Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Thu, 5/24
Time
11:30 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 3 times today

Blue Corn Cafe

4.6
126 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Latin American
Top Tags:
  • Good for Groups
  • Authentic
  • Good Vegetarian Options
Blue Corn Cafe has been serving the Triangle area for 17 years. We offer a locally sourced twist on Latin American cuisine. Our passion for locally sourced food and beverage has allowed us to offer our unique twist on Latin and South American recipes. Both owners Danielle and Antonio Rios have a passion on bringing their culture to your table with unique quality products.
Our warm atmosphere and kind servers make you feel comfortable upon entering and that is only where it begins. We look forward to serving you. Prevecho!
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Latin American, Mexican / Southwestern, South American
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Lunch: Monday-Saturday: 11:30am-4:00pm

Dinner: Monday-Saturday: 4:00pm-9:30pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(919) 286-9600
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Business Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Antonion Rios
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private party facilities
Looking for a casual upscale private room, Blue Corn offers custom designed menus with a warm smart casual feel. Perfect for corporate events, showers and birthdays.
icon/ic_contactCreated with Sketch.
Private party contact
Danielle Rios: (919) 286-9600
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
We are custom caterers and can design and implement what our client envisions. Both on and off site, we have been entertaining and catering in the Triangle area for 17 years.
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Main St.
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
We have both street and lot parking.
Additional
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 126 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.6based on recent ratings
4.5
food
4.8
service
4.4
ambience
4.5
value
Noise · Quiet
100% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined on May 15, 2018

Food was incredible! I had the paella; I'm Portuguese and I have to say that was the best paella I've had in a long time. Their tostones were yummy! Makayla and Alex were super attentive! Customer service was amazing!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 13, 2018

This Mother’s Day lunch was probably my 4th visit to Blue Corn, and my most disappointing. I had the Paella and my son tried the Piccadillo. The Paella was flavorful, but quite sweet, which I didn’t expect. The Piccadillo, even with all lovely ingredients, had just a “meh” flavor. I think next time, and I will be back, I’ll stick with the more standard items.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Staff was very accommodating to our needs and good service. Chips salsa pico queso and habanero salsa all great. We were so excited and really looking forward to our entrees. We got them and were pretty disappointed because it was so bland. We doused everything with the salsa and hot sauce for the flavor. Only entree out of 4 had good flavor and was a little more on the salty side which was surprising which was the Roja dish.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

The food was wonderful and I love the Sangria!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 4, 2018

It's so nice to be able to make a reservation for this restaurant on Open Table. The service here is always on point. The servers really know the menu, and they are very friendly, and always nearby to make sure your drinks are full. The food is delicious. I have enjoyed a chicken dish as well as a vegetarian dish. I'm not a vegetarian, but often like to eat vegetarian meals, and I love that they have a nice selection of vegetarian dishes.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 27, 2018

Very good. Flavors iv never experience. had the chipotle chicken over field greens. Dressed with cilantro vinaigrette.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 26, 2018

Had dinner with some friends before a concert. The food was amazing. The atmosphere was spectacular. More importantly, the hostess and our waitress both went out of their way to make our experience fabulous. I called ahead to inform the restaurant that we were celebrating one of the couple's 35th wedding anniversary and that I wanted to bring in a couple of gifts to present to them after dinner. Well, honorable mention goes to Megan (the hostess) and Makala (our waitress). Makala's Service was outstanding. She hid the gifts in the office for us until we were ready to present them to the couple. She asked us how things were going throughout dinner. Also, a special thank you to the Chef for preparing one of my friend's menu selection according to her diet restrictions.
Overall, the dining experience was the best ever! Thank you Blue Corn Cafe! I will be telling all of my friends about you! And! We will back! :)

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 25, 2018

This is still one of our favorite dining choices in Durham. Delicious appetizers and entrees, friendly staff, convenient location.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 7, 2018

Great food, good service. Restaurant could use a little TLC.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 30, 2018

We made an early evening reservation (5:30) to attend an evening event. When we arrived, our table was not only ready, but set with fresh ice water and menus. The staff was exceptionally friendly and upbeat. They checked in with us frequently and kept our water refreshed. The food was delicious and the portions were generous. We ordered fried Calamari to share and it arrived on a huge platter. Needless to say, we were stuffed!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 23, 2018

The menu was wonderful and the food even better. I live in Greensboro, NC. Was in Durham for a doctor’s appointment. So glad I found this jewel on my trip today. The staff was inviting and well versed in all the selections. Will be back!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 12, 2018

Food was excellent. Chips and three salsa choices tp start. We added cheese dip with chopped jalapeños that was wonderful. Our service was spot on and the decor was very tasteful. We would definitely recommend.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 26, 2018

Excellent for a conversation during lunch. Very good menu, fresh and modern.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 17, 2018

Love this location and the abundant food choices, always hard to decide, keeps me coming back. Service has always been great, love the ambience and feeling like they are really honored to have you join them for lunch and/or dinner.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 17, 2018

Loved the wine selections and all of the food was excellent. Very good service.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 2, 2018

Blue Corn has been a longtime favorite for casual dining, but two visits in the last few weeks have been less than satisfactory.

On one visit, the cheese-potato filling in a stuffed poblano was stone cold, and our server made only a late and cursory swing past our table to 'confirm' that everything was OK.

At a subsequent visit for dinner, the quesadilla with grilled vegetables was far less satisfactory than usual, with great chunks of undercooked carrot the primary vegetable, in lieu of the peppers, onions and squash I would have expected from past experience. Again, the server (not the same as before) stopped to ask about the meal only when our plates were nearly empty.

Maybe the kitchen and wait staff are just going through a rough patch, and I certainly hope that's the case. I'm not willing to give up on Blue Corn just yet, but my confidence in finding reliable food and service there is a little shaken.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 22, 2018

Our group was treated to excellent appetizers and a good selection of draft beers. We were a ble to carry on our conversation with just the right ambient noise so that one felt like they were sharing with the entire restaurant. Our server, Cecy (Sp?), was helpful, considerate and showed up magically at just the right times.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 20, 2018

Both of our dishes were excellent and combined unique ingredients!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 20, 2018

Great place to go for consistently good food with excellent wait staff

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 22, 2017

Fantastic service and delicious food - we had barbacoa (osso busco), pollo milanesa, & seasonal vanilla bean and cinnamon flan. A side dish of plantain chips with spicy sauce complimented am awesome dining experience. Can't wait to go back again!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 16, 2017

Enjoyed a great dinner before my son performed in a concert at Baldwin Auditorium.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on November 10, 2017

Good food. Good maduros. Weak drinks.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 4, 2017

Fantastic find for dinner. Over-achieved on all aspects of the dinner. Service was excellent. Rachel was our server and was extremely helpful in explaining the meal preparations and recommendations. Very pleasant and responsive to us all evening. Other servers are also looking out for all guests, regularly. Rachel helped my wife and I narrow down choices based on our input. We had plantain stuffed chicken and barbacoa. We had considered some standard Latin American fare that you see at other restaurants, and she gave her big smile and said that those are very good and you can't go wrong, but you can get those everywhere. SHe indicated the meals that were more specialties at Blue Corn. Both meals were so enjoyable and the taste was awesome. Our reservation was for a pre-show dinner for DPAC, so had reasonable time but couldn't be delayed for extended time. The meal came freshy prepared, but didn't take too long. The preparation was artisitic, more than ample amount (we took home quite a bit of leftovers), and the taste of everything was so enjoyable. I had expected a nice visit from reviews and research. This was as pleasant of a dinner as we've had in a while. Loved it!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 27, 2017

The food was awesome, the interiors were ambient, service was quick, drinks were great. parking lot was across the road.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 21, 2017

All 5 of us really enjoyed our dinner at Blue Corn Cafe and especially appreciated the wealth of vegetarian options, in addition to an eclectic menu of other food and drinks. Will definitely go back. Service was excellent.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 21, 2017

We had a delicious meal with family and friends. Food was all wonderful! Drinks were great, service was outstanding and ambiance was lovely! We will definitely be back on another visit to Durham!!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on September 30, 2017

Booked a large group for my wife's birthday. Service was great!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 12, 2017

We loved our dinner at Blue corn cafe! I'm glad I found them on open table and paid a visit. The food was fantastic and the staff attentive. Definitely recommend going there. We went as a family but it's a nice date location too.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 29, 2017

We had a great meal tonight! The mojitos and margaritas were awesome. Probably one of the best cheese enchiladas I've had in a long time!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on July 25, 2017

Been by this place many times but never paid it much mind. Needing a new place to meet friends we gave it a try based on the positive reviews. Very nice. Don't think that this is anything like a typical Mexican restaurant. Inventive, fresh ingredients, good service. We'll be back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 21, 2017

Danielle and her staff always seek for you to have a great dining experience! Their food is so fresh and they change it up with specials. Great place to meet up!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 10, 2017

You don't get that kind of incredible service for the price anywhere else. I was incredibly impressed.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 17, 2017

I love, love, love Blue Corn because it has been a special gathering place for me for many years. The food used to be so much better. I'm not sure what's happened but my last two meals there haven't been very good. I hope this changes so Blue Corn can go back to being my favorite restaurant in Durham.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 16, 2017

Service was good, though few tables were full. The food was very average, and didn't differ from cheaper alternatives.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on June 3, 2017

I ordered the steak fajitas. While my server was excellent, the steak was poorly prepared, smelled odd and was full of gristle. The Sangria was good as were the refried beans. I will not eat here again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 27, 2017

I am never disappointed at Blue Corn. the food is consistently good as is the service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 26, 2017

Genuine welcome. Attentive wait staff. Consistently flavorful food. No pressure to leave the table. What's NOT to love about this place??!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 20, 2017

Delicious food and fantastic pitcher of margaritas that was perfect for our table of four!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 14, 2017

Nice place, good food, funky and colorful interior. I would go again.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 13, 2017

Reasonable food and good sized portions. My old fashioned wasn't great. Service a bit pushy...

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
4

Tweets by Blue Corn Cafe