About Bluehour

250 NW 13th Avenue
Portland, OR 97209
View Larger Map

Bluehour means different things to different people. In French literature it describes any time of day "of heightened emotion." In Portland it has come to mean "a great place to dine."

As the premier modern restaurant in the Pearl District, Bluehour opened its doors in 2000, with what Gourmet Magazine describes as, "the most sophisticated, contemporary food in town." Guests choose between the elegant dining room or the casual café and bar.


Surprising and delicious describes the Modern Northwest cuisine we create in the Bluehour kitchen each night. The menu is printed daily, so come in and enjoy Chef Chris Carriker's seasonally inspired menu.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Modern European, Mediterranean, Contemporary European

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm.
Dinner: Monday - Wednesday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm,
Thursday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm.
Happy Hour: Monday - Friday: 4:30pm - 6:30pm,
Saturday 5:00pm - 6:30pm
Cafe/bar open after dinner until midnight on Thursday, Friday and Saturday.
Closed Sundays.

Cross Street:
Everett

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 226-3394

Website:
http://www.bluehouronline.com/

Catering:
L'Heure Bleue is the private room at Bluehour that can accommodate up to 60 people for a seated dinner or up to 100 people for a cocktail style reception on any occasion. Private Event Manager: Alice Price

Parking Details:
Valet parking is $6.00 and is offered after 5:30pm, Friday and Saturday evenings, at the corner of NW 13th and Everett St.
On all other evenings, street parking is available. Please call for garage recommendations.

Public Transit:
Bluehour is located three blocks west of the NW 10th and Everett stop of the Portland Street Car.

Executive Chef:
Chris Carriker

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Bluehour
  • Bluehour
  • Bluehour
  • Bluehour
  • Bluehour
  • Amuse Bouche
  • Sweet Corn Semifreddo
  • Handcut Fries
  • Scallops with Caramelized Cauliflower
Bluehour
Bluehour
Bluehour
Bluehour
Bluehour
Amuse Bouche
Sweet Corn Semifreddo
Handcut Fries
Scallops with Caramelized Cauliflower

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Mon - Thu 5:00PM - 5:45PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Fri - Sat 5:00PM - 5:45PM 8:30PM - 10:00PM 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Whether planning an elegant social affair or searching for a unique venue for a corporate meeting or outing, Bluehour offers professional catering services to ensure that the vision of your event comes to life. Available: full bar service, specialty cocktails, AV capabilities and personalized menus

Bluehour Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Portland / Oregon
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Portland
Best Restaurants in Pearl District ›

special occasion (70)
fit for foodies (55)
romantic (53)
See All
notable wine list (25)
neighborhood gem (22)
good for groups (18)
great for lunch (12)
vibrant bar scene (10)
great for brunch (8)
great for outdoor dining (8)
hot spot (7)
late-night find (5)
scenic view (2)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1256 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous as always. the Beet salad was i ...

Dined 3 days ago

Fabulous as always. the Beet salad was impeccable with differing textures and flavors. Presentation out of this world. Loved the halibut "chicarones" as an amuse! Oregon albacore was great as well. Different than Ahi, sustainable, color and taste clearly showed its freshness. Service attentive but not intrusive. Love this place. Elegant yet accessible. Has not fallen off my list of great restaurants in Portland. Good job, Bruce. You are still an icon in the city.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food1
ambience5
service5
value3

I have eaten here a few times and always ...

Dined 4 days ago

I have eaten here a few times and always had great food. This time I got the steak, and it was perhaps the most awful steak I have ever eaten. I actually had to spit it into my napkin. It was all gristle. They cooked it too rare (still mooing I think), took it back (which I NEVER have sent food back in my life) it came back, and it still was gross. Of the two bites I took, both ended up in my napkin. Server was great, great atmosphere, generally great food.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A beautiful PDX evening after a play alf ...

Dined on June 20, 2016

A beautiful PDX evening after a play alfresco dining. The service outside was superb, wine pairings spot on and food delicious.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and drinks were exceptional, th ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

The food and drinks were exceptional, the atmosphere elegant and not too loud, the wait staff's attention was impeccable, and I was so glad I picked Bluehour for celebrating my 53rd birthday.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

We have dined at Blue Hour many times du ...

vip
Dined on June 12, 2016

We have dined at Blue Hour many times during recent years. Also given gift certificates and hosted guests. June 11th was a celebration of my partner's birthday. We had an early reservation in anticipation of a relaxed and quiet dinner. Wait person was excellent. People that clear tables seemed overanxious and hurried. This detracted from otherwise leisure dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service2

The plates were very small, and expensiv ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

The plates were very small, and expensive. We are steak tartare lovers and we have never seen such a small portion. Also the service was very slow, right from the beginning. It took 15minutes to get a bottle of wine. Very disappointed.

food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great Place, Great Food, Great Everything

Dined on June 8, 2016

My wife and I went for the Chef's selection. The dishes were exquisite and plenty. The wine pairing was superb. We'd definitely recommend this restaurant and we will come back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and experience.

Dined on June 2, 2016

Great food and experience.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

JZee

Dined on May 29, 2016

I was a little nervous to eat here as I had read a review saying they had lost a Chef recently..Well they are not missing their Chef as the food was fabulous and we live in LA and have foodie, high expectations.. The ambiance was perfect for what I wanted, downtown, trendy, hip and chic Portland.. PS. I am a native Oregonian and remember as a child when there was nothing built int he Pearl..It is nice to see my city all grown up and sophisticated.. Great wait staff, accommodated my (11) year old daughter with no issues. Yes Kuddo's on all front's to you!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service5

So disappointed after so much hype! My h ...

vip
Dined on May 28, 2016

So disappointed after so much hype! My husband and sons food was Luke warm and the potatoes were downright cold. We asked if they were supposed to be and the waitress said no and got them hot plates of fresh potatoes. My halibut was over cooked but I was so hungry I ate it as is. The did redeem themselves by comping all three of our desserts but still quite disappointed!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Impeccable Service

vip
Dined on May 28, 2016

This was our first time to popular Bluehour. What a treat to finally enjoy a wonderful meal here. The decor is quite beautiful with long brown drapes separating the dining areas. Tables are spaced so that you have a sense of privacy. Our server, Brook, was especially personable and so willing to explain the food. He even told us a little about himself and how much he loved working the "front of the house". Well, it was clearly demonstrated during our delicious dinner. He was careful to explain how the chef preferred to prepare certain signature dishes. The seasonal pea salad with buttermilk dressing was outstanding. The homemade pastas are not to be missed. Split a dish of pasta with lamb ragu as a second course. We had pasta as our main course, but we are looking forward to returning to enjoy one of their exquisite meat or fish entrees soon! Highly recommend Bluehour for a truly memorable dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Lovely restaurant

Dined on May 24, 2016

We found Bluehour to be a quiet, elegant oasis in the Portland food scene. The food was good, though maybe a touch salty. That said, we thoroughly enjoyed our dinner there.

food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic! The food is inventive and the ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Fantastic! The food is inventive and the service was exceptional! Great ambiance and not overly pricey for what you get. Don't miss this place!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We went here for prom and it was wonderf ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

We went here for prom and it was wonderful! Such a great feel to Bluehour, and the servers were friendly, energetic, and very helpful :) The food was great as well! We all shared food and I every single one of the starters, salads, entrees, and desserts I got to taste were fantastic. I'm very happy with how our evening at Bluehour went!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience3
service4

Meal was good, especially the beets, but ...

vip
Dined on May 11, 2016

Meal was good, especially the beets, but simply put, way overpriced.

food5
ambience5
service5

Always a pleasure but they took it up a ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Always a pleasure but they took it up a notch for Mother's Day brunch. Plenty of amazing food for the price.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The best Mothers Day Brunch I've had in ...

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

The best Mothers Day Brunch I've had in a long time. Pricey, but food was outstanding.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had an incredible meal, service and o ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

We had an incredible meal, service and overall experience. It exceeded my expectations!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience3
service3

Normally one of the best in town. Must o ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

Normally one of the best in town. Must of come on an rare off night. The air was bad. Warm. Muggy. Sweaty. The air was not being circulated at all, very warm and Muggy and uncomfortable.

food4
ambience4
service5

Sitting outside on a gorgeous day people ...

vip
Dined on May 6, 2016

Sitting outside on a gorgeous day people-watching with great drinks (French 57 perfect on a sunny day). The Caesar salad was the best! It's a little pretentious and definitely spendy....so take advantage of happy hour!

food2
ambience2
service2
value1

Gone downhill - very disappointing!

vip
Dined on May 4, 2016

Losing Chef Koi appears to be fatal for Bluehour. This used to be a consistently wonderful dining experience. Something has happened to kill the soul of the restaurant. No more valet parking, No Chef Koi, one of the great chefs in Portland. Mediocre food, amateurish service. Well intentioned but poorly trained staff. No reason to return, ever. Very disappointing.

food5
ambience5
service5

Original presentation, excellent and ver ...

Dined on April 29, 2016

Original presentation, excellent and very fresh

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience

Dined on April 27, 2016

From the minute we walked in, it was clear that customer satisfaction is important to the staff. The service was excellent throughout, the food and drinks were very good and the atmosphere was elegant. We are looking forward to our next visit.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great Dinner Experience

Dined on April 22, 2016

We have been to Bluehour before and had the same outstanding meal and service that we experienced in the past.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Food is delicious! Service is very atten ...

vip
Dined on April 20, 2016

Food is delicious! Service is very attended.

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Best food

vip
Dined on April 18, 2016

The potato soup was to die for , steelhead trout fresh and delicious with innovative greens. Cesar salad absolutely perfectly balanced. Do not miss dessert ! It is a foodies paradise!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Never Disappointing

Dined on April 17, 2016

We've eaten at Bluehour several times now, and have always had a wonderful dining experience.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Best food I have eaten in years!

Dined on April 17, 2016

The rabbit was the service was slow at first but worth the wait!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A+ Restaurant, through & through!

Dined on April 17, 2016

This was our first time dining at Bluehour, and the entire meal was amazing. Top to bottom, start to finish, handled by pros. The food was excellent (why isn't beet shortbread an every day thing?!? Mindblowingly good), the ambiance was so nice and the ability to have a conversation with our friend visiting from out of town was excellent. A place that truly cares about their guests having a positive experience. How refreshing in a city where too many places act like you should feel lucky just to be a part of their pretentious scene. Bluehour is none of that, just focusing on top shelf food, service, and atmosphere. We will most certainly be back, and will spread the word about how great Bluehour is.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful romantic restaurant with fabul ...

Dined on April 16, 2016

Wonderful romantic restaurant with fabulous food and great service. Menu changes daily. A favorite for a date night.

food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Not like it used to be

vip
Dined on April 16, 2016

I have been to Bluehour a few times in the past and enjoyed the food and ambiance but things have changed. I was expecting the food to be amazing and it was just OK and slightly over salted. Service was good but a bit slow. For the money and the reputation, I was expecting a bit more of an impressive experience.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Need more menu items.

Dined on April 16, 2016

I've eaten at Blue Hour a couple of times before, the food was good. However, the menu this time did not afford a lot of options. There were no chicken entrees. The menu was filled with Rabbit, Veal, Lamb and Foui Gras. All a little eccentric for most eaters. There were no true salads, we ordered beets that the waitress said was kind of like a salad as it came with some type of lettuce that I've never heard of, very arugula-like. There turned out to be only 2 small pieces of this lettuce. The food that we did order was good but not great. I think that 3x is enough for me with this restaurant.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Date Destination!

vip
Dined on April 16, 2016

We had not had dinner here for several years even though we live in the neighborhood. It was an exceptional fine dining experience!! Portions are a bit light so order an appetizer, salad and you will have plenty of room for desert. Everything was fresh and seasonal. We will not wait years to return!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

elegant and refined

Dined on April 14, 2016

Enjoyed Blue Hour. Heard it had gone up and down. Thought food was elegant and cared-for. Not hip or happening. More New York than portland in a positive way.

Tags: fit for foodies
food1
ambience4
service1
value2

What Happened to Bluehour?

vip
Dined on April 10, 2016

To say we were shocked doesn't even begin to cover our feelings. We have been regulars at Bluehour since around 2005. We had not been there in a year. While we felt it may have dropped off a little in the last few years, this was unbelievable. It took 40 minutes for my wife and her friend to get their first drink. They no longer have valet. After the guys finally arrived it was another 35 minutes until we ordered. Five meals. I thought mine was not good, but everyone else agree that actually mine was the best. The manager came by and asked us how things were, we let him know they were pretty bad. He didn't see to concerned.

food4
ambience5
service5

Great quality of food. Portion size too ...

Dined on April 7, 2016

Great quality of food. Portion size too small.

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Family Get Together

Dined on April 5, 2016

We dined late (8:30pm) on a Monday night; thus, not sure if the noise level would be "quiet" on any other evening or time. The dining area was beautiful! The food was creative and spectacular!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Good for a business meal

Dined on April 5, 2016

The food menu is somewhat small, but there is a good wine selection. All the food items that we had were very tasty, and everyone in our party including those from out of town enjoyed it.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Portland Dining Month

Dined on March 31, 2016

Tried it with the dining month special. W everything was wonderful, the food, the low noise level, the atmosphere and the service. Will be back for sure!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

Food was fine, but ultimately forgettable

Dined on March 30, 2016

Bluehour is exactly what you can expect from a fine European dining restaurant. The food, for the most part, was good, but not memorable in the least. The best dish was the himachi appetizer, but the main course, a polenta dish with mushrooms, was sorely underseasoned and considering the large portion size got boring very quickly. Our waitress, however, was incredibly friendly and the cocktails were great.

Tags: notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.