Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.70mi
  2. Distance: 6.91mi
  1. Distance: 1.70mi
  2. Distance: 6.91mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.70mi
  2. Distance: 6.91mi
  1. Distance: 1.70mi
  2. Distance: 6.91mi

About Blue by Eric Ripert at The Ritz Carlton Grand Cayman

Indisputably, Grand Cayman’s premier restaurant. Blue by Eric Ripert is where both guests and Caymanians come to be beguiled by true epicurean artistry in the grand tradition of Le Bernardin.

•Seafood menus inspired by the bounty of Cayman’s fishermen
•Featuring locally-caught and responsibly-fished seafood
•Select from Prix Fixe or Blue by Eric Ripert and Blue Classics Tasting Menus
•Wine cellar featuring more than 800 selections

Awards
Blue by Eric Ripert is the only restaurant in Grand Cayman to earn the distinction of the AAA Five Diamond Award.
AAA Five Diamond Award, 2008 - Present
Wine Spectator’s Best of Award of Excellence, 2008 - Present

West Bay Road
The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman
George Town, Grand Cayman 11209
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Open Tuesday through Saturday,
6 p.m. to 9 p.m. (last seating).





Cross Street:
West Bay Road

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(345) 815-6912

Website:
http://www.ritzcarlton.com/en/hotels/caribbean/grand-cayman/dining/blue

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking.

Executive Chef:
Thomas Seifried

Private Party Facilities:
For intimate occasions, special celebrations or entertaining corporate clients, Blue by Eric Ripert offers elegant private dining rooms to accommodate various events – from secluded dining for 10 or semi-private dining spaces for groups of 30 to 40.

Private Party Contact:
Peter Baics: (345) 815-6912

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Blue by Eric Ripert at The Ritz Carlton Grand Cayman Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.9

ambience

4.7

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (30)
Romantic (28)
Fit for Foodies (23)
See All
Tasting Menu (23)
Good for Anniversaries (22)
Notable Wine List (19)
Creative Cuisine (18)
Good for a Date (14)
Quiet Conversation (14)
Local Ingredients (13)
Worth the Drive (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Molecular Gastronomy (6)
Hot Spot (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Modern Decor (3)
Seasonal (3)
Business Meals (3)
Cozy (2)
Healthy (2)
Authentic (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Private Room (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
People Watching (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Historic (1)
Sort By:
S
259 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined 5 days ago

Great for gourmand dining experience. If looking for more authentic local cuisine, this is'nt the place. Typical of a Ritz and barely any local food sources.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 17, 2017

I make sure I eat at Blue once or twice every time I travel to Grand Cayman and enjoy the tasting menu

Tags: Special Occasion, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 15, 2017

A three hour dining experience with paired wines well worth the expense and comparable to a New York or Parisian evening of fine dining!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Service was a bit off for the exorbitant cost would have expected better service. Have eaten here before was an unforgettable meal in the past, but now the cost has sky rocketed to where I wish I paid before the meal so when the check came I would not feel sickened.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Best meal in cayman , fresh fish, caviar great . Loved the blue decorations and cool carpet

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 11, 2017

High expectations come with high prices. And even on this very pricey island this surpasses any restaurant times two. The food was very good the service was excellent but the room was freezing cold. There are no reasonable wines to choose. It's not that the markup is anything unusual it's just all expensive wines. Everything was good except the overly seared Dover sole which was not worth the up charge. Not worth the price tag. I'm also surprised they don't communicate the dress code because there were quite a few men in shorts and flip-flops.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value1

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Can't say enough about the service, food, and ambiance. Everything was tops! Only thing to note is the price. While at the end of the day we are were highly pleased with our experience, at about $500 US dollars for the two of us and only three glasses of wine, defiantly on the high side of restaurants. I get the exchange rate is not in favor of the American dollar. But price a side, you can't go wrong here......

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

vip
 (Omaha)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Spot on from start to finish. Flawless service. The meal was inventive and well executed. One of the top 5 meals I've had. The chef was even helpful on a couple plate adjustments for my guest. If you appreciate truly special meals don't miss this one.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Fantastic dinner. Great seafood. Great imagination. Service was impeccable. Pricey meal, but definitely worth the money. Vijay our server was amazing.

Tags: Healthy, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Blue did not disappoint! We are very happy we chose here for our last night in Grand Cayman.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 5, 2017

The food was fresh and most ingredients were locally sourced. The service was impeccable and friendly. It is very expensive but an amazing choice for a special occasion or if you are a foodie.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 4, 2017

They should rename this restaurant "Rip Off City". 3 drinks total and 4 course dinner for 2. $454.00. Insane

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value1

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We made reservations for Valentine's Day at least a week ahead and got the last slot of 9:00 p.m. The restaurant is located in the Ritz Carlton hotel and the staff and food were world class from the moment we stepped into the restaurant. The "team" of waiters called us by name and explained the different types of tasting menus available for the evening. We had ordered a bottle of wine which happened to be sold out but they presented us with an excellent recommended replacement bottle. We received a bread basket with a variety of delicious choices and a sample tasting from the chef before we began our regular order. We had ordered a 4 course tasting menu. My husband and I both started out with the Market salad (ORGANIC GREENS, MARKET VEGETABLES, SHALLOT MUSTARD DRESSING) off the Almost Raw menu. Off the barely touched menu, I chose the Pasta (LOBSTER, KING CRAB, TRUFFLE BUTTER) and my husband chose the scallops (TURNIPS, WILD MUSHROOMS, SMOKED BUTTER). We both loved both selections but my husband was wanting another plate of his selection. On the lightly cooked menu, I chose the beef (SEARED TENDERLOIN, MUSHROOMS, ARMAGNAC-BLACK PEPPER SAUCE) cooked medium and my husband chose the snapper (BREAD CRUSTED, SAFFRON MOUSSELINE, BOUILLABAISSE SAUCE). Again, excellent! For dessert, we both chose the chocolate (SALTED CARAMEL CREMEUX, WHITE CHOCOLATE PARFAIT, MARACAIBO CRIOLAIT ICE CREAM) and some coffee. It was a very memorable Valentine's Day!

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Good food and excellent service. It is a MUST experience when you are in Grand Cayman.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Excellent seafood tasting menu and wine pairings. Wonderful service.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Outstanding food and service. Very very expensive. One of the finest dining experiences available anywhere. Arguably the best restaurant in the Caribbean.

Tags: Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 8, 2017

This is one of the best French restaurants that I have eaten in the world. It would easily rate a Michelin 3 Star rating if they were to come to the Cayman Islands. Every facet of excellence is manifested in Blue. The cocktails are classic, and perfectly prepared. The wine selection, aperitifs, and after-dinner drinks, is splendid, and the dinner menu with different course options is absolutely outstanding. Every food restriction and dietary concern or allergy is attended. The manager, sommelier, waiter captains, and service is very attentive and friendly.
I went to the Blue Restaurant 3X during my stay at the Ritz Carlton in Grand Cayman. This restaurant epitomizes what fine dining really is all about, and what a beautiful location!

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Good Vegetarian Options, Quiet Conversation, Outstanding Value, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on February 8, 2017

We dined at Blue on 2/8/17. An absolutely incredible meal experience from start to finish! Our waiter Anton and supporting wait staff were professional and perfectly choreographed. Every bite, sauce, dip, and dot on the plate had many levels of flavor and was very pleasing to us foodies.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 7, 2017

A truly unique dining experience. Every bite memorable for preparation, taste and presentation. Exceptional service attentive without being overly intrusive. A must if you are in Grand Cayman.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Service was too attentive. Our waiter insisted on elaborating on everything which was in my opinion not necessary

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Best food on any island in Caymans service par non

Tags: Disabled Access, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Molecular Gastronomy, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Service was phenomenal but I was disappointed in the majority of my dishes as they were heavily over salted (tartar, monkfish). The octopus was spectacular, however.
My friend ordered the scallops and the sole and those were also amazing. Overall a great experience but I wish they had tasted my food before it left the kitchen.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 3, 2017

The service is outstanding as is the wine list. But I have had the good fortune to experience La Bernadin along with Blue and Blue is not quite in that class. And given the La Bernadin like prices I doubt I will be back. Willing to pay for an amazing experience but not a pretty good one if that makes sense

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 3, 2017

We ate there twice on our visit to th Ritz Carlton ,the food was outstanding, service impeccable, wine choices fantastic an overall unforgettable experience , cannot wait to go back, our waiter Ronald was fantastic.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Fabulous experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Excellent dinner and perfectly prepared food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Absolutely outstanding meal. One of my top 5 ever. Did the 7 course tasting meal. Worth it, go for the splurge. I'm still thinking about that experience. So delicious. Service was also stellar.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 26, 2017

The meal served on our visit to Blue was the best meal of our stay on Grand Cayman. Very professional service, great
Selections on the menu. Presentation was superb, and the food was prepared with the best blends of flavor. Every bite from every course was a delight. Worth the price of the meal, they really set the bar high. Excellent job all at Blue!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Had the chef's tasting menu (the classic Eric Ripert menu) and it was truly excellent. The Tuna foie gras was a standout of the meal, as was the poached scallop with smoked butter. My dining mate didn't care for the wahoo (the sauce was a little heavy for her liking I think), but I enjoyed it and ate hers too :) Admittedly, of all the courses it was probably my least favorite, but I still enjoyed it. The cod with cocoa sauce, truffle and lentils was surprising and interesting (and delicious). The crust on the cod was perfection. Dessert was decadent and rich and just the right size after such a filing and enjoyable meal. The service was stand out. Glasses were always topped off, plates appeared and were removed with beautiful precision. Despite the upmost professionalism, the wait staff was warm and friendly. Such an enjoyable experience. I've been to Le Bernardain and Blue and haven't laid eyes on Eric Ripert -- I'll have to keep enjoying the amazing seafood in every city he has a restaurant until I do!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 25, 2017

I was nervous to go to Blue because I worried the food would be too fussy even though I love to cook and try new things. My husband was worried he would not have enough to eat but the reviews were so outstanding that we had to try it. I have to say the food and the service were outstanding. We are planning our trip next year for our anniversary and we will definitely be back to Blue

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 24, 2017

Wonderful food and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Totally overpriced and not worth it. Spent 50$ on a glass of wine and martini alone before dinner - and we are from NY... Food too deconstructed and not satisfying. Chef was also rude at the end of the $500 meal for 2 people.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Great 7 course tasting with wine pairing. One of the best I've had. Just under $1,000 tab for two, but it was fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Extraordinary-of course
The tuna foie gras is not to be missed. The octopus was the best I've ever had anywhere. Every dish was executed to perfection. Service was also impeccable. Only downside is that once inside the restaurant you could be in New York or DC or anywhere in the world. I had hoped to be looking out over the ocean. But that's a small detail. This is well worth the trip.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Blue by Eric Ripert is an unbelievable culanary experience. The service, presentation, wine list, sommelier, tasting menu, food preparation, timing and the incredible flavor profiles and combinations were all world-class. Warning: not for cheap-skates or the budget-conscious. Plan to go if you are seeking a superlative experience with great friends or family that you will remember fondly long after the bill is paid!

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 12, 2017

This restaurant was everything we had hoped. The service was like watching an orchestra. The food presentation was almost too good to eat as you didn't want to ruin the dishes beauty. We had a cocktail at the bar and even a simple kir royale was made with such beauty.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Outstanding in every aspect! Definitely one of my top 10 dining experience in my life!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 12, 2017

This was the best meal we had while visiting Grand Cayman for 6 nights. Of course it should be the best meal as it is the most highly ranked restaurant on the island. The room is beautiful and even the china adds an exquisite touch to the table when you sit down. The wait staff is obviously practiced, friendly without being obsequious and we were never referred to as "you guys" (a phrase far too common here in the states). My husband and I both had the 4 course a la carte menu and chose different options so that we could share. I started with the Tuna Foie Gras- a must have if you go, it was an absolutely breathtaking presentation and so delicious, my husband had the hamachi, also very good but the tuna was the winner in this round. For the next course my husband had the octopus and I had the pasta with lobster and crab. Again the octopus was very good but the pasta was outstanding, I could easily have made a meal out of just the pasta- so memorable. Third course included Dover Sole and poached Halibut, again beautifully prepared and delicious. And of course dessert, a small collection of preparations in categories such as Citrus, Chocolate, Hazelnut etc. We were guided to a delicious wine by Will, the sommelier, as well. Have to say, I've eaten at Le Bernardin and Blue is even better. I had some great meals in Grand Cayman, but Blue sets a bar that no one else comes close to matching.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Molecular Gastronomy, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Excellent, as usual. We have been going for years to celebrate my birthday or our anniversary when we visit the Caymans. Food was great ; we had the basic tasting menu with wine pairing. It has been two years since we visited and I believe the prices have gone up a lot. While it is our very favorite restaurant ever, next time we will probably order a la carte and just one wine since our bill was a shocker this time...

Tags: Private Room, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 8, 2017

6 course meal an epicurean delight. Vert Expensive though with tip and 4th most affordable wine, tab was still $540 usd

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.