BO-beau kitchen + garden

4.4
965 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Contemporary French / American
Top Tags:
  • Great for Outdoor Dining
  • Neighborhood Gem
  • Good for a Date
BO beau kitchen + garden is located in the Village of La Mesa. BO beau offers Sophisticated Comfort Food with Global Inspirations. We have 24 Beers on tap, a worldly wine list and a full bar with eclectic cocktails.
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Contemporary French / American, Global, International
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Dinner


Tuesday - Wednesday: 4:30pm - 9:00pm;
Friday & Saturday: 4:30pm - 10:00pm;
Sunday: Brunch 10:30am- 1:30pm
Bar menu 1:30pm- 4:30pm
Dinner 4:30pm - 9:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(619) 337-3445
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Tyler Shipton
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Spring Street
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Park on the street there are meters or in the lot behind us on Allison Street OR in the residential areas around us.
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
Ask about our special Valentines day menu!
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 965 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.4based on recent ratings
4.3
food
4.4
service
4.5
ambience
4.0
value
Noise · Moderate
89% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 5 days ago

Friendly staff. Nice outdoor setup.
Great brussel sprouts!

(Unfortunately one of the guest on the patio was smoking (vape) but kept hiding it when waiters/bussers were in the area. So she kept smoking it despite having children around her. It would have been nice had she been told to discontinue.)

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined 5 days ago

Overall it was ok. The food was pretty good, especially their Brussel sprouts!!!
The service was good but it took a long time to get our food and it wasn't very busy yet. Ive been before and enjoy the outside seating much more.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 5 days ago

Father’s Day—the food took way too long to come out. The server was great, ambiance was good.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined 6 days ago

My wife’s fish of the day was very oily. My French onion soup was mediocre. My pork shank was bland. The service was very good but the food was not so great. The manager was apologetic and acknowledged others complained about the fish of the day. I’ll go to other Cohn Group restaurants but not back here.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 7 days ago

We love this restaurant for many reasons, but one important reason is that it is very kid friendly! Especially when you sit outside on the patio, your kids can run around and play on the school bus play area while you dine!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 16, 2018

one of my favorite restaurants..we sat on patio and had a party of 5..the food and
drink was awesome but the server seemed disinterested and going thru the motions
with us. I would start to say something and had to talk fast because she kept walking
away from us before we were done with our questions. Made us feel like we were not
important.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 10, 2018

Great food and service. Brussel sprouts are always the goto appetizer.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 9, 2018

Rebecca, our server, was very cool. We liked her vibe. She was attentive without being overbearing. OMG the Brussel Sprouts dish was good but it could feed a small army. We focused our attention on the appetizers and we enjoyed each; deviled eggs, heirloom tomatoes and French onion soup. We had fun and liked the patio.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 8, 2018

I wish chairs were more comfortable! And tables need more high light illumination. G
Food and service very good.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on June 3, 2018

I had the fried chicken and waffles. The fried chicken was barely warm and KFC quality, and the waffles were cold and bready. I sent it back, and the second time the chicken was the same and the waffles were barely warm.

The waiter recommended this as one of the 3 best on the brunch menu. I think it should be eliminated altogether. I couldn't finish it and left hungry.

Other members of our group had the crab cakes and the basic eggs, bacon, et cetera. Their meals were just OK, edible, nothing to comment on.

The only thing above average was the ambiance, but I have better food and ambiance at home. Why should I spend good money for this?

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 2, 2018

Food was divine, and the cocktails were delicious. Service was shoddy, they were quite nice but were mostly absent. We had to ask for water multiple times, and despite the large number of servers walking by, they never stopped at the table. The yummy food made up for the lackluster service, however.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 2, 2018

Had the pork shank. Very nicely done. Beyond expectations. Someone had the steak and was very happy as was the person who had salmon.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 1, 2018

Good overall experience. Hipster place with some pretty decent food. The Brussels sprouts were awesome and came in a huge portion.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 28, 2018

Boeuf bourginogne was fabulous, and enjoyed the flat bread appetizer as well. Can’t wait to try the rest of their menu!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 28, 2018

This was my third time to eat here. I always order Steak with frites. This time the hangar steak had little flavor, tough to chew. As always frites were outstanding. The price for a glass of wine in relation to the amount of wine is over priced. In the past I only ordered beer.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 27, 2018

Joshua was an amazing server. Very attentive and friendly.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 26, 2018

Food and drinks were delicious and our server was very helpful when we were trying to figure out what to order will definitely be back

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 26, 2018

Must try the Brussels Sprouts—they are outstanding! Interesting selection of drinks as well. Food was great, service a tad slow, but friendly & efficient. Will definitely go back!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 24, 2018

This one of my go-to restaurants. Never disappoints, food is always delicious and service is always friendly/ efficient. They also accept my passport card which a plus!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 20, 2018

Very happy the Beyond Burger was on the menu. Good draft beer selection. Would like to see more vegetarian and vegan options for food. Servers didn't seem happy and that energy was a little off putting.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 20, 2018

Really great experience- food & cocktails were good to great. Perfect place to bring kids for an early dinner- they can play on school bus and you can have the illusion of being in a date for a few minutes here and there. Pleasantly surprised by everything there

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

I took my wife and my Mom here for Mothers Day and as always the food and service was top notch. My mom never had the Brussel Sprouts so of course we had to get those. Best Brussel Sprouts in the U.S. no doubt about it. I ordered the short rib hash and man it was delicious! We each had a few Mimosas and we all had a wonderful time ! My wife and I come here often and we are never disappointed!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Mother’s Day - no wait - mimosa was delish - server was excellent

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Celebrated Mother’s Day brunch at Bo-beau’s. The crab cake Benedict came with a generous amount of crab and was topped with tons of scrambled eggs. The hint of lemon in crab cake was an excellent touch. The chicken and waffles were just ok. The chicken was a little dry and the batter not as crunchy. I highly recommend the Brussel sprouts as an appetizer. It’s enough to feed up to 4. Our server, Paul, was attentive and friendly. Paul noticed our kids getting inpatient and kindly offered the kids muffins while they waited for their meal.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 12, 2018

Dirty patio. Boring atmosphere. Shrimp pizza was not good.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 11, 2018

I should have just made myself a burger it would be even better and economical, couldve just purchased a flatbread at CPK it would have been better.

Price was ridiculous for a tap of beer, burger and flatbread.

My wife did not enjoy her meal for mexican mothers day.

I am so disaapointed.

Definitely not coming back and not referring this place.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 11, 2018

My experience was great. I took my mom there for Mother's Day a few days early and she had never been there before. She loved the food and we had a great time.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 10, 2018

The food was fabulous. My husband and I were there celebrating our anniversary. This was noted when I made the reservation on-line so I was under the impression, (and maybe I shouldn't have been), that my husband I would get a complimentary dessert or something. This did not happen, even after I mentioned to our waitress that we were there celebrating a special occasion. Other than that, we had a very pleasant experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 10, 2018

Great environment! The menu is simple but they do it well! I ordered the pork belly burger and loved it! My girlfriend ordered the steak which tasted perfect even with her ordering it well done! Great place for a date, anniversary, or lunch meeting!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 6, 2018

Service was slow although the restaurant was not full

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 6, 2018

Always a great time!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 6, 2018

Food was great. The French Onion Soup was amazing. Did not taste like a standard. It had much better flavor. We would definitely return.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 5, 2018

Food, service and ambiance was wonderful. I especially enjoyed the vegetarian options especially the brussel sprouts and the beer salad with blueberries. The only problem was the lack of parking on a Friday due to the Farmer’s Market and the meters do not accept credit cards. So if you go on a Friday before 6 make sure you bring quarters!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 2, 2018

This place has a wonderful atmosphere and even better food. The Brussel sprouts are amazing!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 30, 2018

We had a great experience. The food was excellent.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 29, 2018

We really enjoy dining here! Food is great! Service is excellent! And love seeing the owner every time we dine! Love that she comes to our table and makes us feel special!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 29, 2018

Food and service was amazing as usual!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 28, 2018

Really great,inventive cuisine. Nice outdoor patio. Ask for Kaylee for your server,she's fantastic, really sweet and genuine. You won't be disappointed.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 26, 2018

The roasted brussel sprouts appetizer is worth a return trip. The pork shank was ok (the presentation was better than the taste). The steak & frites was wonderful. Great outdoor, casual seating & if you have kids, they have a great play area for them to run around.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 25, 2018

The service and food was great, although I ordered Justin Cabernet and was served a lower grade of red wine, but still charged for Justin. I simply did not want to ruin the evening by making a seen, as my wife and I seldom go out because of our young son. I work in the wine industry and know my wines. It's unfortunate and might have been an honest mistake, but when I think about, when's the last time you ordered the house wine and were given one of their fine wines by mistake?

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
25

Tweets by BO-beau kitchen + garden