Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.28mi
  2. Distance: 0.47mi
  3. Distance: 0.49mi
  4. Distance: 0.50mi
  1. Distance: 0.28mi
  2. Distance: 0.47mi
  3. Distance: 0.49mi
  4. Distance: 0.50mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.28mi
  2. Distance: 0.47mi
  3. Distance: 0.49mi
  4. Distance: 0.50mi
  1. Distance: 0.28mi
  2. Distance: 0.47mi
  3. Distance: 0.49mi
  4. Distance: 0.50mi

About BO-beau kitchen + garden

BO beau kitchen + garden is located in the Village of La Mesa. BO beau offers Sophisticated Comfort Food with Global Inspirations. We have 24 Beers on tap, a worldly wine list and a full bar with eclectic cocktails.

8384 La Mesa Blvd
La Mesa, CA 91942-9218
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary French / American, Global, International

Hours of Operation:
Dinner


Tuesday - Wednesday: 4:30pm - 9:00pm;
Friday & Saturday: 4:30pm - 10:00pm;
Sunday: Brunch 10:30am- 1:30pm
Bar menu 1:30pm- 4:30pm
Dinner 4:30pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Spring Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(619) 337-3445

Website:
http://www.cohnrestaurants.com/bobeaukitchengarden

Parking Details:
Park on the street there are meters or in the lot behind us on Allison Street OR in the residential areas around us.

Executive Chef:
Tyler Shipton

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Ask about our special Valentines day menu!

BO-beau kitchen + garden Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.3

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (31)
Great for Outdoor Dining (30)
Creative Cuisine (27)
See All
Special Occasion (24)
Good for a Date (23)
Casual (21)
Fit for Foodies (19)
Fun (19)
Good for Birthdays (17)
Comfort Food (17)
Good for Groups (13)
Cozy (13)
Worth the Drive (12)
Kid-friendly (11)
Romantic (11)
Happy Hour (11)
Modern Decor (10)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
People Watching (9)
Authentic (9)
Bar Seating (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Hot Spot (8)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Business Meals (7)
Great Beer (7)
Notable Wine List (7)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Family Style (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Seasonal (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Healthy (5)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Tapas (4)
Organic (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Private Room (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Vegan (3)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Live Sports (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Fireplace (2)
Historic (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
S
701 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 5 days ago

Best Brussel sprouts!! Love the patio. One our favorite local spots.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Casual, Fireplace, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Kid-friendly, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

Our dinner celebrated a friend's birthday. Paul was our server and was very attentive, professional, and made good suggestions. Our entrees, pork tenderloin and pasta, were excellent.

Tags: Great Beer, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Great as always on of the best east county restaurants.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 12, 2017

My wife and I had a wonderful time. It was our anniversary and the staff was very accommodating thank you

Tags: Bar Seating, Casual, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Great food and drinks just slow on drinks. We ordered more drinks and they took so long we just canceled them.

Tags: Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Service was very haphazard. Drinks were slow, forgotten orders, but friendly.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Always an excellent meal with outstanding service. I had the vegan option this time, even though I'm not vegan. It was delicious! I have no idea what it was. Grilled tofu, some kind of creamy nut sauce, ginger, scrumptious exotic mushrooms, paper thin pear. Really good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 8, 2017

This is one of our favorite places. When I made a reservation, the latest time that was available was 6 pm -early, but I wanted to make sure that we would have a table for this birthday dinner. We arrived a few minutes early and were taken to a table in a room with only one other table occupied, and it stayed this way for the next 45 minutes or so.
We have been here several times and been very pleased with the entire experience. This time we were frankly rushed through what we intended to be a relaxed dinner. Our entrees arrived within minutes of the appetizer's arrival, prompting us to send them back to the kitchen. I jokingly asked my wife if we looked like we were here for the 'early bird special'. There were empty tables and no obvious reason for us to feel as if we were being pushed along. After this, there was no pressure per se, but my impression was that there was no effort to cognitively realize what I think the restaurant intends as a dining experience. It just put a disappointing edge on an otherwise great meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Our go-to place, for special occasions, out-of-town guests, and basic "no-kid" nights!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Always a experience to dine at our favorite local restaurant. Met friends from out if town and they really enjoyed it.. Gluten free options were great for our friend.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Gluten Free Options, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Love this restaurant. Best French onion soup ever, great brussel sprouts, and wonderful burgers~!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Family Style, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Organic, Healthy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 2, 2017

We dined early because our daughter, daughter-in-law and their twin 18-month old children were with us. For the same reason we chose to eat in the outdoor garden area in case the children decided to loudly do their own celebrating. But our concerns were for naught because the children loved BO-Beau as much as the parents and grandparents always do. And has been our usual experience, the food & drinks were magnificent, the ambience great, and the warm, friendly service fabulous. A gem.

Tags: Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Family Style, Great Beer, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 25, 2017

This was our first time here! Lovely place I didn't know existed. We will definitely be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Key West)·Dined on February 25, 2017

I've yet to be disappointed. The service is amazing. Very friendly and attentive just enough. The food is always great! The Brushetta is my favorite appetizer and the City of Lights is the Best drink!! I've had chicken, steak, flatbread, salad, and soup there so far and all were so flavorful and delicious. This place is also kid friendly. I've brought my 4 year old with me before and he ate his chicken tenders, which I tasted and they were good. Not expensive, great service, food and drinks!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Enjoyed our dinner very much. I had the Grilled Salmon with lentils, pomegranate seeds and grilled Radicchio, carrots and green beans. Perfect fish and the veggies were tender and flavorful. Our server was attentive and helpful. When she wasn't available, the other servers and even the manager walking by wanted to help in any way.
Our table was a U-shaped banquet at the end near the kitchen and away from the bar scene entrance. Nothing much to look at near us and a bit quieter. So ambiance not much to write about. I was surprised there were not more interesting 'On Tap" craft beers listed or presented by server. The Cohn Group decided that the restaurant focus here was more on drinks than food (makes them more money) and so the foods list is a bit minimal. Still very good. We had their signature brussels sprouts. tasty and bold. The bacon was a bit hard to chew. The Beef bourguignon and the Fresh Albacore dishes were both delicious as cited by their eaters. Is that a word? Anyways. Overall, it was a much better experience and the food was much better than previous times we've been there. I think we'll check it out again. Maybe you'd like it too. Cheers! Jc

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Menu is diverse; food is well prepared and served. Staff is friendly, reservation was called right on time.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 25, 2017

My husband enjoyed his steak, green beans and fries, although the fries arrived stone cold and had to be replaced. I got the boeuf bourguinon, and it was extremely salty. The beef was good, as were the carrots and green beans, but the flavor of a long-simmered wine sauce with herbs just wasn't there, and the saltiness was pretty overwhelming. The flourless chocolate cake was a nice treat at the end. The server was considerate and aimed to please. The noise level was too high to have much of a conversation over dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Beautiful decor. Good food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 19, 2017

I'm a fan of CRG restaurants and Bo-Beau was no exception. I met a friend for brunch. Tasty mimosa for only $4. Brussels sprouts were amazing! Chicken and waffles were very good. Next time I'll try the French toast, it looked delicious at our neighbors table. The atmosphere was cozy and fun. Looking forward to trying a dinner here soon. I bet on a warm evening the patio is lovely.

Tags: Modern Decor, People Watching, Fun, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Visiting our daughter &a son. Had great food and the best service EVER! When in SD again will come back.

Tags: Comfort Food, Family Style, Outstanding Value, Authentic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The Brussel sprouts are amazing and get the half order it's huge

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Amazing experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We ordered appetizers (brussell sprouts were the bomb!), they came and we waited a very long time for silverware to eat them with, waiter finally brought 5 sets for the 6 of us. He explained they were short and that we needed to hold on to them between courses to make sure we had some. Also waited a very long time for desserts, wanted to cancel them but could not find the waiter. Food was awesome, service not so much

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Took my wife for her birthday since she really likes the restaurant. The place was not busy since it was a Wednesday which was nice. I thought the service was pretty good, she felt rushed by the waitress. She did comment that it was the B-Team in the kitchen that night. The food was very bland, and not up to the usual quality that we have had there. For the quality we got and the price we paid, we feel that we could have done better at home. It was a disappointing show for us.

Tags: Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 5, 2017

In all honesty with the 3 locations of Bo-Beau restaurants, and I have been to all three now, I still prefer the Ocean Beach location.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 5, 2017

The only thing of note was the Brussel sprouts platter. That was great. the rest of the meal was just average. Wine was good which helped. And oh by the way it is freezing on the patio at night. Wear your thermos.....

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Food was good. We were there with our kids. Kids meal was usual fare but also had an older kids' menu which we never seen before. Not sure if we would go back as it was a bit of a drive to get there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 30, 2017

We were visiting from out of town and got a recommendation from a friend to go here for dinner. We really enjoyed the Brussels for sure! The pork was great although the grits and broccoli fell flat in regards to adding any personality or elevation to the dish. The outdoor patio was so romantic and beautiful and the service was great! I ordered a glass of wine and it had to have been the smallest portion of wine I have EVER gotten at a restaurant which was a bit disappointing. But all in all a little gem of a place that I would be happy to visit again.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 30, 2017

We were a party of 4 adults and 2 children (one was 4 yrs and the other 1 yr). We had a great time. The restaurant is kid friendly but also adult friendly, both in decor and ambience and also because the layout minimizes intrusive noise from others. There is both indoor eating as well as lovely outdoor eating (close to a play area with a school bus that kids love). The food was very good, though perhaps a tad rich for every day dining. Beer selection was great. And the waitstaff were friendly, relaxed, helpful, and attentive without being overly in your face. The restaurant is located in Old La Mesa with good street and off-street parking. Even though this is a bit of a drive for us, we'll definitely return.

Tags: Bar Seating, Great Beer, Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Amazing food, and an overall amazing experience. The food is plentiful and great for sharing. The brussel sprouts are a must! Parking can be a bit tricky, wear a good pair of walking shoes.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 29, 2017

The food was fantastic. It was a bit scary going up the stairs to our table. The stairs we steep, doing that in held was dangerous.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Great food and service in a beautiful setting! Excellent, creative menu...

Tags: Comfort Food, Modern Decor, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 29, 2017

We used to love bo beau. The burger royal is on point! You honestly can't go wrong with the burger and Brussel sprouts. We have realized we go there less and less. Lately the service is not up to par and the food is super hit and miss. I just wish they were consistent.

Tags: Comfort Food, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Food was super GREASY! I didn't expect this! Since I have tried many Cohen restaurants....

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Decided to dine their for restaurant week and a personal recommendation. The service and the food was superb. Ordered a salad which was amazing and enough for two people. My wife had a chicken entree and I had a short rib flatbread. Both delicious!

Tags: Comfort Food, Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on January 19, 2017

it was very nice but not perfect

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 18, 2017

The service was outstanding and food perfectly prepared.

Tags: Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 16, 2017

We had a very pleasant dinner with great service. All was very good!

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Usually we love coming here for dinner and brunch. It is in our neighborhood and has always been a nice treat for us to be able to just drive down the road for drinks and food. The last few times that we have been there for brunch, the service has been pretty bad. Waiting over 20 minutes to have our food order taken and the servers are no where to be found. The only person I saw doing work was the Manager!!! I hope this is a temporary issue. As disappointed as I am that Cohen has decided to add the surcharge to their bill, nothing turns off customers like bad customer service and lack of attention from a server.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 15, 2017

We were not impressed by the food itself, which surprised us, since most of the properties are stellar. The Opa was way undercooked ( I understand "rare", this was uncooked in the middle, the green beans were almost raw, the grits with cheese were tasteless. The butterscotch pudding was bland. The chocolate cake was lovely and the decaf coffee was some of the best we've ever had. The whole place smells too much like the signature brussel sprouts dish and the seating is too loud and close together for dinner.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.