About Blue Cat Steak & Wine Bar

1 Lawson Ln
Burlington, VT 05401
View Larger Map

Welcome to Blue Cat Steak & Wine Bar. We are located in the center of downtown Burlington in a little alley called Lawson Lane. In our cozy corner of the town we serve all Certified Angus Beef (CAB) steaks and a variety of fresh seafood and vegetarian options. We use local produce whenever possible and feature a rotating selection of Vermont cheeses. Our wine list contains three-hundred labels from all over the world with an emphasis on big, bold, steak-friendly wines. The proprietors, Mariasha and Ozzy Giral are always on site to help you find the perfect wine for any occasion. We hope to see you soon.

...and please keep in mind that we are available for private events of all sorts 7 days a week; we'll do the catering or bring in your favorite caterer.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Contemporary American, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:

Sunday: 4:30 - 8:30pm

Monday - Thursday: 4:30pm - 9:30pm,

Friday and Saturday: 4:30pm - 11:30pm

Cross Street:
college street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(802) 363-3639

Website:
http://www.bluecatvt.com/

Parking Details:
Blue Cat Cafe & Wine Bar is the only downtown restaurant with on site, free parking. Our customers can park in the lot on Saint Paul/College Street. However, take heed; the lot is monitored by a towing company, and our customers must use a permit. Simply send a member of your party into the restaurant, and we will give you a temporary permit which will allow you to park for the evening.

Private Party Facilities:
The Blue Cat Cafe and Wine Bar is available for private functions of all sorts, from small, intimate events to parties of up to forty. We offer many options for food and drink and can procure many specialty items such as rare wines and high grade meats, as well as tailor our menu to meet a budget.

Private Party Contact:
Ozzy Giral: 8023633639

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
Please consider us for your next private function. Our intimate space seats up to 40, and you can bring in your own caterer or let us entertain you with our exciting, tailored menus. And for a special treat, try one of our private wine tastings for 10 - 30 people!

Restaurant Photos

Blue Cat Steak & Wine Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
Boston / New England
Romantic
Vermont
Special Occasion
Vermont
Best Restaurants in Burlington, VT ›

special occasion (56)
romantic (55)
notable wine list (43)
See All
fit for foodies (37)
neighborhood gem (24)
late-night find (6)
hot spot (2)
vibrant bar scene (1)
great for lunch (1)
great for outdoor dining (1)
good for groups (1)
Sort By:
Newest
378 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience3
service4

Good food - excellent service

vip
Dined 3 days ago

Good food - excellent service

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Upgrade of prior review.

Dined 5 days ago

Happy to say that our most recent visit for a Bon Voyage party was back to the excellent standards set earlier. This time, the rib eye steak returned to the menu and it should be a staple. Excellent and not overpowering large. Salads quite good. Limited three-dessert choice: flourless chocolate cake with vanilla ice cream, berry pie (seeds IN) with vanilla ice cream and ice cream. Not sure about this decision being so limited. Service was impeccable and server took extra time and questions about a future trip involving a diner who chooses to eat non-healthy, fried foods - not the specialty here. But was able to come up with some choices to placate this diner in the future. I hope. Thank you Kera! Another quirk this time and one should be aware that in prior visits I was able to use gift cards/offers for a tip. NOT this time. All gratuities must be left on a credit card or in cash. BEWARE! All in all, I will be back several times in June.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food! Nice romantic atmosphere. Cl ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Great food! Nice romantic atmosphere. Clean,friendly, knowledgeable staff. We would definitely eat here again,and would definitely recommend it to others.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food and great service. Very cozy ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Great food and great service. Very cozy and charming atmosphere.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was delicious, service excellent. W ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Food was delicious, service excellent. We went there for a graduation dinner and had a wonderful and relaxed meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A little difficult to locate this spot, ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

A little difficult to locate this spot, but well worth it. In my opinion, the best food in Burlington.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

Good food, hostile service, not worth the price...

Dined on May 8, 2016

My wife and I took our two teenage kids here a few days ago. Ambiance was nice, non-offensive jazz playing (I'm not a jazz fan), dimly lit, though not so dark we couldn't see. Service was initially prompt; this degraded over the course of the meal. Our waitress was... The best way I can describe it was as indifferent as possible without being overtly rude. It was very evident that she had no interest in providing us with good service. The time between her visits to our table grew increasingly longer as the meal progressed. The steaks were excellently prepared (though it certainly took a long time given that only maybe three tables were occupied), the potatoes were dry (all of us noticed it). The food was good, but not good enough to justify $38 for a steak and a $200 total for four of us. I've had meals that were every bit as good at far, far less.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really love Blue Cat

Dined on May 8, 2016

Second visit to Blue Cat for us and love this restaurant. Staff is very pleasant and attentive, answered all of our questions and helped us craft the meal to our preferences. The food is terrific with a great steak selection. This is our "go to" restaurant fr a special occasion and we'd definitely recommend it without hesitation.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

the service was prompt but than it took ...

Dined on April 29, 2016

the service was prompt but than it took over 45 mins to get the appetizer and the drinks for one of our party was only a 1/4 filled for the special he ordered...our drinks were fine...the meal was ok..the potatoes were cold....not the best experience for the amount of money we spent...expected much better. thanks Ray roberts

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A Perfect Place

Dined on April 29, 2016

I admit to being a "foodie" but I also appreciate "Nice." The Blue Cat is wonderful. The food is delicious and cooked the way you request it. In addition, the atmosphere is reserved but not stuffy. It is a beautiful setting for a romantic dinner, or just catching up with friends. No need to shout over the usual restaurant noises and bad acoustics. It is lavishly furnished, not overcrowded and just very comfortable all around. I intend to go there often.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4

The food was great. I had the lamb and i ...

Dined on April 23, 2016

The food was great. I had the lamb and it was one of the best I've had. By far would continue recommending this place, as I haven't stopped talking about it since I dined.

food5
ambience5
service4

Food was unbelievable, service was veeee ...

Dined on April 22, 2016

Food was unbelievable, service was veeeery slow but ambiance was so cozy and romantic that we didn't mind too much!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Superb

Dined on April 13, 2016

Remarkably so good that it triggered conversation about outstanding meals my wife and I enjoyed around the world. It was that good.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great friday night out.

Dined on April 8, 2016

This is a hidden gem in Burlington. Great ambiance, duck was awesome, great bottle of wine and we had a wonderful waitress. Restaurant is very small so setting is intimate but could be considered crowded if you weren't seated in the right place. However, we struck up a conversation with the people next to us and had a wonderful time!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

THE TOP CAT!

vip
Dined on March 28, 2016

Blue Catsteak& Wine continues to impress! Always make a point to stop & have a business meal atthis restaurant when I'm in Burlinfton. Consistent good quality, fresh ingredients expertly prepared. Wine list is limited, yet high value with some interesting selections. You will be pleasantly surprised at this little gem in Burlington, VT! I will be back inMay!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4

Great spot for a casual yet romantic din ...

Dined on March 25, 2016

Great spot for a casual yet romantic dinner. Would return hands down.

food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Special Evening

Dined on March 19, 2016

This was my first time at Blue Cat, after having dined at most of the other establishments in town over the years. I was delighted with the food and drink and really appreciated the kind atmosphere generated by everyone there and attentiveness and humor of our waitress Julia. Will definitely look forward to returning soon.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Impressive!

Dined on March 13, 2016

My first visit to Blue Cat. Totally impressed! Elegant, quiet, yet friendly atmosphere. Four of us at the table. Once the food arrived that was all we could talk about! Loved the caesar salad as well as the beet salad. Steaks were cooked perfectly to our requests. Very flavorful and tender. Our waitress was very helpful in selecting the appropriate wine to accompany our dinners. She also eagerly suggested sampling our choices before making a final selection. Best food in Burlington! It is now the place we will take visitors, as well as returning frequently ourselves! Did I mention the cheese platter appetizer was generous enough to be shared among us?! Yum to all!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Glad we gave them a second chance

Dined on March 12, 2016

Had a marginal experience a year ago. Went back this time-great dinner. We'll see you again

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Excellent service.

Dined on March 9, 2016

Nice environment, friendly staff, and a great wine list make for a nice place to take a guest. The food was good, though could be better without the use of canned tomatoes in a lamb ragu, and with a little more attention to detail to the cesar salad.

Tags: romantic, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great Spot for "Before the Show"

Dined on March 5, 2016

We had 6 in our group, with tickets for a show at the Flynn Theater that night. The staff welcomed us and asked if we had show tickets, just to make sure they could get us out in time for the show. They offer free on-site parking for their customers, a benefit not found elsewhere in downtown Burlington. The wine list, although not extensive, offered a good range of reds and whites, and we had no difficulty picking out something we liked. The menu had a great selection of entrees. Between the 6 of us, we tried salmon, duck, tenderloin burger, home-made veggie ravioli and two different cuts of steak. It was all excellent. I would definitely recommend the Blue Cat, and will go there again. Well done, Blue Cat!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

Great steaks!

Dined on February 26, 2016

This was our first time at blue cat, we were looking for a great steak place. The food was really great, we were not disappointed by the steaks, and apps. We were however disappointed in our waitress, who just simply seemed completely uninterested in us. Anytime she approached our table she seemed to just rush off like she had somewhere more important to be, but it was very chill and not busy in there. At one point my mother was trying to order a sambuca with her coffee and as she was asking for it, the waitress impatiently lifted up the sugar and creamer she was carrying as if she already knew what was going to be asked. It was rude.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

Off night

vip
Dined on February 18, 2016

This restaurant was one of our favorites; we've had several excellent dinners there. Our last visit, however, was a disappointment. There was only one waiter for the entire dining room, and she was also responsible for mixing drinks. It wasn't her fault. Not at all; she was working hard and was unfailingly cheerful. The management was at fault for being so severely understaffed. The salad finally arrived, and it was a disappointment. After waiting the better part of an hour, we finally cut our losses, settled the check, and returned to our hotel without dinner. This was really one of the top restaurants in Burlington, and perhaps it still is. All the same, we'll probably try others before venturing back. By then, we hope the management will have its affairs in order. Pity.

food5
ambience5
service5

The food's great, and the service is exc ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

The food's great, and the service is excellent. It's also the only restaurant downtown with its own parking. The only downside doubles as one of its upsides. It's tiny. Really tiny. This gives it a very romantic atmosphere, but it also makes it pretty cramped, especially in winter when everyone hangs their coats on the pillars that dominate the center of the room. I consider this a relatively small annoyance, and not enough to keep me from highly recommending it. But it's worth mentioning.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful Experience

Dined on February 11, 2016

We really enjoyed our dinner at Blue Cat and will return. I'll suggest the steaks are the best in Burlington and on par with a Capitol Grille. Would have given the restaurant five stars but the bar noise, given the intimacy, is an issue.

Tags: romantic, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

First visit

Dined on February 11, 2016

Our first visit. Great food. Excellent Manhattan. Great decor. Will return.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Over Hyped

Dined on February 6, 2016

This restaurant is billed as a steak house. I got the filet mignon for $32 and it was literally no better than I could have cooked it. Not flavorful or particularly tender. The mashed potatoes were absolutely nothing fancy and the 4 asparagus spears were nothing more than normal. My husband got the Faroe Island Salmon and while he enjoyed the piece of fish, he also thought it was not particularly special. Add on 1 glass of wine and one hard cider and we had spent $100 on a meal I could have cooked myself (and I'm not a great or imaginative cook). Additionally, the restaurant is in a very small space, which in itself is not a bad thing, it was very hard for diners and wait staff to maneuver around the large columns in the middle with winter coats hanging off them. the decor is decidedly 80's and could use some updating but that did not factor into my experience, just as an aside.

Tags: romantic
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Wanted to love it

Dined on February 2, 2016

I absolutely LOVE this location and have ever since Dani was here with Iron Wolf. The atmosphere continues to delight and the staff is friendly and knowledgeable. Our only disappointment was the food. It was okay, but not delicious. My Ceasar with salmon was way over-dressed and ordinary, the salmon was cooked perfectly. My dining partner finished his beet salad- mediocre, with a mini steak quickly and looked longingly at mine- so I gave him the remains. We will return for the atmosphere and beverage service and not expect much from the food.

Tags: romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent Food and Service!

Dined on February 1, 2016

We've been to The Blue Cat Several Times. Each time the service and the meal was top notch. Whenever I want to impress someone, I would bring them here!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved it

Dined on January 31, 2016

This was our first time and we will definitely be going back. Amazing food, great atmosphere, a great place for a upscale dinner.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent experience

Dined on January 29, 2016

This was a repeat visit for us. The food was excellent and the restaurant was much quieter this time. The food was cooked perfectly, the server allowed my wife to sample the wine before choosing and service was fantastic.

Tags: romantic, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

Delightful atmosphere and the food taste ...

Dined on January 28, 2016

Delightful atmosphere and the food tasted great. We were slightly disappointed with the portion sizes however. If we splurge on a fancy, more expensive meal, it is a little dissatisfying to leave hungry.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Bluecat

Dined on January 16, 2016

Food, service, and ambience were all great, but it is expensive. Almost (almost) not worth it.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

cozy

Dined on January 15, 2016

my only complaint is that some of the tables are crammed together by the long set of windows. When we were there Friday, we were seated at one of those tables and then the woman asked us if we wanted to move and offered us one of the two tables to the left side of the bar - we took the high table and it was much nicer. the same thing happened to us the last time about a month ago, we were going to be seated right next to another couple and the tables just seemed too close together so i asked to be seated elsewhere and we were accommodated. The food and drinks have all been fantastic each time we have come.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food and ambiance.

Dined on December 29, 2015

The curry mussels were the best we have experienced. Great service and food usual.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Decent food

vip
Dined on December 28, 2015

My family and I came here a few days ago and it was good, but honestly a bit overpriced. For dessert there were only two things available that our server listed, which was a bit disappointing as well. Otherwise the food was good and the ambience is great. It's a good choice for a romantic dinner, for sure.

Tags: romantic, late-night find
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

This is our 2nd time here and I am still ...

vip
Dined on December 28, 2015

This is our 2nd time here and I am still not sure what all the hype is over this restaurant. It is good but not any better than many others in the area. Very cramped. Coat hooks on beams make that worse with winter coats hanging in space. Hostess did not acknowledge us until she was through with other things she was doing, even though we were right there for her to see. Nowhere to wait except annoyingly close to sitting diners. Took a very long time to get salads. However, the couple next to us were only half way through their salad when their entrees arrived. Not good. Sides of either garlic mashed or baked sweet potatoes. Why not baked white potatoes? If you can mash them, then it goes to say they start off raw and can be baked too. Steaks were very good. Salads were basic. A glass of Reisling was $12. Coffee good but we were told they did not have milk, only half and half. Curious.

food5
ambience5
service5

Definitely need reservations ahead of ti ...

Dined on December 27, 2015

Definitely need reservations ahead of time unless it's for two people(busy times you will need reservations for two). Smaller venue but very cozy and nice ambiance. Service was good and steaks were amazing! Go on Monday Funday and get a free dessert with your entree!

food2
ambience2
service1

We had made a reservation for 8, arrived ...

Dined on December 26, 2015

We had made a reservation for 8, arrived 15 minutes early to sit at the bar. We did not receive a table until almost 9 when I had to insist on moving from the bar to a table. There were two tables that came in after us sat immediately. We were served the wrong salad and charged for the more expensive one. The salad was great. The duck was mediocre at best, not confit. With so many wonderful places in Burlington I can't recommend this. The food was OK, the service was awful. For the price there are many better and local restaurants that can fit your needs.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous as always!

Dined on December 22, 2015

This was our third visit each time for my birthday! The food is incredible! You don't want it to end! I look forward to our next visit. Yum I can taste it now!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.