Is this your restaurant?Claim this listing.
Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network. To see if they take reservations and have availability, you will need to call the restaurant directly or visit their website. Find a similar spot.

Restaurants you may also like

Sabor RestaurantSabor Restaurant
(1664)
$$$$
Seafood | Edmonton, Edmonton
Booked 39 times today
Canteen - EdmontonCanteen - Edmonton
(957)
$$$$
Comfort Food | Edmonton, Edmonton
Booked 15 times today
LUX Steakhouse + BAR94LUX Steakhouse + BAR94
(735)
$$$$
Steakhouse | Edmonton, Edmonton
Booked 19 times today
The Parlour Italian Kitchen & BarThe Parlour Italian Kitchen & Bar
(386)
$$$$
Italian | Edmonton, Edmonton
Booked 13 times today
Riz Asian KitchenRiz Asian Kitchen
(14)
$$$$
Global, International | Edmonton, Edmonton
Booked 7 times today
Tiramisu BistroTiramisu Bistro
(14)
$$$$
Bistro | Edmonton, Edmonton
Creations Dining Room and LoungeCreations Dining Room and Lounge
(206)
$$$$
Contemporary American | Edmonton, Edmonton
Pampa Brazilian SteakhousePampa Brazilian Steakhouse
(3239)
$$$$
Brazilian Steakhouse | Edmonton, Edmonton
Booked 45 times today
The Creperie EdmontonThe Creperie Edmonton
(1006)
$$$$
French | Edmonton, Edmonton
Booked 4 times today
Three Boars EateryThree Boars Eatery
(195)
$$$$
Tapas / Small Plates | Edmonton, Edmonton
Booked 9 times today
Louisiana PurchaseLouisiana Purchase
(772)
$$$$
Cajun | Edmonton, Edmonton
Booked 9 times today
Tzin Wine & TapasTzin Wine & Tapas
(915)
$$$$
Tapas / Small Plates | Edmonton, Edmonton
Booked 13 times today
Ampersand27Ampersand27
(438)
$$$$
Canadian | Old Strathcona, Edmonton
Booked 18 times today
Chop Downtown Edmonton - 101 StChop Downtown Edmonton - 101 St
(549)
$$$$
Steakhouse | Edmonton, Edmonton
Booked 18 times today
Ruth's Chris Steak House - EdmontonRuth's Chris Steak House - Edmonton
(432)
$$$$
Steak | Edmonton, Edmonton
Booked 13 times today

About Blue Plate Diner

10145 - 104 Street
Edmonton, AB T5J 0Z9
View Larger Map

Located in the heart of the Warehouse District in downtown Edmonton, the Blue Plate Diner is open for lunch, dinner and also for brunch on weekends. We only serve real food made by real people.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Comfort Food, Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Saturday: 9:00am - 1:00pm, Sunday: 9:00am - 2:00pm; Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 5:00pm, Saturday: 1:00pm - 5:00pm, Sunday: 2:00pm - 5:00pm; Dinner: Daily: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Jasper Avenue

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(780) 429-0740

Website:
http://www.blueplatediner.ca/

Public Transit:
We are located half a block away from the 'Bay' LRT or subway station. Also, there are numerous buses located within one block of restaurant

Executive Chef:
Duane Hicks

Private Party Facilities:
Our open-floor concept makes it easy for your large group to enjoy the wonderful atmosphere of the Blue Plate.

Private Party Contact:
John Williams: 8889241390

Additional:
Beer, Cafe, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Famous Veggie Burger - Blue Plate Diner, Edmonton, AB
Pozole Enchiladas - Blue Plate Diner, Edmonton, AB
Pemmican Burger - Blue Plate Diner, Edmonton, AB
Beetroot Cake - Blue Plate Diner, Edmonton, AB
Mac and Cheese - Blue Plate Diner, Edmonton, AB
Veggie Burger - Blue Plate Diner, Edmonton, AB
Gluten Free Meal - Blue Plate Diner, Edmonton, AB
Kentucky Hot Brown - Blue Plate Diner, Edmonton, AB
Chocolate Beet Cake - Blue Plate Diner, Edmonton, AB
mac n cheese - Blue Plate Diner, Edmonton, AB
Vegetarian Shepherd's Pie - Blue Plate Diner, Edmonton, AB
Baked Tandoori Chicken - Blue Plate Diner, Edmonton, AB
Elk And Bison Burger - Blue Plate Diner, Edmonton, AB
Eggs Bennie - Blue Plate Diner, Edmonton, AB

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun - Thu 5:00PM - 5:30PM
Sort By:
S
1239 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Very good blue plate special breakfast w ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on August 2, 2016

Very good blue plate special breakfast with vegy sausage.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Nice, quaint and would highly recommend. ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on July 27, 2016

Nice, quaint and would highly recommend. They have an inclusive menu and overall awesome vibe.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Nice and cozy atmosphere. Good variety o ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on July 19, 2016

Nice and cozy atmosphere. Good variety of food for a variety of diets. Gets a little noisy when it is on the fuller side. Not too many tables for larger groups. Food is tasty.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Excellent Vegetarian menu with a few non ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on July 14, 2016

Excellent Vegetarian menu with a few non vegetarian items as well. Something for everyone.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Food and service were great. It is a noi ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on July 12, 2016

Food and service were great. It is a noisy venue which is good for a number of occasions, especially small, intimate groups and fun occasions. Lots of energy. Big thing is the great food with service a close second.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

It served our early morning meeting well ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on July 6, 2016

It served our early morning meeting well because it opens at 7:30. It wasn't busy at all. The music was a bit too loud but we were still able to hear each other.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

The food is always good! Had the lentil ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on June 30, 2016

The food is always good! Had the lentil loaf with rice pilaf and vegetables. As a rule, we always start with the cornbread. Had enough room for the awesome beet cake dessert. Our favourite restaurant in Edmonton.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The veggie shepherd's pie was amazing. G ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on June 28, 2016

The veggie shepherd's pie was amazing. Good coffee too!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

the service was excellent, good food. ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on June 24, 2016

the service was excellent, good food. not too noisy, but enough for conversations to be private. We were sitting against the wall, really liked the lamps on the table, very cozy.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Tried the zuchinni/corn fritters for the ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on June 24, 2016

Tried the zuchinni/corn fritters for the first time. Was very hard pressed to actually find any zuchinni or corn just a lot of dough. Otherwise everything was very good.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

Seemed noisy for lunchtime. Interesting ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on June 22, 2016

Seemed noisy for lunchtime. Interesting food, didn't seem to have a theme- one of our friends was very limited in food choices. I had the chickpea burger, I quite enjoyed it- very flavourful! We were seated promptly, service was a little slow, but it was busy.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Food was ok but a little on the bland si ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on June 20, 2016

Food was ok but a little on the bland side. It lacked flavour in most of the dishes. Our service was top rate thanks to Richard. He was the only waiter although he had some help. If the food was as good as him, I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

The food never disappoints, service was ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on June 19, 2016

The food never disappoints, service was fantastic as well. Looking forward to future visits.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I really enjoy the dinner at the Blue Pl ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on June 19, 2016

I really enjoy the dinner at the Blue Plate Diner! The location is great and the ambiance too. It was so hard to choose among the main dishes, because all sound amazing. At the end I got the half-chicken with rosmarine&bacon bread, that is really good... but I have to go back to try all the others!!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Even though our server seemed a bit over ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on June 18, 2016

Even though our server seemed a bit overwhelmed and was late to inform us that what we ordered for an appy was all sold out, she made up for it by adjusting our total bill. The food was good, the atmosphere was good, total cute place, really enjoyed myself.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

This place has great atmosphere. I love ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on June 16, 2016

This place has great atmosphere. I love the '50s style tables and all of the decor, including the art. It's also very roomy, something rare in the restaurant scene today. The food was great, we just had appetizers really, because we were really there for the dessert. Chocolate peanut butter pie and beet cake, both delicious. The bill was very reasonable.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value4

Fun and good food!

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on June 15, 2016

Fun and good food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Enjoyed the evening with Josh and Ulana, ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on May 28, 2016

Enjoyed the evening with Josh and Ulana, great service and patient waiter and we really wanted to enjoy the evening and engage in a lot of conversation.

thanks for the great experience!

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was good. Very vegetarian friendly. ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on May 23, 2016

Food was good. Very vegetarian friendly.

Would be nice if they did some sort of special thing for the person celebrating the birthday we were there for. Even after it being mentioned, nothing was done. Not even a "Happy Birthday" from the waiter.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Beautiful and delicious

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on May 21, 2016

Wonderful staff, fun and vibrant atmosphere. Great vegetarian options and a great drink menu! A real Edmonton gem that I hope stays popular and around for many many years!

The restaurant was fairly busy when we arrived so our reservation was a great idea! The staff kept up great and were very attentive and friendly b

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First Time

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on May 20, 2016

We picked BPD from a "Restaurants close to Winspear" Google list. Didn't take time for the bar. Reservation system worked well. The ribs were great. However, the noise level was more than energetic - could barely hear across the table. I recommend acoustic treatment to bring the noise level down. Otherwise a great experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We ordered the tuna melt and meatloaf sa ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on May 20, 2016

We ordered the tuna melt and meatloaf sandwich, if you are hungry go with the meat loaf. I have had the tuna melt in the past but this time very disappointed with the portion size.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Never had a bad meal at Blue Plate! Gre ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on May 16, 2016

Never had a bad meal at Blue Plate! Great vegetarian options with lovely flavours!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent for All Diets!

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on May 15, 2016

I found the Blue Plate Diner last year as a spot to go when my niece visits from Lethbridge. A vegan by health-driven necessity and a proud carnivore can't always agree on where to eat. if this is your situation, The Blue Plate Diner is the place for you! my niece has Shepherd's Pie regularly, and I'll take steak or whatever else (currently pork tenderloin) grabs my fancy. If you do dairy, do yourself a huge favour and leave room for the beet cake. Carrot cake has nothing on this dream of a dessert! Great staff, great atmosphere, and we WILL be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A real delight

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on May 9, 2016

We've been to the restaurant several times. Never disappointed. Love the eclectic decor. Great food. Good service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Mother's Day

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on May 8, 2016

We took my wife to the BPD for Mother's Day and it was terrific. The food was above expectations, arrived in good order and was piping hot. We ate every last morsel. The Mimosas were delish as well and I could have had another but for the fear of a DWI!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Love this Restaurant!

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on May 7, 2016

Great! As usual. I would highly recommend Blue Plate

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

overall

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on May 7, 2016

1) parking next door is more expensive than the food

2) the meatloaf sandwich was dry

3) the mac and cheese is over priced

4) the spring roll is a bit too salty

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value1

Always a treat!

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on May 2, 2016

Blue Plate Diner is one of those special local bistros that you happen on by chance and enjoy so much you return again and again. The limited menu has many tasty choices. Go for the meat loaf, although this visit the kitchen ran out so I had the lamb shepherd's pie. Staff are always friendly and helpful, but be wary, they are very persuasive convincing you to enjoy a rich dessert too! 104 Street downtown has a number of neat little places to eat or take coffee. Blue Plate Diner os one of the best!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Was a lovely evening! & great food

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on May 1, 2016

Was a lovely evening! & great food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Love the decor, very cozy restaurant. M ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on May 1, 2016

Love the decor, very cozy restaurant. Menu has good variety. Our waitress was excellent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Welcoming and great food!

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on April 30, 2016

Great food and awesome service! We had several small children in tow and never were made to feel unwelcome. The food was great and the server was patient and helpful!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What's happened here?

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on April 17, 2016

I distinctly recall enjoying coming to the Blue Plate in the past. This last visit has changed my opinion forever. I made a reservation and they seated us at what was clearly a table for 2 with a chair pulled up. The table was so rickety, it was bowing in the middle. It was not a busy night, wouldn't you save that table for last minute diners?

It took a while for the waiter to come for our drink order and it took forever to get our drinks. C'mon...there was no blending or muddling involved...what was the hold up? We ordered our appetizers and main. I ordered the salmon roll. They were obvious cooked in oil that was too cold, so they were extra greasy. To call them salmon rolls is a joke...they should have been called carrot rolls. My chickpea paneer was tasty, however I could have knocked someone out with the naan.

Mac and Cheese is not enough to keep people coming back. In a service industry, you shouldn't rest on your laurels...you should aim to put out the best every time, every meal, every dining experience. All I know is I won't be returning in the future.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

We were hungry in downtown so I chose BP ...

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on April 16, 2016

We were hungry in downtown so I chose BPD. Overall was good and the place was fun. We ordered the salads, the food was yummy and filling. I think I will return and try the drinks 👍

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Good Food

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on April 6, 2016

The food at the Blue Plate Diner was delicious. I particularly enjoyed the nice fresh salad and the tasty beet cake, the coffee was good too. I thought the value for money was good and the service attentive. I wasn't a big fan of the music but the volume was acceptable.

All in all a very good experience.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great downtown spot

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on April 3, 2016

Great service with a fabulous menu. Options for vegan and gluten free eating. Desserts were amazing!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Eats in Edmonton!

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on April 2, 2016

I love this restaurant in downtown Edmonton and try to go every time I'm in town. Casual and funky decor, lots of art and colour, very comfortable for a single gal or a big crowd. Food is consistently good and hearty, and wine complements well. All in all a great place!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Friend get together

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on March 19, 2016

We had occasion to host friends visiting from BC. Living close by, the Blue Plate is usually our first go to. It's always great food and a great atmosphere. The meal was enjoyed by all. Just a unique place in the heart of the city.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Something for everyone at Blue Plate Diner

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on March 13, 2016

This was my first dinner visit to Blue Plate Diner. Chose this restaurant because of the varied food preferences among our party - one vegetarian; one committed carnivore; and two foodies. Blue Plate proved to be a good choice. Our vegetarian had several options from which to choose; our carnivore found your meat servings to be generous; and our foodies found some interesting food ideas. Service was attentive but not over-bearing. We look forward to a return visit.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

In a word: horrible

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on March 13, 2016

We had a reservation specifically for Downtown Dining Week and were put at a table in the middle of the aisle. The noise level was so loud, I couldn't even hear my date who was 20" from me. Our server took 10 minutes to make it to our table with the menu, so we ordered our Downtown Dining Week Special 1st and then our wine. The cured sockeye salmon consisted of an ice cream scoop (literally) of lox. Totally underwhelming in both taste and presentation. We then waited 45 minutes (yes, we checked our watches) for a main course of cold overcooked mushy risotto and cold chewy duck. The "chokecherry demi-glace" on the duck tasted suspiciously like plain old BBQ sauce. The dessert of local berries tarts was more crust than tart. And, as if the poor food wasn't bad enough, the service was even worse! Apparently, our server deigned to wait on tables instead of going to the gym because each and every order of drink or wine warranted a separate trip to/from the kitchen. Maybe if he knew how to use a pen and paper, he could have taken more than one table's order at a time. We've never had a more horrendous dining experience, much less for the privilege of paying $50 a person for it. Our recommendation: NEVER EVER EAT HERE.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.