About Blue Restaurant - Charlotte, NC

206 North College St.
Charlotte, NC 28202
View Larger Map

Blue Restaurant is a sophisticated restaurant that offers flavors from around the Mediterranean region. Our multicultural menu will take your taste buds on a whirlwind tour. prepare to experience a Moroccan Tagine, Whole Roasted Mediterranean Sea Bass or a Tenderloin a la Blue. as you travel around the menu, you will be delighted with familiar dishes and excited by others you have yet to explore.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Mediterranean, Vegetarian / Vegan

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Bar: Monday & Tuesday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm
Wednesday & Thursday: 4:00pm - 12:00am
Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 2:00am

Cross Street:
Corner of College and 5th Sts.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(704) 927-2583

Website:
http://www.bluecharlotte.com/

Entertainment:
Live Jazz Wednesday to Saturday evenings

Parking Details:
Free Valet parking; Heart Tower parking garage, ticket validated at Blue for free parking.

Executive Chef:
Gene Briggs

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Dancing, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Monthly Cooking Classes with Executive Chef Gene Briggs (1st Saturday of each month with holiday exceptions). $44.95 each course paired with wines.

Monthly Food & Wine Pairings $49.95 Five Course Pairing.

Restaurant Photos

Blue Restaurant - Charlotte, NC, Charlotte, NC
Blue Restaurant - Charlotte, NC, Charlotte, NC
Blue Restaurant - Charlotte, NC, Charlotte, NC
Blue Restaurant - Charlotte, NC, Charlotte, NC
Scottish Salmon - Blue Restaurant - Charlotte, NC, Charlotte, NC
Platters Of Galette De Crab Et Hammond And Some Damn Calamari - Blue Restaurant - Charlotte, NC, Charlotte, NC
Flavors Of The Mediterranean - Blue Restaurant - Charlotte, NC, Charlotte, NC
Lobster Crabcakes, Risotto Balls, And Seared Scallops - Blue Restaurant - Charlotte, NC, Charlotte, NC
Lemon Drop Martini - Blue Restaurant - Charlotte, NC, Charlotte, NC
Beef Tenderloin ala Blue - Blue Restaurant - Charlotte, NC, Charlotte, NC
Blue Mediterranean Martini - Blue Restaurant - Charlotte, NC, Charlotte, NC
Duo of Wild Boar - Blue Restaurant - Charlotte, NC, Charlotte, NC
Flat Bread - Blue Restaurant - Charlotte, NC, Charlotte, NC
Tega Hills Farm Mixed Green Salad - Blue Restaurant - Charlotte, NC, Charlotte, NC
Tres Leche Cake - Blue Restaurant - Charlotte, NC, Charlotte, NC
Moroccan Chicken Tagine - Blue Restaurant - Charlotte, NC, Charlotte, NC
Galette de Crab et Homard - Blue Restaurant - Charlotte, NC, Charlotte, NC
Warm Molten Chocolate Cake - Blue Restaurant - Charlotte, NC, Charlotte, NC
Trouts filled with bacon - Blue Restaurant - Charlotte, NC, Charlotte, NC
Sticky Toffee Pudding Accompanied By, Salted Butter Caramel Sauce Dulce De Leche Gelato And Cocoa Nibs. - Blue Restaurant - Charlotte, NC, Charlotte, NC

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 24, 2016

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 24, 2016

Details

Join us for our Christmas Eve Dinner and Holiday Music Show
Regular Menu offered along with Christmas Eve Dinner Specials
Reservations 5-9pm - Live Holiday Music Show from 6-9pm

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Details

Join us as we bring in 2017 with dinner and live music celebration.
Reservations from 5pm - 11:30pm
Midnight Champagne Toast with Party Favor Live Music from 9pm -2am

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon - Thu 5:00PM - 6:00PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Private Dining

The Main Private Dining Room seats maximum of 40 guests; The Solarium seats maximum of 24 for dinner and 25 for a cocktail reception; The Wine Room (Semi-private) seats maximum of 16 for dinner and 25 for a cocktail reception.

Blue Restaurant - Charlotte, NC Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Charlotte
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Charlotte
Best Restaurants in Uptown ›

Special Occasion (43)
Romantic (31)
Good for a Date (30)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (26)
Notable Wine List (21)
Business Meals (21)
Fit for Foodies (20)
Creative Cuisine (20)
Good for Birthdays (18)
Pre/post Theatre (18)
Modern Decor (17)
Live Music (17)
Quiet Conversation (14)
Worth the Drive (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Good for Groups (10)
Tasting Menu (10)
Authentic (7)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Hot Spot (7)
Bar Seating (7)
Seasonal (5)
Cozy (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Outstanding Value (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Fun (4)
Casual (3)
Scenic View (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Great Beer (2)
People Watching (2)
Tapas (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Healthy (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Private Room (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Spicy (1)
Family Style (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Historic (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
2071 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The attention to detail is outstanding. ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 2 days ago

The attention to detail is outstanding. My wife and I each had the pan seared grouper. The flavors were a perfect blend of sweetness and spiciness. It's hard to explain. You just have to try it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We went to celebrate a birthday. Jazz w ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined 5 days ago

We went to celebrate a birthday. Jazz was to begin at 8:30 but didn't start until after 9:15 which was disappointing. One meal was delicious while one in our party had an over salted undercooked duck that was terrible. The waiter needed to be reminded twice when we needed more coffee and more bread. The art work on the walls was atrocious and distracting from the ambiance of the restaurant. Desserts were very disappointing in flavor.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Excellent location for a business meal. ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 7 days ago

Excellent location for a business meal. Fairly empty on a Wednesday evening (and seems to be quiet most weeknights I have dined there). Excellent food and knowledgeable wait staff.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Odd to be eating at a quality restaurant ...

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on November 28, 2016

Odd to be eating at a quality restaurant where only four tables were occupied. A vast, empty establishment. That said, the food was excellent and I highly recommend the tagine. The service was good, though a little over the top. And women should never be addressed as "Dear."

Tags: Modern Decor, Gluten Free Options, Live Music, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service3
value4

We made a commitment to patronize Blue's ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 27, 2016

We made a commitment to patronize Blue's more often in 2016 and unfortunately our busy schedule got in our way however we do have plans on dinning there on Xmas Eve as we always do. Our dinning experience on Saturday could not of been better. The service from arrival to departure was outstanding and the quality of the food and it presentation left little to be desired. My wife had the filet which has to be one of the best in Charlotte and I tried the Wild Boar which was a true delight. Our server was warm and friendly and well informed as he described the various dishes and how they were prepared and served. We look forward to going again later in the month and once again commit ourselves to putting this on our bi-monthly to go list.

Tags: Quick Bite, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The wild boar was delicious, and the sea ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 26, 2016

The wild boar was delicious, and the seasonal grouper dish was out of this world. But the high point of the night was our server David. A++

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

When I spend over $100 on a meal for two ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 26, 2016

When I spend over $100 on a meal for two people, I don't expect to have dirty dishes from my appetizer on my table when we finish our entrees. I also expect for our server to check on us at least once during the main course. Had our server checked on us properly we would've actually spent a good bit more in drinks and dessert. Will not recommend and will most likely not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

Great service!

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It was a wonderful dining experience! O ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 20, 2016

It was a wonderful dining experience! Our waiter David was awesome and the music was great !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Incredible food and service...my out of ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Incredible food and service...my out of town guests were very impressed!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Blue is our favorite restaurant in town ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Blue is our favorite restaurant in town because of its consistent outstanding food and service. The live jazz every Thursday night provides the outstanding finishing touch. We keep going back because we always know we can rely on a fabulous dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The wild boar was to die for! The crab ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 15, 2016

The wild boar was to die for! The crab lobster cakes are always amazing and the foie gras was just too decadent. Pair all that with a delicious Amarone and you have a perfect evening. Can't wait to return.

Tags: Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was great and the service was o ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 13, 2016

The food was great and the service was outstanding. Whenever I come back to Charlotte, N.C., will definitely make reservations

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

It's Blue, everything you have come to ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 11, 2016

It's Blue, everything you have come to know and expect. Will definitely be back!

Tags: Late-night Find, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and service

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Excellent food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Had a board dinner here. Gave us s priva ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Had a board dinner here. Gave us s private section for privacy. Made a minor mistake on the wine we ordered bcos It was unavailable. But we all loved the wine! Still they took off the cost of 1/3 wine bottles we ordered. Super nice!

After that we hung around w a group for drinks till almost closing time. Bar tender was fantastic as well...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Appetizer was good but unimpressive. Din ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Appetizer was good but unimpressive. Dinner was outstanding- I had the grouper and my husband had the duck. Probably the best piece of fish I ever had. They were busy that night which left the staff a bit frazzled. There were a couple times that the waiter was talking to us and interrupted our conversation to talk to another waiter about logistics. Attention to detail on a whole was a little poor- the table cloth had a stain on it, the booth we were sitting in had wallpaper that was peeling. But again the dinner and drinks were great.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

Best restaurant in Charlotte. Ordered th ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Best restaurant in Charlotte. Ordered the grilled scallops and porc medallions.... delicious. The service was perfect. The owner greeted us and explained the history and menu. Personalized service which makes you feel special and valued. Lovely atmosphere, private, clean, high end. Can't wait to return timing it with live jazz.

Tags: Business Meals, Hot Spot, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is always good at Blue. They we ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 9, 2016

The food is always good at Blue. They were very busy on this occasion and unfortunately, we had a tight schedule to make a performance at the Belk theater. We told the waiter who informed us that the timing should not be an issue. He made three trips to our table to take an order for water, an order for wine and an order for food. This took 40 minutes of our 75 minute window to eat. The entrees arrived 15 minutes before we needed to leave. Desserts were picked up after the theater performance was completed. To have a comfortable and relaxing meal, one should allow 1.5 to 2 hours. We have eaten before theater several times and this is the first time we have not had enough time to enjoy the meal.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

This is our go to restaurant. Very cons ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 9, 2016

This is our go to restaurant. Very consistent in taste and service. We live thirty minutes away and don't mind the drive and we wait until valet parking so we don't have to deal with parking up town.

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We reserved for 5:30 because we were att ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 9, 2016

We reserved for 5:30 because we were attending a 7:30 play at Blumenthal - noted on reservation and told to server. We ordered drinks and appetizers at about 5:50 (one late arrival) and were served promptly. Then we ordered our entrees and watched all nearby tables being served around us. We were told once by a staff person that our entrees would be out soon. Our entrees arrived at 7:00, and we were told the problem was the one chicken entree taking longer to prepare. Why were we not told about this when we ordered? We had to eat quickly and barely made it to the theater.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value3

Great restaurant! Wonderful food! I rea ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Great restaurant! Wonderful food! I really enjoyed the ambience

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We chose this place for the music. Band ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 5, 2016

We chose this place for the music. Band was 15 minutes late, then put on hold for a 30 minute fundraiser speech. Service was slow and food was okay (but not worth the price). We had no appetizer or dessert and were still there more than an hour, which would have been fine had we been able to hear more than 5 songs. It took about 10 minutes to get a glass of tea, and another 5 to get wine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

Treat myself for belated bday. No desser ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Treat myself for belated bday. No dessert

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

Our waiter David was actually the best p ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Our waiter David was actually the best part of the entire meal. He had so much fun with us and we left still laughing at his jokes. If I come back, it will definitely be because of his great service.

Tags: Vegan, Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was beyond our expectations! The me ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 30, 2016

This was beyond our expectations! The menu was extremely diverse and interesting. Food and service was outstanding. Beautiful decor and fabulous location. We can't wait to go back.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Historic, Scenic View, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We really enjoyed the evening, great dri ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 30, 2016

We really enjoyed the evening, great drinks, service was very attentive. The food was exactly how it was described and had exceptional flavor. We would definitely return. Especially enjoyed the appetizers-scallops and the sea bass the most.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Healthy, Hot Spot, Modern Decor, Outstanding Value, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We loved this restaurant! The menu was ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 29, 2016

We loved this restaurant! The menu was creative, and everything we ordered was fabulous.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and some different taste ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Excellent food and some different taste combinations. Most enjoyable celebration!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My favorite restaurant in Charlotte. I ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 26, 2016

My favorite restaurant in Charlotte. I go as often as I can and always take out of town guests. Food is always fantastic. Love the atmosphere and you can hold a conversation. Love it!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Modern Decor, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is a nice 'upper scale' restaurant ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 22, 2016

This is a nice 'upper scale' restaurant in the heart of uptown. The four of us ordered the duck confit, steak and chicken tagine. Duck was too salty - we were looking for ham in the dish. Tagine was bland and a bit too watery. Steak was done well. The sticky toffee pudding was outstanding! You may be better off ordering according to others' food reviews. Our server was pleasant and knowledgeable about the menu. He Was less conversant on the wine list.

Tags: Live Music, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent evening. We were a party of 2 ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Excellent evening. We were a party of 2 and I thought it may have been overwhelming for a small party. Excellent food, atmosphere and wonderful waiter

Tags: Good for a Date, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant has it all-great food in ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 22, 2016

This restaurant has it all-great food in a stylish and sophisticated atmosphere. Our service

was excellent and our server made every effort to accommodate our particular food questions and issues-no easy feat! The craft cocktails were great and our birthday person received a free dessert for this. The decor of the restaurant is very appealing with seating on several levels and well worth driving downtown to enjoy Blue. We hope to go back again.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had been here twice before and liked ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 22, 2016

We had been here twice before and liked it very much. This time we were very disappointed. We were at the bar first, and the bartender barely spoke to us - never even smiled. Our waitress acted like she was in a hurry to take our order, gave a very short description of the special (after listening to another server I found out more about the dish), and never checked on us during the meal. I had grouper with cannelloni and the grouper was good, but the cannelloni were lukewarm and lacking flavor. However, the sticky toffee pudding was delicious. My husband's steak and risotto were good, but the risotto was also lukewarm. It was a disappointing experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

The GM Robbie was amazing! His hospitali ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 21, 2016

The GM Robbie was amazing! His hospitality was above an beyond we can't wait to go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food and service. Priced hig ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Excellent food and service. Priced high but worth the experience. The Boar was out of this world! The live Jazz music is a nice fit for the Blue Restaurant.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had dinner at 6:00 on a Tuesday before a ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 18, 2016

Had dinner at 6:00 on a Tuesday before a 7:30 show at Spirit Square. The waiter was very helpful with the menu. He asked if we were seeing a show after dinner and indicated they could easily accommodate our schedule, which I thought was a nice touch.

Ordered the "Flavors of the Mediterranean" as an appetizer, which arrived about 5 minutes before our entrees. The hummus and baba ghanoush were good, but the tapenade was so salty that is was almost inedible.

Wife ordered the pan seared beef tenderloin (cooked medium) and had to send it back because it came out medium-rare at best. Otherwise it was excellent. I ordered the pomegranate glazed duck breast and confit leg. The breast was excellent, but the confit was a bit salty for my taste (yes, I realize that the meat is salted as part of the confit preservation/cooking process).

Overall I would say that I've had meals that were just as good or better at a fraction of the cost. This is a restaurant that is best for power lunches and business dinners (i.e. billed to corporate expense accounts).

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

The food was excellent, the atmosphere w ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 14, 2016

The food was excellent, the atmosphere with the background live jazz was terrific, and our server, David, was amazing! It all made for a great night out!

Tags: Disabled Access, Good for a Date, Live Music, Handcrafted Cocktails, Outstanding Value, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was horrible. Couldn't get a dri ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Service was horrible. Couldn't get a drink. He brought bread after we were finished eating. Couldn't get our check even though he knew we were going to an 8:00 show. Butternut squash soup tasted like it came from a can.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

The tasting menu with the wine pairing w ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 1, 2016

The tasting menu with the wine pairing was awesome.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good Vegetarian Options, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.