Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.28mi
  2. Distance: 0.47mi
  3. Distance: 0.49mi
  4. Distance: 0.50mi
  1. Distance: 0.28mi
  2. Distance: 0.47mi
  3. Distance: 0.49mi
  4. Distance: 0.50mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.28mi
  2. Distance: 0.47mi
  3. Distance: 0.49mi
  4. Distance: 0.50mi
  1. Distance: 0.28mi
  2. Distance: 0.47mi
  3. Distance: 0.49mi
  4. Distance: 0.50mi

About BO-beau kitchen + garden

BO beau kitchen + garden is located in the Village of La Mesa. BO beau offers Sophisticated Comfort Food with Global Inspirations. We have 24 Beers on tap, a worldly wine list and a full bar with eclectic cocktails.

8384 La Mesa Blvd
La Mesa, CA 91942-9218
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary French / American, Global, International

Hours of Operation:
Dinner


Tuesday - Wednesday: 4:30pm - 9:00pm;
Friday & Saturday: 4:30pm - 10:00pm;
Sunday: Brunch 10:30am- 1:30pm
Bar menu 1:30pm- 4:30pm
Dinner 4:30pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Spring Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(619) 337-3445

Website:
http://www.cohnrestaurants.com/bobeaukitchengarden

Parking Details:
Park on the street there are meters or in the lot behind us on Allison Street OR in the residential areas around us.

Executive Chef:
Tyler Shipton

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Ask about our special Valentines day menu!

BO-beau kitchen + garden Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

3.9

Noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (35)
Neighborhood Gem (34)
Great for Outdoor Dining (32)
See All
Casual (23)
Creative Cuisine (23)
Good for Groups (22)
Special Occasion (21)
Fit for Foodies (19)
Fun (19)
Good for Birthdays (16)
Kid-friendly (16)
Comfort Food (16)
Romantic (15)
Good for Anniversaries (14)
Healthy (13)
Bar Seating (12)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Cozy (10)
Gluten Free Options (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Seasonal (10)
Worth the Drive (10)
Local Ingredients (8)
Notable Wine List (8)
People Watching (8)
Authentic (7)
Great for Lunch (7)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Great Beer (7)
Great for Brunch (6)
Business Meals (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Disabled Access (5)
Organic (5)
Tapas (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Scenic View (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Spicy (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
828 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 5 days ago

We have been here many times and have never been disappointed! We brought local friends and friends from England and they loved it!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined 5 days ago

I live 45 miles away & this place is worth the drive! Always consistent & delicious.. plus a comfortable, cool vibe. The brussels are what veggie dreams are made of ;) & everything is always delicious!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 9, 2017

I really love this casual neighborhood gen. Delicious and lovely.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 9, 2017

We've been to BO+beau in La Mesa several times and have enjoyed it there very much. The food and service have been great. We took my mom for her birthday most recently and I was confident that she would enjoy her meal. Must tries are the crispy Brussels sprouts and the pumpkin bread pudding. The pumpkin dessert was seasonal, but they usually have a bread pudding on the menu. So good!

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 8, 2017

always a good meal and customer service. For some reason I feel like the portions got larger, I don’t remember having so much to take home! I was so full too. Thanks for another great experience. Until next time...

Tags: Business Meals, Tapas, Late-night Find, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Fun, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 8, 2017

I have been here twice now, once with a close friend and another time with my husband. This place was perfect spot for both occasions! I love the location, the ambiance, the fact that it is quiet enough to have conversation, but not so quiet that others can hear you and the food is great! I have yet to explore much of the menu as I have come for light dinners and can't seem to make it past the brussel sprouts! So far, my +1 and I have split the brussel sprouts plate then shared a decadent dessert (this time it was a berry cheesecake). I think the trick is to invite more people to come along with me so I don't fill up on the famous brussel sprouts! The iced tea is so refreshing as well. I'll definitely be back!

Tags: Disabled Access, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Sunday Lunch, Great Beer, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Gluten Free Options, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on October 8, 2017

Five of us went to Bo-Beau to celebrate a birthday and had a great time. The patio seating was casual and our server was awesome. Good selection of appetizers and entrees and we found a great wine at our server's suggestion. Would definitely recommend this place and hope to return soon."

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Worth the Drive, Casual, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fun, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 6, 2017

The service from all the staff is impeccable. Our water glasses never reached half full. I suspect that this was partially due to the early arrival (4:30pm when they opened).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 29, 2017

I've eaten at Bo-beaus several times. The food is always excellent. The service is one of the best I've ever had. Staff is attentive and want to make sure you enjoy your food and time at the restaurant. The restaurant is one of my favorites!

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 26, 2017

we took family that came in from New Mexico. It was a great dinner, wonderful food and we arrived at 4:30, so we had the patio area mostly to ourselves, so we could easily chat and catch up.

Tags: Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 24, 2017

My family and I thoroughly enjoyed our evening at BO Beau LA Mesa. The management and entire staff was wonderful and friendly and the food delicious. Warm relaxing atmosphere. We look forward to our next visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 24, 2017

Excellent service and good food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 22, 2017

What a great experience overall!! Our waitress took wonderful care of us :)

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 22, 2017

The Brussel sprouts are to die for. That's about it. The wine was $12 a glass! What?! This is La Mesa not La Jolla. Flank steak was undercooked. French fries were so so. The fried chicken was cooked with oil that probably hadn't been changed in a while. Good ambiance but the food, service and price are really not worth it.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 20, 2017

We both had the salmon main course....absolutely wonderful. We were there on a Tuesday evening which was a quiet evening instead of the normal loud and bustling atmosphere. We found it just right for a quiet dinner for the two of us. Also the next time I go I will try the Tuesday Tostada special that looked very interesting. Of note is that they have a wonderful patio for dining.

Tags: Business Meals, Comfort Food, Casual, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 20, 2017

Best Brussels sprouts anywhere!! Good thing we waited to order our entrees though. Food came pretty quickly!! Wouldn't have been done otherwise. Prices went up already. I get it, but really? Adding the 2% on top?

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Food was average

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Excellent food, very attentive service and dog friendly. Our puppy got her own water bowl and some treats. Perfect evening for sitting out on the patio and quiet enough for a group of 5 to enjoy conversation. Cocktails, cheese board and catch of the day were all top notch. Wished for more vegetarian options, but our guest made do with a beet salad. Definitely recommend.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Always yummy! Our Brussels Sprouts craving was yummy. Catch of the day is my go to. The cauliflower is yummy on the plate and the green beans! This night it was catfish and it was yummy. Love everything about this place.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 13, 2017

Had an amazing time at BO-beau. The ambience was delightful and the service was supreme. The parking situation is a little rough given that most parking spots are already taken, but BO-beau was easy to find. I went ahead and ordered the deviled eggs with jalapeños. For the main course I ordered steak frites and my partner ordered "c'est le vegan", and for desert we had their flourless chocolate cake which was delictable. We both believe that our dishes were better than we could ever ask for. BO-beau has made return customers out of my partner and I.

Tags: Fun, Seasonal, Healthy, Romantic, Great Beer, People Watching, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Great Brussel sprouts! We enjoyed our meals thanks

Tags: Romantic, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

We came here for our anniversary dinner and to celebrate moving to San Diego. Delicious and interesting cocktails, amazing food--probably one of the best steaks my partner has ever had, plus the rotini and cheese with duck confit wasn't too heavy and had a lot of dimension. The brussels sprouts are a must!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 10, 2017

The Samen was cooked correctly but the Yellow Tail was RAW. Apparently they do not know how to cook some types of fish. The manager was very rood about the whole thing. We were hoping to find another good restaurant in the area but this place is not what we were hoping for.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 7, 2017

My wife and I went to Bo-beau on a date the other night. We shared the Brussel Sprouts, some frites, and a bottle of wine. The food was great, the wine was great, and the service was impressive.

Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 7, 2017

Always have great food combined with excellent service every time I go.
Keep up the excellent service!!!

Tags: Vegan, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Romantic, Bar Seating, Fun, Great for Brunch, Seasonal, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 4, 2017

The clambake was amazing. The esthetics and ambiance of the place was super cool and modern. Love it here

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 4, 2017

Felt the Summer Clambake special was a little challenged quantitywise. My pot had absolutely no potatoes and very few clams and mussels.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 3, 2017

We took our visiting family members to brunch, and had a wonderful meal. Just amazing service and food. Each dish was fantastic, and I can't wait to return for dinner.

Tags: Romantic, Organic, Disabled Access, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Would not go back from brunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 3, 2017

It was a nice night to be out on the patio enjoying good food, good drinks and friends.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

I requested a patio table for 10 to surprise my boyfriend for his birthday and I was so happy to get exactly what I asked for! The service was great- very attentive and quick. We loved every minute and will definitely be back. Thank you so much 💕

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 3, 2017

My steak was really fatty. The kids chicken nuggets were also very fatty. I did appreciate the wine suggestion from the waiter. It was a good suggestion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

Went to Bo-Beau's on a Friday night at 5pm. I like a Paleo-friendly plate with lots of veggies and was in the mood for seafood, so I ordered the salmon. It was cooked medium, which was what I ordered, and was over some sautéed oyster mushroom and asparagus puree. Absolutely melt-in-your-mouth delicious and a very colorful dish. The waiter was accommodating in substituting broccoli for potatoes. I was pleasantly surprised when I could cut the broccoli with my knife easily. (Wow, I can actually digest it when it is done fork tender.) The portion size was generous and I took some home for breakfast the next day. Definitely a good value for me. My waiter was prompt, courteous, and friendly. Overall, I will continue to patronize Bo-Beau's and am happy that it is so close to my house.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Paleo Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 1, 2017

Our server, Hunter, did an excellent job!! Food was average. Also, they add a 2% surcharge to every bill.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value1

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 1, 2017

Everything was delicious. Waitress didn't tell us about chefs special but heard after we ordered from another table or I would have given a 5 for service. Our server was great. Food was great, definitely would recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Healthy, Organic, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 23, 2017

Cute restaurant, we had the Brussels sprout appetizer. It was a large serving of fried sprouts with chunks of overcooked bacon. I had the mussels with wine sauce. Mussels were tough and tasteless, a disappointment. My friend had the pork shank, which was quite good. It came with beans that looked and tasted like canned pork and beans and greens that she didn't like. The corn muffin looked good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 20, 2017

The Brussels sprouts are a must! If you have kids there is the shell of a decommissioned school bus on the patio. Kids love playing in it. Brilliant idea in my opinion. The patio is a nice setting. Not very many choices like this place for food and ambience in East County area.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Fun, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Disabled Access, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 20, 2017

The Brussel sprouts are a must! Their fried chicken was really juicy and the ambiance was really romantic.

Tags: Authentic, Cozy, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Awesome service, ambience and such creative healthy food choices!

Tags: Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch, Healthy, Afternoon Coffee, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 19, 2017

I've been to Bo-Beau Kitchen & Garden restaurant 3 times recently and every time the food was consistently delicious. We had their featured brussels sprout appetizer, the salmon, and the pork shank entrees. All were cooked perfectly and presented, prepared and arrived at the right temperature. The environment can be very "lively" by 6 pm. I was celebrating a birthday gathering with a party of 4. I asked for seating inside, in a quiet area with no kids. There is outdoor dining also. The first seating offered was in front of the busy kitchen door which I quickly asked for a move away from seeing directly into kitchen and waitstaff station. Then it was more enjoyable. Water is brought and cocktails suggested of which we had G&T, Vodka Cranberry and Rum and Coke. All were nicely made and not wimpy. The seats, by the way, are either hard wooden slatted chairs or kind of soft, straight back banquets. You can ask for pillows for the hard chairs. The atmosphere is decorated in a contemporary eclectic feel and the happy hour bar area just outside is really fun and comfortable. You can get appetizers there before you get seated. So overall, very good. Food is excellent. You may really enjoy a visit to Bo-Beaus. It's unique and delicious. Recommended that you take a walk afterward in the La Mesa Village to see all the changes and new eateries that have opened up. Get those steps in!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Fun, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.