About Blue by Eric Ripert at The Ritz Carlton Grand Cayman

West Bay Road
The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman
George Town, Grand Cayman 11209
View Larger Map

Indisputably, Grand Cayman’s premier restaurant. Blue by Eric Ripert is where both guests and Caymanians come to be beguiled by true epicurean artistry in the grand tradition of Le Bernardin.

•Seafood menus inspired by the bounty of Cayman’s fishermen
•Featuring locally-caught and responsibly-fished seafood
•Select from Prix Fixe or Blue by Eric Ripert and Blue Classics Tasting Menus
•Wine cellar featuring more than 800 selections

Awards:

•AAA Five Diamond Award 2008-2013
•Wine Spectator - Best of Award of Excellence 2008-2013

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Caribbean, Contemporary French

Hours of Operation:
Open for dinner: Tuesday through Saturday from 6 to 9 p.m.

Seasonal Closure: August 31 to November 19, 2014



Cross Street:
West Bay Road

Dress Code:
Jacket Preferred

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(345) 815-6912

Website:
http://www.ritzcarlton.com/en/Properties/GrandCayman/Dining/Blue-byEricRipert/Default.htm

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking.

Executive Chef:
Thomas Seifried

Private Party Facilities:
Semi-private dining for groups of 30-40 and a private dining room for 10.

Private Party Contact:
Andres Munoz: 345-815-6100x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Blue by Eric Ripert at The Ritz Carlton Grand Cayman Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

5.0

service

5.0

ambience

4.9

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Caribbean
Best Food
Caribbean
Best Service
Caribbean
5 More
Best Ambiance
Caribbean
Best Value
Caribbean
Fit for Foodies
Caribbean
Special Occasion
Caribbean
Most Booked
Cayman Islands
Best Restaurants in Grand Cayman ›

special occasion (27)
fit for foodies (24)
notable wine list (18)
See All
romantic (18)
hot spot (4)
good for groups (4)
neighborhood gem (1)
late-night find (1)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
186 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Amazing place.

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined 2 days ago

Amazing place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great for FOODIES! A must when visiting ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined 4 days ago

Great for FOODIES! A must when visiting Grand Cayman.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was amazing! Everything was ver ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined 4 days ago

The food was amazing! Everything was very fresh. The attention to detail was very powerful and made the experience memorable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The cooked scallops are a marvel, and th ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The cooked scallops are a marvel, and the waiter's recommendations were "spot on" except for the cannelloni stuffed with crab which was tasteless. The food presentations were fabulous. The wine by the glass options were very pricey and not very enjoyable. The sommalier was very pleasant and anxious to please me.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

We dined here to celebrate my husband's ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

We dined here to celebrate my husband's milestone birthday. We enjoyed Eric Ripert's tasting menu with wine pairings. The food presentations were delicious, the wine parings were perfect, the staff was delightful, and the service was impeccable.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Superior experience. Wonderful food and ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Superior experience. Wonderful food and excellent service.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had heard mixed reviews before visiti ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

We had heard mixed reviews before visiting and were slightly tentative. However, we weren't disappointed! The waitstaff was pleasant and attentive. We were celebrating my boyfriend's birthday (9pm on a Saturday) and decided to get the Ripert Tasting Menu. I would highly recommend this option - we had the best scallops we've ever had! We also agreed it was the best meal we've had as far as balance of texture. Every part on the plate was well thought out.

Our waiter, Alvin, even encourages us to "mop up" the sauces/broths with the breads and offered them at each course. We estimated that it would be quite pricey, and our meal (including drinks), was about $500USD. It isn't something we can afford often, but would certainly recommend it to anyone looking for a special meal!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Having dined in many fine restaurants in ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Having dined in many fine restaurants in New York, across the US and Europe, I can honestly say that Blue may have been the very best. Magnificent setting. Exceptional service. Extraordinarily creative and tantalizing culinary experience.

Memorable.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The. Most. Amazing. Meal. Ever. Period. ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

The. Most. Amazing. Meal. Ever. Period. The service is impeccable and the creativity and flavors of the dishes are each spectacular.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best meal we've ever had...perfect in ev ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Best meal we've ever had...perfect in every way from start to finish. We had the Rippert tasting menu and I highly recommend it. I ate food I would not have normally ordered and loved it. The presentation was beautiful!! Service was precise and professional. Could not have picked a better spot for our 25th anniversary!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Indulge

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

Some meals are just worth it. This is one. My husband doesn't eat fish and he gobbled up every morsel. The steak was the best he will ever have and we live near top steakhouses. No meal can compare. Every detail is noticed. Service-impeccable.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My wife and I had an exceptional experie ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

My wife and I had an exceptional experience at Blue while we were on our honeymoon. Aside from the fine dining you would expect from an Eric Ripert restaurant, the service really made the night memorable. Our server, Audi (not sure of the spelling), presented each course with a thorough explanation of the chef's creation and the nuances to look for in the pairing. All the while, he would pepper in fun anecdotes about the origins of the dish and the vineyards we were learning about. For the final pairing, he and the sommelier substituted a 100 year old port wine for the standard pairing to make the evening extra special.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had the Eric Ripert tasting menu alon ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 31, 2016

We had the Eric Ripert tasting menu along with the wine pairing. Absolutely phenomenal. Exceeded high expectations. The high cost was well worth the experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding food and service. Without qu ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

Outstanding food and service. Without question the best food in the Caymans

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We went there for dinner on 5/18/16, for ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

We went there for dinner on 5/18/16, for our big night out on our vacation. Had the 7 course tasting menu with the wine pairings, and it was an exquisite dinner - one of the best we have ever eaten. Even the amuse bouche offerings were very detailed preparations that were delicious, and paired with a very nice champagne. Very pricey, but if you visit Grand Cayman and want a fine dining seafood experience to remember, this is the place to go.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Food was excellent-service even better. ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Food was excellent-service even better. Be warned-it is in essence, a tasting menu-two different seven course options and a "build your own 3 or 4 pick." Many courses served raw which isn't to everyone's taste but all were fabulous-very flavorful and beautifully presented.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Among The Elite

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

This was our first experience at an Eric Ripert restaurant and it did not disappoint. The seafood dishes were among the most creative we've ever seen. As many other reviewers have also said, the signature tuna foie-gras is surprisingly delicious -- perhaps the best dish on the menu. But my wife and I also agreed that the scallop with smoked butter is quite possibly the best scallop we've had anywhere ever. Service was impeccable with a polite waitstaff that was attentive without ever being overbearing. Our sommelier was very helpful in picking a great dry and complex Riesling to accompany our meal. The ambience was great, and would have made for a perfect romantic evening were it not for the crying baby at one of the back tables. It never would have happened in a restaurant of this caliber in NYC, but was probably to be expected given that Blue sits in the middle of the popular Grand Cayman Ritz-Carlton resort. The final bill was 'impressive' -- but not unexpected for a restaurant that's one of the world's top foodie destinations.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My husband and I came to Grand Cayman fo ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

My husband and I came to Grand Cayman for an award trip and had heard that Blue was the best restaurant on the island. Typically hearing this kind of hype decreases our personal experience. This was definitely not the case. The food and the service was by far one of the best dining experiences we've ever had. It was worth every single penny. Thank you to Fred and Allwyn for being extraordinary. We appreciate all that you did to ensure we had a lovely diner!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Exceptional dining experience. Make sure ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

Exceptional dining experience. Make sure to bring your wallet (or first born) but so worth the price. Exceptionally prepared dishes and marvelous service. Always our "go to" place for a special meal when we are on-island.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing Food

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

What an experience! The food was unbelievable and the service could not have been better. One of if not the best dinner we've ever had. If I had one tiny negative comment it would be that the tables were a bit strange. The pedestal underneath was huge and made it difficult to find a comfortable place to put your feet. Having said that, do not miss out on dining there! First class food and experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Food, Service, Atmosphere Top Notch

 
 (New England)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

Very classy atmosphere and perfect service. Dishes came out paired very well with the wines and everything was thoughtfully presented and explained. The tuna and scallop in particular were world class offerings. Bartender also made an amazing Manhattan.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing meal in every regard. What a sup ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 15, 2016

Amazing meal in every regard. What a superior experience of dining and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding meal and service. Did the 7 ...

vip
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on April 6, 2016

Outstanding meal and service. Did the 7 course tasting with the "Vintage" wine pairing. Not sure you can ever justify $1500 for a meal for 2, but we were celebrating out honeymoon and if you could this would be the meal. Incredible taste matched by incredible plating accompanied by wines I would not typically have an opportunity to taste. A 1967 Chateu-Lafite Rothschild for instance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wow we were blown away.

 
 (Caribbean)
·Dined on March 25, 2016

It was a not to be missed while on our vacation. Every bite was prepeared with amazing technique. Our tasting menu was a home run!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent in every way!

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on March 23, 2016

We dined at Blue while on vacation. We had our 7-yr old daughter with us and they went out of their way to make her comfortable. She remarked several times on how good the service was and said it was the best pasta she ever had. She's a pasta expert, so I trust her review! :)

We did the 6 course tasting and it did not disappoint. The wine pairing was the perfect accompaniment. Each course was more mouth watering than the last. I started with the Tuna Foie Gras, the specialty, and my husband started with the oysters. Do not pass up the bread, it was delicious and not to be missed. Our server Camilla was terrific and she went out of her way to make sure all of our needs were accommodated.

We would definitely dine here again!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Fabulous food and service.

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on March 20, 2016

Very quiet with excellent food and service. The decor was highly reflective of the island. Will return for sure.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant is excellent in every wa ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on March 17, 2016

This restaurant is excellent in every way!! We dined twice during the week, once with the Eric Ripert tasting menu with vintage wine pairings (an option I have not had before) and another with the 4 course al a carte menu. The service, food, wine are all on par with 3 star Le Bernandin but in a more casual atmosphere.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

An amazing dining experience!!

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on March 15, 2016

A true dining experience is what you get when you go to Blue. Impeccable service and food. The selections were very creative and full of flavor. It's a must do!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Five Star Dining In Grand Cayman

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 2, 2016

Ripert's Blue in the Ritz Carlton Grand Cayman is an outstanding restaurant that does not disappoint. Food, presentation, service and ambiance are all impressive. This restaurant is definitely a must if you are visiting Grand Cayman and want a five star gourmet experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value2

Excellant all the way

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on February 25, 2016

Excellant all the way

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

worth every dollar

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on February 20, 2016

This was the best restaurant I have ever eaten at. We went to celebrate an anniversary and the staff went out of their way to make it special. Every dish we had was out of this world and I can say this even though fish and seafood has never been my first choice for dining. I even loved the raw salmon appetizer. They had our favorite white wine on the menu and it is even difficult to find in the States. The prices are very high but this is one time I felt we got our money's worth. We will return there whenever we visit Grand Cayman.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Unreal dinning experience

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 19, 2016

We enjoyed a 4 course meal that was perfect. Our waiter Andre made our evening a very special night. The food was top shelf, the service was impeccable and our experience will last forever, a perfect choice.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We did the Eric Ripert tasting menu with ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on February 18, 2016

We did the Eric Ripert tasting menu with wine pairings, same as we have done each visit. We both thoroughly enjoyed all but one of the courses, and even that one was not bad, it just did not compare to the deliciousness of the other courses. We were also offered 2 amuse bouche, and those were also outstanding. This is our favorite special occasion restaurant in Cayman and it always delivers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Recommend six-course tasting menu with w ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on February 18, 2016

Recommend six-course tasting menu with wine pairing. Very expensive, but an incredible experience if you love seafood, both cooked and raw.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Fantastic experience. Can't wait to retu ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Fantastic experience. Can't wait to return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

favorite restaurant

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

This is the best restaurant, especially for seafood. Beats even its NYC counterpart. Everything is so fresh, service is impeccable. We go every time we are in Grand Cayman. Don't miss it. It's pricey, but so worth it!

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Romance at Ripert's

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on February 12, 2016

My husband and I went to Blue for dinner on Feb. 12th. The wait staff was extremely professional, knowledgeable and friendly. They all knew every nuance of the menu and enjoyed sharing their enthusiasm for Chef Ripert's creations with us. The menu showcased local seafood which was presented with an elegant French flair.

We've eaten at Le Bernadin in NYC, but we both felt that Blue surpassed both the food and ambiance. I would definitely recommend Blue and can't wait to return!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

One of the best restaurants in the world!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 12, 2016

Blue is an amazing restaurant! Top of the notch, fancy and a must splurge on yourself and whoever is with you in Grand Cayman's. Ripert known for his creativity of seafood and sauce. Every dish came with its own special sauce, delicately pour on your dish before you. The service was amazing! You get to be treated like a king or a Queen there. All the staff are so attentive.

The price for the meal corresponded to the level of service you get. Top notch!!!! I definitely will return to this restaurant when I return to the island!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent Experience

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on February 11, 2016

Everything was amazing start to finish. An wonderful experience with excellent food.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

gourmet

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 11, 2016

True gourmet NYC style. Over priced for the quality of the food. The Food was nice and well presented and prepared but not superb.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.