About Blue Point Coastal Cuisine

565 Fifth Avenue
San Diego, CA 92101
View Larger Map

Blue Point is a 1940's style New York supper club featuring an extensive wine list, craft cocktails, local beers and the freshest seafood from our innovative Executive Chef. The dining room is lined with cherry wood and the sounds of Frank Sinatra are a mainstay.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steak, Californian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Group Lunches Only.

Dinner: Open at 5pm Daily.

Closed most holidays so please call ahead.

Cross Street:
Market St.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(619) 233-6623

Website:
http://www.cohnrestaurants.com/bluepoint

Catering:
We will gladly cater to the needs of any guest or private party. Our team will work with you to provide an exceptional culinary experience.

Parking Details:
Valet and private paid lots.

Public Transit:
MTS bus along Market Street
Trolley Stop on 5th & C Sts.

Executive Chef:
Samuel Geffroy

Private Party Facilities:
Please contact us for details.

Private Party Contact:
Reservations: 6192336623x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Delivery, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
Inquire on the web at dinecrg.com/group-events

Restaurant Photos

Blue Point Coastal Cuisine
Blue Point Coastal Cuisine
Blue Point Coastal Cuisine
Blue Point Coastal Cuisine
Blue Point Coastal Cuisine
Tuna Tartar
Seared Scallops
Soft Shell Crab
Oysters
Chicken
Bignets With Coffee Ice Cream
Traditional Beignets
Blue Point Lobster Bisque
Indigo (Specialty Cocktail)
Lobster Crusted Dorado
Misoyaki Pacific Sablefish
Kentucky Root Beer
Our Famous Lobster Bisque
Crab Stuffed Pacific Flounder
Scallops
Grilled Wild Salmon
Grilled Crab Cake Appetizer
crab cake
Blackened Ono
Oysters Rockefeller
Blue Crab Mac N Cheese
Lamb And Mint Sausages With Potato Garlic Pure
Creme Brulee
Chocolate Cake
Salmon Tar Tar
Blue Point And Fanny Bay Oysters
Crab Stuffed Trout
Oysterfest
Calamari
Ruby Rose
Seared Maine Day Boat Scallops
Pacific Sea Bass
Fried Calamari
Duroc Pork Tenderloin
Rock Fish With Lobster
Smoked Trout With Stuffed Crab And Sundries Tomato
Virginia Oysters
12 Oz Ny Strip With Garlic Sauteed Shrimp
Pei Oysters With Chiptole Sauce.
Down The Stretch
Seared Faroe Islands Salmon
Native lobster and salmon ravioli, lemongrass and coconut bisque
Lobster Crusted Halibut
Chicken Breast
Applewood Smoked Oysters
Shrimp Cocktail
Steamed manila Clams
Tempura Oysters
Wedge
raw oysters
Diver Scallops
Filet Mignon With Ravioli
Cerviche

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Daily 5:00PM - 6:30PM 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Blue Point Coastal Cuisine Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

special occasion (59)
fit for foodies (53)
romantic (45)
See All
notable wine list (22)
neighborhood gem (19)
great for outdoor dining (16)
good for groups (14)
hot spot (12)
vibrant bar scene (10)
late-night find (3)
scenic view (3)
great for brunch (2)
kid-friendly (2)
Sort By:
Newest
1468 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Service was attentive, shrimp was tough ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 4 days ago

Service was attentive, shrimp was tough and over cooked. Scallop was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

Every year we enjoy going the night befo ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined 6 days ago

Every year we enjoy going the night before ComiCon formally begins, sitting at a sidewalk table and watching the "parade" of costumed people go by while enjoying a delicious dinner. This year we were not disappointed in any respect. Elliott and his assistants were attentive, helpful servers. Each person in our party thoroughly enjoyed their meal. Entrees included sea bass, salmon, and mussels. Valet parking is a big help. We look forward to our next dinner there.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We used to love this restaurant, but our ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

We used to love this restaurant, but our most recent experience there will likely be our last. Bad service, mediocre to inedible food, and poor management are just the tip of the iceberg. We waited half an hour for our drinks, because "the bartender was too busy with happy hour customers;" and after the drinks arrived and we placed our dinner orders, we waited another half hour for our meals to arrive, and when they did the $44 strip steaks were so tough we couldn't eat them. THERE WERE ONLY A FEW DINERS IN THE RESTAURANT AT THE TIME. Best of all, although I informed the restaurant when I booked the reservation that we would be celebrating a special birthday (my husband's 87th), and I reminded the staff of this when we arrived, NO ONE in the restaurant even acknowledged the birthday, let alone offered a birthday pastry as they have done in the past. Also want to provide a general warning that the menu at Blue Point has undergone some significant changes, and our favorites (like swordfish and bone-in ribeye) are no longer available.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1

Nice Sunday seafood feast. 3 orders of b ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Nice Sunday seafood feast. 3 orders of bouillabaisse perfect for 5 of us, along with a few oysters to start!

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

The service and atmosphere were very goo ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

The service and atmosphere were very good. However, my husband and I were both really disappointed with the food especially for the price. We even ordered seafood dishes recommended by the staff, but we were pretty underwhelmed.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

I am usually loathe to write a bad revie ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

I am usually loathe to write a bad review without first giving the restaurant a chance to redeem and/or explain itself. Unfortunately, this is my third (and last) visit to a Cohn Restaurant, and the quality of the food and the standard of service seems to follow an unfortunate trend.

I took my husband to Blue Point for date night and a prix-fixe lobster dinner (with wine pairing) that sounded interesting. The "broiled crab cake and lobster tempura" entrée was not awful, although parts of the crab cake were burnt, and the lobster was the texture of fresh and gooey bubble-gum. The "saffron lobster gnocchi" in a lobster emulsion "á la fine cognac" was surprisingly tasteless, and most of the gnocchi also burned black.

(The waiter did offer to deduct my $20 wine tasting fee, which I accepted, but I'd have preferred a decent entrée.)

For the main course, I had the "grilled lobster, with pan seared asparagus and crispy fingerling potatoes." This turned out to be half of a very small lobster tail (not grilled), and served with a smear of mashed potatoes and an over-abundance of boiled, flabby, tasteless fingerling potatoes.

The Lobster Napoleon with artichoke and asparagus was rather tasty, I will give them that.

We were offered hot towels after the main course. My husband called over a passing manager to point out that the the towels were practically boiling, and they might want to tone it down for other patrons. (We have both worked extensively in the restaurant business.) The manager picked up a towel and declared, "No, these are just fine. No one's ever had a problem with them before you." I cook a lot and have asbestos hands; I could not pick up these towels! I'm fairly certain the manager nursed burnt hands that evening, but he was adamant that we were nuts.

In short, the meal was so bad, and the service so un-serving, that all we could do was laugh. We shan't be back, of course, but the evening was entertaining, in a perverse sort of way.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

Came here après-theatre. This was our s ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Came here après-theatre. This was our second time and the first time for our companions. Everyone enjoyed themselves. The Chiean seabass special was excellent as was the paella. The Martinis were cold and very well made, with a second carafe provided. Be sure to request anchovies with your Caesar salad.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

For the price, I was expecting higher qu ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

For the price, I was expecting higher quality. I had the mushroom ravioli. I love mushrooms, the filling did not taste like mushrooms and the port wine truffle sauce did not taste like truffles. The actual pasta seemed like thick wonton wrappers. My husband had the papardelle and the flavor was ok, but the noodles looked like store bought lasagna noodles that they cut in half. I could've done that at home. Silver lining, the cocktails were solid. Ultimately, the fine dining ambiance, service, and prices but not the fine dining food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value1

Amazing meal and excellent service!

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Amazing meal and excellent service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had never been here before and what a ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

We had never been here before and what a great surprise! The seafood was so fresh and prepared so interestingly. the manage Mr. Wing, stopped by and gave us some really interesting information about the area..The menu had great choices and our server,Jonathan, was fast and professional and just plain a nice person...we so enjoyed the evening that we will drive the distance to go again.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I was so looking forward to eating here ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

I was so looking forward to eating here and could not have been more disappointed! Our reservation was for 8pm. We were greeted politely and sat immediately and then the meal was down hill from there. The service was awful. It was as if our server was interested in helping our table at all. When we ordered we were quickly informed the restaurant was out of lobster and mussels. What...your a seafood restaurant that opened at 5pm and was not crowded at all. Our food took quite some time to come out. Our server never came back to check on us until we have been sitting for about a half hour after our food was finished. Not a good experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

Absolutely superb dinner to celebrate wi ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Absolutely superb dinner to celebrate wife's birthday. Lobster Fest food out of sight.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Stellar service, delectable dining and a ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Stellar service, delectable dining and always dependable across the board.

Love it!!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have eaten at Blue Point many times a ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

We have eaten at Blue Point many times and have never had a bad meal. The food is exceptional and the service adds to the experience - the waiters are helpful, informative and not pushy.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The staff was terrific. We arrived on t ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

The staff was terrific. We arrived on time for our reservation and were taken directly to our table. Markus, our waiter, was excellent and recommend the Wild Mushroom Ravioli for a starter. Absolutely wonderful choice. We will be back.

Tags: kid-friendly, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We've been here several times. The food ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

We've been here several times. The food is reliably excellent. However, on this occasion (a Wednesday evening, the place was fairly quiet), we were less impressed with one particular aspect of the service -- we felt as though we were being hassled to eat / finish as quickly as possible. So: (1) whenever anyone at the table had finished eating, or looked close to it, the bus boy approached and asked if he could take the plate. In good restaurants, the wait staff waits until EVERYONE has OBVIOUSLY finished before approaching the table to ask if plates can be removed. (2) We'd finished our entrees, and the plates had been whipped away from under our noses. But there were still quite a few fries left in a side dish, and we were casually snacking on those as we sipped our wine. Bus boy approaches: "Are you done with the fries?". Us: "No". Bus boy leaves. About 30 seconds later (no kidding, 30 seconds), waiter approaches. Same damn thing. This happened maybe three times (bus boy then waiter) at 3 minute intervals until we had actually FINISHED the fries, when they grabbed the plate with some alacrity. MANAGER - you need to fix this. Not impressed.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Great find during my visit to San Diego. ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Great find during my visit to San Diego.

Food, ambiance, waitstaff... top notch!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Food and service was great. We were cha ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Food and service was great. We were charged $16 per glass for our wine, even though the menu listed it at $14. Didn't notice until after we left the restaurant.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Amazing oysters!

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

The oysters are great! The Happy Hour oyster offering is one of the best bargains in SD!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Spendy

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

The service and server were amazing and the ambiance was great but I'm sad to say the food was just mediocre. I had the Sea Bass Ceviche and it was very bland. My friend enjoyed her scallops. The cocktails were delicious but a bit over-priced for the amount you get.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

The lobster bisque left a little to be d ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

The lobster bisque left a little to be desired but the Mary's Chicken entree was superb. Honestly I can't believe I ordered chicken at a seafood spot but you really can't go wrong.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Great high-end Gaslamp restaurant

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

Given the intense restaurant competition in the Gaslamp area, this one really stands out. Food quality is incredible, atmosphere is warm with an upscale, intimate feel. Our server was superb, drinks were creative. Only negative was the entree prices - quite high, but given the high quality of the food and service it was worth it for a special occasion dinner. Definitely will return the next time we're in San Diego.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Excellent

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

On a house hunting trip in San Diego and decided to try Blue Point Coastal after reading the reviews on Open Table. The place lived up to it's reviews. Great menu, lots of great choices.

We settled on Chilean Sea Bass and the signature Octopus & Yellow Fin Tuna. Both were, To, Die, For!!!!!!!!! Service started rough but finished strong, thanks Ryan. Going back in a few weeks for sure.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food....horrific service.

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

I am a return guest to Blue Point. This time with family friends from out of town. The cocktails and food were amazing as always. My complaint lies in the service...botched the service on $400 worth of wine - Phil needs alot of training!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

Amazing service! Food presentation was a ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Amazing service! Food presentation was also fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We enjoyed our last meal in San Diego be ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

We enjoyed our last meal in San Diego before our flight home. We had also been there on our first night and enjoyed it so much, we returned. I had the New England clam chowder and a crab cake.Both were tasty. My husband had the pappardelle with shrimp which he enjoyed. He started with the ceviche which was great. Our server,Chris, as well as our server,Ryan (from our first visit) were very attentive and personable. They offered us a delicious dessert of mango sorbet and chocolate cake that was very yummy. The ambiance of the leather booths and Sinatra tunes make for pleasant dining, also. Would return when in the area and would recommend to others.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The wait was too long between service co ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 23, 2016

The wait was too long between service course. The food was ok nothing soectacular.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2

Never have been a big fan of Cohn Restau ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 23, 2016

Never have been a big fan of Cohn Restaurants. Over-priced. Came here for my daughters 16th birthday. Weak on flavor. Our ceviche had zero flavor. Bus boy was more attentive than our waiter. The table had duck - average at best; scallops, cooked perfectly; paia has a lot of food in it but is very dry, almost no sauce. Can't really recommend it for anything other than location and ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Food was terrible, never again. I love C ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Food was terrible, never again. I love Cohen restaurants but this place really missed the mark for me.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service4

Raw oysters were delish

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Raw oysters were delish

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Salmon Fest

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

I was looking forward to having the white/ivory salmon; however, it was not available. I decided to have the Pan Roasted Scottish Salmon and enjoyed it immensely. I'm hoping for the white/ivory salmon next time. Additionally, the staff was Bravo Zulu (Navy lingo for "well done).

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We eat at Blue Point every time we trave ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

We eat at Blue Point every time we travel to San Diego, great food and service.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

8:30 reservations on a Saturday night. R ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

8:30 reservations on a Saturday night. Restaurant was out of lobster, seafood tower, shrimp cocktail etc. outrageous!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1

Restaurant great, Don't park there for big events

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

I've eaten here many times, food and service is great. BUT, for the recent Billy Joel concert their valet parking was a mess. Service for dinner was slower than normal with the packed restaurant but the quality was still very good. I had purchased parking in advance thinking that since we were eating there that it would be the most efficient. When we got back from the concert there were 20 people in line and no valets to be found for at least 15 minutes. When one showed up he recommended that we go to the lot where they park the cars to save time, it was a good idea because the valet wait would have been well over an hour. We walked the 2 blocks away to the valet lot inside a hotel structure, it was also swamped. Finally, we got our car. Next time I will park at the convention center and avoid Blue Point parking altogether on special downtown event nights.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Incredible Dining

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

This was one of the best dinners I have ever had. My Wife and I were downtown for Billy Joel. Island Prime is one of our favorites, so, we decided to try out Blue Point Coastal. Our squash blossom appetizer was amazing. My Sea Bass dish was absolutely delicious and my Wife's Scallops dish was phenomenal as well. Service was impeccable. If you love delectable food and top notch service, go to Blue Point Coastal.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent dining experience

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

We made a reservation for an early dinner on a Friday night, and were absolutely wowed by the service, ambiance, and food. (Especially since we had started in the bar across the street, Searsucker, and were ignored for the entire 15 minutes we waited there for a drink. Never saw a waitperson and the bartenders were too busy chopping fruit to wait on customers.) We were early for our reservation, but the friendly hostess sat us immediately. We were offered drinks immediately upon being seated, and were able to take our time with them and our salad before ordering dinner. We both had signature drinks--margarita and old fashioned, which were amazing and looked beautiful. The food was incredible--fresh and innovative. I had the pan-seared salmon with lemon ravioli (which was to die for!) and my friend had the surf and turf, which included a perfectly cooked steak, a lobster tail and scallops. All perfectly divine.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was delicious and our server was gr ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

Food was delicious and our server was great and handsome!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

No Parking and Too Noisy

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Have dined at many Cohn restaurants. This was not one of the best. First, it took me a half hour to park my car and that was at Horton Plaza. Why no valet at a restaurant this expensive. Food at Coasterra was far, far better. Mixed drinks on the small side. Hard ceiling made it very noisy. Need to step it up to compete.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Service was outstanding from the time we ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

Service was outstanding from the time we walked in the door.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

top notch food and service

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

We chose this restaurant since we like the Cohn chain of restaurants and it's a real gem. The portions were small and pricey but the flavor and service is top's. I recommend this for special occasions and such but for #195 including tip is a little pricey for an everyday restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.