About BO-beau kitchen + garden

8384 La Mesa Blvd
La Mesa, CA 91942-9218
View Larger Map

BO beau kitchen + garden is located in the Village of La Mesa. BO beau offers Sophisticated Comfort Food with Global Inspirations. We have 24 Beers on tap, a worldly wine list and a full bar with eclectic cocktails.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary French / American, Global, International

Hours of Operation:
Dinner


Tuesday - Wednesday: 4:30pm - 9:00pm;
Friday & Saturday: 4:30pm - 10:00pm;
Sunday: Brunch 10:30am- 1:30pm
Bar menu 1:30pm- 4:30pm
Dinner 4:30pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Spring Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(619) 337-3445

Website:
http://www.cohnrestaurants.com/bobeaukitchengarden

Parking Details:
Park on the street there are meters or in the lot behind us on Allison Street OR in the residential areas around us.

Executive Chef:
Tyler Shipton

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Ask about our special Valentines day menu!

Restaurant Photos

  • BO-beau kitchen + garden
  • BO-beau kitchen + garden
  • BO-beau kitchen + garden
  • BO-beau kitchen + garden
BO-beau kitchen + garden
BO-beau kitchen + garden
BO-beau kitchen + garden
BO-beau kitchen + garden

BO-beau kitchen + garden Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

4.1

ambience

4.2

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

80% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
East County
Best Restaurants in La Mesa ›

Great for Outdoor Dining (65)
Neighborhood Gem (62)
Fit for Foodies (46)
See All
Good for Groups (40)
Special Occasion (39)
Kid-friendly (31)
Great for Brunch (24)
Romantic (22)
Great for Lunch (21)
Hot Spot (14)
Vibrant Bar Scene (10)
Notable Wine List (9)
Late-night Find (8)
Sort By:
Newest
586 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great service! The whole staff was atten ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined 5 days ago

Great service! The whole staff was attentive and the food was delish. There is a reason those Brussels sprouts are famous! Also, outside seating is must.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The service was excellent and the food w ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined 5 days ago

The service was excellent and the food was great! We ordered two appetizers and two entrees. Everything was prepared to perfection. My wife ordered the Brussel Sprouts. I don't typically like Brussel Sprouts, but I ate more of them than she did. they have a really unique cocktail selection as well.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Authentic, Bar Seating, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and server accommodating alle ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined 6 days ago

Great food and server accommodating allergy request with no issues. Highly recommend. If you go, must order brussel sprouts appetizer. Fantastic!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The staff was fantastic and the food was ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

The staff was fantastic and the food was beautifully presented! The Julia Child dinner was lovely.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Amazing as always it's our go to place o ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Amazing as always it's our go to place one feel like we need a date night

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

First time to Bo Beau, certainly not our ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

First time to Bo Beau, certainly not our last time! Food was amazing!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

You know you're going to have a great m ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

You know you're going to have a great meal when you come to Bo-beau. There is something for everyone on the menu from salads, flatbread and burgers to pork shank and catch of the day specials. The fried chicken and rockfish special were both standouts during this visit. The Pork Shank never disappoints, especially with those hushpuppies! Sit outside, just be aware of where the sun will be setting so you don't end up with it in your eyes1

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Not like the one in Ocean Beach! Our se ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Not like the one in Ocean Beach! Our sever Janna was VERY slow. Dirty glasses, dirty plates were sent back to start the evening to celebrate birthdays. After having a rough start, there was no sense of urgency or changing the experience. She moved even slower and pouring a glass of wine from the bottle was comical. Major training needs to occur. The seemed fun and nice. Not sure we could give another try.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

This place is over rated. The only real ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

This place is over rated. The only really good item our group received was the Brussels sprouts. The fish tacos were ordinary, the flatbreads were just dough with some tomato sauce spread on top, the steak was barely OK. Not worth the amount.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

I feel like the quality of food has gone ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

I feel like the quality of food has gone down:(. (Mussels not fresh, less pancetta in Brussels sprouts, dessert not fresh). I really like the vibe and it's the best restaurant La Mesa has to offer but you need to stay consistent. Believe it or not there are foodies in the east county and we do notice quality and consistency. I really want to like BoBeau and to keep coming but not if it doesn't stay consistent. Hope this was constructive:)

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

This was our first time on the patio, an ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

This was our first time on the patio, and it was very pleasant, which is no doubt why almost all patrons were seated outside this summer evening, while the inside was still empty at 6:30. I wish the food had been as good as the ambiance. My fried chicken was just average, tender but not juicy, served with a rather tasteless corn succotash and a dried out and overly salty corn muffin, still wearing its paper liner. I'd expect this at a Denny's, but not a Cohn restaurant. Corn bread baked in a pan would retain moisture and texture far better. My husband's pork shank was excellent, but the accompanying masa "amaze balls" were ghastly. Our guest seemed to like his steak okay, but certainly didn't rave. The roasted Brussels sprouts were marvelous, as always, but overall this particular night's culinary experience was disappointing.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Everyone was super friendly and the serv ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Everyone was super friendly and the service was outstanding!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We were celebrating a birthday and we we ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

We were celebrating a birthday and we were all very satisfied with our experience. Our waiter, Paul was so accommodating, friendly and helpful! It was a wonderful experience and we will be going back!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food& beautiful patio and very dog ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Great food& beautiful patio and very dog friendly!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

great food as usual---the warm summer ev ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

great food as usual---the warm summer evening was a little hard inside; we in dining room farthest from doors and patio and it was very warm, couldn't feel much air-conditioning. Server was very friendly but a little scattered: forgot to return w/ forgotten items; drinking water was cool, not cold---ice in the pitcher had melted---and slow to be refilled.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Went here recently for our anniversary. ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Went here recently for our anniversary. Only been here once before and loved it, but this experience just didn't live up to the previous one. Got the brussel sprouts, which I recall being phenomenal last time, but this time they were just OK. Previously they had these big chunks of juicy pork in them, but this time it was more like dried out bacon bits. Pretty underwhelming. Got the flat iron steak for the entree, though, and that was pretty good.

The waitress was nice and helpful, but seemed to be rushing us out of there. Didn't even offer us dessert, then when we asked about she remarked that she didn't think we would want anything because we ate so much (i.e. basically calling us pigs). I'm sure she didn't mean it that way, but we thought it was funny.

Still enjoy the place, though, and I'm sure we'll be back.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

The front desk was very friendly and rea ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

The front desk was very friendly and really wanted to please. The beef sliders were excellent.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

I was very disappointed with my meal. I ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

I was very disappointed with my meal. I ordered the Crab Cake Eggs Benedict and it was terrible. The crab was mushy and tasteless, the bread was indistinguishable and soggy. We also ordered the Brussel Sprouts that everyone raves about and I wasn't impressed. There was very little of the balsamic sauce on them and they were underdone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

As per our waitress," the brussel sprout ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

As per our waitress," the brussel sprouts pay the rent"when we commented on the great flavor of the roasted sprouts. We received them in a timely manner but then waited for an additional 45 minutes for our "simple" entrees. Not impressed w them and after waiting so long we just wanted to eat and get out. Sorry.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

Waitress was awesome! Ambiance was great ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Waitress was awesome! Ambiance was great! Food was delicious!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value5

It was a hot evening but was nice to sit ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

It was a hot evening but was nice to sit in the patio area with our dog (he was hot though). Music selections are PERFECT for me.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

The ambiance and service was great but i ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

The ambiance and service was great but it was quite warm since the a/c could not keep up with the heat wave. My cocktail was great but the main course was bland. I'm allergic to dairy and egg and this affected the preparation but the fish and vegetables were not salted or seasoned well. Other nice restaurants accommodate my allergies and there is flavor even with a simple preparation. My husband said his pork was just okay. The kids meals were great.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value3

The food wasn't as good as it has been o ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

The food wasn't as good as it has been other times. My short rib was extra fatty and the brussell sprouts came out with like 2 pieces of panceta, too little balsamic glaze and were underdone.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Server was great. Patio was great. We ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Server was great. Patio was great. We had fun.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We go here quite often and it can be hit ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

We go here quite often and it can be hit or miss on food. This visit it was a bit of a miss. At the bar we had the jalapeno deviled eggs that were pretty bland and flavorless (no spice), the Brussels Sprouts for an app (it was enough for 4 pp and a waste of food), and a Panna Cotta dessert that was so old that the top of the custard/cotta was hard. Entrees were great. I love this place but it can be inconsistent on quality.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Special place in a growing and vibrant L ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Special place in a growing and vibrant La Mesa. Indoor/outdoor options with lovely garden feel. The portions are large so be careful not to over order (we did). Recommend the brussels sprout starter.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The food was delicious...we ordered the ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

The food was delicious...we ordered the amazing Brussel sprouts, salmon and flat iron steak. Delicious flavor combinations and a good amount of food.

The waitress was kind and attentive and we love the decor of the interior and the spacious patio.

This is one of our favorite restaurants.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service was timely, food was excellent a ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Service was timely, food was excellent and portions were generous, restaraunt is open providing refreshing air and views of the street, noise was moderate, easy to talk, server made an error on the split of the bill which manager contacted me the next day, very professional and god to see they are paying attention to detail. Highly recommended.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

This place used to be good HOWEVER the f ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

This place used to be good HOWEVER the food is just ok and service is just ok. Not a fan of communal seating and they will not let 2 people use their booths even with a reservation. They say it booked and no one shows up. RUDE! The brussel sprouts used to be AMAZING. Now they are disgusting the pancheta which used to be delicious is literally chunks of fat. Eww turned my stomach before getting my main course. Which was bland and they are serving up 2 day old dry as anything cornbread.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2

Always love the brussel sprouts, but the ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Always love the brussel sprouts, but they were too big and not cooked enough.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Excellent menu and outstanding service. ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Excellent menu and outstanding service. Probably best restaurant this part of San Diego County.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We always enjoy our dinners at Bo-beau's ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

We always enjoy our dinners at Bo-beau's. It is a lovely setting with good food and good service. I am on a low salt diet and they will prepare my meat with no salt.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

We tried this restaurant when it was fir ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

We tried this restaurant when it was first opened and was disappointed. It has not improved. The service does not meet the Cohn standard nor does the management. The flat bread crust tasted like cardboard. The salad lacked ingredients stated on menu and was not good. It took us at least 15 minutes to get our drinks. We have enjoyed Bo Beau in Point Loma. Sorry this branch is mediocre at best

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value3

This restaurant has gone downhill. It i ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

This restaurant has gone downhill. It is not up to Cohn restaurant standards. We ate outside, which is in dire need of maintenance and landscaping care. I had the pork shank which was just OK, but the accompaniments were stale. My wife had the clambake, which did not come with bread and was mostly tasteless. I like Cohn restaurants and even buy the $1000 Cohn card at Costco, but this restaurant needs management.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

Food and drinks were very good. Always ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Food and drinks were very good. Always enjoy sitting in the garden area. Loved the brochette that evening. Would order that time and time again.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This location was not great, the staff f ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

This location was not great, the staff from the bartender to the hostess all dropped the ball. The bartender seemed interrupted to take our order. The hostess offered to bring our appetizer from the bar to our table simply left and our appetizer was cleared. Definitely will not be back to this location again. The topper was a couple brought a dog to the patio area who rummaged under our table while we thought about getting desert. We will not be back thank you

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

Food was served on boards that allowed s ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Food was served on boards that allowed sauce to run onto table. Sticky. Server was nice but didn't seem interested. Brussel sprouts were not cooked as Ocean Beach location. They were under done. Burger was to have pork belly on it, could not find any. Wine menu was insulting if you chose a lesser wine.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

I initially wanted to have some duck con ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

I initially wanted to have some duck confit but didn't see it on the menu that was provided. We went here for Father's Day for my hubby. He ordered the short-rib hash with gravy, I had the Royale Burger and we shared the brussels sprouts and deviled eggs for appetizers. EVERYTHING was delicious!!! If I did have to point out ONE thing, it would only be that the fries needs to be eaten IMMEDIATELY, it isn't too great once it gets cold but everything was nothing short of amazing. I cannot wait to come back and try something else. Another thing I wanted to mention is the staff is super friendly and the service was SUPERB!!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall it was a pleasant evening. My c ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Overall it was a pleasant evening. My companion's fried chicken was delicious. I was disappointed with my over done halibut and too aldente green beans (a special of the day).

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

I was sadly disappointed in this place. ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

I was sadly disappointed in this place. It is expensive and the food is just OK, the service was bad to mediocre.

We started by ordering appetizers, when they arrived we asked the server for more place settings, there were only four for six people. The server just looked at us and asked if we wanted extra. We pointed out that we didn't have enough. After staring at our appetizer for a a while we realized he wasn't coming back and grabbed some from another table. A bit later he came back with the other appetizer but no plates.

The food had little flavor and the presentation was kind of plain. And did I mention how expensive it was?

I had really high expectations for a Cohn restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.