Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.28mi
  2. Distance: 0.47mi
  3. Distance: 0.49mi
  4. Distance: 0.50mi
  1. Distance: 0.28mi
  2. Distance: 0.47mi
  3. Distance: 0.49mi
  4. Distance: 0.50mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.28mi
  2. Distance: 0.47mi
  3. Distance: 0.49mi
  4. Distance: 0.50mi
  1. Distance: 0.28mi
  2. Distance: 0.47mi
  3. Distance: 0.49mi
  4. Distance: 0.50mi

About BO-beau kitchen + garden

BO beau kitchen + garden is located in the Village of La Mesa. BO beau offers Sophisticated Comfort Food with Global Inspirations. We have 24 Beers on tap, a worldly wine list and a full bar with eclectic cocktails.

8384 La Mesa Blvd
La Mesa, CA 91942-9218
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary French / American, Global, International

Hours of Operation:
Dinner


Tuesday - Wednesday: 4:30pm - 9:00pm;
Friday & Saturday: 4:30pm - 10:00pm;
Sunday: Brunch 10:30am- 1:30pm
Bar menu 1:30pm- 4:30pm
Dinner 4:30pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Spring Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(619) 337-3445

Website:
http://www.cohnrestaurants.com/bobeaukitchengarden

Parking Details:
Park on the street there are meters or in the lot behind us on Allison Street OR in the residential areas around us.

Executive Chef:
Tyler Shipton

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Ask about our special Valentines day menu!

BO-beau kitchen + garden Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (37)
Great for Outdoor Dining (37)
Good for a Date (31)
See All
Casual (28)
Fit for Foodies (25)
Good for Birthdays (22)
Comfort Food (17)
Creative Cuisine (17)
Good for Groups (15)
Kid-friendly (15)
Special Occasion (14)
Good for Anniversaries (14)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Healthy (11)
Happy Hour (9)
Great for Brunch (9)
Fun (8)
Modern Decor (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
Romantic (8)
Notable Wine List (7)
Great for Lunch (6)
Business Meals (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Authentic (6)
Family Style (6)
Cozy (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Local Ingredients (6)
Disabled Access (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Seasonal (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Great Beer (4)
Fireplace (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Tapas (3)
People Watching (3)
Private Room (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Vegan (2)
Organic (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Scenic View (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Sort By:
S
751 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined 2 days ago

We love this place! Our waitress (sorry)don't remember her name) was outstanding. Great food and drinks!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 3 days ago

Dinner was great but super disappointed with the Brussel sprouts. They were too burned. We had a large party and order two plates both were bad.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 6 days ago

two out of three special cocktails we tried were just not good tasting. Need work there

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 6 days ago

I took my dad here for Father's Day. I've been to BO-beau before and this experience was a repeat of previous lunches and dinners. Servers are knowledgeable and attentive. The food is delicious and ingredients seem fresh. Dad had the fried chicken and waffles and loved it. The brussel sprouts are a must.

My only complaint has absolutely NOTHING to do with the restaurant, the food or the service. The family seated next to our table (toward the end of our meal, thank goodness) decided to FaceTime with a family member - they were using loud voices and passing the cell phone around. I thought it was very rude for other diners trying to enjoy the restaurant.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Healthy, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 7 days ago

Great atmosphere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 15, 2017

The menu is creative and somewhat eclectic. We ate in the garden area in PERFECT weather. Had deep one-to-one conversation, noise level was quiet. Everything I ate was delicious. Wait staff were excellent. I also ate there in January for a small-group birthday celebration. We ate upstairs, tucked away. We spent about 3 hours at the dinner, talking about everything under the sun and moon. It was great. We never felt rushed, ate slowly through several courses. Delicious food.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 7, 2017

My review is pretty much the same as always...good food, but I'm really tired of the same menu and probably won't go there again for dinner until I'm REALLY wanting some of what they offer (over & over again...), which is not likely before a very, very long time passes.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Tapas, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 4, 2017

This is my favorite restaurant in La Mesa and I'm not easy to please. Start with one of their specialty cocktails and an order of Brussel sprouts as an appetizer. The little gem salad is outstanding and there's enough for two. Then move onto almost any entree (except the zucchini pasta dish which is too bland). Dine on the back patio or to the left in the main dining area. The ambience is as perfect as the food.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 24, 2017

Beautiful setting and plenty of space. The food was all outstanding, we ordered the deviled eggs & Beef Carpaccio to start. Only complaint was that the toast pieces are a bit big & some meat was chewy so it wasn't "pretty" to eat. Smaller crostini's would be great. Our entrees were all outstanding (Mussels, flatbreads, beef and pasta). Serving size for entrée was plenty.
Service was a little slower than I would like, but I think she thought we wanted to take it slow as well. It wasn't that big of a deal, but we did search for our server a few times.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 22, 2017

The four of us dined on a Sunday evening around 7:30 and had the patio seating almost to ourselves. It was a lovely San Diego quiet Evening in the garden. Two of us had the skirt steak that was excellent, one had the Mussels and really enjoyed them and the last diner, the salmon which was superb. The menu is not necessarily a foodie menu but the plates we had were really quite good.

The service was good and the front desk folks were really friendly. Overall we had a lovely experience at BO-beau kitchen + garden.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Casual urban atmosphere, a bit pricey. $10 for a very skinny bloody Mary .

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 21, 2017

My first time here. Love the ambiance. Food and service were also solid. Fish of the day was yellowtail and cooked to perfection.

Odd thing was that open table made it seem like the place would be packed based on limited reservation slots open. However when I got there it was 60 percent full the whole time. Maybe they didn't have enough staff? I would call the restaurant if OpenTable is booked out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 20, 2017

We are big CRG fans and Bo Beau's has fun outside casual dining with nice choice of food and drink.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Great Beer, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Seats could be more comfortable

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 17, 2017

I wish there had been music in the patio. Either a band for watching or DJ for jazzy background music. The patio is big enough, so why not right?

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Great for Outdoor Dining, Modern Decor, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 14, 2017

This is my second experience. Brussels sprouts were fantastic but the overall food quality, wait time, and customer service I experienced is not worth the price nor the visit. The outdoor seating is pleasant but I do not recommend this restaurant.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Went to Bo-Beaus for Mother's Day brunch. Menu was limited with very few egg options. Took 5 minutes after being seated for anyone to come to our table. Our food was okay. Nothing exceptional. Heard a lot of I am sorries from wait staff for slow meal delivery to wrong dishes delivered to incorrectly cooked food. Not planning a return visit.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We were 5-minutes late and the front desk cancelled our reservation in Open Table. When I arrived at 7:50pm for a 7:45pm reservation, they had no clue who I was....that type of business behaviour is unacceptable!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 13, 2017

The food is great, especially the Brussels sprouts.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Loved it! I had forgotten we'd been there before years ago with my sister but I'll blame that on pregnancy brain. All the food we ordered was delicious!!! I seriously "licked" ever plate clean. A must order are the Brussels sprouts!!! I ordered the beet salad and grilled salmon & my hubby ordered their beef bourgignon (sp?) but they were both excellent and so were our drinks!!! I thought the atmosphere was lovely and was a bit worried about the seating being outside, but it's San Diego and it was perfect. It wasn't too cold at all. We will definitely head back there again on future date nights.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Romantic, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Family Style, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 13, 2017

One of our favorite spots for birthdays and other occasions!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 13, 2017

The main dish was mouthwatering; however, the side dishes could use some help.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Food was great! The tables to both sides of us were really too close. Definitely would ask for different seating next time.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on May 12, 2017

This was a second visit and sadly disappointing. First time was fabulous...this time all three meals were mediocre. I had to send my steak back to the kitchen twice as it was too rare, then I settled for over cooked. The brussel sprout appetizer is fabulous, yet we won't be going back. Too pricey for mediocre and overpriced wine/cocktails.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 6, 2017

While dining outside was a tad on the cool side it offered a quiet place to hold a decent conversation. We totally enjoyed the "famous" Brussel sprouts for an appetizer and all thought our entrée was the best. Our selections ranged from stew to steak and tacos. Our waitress was efficient, friendly and courteous.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Handcrafted Cocktails, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Fireplace, Quick Bite, Healthy, Disabled Access, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 4, 2017

I love this restaurant. Food is great, service is great and I really enjoy the environment inside and out.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Casual, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 3, 2017

I've been twice in a week but had to order the same vegetarian meal both times as there's only the one option. It's very good but a little choice would be nice. Great fries and Brussels sprouts without bacon.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Disabled Access, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Casual, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Healthy, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Another fantastic evening at Bo-Beau. The service was a little slow this time around. Waitress could have been more attentive.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Paleo Friendly, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Romantic, Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Vanessa was our waitress and she was AWESOME! Food of course was delicious as well.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Great vegan option. We enjoyed our drinks and food. Waitperson was great.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Vegan, Great for Outdoor Dining, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Came here on vacation with my wife and 3 children. Food was very good, ate outside and appreciated the heaters and blankets. Brussel sprout appetizer was huge and we couldn't possibly eat it all. I had the paprika chicken and it was fantastic. Kids checked out the bus, but their reaction was that it was kind of gross. It could stand to be vacuumed or mopped. Overall a good night!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 23, 2017

The food was pretty good. The Brussels sprouts were amazing, however I wish the server would have told us how big an order was and we wouldn't have ordered two for our party of four. My husband's mussels in a curry sauce tasted wonderful. My steak was just okay.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Warm, friendly, attentive staff. Atmosphere was delightful! Food was delish!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Fireplace, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 22, 2017

This restaurant and service we're great but the food was flavorless.

Doug Hele

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 16, 2017

The restaurant was very nice. I tried the chicken and waffles. The portions were perfect. Just enough to get you full, the chicken pieces however were overdone making them dry and the waffles were so hard they felt like bricks ! The waitress was kind to bring some new waffles. My husband and son enjoyed their food, that's why I didn't give the food a lower score.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Had Easter Brunch here on Sunday. We ate on the patio, a beautiful setting & the weather was perfect. They had a special menu that was very good. I had the chicken sandwich and they accommodated my diet restriction of no dairy. Service was great.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Nice experience. Early for reservation and sat immediately. We were seated in between two larger tables which was only a problem because half of the restaurant was empty. Good food and a nice place to go.

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 13, 2017

BO-Beau always treats and feeds us wonderfully well. The manager, Michelle, is peerless and her staff always great. Reliably fine food in a nice environment.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Healthy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 10, 2017

$10 for a 3 ounce glass of wine served in a cup. Felt like drinking out of a hotel bathroom cup that you have to use if you don't a real wine glass.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Brussel Sprouts and Jalapeno Deviled Eggs are amazing!! Fish and Chips special was good, but the sauce was a little salty. All of the flatbreads were great too!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.