About Blue by Eric Ripert at The Ritz Carlton Grand Cayman

West Bay Road
The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman
George Town, Grand Cayman 11209
View Larger Map

Indisputably, Grand Cayman’s premier restaurant. Blue by Eric Ripert is where both guests and Caymanians come to be beguiled by true epicurean artistry in the grand tradition of Le Bernardin.

•Seafood menus inspired by the bounty of Cayman’s fishermen
•Featuring locally-caught and responsibly-fished seafood
•Select from Prix Fixe or Blue by Eric Ripert and Blue Classics Tasting Menus
•Wine cellar featuring more than 800 selections

Awards:

•AAA Five Diamond Award 2008-2013
•Wine Spectator - Best of Award of Excellence 2008-2013

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Caribbean, Contemporary French

Hours of Operation:
Open for dinner: Tuesday through Saturday from 6 to 9 p.m.

Seasonal Closure: August 31 to November 19, 2014



Cross Street:
West Bay Road

Dress Code:
Jacket Preferred

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(345) 815-6912

Website:
http://www.ritzcarlton.com/en/Properties/GrandCayman/Dining/Blue-byEricRipert/Default.htm

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking.

Executive Chef:
Thomas Seifried

Private Party Facilities:
Semi-private dining for groups of 30-40 and a private dining room for 10.

Private Party Contact:
Andres Munoz: 345-815-6100x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Blue by Eric Ripert at The Ritz Carlton Grand Cayman Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.9

service

5.0

ambience

4.9

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Caribbean
Best Food
Caribbean
Best Service
Caribbean
6 More
Best Ambiance
Caribbean
Best Value
Caribbean
Fit for Foodies
Caribbean
Romantic
Caribbean
Special Occasion
Caribbean
Most Booked
Cayman Islands
Best Restaurants in Grand Cayman ›

Special Occasion (28)
Romantic (23)
Fit for Foodies (22)
See All
Notable Wine List (19)
Hot Spot (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Scenic View (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sort By:
Newest
197 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Despite its remote location in the Carib ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Despite its remote location in the Caribean, this was one of the best meals we've ever had. Everything was exquisite and delicious. As if it were here in NY with Ripert standing in the kitchen. This is the best restauran on Grand Cayman by a wide margin.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

BLUE was one of the most special dining ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

BLUE was one of the most special dining experiences my wife and I have ever had. We were here for our wedding anniversary and wanted to mark the occasion with this very special experience, and what an experience it was. Alvin our head waiter and his staff looked after us from beginning to end. We enjoyed great conversation with them and they "read" us perfectly and knew just how we wanted to be taken care of. We were there for almost 2 hours! From the wine selection with the aid of a very knowledgeable sommelier, to the mind reading gentleman that handled the bread (we laughed when he knew exactly when we were in need of more.)The Menu is amazing. And I mean amazing. The choices are indeed incredible. We both went with the 4 course meals (The 7 course choices for us were just too much food ) and carefully tried not to duplicate each other's so we may have a chance to have a taste of something else. As expected the course portions are not hugh but more then sufficient to grab a taste. As many have said in other reviews the Tuna Foie Gras was in fact delicious with an amazing plate presentation as well as the Hamachi, Langoustine,Cannelloni,Main lobster and the Beef. Secret #1. The Beef tenderloin med rare is a very generous portion and a welcome change of palette from all the sea food.. Secret # 3. Most all courses have an amazing accompaniment that are just waiting to be soaked up by another piece of bread.Dont be shy they encourage it! We choose to usually eat early on vacation so we had 7pm reservations. Secret #2. Go early as you will have all their attention and we were seated at quiet arguably the best table in the house. Half crescent, very cozy and romantic, and we were able to view the entire restaurant through out the evening. Do we usually spend $500+ for Dinner (w/bottle of wine and Champagne toast) ? No, we don't. But when we do this is how to do it. To the staff at BLUE..Thank you for making a wonderful evening for us to enjoy.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is one of those dining experiences ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

This is one of those dining experiences that stay with you for a long time - in a good way. Chef Ripert's reputation is extremely well deserved. The tuna foie gras may be one of, if not thee, best things I've ever tasted. He elevates simple ingredients to unconscionable levels. The caviar service is by far the most elegant and inventive we've ever enjoyed. And to say nothing of the service, which was as warm and welcoming as you could hope to receive. Completely unpretentious (unlike many other aspects of the property) in the one place where they could put on airs. This visit has inspired a visit to NYC simply to dine at La Bernardin. Bravo Chef, Bravo!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a seven course tasting menu and ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

We had a seven course tasting menu and shared a wine pairing. The food and service were excellent. Many additional chef additions made for a fabulous dinner. The scallop was by far the best we have ever had. Quite pricey but for a once per vacation fine dining experience, Blue was excellent.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful service and fabulous food! Wh ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Wonderful service and fabulous food! What a lovely experience for our special dinner together. Will definitely come back!

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food, location, and the servic ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Excellent food, location, and the service was fantastic!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Stunning seafood as you would expect fro ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Stunning seafood as you would expect from Mr Ripert. The tuna and foie gras was divine, easily the dish of the day. Service was very professional and (thankfully) more restrained than in other restaurants at the Ritz.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The food was exceptional. The service hi ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

The food was exceptional. The service highly attentive. As fine a dining experience as I have ever had the pleasure to enjoy.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service and good reflected previous revi ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Service and good reflected previous reviews. Experience was impeccable. Good, staff and experience was on point. We had the 4 course experience. They made you feel welcome and fully embraced the essence of the environment. Kieren and VJ our servers were so awesome and made our post bday and graduation celebration a wonderful experience. Can't wait to go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Amazing place.

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Amazing place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great for FOODIES! A must when visiting ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Great for FOODIES! A must when visiting Grand Cayman.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was amazing! Everything was ver ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

The food was amazing! Everything was very fresh. The attention to detail was very powerful and made the experience memorable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I had my 40th B-day dinner at Blue (by m ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

I had my 40th B-day dinner at Blue (by myself) and it was a FANTABULOUS experience. It was worth every penny and the service was superb. I wasn't feeling well for my entire stay, but everyone at the Ritz and Blue made my b-day trip special. THANK YOU!!

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The cooked scallops are a marvel, and th ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The cooked scallops are a marvel, and the waiter's recommendations were "spot on" except for the cannelloni stuffed with crab which was tasteless. The food presentations were fabulous. The wine by the glass options were very pricey and not very enjoyable. The sommalier was very pleasant and anxious to please me.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

We dined here to celebrate my husband's ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

We dined here to celebrate my husband's milestone birthday. We enjoyed Eric Ripert's tasting menu with wine pairings. The food presentations were delicious, the wine parings were perfect, the staff was delightful, and the service was impeccable.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Superior experience. Wonderful food and ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Superior experience. Wonderful food and excellent service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had heard mixed reviews before visiti ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

We had heard mixed reviews before visiting and were slightly tentative. However, we weren't disappointed! The waitstaff was pleasant and attentive. We were celebrating my boyfriend's birthday (9pm on a Saturday) and decided to get the Ripert Tasting Menu. I would highly recommend this option - we had the best scallops we've ever had! We also agreed it was the best meal we've had as far as balance of texture. Every part on the plate was well thought out.

Our waiter, Alvin, even encourages us to "mop up" the sauces/broths with the breads and offered them at each course. We estimated that it would be quite pricey, and our meal (including drinks), was about $500USD. It isn't something we can afford often, but would certainly recommend it to anyone looking for a special meal!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Having dined in many fine restaurants in ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Having dined in many fine restaurants in New York, across the US and Europe, I can honestly say that Blue may have been the very best. Magnificent setting. Exceptional service. Extraordinarily creative and tantalizing culinary experience.

Memorable.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The. Most. Amazing. Meal. Ever. Period. ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

The. Most. Amazing. Meal. Ever. Period. The service is impeccable and the creativity and flavors of the dishes are each spectacular.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best meal we've ever had...perfect in ev ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Best meal we've ever had...perfect in every way from start to finish. We had the Rippert tasting menu and I highly recommend it. I ate food I would not have normally ordered and loved it. The presentation was beautiful!! Service was precise and professional. Could not have picked a better spot for our 25th anniversary!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Indulge

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

Some meals are just worth it. This is one. My husband doesn't eat fish and he gobbled up every morsel. The steak was the best he will ever have and we live near top steakhouses. No meal can compare. Every detail is noticed. Service-impeccable.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My wife and I had an exceptional experie ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

My wife and I had an exceptional experience at Blue while we were on our honeymoon. Aside from the fine dining you would expect from an Eric Ripert restaurant, the service really made the night memorable. Our server, Audi (not sure of the spelling), presented each course with a thorough explanation of the chef's creation and the nuances to look for in the pairing. All the while, he would pepper in fun anecdotes about the origins of the dish and the vineyards we were learning about. For the final pairing, he and the sommelier substituted a 100 year old port wine for the standard pairing to make the evening extra special.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had the Eric Ripert tasting menu alon ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 31, 2016

We had the Eric Ripert tasting menu along with the wine pairing. Absolutely phenomenal. Exceeded high expectations. The high cost was well worth the experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding food and service. Without qu ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

Outstanding food and service. Without question the best food in the Caymans

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We went there for dinner on 5/18/16, for ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

We went there for dinner on 5/18/16, for our big night out on our vacation. Had the 7 course tasting menu with the wine pairings, and it was an exquisite dinner - one of the best we have ever eaten. Even the amuse bouche offerings were very detailed preparations that were delicious, and paired with a very nice champagne. Very pricey, but if you visit Grand Cayman and want a fine dining seafood experience to remember, this is the place to go.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Food was excellent-service even better. ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Food was excellent-service even better. Be warned-it is in essence, a tasting menu-two different seven course options and a "build your own 3 or 4 pick." Many courses served raw which isn't to everyone's taste but all were fabulous-very flavorful and beautifully presented.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Among The Elite

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

This was our first experience at an Eric Ripert restaurant and it did not disappoint. The seafood dishes were among the most creative we've ever seen. As many other reviewers have also said, the signature tuna foie-gras is surprisingly delicious -- perhaps the best dish on the menu. But my wife and I also agreed that the scallop with smoked butter is quite possibly the best scallop we've had anywhere ever. Service was impeccable with a polite waitstaff that was attentive without ever being overbearing. Our sommelier was very helpful in picking a great dry and complex Riesling to accompany our meal. The ambience was great, and would have made for a perfect romantic evening were it not for the crying baby at one of the back tables. It never would have happened in a restaurant of this caliber in NYC, but was probably to be expected given that Blue sits in the middle of the popular Grand Cayman Ritz-Carlton resort. The final bill was 'impressive' -- but not unexpected for a restaurant that's one of the world's top foodie destinations.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My husband and I came to Grand Cayman fo ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

My husband and I came to Grand Cayman for an award trip and had heard that Blue was the best restaurant on the island. Typically hearing this kind of hype decreases our personal experience. This was definitely not the case. The food and the service was by far one of the best dining experiences we've ever had. It was worth every single penny. Thank you to Fred and Allwyn for being extraordinary. We appreciate all that you did to ensure we had a lovely diner!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Exceptional dining experience. Make sure ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

Exceptional dining experience. Make sure to bring your wallet (or first born) but so worth the price. Exceptionally prepared dishes and marvelous service. Always our "go to" place for a special meal when we are on-island.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing Food

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

What an experience! The food was unbelievable and the service could not have been better. One of if not the best dinner we've ever had. If I had one tiny negative comment it would be that the tables were a bit strange. The pedestal underneath was huge and made it difficult to find a comfortable place to put your feet. Having said that, do not miss out on dining there! First class food and experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Food, Service, Atmosphere Top Notch

 
 (New England)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

Very classy atmosphere and perfect service. Dishes came out paired very well with the wines and everything was thoughtfully presented and explained. The tuna and scallop in particular were world class offerings. Bartender also made an amazing Manhattan.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing meal in every regard. What a sup ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 15, 2016

Amazing meal in every regard. What a superior experience of dining and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding meal and service. Did the 7 ...

vip
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on April 6, 2016

Outstanding meal and service. Did the 7 course tasting with the "Vintage" wine pairing. Not sure you can ever justify $1500 for a meal for 2, but we were celebrating out honeymoon and if you could this would be the meal. Incredible taste matched by incredible plating accompanied by wines I would not typically have an opportunity to taste. A 1967 Chateu-Lafite Rothschild for instance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wow we were blown away.

 
 (Caribbean)
·Dined on March 25, 2016

It was a not to be missed while on our vacation. Every bite was prepeared with amazing technique. Our tasting menu was a home run!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent in every way!

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on March 23, 2016

We dined at Blue while on vacation. We had our 7-yr old daughter with us and they went out of their way to make her comfortable. She remarked several times on how good the service was and said it was the best pasta she ever had. She's a pasta expert, so I trust her review! :)

We did the 6 course tasting and it did not disappoint. The wine pairing was the perfect accompaniment. Each course was more mouth watering than the last. I started with the Tuna Foie Gras, the specialty, and my husband started with the oysters. Do not pass up the bread, it was delicious and not to be missed. Our server Camilla was terrific and she went out of her way to make sure all of our needs were accommodated.

We would definitely dine here again!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Fabulous food and service.

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on March 20, 2016

Very quiet with excellent food and service. The decor was highly reflective of the island. Will return for sure.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant is excellent in every wa ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on March 17, 2016

This restaurant is excellent in every way!! We dined twice during the week, once with the Eric Ripert tasting menu with vintage wine pairings (an option I have not had before) and another with the 4 course al a carte menu. The service, food, wine are all on par with 3 star Le Bernandin but in a more casual atmosphere.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

An amazing dining experience!!

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on March 15, 2016

A true dining experience is what you get when you go to Blue. Impeccable service and food. The selections were very creative and full of flavor. It's a must do!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Five Star Dining In Grand Cayman

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 2, 2016

Ripert's Blue in the Ritz Carlton Grand Cayman is an outstanding restaurant that does not disappoint. Food, presentation, service and ambiance are all impressive. This restaurant is definitely a must if you are visiting Grand Cayman and want a five star gourmet experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value2

Excellant all the way

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on February 25, 2016

Excellant all the way

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.