About Blue Restaurant - Charlotte, NC

206 North College St.
Charlotte, NC 28202
View Larger Map

Blue Restaurant is a sophisticated restaurant that offers flavors from around the Mediterranean region. Our multicultural menu will take your taste buds on a whirlwind tour. prepare to experience a Moroccan Tagine, Whole Roasted Mediterranean Sea Bass or a Tenderloin a la Blue. as you travel around the menu, you will be delighted with familiar dishes and excited by others you have yet to explore.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Mediterranean, Vegetarian / Vegan

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Bar: Monday & Tuesday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm
Wednesday & Thursday: 4:00pm - 12:00am
Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 2:00am

Cross Street:
Corner of College and 5th Sts.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(704) 927-2583

Website:
http://www.bluecharlotte.com/

Entertainment:
Live Jazz Wednesday to Saturday evenings

Parking Details:
Free Valet parking; Heart Tower parking garage, ticket validated at Blue for free parking.

Executive Chef:
Gene Briggs

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Dancing, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Monthly Cooking Classes with Executive Chef Gene Briggs (1st Saturday of each month with holiday exceptions). $44.95 each course paired with wines.

Monthly Food & Wine Pairings $49.95 Five Course Pairing.

Restaurant Photos

Blue Restaurant - Charlotte, NC
Blue Restaurant - Charlotte, NC
Blue Restaurant - Charlotte, NC
Blue Restaurant - Charlotte, NC
Scottish Salmon
Platters Of Galette De Crab Et Hammond And Some Damn Calamari
Flavors Of The Mediterranean
Lobster Crabcakes, Risotto Balls, And Seared Scallops
Lemon Drop Martini
Beef Tenderloin ala Blue
Blue Mediterranean Martini
Duo of Wild Boar
Flat Bread
Tega Hills Farm Mixed Green Salad
Tres Leche Cake
Moroccan Chicken Tagine
Galette de Crab et Homard
Warm Molten Chocolate Cake
Trouts filled with bacon
Sticky Toffee Pudding Accompanied By, Salted Butter Caramel Sauce Dulce De Leche Gelato And Cocoa Nibs.

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Mon - Thu 5:00PM - 6:00PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Private Dining

The Main Private Dining Room seats maximum of 40 guests; The Solarium seats maximum of 24 for dinner and 25 for a cocktail reception; The Wine Room (Semi-private) seats maximum of 16 for dinner and 25 for a cocktail reception.

Blue Restaurant - Charlotte, NC Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Charlotte
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Charlotte
Best Restaurants in Uptown ›

Special Occasion (67)
Romantic (49)
Fit for Foodies (38)
See All
Good for Groups (31)
Notable Wine List (25)
Hot Spot (11)
Late-night Find (11)
Good for a Date (10)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Great for Brunch (8)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Scenic View (7)
Authentic (6)
Live Music (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Worth the Drive (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Business Meals (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Cozy (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Fun (3)
Casual (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Disabled Access (2)
People Watching (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Local Ingredients (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Tapas (1)
Spicy (1)
Private Room (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Family Style (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Great Beer (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sort By:
Newest
2026 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Decided to take my wife here for out 3 y ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on September 20, 2016

Decided to take my wife here for out 3 year anniversary before going to the Amos Lee Concert (which was fantastic by the way). I got Salmon and she got Shimp Pasta. My Salmon was cooked great but the Squash Gratin that it was on was too salty for me. My wife's orecchiette pasta seemed to be under cooked although we weren't sure since neither of us have had it before. There were large clumps of "dumpling" like pasta throughout where the noodles stuck together. We both said maybe this is what its supposed to be, but either way we didn't favor it.

I will say I was quite impressed when my wife asked about how the pasta was supposed to be as we were not sure, and they did not charge us for it. Was not expecting this at all but it was very nice of them so kudos to the manager there. If not for this I probably would have been giving a lesser rating. Only reason I cant say that we would recommend is because we just weren't to crazy about the food.

Overall seems like great service and decent food, perhaps maybe a little too fancy four our blood though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

Perfect for a nice meal before the theat ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

Perfect for a nice meal before the theater. The fish was fantastic and service exceptional.

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My friends and I truly enjoyed our dinin ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

My friends and I truly enjoyed our dining experience. The food and service were amazing.

Tags: Special Occasion, Disabled Access, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was fantastic! We were sat in ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

The food was fantastic! We were sat in the front room near the street which was pretty nice until a 4 top was sat next to us that was quite loud, Which is fine. What was not fine was the 4 top being served in an out in almost an hour less than our 2 top. We spent almost 2 hours and 30 minutes for a meal for 2. Our server was great when she was serving and taking our order but she disappeared often and for lengthy periods.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Our third or fourth visit and again an e ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Our third or fourth visit and again an excellent meal. Mitchell our server was very knowledgeable about the menu and how dishes were prepared. His customer service was superb. Food was wonderful... The sea bass and chicken tagine - wow!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Highly rated and a great menu. Very good ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

Highly rated and a great menu. Very good but not great.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The food and service was excellent. Grea ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

The food and service was excellent. Great restaurant for a romantic evening. We would highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

First time there and it won't be the las ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

First time there and it won't be the last. Top notch all the way around. Amazing food and drink menu. Great service and super atmosphere. Very unique menu. Everything we hoped it would be. Would highly recommend it. Have been looking for a place like this for awhile.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Great Beer, Live Music, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The restaurant was fabulous. The food wa ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

The restaurant was fabulous. The food was unique. We really enjoyed everything about our experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The menu is diverse and all the food was ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

The menu is diverse and all the food was great. The drinks were good especially their signature drink.. We would definitely return!

Tags: Modern Decor, Happy Hour, Fun, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Chef Gene's tasting menu was delicious a ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Chef Gene's tasting menu was delicious and the wine pairings impeccable! I would recommend Blue to anyone in the Charlotte area for business or pleasure!

Tags: Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Was in Charlotte and looking for a new p ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Was in Charlotte and looking for a new place to eat and after checking out the reviews, I made a reservation and headed in. I got there around 6 on a Friday and the place was for the most part empty. I was then seated and my server came up and I was ready to order so I went with the Wild Boar which consisted of Grilled tenderloin and crepinette of shoulder braised with porcini mushrooms served over chestnut risotto, rainbow Swiss chard and topped with black currant marmalade. As I looked around at the simple yet modernly decorated place, I thought what a great place this would be for a special occasion or first date. After a brief wait my food came out and I was anxious to taste boar for the first time. I first tried the tenderloin and it was excellent even though it was more medium than I normally get my meat cooked. I then tried the other portion which was more shredded but still had an excellent flavor. Along with the risotto it made for a perfect dinner with the portion sizes just right. That being said, it did leave room for dessert so I ordered the Sticky Toffee Pudding and it was amazing! The cake was warm and light and the ice cream provided a nice cooling touch to the cake and warm caramel sauce which was so good I could have had it to drink. But it was a great way to end a great meal. From the service to the food this place was definitely worth my time and I think it will be worth yours as well.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Fantastic as always

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

Fantastic as always

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We did the chef's tasting menu with wine ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

We did the chef's tasting menu with wine pairings, a steal at $90 for 6 courses. The lamb was some of the best I ever tasted, paired with a surprisingly good merlot. The halibut with summer succotash was also a standout. Kudos

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

The food was pretty good, but the ambien ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

The food was pretty good, but the ambience and decor is terrible. Booths look like they could be in a fast food restaurant. Service was just ok.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

We had an incredible time: the food is f ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

We had an incredible time: the food is fantastic, the ambiance is very peaceful, romantic and high-end. Our waitress was very sweet and efficient as well, and made the whole experience that much more special. Will definitely return.

Tags: Disabled Access, Live Music, Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Casual, Scenic View, Comfort Food, Spicy, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Cozy, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Afternoon Coffee, Late-night Find, Tapas, People Watching, Good for Groups, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Took my wife there for her Birthday as w ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Took my wife there for her Birthday as we had never dined there before. The service and food were great, and we are planning to go back. Blue has a great wine list, and the Halibut was excellent.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The waitress recommended the duck and it ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

The waitress recommended the duck and it was outstanding along with the

scallops appetizer. My wife had the roasted chicken and she said it was very good.

Good drinks, pretty atmosphere, good people, strongly recommend you try it. We were

on our first visit to Charlotte.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Live Music, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Took my parents here for my dad's birthd ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

Took my parents here for my dad's birthday dinner. Waitress was EXCELLENT - she greeted us and wished dad a happy birthday, and brought us a dessert at the end on the house. She was attentive yet not over-bearing. Food was very good - the only slight complaint was the pasta itself, kind of chewy but I hope it will soften up today as leftover. The only thing I would say is the restaurant itself looks a bit tired. For the price point, the booth seat should not been duck-taped at the torn part.

Don't forget to check out their live music at the bar. It's a solid spot for uptown.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Went with a couple of friends this past ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Went with a couple of friends this past weekend. We had a fabulous meal - everything was great. The wine list was lovely too - plenty of variety and a range of prices too. It was a great evening!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

THE WAITER WAS EXCELLENT BUT THE PRICE I ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

THE WAITER WAS EXCELLENT BUT THE PRICE IS TO MUCH FOR WHAT YOU GET

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

Service was great. Food was good. Scal ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Service was great. Food was good. Scallops exceptional. Wild boar a must

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Excellent service and food. Always consi ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Excellent service and food. Always consistent. Very good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding meal and the service was rea ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Outstanding meal and the service was really good as well. The only reason we rated it a 4 for service was it took our server a little while to come back with the bill. Otherwise, it was a fantastic evening!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We celebrated an anniversary at Blue. Th ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

We celebrated an anniversary at Blue. The food was wonderful and the service was fantastic. Granted, it was not very crowded the night we went, but the experience could not have been better. Also, the jazz musician was very romantic!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was good. We were there for din ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

The food was good. We were there for dinner 90 minutes before a show at Blumenthal. The Restaurant was maybe 1/2 full if that, still took over hour to get our food. Once it came we had to rush though to make it to the theater doors with 1 min to spare.

Kudos to our server who acknowledged the long wait, worked to get us our bill and out the door quickly and even sent us with cheesecake as an apology.

Overall though experience was not bad. Would like to try it when we have time constraints. Lamb, calamari, caprese salad, taste of the Mediterranean, arrincini, and the snapper (the special of the night). All were tasty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Blue never disappoints! I sent a group ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Blue never disappoints! I sent a group of my foodie colleagues visiting from other states over to Blue last night and they all loved it. Classy place. Robert was our server on Monday, August 1 and was excellent, very attentive.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best scallops ever, and I don't even lik ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Best scallops ever, and I don't even like scallops. Also, the chicken tagine and the wild boar were amazing. The drinks were as delicious as the food. Service was impeccable and the live jazz band was a great addition. All around great experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was excellent and waiter was nice. ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Food was excellent and waiter was nice. Love the Atmosphere!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service/Atmosphere- Our server was not g ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Service/Atmosphere-

Our server was not great to say the least. He was so inattentive that another server in the same section payed more attention checking on us. We went during restaurant week so they opened up an extra room in the veryyy back so we were unable to experience the live jazz band or true ambiance of the restaurant but when we walked in the small experience we had walking to our table was nice.

Parking-

We had a reservation and arrived on time however the parking deck almost made that impossible. The parking is terrible!!! The first five floors were taken up completely by reserved spaces which was odd that they weren't able to be used during non-business hours.

Food-

The dish I had as an entree was absolutely incredible but my date was not pleased with his. I would definitely recommend the appetizers and the cheese plates. We had two desserts, cheesecake and sticky toffee pudding. The cheese cake was average but the toffee pudding was out of this world. It was also very apparent that the chef really incorporates citrus into the dishes as almost all of them had some sort of citrus garnish or citrus focus of the entire dish.

Overall-

I would recommend this restaurant as a nice bar atmosphere and would like to try it again outside of restaurant week. The live jazz band was a really nice touch. It's a little difficult to find from the parking deck through Hearst tower so I would recommend arriving at least fifteen minutes early (especially on the weekend). I also think it would be a nice touch if they mentioned if they validated parking or not.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Food was delicious! Lovely atmosphere a ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Food was delicious! Lovely atmosphere and right in the center of Charlotte.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Fantastic food, service and ambience wit ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Fantastic food, service and ambience with the live jazz music!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Perfectly prepared food as always

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Perfectly prepared food as always

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Great food as always....I love the new m ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Great food as always....I love the new menu items but was surprise to see gratuity already included with a table of 3.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Waiter was charming and accommodating. I ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Waiter was charming and accommodating. I didn't realize my main course had pepperonis in it. Which I hate. He remade it. The deserts were the best I've ever eaten! Tirumsu Cheesecake and pudding. OMG!!!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Our "medium" steaks were dripping red ra ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Our "medium" steaks were dripping red rare. Charging extra for sides was pretentious and not worth the price. We did, however, receive a free delicious dessert for our anniversary. We probably won't go there again. Although the free dessert was very nice, we felt the value did not equal the price.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

I thought the kalamata olive butter was ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

I thought the kalamata olive butter was really different and my favorite part of the meal was definitely the tiramisu cheesecake. I went for Restaurant Week and wish they would have had steak on there, but I got the Salmon and it was very delicious.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The service was great, the food was lack ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

The service was great, the food was lacking. Lump crab soup had no crab and the pork was under cooked. Both of our meals were recooked because they were undercooked. The bread pudding was amazing but the cheesecake tasted like it was fresh from the freezer. Little taste. Il come back for drinks and the good service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5

My husband and I dined during Queen's Fe ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

My husband and I dined during Queen's Feast, which would reduce the price for our meals, including dessert. The food, service and ambiance were wonderful. Even though I am lactose intolerant, they easily accommodated my needs. We will definitely return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was excellent; professional, ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

The service was excellent; professional, friendly, good recommendations, just the right amount of attention. Apps, soups, and salads were all great. Pork Milanese was excellent. Salmon was good, but on the salty side. The Orchiette Pasta with Shrimp and Pesto was just OK. Pasta itself was good - nice firmness and flavor. Pesto was on the strong side, and just had a very spicy taste, rather than a rich pesto flavor. Shrimp seemed to have been frozen: small, soft, not much flavor. Desserts were all really good. I'd recommend Blue, as it's every bit as good as many uptown restaurants we've been to; just maybe not quite up there with the elite.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.