HelpiOS AppAndroid AppWindows Phone AppWindows 8 App

Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 19 times today

Blue Heron Steakhouse

4.6
429 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Steakhouse
Top Tags:
  • Good for a Date
  • Good for Anniversaries
  • Cozy
The Blue Heron Steakhouse is located in the thriving historic Jefferson Street corridor. We offer an excellent menu with steakhouse classics and modern Southern fare with specialties such as fresh oysters, the finest cuts of beef, shrimp and grits and more. Our restaurant started as a hand-crafted cocktail bar and consumer demand made it obvious that we needed to expand to a full-service kitchen. The Blue Heron is situated in a renovated home with exposed brick, a beautiful, locally crafted chandelier, a roaring two-sided fireplace in the colder months and an expansive patio for warmer weather. Locally owned and loaded with character, The Blue Heron is a perfect setting for an intimate date, an evening with friends or simply a casual dinner while watching the game.
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Steakhouse, Contemporary American, Southern
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Dinner:
Monday - Thursday 5 pm - 10 pm
Friday - Saturday 5 pm - 11 pm
Closed Sundays

Bar:
4 pm - 2 am

icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(859) 254-2491
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Will Preston
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Second Street
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
The Blue Heron has a private parking lot right beside the restaurant. There is also ample on street parking in the area.
Additional
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 429 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.6  based on recent ratings
4.6
food
4.5
service
4.6
ambience
4.2
value
Noise · Moderate
93% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
OpenTable Diner (Louisville)
5.0  Dined 7 days ago

Blue Heron delivered as usual!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Louisville)
5.0  Dined on February 14, 2018

Great! I definitely be going back

Report
Helpful
DanielL (Corpus Christi)
5.0  Dined on February 14, 2018

The restaurant was spectacular. Very relaxed and warm atmosphere. I’m definitely going to go here again. The steak I ordered was absolutely phenomenal!

Report
Helpful
GinaH (Louisville)
5.0  Dined on February 14, 2018

Wonderful Valentines night with friends!!! The food was delicious and our server was great!!!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Cincinnati)
2.0  Dined on February 14, 2018

It was a Valentine’s Day fixed menu. Service was excellent, however the food was poor for the price. $75 per person plus tip minus drinks. The pork shank tasted like it came out of a crockpot, the rare prime rib was very chewy and tough. Had difficulty cutting it with a steak knife. The au jus tasted canned. The appetizer was a single jumbo shrimp. The desserts were nothing special- a caramel flan and a chocolate “mug style “ cake. The sides were so-so: roasted asparagus, potato skin, and fried risotto balls (flavorless). So disappointed..I had heard good things about this restaurant. I couldn’t believe the poor quality for the price in such a nice place. Was our first visit. Won’t be going back.

Report
Helpful
DavidH (Cincinnati)
3.0  Dined on February 14, 2018

The flavors and work that goes in to the food is apparent. Everything we had was full of layers of flavor and great care had been put in to making things that were unique yet familiar in many ways. The setting is quaint and cozy, although a bit noisy because of the old wooden floor (that the wait staff seemed to trip over regularly). There's a fireplace that makes the location cozy. Parking is a bit dicey. A nice gentlemen helped me find a curbside location...not sure if that's a regular feature. I thought the price was a bit over done. The price was about 20-30% higher than is needed to be when compared to comparable restaurants I've been to around the country. I dropped $200 on two people for perspective. Seems picky...but the little things count at this price level...didn't get any bread with our meal when other patrons clearly did. The bar staff seems inexperienced...judging from my Old Fashioned that wasn't quite what it should have been in an establishment like that. They clearly are doing a lot of things right and the chef is obviously very good and creative. However, too many misses on the finer points to justify that kind of price. I probably won't go back...it was so expensive that gambling on a second try is more than most people are willing to risk.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Louisville)
5.0  Dined on February 13, 2018

Food and service were great as always!!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Louisville)
5.0  Dined on February 13, 2018

Very nice atmosphere for our dinner date. Waitress explained everything, was very attentive but not intrusive. Food was excellent and mood was just right. Will go again.

Report
Helpful
vipOpenTable Diner (Louisville)
5.0  Dined on February 7, 2018

Very good meal and service is always good

Report
Helpful
Kat1982 (Louisville)
5.0  Dined on February 5, 2018

Excellent as always. The porterhouse for two never disappoints. Was pleasantly surprised to learn that many good [read: expensive] wines are 50% off on Mondays with the purchase of two entrees (I will visit here more often on Mondays)! The service was exceptionally polite, helpful, and unobtrusive. My only disagreement was with the waiter's assistant who brought the salads--he dropped them and left in an hurry without asking whether we would like freshly-ground pepper on our Cesars (I always do). Picky, but you have to be picky to find fault here. This restaurant is a favorite for a reason.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
43