Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.28mi
  2. Distance: 0.47mi
  3. Distance: 0.49mi
  4. Distance: 0.50mi
  1. Distance: 0.28mi
  2. Distance: 0.47mi
  3. Distance: 0.49mi
  4. Distance: 0.50mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.28mi
  2. Distance: 0.47mi
  3. Distance: 0.49mi
  4. Distance: 0.50mi
  1. Distance: 0.28mi
  2. Distance: 0.47mi
  3. Distance: 0.49mi
  4. Distance: 0.50mi

About BO-beau kitchen + garden

BO beau kitchen + garden is located in the Village of La Mesa. BO beau offers Sophisticated Comfort Food with Global Inspirations. We have 24 Beers on tap, a worldly wine list and a full bar with eclectic cocktails.

8384 La Mesa Blvd
La Mesa, CA 91942-9218
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary French / American, Global, International

Hours of Operation:
Dinner


Tuesday - Wednesday: 4:30pm - 9:00pm;
Friday & Saturday: 4:30pm - 10:00pm;
Sunday: Brunch 10:30am- 1:30pm
Bar menu 1:30pm- 4:30pm
Dinner 4:30pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Spring Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(619) 337-3445

Website:
http://www.cohnrestaurants.com/bobeaukitchengarden

Parking Details:
Park on the street there are meters or in the lot behind us on Allison Street OR in the residential areas around us.

Executive Chef:
Tyler Shipton

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Ask about our special Valentines day menu!

BO-beau kitchen + garden Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

3.9

Noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Outdoor Dining (31)
Neighborhood Gem (29)
Good for a Date (27)
See All
Good for Groups (22)
Fit for Foodies (21)
Creative Cuisine (21)
Fun (20)
Special Occasion (20)
Good for Birthdays (16)
Good for Anniversaries (15)
Casual (15)
Romantic (14)
Handcrafted Cocktails (14)
Comfort Food (13)
Bar Seating (13)
Kid-friendly (11)
Worth the Drive (10)
Authentic (9)
Local Ingredients (9)
Healthy (8)
People Watching (8)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Seasonal (8)
Cozy (7)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Business Meals (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Notable Wine List (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Happy Hour (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Disabled Access (4)
Great Beer (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Organic (3)
Quick Bite (2)
Tapas (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Scenic View (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort by
S
860 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined 3 days ago

Love this place, arrived early with a 3rd person and we still got patio! Any type of fish is awesome. Catch of the day! Is always Yummoo! If you want to get gift cards , they will bring it to you at table . Love this La Mesa Bo-beau!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 3, 2017

I've been going there since they opened their doors. Even now that I do not live in La Mesa, we still come back for the customer service, food and drinks. This visit did not disappoint. Loved the new updated menu, specifically the pasta and lobster cakes. My new favorite dish! Thanks to management and staff for another wonderful visit!

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 2, 2017

Went out to date night with wife and had terrible time getting service within the first 20 minutes of being there other than that food was fantastic value and the we stopped after being stopped helped us right away.
The server was really good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 2, 2017

Best brussel sprouts in town! Very nice patio dining.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 29, 2017

Love the Brussels sprouts

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 26, 2017

Excellent always! I really miss the kale beet salad. Bring it back! Love your catch of the day dish and of course Brussels Sprouts are the bomb..

Tags: Kid-friendly, Tasting Menu, Comfort Food, Late-night Find, People Watching, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 23, 2017

Wonderful Thanksgiving meal, delicious food, excellent service with flawless execution. Rachael, our waitress, made us feel like family and saw to our every need. I highly recommend Bo-beau's La Mesa for holidays, celebrations or just a great meal anytime. I am raising my 4 star 2015 to 5 stars that I feel is earned. Thank you Rachael, BoBeau's and Cohn Restaurant Group for giving us a wonderful Thanksgiving experience. We are looking forward to the New Year's Eve with delicious courses as well.

Our Thanksgiving prix fixe menu offered a salad or soup, the entree and desert. For starters we added two side dishes (brussels sprouts and jalapeno deviled eggs) plus a bottle of Flora Springs chardonnay with all of it enjoyed. For the prix fixe first course I had the gruyere, spinach and bacon vinaigrette salad. My wife enjoyed the pumpkin soup. The second course we tried two of the three choices. Two of us enjoyed the traditional turkey dinner that included sweet potatoes, cranberry sauce, collard greens and cornbread stuffing. And two had the slow roasted pork shank with garlic mash, whole grain mustard, chutney and broccoli. Then we sampled all three desserts with some drinks (cappuccino, espresso, latte and muscat). Total $310 plus an appropriately generous tip for Rachael. Management came by to ensure all was well. It was well and very much appreciated.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 23, 2017

Great restaurant, food is delicious and excellent customer service, love it

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 23, 2017

Awesome atmosphere, really wonderful food and great service.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Paleo Friendly, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 19, 2017

Fun, casual dining on one of my favorite La Mesa streets...delicious food and love the atmosphere.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 19, 2017

Bo Beau has a great ambiance in their garden seating and the best Brussels sprouts ever.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Romantic, Kid-friendly, Sunday Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Great Beer, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 18, 2017

Excellent experience for friend's get together. Food and cocktails were great, the service was perfect - our waiter was Paul. Looking forward to going back!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 18, 2017

The whole experience was tainted by the slow service.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 17, 2017

I’ve tried a number of times and I
Am yet to be impressed. Service is awful food is adequate and prices are ridiculaous for what you’re served. Cohen’s take advantage of people wherever they own.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 13, 2017

Ordering the basics ( burgers, flatbread, Brussels sprouts) resulted in the usual decent quality (if somewhat uninspired) food.
Poor service began upon entering when we were shown to the worst tables in the restaurant in spite of it being half empty. When requesting better ones, we were told they were reserved even though we had reservations. BTW, many of those “reserved” tables were still empty when we left. When I stated that we would probably just leave, the hostess told us we could have any table in the bar which we took. Our server was disinterested, aloof and rarely available. I had to go back to the hostess stand to ask them to find her for us so we could order.
The above is really too bad since we are locals and like to patronize neighborhood spots. If this experience is a trend, I doubt the Cohn group will continue to support it’s existence.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 9, 2017

Service inattentive. Party with a dog..pet, not service.., and baby watching noisy iPad seated next to us. Food was bland. Even though we had mentioned it on our reservation, they didn't seem to be aware of us celebrating anything.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

 
·Dined on November 8, 2017

Great food! Loved the sprouts and Mac n cheese. John took very good care of us!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 8, 2017

Second visit in a week...love!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on November 6, 2017

Amazing Brussels sprouts
Drinks excellent
Pork shank tender and delicious

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 3, 2017

Excellent, though towards the end, around 9 pm, some other customers allowed their children (3-4 of them) to run noisily around the patio. This has happened at other times, too, so it must be okay with the management.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 2, 2017

Always have a fantastic meal here...the staff is helpful and very professional!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 29, 2017

The only negative was we waited quite a while for our check. Everything else was fabulous!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Paleo Friendly, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 26, 2017

We had a small gathering for our 6 year old son’s birthday. Love the change in the menu... Brussel sprouts are the favorite and enjoyed the crispy chicken and pear/beet salad. My son loves dining outdoors as they have a fun school bus and giant chalk board for kids to play with. The service was exceptional! They even played the cake and cupcakes that we brought in for us!

Tags: Good for Groups, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 26, 2017

We had a great time. The drinks were excellent and the food was very good. The atmosphere was great and the price was reasonable. It's best of La Mesa!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 25, 2017

The food was outstanding, almost as good as the service from Hunter the server. She was perfect in every way.

Tags: Tapas, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

 
·Dined on October 22, 2017

server was no where to be found very often. had to ask for coffee refills rather than server checking in on our empty beverages.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service1
value2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 22, 2017

The food was nothing special, I didn’t like the they charge you 3% aditional to the tax, the tea was horrible and I drink tea in a daily basis so for me to say it was horrible it was.
I ordered the poached eggs and they look like Nacho eggs , and they put some kind of species that you can’t tasted anything else.
Overall horrible overpriced no coming back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 20, 2017

I love this restaurant, it's a great addition to the increasingly hip and happening Village La Mesa! The food is very good and the ambience is very nice. As a former waiter and bartender, I appreciate good service and this place has great bartenders, hostesses, servers, and even bussers. Thanks BoBeau!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 20, 2017

Great Service, excellent food. You can sit and talk on the outdoor patio while you enjoy a cold beer and the wonderful Brussel Sprout apppitizer.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Great Beer, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 15, 2017

We have been here many times and have never been disappointed! We brought local friends and friends from England and they loved it!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 15, 2017

Great food, great service, nice atmosphere. Really enjoyed the evening with friends.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fun, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 15, 2017

I live 45 miles away & this place is worth the drive! Always consistent & delicious.. plus a comfortable, cool vibe. The brussels are what veggie dreams are made of ;) & everything is always delicious!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 9, 2017

My husband and I celebrated our 35th wedding anniversary here. We had a wonderful experience! We dined on the patio at about 7:30pm on a Sunday and although there were several other parties throughout the restaurant, we felt like we had the place to ourselves. Our waiter was extremely attentive and informative although we later found out that his 'regular' job was bartending but you wouldn't have known it. We thoroughly enjoyed our meals and dessert but most of all the ambiance. This was our second time eating here for a special occasion and we will definitely return ~ thank you!

Tags: Late-night Find, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 9, 2017

I really love this casual neighborhood gen. Delicious and lovely.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 9, 2017

We've been to BO+beau in La Mesa several times and have enjoyed it there very much. The food and service have been great. We took my mom for her birthday most recently and I was confident that she would enjoy her meal. Must tries are the crispy Brussels sprouts and the pumpkin bread pudding. The pumpkin dessert was seasonal, but they usually have a bread pudding on the menu. So good!

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 8, 2017

always a good meal and customer service. For some reason I feel like the portions got larger, I don’t remember having so much to take home! I was so full too. Thanks for another great experience. Until next time...

Tags: Business Meals, Tapas, Late-night Find, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Fun, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 8, 2017

I have been here twice now, once with a close friend and another time with my husband. This place was perfect spot for both occasions! I love the location, the ambiance, the fact that it is quiet enough to have conversation, but not so quiet that others can hear you and the food is great! I have yet to explore much of the menu as I have come for light dinners and can't seem to make it past the brussel sprouts! So far, my +1 and I have split the brussel sprouts plate then shared a decadent dessert (this time it was a berry cheesecake). I think the trick is to invite more people to come along with me so I don't fill up on the famous brussel sprouts! The iced tea is so refreshing as well. I'll definitely be back!

Tags: Disabled Access, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Sunday Lunch, Great Beer, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Gluten Free Options, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on October 8, 2017

Five of us went to Bo-Beau to celebrate a birthday and had a great time. The patio seating was casual and our server was awesome. Good selection of appetizers and entrees and we found a great wine at our server's suggestion. Would definitely recommend this place and hope to return soon."

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Worth the Drive, Casual, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fun, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 6, 2017

The service from all the staff is impeccable. Our water glasses never reached half full. I suspect that this was partially due to the early arrival (4:30pm when they opened).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 29, 2017

I've eaten at Bo-beaus several times. The food is always excellent. The service is one of the best I've ever had. Staff is attentive and want to make sure you enjoy your food and time at the restaurant. The restaurant is one of my favorites!

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.