About Blue Heron Steakhouse

185 Jefferson Street
Lexington, KY 40508
View Larger Map

The Blue Heron Steakhouse is located in the thriving historic Jefferson Street corridor. We offer an excellent menu with steakhouse classics and modern Southern fare with specialties such as fresh oysters, the finest cuts of beef, shrimp and grits and more. Our restaurant started as a hand-crafted cocktail bar and consumer demand made it obvious that we needed to expand to a full-service kitchen. The Blue Heron is situated in a renovated home with exposed brick, a beautiful, locally crafted chandelier, a roaring two-sided fireplace in the colder months and an expansive patio for warmer weather. Locally owned and loaded with character, The Blue Heron is a perfect setting for an intimate date, an evening with friends or simply a casual dinner while watching the game.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Contemporary American, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Dinner:
Monday - Thursday 5 pm - 10 pm
Friday - Saturday 5 pm - 11 pm
Closed Sundays

Bar:
4 pm - 2 am

Cross Street:
Second Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(859) 254-2491

Website:
http://blueheronsteakhouse.com/

Parking Details:
The Blue Heron has a private parking lot right beside the restaurant. There is also ample on street parking in the area.

Executive Chef:
Will Preston

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Blue Heron Steakhouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Steakhouse
Central Kentucky
Best Overall
Lexington
Best Food
Lexington
3 More
Best Service
Lexington
Best Value
Lexington
Romantic
Lexington
Best Restaurants in Lexington ›

Special Occasion (41)
Romantic (27)
Neighborhood Gem (22)
See All
Fit for Foodies (22)
Notable Wine List (12)
Good for Groups (11)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Hot Spot (7)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Great for Lunch (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
198 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We had a wonderful meal, and we are look ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined 4 days ago

We had a wonderful meal, and we are looking forward to our next visit!!

Tags: Bar Seating, Authentic, Good for a Date, Healthy, Fireplace, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Another excellent experience!

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined 6 days ago

Another excellent experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Lovely food, lovely ambiance, great serv ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Lovely food, lovely ambiance, great service...limited parking., though the parking "Guru" has never failed us. It is NOT cheap, unless you are in the upper quartile of income, you won't be eating here every day. But it is well worth the money you spend.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great! Excellent food and service!

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Great! Excellent food and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Loved our server- Micky

vip
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Loved our server- Micky

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our server, Polina, and she was outstand ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Our server, Polina, and she was outstanding. Did a great job reviewing the menu, the daily items for that evening and kept her eye on us to see if we needed anything else.

The only negative to our evening was the slowness of the bar in getting our initial order out (about 15 minutes). Subsequent drinks came much quicker. Supposedly only one bartender on duty which slowed things down. My wife ordered a "special" drink and the waitress was not sure if the bartender could make, checked and said he could-my wife gave it very high marks saying it was excellent. They only do a 2 oz pour so if you prefer a stronger drink you may need to order a double.

Overall we would go back. The steak-the porterhouse for 2 was excellent, cooked perfectly. Every bit as good as another steakhouse in the downtown area and much less expensive. Excellent quality overall.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Server was great. (Paulina)

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Server was great. (Paulina)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Very good food, enjoyed the meal. Serve ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Very good food, enjoyed the meal. Server knew just the right time to check on us and when to let us enjoy the wonderful meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Everything was fabulous!!!! The steaks a ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Everything was fabulous!!!! The steaks absolutely melted in you mouth!!!!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great dinner. Our server was amazing. ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Great dinner. Our server was amazing. Steak was amazing, sides were amazing. Atmosphere was wonderful just a very cozy dinner.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Special evening great meal

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Special evening great meal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

More of a bar atmosphere than fine dinin ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

More of a bar atmosphere than fine dining with fine dining prices

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Enjoyed ! Especially loved the porterhou ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Enjoyed ! Especially loved the porterhouse. It easily met my expectations. I would go back!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

It's a favorite - food and service are c ...

vip
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

It's a favorite - food and service are consistently excellent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The food was only OK. Not a good value ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

The food was only OK. Not a good value for the price. Our server save the day. He did an outstanding job.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

Filets were wonderful. Special was Red s ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Filets were wonderful. Special was Red snapper prepared Caribbean style it was superb. Local squash was outstanding. I've been wanting to try and will definitely go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Food was delicious. Waitress Brittany wa ...

vip
 (Louisville)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Food was delicious. Waitress Brittany was wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Good for Steak lovers and others

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on May 31, 2016

My husband and I have eaten here several times and though we are not typically steak eaters, we have found other things on the menu to be very good. I had the shrimp and grits, which is listed as an appetizer, but for an up-charge comes as an larger size entree with a side included. It is a tasty version of this popular dish, and Blue Heron is generous with the shrimp. I love their roasted garlic broccoli, but tried the grilled asparagus, a locally sourced special that night. It was just the right amount of crunchy, but a tad over-salted and greasy. This is the downside of the preparation of most of the food we have had there. A bit lighter touch on the oil and salt used in the cooking of the food would have upped the rating. My husband had the seafood special, halibut in a pesto sauce. Also very tasty, but again just a tad too heavy on the salt and somewhat overpriced. My biggest compliant is the cocktails. They make some interesting ones here, but for the prices, they are pretty scant. Lots of ice and small servings for the money, but some interesting and tasty concoctions. All in all, we like this restaurant, but will not go too frequently as it is a bit pricey. Food portions are, however, generous, but no more so than competitors falling a bit under the price point.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Steak in Lexington.

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Best steak that I have had in Lexington without a doubt. Tender, hot and accompanied by good wine. And a wonderful appetizer of grilled thick cut bacon.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Paulina was our server and she was fanta ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Paulina was our server and she was fantastic! Super knowledgeable and friendly! We loved the margaritas!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Night

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

Dinner for wife's birthday. Food and service were wonderful. Atmosphere great on a Friday night to begin the weekend

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

We were seated quickly but in a bad spot ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

We were seated quickly but in a bad spot. The hostess continued to weave people through instead of going around our table. Wasn't thinking...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Loved our experience at Blue Heron! It w ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Loved our experience at Blue Heron! It was a chilly spring night and they had the fire place going. Since it is a small venue, you had that cozy fireplace smoky smell throughout the restaurant. Not overpowering, but enough to be comforting. My husband and I split the 40 oz. Porterhouse and it was fabulous! Much better than the steaks we had at another prominent local steak house a few nights earlier. Our friend had the fried chicken which he swore was the best in town and, after sampling his, I just might agree.

I highly recommend this spot and will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Excellent service. Great food. Cool, r ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on May 4, 2016

Excellent service. Great food. Cool, rustic interior.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Hot Ticket

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

Six of us dined before a show at Rupp Arena. Our server was incredibly knowledgeable and offered accurate descriptions of food and wines. Fresh glasses appeared when a second bottle of wine was opened. A look or a nod successfully summoned assistance. We splurged on raw oysters and they were among the best I've eaten--landlocked or shore-side--and came with a delicate mignonette. You cannot come here without eating steak, and I recommend the filet for one or the porterhouse for two. Exceptional, classic preparations. The food speaks for itself. I have dinner here several times a year and always enjoy myself. However, I did note that bread service and salads were not up to their usual, high standard. Usually, a piping hot loaf of homemade bread arrives on a cutting board with plenty of butter for slathering. This time, a basket of small, hard rolls was a disappointing surprise. My Cesar salad with white anchovies was likewise a sour note. An overabundance of soft pale greens was dressed in a tasteless sauce. The white anchovies (the reason I always order this salad) were over-dredged and fried beyond recognition. So sad. The entrees, wine, cocktails, and exceptional service made up for any earlier indiscretions.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Could not have been more pleased with ou ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

Could not have been more pleased with our experience! Our waiter was wonderful, and all of the food exceeded my expectations! Thank you for a wonderful night!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and service. Overall experience poor

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

Our server was excellent. Food and wine were great. Shame on the manager for asking our kind server to ask us to leave to make our table available for other patrons. We were still enjoying our dessert when this request came!!! Too bad - we might not go back to our former favorite place in Lexington.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was delicious & the service was excellent.

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on April 26, 2016

Really enjoyed the evening and we will definitely return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The steaks are the best in Lexington!

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

The steaks are the best in Lexington!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Nice place, very good service and very g ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on April 15, 2016

Nice place, very good service and very good food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Service

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on April 13, 2016

Food was fantastic and our server LT was great! We ordered oysters for an appetizer, very good. Several in our party ordered the porter house, cooked perfect. Everyone was extremely pleased with our entire experience. BlueHeron is one of the best steak houses in Lexington

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good find

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

It was our first visit. Food was very good and our server was very friendly and quite attentive. The only little issue was a rather high noise level with many patrons. It was Saturday night after all.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful Evening

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

Food was awesome, service was amazing and the restaurant is a real GEM. Had so much fun last weekend we are headed there again tonight for dinner and taking friends out to celebrate a birthday! Recommend to all.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wednesday evening out

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on March 30, 2016

Our party of three arrived mostly on time for our 5:30 reservation. Our first visit and we were unsure of parking in the area, but the parking attendant was very helpful. Dillon was our waiter, very knowledgeable and always available when needed. Our water glasses were refilled when half full. The Old Fashion I ordered was excellent. The oysters on half shell and the brie and fig appetizer were very good. The 40 oz. steak was excellent and it was the primary reason we visited. The slight disappointment of the evening was in the presentation of the steak, the nicely cut pieces of meat were scattered on the serving platter rather than reassembled next to the bone as demonstrated on "Secrets of Bluegrass Chefs". This way one was unable to see the "entire steak" in its' original configuration and obviously begs the question. The fries and salads were excellent while the broccoli was somewhat under cooked. Coffee was very good.

We will return!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We brought a business associate in from ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on March 30, 2016

We brought a business associate in from Utah and treated him to dinner at Blue Heron. We had the bacon appetizer, oysters on the half shell, and all 3 of us enjoyed the Beef tenderloin entrée. The roasted broccoli was perfection!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

New York strip was fabulous!

vip
 (Louisville)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

New York strip was fabulous!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Best Steakhouse in Lexington

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on March 10, 2016

The service was top notch and the steak was cooked perfectly. We went for an early dinner on a Thursday night and the bar area was full and the dinning room had plenty of seating. Cocktails are made traditionally with no pre-made mixes or cheap well-liquor. We ordered the porterhouse for 2 and it was the best steak I've had in Lexington. Price was fair for the quality of food. Our server was phenomenal. same price level as a Malones and food and service make Malones look like a Sizzler.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience! Loved the atmospheref ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on March 9, 2016

Great experience! Loved the atmospherefood, drinks and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Tried it after seeing it on local tv sho ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on March 5, 2016

Tried it after seeing it on local tv show. GLAD we did! Entire meal was outstanding, I mean everything! Great atmosphere nice and cozy. There was 6 of us and waitress was on top of everything. AWESOME

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Awesome food and the most refreshing dri ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on March 3, 2016

Awesome food and the most refreshing drinks. I think they make the best margarita in the countryy

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.