About Blue Restaurant - Charlotte, NC

206 North College St.
Charlotte, NC 28202
View Larger Map

Blue Restaurant is a sophisticated restaurant that offers flavors from around the Mediterranean region. Our multicultural menu will take your taste buds on a whirlwind tour. prepare to experience a Moroccan Tagine, Whole Roasted Mediterranean Sea Bass or a Tenderloin a la Blue. as you travel around the menu, you will be delighted with familiar dishes and excited by others you have yet to explore.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Mediterranean, Vegetarian / Vegan

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Bar: Monday & Tuesday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm
Wednesday & Thursday: 4:00pm - 12:00am
Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 2:00am

Cross Street:
Corner of College and 5th Sts.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(704) 927-2583

Website:
http://www.bluecharlotte.com/

Entertainment:
Live Jazz Wednesday to Saturday evenings

Parking Details:
Free Valet parking; Heart Tower parking garage, ticket validated at Blue for free parking.

Executive Chef:
Gene Briggs

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Dancing, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Monthly Cooking Classes with Executive Chef Gene Briggs (1st Saturday of each month with holiday exceptions). $44.95 each course paired with wines.

Monthly Food & Wine Pairings $49.95 Five Course Pairing.

Restaurant Photos

Blue Restaurant - Charlotte, NC
Blue Restaurant - Charlotte, NC
Blue Restaurant - Charlotte, NC
Blue Restaurant - Charlotte, NC
Scottish Salmon
Platters Of Galette De Crab Et Hammond And Some Damn Calamari
Flavors Of The Mediterranean
Lobster Crabcakes, Risotto Balls, And Seared Scallops
Lemon Drop Martini
Beef Tenderloin ala Blue
Blue Mediterranean Martini
Duo of Wild Boar
Flat Bread
Tega Hills Farm Mixed Green Salad
Tres Leche Cake
Moroccan Chicken Tagine
Galette de Crab et Homard
Warm Molten Chocolate Cake
Trouts filled with bacon
Sticky Toffee Pudding Accompanied By, Salted Butter Caramel Sauce Dulce De Leche Gelato And Cocoa Nibs.

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Mon - Thu 5:00PM - 6:00PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Private Dining

The Main Private Dining Room seats maximum of 40 guests; The Solarium seats maximum of 24 for dinner and 25 for a cocktail reception; The Wine Room (Semi-private) seats maximum of 16 for dinner and 25 for a cocktail reception.

Blue Restaurant - Charlotte, NC Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Charlotte
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Charlotte
Best Restaurants in Uptown ›

Special Occasion (62)
Romantic (43)
Fit for Foodies (40)
See All
Good for Groups (30)
Notable Wine List (25)
Late-night Find (10)
Hot Spot (9)
Great for Brunch (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Scenic View (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
2008 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Took my parents here for my dad's birthd ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined 4 days ago

Took my parents here for my dad's birthday dinner. Waitress was EXCELLENT - she greeted us and wished dad a happy birthday, and brought us a dessert at the end on the house. She was attentive yet not over-bearing. Food was very good - the only slight complaint was the pasta itself, kind of chewy but I hope it will soften up today as leftover. The only thing I would say is the restaurant itself looks a bit tired. For the price point, the booth seat should not been duck-taped at the torn part.

Don't forget to check out their live music at the bar. It's a solid spot for uptown.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Went with a couple of friends this past ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Went with a couple of friends this past weekend. We had a fabulous meal - everything was great. The wine list was lovely too - plenty of variety and a range of prices too. It was a great evening!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

THE WAITER WAS EXCELLENT BUT THE PRICE I ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

THE WAITER WAS EXCELLENT BUT THE PRICE IS TO MUCH FOR WHAT YOU GET

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

Service was great. Food was good. Scal ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Service was great. Food was good. Scallops exceptional. Wild boar a must

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Excellent service and food. Always consi ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Excellent service and food. Always consistent. Very good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding meal and the service was rea ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Outstanding meal and the service was really good as well. The only reason we rated it a 4 for service was it took our server a little while to come back with the bill. Otherwise, it was a fantastic evening!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We celebrated an anniversary at Blue. Th ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

We celebrated an anniversary at Blue. The food was wonderful and the service was fantastic. Granted, it was not very crowded the night we went, but the experience could not have been better. Also, the jazz musician was very romantic!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was good. We were there for din ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

The food was good. We were there for dinner 90 minutes before a show at Blumenthal. The Restaurant was maybe 1/2 full if that, still took over hour to get our food. Once it came we had to rush though to make it to the theater doors with 1 min to spare.

Kudos to our server who acknowledged the long wait, worked to get us our bill and out the door quickly and even sent us with cheesecake as an apology.

Overall though experience was not bad. Would like to try it when we have time constraints. Lamb, calamari, caprese salad, taste of the Mediterranean, arrincini, and the snapper (the special of the night). All were tasty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Blue never disappoints! I sent a group ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Blue never disappoints! I sent a group of my foodie colleagues visiting from other states over to Blue last night and they all loved it. Classy place. Robert was our server on Monday, August 1 and was excellent, very attentive.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best scallops ever, and I don't even lik ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Best scallops ever, and I don't even like scallops. Also, the chicken tagine and the wild boar were amazing. The drinks were as delicious as the food. Service was impeccable and the live jazz band was a great addition. All around great experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was excellent and waiter was nice. ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Food was excellent and waiter was nice. Love the Atmosphere!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service/Atmosphere- Our server was not g ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Service/Atmosphere-

Our server was not great to say the least. He was so inattentive that another server in the same section payed more attention checking on us. We went during restaurant week so they opened up an extra room in the veryyy back so we were unable to experience the live jazz band or true ambiance of the restaurant but when we walked in the small experience we had walking to our table was nice.

Parking-

We had a reservation and arrived on time however the parking deck almost made that impossible. The parking is terrible!!! The first five floors were taken up completely by reserved spaces which was odd that they weren't able to be used during non-business hours.

Food-

The dish I had as an entree was absolutely incredible but my date was not pleased with his. I would definitely recommend the appetizers and the cheese plates. We had two desserts, cheesecake and sticky toffee pudding. The cheese cake was average but the toffee pudding was out of this world. It was also very apparent that the chef really incorporates citrus into the dishes as almost all of them had some sort of citrus garnish or citrus focus of the entire dish.

Overall-

I would recommend this restaurant as a nice bar atmosphere and would like to try it again outside of restaurant week. The live jazz band was a really nice touch. It's a little difficult to find from the parking deck through Hearst tower so I would recommend arriving at least fifteen minutes early (especially on the weekend). I also think it would be a nice touch if they mentioned if they validated parking or not.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Food was delicious! Lovely atmosphere a ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Food was delicious! Lovely atmosphere and right in the center of Charlotte.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Fantastic food, service and ambience wit ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Fantastic food, service and ambience with the live jazz music!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Perfectly prepared food as always

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Perfectly prepared food as always

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Great food as always....I love the new m ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Great food as always....I love the new menu items but was surprise to see gratuity already included with a table of 3.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Waiter was charming and accommodating. I ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Waiter was charming and accommodating. I didn't realize my main course had pepperonis in it. Which I hate. He remade it. The deserts were the best I've ever eaten! Tirumsu Cheesecake and pudding. OMG!!!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Our "medium" steaks were dripping red ra ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Our "medium" steaks were dripping red rare. Charging extra for sides was pretentious and not worth the price. We did, however, receive a free delicious dessert for our anniversary. We probably won't go there again. Although the free dessert was very nice, we felt the value did not equal the price.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

I thought the kalamata olive butter was ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

I thought the kalamata olive butter was really different and my favorite part of the meal was definitely the tiramisu cheesecake. I went for Restaurant Week and wish they would have had steak on there, but I got the Salmon and it was very delicious.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The service was great, the food was lack ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

The service was great, the food was lacking. Lump crab soup had no crab and the pork was under cooked. Both of our meals were recooked because they were undercooked. The bread pudding was amazing but the cheesecake tasted like it was fresh from the freezer. Little taste. Il come back for drinks and the good service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5

My husband and I dined during Queen's Fe ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

My husband and I dined during Queen's Feast, which would reduce the price for our meals, including dessert. The food, service and ambiance were wonderful. Even though I am lactose intolerant, they easily accommodated my needs. We will definitely return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was excellent; professional, ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

The service was excellent; professional, friendly, good recommendations, just the right amount of attention. Apps, soups, and salads were all great. Pork Milanese was excellent. Salmon was good, but on the salty side. The Orchiette Pasta with Shrimp and Pesto was just OK. Pasta itself was good - nice firmness and flavor. Pesto was on the strong side, and just had a very spicy taste, rather than a rich pesto flavor. Shrimp seemed to have been frozen: small, soft, not much flavor. Desserts were all really good. I'd recommend Blue, as it's every bit as good as many uptown restaurants we've been to; just maybe not quite up there with the elite.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

very nice restaurant, great service, Hos ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

very nice restaurant, great service, Host was friendly, waitters were great. quiet atmosphere.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Big city dining in our lovely little Cha ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Big city dining in our lovely little Charlotte....................

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our waiter was good. The Sweet corn soup ...

vip
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Our waiter was good. The Sweet corn soup with crab was delicious. The pork dish was good. The citrus polenta cake was very disappointing. It is rare that I do not eat all my dessert, but I left almost half of it. The cake portion was DRY.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

David was our server and he did an excel ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

David was our server and he did an excellent job. I highly recommend him.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Nice restaurant I just like it!!!!! I fi ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Nice restaurant I just like it!!!!! I first came there on my 50th birthday and I have been coming ever since.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service was excellent at Bl ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The food and service was excellent at Blue. I believe our server's name was Gordon, and he was wonderful. He engaged us with witty, humorous, and laugh-out-load conversation. We will definitely be back at Blue very soon, and we'll surely recommend Blue to others.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Always fantastic and never a letdown. Hi ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Always fantastic and never a letdown. Highly recommend the wild boar!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

One of the best meals we've ever had. Th ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

One of the best meals we've ever had. The server was wonderful and provided excellent recommendations. From appetizers to dessert the meal was worth every penny.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We have been there twice and have tried ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

We have been there twice and have tried the bison steak, wild boar, sea bass and halibut. All have been awesome with tremendous flavors The lobster and scallop appetizers are great also, and the fresh baked breads with the olive butter kicks it off nicely.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Chef Gene B and Owner Alex M are awesome ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Chef Gene B and Owner Alex M are awesome.. The food is amazing and creative!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My husband and I dined at Blu last week ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

My husband and I dined at Blu last week for our anniversary and it did not disappoint! Everything was amazing, the scallops, the boar duo and the branzino were amazing! All topped off with the sticky toffee pudding and Irish coffees, to die for! Our server, Jose, was amazing and the live jazz really set the mood. Thank you for a great evening!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great restaurant and love Katie as our s ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Great restaurant and love Katie as our server. She's the best. Halibut was off the charts and the scallop app is a must have!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We truly enjoyed ourselves at this resta ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

We truly enjoyed ourselves at this restaurant. The waitress was very knowledgeable and the place is very kept. Enjoyed the food!

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great ambience. Excellent service. Fanta ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Great ambience. Excellent service. Fantastic food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good food. Not a huge menu though...A bi ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Good food. Not a huge menu though...A bit overpriced for the taste. Best to use a coupon or groupon.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value5

My new FAVORITE restaurant in Charlotte, ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

My new FAVORITE restaurant in Charlotte, hands down.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Thought dinner was delicious. The only ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Thought dinner was delicious. The only complaint I have was when I presented a coupon I received from Blue for a free appetizer, the waitress's friendly mood changed towards my fiancé and I and it took an additional 15 minutes to get our checks. I also ordered an espresso with dessert and she brought the espresso out 10 minutes before I got my dessert. The dessert was also unfortunately hard/brittle making it too difficult to eat, so we left it

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Our server was excellent the food was go ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Our server was excellent the food was good the price was too high. Good anniversary date but not a good value

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.