About Blue Cat Steak & Wine Bar

1 Lawson Ln
Burlington, VT 05401
View Larger Map

Welcome to Blue Cat Steak & Wine Bar. We are located in the center of downtown Burlington in a little alley called Lawson Lane. In our cozy corner of the town we serve all Certified Angus Beef (CAB) steaks and a variety of fresh seafood and vegetarian options. We use local produce whenever possible and feature a rotating selection of Vermont cheeses. Our wine list contains three-hundred labels from all over the world with an emphasis on big, bold, steak-friendly wines. The proprietors, Mariasha and Ozzy Giral are always on site to help you find the perfect wine for any occasion. We hope to see you soon.

...and please keep in mind that we are available for private events of all sorts 7 days a week; we'll do the catering or bring in your favorite caterer.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Contemporary American, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:

Sunday: 4:30 - 8:30pm

Monday - Thursday: 4:30pm - 9:30pm,

Friday and Saturday: 4:30pm - 11:30pm

Cross Street:
college street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(802) 363-3639

Website:
http://www.bluecatvt.com/

Parking Details:
Blue Cat Cafe & Wine Bar is the only downtown restaurant with on site, free parking. Our customers can park in the lot on Saint Paul/College Street. However, take heed; the lot is monitored by a towing company, and our customers must use a permit. Simply send a member of your party into the restaurant, and we will give you a temporary permit which will allow you to park for the evening.

Private Party Facilities:
The Blue Cat Cafe and Wine Bar is available for private functions of all sorts, from small, intimate events to parties of up to forty. We offer many options for food and drink and can procure many specialty items such as rare wines and high grade meats, as well as tailor our menu to meet a budget.

Private Party Contact:
Ozzy Giral: 8023633639

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please consider us for your next private function. Our intimate space seats up to 40, and you can bring in your own caterer or let us entertain you with our exciting, tailored menus. And for a special treat, try one of our private wine tastings for 10 - 30 people!

Restaurant Photos

Beef Kabob
Mariasha
Local Organic Beef - Softball Sirloin
Nine Hour Braised Lamb
Spinach Salad
Braised Lamb
Beef Tornado With Garlic Mashed Potato
Caesar Salad (Side)
Hummus And Pita
Finca La Linda Malbec
Magrette Duck Breast
Wild Salmon Smothered In Red Peppers, Artichokes, Tomatoes On Lobster Polenta
Beet Salad W/ Chevre & Truffle Infusion
Roasted Beet And Spinach Salad With Chevre
Filet Mignon With Grilled Shrimp, Garlic Mash And Asparagus
Local Steak With Sweet Mashed Potatoes And Asparagus

Blue Cat Steak & Wine Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
Boston / New England
Romantic
Vermont
Best Restaurants in Burlington, Vermont ›

Romantic (29)
Special Occasion (29)
Notable Wine List (22)
See All
Fit for Foodies (14)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Good for a Date (11)
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Cozy (8)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Business Meals (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Casual (1)
Historic (1)
Healthy (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Organic (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Authentic (1)
Sort By:
Newest
404 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Very accommodating. We changed our reser ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 5 days ago

Very accommodating. We changed our reservation from 2 people to 7, & they were able to seat us. We had a great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A little tough to find tucked in an alle ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 6 days ago

A little tough to find tucked in an alley but once you do you'll love it. Great ambiance and intimate. Food was great but service could be better. Our waitress seemed a little frazzled and even got one of two meals wrong. All in all the food was worth it!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Excellent steaks cooked exactly as each ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on September 21, 2016

Excellent steaks cooked exactly as each of us requested. Very friendly, knowledgable server. Over the years have always enjoyed the Blue Cat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

We had our first negative experience thi ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

We had our first negative experience this time unfortunately. We love the Blue Cat and have always saved it for special occasions as it is a very special restaurant for all the reasons we look for in a great dinner out. We waited for nearly an hour before we interrupted the fast moving waitress (the ONLY one on duty) and flagged her to ask for bread and to express our concern that we had been largely ignored while others around us were being served. The bread finally came when our dinner was served about 15 minutes later. One couple seated near us got up and left after waiting for service as the waitress was about to deliver wine to their table..

Our food was great and we love the place. But please make sure that you have adequate staff coverage to be sure all guests are served appropriately.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

My boyfriend and I absolutely love comin ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

My boyfriend and I absolutely love coming here and use every excuse to spend the extra money to have a great meal. The only reason I gave 4 stars on food instead of 5 is that my steak was slightly over cooked but I would still go back. Also they usually give out pita bread and hummus and this time we didn't get any and we always used to look forward to it. But the waitstaff is fantastic and the food is great. I absolutely love the maple manhattans.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Healthy, Cozy, Paleo Friendly, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and drinks were outstanding. The re ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

Food and drinks were outstanding. The restaurant is very cozy and the Thursday night that we went it was very quiet.

The service was very good.

The only downside that I would say is that the meal took a while to arrive but we were enjoying the drinks and ceaser salad, so

it didn't really bother us.

I would recommend Blue Cat and hope to

return soon

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Quaint, romantic atmosphere. The food wa ...

vip
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Quaint, romantic atmosphere. The food was amazing but it took almost an hour to get just our appetizers. The food was worth the wait but we wish the service would have been better, especially since it is such a small place. Great if you want a date night to get to know who you're out with.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

This was our second meal at the Blue Cat ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

This was our second meal at the Blue Cat and it was a wonderful evening. More people should know about this little gem but it's a bit off the main drag so a casual tourist is not likely to find it by chance. We shared some mussels in a delicious broth, had a reasonably priced bottle of French wine and ordered two different steaks. Everything was done perfectly. It was an excellent meal. We love the ambience...around 30 seats, dark wood, low light but enough to read the menu and see your partner. Just right. We'll be back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice small and cozy atmosphere but lacki ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Nice small and cozy atmosphere but lacking enough servers. Food was good but not exceptional for the price. Difficult to find off an alleyway and in a commercial building but charming once found.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

I have had a number of good dining exper ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

I have had a number of good dining experiences at Blue Cat but my most recent experience was not so great. Not only was there no AC in the restaurant, which really detracted from the experience, but two of our 6 steaks were so overdone that they were inedible. It will be a long time before I give Blue Cat another shot.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

Decent food, good wine, great service! ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Decent food, good wine, great service! Very noisy and crowdedcrowded. Pretty spendy for the value.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

We love this restaurant and come here 2- ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

We love this restaurant and come here 2-3 times a year for dinner. The food is always excellent. This time I had the filet mignon, and it literally melted in my mouth it was so tender, and the taste of it was superb. My wife had the breast of duck, and also thought it was fantastic. This time, we decided to try their desserts (which we don't normally do) and we definitely weren't disappointed. I had the flourless chocolate cake with cookies & cream ice cream and caramel topping - what a huge decadent treat! And my wife had the cherry pie ala mode which she loved! Awesome dinner - we couldn't have been more satisfied!!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was the perfect place for us. Frien ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

This was the perfect place for us. Friendly staff, food was fantastic, especially if your fork contained all the elements on your plate. It created the perfect bite of flavor. The duck was delicious and the steak with duck foie gras was decadently delightful. It was a warm night and the only thing I could wish is that the AC kept the place cooler. I cannot wait to go back.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The place is small. One loud table impac ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

The place is small. One loud table impacts all the tables. Sone items were heavy in salt, others had no seasoning at all.

I would go again if there were not so many better choices in the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5

Place was really hard to find and once t ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Place was really hard to find and once there we we were the only two people in the restaurant for a while. It just seemed awkward as I felt we had to talk in hushed tones. Food and wine were great, a little expensive but not terrible. Server was very friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value2

Very tiny but it worked. Air conditionin ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Very tiny but it worked. Air conditioning could have been better. Food was good, had lamb. Loved the cheese plate.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We dined at the Blue Cat twice in one we ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

We dined at the Blue Cat twice in one week as part of a retirement celebration. We had such a good meal the first time, we decided to bring our out of town guests for the second meal

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been going to the Blue Cat for a ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

We have been going to the Blue Cat for about 10 years now.

It is our "destination" restaurant when we go to Burlington.

We find it a delightful, romantic place to eat a steak dinner together (actually, I had the rack of lamb).

One unusual feature: their wines by the glass ($11) are nothing short of superb. I tried one sip of the house Cabernet, and we went for a bottle, with no regrets.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have reviewed the restaurant several t ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

I have reviewed the restaurant several times. No difference any longer. Consistently, it was one of the best and I love the quiet, the food, and the service. Definite repeat visits recommended.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This restaurant is know for it's steak a ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

This restaurant is know for it's steak and it is excellent; cooked to perfection. Salads are mediocre, however, and it was fairly expensive. But, I would go back!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Absolutely fabulous. . . and I had high ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Absolutely fabulous. . . and I had high expectations from others who had been there previously. Blue Cat exceed all expectations. I will return!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Blue Cat, located on Lawson Lane, ha ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

The Blue Cat, located on Lawson Lane, has the feeling of a secret hideaway. Full bar, steak and seafood, muted lighting and good service. Convenient parking for a show at the Flynn after dinner.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Best meal I have had in a long time. Re ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Best meal I have had in a long time. Really perfect.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I ordered a filet and the two other peop ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

I ordered a filet and the two other people with me ordered a ribeye and none of it was very good. I have definitely had much better steaks and was disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

Not for kids, otherwise it's fine

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

First, just as a disclaimer, we had our kids with us and really shouldn't have selected this restaurant for dinner with them. No kids menu or options, and the waitress had no idea how to handle them. They were good and we worked it out, but definitely not a good option for families. Food was okay, but not exceptional. The location was cute, though they are small so be sure to get reservations. Service was very slow; but, if we were kid-less that may have been okay.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Blue Cat After Marathon

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Great steak and great service. Loved the small setting and cool bar.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Good food - excellent service

vip
 (Charleston)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

Good food - excellent service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Upgrade of prior review.

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

Happy to say that our most recent visit for a Bon Voyage party was back to the excellent standards set earlier. This time, the rib eye steak returned to the menu and it should be a staple. Excellent and not overpowering large. Salads quite good. Limited three-dessert choice: flourless chocolate cake with vanilla ice cream, berry pie (seeds IN) with vanilla ice cream and ice cream. Not sure about this decision being so limited. Service was impeccable and server took extra time and questions about a future trip involving a diner who chooses to eat non-healthy, fried foods - not the specialty here. But was able to come up with some choices to placate this diner in the future. I hope. Thank you Kera! Another quirk this time and one should be aware that in prior visits I was able to use gift cards/offers for a tip. NOT this time. All gratuities must be left on a credit card or in cash. BEWARE! All in all, I will be back several times in June.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great food! Nice romantic atmosphere. Cl ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Great food! Nice romantic atmosphere. Clean,friendly, knowledgeable staff. We would definitely eat here again,and would definitely recommend it to others.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food and great service. Very cozy ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Great food and great service. Very cozy and charming atmosphere.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was delicious, service excellent. W ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Food was delicious, service excellent. We went there for a graduation dinner and had a wonderful and relaxed meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A little difficult to locate this spot, ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 10, 2016

A little difficult to locate this spot, but well worth it. In my opinion, the best food in Burlington.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Good food, hostile service, not worth the price...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

My wife and I took our two teenage kids here a few days ago.

Ambiance was nice, non-offensive jazz playing (I'm not a jazz fan), dimly lit, though not so dark we couldn't see.

Service was initially prompt; this degraded over the course of the meal. Our waitress was... The best way I can describe it was as indifferent as possible without being overtly rude. It was very evident that she had no interest in providing us with good service. The time between her visits to our table grew increasingly longer as the meal progressed.

The steaks were excellently prepared (though it certainly took a long time given that only maybe three tables were occupied), the potatoes were dry (all of us noticed it).

The food was good, but not good enough to justify $38 for a steak and a $200 total for four of us. I've had meals that were every bit as good at far, far less.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

Really love Blue Cat

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Second visit to Blue Cat for us and love this restaurant. Staff is very pleasant and attentive, answered all of our questions and helped us craft the meal to our preferences. The food is terrific with a great steak selection. This is our "go to" restaurant fr a special occasion and we'd definitely recommend it without hesitation.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

the service was prompt but than it took ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

the service was prompt but than it took over 45 mins to get the appetizer and the drinks for one of our party was only a 1/4 filled for the special he ordered...our drinks were fine...the meal was ok..the potatoes were cold....not the best experience for the amount of money we spent...expected much better.

thanks

Ray roberts

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

A Perfect Place

 
 (New England)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

I admit to being a "foodie" but I also appreciate "Nice." The Blue Cat is wonderful. The food is delicious and cooked the way you request it. In addition, the atmosphere is reserved but not stuffy. It is a beautiful setting for a romantic dinner, or just catching up with friends. No need to shout over the usual restaurant noises and bad acoustics. It is lavishly furnished, not overcrowded and just very comfortable all around. I intend to go there often.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was great. I had the lamb and i ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

The food was great. I had the lamb and it was one of the best I've had. By far would continue recommending this place, as I haven't stopped talking about it since I dined.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Food was unbelievable, service was veeee ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

Food was unbelievable, service was veeeery slow but ambiance was so cozy and romantic that we didn't mind too much!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Superb

 
 (New England)
·Dined on April 13, 2016

Remarkably so good that it triggered conversation about outstanding meals my wife and I enjoyed around the world. It was that good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great friday night out.

 
 (New England)
·Dined on April 8, 2016

This is a hidden gem in Burlington. Great ambiance, duck was awesome, great bottle of wine and we had a wonderful waitress. Restaurant is very small so setting is intimate but could be considered crowded if you weren't seated in the right place. However, we struck up a conversation with the people next to us and had a wonderful time!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.