About Blue Heron Steakhouse

185 Jefferson Street
Lexington, KY 40508
View Larger Map

The Blue Heron Steakhouse is located in the thriving historic Jefferson Street corridor. We offer an excellent menu with steakhouse classics and modern Southern fare with specialties such as fresh oysters, the finest cuts of beef, shrimp and grits and more. Our restaurant started as a hand-crafted cocktail bar and consumer demand made it obvious that we needed to expand to a full-service kitchen. The Blue Heron is situated in a renovated home with exposed brick, a beautiful, locally crafted chandelier, a roaring two-sided fireplace in the colder months and an expansive patio for warmer weather. Locally owned and loaded with character, The Blue Heron is a perfect setting for an intimate date, an evening with friends or simply a casual dinner while watching the game.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Contemporary American, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Dinner:
Monday - Thursday 5 pm - 10 pm
Friday - Saturday 5 pm - 11 pm
Closed Sundays

Bar:
4 pm - 2 am

Cross Street:
Second Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(859) 254-2491

Website:
http://blueheronsteakhouse.com/

Parking Details:
The Blue Heron has a private parking lot right beside the restaurant. There is also ample on street parking in the area.

Executive Chef:
Will Preston

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Blue Heron Steakhouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Central Kentucky
Neighborhood Gem
Central Kentucky
Steakhouse
Central Kentucky
7 More
Best Overall
Lexington
Best Food
Lexington
Best Service
Lexington
Best Ambiance
Lexington
Best Value
Lexington
Romantic
Lexington
Special Occasion
Lexington
Best Restaurants in Lexington ›

special occasion (44)
neighborhood gem (36)
romantic (29)
See All
fit for foodies (27)
good for groups (20)
notable wine list (17)
hot spot (14)
vibrant bar scene (13)
late-night find (8)
great for outdoor dining (4)
great for brunch (2)
kid-friendly (1)
scenic view (1)
great for lunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
182 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Filets were wonderful. Special was Red s ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

Filets were wonderful. Special was Red snapper prepared Caribbean style it was superb. Local squash was outstanding. I've been wanting to try and will definitely go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service5

Food was delicious. Waitress Brittany wa ...

vip
Dined on June 12, 2016

Food was delicious. Waitress Brittany was wonderful.

food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Good for Steak lovers and others

Dined on May 31, 2016

My husband and I have eaten here several times and though we are not typically steak eaters, we have found other things on the menu to be very good. I had the shrimp and grits, which is listed as an appetizer, but for an up-charge comes as an larger size entree with a side included. It is a tasty version of this popular dish, and Blue Heron is generous with the shrimp. I love their roasted garlic broccoli, but tried the grilled asparagus, a locally sourced special that night. It was just the right amount of crunchy, but a tad over-salted and greasy. This is the downside of the preparation of most of the food we have had there. A bit lighter touch on the oil and salt used in the cooking of the food would have upped the rating. My husband had the seafood special, halibut in a pesto sauce. Also very tasty, but again just a tad too heavy on the salt and somewhat overpriced. My biggest compliant is the cocktails. They make some interesting ones here, but for the prices, they are pretty scant. Lots of ice and small servings for the money, but some interesting and tasty concoctions. All in all, we like this restaurant, but will not go too frequently as it is a bit pricey. Food portions are, however, generous, but no more so than competitors falling a bit under the price point.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Steak in Lexington.

Dined on May 28, 2016

Best steak that I have had in Lexington without a doubt. Tender, hot and accompanied by good wine. And a wonderful appetizer of grilled thick cut bacon.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Paulina was our server and she was fanta ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Paulina was our server and she was fantastic! Super knowledgeable and friendly! We loved the margaritas!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Great Night

Dined on May 20, 2016

Dinner for wife's birthday. Food and service were wonderful. Atmosphere great on a Friday night to begin the weekend

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience3
service4

We were seated quickly but in a bad spot ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

We were seated quickly but in a bad spot. The hostess continued to weave people through instead of going around our table. Wasn't thinking...

food4
ambience4
service5

Loved our experience at Blue Heron! It w ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Loved our experience at Blue Heron! It was a chilly spring night and they had the fire place going. Since it is a small venue, you had that cozy fireplace smoky smell throughout the restaurant. Not overpowering, but enough to be comforting. My husband and I split the 40 oz. Porterhouse and it was fabulous! Much better than the steaks we had at another prominent local steak house a few nights earlier. Our friend had the fried chicken which he swore was the best in town and, after sampling his, I just might agree. I highly recommend this spot and will be back!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent service. Great food. Cool, r ...

Dined on May 4, 2016

Excellent service. Great food. Cool, rustic interior.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Hot Ticket

Dined on April 30, 2016

Six of us dined before a show at Rupp Arena. Our server was incredibly knowledgeable and offered accurate descriptions of food and wines. Fresh glasses appeared when a second bottle of wine was opened. A look or a nod successfully summoned assistance. We splurged on raw oysters and they were among the best I've eaten--landlocked or shore-side--and came with a delicate mignonette. You cannot come here without eating steak, and I recommend the filet for one or the porterhouse for two. Exceptional, classic preparations. The food speaks for itself. I have dinner here several times a year and always enjoy myself. However, I did note that bread service and salads were not up to their usual, high standard. Usually, a piping hot loaf of homemade bread arrives on a cutting board with plenty of butter for slathering. This time, a basket of small, hard rolls was a disappointing surprise. My Cesar salad with white anchovies was likewise a sour note. An overabundance of soft pale greens was dressed in a tasteless sauce. The white anchovies (the reason I always order this salad) were over-dredged and fried beyond recognition. So sad. The entrees, wine, cocktails, and exceptional service made up for any earlier indiscretions.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Could not have been more pleased with ou ...

vip
Dined on April 29, 2016

Could not have been more pleased with our experience! Our waiter was wonderful, and all of the food exceeded my expectations! Thank you for a wonderful night!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service. Overall experience poor

Dined on April 29, 2016

Our server was excellent. Food and wine were great. Shame on the manager for asking our kind server to ask us to leave to make our table available for other patrons. We were still enjoying our dessert when this request came!!! Too bad - we might not go back to our former favorite place in Lexington.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was delicious & the service was excellent.

Dined on April 26, 2016

Really enjoyed the evening and we will definitely return.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

The steaks are the best in Lexington!

Dined on April 22, 2016

The steaks are the best in Lexington!

food5
ambience5
service5

Nice place, very good service and very g ...

vip
Dined on April 15, 2016

Nice place, very good service and very good food!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Service

Dined on April 13, 2016

Food was fantastic and our server LT was great! We ordered oysters for an appetizer, very good. Several in our party ordered the porter house, cooked perfect. Everyone was extremely pleased with our entire experience. BlueHeron is one of the best steak houses in Lexington

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Good find

Dined on April 2, 2016

It was our first visit. Food was very good and our server was very friendly and quite attentive. The only little issue was a rather high noise level with many patrons. It was Saturday night after all.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, late-night find, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful Evening

Dined on April 2, 2016

Food was awesome, service was amazing and the restaurant is a real GEM. Had so much fun last weekend we are headed there again tonight for dinner and taking friends out to celebrate a birthday! Recommend to all.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Wednesday evening out

Dined on March 30, 2016

Our party of three arrived mostly on time for our 5:30 reservation. Our first visit and we were unsure of parking in the area, but the parking attendant was very helpful. Dillon was our waiter, very knowledgeable and always available when needed. Our water glasses were refilled when half full. The Old Fashion I ordered was excellent. The oysters on half shell and the brie and fig appetizer were very good. The 40 oz. steak was excellent and it was the primary reason we visited. The slight disappointment of the evening was in the presentation of the steak, the nicely cut pieces of meat were scattered on the serving platter rather than reassembled next to the bone as demonstrated on "Secrets of Bluegrass Chefs". This way one was unable to see the "entire steak" in its' original configuration and obviously begs the question. The fries and salads were excellent while the broccoli was somewhat under cooked. Coffee was very good. We will return!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We brought a business associate in from ...

Dined on March 30, 2016

We brought a business associate in from Utah and treated him to dinner at Blue Heron. We had the bacon appetizer, oysters on the half shell, and all 3 of us enjoyed the Beef tenderloin entrée. The roasted broccoli was perfection!

food5
ambience5
service5

New York strip was fabulous!

vip
Dined on March 27, 2016

New York strip was fabulous!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Steakhouse in Lexington

Dined on March 10, 2016

The service was top notch and the steak was cooked perfectly. We went for an early dinner on a Thursday night and the bar area was full and the dinning room had plenty of seating. Cocktails are made traditionally with no pre-made mixes or cheap well-liquor. We ordered the porterhouse for 2 and it was the best steak I've had in Lexington. Price was fair for the quality of food. Our server was phenomenal. same price level as a Malones and food and service make Malones look like a Sizzler.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great experience! Loved the atmospheref ...

Dined on March 9, 2016

Great experience! Loved the atmospherefood, drinks and service!

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Tried it after seeing it on local tv sho ...

Dined on March 5, 2016

Tried it after seeing it on local tv show. GLAD we did! Entire meal was outstanding, I mean everything! Great atmosphere nice and cozy. There was 6 of us and waitress was on top of everything. AWESOME

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome food and the most refreshing dri ...

Dined on March 3, 2016

Awesome food and the most refreshing drinks. I think they make the best margarita in the countryy

food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Over all view

Dined on February 25, 2016

We had good service even though we had to wait to find what the specials were. The Coke was flat. We had the porter house steak for two and it had a great taste but was very chewey. One part of the steak was very tender must have been the filet. I thought it was confusing as to if the gray gooze and the blue heron was the same restaurant and used the same parking area. The restaurant was clean and nice but I go for the food. We really liked the lady that took care of us.

food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Expected better steaks

Dined on February 23, 2016

My steak was a little over seasoned. My companion's steak was tough. Service was great and extensive bourbon list.

Tags: neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and service was excellent!!!

vip
Dined on February 19, 2016

Great food and service was excellent!!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Charming & Yummy

vip
Dined on February 18, 2016

This was not our first time at Blue Heron! It is one of those places that we go to when we need a great drink and incredible food in a relaxed adult atmosphere.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

We've been here several times and usuall ...

Dined on February 17, 2016

We've been here several times and usually found the food outstanding. Our party of three had two steak dishes and the fish special. The fish was excellent but both of us who had the steak felt it was not up to standard., not bad but not excellent. The brie appetizer was good but needed a better sweet note. It was served with what tasted like apple butter and didn't work. We had trouble in the past here being overcharged for drinks so we watch pretty carefully when we get the bill. Everything was correct and we thought our waitress was very good.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

you should definitely try the Blue Heron

Dined on February 14, 2016

We have eaten here several times and keep coming back for date night or with family or friends. It is great for a steak dinner and other entees - fried chicken or a pasta or fish special have also been great. The shrimp and grits and the crab cake appetizer are outstanding. Pared with a salad is a light meal. Service is excellent without being too formal . We love the interior - a renovated historic home with beautiful woodwork, interior walls removed and vaulted ceilings- and come early to have a specialty cocktail at the bar. Would recommend reservations. Jefferson Street can be a busy place especially on the weekends. And get to know the parking lot attendant - he'll take care of repeat customers!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Valentine's Day...

Dined on February 13, 2016

We were looking for a atmosphere...and from the fireplace, the beauty of the brick and beams, the small and intimate tables...we got everything we hoped for and more! Of course...the food is always good, the service intelligent, and the ambiance warm. We'll be back!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Extremely enjoyable

Dined on February 12, 2016

We celebrated Valentine's Day early, on Friday and had a fantastic meal, great ambiance and an outstanding waitress from another country. We had never been to blue heron before and we were simply sold on it. Everything was great! Thank you

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great atmosphere and service. Our Ribeye ...

Dined on February 6, 2016

Great atmosphere and service. Our Ribeye steaks and Filet were excellent but stay away from the Carpaccio appetizer.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Girls night out

Dined on February 5, 2016

Waitress was very knowledgeable and the wine list was great! Food always outstanding.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great

Dined on January 29, 2016

Steak for 2 was excellent. Service was great. Great atmosphere, what's not to like. We will go back for sure. I would recommend to friends.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Ken A.

Dined on January 23, 2016

Food all ways good. Staff is GREAT. I've had better, but not much and not in that area of Lexington. Great Job!!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Always a pleasure...

Dined on January 16, 2016

We tend to come to Blue Heron for special occasions, so about 3-4 times a year and it is ALWAYS wonderful. Their prime rib (Fri & Sat) is always amazing with wonderful au jus. Our favorite dish, when it is in season, is the cauliflower au gratin. It will change your life! The staff is always friendly. The restaurant is always tranquil. The food is outstanding. Highly recommend to anyone!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Charming

Dined on January 14, 2016

A lovely space with very nice food. The fried chicken was particularly good. I look forward to going back.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was excellent. This is the best re ...

Dined on January 12, 2016

Food was excellent. This is the best restaurant in Lexington for steaks. Love the grilled thick cut bacon

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.