About BO-beau kitchen + garden

8384 La Mesa Blvd
La Mesa, CA 91942-9218
View Larger Map

BO beau kitchen + garden is located in the Village of La Mesa. BO beau offers Sophisticated Comfort Food with Global Inspirations. We have 24 Beers on tap, a worldly wine list and a full bar with eclectic cocktails.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary French / American, Global, International

Hours of Operation:
Dinner


Tuesday - Wednesday: 4:30pm - 9:00pm;
Friday & Saturday: 4:30pm - 10:00pm;
Sunday: Brunch 10:30am- 1:30pm
Bar menu 1:30pm- 4:30pm
Dinner 4:30pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Spring Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(619) 337-3445

Website:
http://www.cohnrestaurants.com/bobeaukitchengarden

Parking Details:
Park on the street there are meters or in the lot behind us on Allison Street OR in the residential areas around us.

Executive Chef:
Tyler Shipton

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Ask about our special Valentines day menu!

Restaurant Photos

  • BO-beau kitchen + garden
  • BO-beau kitchen + garden
  • BO-beau kitchen + garden
  • BO-beau kitchen + garden
BO-beau kitchen + garden
BO-beau kitchen + garden
BO-beau kitchen + garden
BO-beau kitchen + garden

BO-beau kitchen + garden Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.2

ambience

4.2

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
East County
Best Restaurants in La Mesa ›

great for outdoor dining (70)
neighborhood gem (65)
fit for foodies (55)
See All
good for groups (40)
special occasion (38)
kid-friendly (29)
great for brunch (26)
romantic (21)
great for lunch (20)
hot spot (15)
notable wine list (10)
vibrant bar scene (10)
late-night find (8)
Sort By:
Newest
567 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I was very disappointed with my meal. I ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined 3 days ago

I was very disappointed with my meal. I ordered the Crab Cake Eggs Benedict and it was terrible. The crab was mushy and tasteless, the bread was indistinguishable and soggy. We also ordered the Brussel Sprouts that everyone raves about and I wasn't impressed. There was very little of the balsamic sauce on them and they were underdone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Waitress was awesome! Ambiance was great ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined 3 days ago

Waitress was awesome! Ambiance was great! Food was delicious!

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value5

It was a hot evening but was nice to sit ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined 4 days ago

It was a hot evening but was nice to sit in the patio area with our dog (he was hot though). Music selections are PERFECT for me.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

The food wasn't as good as it has been o ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined 6 days ago

The food wasn't as good as it has been other times. My short rib was extra fatty and the brussell sprouts came out with like 2 pieces of panceta, too little balsamic glaze and were underdone.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Server was great. Patio was great. We ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined 6 days ago

Server was great. Patio was great. We had fun.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We go here quite often and it can be hit ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

We go here quite often and it can be hit or miss on food. This visit it was a bit of a miss. At the bar we had the jalapeno deviled eggs that were pretty bland and flavorless (no spice), the Brussels Sprouts for an app (it was enough for 4 pp and a waste of food), and a Panna Cotta dessert that was so old that the top of the custard/cotta was hard. Entrees were great. I love this place but it can be inconsistent on quality.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Special place in a growing and vibrant L ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Special place in a growing and vibrant La Mesa. Indoor/outdoor options with lovely garden feel. The portions are large so be careful not to over order (we did). Recommend the brussels sprout starter.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The food was delicious...we ordered the ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

The food was delicious...we ordered the amazing Brussel sprouts, salmon and flat iron steak. Delicious flavor combinations and a good amount of food.

The waitress was kind and attentive and we love the decor of the interior and the spacious patio.

This is one of our favorite restaurants.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service was timely, food was excellent a ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Service was timely, food was excellent and portions were generous, restaraunt is open providing refreshing air and views of the street, noise was moderate, easy to talk, server made an error on the split of the bill which manager contacted me the next day, very professional and god to see they are paying attention to detail. Highly recommended.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

This place used to be good HOWEVER the f ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

This place used to be good HOWEVER the food is just ok and service is just ok. Not a fan of communal seating and they will not let 2 people use their booths even with a reservation. They say it booked and no one shows up. RUDE! The brussel sprouts used to be AMAZING. Now they are disgusting the pancheta which used to be delicious is literally chunks of fat. Eww turned my stomach before getting my main course. Which was bland and they are serving up 2 day old dry as anything cornbread.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2

Always love the brussel sprouts, but the ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Always love the brussel sprouts, but they were too big and not cooked enough.

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Excellent menu and outstanding service. ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Excellent menu and outstanding service. Probably best restaurant this part of San Diego County.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We always enjoy our dinners at Bo-beau's ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

We always enjoy our dinners at Bo-beau's. It is a lovely setting with good food and good service. I am on a low salt diet and they will prepare my meat with no salt.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

We tried this restaurant when it was fir ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

We tried this restaurant when it was first opened and was disappointed. It has not improved. The service does not meet the Cohn standard nor does the management. The flat bread crust tasted like cardboard. The salad lacked ingredients stated on menu and was not good. It took us at least 15 minutes to get our drinks. We have enjoyed Bo Beau in Point Loma. Sorry this branch is mediocre at best

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value3

This restaurant has gone downhill. It i ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

This restaurant has gone downhill. It is not up to Cohn restaurant standards. We ate outside, which is in dire need of maintenance and landscaping care. I had the pork shank which was just OK, but the accompaniments were stale. My wife had the clambake, which did not come with bread and was mostly tasteless. I like Cohn restaurants and even buy the $1000 Cohn card at Costco, but this restaurant needs management.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

Food and drinks were very good. Always ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Food and drinks were very good. Always enjoy sitting in the garden area. Loved the brochette that evening. Would order that time and time again.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This location was not great, the staff f ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

This location was not great, the staff from the bartender to the hostess all dropped the ball. The bartender seemed interrupted to take our order. The hostess offered to bring our appetizer from the bar to our table simply left and our appetizer was cleared. Definitely will not be back to this location again. The topper was a couple brought a dog to the patio area who rummaged under our table while we thought about getting desert. We will not be back thank you

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

Food was served on boards that allowed s ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Food was served on boards that allowed sauce to run onto table. Sticky. Server was nice but didn't seem interested. Brussel sprouts were not cooked as Ocean Beach location. They were under done. Burger was to have pork belly on it, could not find any. Wine menu was insulting if you chose a lesser wine.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

I initially wanted to have some duck con ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

I initially wanted to have some duck confit but didn't see it on the menu that was provided. We went here for Father's Day for my hubby. He ordered the short-rib hash with gravy, I had the Royale Burger and we shared the brussels sprouts and deviled eggs for appetizers. EVERYTHING was delicious!!! If I did have to point out ONE thing, it would only be that the fries needs to be eaten IMMEDIATELY, it isn't too great once it gets cold but everything was nothing short of amazing. I cannot wait to come back and try something else. Another thing I wanted to mention is the staff is super friendly and the service was SUPERB!!!!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall it was a pleasant evening. My c ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Overall it was a pleasant evening. My companion's fried chicken was delicious. I was disappointed with my over done halibut and too aldente green beans (a special of the day).

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

I was sadly disappointed in this place. ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

I was sadly disappointed in this place. It is expensive and the food is just OK, the service was bad to mediocre.

We started by ordering appetizers, when they arrived we asked the server for more place settings, there were only four for six people. The server just looked at us and asked if we wanted extra. We pointed out that we didn't have enough. After staring at our appetizer for a a while we realized he wasn't coming back and grabbed some from another table. A bit later he came back with the other appetizer but no plates.

The food had little flavor and the presentation was kind of plain. And did I mention how expensive it was?

I had really high expectations for a Cohn restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

Service quite good.Food was only fair. B ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Service quite good.Food was only fair. Brussels sprouts were burnt,overlooked and not overly tasty. Main dishes were disappointing. Too expensive for the value.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

Consistent, friendly service and good fo ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Consistent, friendly service and good food. We had four different entrees and all were good.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great place to eat !!! Fabulous brussel ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Great place to eat !!! Fabulous brussel sprouts !!!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Service was great and the décor and loca ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Service was great and the décor and location were perfect. Food was good, not as great as I had been told and heard from others. Still very good and would go back.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Consistently Mediocre

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

The food is consistently mediocre here, much like the rest of the Cohn Group of restaurants. Nothing is ever sensational, and nothing is disgracefully bad--usually just so-so. My $22.00 chicken was three small bits of thigh meat--and I mean small--and a lump of bland vegetables, mostly lima beans. The French onion soup was okay, but there was no depth of flavor in the broth. I really want to like this place, since it is the only somewhat upscale restaurant in the La Mesa Village, but it just doesn't make the grade.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Fantastic spot. Service wason point.

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Fantastic spot. Service wason point.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

About half the dishes were good, half me ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

About half the dishes were good, half mediocre. Server was not very knowledgeable about tap list, but okay with wine list. Service wasn't very attentive. I've been here several times when family visits or for a nicer family friendly venue, but will try elsewhere next time.

Tags: kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Not impressed

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

The reservation was made for our 32 wedding anniversary. We arrived and were seated, nothing from them was mentioned about why we were there. The seats were very uncomfortable, hard metal. The food was not good. My soup was very salty. The food quality was nothing to speak of. Our bill arrived , it totaled $70.00 and some change. I have been to many others of this family chain and this one left us very disappointed. We did not feel special and the food let us down big time. I had to sit on my sweater so my legs were not left with metal imprints. We were shocked!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

Excellent in every way!

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

The food was varied and delicious; the service was exemplary (and we stayed well after finishing our meals), and the ambiance was warm and welcoming. Definitely a keeper!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What's happened to BO-Beau's Kitchen?

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

I've enjoyed dining here before, but this time the food was mediocre and the service unremarkable. I did enjoy the $12 glass of wine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Food & beverages were excellent! Took a ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Food & beverages were excellent! Took a while to get our food. The very nice server brought extra muffins & bread since the food took so long. Others in our group love BO-beau & said that was unusual to take so long for the food. I will absolutely go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

The first time we went to Bo Beaus, I loved it.

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Since, the quality had dropped and now I think is so overpriced. 1. I love the hamburger because of the pork belly, but this time you could bearly find and taste the pork belly, it was so thin.

Two of us had coffee and one of us had a drink. The coffee was served very hot and perfect, however, the waitress was sure to ask if my husband wanted a 2nd drink, which is got, but never ever asked us we we wanted a refill of our coffee!!!!!!!

Personally, I have been there four times, but I do not plan to return.

Just to high priced.....and since I have room left here, I took my husband there for the Valentine Dinner, and it was the most disappointing dinner for the price we paid.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Nice place. I don't go out much. But th ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Nice place. I don't go out much. But this kitchen made me very happy. Good job to the staff. Keep up the good work.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Friends recommended it and I absolutely ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

Friends recommended it and I absolutely loved the place. Not your everyday mundane food. Don't be afraid to try the Brussel sprouts. I hate them but was told to try them. I loved them!

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

delicious!!

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

This was our second time here and once again Bo-Beau's wowed us! I tried different menu items this time and was not disappointed. The server was friendly and patient. He made multiple trips to allow us to sample beers. Once we were satisfied with our choices, he was very informative about the menu items. I had the onion soup, which was amazing! We shared Brussel sprouts again, which I loved. I had the burger Royal , which was tender and flavorful. And the best part was the berry bread pudding... Mmmmmmm!

We were celebrating my husbands birthday and he was very pleased with his special dinner. Our friends that we introduced Bo-Beau's to were also very impressed. We will absolutely be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very disappointed

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

We have eaten at Bo-beau before and we will probably not return. We had a party of five and four of us ordered the Halibut. It was overcooked in all cases, the string beans were over salted, the cauliflower was tasteless. The salmon dish ordered by the fifth person in our party was o.k. but the polenta was like glue. It will be a while before we consider this restaurant if we ever do again. Not even close to gourmet. Sloppy, careless cooking. Shame!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value3

We have visited both BO-beau locations o ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

We have visited both BO-beau locations on several occasions and have always been very pleased with our experience. I felt compelled to write a review because our experience last night at the La Mesa location surpassed our expectations as a result of one factor - - - our server, Steven. Steven was incredibly attentive, friendly and helpful. He went out of his way to make my daughter's birthday special. He knew everyones' names and he expertly anticipated our every need. We really were blown away by his outstanding customer service. I will make it a point to request him every time we visit BO-beau! Thanks Steven for making it such a fun and memorable evening!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place looks great, but otherwise do ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

This place looks great, but otherwise doesn't stand out, esp for the price. Wait staff are below casual, our server was over-familiar and made numerous errors, worked hard to make it up to us. Mushroom soup was great, muscles were good. Wine good. Non-alc cocktails okay. Halibut was dry, but veggies with it were good. Margherita pizza was tasty, but very wet. Every time I'm with a group that picks this restaurant, I'm always hoping we could go somewhere else instead where we can get way more bang for the buck ($200 for 5 ppl, pre- gratuity). It's not a bad place, it's just too expensive for the food/experience .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

Bistro dining at its best

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Our entire dining experience at Bo-Beau was delightful. Our waiter was excellent, his suggestions much appreciated. The Caesar salad with egg, anchovies and a bright vinaigrette was delicious. Both of our entrees were likewise well prepared and very tasty, my wife having the pistachio-crusted salmon and I the braised short ribs with Pappardelle. The after-dinner Irish coffee couldn't have been a better close to this enjoyable dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.