About Blue Marlin - Bradenton Beach

Located in an original 1920,s cottage on historic Bridge St , the Blue Marlin is dedicated to serving only the freshest local seafood & hearty fair. Our commitment is to bring you the best product the Gulf Coast has to offer. Our courtyard, "The Trap Yard", offers local, live music on the weekends.

121 Bridge St
Bradenton Beach, FL 34217
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Gulf Drive

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(941) 896-9737

Website:
http://bluemarlinami.com/

Entertainment:
We offer Live Local music outside in our courtyard on Friday & Saturday nights from 7:00-10:00 weather permitting. Check our website & facebook for special events

Parking Details:
if you cant find a parking spot on Bridge St please pull to the front door & wait for the golf cart to show you our parking lot. We will bring you back & forth to your car. There is a public lot across the street at the Post Office, just don"t use the handicap spot unless you have appropriate documentation.

Public Transit:
There is a trolley stop at the beach end of Bridge St that requires a short walk East & the trolley runs until 10:00.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Chef's Table, Dancing, Gluten-free Menu, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Blue Marlin - Bradenton Beach Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Local Ingredients (35)
Neighborhood Gem (31)
Fit for Foodies (27)
See All
Good for a Date (25)
Special Occasion (24)
Casual (24)
Cozy (24)
Worth the Drive (24)
Authentic (23)
Creative Cuisine (19)
Great for Outdoor Dining (19)
Fun (18)
Good for Anniversaries (17)
Romantic (15)
Good for Birthdays (14)
Live Music (11)
Notable Wine List (10)
Hot Spot (9)
Historic (8)
Healthy (7)
Comfort Food (7)
People Watching (6)
Seasonal (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Outstanding Value (6)
Business Meals (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Waterfront (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Scenic View (2)
Organic (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Great Beer (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Dancing (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Tapas (1)
Family Style (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
615 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great seafood. Beer and wine only.

 
 (Tampa)·Dined 2 days ago

Great seafood. Beer and wine only.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great Food, good Service, large wine Lis ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined 3 days ago

Great Food, good Service, large wine List, nice Atmosphere, already booked my next event

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fresh and tasty, local charm and easy st ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined 3 days ago

Fresh and tasty, local charm and easy staff. This is a no hassle place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing as usual. My husband and I are ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined 3 days ago

Amazing as usual. My husband and I are on THE WHOLE 30 for the month of January. And the Chef always accommodates. Fresh Fresh Fresh Fish. We had Steak (Filet) and Shrimp ( Fresh From the Gulf) Ajillo, Fish Chowder, Salad (Olive oil and Fresh Lemon for Dressing) with Blackened Group. You don't want to miss this restaurant.

Tags: Fun, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, People Watching, Cozy, Special Occasion, Healthy, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed our meal at the Blue Marlin. ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 3 days ago

We enjoyed our meal at the Blue Marlin. Loved the edamame instead is bread while we waited for our local fish entree. Wait staff was accommodating and efficient. Met some interesting people near our table. Great evening.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Historic, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This restaurant is #1 in Bradenton Beach ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

This restaurant is #1 in Bradenton Beach for a reason. It is the absolutely the best for seafood. Have now been there 4 times and have had best grouper prepared various styles each time. Service is pleasant and knowledgeable. Atmosphere is warm and inviting. This time had fried green tomato appetizer, grouper with little neck clams in a bowl so that all the flavors and juices made a great broth, and topped off dinner with an excellent Creme Brûlée.

There are other really good restaurants in Bradenton Beach like The French Table, Beach Bistro, Creperie and The Beachhouse, but The Blue Marlin is special!

Tags: Cozy, Casual, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always delivers. Both of us had the blac ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Always delivers. Both of us had the black grouper "fulford" . Wine list well chosen and reasonable. Don't miss the Brussels sprouts side . Had to wait a bit as they were very busy , so the hostess brought us a glass of wine which was much appreciated

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

This place never disappoints!! The food ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 5, 2017

This place never disappoints!! The food and service are outstanding!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wanted to try the Blue Marlin since a nu ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Wanted to try the Blue Marlin since a number of people have recommended it. We went with six people (our entire family) and was shocked how expensive it was for the portion size and the quality. There wine menu is just ok and the price per glass are very expensive as well as there bottle price. We would go back if their prices were fair and reasonable but they were not. Think the restaurant is more for tourists than for the locals. The Grouper salad only had a fried green tomato and a piece of grouper. Couldn't they of added any other veggies or some nuts. I will say there guava lime pie was amazing with the shortbread crust. That was the highlight of our entire night.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Live Music, Casual, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

Always a treat to eat at Blue Marlin wit ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Always a treat to eat at Blue Marlin with it's old florida charm and wonderful food

Tags: Live Music, Great for Outdoor Dining, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Terrific restaurant, great service, quie ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Terrific restaurant, great service, quiet and relaxed

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Best restaurant on AMI. Great food and ...

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Best restaurant on AMI. Great food and service. A "must do" authentic Florida dining experience.

Tags: Authentic, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was slow and food was not as goo ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Service was slow and food was not as good as our past visits. Prices are higher. We won't be rushing back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

Outstanding New Years Eve meal and ambia ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Outstanding New Years Eve meal and ambiance! We always have a great meal at the Blue Marlin.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our favorite spot for a special night ou ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Our favorite spot for a special night out. The food and service is outstanding!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fresh seafood. Unique preparations.

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Fresh seafood. Unique preparations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Worth the drive for this amazing spot on ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Worth the drive for this amazing spot on Anna Maria Island. Watch the sunset on the beach, then head over to Blue Marlin for a delicious and creative meal. Fish so fresh it almost jumps off the plate! Excellent, knowledgeable friendly service and outstanding food on historic Bridge Street. Highly recommend!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This restaurant was the perfect place fo ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on December 27, 2016

This restaurant was the perfect place for our one meal out. The fish is the freshest in town, the menu amazing, the sangria to die for. This place was perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Menu could be expanded to a greater cros ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Menu could be expanded to a greater cross section for variety. Wait Staff was moderately hospitable from server to outside bartender. Hostess was phenomenal. A situation occurred in the kitchen this evening and the food was coming out lukewarm. The hostess saved the day with complimentary dessert. Great atmosphere. Love the place.

Tags: Authentic, Fun, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

Thank you once again for a outstanding m ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Thank you once again for a outstanding meal. We will be back in a couple days.

Tags: Fun, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Great Beer, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, , Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Once again the food was fabulous. We sh ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Once again the food was fabulous. We shared a lot of plates including Hog Fish that was fresh out of the water that day. Great preparation on the Hog fish, amazing service - a local favorite.

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was excellent, wish we had dined he ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Food was excellent, wish we had dined here sooner during our week stay in Anna Maria Island, we definitely would have returned. Excellent find, delicious seafood and great service.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

My sister and I had just wrapped up the ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 19, 2016

My sister and I had just wrapped up the last detail of our parents' estate, which was bittersweet, and the Blue Marlin was the perfect spot to both celebrate and reminisce.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great atmosphere,great food,great time. ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Great atmosphere,great food,great time.

We will certainly be returning.

Tags: Healthy, Authentic, Live Music, Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual, Cozy, Fun, Good for a Date, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A gem in the middle of Bradenton Beach. ...

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 17, 2016

A gem in the middle of Bradenton Beach. This area of casual touristy shops and restaurants, we were surprised to find this great restaurant. Staff friendly, decor is "upscale beach", casually nice. In general all of our food was very good. I had the grouper, prepared with pecan crusted, and it was dry. My friend ordered grouper Provençal style and it looked awesome. Would definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

One of our favorites. Low key, great fo ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 10, 2016

One of our favorites. Low key, great food and staff.

Tags: Authentic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The Blue Marlin is an authentic spot wit ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 9, 2016

The Blue Marlin is an authentic spot with an elegant twist. The food is amazing with a good variety of choices. The service is relaxed & spot on. This is a great casual restaurant to choose & rivals anywhere we have been in Sarasota.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

this was my second visit to the Blue Mar ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 7, 2016

this was my second visit to the Blue Marlin. The atmosphere is casual but the food is sophisticated. I had the Fulford Snapper and was amazed by the freshness and the tenderness of the fish. The hush puppies are the best I have ever experienced.

The Guava lime pie was so good I bought two extra slices to take home.

This is a diamond on the island.

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Richtig gutes Essen, nicht überteuert, s ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 6, 2016

Richtig gutes Essen, nicht überteuert, sehr guter Service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The best food on the island! Never disap ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 5, 2016

The best food on the island! Never disappoints. Always fabulous

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always Adam and his team did an outst ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 4, 2016

As always Adam and his team did an outstanding job. We will see you soon.

Tags: Casual, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We have been here many time. The food an ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 4, 2016

We have been here many time. The food and the service are always wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Love this restaurant, found it last year ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Love this restaurant, found it last year on vacation and came back again this year! We love trying their specials with their fresh caught fish of the day; the portions are just right as well. Our entire group loved what they got! Wish we lived closer so we could try more things more often, but it's a nice treat when we come to Florida!

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

LOVE THIS LITTLE GEM IN BRADENTON BEACH, ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 2, 2016

LOVE THIS LITTLE GEM IN BRADENTON BEACH,FL.ALWAY EXCELLENT LOCAL FRESH FISH & SEAFOOD COOKED TO PERFECTION.BE SURE TO RESERVE

Tags: Local Ingredients, Cozy, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Good for a Date, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Consistantly excellent! Try the chef's ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 30, 2016

Consistantly excellent! Try the chef's specials....they are always amazing and not available all the time. This night was Stone Crab Cakes....out of this world delicious!!!! We have never had a meal there that was anything but terrific!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Casual, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Snapper piccata special outstanding. Li ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Snapper piccata special outstanding. Linguini with clam sauce exceptional as well . Don't miss the Brussels sprouts side dish . Sat outside , music on Friday and Saturday nights

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Such a cute and home feel to this adorab ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Such a cute and home feel to this adorable place! Yummy food. Not a good place for a dieter :)

Tags: Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was my 3rd or 4th trip to Blue Marl ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 26, 2016

This was my 3rd or 4th trip to Blue Marlin. Each time the food has grown marginally less imaginative. Very good small plates, though the stone crab is way overpriced for the portion size. All of the seafood was nice but they've left the world of small and inventive for the world of crowded and feeding the masses.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4

It is a cute restaurant with well done ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 25, 2016

It is a cute restaurant with well done antique-ish, nautical decor, a rustic feel. The place is very small, felt we were squished into oversized booth with 7 people. The booth was not comfortable, very hard seats.

very overpriced, food average, salads very good, (does not come with meal), so it was like $9 for side salad, no bread basket with meal. Food very generic, the fish choices very good , but accompaniments like veggie and polenta just dry, bad, nothing special.

I would not go there again, find a more comfortable place that has better food and is not way overpriced. I don't mind paying for good food, this just wasn't the case.

Tags: Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

Food is quite excellent. Was not that fo ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Food is quite excellent. Was not that fond of the fried green tomatoes, but everything else was spot on. Our waiter was very nice and efficient until a table of four, VIP's I presume, were seated behind us and then we barely saw him again. He never came back to ask how our food was. The table behind us was fawned over by just about everyone who worked there. We noticed the young family across from us was ignored also. This is a huge deal for a restaurant of this quality. I can't remember the last time we left only a 15% tip, but even that was hard to do. Please take this into consideration that ALL of your patrons should be treated as VIP's.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.