About Blue Heron Steakhouse

185 Jefferson Street
Lexington, KY 40508
View Larger Map

The Blue Heron Steakhouse is located in the thriving historic Jefferson Street corridor. We offer an excellent menu with steakhouse classics and modern Southern fare with specialties such as fresh oysters, the finest cuts of beef, shrimp and grits and more. Our restaurant started as a hand-crafted cocktail bar and consumer demand made it obvious that we needed to expand to a full-service kitchen. The Blue Heron is situated in a renovated home with exposed brick, a beautiful, locally crafted chandelier, a roaring two-sided fireplace in the colder months and an expansive patio for warmer weather. Locally owned and loaded with character, The Blue Heron is a perfect setting for an intimate date, an evening with friends or simply a casual dinner while watching the game.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Contemporary American, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Dinner:
Monday - Thursday 5 pm - 10 pm
Friday - Saturday 5 pm - 11 pm
Closed Sundays

Bar:
4 pm - 2 am

Cross Street:
Second Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(859) 254-2491

Website:
http://blueheronsteakhouse.com/

Parking Details:
The Blue Heron has a private parking lot right beside the restaurant. There is also ample on street parking in the area.

Executive Chef:
Will Preston

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Blue Heron Steakhouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Steakhouse
Central Kentucky
Best Overall
Lexington
Best Food
Lexington
3 More
Best Service
Lexington
Special Occasion
Lexington
Most Booked
Lexington
Best Restaurants in Lexington ›

Special Occasion (24)
Good for a Date (22)
Good for Anniversaries (15)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Romantic (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Cozy (10)
Fireplace (10)
Notable Wine List (9)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Bar Seating (8)
Historic (8)
Local Ingredients (7)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Business Meals (7)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Fun (5)
Authentic (5)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Casual (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Great Beer (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Seasonal (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
People Watching (1)
Live Sports (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Private Room (1)
Healthy (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Family Style (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Sort By:
S
224 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We have been to Blue Heron many times an ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined 2 days ago

We have been to Blue Heron many times and always enjoy it. This time the restaurant was not as busy (Thursday night) and the waitress was pleasant but a bit inattentive. 3 of the 4 people ordered steak filet and we had to ask for steak knives. At least one person was served their potato without the sour cream and butter cups and after asking for it, was never served it. The young lady was a bit quick and could've slowed down a bit since the place was not packed as it would be on weekends. Seafood special was great, as always.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Great meal with one exception - pasta wi ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined 3 days ago

Great meal with one exception - pasta with seafood special had sand in the clams. Honest mistake, though. Staff made up for it with a complimentary creme brulee. Delicious.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Cozy, Fireplace, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

We were seated on the enclosed patio whe ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 3, 2016

We were seated on the enclosed patio where several cars shined their headlights into our faces. Service was slow, it took too long to get drinks. Normally drinks are great but this time they tasted watered-down. The pasta/prawn special lacked flavor. My avocado salad contained a hair that did not belong. I did not alert the waitress, rather I discontinued eating the salad. The bill was $104 for 2 entrees and 4 drinks. Not worth the price. Disappointed. We have had great meals and drinks here previously but this was not one of those times unfortunately.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

Excellent place always like it when I go ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Excellent place always like it when I go there for dinner

Tags: Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Wood Oven, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food - unlike most high end steakho ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Good food - unlike most high end steakhouses, sides are included. Service was a bit off. It took a long time for the wait staff to refill water or otherwise check up on our table.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Blue Heron provides a very tasty selecti ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Blue Heron provides a very tasty selection of cocktails, steaks and local vegetables. Try sitting in the enclosed side room for a quieter evening (just ask the server to have the music turned down). Lovely fireplace and though not inexpensive it remains the best value steak in Lexington.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

My new favorite place to eat!

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on November 25, 2016

My new favorite place to eat!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, great service- he was very k ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Great food, great service- he was very knowledgeable and friendly yet didn't interfere with our conversation. Will gladly go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My second visit, first was for my birthd ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on November 16, 2016

My second visit, first was for my birthday a couple months ago. Paulina was our server both times and she was fantastic, all the staff were great. Last trip we were seated on the outdoor patio but this time in the main dining room at a corner table which was more than satisfactory. The food, drinks, ambience & service were wonderful and I look forward to my next trip!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The porterhouse steak for 2 was a great ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 15, 2016

The porterhouse steak for 2 was a great deal. Our steak was cooked perfectly. The daily specials as well as the pork chops sounded delicious as well. Already planning to return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

My wife and I were visiting from Nashvil ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 5, 2016

My wife and I were visiting from Nashville. We dined prior to attending a UK football game. The food and service was very good. My wife had the fish of the day and I had the pork chop with a cup of the butternut squash soup. Both the pork chop and fish were fresh, very large portions and well prepared and the soup was excellent. The West Six Ale was very good as well. We will definitely eat here again on future visits.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great Beer, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Open Kitchen, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great experience with late dining after ...

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Great experience with late dining after activities downtown. Service was impeccable and the food was delicious and well timed. Very nice evening in a lovely restaurant!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our first date.....a memorable one indee ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Our first date.....a memorable one indeed...from our fabulous Russian waitress...to our 2012 Opus One the crab cakes heavenly....the filet mingon perfection veggies great crisp bite, the blackened halibut devine...our sambuca ended a perfect evening...hats off couldn't have asked for more. My date has traveled the world and here I did it above excellent. he had never been to Kentucky but will be coming back, and we will be back to the blue heron.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Romantic, Authentic, Late-night Find, Fireplace, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Historic, Fun, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went for a birthday celebration. LOV ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on October 29, 2016

We went for a birthday celebration. LOVED it!! Will definitely be back. Great bar that would make a great stop for happy hour.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We split the 40oz porterhouse it was coo ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on October 29, 2016

We split the 40oz porterhouse it was cooked perfect and very tender sides were good and margaritas are very good

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We love great food and great service. Bl ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on October 21, 2016

We love great food and great service. Blue Heron definitely delivered on all fronts! The wait for food was a little longer than expected but we quickly forgot about it when we started eating! The food and wine was incredible!!

Tags: Hot Spot, Modern Decor, Private Room, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Eat here every year after a day at the r ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Eat here every year after a day at the races. My husbands favorite. Only downfall is the parking situation.

Tags: Quick Bite, Live Sports, Late-night Find, Casual, Historic, Afternoon Coffee, Sunday Lunch, People Watching, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent veal and grouper specials. Sp ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Excellent veal and grouper specials. Splurge for the grilled bacon appetizer and creme brûlée desert.

Very good service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Outstanding food. Steaks were very good. ...

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Outstanding food. Steaks were very good. Fried chicken was fabulous. Wine list very good

Tags: Outstanding Value, Fun, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server, Emily, was very attentive an ...

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Our server, Emily, was very attentive and knowledgeable. The food is outstanding, some of the, if not THE, best fried chicken in Lexington. Steaks are phenomenal too!

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fireplace, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Absolutely the best steaks in town, grea ...

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Absolutely the best steaks in town, great as always.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Porterhouse Steak...Looking forwar ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Great Porterhouse Steak...Looking forward to the Prime Rib next time

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Best filet I have had in years. Most pla ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Best filet I have had in years. Most places have a problem getting medium right. Perfectly seared on the outside. Nice and juicy inside. Server was very attentive and knew the menu and wine list very well. Enjoyed our first trip. Won't be our last.

Tags: Great Beer, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Paleo Friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our first visit here! This was a last mi ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Our first visit here! This was a last minute reservation and only had two time slots available. We chose the 8:30 slot and still had a few minutes to wait due to a packed house! The porch was a nice place to hang out while we waited as it poured rain. Once seated it took a couple of minutes to be waited on, but nothing terrible. We ordered the Pear Rhum and an Old Fashioned, Both mixed well and a decent size with out over icing! Next we ordered the Grilled thick cut bacon appetizer! Where to start.... IT BACON! The plate came with a great presentation, along with fresh cracked pepper upon approval! I describe it as a thin pork belly plate, and the 'steakhouse sauce' with the fresh tomato and raw sweet onion was perfect! next we ordered the 40 oz. porterhouse for two, (HIGHLY RECOMMEND! and it comes with 4 sides!) even though I am normally a ribeye man most of the time this was cooked to absolute perfect mid rare(at 2 1/2 inches thick)!!! Presented Peter Luger Style meaning already butchered and sliced ready for consumption with the Jus and Butter on the bottom of the plate!!! The sides were standard fare for the most part, baked potatoes and green beans (cooked almondene) and broiled broccoli with chili flakes. Lastly, a coffee and one of the best Crème brûlées in town!!! Which they graciously put a birthday candle in for us. Overall the service was good, timely, and knowledgeable. The atmosphere a bit noisy, and dark(several people using light from their phones to read the menus) but still a nice and historic building that houses a great steakhouse to rival the others in town!!!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

I had read about Blue Heron on Opentable ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on September 6, 2016

I had read about Blue Heron on Opentable and wanted to try out a new restaurant in Lexington ( since me and my husband tend to frequent the same places). I read rave reviews about the Porterhouse for two. I got the Porterhouse for one and my husband got the seafood/pasta special. The pasta was great--very flavorful with scallops and a great cilantro pesto sauce. My steak however was not as flavorful. It was chewy and fatty and underseasoned, which was disappointing for a $38 entree but I didn't want to complain. The service was wonderful (Nicki I think). I would return to the restaurant but would not get the steak. All in all, it was a very nice date night out.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Great food, drinks, and value for what y ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on August 29, 2016

Great food, drinks, and value for what you spend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We had a wonderful meal, and we are look ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 21, 2016

We had a wonderful meal, and we are looking forward to our next visit!!

Tags: Bar Seating, Authentic, Good for a Date, Healthy, Fireplace, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Another excellent experience!

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on August 18, 2016

Another excellent experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Lovely food, lovely ambiance, great serv ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on August 16, 2016

Lovely food, lovely ambiance, great service...limited parking., though the parking "Guru" has never failed us. It is NOT cheap, unless you are in the upper quartile of income, you won't be eating here every day. But it is well worth the money you spend.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great! Excellent food and service!

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on August 14, 2016

Great! Excellent food and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Loved our server- Micky

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on August 12, 2016

Loved our server- Micky

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our server, Polina, and she was outstand ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on August 11, 2016

Our server, Polina, and she was outstanding. Did a great job reviewing the menu, the daily items for that evening and kept her eye on us to see if we needed anything else.

The only negative to our evening was the slowness of the bar in getting our initial order out (about 15 minutes). Subsequent drinks came much quicker. Supposedly only one bartender on duty which slowed things down. My wife ordered a "special" drink and the waitress was not sure if the bartender could make, checked and said he could-my wife gave it very high marks saying it was excellent. They only do a 2 oz pour so if you prefer a stronger drink you may need to order a double.

Overall we would go back. The steak-the porterhouse for 2 was excellent, cooked perfectly. Every bit as good as another steakhouse in the downtown area and much less expensive. Excellent quality overall.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Server was great. (Paulina)

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on August 5, 2016

Server was great. (Paulina)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Very good food, enjoyed the meal. Serve ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on August 5, 2016

Very good food, enjoyed the meal. Server knew just the right time to check on us and when to let us enjoy the wonderful meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Everything was fabulous!!!! The steaks a ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 3, 2016

Everything was fabulous!!!! The steaks absolutely melted in you mouth!!!!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great dinner. Our server was amazing. ...

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on July 29, 2016

Great dinner. Our server was amazing. Steak was amazing, sides were amazing. Atmosphere was wonderful just a very cozy dinner.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Special evening great meal

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on July 29, 2016

Special evening great meal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

More of a bar atmosphere than fine dinin ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on July 21, 2016

More of a bar atmosphere than fine dining with fine dining prices

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Enjoyed ! Especially loved the porterhou ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on July 15, 2016

Enjoyed ! Especially loved the porterhouse. It easily met my expectations. I would go back!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

It's a favorite - food and service are c ...

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on July 8, 2016

It's a favorite - food and service are consistently excellent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.