About Blue Cat Steak & Wine Bar

1 Lawson Ln
Burlington, VT 05401
View Larger Map

Welcome to Blue Cat Steak & Wine Bar. We are located in the center of downtown Burlington in a little alley called Lawson Lane. In our cozy corner of the town we serve all Certified Angus Beef (CAB) steaks and a variety of fresh seafood and vegetarian options. We use local produce whenever possible and feature a rotating selection of Vermont cheeses. Our wine list contains three-hundred labels from all over the world with an emphasis on big, bold, steak-friendly wines. The proprietors, Mariasha and Ozzy Giral are always on site to help you find the perfect wine for any occasion. We hope to see you soon.

...and please keep in mind that we are available for private events of all sorts 7 days a week; we'll do the catering or bring in your favorite caterer.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Contemporary American, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:

Sunday: 4:30 - 8:30pm

Monday - Thursday: 4:30pm - 9:30pm,

Friday and Saturday: 4:30pm - 11:30pm

Cross Street:
college street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(802) 363-3639

Website:
http://www.bluecatvt.com/

Parking Details:
Blue Cat Cafe & Wine Bar is the only downtown restaurant with on site, free parking. Our customers can park in the lot on Saint Paul/College Street. However, take heed; the lot is monitored by a towing company, and our customers must use a permit. Simply send a member of your party into the restaurant, and we will give you a temporary permit which will allow you to park for the evening.

Private Party Facilities:
The Blue Cat Cafe and Wine Bar is available for private functions of all sorts, from small, intimate events to parties of up to forty. We offer many options for food and drink and can procure many specialty items such as rare wines and high grade meats, as well as tailor our menu to meet a budget.

Private Party Contact:
Ozzy Giral: 8023633639

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
Please consider us for your next private function. Our intimate space seats up to 40, and you can bring in your own caterer or let us entertain you with our exciting, tailored menus. And for a special treat, try one of our private wine tastings for 10 - 30 people!

Restaurant Photos

Mariasha
Beef Kabob
Nine Hour Braised Lamb
Local Organic Beef - Softball Sirloin
Spinach Salad
Braised Lamb
Caesar Salad (Side)
Hummus And Pita
Beef Tornado With Garlic Mashed Potato
Finca La Linda Malbec
Magrette Duck Breast
Wild Salmon Smothered In Red Peppers, Artichokes, Tomatoes On Lobster Polenta
Beet Salad W/ Chevre & Truffle Infusion
Local Steak With Sweet Mashed Potatoes And Asparagus
Filet Mignon With Grilled Shrimp, Garlic Mash And Asparagus
Roasted Beet And Spinach Salad With Chevre

Blue Cat Steak & Wine Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

3.8

noise

Quiet

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
Boston / New England
Romantic
Vermont
Special Occasion
Vermont
Best Restaurants in Burlington, VT ›

special occasion (40)
romantic (36)
notable wine list (28)
See All
fit for foodies (28)
neighborhood gem (15)
late-night find (3)
vibrant bar scene (2)
great for lunch (1)
hot spot (1)
great for outdoor dining (1)
good for groups (1)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
390 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The place is small. One loud table impac ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined 6 days ago

The place is small. One loud table impacts all the tables. Sone items were heavy in salt, others had no seasoning at all.

I would go again if there were not so many better choices in the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5

Very tiny but it worked. Air conditionin ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Very tiny but it worked. Air conditioning could have been better. Food was good, had lamb. Loved the cheese plate.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We dined at the Blue Cat twice in one we ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

We dined at the Blue Cat twice in one week as part of a retirement celebration. We had such a good meal the first time, we decided to bring our out of town guests for the second meal

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been going to the Blue Cat for a ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

We have been going to the Blue Cat for about 10 years now.

It is our "destination" restaurant when we go to Burlington.

We find it a delightful, romantic place to eat a steak dinner together (actually, I had the rack of lamb).

One unusual feature: their wines by the glass ($11) are nothing short of superb. I tried one sip of the house Cabernet, and we went for a bottle, with no regrets.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have reviewed the restaurant several t ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

I have reviewed the restaurant several times. No difference any longer. Consistently, it was one of the best and I love the quiet, the food, and the service. Definite repeat visits recommended.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This restaurant is know for it's steak a ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

This restaurant is know for it's steak and it is excellent; cooked to perfection. Salads are mediocre, however, and it was fairly expensive. But, I would go back!

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Absolutely fabulous. . . and I had high ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Absolutely fabulous. . . and I had high expectations from others who had been there previously. Blue Cat exceed all expectations. I will return!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Blue Cat, located on Lawson Lane, ha ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

The Blue Cat, located on Lawson Lane, has the feeling of a secret hideaway. Full bar, steak and seafood, muted lighting and good service. Convenient parking for a show at the Flynn after dinner.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Best meal I have had in a long time. Re ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Best meal I have had in a long time. Really perfect.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I ordered a filet and the two other peop ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

I ordered a filet and the two other people with me ordered a ribeye and none of it was very good. I have definitely had much better steaks and was disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

Not for kids, otherwise it's fine

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

First, just as a disclaimer, we had our kids with us and really shouldn't have selected this restaurant for dinner with them. No kids menu or options, and the waitress had no idea how to handle them. They were good and we worked it out, but definitely not a good option for families. Food was okay, but not exceptional. The location was cute, though they are small so be sure to get reservations. Service was very slow; but, if we were kid-less that may have been okay.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Blue Cat After Marathon

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Great steak and great service. Loved the small setting and cool bar.

Tags: kid-friendly, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Good food - excellent service

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

Good food - excellent service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Upgrade of prior review.

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

Happy to say that our most recent visit for a Bon Voyage party was back to the excellent standards set earlier. This time, the rib eye steak returned to the menu and it should be a staple. Excellent and not overpowering large. Salads quite good. Limited three-dessert choice: flourless chocolate cake with vanilla ice cream, berry pie (seeds IN) with vanilla ice cream and ice cream. Not sure about this decision being so limited. Service was impeccable and server took extra time and questions about a future trip involving a diner who chooses to eat non-healthy, fried foods - not the specialty here. But was able to come up with some choices to placate this diner in the future. I hope. Thank you Kera! Another quirk this time and one should be aware that in prior visits I was able to use gift cards/offers for a tip. NOT this time. All gratuities must be left on a credit card or in cash. BEWARE! All in all, I will be back several times in June.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great food! Nice romantic atmosphere. Cl ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Great food! Nice romantic atmosphere. Clean,friendly, knowledgeable staff. We would definitely eat here again,and would definitely recommend it to others.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food and great service. Very cozy ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Great food and great service. Very cozy and charming atmosphere.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was delicious, service excellent. W ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Food was delicious, service excellent. We went there for a graduation dinner and had a wonderful and relaxed meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A little difficult to locate this spot, ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 10, 2016

A little difficult to locate this spot, but well worth it. In my opinion, the best food in Burlington.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Good food, hostile service, not worth the price...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

My wife and I took our two teenage kids here a few days ago.

Ambiance was nice, non-offensive jazz playing (I'm not a jazz fan), dimly lit, though not so dark we couldn't see.

Service was initially prompt; this degraded over the course of the meal. Our waitress was... The best way I can describe it was as indifferent as possible without being overtly rude. It was very evident that she had no interest in providing us with good service. The time between her visits to our table grew increasingly longer as the meal progressed.

The steaks were excellently prepared (though it certainly took a long time given that only maybe three tables were occupied), the potatoes were dry (all of us noticed it).

The food was good, but not good enough to justify $38 for a steak and a $200 total for four of us. I've had meals that were every bit as good at far, far less.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

Really love Blue Cat

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Second visit to Blue Cat for us and love this restaurant. Staff is very pleasant and attentive, answered all of our questions and helped us craft the meal to our preferences. The food is terrific with a great steak selection. This is our "go to" restaurant fr a special occasion and we'd definitely recommend it without hesitation.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

the service was prompt but than it took ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

the service was prompt but than it took over 45 mins to get the appetizer and the drinks for one of our party was only a 1/4 filled for the special he ordered...our drinks were fine...the meal was ok..the potatoes were cold....not the best experience for the amount of money we spent...expected much better.

thanks

Ray roberts

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

A Perfect Place

 
 (New England)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

I admit to being a "foodie" but I also appreciate "Nice." The Blue Cat is wonderful. The food is delicious and cooked the way you request it. In addition, the atmosphere is reserved but not stuffy. It is a beautiful setting for a romantic dinner, or just catching up with friends. No need to shout over the usual restaurant noises and bad acoustics. It is lavishly furnished, not overcrowded and just very comfortable all around. I intend to go there often.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was great. I had the lamb and i ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

The food was great. I had the lamb and it was one of the best I've had. By far would continue recommending this place, as I haven't stopped talking about it since I dined.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Food was unbelievable, service was veeee ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

Food was unbelievable, service was veeeery slow but ambiance was so cozy and romantic that we didn't mind too much!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Superb

 
 (New England)
·Dined on April 13, 2016

Remarkably so good that it triggered conversation about outstanding meals my wife and I enjoyed around the world. It was that good.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great friday night out.

 
 (New England)
·Dined on April 8, 2016

This is a hidden gem in Burlington. Great ambiance, duck was awesome, great bottle of wine and we had a wonderful waitress. Restaurant is very small so setting is intimate but could be considered crowded if you weren't seated in the right place. However, we struck up a conversation with the people next to us and had a wonderful time!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

THE TOP CAT!

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 28, 2016

Blue Catsteak& Wine continues to impress! Always make a point to stop & have a business meal atthis restaurant when I'm in Burlinfton. Consistent good quality, fresh ingredients expertly prepared. Wine list is limited, yet high value with some interesting selections. You will be pleasantly surprised at this little gem in Burlington, VT! I will be back inMay!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great spot for a casual yet romantic din ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on March 25, 2016

Great spot for a casual yet romantic dinner. Would return hands down.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Special Evening

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 19, 2016

This was my first time at Blue Cat, after having dined at most of the other establishments in town over the years. I was delighted with the food and drink and really appreciated the kind atmosphere generated by everyone there and attentiveness and humor of our waitress Julia. Will definitely look forward to returning soon.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Impressive!

 
 (New England)
·Dined on March 13, 2016

My first visit to Blue Cat. Totally impressed! Elegant, quiet, yet friendly atmosphere. Four of us at the table. Once the food arrived that was all we could talk about! Loved the caesar salad as well as the beet salad. Steaks were cooked perfectly to our requests. Very flavorful and tender. Our waitress was very helpful in selecting the appropriate wine to accompany our dinners. She also eagerly suggested sampling our choices before making a final selection. Best food in Burlington! It is now the place we will take visitors, as well as returning frequently ourselves!

Did I mention the cheese platter appetizer was generous enough to be shared among us?! Yum to all!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Glad we gave them a second chance

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

Had a marginal experience a year ago. Went back this time-great dinner. We'll see you again

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Excellent service.

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on March 9, 2016

Nice environment, friendly staff, and a great wine list make for a nice place to take a guest. The food was good, though could be better without the use of canned tomatoes in a lamb ragu, and with a little more attention to detail to the cesar salad.

Tags: romantic, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Great Spot for "Before the Show"

 
 (New England)
·Dined on March 5, 2016

We had 6 in our group, with tickets for a show at the Flynn Theater that night. The staff welcomed us and asked if we had show tickets, just to make sure they could get us out in time for the show. They offer free on-site parking for their customers, a benefit not found elsewhere in downtown Burlington. The wine list, although not extensive, offered a good range of reds and whites, and we had no difficulty picking out something we liked. The menu had a great selection of entrees. Between the 6 of us, we tried salmon, duck, tenderloin burger, home-made veggie ravioli and two different cuts of steak. It was all excellent. I would definitely recommend the Blue Cat, and will go there again. Well done, Blue Cat!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great steaks!

 
 (New England)
·Dined on February 26, 2016

This was our first time at blue cat, we were looking for a great steak place. The food was really great, we were not disappointed by the steaks, and apps. We were however disappointed in our waitress, who just simply seemed completely uninterested in us. Anytime she approached our table she seemed to just rush off like she had somewhere more important to be, but it was very chill and not busy in there. At one point my mother was trying to order a sambuca with her coffee and as she was asking for it, the waitress impatiently lifted up the sugar and creamer she was carrying as if she already knew what was going to be asked. It was rude.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

Off night

vip
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on February 18, 2016

This restaurant was one of our favorites; we've had several excellent dinners there. Our last visit, however, was a disappointment. There was only one waiter for the entire dining room, and she was also responsible for mixing drinks. It wasn't her fault. Not at all; she was working hard and was unfailingly cheerful. The management was at fault for being so severely understaffed.

The salad finally arrived, and it was a disappointment. After waiting the better part of an hour, we finally cut our losses, settled the check, and returned to our hotel without dinner.

This was really one of the top restaurants in Burlington, and perhaps it still is. All the same, we'll probably try others before venturing back. By then, we hope the management will have its affairs in order. Pity.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

The food's great, and the service is exc ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

The food's great, and the service is excellent. It's also the only restaurant downtown with its own parking. The only downside doubles as one of its upsides. It's tiny. Really tiny. This gives it a very romantic atmosphere, but it also makes it pretty cramped, especially in winter when everyone hangs their coats on the pillars that dominate the center of the room. I consider this a relatively small annoyance, and not enough to keep me from highly recommending it. But it's worth mentioning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful Experience

 
 (New England)
·Dined on February 11, 2016

We really enjoyed our dinner at Blue Cat and will return. I'll suggest the steaks are the best in Burlington and on par with a Capitol Grille. Would have given the restaurant five stars but the bar noise, given the intimacy, is an issue.

Tags: romantic, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

First visit

 
 (New England)
·Dined on February 11, 2016

Our first visit. Great food. Excellent Manhattan. Great decor. Will return.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Over Hyped

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on February 6, 2016

This restaurant is billed as a steak house. I got the filet mignon for $32 and it was literally no better than I could have cooked it. Not flavorful or particularly tender. The mashed potatoes were absolutely nothing fancy and the 4 asparagus spears were nothing more than normal. My husband got the Faroe Island Salmon and while he enjoyed the piece of fish, he also thought it was not particularly special. Add on 1 glass of wine and one hard cider and we had spent $100 on a meal I could have cooked myself (and I'm not a great or imaginative cook). Additionally, the restaurant is in a very small space, which in itself is not a bad thing, it was very hard for diners and wait staff to maneuver around the large columns in the middle with winter coats hanging off them. the decor is decidedly 80's and could use some updating but that did not factor into my experience, just as an aside.

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Wanted to love it

 
 (New England)
·Dined on February 2, 2016

I absolutely LOVE this location and have ever since Dani was here with Iron Wolf. The atmosphere continues to delight and the staff is friendly and knowledgeable. Our only disappointment was the food. It was okay, but not delicious. My Ceasar with salmon was way over-dressed and ordinary, the salmon was cooked perfectly. My dining partner finished his beet salad- mediocre, with a mini steak quickly and looked longingly at mine- so I gave him the remains. We will return for the atmosphere and beverage service and not expect much from the food.

Tags: romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.