Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.28mi
  2. Distance: 0.47mi
  3. Distance: 0.49mi
  4. Distance: 0.50mi
  1. Distance: 0.28mi
  2. Distance: 0.47mi
  3. Distance: 0.49mi
  4. Distance: 0.50mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.28mi
  2. Distance: 0.47mi
  3. Distance: 0.49mi
  4. Distance: 0.50mi
  1. Distance: 0.28mi
  2. Distance: 0.47mi
  3. Distance: 0.49mi
  4. Distance: 0.50mi

About BO-beau kitchen + garden

BO beau kitchen + garden is located in the Village of La Mesa. BO beau offers Sophisticated Comfort Food with Global Inspirations. We have 24 Beers on tap, a worldly wine list and a full bar with eclectic cocktails.

8384 La Mesa Blvd
La Mesa, CA 91942-9218
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary French / American, Global, International

Hours of Operation:
Dinner


Tuesday - Wednesday: 4:30pm - 9:00pm;
Friday & Saturday: 4:30pm - 10:00pm;
Sunday: Brunch 10:30am- 1:30pm
Bar menu 1:30pm- 4:30pm
Dinner 4:30pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Spring Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(619) 337-3445

Website:
http://www.cohnrestaurants.com/bobeaukitchengarden

Parking Details:
Park on the street there are meters or in the lot behind us on Allison Street OR in the residential areas around us.

Executive Chef:
Tyler Shipton

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Ask about our special Valentines day menu!

BO-beau kitchen + garden Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (39)
Great for Outdoor Dining (35)
Good for a Date (34)
See All
Casual (28)
Fit for Foodies (24)
Good for Birthdays (21)
Creative Cuisine (21)
Special Occasion (19)
Comfort Food (17)
Good for Anniversaries (15)
Good for Groups (15)
Fun (11)
Romantic (10)
Cozy (9)
Great for Brunch (9)
Local Ingredients (9)
Authentic (8)
Notable Wine List (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Bar Seating (7)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Hot Spot (6)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Seasonal (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Great Beer (6)
Tapas (5)
Quick Bite (4)
People Watching (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Business Meals (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Scenic View (3)
Organic (3)
Vegan (2)
Fireplace (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Family Style (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Spicy (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Sort By:
S
788 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 4 days ago

Had to go for a second night in a row to try more of the menu! Haha.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 14, 2017

Was looking for a romantic dinner spot with the wife after a movie. Went online and made a reservation for 9pm. At 7 while at the movies I got a call from the restaurant. The call stated that the kitchen closes at 9pm so I would have to be early. We got there at 850 the hostess told us to order in 5 minutes. When the server came and took our drink order she said we would need to order as soon as she returned. She was nice but no desert or after dinner drink offered . I would have liked both. Why take reservations at the same time you close. Makes both employees and guest uncomfortable

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service3
value3

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Because it was our first time we had asked for some descriptions of the menu items. The French toast was described as custard French toast. Sounds irresistible! When it arrived we thought there might be a mistake as there was no custard. When we asked they explained that the custard was in the batter. Just seem like plain French toast to us. The short rib dish was delicious. Something we didn't have but looked Simply Amazing in its presentation where the brussel sprouts. We would try that on another occasion perhaps. The rest of the meals at the table were good. Courtney was one of our servers and she was simply amazing and delightful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Always our go to wit friends. Great Menu and the best value for wine!

Tags: Good for Groups, Healthy, Gluten Free Options, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 7, 2017

We have been here more than a dozen times and loved every single visit. The food is amazing, service is always great, and the ambiance is awesome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 7, 2017

Server handled a difficult situation well. Overcooked, dry fried chicken and moldy bread, and slow.
Outdoor bench dating is not comfortable.
Ambience is a plus. Very kid friendly.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 6, 2017

The waiter was not very good, he seemed to disappear often. We had our appetizers before drinks ever came. Water came later. Had the tuna, way too salty, mushroom flat bread and Brussels sprouts were excellent.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 6, 2017

The service was so good. Paul was our waiter and was so attentive without being overbearing even though he was very busy. The whole evening was a pleasure.

Tags: Happy Hour, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Spicy, Seasonal, Late-night Find, Great Beer, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Fun, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 5, 2017

I always enjoy dining at BO-Beau's and the broccoli appetizer was excellent as always. I ordered salmon and some of the group ordered the fish of the day. It was good, but was a bit too salty for my taste.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 5, 2017

The restaurant is very cute and cozy. The customer service is great and the food is amazing! I would definitely recommend dining here.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Gluten Free Options, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 3, 2017

Food was really good, you have to try the Brussel Sprouts. Service was ok, but we were there for a Birthday and they didn't make a special effort for that.

Tags: Tapas, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Morgan our server was pretty damn awesome. The food was amazing as well.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Disabled Access, Good for a Date, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good Vegetarian Options, Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Gluten Free Options, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

Really nice for RELAXED , casual , Sunday .
Outside patio cool , breezy , not loud. Could hold great conversations. Plus - dogs allowed! Perfect bites , perfect lunch , perfect day , perfect place!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Casual, Healthy, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Quick Bite, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Wonderful evening on the patio! Really delicious food (especially the halibut special). Great service. Love going here.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

I loved it the staff are extremely attentive and pleasant and the whole evening was great! As usual at bo beaus

Tags: Authentic, Happy Hour, Organic, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 27, 2017

My husband and son had a lovely dinner!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 26, 2017

Service by Lara was great! She really took care of us. Food was delicious too

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Tasting Menu, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 21, 2017

I have two children, 5 and 2. This is one of the only places we eat out at. There is a gutted bus outside for the kids to play in. My kids stay entertained while we eat outdoors. The patio is beautiful, the kids meal options are great and prices are reasonable.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 18, 2017

Great food and a perfect place to celebrate a birthday.

Tags: Great Beer, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 16, 2017

We love this restaurant and decided to try their Sunday brunch. It is well worth it, the food as always is amazing.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Very good food and ambiance. Definitely need to return and try several menu items not possible during one two or even three visits.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Excellent food, and the ambiance on the patio is really nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 9, 2017

We ordered a salad and the only vegan entree offered. The salad was mixed spring lettuce with a few cranberries, with an unremarkable salad dressing. The vegan entrees likewise had minimal seasoning and flavor. Compared to similarly priced restaurants Bo-Beau Kitchen is over priced for what it offers. Down the street is Swami's which offers better tasting food at half the price.

Disappointing as we would have enjoyed having a more upscale restaurant in La Mesa.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 9, 2017

I've been here once before and had a good experience but this time it wasn't so good. I ordered the French Onion Soup and while it had good flavor, there was too much bread and very little soup. I also ordered the Crasseux Frites which was just OK. There was very little pork and the flavor was somewhat bland. Someone in my party ordered the fish special and it was overcooked. Disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 7, 2017

This was mine and my girlfriend's first time eating at this restaurant. We were celebrating her birthday. Overall I thought this was a pretty cool spot and everything we ordered was delicious. I believe our server was Paul, and I thought he did an excellent job waiting on us. I tend to observe my waiters and just see how they multitask with other customers as well and he was on it. I think my only complaint with eating inside is just the cramped feeling. I'm here on a date but it felt like I was sitting at a table with a group of 6 hearing the 2 people's conversation both to the left and right of me. I feel like that area could be spaced out for just a little more privacy at least by even removing 1 of the small tables. But otherwise, I would definitely come back here.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Casual, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 7, 2017

We've been quite a few times. Always fun and enjoyable, and the setting is beautiful! The drinks take a bit long too get to the table but otherwise super enjoyable experience!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fun, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Brussel sprouts are delicious and a must!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 2, 2017

You must try the brussel sprouts! The service was great, the drinks were okay...pricy I must say. But the food was worth it. I'd come back again for sure.

Tags: Fun, Healthy, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 2, 2017

This place is such a gem!!! We have been there every week since we discovered it last month and we are so sad that we are moving to Texas soon or we would continue to be regular patrons. They are also so cool with us bringing our new baby to eat out with us! Love the creative cocktails and the wonderful friendly staff. Lana our server is great and we enjoyed every visit!!! Thanks so much.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Great Beer, Creative Cuisine, Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 1, 2017

We had a gift card to one of the Cohn restaraunts and chose Bo-Beau from the list. The food was very good (my husband and I enjoyed our meals immensely), the server was friendly, the service was good and the restaurant was fun. I would definitely go back!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on June 29, 2017

Wonderful food and service was impeccable!! Thank you Jess!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on June 28, 2017

This place is a keeper! Food and drinks were really good. Nice atmosphere.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 27, 2017

Great food. Terrible service- don't know if it was because it was a Tuesday night, but took over 25 minutes for server to come ask for our order. He was also the bartender. There were 2 hostesses but they seemed short on servers ( he also spilled a glass of red wine all over woman's dress at next table) Brussels sprouts always a hit as was the salmon that I had & beef bourguignon my friend had

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 22, 2017

We love this place! Our waitress (sorry)don't remember her name) was outstanding. Great food and drinks!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 21, 2017

Dinner was great but super disappointed with the Brussel sprouts. They were too burned. We had a large party and order two plates both were bad.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 19, 2017

Wonderful addition to Hillcrest. The neighborhood was seriously lacking refined dining spots and Bo-Beau changed that. The food is French inspired and they hit the nail on the head. I would seriously recommend eating here if you want a nice evening out with authentic French food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 18, 2017

two out of three special cocktails we tried were just not good tasting. Need work there

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 18, 2017

I didn't know Bo Beau had different menus for brunch and dinner. It was a mistake of mine looking forward to ordering the food that I wanted and turns out none of them were being served except for their famous brussels sprouts. I literally drove down thinking I was having the kind of food I wanted and I've been meaning to take my Dad here for so long but oh well. We ordered our items and the short rib hash was amazing. My only complaint was the waitress "spacing out" and forgetting to put in my order. Don't get me wrong, she was really nice but in a food + hospitality industry, you cannot space out on people's orders especially if people are getting 'hangry'. Once I got my food, my parents had already finished eating. If I hadn't asked where my food was, I probably would've sat there forever without my meal. I had already lost my appetite when she served my food but oh well. Not sure if I'll ever come back to this location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 18, 2017

I took my dad here for Father's Day. I've been to BO-beau before and this experience was a repeat of previous lunches and dinners. Servers are knowledgeable and attentive. The food is delicious and ingredients seem fresh. Dad had the fried chicken and waffles and loved it. The brussel sprouts are a must.

My only complaint has absolutely NOTHING to do with the restaurant, the food or the service. The family seated next to our table (toward the end of our meal, thank goodness) decided to FaceTime with a family member - they were using loud voices and passing the cell phone around. I thought it was very rude for other diners trying to enjoy the restaurant.

Tags: Healthy, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Great atmosphere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.