About Blue Heron Steakhouse

The Blue Heron Steakhouse is located in the thriving historic Jefferson Street corridor. We offer an excellent menu with steakhouse classics and modern Southern fare with specialties such as fresh oysters, the finest cuts of beef, shrimp and grits and more. Our restaurant started as a hand-crafted cocktail bar and consumer demand made it obvious that we needed to expand to a full-service kitchen. The Blue Heron is situated in a renovated home with exposed brick, a beautiful, locally crafted chandelier, a roaring two-sided fireplace in the colder months and an expansive patio for warmer weather. Locally owned and loaded with character, The Blue Heron is a perfect setting for an intimate date, an evening with friends or simply a casual dinner while watching the game.

185 Jefferson Street
Lexington, KY 40508
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Contemporary American, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Dinner:
Monday - Thursday 5 pm - 10 pm
Friday - Saturday 5 pm - 11 pm
Closed Sundays

Bar:
4 pm - 2 am

Cross Street:
Second Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(859) 254-2491

Website:
http://blueheronsteakhouse.com/

Parking Details:
The Blue Heron has a private parking lot right beside the restaurant. There is also ample on street parking in the area.

Executive Chef:
Will Preston

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

50% Off Most Wines

Mondays from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Specials

50% Off Most Wines

Mondays from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Details

50% Off Most Wines. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Jan 9, 2017 - Mar 31, 2017 on Mondays from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM.

Blue Heron Steakhouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (26)
Good for a Date (25)
Good for Anniversaries (20)
See All
Cozy (20)
Fireplace (20)
Good for Birthdays (17)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Business Meals (14)
Handcrafted Cocktails (13)
Local Ingredients (13)
Romantic (12)
Worth the Drive (12)
Casual (11)
Authentic (9)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Outstanding Value (7)
Bar Seating (6)
Notable Wine List (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Comfort Food (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Historic (4)
Fun (4)
Hot Spot (3)
Great Beer (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Seasonal (3)
Scenic View (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Family Style (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Live Sports (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Private Room (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Sort By:
S
266 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined 3 days ago

Best Moscow mule on the planet!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined 4 days ago

Our Group was there for special celebration and had a great time! Excellent food and Service!

Tags: Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Blue Heron never disappoints! The service and the food are awesome!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Fireplace, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 17, 2017

This was outstanding for the price and service, quality of steak was superb. Can't wait to go back, best meal in Lexington in a long time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 17, 2017

First time dining here. Loved it! Sat on the covered porch for privacy. Ryan took great care of us. We will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Our first visit. My wife loved the grouper. I had the veal and it was okay, but regret not getting the filet. Dessert was great. Very nice atmosphere and decor. Service was pretty good. A bit pricey. We will definitely go back.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fireplace, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The service was slower than normal, especially for a Monday evening. The crab cake was amazing but the truffle fries could have been cooked longer. Our main course dishes were absolutely amazing.

Tags: Special Occasion, Private Room, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Disabled Access, Quick Bite, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Great Beer, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Late-night Find, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Had a great meal there recently. Loved the food and the atmosphere. Diana was our server and she did an excellent job!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on February 11, 2017

My only complaint is we sat next to the kitchen door and my seat faced it! Didn't enjoy watching the servers all evening. Oh well! The Shrimp and Grits were outstanding!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Good dinner. Steak was great. The oysters were not great.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Family Style, Fireplace, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Great food, our waitress was very knowledgeable about the menu and provided wonderful service. Cocktails are excellent and The atmosphere is perfect for a date or girls night out!

Tags: Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Food was delicious and Brittany was awesome! I typically do not like grits, but the shrimp n grits are FABULOUS! Flat iron steak was very tasty!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Casual, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on February 7, 2017

I've been here several times. Has never disappointed.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Awesome as usual!! One of our favorites.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 4, 2017

The Porterhouse for two was amazing and LT our waiter did a fantastic job and took great care of us. Will definitely be back.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Our dinner at the Blue Heron was perfect! From the grilled oysters to the apple crumble, every dish was just right and the service was excellent. We will definitely recommend to friends who are visiting downtown Lexington.

Tags: Great Beer, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fireplace, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Solid job with the steaks. Nice alternative to the usual suspects in town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 27, 2017

This was a great place to eat and the staff was very helpful and friendly. GF options were plentiful, and the staff was very knowledgeable. A great experience!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Spent a Friday night to celebrate a birthday. Got there early (6pm) and out reservation allowed us to be seated right away. Nice casual steak house. Enjoyed the entire dining experience. Baked Brie was very good as an appetizer. Four of use were there. I split the Porterhouse for two. Other dishes were Strip Steak and Filet Mignonette. Brought to us at the correct temperatures and sides accompanied the main course very well. Desserts finished off the dinner just as we hoped. Will be back soon

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Wonderful service and great steak. Also fantastic to eat here.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Great steak! Good company!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 13, 2017

First time in Kentucky for me and this restaurant was recommended. We were a group of 4 and all ended up ordering the same thing. Fried chicken. It did not disappoint. I also had oysters, wedge salad, onion rings (huge, yum!). Everything was delicious.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 13, 2017

The service, the food and the atmosphere were excellent. Loved the 2 sided fireplace and the food was very well prepared. I had the Florida Tile fish and it was excellent.

Tags: Wood Oven, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 12, 2017

I visited this restaurant for a business dinner with 6 guys. We had 3 Porthouse 40oz steaks. The volume was good enough for the 6 guys and the taste was very delicious. We really enjoyed!

Tags: Fireplace, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 7, 2017

This was a birthday dinner for my husband's 63rd birthday. My roasted chicken dinner was boring and bland. Everyone else enjoyed their steak. Don't order the chicken.

Tags: Cozy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Fantastic food and great staff, our favorite place to eat.

Tags: Authentic, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Great food, decent service, lovely atmosphere. The creamed spinach was great, the prime rib special was also very tasty

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Very slow service but great food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Always a great choice! We have dined here many times and the experience is consistently exquisite. Steaks cooked to perfection, fried chickens perhaps better than my mom's, shrimp and grits best in the south and chocolate mousse to die for. Yep! I highly recommend the Blue Heron.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Fireplace, Authentic, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Outstanding Value, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Romantic, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Fun dinner with friends. Great food! Best crab cake in Lexinfton!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Well ntentioned but lose the music over speaker system.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 22, 2016

A very quaint little place. Great service with personable server and hostess. Only problem was potentially the kitchen, as far as timing. There was an extremely long period of time between salad/appetizers being served until the entres came out. We were actually no longer hungry. I didn't time it, but it might been 45 minutes. Yet, a nice place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 18, 2016

We love Blue Heron and dine there often. However last night the service was not acceptable and they ran out of baked potatoes... rather odd!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Our Saturday evening our party of 4 arrived on time and was promptly seated and then greeted by Emily, our waitress. She did a very good job of attending to our needs during the evening without being intrusive. Our food was what we have come to expect from this restaurant. Only the COLD HARD BREAD was a disappointment. This was our first experience with this bread and the evening would have been better if the bread had not been served. All the sides, appetizers and entrees were excellent. We like this restaurant and look forward to our next trip there.

Tags: Fun, Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 16, 2016

The Porterhouse for 2 was just so so. Not a lot of flavor and was tough. The cream spinach was like water. Our table was a located in an area that had a cold draft. We asked to be moved somewhere that was warmer but was not allowed. They increased the temperature but it did nothing for the cold draft, so we were still cold. We were really disappointed and should have went elsewhere for dinner.

Tags: Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Was excellent as always. However, they sat us next to the door and we froze.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Perfectly cooked steaks in a really cozy atmosphere! We really enjoyed the whole experience, food and service were some of the best in town. Our server Trevor was knowledgeable, polite and fun. He knew just when to appear to help the night run flawlessly!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Fun, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Cozy, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Awesome as usual!! One of the best kept secrets in Lexington.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Service was fantastic from hostess to waitress. Wife and I split a steak, they actually cut her a five ounce portion off my T-Bone and cooked it medium while my remaining portion was a perfect Medium rare, how many places would do that? Overall an excellent experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 8, 2016

We have been to Blue Heron many times and always enjoy it. This time the restaurant was not as busy (Thursday night) and the waitress was pleasant but a bit inattentive. 3 of the 4 people ordered steak filet and we had to ask for steak knives. At least one person was served their potato without the sour cream and butter cups and after asking for it, was never served it. The young lady was a bit quick and could've slowed down a bit since the place was not packed as it would be on weekends. Seafood special was great, as always.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 7, 2016

Great meal with one exception - pasta with seafood special had sand in the clams. Honest mistake, though. Staff made up for it with a complimentary creme brulee. Delicious.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Cozy, Fireplace, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 3, 2016

We were seated on the enclosed patio where several cars shined their headlights into our faces. Service was slow, it took too long to get drinks. Normally drinks are great but this time they tasted watered-down. The pasta/prawn special lacked flavor. My avocado salad contained a hair that did not belong. I did not alert the waitress, rather I discontinued eating the salad. The bill was $104 for 2 entrees and 4 drinks. Not worth the price. Disappointed. We have had great meals and drinks here previously but this was not one of those times unfortunately.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Took my wife here to celebrate six months and we were not disappointed! Great cocktails, wonderful food, and a nice wine selection. Our waitress was knowledgeable and a joy to interact with. We will be here again on other special occasions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Excellent place always like it when I go there for dinner

Tags: Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Wood Oven, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Good food - unlike most high end steakhouses, sides are included. Service was a bit off. It took a long time for the wait staff to refill water or otherwise check up on our table.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Blue Heron provides a very tasty selection of cocktails, steaks and local vegetables. Try sitting in the enclosed side room for a quieter evening (just ask the server to have the music turned down). Lovely fireplace and though not inexpensive it remains the best value steak in Lexington.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on November 25, 2016

My new favorite place to eat!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Great food, great service- he was very knowledgeable and friendly yet didn't interfere with our conversation. Will gladly go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on November 16, 2016

My second visit, first was for my birthday a couple months ago. Paulina was our server both times and she was fantastic, all the staff were great. Last trip we were seated on the outdoor patio but this time in the main dining room at a corner table which was more than satisfactory. The food, drinks, ambience & service were wonderful and I look forward to my next trip!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 15, 2016

The porterhouse steak for 2 was a great deal. Our steak was cooked perfectly. The daily specials as well as the pork chops sounded delicious as well. Already planning to return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.