About BO-beau kitchen + garden

8384 La Mesa Blvd
La Mesa, CA 91942-9218
View Larger Map

BO beau kitchen + garden is located in the Village of La Mesa. BO beau offers Sophisticated Comfort Food with Global Inspirations. We have 24 Beers on tap, a worldly wine list and a full bar with eclectic cocktails.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary French / American, Global, International

Hours of Operation:
Dinner


Tuesday - Wednesday: 4:30pm - 9:00pm;
Friday & Saturday: 4:30pm - 10:00pm;
Sunday: Brunch 10:30am- 1:30pm
Bar menu 1:30pm- 4:30pm
Dinner 4:30pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Spring Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(619) 337-3445

Website:
http://www.cohnrestaurants.com/bobeaukitchengarden

Parking Details:
Park on the street there are meters or in the lot behind us on Allison Street OR in the residential areas around us.

Executive Chef:
Tyler Shipton

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Ask about our special Valentines day menu!

BO-beau kitchen + garden Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (25)
Neighborhood Gem (24)
Creative Cuisine (24)
See All
Good for a Date (23)
Great for Outdoor Dining (22)
Fun (15)
Casual (14)
Fit for Foodies (14)
Cozy (13)
Modern Decor (12)
Comfort Food (12)
Good for Groups (12)
Worth the Drive (11)
Romantic (11)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Happy Hour (10)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Authentic (9)
Bar Seating (8)
Hot Spot (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
People Watching (7)
Great Beer (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Kid-friendly (6)
Late-night Find (5)
Healthy (5)
Family Style (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Seasonal (4)
Organic (4)
Business Meals (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Outstanding Value (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Vegan (3)
Tapas (3)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Live Sports (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Historic (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Fireplace (1)
Private Room (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
682 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Beautiful decor. Good food.

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 3 days ago

Beautiful decor. Good food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I'm a fan of CRG restaurants and Bo-Beau ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 4 days ago

I'm a fan of CRG restaurants and Bo-Beau was no exception. I met a friend for brunch. Tasty mimosa for only $4. Brussels sprouts were amazing! Chicken and waffles were very good. Next time I'll try the French toast, it looked delicious at our neighbors table. The atmosphere was cozy and fun. Looking forward to trying a dinner here soon. I bet on a warm evening the patio is lovely.

Tags: Modern Decor, People Watching, Fun, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Visiting our daughter &a son. Had great ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 5 days ago

Visiting our daughter &a son. Had great food and the best service EVER! When in SD again will come back.

Tags: Comfort Food, Family Style, , Authentic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The Brussel sprouts are amazing and get ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The Brussel sprouts are amazing and get the half order it's huge

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing experience

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Amazing experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

We ordered appetizers (brussell sprouts ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We ordered appetizers (brussell sprouts were the bomb!), they came and we waited a very long time for silverware to eat them with, waiter finally brought 5 sets for the 6 of us. He explained they were short and that we needed to hold on to them between courses to make sure we had some. Also waited a very long time for desserts, wanted to cancel them but could not find the waiter. Food was awesome, service not so much

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

Took my wife for her birthday since she ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Took my wife for her birthday since she really likes the restaurant. The place was not busy since it was a Wednesday which was nice. I thought the service was pretty good, she felt rushed by the waitress. She did comment that it was the B-Team in the kitchen that night. The food was very bland, and not up to the usual quality that we have had there. For the quality we got and the price we paid, we feel that we could have done better at home. It was a disappointing show for us.

Tags: Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

In all honesty with the 3 locations of B ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 5, 2017

In all honesty with the 3 locations of Bo-Beau restaurants, and I have been to all three now, I still prefer the Ocean Beach location.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Food was good. We were there with our k ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Food was good. We were there with our kids. Kids meal was usual fare but also had an older kids' menu which we never seen before. Not sure if we would go back as it was a bit of a drive to get there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We were visiting from out of town and go ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 30, 2017

We were visiting from out of town and got a recommendation from a friend to go here for dinner. We really enjoyed the Brussels for sure! The pork was great although the grits and broccoli fell flat in regards to adding any personality or elevation to the dish. The outdoor patio was so romantic and beautiful and the service was great! I ordered a glass of wine and it had to have been the smallest portion of wine I have EVER gotten at a restaurant which was a bit disappointing. But all in all a little gem of a place that I would be happy to visit again.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We were a party of 4 adults and 2 childr ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 30, 2017

We were a party of 4 adults and 2 children (one was 4 yrs and the other 1 yr). We had a great time. The restaurant is kid friendly but also adult friendly, both in decor and ambience and also because the layout minimizes intrusive noise from others. There is both indoor eating as well as lovely outdoor eating (close to a play area with a school bus that kids love). The food was very good, though perhaps a tad rich for every day dining. Beer selection was great. And the waitstaff were friendly, relaxed, helpful, and attentive without being overly in your face. The restaurant is located in Old La Mesa with good street and off-street parking. Even though this is a bit of a drive for us, we'll definitely return.

Tags: Bar Seating, Great Beer, Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing food, and an overall amazing exp ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Amazing food, and an overall amazing experience. The food is plentiful and great for sharing. The brussel sprouts are a must! Parking can be a bit tricky, wear a good pair of walking shoes.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service in a beautiful se ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Great food and service in a beautiful setting! Excellent, creative menu...

Tags: Comfort Food, Modern Decor, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We used to love bo beau. The burger roya ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 29, 2017

We used to love bo beau. The burger royal is on point! You honestly can't go wrong with the burger and Brussel sprouts. We have realized we go there less and less. Lately the service is not up to par and the food is super hit and miss. I just wish they were consistent.

Tags: Comfort Food, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value4

Food was super GREASY! I didn't expect t ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Food was super GREASY! I didn't expect this! Since I have tried many Cohen restaurants....

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

Decided to dine their for restaurant wee ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Decided to dine their for restaurant week and a personal recommendation. The service and the food was superb. Ordered a salad which was amazing and enough for two people. My wife had a chicken entree and I had a short rib flatbread. Both delicious!

Tags: Comfort Food, Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

it was very nice but not perfect

 
·Dined on January 19, 2017

it was very nice but not perfect

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

The service was outstanding and food per ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 18, 2017

The service was outstanding and food perfectly prepared.

Tags: Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a very pleasant dinner with great ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 16, 2017

We had a very pleasant dinner with great service. All was very good!

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Usually we love coming here for dinner a ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Usually we love coming here for dinner and brunch. It is in our neighborhood and has always been a nice treat for us to be able to just drive down the road for drinks and food. The last few times that we have been there for brunch, the service has been pretty bad. Waiting over 20 minutes to have our food order taken and the servers are no where to be found. The only person I saw doing work was the Manager!!! I hope this is a temporary issue. As disappointed as I am that Cohen has decided to add the surcharge to their bill, nothing turns off customers like bad customer service and lack of attention from a server.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value4

We were not impressed by the food itself ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 15, 2017

We were not impressed by the food itself, which surprised us, since most of the properties are stellar. The Opa was way undercooked ( I understand "rare", this was uncooked in the middle, the green beans were almost raw, the grits with cheese were tasteless. The butterscotch pudding was bland. The chocolate cake was lovely and the decaf coffee was some of the best we've ever had. The whole place smells too much like the signature brussel sprouts dish and the seating is too loud and close together for dinner.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

I had the short rib flat bread this time ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 15, 2017

I had the short rib flat bread this time around, and it was deliciously unusual. The horseradish sauce was very mild, and the beef was very tender. The slivers of radish on top were just the right zing of flavor. The portion was generous and the food was just as tasty the next day.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Disabled Access, Business Meals, Late-night Find, Authentic, Private Room, Special Occasion, Cozy, Paleo Friendly, Creative Cuisine, Organic, Fun, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Vegan, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Healthy, Romantic, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great atmosphere, service, and cuisine. ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Great atmosphere, service, and cuisine. The pacing of when the food was brought to the table was perfect. The waitress gave me my wife plenty of time to finish our appetizers and salads before bringing the main course. We didn't feel rushed and felt as if we were the only couple there.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Vegan, Afternoon Tea, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was our 40th anniversary. It was enjo ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 12, 2017

It was our 40th anniversary. It was enjoyable, meal, drinks and dessert were perfect . We prefer sitting outside but the weather was threatening and didn't want to chance spoiling the evening.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

A little pricey but can't beat the fun o ...

 
·Dined on January 8, 2017

A little pricey but can't beat the fun of a school bus for kids to play on and excellent customer service!

Tags: Fun, Kid-friendly, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

I made a reservation based on previous g ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 6, 2017

I made a reservation based on previous great experiences at the other Cohn restaurants to celebrate my best friend's birthday. I have never ate at Bo Beau and it was always recommended by others. I was not impressed. The server was not attentive. I asked for a spoon since I did not receive one to eat the French Onion soup and he never returned with one. After 10 minutes of waiting and not having anything to eat soup with, I had to ask a passing staff member/bussing person for one. Also, the food was over salted. Also, no one acknowledged that I made a reservation to celebrate a birthday, even though I had mentioned it.

2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

The food was awesome. The drinks were gr ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 30, 2016

The food was awesome. The drinks were great too. I just don't like having food served prior to any cutlery on the table. It took multiple requests to get the silverware. That was my only beef. This place makes the best Brussel sprouts. The desserts were ok, but not out of this world. All in all one of the best restaurants I've been to.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Tapas, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Excellent, Excellent, Excellent food! R ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Excellent, Excellent, Excellent food! Reasonable price and friendly service. Will definitely go back!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My 4th or 5th time eating at BB. Consist ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 30, 2016

My 4th or 5th time eating at BB. Consistently good food and service. Will return.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Food, service, patio dining is so awesom ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Food, service, patio dining is so awesome! It was a little nippy on patio and we were given blankets and cushions to sit on. Heater was overhead. Warm and comfortable . Love, love this place! 👍🏼

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love that East County finally has some ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 22, 2016

I love that East County finally has some better restaurants and Bo Beau is definitely one of them. My only negatives are that it's really dark and a LOT of people including my husband were using phone flashlights to read the menu and it was especially loud the night we were there. I am chalking the noise level up to the time of year with the holiday parties and big family gatherings. Our food was tasty--I ordered the short ribs flatbread and the mister had the beef bourginon. Friends ordered the burger and another flatbread. No complaints on any of it...well prepared and nice portions. I would go back for lunch or maybe go at a different time of year and give it another try.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Hot Spot, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Super delicious gem. Outstanding décor d ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Super delicious gem. Outstanding décor down to the napkin rings being hardware nuts. The brussel sprouts were to die for. A little fast paced, eager to take your plates, and the waiters/waitresses are pretty busy. It's so beautiful and delicious. It can quickly and easily get pricey, but it is totally worth it.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Disabled Access, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Outdoor Dining, Molecular Gastronomy, Fun, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly, Great Beer, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Good Vegetarian Options, Happy Hour, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Wonderful! The food was delicious the at ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Wonderful! The food was delicious the atmosphere was perfect. The service was excellent. Love this neighborhood gem!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

One of my favorite restaurants. I've bee ...

 
 (Key West)·Dined on December 18, 2016

One of my favorite restaurants. I've been a many times and it never gets old

The sevice, the food, the drinks have always magnificent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

There were six very fussy people at our ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 15, 2016

There were six very fussy people at our table and every single one of us were thrilled with our food. The Brussel sprouts starter is a must. It feels like a special place. We can't wait to go again. Great place for a date or anniversary.

Tags: Late-night Find, , Hot Spot, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were very pleasantly surprised. The ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 14, 2016

We were very pleasantly surprised. The food was outstanding. Nice casual atmosphere. Surprisingly busy for a Tuesday night. We would highly recommend BoBeau.

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

They won't let adults order from the kid ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 11, 2016

They won't let adults order from the kids menu👎

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

The brussel sprouts were not only genero ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 9, 2016

The brussel sprouts were not only generous in quantity but they are the best that I have tasted. I also ordered the Pork Bellied flatbread which was delicious and enough to take home for a snack later on!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

We've had the same problem the last two ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 8, 2016

We've had the same problem the last two times we have been to the restaurant- the food came out about an hour after we ordered. The restaurant was not very busy. We also had 6 kids with us and 2 of their orders (plain noodles) did not come out with the rest of the order. This has happened multiple times, even if we order as soon as we sit down. The service really needs some attention.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

Brussel Sprouts appetizers are simy to d ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 7, 2016

Brussel Sprouts appetizers are simy to die for! Worth going just for that and a drink.

Tags: Good for Groups, Business Meals, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.