About Blue Marlin - Bradenton Beach

121 Bridge St
Bradenton Beach, FL 34217
View Larger Map

Located in an original 1920,s cottage on historic Bridge St , the Blue Marlin is dedicated to serving only the freshest local seafood & hearty fair. Our commitment is to bring you the best product the Gulf Coast has to offer. Our courtyard, "The Trap Yard", offers local, live music on the weekends.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Gulf Drive

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(941) 896-9737

Website:
http://bluemarlinami.com/

Entertainment:
We offer Live Local music outside in our courtyard on Friday & Saturday nights from 7:00-10:00 weather permitting. Check our website & facebook for special events

Parking Details:
if you cant find a parking spot on Bridge St please pull to the front door & wait for the golf cart to show you our parking lot. We will bring you back & forth to your car. There is a public lot across the street at the Post Office, just don"t use the handicap spot unless you have appropriate documentation.

Public Transit:
There is a trolley stop at the beach end of Bridge St that requires a short walk East & the trolley runs until 10:00.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Chef's Table, Dancing, Gluten-free Menu, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Blue Marlin - Bradenton Beach Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Fit for Foodies
Tampa / Central Florida West
Seafood
Tampa / Central Florida West
Best Overall
Sarasota / Bradenton
5 More
Best Food
Sarasota / Bradenton
Best Service
Sarasota / Bradenton
Best Value
Sarasota / Bradenton
Fit for Foodies
Sarasota / Bradenton
Neighborhood Gem
Sarasota / Bradenton
Best Restaurants in Bradenton ›

fit for foodies (118)
neighborhood gem (106)
special occasion (80)
See All
great for outdoor dining (55)
romantic (45)
notable wine list (43)
good for groups (38)
hot spot (27)
kid-friendly (16)
late-night find (9)
vibrant bar scene (7)
great for lunch (6)
scenic view (5)
great for brunch (3)
Sort By:
Newest
485 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service5

Wonderful meal and service, we will be b ...

Dined 5 days ago

Wonderful meal and service, we will be back!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Blue Marlin was a great find for us. ...

Dined 5 days ago

The Blue Marlin was a great find for us. We had the steamed littleneck clams appetizer which I strongly recommend. The broth and toppings were fantastic. We also had a tenderloin medallion appetizer with arugula and garlic, also excellent. My wife had shrimp & grits for her entree and enjoyed them, I had grouper Provençal, which was perfectly prepared. We had a great bottle of Sauvignon Blanc to compliment the meal. For desert, I had the tropical bread pudding and my wife had chocolate creme brûlée. The entire meal was wonderful and the service was great and not overbearing. We will go back again!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A warm and welcoming staff, server and m ...

Dined 7 days ago

A warm and welcoming staff, server and management started our evening off in what turned out to be the most incredibly delicious dining experience during our 2 week vacation on Anna Maria Island. We were craving a landlubber's choice and we were not to be disappointed! The starters of crisp fresh & perfectly prepared Edamame (Japanese soybeans) and a bowl of creamy luscious potato soup had us all under the culinary spell of The Blue Marlin! Temptations of Filet Mignon in a dark demi glaze were not ignored by our desirous appetite. And chef delighted our desires to enjoy something out of this world fabulous! Side choice that evening were bright, ever so delicately crunchy Asparagus with artfully slivered slices of grilled garlic and the most wonderfully prepared brown butter sage potatoes ever had anywhere! And we managed to find a niche of dessert room for a crazy awesome slice of Guava Key Lime Pie! It was a most phenomenal affair ! Highly recommended! !

Tags: kid-friendly, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Blue Marlin always has the freshest seaf ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Blue Marlin always has the freshest seafood always prepared to perfection it is our go to restaurant on Bradenton Beach

food5
ambience5
service5

Cappellette wine is a great selection. ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Cappellette wine is a great selection. Pecan crusted snapper was absolutely fabulous. ALWAYS an amazing experience. Thanks again !!!!

food5
ambience5
service3
value5

This was my 2nd time dining at the Blue ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

This was my 2nd time dining at the Blue Marlin. One of my friends with whom I dined on this occasion has dined at the Blue Marlin on many occasions and loves it. I now love it as well! Great atmosphere, and fantastic food! Check out the fish tacos from the street fare selection...fantastic!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Fun atmosphere, a little noisy inside bu ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

Fun atmosphere, a little noisy inside but not too bad. The food was very fresh and good. We had a snapper special. The salads were really good.

Tags: kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nestled there, in the oh so beautiful An ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

Nestled there, in the oh so beautiful Anna Maria Island, you can find a little foodie's treasure. A cozy little restaurant, perfectly suited to the beachy town feel of yesteryear that surrounds it. The Blue Marlin and I'm guessing by the various pictures there on it's walls, it was the fish that did not get away. In fact, not only did it get caught but it proved to be a most delicious black grouper with hints of lemon grass and other Thai spices, served to my husband alongside my lobster and shrimp linguine, that was swimming in the most heavenly rich sauce. I thought my son, the family carnivore, was completely missing the boat until I got a taste of the most tender filet he ordered. Every thing about our meal, was spectacular and thoroughly savored.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

My wife had the pecan crusted grouper, d ...

Dined on June 5, 2016

My wife had the pecan crusted grouper, didn't think she could eat it all but was sooo good she rose to the occasion. I had the fried whole snapper which was also delicious. Both fish dishes were fresh caught. Our second dinner there and highly recommend it.

food5
ambience4
service5

This small, quaint and rustic place pac ...

Dined on June 4, 2016

This small, quaint and rustic place packs a large food profile. They had a wide option for dinner making the decision process tricky. Drew, our server, was excellent. Well attentive but not bothersome. He was well educated on the menu and gave meal options with passion.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A great place to dine with friends and family!

Dined on May 29, 2016

There is nothing negative to be said. The food was excellent; the wine list provided many good options and the service was great. It's our go-to restaurant when we are in the area.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Perfect meal and date night destination! ...

Dined on May 28, 2016

Perfect meal and date night destination! Awesome music on the patio afterwards.

food1
ambience3
service4
value2

Disappointed this time

Dined on May 27, 2016

This was our second time to dine here at the Blue Marlin. The last time it was about a year ago and we had great food and service during that visit, so we decided to try it again. I noted they had fresh Hog Snapper (Hogfish) on the menu, but only offered it "potato encrusted" so decided to try it. My wife had the grouper, which was also fried like my Hogfish. Unfortunately, both of our fish dinners were substantially over-cooked. We are not ones to complain, but after noting that we only finished half our meals, our server/waitress asked if everything was okay. We told her about the overcooked problem, so she went and got the manager on duty, who offered to comp us a dessert, which we did not want. Instead she gave us two cards for free drinks during our next visit, but they are only good through this July. I'm not sure if we'll eat there again before they expire since this place is too far to drive for a dinner date that does not involve spending the night at nearby hotel. I think this place is still a good choice to consider, but they need to do a better job with their cooking staff to make sure it does not ruin what should otherwise be deliciously prepared fresh fish meals. It was the Friday evening before Memorial Day, and a bit busy, but I didn't think it was so busy that it resulted in 2 poorly prepared meals.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Absolutely loved this place, fantastic food & svc

Dined on May 27, 2016

Blue Marlin was recommended by a frequent visitor to the area. We made a reservation a few months in advance for the Friday evening of Memorial Day weekend to celebrate our wedding anniversary. We are pretty simple - as long as the food and service are worth the price, we are easy to please. This place delivered on this hands down. Would we go back - ABSOLUTELY.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

I made this reservation for my grandmoth ...

Dined on May 27, 2016

I made this reservation for my grandmother and parents and the LOVED everything about it.

food5
ambience5
service5

A wonderful little place always with gr ...

vip
Dined on May 26, 2016

A wonderful little place always with great food. A must every time we visit the area!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent Dinner

Dined on May 25, 2016

Parking on Bridge St is always a problem at dinner time but this restaurant's shuttle will take you to their remote lot and give you ride back/forth. Pricey entrees but their fresh fish (red snapper and grouper) was well worth it. Will definitely return .. great food and service!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service4

Good food. Setting is across from the b ...

vip
Dined on May 25, 2016

Good food. Setting is across from the beach, very casual. Sit outside under the trees if possible.

food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Truly a great find for the 4 of us!!! Fi ...

Dined on May 23, 2016

Truly a great find for the 4 of us!!! First time for local residents like us (Holmes Beach & University Park). A unique menu offering the evenings' Catch of the Day prepared in several variations. Food was far superior to what we had hoped/expected; beautifully prepared and presented, minor vegetable substitutions graciously accepted, and absolutely delicious!!! Delicious Entrees, Starters and Salads. Begged off Desert but menu offerings sounded equally delicious. The Family servers were friendly and efficient. The place is tiny and one very loud party made a lot of noise!!! Fortunately we were tucked into the one rear corner table which muffled the raucous sounds a bit! This was a Monday evening, just off-season and tables were full, so strongly suggest reservations as well in advance as possible. Exceptional wine selections as well! Thank you for an exceptional dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding! Seriously wonderful! Love ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Outstanding! Seriously wonderful! Loved the outdoor space and the band, Bird Tribe. Will be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Very nice

Dined on May 21, 2016

Very good food, great valet since Bridge Street has limited parking. Service was excellent from everyone. It is a bit pricey but a good value.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Our second time to this quaint little sp ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

Our second time to this quaint little spot in Bradenton Beach. We made a last minute reservation through OpenTable, and were surprised at how well that process worked. We were greeted and seated immediately upon arrival, and the remaining of our visit was lovely. Tempura batter-fried soft-shell crab was truly "soft-shell", and the clams linguini rivaled that of the best Itlaian restaurants. We'll be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service4

Mixed review, my husband enjoyed his fis ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

Mixed review, my husband enjoyed his fish special; egg rolls were tasty and had good, enthusiastic service. My filet however was over cooked and the replacement burger was greasy but eatable. Lesson learned only order fish at a seafood restaurant or don't bother if you are nota seafood fan

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Blue Marlin is our go to restaurant. Th ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

Blue Marlin is our go to restaurant. They take reservations and the food is always superb. Everyone there is so friendly and welcoming....We love it.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Best dinner on Anna Maria Island

Dined on May 17, 2016

Everything was perfect! The food and service were excellent and the the restaurant was in an old house with lots of ambiance. Our waiter gave us good suggestions and recommendations. The mahi mahi was the best I've ever had and the guava key lime pie is to die for!

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing !

Dined on May 17, 2016

Terrific place, highly recommend it. Outstanding food, great service, quaint little setting, friendly atmosphere. High Quality ! Can't wait to come back. A real Geem !!!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The food at Blue Marlin is always excell ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

The food at Blue Marlin is always excellent. It is a regular if anyone visits, as I know it will not disappoint. The fish is always so fresh and nicely prepared. We also enjoy one of their salads pre meal, or the potato soup is soooo good. Definitely recommend a reservation here on open table, to make sure you have a spot, as it is small inside.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great fresh fish. Wonderful. Reservations a must.

Dined on May 12, 2016

We try to eat here whenever we stay on Anna Marie Island, fL. They only serve fish that they can get that day. Wonderful preparations.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Friendly staff, great service, really go ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

Friendly staff, great service, really good food. Outdoor seating for dinner a nice change for us since we just moved from MI.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mother's Day Gift

Dined on May 7, 2016

As their gift, we booked a dinner reservation for our mother and grandmother for the evening before Mother's Day. The staff was incredibly friendly when I called them to explain we would like to pay for their entire experience and to make sure they ordered whatever sounded wonderful. The staff was great - very accommodating and sweet to our mom and grandmother, who later RAVED about the food and experience. From the wine to the appetizers, to the soups, to the gorgeous entrees, and finally to the bourbon chocolate pecan pie -- a wonderful Mother's Day meal.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was amazing. The staff was frie ...

Dined on May 6, 2016

The food was amazing. The staff was friendly and helpful with the food choices.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best food on the island

Dined on May 3, 2016

Great food every time. Perfectly prepared. Best restaurant on Anna Maria.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Lovely dinner and great Sangria! Only b ...

vip
Dined on May 1, 2016

Lovely dinner and great Sangria! Only beer and wine served. Food freshly prepared and delivered hot/cold as it should be. Would recommend visiting!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Consistently fabulous!

Dined on April 30, 2016

Got the specials this time, one was A+ and one was a miss, but they made it right and we left satisfied.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5

Food and drink were very nice. Loved the ...

Dined on April 29, 2016

Food and drink were very nice. Loved the fish dip plate and octopus, the black grouper thai was scrumpy too. Devin is the best waitress ever! Singer was specatluar, could be the next Adele.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Thank you blue Marlin

vip
Dined on April 28, 2016

Just want to say thank you to the Blue Marlin team for doing yet another outstanding job for our dinner. As always you guys and gals are the best.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Enjoyable evening!

Dined on April 28, 2016

Had a great dinner with 6 of our friends. This is a very small restaurant and we were able to get the only table that would accommodate 8 people. Service was great and the food was as well. Can't wait to return on our visit to the area next year.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Return visit

vip
Dined on April 27, 2016

Always great. Great location, service with a smile, fresh seafood, quant little restaurant. Highly recommended

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Fabulous dinner! Great food, service and ...

vip
Dined on April 24, 2016

Fabulous dinner! Great food, service and ambiance. We'll be back!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food, fresh seafood and fun!

Dined on April 22, 2016

We come here every year and are never disappointed. The food is always good and service is superior. The fish is always fresh. Make sure to make an appointment as they are busy. The music in the yard is fun...some are better than others. The bar is beer and wine but the quality is good.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.