Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.30mi
  2. Distance: 0.38mi
  3. Distance: 0.97mi
  4. Distance: 0.99mi
  1. Distance: 0.30mi
  2. Distance: 0.38mi
  3. Distance: 0.97mi
  4. Distance: 0.99mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.30mi
  2. Distance: 0.38mi
  3. Distance: 0.97mi
  4. Distance: 0.99mi
  1. Distance: 0.30mi
  2. Distance: 0.38mi
  3. Distance: 0.97mi
  4. Distance: 0.99mi

About Blue Corn Cafe

Blue Corn Cafe has been serving the Triangle area for 17 years. We offer a locally sourced twist on Latin American cuisine. Our passion for locally sourced food and beverage has allowed us to offer our unique twist on Latin and South American recipes. Both owners Danielle and Antonio Rios have a passion on bringing their culture to your table with unique quality products.
Our warm atmosphere and kind servers make you feel comfortable upon entering and that is only where it begins. We look forward to serving you. Prevecho!

716 9th St
Durham, NC 27705
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Latin American, Mexican / Southwestern, South American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday-Saturday: 11:30am-4:00pm

Dinner: Monday-Saturday: 4:00pm-9:30pm

Cross Street:
Main St.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 286-9600

Website:
http://www.bluecorncafedurham.com/

Catering:
We are custom caterers and can design and implement what our client envisions. Both on and off site, we have been entertaining and catering in the Triangle area for 17 years.

Parking Details:
We have both street and lot parking.

Executive Chef:
Antonion Rios

Private Party Facilities:
Looking for a casual upscale private room, Blue Corn offers custom designed menus with a warm smart casual feel. Perfect for corporate events, showers and birthdays.

Private Party Contact:
Danielle Rios: (919) 286-9600

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Blue Corn Cafe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.7

ambience

4.3

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (11)
Casual (10)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
See All
Good for a Date (8)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Good for Groups (6)
Cozy (6)
Spicy (6)
Local Ingredients (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Kid-friendly (4)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Healthy (4)
Fun (4)
Vegan (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Romantic (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Special Occasion (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Authentic (2)
Great Beer (2)
Live Music (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Seasonal (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Business Meals (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
People Watching (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Outstanding Value (0)
Sort By:
S
82 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 10, 2017

We had not been to Blue Corn for awhile and were pleased to see that they had upgraded. The food and the value were excellent.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Food was creative and delcious. I particularly recommend the mojito and the quesadillas

Tags: Vegan, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 4, 2017

BC is one of our favorite places to dine. My brother-n-law who is vegan visited us from out of town. We took him to BC and he was very pleased and satisfied.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Vegan, Good Vegetarian Options, Great Beer, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Service was spotty. Got food before beverages and had to ask staff to bring them. The Cuban dish was supposed to have raisins in it, but I never tasted any. However, it was pleasantly spiced. My husband just had the chips and salsas and liked them.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 28, 2017

Excellent...everything--tasty food with lots of variety, great service, nice ambience, variety of beverages (including my favorite ...Don Julio Tequila). What more could one ask for!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Spicy, Healthy, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Blue Corn Cafe is a happy place to bring friends. It has unusual food, a warm vibe, and good service. We always feel relaxed and well fed.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 17, 2017

We dine here any time we are in Durham, usually for a show. Our most recent meal featured a sastifying paella, and pretty darn good fish tacos. The cheesecake flautas a la mode was one of the best desserts I have had anywhere.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Casual, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Good spot for Latin American cuisine. I had the Cuban peccadillo which was a great comfort food on a cold day. Our waiter Ben, was very attentive and friendly.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Blue Corn is always a treat ... I love this place!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Kid-friendly, Disabled Access, Bar Seating, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Had a great time and the service is always on point. I love their salads and quesadillas but tonight I thought I'd try something new. I had the plantain encrusted mahi mahi... big mistake. The fish was deep fried (over cooked) and the fish tasted very fishy as if it had been frozen for days. The best part of the meal was the mango salsa on top of the fish but unfortunately the rest of it was not good
We still enjoy blue Corn and will go back but I will never order anything but a salad or quesadilla again. :(

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Loved this restaurant, great food, good drinks, excellent service, wish there was one in my neighborhood, but worth the drive! Will return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Outdoor seating was amazing and Bryan the server was fabulous

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Emily was amazing, that light skinned tj is also nice to look at... Lol

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Happened to go for an early dinner On Valentines day before a concert-
Had been there before but this time it was amazing.
I had the barbacoa It was a litin version of Osso bocce and it was up there with anything I ever had. My wife thoroughly enjoyed the fish tacos.
the Jazz group was a real treat.
The only caveat is if you order an off the menu custom drink with top shelf tequila it can be a pricey drink Nonetheless I cant wait to return
The owner and her family could not have been more gracious

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, Gluten Free Options, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The Blue Corn Cafe is a fun location with live jazz about once per week. Food and service are great and it is a relaxed fun atmosphere. I recommend this venue for folks looking to enjoy a good meal and a casual setting.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Blue Corn Cafe was absolutely AMAZING!!! The service was prompt and friendly, the prices were reasonable and the food... SPECTACULAR!
I had the blue corn quesadilla- the flavors worked very well together, it was cooked perfectly and the portions were beyond generous for the price.
My husband had the paella - similarly: the flavors, the portion size and the ingredients were made beautifully.
There was also live music while we ate which was a nice and unexpected treat!
Overall, we loved our experience at Blue Corn Cafe and will be returning!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Wonderful service and setting! Definitely will be coming back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Bryan was amazing and the band that was playing was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Went to celebrate the birthday with few friends. Ambiance was good and the service was very good. our waitress was very informative and answered all our questions . Food was not as good as what I had expected, but not bad as well. Very good salsa!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Wonderful experience! I have a good allergy and the waitress and manager made sure I was well taken care of! This is a very cute and quaint restaurant that has awesome food and service!

Tags: Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Spicy, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 13, 2016

This was my first time at the Cafe. I treated my friend to dinner and we really enjoyed it. The ginormous plate of calamari and the Venti-sized margaritas made for a great start! Everyone was incredibly friendly and genuinely cared about how our meal was going. I'll definitely be back.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Excellent food and service. Very good at handling food allergies.

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Excellent service. Food was very, very good and plentiful and a reasonable price. The staff was enthusiastic about dealing with a food allergy without compromising having a good meal.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Outstanding Value, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Excellent menu for vegetarians, can't wait to try other dishes next time.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 11, 2016

We all enjoyed our meals- good wine and reasonable prices. Will return.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Spicy, Neighborhood Gem, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Excellent service!! Everyone was very friendly!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 29, 2016

Wonderful dining experience as always. Food & service are very good.

Tags: Quick Bite, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 22, 2016

We came here to celebrate our anniversary, since Blue Corn was the site of our first date. The food was tasty and the staff very friendly. It's one of our favorite restaurants in Durham.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Excellent meals for seven of us. My fish tacos were the best I had had in years!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 5, 2016

2nd time here. 1st was excellent. This time, entrees were poor. Wife's salmon was tasteless, my bisteca was not recognizable by texture, appearance or flavor. Accompaniaments were excellent. Will give them another try, but only once more.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 30, 2016

Great authentic Mexican food. Have never had a bad meal here.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on July 29, 2016

Friendly, attentive service without bothering us all the time. Much quieter than I imagined. Didn't have to wait long for our food which was very good and provided my wife another meal for the next day. Lots of other stuff on the menu I would like to try since this was our first trip.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 23, 2016

My wife thought her fajitas were good, but I just plain didn't like mine. It wasn't bad, just not good. That is, until about 5 hours later when my opinion changed. Terrible digestive cramps and bathroom visits over a 4 hour span. Needless to say we won't be going back. Service and atmosphere were great, but you come to a restaurant for food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 8, 2016

We had the ropa vieja and a salmon entrée. Both were excellent. Service was friendly and attentive, and we had a nice chat with the owner. We'll be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 17, 2016

Great fresh food! Never disappoints!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 13, 2016

With so many new restaurants in Durham, I had neglected Blue Corn for quite awhile. I was so glad to go back and have their beyond delicious tomato avocado salad with grilled chicken...it can only be better once we are in full bloom with homegrown tomatos. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone that wants Mexican food even though this is Latin American. The quality is so much better than any Mexican food I have had around here but still satisfies that taste for those flavors. Was great to see Danielle and her, now 16 year old son, who was working there. I remember him "before" he was born. Can't wait to go back and have some more of their delicious eats!! The Mojitas were FINE!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 30, 2016

Blue Corn Cafe has been one of our favorite places to eat for a long time. Danielle is a friendly and gracious hostess and they serve great food. What more could we want?

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 13, 2016

Wonderful service: had water and table all set up for our reservation, host was super sweet and our waiter was attentive but not naggy
Incredible food: got the vegetable fajitas......but added chicken :) veggies were delicious; so well spiced
Good atmosphere: local (I assumed - didn't check) artwork all over the walls...loved!

Very happy with everything!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 9, 2016

I really liked the place. The food was good and was just what I was looking for. I ordered plantains and they were very delicious which isn't always a given when you order plantains. The portions were large, the prices very reasonable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 8, 2016

Servers and staff work well together tending to patrons that dined there. We loved our dishes including the queso, burrito and a bean and rice dip with Cuban rolls.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.