Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.29mi
  2. Distance: 0.42mi
  3. Distance: 0.48mi
  4. Distance: 0.48mi
  1. Distance: 0.29mi
  2. Distance: 0.42mi
  3. Distance: 0.48mi
  4. Distance: 0.48mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.29mi
  2. Distance: 0.42mi
  3. Distance: 0.48mi
  4. Distance: 0.48mi
  1. Distance: 0.29mi
  2. Distance: 0.42mi
  3. Distance: 0.48mi
  4. Distance: 0.48mi

About Blue Heron Steakhouse

The Blue Heron Steakhouse is located in the thriving historic Jefferson Street corridor. We offer an excellent menu with steakhouse classics and modern Southern fare with specialties such as fresh oysters, the finest cuts of beef, shrimp and grits and more. Our restaurant started as a hand-crafted cocktail bar and consumer demand made it obvious that we needed to expand to a full-service kitchen. The Blue Heron is situated in a renovated home with exposed brick, a beautiful, locally crafted chandelier, a roaring two-sided fireplace in the colder months and an expansive patio for warmer weather. Locally owned and loaded with character, The Blue Heron is a perfect setting for an intimate date, an evening with friends or simply a casual dinner while watching the game.

185 Jefferson Street
Lexington, KY 40508
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Contemporary American, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Dinner:
Monday - Thursday 5 pm - 10 pm
Friday - Saturday 5 pm - 11 pm
Closed Sundays

Bar:
4 pm - 2 am

Cross Street:
Second Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(859) 254-2491

Website:
http://blueheronsteakhouse.com/

Parking Details:
The Blue Heron has a private parking lot right beside the restaurant. There is also ample on street parking in the area.

Executive Chef:
Will Preston

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Blue Heron Steakhouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (31)
Special Occasion (30)
Good for Anniversaries (25)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (18)
Worth the Drive (15)
Handcrafted Cocktails (15)
Romantic (14)
Local Ingredients (13)
Fit for Foodies (13)
Casual (13)
Creative Cuisine (13)
Business Meals (13)
Cozy (13)
Authentic (12)
Bar Seating (10)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Notable Wine List (10)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Great Beer (7)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Fun (7)
Fireplace (7)
Comfort Food (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Historic (5)
Healthy (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Organic (2)
Seasonal (2)
Disabled Access (2)
People Watching (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Family Style (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Private Room (1)
Spicy (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Vegan (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sort By:
S
331 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 6 days ago

This place is one of my favorite restaurants in Lexington!

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on July 14, 2017

We tried the 40 oz porterhouse - Peter Lugar Style -and it was fabulous. Two of us split it and took leftovers home. Still good the next day. It seemed expensive at the time but we got 4 veges and split the steak - quite a bargain.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Air was broken on super hot day...they didn't mention that. Too hot to eat a big steak...no options for children. Our waiter didn't seem to care...def would not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value2

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on July 14, 2017

The bar was nice for a drink while waiting for our reservation time. The restaurant was clean and we'll decorated which made it very comfortable. The wait staff was very attentive. Our food was served in a timely manner. The food was hot and tasty and the portions were adequate. Over all we had a good dining experience with the biggest issue being cost. For what we got the tab was high at nearly 145.00 for two people.

Tags: Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on July 12, 2017

Excellent service! Delicious steak!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 10, 2017

Friendly, attentive staff and very good food. Highly recommend!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Our server, Sara, was so wonderful! She made the experience extra special! We were celebrating a 25th birthday and had the 40oz Porterhouse for two! Everything from the drink (the witching hour was fabulous) to the meal was phenomenal! Highly recommended Blue Heron for any special night you have!

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great Beer, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Our service was great and the food was delicious! The ambience of Blue Heron makes it a special place to have a long dinner with friends or family. Highly recommend!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Very nice, great food, and worth the price $$$. Our reservation was at 6pm on a Saturday and it was empty. By the time we were leaving it was almost packed. Highly recommend this steakhouse

Tags: Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on June 17, 2017

We really enjoyed our experience at the Blue Heron ! There was only one dish that was quite overly salty (Shrimp and Grits) and I would think might benefit from a little more taste testing and we might steer from in the future. This would NOT stop us from going back. We really loved everything else!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Organic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Always a fantastic meal! The table service and bar service for drinks after was great.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Underwhelmed on the food.. the shrimp and grits was blah - service (bartenders) seemed very uninterested in our experience. We went for a 10 year anniversary and was disappointed. Would not recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Amazing food! Moscow Mule was the best I ever had. Fresh made syrups and juices for their drinks. Steaks perfectly cooked with fresh made sides that were delicious. Giant onion ring appetizers were great. House made steak sauce and dipping sauce for the onion rings were great.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on June 5, 2017

We had the fried chicken and it was better than reviews. Excellent crispy and moist. Also had tenderloin medium Cooked perfectly. Had dessert. Yum!

Tags: Casual, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Service and food were both excellent. Emily did a great job taking care of us.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Pasta special was wonderful and Bibb lettuce salad was excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined on May 27, 2017

Great spot, good food! Parking is a bit of a pain.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Fantastic steaks, good wine, good service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on May 27, 2017

One of the best restaurants in Lexington!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Blue Heron is our go-to when wanting a nice dinner out. They never disappoint. Glad dinner last night was with friends we hadn't seen in months, as we had lots to catch up on and were in no hurry...otherwise our subpar server may have bothered me. Instead we enjoyed the food and relaxed conversation . Will write it off as a fluke as normally the service is quite good.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on May 26, 2017

We arrived a little early. Very limited parking. We ordered the NY strip and the Filet. Everything was cooked to order and arrived on a good time frame. Didn't live up to my expectation but still a good meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on May 23, 2017

Thanks again, it was a memoarble dinner with the customers...? One of my best steak ever...!Well done and hope see you next year again...! All the best, Csaba

Tags: Organic, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on May 6, 2017

We really enjoyed a wonderful anniversary meal there, menu is based heavily on top end steaks and prime rib, but does offer seafood dishes. Also ordered a decadent chocolate mousse dessert. Our waitress was very friendly and helpful with menu choices. We did mention to Open Table that is was our anniversary but perhaps notice didn't get passed onto staff as it wasn't mentioned? ! Ambiance was charming, exposed brick walls, old fireplace and opened up ceiling covered in wood.

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Food and service were great! However, I made reservations almost one month in advance and was seated by the kitchen. The swinging door all evening was very disruptive.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Great steak in a cozy restaurant. Top notch bartenders. One of my favorite Lexington restaurants. Recommend the porterhouse for 2.

Tags: Fun, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Travis was an excellent server and did a great job. The food was fantastic. We both had steaks and they were prepared perfectly. The sides were a nice addition to the entree.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 29, 2017

We really enjoyed our dinner at Blue Heron. The waiter was very knowledgeable about wine, and the local ingredients. We had an appetizer special of morrell mushrooms that was amazing. Awesome fried chicken and gravy for me, and my husband had an excellent NY strip. I would definitely recommend Blue Heron for a date night... quiet enough to have a conversation.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on April 29, 2017

First visit to Blue Heron and enjoyed very much! We were seated on the indoor patio area and it was lovely. Less noisy and could hold conversation without shouting. Steaks were delicious. Highly recommend! Glad they had a man outside to direct us to parking spot too!

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Busy, energetic restaurant. Great food and great service. Can't wait to go back.

The only problem was trying to find a place to park....circled the block for 30 minutes before
locating a spot.

Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 28, 2017

We were visiting for the Rolex Horse Event and walked to Blue Heron for dinner. Such a cute neighborhood spot. Very attractive interior with wood and high ceilings. Would highly recommend the grilled oysters and sautéed mushrooms for appetizers...also the salads are huge. Our server was attentive, and overall the dining experience was excellent.
Surely a spot to visit if you are traveling to historic Lexington.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Great bourbon selection with very good food and wait staff.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Two words attracted us on Blue Heron Steakhouse's menu: Peter Luger.

Having previously dined at the famed Brooklyn steak house (and still ranking it as the best steak I have enjoyed in my life), my wife and I thought it somewhat audacious of a steakhouse in Lexington, KY to reference a 40 ox. porterhouse steak for two as "Served Peter Luger style." No way, we thought, that this steak could approach the gold standard for red meat . . .

But the great surprise is that the Blue Heron delivered!

Indeed the presentation was definitely Peter Luger-esque and the steak was awesome! (We ordered medium and the filet side of the steak was perfect, the strip side was more medium-rare.) And with two sides per person included it was well worth the price. It was a good call to not order an appetizer and regrettably skip dessert when ordering this plateful of beef for two. Definitely come hungry.

One other great thing, and something that never happens with Saturday night dining, New York or Lexington or anywhere: we showed up about 20 minutes before our reservation time and were advised our table was waiting; we were seated immediately. I'm sure that doesn't happen all the time, but it was a great start to our dining experience.

Save the airfare to New York, omit the brusque German waiters in Brooklyn, and feel free to use a credit card (not an option at NYC P.L. locations) . . . Blue Heron is Luger in Lexington!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Can not wait to go back! The Porterhouse for two was done perfectly as was the Ceaser salad. Cocktail menu had a good variety from bourbon to vodka mixed with fresh ingredients. Makes such a difference. High quality without being pretentious. A new favorite!🥂

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 21, 2017

I would have normally give my 5 star review as we love the Blue Heron but tonight with the temperatures dropping so dramatically (80 degrees to 40s) sitting on the screened in patio was very chilly. There weren't any tables available by the fireplace. Food and service were still excellent.

Tags: Late-night Find, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Loved everything!!!

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on April 21, 2017

It was a wonderful date night with great food and drinks! I was very impressed with the quality of service and the food is always phenomenal! We'll be back for sure!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 20, 2017

The food and atmosphere was very good. Parking is tight but they had an assistant to help.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Blue Heron is an upscale steakhouse that us worth the cost. Very good food with excellent service and atmosphere. I recommend it for special occasions.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Great Beer, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Overall our experience was OK, not spectacular or worth going back. The restaurant has a small dining area with A LOT of tables close together. We were given a table shoe horned between a column, 2 other large tables and the bar. Inarguably the worst table in the house-so much so the server apologized for it when we got our check. We did ask for a different table initially and were told that was the only option. We were celebrating our 16th wedding anniversary or we would have left. While the food was great we weren't really able to talk at all as the place was really loud due to dense table layout. I had the 24 oz porterhouse and my wife had the seafood pasta special-both were excellent.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on April 18, 2017

We had a business dinner where all the food was wonderful. The noise level was at a good level, no problems hearing each other. One area that could have been better was our server. There were times when drinks would be empty for a longer time than they should have been. Overall, a very nice, quaint place.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Cozy, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.