About Blue Cat Steak & Wine Bar

1 Lawson Ln
Burlington, VT 05401
View Larger Map

Welcome to Blue Cat Steak & Wine Bar. We are located in the center of downtown Burlington in a little alley called Lawson Lane. In our cozy corner of the town we serve all Certified Angus Beef (CAB) steaks and a variety of fresh seafood and vegetarian options. We use local produce whenever possible and feature a rotating selection of Vermont cheeses. Our wine list contains three-hundred labels from all over the world with an emphasis on big, bold, steak-friendly wines. The proprietors, Mariasha and Ozzy Giral are always on site to help you find the perfect wine for any occasion. We hope to see you soon.

...and please keep in mind that we are available for private events of all sorts 7 days a week; we'll do the catering or bring in your favorite caterer.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Contemporary American, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:

Sunday: 4:30 - 8:30pm

Monday - Thursday: 4:30pm - 9:30pm,

Friday and Saturday: 4:30pm - 11:30pm

Cross Street:
college street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(802) 363-3639

Website:
http://www.bluecatvt.com/

Parking Details:
Blue Cat Cafe & Wine Bar is the only downtown restaurant with on site, free parking. Our customers can park in the lot on Saint Paul/College Street. However, take heed; the lot is monitored by a towing company, and our customers must use a permit. Simply send a member of your party into the restaurant, and we will give you a temporary permit which will allow you to park for the evening.

Private Party Facilities:
The Blue Cat Cafe and Wine Bar is available for private functions of all sorts, from small, intimate events to parties of up to forty. We offer many options for food and drink and can procure many specialty items such as rare wines and high grade meats, as well as tailor our menu to meet a budget.

Private Party Contact:
Ozzy Giral: 8023633639

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please consider us for your next private function. Our intimate space seats up to 40, and you can bring in your own caterer or let us entertain you with our exciting, tailored menus. And for a special treat, try one of our private wine tastings for 10 - 30 people!

Restaurant Photos

Beef Kabob - Blue Cat Steak & Wine Bar, Burlington, VT
Mariasha - Blue Cat Steak & Wine Bar, Burlington, VT
Local Organic Beef - Softball Sirloin - Blue Cat Steak & Wine Bar, Burlington, VT
Nine Hour Braised Lamb - Blue Cat Steak & Wine Bar, Burlington, VT
Spinach Salad - Blue Cat Steak & Wine Bar, Burlington, VT
Braised Lamb - Blue Cat Steak & Wine Bar, Burlington, VT
Beef Tornado With Garlic Mashed Potato - Blue Cat Steak & Wine Bar, Burlington, VT
Caesar Salad (Side) - Blue Cat Steak & Wine Bar, Burlington, VT
Hummus And Pita - Blue Cat Steak & Wine Bar, Burlington, VT
Finca La Linda Malbec - Blue Cat Steak & Wine Bar, Burlington, VT
Magrette Duck Breast - Blue Cat Steak & Wine Bar, Burlington, VT
Wild Salmon Smothered In Red Peppers, Artichokes, Tomatoes On Lobster Polenta - Blue Cat Steak & Wine Bar, Burlington, VT
Beet Salad W/ Chevre & Truffle Infusion - Blue Cat Steak & Wine Bar, Burlington, VT
Roasted Beet And Spinach Salad With Chevre - Blue Cat Steak & Wine Bar, Burlington, VT
Filet Mignon With Grilled Shrimp, Garlic Mash And Asparagus - Blue Cat Steak & Wine Bar, Burlington, VT
Local Steak With Sweet Mashed Potatoes And Asparagus - Blue Cat Steak & Wine Bar, Burlington, VT

Blue Cat Steak & Wine Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.4

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (24)
Cozy (21)
Romantic (20)
See All
Notable Wine List (20)
Good for Anniversaries (18)
Quiet Conversation (18)
Special Occasion (17)
Fit for Foodies (14)
Local Ingredients (13)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Worth the Drive (9)
Bar Seating (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Business Meals (5)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Casual (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Authentic (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Seasonal (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Healthy (2)
Organic (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Historic (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Private Room (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Sort By:
S
424 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This was a great place, very quiet, good ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 27, 2016

This was a great place, very quiet, good food and very friendly service. We loved it

Tags: Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

One of the best restaurants in Chittende ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 26, 2016

One of the best restaurants in Chittenden County. Will definitely be back!

Tags: Healthy, Private Room, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've eaten here many times while visitin ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 25, 2016

I've eaten here many times while visiting Burlington. This is a Hidden Gem. I've had the rack of Lamb, the salmon, the confit Chicken. All excellent. But the Steak Foie Gras is amazing with a salad first. Perfect amount of food and delicious as can be.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding find in the middle of Burlin ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Outstanding find in the middle of Burlington.

Service is professional, food is wonderful. At exquisite find for a business meal. A quiet conversation makes the evening most enjoyable. Local ingredients are featured with great wine options. Make it a point to find this truly cozy restaurant!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Outstanding Value, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Our 2nd time there and just as great as ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Our 2nd time there and just as great as the last time. Wonderful and friendly service, warm ambiance and excellent food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We had an excellent dinner at The Blue C ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 12, 2016

We had an excellent dinner at The Blue Cat on Saturday. Everything about this restaurant was outstanding, with the possible exception of the total bill. The curried mussel appetizer was delicious, and I would recommend it highly. I had the rack of Vermont lamb as my dinner entree. It was perfectly prepared and served with garlic mashed potatoes, asparagus, and a rosemary tinged sauce that was superb. My wife had the top sirloin steak topped with brandied mushrooms. She loved every bite. We washed it all down with a very good California cabernet. The place is very small, but has a nice romantic and friendly atmosphere. Our server, Storm, was one of the highlights of the meal. She was very attentive and friendly, and offered great suggestions about the menu and the wine list.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great selection of food including a Vege ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Great selection of food including a Vegetarian option. Very friendly service. It is a small place and a little hidden but worth looking for.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

As always, a delightful experience. Foo ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on November 10, 2016

As always, a delightful experience. Food and service are great.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Blue Cat is a charming, off-the-beat ...

vip
 (Montreal)·Dined on November 5, 2016

The Blue Cat is a charming, off-the-beaten-path restaurant in downtown Burlington. Even though it is on the small side, you don't feel as if you're sitting on top of the table next to you. The menu has enough variety to provide something for everyone and the wine list provides an extensive array of choices. Our meals were beautifully plated and flavorful. One of the rare times I've had salmon that was cooked properly (not dried out) and was actually tasty. My husband's Middle-Eastern kabob had him literally smacking his lips. If there was a downside to our dining experience, it was the fact that there were only two servers working and they both were forced to perform multiple roles: hostess, bartender and waiting tables. As a result, service was slow at times and there was a significant wait between our salads and our main

course. To the waitresses' credit, in spite of having to be in two or three places at once, they were always cheerful and did their best given the cirumstances.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Except for slightly slower service than ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Except for slightly slower service than ideal, this was a fabulous dining experience. The food was delicious, wait staff was courteous and attentive, and the atmosphere was pleasing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

The evening was as expected- excellent f ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 29, 2016

The evening was as expected- excellent food, excellent atmosphere and excellent service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was delicious, the service was ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 26, 2016

The food was delicious, the service was very good...prompt, friendly and courteous, the restaurant itself is very quaint.

Tags: Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My fiancé and I had an amazing meal from ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 23, 2016

My fiancé and I had an amazing meal from the vodka infused cocktail sauce for the shrimp cocktail to the amazing Cabernet we were advised to try, to the perfectly cooked and dressed filet mignon steaks. It was a memorable night! Cozy, quaint, upscale without being stuffy....We were thoroughly impressed. Our server was knowledgeable about the menu, and was very good at giving us space to enjoy the meal. We will be back!!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Bar Seating, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

If you like excellent steaks and wines a ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 19, 2016

If you like excellent steaks and wines and a quiet place where you can hear your companions speech, this is the place for you. I am never disappointed.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our waitress was a little spacey and ser ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Our waitress was a little spacey and service a bit slow. The wrong main course was brought to me but quickly corrected. With that said, the food was excellent, ambiance very nice, and the evening was enjoyable. This was a dinner with just my college-aged son and me. He felt service was slow but really enjoyed his meal. I'll go back with my wife.

Tags: Romantic, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Food was decent (beet salad with flank s ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 10, 2016

Food was decent (beet salad with flank steak, and ny strip) as was the wine. Unfortunately two big parties of 8 and 6 (big is relative to the size of this tiny place) walked in on a Monday night and they were hopelessly short staffed (just a cook, a bartender, and a waitress). They did their best but couldn't keep up; we waited an hour for the food and it just wasnt a great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Great spot for a cozy meal. Food was goo ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 10, 2016

Great spot for a cozy meal. Food was good not great. Restaurant was a little hard to find. Definitely would recommend it for a quaint evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great for a date, very quiet. Food is go ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 29, 2016

Great for a date, very quiet. Food is good, but not amazing.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The only good thing I could say about th ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 29, 2016

The only good thing I could say about this restaurant is the ambiance was very nice. The food was mediocre but very expensive and the service was poor. Would not recommend this restaurant nor would I ever go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

Very accommodating. We changed our reser ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Very accommodating. We changed our reservation from 2 people to 7, & they were able to seat us. We had a great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A little tough to find tucked in an alle ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 22, 2016

A little tough to find tucked in an alley but once you do you'll love it. Great ambiance and intimate. Food was great but service could be better. Our waitress seemed a little frazzled and even got one of two meals wrong. All in all the food was worth it!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Excellent steaks cooked exactly as each ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on September 21, 2016

Excellent steaks cooked exactly as each of us requested. Very friendly, knowledgable server. Over the years have always enjoyed the Blue Cat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

We had our first negative experience thi ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 6, 2016

We had our first negative experience this time unfortunately. We love the Blue Cat and have always saved it for special occasions as it is a very special restaurant for all the reasons we look for in a great dinner out. We waited for nearly an hour before we interrupted the fast moving waitress (the ONLY one on duty) and flagged her to ask for bread and to express our concern that we had been largely ignored while others around us were being served. The bread finally came when our dinner was served about 15 minutes later. One couple seated near us got up and left after waiting for service as the waitress was about to deliver wine to their table..

Our food was great and we love the place. But please make sure that you have adequate staff coverage to be sure all guests are served appropriately.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

My boyfriend and I absolutely love comin ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 4, 2016

My boyfriend and I absolutely love coming here and use every excuse to spend the extra money to have a great meal. The only reason I gave 4 stars on food instead of 5 is that my steak was slightly over cooked but I would still go back. Also they usually give out pita bread and hummus and this time we didn't get any and we always used to look forward to it. But the waitstaff is fantastic and the food is great. I absolutely love the maple manhattans.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Healthy, Cozy, Paleo Friendly, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and drinks were outstanding. The re ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 1, 2016

Food and drinks were outstanding. The restaurant is very cozy and the Thursday night that we went it was very quiet.

The service was very good.

The only downside that I would say is that the meal took a while to arrive but we were enjoying the drinks and ceaser salad, so

it didn't really bother us.

I would recommend Blue Cat and hope to

return soon

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Quaint, romantic atmosphere. The food wa ...

vip
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Quaint, romantic atmosphere. The food was amazing but it took almost an hour to get just our appetizers. The food was worth the wait but we wish the service would have been better, especially since it is such a small place. Great if you want a date night to get to know who you're out with.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

This was our second meal at the Blue Cat ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 20, 2016

This was our second meal at the Blue Cat and it was a wonderful evening. More people should know about this little gem but it's a bit off the main drag so a casual tourist is not likely to find it by chance. We shared some mussels in a delicious broth, had a reasonably priced bottle of French wine and ordered two different steaks. Everything was done perfectly. It was an excellent meal. We love the ambience...around 30 seats, dark wood, low light but enough to read the menu and see your partner. Just right. We'll be back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice small and cozy atmosphere but lacki ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 19, 2016

Nice small and cozy atmosphere but lacking enough servers. Food was good but not exceptional for the price. Difficult to find off an alleyway and in a commercial building but charming once found.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

I have had a number of good dining exper ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 14, 2016

I have had a number of good dining experiences at Blue Cat but my most recent experience was not so great. Not only was there no AC in the restaurant, which really detracted from the experience, but two of our 6 steaks were so overdone that they were inedible. It will be a long time before I give Blue Cat another shot.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

Decent food, good wine, great service! ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 13, 2016

Decent food, good wine, great service! Very noisy and crowdedcrowded. Pretty spendy for the value.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

We love this restaurant and come here 2- ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 6, 2016

We love this restaurant and come here 2-3 times a year for dinner. The food is always excellent. This time I had the filet mignon, and it literally melted in my mouth it was so tender, and the taste of it was superb. My wife had the breast of duck, and also thought it was fantastic. This time, we decided to try their desserts (which we don't normally do) and we definitely weren't disappointed. I had the flourless chocolate cake with cookies & cream ice cream and caramel topping - what a huge decadent treat! And my wife had the cherry pie ala mode which she loved! Awesome dinner - we couldn't have been more satisfied!!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was the perfect place for us. Frien ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 6, 2016

This was the perfect place for us. Friendly staff, food was fantastic, especially if your fork contained all the elements on your plate. It created the perfect bite of flavor. The duck was delicious and the steak with duck foie gras was decadently delightful. It was a warm night and the only thing I could wish is that the AC kept the place cooler. I cannot wait to go back.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The place is small. One loud table impac ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on July 18, 2016

The place is small. One loud table impacts all the tables. Sone items were heavy in salt, others had no seasoning at all.

I would go again if there were not so many better choices in the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5

Place was really hard to find and once t ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 15, 2016

Place was really hard to find and once there we we were the only two people in the restaurant for a while. It just seemed awkward as I felt we had to talk in hushed tones. Food and wine were great, a little expensive but not terrible. Server was very friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value2

Very tiny but it worked. Air conditionin ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 13, 2016

Very tiny but it worked. Air conditioning could have been better. Food was good, had lamb. Loved the cheese plate.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We dined at the Blue Cat twice in one we ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 6, 2016

We dined at the Blue Cat twice in one week as part of a retirement celebration. We had such a good meal the first time, we decided to bring our out of town guests for the second meal

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been going to the Blue Cat for a ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 3, 2016

We have been going to the Blue Cat for about 10 years now.

It is our "destination" restaurant when we go to Burlington.

We find it a delightful, romantic place to eat a steak dinner together (actually, I had the rack of lamb).

One unusual feature: their wines by the glass ($11) are nothing short of superb. I tried one sip of the house Cabernet, and we went for a bottle, with no regrets.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have reviewed the restaurant several t ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 1, 2016

I have reviewed the restaurant several times. No difference any longer. Consistently, it was one of the best and I love the quiet, the food, and the service. Definite repeat visits recommended.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This restaurant is know for it's steak a ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 29, 2016

This restaurant is know for it's steak and it is excellent; cooked to perfection. Salads are mediocre, however, and it was fairly expensive. But, I would go back!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Absolutely fabulous. . . and I had high ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 15, 2016

Absolutely fabulous. . . and I had high expectations from others who had been there previously. Blue Cat exceed all expectations. I will return!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.