About Blue Plate Diner

10145 - 104 Street
Edmonton, AB T5J 0Z9
View Larger Map

Located in the heart of the Warehouse District in downtown Edmonton, the Blue Plate Diner is open for lunch, dinner and also for brunch on weekends. We only serve real food made by real people.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Comfort Food, Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Saturday: 9:00am - 1:00pm, Sunday: 9:00am - 2:00pm; Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 5:00pm, Saturday: 1:00pm - 5:00pm, Sunday: 2:00pm - 5:00pm; Dinner: Daily: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Jasper Avenue

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(780) 429-0740

Website:
http://www.blueplatediner.ca/

Public Transit:
We are located half a block away from the 'Bay' LRT or subway station. Also, there are numerous buses located within one block of restaurant

Executive Chef:
Duane Hicks

Private Party Facilities:
Our open-floor concept makes it easy for your large group to enjoy the wonderful atmosphere of the Blue Plate.

Private Party Contact:
John Williams: 8889241390

Additional:
Beer, Cafe, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun - Thu 5:00PM - 5:30PM

Blue Plate Diner Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

4

ambience

4

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Lunch
Edmonton / Northern Alberta
Neighborhood Gem
Edmonton / Northern Alberta
Great for Lunch
Edmonton
1 More
Neighborhood Gem
Edmonton
Best Restaurants in Edmonton ›

neighborhood gem (58)
fit for foodies (47)
great for lunch (47)
See All
good for groups (39)
great for brunch (32)
special occasion (22)
romantic (15)
kid-friendly (14)
hot spot (9)
late-night find (6)
great for outdoor dining (2)
Sort By:
Newest
1219 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Food was good. Very vegetarian friendly. ...

Dined 6 days ago

Food was good. Very vegetarian friendly. Would be nice if they did some sort of special thing for the person celebrating the birthday we were there for. Even after it being mentioned, nothing was done. Not even a "Happy Birthday" from the waiter.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful and delicious

Dined on May 21, 2016

Wonderful staff, fun and vibrant atmosphere. Great vegetarian options and a great drink menu! A real Edmonton gem that I hope stays popular and around for many many years! The restaurant was fairly busy when we arrived so our reservation was a great idea! The staff kept up great and were very attentive and friendly b

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

First Time

Dined on May 20, 2016

We picked BPD from a "Restaurants close to Winspear" Google list. Didn't take time for the bar. Reservation system worked well. The ribs were great. However, the noise level was more than energetic - could barely hear across the table. I recommend acoustic treatment to bring the noise level down. Otherwise a great experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

We ordered the tuna melt and meatloaf sa ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

We ordered the tuna melt and meatloaf sandwich, if you are hungry go with the meat loaf. I have had the tuna melt in the past but this time very disappointed with the portion size.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent for All Diets!

Dined on May 15, 2016

I found the Blue Plate Diner last year as a spot to go when my niece visits from Lethbridge. A vegan by health-driven necessity and a proud carnivore can't always agree on where to eat. if this is your situation, The Blue Plate Diner is the place for you! my niece has Shepherd's Pie regularly, and I'll take steak or whatever else (currently pork tenderloin) grabs my fancy. If you do dairy, do yourself a huge favour and leave room for the beet cake. Carrot cake has nothing on this dream of a dessert! Great staff, great atmosphere, and we WILL be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

A real delight

Dined on May 9, 2016

We've been to the restaurant several times. Never disappointed. Love the eclectic decor. Great food. Good service.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Mother's Day

Dined on May 8, 2016

We took my wife to the BPD for Mother's Day and it was terrific. The food was above expectations, arrived in good order and was piping hot. We ate every last morsel. The Mimosas were delish as well and I could have had another but for the fear of a DWI!

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Love this Restaurant!

Dined on May 7, 2016

Great! As usual. I would highly recommend Blue Plate

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
food3
ambience4
service4
value1

overall

Dined on May 7, 2016

1) parking next door is more expensive than the food 2) the meatloaf sandwich was dry 3) the mac and cheese is over priced 4) the spring roll is a bit too salty

Tags: neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Always a treat!

Dined on May 2, 2016

Blue Plate Diner is one of those special local bistros that you happen on by chance and enjoy so much you return again and again. The limited menu has many tasty choices. Go for the meat loaf, although this visit the kitchen ran out so I had the lamb shepherd's pie. Staff are always friendly and helpful, but be wary, they are very persuasive convincing you to enjoy a rich dessert too! 104 Street downtown has a number of neat little places to eat or take coffee. Blue Plate Diner os one of the best!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Was a lovely evening! & great food

Dined on May 1, 2016

Was a lovely evening! & great food

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Love the decor, very cozy restaurant. M ...

Dined on May 1, 2016

Love the decor, very cozy restaurant. Menu has good variety. Our waitress was excellent.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Welcoming and great food!

Dined on April 30, 2016

Great food and awesome service! We had several small children in tow and never were made to feel unwelcome. The food was great and the server was patient and helpful!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

What's happened here?

Dined on April 17, 2016

I distinctly recall enjoying coming to the Blue Plate in the past. This last visit has changed my opinion forever. I made a reservation and they seated us at what was clearly a table for 2 with a chair pulled up. The table was so rickety, it was bowing in the middle. It was not a busy night, wouldn't you save that table for last minute diners? It took a while for the waiter to come for our drink order and it took forever to get our drinks. C'mon...there was no blending or muddling involved...what was the hold up? We ordered our appetizers and main. I ordered the salmon roll. They were obvious cooked in oil that was too cold, so they were extra greasy. To call them salmon rolls is a joke...they should have been called carrot rolls. My chickpea paneer was tasty, however I could have knocked someone out with the naan. Mac and Cheese is not enough to keep people coming back. In a service industry, you shouldn't rest on your laurels...you should aim to put out the best every time, every meal, every dining experience. All I know is I won't be returning in the future.

food4
ambience5
service5

We were hungry in downtown so I chose BP ...

vip
Dined on April 16, 2016

We were hungry in downtown so I chose BPD. Overall was good and the place was fun. We ordered the salads, the food was yummy and filling. I think I will return and try the drinks 👍

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Good Food

Dined on April 6, 2016

The food at the Blue Plate Diner was delicious. I particularly enjoyed the nice fresh salad and the tasty beet cake, the coffee was good too. I thought the value for money was good and the service attentive. I wasn't a big fan of the music but the volume was acceptable. All in all a very good experience.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great downtown spot

Dined on April 3, 2016

Great service with a fabulous menu. Options for vegan and gluten free eating. Desserts were amazing!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Great Eats in Edmonton!

Dined on April 2, 2016

I love this restaurant in downtown Edmonton and try to go every time I'm in town. Casual and funky decor, lots of art and colour, very comfortable for a single gal or a big crowd. Food is consistently good and hearty, and wine complements well. All in all a great place!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Friend get together

Dined on March 19, 2016

We had occasion to host friends visiting from BC. Living close by, the Blue Plate is usually our first go to. It's always great food and a great atmosphere. The meal was enjoyed by all. Just a unique place in the heart of the city.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Something for everyone at Blue Plate Diner

Dined on March 13, 2016

This was my first dinner visit to Blue Plate Diner. Chose this restaurant because of the varied food preferences among our party - one vegetarian; one committed carnivore; and two foodies. Blue Plate proved to be a good choice. Our vegetarian had several options from which to choose; our carnivore found your meat servings to be generous; and our foodies found some interesting food ideas. Service was attentive but not over-bearing. We look forward to a return visit.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

In a word: horrible

Dined on March 13, 2016

We had a reservation specifically for Downtown Dining Week and were put at a table in the middle of the aisle. The noise level was so loud, I couldn't even hear my date who was 20" from me. Our server took 10 minutes to make it to our table with the menu, so we ordered our Downtown Dining Week Special 1st and then our wine. The cured sockeye salmon consisted of an ice cream scoop (literally) of lox. Totally underwhelming in both taste and presentation. We then waited 45 minutes (yes, we checked our watches) for a main course of cold overcooked mushy risotto and cold chewy duck. The "chokecherry demi-glace" on the duck tasted suspiciously like plain old BBQ sauce. The dessert of local berries tarts was more crust than tart. And, as if the poor food wasn't bad enough, the service was even worse! Apparently, our server deigned to wait on tables instead of going to the gym because each and every order of drink or wine warranted a separate trip to/from the kitchen. Maybe if he knew how to use a pen and paper, he could have taken more than one table's order at a time. We've never had a more horrendous dining experience, much less for the privilege of paying $50 a person for it. Our recommendation: NEVER EVER EAT HERE.

food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Dining Week

Dined on March 13, 2016

We dined during downtown dining week at the Blue Plate. We had a reservation and arrived about 15 minutes early and were seated right away. It was almost a full house due to the weekly event however the wait times were too long. We waited almost 15 minutes sitting at our table to be greeted by our waiter or place a drink order, and an hour and 20 minutes or so to recieve our meal. The food was delicious, the waiter was very friendly and funny, however that is the longest I have ever waited a restaurant to recieve a meal and it was way too long in my opinion.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience1
service3
value4

Mediocre at best

Dined on March 13, 2016

The food and service were ok but it was VERY loud. If you want an quiet dinner this is not the place to go.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Consistent & Good

Dined on March 11, 2016

As new patrons at Blue Plate, we have now dined twice in 2 weeks and we were very pleased with menu choices (varied); food quality; (& hot); service and overall ambience. The veggie meat loaf & salmon were particularly good. Corn bread is a real winner & enjoyed brussel sprout/cheese starter with pita. Comfortable and good value - we will continue to support. Only suggestion would be to a little for depth and breadth for the red wine selections.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Older woman hostess extremely rude

Dined on March 5, 2016

Older women hostess/server that was rude. She rudely butted in while younger hostess was trying to help. She proceeded to tell me they do not take reservations during peak times despite me making reservations 4 days prior for a table of 8 and it being 1pm, which I didnt think was peak time. She has a complete lack of respect for her co-workers, which is blatantly obvious and uncomfortable to watch. The food was good and our server was nice but I will not return.

food1
ambience4
service1
value2

Disappointment

Dined on March 4, 2016

We chose to eat at this restaurant based on positive reviews we saw in Yelp. Perhaps the evening we were there was an outlier? The food was terrible and service poor. We ordered zucchini fritters -- which were soggy inside and burned on the outside. We ordered the salmon and it was very thin and very dry and chewy. I had requested to hold the rice and add double vegetables on the plate. Yet my request was ignored and no apology made. The ambiance is certainly cool and there are lots of young people there hanging out. The food and drink menu is fun and interesting. Too bad the food and service was a disappointment.

food2
ambience3
service3

I was disappointed. This restaurant is o ...

vip
Dined on March 2, 2016

I was disappointed. This restaurant is overrated. I can give only 2-3 stars to it. A staff said their one of the most popular menu was 'meatloaf sandwiches' so that I ordered. Food was not bad but under my expectations. It was more likely to be kinds of foods selling at an university cafeteria but more expensive than that. No worth to visit again.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Everything was great except hard to find ...

Dined on February 27, 2016

Everything was great except hard to find parking. Ended up getting a parking ticket.

Tags: great for brunch
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Blue Plate is always a lunch hit

Dined on February 25, 2016

Love coming to the Blue Plate for lunch. It never disappoints, always tasty and a great atmosphere. The menu has something for everyone from gluten free to vegan to meat lovers. It is noisy and lively so be prepared for that. Its a perfect downtown diner and I will keep coming back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, hot spot
food5
ambience3
service2

Lentil Veggie loaf was awesome

Dined on February 15, 2016

Lentil Veggie loaf was awesome

food5
ambience3
service2
value4

Good place for a casual night out

Dined on February 15, 2016

We were seated quickly. The place is pretty spartan inside, but that doesn't really detract from the overall feel of the place. Our server was semi-attentive but never came to see if we were happy with our food and didn't really seem to care too much. Other servers seemed more energetic. Selection was good, food was nicely spiced and very well cooked. We'd absolutely return. Price was moderate and they seem to have dishes to appeal to many different dietary needs as well.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Diamond in the rough

Dined on February 15, 2016

I took my lady here for Valentines dinner this year (2016). Despite the fact that you can tell the surrounding neighborhood is trying its hardest to be trendy and clean, this restaurant is amazing. The service was outstanding, the portions where MORE than adequate and the quality of our meal is delicious. I only regret not leaving enough room for what looked like the best Red Velvet dessert I'd ever seen. Good job Blue Plate, I will DEFINATELY return!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Hi -OOOOH !

Dined on February 14, 2016

Had the Mac & Cheese with sausage .... and it was yummy !! been to the Blue Plate a few times , have always enjoyed it.

Tags: special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food1
ambience3
service4
value3

Very disappointed.

Dined on February 14, 2016

Food was so salty it was a real disappointment. I've eaten there before and it was quite good but that was several years ago.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Hot and quick

Dined on February 13, 2016

Service was attentive (lots of staff for number of tables) and food was fast, and steamy hot at the table. A must for me. Menu is short but varied and 'comfort' is the best description. Chef puts local flavour and slight twists on classics. Beer? Scona Gold, from Edmonton's own Alley Kat. Yes please. Tucking in a meal here before going to a movie or theatre would be no issue with sense of service I got. Parking in the lot next door is $4 per half hour, sold in 15min chunks.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

Decent food. Terrible service.

Dined on February 12, 2016

Went with a girlfriend on a Thurs evening. Food was good but the service was so obnoxious. The male server was at our table in what felt like 5 minute intervals. So awkward, and it made our hour dinner feel so rushed. Wouldn't recommend.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Not up to Standard

Dined on February 9, 2016

the Blue Plate has always been an eclectic place to enjoy a lunch in a vibrant atmosphere. My lunch this day was not the usual tasty gem.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Friendly neighborhood bistro

Dined on February 8, 2016

I am not a huge fan of downtown Edmonton, but when I find myself staying overnight on business I love to head over to the Blue Plate for a tasty bite to eat. The menu offers limited but excellent choices including vegetarian options, the food really does taste home made and the staff are welcoming. 104 Street is home to a few cozy little spots for dining or coffee and the Blue Plate is certainly worth remembering!

Tags: great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

Nice Change for Lunch

Dined on February 4, 2016

It was nice. Food was good but I will have something different next time. Very busy lunch crowd so our waiter kind of 'lost' us and was a bit scattered. He was pleasant, but not as on top of things as would have been nice. I've been before and I will go back. It is a nice atmosphere.

Tags: fit for foodies
food3
ambience4
service4
value5

Changed the veggie burger! No!!!!! The n ...

Dined on February 4, 2016

Changed the veggie burger! No!!!!! The new veggie burger was good, but the beet burger was excellent.

Tags: great for brunch

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.