Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.29mi
  2. Distance: 0.42mi
  3. Distance: 0.48mi
  4. Distance: 0.48mi
  1. Distance: 0.29mi
  2. Distance: 0.42mi
  3. Distance: 0.48mi
  4. Distance: 0.48mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.29mi
  2. Distance: 0.42mi
  3. Distance: 0.48mi
  4. Distance: 0.48mi
  1. Distance: 0.29mi
  2. Distance: 0.42mi
  3. Distance: 0.48mi
  4. Distance: 0.48mi

About Blue Heron Steakhouse

The Blue Heron Steakhouse is located in the thriving historic Jefferson Street corridor. We offer an excellent menu with steakhouse classics and modern Southern fare with specialties such as fresh oysters, the finest cuts of beef, shrimp and grits and more. Our restaurant started as a hand-crafted cocktail bar and consumer demand made it obvious that we needed to expand to a full-service kitchen. The Blue Heron is situated in a renovated home with exposed brick, a beautiful, locally crafted chandelier, a roaring two-sided fireplace in the colder months and an expansive patio for warmer weather. Locally owned and loaded with character, The Blue Heron is a perfect setting for an intimate date, an evening with friends or simply a casual dinner while watching the game.

185 Jefferson Street
Lexington, KY 40508
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Contemporary American, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Dinner:
Monday - Thursday 5 pm - 10 pm
Friday - Saturday 5 pm - 11 pm
Closed Sundays

Bar:
4 pm - 2 am

Cross Street:
Second Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(859) 254-2491

Website:
http://blueheronsteakhouse.com/

Parking Details:
The Blue Heron has a private parking lot right beside the restaurant. There is also ample on street parking in the area.

Executive Chef:
Will Preston

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Blue Heron Steakhouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.3

noise

Quiet

90% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (23)
Good for Anniversaries (17)
Good for a Date (17)
See All
Handcrafted Cocktails (13)
Business Meals (12)
Romantic (11)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Cozy (10)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Authentic (9)
Worth the Drive (9)
Local Ingredients (9)
Bar Seating (8)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Casual (7)
Tasting Menu (7)
Comfort Food (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Disabled Access (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Fun (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Great Beer (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Seasonal (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Organic (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
People Watching (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Scenic View (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sort By:
S
353 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined 2 days ago

One of the best meals I've ever had in Lexington. Service was also top notch. Highly recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined 2 days ago

Ehh tried several times but average is best we can come up with

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

vip
 (Naples)·Dined 3 days ago

Great steak house. I ordered the New York strip medium rare and it was the best steak I've had in lexington. Must go to place to dine

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Food was great and service was exceptional! It was our first visit but we will definitely be back.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 5, 2017

Great dinner, superbly prepared steaks and great Bourbon Old Fashions. What's not to like!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on September 4, 2017

The steak was absolutely delicious. Sides were good as well. Outdoor dining available.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

 
·Dined on September 4, 2017

This was our third time dining at Blue Heron, and every time has been very good. This particular time was extremely good - food, service, atmosphere...

We had the Porterhouse for 2 which is like the steak at Peter Luger's, and it was one of the best steaks I have ever had. I have been to high end steakhouses in New York, Vegas, Miami, Atlanta..., and this one was fantastic with incredible flavor and was huge. It was enough for 3 of us! The salad was excellent, and the potato was the size of Idaho.

Our server was Sara, and she did an outstanding job. Very attentive, great personality, and she worked hard and did a great job. If you go there ask for her - she does a great job.

Again, we were very pleased with and pleasantly surprised at how good the food and service were. Can't wait to go back again.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Ours was a disappointing experience, in that the food was lack luster, and clearly not at the level that was once available here. We will try again, but we hope they will return to their former glory.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Always a great spot to dine and have fun. We always enjoy our time here.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Disabled Access, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 24, 2017

Travis was an amazing waiter and made our 32nd anniversary so special!

Tags: Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on August 19, 2017

We had the porterhouse for two with 4 sides. The meal was excellent

Tags: Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Great prime rib and fillet mignon but the vegetable left a lot to be desired. Order their green beans with bacon and the beans were tough and chewy, waiter offered a replacement and got the broccoli which came out dry a chewy also. Everything else was great.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on August 1, 2017

Great food! Love the space. While we only drank wine, the old fashioned are the best in the city!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Great place!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

Top notch restaurant. Great service and consistently great food.

Tags: Business Meals, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Wonderful restaurant. Such old ambience, beautiful setting and the food was outstanding. We were in a party of six but the service was,still good. If I am back in Lexington I will certainly revisit
Thank you

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

vip
 (SW Indiana)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Great food...great service...great atmosphere...love the porch. Awful parking! If ever there was a restaurant that needed valet parking this is it (but it's worth the parking problems to experience the restaurant---really great!)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 22, 2017

Disappointed we were the only table that didn't get a bread basket with rolls. Everyone around us had a basket of rolls.

On a whole, our waitress, Brittany, was very knowledgeable of the items on the menu, as well as the specials for the night.

The ambiance was great and dining area was cozy.

The Bibb Avocado salad was supurb!

Tags: Good for a Date, Healthy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on July 22, 2017

As always, a super supper. Service out of this world. Food fantastic and server very attentive. Be back next week

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 21, 2017

My husband took me to Blue Heron Steakhouse for my birthday. We ordered the Porterhouse for two and it was fantastic. The steak was cooked a perfect medium and all the sides were very fresh and hot. My personal favorite was the creamed spinach. The service was great and we didn't have to wait long for our food at all. The patio was very relaxing and we really enjoyed the location and the meal. We will definitely go back.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Romantic, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 21, 2017

Our family enjoyed the experience and look forward to returning.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 19, 2017

mediocre at best. new york strip tough-tough-tough. oysters relatively tasteless. fried anchovies on the salad a joke--cooked to a crisp. AND, who pours bourbon over the kind of ice you find at Sonic? bartender needs some help for sure.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on July 15, 2017

This place is one of my favorite restaurants in Lexington!

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on July 14, 2017

We tried the 40 oz porterhouse - Peter Lugar Style -and it was fabulous. Two of us split it and took leftovers home. Still good the next day. It seemed expensive at the time but we got 4 veges and split the steak - quite a bargain.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Air was broken on super hot day...they didn't mention that. Too hot to eat a big steak...no options for children. Our waiter didn't seem to care...def would not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value2

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on July 14, 2017

The bar was nice for a drink while waiting for our reservation time. The restaurant was clean and we'll decorated which made it very comfortable. The wait staff was very attentive. Our food was served in a timely manner. The food was hot and tasty and the portions were adequate. Over all we had a good dining experience with the biggest issue being cost. For what we got the tab was high at nearly 145.00 for two people.

Tags: Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on July 12, 2017

Excellent service! Delicious steak!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 10, 2017

Friendly, attentive staff and very good food. Highly recommend!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Our server, Sara, was so wonderful! She made the experience extra special! We were celebrating a 25th birthday and had the 40oz Porterhouse for two! Everything from the drink (the witching hour was fabulous) to the meal was phenomenal! Highly recommended Blue Heron for any special night you have!

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great Beer, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Our service was great and the food was delicious! The ambience of Blue Heron makes it a special place to have a long dinner with friends or family. Highly recommend!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Very nice, great food, and worth the price $$$. Our reservation was at 6pm on a Saturday and it was empty. By the time we were leaving it was almost packed. Highly recommend this steakhouse

Tags: Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on June 17, 2017

We really enjoyed our experience at the Blue Heron ! There was only one dish that was quite overly salty (Shrimp and Grits) and I would think might benefit from a little more taste testing and we might steer from in the future. This would NOT stop us from going back. We really loved everything else!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Organic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Always a fantastic meal! The table service and bar service for drinks after was great.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Underwhelmed on the food.. the shrimp and grits was blah - service (bartenders) seemed very uninterested in our experience. We went for a 10 year anniversary and was disappointed. Would not recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Amazing food! Moscow Mule was the best I ever had. Fresh made syrups and juices for their drinks. Steaks perfectly cooked with fresh made sides that were delicious. Giant onion ring appetizers were great. House made steak sauce and dipping sauce for the onion rings were great.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on June 5, 2017

We had the fried chicken and it was better than reviews. Excellent crispy and moist. Also had tenderloin medium Cooked perfectly. Had dessert. Yum!

Tags: Casual, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Service and food were both excellent. Emily did a great job taking care of us.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Pasta special was wonderful and Bibb lettuce salad was excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined on May 27, 2017

Great spot, good food! Parking is a bit of a pain.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Fantastic steaks, good wine, good service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.