HelpiOS AppAndroid AppWindows Phone AppWindows 8 App

Not available on OpenTable

Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network.
If you like, we’ll notify you by email if this restaurant joins.
Is this your restaurant? Claim this listing

Blue Plate Diner

3.9
1313 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
CAN$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Comfort Food
Top Tags:
  • Neighborhood Gem (2089)
  • Great for Lunch (1676)
  • Fit for Foodies (1479)

Similar Restaurants

About

Blue Plate Diner in Edmonton, Alberta is situated in the downtown's Warehouse District. The dining room is welcoming, and features paintings by local artists. There are a number of vegetarian dishes on offer, and the menu is also focused on comfort food. You could begin at Blue Plate Diner with a vegetarian Southwest Caesar salad, crispy duck wings, vegan green onion cake, smoked salmon spring rolls or something else from the lengthy list of starters. Then for mains, try the pork tenderloin, vegetarian curry chickpeas with paneer, shepherd's pie or Blue Plate meatloaf.

If burgers are to your liking, you might like the bacon & smoked cheddar beef burger or the bison & duck confit burger. There is a Blue Plate Diner kids' menu as well, with items like grilled cheese sandwiches on multigrain bread, burgers and veggie burgers.

Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Comfort Food, Fusion / Eclectic
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Breakfast: Saturday: 9:00am - 1:00pm, Sunday: 9:00am - 2:00pm; Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 5:00pm, Saturday: 1:00pm - 5:00pm, Sunday: 2:00pm - 5:00pm; Dinner: Daily: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(780) 429-0740
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Smart Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Duane Hicks
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Jasper Avenue
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
We are located half a block away from the 'Bay' LRT or subway station. Also, there are numerous buses located within one block of restaurant
Additional
Beer, Cafe, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wine
What 1313 People Are SayingWrite a review
Overall ratings and reviews
3.9  based on all time ratings
3.9
food
4.0
service
3.8
ambience
3.8
value
Noise · Moderate
89% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
DougC (Vancouver)
3.0  Dined on August 2, 2016

Very good blue plate special breakfast with vegy sausage.

Report
Helpful
LoriM (Edmonton)
4.0  Dined on July 26, 2016

Nice, quaint and would highly recommend. They have an inclusive menu and overall awesome vibe.

Report
Helpful
Anon (Edmonton)
4.0  Dined on July 18, 2016

Nice and cozy atmosphere. Good variety of food for a variety of diets. Gets a little noisy when it is on the fuller side. Not too many tables for larger groups. Food is tasty.

Report
Helpful
R2KR2K (Edmonton)
4.0  Dined on July 13, 2016

Excellent Vegetarian menu with a few non vegetarian items as well. Something for everyone.

Report
Helpful
Simonspieman (Calgary)
4.0  Dined on July 11, 2016

Food and service were great. It is a noisy venue which is good for a number of occasions, especially small, intimate groups and fun occasions. Lots of energy. Big thing is the great food with service a close second.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Edmonton)
4.0  Dined on July 6, 2016

It served our early morning meeting well because it opens at 7:30. It wasn't busy at all. The music was a bit too loud but we were still able to hear each other.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Las Vegas)
5.0  Dined on June 29, 2016

The food is always good! Had the lentil loaf with rice pilaf and vegetables. As a rule, we always start with the cornbread. Had enough room for the awesome beet cake dessert. Our favourite restaurant in Edmonton.

Report
Helpful
CynthiaD (Edmonton)
1.0  Dined on June 28, 2016

The veggie shepherd's pie was amazing. Good coffee too!

Report
Helpful
Robert (Edmonton)
4.0  Dined on June 24, 2016

the service was excellent, good food. not too noisy, but enough for conversations to be private. We were sitting against the wall, really liked the lamps on the table, very cozy.

Report
Helpful
DeannaY (Edmonton)
4.0  Dined on June 24, 2016

Tried the zuchinni/corn fritters for the first time. Was very hard pressed to actually find any zuchinni or corn just a lot of dough. Otherwise everything was very good.

Report
Helpful
AleahM (Edmonton)
4.0  Dined on June 22, 2016

Seemed noisy for lunchtime. Interesting food, didn't seem to have a theme- one of our friends was very limited in food choices. I had the chickpea burger, I quite enjoyed it- very flavourful! We were seated promptly, service was a little slow, but it was busy.

Report
Helpful
neemoose (Edmonton)
3.0  Dined on June 19, 2016

Food was ok but a little on the bland side. It lacked flavour in most of the dishes. Our service was top rate thanks to Richard. He was the only waiter although he had some help. If the food was as good as him, I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this restaurant.

Report
Helpful
ShellyP (Edmonton)
5.0  Dined on June 19, 2016

The food never disappoints, service was fantastic as well. Looking forward to future visits.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Edmonton)
5.0  Dined on June 18, 2016

I really enjoy the dinner at the Blue Plate Diner! The location is great and the ambiance too. It was so hard to choose among the main dishes, because all sound amazing. At the end I got the half-chicken with rosmarine&bacon bread, that is really good... but I have to go back to try all the others!!!

Report
Helpful
AshtonL (Edmonton)
5.0  Dined on June 17, 2016

Even though our server seemed a bit overwhelmed and was late to inform us that what we ordered for an appy was all sold out, she made up for it by adjusting our total bill. The food was good, the atmosphere was good, total cute place, really enjoyed myself.

Report
Helpful
ShelleyM (Edmonton)
4.0  Dined on June 15, 2016

This place has great atmosphere. I love the '50s style tables and all of the decor, including the art. It's also very roomy, something rare in the restaurant scene today. The food was great, we just had appetizers really, because we were really there for the dessert. Chocolate peanut butter pie and beet cake, both delicious. The bill was very reasonable.

Report
Helpful
vipOpenTable Diner (Edmonton)
4.0  Dined on June 14, 2016

Fun and good food!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Edmonton)
4.0  Dined on May 27, 2016

Enjoyed the evening with Josh and Ulana, great service and patient waiter and we really wanted to enjoy the evening and engage in a lot of conversation.


thanks for the great experience!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Edmonton)
4.0  Dined on May 22, 2016

Food was good. Very vegetarian friendly.

Would be nice if they did some sort of special thing for the person celebrating the birthday we were there for. Even after it being mentioned, nothing was done. Not even a "Happy Birthday" from the waiter.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Edmonton)
5.0  Dined on May 20, 2016

Wonderful staff, fun and vibrant atmosphere. Great vegetarian options and a great drink menu! A real Edmonton gem that I hope stays popular and around for many many years!
The restaurant was fairly busy when we arrived so our reservation was a great idea! The staff kept up great and were very attentive and friendly b

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
66