About Blue Point Coastal Cuisine

565 Fifth Avenue
San Diego, CA 92101
View Larger Map

Blue Point is a 1940's style New York supper club featuring an extensive wine list, craft cocktails, local beers and the freshest seafood from our innovative Executive Chef. The dining room is lined with cherry wood and the sounds of Frank Sinatra are a mainstay.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steak, Californian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Group Lunches Only.

Dinner: Open at 5pm Daily.

Closed most holidays so please call ahead.

Cross Street:
Market St.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(619) 233-6623

Website:
http://www.cohnrestaurants.com/bluepoint

Catering:
We will gladly cater to the needs of any guest or private party. Our team will work with you to provide an exceptional culinary experience.

Parking Details:
Valet and private paid lots.

Public Transit:
MTS bus along Market Street
Trolley Stop on 5th & C Sts.

Executive Chef:
Samuel Geffroy

Private Party Facilities:
Please contact us for details.

Private Party Contact:
Reservations: 6192336623x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Delivery, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
Inquire on the web at dinecrg.com/group-events

Restaurant Photos

Blue Point Coastal Cuisine
Blue Point Coastal Cuisine
Blue Point Coastal Cuisine
Blue Point Coastal Cuisine
Blue Point Coastal Cuisine
Tuna Tartar
Seared Scallops
Soft Shell Crab
Oysters
Chicken
Bignets With Coffee Ice Cream
Traditional Beignets
Blue Point Lobster Bisque
Indigo (Specialty Cocktail)
Lobster Crusted Dorado
Misoyaki Pacific Sablefish
Kentucky Root Beer
Our Famous Lobster Bisque
Crab Stuffed Pacific Flounder
Scallops
Grilled Wild Salmon
Grilled Crab Cake Appetizer
crab cake
Blackened Ono
Oysters Rockefeller
Blue Crab Mac N Cheese
Lamb And Mint Sausages With Potato Garlic Pure
Creme Brulee
Chocolate Cake
Salmon Tar Tar
Blue Point And Fanny Bay Oysters
Crab Stuffed Trout
Oysterfest
Calamari
Ruby Rose
Seared Maine Day Boat Scallops
Pacific Sea Bass
Fried Calamari
Duroc Pork Tenderloin
Rock Fish With Lobster
Smoked Trout With Stuffed Crab And Sundries Tomato
Virginia Oysters
12 Oz Ny Strip With Garlic Sauteed Shrimp
Pei Oysters With Chiptole Sauce.
Down The Stretch
Seared Faroe Islands Salmon
Native lobster and salmon ravioli, lemongrass and coconut bisque
Lobster Crusted Halibut
Chicken Breast
Applewood Smoked Oysters
Shrimp Cocktail
Steamed manila Clams
Tempura Oysters
Wedge
raw oysters
Diver Scallops
Filet Mignon With Ravioli
Cerviche

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Daily 5:00PM - 6:30PM 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Blue Point Coastal Cuisine Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

special occasion (55)
fit for foodies (55)
romantic (46)
See All
neighborhood gem (26)
notable wine list (22)
hot spot (15)
good for groups (15)
great for outdoor dining (14)
vibrant bar scene (8)
scenic view (4)
kid-friendly (3)
late-night find (3)
great for brunch (2)
Sort By:
Newest
1453 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The staff was terrific. We arrived on t ...

Dined 4 days ago

The staff was terrific. We arrived on time for our reservation and were taken directly to our table. Markus, our waiter, was excellent and recommend the Wild Mushroom Ravioli for a starter. Absolutely wonderful choice. We will be back.

Tags: kid-friendly, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

We've been here several times. The food ...

vip
Dined 6 days ago

We've been here several times. The food is reliably excellent. However, on this occasion (a Wednesday evening, the place was fairly quiet), we were less impressed with one particular aspect of the service -- we felt as though we were being hassled to eat / finish as quickly as possible. So: (1) whenever anyone at the table had finished eating, or looked close to it, the bus boy approached and asked if he could take the plate. In good restaurants, the wait staff waits until EVERYONE has OBVIOUSLY finished before approaching the table to ask if plates can be removed. (2) We'd finished our entrees, and the plates had been whipped away from under our noses. But there were still quite a few fries left in a side dish, and we were casually snacking on those as we sipped our wine. Bus boy approaches: "Are you done with the fries?". Us: "No". Bus boy leaves. About 30 seconds later (no kidding, 30 seconds), waiter approaches. Same damn thing. This happened maybe three times (bus boy then waiter) at 3 minute intervals until we had actually FINISHED the fries, when they grabbed the plate with some alacrity. MANAGER - you need to fix this. Not impressed.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Food and service was great. We were cha ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Food and service was great. We were charged $16 per glass for our wine, even though the menu listed it at $14. Didn't notice until after we left the restaurant.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing oysters!

vip
Dined on June 8, 2016

The oysters are great! The Happy Hour oyster offering is one of the best bargains in SD!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Spendy

Dined on June 5, 2016

The service and server were amazing and the ambiance was great but I'm sad to say the food was just mediocre. I had the Sea Bass Ceviche and it was very bland. My friend enjoyed her scallops. The cocktails were delicious but a bit over-priced for the amount you get.

food5
ambience4
service4

The lobster bisque left a little to be d ...

vip
Dined on June 3, 2016

The lobster bisque left a little to be desired but the Mary's Chicken entree was superb. Honestly I can't believe I ordered chicken at a seafood spot but you really can't go wrong.

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great high-end Gaslamp restaurant

vip
Dined on June 2, 2016

Given the intense restaurant competition in the Gaslamp area, this one really stands out. Food quality is incredible, atmosphere is warm with an upscale, intimate feel. Our server was superb, drinks were creative. Only negative was the entree prices - quite high, but given the high quality of the food and service it was worth it for a special occasion dinner. Definitely will return the next time we're in San Diego.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent

vip
Dined on May 30, 2016

On a house hunting trip in San Diego and decided to try Blue Point Coastal after reading the reviews on Open Table. The place lived up to it's reviews. Great menu, lots of great choices. We settled on Chilean Sea Bass and the signature Octopus & Yellow Fin Tuna. Both were, To, Die, For!!!!!!!!! Service started rough but finished strong, thanks Ryan. Going back in a few weeks for sure.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

Great food....horrific service.

Dined on May 30, 2016

I am a return guest to Blue Point. This time with family friends from out of town. The cocktails and food were amazing as always. My complaint lies in the service...botched the service on $400 worth of wine - Phil needs alot of training!

food5
ambience4
service5

Amazing service! Food presentation was a ...

Dined on May 29, 2016

Amazing service! Food presentation was also fantastic!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed our last meal in San Diego be ...

vip
Dined on May 24, 2016

We enjoyed our last meal in San Diego before our flight home. We had also been there on our first night and enjoyed it so much, we returned. I had the New England clam chowder and a crab cake.Both were tasty. My husband had the pappardelle with shrimp which he enjoyed. He started with the ceviche which was great. Our server,Chris, as well as our server,Ryan (from our first visit) were very attentive and personable. They offered us a delicious dessert of mango sorbet and chocolate cake that was very yummy. The ambiance of the leather booths and Sinatra tunes make for pleasant dining, also. Would return when in the area and would recommend to others.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, hot spot
food2
ambience1
service2

The wait was too long between service co ...

vip
Dined on May 23, 2016

The wait was too long between service course. The food was ok nothing soectacular.

food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Never have been a big fan of Cohn Restau ...

Dined on May 23, 2016

Never have been a big fan of Cohn Restaurants. Over-priced. Came here for my daughters 16th birthday. Weak on flavor. Our ceviche had zero flavor. Bus boy was more attentive than our waiter. The table had duck - average at best; scallops, cooked perfectly; paia has a lot of food in it but is very dry, almost no sauce. Can't really recommend it for anything other than location and ambiance.

food1
ambience2
service4

Food was terrible, never again. I love C ...

vip
Dined on May 22, 2016

Food was terrible, never again. I love Cohen restaurants but this place really missed the mark for me.

food5
ambience5
service5

Raw oysters were delish

Dined on May 22, 2016

Raw oysters were delish

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Salmon Fest

Dined on May 22, 2016

I was looking forward to having the white/ivory salmon; however, it was not available. I decided to have the Pan Roasted Scottish Salmon and enjoyed it immensely. I'm hoping for the white/ivory salmon next time. Additionally, the staff was Bravo Zulu (Navy lingo for "well done).

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We eat at Blue Point every time we trave ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

We eat at Blue Point every time we travel to San Diego, great food and service.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food3
ambience3
service1

8:30 reservations on a Saturday night. R ...

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

8:30 reservations on a Saturday night. Restaurant was out of lobster, seafood tower, shrimp cocktail etc. outrageous!

food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Restaurant great, Don't park there for big events

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

I've eaten here many times, food and service is great. BUT, for the recent Billy Joel concert their valet parking was a mess. Service for dinner was slower than normal with the packed restaurant but the quality was still very good. I had purchased parking in advance thinking that since we were eating there that it would be the most efficient. When we got back from the concert there were 20 people in line and no valets to be found for at least 15 minutes. When one showed up he recommended that we go to the lot where they park the cars to save time, it was a good idea because the valet wait would have been well over an hour. We walked the 2 blocks away to the valet lot inside a hotel structure, it was also swamped. Finally, we got our car. Next time I will park at the convention center and avoid Blue Point parking altogether on special downtown event nights.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Incredible Dining

Dined on May 15, 2016

This was one of the best dinners I have ever had. My Wife and I were downtown for Billy Joel. Island Prime is one of our favorites, so, we decided to try out Blue Point Coastal. Our squash blossom appetizer was amazing. My Sea Bass dish was absolutely delicious and my Wife's Scallops dish was phenomenal as well. Service was impeccable. If you love delectable food and top notch service, go to Blue Point Coastal.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent dining experience

Dined on May 14, 2016

We made a reservation for an early dinner on a Friday night, and were absolutely wowed by the service, ambiance, and food. (Especially since we had started in the bar across the street, Searsucker, and were ignored for the entire 15 minutes we waited there for a drink. Never saw a waitperson and the bartenders were too busy chopping fruit to wait on customers.) We were early for our reservation, but the friendly hostess sat us immediately. We were offered drinks immediately upon being seated, and were able to take our time with them and our salad before ordering dinner. We both had signature drinks--margarita and old fashioned, which were amazing and looked beautiful. The food was incredible--fresh and innovative. I had the pan-seared salmon with lemon ravioli (which was to die for!) and my friend had the surf and turf, which included a perfectly cooked steak, a lobster tail and scallops. All perfectly divine.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was delicious and our server was gr ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Food was delicious and our server was great and handsome!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

No Parking and Too Noisy

Dined on May 8, 2016

Have dined at many Cohn restaurants. This was not one of the best. First, it took me a half hour to park my car and that was at Horton Plaza. Why no valet at a restaurant this expensive. Food at Coasterra was far, far better. Mixed drinks on the small side. Hard ceiling made it very noisy. Need to step it up to compete.

food5
ambience5
service5

Service was outstanding from the time we ...

Dined on May 1, 2016

Service was outstanding from the time we walked in the door.

food5
ambience4
service5
value3

top notch food and service

Dined on May 1, 2016

We chose this restaurant since we like the Cohn chain of restaurants and it's a real gem. The portions were small and pricey but the flavor and service is top's. I recommend this for special occasions and such but for #195 including tip is a little pricey for an everyday restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Comments of dining experience

vip
Dined on May 1, 2016

Enjoy everyone that works there, food was Excellent. Love the place.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another Open Table Adventure

vip
Dined on April 25, 2016

While visiting San Diego we began to talk about dinner after attending a Padres game. With only a two hour window we turned to Open Table and found The Blue Point. As is our custom we took a chance. After a short walk from the stadium we arrived at the location. At first we thought we were very under dressed especially after attending a ball game. When we entered I apologized to the Hostess and Manager who were at the doo. They welcomed us with open arms and quickly dismissed our apology. In fact the gave us a very desirable and visible table. From the point on it only got better. Our waiter, Ryan was great. We hit it off right away. what a great experience from the time we walked in and then left. Go There!!!!!

Tags: good for groups, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service2

A bit pricey for the level of service an ...

Dined on April 24, 2016

A bit pricey for the level of service and food we received. We had to ask for bread twice before it was actually delivered. The waiter didn't seem interested in describing the items on the menu or the specials. We had to wait almost 30 minutes between our salad and when the entrees were delivered. The lobster was overcooked and rubbery. We would've sent it back , but since the wait was so long we didn't want to delay our plans later in the evening

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love this Place!

Dined on April 24, 2016

From the moment you enter, you feel the charm. The staff was welcoming, the waiter superb! Even his back up Reece. The menu was large enough to please anyone and we loved all the selections. Oysters were amazing, and the shrimp cocktail as well. The Seabass, steak, and the specials were all superb. Loved the seating, the booths were intimate but roomy. You really can't go wrong.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Never Disappoints

Dined on April 24, 2016

The Paella is mostly seafood, not mostly rice. The Chilean Sea Bass melted in our mouths. The Lobster Bisque was excellent with sherry, as it should be. Always excellent food. Last night, the service wasn't as good. We don't know why it took so long for a dozen oysters to come out, and for each next course...but it was good company and worth the wait for everything.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5

It was a wonderful meal and we were made ...

Dined on April 22, 2016

It was a wonderful meal and we were made to feel very special on the last night of our honeymoon

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

less-than-expected

Dined on April 22, 2016

The steak was much tougher than I expected, and also not as tasty. Rest of meal was great.

food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Beautiful meal by the ocean

Dined on April 19, 2016

The ambiance here is wonderful. I was in CA for a conference and came here for a meal on the patio during sunset. It was very relaxing and romantic. The wait staff was incredibly attentive and friendly. It was a bit pricey, but I would recommend it if you're not on a budget!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Ridiculously Good!

Dined on April 19, 2016

All the staff were very welcoming. Our server gave us complimentary appetizers, not one but 2! The sea bass was so good. Meat melts in the mouth yet the skin was deliciously crispy! It was also served with something that tasted like a certain kind of but which was so good! The short rib, though familiar and common, was surprisingly not overpowering even with the mashed potatoes. My wife and I licked both plates clean! Because we were so full, we decided to skip the dessert but our server gave us on anyway because he said "just because i can!" It was another complimentary plate! Ridiculously good and unforgettable dining!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Experience

Dined on April 17, 2016

I would highly recommend this place. I make a great effort to comment about great service and food. I don't make an effort if the restaurant is not a great experience. The staff at this restaurant were FANTASTIC. The Lobster Risotto was AWESOME.

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience5
service5

Loved it! Perfect place to dine in the ...

vip
Dined on April 15, 2016

Loved it! Perfect place to dine in the gas lamp district

food5
ambience5
service5

Mark our waiter was AWESOME! I Travel a ...

Dined on April 15, 2016

Mark our waiter was AWESOME! I Travel a lot and this restaurant set it self apart from other restaurants. The food is excellent and the service second to none. Try it and you won't be disappointed.

food2
ambience3
service3

I had a Kale salad which was good. They ...

Dined on April 14, 2016

I had a Kale salad which was good. They had a special I'd Lobster Risotto. The flavor was OK, but the lobster meat was so tough I could barely chew it. Considering the almost $40 cost of the entree and poor quality I cannot recommend this restaurant. Expected better for the money.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The lobster salad was so delicious and t ...

Dined on April 13, 2016

The lobster salad was so delicious and the presentation was wonderful. The teenager had chicken tenders and said they were the best he had ever tasted:flavor excellent and very tender. He only orders chicken tenders when we go out so it is a valid assessment based on 40-50 other restaurants version. Decor, service, food, all exceptional. I would return eagerly.

Tags: romantic
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

Dinner dining experience 4\9\16

Dined on April 10, 2016

Blue Point was one of our favorite restaurants for years. We discovered the place more than 10 years ago. However, we stopped going downtown more than a year ago. On this occasion we had a celebration with friends and I chose Blue Point. The service was poor. I had to ask twice for the bread that was promised early on. the main course took way too long to be served. The dinners (Scallops, NY Strips and a Filet) were just ok, nothing that would bring us back again. In the end, the Crème Brulee\Cheesecake dessert was disappointing. my memory of their awesome traditional Crème Brulee served there in the past is just that, distant memory.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.