Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.30mi
  2. Distance: 0.38mi
  3. Distance: 0.97mi
  4. Distance: 0.99mi
  1. Distance: 0.30mi
  2. Distance: 0.38mi
  3. Distance: 0.97mi
  4. Distance: 0.99mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.30mi
  2. Distance: 0.38mi
  3. Distance: 0.97mi
  4. Distance: 0.99mi
  1. Distance: 0.30mi
  2. Distance: 0.38mi
  3. Distance: 0.97mi
  4. Distance: 0.99mi

About Blue Corn Cafe

Blue Corn Cafe has been serving the Triangle area for 17 years. We offer a locally sourced twist on Latin American cuisine. Our passion for locally sourced food and beverage has allowed us to offer our unique twist on Latin and South American recipes. Both owners Danielle and Antonio Rios have a passion on bringing their culture to your table with unique quality products.
Our warm atmosphere and kind servers make you feel comfortable upon entering and that is only where it begins. We look forward to serving you. Prevecho!

716 9th St
Durham, NC 27705
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Latin American, Mexican / Southwestern, South American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday-Saturday: 11:30am-4:00pm

Dinner: Monday-Saturday: 4:00pm-9:30pm

Cross Street:
Main St.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 286-9600

Website:
http://www.bluecorncafedurham.com/

Catering:
We are custom caterers and can design and implement what our client envisions. Both on and off site, we have been entertaining and catering in the Triangle area for 17 years.

Parking Details:
We have both street and lot parking.

Executive Chef:
Antonion Rios

Private Party Facilities:
Looking for a casual upscale private room, Blue Corn offers custom designed menus with a warm smart casual feel. Perfect for corporate events, showers and birthdays.

Private Party Contact:
Danielle Rios: (919) 286-9600

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Blue Corn Cafe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.8

ambience

4.3

value

4.2

noise

Quiet

89% would recommend it to a friend

Fun (7)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
See All
Good for Groups (6)
Good for a Date (6)
Casual (5)
Cozy (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Vegan (5)
Authentic (5)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Special Occasion (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Organic (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Great Beer (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Business Meals (1)
People Watching (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Seasonal (1)
Spicy (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
99 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 12, 2017

We loved our dinner at Blue corn cafe! I'm glad I found them on open table and paid a visit. The food was fantastic and the staff attentive. Definitely recommend going there. We went as a family but it's a nice date location too.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 29, 2017

We had a great meal tonight! The mojitos and margaritas were awesome. Probably one of the best cheese enchiladas I've had in a long time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 25, 2017

Been by this place many times but never paid it much mind. Needing a new place to meet friends we gave it a try based on the positive reviews. Very nice. Don't think that this is anything like a typical Mexican restaurant. Inventive, fresh ingredients, good service. We'll be back.

Tags: Healthy, Gluten Free Options, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Danielle and her staff always seek for you to have a great dining experience! Their food is so fresh and they change it up with specials. Great place to meet up!

Tags: Authentic, Vegan, Local Ingredients, Quick Bite, Disabled Access, Business Meals, Tapas, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 10, 2017

You don't get that kind of incredible service for the price anywhere else. I was incredibly impressed.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Vegan, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 17, 2017

I love, love, love Blue Corn because it has been a special gathering place for me for many years. The food used to be so much better. I'm not sure what's happened but my last two meals there haven't been very good. I hope this changes so Blue Corn can go back to being my favorite restaurant in Durham.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Service was good, though few tables were full. The food was very average, and didn't differ from cheaper alternatives.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 3, 2017

I ordered the steak fajitas. While my server was excellent, the steak was poorly prepared, smelled odd and was full of gristle. The Sangria was good as were the refried beans. I will not eat here again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 27, 2017

I am never disappointed at Blue Corn. the food is consistently good as is the service.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Vegan, Fun, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Genuine welcome. Attentive wait staff. Consistently flavorful food. No pressure to leave the table. What's NOT to love about this place??!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Cozy, Good for Groups, Organic, Worth the Drive, Vegan, Comfort Food, Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Authentic, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Delicious food and fantastic pitcher of margaritas that was perfect for our table of four!

Tags: Bar Seating, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Nice place, good food, funky and colorful interior. I would go again.

Tags: Bar Seating, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Reasonable food and good sized portions. My old fashioned wasn't great. Service a bit pushy...

Tags: Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 13, 2017

The ambiance and staff were extremely friendly and accommodating. Great family place for a birthday or celebration of special occasion like a graduation. The menu could offer more Latin American specialties and not so much Mexican only foods. The Cuban plates were amazing. The paella was not good and they should try a more traditional Spanish recipe (was more of a soggy rice than a paella). The rest was fine.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 1, 2017

This restaurant is always good and consistant. Drinks are over priced but the food is priced well and the selection is good. I still give it 4 stars and will tell all to come here and enjoy the ambience and good food.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on April 25, 2017

I went here with my parents for lunch the other day and we loved it. Our server was really nice and very attentive. We had the chips and salsa with guac, and I had the chipotle chicken salad. Everything was delicious and the ambiance was also really nice. Would highly recommend!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Cozy, Healthy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 10, 2017

We had not been to Blue Corn for awhile and were pleased to see that they had upgraded. The food and the value were excellent.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Food was creative and delcious. I particularly recommend the mojito and the quesadillas

Tags: Vegan, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 4, 2017

BC is one of our favorite places to dine. My brother-n-law who is vegan visited us from out of town. We took him to BC and he was very pleased and satisfied.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Vegan, Good Vegetarian Options, Great Beer, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Service was spotty. Got food before beverages and had to ask staff to bring them. The Cuban dish was supposed to have raisins in it, but I never tasted any. However, it was pleasantly spiced. My husband just had the chips and salsas and liked them.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 28, 2017

Excellent...everything--tasty food with lots of variety, great service, nice ambience, variety of beverages (including my favorite ...Don Julio Tequila). What more could one ask for!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Spicy, Healthy, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Blue Corn Cafe is a happy place to bring friends. It has unusual food, a warm vibe, and good service. We always feel relaxed and well fed.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 17, 2017

We dine here any time we are in Durham, usually for a show. Our most recent meal featured a sastifying paella, and pretty darn good fish tacos. The cheesecake flautas a la mode was one of the best desserts I have had anywhere.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Casual, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Good spot for Latin American cuisine. I had the Cuban peccadillo which was a great comfort food on a cold day. Our waiter Ben, was very attentive and friendly.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Blue Corn is always a treat ... I love this place!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Kid-friendly, Disabled Access, Bar Seating, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Had a great time and the service is always on point. I love their salads and quesadillas but tonight I thought I'd try something new. I had the plantain encrusted mahi mahi... big mistake. The fish was deep fried (over cooked) and the fish tasted very fishy as if it had been frozen for days. The best part of the meal was the mango salsa on top of the fish but unfortunately the rest of it was not good
We still enjoy blue Corn and will go back but I will never order anything but a salad or quesadilla again. :(

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Loved this restaurant, great food, good drinks, excellent service, wish there was one in my neighborhood, but worth the drive! Will return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Outdoor seating was amazing and Bryan the server was fabulous

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Emily was amazing, that light skinned tj is also nice to look at... Lol

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Happened to go for an early dinner On Valentines day before a concert-
Had been there before but this time it was amazing.
I had the barbacoa It was a litin version of Osso bocce and it was up there with anything I ever had. My wife thoroughly enjoyed the fish tacos.
the Jazz group was a real treat.
The only caveat is if you order an off the menu custom drink with top shelf tequila it can be a pricey drink Nonetheless I cant wait to return
The owner and her family could not have been more gracious

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, Gluten Free Options, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The Blue Corn Cafe is a fun location with live jazz about once per week. Food and service are great and it is a relaxed fun atmosphere. I recommend this venue for folks looking to enjoy a good meal and a casual setting.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Blue Corn Cafe was absolutely AMAZING!!! The service was prompt and friendly, the prices were reasonable and the food... SPECTACULAR!
I had the blue corn quesadilla- the flavors worked very well together, it was cooked perfectly and the portions were beyond generous for the price.
My husband had the paella - similarly: the flavors, the portion size and the ingredients were made beautifully.
There was also live music while we ate which was a nice and unexpected treat!
Overall, we loved our experience at Blue Corn Cafe and will be returning!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Wonderful service and setting! Definitely will be coming back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Bryan was amazing and the band that was playing was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Went to celebrate the birthday with few friends. Ambiance was good and the service was very good. our waitress was very informative and answered all our questions . Food was not as good as what I had expected, but not bad as well. Very good salsa!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Wonderful experience! I have a good allergy and the waitress and manager made sure I was well taken care of! This is a very cute and quaint restaurant that has awesome food and service!

Tags: Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Spicy, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 13, 2016

This was my first time at the Cafe. I treated my friend to dinner and we really enjoyed it. The ginormous plate of calamari and the Venti-sized margaritas made for a great start! Everyone was incredibly friendly and genuinely cared about how our meal was going. I'll definitely be back.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Excellent food and service. Very good at handling food allergies.

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Excellent service. Food was very, very good and plentiful and a reasonable price. The staff was enthusiastic about dealing with a food allergy without compromising having a good meal.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Outstanding Value, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Excellent menu for vegetarians, can't wait to try other dishes next time.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.