Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.29mi
  2. Distance: 0.42mi
  3. Distance: 0.48mi
  4. Distance: 0.48mi
  1. Distance: 0.29mi
  2. Distance: 0.42mi
  3. Distance: 0.48mi
  4. Distance: 0.48mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.29mi
  2. Distance: 0.42mi
  3. Distance: 0.48mi
  4. Distance: 0.48mi
  1. Distance: 0.29mi
  2. Distance: 0.42mi
  3. Distance: 0.48mi
  4. Distance: 0.48mi

About Blue Heron Steakhouse

The Blue Heron Steakhouse is located in the thriving historic Jefferson Street corridor. We offer an excellent menu with steakhouse classics and modern Southern fare with specialties such as fresh oysters, the finest cuts of beef, shrimp and grits and more. Our restaurant started as a hand-crafted cocktail bar and consumer demand made it obvious that we needed to expand to a full-service kitchen. The Blue Heron is situated in a renovated home with exposed brick, a beautiful, locally crafted chandelier, a roaring two-sided fireplace in the colder months and an expansive patio for warmer weather. Locally owned and loaded with character, The Blue Heron is a perfect setting for an intimate date, an evening with friends or simply a casual dinner while watching the game.

185 Jefferson Street
Lexington, KY 40508
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Contemporary American, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Dinner:
Monday - Thursday 5 pm - 10 pm
Friday - Saturday 5 pm - 11 pm
Closed Sundays

Bar:
4 pm - 2 am

Cross Street:
Second Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(859) 254-2491

Website:
http://blueheronsteakhouse.com/

Parking Details:
The Blue Heron has a private parking lot right beside the restaurant. There is also ample on street parking in the area.

Executive Chef:
Will Preston

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

50% Off Most Wines

Mondays from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Specials

50% Off Most Wines

Mondays from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Details

50% Off Most Wines. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Jan 9, 2017 - Mar 31, 2017 on Mondays from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM.

Blue Heron Steakhouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (30)
Cozy (26)
Good for a Date (26)
See All
Fireplace (23)
Good for Anniversaries (19)
Neighborhood Gem (18)
Good for Birthdays (17)
Romantic (16)
Local Ingredients (15)
Business Meals (14)
Casual (13)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Authentic (11)
Worth the Drive (11)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Notable Wine List (7)
Good for Groups (7)
Bar Seating (7)
Hot Spot (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Historic (6)
Fun (6)
Outstanding Value (6)
Comfort Food (5)
Scenic View (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Seasonal (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Great Beer (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Live Sports (1)
Family Style (1)
Private Room (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Healthy (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Vegan (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
277 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on March 18, 2017

I had the 8oz Filet Steak. The favor and tenderness was outstanding. Highly recommend. The sides were lacking and the side salad would have been better with lettuce instead of weeds. Nice atmosphere but priced a little too high. Overall I would give it 4 out of 5.

Tags: Fireplace, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Service was amazing, as well as the atmosphere. Steaks were disappointing. Our Ribeye and Filet were both burnt on the outside.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 11, 2017

We had out of town friends visiting from Indpls. Blue Heron didn't disappoint. They were truly impressed and so were we. From the creative cocktails, extensive wine list, to the delicious entrees including the sea bass special (exceptional!!), to the delectable desserts (crème brulee) they commented how fantastic it all was!!! We will definitely continue to go back. Parking continues to be the only issue for all of the restaurants.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Great service, great food, great ambiance. Will certainly return to the Nlue Heron. Very cool atmosphere.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Food was not that impressive compared to what's around town. Anniversary meal. Tile fish special was terrible. Had to send back. Lamb was good, charbroiled flank was so so. Apple crumble dessert-undercooked apples. Sad. Only outstanding item, fresh oysters with their rice vinegar sauce! Service decent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on March 4, 2017

We've been to this restaurant many times and have never had a bad experience until this past weekend. We have always known the parking was awful, but this time was especially bad. They only have about 10 spaces for entire restaurant plus the on street parking. We drove around for about 20 minutes trying to find a place to park so we wouldn't get a ticket or get towed. There was a police car parked near the restaurant and 2 more down the street so parking in one of the "resident only" lots was not an option. When I made the reservation I said it was our wedding anniversary, and we'd like to be near the fireplace. When we finally made it to the restaurant we were taken to the glassed in patio and seated by the window near the entrance stairs...not even inside the main area. It was unbelievably loud out there. We were going to try to make the best of it until the waiter came and we couldn't even hear what he was saying. It was almost laughable. We even commented to him how loud it was and he agreed with us. I understand people want to have a good time, but we wanted to enjoy a quiet evening at a nice restaurant that we've enjoyed in the past. I shouldn't have to yell across the table at my husband. We ordered our drinks and then couldn't taken it anymore. When the waiter brought our drinks we explained our situation and asked to be moved. He checked with management and said they didn't have anything any better. We told him to cash us out. We figured if we were going to spend almost $200 on a meal then we should enjoy it so we checked OpenTable for other restaurants in the area that had availability. We paid $29 for drinks we didn't touch and ended up at Portofinos where we spent well over $200 and had a nice meal for our anniversary. I understand all requests can't be met, but when you make them a week in advance it shouldn't be a problem especially when the hostess took us right past an empty 2 person table by the fireplace then ignored me when I asked about it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Always a treat!! Our favorite spot in Lexington. Ambience is great, and quaintness is so special.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Great food, great atmosphere and great service! Party of 7 and everyone had a great meal.

Tags: Fun, Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fireplace, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 3, 2017

When we got to the restaurant we were greeted by our host immediately. She sat us in a nice corner of the restaurant and within just a few minutes we were greeted by our server. It was very obvious that she had been involved / with the restaurant for many years. She was extremely knowledgeable, friendly and attentive. As a group of four, we ordered various entree's with one appetizer. The appetizer was superb. Baked oysters. Most of us ordered steak. Although my steak was cooked a bit more than I like it, the steak(s) were flavorful and tender.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 25, 2017

I got the cowboy ribeye. I was very disappointed that it was pretty tough. I didn't complain because I was afraid they would think I was trying to get something free. I would not order it again.

Tags: Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 22, 2017

Best Moscow mule on the planet!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 21, 2017

Our Group was there for special celebration and had a great time! Excellent food and Service!

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Blue Heron never disappoints! The service and the food are awesome!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Fireplace, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 17, 2017

great meal. wonderful creme brulee. perfect from beginning to end.

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fireplace, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 17, 2017

This was outstanding for the price and service, quality of steak was superb. Can't wait to go back, best meal in Lexington in a long time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 17, 2017

First time dining here. Loved it! Sat on the covered porch for privacy. Ryan took great care of us. We will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Our first visit. My wife loved the grouper. I had the veal and it was okay, but regret not getting the filet. Dessert was great. Very nice atmosphere and decor. Service was pretty good. A bit pricey. We will definitely go back.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fireplace, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The service was slower than normal, especially for a Monday evening. The crab cake was amazing but the truffle fries could have been cooked longer. Our main course dishes were absolutely amazing.

Tags: Special Occasion, Private Room, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Disabled Access, Quick Bite, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Great Beer, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Late-night Find, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Had a great meal there recently. Loved the food and the atmosphere. Diana was our server and she did an excellent job!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on February 11, 2017

My only complaint is we sat next to the kitchen door and my seat faced it! Didn't enjoy watching the servers all evening. Oh well! The Shrimp and Grits were outstanding!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Good dinner. Steak was great. The oysters were not great.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Family Style, Fireplace, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Great food, our waitress was very knowledgeable about the menu and provided wonderful service. Cocktails are excellent and The atmosphere is perfect for a date or girls night out!

Tags: Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Food was delicious and Brittany was awesome! I typically do not like grits, but the shrimp n grits are FABULOUS! Flat iron steak was very tasty!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Casual, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on February 7, 2017

I've been here several times. Has never disappointed.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Awesome as usual!! One of our favorites.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 4, 2017

The Porterhouse for two was amazing and LT our waiter did a fantastic job and took great care of us. Will definitely be back.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Our dinner at the Blue Heron was perfect! From the grilled oysters to the apple crumble, every dish was just right and the service was excellent. We will definitely recommend to friends who are visiting downtown Lexington.

Tags: Great Beer, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fireplace, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Solid job with the steaks. Nice alternative to the usual suspects in town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 27, 2017

This was a great place to eat and the staff was very helpful and friendly. GF options were plentiful, and the staff was very knowledgeable. A great experience!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Spent a Friday night to celebrate a birthday. Got there early (6pm) and out reservation allowed us to be seated right away. Nice casual steak house. Enjoyed the entire dining experience. Baked Brie was very good as an appetizer. Four of use were there. I split the Porterhouse for two. Other dishes were Strip Steak and Filet Mignonette. Brought to us at the correct temperatures and sides accompanied the main course very well. Desserts finished off the dinner just as we hoped. Will be back soon

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Wonderful service and great steak. Also fantastic to eat here.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Great steak! Good company!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 13, 2017

First time in Kentucky for me and this restaurant was recommended. We were a group of 4 and all ended up ordering the same thing. Fried chicken. It did not disappoint. I also had oysters, wedge salad, onion rings (huge, yum!). Everything was delicious.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 13, 2017

The service, the food and the atmosphere were excellent. Loved the 2 sided fireplace and the food was very well prepared. I had the Florida Tile fish and it was excellent.

Tags: Wood Oven, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 12, 2017

I visited this restaurant for a business dinner with 6 guys. We had 3 Porthouse 40oz steaks. The volume was good enough for the 6 guys and the taste was very delicious. We really enjoyed!

Tags: Fireplace, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 7, 2017

This was a birthday dinner for my husband's 63rd birthday. My roasted chicken dinner was boring and bland. Everyone else enjoyed their steak. Don't order the chicken.

Tags: Cozy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Fantastic food and great staff, our favorite place to eat.

Tags: Authentic, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Great food, decent service, lovely atmosphere. The creamed spinach was great, the prime rib special was also very tasty

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Very slow service but great food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Always a great choice! We have dined here many times and the experience is consistently exquisite. Steaks cooked to perfection, fried chickens perhaps better than my mom's, shrimp and grits best in the south and chocolate mousse to die for. Yep! I highly recommend the Blue Heron.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Fireplace, Authentic, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Outstanding Value, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Romantic, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.