About BO-beau kitchen + garden

8384 La Mesa Blvd
La Mesa, CA 91942-9218
View Larger Map

BO beau kitchen + garden is located in the Village of La Mesa. BO beau offers Sophisticated Comfort Food with Global Inspirations. We have 24 Beers on tap, a worldly wine list and a full bar with eclectic cocktails.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary French / American, Global, International

Hours of Operation:
Dinner


Tuesday - Wednesday: 4:30pm - 9:00pm;
Friday & Saturday: 4:30pm - 10:00pm;
Sunday: Brunch 10:30am- 1:30pm
Bar menu 1:30pm- 4:30pm
Dinner 4:30pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Spring Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(619) 337-3445

Website:
http://www.cohnrestaurants.com/bobeaukitchengarden

Parking Details:
Park on the street there are meters or in the lot behind us on Allison Street OR in the residential areas around us.

Executive Chef:
Tyler Shipton

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Ask about our special Valentines day menu!

Restaurant Photos

BO-beau kitchen + garden Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
East County
Best Food
East County
Best Service
East County
2 More
Best Ambiance
East County
Most Booked
East County
Best Restaurants in La Mesa ›

neighborhood gem (89)
great for outdoor dining (78)
fit for foodies (74)
See All
good for groups (52)
special occasion (45)
kid-friendly (38)
romantic (29)
great for brunch (27)
hot spot (19)
great for lunch (16)
notable wine list (12)
late-night find (8)
vibrant bar scene (8)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
523 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service4

The brussel sprouts are sooo good. I had ...

vip
Dined 2 days ago

The brussel sprouts are sooo good. I had the short ribs & my husband had the burger. Both were very tasty. We had a flourless chocolate cake & a seasonal fruit tart & both were perfect. Our server wasn't bad. We've had better, but nothing to complain about. The patio is beautiful & lots of people brought their dogs. I enjoy dogs, but if you're uncomfortable with them you might not like it because many of the tables are close together.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Yummy yummy

Dined 6 days ago

I can't say enough about the amazing food. Brussels sprouts are the best around and the salmon was perfection!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The garden seating was perfect! It kept ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

The garden seating was perfect! It kept the noise level low and the heaters were perfect for the time of day. The food was delicious and the service outstanding.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My family came to celebrate a birthday. ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

My family came to celebrate a birthday. I made a reservation online and we were immediately seated, the table had already been set for our large party. I thought that was very nice. Our waiter, Aiden, was very nice and helpful. He explained very well, the ingredients in some of the dishes although He did forget to bring an order of water and wine but he was nearby and was very gracious at the reminder. The burger royal I thought was good, and the chocolate stout was also good, although the volume of beer was smaller than I am used to but, the service was excellent. I will come back. Thank you

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

So so.

Dined on May 5, 2016

Nice, fun atmosphere. Food was very so so. I had Provence mussels, little flavor, frites very ordinary. My wife has flat iron steak, not much flavor either. Server was friendly, but we had to wave folks down to get a napkin and silverware after the food had come, as well as to get more water to drink. Maybe staff was starched too thin? Disappointing dinner.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Beautiful neighborhood gem

Dined on May 4, 2016

I'm not from La Mesa so I didn't know about the little downtown district they have there, but visiting this restaurant was a great way to top off my exploration of it. Food and ambiance were great and contrast the hustle-and-bustle of other popular hotspots in the San Diego area. This area was quiet and intimate, and is definitely worth the visit if you're looking for a nice place with good food where you don't have to yell over the ambient noise to be heard.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service4

We started with the Brussels oh my they ...

vip
Dined on April 30, 2016

We started with the Brussels oh my they were so crunchy and flavored beautifully. I started with the escargot and mushrooms wow were they delicious. You can't go wrong with anything on this menu. I found the choices to be a good variety.

food3
ambience4
service1

We have dined here several times. On th ...

Dined on April 28, 2016

We have dined here several times. On this occasion, my husband's birthday, the service was awful: insufficient number of table settings, food came out before drinks, no drink refills or offer of another beverage, forgotten order, wrong orders, some food didn't come out until others had finished their meal, etc. Apparently, we had a new waiter and although he took responsibility for his numerous mistakes, communication between wait staff and management was poor. The manager was requested and she made an attempt to improve matters, however,our dining experience had already been ruined.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My friend and I had a great experience, ...

Dined on April 27, 2016

My friend and I had a great experience, the food was delicious and I want to thank you the server (French server) who was amazing!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Good food and enjoyable atmosphere. My w ...

vip
Dined on April 22, 2016

Good food and enjoyable atmosphere. My wife enjoyed her salmon entree. However my steak fritte was too thick. The fries and green beans were excellent. The steak--not so much.

Tags: kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent As Always

Dined on April 15, 2016

Love the food and the service was excellent. The wrong appetizer came out but the waitress handled it immediately and without any fuss. We love it here and will be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

A wonderful surprise

Dined on April 11, 2016

This was the first time at the restaurant for the six of us. We all loved it! The food was fresh and delicious and there was something on the menu for all six diverse diners. We will definitely return.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5

Sat outside by the fire pit. Perfect loc ...

Dined on April 9, 2016

Sat outside by the fire pit. Perfect location. Brussel sprouts are always good. Had the pear flatbread and it was excellent. Had some pre dinner wine and was not rushed to order but the server was attentive. Nice balance of attention.

food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Not on their A game

Dined on April 7, 2016

Our server did not mention the April special 'par deux' which was the reason we came. The 10 + item charcuterie board was excellent but our server never described what we were eating.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place!

Dined on April 4, 2016

Great place!

food5
ambience3
service3
value3

Food-yay! Service-meh!

Dined on April 3, 2016

This is my third time in this location and, although the food is great, the service always seems to be less than stellar. Staff not friendly (but polite), and when I request a container to take my leftovers home (after all, the food is great-why wouldn't I?) they act like I'm putting them out. The original location has much better service, in my opinion. But I do love the location, since it is in my neighborhood.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Easter Brunch

Dined on March 27, 2016

Service was spot on. Go for a spread of appetizers and drinks! Book a patio spot if you have kids. Will go back!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service4

Brussels sprouts, mussels, great cocktai ...

Dined on March 25, 2016

Brussels sprouts, mussels, great cocktails, beautiful building and garden, convenient location

food1
ambience3
service2
value2

this is the second time we have been ser ...

Dined on March 25, 2016

this is the second time we have been served cold food. Not sure if we will go back any time soon....

food1
ambience2
service1
value1

POOR EXPERIENCE, POOR FOOD... WILL NOT RETURN!

Dined on March 7, 2016

Let me start off by saying, I waitressed for many years and usually give a great deal of leeway because of my personal experience. I have been to Bo-beau several times for drinks and Brussels sprouts and must say they are the best around. This time a friend was in town and I thought I would treat her. To begin, the restaurant was not really busy, the server took a long time to come to our table. We ordered the Brussels Sprouts asked what were some to the top dishes and she recommended the Salmon - Saying it was "Fabulous". We both ordered the Salmon. When the dishes arrived, the portion set down first was what I would consider small. I thought in her second hand was another tables appetizer. It turned out to be my Salmon which was significantly smaller than the other small portion. You would think if you are serving the same dinner to two people the plates would be at least similar in size. Next the salmon had NO seasoning at all and was dry. The apple puree was under the vegetables and not the salmon. We also ordered wine and the poor was tiny. Bottom line: Service was poor, food was poor, and food presentation was poor. I left spending over $125 and was sad that I had brought a visitor to this establishment. I absolutely do not feel I received a good value for my dollar and will not be returning.

food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Service was good. But food took an hour ...

Dined on March 6, 2016

Service was good. But food took an hour to arrive and my pork shank was cold and my wife's steak and frites were good.over all just ok.

food4
ambience3
service1

We were seated outside. It was a chilly ...

Dined on March 6, 2016

We were seated outside. It was a chilly night so ask for indoor seating if you don't want to wear your jacket throughout dinner. The patio is very ambient though which was nice. Our server was very forgetful. We had asked for straws 3 times and never got them. We finally asked the person who brought our appetizer. After appetizers the food took quite a while. So long that our server thought we already had the main course and brought us a dessert menu. I set the menu aside and he brought another dessert menu. That's when I told him we hadn't gotten our main course yet. The server was dismayed to the point he was speechless. Fortunately the food was delivered right then. Sadly the check took forever too. Needless to say we were ready to get out of there and away from the server once we were finished eating.

food5
ambience5
service3
value3

First Timer

Dined on March 6, 2016

I've heard a lot of great things about BO-beau from friends and other review sites. Service started off great. Our server at first was attentive and personable by making an effort to remember our names. He was honest about what were his favorites and least favorites. But after taking our orders he kind of disappeared. We would flag him for water when he would take orders or drop off checks for our neighboring tables but never once got around to refilling our waters... I think we asked three times then just gave up. His recommendation for the brussel sprouts were spot on that "they literally keep the restaurant in business" and I understand why. The rest of our meal was a nice spin on authentic French food.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

Bo Beau Restaurant

Dined on March 4, 2016

we picked this for a special occasion and booked through open Table. It only gave us a couple choices of times and yet the restaurant was quite empty. I put it was a special occasion and the waiter did not even acknowledge our 40th anniversary! Food was good but a bit disappointing for this very special occasion. we do not go out all that much!

Tags: neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Great Ladies Brunch

Dined on February 28, 2016

Had a great time at BO-beau for a ladies' Sunday brunch. Love their patio and we had a great table for our group. Some portion sizes seemed a little uneven, but everyone enjoyed their meal. Looking forward to going back for dinner.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

La Mesa Gem

Dined on February 27, 2016

La Mesa, for all intents and purposes, is a small town within a big city. To have a restaurant like this available to patron, for those of us that like *good* food, is a big win. There were five of us in the party, the same five of us had been here a couple of years ago when they reopened on Bo-beau kitchen and I remember it was really great then. We sat outside, and I love how they have the outside set up along with the bar area. Our server actually sounded as though he was french or he had some other accent which was interesting given we were in small town downtown La Mesa. The service was fantastic, very attentive (but not too attentive) and the water/ice tea glasses were always kept filled, the food came out promptly, hot and the presentation was very nice. The manager came around near the end, really nice gal from NY. She was connecting with everyone to ensure they enjoyed their meal. Drinks - decent beer selection of unique brews. Three of us ordered some suds and were pleased with our choices. Food - delicious, we had ordered: Shepherds Pie, Flank Steak, Rotini&Cheese w spicy bacon, Pasta&Prawns and the Warm Garden Confit. We actually passed around plates so we could taste each others meal and everyone was incredibly pleased. The portion's are fair v price, if you are hungry you will clean your plate. I will return.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

The more specialized meals were tasty, t ...

Dined on February 21, 2016

The more specialized meals were tasty, the plainer fare was less spectacular. The waitress was unflappable in dealing with an unexpected problem.

Tags: kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great neighborhood restaurant in downtown La Mesa

Dined on February 21, 2016

Our first time at this restaurant and had a dining great experience. The staff were polite, helpful and friendly and provided first class service throughout the night. Empty plates were quickly removed and the Coke and water were constantly being refilled. The Brussels sprouts were good as everyone had described. My husband had a very delicious skirt steak. I had the delicious and tender Coq au Vin and it came with toasted bread. I would have given the foods 5 star but the Coq au Vin didn't have enough broth for me to eat with the bread. We will definitely come back again.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome Brussels sprouts as always

Dined on February 21, 2016

Awesome Brussels sprouts as always

food5
ambience5
service2
value5

Great but could be better

Dined on February 20, 2016

Loved the food, ambiance & drinks but the service was a bit off. I just wished that the waitress checked up on us a little more, we only saw her twice in a two hour visit 😕but other than that it was a great experience 😉

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food2
ambience3
service4

Really cozy atmosphere with a very rusti ...

Dined on February 17, 2016

Really cozy atmosphere with a very rustic look and great drinks. We went at sundown and it was very dark inside many guest were using cell phone lights to read their menu. We ordered the Carpaccio bruschetta, Brussel sprouts, hamachi crudo, onion soup and shepherds pie. I'm not sure how the fish was handled but when we got the hamachi it was extremely fishy(probably about to turn bad). The bread used for the bruschetta tasted like 2 day old French bread topped with a cold cut roast beef and some herbs. Everything else we tasted was at standard at best.

food2
ambience2
service3
value3

Need Better Quality with Quantity

Dined on February 14, 2016

This restaurant must be more specific here on open table and other websites for reviews regarding brunch hours and dinners hours. This restaurant must serve much bigger portions for much cheaper prices and pay more attention to their flavors. I sat in a bad seating area with an unstable table.

Tags: good for groups
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

1st timer

Dined on February 14, 2016

Appetizers were not what we expected. We would prefer a wider selection of entrees. The deserts were excellent. We were not offered coffee with desert.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very delicious, great for date night!

Dined on February 14, 2016

Delicious, great service, a great place for a special occasion, date night, or outdoor dining!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

short and sweet

Dined on February 7, 2016

We went there for a birthday, bad call. The noise level made it very difficult to hear what others were saying, because we were at a long trestle style table. I do not blame the restaurant in any for this, but I can blame them for the relatively unskilled service that we had. The service people just seemed awkward and unskilled, as they reached over people and bumped us occasionally. Requests for knives and forks went unheeded a couple of times, maybe they couldn't hear either!! Didn't hate it, but certainly didn't love it.

food3
ambience3
service3
value3

nothing special

Dined on February 5, 2016

my food had very little flavor. and they never acknowledged my birthday . that I said on my reservation.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Impressed out of town guests

Dined on February 1, 2016

Love bo-beau and it did not disappoint on the visit. This location has a beautiful patio but every time I've come it's been chilly so we've sat inside and it's been unfortunately, cold even indoors. But this is my only complaint! The food is outstanding. The brussels sprouts deserve all the hype they get. The entrees are flavorful and the ingredients all taste fresh and meld well together. The folks I've taken would all agree, we haven't had something we didn't like. Definitely go and enjoy a great meal and fun atmosphere!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

As usual, the Brussels Sprouts were phen ...

Dined on February 1, 2016

As usual, the Brussels Sprouts were phenomenal. Everyone enjoyed their entrees and there were many great sounding choices from which to select.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A New Favorite

Dined on January 30, 2016

Can't fault this place in anyway, for lunch, brunch, dinner. The kids outdoor area is perfect complete with a school bus! The kids meal are such great value for money. Fab service!! Don't get me started on the brussel sprouts, to die for. Beautiful outdoor setting, love this spot!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

😋😋😋

Dined on January 25, 2016

SO GOOD! Went for restaurant week and LOVED every dish. Had to order brussel sprouts because my coworkers recommended it, and they were the BEST brussel sprouts I've ever had. Brussels sprouts & coq au vin, & root beer float. All delicious! My fiance didn't care much for the shepherds pie because it was more of a stew than a pie, but I tasted it & I thought it was amazing. Love the urban, industrial atmosphere. Heard a lot about their brunch too so I will have to go again & try sitting in the patio 😊

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.