About Bluehour

250 NW 13th Avenue
Portland, OR 97209
View Larger Map

Bluehour means different things to different people. In French literature it describes any time of day "of heightened emotion." In Portland it has come to mean "a great place to dine."

As the premier modern restaurant in the Pearl District, Bluehour opened its doors in 2000, with what Gourmet Magazine describes as, "the most sophisticated, contemporary food in town." Guests choose between the elegant dining room or the casual café and bar.


Surprising and delicious describes the Modern Northwest cuisine we create in the Bluehour kitchen each night. The menu is printed daily, so come in and enjoy Chef Chris Carriker's seasonally inspired menu.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Modern European, Northwest, Contemporary European

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Wednesday -- 5:00pm - 9:00pm,
Thursday - Saturday -- 5:00pm - 10:00pm.
Happy Hour: 4:00pm - 6:30pm
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday -- 10:00-3:00PM

Cafe/bar open after dinner until midnight on Thursday, Friday and Saturday.


Cross Street:
Everett

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 226-3394

Website:
http://www.bluehouronline.com/

Catering:
L'Heure Bleue is the private room at Bluehour that can accommodate up to 60 people for a seated dinner or up to 100 people for a cocktail style reception on any occasion. Private Event Manager: Alice Price

Parking Details:
Valet parking is $6.00 and is offered after 5:30pm, Friday and Saturday evenings, at the corner of NW 13th and Everett St.
On all other evenings, street parking is available. Please call for garage recommendations.

Public Transit:
Bluehour is located three blocks west of the NW 10th and Everett stop of the Portland Street Car.

Executive Chef:
Chris Carriker

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Bluehour, Portland, OR
  • Bluehour, Portland, OR
  • Bluehour, Portland, OR
  • Bluehour, Portland, OR
  • Patio - Bluehour, Portland, OR
  • Sweet Corn Semifreddo - Bluehour, Portland, OR
  • Handcut Fries - Bluehour, Portland, OR
  • Scallops with Caramelized Cauliflower - Bluehour, Portland, OR
  • Amuse Bouche - Bluehour, Portland, OR

Report a photo problem

Patio - Bluehour, Portland, OR
Sweet Corn Semifreddo - Bluehour, Portland, OR
Handcut Fries - Bluehour, Portland, OR
Scallops with Caramelized Cauliflower - Bluehour, Portland, OR
Amuse Bouche - Bluehour, Portland, OR

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun - Thu 5:00PM - 10:00PM

Fri - Sat 5:00PM - 5:30PM 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Whether planning an elegant social affair or searching for a unique venue for a corporate meeting or outing, Bluehour offers professional catering services to ensure that the vision of your event comes to life. Available: full bar service, specialty cocktails, AV capabilities and personalized menus

Bluehour Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.3

ambience

4.5

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

81% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (24)
Romantic (23)
Fit for Foodies (23)
See All
Good for a Date (23)
Modern Decor (19)
Handcrafted Cocktails (14)
Quiet Conversation (14)
Notable Wine List (13)
Good for Anniversaries (13)
Pre/post Theatre (12)
Local Ingredients (9)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Business Meals (9)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Great for Brunch (6)
Bar Seating (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Fun (5)
Seasonal (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Good for Groups (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
People Watching (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Private Room (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Casual (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Quick Bite (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Healthy (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Cozy (1)
Authentic (0)
Sort By:
S
1405 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

10/10 would come again it was great. Fi ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 7, 2017

10/10 would come again it was great. Fiancée loved.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have enjoyed several outstanding meal ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on January 2, 2017

We have enjoyed several outstanding meals at Bluehour over the years but this one was particularly superb. The kitchen was on it for sure and our meals were simply perfect. Coupled with great service, this made for a great night.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Fun, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Came for the New Year's 4 course prix fi ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Came for the New Year's 4 course prix fixe dinner. Loved the ambience, but slightly disappointed in the food. We both really enjoyed our first course and our desserts, but underwhelmed by the rest of the meal. However, we still enjoyed our evening and the staff was wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Wine list was very limited and service w ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Wine list was very limited and service was poor even though they weren't busy. Usually one of my favorite restaurants...was a little disappointed...

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value2

Chicken was unexciting and the broth was ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Chicken was unexciting and the broth was bland. The fish was tiny and tasted old. Service was excellent and it was quiet so that helped.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

Thoroughly enjoyed dinner at Bluehour. W ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Thoroughly enjoyed dinner at Bluehour. We eat here for a variety of special occasions and the staff & restaurant never disappoints. Our wine recommendations are always on point and the food is served quickly with great presentation.

Highly recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The End of a nice restaurant. My family ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 23, 2016

The End of a nice restaurant.

My family and I ate at Blue Hour last night. I had been surprised to find a table for 7 available just one day prior to reserving; it seemed to always be full in the past.

Last night, just days before Christmas, there were many empty tables and now I know why. Service was worse than bad.

We stood at the bar for 10 minutes after arrival never being noticed by a bartender, so we went to our table where service got increasingly worse. Our waiter appeared to be working his first job in a restaurant and apparently with no training from Blue Hour. He messed up our wine order and then after bringing the correct bottle, proceeded to begin pouring with a plan to empty it into our 4 glasses in the first pour...6 oz. wine pours are never a good idea. He turned the wine pouring over to me.

We ordered 2 cheese plates as an appetizer and at his suggestion placed our dinner orders as well, which he assured would be timed "smoothly" to our cheese consumption. In reality, he tried to deliver our first course concurrently with the cheese plates; I asked that the first course be delayed until we'd enjoyed the cheese.

Although I next enjoyed my Brussel sprouts, my pasta main course was barely warm. By then I had resigned myself to give it up and recognize that Blue Hour's days of excellence no longer existed. I might have talked to a manager about the whole experience but it wasn't evident that one was working that Thursday night.

Really sad experience, good bye Blue Hour, you had been a good restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1

We had the tasting menu. Small plates of ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on December 23, 2016

We had the tasting menu. Small plates of wonderful flavors playing with your senses. We enjoyed the progression of flavorful surprises. We paired our meal with a cuvee and nice local pinot. If you love food and are open to try anything, I highly recommend this experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was off

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Everything was off

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

Rather average! Took a while to be gree ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Rather average! Took a while to be greeted and seated even though the restaurant was quite empty. Got some wine and an amuse bush arrived, very welcome but also very underwhelming. Brussel sprout veg was great! Matsutake pasta and duck entrees were quite good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

The food was wonderful. The beef tartare ...

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on December 18, 2016

The food was wonderful. The beef tartare is the way to start. Our server was outstanding and offered lovely recommendations. We'll be back!

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We had the tasting menu. 1st 2 dishes we ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 17, 2016

We had the tasting menu. 1st 2 dishes were seafood. hard to cut because they were on a bed of shells. Then some vegetable dishes, then wagu beef. we had 2 course of desserts, 1 of which was a beet cake, which was very good. I would do the menu again. We also had a wine pairing which was expensive but paired well.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Beautiful, quiet restaurant with good fo ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Beautiful, quiet restaurant with good food. Our lovely holiday experience was marred, however, by the deplorable service. The waiter was hurried and disinterested, it took 30 minutes to get a drink, and another 30 minutes to order. We were told we'd receive four free desserts for the wait, then told we would only get two when we ordered them. Our Rez was at 6:30, but they were already out of a featured entree. Too bad, we won't be going back.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value1

I was underwhelmed by Blue Hour. The di ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on December 17, 2016

I was underwhelmed by Blue Hour. The dining room is beautiful, but lacked any true ambiance. Our main server was courteous but cold and only really took our dinner order. The food was ok, but nothing special. There are too many great restaurants in Portland that give a full dining experience, to overpay for so-so food and service here.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

We recently had a most enjoyable dinner ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 12, 2016

We recently had a most enjoyable dinner with friends at Bluehour. The service was impeccable, the food outstanding, and the wines delicious. All of the staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. The ambient noise was low and all seven in our group (including several with hearing challenges) were able to hear the conversations with ease. My only concern was a draft from a nearby door (temps were in the 30s outside), but I was provided with a blanket which saved the evening. Would highly recommend Bluehour for special occasions or when you need a little pampering!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious food, wine, and above and beyo ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Delicious food, wine, and above and beyond service. Excellent restaurant and highly recommended.

Tags: Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our third visit in past two months as pr ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Our third visit in past two months as pre-theatre diners (we are subscribers at PCS so get 15% off our meals) and I've had superb dinners each time plus lovely wines.

Last visit my husband ordered a sirloin steak and was terribly disappointed that it was tough as could be. We reported the fact to our waiter and were very pleased that they did not charge us for his entree (though our waiter was a tiny bit stroppy about it).

Tags: Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

WE went after theater on a cold night an ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on November 28, 2016

WE went after theater on a cold night and enjoy warm meals of salmon and chicken with a beet salad appetizer. We also had a delicious half bottle of wine followed with coffee and ice cream for desert. Everything was very good and most enjoyable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Brunch left lots to be desired. Doors o ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Brunch left lots to be desired. Doors opened late at 10:05, ten minutes for a menu, potatoes dull and omlette dry. Waiter was kind and helpful, ambiance lovely. Never been there and always wanted to go; won't return for bfast but may try dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value2

We were visiting Portland with friends.. ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 26, 2016

We were visiting Portland with friends...we were THRILLED to eat here, as we had raving reviews from friends. Great ambience, beautiful restaurant . Nice staff. We opted for the 5 course prix fixed menu to experience the cuisine...it was pretty bland to be honest. Really bad at points. The gnocchi was delicious but overall it was pretty underwhelming.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

We went to Bluehour for Thanksgiving and ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 25, 2016

We went to Bluehour for Thanksgiving and it was very disappointing. Perhaps the restaurant sets a higher bar during normal service, but the experience was hurried, the food was somewhat average and the service was preoccupied. Very disappointing indeed.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value1

The staff was so friendly and accommodat ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 25, 2016

The staff was so friendly and accommodating! When booking I asked to be seated near a window if possible and they gave us, in my opinion, the best seat in the house! It made for a beautiful Thanksgiving. I would recommend BlueHour for anyone willing to spend a little extra for beautiful ambience, friendly staff, and wonderful food.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was sub par to usual blue hour food ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Food was sub par to usual blue hour food across the board. Perhaps you take too many reservations for thanksgiving and it overwhelms everything. But nothing was better then a C except for salmon and fig dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

We were there for the Thanksgiving pre-f ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 25, 2016

We were there for the Thanksgiving pre-fixe dinner. The service is excellent and the food was....good. My husband and I both chose the turkey roulade. Why we ordered the turkey, I don't know, as we really are not that fond of turkey. In any case, it said it was a roulade but it turned out to be deconstructed....in other words; sliced turkey breast on a huge amount of mashed potato's (in comparison to the meat ratio) and a tiny little 'log' of dressing. We asked for extra gravy, as the amount put on the plate was nonexistent. The diners next to us ordered the sweet potato gnocchi and the pork short ribs...both looked very good and as they finished all of their entre's I can only assume that they were better than the turkey. The starters were good and the dessert was fine. I love the atphosphere at the Blue Hour and we will go back, of coarse, but NOT for Thanksgiving.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

A lovely Thanksgiving dinner - beautiful ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on November 24, 2016

A lovely Thanksgiving dinner - beautiful ambience; meal choices enjoyed by all

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The cocktails were very good to begin. ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on November 21, 2016

The cocktails were very good to begin. The beet salad was unique and tasty. For entrees, the steak and salmon were very good. The apple pie for dessert was also very good. A very good meal overall.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

We had a wonderful evening. Great food, ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on November 19, 2016

We had a wonderful evening. Great food, wine and service. Love the new menu options, having the gf is very helpful.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Private Room, Fit for Foodies, Paleo Friendly, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Just a wonderful, elegant restaurant! Se ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Just a wonderful, elegant restaurant! Service so good!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

What a gorgeous and delicious night. I l ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 17, 2016

What a gorgeous and delicious night. I loved spending my girlfriends night out at bluehour. Such a treat.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Seasonal, Handcrafted Cocktails, Paleo Friendly, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I wasn't blown away by this place - I th ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 12, 2016

I wasn't blown away by this place - I think I had higher expectations. The location is terrific and the decore inside is stunning, however for brunch I think it's a bit over the top. I'm sure the evenings are lovely with the lights - probably a great place for a romantic dinner.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

We had dinner at Bluehour this past Thur ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 11, 2016

We had dinner at Bluehour this past Thursday evening, and were a bit surprised at how many people were eating there on a week night! The entrees we had were quite good that evening. I had the "coq au vin chicken with lentils" and my husband had the duck entree. We also shared a beet "salad" appetizer which was rather a small amount for two to share, but the delicious rosemary rolls made up for it! VERY good rolls, by the way!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Nice brunch restaurant and the $2 mimosa ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Nice brunch restaurant and the $2 mimosas are really nice!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a gift card to burn and had a fan ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 30, 2016

We had a gift card to burn and had a fantastic time at Bluehour! First drinks at the bar and fun conversation with the bartender then incredible apps, dinner, and wine! We will definitely come back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first visit to Bluehour. I ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 30, 2016

This was our first visit to Bluehour. I looked at their online menu and got excited as they had a number of my favorite dishes. Of course, these items did not appear on the menu the night we ate there. I was unjustly disappointed, but the menu was good and the food more than acceptable. I had the pork loin--yum.

I loved the atmosphere with low intimate lighting and a high ceiling. The service was attentive. It was extra fun seeing the employees dressed in Halloween garb. All and all we had an enjoyable experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

This place is a must for me every time I ...

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on October 30, 2016

This place is a must for me every time I am i this place is a must for me every time I am in Portland. The food, people, and everything delightful and superb.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great brunch. $2 mimosas! Good value.

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Great brunch. $2 mimosas! Good value.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love the ambiance but the food is too ex ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Love the ambiance but the food is too expensive for what it is.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value1

Tried Bluehour last month for brunch and ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Tried Bluehour last month for brunch and it was excellent! Went back this past weekend for dinner before a show and it was also excellent! The drinks were great and the food was incredible! Started off with the salmon cigars, delicious, and for the main course I ordered the smoked duck breast, which was done perfectly. My husband ordered the lamb shank and it was delicious too! Love the atmosphere of this place and the service is always spot on.

I highly recommend Bluehour for a great meal!

Thank you!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We've dined at Bluehour twice within the ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on October 26, 2016

We've dined at Bluehour twice within the past several months and plan to return again and again--delicious food and great wine plus attentive service!

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We had an early dinner recently at Blueh ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on October 15, 2016

We had an early dinner recently at Bluehour, seeking refuge on a rainy day. The meal was quite good, and the service attentive. It perked us up, improving our mood for the rest of that gloomy day.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.