About Blue Restaurant - Charlotte, NC

206 North College St.
Charlotte, NC 28202
View Larger Map

Blue Restaurant is a sophisticated restaurant that offers flavors from around the Mediterranean region. Our multicultural menu will take your taste buds on a whirlwind tour. prepare to experience a Moroccan Tagine, Whole Roasted Mediterranean Sea Bass or a Tenderloin a la Blue. as you travel around the menu, you will be delighted with familiar dishes and excited by others you have yet to explore.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Mediterranean, Vegetarian / Vegan

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Bar: Monday & Tuesday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm
Wednesday & Thursday: 4:00pm - 12:00am
Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 2:00am

Cross Street:
Corner of College and 5th Sts.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(704) 927-2583

Website:
http://www.bluecharlotte.com/

Entertainment:
Live Jazz Wednesday to Saturday evenings

Parking Details:
Free Valet parking; Heart Tower parking garage, ticket validated at Blue for free parking.

Executive Chef:
Gene Briggs

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Dancing, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
Monthly Cooking Classes with Executive Chef Gene Briggs (1st Saturday of each month with holiday exceptions). $44.95 each course paired with wines.

Monthly Food & Wine Pairings $49.95 Five Course Pairing.

Restaurant Photos

Blue Restaurant - Charlotte, NC
Blue Restaurant - Charlotte, NC
Blue Restaurant - Charlotte, NC
Blue Restaurant - Charlotte, NC
Flavors Of The Mediterranean
Platters Of Galette De Crab Et Hammond And Some Damn Calamari
Scottish Salmon
Flat Bread
Tres Leche Cake
Tega Hills Farm Mixed Green Salad
Lemon Drop Martini
Lobster Crabcakes, Risotto Balls, And Seared Scallops
Beef Tenderloin ala Blue
Blue Mediterranean Martini
Duo of Wild Boar
Moroccan Chicken Tagine
Galette de Crab et Homard
Warm Molten Chocolate Cake
Sticky Toffee Pudding Accompanied By, Salted Butter Caramel Sauce Dulce De Leche Gelato And Cocoa Nibs.
Trouts filled with bacon

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Mon - Thu 5:00PM - 6:00PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Private Dining

The Main Private Dining Room seats maximum of 40 guests; The Solarium seats maximum of 24 for dinner and 25 for a cocktail reception; The Wine Room (Semi-private) seats maximum of 16 for dinner and 25 for a cocktail reception.

Blue Restaurant - Charlotte, NC Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
Charlotte
Special Occasion
Charlotte
Notable Wine List
Charlotte
1 More
Special Occasion
Charlotte
Best Restaurants in Uptown ›

special occasion (45)
fit for foodies (34)
romantic (30)
See All
notable wine list (24)
good for groups (19)
hot spot (12)
vibrant bar scene (9)
neighborhood gem (9)
late-night find (8)
great for lunch (3)
great for brunch (2)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1965 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

With the name blue we thought this place ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

With the name blue we thought this place would have some seafood options.. I hardly call 3 "jumbo" scallops on some vegetables a good seafood meal. The food was decent but the cost should be half what they charge. Possibly get some lobster and filet on the menu... Very disappointed.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Absolutely delicious! We had the 6-cour ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Absolutely delicious! We had the 6-course meal picked out by the chef. Our favorites were the scallop, ricotta ravioli, wild boar, jumbo prawn, etc. good for a special occasion because the menu is expensive (fine dining).

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great Dinner at My Favorite Downtown Restaurant

Dined on June 7, 2016

Went for a special occasion - a small retirement party. The bread and butter is fantastic (although it came a little late in the process - after the appetizers and only a little before the main course). The appetizers were excellent - calamari and hummus. I go the wild boar at the recommendation of our waiter. It has two different cuts of pork, and I loved the chop part of the dish, while the shoulder portion was OK. The risotto was excellent. Overall another excellent experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful pre-show dinner! Server was ve ...

vip
Dined on June 7, 2016

Wonderful pre-show dinner! Server was very conscious of time to curtain. I had boar for the first time and loved it. Served gladly shared suggestions and was very honest when asked preferences. I really appreciate that! New fave!

food5
ambience5
service5

We chose this restaurant from OpenTable, ...

Dined on June 3, 2016

We chose this restaurant from OpenTable, when a large group of colleagues were in from out of town. Staff were very flexible and accommodating a group of 12. Our waiter [Dave] was exceptionally attentive. Choice of wines, selections of appetizers, menu adjustments or specials of the day- Dave made all of these part of an ongoing conversation. We were well taken care of! Some one in our group had unique dietary restrictions which were completely accommodated. In fact, the chef came out afterwards to be sure it was acceptable Would highly recommend this restaurant to anyone coming into Charlotte

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food! Great service! Loved th ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Excellent food! Great service! Loved the atmosphere!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

I would not recommend this restaurant. ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

I would not recommend this restaurant. We arrived a few minutes before our scheduled reservation. We were seated immediately. But then we waited 10 minutes before someone came to fill our water glasses. Then we sat for 30 minutes and not a soul came by our table. We were not offered a drink, no one offered to take our order. Finally we got up and left. As we were leaving the hostess who sat us said she hoped we enjoyed our meal. It wasn't until I told her we didn't get to eat that she even made a connection.

food3
ambience4
service5
value1

Went to Mother's Day Brunch. Normally a ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Went to Mother's Day Brunch. Normally a big fan of Blue and go there quite bit for cooking classes and special occasions. While the food was good (brunch) it did not equal what we paid and thus was not a good value. Disappointed in Blue for what we got -- but we still will go back. Chef Gene is amazing.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Pre Symphony

Dined on May 7, 2016

This was a pre symphony dinner. As always, they had a pre-symphony meal on the menu that looked good, but we chose the regular menu instead. Food is always good, the drinks were prepared just right and the service was excellent. Maybe a little pricey but worth it.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Blue Restaurant

Dined on May 6, 2016

We had reservations at 5:15 before a show, and everything was pretty quiet. Service was attentive and quick. Our scallop appetizer was delicious (though a little small at only two scallops), and we enjoyed our entrees.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

I enjoyed celebrating my birthday there ...

Dined on May 4, 2016

I enjoyed celebrating my birthday there for the second year in a row. Slightly troubled by the miscommunication given by the hostess. However, once seated enjoyed our server.

food4
ambience3
service3

We had a nice time, but I feel like the ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

We had a nice time, but I feel like the experience could have been better. If there are two people, remove the extra place settings. If there are holes in the seats, repair them. This place has potential to be incredible, but there are a lot of little things that detract from its possibilities. Very nice food, but be a bit more attentive and you'll be incredibly sophisticated.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great food and service.

Dined on April 29, 2016

We picked Blue as it was very convenient to Time Warner Cable arena in Charlotte, NC. It was our first time dining there. We were a party of 6 and we told the server the time we would need to leave to attend our event. Our server executed a perfectly timed meal. The food and drinks were delicious. We ordered a wide variety (fish, scallops, beef tenderloin, pork chops, chicken and wild boar) and each of us thoroughly enjoyed our entrees. We were paid and out the door right on time. I would definitely recommend Blue in future.

Tags: good for groups, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Food and service. Will definite re ...

Dined on April 28, 2016

Great Food and service. Will definite recommend.

food5
ambience3
service5

This is a hidden gem; locally sourced pr ...

vip
Dined on April 28, 2016

This is a hidden gem; locally sourced provisions means incredibly flavourful dishes. Chef is on point with sides and preparation... Service is 5* in every facet. Can't wait to come back!!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is a fantastic restaurant! I have d ...

Dined on April 24, 2016

This is a fantastic restaurant! I have dined here twice and will be back! There is good quality live jazz on the weekends (maybe during the week too, but I'm not sure). The food is amazing! There are many great choices, including a full menu of vegetarian options--be sure to ask for it if you are vegetarian as it is a separate menu. There are many gluten free modifications as well. The wine parings are great too. I just can't say anything bad about this restaurant. You won't be disappointed.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Loved Blue!

Dined on April 23, 2016

First impression was outstanding! Service and food was great. Would definitely return and recommend to other.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Clean the world

Dined on April 23, 2016

Great food great service, very nice jazz band. Would highly recommend. Will dine again. Try this place you will not be dissapointed .

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Locally owned and operated

vip
Dined on April 9, 2016

Locally owned and operated -- top five in Charlotte. Try the seasonal specials

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent!

vip
Dined on April 8, 2016

Wonderful food-crab cake appetizer was so delicious, ending up ordering 2! All food excellent and service was outstanding. Definitely the best overall in Charlotte (tried others highly recommended)-don't miss.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent Dining Experience

Dined on April 2, 2016

We had a party of six to celebrate a birthday. The food and wine selection were superb! The appetizers were very good, main entrees were excellent only to be outdone by the deserts! Fantastic experiecne

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Great food, Quiet place & expensive

Dined on April 1, 2016

We went to Blue before a show. The place was pretty dead for a Friday night in downtown Charlotte. We were considering getting a bottle of wine, but neither of us could justify paying a 400% markup on the wines we can get at the grocery store. So my girlfriend had an overpriced martini and I had a couple of decent beers. We ordered the scallops as an appetizer, which were mouth-watering good- literally, but there was only two scallops. I had the beef tenderloins and my girlfriend had the Red Snapper, both were very, very good in taste and in presentation. Overall, Blue is a nice place to go once in awhile for a romantic dinner. It has great food, but its little pricey for what you get.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very flavorful food

Dined on March 16, 2016

Excellent service from Robert, our server in training. The best mussels I've had in NC. The scallops were good too. The pork chop and roasted chicken was very flavorful. Although the sides are a separate purchase, they are well worth it. Good portion size. Loved the free valet parking. Live jazz on Wednesday night was a plus. You can't go wrong with a date or just to enjoy some great food. Very spacious, nice ambiance. Had the bread pudding for dessert and I could not believe how tasty it was. First time I ever finished dessert. Would definitely return.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

The MUSSELS!! Wear a napkin, but they ar ...

Dined on March 11, 2016

The MUSSELS!! Wear a napkin, but they are delicious. My boyfriend and I had the Wild Boar and one other meat entree (I don't think it was lamb). Both were amazing.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

excellent uptown place to eat

vip
Dined on March 9, 2016

it has been awhile since there and we really enjoyed it. The boar was quite good and wine list impressive and wine steward helpful. we had brought our own bottle and he enjoyed talking with us about our choice.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great first experience

vip
Dined on March 4, 2016

We enjoyed every bit of food. Service was a little slow in the beginning, and our server was gracious enough to offer us a free dessert because of it.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4

We had a lovely dinner, prior to going t ...

Dined on March 2, 2016

We had a lovely dinner, prior to going to Belk theatre. The staff was great, made good recommendations. Both our steak and pasta dishes were delicious.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

ALWAYS GOOD

vip
Dined on March 1, 2016

This was our 4th visit to Blue. Out of 4 times, with 4 people, everyone has enjoyed the meals there. We have tried different dishes each time and have always left happy and full!!!

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

True Blue - Charlotte's Best

Dined on February 20, 2016

Blue is outstanding. Food, service and atmosphere are always excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Enjoyed our meal

Dined on February 19, 2016

The service and experience at Blue met our expectations. The food was excellent from the calamari, lobster and crab cakes to the short ribs. They appeared to be poorly stocked on their wines. After having one glass they were out and appeared to be out of our 2nd and 3rd choices as well. It didn't ruin the dining experience for me and my colleague but would have been a problem if we had been entertaining clients. I'll definitely dine there again.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service, great food!!

Dined on February 16, 2016

Blue Restaurant is a top-notch restaurant with outstanding menu choice and service in a ideal location close to Bluementhal Theatre. Excellent addition to the cuisine in Charlotte!

Tags: late-night find, hot spot
food1
ambience4
service3
value3

Bad food. My wife is vegetarian and the ...

Dined on February 15, 2016

Bad food. My wife is vegetarian and the food here is pathetic for vegetarians

food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Five star prices for three star food.

Dined on February 14, 2016

Went for Valentines Day. Most restaurants prepare expecting the busy evening. By the slow service and just a little above average food, it does not appear they prepared well. This restaurant offers complimentary valet due to no parking located nearby. After dropping about $180 on a dinner for two we had to wait 35 minutes for our vehicle. The service was very disorganized as eight customers who had given their ticket after us were returned their vehicle before us. Only after I pointed this out to was my car returned. It approximately 30 degrees that evening making for a very cold 35 minute wait by their front door. When we were in our vehicle headed home my wife called the restaurant requesting to speak with the manager. She was refused. Nice touch!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Happy Valentine's Day at the Blue!

Dined on February 14, 2016

The atmosphere was charged with love and romance for Valentine's Day. The food was delicious as always at the Blue. The sea bass, the calamari and the Greek yogurt cheesecake were all pleasing to the pallet! Our server was very attentive and made our dining experience very enjoyable.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4

Very good food. They honored all of my r ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

Very good food. They honored all of my requests! Server was nice. Thanks for a great valentines day!

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Romantic Valentines night out

Dined on February 14, 2016

My wife and I truly enjoyed our night out for Valentines. We utilized the complimentary valet service, which was really convenient. We'll definitely be back for their pan seared sea bass!

Tags: romantic
food4
ambience3
service3

Good food, but prices are a bit high for ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

Good food, but prices are a bit high for what you get. For example, I ordered the Osso Buco, which, traditionally, is veal shank, but they served pork shank (a cheaper version) over ravioli (which is also very cheap to make) at Blue. Even though it was a cheaper cut of meat it was still higher than any other Osso Buco that I've ordered. Good experience, but I'd try other restaurants uptown before I return.

food2
ambience3
service5
value3

The Hype Is Better Than The Food

Dined on February 14, 2016

We anticipated our Valentine's Day visit to Blue but it was definitely not what we expected. The service and atmosphere is wonderful but the food just wasn't good. I had the NY strip and parmesan mashed potatoes, I requested the steak to be medium, it came rare. You would expect a restuarant of this caliber to know how to cook a steak but at least the potatoes were delicious. My husband had the wild Boar, it was ok nothing to be praised. In conclusion we would not return or recommend.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Acoustics great for hearing impaired diners.

Dined on February 14, 2016

My cousin, an older gentleman, wears hearing aids. Loud music and background noise make it impossible for him to hear. Blue's acoustic design keeps the noise down, and my cousin can enjoy the conversation. Blue is the only restaurant we have found that is designed well! Thank you. We keep coming back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service4

The food was good but not great. We have ...

vip
Dined on February 13, 2016

The food was good but not great. We have been many times and we thought our past experiences were much better.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.