About Blue Marlin - Bradenton Beach

121 Bridge St
Bradenton Beach, FL 34217
View Larger Map

Located in an original 1920,s cottage on historic Bridge St , the Blue Marlin is dedicated to serving only the freshest local seafood & hearty fair. Our commitment is to bring you the best product the Gulf Coast has to offer. Our courtyard, "The Trap Yard", offers local, live music on the weekends.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Gulf Drive

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(941) 896-9737

Website:
http://bluemarlinami.com/

Entertainment:
We offer Live Local music outside in our courtyard on Friday & Saturday nights from 7:00-10:00 weather permitting. Check our website & facebook for special events

Parking Details:
if you cant find a parking spot on Bridge St please pull to the front door & wait for the golf cart to show you our parking lot. We will bring you back & forth to your car. There is a public lot across the street at the Post Office, just don"t use the handicap spot unless you have appropriate documentation.

Public Transit:
There is a trolley stop at the beach end of Bridge St that requires a short walk East & the trolley runs until 10:00.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Chef's Table, Dancing, Gluten-free Menu, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Blue Marlin - Bradenton Beach Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Seafood
Tampa / Central Florida West
Best Service
Sarasota / Bradenton
Best Ambiance
Sarasota / Bradenton
2 More
Fit for Foodies
Sarasota / Bradenton
Neighborhood Gem
Sarasota / Bradenton
Best Restaurants in Bradenton ›

Neighborhood Gem (36)
Fit for Foodies (34)
Local Ingredients (27)
See All
Special Occasion (25)
Great for Outdoor Dining (20)
Cozy (20)
Worth the Drive (19)
Creative Cuisine (17)
Casual (16)
Good for a Date (15)
Authentic (14)
Good for Anniversaries (14)
Notable Wine List (13)
Good for Birthdays (13)
Romantic (10)
Live Music (9)
Fun (9)
Hot Spot (7)
Historic (7)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Good for Groups (7)
Comfort Food (7)
Kid-friendly (7)
Outstanding Value (6)
Healthy (5)
Seasonal (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Bar Seating (4)
People Watching (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Waterfront (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Business Meals (3)
Great Beer (2)
Organic (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Scenic View (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Tasting Menu (1)
Tapas (1)
Spicy (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Family Style (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Dancing (1)
Sort By:
S
579 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Consistantly excellent! Try the chef's ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined 4 days ago

Consistantly excellent! Try the chef's specials....they are always amazing and not available all the time. This night was Stone Crab Cakes....out of this world delicious!!!! We have never had a meal there that was anything but terrific!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Casual, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Snapper piccata special outstanding. Li ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Snapper piccata special outstanding. Linguini with clam sauce exceptional as well . Don't miss the Brussels sprouts side dish . Sat outside , music on Friday and Saturday nights

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Such a cute and home feel to this adorab ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Such a cute and home feel to this adorable place! Yummy food. Not a good place for a dieter :)

Tags: Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was my 3rd or 4th trip to Blue Marl ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 26, 2016

This was my 3rd or 4th trip to Blue Marlin. Each time the food has grown marginally less imaginative. Very good small plates, though the stone crab is way overpriced for the portion size. All of the seafood was nice but they've left the world of small and inventive for the world of crowded and feeding the masses.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4

It is a cute restaurant with well done ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 25, 2016

It is a cute restaurant with well done antique-ish, nautical decor, a rustic feel. The place is very small, felt we were squished into oversized booth with 7 people. The booth was not comfortable, very hard seats.

very overpriced, food average, salads very good, (does not come with meal), so it was like $9 for side salad, no bread basket with meal. Food very generic, the fish choices very good , but accompaniments like veggie and polenta just dry, bad, nothing special.

I would not go there again, find a more comfortable place that has better food and is not way overpriced. I don't mind paying for good food, this just wasn't the case.

Tags: Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

Food is quite excellent. Was not that fo ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Food is quite excellent. Was not that fond of the fried green tomatoes, but everything else was spot on. Our waiter was very nice and efficient until a table of four, VIP's I presume, were seated behind us and then we barely saw him again. He never came back to ask how our food was. The table behind us was fawned over by just about everyone who worked there. We noticed the young family across from us was ignored also. This is a huge deal for a restaurant of this quality. I can't remember the last time we left only a 15% tip, but even that was hard to do. Please take this into consideration that ALL of your patrons should be treated as VIP's.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Excellent seafood. Would have given all ...

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Excellent seafood. Would have given all five stars but desserts could be better. Will be back though for seafood.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The Blue Marlin is one of my favorite re ...

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on November 18, 2016

The Blue Marlin is one of my favorite restaurants in Anna Maria...The food is always fresh and well prepared...lovely wine menu..local beers...Beachy coastal vibe..local art on the walls..an outside garden with music..bar...outdoor seating..

We were there to celebrate the restaurant's 5th birthday..fun time...we will be back!!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Cute place on the Island. Seafood was fr ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Cute place on the Island. Seafood was fresh and well prepared. Shep was a great server. Brought wines to taste before ordering.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The best, freshest seafood on AMI! Great ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 14, 2016

The best, freshest seafood on AMI! Great service too.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very nice location, very pretty, great f ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Very nice location, very pretty, great food, top quality! Nice live music on the weekends. Servers and management are very attentive. You definitely will have a great meal here!

Tags: Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love the Blue Marlin. Highly recommend. ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Love the Blue Marlin. Highly recommend. The food is excellent! The wait staff are right on top of things. High back ground noise for people with hearing disabilities.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love this gem. The setting is near the b ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Love this gem. The setting is near the bay with a great outdoor patio to snack, drink and listen to great live music in the trees. The restaurant is warm and friendly with extremely fresh seafood in a comfortable and cozy rooms.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Came for our 53rd Anniv. always have Sto ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Came for our 53rd Anniv. always have Stone Crab in the past gone to Moore's but out of biz.

Had SC appt. but pricey especially with dinner aft also pricey but everything was delicious and tasty, wines selection good but pricey.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Had dinner at Blue Marlin Restaurant in ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Had dinner at Blue Marlin Restaurant in Bradenton Beach, Fl last nite. They offer the freshest seafood on the Gulf served in very creative ways The restaurant is close to several commercial fishing distributors and gets all of their daily fish from them freaks caught. The focus is on warm water fish such as Snapper, Grouper, Gulf Shrimp, Mahdi Mahdi, etc served in very creative ways. The potato crusted smaller is my favourite. We try to dine there once or twice a month.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We drove from Tara golf food was good s ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 9, 2016

We drove from Tara golf food was good staff were great had a drink outside after dinner nice place. No problems go again

Tags: Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Happy Hour, People Watching, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The waiter was fantastic in terms of kno ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 5, 2016

The waiter was fantastic in terms of knowledge of the food. All recommendations were perfect and no food was brought home including the delicious dessert items, yes we had multiple desserts! Great Experience!!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had the grouper fulfordat $32 and it was ...

 
 (London)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Had the grouper fulfordat $32 and it was slightly overcooked making it a bit mushy,which given the price was a little disappointing.Smoked fish starter not as previously,it used to be in a jar with a little caviar on top and tasted more piquant.Rice and beans had no beans and were under spiced.Service very fast which given high prices to be in and out in just over an hour is hardly the experience one is paying for-to be fair we could have kept the table and this has never happened before ,so just one of those things !!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Somewhat long wait for entrees. Food not ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Somewhat long wait for entrees. Food not hot. Portions on small side and pricey . Parking not a problem. Wait staff very pleasant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

We visit Anna Maria island for 2 weeks e ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 1, 2016

We visit Anna Maria island for 2 weeks every year and always make sure we eat at blue marlin at least twice. The French catch of the day is always a winner. Service is efficient and not smothering. Last night I had the grouper and it was cooked perfectly. Can't wait to return next week!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We have eaten at the Blue Marlin many ti ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on October 31, 2016

We have eaten at the Blue Marlin many times. They accommodate us every time even when we had 16

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good Vegetarian Options, Live Music, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Blue Marlin's food is always outstanding ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Blue Marlin's food is always outstanding! The Specials are innovative and the regular menu is always solid. If you enjoy fresh and delicious seafood, this is your place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had great food and service here. Unfo ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 29, 2016

We had great food and service here. Unfortunately through No fault of the restaurant there was an exceptional noisy party at another table. Due to the cosiness and low ceilings our time there was really noisy. Great staff great food

Tags: Authentic, Cozy, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food & service! Our reservation w ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Great food & service! Our reservation was perfect had asked for corner table and was able to drop off balloons for my moms 83rd birthday dinner! She was happily surprised!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food on the outdoor dining area. ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Great food on the outdoor dining area. Good selections.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great Beer, Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was fabulous - as always! And, the ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Food was fabulous - as always! And, the band on Friday night was freakin-fantastic!!!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Dancing
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Owner went out of his way to make us fee ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Owner went out of his way to make us feel at home -- we had reservations, they were running a bit late, and we sat outside with live music to wait. He came out with complimentary wine to help ease the wait!

The food was spectacular -- even a reluctant seafood eater loved his main course. Everything tasted fresh, and they boast local seafood. Fabulous wines, and we wished we had room for dessert.

We will be back! (One note: reservations are almost a must, as the restaurant is cozy and popular.)

Tags: Fun, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Open Kitchen, Romantic, Cozy, Live Music, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was delightful. Our server seeme ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Service was delightful. Our server seemed truly happy to make our dining experience a good one. The saffron flavored chowder was delicious. And the shrimp egg rolls were perfect. It's nice to sit outside where there is music.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Great service and menu choices

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Great service and menu choices

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Bradenton Beach (and Anna Maria Island) ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Bradenton Beach (and Anna Maria Island) is not a place for foodies. Blue Marlin was rated highly on Trip Advisor but it's all relative when the choices are limited. The food at Blue Marlin was okay but very overpriced for what it was. The shrimp appetizer was overcooked. The salad was missable. The grouper Provencal was greatly improved after we asked for some lemon wedges. The snapper piccata was good but not special. Bottom line is we prefer going into Sarasota to dine or cooking in after watching the sun set from the beach.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Love how the menu changes when you least ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Love how the menu changes when you least expect it! They offer the best specials and the catch of the day doesn't compare anywhere else. Every single bite of food tastes amazing.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Tapas, Hot Spot, People Watching, Good Vegetarian Options, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Fun atmosphere. Fabulous seafood. Great ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Fun atmosphere. Fabulous seafood. Great wine and beer. Can be loud. Close to other bars to keep the party going.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Live Music, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Fun, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food, had the filet and wife h ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Excellent food, had the filet and wife had catch of the day with pecan crusting. Also had dessert, the bread pudding was superb! Server seemed spread thin, didn't see her much, but otherwise great service. Certainly didn't diminish the experience. We'll definitely plan for dinner here on any future trips to AMI.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Love, love, love the shrimp and grits an ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Love, love, love the shrimp and grits and smoked chicken wings were amazing!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

One of my favorite new restaurants. Grea ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 15, 2016

One of my favorite new restaurants. Great patio to wait with wonderful music then great food and drinks, welcoming friendly service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Third time to visit and still very enjoy ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Third time to visit and still very enjoyable! Newly revamped menu was fun. Great sangria and Lola wine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The ambience was wonderful. The live mus ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 14, 2016

The ambience was wonderful. The live music was not too loud and very good. The outside seating area was very comfortable, and the food was impeccable.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Nice wine list. Fresh flavors and very ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Nice wine list. Fresh flavors and very accommodating for special dietary needs. Great "old Florida" ambiance.

Tags: Cozy, Historic, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My favorite restaurant in the Bradenton/ ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 12, 2016

My favorite restaurant in the Bradenton/

Sarasota area.

Tags: Comfort Food, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food as always is excellent.Fresh local ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 11, 2016

Food as always is excellent.Fresh local fish are served & prepared perfectly.The servers & service are outstanding.

Tags: Casual, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.