About Blue Point Coastal Cuisine

565 Fifth Avenue
San Diego, CA 92101
View Larger Map

Blue Point is a 1940's style New York supper club featuring an extensive wine list, craft cocktails, local beers and the freshest seafood from our innovative Executive Chef. The dining room is lined with cherry wood and the sounds of Frank Sinatra are a mainstay.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steak, Californian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Group Lunches Only.

Dinner: Open at 5pm Daily.

Closed most holidays so please call ahead.

Cross Street:
Market St.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(619) 233-6623

Website:
http://www.cohnrestaurants.com/bluepoint

Catering:
We will gladly cater to the needs of any guest or private party. Our team will work with you to provide an exceptional culinary experience.

Parking Details:
Valet and private paid lots.

Public Transit:
MTS bus along Market Street
Trolley Stop on 5th & C Sts.

Executive Chef:
Samuel Geffroy

Private Party Facilities:
Please contact us for details.

Private Party Contact:
Reservations: 6192336623x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Delivery, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Inquire on the web at dinecrg.com/group-events

Restaurant Photos

Blue Point Coastal Cuisine, San Diego, CA
Blue Point Coastal Cuisine, San Diego, CA
Blue Point Coastal Cuisine, San Diego, CA
Blue Point Coastal Cuisine, San Diego, CA
Blue Point Coastal Cuisine, San Diego, CA
Tuna Tartar - Blue Point Coastal Cuisine, San Diego, CA
Seared Scallops - Blue Point Coastal Cuisine, San Diego, CA
Oysters - Blue Point Coastal Cuisine, San Diego, CA
Chicken - Blue Point Coastal Cuisine, San Diego, CA
Soft Shell Crab - Blue Point Coastal Cuisine, San Diego, CA
Bignets With Coffee Ice Cream - Blue Point Coastal Cuisine, San Diego, CA
Traditional Beignets - Blue Point Coastal Cuisine, San Diego, CA
Blue Point Lobster Bisque - Blue Point Coastal Cuisine, San Diego, CA
Indigo (Specialty Cocktail) - Blue Point Coastal Cuisine, San Diego, CA
Kentucky Root Beer - Blue Point Coastal Cuisine, San Diego, CA
Lobster Crusted Dorado - Blue Point Coastal Cuisine, San Diego, CA
Misoyaki Pacific Sablefish - Blue Point Coastal Cuisine, San Diego, CA
Our Famous Lobster Bisque - Blue Point Coastal Cuisine, San Diego, CA
Crab Stuffed Pacific Flounder - Blue Point Coastal Cuisine, San Diego, CA
Scallops - Blue Point Coastal Cuisine, San Diego, CA
Grilled Wild Salmon - Blue Point Coastal Cuisine, San Diego, CA
Grilled Crab Cake Appetizer  - Blue Point Coastal Cuisine, San Diego, CA
crab cake - Blue Point Coastal Cuisine, San Diego, CA
Oysters Rockefeller - Blue Point Coastal Cuisine, San Diego, CA
Blackened Ono - Blue Point Coastal Cuisine, San Diego, CA
Blue Crab Mac N Cheese - Blue Point Coastal Cuisine, San Diego, CA
Lamb And Mint Sausages With Potato Garlic Pure - Blue Point Coastal Cuisine, San Diego, CA
Creme Brulee - Blue Point Coastal Cuisine, San Diego, CA
Salmon Tar Tar - Blue Point Coastal Cuisine, San Diego, CA
Chocolate Cake - Blue Point Coastal Cuisine, San Diego, CA
Blue Point And Fanny Bay Oysters - Blue Point Coastal Cuisine, San Diego, CA
Oysterfest - Blue Point Coastal Cuisine, San Diego, CA
Crab Stuffed Trout - Blue Point Coastal Cuisine, San Diego, CA
Ruby Rose - Blue Point Coastal Cuisine, San Diego, CA
Calamari - Blue Point Coastal Cuisine, San Diego, CA
Seared Maine Day Boat Scallops - Blue Point Coastal Cuisine, San Diego, CA
Pacific Sea Bass - Blue Point Coastal Cuisine, San Diego, CA
Fried Calamari - Blue Point Coastal Cuisine, San Diego, CA
Duroc Pork Tenderloin - Blue Point Coastal Cuisine, San Diego, CA
Virginia Oysters - Blue Point Coastal Cuisine, San Diego, CA
Rock Fish With Lobster - Blue Point Coastal Cuisine, San Diego, CA
Smoked Trout With Stuffed Crab And Sundries Tomato - Blue Point Coastal Cuisine, San Diego, CA
12 Oz Ny Strip With Garlic Sauteed Shrimp - Blue Point Coastal Cuisine, San Diego, CA
Pei Oysters With Chiptole Sauce. - Blue Point Coastal Cuisine, San Diego, CA
Down The Stretch - Blue Point Coastal Cuisine, San Diego, CA
Seared Faroe Islands Salmon - Blue Point Coastal Cuisine, San Diego, CA
Chicken Breast - Blue Point Coastal Cuisine, San Diego, CA
Lobster Crusted Halibut - Blue Point Coastal Cuisine, San Diego, CA
Native lobster and salmon ravioli, lemongrass and coconut bisque - Blue Point Coastal Cuisine, San Diego, CA
Tempura Oysters - Blue Point Coastal Cuisine, San Diego, CA
Applewood Smoked Oysters - Blue Point Coastal Cuisine, San Diego, CA
Shrimp Cocktail - Blue Point Coastal Cuisine, San Diego, CA
Steamed manila Clams - Blue Point Coastal Cuisine, San Diego, CA
Wedge - Blue Point Coastal Cuisine, San Diego, CA
raw oysters - Blue Point Coastal Cuisine, San Diego, CA
Filet Mignon With Ravioli - Blue Point Coastal Cuisine, San Diego, CA
Diver Scallops - Blue Point Coastal Cuisine, San Diego, CA
Cerviche - Blue Point Coastal Cuisine, San Diego, CA

Specials

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Specials

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Details

Blue Point Coastal Cuisine will be featuring a 4 course menu with an optional wine pairing and select sparkling wines on specials.

Blue Point Coastal Cuisine Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Seafood
San Diego
Seafood
San Diego
Best Restaurants in Downtown / Gaslamp ›

Special Occasion (37)
Fit for Foodies (27)
Good for a Date (25)
See All
Notable Wine List (18)
Good for Anniversaries (17)
People Watching (14)
Romantic (13)
Creative Cuisine (13)
Good for Birthdays (13)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Great for Outdoor Dining (10)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Worth the Drive (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Bar Seating (8)
Business Meals (8)
Fun (7)
Local Ingredients (7)
Good for Groups (7)
Hot Spot (7)
Casual (6)
Scenic View (5)
Authentic (5)
Modern Decor (4)
Healthy (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Cozy (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Historic (3)
Tasting Menu (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Seasonal (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Family Style (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Sort By:
S
1523 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great food. Tried their soup, seafood, v ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Great food. Tried their soup, seafood, vegetables, and steak and they were all fantastic.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mark, our waiter, and the whole staff, g ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Mark, our waiter, and the whole staff, gave us an amazing meal (Lobster!) for our anniversary. Love this place. If only parking was easier in the gaslamp....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was an excellent dining experience ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 16, 2016

This was an excellent dining experience and the waitstaff added to the positive ambiance. The sea and land dish with lobster and scallops with a small file was divine!!

Tags: Romantic, Molecular Gastronomy, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Been visiting the Blue Point every time ...

 
 (London)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Been visiting the Blue Point every time we come through San Diego for many years, characterful and interesting, consisntly high standards for sea food and steaks. Informed and characterful staff, excellent wine list. A real star that sustains its standards.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

The food and service are the stars at Bl ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 11, 2016

The food and service are the stars at Blue Point Coastal. We were seated immediately for our reservation and attended efficiently and unobtrusively by both waiter and assistant throughout the meal. Though the restaurant was busy, it was easy to talk in our booth as background sound was much quieter than the average in San Diego's Gaslamp District.

All of our selections were available, served as we requested and delicious. Special kudos for the tempura squash blossoms, the lobster bisque and the Scottish salmon.

There is a full bar, which we did not require. The wine selection is ample and the by-the -glass options wide ranging and well chosen.

All in all we had a lovely evening. But this level of quality does not come cheap. For us, definitely worth it. I encourage you to see for yourself.

Tags: Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

One of the better places I have tried in ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 8, 2016

One of the better places I have tried in the Gaslamp neighborhood. Great seafood - I was with a party of 3 and we ordered the mussels, salmon, scallops, and swordfish and all thoroughly enjoyed our meals. Wine selection was great, as was the service.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We enjoyed a marvelous dinner at Blue Po ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 30, 2016

We enjoyed a marvelous dinner at Blue Point, one of my very fave places to dine.

We were cordially greeted, and assured our reservation was ready. The staff was sincerely attendant, with the assistant server, server and manager often stopping by, just to check in and a warm appreciation.

The food was superlative; excellent, as to quality, presentation, amount, preparation, and taste.

We felt cared for and appreciated. Thank you!

Tags: Comfort Food, Disabled Access, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Authentic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We were so disappointed with this dining ...

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 29, 2016

We were so disappointed with this dining experience. The highlight was sitting outside and seeing all of the Halloween costumes rush by on their way to parties and bars. The majority of our meal was comped due to poor service and a meal that came out over cooked and then returned under cooked. In our twenty six years of dining together, this anniversary dinner is one we hope to soon forget. :(

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

We sat on the patio for dinner service. ...

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on October 27, 2016

We sat on the patio for dinner service. For us, it was the perfect balance. The interior of the restaurant could seem a bit subdued and serious while serving perfectly plated cuisine. However, the location is perfect on, from what we could see, the liveliest street in the gas lamp district. Eating lovely food that was meticulously prepared with five star service, but also getting the open air atmosphere and charm of the downtown vibe, made it a comfortable, fun experience that we will not soon forget!

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Dinner was excellent, try the swordfish. ...

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on October 24, 2016

Dinner was excellent, try the swordfish. Staff was friendly and attentive. Definitely will return as often as possible.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The food and service were just fine howe ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 23, 2016

The food and service were just fine however the meal was way over priced for what we received. For the price, I expected the meal to be outstanding. In this price range there are many other options in San Diego that would be a better overall experience. I won't be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value1

Blue Point was OK; however not worth the ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Blue Point was OK; however not worth the cost. I expect my food to be perfect when paying good money. My meal was not hot when delivered.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Great food great service. When we was lo ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 18, 2016

Great food great service. When we was looking for a wine the server made several suggestions. He offered us a taste of what we were leaning towards. We will be back next time in San Diego.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Oysters were delectable

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Oysters were delectable

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Expensive but food and service was excel ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Expensive but food and service was excellent! It had been 20 yrs since I had seen a family member so a lot of catching up. The waitresses was very patient and I never felt like she just wanted get us in and out. Give our waitress an A+...

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Happy Hour was excellent and such a grea ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Happy Hour was excellent and such a great deal! Everything we ordered (oysters, shrimp cocktail, tempura squash blossoms and the wine that we paired it with) was DELICIOUS! We had reservations to have dinner afterwards and it wasn't a problem to continue to eat at the bar (which was quite comfortable and cozy to sit at). Food from the dinner menu was also fantastic. The lobster bisque was very deep and rich in flavor and the beef cheek was amazing - very tender! The service we received was impeccable - the staff was very friendly, attentive and thoughtful. Overall, we had a great dining experience here and would totally recommend it to our friends and family.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food and service in the heart ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Excellent food and service in the heart of Gaslamp District. Very expensive, however. Many entrees were $49 plus tax, gratuity. Dinner for two with two glasses of wine and one martini was $195 so make this a special occasion place unless you are rich or don't care how much things costs.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value1

Food and Service was amazing! Definitel ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 3, 2016

Food and Service was amazing! Definitely will be back!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was an outstanding dining experience. ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 2, 2016

It was an outstanding dining experience. From the master mixers at the bar, wait staff to the great cuisine

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We hate restaurant week, so limit your r ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 1, 2016

We hate restaurant week, so limit your reading of this review to that context. The portions are cut and the staff is harried so what can be a pleasant meal at Blue Point, was not. Stick to the regular menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Fabulous evening, really enjoyed the ser ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Fabulous evening, really enjoyed the service, food and they changed my paring of wine too :)

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was divine especially the octopus! ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Food was divine especially the octopus! The scallops and the halibut were notable too. Excellent meal - I would highly recommend.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food and service was amazing. We wen ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 27, 2016

The food and service was amazing. We went for Restaurant Week so for $40 per person we got an appetizer/salad, entrée and dessert--what a great deal on the food! We can't wait to go again and try other items on the menu. The menu selection was really good as well.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

This happened to be the first night of r ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 26, 2016

This happened to be the first night of restaurant week, and it was total chaos. The bartender was doing the best she could, but obviously they were understaffed and the assistant manager refused to help her. The wait staff were like a bunch of 5 year olds running around at birthday party at Chuck E Cheese. The GM had the night off, and it certainly showed. The food was the only saving grace to the evening, other than it took forever to get out of the kitchen. Extremely disappointing experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

Watermelon salad was sad. Expected grill ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 19, 2016

Watermelon salad was sad. Expected grilled shrimp and grilled watermelon, not a candied sweet mess of pink and undercooked shrimp. Made me ill. Crab cake should be jumbo lump, and the sauce is not exciting. This could be better, but was a big fail.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4

Great service! Food was excellent!!

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Great service! Food was excellent!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and service. our reservation ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 13, 2016

Great food and service. our reservation was at 6:30 and it was pretty quiet in the restaurant at that time but about 7pm it picked up and got busy.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Casual, People Watching, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

For dessert, the macchiato cheesecake is ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 11, 2016

For dessert, the macchiato cheesecake is a must for coffee lovers. The scallops were outrageous! Started with the lobster bisque and the lobster meat was delicious. We sat outside toward the back of the restaurant. Very quiet, romantic and away from everyone. Very pleasant experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was delightful and the servic ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 7, 2016

Everything was delightful and the service was attentive and personal. My guest and I wanted to share an appetizer, share a salad, and share an entree and we were accommodated very well. In fact the portions appeared to be regular size as far as we could tell. The food was exceptional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The crab cake was amazing, although I wa ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 3, 2016

The crab cake was amazing, although I was a little disappointed to see just one piece. Mushroom soup was ok. Overall it felt a little expensive for the quantity, but it tasted great and service was really good. Recommend this place for a special occasion

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

The food and service were phenomenal. An ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 3, 2016

The food and service were phenomenal. And I love their sustainability standards. Very important as our oceans are being overfished!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The scallop dish was amazing, cooked p ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 1, 2016

The scallop dish was amazing, cooked perfectly. The special was great as well. Only complaint on this perfect evening was that the bar was out of Drambuie.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Delicious food! I had the sea bass and i ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 29, 2016

Delicious food! I had the sea bass and it came with a stuffed roasted pepper and mashed potatoes! Oh yum!!

The service was excellent and a delicious margarita too!

Loved it all.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a lovely evening at Blue Point Coast ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 29, 2016

Had a lovely evening at Blue Point Coastal Cuisine. Situated in the Gaslamp Quarter, we had an outdoor table and there's was lots of activity to watch. Wait staff were very friendly and helpful with the wine list - we loved the recommended wine (wish I could remember the name).

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Hot Spot, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Enjoyed every meal that I have had here. ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Enjoyed every meal that I have had here. Top quality seafood; fresh, cooked to perfection. At my table, we had the special of the day (rockfish) - moist, flaky - accompanied with tasty sides that complemented it well. Others had the halibut - also perfectly cooked. A variety of oysters on the half shell were all quite fresh. Started my meal with the Dean Martin double martini - they do this very well. Will definitely keep going back

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best watermelon shrimp EVER! Grand servi ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Best watermelon shrimp EVER! Grand service too:)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Blue Point specializes in seafood beauti ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 25, 2016

Blue Point specializes in seafood beautifully prepared with tastes that regularly bring us back when dining in downtown San Diego. That is especially true during lobster season. The Lobster Risotto was a treat!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Healthy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

My wife and I ate at the Blue Point Coas ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 24, 2016

My wife and I ate at the Blue Point Coastal Cuisine on August 23, 2016. The Blue Point is in San Diego’s Gaslight District and is a reasonable distance from downtown hotels. We decided to walk to the restaurant from the Manchester Hyatt. This restaurant is very special. It has an excellent seafood menu and many steak choices for those who prefer a turf originated selection. We started with cocktails that were suggested by our server, Ryan. They were perfectly mixed and delightful. We also received a compliments-of-the-chef taste of watermelon gazpacho. It was a wonderful surprise, as it was not on the menu. Our server Ryan was very helpful, attentive and entertaining. He certainly added to our great dining experience. We chose a dish from his recommendations and were more than pleased. We both ordered one of the evening’s specials; pan seared swordfish. Delicious! It was lightly blackened and mildly spicy, unlike some over-the-top fiery seafood plates served elsewhere. We asked the sommelier, Nathan, for a white wine recommendation, and went with a Chardonnay suggestion that paired very nicely. We chatted with Nathan for a while and were impressed with his knowledge and his love of pleasing his patrons. We were glad that we opted to save room for desert rather than order an appetizer, although the appetizer selections were very tempting. We were rewarded with one of the best molten chocolate lava cakes I can remember. All in all, this is a restaurant experience you shouldn’t pass up, especially if you are a visitor to the city and may not return for a while. It’s close to the convention center and the Petco ballpark. If you are attending something at either location, this would be a convenient place to have a meal. It’s pricey but a “must do”. We’ll recommend the Blue Point to friends and hope to return when we visit San Diego again.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Special Occasion, People Watching, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We loved everything about our dinner, fr ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 23, 2016

We loved everything about our dinner, from the friendly, helpful and efficient server and his assistant to the food and wine. The Summer Lobster Menu was wonderful. Not only was the food delicious, it was artistically plated. The saffron lobster gnocchi was great and perfectly cooked. The wine pairings were a perfect compliment to the meal.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was very good. The service was ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 21, 2016

The food was very good. The service was top notch. Friendly and knowledgeable staff. The manager visited our table asking how we were enjoying our dining experience and if there was anything we needed or he could do.

Definitely will come back for excellent and fresh seafood.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Casual, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.