About BO-beau kitchen + garden

8384 La Mesa Blvd
La Mesa, CA 91942-9218
View Larger Map

BO beau kitchen + garden is located in the Village of La Mesa. BO beau offers Sophisticated Comfort Food with Global Inspirations. We have 24 Beers on tap, a worldly wine list and a full bar with eclectic cocktails.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary French / American, Global, International

Hours of Operation:
Dinner


Tuesday - Wednesday: 4:30pm - 9:00pm;
Friday & Saturday: 4:30pm - 10:00pm;
Sunday: Brunch 10:30am- 1:30pm
Bar menu 1:30pm- 4:30pm
Dinner 4:30pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Spring Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(619) 337-3445

Website:
http://www.cohnrestaurants.com/bobeaukitchengarden

Parking Details:
Park on the street there are meters or in the lot behind us on Allison Street OR in the residential areas around us.

Executive Chef:
Tyler Shipton

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Ask about our special Valentines day menu!

Restaurant Photos

  • BO-beau kitchen + garden, La Mesa, CA
  • BO-beau kitchen + garden, La Mesa, CA
  • BO-beau kitchen + garden, La Mesa, CA
  • BO-beau kitchen + garden, La Mesa, CA
BO-beau kitchen + garden, La Mesa, CA
BO-beau kitchen + garden, La Mesa, CA
BO-beau kitchen + garden, La Mesa, CA
BO-beau kitchen + garden, La Mesa, CA

BO-beau kitchen + garden Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
East County
Best Restaurants in La Mesa ›

Neighborhood Gem (28)
Great for Outdoor Dining (28)
Special Occasion (22)
See All
Good for a Date (20)
Fit for Foodies (18)
Good for Groups (17)
Creative Cuisine (17)
Casual (13)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Local Ingredients (11)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Cozy (9)
Romantic (9)
Kid-friendly (9)
Worth the Drive (8)
Hot Spot (8)
Modern Decor (7)
Healthy (7)
Happy Hour (7)
Fun (7)
Authentic (6)
Business Meals (6)
Family Style (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Great Beer (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
People Watching (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Organic (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Seasonal (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Historic (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Vegan (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Tapas (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Fireplace (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Scenic View (1)
Private Room (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sort By:
S
625 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This was our first visit and we were ext ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 3 days ago

This was our first visit and we were extremely impressed. We will definitely return. The brussel sprouts are outstanding. I had a flat iron steak which was very tender and flavorful. (We went to a more expensive, upscale, well-known restaurant a few days earlier. My mother ordered a filet mignon that was not at all as tender or flavorful as the flat iron steak I had at Bo-Beau.) . My wife had salmon which was cooked perfectly. The ambiance is comfortable and attractive. This is a wonderful restaurant.

Tags: Late-night Find, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Good Vegetarian Options, Outstanding Value, Vegan, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Portions are substantial The food was u ...

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined 4 days ago

Portions are substantial

The food was under salted as if chef wasn't trying the product

Service was spotty

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

Really great service. Loved that my wate ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Really great service. Loved that my water glass was always refilled! Food was decent. Tasted like a lot of these pop-up hipster restaurants.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

The brunch was good but nothing special, ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 20, 2016

The brunch was good but nothing special, a bit underwhelming. The steak I got was supposed to be medium rare but came out well done and was very tough. The poached eggs were on point. The skillet potatoes were Ok, same with the beignets.

The brussel sprouts are outstanding as usual, and rescued the meal. The fried chicken and waffles were good but nothing special. The sausage biscuits with gravy were the same.

Service was excellent. It started sprinkling for a bit outside and our food got a little wet because it's not covered, so be careful if it's going to rain and you're sitting outside like us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

Espresso Martini! So amazing always a fu ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Espresso Martini! So amazing always a fun night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Opah fish was terrible-poor presentation ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Opah fish was terrible-poor presentation

Way too pricey on all food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

Service and food were great. Had a wonde ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Service and food were great. Had a wonderful experience.

Tags: Healthy, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always great food mixed with excellent s ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Always great food mixed with excellent service. My wife and I have never been disappointed. We will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Love the Ambiance of the place! Staff ar ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Love the Ambiance of the place! Staff are really friend and I believe the manager at that time was very helpful and attentive to our needs. Makes sure we have everything set perfectly on our table and they are accommodating to kids and pet friendly patio.

Overall I had a very good experience, the food was amazing, the staff are very courteous, price was reasonable for the place, the food and the location.

I would recommend for dates, family dinner or happy hour.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Family Style, Good for Anniversaries, Afternoon Tea, Happy Hour, Organic, Paleo Friendly, Seasonal, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The vibe is fun. My husband and I ate h ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 3, 2016

The vibe is fun. My husband and I ate here for the first time for an Anniversary Dinner. He loved his dinner, a kettle of steamed mussels! I ordered the flat iron steak. The steak was cooked perfectly. The sides were disappointing, bland. We were unable to have any condiments delivered to our table-really needed salt and sugar etc.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Normal we love this place... this night ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Normal we love this place... this night was another story. Food was good, but missing ingredients and missing items asked for to sub. Service was super slow, our server is awesome, but he was super busy with another large table. That large table was so loud and has a few kids that were going crazy. Their parents seemed to busy out talking each other to calm their dreaming kids. Drinks took forever, food took a while and the bill couldn't come fast enough. Sad, normally we love eating here. We'll give it another try, maybe outside away from large parties. The manager did talk to us an apologized for the meal and slow service. Seriously, we have never had a bad experience here! This was just a really odd night and everything seemed off.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

The recipes at Bo Beau are delicious. I ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 3, 2016

The recipes at Bo Beau are delicious. I am inspired to try something different every time. This time we had the Beef Bourguignon and the seasonal vegan dish, something with tofu and peanut ginger sauce. Both were amazing. My daughter had "the usual" (her favorite kid's meal, which she often asks for between visits). The patio seating is so pleasant. Not noisy at all and surprisingly roomy. Our group of 6 had room to spare at the table and could easily talk.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My date and I both had the slow-roasted ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 31, 2016

My date and I both had the slow-roasted pork roast and it just fell off the bone. It was so tender and delicious. There were too many choices that looked good on the menu. I will definitely go back.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My date stood me up, but that didn't sto ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 28, 2016

My date stood me up, but that didn't stop me from a wonderful time at Bo-beau kitchen. I had dinner at the bar and bartender Vasilios was great and Assistant Manager Sarah was very generous and kind. Meal was amazing. All in all a wonderful experience.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always, a fine dining experience! Whe ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 23, 2016

As always, a fine dining experience! When they forgot one item we ordered, the manager was very quick to explain, and apologise. We will definitely continue to go there. We enjoy bringing out of town guests because we know they will be impressed!

Tags: Casual, People Watching, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service. Really enjoyed o ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Great food and service. Really enjoyed our meal. We will be back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for a Date, Family Style, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Organic, Kid-friendly, Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful meal in a romantic, upscale se ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Wonderful meal in a romantic, upscale setting. Loved the steak frite-- perfectly prepared and we brought in our own wine. Made for a terrific evening!

Tags: Comfort Food, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

B-B is a great neighborhood eatery. Star ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 21, 2016

B-B is a great neighborhood eatery. Starting with the APPs. Best ever Brussel Sprouts!!!

The flatbreads are very tasty, everyone of them. Don't miss the mussels and fries that a great frenchy bistro should have. I love fish and it is prepared t perfection,especially the Salmon.

You can have craft cocktails and drink your dinner ,they are so good . Bartender " V " is awesome, he makes a mean cocktail! Don't miss Steve for your sever, he will laugh you silly!

I could go on about the Decor and the outdoor garden and the real school bus for the kiddies!

See for yourself.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Family Style, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Thank you!

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was fantastic and kids enjoyed the ...

 
·Dined on October 15, 2016

Food was fantastic and kids enjoyed the bus. If you have kids in tow ask for a table on the patio.

Tags: Fun, Local Ingredients, Family Style, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Thank you BO-Beau for a delicious meal w ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Thank you BO-Beau for a delicious meal with EXCELLENT and kind service! We'll be back!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Mediocre. Food under seasoned.

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Mediocre. Food under seasoned.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3

The ambiance was pretty nice but we were ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 30, 2016

The ambiance was pretty nice but we were very disappointed with the food. We tried a number of different items and they were all bland and mediocre. He flatbread especially stood out as being floury, undercooked and tasting like absolutely nothing. We also tried jalapeño bacon deviled eggs that weren't spicy at all and just sort of tasted like hard boiled eggs with bacon bits sprinkled on them. I was really looking forward to eating here but left feeling like I had wasted my money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

Service can be abysmal sometimes there. ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 29, 2016

Service can be abysmal sometimes there. They just forget about you. Our meal was finally salvaged by the hostess, who kept having to fill in for a waiter who was lost in space.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value3

The food is quite good but pretty predic ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 29, 2016

The food is quite good but pretty predictable, also, in terms of menu choice. Would love to see new dishes offered! The patio is pleasant enough, but could use a little elbow grease (tables grimy) and more meticulous attention to plants and decor. Whoever came up with the notion of stools/benches without backs must have been NUTS.

Tags: Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

I always enjoy bo beau. Consistently gre ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 17, 2016

I always enjoy bo beau. Consistently great food and some some fun cocktails. The service is always good if not great and the atmo is fun. Go there!

Tags: Cozy, People Watching, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Molecular Gastronomy, Special Occasion, Casual, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Seasonal, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We don't get here often but when we have ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 10, 2016

We don't get here often but when we have we have never been disappointed. We of course ordered the Brussel Sprouts they are a must try (even if you don't think you like them). It was an early dinner before a movie so we split the Burger Royale and what a Burger it was with pork Belly, Guoda, Onion Jam and a Roasted Garlic Aioli. This is also a must try.

Tags: Great Beer, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our favorite local go-to for flavorful f ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Our favorite local go-to for flavorful food, in a fun area. Balsamic Brussel Spouts, Fried Chicken & Pork Shank, A MUST!

Tags: Authentic, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

We got there late and we were treated th ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 9, 2016

We got there late and we were treated the best we could ask for.. Paul our server is so awesome he made us feel relaxed even though we were the last ones there!! Thank you Paul.. The staff was very friendly and the chef delivered the best food delishes!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lemon Drop excellent, clambake was great ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on September 8, 2016

Lemon Drop excellent, clambake was great as were brusselsprouts

Tags: Fun, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Bo Beau Kitchen and Garden never disappo ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Bo Beau Kitchen and Garden never disappoints. We hit the brunch this time and had a delectable fresh crepe with some kind of amazing fruit sauce. We also had a waffle and the whipped cream that was served alongside it was I think the tastiest fresh whipped cream I've ever had. It was obviously just whipped, and had a hint of rosemary or something blended in. WOW.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Disabled Access, Vegan, Private Room, Handcrafted Cocktails, Healthy, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find, Fun, Organic, Good for a Date, Fireplace, Special Occasion, Cozy, Kid-friendly, Bar Seating, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Paleo Friendly, Notable Wine List, Historic, Gluten Free Options, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Good Vegetarian Options, Business Meals, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is awful, entrees are pre-made ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on September 3, 2016

The food is awful, entrees are pre-made and then heated in a microwave. Thus, the food is not fresh and unevenly cooked. Drinks are over-priced. The ambiance is beautiful but I will never go here again. And I would not recommend this place to anyone. Also, we were overcharged more than our final bill on on our credit card.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

Absolutely fabulous!

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on September 1, 2016

Absolutely fabulous!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We made the reservation on Sunday aftern ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 29, 2016

We made the reservation on Sunday afternoon and I even called to make sure they saw I preferred a patio seat. We arrived at 7:58 pm and about 3 different bussers and 2 different waiters passed by in the next 20 minutes and no one offered us water, drinks or offered to take our order. We were starving and ended up leaving. We love the Cohn group but this was really disappointing I was very much looking forward to having dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1

Poor quality food, drastically overprice ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 29, 2016

Poor quality food, drastically overpriced for what came out of the kitchen. The steak I had was simply bad -- poor quality meat, rubbery and flavorless. The veggies it was plated with were described as "haricot verts" on the menu, which should have translated to delicate, slender green beans but these too turned out to be waxy, tough, and flavorless. Other San Diego restaurants turn out a superior product at a lower price in higher-rent locations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

We went there for our anniversary and we ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 28, 2016

We went there for our anniversary and were unfortunately put at a table near several large family groups. Since it was our anniversary we were hoping for a nice table on the patio but didn't know to request it when we made our reservation. After I explained to the hostess she went out of her way to find us a nice table on the patio even though they were full. She also gave us champagne for our anniversary. We had the short ribs and the skirt steak and they were both delicious. We will be back!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is a true gem! It's very lively, gr ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 27, 2016

This is a true gem! It's very lively, great ambiance too!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Cozy, Happy Hour, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Casual, Special Occasion, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a very good experience at BO-beau's, ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 22, 2016

Had a very good experience at BO-beau's, took a chance at just looking at reviews & my whole party said it was great. Very nice outdoor patio area suited out get together very well.

Tags: Fun, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great service! The whole staff was atten ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on August 21, 2016

Great service! The whole staff was attentive and the food was delish. There is a reason those Brussels sprouts are famous! Also, outside seating is must.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The service was excellent and the food w ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 21, 2016

The service was excellent and the food was great! We ordered two appetizers and two entrees. Everything was prepared to perfection. My wife ordered the Brussel Sprouts. I don't typically like Brussel Sprouts, but I ate more of them than she did. they have a really unique cocktail selection as well.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Authentic, Bar Seating, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.