About Blue Marlin - Bradenton Beach

Located in an original 1920,s cottage on historic Bridge St , the Blue Marlin is dedicated to serving only the freshest local seafood & hearty fair. Our commitment is to bring you the best product the Gulf Coast has to offer. Our courtyard, "The Trap Yard", offers local, live music on the weekends.

121 Bridge St
Bradenton Beach, FL 34217
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Gulf Drive

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(941) 896-9737

Website:
http://bluemarlinami.com/

Entertainment:
We offer Live Local music outside in our courtyard on Friday & Saturday nights from 7:00-10:00 weather permitting. Check our website & facebook for special events

Parking Details:
if you cant find a parking spot on Bridge St please pull to the front door & wait for the golf cart to show you our parking lot. We will bring you back & forth to your car. There is a public lot across the street at the Post Office, just don"t use the handicap spot unless you have appropriate documentation.

Public Transit:
There is a trolley stop at the beach end of Bridge St that requires a short walk East & the trolley runs until 10:00.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Chef's Table, Dancing, Gluten-free Menu, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Blue Marlin - Bradenton Beach Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Local Ingredients (49)
Neighborhood Gem (42)
Special Occasion (39)
See All
Worth the Drive (36)
Creative Cuisine (34)
Cozy (34)
Good for a Date (31)
Authentic (30)
Casual (29)
Fit for Foodies (28)
Fun (23)
Good for Anniversaries (21)
Great for Outdoor Dining (18)
Romantic (16)
Good for Birthdays (15)
Live Music (15)
Notable Wine List (13)
Healthy (13)
Historic (12)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Hot Spot (8)
Bar Seating (8)
Outstanding Value (7)
Seasonal (7)
Good for Groups (6)
Business Meals (6)
Great Beer (6)
Comfort Food (5)
Waterfront (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Scenic View (4)
People Watching (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Organic (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Dancing (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Family Style (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sort By:
S
651 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Excellent service, creative and tasty a ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

Excellent service, creative and tasty approach to grouper. This is a must-dine-at restaurant location.

Tags: Authentic, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

To start finding a parking place is solv ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined 4 days ago

To start finding a parking place is solved when dining at The Blue Marlin? The shuttle is a great service. Our waiter was attentive and friendly with some suggestions about local seafood. From appetizer to the main courses the food was outstanding. We were satisfied last year our return visit SATISFIED. Highly recommend this fine restaurant . Mike👌

Tags: , Good for Anniversaries, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

A bit pricie and limited menu but qualit ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined 4 days ago

A bit pricie and limited menu but quality of food sets it aside from what you find at most seaside venues. Service above expectations, almost fun even. Would like something other

than beer or wine. It will continue to be a favorite.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

An outstanding restaurant. Well thought ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined 6 days ago

An outstanding restaurant. Well thought of for fresh sea food and it is served with care. Delicious!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Snapper provencal and filet mignon were ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined 6 days ago

Snapper provencal and filet mignon were superb. Great service and overall experience.

Tags: Great Beer, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always an excellent meal and fun experie ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Always an excellent meal and fun experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The atmosphere and food are always good ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 13, 2017

The atmosphere and food are always good as is the service. Although popular with locals, you are in a touristy area which makes prices my only complaint in conjunction with the portions. My $32 snapper recently was delicious, but the two side portion (rice and green beans) were pitiful in size. I think there may have been 6 of 7 small (albeit tasty) green beans and a small scoop of rice alongside. A little ridiculous for $32, but we had a great time and everyone enjoyed the evening.

Tags: Historic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

The Black Grouper was outstanding. Fun ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The Black Grouper was outstanding. Fun place, but no view.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Authentic, Great Beer, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

A wonderful evening -- the food was exce ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 12, 2017

A wonderful evening -- the food was excellent. The clams to start and fresh fish of the day (black grouper) were prepared to perfection. Our server was experienced, knowledgeable, attentive and fun. Would highly recommend a visit.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This restaurant was fabulous! We dined ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 10, 2017

This restaurant was fabulous! We dined indoors, then went out to their outdoor patio for music and drinks. They have a limited menu out on the patio with live music on Friday and Saturday nights. It is a very small place, so you definitely want to make reservations. They do have a few small tables for dining outdoors.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Our server Dan was a joy. We started wi ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Our server Dan was a joy. We started with the house salad, which we shared. I enjoyed my blackened grouper pasta (although it could have been a touch warmer), while my wife's grouper entree was tremendous. We couldn't decide which dessert to enjoy, so we had two! This is a wonderful restaurant as a change compared to other local institutions, the BeachHouse and BridgeTender. We will go back on our next trip in a few months.

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Outstanding experience. Bring back the b ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Outstanding experience. Bring back the black eye peas/rice!!!!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food, quaint place & relaxing, frie ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Good food, quaint place & relaxing, friendly atmosphere!

Tags: Historic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Kelsey, our server, was excellent. She w ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Kelsey, our server, was excellent. She was helpful with her suggestions of wine and menu, attentive, and a pleasure to experience. Our chowder was very good, as was our fresh fish of black drum and snapper. Don't miss the brussel sprouts. The quaint dinning room certainly added to our evening.

Tags: Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

All 4 of us had a different meal and it ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 6, 2017

All 4 of us had a different meal and it was cooked to perfection!! It was the first time our friends had ever been there, it is now on their list for frequent finners.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Charming atmosphere, outstanding service ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Charming atmosphere, outstanding service and the freshest, most delicious fish ever!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good seafood and the bluegrass musi ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Very good seafood and the bluegrass music was wonderful.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Another excellent meal at Blue Marlin. ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Another excellent meal at Blue Marlin. A favorite dining experience in the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The food, staff, and experience were all ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 3, 2017

The food, staff, and experience were all top notch!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, great service, visit this re ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Great food, great service, visit this restaurant as much as we can during your stay in Florida

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

excellent service, good selection of win ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 2, 2017

excellent service, good selection of wine food was incredible

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Our waiter, Brad, was superb..so was the ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Our waiter, Brad, was superb..so was the food. Great experience! Will definitely return & recommend to friends. Food was very fresh.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Healthy, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our waiter was exceptional. He had a goo ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Our waiter was exceptional. He had a good knowledge of all the food on the menu plus lots of suggestions. Our dinners were all wonderful. We never waited more than a few minutes for anything. It was a wonderful evening.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Amazing food. Amazing staff/service. A ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Amazing food. Amazing staff/service. Amazing time. This is one of the best, if not the best, restaurants on the island. I can't wait for my next trip there!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service and ambiance but the f ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Excellent service and ambiance but the food took center stage. Great wine too. We just loved it all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great dinner with a group of friends. Ve ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Great dinner with a group of friends. Very accommodating of our large group. Thank you Max! And thank to Shepherd for great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We love the Blue Marlin and make it a mu ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 27, 2017

We love the Blue Marlin and make it a must visit on our trips to Bradenton Beach!

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Authentic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

What a find! The roasted oysters appetiz ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 26, 2017

What a find! The roasted oysters appetizer was fabulous. The light grouper with local clams in a delicious broth was both gluten free or add the toast - great. Potato crusted local grouper was perfect. This is a really excellent restaurant in an adorable cottage with lots of atmosphere and great service. Everyone is super friendly.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fun, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fresh grouper!

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Fresh grouper!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great value for your money. Excellent me ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 24, 2017

Great value for your money. Excellent menu choices. Best smoked wings I have ever had.

Tags: Fun, Live Music, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, , Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The Blue Marlin in Bradenton, Fla. was o ...

 
 (Key West)·Dined on January 24, 2017

The Blue Marlin in Bradenton, Fla. was outstanding. Our reservation was ready when we arrived (on time). We were seated at a quiet table. Our waiter arrived quickly and promptly served our wine in a very professional manner. The seafood (black grouper, snapper picatta, seaford medley (shrimp, lobster, clams, etc. over linguini ) were all excellent. A restaurant that is small, clean, warm, and has an excellent staff with outstanding menu and food is hard to fine.

Blue Marlin fits the bill.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent evening... I have been twice a ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Excellent evening... I have been twice and both times extremely happy with everything. Service is exceptional.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a friend recommend this place. I was ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Had a friend recommend this place. I was a littl disappointed. Ok food. Not great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Very disappointed. The calamari appetiz ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Very disappointed. The calamari appetizer was very small about 1/2 the size of two other popular AMI restaurants. The dressing on the shredded veg served with my entrée had no flavor. They burned one side of my wife's entrée and served it anyway good side up. We showed it our waiter who offered to replace it. I finished my dinner and still no replacement. We asked for the check and would never go back. There is no excuse for that. Very low food quality standard

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Snapper special was awesome. Thanks to o ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Snapper special was awesome. Thanks to our server Brad for making the evening 1st class

Tags: Casual, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great seafood. Beer and wine only.

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Great seafood. Beer and wine only.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great Food, good Service, large wine Lis ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Great Food, good Service, large wine List, nice Atmosphere, already booked my next event

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fresh and tasty, local charm and easy st ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Fresh and tasty, local charm and easy staff. This is a no hassle place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing as usual. My husband and I are ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Amazing as usual. My husband and I are on THE WHOLE 30 for the month of January. And the Chef always accommodates. Fresh Fresh Fresh Fish. We had Steak (Filet) and Shrimp ( Fresh From the Gulf) Ajillo, Fish Chowder, Salad (Olive oil and Fresh Lemon for Dressing) with Blackened Group. You don't want to miss this restaurant.

Tags: Fun, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, People Watching, Cozy, Special Occasion, Healthy, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed our meal at the Blue Marlin. ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 13, 2017

We enjoyed our meal at the Blue Marlin. Loved the edamame instead is bread while we waited for our local fish entree. Wait staff was accommodating and efficient. Met some interesting people near our table. Great evening.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Historic, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.