Blue Heron Steakhouse

4.7
483 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Steakhouse
Top Tags:
  • Good for a Date
  • Special Occasion
  • Neighborhood Gem
The Blue Heron Steakhouse is located in the thriving historic Jefferson Street corridor. We offer an excellent menu with steakhouse classics and modern Southern fare with specialties such as fresh oysters, the finest cuts of beef, shrimp and grits and more. Our restaurant started as a hand-crafted cocktail bar and consumer demand made it obvious that we needed to expand to a full-service kitchen. The Blue Heron is situated in a renovated home with exposed brick, a beautiful, locally crafted chandelier, a roaring two-sided fireplace in the colder months and an expansive patio for warmer weather. Locally owned and loaded with character, The Blue Heron is a perfect setting for an intimate date, an evening with friends or simply a casual dinner while watching the game.
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Steakhouse, Contemporary American, Southern
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Dinner:
Monday - Thursday 5 pm - 10 pm
Friday - Saturday 5 pm - 11 pm
Closed Sundays

Bar:
4 pm - 2 am

icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(859) 254-2491
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Will Preston
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Second Street
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
The Blue Heron has a private parking lot right beside the restaurant. There is also ample on street parking in the area.
Additional
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 483 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.7based on recent ratings
4.7
food
4.7
service
4.6
ambience
4.3
value
Noise · Moderate
100% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 2 days ago

Best steak I’ve had in a looooong time. Couldn’t believe how good it was

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 6 days ago

Blue Heron always offers a great evening. Unassuming, yet sophisticated, the staff is only outshined by their steaks. Worth it!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 14, 2018

Blue Heron had the best Steaks in town along with good service

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 10, 2018

Food & service was amazing. Prices were very reasonable. Inside is a little dark but we sat on the patio and had a fabulous dinner.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 9, 2018

We had the porterhouse steak for 2. It was fantastic. Service was great. Not loud. Enjoyed talking with my wife on our anniversary. Would recommend and we will be returning

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 9, 2018

Great restaurant! We’ve been there a couple of times and the service and food is great. We always split the steak for 2.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 7, 2018

Tom, our server, was outstanding. Made detailed recommendations and provided excellent service! Steaks and veggies were delicious, along with a wonderful atmosphere.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 1, 2018

Best meal out that I have had in a decade. We shared the bacon appetizer and both had the fork tender, perfectly cooked filets. Roasted broccoli with garlic and chili flakes was delicious. Loaded baked potato complimented the steak beautifully.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 30, 2018

I had the best red grouper ever,, even beating international dishes. My date loved the fillet with mushroom dust.
Each time we've come here we've lived the environment and food and drinks. Try the bacon appetizer. I've never had bacon as an appetizer but it was freaking amazing.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 29, 2018

It was a great spot to celebrate our anniversary!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 29, 2018

TERRIBLE service!!! Waiter was so rude and nasty . I was miserable and couldn’t wait to leave

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 26, 2018

Will go back for certain!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 18, 2018

Anniversary

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 16, 2018

We had a wonderful dining experience. Food was excellent and the service superb. The are so many wonderful restaurants in Lexington, but Blue Heron is at the top of our list.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 11, 2018

Outstanding menu well prepared using locally sourced ingredients. Serving sizes are good but not overwhelming. Service by a young man named Joe was outstanding, effective and knowledgeable without being intrusive a great date meal and worth the drive. From a couple who's eaten in outstanding restaurants across the country, the blue heron is in our top ten.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 6, 2018

Very good experience. Seafood pasta special was exceptional. Will definitely return.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 4, 2018

We had 2 strips, a tenderloin, and the lamb with a brie appetizer. All the food was excellent, as well as the service. We have already recommended and would definitely go back!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 2, 2018

Excellent service and good. Couldn’t have been happier.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 29, 2018

Absolutely love this place. Unique atmosphere, excellent food and our server Travis was awesome!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 28, 2018

We've eaten here several times and have not been disappointed in anything. Our recent experience was for our anniversary. It also turned out to be prom night in Lexington, so the people watching was fun--quite a few young people turned out for a meal before their proms.
For starters, our handcrafted cocktails were superb. My husband had the Makers Mark 46 and I had a Rhum *something*, both of which had unique flavors. We were VERY IMPRESSED with the fact that there were no plastic straws in use, but instead we had sturdy paper straws. Our server, Tom, was attentive and answered our questions about food and drink. The food, as always was fresh, delicious, and beautifully presented. We've eaten here in winter, sitting next to the lovely fireplace but have not yet enjoyed al fresco dining, though we hope to with the arrival of warmer weather. Blue Heron is a great choice for a special occasion, entertaining guests, or just a good spot for a leisurely meal & drinks. Also, the fact that there was no TV on added greatly to the ambiance. We love the location, too--ten minutes from our home.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 28, 2018

We lived our meal and our time here

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 28, 2018

We were at Blue Heron to celebrate a Birthday. There was a little wait due to a crowded restaurant and people lingering having fun. Our waiter, Travis, complemented two drinks for our wait and stayed attentive thought the process. He made the being very enjoyable.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 27, 2018

had a great meal here with friends. I had the filet which was flavorful and the perfect size portion for me and Steve had the strip which he said was delicious. The other couple tried the pork chop and lamb so we covered the bases and were all pleased with our choices. Our server was very competent, and knew the menu well. Wine selection is good, and we enjoyed our evening very much. This is a very lively place and obviously popular so a reservation is a must.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 26, 2018

Great food and service. Busy, happening kind of ambience. We had a great time and a super meal.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 21, 2018

Great dinner! Great service!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 20, 2018

Third visit to Blue Heron and each time it has been outstanding. I had grouper, friend had prime rib that looked delicious, and husband had fried chicken which was very good. Appetizers were baked Brie and thick cut bacon. Both were delicious. L.T. was our server and he was knowledgeable and friendly.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 15, 2018

Like many other visits to Blue Heron, the food was great! Had the Porterhouse for Two and it was enough for three or four! Excellent! We added 2 extra people when we got there and they were very accommodating. One of my favorite places in Lexington! Keith does a great job with all of his restaurants.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 14, 2018

One of our two favorite restaurants in Lexington our Cowboy Ribeye, which we shared, was perfectly cooked..The baked Brie is always very nicely presented and this time was not a disappointment. The carrot soup was a delightful accompaniment as was the nicely done Brussels Sprouts. The Handcrafted Old Fashion at the Blue Heron is my favorite in town. We totally enjoy evenings here and look forward to returning soon. Enjoy!!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 13, 2018

Visiting Lexington for Keeneland races, found Blue Heron on Open Table and loved it! Very quaint, filet was excellent and service was fantastic.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 8, 2018

My husband and I decided to visit The Blue Heron on a night out without the children. This was our first experience and we were pleased. We reserved a table using Open Table and the whole process was easy and saved us from having to wait once we arrived. Parking was a little tricky but there was a gentleman outside that was helping people find open parking spaces. Immediately after we arrived we were seated. The restaurant is small and I did feel a little cramped for space as we were seated at a two person table right in front of the bar. It was kind of loud due to our location as well. The menu is concise but be sure to ask your server for any nightly sides or specials. We ordered the shareable porterhouse and it was delicious!! The sides we ordered were good as well. We went with the usual staples of most steak dinners and ordered baked potatoes and creamed spinach. I would visit again but would prefer to sit somewhere out of the way and not right in front of the bar. That seating left me feeling like it was less of an intimate dining experience and more of a bar scene with really expensive food. In total I would give a 4 out of 5 star rating due to the quality of the food, the ease of using open table for reservations, and the experience of dining at a local restaurant.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2018

The food and service were wonderful. The restaurant is so attractive with its brick walls and exposed angled ceilings. It’s one of our favorite restaurants in Lexington.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 7, 2018

Crab cake appetizer and a veggie were all I needed....of course plus an adult beverage.
Highly recommend crab cakes and fried chicken options. They'll make the appetizer
into a dinner if you want a heavier meal. Everything is high quality with good service
though our waitress was new and didn't have a lot of answers she was so pleasant it
is hard to complain.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2018

This was amazing, the porterhouse steak for 2 is more than you can ever eat in one sitting. The cheesecake one of the best and be sure to try at least one of the daily specials. Great way to spend my birthday.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2018

Bar selection was great along with the Bar Tender. He was very friendly and made for good conversation. Fried Oysters were the hit item at our table. Delicious! Highly recommend the restaurant for dinner. We enjoyed the Duck Pasta Special along with a Ribeye.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 7, 2018

The reviews are true about the noise level! We sat on the enclosed patio and the noise level was loud! Because it was an patio, closed in, this caused the echo. It didn't help that there was a very boisterous table next to us :( We could hardly hear one another and had to ask our server to repeat himself - several times.
When you make a reservation - make sure you ask to sit INSIDE the restaurant - your experience will be much better!
With that said - our food was incredible. The medium-rare filet we ordered, came out perfect! The sides were really good - I got the creamed spinach and a wedge salad.
We both ordered a Manhattan to drink and it was delicious.

We really loved the location, the food and our service - we just wish we would have been inside. Our experience would have been that much better. We will definitely return!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 6, 2018

Amazing as always. We always enjoy our experience there.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 6, 2018

Outstanding it is our go to place in Lexington when we are there. Much better than Shakspear downtown and Travis out waiter was incredible. Great food and value.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 5, 2018

A favorite go to - excellent all round plus the owners are good friends who strive for excellence in all their undertakings.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 2, 2018

We are in town for a college visit & had dinner here. Very pleased with the knowledge of our server, Tom. The food was fabulous, ambiance relaxing & good for families. Filet was perfection, sides were large portions.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 30, 2018

Wonderful as always!

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
13

Tweets by Blue Heron Steakhouse