About Blue Marlin - Bradenton Beach

121 Bridge St
Bradenton Beach, FL 34217
View Larger Map

Located in an original 1920,s cottage on historic Bridge St , the Blue Marlin is dedicated to serving only the freshest local seafood & hearty fair. Our commitment is to bring you the best product the Gulf Coast has to offer. Our courtyard, "The Trap Yard", offers local, live music on the weekends.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Gulf Drive

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(941) 896-9737

Website:
http://bluemarlinami.com/

Entertainment:
We offer Live Local music outside in our courtyard on Friday & Saturday nights from 7:00-10:00 weather permitting. Check our website & facebook for special events

Parking Details:
if you cant find a parking spot on Bridge St please pull to the front door & wait for the golf cart to show you our parking lot. We will bring you back & forth to your car. There is a public lot across the street at the Post Office, just don"t use the handicap spot unless you have appropriate documentation.

Public Transit:
There is a trolley stop at the beach end of Bridge St that requires a short walk East & the trolley runs until 10:00.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Chef's Table, Dancing, Gluten-free Menu, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Blue Marlin - Bradenton Beach Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Seafood
Tampa / Central Florida West
Best Overall
Sarasota / Bradenton
Best Food
Sarasota / Bradenton
3 More
Best Service
Sarasota / Bradenton
Best Value
Sarasota / Bradenton
Fit for Foodies
Sarasota / Bradenton
Best Restaurants in Bradenton ›

neighborhood gem (89)
fit for foodies (88)
special occasion (62)
See All
great for outdoor dining (44)
romantic (36)
notable wine list (34)
good for groups (29)
hot spot (23)
kid-friendly (13)
late-night find (8)
vibrant bar scene (6)
great for lunch (6)
scenic view (5)
great for brunch (2)
Sort By:
Newest
503 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

It has a pricy all seafood menu. But the ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined 4 days ago

It has a pricy all seafood menu. But the food was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

The food and service were very good and ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

The food and service were very good and I would and have recommended the restraunt to friends and family. Very pleased.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I actually was thinking of not giving th ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

I actually was thinking of not giving the Blue Marlin a great write up because I want to keep it a secret. Everything was fabulous.....we were there off season. My guess it is hard to get in during season...

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always excellent fish, Unassuming, pleas ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Always excellent fish, Unassuming, pleasant atmosphere, friendly staff.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Simply fabulous food , service and wine. ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Simply fabulous food , service and wine. Can't wait to return

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

the sea food is always excellent. One o ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

the sea food is always excellent. One of best restaurants on the Island

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great meal, but the wait, with reservati ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Great meal, but the wait, with reservations, was over a half an hour. Our server wasn't the best and he must have know that he wasn't because he didn't divulge his name. No matter, the quality of the food and the efficiency of the kitchen was first rate. I am an AMI resident and this is my new favorite island restaurant...and we have good restaurants here!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

very quaint place. food is good. Howev ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

very quaint place. food is good. However, never go there from June -September. The AC is not adequate and it is stifling in there. we were told the building cant accommodate stronger AC.

go in the winter and you'll enjoy it

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

We had a wonderful dinner at Blue Marlin ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

We had a wonderful dinner at Blue Marlin! The booths are cozy, and the dim lighting creates a nice romantic ambiance. The cracker shrimp were excellent, maybe even our favorite part of the meal. Clam spaghetti in white wine sauce was heavy on the garlic and maybe slightly salty, but I really enjoyed the dish. The blackened grouper served with the fettuccine was the best grouper I've had, but I thought the Alfredo and accompanying pesto could have used a little more salt to cut through the richness of it. We were very happy with our meals, and will definitely return on a future trip. Tip: parking nearby is a little crazy, so park at the beach and walk over.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

The food is excellent. The wait staff a ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

The food is excellent. The wait staff are great with recommendations when you ask them. The service is very, very good. The restaurant is small and a reservation is a must. But, if you had to wait the food is worth it. Several local people told us to be sure and go to the Blue Marlin. I am very happy we did go there. We were there twice and plan to go back next summer.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

we try to have dinner at least once ever ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

we try to have dinner at least once every time we come to the beach from Lakeland, which is several times a year. We always enjoy the Blue Marlin - it's one of our favorites!

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We had dinner at Tide Table, just minute ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

We had dinner at Tide Table, just minutes away, the night before. The grouper, shrimp and other fresh fish was superior to Blue Marlin's which seemed a little dry and not seasoned as nice. The service wasn't as friendly and more disorganized than Tide Table. Now, they are two very different restaurants, one outside on picnic tables overlooking the bay and the other inside more formal (as formal as you get in Bradenton), so maybe it's not entirely fair to compare. However, apparently their seafood comes from the same place.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

This restaurant was absolutely wonderful ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

This restaurant was absolutely wonderful. We were celebrating our wedding anniversary and they brought us two glasses of champagne, on the house. Service was excellent. The fish, very fresh and delicious. We will definitely return!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

They buy all their seafood local and fr ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

They buy all their seafood local and fresh from just across the bridge. Consistently excellent every time we eat there. A little short on their wine pours but excellent wine list. specials are special and the Chef is always trying new stuff. The side yard usually features local musicians and mostly has a nice breeze and a outside bar if you want to eat outside. Bridge Street is a happening place with several bars and live music and a public pier to walk on later.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

We've been there on a few occasions, som ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

We've been there on a few occasions, sometimes with friends. Seafood is outstanding.

Appetizers, dessert, and beer/wine provide great choices. Friendly, accommodating service.

We'll be back.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Service was excellent and the fish we or ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Service was excellent and the fish we ordered was outstanding....definitely going back.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice place and good food but smells of m ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Nice place and good food but smells of mold and musty.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

We really enjoyed the meal . Incredible ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

We really enjoyed the meal . Incredible summer salad with fresh peaches & strawberries was a terrific starter with our Sauvignon blanc. The grouper was nicely prepared; I had the pecan crusted & husband had the Asian sauce. Thought the portion size was a little small but so delicious !

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful meal and service, we will be b ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

Wonderful meal and service, we will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The Blue Marlin was a great find for us. ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

The Blue Marlin was a great find for us. We had the steamed littleneck clams appetizer which I strongly recommend. The broth and toppings were fantastic. We also had a tenderloin medallion appetizer with arugula and garlic, also excellent. My wife had shrimp & grits for her entree and enjoyed them, I had grouper Provençal, which was perfectly prepared. We had a great bottle of Sauvignon Blanc to compliment the meal. For desert, I had the tropical bread pudding and my wife had chocolate creme brûlée. The entire meal was wonderful and the service was great and not overbearing. We will go back again!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A warm and welcoming staff, server and m ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

A warm and welcoming staff, server and management started our evening off in what turned out to be the most incredibly delicious dining experience during our 2 week vacation on Anna Maria Island. We were craving a landlubber's choice and we were not to be disappointed! The starters of crisp fresh & perfectly prepared Edamame (Japanese soybeans) and a bowl of creamy luscious potato soup had us all under the culinary spell of The Blue Marlin! Temptations of Filet Mignon in a dark demi glaze were not ignored by our desirous appetite. And chef delighted our desires to enjoy something out of this world fabulous!

Side choice that evening were bright, ever so delicately crunchy Asparagus with artfully slivered slices of grilled garlic and the most wonderfully prepared brown butter sage potatoes ever had anywhere! And we managed to find a niche of dessert room for a crazy awesome slice of Guava Key Lime Pie! It was a most phenomenal affair ! Highly recommended! !

Tags: kid-friendly, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Blue Marlin always has the freshest seaf ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Blue Marlin always has the freshest seafood always prepared to perfection it is our go to restaurant on Bradenton Beach

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Cappellette wine is a great selection. ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Cappellette wine is a great selection. Pecan crusted snapper was absolutely fabulous. ALWAYS an amazing experience. Thanks again !!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was my 2nd time dining at the Blue ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

This was my 2nd time dining at the Blue Marlin. One of my friends with whom I dined on this occasion has dined at the Blue Marlin on many occasions and loves it. I now love it as well! Great atmosphere, and fantastic food! Check out the fish tacos from the street fare selection...fantastic!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Fun atmosphere, a little noisy inside bu ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Fun atmosphere, a little noisy inside but not too bad. The food was very fresh and good. We had a snapper special. The salads were really good.

Tags: kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Nestled there, in the oh so beautiful An ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

Nestled there, in the oh so beautiful Anna Maria Island, you can find a little foodie's treasure. A cozy little restaurant, perfectly suited to the beachy town feel of yesteryear that surrounds it. The Blue Marlin and I'm guessing by the various pictures there on it's walls, it was the fish that did not get away. In fact, not only did it get caught but it proved to be a most delicious black grouper with hints of lemon grass and other Thai spices, served to my husband alongside my lobster and shrimp linguine, that was swimming in the most heavenly rich sauce. I thought my son, the family carnivore, was completely missing the boat until I got a taste of the most tender filet he ordered. Every thing about our meal, was spectacular and thoroughly savored.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife had the pecan crusted grouper, d ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

My wife had the pecan crusted grouper, didn't think she could eat it all but was sooo good she rose to the occasion. I had the fried whole snapper which was also delicious. Both fish dishes were fresh caught.

Our second dinner there and highly recommend it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

This small, quaint and rustic place pac ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

This small, quaint and rustic place packs a large food profile. They had a wide option for dinner making the decision process tricky. Drew, our server, was excellent. Well attentive but not bothersome. He was well educated on the menu and gave meal options with passion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

A great place to dine with friends and family!

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

There is nothing negative to be said. The food was excellent; the wine list provided many good options and the service was great. It's our go-to restaurant when we are in the area.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect meal and date night destination! ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Perfect meal and date night destination! Awesome music on the patio afterwards.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Disappointed this time

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

This was our second time to dine here at the Blue Marlin. The last time it was about a year ago and we had great food and service during that visit, so we decided to try it again. I noted they had fresh Hog Snapper (Hogfish) on the menu, but only offered it "potato encrusted" so decided to try it. My wife had the grouper, which was also fried like my Hogfish. Unfortunately, both of our fish dinners were substantially over-cooked. We are not ones to complain, but after noting that we only finished half our meals, our server/waitress asked if everything was okay. We told her about the overcooked problem, so she went and got the manager on duty, who offered to comp us a dessert, which we did not want. Instead she gave us two cards for free drinks during our next visit, but they are only good through this July. I'm not sure if we'll eat there again before they expire since this place is too far to drive for a dinner date that does not involve spending the night at nearby hotel. I think this place is still a good choice to consider, but they need to do a better job with their cooking staff to make sure it does not ruin what should otherwise be deliciously prepared fresh fish meals. It was the Friday evening before Memorial Day, and a bit busy, but I didn't think it was so busy that it resulted in 2 poorly prepared meals.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value2

Absolutely loved this place, fantastic food & svc

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Blue Marlin was recommended by a frequent visitor to the area. We made a reservation a few months in advance for the Friday evening of Memorial Day weekend to celebrate our wedding anniversary. We are pretty simple - as long as the food and service are worth the price, we are easy to please. This place delivered on this hands down. Would we go back - ABSOLUTELY.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I made this reservation for my grandmoth ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

I made this reservation for my grandmother and parents and the LOVED everything about it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A wonderful little place always with gr ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

A wonderful little place always with great food.

A must every time we visit the area!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent Dinner

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

Parking on Bridge St is always a problem at dinner time but this restaurant's shuttle will take you to their remote lot and give you ride back/forth. Pricey entrees but their fresh fish (red snapper and grouper) was well worth it. Will definitely return .. great food and service!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food. Setting is across from the b ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

Good food. Setting is across from the beach, very casual. Sit outside under the trees if possible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Truly a great find for the 4 of us!!! Fi ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on May 23, 2016

Truly a great find for the 4 of us!!! First time for local residents like us (Holmes Beach & University Park). A unique menu offering the evenings' Catch of the Day prepared in several variations. Food was far superior to what we had hoped/expected; beautifully prepared and presented, minor vegetable substitutions graciously accepted, and absolutely delicious!!! Delicious Entrees, Starters and Salads. Begged off Desert but menu offerings sounded equally delicious. The Family servers were friendly and efficient. The place is tiny and one very loud party made a lot of noise!!! Fortunately we were tucked into the one rear corner table which

muffled the raucous sounds a bit! This was a Monday evening, just off-season and tables were full, so strongly suggest reservations as well in advance as possible. Exceptional wine selections as well! Thank you for an exceptional dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Outstanding! Seriously wonderful! Love ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Outstanding! Seriously wonderful! Loved the outdoor space and the band, Bird Tribe. Will be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very nice

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Very good food, great valet since Bridge Street has limited parking. Service was excellent from everyone. It is a bit pricey but a good value.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Our second time to this quaint little sp ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

Our second time to this quaint little spot in Bradenton Beach. We made a last minute reservation through OpenTable, and were surprised at how well that process worked. We were greeted and seated immediately upon arrival, and the remaining of our visit was lovely. Tempura batter-fried soft-shell crab was truly "soft-shell", and the clams linguini rivaled that of the best Itlaian restaurants. We'll be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.