About Bluehour

250 NW 13th Avenue
Portland, OR 97209
View Larger Map

Bluehour means different things to different people. In French literature it describes any time of day "of heightened emotion." In Portland it has come to mean "a great place to dine."

As the premier modern restaurant in the Pearl District, Bluehour opened its doors in 2000, with what Gourmet Magazine describes as, "the most sophisticated, contemporary food in town." Guests choose between the elegant dining room or the casual café and bar.


Surprising and delicious describes the Modern Northwest cuisine we create in the Bluehour kitchen each night. The menu is printed daily, so come in and enjoy Chef Chris Carriker's seasonally inspired menu.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Modern European, Northwest, Contemporary European

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Wednesday -- 5:00pm - 9:00pm,
Thursday - Saturday -- 5:00pm - 10:00pm.
Happy Hour: 4:00pm - 6:30pm
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday -- 10:00-3:00PM

Cafe/bar open after dinner until midnight on Thursday, Friday and Saturday.


Cross Street:
Everett

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 226-3394

Website:
http://www.bluehouronline.com/

Catering:
L'Heure Bleue is the private room at Bluehour that can accommodate up to 60 people for a seated dinner or up to 100 people for a cocktail style reception on any occasion. Private Event Manager: Alice Price

Parking Details:
Valet parking is $6.00 and is offered after 5:30pm, Friday and Saturday evenings, at the corner of NW 13th and Everett St.
On all other evenings, street parking is available. Please call for garage recommendations.

Public Transit:
Bluehour is located three blocks west of the NW 10th and Everett stop of the Portland Street Car.

Executive Chef:
Chris Carriker

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Bluehour
  • Bluehour
  • Bluehour
  • Bluehour
  • Bluehour
  • Amuse Bouche
  • Sweet Corn Semifreddo
  • Handcut Fries
  • Scallops with Caramelized Cauliflower
Bluehour
Bluehour
Bluehour
Bluehour
Bluehour
Amuse Bouche
Sweet Corn Semifreddo
Handcut Fries
Scallops with Caramelized Cauliflower

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Mon - Thu 5:00PM - 5:45PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Fri - Sat 5:00PM - 5:45PM 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Whether planning an elegant social affair or searching for a unique venue for a corporate meeting or outing, Bluehour offers professional catering services to ensure that the vision of your event comes to life. Available: full bar service, specialty cocktails, AV capabilities and personalized menus

Bluehour Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.3

ambience

4.4

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

81% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Portland / Oregon
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Portland
Best Restaurants in Pearl District ›

Special Occasion (41)
Fit for Foodies (38)
Romantic (37)
See All
Notable Wine List (23)
Neighborhood Gem (20)
Good for Groups (16)
Hot Spot (13)
Vibrant Bar Scene (12)
Great for Lunch (11)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Great for Brunch (6)
Late-night Find (5)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1282 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Such a great experience

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

Such a great experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Loved it. Great experience all round.... ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

Loved it. Great experience all round.....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything about Bluehour is amazing - f ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Everything about Bluehour is amazing - food, service, atmosphere. They were especially careful in our food preparation due to an allergy. Bluehour is still wonderful after all these years.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic tasting menu. Excellent servic ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Fantastic tasting menu. Excellent service. Nice ambiance.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It amazes me how Bluehour has consistent ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

It amazes me how Bluehour has consistently stood above the crowd in a city known for fine dining.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We indulged a second time in the tasting ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

We indulged a second time in the tasting menu and were as thrilled with the delicious offerings just as much as the first time. The creativity and imagination, the varied and very fresh ingredients, and the beautiful plating make for one of the best tasting menus anywhere around!

Tags: Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Disappointing. Cocktails not well made - ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Disappointing. Cocktails not well made - several different ones had to be returned. Lamb pasta sauce was tasty but pasta itself was over cooked Not acceptable at this price level

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

We had a nice table and an excellent ser ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

We had a nice table and an excellent server. Dinner was very good.

Tags: Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Omg. Most amazing dining experience I've ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Omg. Most amazing dining experience I've had in a while. Our pre appies from the chef were so delicious and a big tease for what was to come.

5 girlfriends, round table. Perfect service. Amazing food and drinks

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service was exceptional. Combinations of ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Service was exceptional. Combinations of flavored in each dish was amazing. Best dining out experience in Portland.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Pathetic. No wonder the restaurant was ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Pathetic. No wonder the restaurant was empty. Our waiter reeked of body odor.

The Monte Cristo was a bare nod to the original version, as the bread had not been soaked (if at all) in the custard long enough for it to absorb, so basically it was grilled bread with jam, ham, and a dusting of powdered sugar. The companying spring greens had not been picked through, and several leaves were black and slimy.

Not willing to take a risk on their dinner menu for sure.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value3

As always, did not disappoint. The servi ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

As always, did not disappoint. The service was over the top good. Food is always very nice

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The space is well desighned with long cu ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

The space is well desighned with long curtains creating modern yet intimate ambiance. Non imposing soft modern music playing . Impresive fresh flower arrangments. The food just does not cut it. If you are a foody this is not the place for you. The fruit salad as opening dish was light and pleasant yet nothing special. The hallibut dish ,although the fish was cooked properly the flavors were not ballanced souce did not complement the fish. Overall if you are looking for gorme food stay away . Or maybe order meat;)

Tags: Romantic, Late-night Find, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4
value3

Outstanding service and great food! Pri ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Outstanding service and great food! Prices were pretty average for Portland area. Great atmosphere!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We ;;haven't been there for a while. It ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

We ;;haven't been there for a while. It was always a good stand by for us. What a disappointment.

The menu is quite limited, and the food just not good. It was a special birthday and we were quite embarrassed to treat our daughter in law to such a mediocre meal at best. The place really feels like it is getting ready to go out of business.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3
value3

We had a surprise birthday party there . ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

We had a surprise birthday party there .My partner's mother from NY. thought it compared to any of the best in the city ( NYC). Overall best birthday gathering ever.The pastry chef's cake was excellent. Thank you very much.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We've been eating here since it opened a ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

We've been eating here since it opened and all of our dining experiences have been great. BH is unique as it has a great bar that can be vibrant at times and a wonderful restaurant that's quiet and romantic. One of our biggest likes is that there are NO televisions as we don't patronize places that have them.

We sat at the bar this time and the bartender was attentive, polite, friendly and professional. In fact most of the staff coming and going from the bar was the same.

The burgers were perfect and generously sized. The beers from Deschutes Brewery are of course great.

Our only complaint this time was that the greeter did not document our Open Table arrival, but that was easily rectified via an email.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

My wife, daughter and I were treated so ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

My wife, daughter and I were treated so warmly, professionally and kept amused all evening by Mr. Steele, an entertaining and knowledgeable person who waiting on us. He made our meals and features of plates and drink come alive for every course we ate. His ability to connect with the customer was excellent, and we all had instant rapport that made the evening more about the total experience as opposed to just the food. For the first time, in pairing wine, I've never had an explanation like the one Mr. Steele gave about the geology and meteorology of the region that influenced the wines we were sizing up to go with the meal. The context for each wine provided the input we needed to pick out the wine that went with our meal, perfectly. It was such a joy to have him as a waiter, and in fact, when we come back to town for our daughter's graduation next spring, he clinched our decision as to where to have the family and celebratory dinner. That is, if he's still working at Blue Hour next Spring!

From the food perspective, the first bites got the evening off to an inviting start, and the entrees of smoked roasted salmon and rich cheesy gnocci were delightful. Desserts were flavored perfectly with our wine; a wonderful end to a great evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food had plus and minus. The squash ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The food had plus and minus. The squash side dish with egg was amazingly good! The elk tartare was tasty, too. But, the flavor of the elk meat was masked by all the strong taste it was seasoned with. The first pork chop that came to the table was raw inside. The second one was cooked through but a little too well done. Prefer the well done over raw. The quail dish was also very good. The wine we selected was really, really good. We went to the winery the following day. Service was good. Thought the prices were a bit high.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

I had dinner on Friday evening with thre ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

I had dinner on Friday evening with three other women. We are all professionals who travel extensively and eat in great restaurants all over the world. That said, we found the service strange. The waiter referred to us each of us and collectively as "MiLady(ies) throughout dinner.

It was off-putting to say the least. We wondered if perhaps his previous job was in a

Medieval-themed restaurant or if we had been transported to the Renaissance Faire.

In addition, when we asked him to let us pour the wine, he bristled and then left us alone for some time.

Otherwise, the meal and atmosphere was very enjoyable. We suggest that the wait staff be coached on how to treat all customers in a professional and sophisticated manner.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

12:00 reservation was confirmed, but whe ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

12:00 reservation was confirmed, but when we arrived, the restaurant was closed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Brook is awesome and the wait staff was ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Brook is awesome and the wait staff was so kind and brought us a little extra palette sampler - that made us feel so special. They knew it was our "long overdue date night" as a married couple with 2 young children. Thanks.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

when our bread arrived cold we asked if ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

when our bread arrived cold we asked if it was supposed to be hot. It was, and it took 5 trips to get it warm! The food was good, the presentation was nice, but a bit over the top. Just because it's made of potato doesn't make it gnocchi!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Our server was really nice and professio ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Our server was really nice and professional. But, overall, the service was extremely slow. I ordered a glass of wine and, after waiting, 15/20 minutes, I asked someone else. We had to ask for bread and salt and pepper. I do enjoy a slow pace meal but this seemed to drag on way too long. The restaurant was not very crowded to offset the slowness of the service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Had asked for as quiet of spot as possib ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Had asked for as quiet of spot as possible as 2 member of party were hard of hearing. Waiter at next table very loud. Very difficult for them to hear and enjoy conversation. Not appropriate for groups of 5 people where hearing is a problem. Management did come by after we commented on issue. Stated they would check back, never did.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Fabulous as always. the Beet salad was i ...

 
 (Idaho)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Fabulous as always. the Beet salad was impeccable with differing textures and flavors. Presentation out of this world. Loved the halibut "chicarones" as an amuse! Oregon albacore was great as well. Different than Ahi, sustainable, color and taste clearly showed its freshness. Service attentive but not intrusive. Love this place. Elegant yet accessible. Has not fallen off my list of great restaurants in Portland. Good job, Bruce. You are still an icon in the city.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have eaten here a few times and always ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

I have eaten here a few times and always had great food. This time I got the steak, and it was perhaps the most awful steak I have ever eaten. I actually had to spit it into my napkin. It was all gristle. They cooked it too rare (still mooing I think), took it back (which I NEVER have sent food back in my life) it came back, and it still was gross. Of the two bites I took, both ended up in my napkin. Server was great, great atmosphere, generally great food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value3

A beautiful PDX evening after a play alf ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

A beautiful PDX evening after a play alfresco dining. The service outside was superb, wine pairings spot on and food delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and drinks were exceptional, th ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The food and drinks were exceptional, the atmosphere elegant and not too loud, the wait staff's attention was impeccable, and I was so glad I picked Bluehour for celebrating my 53rd birthday.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have dined at Blue Hour many times du ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

We have dined at Blue Hour many times during recent years. Also given gift certificates and

hosted guests.

June 11th was a celebration of my partner's birthday. We had an early reservation in anticipation of a relaxed and quiet dinner. Wait person was excellent. People that clear tables

seemed overanxious and hurried. This detracted from otherwise leisure dining experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

The plates were very small, and expensiv ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

The plates were very small, and expensive. We are steak tartare lovers and we have never seen such a small portion. Also the service was very slow, right from the beginning. It took 15minutes to get a bottle of wine. Very disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

Great Place, Great Food, Great Everything

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

My wife and I went for the Chef's selection. The dishes were exquisite and plenty. The wine pairing was superb. We'd definitely recommend this restaurant and we will come back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great food and experience.

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

Great food and experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

JZee

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

I was a little nervous to eat here as I had read a review saying they had lost a Chef recently..Well they are not missing their Chef as the food was fabulous and we live in LA and have foodie, high expectations.. The ambiance was perfect for what I wanted, downtown, trendy, hip and chic Portland.. PS. I am a native Oregonian and remember as a child when there was nothing built int he Pearl..It is nice to see my city all grown up and sophisticated.. Great wait staff, accommodated my (11) year old daughter with no issues. Yes Kuddo's on all front's to you!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

So disappointed after so much hype! My h ...

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

So disappointed after so much hype! My husband and sons food was Luke warm and the potatoes were downright cold. We asked if they were supposed to be and the waitress said no and got them hot plates of fresh potatoes. My halibut was over cooked but I was so hungry I ate it as is. The did redeem themselves by comping all three of our desserts but still quite disappointed!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5

Impeccable Service

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

This was our first time to popular Bluehour. What a treat to finally enjoy a wonderful meal here. The decor is quite beautiful with long brown drapes separating the dining areas. Tables are spaced so that you have a sense of privacy. Our server, Brook, was especially personable and so willing to explain the food. He even told us a little about himself and how much he loved working the "front of the house". Well, it was clearly demonstrated during our delicious dinner. He was careful to explain how the chef preferred to prepare certain signature dishes. The seasonal pea salad with buttermilk dressing was outstanding. The homemade pastas are not to be missed. Split a dish of pasta with lamb ragu as a second course. We had pasta as our main course, but we are looking forward to returning to enjoy one of their exquisite meat or fish entrees soon! Highly recommend Bluehour for a truly memorable dining experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Lovely restaurant

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

We found Bluehour to be a quiet, elegant oasis in the Portland food scene. The food was good, though maybe a touch salty. That said, we thoroughly enjoyed our dinner there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Fantastic! The food is inventive and the ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Fantastic! The food is inventive and the service was exceptional! Great ambiance and not overly pricey for what you get. Don't miss this place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We went here for prom and it was wonderf ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

We went here for prom and it was wonderful! Such a great feel to Bluehour, and the servers were friendly, energetic, and very helpful :) The food was great as well! We all shared food and I every single one of the starters, salads, entrees, and desserts I got to taste were fantastic. I'm very happy with how our evening at Bluehour went!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Meal was good, especially the beets, but ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on May 11, 2016

Meal was good, especially the beets, but simply put, way overpriced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.