About Blue by Eric Ripert at The Ritz Carlton Grand Cayman

West Bay Road
The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman
George Town, Grand Cayman 11209
View Larger Map

Indisputably, Grand Cayman’s premier restaurant. Blue by Eric Ripert is where both guests and Caymanians come to be beguiled by true epicurean artistry in the grand tradition of Le Bernardin.

•Seafood menus inspired by the bounty of Cayman’s fishermen
•Featuring locally-caught and responsibly-fished seafood
•Select from Prix Fixe or Blue by Eric Ripert and Blue Classics Tasting Menus
•Wine cellar featuring more than 800 selections

Awards:

•AAA Five Diamond Award 2008-2013
•Wine Spectator - Best of Award of Excellence 2008-2013

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Caribbean, Contemporary French

Hours of Operation:
Open for dinner: Tuesday through Saturday from 6 to 9 p.m.

Seasonal Closure: August 31 to November 19, 2014



Cross Street:
West Bay Road

Dress Code:
Jacket Preferred

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(345) 815-6912

Website:
http://www.ritzcarlton.com/en/Properties/GrandCayman/Dining/Blue-byEricRipert/Default.htm

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking.

Executive Chef:
Thomas Seifried

Private Party Facilities:
Semi-private dining for groups of 30-40 and a private dining room for 10.

Private Party Contact:
Andres Munoz: 345-815-6100x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Blue by Eric Ripert at The Ritz Carlton Grand Cayman Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.9

service

5

ambience

4.7

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Caribbean
Best Food
Caribbean
Best Service
Caribbean
5 More
Best Ambiance
Caribbean
Fit for Foodies
Caribbean
Romantic
Caribbean
Special Occasion
Caribbean
Most Booked
Cayman Islands
Best Restaurants in Grand Cayman ›

fit for foodies (42)
special occasion (41)
romantic (31)
See All
notable wine list (27)
hot spot (3)
good for groups (3)
neighborhood gem (2)
vibrant bar scene (2)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
172 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding food and service. Without qu ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

Outstanding food and service. Without question the best food in the Caymans

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We went there for dinner on 5/18/16, for ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

We went there for dinner on 5/18/16, for our big night out on our vacation. Had the 7 course tasting menu with the wine pairings, and it was an exquisite dinner - one of the best we have ever eaten. Even the amuse bouche offerings were very detailed preparations that were delicious, and paired with a very nice champagne. Very pricey, but if you visit Grand Cayman and want a fine dining seafood experience to remember, this is the place to go.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was excellent-service even better. ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Food was excellent-service even better. Be warned-it is in essence, a tasting menu-two different seven course options and a "build your own 3 or 4 pick." Many courses served raw which isn't to everyone's taste but all were fabulous-very flavorful and beautifully presented.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Among The Elite

vip
Dined on May 13, 2016

This was our first experience at an Eric Ripert restaurant and it did not disappoint. The seafood dishes were among the most creative we've ever seen. As many other reviewers have also said, the signature tuna foie-gras is surprisingly delicious -- perhaps the best dish on the menu. But my wife and I also agreed that the scallop with smoked butter is quite possibly the best scallop we've had anywhere ever. Service was impeccable with a polite waitstaff that was attentive without ever being overbearing. Our sommelier was very helpful in picking a great dry and complex Riesling to accompany our meal. The ambience was great, and would have made for a perfect romantic evening were it not for the crying baby at one of the back tables. It never would have happened in a restaurant of this caliber in NYC, but was probably to be expected given that Blue sits in the middle of the popular Grand Cayman Ritz-Carlton resort. The final bill was 'impressive' -- but not unexpected for a restaurant that's one of the world's top foodie destinations.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

My husband and I came to Grand Cayman fo ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

My husband and I came to Grand Cayman for an award trip and had heard that Blue was the best restaurant on the island. Typically hearing this kind of hype decreases our personal experience. This was definitely not the case. The food and the service was by far one of the best dining experiences we've ever had. It was worth every single penny. Thank you to Fred and Allwyn for being extraordinary. We appreciate all that you did to ensure we had a lovely diner!

food5
ambience5
service5

Exceptional dining experience. Make sure ...

vip
Dined on May 6, 2016

Exceptional dining experience. Make sure to bring your wallet (or first born) but so worth the price. Exceptionally prepared dishes and marvelous service. Always our "go to" place for a special meal when we are on-island.

food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Amazing Food

vip
Dined on April 29, 2016

What an experience! The food was unbelievable and the service could not have been better. One of if not the best dinner we've ever had. If I had one tiny negative comment it would be that the tables were a bit strange. The pedestal underneath was huge and made it difficult to find a comfortable place to put your feet. Having said that, do not miss out on dining there! First class food and experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food, Service, Atmosphere Top Notch

Dined on April 17, 2016

Very classy atmosphere and perfect service. Dishes came out paired very well with the wines and everything was thoughtfully presented and explained. The tuna and scallop in particular were world class offerings. Bartender also made an amazing Manhattan.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing meal in every regard. What a sup ...

Dined on April 15, 2016

Amazing meal in every regard. What a superior experience of dining and service.

food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding meal and service. Did the 7 ...

vip
Dined on April 6, 2016

Outstanding meal and service. Did the 7 course tasting with the "Vintage" wine pairing. Not sure you can ever justify $1500 for a meal for 2, but we were celebrating out honeymoon and if you could this would be the meal. Incredible taste matched by incredible plating accompanied by wines I would not typically have an opportunity to taste. A 1967 Chateu-Lafite Rothschild for instance.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wow we were blown away.

Dined on March 25, 2016

It was a not to be missed while on our vacation. Every bite was prepeared with amazing technique. Our tasting menu was a home run!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Excellent in every way!

vip
Dined on March 23, 2016

We dined at Blue while on vacation. We had our 7-yr old daughter with us and they went out of their way to make her comfortable. She remarked several times on how good the service was and said it was the best pasta she ever had. She's a pasta expert, so I trust her review! :) We did the 6 course tasting and it did not disappoint. The wine pairing was the perfect accompaniment. Each course was more mouth watering than the last. I started with the Tuna Foie Gras, the specialty, and my husband started with the oysters. Do not pass up the bread, it was delicious and not to be missed. Our server Camilla was terrific and she went out of her way to make sure all of our needs were accommodated. We would definitely dine here again!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous food and service.

Dined on March 20, 2016

Very quiet with excellent food and service. The decor was highly reflective of the island. Will return for sure.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant is excellent in every wa ...

Dined on March 17, 2016

This restaurant is excellent in every way!! We dined twice during the week, once with the Eric Ripert tasting menu with vintage wine pairings (an option I have not had before) and another with the 4 course al a carte menu. The service, food, wine are all on par with 3 star Le Bernandin but in a more casual atmosphere.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

An amazing dining experience!!

Dined on March 15, 2016

A true dining experience is what you get when you go to Blue. Impeccable service and food. The selections were very creative and full of flavor. It's a must do!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value2

Five Star Dining In Grand Cayman

vip
Dined on March 2, 2016

Ripert's Blue in the Ritz Carlton Grand Cayman is an outstanding restaurant that does not disappoint. Food, presentation, service and ambiance are all impressive. This restaurant is definitely a must if you are visiting Grand Cayman and want a five star gourmet experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

worth every dollar

Dined on February 20, 2016

This was the best restaurant I have ever eaten at. We went to celebrate an anniversary and the staff went out of their way to make it special. Every dish we had was out of this world and I can say this even though fish and seafood has never been my first choice for dining. I even loved the raw salmon appetizer. They had our favorite white wine on the menu and it is even difficult to find in the States. The prices are very high but this is one time I felt we got our money's worth. We will return there whenever we visit Grand Cayman.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Unreal dinning experience

vip
Dined on February 19, 2016

We enjoyed a 4 course meal that was perfect. Our waiter Andre made our evening a very special night. The food was top shelf, the service was impeccable and our experience will last forever, a perfect choice.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

We did the Eric Ripert tasting menu with ...

vip
Dined on February 18, 2016

We did the Eric Ripert tasting menu with wine pairings, same as we have done each visit. We both thoroughly enjoyed all but one of the courses, and even that one was not bad, it just did not compare to the deliciousness of the other courses. We were also offered 2 amuse bouche, and those were also outstanding. This is our favorite special occasion restaurant in Cayman and it always delivers.

food5
ambience4
service5

Recommend six-course tasting menu with w ...

vip
Dined on February 18, 2016

Recommend six-course tasting menu with wine pairing. Very expensive, but an incredible experience if you love seafood, both cooked and raw.

food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic experience. Can't wait to retu ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

Fantastic experience. Can't wait to return!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

favorite restaurant

vip
Dined on February 13, 2016

This is the best restaurant, especially for seafood. Beats even its NYC counterpart. Everything is so fresh, service is impeccable. We go every time we are in Grand Cayman. Don't miss it. It's pricey, but so worth it!

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Romance at Ripert's

Dined on February 12, 2016

My husband and I went to Blue for dinner on Feb. 12th. The wait staff was extremely professional, knowledgeable and friendly. They all knew every nuance of the menu and enjoyed sharing their enthusiasm for Chef Ripert's creations with us. The menu showcased local seafood which was presented with an elegant French flair. We've eaten at Le Bernadin in NYC, but we both felt that Blue surpassed both the food and ambiance. I would definitely recommend Blue and can't wait to return!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best restaurants in the world!

Dined on February 12, 2016

Blue is an amazing restaurant! Top of the notch, fancy and a must splurge on yourself and whoever is with you in Grand Cayman's. Ripert known for his creativity of seafood and sauce. Every dish came with its own special sauce, delicately pour on your dish before you. The service was amazing! You get to be treated like a king or a Queen there. All the staff are so attentive. The price for the meal corresponded to the level of service you get. Top notch!!!! I definitely will return to this restaurant when I return to the island!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent Experience

Dined on February 11, 2016

Everything was amazing start to finish. An wonderful experience with excellent food.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

gourmet

Dined on February 11, 2016

True gourmet NYC style. Over priced for the quality of the food. The Food was nice and well presented and prepared but not superb.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

The waitress was extremely knowledgable ...

Dined on February 11, 2016

The waitress was extremely knowledgable and helpful. The staff actively accommodated a young child. The sommelier understood our interests and made excellent, appropriate suggestions. The food was innovative and delicious but absolutely grounded in local products and tradition. Our meal was a great experience.

food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Amazing Meal - Amazing Service

Dined on February 7, 2016

Booked this because we had the privilege of dining at Le Bernardin in NYC and couldn't pass up the opportunity to try another of Eric Ripert's restaurants. Amazing wine list, fantastic service and food that was on-par with that of it's sister restaurant in NYC. They expertly served us the tasting menu, adapting plates to my allergy requirements and leaving my husband to experience the original dish. My experience was just as good as his was, which is saying a lot about the skill of the chefs. The wine pairing was amazing and we tried some very unusual wines that we would otherwise not had the chance to taste. Just a great night overall. Highly recommend a visit.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Most Incredible!

vip
Dined on February 5, 2016

Have been to Blue many times but last evening was one of the most incredible meals. It was a very special birthday and the team at Blue did not disappoint. Had the Eric Ripert Tasting Menu paired with some of the most incredible wines. We have always enjoyed Blue but last evening was truly memorable and one we will never forget. Thank you to Andre & Pedro for their outstanding service.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Absolutely delicious and service was imp ...

Dined on February 4, 2016

Absolutely delicious and service was impeccable.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a lovely birthday dinner here whi ...

vip
Dined on January 29, 2016

We had a lovely birthday dinner here while in Grand Cayman. Everything was exemplary and was up to the standards of Le Bernardin. Of note, we did this dinner with a three year old who was welcomed warmly by the staff, an unusual combination of amazing dining and kid-friendly.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service5
value1

Set Menu High Price

vip
Dined on January 28, 2016

The ambiance is wonderful and the service is outstanding. The food is way over priced due to you have to purchase a set 4, 5 or 6 course dinner. They give you no flexibility to just order just what you want in case you don't want 4 course dinner. The wine pairing is a joke, you only get 2 oz per course. The food is way over seasoned so there is no way to taste the seafood as the flavors are so strong. Personally don't think it is worth the money. If you do go make sure someone else is paying and go very hungry.

food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing service and food

vip
Dined on January 22, 2016

Amazing service and food

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fabulous Experience

vip
Dined on January 14, 2016

This "Le Bernadin" in the Cayman's is an excellent restaurant. Multiple visits confirm a consistent experience. Excellent staff, fabulous food, knowledgeable Sommelier. Will return.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Extraordinary meal with outstanding service.

vip
Dined on January 9, 2016

We ate at Blue to celebrate my husband's birthday. While prices are high, the service was impeccable without being stuffy, and the food was, in a word, extraordinary. The halibut was the whitest piece of fish I have ever seen, and was fabulous. Equally delicious were the cobia and the seared tuna. Even the amuse bouche was terrific, and the restaurant paid special attention to a food allergy and tailored my tasting accordingly. Cocktails were excellent and the waiter recommended an excellent bottle of wine within my price range. I cannot say enough wonderful things about the restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

Underwhelming wine

Dined on January 8, 2016

Our fourth dinner at Blue we continue to marvel at the quality and consistency of their cuisine. The tuna foie gras remains unrivaled, the poached scallop was rich and succulent. The almond crusted dover sole is not to missed despite its supplement charge. The delicate conch dish was favored over the cobia fish. Lowest rated in our group of four was the pumpkin lobster/crab cannelloni. We tend to not get the tasting menu but rather opt for the four course which enables four willing to share to enjoy a wider range of dishes selecting four dishes from each menu. Our complaint is the wine pairing options. The 3 course pairing ($75US) from their "By the Glass" menu which we felt was underwhelming. Check By the Glass on line before ordering. We wanted to purchase individual bottles to pair but were persuaded to go with the pairings. To satisfy our stated concerns for quality wines, we were encouraged to try the "Rare Vintage" pairing for $225 for three glasses of rare wine. I took the bait thinking it an opportunity to sample wines i couldn't find at reasonable cost. The first (call it $75 glass of wine) was a non-vintage Krug Grand Cru champagne. Wonderful but one shouldn't serve non-vintage champagne as part of the Rare Vintage offering. Second a glass of 2009 Puligny Montrachet Les Pucelles from Jadot. A competent white burgundy but neither rare nor stellar vintage. Lastly, the 1979 Pauillac Les Forts De Latour. A rarer vintage, not exceptional like 1978 or 1982 and not the expected "high end" tasting of more expensive bottles as this Latour is still available for under $100. Best advice research their bottle list, go with four diners (very few half bottles to alternate with so plan on buying 750 ml) and do a champagne, a white burgundy, a Reisling and a Pinot Noir. Assuming around $100 per bottle, total wine expense at $400. We paid $450 and found the wines underwhelming.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

In the league of its flagship, Le Bernardin

vip
Dined on January 1, 2016

There is a reason Ripert keeps his portfolio small. Of course bc of his philosophy for life balance, but also for the level of service and attention. This place would be 4/5* in NYC easily and would get a Michelin star or 2...nearly as good as Le Bernardin. Service is world class. The food is fresh and excellent. Didn't like that of say, 5 choices per category (almost raw, barely touched, lightly cooked) at ~2 it seemed had upcharges to get them as described. Adding on truffle or foie gras makes sense, but I'd prefer not to feel up-sold. Caviar service was diving, Keluga is a great choice. Sadly on NYE chef only had enough for the dishes not tin service. I tried everything on my trips there. Standouts were CANNELLONI KING CRAB, PUMPKIN CRÈME, PUMPKIN SEED EMULSION...creamy and warm, sweetness of seafood and crème; DOVER SOLE (Supplement) SAUTÉED, ALMOND-PISTACHIO, BROWN BUTTER-TAMARIND, WAHOO - GRILLED, BOK CHOY, GREEN PAPAYA, SAMBAL SAUCE....fish with a crisp shell, perfect on the inside, the sauce a triumph; and TUNA-FOIE GRAS THINLY POUNDED LOCAL TUNA, FOIE GRAS, TOASTED BAGUETTE, CHIVES...fresh but with a touch of decadence. A bad dish here is one you would rave about.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Absolutely the best in Grand Cayman!

Dined on January 1, 2016

Blue by Eric Ripert at the Ritz Carlton Grand Cayman is one of the best restaurants I ever dined. Not only does it worth the 5-dimonds designation received from the AAA, but also a 3 stars by Michelin, which, for some reason it still did not obtain. This restaurant is on the same level with Eric Ripert's Michelin 3-Star Le Bernardin in New York City!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value1

Bizarrely expensive

Dined on December 29, 2015

I have had wonderful meals from Shanghai to Berlin and this was the most expensive meal I have even had! We have had Michelin starred tasting menus before that have been equal or better than this and none came close this on price. I felt taken and a sucker for having dined here. Don't walk away from this place RUN! It is a joke!

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Not far off from its sister flagship of NY cuisine

vip
Dined on December 27, 2015

There is a reason Ripert keeps his portfolio small. Of course bc of his philosophy for life balance, but also for the level of service and attention. This place would be 4/5* in NYC easily and would get a Michelin star or 2...nearly as good as Le Bernardin. Service is world class. The food is fresh and excellent. Didn't like that of say, 5 choices per category (almost raw, barely touched, lightly cooked) at ~2 it seemed had upcharges to get them as described. Adding on truffle or foie gras makes sense, but I'd prefer not to feel up-sold. Caviar service was diving, Keluga is a great choice. Sadly on NYE chef only had enough for the dishes not tin service. I tried everything on my trips there. Standouts were CANNELLONI KING CRAB, PUMPKIN CRÈME, PUMPKIN SEED EMULSION...creamy and warm, sweetness of seafood and crème; DOVER SOLE (Supplement) SAUTÉED, ALMOND-PISTACHIO, BROWN BUTTER-TAMARIND, WAHOO - GRILLED, BOK CHOY, GREEN PAPAYA, SAMBAL SAUCE....fish with a crisp shell, perfect on the inside, the sauce a triumph; and TUNA-FOIE GRAS THINLY POUNDED LOCAL TUNA, FOIE GRAS, TOASTED BAGUETTE, CHIVES...fresh but with a touch of decadence. A bad dish here is one you would rave about.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.