HelpiOS AppAndroid AppWindows Phone AppWindows 8 App

Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 28 times today

BO-beau kitchen + garden

4.4
899 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Contemporary French / American
Top Tags:
  • Neighborhood Gem
  • Fit for Foodies
  • Great for Outdoor Dining
BO beau kitchen + garden is located in the Village of La Mesa. BO beau offers Sophisticated Comfort Food with Global Inspirations. We have 24 Beers on tap, a worldly wine list and a full bar with eclectic cocktails.
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Contemporary French / American, Global, International
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Dinner


Tuesday - Wednesday: 4:30pm - 9:00pm;
Friday & Saturday: 4:30pm - 10:00pm;
Sunday: Brunch 10:30am- 1:30pm
Bar menu 1:30pm- 4:30pm
Dinner 4:30pm - 9:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(619) 337-3445
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Tyler Shipton
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Spring Street
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Park on the street there are meters or in the lot behind us on Allison Street OR in the residential areas around us.
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
Ask about our special Valentines day menu!
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 899 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.4  based on recent ratings
4.4
food
4.4
service
4.4
ambience
4.0
value
Noise · Moderate
86% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
OpenTable Diner (San Diego)
2.0  Dined 6 days ago

I wanted to love this place, but the prices were absolutely not worth the service and quality of food. The place wasn't that busy yet we waited quite a while for each of the things we ordered to come out. The food was bland and under seasoned, and really not worth the price. The ambience was nice, however, there was a table of loud people sitting nearby that ruined the calm, quiet atmosphere for us. Overall I would not return for dinner - perhaps for a drink or a small plate but absolutely not for a full meal.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Los Angeles)
5.0  Dined on February 13, 2018

My fiancé and I celebrated an early Valentine’s Day with dinner at Bo Beau kitchen + garden and it was so wonderful! The service was great, the food was AMAZING (especially the Brussel sprouts omg out of this world!), and the garden was the perfect romantic setting for our date. We will be coming back!

Report
Helpful
ronaldn (San Diego)
3.0  Dined on February 13, 2018

Been to Bo Beaus before and in OB. I like it fine but regret not specifying I wanted to sit indoors when I made the reservation. They put me on the patio. It was cold and the heaters aren't that efficient but a blanket for my lap did help. Was ample space indoors (it was a tuesday) but was told they were holding the tables for reservations. Fair enough... but there were lots of spaces that no one came to use. Not very accomodating...

Report
Helpful
MelanieVG (San Diego)
4.0  Dined on February 10, 2018

The food was great (although my fish was a little saltier than normal). It was my boyfriend's first time here and he really enjoyed his meal. We had the brussel sprouts appetizer which is always great! I had the roasted fresh catch and my boyfriend had the steak frites. Our waitress was awesome... great customer service. We will definitely be back!

Report
Helpful
marpoz (San Diego)
5.0  Dined on February 9, 2018

Accommodating for families with kids

Report
Helpful
FabFoodie (San Diego)
1.0  Dined on February 9, 2018

Food was terrible all around. The server brought a steak knife for a piece of fish. One person in our party got locked in the bathroom. The table next to us sent back the Brussels sprouts. I brought mine home to cook myself. It had been a few years since I had been to the La Mesa location. Won’t go back there again.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Palm Springs)
3.0  Dined on February 9, 2018

The meat was tender, but the steak knife wouldn’t cut the broccoli as usual. Price is a bit high and the food is usually good not great

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (San Diego)
5.0  Dined on February 3, 2018

Great tasting food, must order the Brussels sprouts for appetizer, also the Lamb plate is incredible.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (San Diego)
5.0  Dined on February 2, 2018

Service was excellent. The French onion soup was to die for. So savoury and delish! I wasn’t too impressed with the c’est la vegan dish. Boring in appearance, flavours were unimpressive, and the amount of wild rice was overkill. But I’ll definitely be returning and try a different dish next time because I did enjoy my experience there!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (San Diego)
4.0  Dined on January 30, 2018

Birthday , unfortunately I had to send salmon back as it was over cooked and it took along time for it to return

Report
Helpful
Passport (San Diego)
5.0  Dined on January 30, 2018

Every trip to BoBeaus is excellent. The big draw is their roasted Brussels sprouts but taco Tuesday was also a hit this week. Flat bread pizzas, especially the spicy shrimp, is a fav. I love supporting the local businesses.

Report
Helpful
Calsin (San Francisco)
5.0  Dined on January 28, 2018

Absolutely love the decor and vibe, but especially love the food!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (San Diego)
5.0  Dined on January 27, 2018

Brussels sprouts are amazing, all food was great! The upstairs area is really cool to eat in, much more private and a bit more quiet.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (San Diego)
5.0  Dined on January 27, 2018

Very good food , friendly service and excellent spirits.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (San Diego)
5.0  Dined on January 26, 2018

Had the restaurant week menu for our anniversary. Food was delicious and ambiance was delightful. These days I find lots of restaurants are quite loud with concrete floors etc. but Bo-beau had the perfect noise level. Loud enough where you’re not accidentally eavesdropping on your neighbors but could still easily hear my husband without having to raise our voices. I’m definitely interested in returning for more of their yummy food.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (San Diego)
3.0  Dined on January 26, 2018

Service was slow even though we went early for dinner and it wasn’t too busy. Food came an hour after ordering; kids were very hungry. Restaurant Week dinner menu was average and choices not great. Not worth the value...

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Washington DC)
5.0  Dined on January 21, 2018

I am happy a friend recommended Bo-Beau restaurant. My family and I really enjoyed the meal. The Brussels sprouts were amazing! I had the mussels and my wife had the fish of the day, simply outstanding! I highly recommend this place for all occasions. We ate there during SDRW and it was well worth it.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (San Diego)
4.0  Dined on January 20, 2018

Had a reservation and we were seated immediately. Our server arrived and asked if it was our first time at the restaurant and took time to provide information and answer questions. He was very helpful and made suggestions. He appeared to care about us and enjoyed his work. He continued checking on us during dinner and was prompt correcting a couple of minor issues. The pork shank was excellent and accompanying items were just fine. The portions were good. The other dinner was an outstanding pizza. We will likely return for dinner.

Report
Helpful
vipOpenTable Diner (San Diego)
5.0  Dined on January 19, 2018

Love you guys

Report
Helpful
DianeN (San Diego)
5.0  Dined on January 16, 2018

Our food was excellent and we enjoyed every bite. It wasn't crowded on a Tuesday night and we stayed for 2 hours, enjoying the food and laughing.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
45