About BO-beau kitchen + garden

8384 La Mesa Blvd
La Mesa, CA 91942-9218
View Larger Map

BO beau kitchen + garden is located in the Village of La Mesa. BO beau offers Sophisticated Comfort Food with Global Inspirations. We have 24 Beers on tap, a worldly wine list and a full bar with eclectic cocktails.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary French / American, Global, International

Hours of Operation:
Dinner


Tuesday - Wednesday: 4:30pm - 9:00pm;
Friday & Saturday: 4:30pm - 10:00pm;
Sunday: Brunch 10:30am- 1:30pm
Bar menu 1:30pm- 4:30pm
Dinner 4:30pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Spring Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(619) 337-3445

Website:
http://www.cohnrestaurants.com/bobeaukitchengarden

Parking Details:
Park on the street there are meters or in the lot behind us on Allison Street OR in the residential areas around us.

Executive Chef:
Tyler Shipton

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Ask about our special Valentines day menu!

Restaurant Photos

  • BO-beau kitchen + garden, La Mesa, CA
  • BO-beau kitchen + garden, La Mesa, CA
  • BO-beau kitchen + garden, La Mesa, CA
  • BO-beau kitchen + garden, La Mesa, CA

Report a photo problem

BO-beau kitchen + garden Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (22)
Creative Cuisine (22)
Special Occasion (22)
See All
Great for Outdoor Dining (22)
Neighborhood Gem (21)
Casual (16)
Good for Groups (12)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Modern Decor (11)
Fun (10)
Cozy (10)
Worth the Drive (10)
Kid-friendly (9)
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Happy Hour (9)
Authentic (9)
Comfort Food (9)
Romantic (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Local Ingredients (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Family Style (6)
Healthy (6)
Business Meals (5)
Organic (5)
People Watching (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Great Beer (5)
Notable Wine List (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Seasonal (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Tapas (3)
Vegan (3)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Live Sports (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Historic (2)
Quick Bite (1)
Fireplace (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Private Room (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
662 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We had a very pleasant dinner with great ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined 2 days ago

We had a very pleasant dinner with great service. All was very good!

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Usually we love coming here for dinner a ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined 2 days ago

Usually we love coming here for dinner and brunch. It is in our neighborhood and has always been a nice treat for us to be able to just drive down the road for drinks and food. The last few times that we have been there for brunch, the service has been pretty bad. Waiting over 20 minutes to have our food order taken and the servers are no where to be found. The only person I saw doing work was the Manager!!! I hope this is a temporary issue. As disappointed as I am that Cohen has decided to add the surcharge to their bill, nothing turns off customers like bad customer service and lack of attention from a server.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value4

I had the short rib flat bread this time ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 3 days ago

I had the short rib flat bread this time around, and it was deliciously unusual. The horseradish sauce was very mild, and the beef was very tender. The slivers of radish on top were just the right zing of flavor. The portion was generous and the food was just as tasty the next day.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Disabled Access, Business Meals, Late-night Find, Authentic, Private Room, Special Occasion, Cozy, Paleo Friendly, Creative Cuisine, Organic, Fun, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Vegan, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Healthy, Romantic, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great atmosphere, service, and cuisine. ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 3 days ago

Great atmosphere, service, and cuisine. The pacing of when the food was brought to the table was perfect. The waitress gave me my wife plenty of time to finish our appetizers and salads before bringing the main course. We didn't feel rushed and felt as if we were the only couple there.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Vegan, Afternoon Tea, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was our 40th anniversary. It was enjo ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 6 days ago

It was our 40th anniversary. It was enjoyable, meal, drinks and dessert were perfect . We prefer sitting outside but the weather was threatening and didn't want to chance spoiling the evening.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

A little pricey but can't beat the fun o ...

 
·Dined on January 8, 2017

A little pricey but can't beat the fun of a school bus for kids to play on and excellent customer service!

Tags: Fun, Kid-friendly, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

I made a reservation based on previous g ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 6, 2017

I made a reservation based on previous great experiences at the other Cohn restaurants to celebrate my best friend's birthday. I have never ate at Bo Beau and it was always recommended by others. I was not impressed. The server was not attentive. I asked for a spoon since I did not receive one to eat the French Onion soup and he never returned with one. After 10 minutes of waiting and not having anything to eat soup with, I had to ask a passing staff member/bussing person for one. Also, the food was over salted. Also, no one acknowledged that I made a reservation to celebrate a birthday, even though I had mentioned it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

The food was awesome. The drinks were gr ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 30, 2016

The food was awesome. The drinks were great too. I just don't like having food served prior to any cutlery on the table. It took multiple requests to get the silverware. That was my only beef. This place makes the best Brussel sprouts. The desserts were ok, but not out of this world. All in all one of the best restaurants I've been to.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Tapas, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Excellent, Excellent, Excellent food! R ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Excellent, Excellent, Excellent food! Reasonable price and friendly service. Will definitely go back!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My 4th or 5th time eating at BB. Consist ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 30, 2016

My 4th or 5th time eating at BB. Consistently good food and service. Will return.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Food, service, patio dining is so awesom ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Food, service, patio dining is so awesome! It was a little nippy on patio and we were given blankets and cushions to sit on. Heater was overhead. Warm and comfortable . Love, love this place! 👍🏼

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love that East County finally has some ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 22, 2016

I love that East County finally has some better restaurants and Bo Beau is definitely one of them. My only negatives are that it's really dark and a LOT of people including my husband were using phone flashlights to read the menu and it was especially loud the night we were there. I am chalking the noise level up to the time of year with the holiday parties and big family gatherings. Our food was tasty--I ordered the short ribs flatbread and the mister had the beef bourginon. Friends ordered the burger and another flatbread. No complaints on any of it...well prepared and nice portions. I would go back for lunch or maybe go at a different time of year and give it another try.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Hot Spot, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Super delicious gem. Outstanding décor d ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Super delicious gem. Outstanding décor down to the napkin rings being hardware nuts. The brussel sprouts were to die for. A little fast paced, eager to take your plates, and the waiters/waitresses are pretty busy. It's so beautiful and delicious. It can quickly and easily get pricey, but it is totally worth it.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Disabled Access, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Outdoor Dining, Molecular Gastronomy, Fun, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly, Great Beer, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Good Vegetarian Options, Happy Hour, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Wonderful! The food was delicious the at ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Wonderful! The food was delicious the atmosphere was perfect. The service was excellent. Love this neighborhood gem!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

One of my favorite restaurants. I've bee ...

 
 (Key West)·Dined on December 18, 2016

One of my favorite restaurants. I've been a many times and it never gets old

The sevice, the food, the drinks have always magnificent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

There were six very fussy people at our ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 15, 2016

There were six very fussy people at our table and every single one of us were thrilled with our food. The Brussel sprouts starter is a must. It feels like a special place. We can't wait to go again. Great place for a date or anniversary.

Tags: Late-night Find, , Hot Spot, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were very pleasantly surprised. The ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 14, 2016

We were very pleasantly surprised. The food was outstanding. Nice casual atmosphere. Surprisingly busy for a Tuesday night. We would highly recommend BoBeau.

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

They won't let adults order from the kid ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 11, 2016

They won't let adults order from the kids menu👎

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

The brussel sprouts were not only genero ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 9, 2016

The brussel sprouts were not only generous in quantity but they are the best that I have tasted. I also ordered the Pork Bellied flatbread which was delicious and enough to take home for a snack later on!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

We've had the same problem the last two ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 8, 2016

We've had the same problem the last two times we have been to the restaurant- the food came out about an hour after we ordered. The restaurant was not very busy. We also had 6 kids with us and 2 of their orders (plain noodles) did not come out with the rest of the order. This has happened multiple times, even if we order as soon as we sit down. The service really needs some attention.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

Brussel Sprouts appetizers are simy to d ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 7, 2016

Brussel Sprouts appetizers are simy to die for! Worth going just for that and a drink.

Tags: Good for Groups, Business Meals, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Food and service was very mediocre. It s ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Food and service was very mediocre. It seems they depend on the popularity of their Brussel sprouts for business.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

Loved the special "La Masa" and the blue ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Loved the special "La Masa" and the blueberry bread pudding! Must find a way to keep them on the menu! Service was fabulous as always as well as our organic mules! Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Fireplace, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Live Sports, Great Beer, Bar Seating, Romantic, People Watching, Fun, Casual, Quick Bite, Modern Decor, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first visit and we were ext ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 2, 2016

This was our first visit and we were extremely impressed. We will definitely return. The brussel sprouts are outstanding. I had a flat iron steak which was very tender and flavorful. (We went to a more expensive, upscale, well-known restaurant a few days earlier. My mother ordered a filet mignon that was not at all as tender or flavorful as the flat iron steak I had at Bo-Beau.) . My wife had salmon which was cooked perfectly. The ambiance is comfortable and attractive. This is a wonderful restaurant.

Tags: Late-night Find, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Good Vegetarian Options, , Vegan, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Portions are substantial The food was u ...

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Portions are substantial

The food was under salted as if chef wasn't trying the product

Service was spotty

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

We are regulars. Bo Beau's is the best. ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 28, 2016

We are regulars. Bo Beau's is the best. Food is great, prices reasonable, and the atmosphere is quant both inside and out, though we probably prefer the patio when it's warm enough. They even comp the corkage fee if you buy a bottle from San Pasqual Winery just a few doors down. The service is usually good - sometimes superb - but a few times we've had a server who could have been more attentive and/or friendly. We really like Paul. Overall, we love this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Brunch was fabulous as always. They have ...

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Brunch was fabulous as always. They have some of our dinner favorites like the Brussels sprouts as a side or appetizer. We decided to try the beignets, which had two dipping sauces. We definitely wanted more! The crab cake eggs Benedict was delish and it didn't have the traditional flavors, but had a Mexican influence. I loved the different take and the Parmesan fries never disappoint.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We've been to the ocean Beach location a ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 27, 2016

We've been to the ocean Beach location about 5 times and it is one of our absolute favorite restaurants in San Diego. The downside is that they don't take reservations.

We chose the La Mesa location because they take reservations and it should be the same right?

Wrong!!

This place is nowhere near the quality of the other location. We even ordered the same items as on our last visit to the OB location.

It was soooo disappointing. My first dish was a bone in pork shank. It was dry and rubbery. Sent it back and got the beef bourgenon. It was much better but most of the meat was fat.

If you have the option, go to the other location or go somewhere else.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

Really great service. Loved that my wate ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Really great service. Loved that my water glass was always refilled! Food was decent. Tasted like a lot of these pop-up hipster restaurants.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

The brunch was good but nothing special, ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 20, 2016

The brunch was good but nothing special, a bit underwhelming. The steak I got was supposed to be medium rare but came out well done and was very tough. The poached eggs were on point. The skillet potatoes were Ok, same with the beignets.

The brussel sprouts are outstanding as usual, and rescued the meal. The fried chicken and waffles were good but nothing special. The sausage biscuits with gravy were the same.

Service was excellent. It started sprinkling for a bit outside and our food got a little wet because it's not covered, so be careful if it's going to rain and you're sitting outside like us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

Espresso Martini! So amazing always a fu ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Espresso Martini! So amazing always a fun night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Opah fish was terrible-poor presentation ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Opah fish was terrible-poor presentation

Way too pricey on all food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

Service and food were great. Had a wonde ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Service and food were great. Had a wonderful experience.

Tags: Healthy, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always great food mixed with excellent s ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Always great food mixed with excellent service. My wife and I have never been disappointed. We will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Love the Ambiance of the place! Staff ar ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Love the Ambiance of the place! Staff are really friend and I believe the manager at that time was very helpful and attentive to our needs. Makes sure we have everything set perfectly on our table and they are accommodating to kids and pet friendly patio.

Overall I had a very good experience, the food was amazing, the staff are very courteous, price was reasonable for the place, the food and the location.

I would recommend for dates, family dinner or happy hour.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Family Style, Good for Anniversaries, Afternoon Tea, Happy Hour, Organic, Paleo Friendly, Seasonal, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The vibe is fun. My husband and I ate h ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 3, 2016

The vibe is fun. My husband and I ate here for the first time for an Anniversary Dinner. He loved his dinner, a kettle of steamed mussels! I ordered the flat iron steak. The steak was cooked perfectly. The sides were disappointing, bland. We were unable to have any condiments delivered to our table-really needed salt and sugar etc.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Normal we love this place... this night ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Normal we love this place... this night was another story. Food was good, but missing ingredients and missing items asked for to sub. Service was super slow, our server is awesome, but he was super busy with another large table. That large table was so loud and has a few kids that were going crazy. Their parents seemed to busy out talking each other to calm their dreaming kids. Drinks took forever, food took a while and the bill couldn't come fast enough. Sad, normally we love eating here. We'll give it another try, maybe outside away from large parties. The manager did talk to us an apologized for the meal and slow service. Seriously, we have never had a bad experience here! This was just a really odd night and everything seemed off.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

The recipes at Bo Beau are delicious. I ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 3, 2016

The recipes at Bo Beau are delicious. I am inspired to try something different every time. This time we had the Beef Bourguignon and the seasonal vegan dish, something with tofu and peanut ginger sauce. Both were amazing. My daughter had "the usual" (her favorite kid's meal, which she often asks for between visits). The patio seating is so pleasant. Not noisy at all and surprisingly roomy. Our group of 6 had room to spare at the table and could easily talk.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My date and I both had the slow-roasted ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 31, 2016

My date and I both had the slow-roasted pork roast and it just fell off the bone. It was so tender and delicious. There were too many choices that looked good on the menu. I will definitely go back.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My date stood me up, but that didn't sto ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 28, 2016

My date stood me up, but that didn't stop me from a wonderful time at Bo-beau kitchen. I had dinner at the bar and bartender Vasilios was great and Assistant Manager Sarah was very generous and kind. Meal was amazing. All in all a wonderful experience.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.