About Bluehour

250 NW 13th Avenue
Portland, OR 97209
View Larger Map

Bluehour means different things to different people. In French literature it describes any time of day "of heightened emotion." In Portland it has come to mean "a great place to dine."

As the premier modern restaurant in the Pearl District, Bluehour opened its doors in 2000, with what Gourmet Magazine describes as, "the most sophisticated, contemporary food in town." Guests choose between the elegant dining room or the casual café and bar.


Surprising and delicious describes the Modern Northwest cuisine we create in the Bluehour kitchen each night. The menu is printed daily, so come in and enjoy Chef Chris Carriker's seasonally inspired menu.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Modern European, Northwest, Contemporary European

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Wednesday -- 5:00pm - 9:00pm,
Thursday - Saturday -- 5:00pm - 10:00pm.
Happy Hour: 4:00pm - 6:30pm
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday -- 10:00-3:00PM

Cafe/bar open after dinner until midnight on Thursday, Friday and Saturday.


Cross Street:
Everett

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 226-3394

Website:
http://www.bluehouronline.com/

Catering:
L'Heure Bleue is the private room at Bluehour that can accommodate up to 60 people for a seated dinner or up to 100 people for a cocktail style reception on any occasion. Private Event Manager: Alice Price

Parking Details:
Valet parking is $6.00 and is offered after 5:30pm, Friday and Saturday evenings, at the corner of NW 13th and Everett St.
On all other evenings, street parking is available. Please call for garage recommendations.

Public Transit:
Bluehour is located three blocks west of the NW 10th and Everett stop of the Portland Street Car.

Executive Chef:
Chris Carriker

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Bluehour
  • Bluehour
  • Bluehour
  • Bluehour
  • Bluehour
  • Sweet Corn Semifreddo
  • Handcut Fries
  • Scallops with Caramelized Cauliflower
  • Amuse Bouche
Bluehour
Bluehour
Bluehour
Bluehour
Bluehour
Sweet Corn Semifreddo
Handcut Fries
Scallops with Caramelized Cauliflower
Amuse Bouche

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Mon - Thu 5:00PM - 5:45PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Fri - Sat 5:00PM - 5:45PM 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Whether planning an elegant social affair or searching for a unique venue for a corporate meeting or outing, Bluehour offers professional catering services to ensure that the vision of your event comes to life. Available: full bar service, specialty cocktails, AV capabilities and personalized menus

Bluehour Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.2

ambience

4.4

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Portland / Oregon
Romantic
Portland
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Portland
Best Restaurants in Pearl District ›

Special Occasion (34)
Fit for Foodies (33)
Romantic (30)
See All
Notable Wine List (20)
Neighborhood Gem (18)
Hot Spot (10)
Good for Groups (10)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Great for Lunch (9)
Great for Brunch (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Local Ingredients (6)
Late-night Find (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Business Meals (3)
Good for a Date (3)
Seasonal (2)
People Watching (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Comfort Food (1)
Tapas (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Casual (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Healthy (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1298 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Decided to try Bluehour for Brunch this ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined 3 days ago

Decided to try Bluehour for Brunch this past Sunday. Bluehour did not disappoint! Great food, drinks and service! The Mac & Cheese was excellent and my husband had the Duck Confit Benedict which was also wonderful!

I highly recommend Bluehour for a great dinning experience. Looking forward to trying them for dinner too!

Thank you!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Casual, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was great but the service was prett ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined 3 days ago

Food was great but the service was pretty bad. They did give us a free round of drinks for it at least. Nice vibe.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

Waited 25 minutes after seated to order ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined 4 days ago

Waited 25 minutes after seated to order

Very poor main wait person service. Rest of restaurant staff jumped in to salvage the evening. Our 5th and last visit

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value4

Clams were about a day past when they sh ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined 4 days ago

Clams were about a day past when they should have been served by, pork was not cooked enough near the bone. Extreme salt levels on the melon dish. Decent food but not for $80 a person (drinks included). This is Portland, and the value just isn't there for me anymore at Bluehour

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4

Great service and seasonal fresh menu wi ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 5 days ago

Great service and seasonal fresh menu with a great selection. We were surprised and delighted at the number of vegetarian options which were absolutely delicious. Everything was very fresh. Our waitress was very friendly and attentive. We were celebrating our anniversary and they greeted us with two glasses of champagne. A nice surprise and festive touch!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great friendly staff as always. Wonderf ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Great friendly staff as always. Wonderful food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

have no reluctance to recommend Bluehour ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

have no reluctance to recommend Bluehour. The staff was very nice, the food way above average and the overall experience great.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Low score due to the over hour wait for ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

Low score due to the over hour wait for food with no explanation until close to the house mark. A large group had come in and as it appeared all meals in the regular dining area were held until the large group was fed. Chef did provide small taster appetizer on the house due to the wait and then in the end two courses of small dessert tasters. Without the addition of the tasters and the chef personally coming out to talk to us, the score would have been lower. On top of the wait which was very hard to get over the food we ordered was not what I expected from such an expensive meal. The cut of prime rib was not marbled and nice tasting and instead had large fat areas with little meat left in the small piece to be enjoyed. However the salmon was good tasting but not out of this world. We did see a table next to us doing the courses option we saw on the menu which looked very good. In hind site we should have ordered that. All in all we may go back for the tasting menu or drinks and dessert but the experience did leave a bad taste in my mouth so to speak.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Tasting Menu, Modern Decor, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Food has become very average, Chef is tr ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Food has become very average, Chef is trying to hard, go back to basics and speed up the service.

You are about to loose a big fan.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

I've passed this place for years and alw ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

I've passed this place for years and always wondered how it would be. I was delighted to find it had an adventurous menu, excellent drink selection and a great downtown people watching feel.

Tags: Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Came in not knowing much about the resta ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Came in not knowing much about the restaurant but had heard some good things. We had some summer cocktails, oysters, tartare, crayfish/watermelon small plate, cucumber/melon, and venison ribs. A lot of the dishes had a great ideas/flavors behind them but execution was slightly off. Tartare was spon on I thought. Any of the dishes with fruit, the fruits were all over ripe so the texture was too mushy and the flavors a bit cloying. I would come back for a few things but wouldn't come back for a full round on the tasting menu. Service here is excellent. All of the wait staff were on point.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

This is formal dining, but the service i ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

This is formal dining, but the service is extremely friendly and not stuffy. We enjoyed the wait staff in white tops and white ties. We had a server and a follow up helper. They were very well informed about the menu, and if they did not know the answer, they got it. There was accommodation for gluten and dairy free. Instead of mash potatoes my husband got crispy fried potatoes. We got free courses of bites that the chef was experimenting. Yummy. They replace all the dishes and flatware with each course. This is good because my husband is always forgetting to keep his fork. Everything you would expect with upscale and tony.

The food is creative. The foie gras , which they nick named peanut butter and jelly, was absolutely amazing. I don't know how they made foie gras seem like mouse. Also, what they call the starter "fish and chips", was to die for.

I had a pasta and husband a steak. Both wonderful.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a fabulous evening! Having ordere ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

We had a fabulous evening! Having ordered the five-course pre-fixe meal, the kitchen ultimately sent out 8-9 courses; each of them well-crafted, labor-intensive and especially delicious. While our experience should not be considered normal - it was a slow night (Monday night holiday) - the level of innovation and service was world-class. Highly recommend!

Tags: Open Kitchen, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food but one part of one entree was ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Good food but one part of one entree was cold. Reheating it meant everyone was finished by the time my food came back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

We always have a pleasant evening at Blu ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

We always have a pleasant evening at Bluehour and enjoy bringing friends there who haven't eaten at Bluehour before.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

It took about 1:20 to get served. They w ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

It took about 1:20 to get served. They were not particularly busy but clearly understaffed. It would have been less annoying if the staff acknowledged the slowness of getting served, but no one said a word. If we had other plans after brunch we would have left.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value3

Such a great experience

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

Such a great experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Loved it. Great experience all round.... ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

Loved it. Great experience all round.....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything about Bluehour is amazing - f ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Everything about Bluehour is amazing - food, service, atmosphere. They were especially careful in our food preparation due to an allergy. Bluehour is still wonderful after all these years.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic tasting menu. Excellent servic ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Fantastic tasting menu. Excellent service. Nice ambiance.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It amazes me how Bluehour has consistent ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

It amazes me how Bluehour has consistently stood above the crowd in a city known for fine dining.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We indulged a second time in the tasting ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

We indulged a second time in the tasting menu and were as thrilled with the delicious offerings just as much as the first time. The creativity and imagination, the varied and very fresh ingredients, and the beautiful plating make for one of the best tasting menus anywhere around!

Tags: Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Disappointing. Cocktails not well made - ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Disappointing. Cocktails not well made - several different ones had to be returned. Lamb pasta sauce was tasty but pasta itself was over cooked Not acceptable at this price level

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

We had a nice table and an excellent ser ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

We had a nice table and an excellent server. Dinner was very good.

Tags: Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Omg. Most amazing dining experience I've ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Omg. Most amazing dining experience I've had in a while. Our pre appies from the chef were so delicious and a big tease for what was to come.

5 girlfriends, round table. Perfect service. Amazing food and drinks

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service was exceptional. Combinations of ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Service was exceptional. Combinations of flavored in each dish was amazing. Best dining out experience in Portland.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Pathetic. No wonder the restaurant was ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Pathetic. No wonder the restaurant was empty. Our waiter reeked of body odor.

The Monte Cristo was a bare nod to the original version, as the bread had not been soaked (if at all) in the custard long enough for it to absorb, so basically it was grilled bread with jam, ham, and a dusting of powdered sugar. The companying spring greens had not been picked through, and several leaves were black and slimy.

Not willing to take a risk on their dinner menu for sure.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value3

As always, did not disappoint. The servi ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

As always, did not disappoint. The service was over the top good. Food is always very nice

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The space is well desighned with long cu ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

The space is well desighned with long curtains creating modern yet intimate ambiance. Non imposing soft modern music playing . Impresive fresh flower arrangments. The food just does not cut it. If you are a foody this is not the place for you. The fruit salad as opening dish was light and pleasant yet nothing special. The hallibut dish ,although the fish was cooked properly the flavors were not ballanced souce did not complement the fish. Overall if you are looking for gorme food stay away . Or maybe order meat;)

Tags: Romantic, Late-night Find, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4
value3

Outstanding service and great food! Pri ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Outstanding service and great food! Prices were pretty average for Portland area. Great atmosphere!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We ;;haven't been there for a while. It ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

We ;;haven't been there for a while. It was always a good stand by for us. What a disappointment.

The menu is quite limited, and the food just not good. It was a special birthday and we were quite embarrassed to treat our daughter in law to such a mediocre meal at best. The place really feels like it is getting ready to go out of business.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3
value3

We had a surprise birthday party there . ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

We had a surprise birthday party there .My partner's mother from NY. thought it compared to any of the best in the city ( NYC). Overall best birthday gathering ever.The pastry chef's cake was excellent. Thank you very much.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We've been eating here since it opened a ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

We've been eating here since it opened and all of our dining experiences have been great. BH is unique as it has a great bar that can be vibrant at times and a wonderful restaurant that's quiet and romantic. One of our biggest likes is that there are NO televisions as we don't patronize places that have them.

We sat at the bar this time and the bartender was attentive, polite, friendly and professional. In fact most of the staff coming and going from the bar was the same.

The burgers were perfect and generously sized. The beers from Deschutes Brewery are of course great.

Our only complaint this time was that the greeter did not document our Open Table arrival, but that was easily rectified via an email.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

My wife, daughter and I were treated so ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

My wife, daughter and I were treated so warmly, professionally and kept amused all evening by Mr. Steele, an entertaining and knowledgeable person who waiting on us. He made our meals and features of plates and drink come alive for every course we ate. His ability to connect with the customer was excellent, and we all had instant rapport that made the evening more about the total experience as opposed to just the food. For the first time, in pairing wine, I've never had an explanation like the one Mr. Steele gave about the geology and meteorology of the region that influenced the wines we were sizing up to go with the meal. The context for each wine provided the input we needed to pick out the wine that went with our meal, perfectly. It was such a joy to have him as a waiter, and in fact, when we come back to town for our daughter's graduation next spring, he clinched our decision as to where to have the family and celebratory dinner. That is, if he's still working at Blue Hour next Spring!

From the food perspective, the first bites got the evening off to an inviting start, and the entrees of smoked roasted salmon and rich cheesy gnocci were delightful. Desserts were flavored perfectly with our wine; a wonderful end to a great evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food had plus and minus. The squash ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The food had plus and minus. The squash side dish with egg was amazingly good! The elk tartare was tasty, too. But, the flavor of the elk meat was masked by all the strong taste it was seasoned with. The first pork chop that came to the table was raw inside. The second one was cooked through but a little too well done. Prefer the well done over raw. The quail dish was also very good. The wine we selected was really, really good. We went to the winery the following day. Service was good. Thought the prices were a bit high.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

I had dinner on Friday evening with thre ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

I had dinner on Friday evening with three other women. We are all professionals who travel extensively and eat in great restaurants all over the world. That said, we found the service strange. The waiter referred to us each of us and collectively as "MiLady(ies) throughout dinner.

It was off-putting to say the least. We wondered if perhaps his previous job was in a

Medieval-themed restaurant or if we had been transported to the Renaissance Faire.

In addition, when we asked him to let us pour the wine, he bristled and then left us alone for some time.

Otherwise, the meal and atmosphere was very enjoyable. We suggest that the wait staff be coached on how to treat all customers in a professional and sophisticated manner.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

12:00 reservation was confirmed, but whe ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

12:00 reservation was confirmed, but when we arrived, the restaurant was closed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Brook is awesome and the wait staff was ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Brook is awesome and the wait staff was so kind and brought us a little extra palette sampler - that made us feel so special. They knew it was our "long overdue date night" as a married couple with 2 young children. Thanks.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

when our bread arrived cold we asked if ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

when our bread arrived cold we asked if it was supposed to be hot. It was, and it took 5 trips to get it warm! The food was good, the presentation was nice, but a bit over the top. Just because it's made of potato doesn't make it gnocchi!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Our server was really nice and professio ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Our server was really nice and professional. But, overall, the service was extremely slow. I ordered a glass of wine and, after waiting, 15/20 minutes, I asked someone else. We had to ask for bread and salt and pepper. I do enjoy a slow pace meal but this seemed to drag on way too long. The restaurant was not very crowded to offset the slowness of the service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.