Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.29mi
  2. Distance: 0.42mi
  3. Distance: 0.48mi
  4. Distance: 0.48mi
  1. Distance: 0.29mi
  2. Distance: 0.42mi
  3. Distance: 0.48mi
  4. Distance: 0.48mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.29mi
  2. Distance: 0.42mi
  3. Distance: 0.48mi
  4. Distance: 0.48mi
  1. Distance: 0.29mi
  2. Distance: 0.42mi
  3. Distance: 0.48mi
  4. Distance: 0.48mi

About Blue Heron Steakhouse

The Blue Heron Steakhouse is located in the thriving historic Jefferson Street corridor. We offer an excellent menu with steakhouse classics and modern Southern fare with specialties such as fresh oysters, the finest cuts of beef, shrimp and grits and more. Our restaurant started as a hand-crafted cocktail bar and consumer demand made it obvious that we needed to expand to a full-service kitchen. The Blue Heron is situated in a renovated home with exposed brick, a beautiful, locally crafted chandelier, a roaring two-sided fireplace in the colder months and an expansive patio for warmer weather. Locally owned and loaded with character, The Blue Heron is a perfect setting for an intimate date, an evening with friends or simply a casual dinner while watching the game.

185 Jefferson Street
Lexington, KY 40508
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Contemporary American, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Dinner:
Monday - Thursday 5 pm - 10 pm
Friday - Saturday 5 pm - 11 pm
Closed Sundays

Bar:
4 pm - 2 am

Cross Street:
Second Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(859) 254-2491

Website:
http://blueheronsteakhouse.com/

Parking Details:
The Blue Heron has a private parking lot right beside the restaurant. There is also ample on street parking in the area.

Executive Chef:
Will Preston

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Blue Heron Steakhouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (36)
Good for a Date (35)
Neighborhood Gem (28)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (26)
Cozy (22)
Fireplace (22)
Local Ingredients (21)
Romantic (20)
Worth the Drive (19)
Handcrafted Cocktails (18)
Creative Cuisine (16)
Good for Birthdays (15)
Business Meals (15)
Casual (15)
Fit for Foodies (14)
Authentic (13)
Bar Seating (12)
Notable Wine List (11)
Historic (10)
Fun (9)
Good for Groups (7)
Hot Spot (7)
Great Beer (7)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Happy Hour (5)
Seasonal (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Comfort Food (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Healthy (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Tasting Menu (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Scenic View (2)
Family Style (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Private Room (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
People Watching (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Vegan (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Spicy (1)
Live Sports (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Organic (1)
Sort By:
S
310 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined 4 days ago

Thanks again, it was a memoarble dinner with the customers...? One of my best steak ever...!Well done and hope see you next year again...! All the best, Csaba

Tags: Organic, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on May 6, 2017

We really enjoyed a wonderful anniversary meal there, menu is based heavily on top end steaks and prime rib, but does offer seafood dishes. Also ordered a decadent chocolate mousse dessert. Our waitress was very friendly and helpful with menu choices. We did mention to Open Table that is was our anniversary but perhaps notice didn't get passed onto staff as it wasn't mentioned? ! Ambiance was charming, exposed brick walls, old fireplace and opened up ceiling covered in wood.

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Fireplace, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Romantic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Food and service were great! However, I made reservations almost one month in advance and was seated by the kitchen. The swinging door all evening was very disruptive.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Great steak in a cozy restaurant. Top notch bartenders. One of my favorite Lexington restaurants. Recommend the porterhouse for 2.

Tags: Fun, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Travis was an excellent server and did a great job. The food was fantastic. We both had steaks and they were prepared perfectly. The sides were a nice addition to the entree.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 30, 2017

We really enjoyed our dinner at Blue Heron. The waiter was very knowledgeable about wine, and the local ingredients. We had an appetizer special of morrell mushrooms that was amazing. Awesome fried chicken and gravy for me, and my husband had an excellent NY strip. I would definitely recommend Blue Heron for a date night... quiet enough to have a conversation.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on April 29, 2017

First visit to Blue Heron and enjoyed very much! We were seated on the indoor patio area and it was lovely. Less noisy and could hold conversation without shouting. Steaks were delicious. Highly recommend! Glad they had a man outside to direct us to parking spot too!

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Busy, energetic restaurant. Great food and great service. Can't wait to go back.

The only problem was trying to find a place to park....circled the block for 30 minutes before
locating a spot.

Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 28, 2017

We were visiting for the Rolex Horse Event and walked to Blue Heron for dinner. Such a cute neighborhood spot. Very attractive interior with wood and high ceilings. Would highly recommend the grilled oysters and sautéed mushrooms for appetizers...also the salads are huge. Our server was attentive, and overall the dining experience was excellent.
Surely a spot to visit if you are traveling to historic Lexington.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Great bourbon selection with very good food and wait staff.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Two words attracted us on Blue Heron Steakhouse's menu: Peter Luger.

Having previously dined at the famed Brooklyn steak house (and still ranking it as the best steak I have enjoyed in my life), my wife and I thought it somewhat audacious of a steakhouse in Lexington, KY to reference a 40 ox. porterhouse steak for two as "Served Peter Luger style." No way, we thought, that this steak could approach the gold standard for red meat . . .

But the great surprise is that the Blue Heron delivered!

Indeed the presentation was definitely Peter Luger-esque and the steak was awesome! (We ordered medium and the filet side of the steak was perfect, the strip side was more medium-rare.) And with two sides per person included it was well worth the price. It was a good call to not order an appetizer and regrettably skip dessert when ordering this plateful of beef for two. Definitely come hungry.

One other great thing, and something that never happens with Saturday night dining, New York or Lexington or anywhere: we showed up about 20 minutes before our reservation time and were advised our table was waiting; we were seated immediately. I'm sure that doesn't happen all the time, but it was a great start to our dining experience.

Save the airfare to New York, omit the brusque German waiters in Brooklyn, and feel free to use a credit card (not an option at NYC P.L. locations) . . . Blue Heron is Luger in Lexington!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Can not wait to go back! The Porterhouse for two was done perfectly as was the Ceaser salad. Cocktail menu had a good variety from bourbon to vodka mixed with fresh ingredients. Makes such a difference. High quality without being pretentious. A new favorite!🥂

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 22, 2017

I would have normally give my 5 star review as we love the Blue Heron but tonight with the temperatures dropping so dramatically (80 degrees to 40s) sitting on the screened in patio was very chilly. There weren't any tables available by the fireplace. Food and service were still excellent.

Tags: Historic, Late-night Find, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Loved everything!!!

Tags: Family Style, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on April 21, 2017

It was a wonderful date night with great food and drinks! I was very impressed with the quality of service and the food is always phenomenal! We'll be back for sure!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 20, 2017

The food and atmosphere was very good. Parking is tight but they had an assistant to help.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Blue Heron is an upscale steakhouse that us worth the cost. Very good food with excellent service and atmosphere. I recommend it for special occasions.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Private Room, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Great Beer, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Overall our experience was OK, not spectacular or worth going back. The restaurant has a small dining area with A LOT of tables close together. We were given a table shoe horned between a column, 2 other large tables and the bar. Inarguably the worst table in the house-so much so the server apologized for it when we got our check. We did ask for a different table initially and were told that was the only option. We were celebrating our 16th wedding anniversary or we would have left. While the food was great we weren't really able to talk at all as the place was really loud due to dense table layout. I had the 24 oz porterhouse and my wife had the seafood pasta special-both were excellent.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on April 18, 2017

We had a business dinner where all the food was wonderful. The noise level was at a good level, no problems hearing each other. One area that could have been better was our server. There were times when drinks would be empty for a longer time than they should have been. Overall, a very nice, quaint place.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Cozy, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 15, 2017

This is one of out go to restaurants in lexington. Always solid

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Wait service was weak at best, got two $34 filets that were burnt to a crisp. Sides of broccoli and French fries were garbage. But I did have two tasty mango mojitos.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on April 13, 2017

This is one of my favorite restaurants right now. The food is always spot on, it never disappoints. The drinks are amazing. The bartenders know their craft well. I will be back soon.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Great Beer, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Never disappoints!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on April 8, 2017

I keep trying Blue Heron, but it just does not cut it. Some things are good...Old Fashioned...good, Fried Chicken...good, wedge salad good. But other items are just ok. For the price I expect more. Steaks are great qualtiy, but underseasoned. Pasta dish underseasoned. Had a fish dish one visit--Overcooked. People here like this place. I think there are much better. If you want a good old fashioned tho, great bar!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Cozy with a great wood burning fireplace. Lots of energy. Food was delicious and varied. Service was attentive but slow. Not sure if that was due to the kitchen or the fact it was a full house that night. It did make for leisurely dining! Live music is offered some nights and there is an outside patio area (not open the chilly night we were there).I would go again!!

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Fireplace, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Love everything about this place! The food is always impeccable and the service staff goes above and beyond. Best handcrafted cocktails in town!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Good Vegetarian Options, Cozy, Great Beer, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 31, 2017

This was a huge disappointment for us. We were told good things about Blue Heron and decided to try it out. The atmosphere was nice and cozy. Our waiter was good and attentive. However, for the price we paid, our food was way too pedestrian. The steaks were chewy and unflavored. The sides were lackluster. Our drinks were lacking as well. I don't mind paying a higher price as long as the food is stellar. This was not. Tony's is a much better steakhouse that never has disappointed us over several visits.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 30, 2017

We spent the evening in Lexington during a drive from Hilton Head to Chicago, and we decided to visit Blue Heron. Just oustanding, as it was when we visited 2 years ago. Great, fresh Old Fashions, Oysters from Washington State, both grilled and fresh with a vinegar minuet. Fabulous. Porterhouse for 2 was medium rare with a perfect char, and seemed well priced at $59. A nice wine list with a selection for most any budget. Don't forget the wedge salad.
Everything was presented perfectly and explained by our sever, Paulina, who obviously has studied both the menu and wine list Very Well. She is a real professional.
See you next year!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on March 28, 2017

Food is always great...fried chicken is best in Lexington. Craft beer list is extensive...cocktails are unique. Service is top notch.

Tags: Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Fireplace, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 28, 2017

Bar tender was great! Food was amazing! I would suggest this place to anyone looking for wonderful drinks and dinner.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 21, 2017

Always get a great meal with great service at Blue Heron.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fireplace, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on March 18, 2017

I had the 8oz Filet Steak. The favor and tenderness was outstanding. Highly recommend. The sides were lacking and the side salad would have been better with lettuce instead of weeds. Nice atmosphere but priced a little too high. Overall I would give it 4 out of 5.

Tags: Fireplace, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Service was amazing, as well as the atmosphere. Steaks were disappointing. Our Ribeye and Filet were both burnt on the outside.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 11, 2017

We had out of town friends visiting from Indpls. Blue Heron didn't disappoint. They were truly impressed and so were we. From the creative cocktails, extensive wine list, to the delicious entrees including the sea bass special (exceptional!!), to the delectable desserts (crème brulee) they commented how fantastic it all was!!! We will definitely continue to go back. Parking continues to be the only issue for all of the restaurants.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Great service, great food, great ambiance. Will certainly return to the Nlue Heron. Very cool atmosphere.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Food was not that impressive compared to what's around town. Anniversary meal. Tile fish special was terrible. Had to send back. Lamb was good, charbroiled flank was so so. Apple crumble dessert-undercooked apples. Sad. Only outstanding item, fresh oysters with their rice vinegar sauce! Service decent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on March 4, 2017

We've been to this restaurant many times and have never had a bad experience until this past weekend. We have always known the parking was awful, but this time was especially bad. They only have about 10 spaces for entire restaurant plus the on street parking. We drove around for about 20 minutes trying to find a place to park so we wouldn't get a ticket or get towed. There was a police car parked near the restaurant and 2 more down the street so parking in one of the "resident only" lots was not an option. When I made the reservation I said it was our wedding anniversary, and we'd like to be near the fireplace. When we finally made it to the restaurant we were taken to the glassed in patio and seated by the window near the entrance stairs...not even inside the main area. It was unbelievably loud out there. We were going to try to make the best of it until the waiter came and we couldn't even hear what he was saying. It was almost laughable. We even commented to him how loud it was and he agreed with us. I understand people want to have a good time, but we wanted to enjoy a quiet evening at a nice restaurant that we've enjoyed in the past. I shouldn't have to yell across the table at my husband. We ordered our drinks and then couldn't taken it anymore. When the waiter brought our drinks we explained our situation and asked to be moved. He checked with management and said they didn't have anything any better. We told him to cash us out. We figured if we were going to spend almost $200 on a meal then we should enjoy it so we checked OpenTable for other restaurants in the area that had availability. We paid $29 for drinks we didn't touch and ended up at Portofinos where we spent well over $200 and had a nice meal for our anniversary. I understand all requests can't be met, but when you make them a week in advance it shouldn't be a problem especially when the hostess took us right past an empty 2 person table by the fireplace then ignored me when I asked about it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Always a treat!! Our favorite spot in Lexington. Ambience is great, and quaintness is so special.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Great food, great atmosphere and great service! Party of 7 and everyone had a great meal.

Tags: Fun, Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fireplace, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 3, 2017

When we got to the restaurant we were greeted by our host immediately. She sat us in a nice corner of the restaurant and within just a few minutes we were greeted by our server. It was very obvious that she had been involved / with the restaurant for many years. She was extremely knowledgeable, friendly and attentive. As a group of four, we ordered various entree's with one appetizer. The appetizer was superb. Baked oysters. Most of us ordered steak. Although my steak was cooked a bit more than I like it, the steak(s) were flavorful and tender.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.