Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.29mi
  2. Distance: 0.42mi
  3. Distance: 0.48mi
  4. Distance: 0.48mi
  1. Distance: 0.29mi
  2. Distance: 0.42mi
  3. Distance: 0.48mi
  4. Distance: 0.48mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.29mi
  2. Distance: 0.42mi
  3. Distance: 0.48mi
  4. Distance: 0.48mi
  1. Distance: 0.29mi
  2. Distance: 0.42mi
  3. Distance: 0.48mi
  4. Distance: 0.48mi

About Blue Heron Steakhouse

The Blue Heron Steakhouse is located in the thriving historic Jefferson Street corridor. We offer an excellent menu with steakhouse classics and modern Southern fare with specialties such as fresh oysters, the finest cuts of beef, shrimp and grits and more. Our restaurant started as a hand-crafted cocktail bar and consumer demand made it obvious that we needed to expand to a full-service kitchen. The Blue Heron is situated in a renovated home with exposed brick, a beautiful, locally crafted chandelier, a roaring two-sided fireplace in the colder months and an expansive patio for warmer weather. Locally owned and loaded with character, The Blue Heron is a perfect setting for an intimate date, an evening with friends or simply a casual dinner while watching the game.

185 Jefferson Street
Lexington, KY 40508
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Contemporary American, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Dinner:
Monday - Thursday 5 pm - 10 pm
Friday - Saturday 5 pm - 11 pm
Closed Sundays

Bar:
4 pm - 2 am

Cross Street:
Second Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(859) 254-2491

Website:
http://blueheronsteakhouse.com/

Parking Details:
The Blue Heron has a private parking lot right beside the restaurant. There is also ample on street parking in the area.

Executive Chef:
Will Preston

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Blue Heron Steakhouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.4

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

Noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Anniversaries (18)
Good for a Date (17)
Special Occasion (17)
See All
Handcrafted Cocktails (16)
Cozy (13)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Business Meals (10)
Romantic (9)
Casual (9)
Good for Groups (8)
Bar Seating (7)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Authentic (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Disabled Access (4)
Tasting Menu (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Comfort Food (2)
Fun (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Organic (1)
People Watching (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Scenic View (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort by
S
381 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined 3 days ago

Very poor, slow service. Mediocre food at best. For an upscale “steakhouse”, you’d think the steak would be above average. It absolutely was not.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on November 12, 2017

We had the steak and lamb. It is a steak house after all. The quality of the meat was excellent and cooked perfectly. It's a small restaurant. Service was good and our overall experience was excellent. We would definitely make a return trip. Highly recommended if you are in the mood for a steak and don't want to go to one of the more traditional steak restaurants.

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 10, 2017

Had a nice evening with excellent food and a knowledgeable waiter in a comfortable environment.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on November 10, 2017

First timers, great service, craft cocktails, not just a steakhouse , variety of specials, good value!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on November 5, 2017

This restaurant was a recommendation from some clients that had their first date there. It did not disappoint. The ambience was great, and the service exceptional. We loved the food - great choices , and a good value. We would definitely go back!

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on November 4, 2017

Consistently, the Blue Heron offers terrific food, a lovely atmosphere, and excellent service. We have been here numerous times and never failed to have an excellent experience across the board. I only wish they would bring back their Weekend Bar Menu which had the best hamburgers with their special grind each week...

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 4, 2017

We chose Blue Heron based on a recommendation from Open Table. We were not disappointed. The porterhouse for 2 was excellent. Cooked medium rare and it was perfect. Wine list is full of choices. The stag were friendly, knowledgeable and helpful. Oysters to start were also fresh and tasty. Definitely recommend and we will be a returning customer.

Tags: Business Meals, Late-night Find, Fun, Good for a Date, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Paleo Friendly, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on October 26, 2017

Enjoy our dinner every time. Very nice staff and atmosphere. Steak is always delicious!

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 23, 2017

Best filet I've had in a very long time. Highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on October 22, 2017

We have been here several times. IT is hit or miss. Food was great this time.
Be prepared. Restaurant is EXTREMELY noisy. Wait staff is over worked...dont expect much attention. But, all in all, we will go again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on October 21, 2017

We had a party of 8. Dinner with friends after our daughter's wedding. We wanted somewhere to take our out of town guests and impress. Blue Heron did just that! Everything was perfect! Great service, great food, great atmosphere! Highly recommend!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 21, 2017

Loved it! Outstanding steak and tasty sides

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on October 21, 2017

Great service, great food, great atmosphere!!! Excellent cocktails and good prices!! One of my favorite places in town!!!! And the best steak I've had in town!!!! Perfect!!!!!!

Tags: Authentic, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Organic, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on October 15, 2017

Our first time to Blue Heron didn't disappoint.
The steaks are apparently a specialty & were fantastic-even for someone who doesn't indulge very often. Fried chicken was great as well, and a huge portion!
Each of the sides is an updated version of old steakhouse standards. No soggy green beans here!
Wonderful wine selection by glass ( just in case everyone else is drinking beer)

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Cozy, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 14, 2017

This is one of our favorite places to go for date night. Highly recommend it. We have never had bad service and the food is always great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 14, 2017

This is my go to place when visiting Lexington!! The drinks and food are amazing!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on October 12, 2017

Birthday Arrived at 7:00. Ask to be seated in the enclosed patio area next to the street. By 8:00 it was very busy and noisy. Very popular place. Our waiter was good but had several large parties. We got the porterhouse for 2 Very good
Yes we will go back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on October 11, 2017

The food and service were good .The tea was bitter and strong.The bar area was very noisy and made it hard to converse.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Very limited parking, but that is expected for a "downtown" restaurant. The food was good and not overpriced. The cocktails were also reasonably priced, (although they were out of several premium Bourbons which for a Lexington KY location is a bit off putting). THE SERVICE WAS A DISASTER! Our waiter was friendly enough at the beginning, getting our drinks and taking our orders. Salads and appetizers arrived a 1/2 hour after placing our order and the meals shortly there after. No follow up or refills during the meal. We were a Party of 7, with 5 separate checks. (We weren't asked at the time of ordering how or if this was going to be split up). It took a Full 50 MINUTES for everyone to get their checks. Even then they were generally incorrect. One member of the party told the manager, (after waiting 45 minutes) that if he didn't get his check in the next 5 minutes they were leaving! A terrible experience that capped off what would have been a nice meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on October 7, 2017

What a find in Lexington! I have been coming to Lexington for 20 years and this is as good as it gets. Everything from atmosphere to service to food and drinks was excellent. I will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Great food and atmosphere! Will definitely return

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on October 7, 2017

We have eaten at this restaurant before and had a much better experience .
First we were seated at a 2 top ( which no restaurant should ever have ). In the corner near the kitchen. So it felt like we were being punished from the very start. Food was mediocre at best.
We had appetizers and entree. Both were dismal. The place was too loud to hear yourself talk and the staff was way too busy to be attentive. We have another reservation booked at this restaurant. Will probably cancel :-(

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value4

 
·Dined on October 6, 2017

The Blue Heron was outstanding. The food and service was top notch. Definitely will be going back in the future. One suggestion if going. Arrive about 30 mins early as parking is limited and you may have to have find a spot in the area and walk.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on October 4, 2017

We went there on a date after 3 weeks apart due to travel since Grey Goose is one of our favorite restaurants and were very disappointed. Our service was very slow. Food was luke warm and mediocre. I was very disappointed especially for being one of the priciest restaurants in Lexington. We didn’t even bother with a second round of drinks or dessert. I hope others have a better experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on October 3, 2017

Our favorite Lexington restaurant, best 40 oz steak for two. The absolute best “Old Fashion” in Lexington. Next time we go for their award winning Southern fried chicken. We always prefer week nights as they are somewhat less crowded. Blue Heron keep doing what you do!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Disabled Access, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 1, 2017

I enjoyed our dinner at the Blue Heron but was disappointed that the hostess seated us at the table closest to the server's station, especially when there were a number of other tables open throughout the restaurant.

Tags: Casual, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 29, 2017

Outstanding steaks. Stellar wine list. Cozy, dark ambiance. Top notch upscale steakhouse experience without the crowds.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Baton Rouge)·Dined on September 24, 2017

Very good in all aspects - food - service - ambiance. The noise level was low which was very nice so you could talk with others. Good selection of food choices.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on September 24, 2017

One of the best meals I've ever had in Lexington. Service was also top notch. Highly recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Ehh tried several times but average is best we can come up with

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on September 22, 2017

Great steak house. I ordered the New York strip medium rare and it was the best steak I've had in lexington. Must go to place to dine

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Food was great and service was exceptional! It was our first visit but we will definitely be back.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 5, 2017

Great dinner, superbly prepared steaks and great Bourbon Old Fashions. What's not to like!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on September 4, 2017

The steak was absolutely delicious. Sides were good as well. Outdoor dining available.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

 
·Dined on September 4, 2017

This was our third time dining at Blue Heron, and every time has been very good. This particular time was extremely good - food, service, atmosphere...

We had the Porterhouse for 2 which is like the steak at Peter Luger's, and it was one of the best steaks I have ever had. I have been to high end steakhouses in New York, Vegas, Miami, Atlanta..., and this one was fantastic with incredible flavor and was huge. It was enough for 3 of us! The salad was excellent, and the potato was the size of Idaho.

Our server was Sara, and she did an outstanding job. Very attentive, great personality, and she worked hard and did a great job. If you go there ask for her - she does a great job.

Again, we were very pleased with and pleasantly surprised at how good the food and service were. Can't wait to go back again.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Ours was a disappointing experience, in that the food was lack luster, and clearly not at the level that was once available here. We will try again, but we hope they will return to their former glory.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Always a great spot to dine and have fun. We always enjoy our time here.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Disabled Access, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 24, 2017

Travis was an amazing waiter and made our 32nd anniversary so special!

Tags: Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on August 19, 2017

We had the porterhouse for two with 4 sides. The meal was excellent

Tags: Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Great prime rib and fillet mignon but the vegetable left a lot to be desired. Order their green beans with bacon and the beans were tough and chewy, waiter offered a replacement and got the broccoli which came out dry a chewy also. Everything else was great.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.