About Bluehour

250 NW 13th Avenue
Portland, OR 97209
View Larger Map

Bluehour means different things to different people. In French literature it describes any time of day "of heightened emotion." In Portland it has come to mean "a great place to dine."

As the premier modern restaurant in the Pearl District, Bluehour opened its doors in 2000, with what Gourmet Magazine describes as, "the most sophisticated, contemporary food in town." Guests choose between the elegant dining room or the casual café and bar.


Surprising and delicious describes the Modern Northwest cuisine we create in the Bluehour kitchen each night. The menu is printed daily, so come in and enjoy Chef Chris Carriker's seasonally inspired menu.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Modern European, Mediterranean, Contemporary European

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm.
Dinner: Monday - Wednesday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm,
Thursday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm.
Happy Hour: Monday - Friday: 4:30pm - 6:30pm,
Saturday 5:00pm - 6:30pm
Cafe/bar open after dinner until midnight on Thursday, Friday and Saturday.
Closed Sundays.

Cross Street:
Everett

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 226-3394

Website:
http://www.bluehouronline.com/

Catering:
L'Heure Bleue is the private room at Bluehour that can accommodate up to 60 people for a seated dinner or up to 100 people for a cocktail style reception on any occasion. Private Event Manager: Alice Price

Parking Details:
Valet parking is $6.00 and is offered after 5:30pm, Friday and Saturday evenings, at the corner of NW 13th and Everett St.
On all other evenings, street parking is available. Please call for garage recommendations.

Public Transit:
Bluehour is located three blocks west of the NW 10th and Everett stop of the Portland Street Car.

Executive Chef:
Chris Carriker

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Mon - Thu 5:00PM - 6:00PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Fri - Sat 5:00PM - 6:00PM 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Whether planning an elegant social affair or searching for a unique venue for a corporate meeting or outing, Bluehour offers professional catering services to ensure that the vision of your event comes to life. Available: full bar service, specialty cocktails, AV capabilities and personalized menus

Bluehour Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

82% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Portland / Oregon
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Portland
Best Restaurants in Pearl District ›

special occasion (79)
romantic (65)
fit for foodies (63)
See All
notable wine list (30)
neighborhood gem (20)
good for groups (17)
vibrant bar scene (12)
great for lunch (11)
late-night find (8)
great for brunch (8)
hot spot (7)
great for outdoor dining (6)
scenic view (2)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1244 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic! The food is inventive and the ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Fantastic! The food is inventive and the service was exceptional! Great ambiance and not overly pricey for what you get. Don't miss this place!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We went here for prom and it was wonderf ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

We went here for prom and it was wonderful! Such a great feel to Bluehour, and the servers were friendly, energetic, and very helpful :) The food was great as well! We all shared food and I every single one of the starters, salads, entrees, and desserts I got to taste were fantastic. I'm very happy with how our evening at Bluehour went!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience3
service4

Meal was good, especially the beets, but ...

vip
Dined on May 11, 2016

Meal was good, especially the beets, but simply put, way overpriced.

food5
ambience5
service5

Always a pleasure but they took it up a ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Always a pleasure but they took it up a notch for Mother's Day brunch. Plenty of amazing food for the price.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The best Mothers Day Brunch I've had in ...

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

The best Mothers Day Brunch I've had in a long time. Pricey, but food was outstanding.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had an incredible meal, service and o ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

We had an incredible meal, service and overall experience. It exceeded my expectations!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience3
service3

Normally one of the best in town. Must o ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

Normally one of the best in town. Must of come on an rare off night. The air was bad. Warm. Muggy. Sweaty. The air was not being circulated at all, very warm and Muggy and uncomfortable.

food4
ambience4
service5

Sitting outside on a gorgeous day people ...

vip
Dined on May 6, 2016

Sitting outside on a gorgeous day people-watching with great drinks (French 57 perfect on a sunny day). The Caesar salad was the best! It's a little pretentious and definitely spendy....so take advantage of happy hour!

food2
ambience2
service2
value1

Gone downhill - very disappointing!

vip
Dined on May 4, 2016

Losing Chef Koi appears to be fatal for Bluehour. This used to be a consistently wonderful dining experience. Something has happened to kill the soul of the restaurant. No more valet parking, No Chef Koi, one of the great chefs in Portland. Mediocre food, amateurish service. Well intentioned but poorly trained staff. No reason to return, ever. Very disappointing.

food5
ambience5
service5

Original presentation, excellent and ver ...

Dined on April 29, 2016

Original presentation, excellent and very fresh

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience

Dined on April 27, 2016

From the minute we walked in, it was clear that customer satisfaction is important to the staff. The service was excellent throughout, the food and drinks were very good and the atmosphere was elegant. We are looking forward to our next visit.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great Dinner Experience

Dined on April 22, 2016

We have been to Bluehour before and had the same outstanding meal and service that we experienced in the past.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Food is delicious! Service is very atten ...

vip
Dined on April 20, 2016

Food is delicious! Service is very attended.

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Best food

vip
Dined on April 18, 2016

The potato soup was to die for , steelhead trout fresh and delicious with innovative greens. Cesar salad absolutely perfectly balanced. Do not miss dessert ! It is a foodies paradise!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Never Disappointing

Dined on April 17, 2016

We've eaten at Bluehour several times now, and have always had a wonderful dining experience.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Best food I have eaten in years!

Dined on April 17, 2016

The rabbit was the service was slow at first but worth the wait!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A+ Restaurant, through & through!

Dined on April 17, 2016

This was our first time dining at Bluehour, and the entire meal was amazing. Top to bottom, start to finish, handled by pros. The food was excellent (why isn't beet shortbread an every day thing?!? Mindblowingly good), the ambiance was so nice and the ability to have a conversation with our friend visiting from out of town was excellent. A place that truly cares about their guests having a positive experience. How refreshing in a city where too many places act like you should feel lucky just to be a part of their pretentious scene. Bluehour is none of that, just focusing on top shelf food, service, and atmosphere. We will most certainly be back, and will spread the word about how great Bluehour is.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful romantic restaurant with fabul ...

Dined on April 16, 2016

Wonderful romantic restaurant with fabulous food and great service. Menu changes daily. A favorite for a date night.

food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Not like it used to be

vip
Dined on April 16, 2016

I have been to Bluehour a few times in the past and enjoyed the food and ambiance but things have changed. I was expecting the food to be amazing and it was just OK and slightly over salted. Service was good but a bit slow. For the money and the reputation, I was expecting a bit more of an impressive experience.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Need more menu items.

Dined on April 16, 2016

I've eaten at Blue Hour a couple of times before, the food was good. However, the menu this time did not afford a lot of options. There were no chicken entrees. The menu was filled with Rabbit, Veal, Lamb and Foui Gras. All a little eccentric for most eaters. There were no true salads, we ordered beets that the waitress said was kind of like a salad as it came with some type of lettuce that I've never heard of, very arugula-like. There turned out to be only 2 small pieces of this lettuce. The food that we did order was good but not great. I think that 3x is enough for me with this restaurant.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Date Destination!

vip
Dined on April 16, 2016

We had not had dinner here for several years even though we live in the neighborhood. It was an exceptional fine dining experience!! Portions are a bit light so order an appetizer, salad and you will have plenty of room for desert. Everything was fresh and seasonal. We will not wait years to return!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

elegant and refined

Dined on April 14, 2016

Enjoyed Blue Hour. Heard it had gone up and down. Thought food was elegant and cared-for. Not hip or happening. More New York than portland in a positive way.

Tags: fit for foodies
food1
ambience4
service1
value2

What Happened to Bluehour?

vip
Dined on April 10, 2016

To say we were shocked doesn't even begin to cover our feelings. We have been regulars at Bluehour since around 2005. We had not been there in a year. While we felt it may have dropped off a little in the last few years, this was unbelievable. It took 40 minutes for my wife and her friend to get their first drink. They no longer have valet. After the guys finally arrived it was another 35 minutes until we ordered. Five meals. I thought mine was not good, but everyone else agree that actually mine was the best. The manager came by and asked us how things were, we let him know they were pretty bad. He didn't see to concerned.

food4
ambience5
service5

Great quality of food. Portion size too ...

Dined on April 7, 2016

Great quality of food. Portion size too small.

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Family Get Together

Dined on April 5, 2016

We dined late (8:30pm) on a Monday night; thus, not sure if the noise level would be "quiet" on any other evening or time. The dining area was beautiful! The food was creative and spectacular!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Good for a business meal

Dined on April 5, 2016

The food menu is somewhat small, but there is a good wine selection. All the food items that we had were very tasty, and everyone in our party including those from out of town enjoyed it.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Portland Dining Month

Dined on March 31, 2016

Tried it with the dining month special. W everything was wonderful, the food, the low noise level, the atmosphere and the service. Will be back for sure!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

Food was fine, but ultimately forgettable

Dined on March 30, 2016

Bluehour is exactly what you can expect from a fine European dining restaurant. The food, for the most part, was good, but not memorable in the least. The best dish was the himachi appetizer, but the main course, a polenta dish with mushrooms, was sorely underseasoned and considering the large portion size got boring very quickly. Our waitress, however, was incredibly friendly and the cocktails were great.

Tags: notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

Easter Brunch

Dined on March 27, 2016

Our server was obviously inexperienced , we ordered drinks and we were not asked if we would like another, the meal flowed with servers from the kitchen delivering each coarse so I'm not clear on her exact function but this falls back to management in allowing this to happen. We did ask for a latte but we're told the machine was not functioning yet I did see coffee being delivered to tables again no offering. Food is great but Bluehour is in need of training their staff in being polite and courteous .

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, great for lunch
food2
ambience5
service5
value4

disappointing

Dined on March 27, 2016

This has always been a special place for us. Last Saturday evening, the atmosphere and the service were superb but the food barely reached 2 star I have always loved the selection of entrees and was under impressed that the entree offerings had little variety. My lamb was so tough I only ate one small piece. My partner ordered the Suckling Pig. It definitely did not in any way resemble this amazing dish. It was small pieces of pork, most of them tough. It could have been more truthfully called "random pieces of unevenly prepared pork" We ordered carrot cake, a lovely traditional dessert and were presented with pieces of tasteless, dry carrot cake scattered around the dessert plate, saved only by a dollop of ice cream. Not sure when, if ever we select Blue Hour again

food2
ambience4
service3
value3

Great wine selection but food not worth the price

Dined on March 26, 2016

We tasted several different wines and thought they were great. The setting is very romantic and we were instantly pleased. The issue we had was with the food. As vegetarians, we had a very limited selection but chose happily from that. When we were told that none of the three options were available, we opted for a modification in another pasta dish without complaint. The entree we received was alright for pasta, but definitely not worth the bill that it came with. We felt the same about the two appetizers we tried. Alright, but not enough to justify the price. We may come back for a glass of wine in a nice atmosphere but we won't be purchasing any more food.

Tags: romantic, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

As always we were extremely happy! We di ...

Dined on March 23, 2016

As always we were extremely happy! We dined with friends who had never been to Bluehour and they enjoyed it tremendously, I took advantage of the Dining Out menu of asparagus salad, trout and panna cotta, delicious! My partner had marinated mussels and lamb, again delicious! Our friends had oyster, beet salad, lamb, gnocchi and the deconstructed cheesecake. Our wine choices were fantastic as well. It's always a pleasure at Bluehour.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We went as part of Portland dining month ...

Dined on March 16, 2016

We went as part of Portland dining month and greatly enjoyed all three courses.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

Spendy Evening

Dined on March 13, 2016

I was in a group of five and suggested dining here. It was my first visit and thought the ambience was perfect. The beet salad I ordered was fair, it needs some acidity for contrast. My steelhead entree was salty and it was the only flavored imparted in the dish. It came on a plate smeared with a black swoosh, its flavor undetectable. The small shriveled fiddlehead ferns were the accompaniment. I had high hopes for dessert and ordered the apple tart. It was misrepresented as the apple portion was a small cold disk, mushy in texture, with some savory pastry disks scattered on the plate. No one wanted to complain and ruin an evening of pleasant conversation but no one thought their meal to be outstanding either. I was very disappointed, especially since the prices are mid to high. Our wine was the best part of the meal.

Tags: romantic
food4
ambience5
service5

Overall the food was good, however it wa ...

Dined on March 13, 2016

Overall the food was good, however it was not necessarily a style I would choose to eat again.

food4
ambience2
service3
value1

Frustrating experience

Dined on March 12, 2016

After we sat down we were told we could not have the menu we reserved through Open Table. We asked to be served an equivalent menu but the manager refused. We asked him to make us a menu but refused. They said the only menu we could have was a $60 one. I questioned the ethics of the restaurant and asked for a written letter saying we were not served the menu we had reserved. They did. We were not going to go anywhere else at 8:30 PM, so we stayed and ended up paying $121 for 2 people (instead of twice $29). This restaurant used to be very attentive to its clients. We had been there before.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First timers

Dined on March 11, 2016

My boyfriend and I were looking for a nice place to dine in Portland and came across bluehour. From the moment we walked in the door until we left we were greeted with kind smiles! Once sat our waitress was quick to greet us and had some great recommendations on the menu (the chicken was fantastic). Our water glass never once hit empty! By the time dessert came around everything had been so good we were too full! We will definitely be returning, this time maybe to check out the happy hour!

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Portland Restaurant Week

Dined on March 6, 2016

We arrived early and got a two person window seat. We chose the 3 course Restaurant special for $29 featuring fresh asparagus, trout, and a delightful lemon curd. We added marinated mussels appetizer which were melt in your mouth. Add a cocktail and a glass of wine and we were off to theater. Great friendly prompt service at all times. Can't be beat!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

3/4/2016

Dined on March 5, 2016

First, our wait person was great! I've seen reviews complaining about the service and this was definitely not our experience. Everyone was friendly, welcoming and knowledgeable. We had the tasting menu. Everything was fantastic! My husband doesn't care for oysters: Yay! More for me! It evened out with the elk tartare. The only thing that didn't work was whatever they were trying to do with the dessert foie gras.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great meal, great service!

vip
Dined on March 1, 2016

Our dining experience at bluehour was fantastic. The server was knowledgeable about dishes for which we had questions. At first we wanted the tasting menu, but I am pregnant and after discussing it with the chef, decided there weren't enough options for me to warrant ordering that menu that particular evening. The chef felt bad to disappoint and sent out a few extras I could have. He also said to call in advance next time and he could make accommodations for my dietary restrictions. We felt like that was way above and beyond the call of duty. He didn't take all of my questions as a pain or picky dinner, but expressed genuine concern. It was our anniversary and it was romantic and special. Get the pastrami foie gras if it's in season (like most of their menu)...so good!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.