About Blue Restaurant - Charlotte, NC

206 North College St.
Charlotte, NC 28202
View Larger Map

Blue Restaurant is a sophisticated restaurant that offers flavors from around the Mediterranean region. Our multicultural menu will take your taste buds on a whirlwind tour. prepare to experience a Moroccan Tagine, Whole Roasted Mediterranean Sea Bass or a Tenderloin a la Blue. as you travel around the menu, you will be delighted with familiar dishes and excited by others you have yet to explore.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Mediterranean, Vegetarian / Vegan

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Bar: Monday & Tuesday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm
Wednesday & Thursday: 4:00pm - 12:00am
Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 2:00am

Cross Street:
Corner of College and 5th Sts.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(704) 927-2583

Website:
http://www.bluecharlotte.com/

Entertainment:
Live Jazz Wednesday to Saturday evenings

Parking Details:
Free Valet parking; Heart Tower parking garage, ticket validated at Blue for free parking.

Executive Chef:
Gene Briggs

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Dancing, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Monthly Cooking Classes with Executive Chef Gene Briggs (1st Saturday of each month with holiday exceptions). $44.95 each course paired with wines.

Monthly Food & Wine Pairings $49.95 Five Course Pairing.

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Scottish Salmon - Blue Restaurant - Charlotte, NC, Charlotte, NC
Platters Of Galette De Crab Et Hammond And Some Damn Calamari - Blue Restaurant - Charlotte, NC, Charlotte, NC
Flavors Of The Mediterranean - Blue Restaurant - Charlotte, NC, Charlotte, NC
Lobster Crabcakes, Risotto Balls, And Seared Scallops - Blue Restaurant - Charlotte, NC, Charlotte, NC
Lemon Drop Martini - Blue Restaurant - Charlotte, NC, Charlotte, NC
Beef Tenderloin ala Blue - Blue Restaurant - Charlotte, NC, Charlotte, NC
Blue Mediterranean Martini - Blue Restaurant - Charlotte, NC, Charlotte, NC
Duo of Wild Boar - Blue Restaurant - Charlotte, NC, Charlotte, NC
Flat Bread - Blue Restaurant - Charlotte, NC, Charlotte, NC
Tega Hills Farm Mixed Green Salad - Blue Restaurant - Charlotte, NC, Charlotte, NC
Tres Leche Cake - Blue Restaurant - Charlotte, NC, Charlotte, NC
Moroccan Chicken Tagine - Blue Restaurant - Charlotte, NC, Charlotte, NC
Galette de Crab et Homard - Blue Restaurant - Charlotte, NC, Charlotte, NC
Warm Molten Chocolate Cake - Blue Restaurant - Charlotte, NC, Charlotte, NC
Trouts filled with bacon - Blue Restaurant - Charlotte, NC, Charlotte, NC
Sticky Toffee Pudding Accompanied By, Salted Butter Caramel Sauce Dulce De Leche Gelato And Cocoa Nibs. - Blue Restaurant - Charlotte, NC, Charlotte, NC

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Details

Join us for a special Valentine's Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon - Thu 5:00PM - 6:00PM

Private Dining

The Main Private Dining Room seats maximum of 40 guests; The Solarium seats maximum of 24 for dinner and 25 for a cocktail reception; The Wine Room (Semi-private) seats maximum of 16 for dinner and 25 for a cocktail reception.

Blue Restaurant - Charlotte, NC Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (49)
Good for a Date (46)
Good for Anniversaries (39)
See All
Romantic (36)
Creative Cuisine (35)
Notable Wine List (27)
Live Music (27)
Pre/post Theatre (26)
Business Meals (26)
Modern Decor (23)
Good for Birthdays (22)
Fit for Foodies (21)
Handcrafted Cocktails (19)
Quiet Conversation (17)
Bar Seating (15)
Worth the Drive (13)
Good for Groups (11)
Tasting Menu (10)
Cozy (8)
Gluten Free Options (8)
Hot Spot (6)
Local Ingredients (6)
People Watching (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Seasonal (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Healthy (5)
Authentic (5)
Fun (5)
Private Room (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Casual (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Quick Bite (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Vegan (2)
Scenic View (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Historic (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Great Beer (1)
Tapas (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
2225 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I took my husband to dinner at Blue for ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 6 days ago

I took my husband to dinner at Blue for his birthday, and it was a treat for both of us! He ordered the grilled lamb chops with truffle mashed potatoes, and I ordered a delightful combination of pan seared sea scallops and pork medallions braised with apples resting of a delicious mound of pureed sweet potatoes and Swiss chard. Both dishes were wonderful! The lamb was tender and cooked to perfection. The scallops were beautifully seared and the pork medallions fell apart the minute my fork hit them! Service was excellent...very attentive, friendly, and informed about the menu. The wine list is not the most extensive, but a very nice selection. Of course, birthday dessert was mandatory. My husband selected the warm molten lava cake with ice cream and fresh berries...and was nice enough to share! A perfect ending to a delicious meal! We'll definitely be back!

Tags: Modern Decor, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Live Music, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was amazing, service was good, but ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 6 days ago

Food was amazing, service was good, but sitting next to the bathrooms while celebrating your 15th anniversary was not nice. The seating really should be removed from directly in front of the restrooms and kitchen area. For a table that spent $500, it was not a nice location to celebrate next to all that noise.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service4
value4

I ordered the pan seared grouper which w ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined 6 days ago

I ordered the pan seared grouper which was amazing!!! We ordered the fried risitto balls for an app and the risotto was over cooked imo but the Mariana/red sauce it was served in was so yummy! I loved the customizable Moscow mules!! We unfortunately were seated in the patio area despite having made a reservation weeks in advance. There was no atmosphere and there's a small number of tables so creates an awkward situation where you can hear/be heard by nearby tables. There was live jazz and overhead music inside so I have a feeling it would be a better atmosphere.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value4

Best Place to take your sweet heart. lov ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Best Place to take your sweet heart. love the food.

Tags: Live Music, Comfort Food, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and the service were excellent! ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 14, 2017

The food and the service were excellent! I would suggest to get a window seat to enjoy the ambiance of the experience of the restaurant. We will go back again.

Tags: Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Food and drinks v good. Except Broccoli ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Food and drinks v good. Except Broccoli Rabe looked and tasted like chopped Broccoli .

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

We had an awesome fixed price meal. All ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 7, 2017

We had an awesome fixed price meal. All three courses were excellent and we also enjoyed half price wine. The entire evening was great.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went for the snow day special and it ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 7, 2017

We went for the snow day special and it was definitely worth the drive! Everything from the food and wine to the service was excellent. It's also a plus that they validate parking and offer complimentary valet after six p.m.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Live Music, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place is always fabulous. Our wait ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 7, 2017

This place is always fabulous. Our waiter was utterly amazing. Knew everything you could want to know about wine to assist with a selection.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I love coming to Blue. W ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 1, 2017

My husband and I love coming to Blue. We love the atmosphere, food, service and good music.

It's our favorite spot.

Tags: Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Romantic, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great spot for New Years Eve. The menu i ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great spot for New Years Eve. The menu is priced more for special occasions than 'everyday', but the service is warm and excellent. Good atmosphere for a special night out!

Tags: Live Music, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We went to Blue for a new years eve cele ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We went to Blue for a new years eve celebration. I was able to get a last minute reservation and when we arrived we were seated immediately. Every employee we encountered was extrememly friendly and welcoming. The food was amazing and we were never rushed during our meal. We dragged our dinner out to be about 3 hours and our server was extremely accommodating. We will be returning!

Tags: Fun, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Casual, Cozy, , Good for a Date, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The restaurant was quite lovely. The din ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The restaurant was quite lovely. The dinner was delightful and the service was excellent. The only con was our seating in the restaurant. We were seated in the very back next to the kitchen. I made the reservation for NYE weeks in advance and I didn't really get to enjoy the atmosphere of the restaurant. Maybe next time.

Tags: Live Music, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

We went there for New year eve, the food ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We went there for New year eve, the food is kind of pricey but it totally worth it. I am vegetarian and they have good options. I recommend to try Mushroom bolognese very tasty and plenty. The service was excellent. We really enjoyed the live music.

Tags: Live Music, Tasting Menu, Late-night Find, Healthy, Romantic, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been to Blue before (several yea ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We have been to Blue before (several years ago), came for New Years and jazz in the bar.

Food was not as expected (tomato sauce appeared to be out of a can and beef tasted like shoe leather), service was painful (didn't see server until I tracked him down), music in bar was great. Overall enjoyed the atmosphere (just not the dinner). Price was good - with exception of what was served (irrespective of cost).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

We celebrated New Years Eve here and alt ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We celebrated New Years Eve here and although that can be a busy night when quality can take a down ward spin, not so at Blue. Everything was super. Excellent menu, great service and a wonderful evening. Will certainly be back.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The restaurant has changed their level o ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The restaurant has changed their level of service, and the food variety stay the same. There needs to be a more selection on the menu.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Great location downtown. Our food was ju ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Great location downtown. Our food was just ok..tasty, but neither elegant nor special. The atmosphere, however, is very nice and fun for an evening out.

Tags: Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

The service was great. The food was goo ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The service was great. The food was good but the lamb was too small, but the chicken was twice the amount portion wise.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

I love this restaurant! The staff is ex ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 31, 2016

I love this restaurant! The staff is excellent and the food is delicious!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a wonderful establishment with outs ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 25, 2016

What a wonderful establishment with outstanding food and an enjoyable atmosphere. The service from time of arrival at the valet parking to the bar area and the dinning staff is nothing but 1st class. Alex has done a wonderful job in overseeing the operation and we can not wait to return in the very near future.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Second time we went to Blue for Christma ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Second time we went to Blue for Christmas Eve special. Food was delicious, wait staff entertaining while anticipating our every need, and the "special" was truly a value and delicious for the quality food selection.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

It was an amazing experience for my fian ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 23, 2016

It was an amazing experience for my fiancée and I. The portions were good and the taste was great. We loved it!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Celebrated my husband's 70th birthday an ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Celebrated my husband's 70th birthday and it was wonderful!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, People Watching, Bar Seating, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was our third visit to Blue. All 3 ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 20, 2016

This was our third visit to Blue. All 3 times it has been excellent. The menu is much more creative than most resturants in Charlotte. We have a difficult time deciding what to chose as there are so many good dishes. The wines by the glass are also a step or two above most other local restaurants. I spend 2 weeks a month in San Diego which has loads of great restaurants. Blue is one of the few Charlotte places that would survive in SD.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Romantic, Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Some of the best muscles I have ever enj ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Some of the best muscles I have ever enjoyed and the grouper was lovely. Good wine list and good light jazz. The caramel pudding (with 2 spoons) was a tough test of a strong marriage....

We'll be back!

Tags: Authentic, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

They ignored my birthday when my husband ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 18, 2016

They ignored my birthday when my husband told them bc he was trying to do something for me. Good food and service too loud though was hoping for something more private and not having to share a seat with another couple only a foot in-between us. I could barely hear bC everyone was so loud. No dividers dining room felt crowded

Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value3

Love this place, every time we've been t ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Love this place, every time we've been there it has been amazing. Scallops, wild boar, and beef tenderloin are some of our favorites

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We may have found a new favorite Uptown ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 17, 2016

We may have found a new favorite Uptown spot... with family in town to see my daughter perform at the Christmas village, we decided to try Blue for the first time when our usual spot was booked due to private holiday parties. What a fabulous time... from the minute we walked in to when we left.

Gerardo was charming, engaging and made us feel at home. The food was delicious and I have to mention probably the best martini in Charlotte! My daughter and niece felt like princesses which is all I can ask for. Will definitely be back. Happy Holidays!!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was great and nice jazz music . ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 17, 2016

The food was great and nice jazz music . The staff was very attentive and made that restaurant run smoothly.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, , Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Live Music, Romantic, Modern Decor, Cozy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Blue has such potential. The menu is inv ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Blue has such potential. The menu is inventive and unique but the chef needs to focus on flavor profiles and what actually works. Throwing a group of different tastes into one dish is excellent but one must ensure those tastes actually compliment each other. The waitstaff needs ediquette training. The most noticeable flaw that every server was guilty of was slouching and leaning on seats while taking orders. It gave the feel that the servers are lazy and tired.... very unprofessional. Also when asked for recommendations a guest wants to hear descriptions of memo items and not " this one is good" or " a lot of people order this one". Overall Blue has a nice ambiance and is a good place for a casual expierence comparable to applebys or chilis.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Quick Bite, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

John and Mike at the bar are super! Din ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 14, 2016

John and Mike at the bar are super!

Dinner was outstanding - our meals ranged from wild boar to duck to scallops and the mushroom dish - all were awesome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent Service! Highly recommend the ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Excellent Service! Highly recommend the Scallop appetizer. I can't wait to eat here again. Delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Chef Briggs is amazing and Blue is one o ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Chef Briggs is amazing and Blue is one of my favorite restaurants in the city!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Paleo Friendly, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

While I was impressed, as usual, in the ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 14, 2016

While I was impressed, as usual, in the service, food and ambiance, I was disappointed that my napkin had several holes in it. I took my boss who was in town from NYC and I'm hoping her napkin didn't have holes in it. I didn't ask her b/c I didn't want to bring attention to it. Also, the restrooms could use some attention. The toilet paper was not on a holder but was stacked up in the holder space. Also noted, there were no paper towels to dry hands on and open the door with.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

First of all I loved the live jazz music ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 11, 2016

First of all I loved the live jazz music. The valet parking was next. The portions of food were small but tasted great.

I will definitely go back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3

I had the Grouper and it was excellent. ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 11, 2016

I had the Grouper and it was excellent. My guest had the scallops and she also enjoyed her meal. The wine recommendation was excellent. Stayed after dinner in the bar to list to some nice jazz.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We had never been there before. Everyon ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on December 10, 2016

We had never been there before. Everyone was so helpful and pleasant.

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Excellent food and our servers recognize ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Excellent food and our servers recognized that we were going to the Symphony and were quick to offer suggestions to help us meet our schedule while not compromising on the meal or the ambiance.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We an ok mediterranean appetizer plate, ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 10, 2016

We an ok mediterranean appetizer plate, but both really enjoyed the chicken tagine. It was beautiful, with some unexpected, but beautiful flavors.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.