About Blue Marlin - Bradenton Beach

121 Bridge St
Bradenton Beach, FL 34217
View Larger Map

Located in an original 1920,s cottage on historic Bridge St , the Blue Marlin is dedicated to serving only the freshest local seafood & hearty fair. Our commitment is to bring you the best product the Gulf Coast has to offer. Our courtyard, "The Trap Yard", offers local, live music on the weekends.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Gulf Drive

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(941) 896-9737

Website:
http://bluemarlinami.com/

Entertainment:
We offer Live Local music outside in our courtyard on Friday & Saturday nights from 7:00-10:00 weather permitting. Check our website & facebook for special events

Parking Details:
if you cant find a parking spot on Bridge St please pull to the front door & wait for the golf cart to show you our parking lot. We will bring you back & forth to your car. There is a public lot across the street at the Post Office, just don"t use the handicap spot unless you have appropriate documentation.

Public Transit:
There is a trolley stop at the beach end of Bridge St that requires a short walk East & the trolley runs until 10:00.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Chef's Table, Dancing, Gluten-free Menu, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Blue Marlin - Bradenton Beach Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Seafood
Tampa / Central Florida West
Best Overall
Sarasota / Bradenton
Best Service
Sarasota / Bradenton
1 More
Neighborhood Gem
Sarasota / Bradenton
Best Restaurants in Bradenton ›

Neighborhood Gem (54)
Fit for Foodies (53)
Special Occasion (31)
See All
Great for Outdoor Dining (22)
Kid-friendly (17)
Notable Wine List (17)
Romantic (14)
Good for Groups (12)
Hot Spot (10)
Cozy (9)
Local Ingredients (8)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Good for a Date (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Live Music (4)
Casual (4)
Scenic View (3)
Fun (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Healthy (3)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Historic (2)
Organic (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Authentic (1)
Spicy (1)
Great Beer (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sort By:
Newest
534 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Out of most of the food because they wer ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on September 20, 2016

Out of most of the food because they were leaving for vaca the next day. Should have been told this upfront!! I ordered a Filet med. rare and it came med. well. My friend ordered the grits and she got rice and beans. Win't be going back there!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

The Blue Marlin is my favorite restaraun ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

The Blue Marlin is my favorite restaraunt. I love the laid back atmosphere mixed with the knock your socks off, quality food. It's beachy vibe is amazing and it's in a bungalow, which is so cool. The burger is THE best freaking burger ever! The fresh caught fish never disappoints as well. They always have local beers and wines that are always fun to try too. I've had the fish spread, burger, fish, Cortez boil, and salads. They are all perfectly executed. If you are reading this and you are the owner/chef. I love you. You win at life. That is all.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We wanted some great seafood so we chose ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

We wanted some great seafood so we chose the Blue Marlin. We got seated quickly even though we were early for our reservation! There was a jazz band playing outside and we had a good table for 4. Started with spicy shrimp and beef medallion apps (they bring you complimentary edamame!) and enjoyed the shrimp and grits, pecan crusted snapper and linguine with clams. All were good.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Live Music, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

As a local I dine out a LOT. For me, The ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

As a local I dine out a LOT. For me, The Blue Marlin is one of the best restaurants on the island.

Highly recommended.

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Saturday night and happy to see Blue Mar ...

vip
 (Naples)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Saturday night and happy to see Blue Marlin jumpin'. Service was great, wine choices different and fun. The grouper and clams are a must try. Blue Marlin as very accommodating with one gluten free diner who only drinks still, bottled, room temperature water. Blue Marlin serves filtered water which is not acceptable by our dining friend so they were very accommodating about us running out and bringing in our own water. We had the usual: great food and a good time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Charming little restaurant with a distin ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Charming little restaurant with a distinctive FL lifestyle feel. Fresh local food with lots of options. Everything from the seafood egg roll to the pecan crusted grouper to the french press coffee was top notch.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Organic, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very enjoyable dinner with my husband - ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Very enjoyable dinner with my husband - menu was interesting, our entrees were delicious (I had the blackened fish fettucine) and the service was excellent (our waiter was attentive but not intrusive). We visit AMI frequently and had never eaten here before but we will be back for sure!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food is excellent.

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

The food is excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was outstanding and service was gre ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Food was outstanding and service was great. Will defintly be back

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Excellent food and service . Brad was a ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Excellent food and service . Brad was a great server and Max the Manager was very helpful as well!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Twice dined this week. Wanted it to be a ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Twice dined this week. Wanted it to be as good as past years' visits. Kitchen is very in consistent. Blackened black grouper over cooked. Milford grouper perfect.

Next visit, Milford grouper overbooked, boullibase perfect.

Wish they had the smoked mullet vs mahi spread. Owners not around. Is that the problem ?!

See u next August😁

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

Blue Marlin is our "go-to" for great din ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Blue Marlin is our "go-to" for great dinners when it is just us or dining with friends. So many friends who we have introduced to the place have made it their own!!!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food! Great selection! Great serv ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Great food! Great selection! Great service! Will definitely go again next time I am on the island! Highly recommended.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Blue Marlin is consistently good every ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Blue Marlin is consistently good every time. I usually choose something from their fresh fish offering....but if you want the best burger on the planet, order theirs!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perhaps the chef was having an off night ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Perhaps the chef was having an off night when we were there but the firecracker shrimp was the worst I've ever had. It was so over cooked and tough that it was inedible. We sent it back and the restaurant was gracious enough to remove the charge. The squash blossoms were very interesting and tasted wonderful but I thought 4 thumb sized apps was a terrible value. On the plus side the interior of the restaurant is cool and the outdoor seating is situated beautifully on the beach.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4
value1

As always, the team at BM Do a great j ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

As always, the team at BM

Do a great job. Food is great. I'll be back soon.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful food....wonderful setting..... ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Wonderful food....wonderful setting......wonderful service......yes, it was. as they say wonderful !!!!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One master sauce used on too many dishes ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

One master sauce used on too many dishes. Egregiously over cooked pasta

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

4th meal at Blue Marlin and all have bee ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

4th meal at Blue Marlin and all have been very good until last evening. Prices are about 10% higher than on menu quoted on this site. Steak was good but pricey (Filet, 6oz for $35) pasta was OK but Cortez Boil at ($34 now)was so salty as to be almost inedible. 2 half chorizo and 3 sweet corn had been added with little finesse and the overall effect was of ingredients thrown together in to a bowl of sea water. Service was excellent and the fish is usually first rate. The Cortez Boil wasn't.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

We always love Blue Marlin and we always ...

vip
 (Naples)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

We always love Blue Marlin and we always have a good meal here. Unfortunately we do not get here as much as we like because it is a distance from our home and in season we hate fighting the traffic. Our grouper tonight was as good if not better than we ordinarily have. We especially enjoy that there are two size portions which is great for a smaller appetite. Wonderful service tonight and a really good bottle of wine. Be aware no mixed drinks here, just beer and wine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

We had a great experience at Blue Marlin ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

We had a great experience at Blue Marlin! It's such a charming, unique place and the menu was great. I tried one of the specials of the night - a lobster, shrimp and scallop pasta dish with an incredible sauce. My husband had shrimp and grits and our young daughter enjoyed her mac & cheese. :) The service was outstanding - our server was very knowledgeable about two of our favorite topics, craft beer and wine. He guided us in the right direction for both. We'd definitely go back!

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The Blue Marlin has long been one of our ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

The Blue Marlin has long been one of our favorite places on Bradenton Beach. We come over from AMI to dine there on a regular basis. The food is always outstanding (and we are foodies who appreciate and aren't hesitant to pay for great food), the atmosphere great, and the service great as well. I will say that the prices seem to keep getting higher and higher so they might price themselves out of even my price range if that trend continues. I think it's possible to do great food without prices getting so high that even discerning customers take a moment to reflect on cost versus value. Other than that criticism, this is definitely a place you want to visit. And if you know what's good for you, make sure you order the Tater Soup. It is exquisite.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

This restaurant was outstanding! Servic ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

This restaurant was outstanding! Service was excellent. All fish was fresh and superbly prepared. Especially liked the Black Grouper with pecan crust. You will not be disappointed if you eat here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Nice, small and a bit noisy due to cackl ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Nice, small and a bit noisy due to cackling table of girls on other side made it a bit hard to hear.. But very polite and professional service. Great food, short menu with good fresh options.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Fantastic service for our anniversary wi ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Fantastic service for our anniversary with complimentary champagne and a song request. We had a lovely evening here.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

The Blue Marlin in a place for a Wonderf ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

The Blue Marlin in a place for a Wonderful Meal, although NOT inexpensive.

The wait staff was very friendly and knowledgeable.

The meal was delicious and beautifully presented.

The Dessert was GREAT but $9.00 for a piece of pie is excessive in my view.

Don't be deterred. Try IT,,,,, you WILL Like iT.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Fabulous place. Great for fresh fish. Go ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Fabulous place. Great for fresh fish. Good ambiance and great service. A must each and every time I come down from New York

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service. Table was a litt ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Great food and service. Table was a little small for 4.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Excellent food! I will be back soon! My ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Excellent food! I will be back soon! My husband and I enjoyed a special evening celebrating our anniversary😊

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

It has a pricy all seafood menu. But the ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

It has a pricy all seafood menu. But the food was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

The food and service were very good and ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

The food and service were very good and I would and have recommended the restraunt to friends and family. Very pleased.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I actually was thinking of not giving th ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

I actually was thinking of not giving the Blue Marlin a great write up because I want to keep it a secret. Everything was fabulous.....we were there off season. My guess it is hard to get in during season...

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always excellent fish, Unassuming, pleas ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Always excellent fish, Unassuming, pleasant atmosphere, friendly staff.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Simply fabulous food , service and wine. ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Simply fabulous food , service and wine. Can't wait to return

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

the sea food is always excellent. One o ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

the sea food is always excellent. One of best restaurants on the Island

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great meal, but the wait, with reservati ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Great meal, but the wait, with reservations, was over a half an hour. Our server wasn't the best and he must have know that he wasn't because he didn't divulge his name. No matter, the quality of the food and the efficiency of the kitchen was first rate. I am an AMI resident and this is my new favorite island restaurant...and we have good restaurants here!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

very quaint place. food is good. Howev ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

very quaint place. food is good. However, never go there from June -September. The AC is not adequate and it is stifling in there. we were told the building cant accommodate stronger AC.

go in the winter and you'll enjoy it

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

We had a wonderful dinner at Blue Marlin ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

We had a wonderful dinner at Blue Marlin! The booths are cozy, and the dim lighting creates a nice romantic ambiance. The cracker shrimp were excellent, maybe even our favorite part of the meal. Clam spaghetti in white wine sauce was heavy on the garlic and maybe slightly salty, but I really enjoyed the dish. The blackened grouper served with the fettuccine was the best grouper I've had, but I thought the Alfredo and accompanying pesto could have used a little more salt to cut through the richness of it. We were very happy with our meals, and will definitely return on a future trip. Tip: parking nearby is a little crazy, so park at the beach and walk over.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

The food is excellent. The wait staff a ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

The food is excellent. The wait staff are great with recommendations when you ask them. The service is very, very good. The restaurant is small and a reservation is a must. But, if you had to wait the food is worth it. Several local people told us to be sure and go to the Blue Marlin. I am very happy we did go there. We were there twice and plan to go back next summer.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

we try to have dinner at least once ever ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

we try to have dinner at least once every time we come to the beach from Lakeland, which is several times a year. We always enjoy the Blue Marlin - it's one of our favorites!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.