About Blue Stove – Nordstrom The Village at Corte Madera

1870 Redwood Highway
Corte Madera, CA 94925
View Larger Map

Unique, sharable small plates and delicious desserts are featured. Blue Stove offers globally inspired cuisine against a dramatically designed exhibition kitchen and a wine bar with extensive selections by the glass or bottle.

Located on the 2nd floor of Nordstrom at the Village in Corte Madera next to Kidswear, with spectacular views of Mount Tamalpais, Blue Stove is Marin’s best kept secret. With Chef driven, globally inspired small plates, our menu features something unique for every taste that can be expertly paired with wines from every corner of the world. The Cilantro Lime Chicken Tacos and House-Ground Sliders with Bacon Jam are a must have for every guest. Our relaxing ambiance offers the perfect place to meet friends and family, celebrate, or just escape for a few moments with an experience you won’t forget.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Tapas / Small Plates, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 9:00pm
Saturday: 11:00am - 8:00pm
Sunday 11:00am - 7:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(415) 927-1610

Website:
http://shop.nordstrom.com/st/nordstrom-the-village-at-corte-madera#restaurants

Additional:
Beer, BYO Wine, Counter Seating, Non-Smoking, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Blue Stove – Nordstrom The Village at Corte Madera
Blue Stove – Nordstrom The Village at Corte Madera

Blue Stove – Nordstrom The Village at Corte Madera Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

3.9

ambience

3.8

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Tapas / Small Plates
San Francisco Bay Area
Best Restaurants in Corte Madera ›

Great for Lunch (14)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Good for Groups (7)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Great for Brunch (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Notable Wine List (2)
Romantic (2)
Special Occasion (2)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
Newest
152 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Actually one of the better restaurants i ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Actually one of the better restaurants in Marin for small plate quality foods, bright flavors, and super friendly service. Nice wines. Considering so many Marin dining establishments are either meh Mexican attempts or just plain mediocre, Blue Stove is becoming our "go-to" place. Try it!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We love the food here and the courteous ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

We love the food here and the courteous and thoughtful service is even better. It's surprisingly tasty food for a department store restaurant. We highly recommend it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

I had a great experience. First, we walk ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

I had a great experience. First, we walked in just as the sun was setting behind Mt. Tam. It was such a great view. We ordered a couple different things from the menu: tacos, chicken salad, shrimp tempura, steak, risotto were all delicious. Between two people, we probably would have been ok just ordering 3 or 4 plates.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Always love the food at The Blue Stove. ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Always love the food at The Blue Stove. I Iike the small plates concept as it gives the diner the opportunity to try a lot of different dishes and they are all delicious!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Love the hostesses. Staff is extremely ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Love the hostesses. Staff is extremely friendly. Service can be slow but food is worth waiting for.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value5

As usual....always reliable, tasty and r ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

As usual....always reliable, tasty and reasonably priced. The bread they bake is awesome and there are enough different choices to not repeat on several visits. It is our go-to place.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sharing the small plates at Blue Stove h ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Sharing the small plates at Blue Stove have been a nice option for us when we are in the neighborhood. The salads are delicious and several of the dishes with protein, such as the grilled chicken and the tempura shrimp, are tasty. The servers are pleasant and attentive. The portions have gotten smaller lately and we've noticed that instead of sharing three dishes, we needed to add one more dish to have a satisfying meal. Personally, I'd prefer that they increase the prices slightly instead of reducing the already delicate portions. But the food quality is excellent so we will keep it in our rotation when we are in the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Blue Stove is my "go to" restaurant when ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Blue Stove is my "go to" restaurant when I am out shopping or want to meet a friend for lunch. It has an excellent selection of "small plates" to share -- a wide variety of dishes to suit every taste. I always order the szechuan chicken lettuce cups, my favorite, and if I am with a friend I have them choose one or two other dishes to share. This time we had the crab cakes. I've had better crab cakes, but these were good. I go there fairly often and have tried nearly everything on the menu, and I don't think you can go far wrong. It isn't a "special occasion" restaurant, but for something casual it is about as good as it gets. A decent atmosphere given the location.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

The Nordstrom Cafe is convenient & has s ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

The Nordstrom Cafe is convenient & has some positive attributes but most dishes lack cohesiveness & more importantly - flavor. They come across as if someone created the dishes & then left & the people hired to execute them don't really care how they come out, both in taste & presentation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Delicious food that you can share with o ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Delicious food that you can share with others in your party.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

I forget that small plates is the only c ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

I forget that small plates is the only choice here and I find it boring and unfulfilling. Perhaps, the dark and dated decor doesn't help. The views of Mt Tam could be inspiring but the dark shades might as well be a dark hued wall with bad art.

The wait staff is pleasant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Energetic is way too understated for noi ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Energetic is way too understated for noise level!

I arrived at 12:50 for a 1 pm reservation. I was seated and told the hostess that my guest was named "Marty", that she would ask for a reservation under the name "Barbara", she would have a walker and that she was due at 1 pm. I was assured she would be directed to my table.

By 1 pm I was getting up and looking for her. My waitress told me she would look for my guest so I gave her the same description. I got up and walked to the hostess stand and around the tables and asked about my guest at 1:05. 1:10 and 1:15.

When I got up at 1:20 I noticed my guest at a nice table; but it was behind behind the screen and behind the hostess station; not easily visible to the open seating area. My guest told me she had been there since 1 pm. She said she was told I was not there. She moved to my table so we could begin our planned lunch.

Within 5 minutes a group of young women (appeared to be 18 -20 years old) were seated at the booth behind us. They proceeded to laugh and screech non-stop. (best description I can come up with; high pitched, SCREECHY sounds).

The 2 tables behind ours kept looking back and I was amused that 2 girls (10 - 13 years of age) seemed to be the most disturbed (looking back over their shoulders constantly) because the women they were with couldn't hear them.

A miserable experience. When I asked the staff to ask the women behind us to be more quiet I was told that they are not allowed to ask customers to be more quiet. I understand that. However, i believe you should have some policy to address excessive noise when at least 3 tables of patrons can not hear each other.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value2

Excellent food

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

The smoked salmon appetizer was inventive without straining to be so. It was delicious,

as was the filet mignon, perfectly cooked.

My only criticism of this place is that the piped-in music from the store works against

the atmosphere that would otherwise pervade the restaurant. The music is designed

to rev people up for sales; the lighting in the Blue Stove is designed to create

a very different vibe.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

I always have a hard time finding decent ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

I always have a hard time finding decent food in Corte Madera. It seems that it's either World Wrapps or Il Fornaio - nothing in between. I like Blue Stove a lot, despite its somewhat antiseptic ambience. The food is quite delicious: I had the grilled wild salmon nicoise and my friend had the crab cakes. Beware the plates are quite small; I think you are expected to order some kind of starter. The service is gracious and it was quite fast too. I will definitely go back for the food and the comfortable seats.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The food, atmosphere and service are alw ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 17, 2016

The food, atmosphere and service

are always fantastic the 3 times been there

Love Blue Stove!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Mixed

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Food was good, service ok. Half our order came out in a timely way but the other 3 items didn't. Server apologized for the wait and said it would be coming. A manager showed up and apologized and said we wouldn't be charged for the late items, which was appreciated. At this point we hadn't complained, so this resolution was unsolicited. Nice. It finally did come and was delicious.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Loved the small plates meant to be share ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Loved the small plates meant to be shared. This way we got to taste lots of different dishes without feeling too stuffed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Delightful

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 5, 2016

Small plates to share, actually fairly good size portions. Crab cakes are mostly crab(!) not full of fillers. Toasted gnocchi were not gummy, better than in some Italian restaurants.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Small plate dishes. Everything was caref ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 3, 2016

Small plate dishes. Everything was carefully prepared and balanced in flavor. Three dishes was about right for two people for dinner. Four if you are really hungry. Service was friendly. They offered great recommendations on the best dishes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Tasty Dinner

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

We made a last minute reservation for dinner and weren't disappointed. We had eight different small plates between the four of us and devoured them all. Favorites were the gnocchi with ragú and crab cakes. We'll be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Lunch with my friend

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

It was delicious, as usual. We have been before and love to get the heirloom tomato salad, the tacos, and the spicy Asian beef. We loved it and will be back!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

At Nordstrom!!

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 11, 2016

A really great spot at Nordstroms! Creative menu, delicious food, lovely room.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The beef ribs with cherry glaze to die f ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 29, 2016

The beef ribs with cherry glaze to die for!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

The servers and chefs were very personab ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 13, 2016

The servers and chefs were very personable! But, they were out of the filet and sliders, so our group was very disappointed. Many of the small dishes were okay--calamari was really dry, lacking seasoning and sauce.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Lovely restaurant in Nordstrom Dept. Store.

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 9, 2016

Convenient location...good food..lovely atmosphere...never disappoints.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Great lunch spot!

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 3, 2016

Great lunch spot!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

The Blue Stove Restaurant was surprising ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

The Blue Stove Restaurant was surprisingly very good. Every Tapas dish we ordered plus a sample Taco dish on the house from the kitchen was well prepared, well played, and very tasty. We will go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Nice lunch at the mall

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 16, 2016

It is nice to have the addition of Blue Stove at The Village in Corte Madera. The tapa sized plates were fun to share and tasty. Service was fine. I would definitely go back, especially if I were shopping but I would also consider as a destination.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

For such an elegant yet simple setting ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 11, 2016

For such an elegant yet simple setting - I would have preferred not to see so many young children for an evening meal- we had to move tables as the 3 kids next to us were loud and clear with oblivious moms in tow...

Then more children arrived later.

Perhaps lunch when children are at school is best-

Kudos to the chef on an another note- just delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

The staff, both managerial and service, ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on January 28, 2016

The staff, both managerial and service, need lessons in customer service. They are 1000's of miles away from the Nordstrom standard. Until they fix their service and kitchen issues, I highly recommend that they only have self service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1

Love Blue Stove

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on January 15, 2016

This is the second time I've had lunch at Blue Stove. I highly recommend it if you're shopping at the Village at Corte Madera. Great small plates, attentive service and lovely ambience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As with prior times, we had a delicious ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on January 12, 2016

As with prior times, we had a delicious lunch! Everything was just right: the carmelized brussel sprouts, the crab cakes (although it wasn't fresh crab due to the problems we've had here in our ocean water...boo hoo), the chicken tacos and the spicy Asian beef. We will definitely be back!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Service was outstanding on an early rese ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on January 1, 2016

Service was outstanding on an early reservation on New Year's eve.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Not so good

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on December 28, 2015

This is my third and last time to this restaurant. I brought my family here just after christmas during a day of after christmas shopping. The service was awful. We could not place our order, get water or coffee. We asked our waiter twice then asked another waiter and then the hostess. Nothing. I finally got up and poured it myself. The food was okay but the portions were ridiculously small and after the long 45 minute wait, it was not worth it. It has been this way all three times I have been here. To make matters worse, our waiter had a bad attitude. Don't bother eating here, there are other options in this center.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

Blue Stove - Unique menu

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on December 27, 2015

We enjoy the Blue Stove due to its small plates menu of interesting choices. The servings are generous and can be filling! Service is very good. Nice place to try something different and enjoy a break from usual restaurant fare.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Love the food here!

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on December 25, 2015

Innovative, well priced and delicious. Far exceeds expectations for a Nordstom restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Not a quick lunch

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on November 21, 2015

Second time having lunch here w/friends. Food is good, decent selection and average pricing. Service was awful this last time around, awful. We had to ask three times for a refill on water. What we really wanted was another round of mimosas but couldn't seem to get anyone to come around. At the end we ordered hot tea and dessert. By the time the dessert came to the table, all of our hot teas were cold teas... Such a bummer. Good thing I was there in good company!

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1

The food was fantastic and the service w ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on November 21, 2015

The food was fantastic and the service was great! The changes to the menu are much appreciated. The sliders were out of this world, the shrimp tempura were some of the best (and largest!) ever and were paired with an exceptionally tasty cucumber and carrot salad, and the scallop risotto with great green beans was good. The scallops were incredible as were the beans and the risotto was okay but a bit heavy on the lemon and butter. Excellent lemonade and ice tea. No room for dessert. Wonderful attention to detail. Will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Ladie's lunch....

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on November 20, 2015

There were only two of us this time around, so we had only three dishes. Each one was delicious: the brussel sprouts, the filet mignon, and the calamari. Cooked to perfection and wonderful to the taste buds. Can't wait to come back!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Lunch with the "Girls"

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on November 9, 2015

We had a delightful lunch. It was fun trying the brussel sprouts, heirloom salad, Asian spicy beef and chicken tacos. There were only 3 of us - wish we had more people so we could try more. The food was delicious!! Our waiter was very accommodating and funny as well........

Will be back for more!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.