About Blue Heron Steakhouse

185 Jefferson Street
Lexington, KY 40508
View Larger Map

The Blue Heron Steakhouse is located in the thriving historic Jefferson Street corridor. We offer an excellent menu with steakhouse classics and modern Southern fare with specialties such as fresh oysters, the finest cuts of beef, shrimp and grits and more. Our restaurant started as a hand-crafted cocktail bar and consumer demand made it obvious that we needed to expand to a full-service kitchen. The Blue Heron is situated in a renovated home with exposed brick, a beautiful, locally crafted chandelier, a roaring two-sided fireplace in the colder months and an expansive patio for warmer weather. Locally owned and loaded with character, The Blue Heron is a perfect setting for an intimate date, an evening with friends or simply a casual dinner while watching the game.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Contemporary American, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Dinner:
Monday - Thursday 5 pm - 10 pm
Friday - Saturday 5 pm - 11 pm
Closed Sundays

Bar:
4 pm - 2 am

Cross Street:
Second Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(859) 254-2491

Website:
http://blueheronsteakhouse.com/

Parking Details:
The Blue Heron has a private parking lot right beside the restaurant. There is also ample on street parking in the area.

Executive Chef:
Will Preston

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

50% Off Most Wines

Mondays from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Specials

50% Off Most Wines

Mondays from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Details

50% Off Most Wines. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Jan 9, 2017 - Mar 31, 2017 on Mondays from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM.

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Details

$75.00 Per Person 3 course fixed menu.
No plate sharing.
Menu to be posted by 1/5/2017

Blue Heron Steakhouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (22)
Special Occasion (21)
Cozy (17)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (14)
Good for Birthdays (14)
Fireplace (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Local Ingredients (9)
Business Meals (9)
Romantic (9)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Authentic (8)
Good for Groups (7)
Historic (6)
Casual (6)
Fun (6)
Notable Wine List (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Outstanding Value (5)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Comfort Food (4)
Hot Spot (3)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Seasonal (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Scenic View (2)
Open Kitchen (1)
Private Room (1)
People Watching (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Great Beer (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Family Style (1)
Live Sports (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
246 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Wonderful service and great steak. Also ...

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined 3 days ago

Wonderful service and great steak. Also fantastic to eat here.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great steak! Good company!

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Great steak! Good company!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

First time in Kentucky for me and this r ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 13, 2017

First time in Kentucky for me and this restaurant was recommended. We were a group of 4 and all ended up ordering the same thing. Fried chicken. It did not disappoint. I also had oysters, wedge salad, onion rings (huge, yum!). Everything was delicious.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service, the food and the atmosphere ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 13, 2017

The service, the food and the atmosphere were excellent. Loved the 2 sided fireplace and the food was very well prepared. I had the Florida Tile fish and it was excellent.

Tags: Wood Oven, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I visited this restaurant for a business ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 12, 2017

I visited this restaurant for a business dinner with 6 guys. We had 3 Porthouse 40oz steaks. The volume was good enough for the 6 guys and the taste was very delicious. We really enjoyed!

Tags: Fireplace, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was a birthday dinner for my husban ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 7, 2017

This was a birthday dinner for my husband's 63rd birthday. My roasted chicken dinner was boring and bland. Everyone else enjoyed their steak. Don't order the chicken.

Tags: Cozy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

Fantastic food and great staff, our favo ...

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Fantastic food and great staff, our favorite place to eat.

Tags: Authentic, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, decent service, lovely atmos ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Great food, decent service, lovely atmosphere. The creamed spinach was great, the prime rib special was also very tasty

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Very slow service but great food.

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Very slow service but great food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Always a great choice! We have dined he ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Always a great choice! We have dined here many times and the experience is consistently exquisite. Steaks cooked to perfection, fried chickens perhaps better than my mom's, shrimp and grits best in the south and chocolate mousse to die for. Yep! I highly recommend the Blue Heron.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Fireplace, Authentic, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, , Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Romantic, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fun dinner with friends. Great food! Be ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Fun dinner with friends. Great food! Best crab cake in Lexinfton!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Well ntentioned but lose the music over ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Well ntentioned but lose the music over speaker system.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A very quaint little place. Great servi ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 22, 2016

A very quaint little place. Great service with personable server and hostess. Only problem was potentially the kitchen, as far as timing. There was an extremely long period of time between salad/appetizers being served until the entres came out. We were actually no longer hungry. I didn't time it, but it might been 45 minutes. Yet, a nice place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

We love Blue Heron and dine there often. ...

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 18, 2016

We love Blue Heron and dine there often. However last night the service was not acceptable and they ran out of baked potatoes... rather odd!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1

Our Saturday evening our party of 4 arri ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Our Saturday evening our party of 4 arrived on time and was promptly seated and then greeted by Emily, our waitress. She did a very good job of attending to our needs during the evening without being intrusive. Our food was what we have come to expect from this restaurant. Only the COLD HARD BREAD was a disappointment. This was our first experience with this bread and the evening would have been better if the bread had not been served. All the sides, appetizers and entrees were excellent. We like this restaurant and look forward to our next trip there.

Tags: Fun, , Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The Porterhouse for 2 was just so so. No ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 16, 2016

The Porterhouse for 2 was just so so. Not a lot of flavor and was tough. The cream spinach was like water. Our table was a located in an area that had a cold draft. We asked to be moved somewhere that was warmer but was not allowed. They increased the temperature but it did nothing for the cold draft, so we were still cold. We were really disappointed and should have went elsewhere for dinner.

Tags: Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Was excellent as always. However, they s ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Was excellent as always. However, they sat us next to the door and we froze.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Perfectly cooked steaks in a really cozy ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Perfectly cooked steaks in a really cozy atmosphere! We really enjoyed the whole experience, food and service were some of the best in town. Our server Trevor was knowledgeable, polite and fun. He knew just when to appear to help the night run flawlessly!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Fun, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Cozy, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Awesome as usual!! One of the best kept ...

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Awesome as usual!! One of the best kept secrets in Lexington.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service was fantastic from hostess to wa ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Service was fantastic from hostess to waitress. Wife and I split a steak, they actually cut her a five ounce portion off my T-Bone and cooked it medium while my remaining portion was a perfect Medium rare, how many places would do that? Overall an excellent experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We have been to Blue Heron many times an ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 8, 2016

We have been to Blue Heron many times and always enjoy it. This time the restaurant was not as busy (Thursday night) and the waitress was pleasant but a bit inattentive. 3 of the 4 people ordered steak filet and we had to ask for steak knives. At least one person was served their potato without the sour cream and butter cups and after asking for it, was never served it. The young lady was a bit quick and could've slowed down a bit since the place was not packed as it would be on weekends. Seafood special was great, as always.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Great meal with one exception - pasta wi ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 7, 2016

Great meal with one exception - pasta with seafood special had sand in the clams. Honest mistake, though. Staff made up for it with a complimentary creme brulee. Delicious.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Cozy, Fireplace, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

We were seated on the enclosed patio whe ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 3, 2016

We were seated on the enclosed patio where several cars shined their headlights into our faces. Service was slow, it took too long to get drinks. Normally drinks are great but this time they tasted watered-down. The pasta/prawn special lacked flavor. My avocado salad contained a hair that did not belong. I did not alert the waitress, rather I discontinued eating the salad. The bill was $104 for 2 entrees and 4 drinks. Not worth the price. Disappointed. We have had great meals and drinks here previously but this was not one of those times unfortunately.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

Took my wife here to celebrate six month ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Took my wife here to celebrate six months and we were not disappointed! Great cocktails, wonderful food, and a nice wine selection. Our waitress was knowledgeable and a joy to interact with. We will be here again on other special occasions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent place always like it when I go ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Excellent place always like it when I go there for dinner

Tags: Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Wood Oven, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food - unlike most high end steakho ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Good food - unlike most high end steakhouses, sides are included. Service was a bit off. It took a long time for the wait staff to refill water or otherwise check up on our table.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Blue Heron provides a very tasty selecti ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Blue Heron provides a very tasty selection of cocktails, steaks and local vegetables. Try sitting in the enclosed side room for a quieter evening (just ask the server to have the music turned down). Lovely fireplace and though not inexpensive it remains the best value steak in Lexington.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

My new favorite place to eat!

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on November 25, 2016

My new favorite place to eat!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, great service- he was very k ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Great food, great service- he was very knowledgeable and friendly yet didn't interfere with our conversation. Will gladly go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My second visit, first was for my birthd ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on November 16, 2016

My second visit, first was for my birthday a couple months ago. Paulina was our server both times and she was fantastic, all the staff were great. Last trip we were seated on the outdoor patio but this time in the main dining room at a corner table which was more than satisfactory. The food, drinks, ambience & service were wonderful and I look forward to my next trip!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The porterhouse steak for 2 was a great ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 15, 2016

The porterhouse steak for 2 was a great deal. Our steak was cooked perfectly. The daily specials as well as the pork chops sounded delicious as well. Already planning to return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

My wife and I were visiting from Nashvil ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 5, 2016

My wife and I were visiting from Nashville. We dined prior to attending a UK football game. The food and service was very good. My wife had the fish of the day and I had the pork chop with a cup of the butternut squash soup. Both the pork chop and fish were fresh, very large portions and well prepared and the soup was excellent. The West Six Ale was very good as well. We will definitely eat here again on future visits.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great Beer, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Open Kitchen, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great experience with late dining after ...

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Great experience with late dining after activities downtown. Service was impeccable and the food was delicious and well timed. Very nice evening in a lovely restaurant!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our first date.....a memorable one indee ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Our first date.....a memorable one indeed...from our fabulous Russian waitress...to our 2012 Opus One the crab cakes heavenly....the filet mingon perfection veggies great crisp bite, the blackened halibut devine...our sambuca ended a perfect evening...hats off couldn't have asked for more. My date has traveled the world and here I did it above excellent. he had never been to Kentucky but will be coming back, and we will be back to the blue heron.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, , Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Romantic, Authentic, Late-night Find, Fireplace, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Historic, Fun, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went for a birthday celebration. LOV ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on October 29, 2016

We went for a birthday celebration. LOVED it!! Will definitely be back. Great bar that would make a great stop for happy hour.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We split the 40oz porterhouse it was coo ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on October 29, 2016

We split the 40oz porterhouse it was cooked perfect and very tender sides were good and margaritas are very good

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We love great food and great service. Bl ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on October 21, 2016

We love great food and great service. Blue Heron definitely delivered on all fronts! The wait for food was a little longer than expected but we quickly forgot about it when we started eating! The food and wine was incredible!!

Tags: Hot Spot, Modern Decor, Private Room, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Eat here every year after a day at the r ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Eat here every year after a day at the races. My husbands favorite. Only downfall is the parking situation.

Tags: Quick Bite, Live Sports, Late-night Find, Casual, Historic, Afternoon Coffee, Sunday Lunch, People Watching, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent veal and grouper specials. Sp ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Excellent veal and grouper specials. Splurge for the grilled bacon appetizer and creme brûlée desert.

Very good service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Outstanding food. Steaks were very good. ...

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Outstanding food. Steaks were very good. Fried chicken was fabulous. Wine list very good

Tags: , Fun, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.