Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.28mi
  2. Distance: 0.47mi
  3. Distance: 0.49mi
  4. Distance: 0.50mi
  1. Distance: 0.28mi
  2. Distance: 0.47mi
  3. Distance: 0.49mi
  4. Distance: 0.50mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.28mi
  2. Distance: 0.47mi
  3. Distance: 0.49mi
  4. Distance: 0.50mi
  1. Distance: 0.28mi
  2. Distance: 0.47mi
  3. Distance: 0.49mi
  4. Distance: 0.50mi

About BO-beau kitchen + garden

BO beau kitchen + garden is located in the Village of La Mesa. BO beau offers Sophisticated Comfort Food with Global Inspirations. We have 24 Beers on tap, a worldly wine list and a full bar with eclectic cocktails.

8384 La Mesa Blvd
La Mesa, CA 91942-9218
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary French / American, Global, International

Hours of Operation:
Dinner


Tuesday - Wednesday: 4:30pm - 9:00pm;
Friday & Saturday: 4:30pm - 10:00pm;
Sunday: Brunch 10:30am- 1:30pm
Bar menu 1:30pm- 4:30pm
Dinner 4:30pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Spring Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(619) 337-3445

Website:
http://www.cohnrestaurants.com/bobeaukitchengarden

Parking Details:
Park on the street there are meters or in the lot behind us on Allison Street OR in the residential areas around us.

Executive Chef:
Tyler Shipton

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Ask about our special Valentines day menu!

BO-beau kitchen + garden Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (34)
Great for Outdoor Dining (33)
Good for a Date (28)
See All
Creative Cuisine (24)
Casual (23)
Fit for Foodies (21)
Special Occasion (21)
Comfort Food (19)
Fun (19)
Good for Birthdays (18)
Good for Groups (14)
Kid-friendly (14)
Cozy (13)
Good for Anniversaries (12)
Happy Hour (11)
Modern Decor (11)
Romantic (11)
Worth the Drive (10)
People Watching (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Family Style (8)
Notable Wine List (8)
Bar Seating (8)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Authentic (7)
Business Meals (7)
Great Beer (6)
Healthy (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Great for Brunch (6)
Hot Spot (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Seasonal (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Tapas (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Organic (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Private Room (3)
Vegan (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Live Sports (1)
Historic (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Scenic View (1)
Fireplace (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sort By:
S
716 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 2 days ago

This restaurant and service we're great but the food was flavorless.

Doug Hele

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 16, 2017

The restaurant was very nice. I tried the chicken and waffles. The portions were perfect. Just enough to get you full, the chicken pieces however were overdone making them dry and the waffles were so hard they felt like bricks ! The waitress was kind to bring some new waffles. My husband and son enjoyed their food, that's why I didn't give the food a lower score.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Had Easter Brunch here on Sunday. We ate on the patio, a beautiful setting & the weather was perfect. They had a special menu that was very good. I had the chicken sandwich and they accommodated my diet restriction of no dairy. Service was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Nice experience. Early for reservation and sat immediately. We were seated in between two larger tables which was only a problem because half of the restaurant was empty. Good food and a nice place to go.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 13, 2017

BO-Beau always treats and feeds us wonderfully well. The manager, Michelle, is peerless and her staff always great. Reliably fine food in a nice environment.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Healthy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 10, 2017

$10 for a 3 ounce glass of wine served in a cup. Felt like drinking out of a hotel bathroom cup that you have to use if you don't a real wine glass.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Brussel Sprouts and Jalapeno Deviled Eggs are amazing!! Fish and Chips special was good, but the sauce was a little salty. All of the flatbreads were great too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Flatbread was a little undercooked for us Brussels sprouts were excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 8, 2017

We did the Springtime in Paris special. It was very good and fun.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Good vegan entree, fine chardonnay. Attentive waitstaff. Convenient La Mesa location and pretty garden dining.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 2, 2017

We have been going here for years, and with a few exceptions, the food has been good. One problem, we like something and soon it is off the menu. Maybe there has been lots of chef changes. The other recent problem is, the menu has become over-priced. Main courses, appetizers etc are way up. It now costs $30. for two soups and two beers! Add the cost of entrees and you are talking $75-80 without tip! Too much for what you get. The service is always good, though.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Great waitress, delicious food, fun atmosphere. Who needs more!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Very good food with one possible caveat. The brussel sprouts as an appetizer were amazing, as is mentioned in many reviews. We were able to order it with the meat on the side as we had two vegetarian members. The waitress was pleasant, but perhaps overworked. The attention wasn't too prompt- one of our dinners had to wait a fairly long time for her tabasco sauce, which was initially doled out in a very small dose. However, the waitress made good recommendations as to food and wine. Two diners had the salads, which were good if unremarkable. Another diner ordered the flatbread pizza, which looked delicious. I ordered the Mussels and Fries in curry sauce, which was an incredible dish. Hours later, I was sick. Not sure if it was the curry or the mussels- or perhaps a reaction to the one glass of cocktails that I had. I've never had mussels before so your experience may be better!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 25, 2017

We went to BO-Beau for our anniversary and it was fabulous! The food was stellar - the brussel sprouts are to die for - and the ambiance was great. When it got chilly, the server brought out a blanket so I stayed warm throughout dinner. We had a fabulous evening! And the downtown La Mesa area is great to wander around before or after a meal.

Tags: Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 24, 2017

My Husband and I were in need of a date nite and this restaurant was perfect...the ambiance, the service, the food was spectacular!!! We will definitely come back!!!

Tags: Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Best Brussel sprouts!! Love the patio. One our favorite local spots.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Casual, Fireplace, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Kid-friendly, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Our dinner celebrated a friend's birthday. Paul was our server and was very attentive, professional, and made good suggestions. Our entrees, pork tenderloin and pasta, were excellent.

Tags: Great Beer, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Great as always on of the best east county restaurants.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 12, 2017

My wife and I had a wonderful time. It was our anniversary and the staff was very accommodating thank you

Tags: Bar Seating, Casual, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Great food and drinks just slow on drinks. We ordered more drinks and they took so long we just canceled them.

Tags: Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Service was very haphazard. Drinks were slow, forgotten orders, but friendly.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Always an excellent meal with outstanding service. I had the vegan option this time, even though I'm not vegan. It was delicious! I have no idea what it was. Grilled tofu, some kind of creamy nut sauce, ginger, scrumptious exotic mushrooms, paper thin pear. Really good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 8, 2017

This is one of our favorite places. When I made a reservation, the latest time that was available was 6 pm -early, but I wanted to make sure that we would have a table for this birthday dinner. We arrived a few minutes early and were taken to a table in a room with only one other table occupied, and it stayed this way for the next 45 minutes or so.
We have been here several times and been very pleased with the entire experience. This time we were frankly rushed through what we intended to be a relaxed dinner. Our entrees arrived within minutes of the appetizer's arrival, prompting us to send them back to the kitchen. I jokingly asked my wife if we looked like we were here for the 'early bird special'. There were empty tables and no obvious reason for us to feel as if we were being pushed along. After this, there was no pressure per se, but my impression was that there was no effort to cognitively realize what I think the restaurant intends as a dining experience. It just put a disappointing edge on an otherwise great meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Our go-to place, for special occasions, out-of-town guests, and basic "no-kid" nights!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Always a experience to dine at our favorite local restaurant. Met friends from out if town and they really enjoyed it.. Gluten free options were great for our friend.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Gluten Free Options, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Love this restaurant. Best French onion soup ever, great brussel sprouts, and wonderful burgers~!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Family Style, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Organic, Healthy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 2, 2017

We dined early because our daughter, daughter-in-law and their twin 18-month old children were with us. For the same reason we chose to eat in the outdoor garden area in case the children decided to loudly do their own celebrating. But our concerns were for naught because the children loved BO-Beau as much as the parents and grandparents always do. And has been our usual experience, the food & drinks were magnificent, the ambience great, and the warm, friendly service fabulous. A gem.

Tags: Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Family Style, Great Beer, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 25, 2017

This was our first time here! Lovely place I didn't know existed. We will definitely be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Key West)·Dined on February 25, 2017

I've yet to be disappointed. The service is amazing. Very friendly and attentive just enough. The food is always great! The Brushetta is my favorite appetizer and the City of Lights is the Best drink!! I've had chicken, steak, flatbread, salad, and soup there so far and all were so flavorful and delicious. This place is also kid friendly. I've brought my 4 year old with me before and he ate his chicken tenders, which I tasted and they were good. Not expensive, great service, food and drinks!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Enjoyed our dinner very much. I had the Grilled Salmon with lentils, pomegranate seeds and grilled Radicchio, carrots and green beans. Perfect fish and the veggies were tender and flavorful. Our server was attentive and helpful. When she wasn't available, the other servers and even the manager walking by wanted to help in any way.
Our table was a U-shaped banquet at the end near the kitchen and away from the bar scene entrance. Nothing much to look at near us and a bit quieter. So ambiance not much to write about. I was surprised there were not more interesting 'On Tap" craft beers listed or presented by server. The Cohn Group decided that the restaurant focus here was more on drinks than food (makes them more money) and so the foods list is a bit minimal. Still very good. We had their signature brussels sprouts. tasty and bold. The bacon was a bit hard to chew. The Beef bourguignon and the Fresh Albacore dishes were both delicious as cited by their eaters. Is that a word? Anyways. Overall, it was a much better experience and the food was much better than previous times we've been there. I think we'll check it out again. Maybe you'd like it too. Cheers! Jc

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Menu is diverse; food is well prepared and served. Staff is friendly, reservation was called right on time.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 25, 2017

My husband enjoyed his steak, green beans and fries, although the fries arrived stone cold and had to be replaced. I got the boeuf bourguinon, and it was extremely salty. The beef was good, as were the carrots and green beans, but the flavor of a long-simmered wine sauce with herbs just wasn't there, and the saltiness was pretty overwhelming. The flourless chocolate cake was a nice treat at the end. The server was considerate and aimed to please. The noise level was too high to have much of a conversation over dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Beautiful decor. Good food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 19, 2017

I'm a fan of CRG restaurants and Bo-Beau was no exception. I met a friend for brunch. Tasty mimosa for only $4. Brussels sprouts were amazing! Chicken and waffles were very good. Next time I'll try the French toast, it looked delicious at our neighbors table. The atmosphere was cozy and fun. Looking forward to trying a dinner here soon. I bet on a warm evening the patio is lovely.

Tags: Modern Decor, People Watching, Fun, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Visiting our daughter &a son. Had great food and the best service EVER! When in SD again will come back.

Tags: Comfort Food, Family Style, Outstanding Value, Authentic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The Brussel sprouts are amazing and get the half order it's huge

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Amazing experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We ordered appetizers (brussell sprouts were the bomb!), they came and we waited a very long time for silverware to eat them with, waiter finally brought 5 sets for the 6 of us. He explained they were short and that we needed to hold on to them between courses to make sure we had some. Also waited a very long time for desserts, wanted to cancel them but could not find the waiter. Food was awesome, service not so much

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Took my wife for her birthday since she really likes the restaurant. The place was not busy since it was a Wednesday which was nice. I thought the service was pretty good, she felt rushed by the waitress. She did comment that it was the B-Team in the kitchen that night. The food was very bland, and not up to the usual quality that we have had there. For the quality we got and the price we paid, we feel that we could have done better at home. It was a disappointing show for us.

Tags: Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 5, 2017

In all honesty with the 3 locations of Bo-Beau restaurants, and I have been to all three now, I still prefer the Ocean Beach location.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.