About BO-beau kitchen + garden

8384 La Mesa Blvd
La Mesa, CA 91942-9218
View Larger Map

BO beau kitchen + garden is located in the Village of La Mesa. BO beau offers Sophisticated Comfort Food with Global Inspirations. We have 24 Beers on tap, a worldly wine list and a full bar with eclectic cocktails.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary French / American, Global, International

Hours of Operation:
Dinner


Tuesday - Wednesday: 4:30pm - 9:00pm;
Friday & Saturday: 4:30pm - 10:00pm;
Sunday: Brunch 10:30am- 1:30pm
Bar menu 1:30pm- 4:30pm
Dinner 4:30pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Spring Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(619) 337-3445

Website:
http://www.cohnrestaurants.com/bobeaukitchengarden

Parking Details:
Park on the street there are meters or in the lot behind us on Allison Street OR in the residential areas around us.

Executive Chef:
Tyler Shipton

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Ask about our special Valentines day menu!

Restaurant Photos

  • BO-beau kitchen + garden
  • BO-beau kitchen + garden
  • BO-beau kitchen + garden
  • BO-beau kitchen + garden
BO-beau kitchen + garden
BO-beau kitchen + garden
BO-beau kitchen + garden
BO-beau kitchen + garden

BO-beau kitchen + garden Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.2

ambience

4.3

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

81% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
East County
Best Restaurants in La Mesa ›

Great for Outdoor Dining (61)
Neighborhood Gem (57)
Fit for Foodies (38)
See All
Special Occasion (38)
Good for Groups (35)
Kid-friendly (26)
Romantic (21)
Great for Brunch (20)
Great for Lunch (17)
Hot Spot (13)
Good for a Date (9)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Notable Wine List (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Casual (7)
Late-night Find (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Local Ingredients (4)
Great Beer (4)
Fun (4)
Cozy (4)
People Watching (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Business Meals (3)
Seasonal (3)
Authentic (3)
Tapas (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Healthy (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Historic (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Organic (1)
Fireplace (1)
Family Style (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Vegan (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Private Room (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
Newest
600 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I always enjoy bo beau. Consistently gre ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

I always enjoy bo beau. Consistently great food and some some fun cocktails. The service is always good if not great and the atmo is fun. Go there!

Tags: Cozy, People Watching, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Molecular Gastronomy, Special Occasion, Casual, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Seasonal, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We don't get here often but when we have ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

We don't get here often but when we have we have never been disappointed. We of course ordered the Brussel Sprouts they are a must try (even if you don't think you like them). It was an early dinner before a movie so we split the Burger Royale and what a Burger it was with pork Belly, Guoda, Onion Jam and a Roasted Garlic Aioli. This is also a must try.

Tags: Great Beer, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our favorite local go-to for flavorful f ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Our favorite local go-to for flavorful food, in a fun area. Balsamic Brussel Spouts, Fried Chicken & Pork Shank, A MUST!

Tags: Authentic, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

We got there late and we were treated th ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

We got there late and we were treated the best we could ask for.. Paul our server is so awesome he made us feel relaxed even though we were the last ones there!! Thank you Paul.. The staff was very friendly and the chef delivered the best food delishes!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lemon Drop excellent, clambake was great ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

Lemon Drop excellent, clambake was great as were brusselsprouts

Tags: Fun, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Bo Beau Kitchen and Garden never disappo ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Bo Beau Kitchen and Garden never disappoints. We hit the brunch this time and had a delectable fresh crepe with some kind of amazing fruit sauce. We also had a waffle and the whipped cream that was served alongside it was I think the tastiest fresh whipped cream I've ever had. It was obviously just whipped, and had a hint of rosemary or something blended in. WOW.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Disabled Access, Vegan, Private Room, Handcrafted Cocktails, Healthy, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find, Fun, Organic, Good for a Date, Fireplace, Special Occasion, Cozy, Kid-friendly, Bar Seating, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Paleo Friendly, Notable Wine List, Historic, Gluten Free Options, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Good Vegetarian Options, Business Meals, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is awful, entrees are pre-made ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

The food is awful, entrees are pre-made and then heated in a microwave. Thus, the food is not fresh and unevenly cooked. Drinks are over-priced. The ambiance is beautiful but I will never go here again. And I would not recommend this place to anyone. Also, we were overcharged more than our final bill on on our credit card.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

Absolutely fabulous!

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

Absolutely fabulous!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We made the reservation on Sunday aftern ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

We made the reservation on Sunday afternoon and I even called to make sure they saw I preferred a patio seat. We arrived at 7:58 pm and about 3 different bussers and 2 different waiters passed by in the next 20 minutes and no one offered us water, drinks or offered to take our order. We were starving and ended up leaving. We love the Cohn group but this was really disappointing I was very much looking forward to having dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1

Poor quality food, drastically overprice ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

Poor quality food, drastically overpriced for what came out of the kitchen. The steak I had was simply bad -- poor quality meat, rubbery and flavorless. The veggies it was plated with were described as "haricot verts" on the menu, which should have translated to delicate, slender green beans but these too turned out to be waxy, tough, and flavorless. Other San Diego restaurants turn out a superior product at a lower price in higher-rent locations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

We went there for our anniversary and we ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

We went there for our anniversary and were unfortunately put at a table near several large family groups. Since it was our anniversary we were hoping for a nice table on the patio but didn't know to request it when we made our reservation. After I explained to the hostess she went out of her way to find us a nice table on the patio even though they were full. She also gave us champagne for our anniversary. We had the short ribs and the skirt steak and they were both delicious. We will be back!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is a true gem! It's very lively, gr ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

This is a true gem! It's very lively, great ambiance too!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Cozy, Happy Hour, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Casual, Special Occasion, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a very good experience at BO-beau's, ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

Had a very good experience at BO-beau's, took a chance at just looking at reviews & my whole party said it was great. Very nice outdoor patio area suited out get together very well.

Tags: Fun, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great service! The whole staff was atten ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Great service! The whole staff was attentive and the food was delish. There is a reason those Brussels sprouts are famous! Also, outside seating is must.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The service was excellent and the food w ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

The service was excellent and the food was great! We ordered two appetizers and two entrees. Everything was prepared to perfection. My wife ordered the Brussel Sprouts. I don't typically like Brussel Sprouts, but I ate more of them than she did. they have a really unique cocktail selection as well.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Authentic, Bar Seating, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and server accommodating alle ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Great food and server accommodating allergy request with no issues. Highly recommend. If you go, must order brussel sprouts appetizer. Fantastic!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The staff was fantastic and the food was ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

The staff was fantastic and the food was beautifully presented! The Julia Child dinner was lovely.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Amazing as always it's our go to place o ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Amazing as always it's our go to place one feel like we need a date night

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

First time to Bo Beau, certainly not our ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

First time to Bo Beau, certainly not our last time! Food was amazing!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

You know you're going to have a great m ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

You know you're going to have a great meal when you come to Bo-beau. There is something for everyone on the menu from salads, flatbread and burgers to pork shank and catch of the day specials. The fried chicken and rockfish special were both standouts during this visit. The Pork Shank never disappoints, especially with those hushpuppies! Sit outside, just be aware of where the sun will be setting so you don't end up with it in your eyes1

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Not like the one in Ocean Beach! Our se ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Not like the one in Ocean Beach! Our sever Janna was VERY slow. Dirty glasses, dirty plates were sent back to start the evening to celebrate birthdays. After having a rough start, there was no sense of urgency or changing the experience. She moved even slower and pouring a glass of wine from the bottle was comical. Major training needs to occur. The seemed fun and nice. Not sure we could give another try.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

This place is over rated. The only real ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

This place is over rated. The only really good item our group received was the Brussels sprouts. The fish tacos were ordinary, the flatbreads were just dough with some tomato sauce spread on top, the steak was barely OK. Not worth the amount.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

I feel like the quality of food has gone ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

I feel like the quality of food has gone down:(. (Mussels not fresh, less pancetta in Brussels sprouts, dessert not fresh). I really like the vibe and it's the best restaurant La Mesa has to offer but you need to stay consistent. Believe it or not there are foodies in the east county and we do notice quality and consistency. I really want to like BoBeau and to keep coming but not if it doesn't stay consistent. Hope this was constructive:)

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

This was our first time on the patio, an ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

This was our first time on the patio, and it was very pleasant, which is no doubt why almost all patrons were seated outside this summer evening, while the inside was still empty at 6:30. I wish the food had been as good as the ambiance. My fried chicken was just average, tender but not juicy, served with a rather tasteless corn succotash and a dried out and overly salty corn muffin, still wearing its paper liner. I'd expect this at a Denny's, but not a Cohn restaurant. Corn bread baked in a pan would retain moisture and texture far better. My husband's pork shank was excellent, but the accompanying masa "amaze balls" were ghastly. Our guest seemed to like his steak okay, but certainly didn't rave. The roasted Brussels sprouts were marvelous, as always, but overall this particular night's culinary experience was disappointing.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Everyone was super friendly and the serv ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Everyone was super friendly and the service was outstanding!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We were celebrating a birthday and we we ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

We were celebrating a birthday and we were all very satisfied with our experience. Our waiter, Paul was so accommodating, friendly and helpful! It was a wonderful experience and we will be going back!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food& beautiful patio and very dog ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Great food& beautiful patio and very dog friendly!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

great food as usual---the warm summer ev ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

great food as usual---the warm summer evening was a little hard inside; we in dining room farthest from doors and patio and it was very warm, couldn't feel much air-conditioning. Server was very friendly but a little scattered: forgot to return w/ forgotten items; drinking water was cool, not cold---ice in the pitcher had melted---and slow to be refilled.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Went here recently for our anniversary. ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Went here recently for our anniversary. Only been here once before and loved it, but this experience just didn't live up to the previous one. Got the brussel sprouts, which I recall being phenomenal last time, but this time they were just OK. Previously they had these big chunks of juicy pork in them, but this time it was more like dried out bacon bits. Pretty underwhelming. Got the flat iron steak for the entree, though, and that was pretty good.

The waitress was nice and helpful, but seemed to be rushing us out of there. Didn't even offer us dessert, then when we asked about she remarked that she didn't think we would want anything because we ate so much (i.e. basically calling us pigs). I'm sure she didn't mean it that way, but we thought it was funny.

Still enjoy the place, though, and I'm sure we'll be back.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

The front desk was very friendly and rea ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

The front desk was very friendly and really wanted to please. The beef sliders were excellent.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

I was very disappointed with my meal. I ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

I was very disappointed with my meal. I ordered the Crab Cake Eggs Benedict and it was terrible. The crab was mushy and tasteless, the bread was indistinguishable and soggy. We also ordered the Brussel Sprouts that everyone raves about and I wasn't impressed. There was very little of the balsamic sauce on them and they were underdone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

As per our waitress," the brussel sprout ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

As per our waitress," the brussel sprouts pay the rent"when we commented on the great flavor of the roasted sprouts. We received them in a timely manner but then waited for an additional 45 minutes for our "simple" entrees. Not impressed w them and after waiting so long we just wanted to eat and get out. Sorry.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

Waitress was awesome! Ambiance was great ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Waitress was awesome! Ambiance was great! Food was delicious!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value5

It was a hot evening but was nice to sit ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

It was a hot evening but was nice to sit in the patio area with our dog (he was hot though). Music selections are PERFECT for me.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

The ambiance and service was great but i ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

The ambiance and service was great but it was quite warm since the a/c could not keep up with the heat wave. My cocktail was great but the main course was bland. I'm allergic to dairy and egg and this affected the preparation but the fish and vegetables were not salted or seasoned well. Other nice restaurants accommodate my allergies and there is flavor even with a simple preparation. My husband said his pork was just okay. The kids meals were great.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value3

The food wasn't as good as it has been o ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

The food wasn't as good as it has been other times. My short rib was extra fatty and the brussell sprouts came out with like 2 pieces of panceta, too little balsamic glaze and were underdone.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Server was great. Patio was great. We ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Server was great. Patio was great. We had fun.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We go here quite often and it can be hit ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

We go here quite often and it can be hit or miss on food. This visit it was a bit of a miss. At the bar we had the jalapeno deviled eggs that were pretty bland and flavorless (no spice), the Brussels Sprouts for an app (it was enough for 4 pp and a waste of food), and a Panna Cotta dessert that was so old that the top of the custard/cotta was hard. Entrees were great. I love this place but it can be inconsistent on quality.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Special place in a growing and vibrant L ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Special place in a growing and vibrant La Mesa. Indoor/outdoor options with lovely garden feel. The portions are large so be careful not to over order (we did). Recommend the brussels sprout starter.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The food was delicious...we ordered the ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

The food was delicious...we ordered the amazing Brussel sprouts, salmon and flat iron steak. Delicious flavor combinations and a good amount of food.

The waitress was kind and attentive and we love the decor of the interior and the spacious patio.

This is one of our favorite restaurants.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.