About Bluehour

250 NW 13th Avenue
Portland, OR 97209
View Larger Map

Bluehour means different things to different people. In French literature it describes any time of day "of heightened emotion." In Portland it has come to mean "a great place to dine."

As the premier modern restaurant in the Pearl District, Bluehour opened its doors in 2000, with what Gourmet Magazine describes as, "the most sophisticated, contemporary food in town." Guests choose between the elegant dining room or the casual café and bar.


Surprising and delicious describes the Modern Northwest cuisine we create in the Bluehour kitchen each night. The menu is printed daily, so come in and enjoy Chef Chris Carriker's seasonally inspired menu.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Modern European, Northwest, Contemporary European

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Wednesday -- 5:00pm - 9:00pm,
Thursday - Saturday -- 5:00pm - 10:00pm.
Happy Hour: 4:00pm - 6:30pm
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday -- 10:00-3:00PM

Cafe/bar open after dinner until midnight on Thursday, Friday and Saturday.


Cross Street:
Everett

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 226-3394

Website:
http://www.bluehouronline.com/

Catering:
L'Heure Bleue is the private room at Bluehour that can accommodate up to 60 people for a seated dinner or up to 100 people for a cocktail style reception on any occasion. Private Event Manager: Alice Price

Parking Details:
Valet parking is $6.00 and is offered after 5:30pm, Friday and Saturday evenings, at the corner of NW 13th and Everett St.
On all other evenings, street parking is available. Please call for garage recommendations.

Public Transit:
Bluehour is located three blocks west of the NW 10th and Everett stop of the Portland Street Car.

Executive Chef:
Chris Carriker

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Bluehour, Portland, OR
  • Bluehour, Portland, OR
  • Bluehour, Portland, OR
  • Bluehour, Portland, OR
  • Patio - Bluehour, Portland, OR
  • Sweet Corn Semifreddo - Bluehour, Portland, OR
  • Handcut Fries - Bluehour, Portland, OR
  • Scallops with Caramelized Cauliflower - Bluehour, Portland, OR
  • Amuse Bouche - Bluehour, Portland, OR
Bluehour, Portland, OR
Bluehour, Portland, OR
Bluehour, Portland, OR
Bluehour, Portland, OR
Patio - Bluehour, Portland, OR
Sweet Corn Semifreddo - Bluehour, Portland, OR
Handcut Fries - Bluehour, Portland, OR
Scallops with Caramelized Cauliflower - Bluehour, Portland, OR
Amuse Bouche - Bluehour, Portland, OR

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon - Thu 5:00PM - 5:45PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Fri - Sat 5:00PM - 5:45PM 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Whether planning an elegant social affair or searching for a unique venue for a corporate meeting or outing, Bluehour offers professional catering services to ensure that the vision of your event comes to life. Available: full bar service, specialty cocktails, AV capabilities and personalized menus

Bluehour Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Portland / Oregon
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Portland
Best Restaurants in Pearl District ›

Fit for Foodies (25)
Special Occasion (25)
Romantic (19)
See All
Good for a Date (17)
Handcrafted Cocktails (13)
Local Ingredients (12)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Notable Wine List (11)
Modern Decor (11)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Business Meals (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Great for Brunch (7)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Seasonal (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
People Watching (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Healthy (2)
Private Room (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Fun (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Casual (1)
Cozy (1)
Tapas (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Authentic (0)
Sort By:
S
1329 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

WE went after theater on a cold night an ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined 5 days ago

WE went after theater on a cold night and enjoy warm meals of salmon and chicken with a beet salad appetizer. We also had a delicious half bottle of wine followed with coffee and ice cream for desert. Everything was very good and most enjoyable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Brunch left lots to be desired. Doors o ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined 6 days ago

Brunch left lots to be desired. Doors opened late at 10:05, ten minutes for a menu, potatoes dull and omlette dry. Waiter was kind and helpful, ambiance lovely. Never been there and always wanted to go; won't return for bfast but may try dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value2

We were visiting Portland with friends.. ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 7 days ago

We were visiting Portland with friends...we were THRILLED to eat here, as we had raving reviews from friends. Great ambience, beautiful restaurant . Nice staff. We opted for the 5 course prix fixed menu to experience the cuisine...it was pretty bland to be honest. Really bad at points. The gnocchi was delicious but overall it was pretty underwhelming.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

We went to Bluehour for Thanksgiving and ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 25, 2016

We went to Bluehour for Thanksgiving and it was very disappointing. Perhaps the restaurant sets a higher bar during normal service, but the experience was hurried, the food was somewhat average and the service was preoccupied. Very disappointing indeed.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value1

Food was sub par to usual blue hour food ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Food was sub par to usual blue hour food across the board. Perhaps you take too many reservations for thanksgiving and it overwhelms everything. But nothing was better then a C except for salmon and fig dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

The staff was so friendly and accommodat ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 25, 2016

The staff was so friendly and accommodating! When booking I asked to be seated near a window if possible and they gave us, in my opinion, the best seat in the house! It made for a beautiful Thanksgiving. I would recommend BlueHour for anyone willing to spend a little extra for beautiful ambience, friendly staff, and wonderful food.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We were there for the Thanksgiving pre-f ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 25, 2016

We were there for the Thanksgiving pre-fixe dinner. The service is excellent and the food was....good. My husband and I both chose the turkey roulade. Why we ordered the turkey, I don't know, as we really are not that fond of turkey. In any case, it said it was a roulade but it turned out to be deconstructed....in other words; sliced turkey breast on a huge amount of mashed potato's (in comparison to the meat ratio) and a tiny little 'log' of dressing. We asked for extra gravy, as the amount put on the plate was nonexistent. The diners next to us ordered the sweet potato gnocchi and the pork short ribs...both looked very good and as they finished all of their entre's I can only assume that they were better than the turkey. The starters were good and the dessert was fine. I love the atphosphere at the Blue Hour and we will go back, of coarse, but NOT for Thanksgiving.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

A lovely Thanksgiving dinner - beautiful ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on November 24, 2016

A lovely Thanksgiving dinner - beautiful ambience; meal choices enjoyed by all

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The cocktails were very good to begin. ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on November 21, 2016

The cocktails were very good to begin. The beet salad was unique and tasty. For entrees, the steak and salmon were very good. The apple pie for dessert was also very good. A very good meal overall.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

We had a wonderful evening. Great food, ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on November 19, 2016

We had a wonderful evening. Great food, wine and service. Love the new menu options, having the gf is very helpful.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Private Room, Fit for Foodies, Paleo Friendly, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Just a wonderful, elegant restaurant! Se ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Just a wonderful, elegant restaurant! Service so good!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

What a gorgeous and delicious night. I l ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 17, 2016

What a gorgeous and delicious night. I loved spending my girlfriends night out at bluehour. Such a treat.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Seasonal, Handcrafted Cocktails, Paleo Friendly, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I wasn't blown away by this place - I th ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 12, 2016

I wasn't blown away by this place - I think I had higher expectations. The location is terrific and the decore inside is stunning, however for brunch I think it's a bit over the top. I'm sure the evenings are lovely with the lights - probably a great place for a romantic dinner.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

We had dinner at Bluehour this past Thur ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 11, 2016

We had dinner at Bluehour this past Thursday evening, and were a bit surprised at how many people were eating there on a week night! The entrees we had were quite good that evening. I had the "coq au vin chicken with lentils" and my husband had the duck entree. We also shared a beet "salad" appetizer which was rather a small amount for two to share, but the delicious rosemary rolls made up for it! VERY good rolls, by the way!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Nice brunch restaurant and the $2 mimosa ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Nice brunch restaurant and the $2 mimosas are really nice!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a gift card to burn and had a fan ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 30, 2016

We had a gift card to burn and had a fantastic time at Bluehour! First drinks at the bar and fun conversation with the bartender then incredible apps, dinner, and wine! We will definitely come back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first visit to Bluehour. I ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 30, 2016

This was our first visit to Bluehour. I looked at their online menu and got excited as they had a number of my favorite dishes. Of course, these items did not appear on the menu the night we ate there. I was unjustly disappointed, but the menu was good and the food more than acceptable. I had the pork loin--yum.

I loved the atmosphere with low intimate lighting and a high ceiling. The service was attentive. It was extra fun seeing the employees dressed in Halloween garb. All and all we had an enjoyable experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

This place is a must for me every time I ...

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on October 30, 2016

This place is a must for me every time I am i this place is a must for me every time I am in Portland. The food, people, and everything delightful and superb.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great brunch. $2 mimosas! Good value.

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Great brunch. $2 mimosas! Good value.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love the ambiance but the food is too ex ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Love the ambiance but the food is too expensive for what it is.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value1

Tried Bluehour last month for brunch and ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Tried Bluehour last month for brunch and it was excellent! Went back this past weekend for dinner before a show and it was also excellent! The drinks were great and the food was incredible! Started off with the salmon cigars, delicious, and for the main course I ordered the smoked duck breast, which was done perfectly. My husband ordered the lamb shank and it was delicious too! Love the atmosphere of this place and the service is always spot on.

I highly recommend Bluehour for a great meal!

Thank you!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We've dined at Bluehour twice within the ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on October 26, 2016

We've dined at Bluehour twice within the past several months and plan to return again and again--delicious food and great wine plus attentive service!

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We had an early dinner recently at Blueh ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on October 15, 2016

We had an early dinner recently at Bluehour, seeking refuge on a rainy day. The meal was quite good, and the service attentive. It perked us up, improving our mood for the rest of that gloomy day.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Classy and thoughtful atmosphere. Very f ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 10, 2016

Classy and thoughtful atmosphere. Very friendly and helpful service. Good cocktail selection and were delicious. Pork ribeye was excellent. Good place for a fine dining experience for romantic occasions.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The ambiance is great - warehouse space ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 10, 2016

The ambiance is great - warehouse space turned restaurant. Our server was great. She definitely gets 5 stars. But the food was mediocre. Menu is very heavy on meat - not many seafood or vegi options. Seems that the chef trys hard to be very gourmet, so much that we had to google many items in the dishes. The mussels had a thick tomato sauce that resembled jared sauce - so strong the mussels could not be tasted. Overall we were disappointed. loved the building, not impressed with the food.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

We had the Chef's table and it was truly ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 7, 2016

We had the Chef's table and it was truly outstanding! Service timely and very professional.

Tags: Seasonal, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The staff was so accommodating. When th ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on October 2, 2016

The staff was so accommodating. When they came by our table they were very polite saying, "Pardon the interruption." It is a small thing, but I appreciate it. The food was very good. As a starter I had their fried chicken terrine, delicious. I had a cantaloupe salad with feta cheese. While it is very simple, it was refreshing and very flavorful. I had the salmon for my entree which also was very good. For dessert I had the apple pie. Kudos to the pastry chef. It is an intimate place so it made great for a date night. Definitely looking forward to going again for dinner, and to try out happy hour, brunch, etc.

Tags: Seasonal, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous dining experience!

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Fabulous dining experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We ordered the Tasting Menu with a veget ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 1, 2016

We ordered the Tasting Menu with a vegetarian theme and it was spot on! Each of the nine courses, although small were well prepared, seasoned with local vegetables, spices and sauces derived from local ingredients. We ordered the wine paring with the tasting and it was great wines but a little variable, but mostly on course - according to my ideas on wine and food. The entire experience was delightful. Although we arrived at 7:30 there were only one or two open tables remaining including the one we requested by the window. Service during the entire experience was exceptional.

By the time our dinner was finished, the dining room was empty. So we then enjoyed one of Bluehour's signature cocktails to complete the evening. It was indeed a wonderful experience. Although I have been to Bluehour before, this experience was exceptional and the best.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Although the Salmon and Duck breast were ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 29, 2016

Although the Salmon and Duck breast were outstanding we were sorely disappointed with the vegetarian options and dishes. The service was very good.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

We went there on a Sunday night. The ser ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 26, 2016

We went there on a Sunday night. The service was amazing, and the food was delicious. Their cheese selection and the chef transport me back to my home country, France. The wine selection is also very good. The noise level is very quiet, which I really appreciate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Decided to try Bluehour for Brunch this ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Decided to try Bluehour for Brunch this past Sunday. Bluehour did not disappoint! Great food, drinks and service! The Mac & Cheese was excellent and my husband had the Duck Confit Benedict which was also wonderful!

I highly recommend Bluehour for a great dinning experience. Looking forward to trying them for dinner too!

Thank you!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Casual, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was great but the service was prett ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Food was great but the service was pretty bad. They did give us a free round of drinks for it at least. Nice vibe.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

Waited 25 minutes after seated to order ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Waited 25 minutes after seated to order

Very poor main wait person service. Rest of restaurant staff jumped in to salvage the evening. Our 5th and last visit

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value4

Clams were about a day past when they sh ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Clams were about a day past when they should have been served by, pork was not cooked enough near the bone. Extreme salt levels on the melon dish. Decent food but not for $80 a person (drinks included). This is Portland, and the value just isn't there for me anymore at Bluehour

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4

Great service and seasonal fresh menu wi ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Great service and seasonal fresh menu with a great selection. We were surprised and delighted at the number of vegetarian options which were absolutely delicious. Everything was very fresh. Our waitress was very friendly and attentive. We were celebrating our anniversary and they greeted us with two glasses of champagne. A nice surprise and festive touch!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great friendly staff as always. Wonderf ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Great friendly staff as always. Wonderful food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

have no reluctance to recommend Bluehour ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 16, 2016

have no reluctance to recommend Bluehour. The staff was very nice, the food way above average and the overall experience great.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Low score due to the over hour wait for ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 13, 2016

Low score due to the over hour wait for food with no explanation until close to the house mark. A large group had come in and as it appeared all meals in the regular dining area were held until the large group was fed. Chef did provide small taster appetizer on the house due to the wait and then in the end two courses of small dessert tasters. Without the addition of the tasters and the chef personally coming out to talk to us, the score would have been lower. On top of the wait which was very hard to get over the food we ordered was not what I expected from such an expensive meal. The cut of prime rib was not marbled and nice tasting and instead had large fat areas with little meat left in the small piece to be enjoyed. However the salmon was good tasting but not out of this world. We did see a table next to us doing the courses option we saw on the menu which looked very good. In hind site we should have ordered that. All in all we may go back for the tasting menu or drinks and dessert but the experience did leave a bad taste in my mouth so to speak.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Tasting Menu, Modern Decor, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Food has become very average, Chef is tr ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 11, 2016

Food has become very average, Chef is trying to hard, go back to basics and speed up the service.

You are about to loose a big fan.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.