Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 5 times today

Blue Heron Steakhouse

4.6
459 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Steakhouse
Top Tags:
  • Good for a Date
  • Neighborhood Gem
  • Romantic
The Blue Heron Steakhouse is located in the thriving historic Jefferson Street corridor. We offer an excellent menu with steakhouse classics and modern Southern fare with specialties such as fresh oysters, the finest cuts of beef, shrimp and grits and more. Our restaurant started as a hand-crafted cocktail bar and consumer demand made it obvious that we needed to expand to a full-service kitchen. The Blue Heron is situated in a renovated home with exposed brick, a beautiful, locally crafted chandelier, a roaring two-sided fireplace in the colder months and an expansive patio for warmer weather. Locally owned and loaded with character, The Blue Heron is a perfect setting for an intimate date, an evening with friends or simply a casual dinner while watching the game.
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Steakhouse, Contemporary American, Southern
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Dinner:
Monday - Thursday 5 pm - 10 pm
Friday - Saturday 5 pm - 11 pm
Closed Sundays

Bar:
4 pm - 2 am

icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(859) 254-2491
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Will Preston
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Second Street
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
The Blue Heron has a private parking lot right beside the restaurant. There is also ample on street parking in the area.
Additional
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 459 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.6based on recent ratings
4.5
food
4.5
service
4.6
ambience
4.2
value
Noise · Moderate
95% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 3 days ago

Great dinner! Great service!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 4 days ago

Third visit to Blue Heron and each time it has been outstanding. I had grouper, friend had prime rib that looked delicious, and husband had fried chicken which was very good. Appetizers were baked Brie and thick cut bacon. Both were delicious. L.T. was our server and he was knowledgeable and friendly.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 15, 2018

Like many other visits to Blue Heron, the food was great! Had the Porterhouse for Two and it was enough for three or four! Excellent! We added 2 extra people when we got there and they were very accommodating. One of my favorite places in Lexington! Keith does a great job with all of his restaurants.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 14, 2018

One of our two favorite restaurants in Lexington our Cowboy Ribeye, which we shared, was perfectly cooked..The baked Brie is always very nicely presented and this time was not a disappointment. The carrot soup was a delightful accompaniment as was the nicely done Brussels Sprouts. The Handcrafted Old Fashion at the Blue Heron is my favorite in town. We totally enjoy evenings here and look forward to returning soon. Enjoy!!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 13, 2018

Visiting Lexington for Keeneland races, found Blue Heron on Open Table and loved it! Very quaint, filet was excellent and service was fantastic.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 8, 2018

My husband and I decided to visit The Blue Heron on a night out without the children. This was our first experience and we were pleased. We reserved a table using Open Table and the whole process was easy and saved us from having to wait once we arrived. Parking was a little tricky but there was a gentleman outside that was helping people find open parking spaces. Immediately after we arrived we were seated. The restaurant is small and I did feel a little cramped for space as we were seated at a two person table right in front of the bar. It was kind of loud due to our location as well. The menu is concise but be sure to ask your server for any nightly sides or specials. We ordered the shareable porterhouse and it was delicious!! The sides we ordered were good as well. We went with the usual staples of most steak dinners and ordered baked potatoes and creamed spinach. I would visit again but would prefer to sit somewhere out of the way and not right in front of the bar. That seating left me feeling like it was less of an intimate dining experience and more of a bar scene with really expensive food. In total I would give a 4 out of 5 star rating due to the quality of the food, the ease of using open table for reservations, and the experience of dining at a local restaurant.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2018

The food and service were wonderful. The restaurant is so attractive with its brick walls and exposed angled ceilings. It’s one of our favorite restaurants in Lexington.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 7, 2018

Crab cake appetizer and a veggie were all I needed....of course plus an adult beverage.
Highly recommend crab cakes and fried chicken options. They'll make the appetizer
into a dinner if you want a heavier meal. Everything is high quality with good service
though our waitress was new and didn't have a lot of answers she was so pleasant it
is hard to complain.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2018

This was amazing, the porterhouse steak for 2 is more than you can ever eat in one sitting. The cheesecake one of the best and be sure to try at least one of the daily specials. Great way to spend my birthday.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2018

Bar selection was great along with the Bar Tender. He was very friendly and made for good conversation. Fried Oysters were the hit item at our table. Delicious! Highly recommend the restaurant for dinner. We enjoyed the Duck Pasta Special along with a Ribeye.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 7, 2018

The reviews are true about the noise level! We sat on the enclosed patio and the noise level was loud! Because it was an patio, closed in, this caused the echo. It didn't help that there was a very boisterous table next to us :( We could hardly hear one another and had to ask our server to repeat himself - several times.
When you make a reservation - make sure you ask to sit INSIDE the restaurant - your experience will be much better!
With that said - our food was incredible. The medium-rare filet we ordered, came out perfect! The sides were really good - I got the creamed spinach and a wedge salad.
We both ordered a Manhattan to drink and it was delicious.

We really loved the location, the food and our service - we just wish we would have been inside. Our experience would have been that much better. We will definitely return!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 6, 2018

Amazing as always. We always enjoy our experience there.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 6, 2018

Outstanding it is our go to place in Lexington when we are there. Much better than Shakspear downtown and Travis out waiter was incredible. Great food and value.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 5, 2018

A favorite go to - excellent all round plus the owners are good friends who strive for excellence in all their undertakings.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 2, 2018

We are in town for a college visit & had dinner here. Very pleased with the knowledge of our server, Tom. The food was fabulous, ambiance relaxing & good for families. Filet was perfection, sides were large portions.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 30, 2018

Wonderful as always!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 24, 2018

Everything was great! Service, atmosphere, and food. Would highly recommend.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 23, 2018

Delicious crab cake and prime rib. Appreciate willing to split plats as dinners are fairly large.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 21, 2018

This is one of our favorite restaurants to go to. You have to try their famous margaritas. They are the best in town. Ask to have it dipped in sugar instead of salt. It is absolutely delicious.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 16, 2018

Excellent as always...food, service and staff. The hostess was great

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 10, 2018

Great bourbon menu, awesome steaks, wonderful ambiance!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 8, 2018

Really good food. The server was very attentive without being overbearing. Our guest said the Caesar salad was the best he’d ever had. New York strip was perfectly done.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 7, 2018

Everything was fine, except I thought the rolls were a bit stale the second time around.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 3, 2018

Found Blue Heron on line and it came highly regarded. Arrived on time at 6:45 PM on Saturday and found parking to be an issue. We (4 ppl) were promptly seated, the place was at full capacity and there was a good energy with guests talking and laughing and having a good time. Service was very good, drinks and apps were taken first, followed by entrees. Two at our table had the daily special, Duck Confit Carbonara and it was delicious. Other guest had the Lamb Loin with gnocchi and I had the Cowboy Ribeye steak, both were also excellent. We were on a two day Bourbon Tasting Tour and thought this venue was an ideal addition to the trip. Alan O.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 2, 2018

Steak lacked flavor, dining room was over crowded, tables way too close together. Server had to yell in order to make the specials known. Many better restaurants in Lexington for same or lesser price.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 2, 2018

Amazing staff, amazing food and amazing atmosphere! Perfect for a special date night with my wife.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 2, 2018

Miranda Lambert concert. Girls night!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 2, 2018

Couldn’t have asked for better.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 26, 2018

Great food, I always enjoy the lamb, and took advantage of the 1/2 bottle of wine on Mondays.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 24, 2018

Had reservation. Parking attendant found parking spot he has very helpful. The beef tenderloin has good with side salad and baked potatoe. For dessert the apple crumb aka mode was delicious

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 16, 2018

Blue Heron delivered as usual!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2018

Great! I definitely be going back

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2018

The restaurant was spectacular. Very relaxed and warm atmosphere. I’m definitely going to go here again. The steak I ordered was absolutely phenomenal!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2018

Wonderful Valentines night with friends!!! The food was delicious and our server was great!!!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on February 14, 2018

It was a Valentine’s Day fixed menu. Service was excellent, however the food was poor for the price. $75 per person plus tip minus drinks. The pork shank tasted like it came out of a crockpot, the rare prime rib was very chewy and tough. Had difficulty cutting it with a steak knife. The au jus tasted canned. The appetizer was a single jumbo shrimp. The desserts were nothing special- a caramel flan and a chocolate “mug style “ cake. The sides were so-so: roasted asparagus, potato skin, and fried risotto balls (flavorless). So disappointed..I had heard good things about this restaurant. I couldn’t believe the poor quality for the price in such a nice place. Was our first visit. Won’t be going back.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 14, 2018

The flavors and work that goes in to the food is apparent. Everything we had was full of layers of flavor and great care had been put in to making things that were unique yet familiar in many ways. The setting is quaint and cozy, although a bit noisy because of the old wooden floor (that the wait staff seemed to trip over regularly). There's a fireplace that makes the location cozy. Parking is a bit dicey. A nice gentlemen helped me find a curbside location...not sure if that's a regular feature. I thought the price was a bit over done. The price was about 20-30% higher than is needed to be when compared to comparable restaurants I've been to around the country. I dropped $200 on two people for perspective. Seems picky...but the little things count at this price level...didn't get any bread with our meal when other patrons clearly did. The bar staff seems inexperienced...judging from my Old Fashioned that wasn't quite what it should have been in an establishment like that. They clearly are doing a lot of things right and the chef is obviously very good and creative. However, too many misses on the finer points to justify that kind of price. I probably won't go back...it was so expensive that gambling on a second try is more than most people are willing to risk.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 13, 2018

Food and service were great as always!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 13, 2018

Very nice atmosphere for our dinner date. Waitress explained everything, was very attentive but not intrusive. Food was excellent and mood was just right. Will go again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 7, 2018

Very good meal and service is always good

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 5, 2018

Excellent as always. The porterhouse for two never disappoints. Was pleasantly surprised to learn that many good [read: expensive] wines are 50% off on Mondays with the purchase of two entrees (I will visit here more often on Mondays)! The service was exceptionally polite, helpful, and unobtrusive. My only disagreement was with the waiter's assistant who brought the salads--he dropped them and left in an hurry without asking whether we would like freshly-ground pepper on our Cesars (I always do). Picky, but you have to be picky to find fault here. This restaurant is a favorite for a reason.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
12

Tweets by Blue Heron Steakhouse