-9218
View Larger Map

BO beau kitchen + garden is located in the Village of La Mesa. BO beau offers Sophisticated Comfort Food with Global Inspirations. We have 24 Beers on tap, a worldly wine list and a full bar with eclectic cocktails.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary French / American, Global, International

Hours of Operation:
Dinner


Tuesday - Wednesday: 4:30pm - 9:00pm;
Friday & Saturday: 4:30pm - 10:00pm;
Sunday: Brunch 10:30am- 1:30pm
Bar menu 1:30pm- 4:30pm
Dinner 4:30pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Spring Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(619) 337-3445

Website:
http://www.cohnrestaurants.com/bobeaukitchengarden

Parking Details:
Park on the street there are meters or in the lot behind us on Allison Street OR in the residential areas around us.

Executive Chef:
Tyler Shipton

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Ask about our special Valentines day menu!

Restaurant Photos

  • BO-beau kitchen + garden
  • BO-beau kitchen + garden
  • BO-beau kitchen + garden
  • BO-beau kitchen + garden
BO-beau kitchen + garden
BO-beau kitchen + garden
BO-beau kitchen + garden
BO-beau kitchen + garden

BO-beau kitchen + garden Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.2

ambience

4.2

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
East County
Best Restaurants in La Mesa ›

neighborhood gem (80)
great for outdoor dining (69)
fit for foodies (67)
See All
good for groups (49)
special occasion (40)
kid-friendly (32)
great for brunch (28)
romantic (26)
great for lunch (19)
hot spot (16)
notable wine list (13)
late-night find (10)
vibrant bar scene (9)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
549 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

This location was not great, the staff f ...

Dined 3 days ago

This location was not great, the staff from the bartender to the hostess all dropped the ball. The bartender seemed interrupted to take our order. The hostess offered to bring our appetizer from the bar to our table simply left and our appetizer was cleared. Definitely will not be back to this location again. The topper was a couple brought a dog to the patio area who rummaged under our table while we thought about getting desert. We will not be back thank you

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I initially wanted to have some duck con ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

I initially wanted to have some duck confit but didn't see it on the menu that was provided. We went here for Father's Day for my hubby. He ordered the short-rib hash with gravy, I had the Royale Burger and we shared the brussels sprouts and deviled eggs for appetizers. EVERYTHING was delicious!!! If I did have to point out ONE thing, it would only be that the fries needs to be eaten IMMEDIATELY, it isn't too great once it gets cold but everything was nothing short of amazing. I cannot wait to come back and try something else. Another thing I wanted to mention is the staff is super friendly and the service was SUPERB!!!!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

I was sadly disappointed in this place. ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

I was sadly disappointed in this place. It is expensive and the food is just OK, the service was bad to mediocre. We started by ordering appetizers, when they arrived we asked the server for more place settings, there were only four for six people. The server just looked at us and asked if we wanted extra. We pointed out that we didn't have enough. After staring at our appetizer for a a while we realized he wasn't coming back and grabbed some from another table. A bit later he came back with the other appetizer but no plates. The food had little flavor and the presentation was kind of plain. And did I mention how expensive it was? I had really high expectations for a Cohn restaurant.

food2
ambience3
service5
value2

Service quite good.Food was only fair. B ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Service quite good.Food was only fair. Brussels sprouts were burnt,overlooked and not overly tasty. Main dishes were disappointing. Too expensive for the value.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Consistent, friendly service and good fo ...

vip
Dined on June 17, 2016

Consistent, friendly service and good food. We had four different entrees and all were good.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Great place to eat !!! Fabulous brussel ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Great place to eat !!! Fabulous brussel sprouts !!!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Service was great and the décor and loca ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Service was great and the décor and location were perfect. Food was good, not as great as I had been told and heard from others. Still very good and would go back.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Consistently Mediocre

vip
Dined on June 11, 2016

The food is consistently mediocre here, much like the rest of the Cohn Group of restaurants. Nothing is ever sensational, and nothing is disgracefully bad--usually just so-so. My $22.00 chicken was three small bits of thigh meat--and I mean small--and a lump of bland vegetables, mostly lima beans. The French onion soup was okay, but there was no depth of flavor in the broth. I really want to like this place, since it is the only somewhat upscale restaurant in the La Mesa Village, but it just doesn't make the grade.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4

Fantastic spot. Service wason point.

Dined on June 11, 2016

Fantastic spot. Service wason point.

food2
ambience4
service2
value2

About half the dishes were good, half me ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

About half the dishes were good, half mediocre. Server was not very knowledgeable about tap list, but okay with wine list. Service wasn't very attentive. I've been here several times when family visits or for a nicer family friendly venue, but will try elsewhere next time.

Tags: kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

Not impressed

Dined on June 10, 2016

The reservation was made for our 32 wedding anniversary. We arrived and were seated, nothing from them was mentioned about why we were there. The seats were very uncomfortable, hard metal. The food was not good. My soup was very salty. The food quality was nothing to speak of. Our bill arrived , it totaled $70.00 and some change. I have been to many others of this family chain and this one left us very disappointed. We did not feel special and the food let us down big time. I had to sit on my sweater so my legs were not left with metal imprints. We were shocked!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent in every way!

Dined on June 9, 2016

The food was varied and delicious; the service was exemplary (and we stayed well after finishing our meals), and the ambiance was warm and welcoming. Definitely a keeper!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

What's happened to BO-Beau's Kitchen?

Dined on June 9, 2016

I've enjoyed dining here before, but this time the food was mediocre and the service unremarkable. I did enjoy the $12 glass of wine.

food4
ambience5
service5

Food & beverages were excellent! Took a ...

Dined on June 5, 2016

Food & beverages were excellent! Took a while to get our food. The very nice server brought extra muffins & bread since the food took so long. Others in our group love BO-beau & said that was unusual to take so long for the food. I will absolutely go back.

food3
ambience3
service3
value2

The first time we went to Bo Beaus, I loved it.

Dined on June 5, 2016

Since, the quality had dropped and now I think is so overpriced. 1. I love the hamburger because of the pork belly, but this time you could bearly find and taste the pork belly, it was so thin. Two of us had coffee and one of us had a drink. The coffee was served very hot and perfect, however, the waitress was sure to ask if my husband wanted a 2nd drink, which is got, but never ever asked us we we wanted a refill of our coffee!!!!!!! Personally, I have been there four times, but I do not plan to return. Just to high priced.....and since I have room left here, I took my husband there for the Valentine Dinner, and it was the most disappointing dinner for the price we paid.

food4
ambience5
service5

Nice place. I don't go out much. But th ...

Dined on June 4, 2016

Nice place. I don't go out much. But this kitchen made me very happy. Good job to the staff. Keep up the good work.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Friends recommended it and I absolutely ...

Dined on June 2, 2016

Friends recommended it and I absolutely loved the place. Not your everyday mundane food. Don't be afraid to try the Brussel sprouts. I hate them but was told to try them. I loved them!

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

delicious!!

Dined on May 30, 2016

This was our second time here and once again Bo-Beau's wowed us! I tried different menu items this time and was not disappointed. The server was friendly and patient. He made multiple trips to allow us to sample beers. Once we were satisfied with our choices, he was very informative about the menu items. I had the onion soup, which was amazing! We shared Brussel sprouts again, which I loved. I had the burger Royal , which was tender and flavorful. And the best part was the berry bread pudding... Mmmmmmm! We were celebrating my husbands birthday and he was very pleased with his special dinner. Our friends that we introduced Bo-Beau's to were also very impressed. We will absolutely be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food1
ambience4
service3
value3

Very disappointed

Dined on May 30, 2016

We have eaten at Bo-beau before and we will probably not return. We had a party of five and four of us ordered the Halibut. It was overcooked in all cases, the string beans were over salted, the cauliflower was tasteless. The salmon dish ordered by the fifth person in our party was o.k. but the polenta was like glue. It will be a while before we consider this restaurant if we ever do again. Not even close to gourmet. Sloppy, careless cooking. Shame!!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have visited both BO-beau locations o ...

vip
Dined on May 29, 2016

We have visited both BO-beau locations on several occasions and have always been very pleased with our experience. I felt compelled to write a review because our experience last night at the La Mesa location surpassed our expectations as a result of one factor - - - our server, Steven. Steven was incredibly attentive, friendly and helpful. He went out of his way to make my daughter's birthday special. He knew everyones' names and he expertly anticipated our every need. We really were blown away by his outstanding customer service. I will make it a point to request him every time we visit BO-beau! Thanks Steven for making it such a fun and memorable evening!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service2

This place looks great, but otherwise do ...

Dined on May 28, 2016

This place looks great, but otherwise doesn't stand out, esp for the price. Wait staff are below casual, our server was over-familiar and made numerous errors, worked hard to make it up to us. Mushroom soup was great, muscles were good. Wine good. Non-alc cocktails okay. Halibut was dry, but veggies with it were good. Margherita pizza was tasty, but very wet. Every time I'm with a group that picks this restaurant, I'm always hoping we could go somewhere else instead where we can get way more bang for the buck ($200 for 5 ppl, pre- gratuity). It's not a bad place, it's just too expensive for the food/experience .

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Bistro dining at its best

Dined on May 27, 2016

Our entire dining experience at Bo-Beau was delightful. Our waiter was excellent, his suggestions much appreciated. The Caesar salad with egg, anchovies and a bright vinaigrette was delicious. Both of our entrees were likewise well prepared and very tasty, my wife having the pistachio-crusted salmon and I the braised short ribs with Pappardelle. The after-dinner Irish coffee couldn't have been a better close to this enjoyable dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Great ambiance

Dined on May 22, 2016

Went for a date night. Great decor and ambiance. Food is okay. Steak was pricey and lacked flavor. Other reviews, as well as the waiter, raved about the brussel sprouts but they weren't that great. Overall, it was just okay.

Tags: good for groups, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food1
ambience5
service4
value3

not the best

Dined on May 22, 2016

Brussels sprouts was awesome, but the dinner was not very good the fish was very dry too salty and fried

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4

The brussel sprouts are sooo good. I had ...

vip
Dined on May 22, 2016

The brussel sprouts are sooo good. I had the short ribs & my husband had the burger. Both were very tasty. We had a flourless chocolate cake & a seasonal fruit tart & both were perfect. Our server wasn't bad. We've had better, but nothing to complain about. The patio is beautiful & lots of people brought their dogs. I enjoy dogs, but if you're uncomfortable with them you might not like it because many of the tables are close together.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Bo Beau always has great service especia ...

vip
Dined on May 19, 2016

Bo Beau always has great service especially Vasilios, our favorite bartender as well as a wonderful owner in Michelle. Thanks!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Yummy yummy

Dined on May 18, 2016

I can't say enough about the amazing food. Brussels sprouts are the best around and the salmon was perfection!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The garden seating was perfect! It kept ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

The garden seating was perfect! It kept the noise level low and the heaters were perfect for the time of day. The food was delicious and the service outstanding.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My family came to celebrate a birthday. ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

My family came to celebrate a birthday. I made a reservation online and we were immediately seated, the table had already been set for our large party. I thought that was very nice. Our waiter, Aiden, was very nice and helpful. He explained very well, the ingredients in some of the dishes although He did forget to bring an order of water and wine but he was nearby and was very gracious at the reminder. The burger royal I thought was good, and the chocolate stout was also good, although the volume of beer was smaller than I am used to but, the service was excellent. I will come back. Thank you

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

So so.

Dined on May 5, 2016

Nice, fun atmosphere. Food was very so so. I had Provence mussels, little flavor, frites very ordinary. My wife has flat iron steak, not much flavor either. Server was friendly, but we had to wave folks down to get a napkin and silverware after the food had come, as well as to get more water to drink. Maybe staff was starched too thin? Disappointing dinner.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Beautiful neighborhood gem

Dined on May 4, 2016

I'm not from La Mesa so I didn't know about the little downtown district they have there, but visiting this restaurant was a great way to top off my exploration of it. Food and ambiance were great and contrast the hustle-and-bustle of other popular hotspots in the San Diego area. This area was quiet and intimate, and is definitely worth the visit if you're looking for a nice place with good food where you don't have to yell over the ambient noise to be heard.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service4

We started with the Brussels oh my they ...

vip
Dined on April 30, 2016

We started with the Brussels oh my they were so crunchy and flavored beautifully. I started with the escargot and mushrooms wow were they delicious. You can't go wrong with anything on this menu. I found the choices to be a good variety.

food3
ambience4
service1

We have dined here several times. On th ...

Dined on April 28, 2016

We have dined here several times. On this occasion, my husband's birthday, the service was awful: insufficient number of table settings, food came out before drinks, no drink refills or offer of another beverage, forgotten order, wrong orders, some food didn't come out until others had finished their meal, etc. Apparently, we had a new waiter and although he took responsibility for his numerous mistakes, communication between wait staff and management was poor. The manager was requested and she made an attempt to improve matters, however,our dining experience had already been ruined.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My friend and I had a great experience, ...

Dined on April 27, 2016

My friend and I had a great experience, the food was delicious and I want to thank you the server (French server) who was amazing!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Good food and enjoyable atmosphere. My w ...

vip
Dined on April 22, 2016

Good food and enjoyable atmosphere. My wife enjoyed her salmon entree. However my steak fritte was too thick. The fries and green beans were excellent. The steak--not so much.

Tags: kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent As Always

Dined on April 15, 2016

Love the food and the service was excellent. The wrong appetizer came out but the waitress handled it immediately and without any fuss. We love it here and will be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

A wonderful surprise

Dined on April 11, 2016

This was the first time at the restaurant for the six of us. We all loved it! The food was fresh and delicious and there was something on the menu for all six diverse diners. We will definitely return.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5

Sat outside by the fire pit. Perfect loc ...

Dined on April 9, 2016

Sat outside by the fire pit. Perfect location. Brussel sprouts are always good. Had the pear flatbread and it was excellent. Had some pre dinner wine and was not rushed to order but the server was attentive. Nice balance of attention.

food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Not on their A game

Dined on April 7, 2016

Our server did not mention the April special 'par deux' which was the reason we came. The 10 + item charcuterie board was excellent but our server never described what we were eating.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place!

Dined on April 4, 2016

Great place!

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.