About Blue by Eric Ripert at The Ritz Carlton Grand Cayman

West Bay Road
The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman
George Town, Grand Cayman 11209
View Larger Map

Indisputably, Grand Cayman’s premier restaurant. Blue by Eric Ripert is where both guests and Caymanians come to be beguiled by true epicurean artistry in the grand tradition of Le Bernardin.

•Seafood menus inspired by the bounty of Cayman’s fishermen
•Featuring locally-caught and responsibly-fished seafood
•Select from Prix Fixe or Blue by Eric Ripert and Blue Classics Tasting Menus
•Wine cellar featuring more than 800 selections

Awards
Blue by Eric Ripert is the only restaurant in Grand Cayman to earn the distinction of the AAA Five Diamond Award.
AAA Five Diamond Award, 2008 - Present
Wine Spectator’s Best of Award of Excellence, 2008 - Present

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Open Tuesday through Saturday,
6 p.m. to 9 p.m. (last seating).





Cross Street:
West Bay Road

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(345) 815-6912

Website:
http://www.ritzcarlton.com/en/hotels/caribbean/grand-cayman/dining/blue

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking.

Executive Chef:
Thomas Seifried

Private Party Facilities:
For intimate occasions, special celebrations or entertaining corporate clients, Blue by Eric Ripert offers elegant private dining rooms to accommodate various events – from secluded dining for 10 or semi-private dining spaces for groups of 30 to 40.

Private Party Contact:
Peter Baics: (345) 815-6912

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
NEW YEARS EVE AT BLUE
December 31, 2016 · Dinner served from 6:00 p.m. · Blue by Eric Ripert
Celebrate New Year’s Eve with true epicurean artistry at Blue by Eric Ripert. Exquisite selections of the finest seafood will be artfully served to celebrate and toast to the New Year.
Adults with wine pairing, $500 CI · Adults without wine pairing, $350 CI. Children 6-12 years, $95 CI.
CURRENCY: Prices are quoted in $CI • EVENT INFORMATION & RESERVATIONS: +1-345-815-6912
*Prepayment required in order to confirm your reservation or order. Please note service charge is not included.

Blue by Eric Ripert at The Ritz Carlton Grand Cayman Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.9

service

4.9

ambience

4.7

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Anniversaries (11)
Special Occasion (9)
Romantic (9)
See All
Tasting Menu (7)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Good for a Date (5)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Business Meals (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Cozy (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Historic (1)
Seasonal (1)
Authentic (1)
Private Room (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Sort By:
S
225 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great 7 course tasting with wine pairing ...

 
·Dined a day ago

Great 7 course tasting with wine pairing. One of the best I've had. Just under $1,000 tab for two, but it was fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Blue by Eric Ripert is an unbelievable c ...

 
·Dined on January 13, 2017

Blue by Eric Ripert is an unbelievable culanary experience. The service, presentation, wine list, sommelier, tasting menu, food preparation, timing and the incredible flavor profiles and combinations were all world-class. Warning: not for cheap-skates or the budget-conscious. Plan to go if you are seeking a superlative experience with great friends or family that you will remember fondly long after the bill is paid!

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

This restaurant was everything we had ho ...

 
·Dined on January 12, 2017

This restaurant was everything we had hoped. The service was like watching an orchestra. The food presentation was almost too good to eat as you didn't want to ruin the dishes beauty. We had a cocktail at the bar and even a simple kir royale was made with such beauty.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was the best meal we had while visi ...

 
·Dined on January 12, 2017

This was the best meal we had while visiting Grand Cayman for 6 nights. Of course it should be the best meal as it is the most highly ranked restaurant on the island. The room is beautiful and even the china adds an exquisite touch to the table when you sit down. The wait staff is obviously practiced, friendly without being obsequious and we were never referred to as "you guys" (a phrase far too common here in the states). My husband and I both had the 4 course a la carte menu and chose different options so that we could share. I started with the Tuna Foie Gras- a must have if you go, it was an absolutely breathtaking presentation and so delicious, my husband had the hamachi, also very good but the tuna was the winner in this round. For the next course my husband had the octopus and I had the pasta with lobster and crab. Again the octopus was very good but the pasta was outstanding, I could easily have made a meal out of just the pasta- so memorable. Third course included Dover Sole and poached Halibut, again beautifully prepared and delicious. And of course dessert, a small collection of preparations in categories such as Citrus, Chocolate, Hazelnut etc. We were guided to a delicious wine by Will, the sommelier, as well. Have to say, I've eaten at Le Bernardin and Blue is even better. I had some great meals in Grand Cayman, but Blue sets a bar that no one else comes close to matching.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Molecular Gastronomy, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Excellent, as usual. We have been going ...

 
·Dined on January 11, 2017

Excellent, as usual. We have been going for years to celebrate my birthday or our anniversary when we visit the Caymans. Food was great ; we had the basic tasting menu with wine pairing. It has been two years since we visited and I believe the prices have gone up a lot. While it is our very favorite restaurant ever, next time we will probably order a la carte and just one wine since our bill was a shocker this time...

Tags: Private Room, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

6 course meal an epicurean delight. Ver ...

 
·Dined on January 8, 2017

6 course meal an epicurean delight. Vert Expensive though with tip and 4th most affordable wine, tab was still $540 usd

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Phenomenal dining atmosphere. Food was o ...

 
·Dined on January 3, 2017

Phenomenal dining atmosphere. Food was out of this world. Presentation was exquisite. Service was top notch

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding food. Beautiful atmosphere. ...

 
·Dined on December 31, 2016

Outstanding food. Beautiful atmosphere. Experienced wait staff. Nice variety of cocktails. Overall a very enjoyable experience.

Tags: Seasonal, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

My wife and I had the Eric Ripert tastin ...

 
·Dined on December 30, 2016

My wife and I had the Eric Ripert tasting menu and thoroughly enjoyed each course. I started with the house Gin & Tonic which was a twist on the normal gin and tonic. Was lightly shaken with egg white and topped with a campari dust and was excellent. The sommelier was very helpful in navigating the extensive wine list and gave excellent choices in a wide $ range. If you don't mind spending at least $600 for a dinner for 2 with drinks I would highly recommend Blue.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Hands down The Best Dining Experience Ev ...

 
·Dined on December 30, 2016

Hands down The Best Dining Experience Ever. My girlfriend and I arrived early and were welcomed immediately. We were seated promptly and enjoyed incredible drinks and the most amazing food I have ever had in over 60 years. A must life time experience. Outstanding personal service, professional, friendly, and always attentive. Chose the four course dinner which seemed to have just the right size portions but we were full by the end of the meal. Every bite was incredibly delicious. Highly recommended without any reservation. You will remember this gastronomic experience!!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The restaurant is visually stunning. I ...

 
·Dined on December 26, 2016

The restaurant is visually stunning.

I wish I could say the same for the food. We felt pressured to order the new menu.

The cocktail was stellar. Bartender, you rocked the special gin & tonic

The service was amazing.

The food. Not worth any price.

$5.00 or $1,800. Please get it together. Your bartender rocks, Servers great, but what's with the chef besides lobster pasta and tuna fois gras? The best things on the menu in elf portions. I wish I could give great reviews and I usually do. In this case, Who can.

Wish we would have ordered Eric Ripert's side. We will next time.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value5

We tried many Michelin starred resaturan ...

 
·Dined on December 25, 2016

We tried many Michelin starred resaturant across the World and our experience at Blue was completely positive.

If you are looking for a gourmet dinner I think that this is "the place" in GC.

Just a minor complaint: more attention to local products in the menu could lead to a even more fullfilling experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing five star experience.

 
·Dined on December 24, 2016

Amazing five star experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely service delicious cuisine

 
·Dined on December 23, 2016

Lovely service delicious cuisine

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great all around! The food and ambience ...

 
·Dined on December 23, 2016

Great all around! The food and ambience were excellent, but the highlight was the staff... everyone was terrific and at the top of their game... the hostess, the waiter, all the runners, the bartender (who made a great Lillet cocktail) and the sommelier (who was spot on with wine and who encouraged us to try a complimentary Pinot Noir to ones on the list that we knew and liked, but had not had before). We had a great wine and a new favorite.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The restaurant is expensive - but the fo ...

 
·Dined on December 23, 2016

The restaurant is expensive - but the food is amazing! I wouldn't take anyone under 18 because I don't think they would appreciate it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Having been to Le Bernardin and had a gr ...

 
·Dined on December 20, 2016

Having been to Le Bernardin and had a great time, we decided to take in Blue, while in The Cayman and were not disappointed. The food and service was excellent, along with some great cocktails. I would recommend Blue to any couples looking to treat yourselves and not worry too much about the cost.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

My husband and I went with another coupl ...

 
·Dined on December 16, 2016

My husband and I went with another couple and did the 6-course tasting menu. The meal was outstanding and we felt as if we were treated like royalty. One of our party had a nut allergy and the team brought out special bread that had been prepared in a nut-free kitchen. Each course (there were 10 in total, even though we paid for 6) was better than the last. The presentation was artistic and elegant, the ingredients fresh. The wine doubled our bill but the somm's recommendations were superb - we should have done the wine pairing but thought 7 glasses might be too much.

Tags: Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The food is outstanding. Be prepared to ...

 
·Dined on December 10, 2016

The food is outstanding. Be prepared to spend at least $200 per head though. There is a tasting menu, or, a four course set price a la carte option with supplements for several items. Our bill for two was just shy of $600, and that was with a modestly priced bottle of wine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Blue was epic! It definitely is very ex ...

 
·Dined on December 8, 2016

Blue was epic! It definitely is very expensive, but it was our 12th Anniversary and we decided to splurge. So happy we did - the food and wine, along with the service was excellent!!! It was an unforgettable dinner! Eric Ripert was there and came to our table and shook our hands. Thank you, Blue!!!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Top restaurant on all aspects -- period!

 
·Dined on December 3, 2016

Top restaurant on all aspects -- period!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value1

Unbelievable tasting menu. The service ...

 
·Dined on November 27, 2016

Unbelievable tasting menu. The service and food were perfection.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

One of the best meals our family has sha ...

 
·Dined on November 24, 2016

One of the best meals our family has shared

Top notch service & amazing food!

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Having dined at Blue multiple times and ...

 
·Dined on November 22, 2016

Having dined at Blue multiple times and in the past always feeling that Blue had a slight edge over Le Bernardin, this time a bit of a disappointment. It is still a very good dining experience but not the excellent experience of the past.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Dinner at Blue was phenomenal! It is tr ...

 
·Dined on November 18, 2016

Dinner at Blue was phenomenal! It is truly a culinary experience. The creativity and execution of the dishes are works of art from true masters. The service is absolutely impeccable and to watch the evening unfold like an beautiful opera delights both the visual and taste senses.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Despite its remote location in the Carib ...

 
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Despite its remote location in the Caribean, this was one of the best meals we've ever had. Everything was exquisite and delicious. As if it were here in NY with Ripert standing in the kitchen. This is the best restauran on Grand Cayman by a wide margin.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

BLUE was one of the most special dining ...

 
·Dined on August 18, 2016

BLUE was one of the most special dining experiences my wife and I have ever had. We were here for our wedding anniversary and wanted to mark the occasion with this very special experience, and what an experience it was. Alvin our head waiter and his staff looked after us from beginning to end. We enjoyed great conversation with them and they "read" us perfectly and knew just how we wanted to be taken care of. We were there for almost 2 hours! From the wine selection with the aid of a very knowledgeable sommelier, to the mind reading gentleman that handled the bread (we laughed when he knew exactly when we were in need of more.)The Menu is amazing. And I mean amazing. The choices are indeed incredible. We both went with the 4 course meals (The 7 course choices for us were just too much food ) and carefully tried not to duplicate each other's so we may have a chance to have a taste of something else. As expected the course portions are not hugh but more then sufficient to grab a taste. As many have said in other reviews the Tuna Foie Gras was in fact delicious with an amazing plate presentation as well as the Hamachi, Langoustine,Cannelloni,Main lobster and the Beef. Secret #1. The Beef tenderloin med rare is a very generous portion and a welcome change of palette from all the sea food.. Secret # 3. Most all courses have an amazing accompaniment that are just waiting to be soaked up by another piece of bread.Dont be shy they encourage it! We choose to usually eat early on vacation so we had 7pm reservations. Secret #2. Go early as you will have all their attention and we were seated at quiet arguably the best table in the house. Half crescent, very cozy and romantic, and we were able to view the entire restaurant through out the evening. Do we usually spend $500+ for Dinner (w/bottle of wine and Champagne toast) ? No, we don't. But when we do this is how to do it. To the staff at BLUE..Thank you for making a wonderful evening for us to enjoy.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is one of those dining experiences ...

 
·Dined on August 16, 2016

This is one of those dining experiences that stay with you for a long time - in a good way. Chef Ripert's reputation is extremely well deserved. The tuna foie gras may be one of, if not thee, best things I've ever tasted. He elevates simple ingredients to unconscionable levels. The caviar service is by far the most elegant and inventive we've ever enjoyed. And to say nothing of the service, which was as warm and welcoming as you could hope to receive. Completely unpretentious (unlike many other aspects of the property) in the one place where they could put on airs. This visit has inspired a visit to NYC simply to dine at La Bernardin. Bravo Chef, Bravo!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a seven course tasting menu and ...

 
·Dined on August 11, 2016

We had a seven course tasting menu and shared a wine pairing. The food and service were excellent. Many additional chef additions made for a fabulous dinner. The scallop was by far the best we have ever had. Quite pricey but for a once per vacation fine dining experience, Blue was excellent.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful service and fabulous food! Wh ...

 
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Wonderful service and fabulous food! What a lovely experience for our special dinner together. Will definitely come back!

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food, location, and the servic ...

 
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Excellent food, location, and the service was fantastic!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Stunning seafood as you would expect fro ...

 
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Stunning seafood as you would expect from Mr Ripert. The tuna and foie gras was divine, easily the dish of the day. Service was very professional and (thankfully) more restrained than in other restaurants at the Ritz.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The food was exceptional. The service hi ...

 
·Dined on August 2, 2016

The food was exceptional. The service highly attentive. As fine a dining experience as I have ever had the pleasure to enjoy.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service and good reflected previous revi ...

 
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Service and good reflected previous reviews. Experience was impeccable. Good, staff and experience was on point. We had the 4 course experience. They made you feel welcome and fully embraced the essence of the environment. Kieren and VJ our servers were so awesome and made our post bday and graduation celebration a wonderful experience. Can't wait to go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Amazing place.

 
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Amazing place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great for FOODIES! A must when visiting ...

 
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Great for FOODIES! A must when visiting Grand Cayman.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was amazing! Everything was ver ...

 
·Dined on July 21, 2016

The food was amazing! Everything was very fresh. The attention to detail was very powerful and made the experience memorable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I had my 40th B-day dinner at Blue (by m ...

 
·Dined on July 17, 2016

I had my 40th B-day dinner at Blue (by myself) and it was a FANTABULOUS experience. It was worth every penny and the service was superb. I wasn't feeling well for my entire stay, but everyone at the Ritz and Blue made my b-day trip special. THANK YOU!!

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The cooked scallops are a marvel, and th ...

 
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The cooked scallops are a marvel, and the waiter's recommendations were "spot on" except for the cannelloni stuffed with crab which was tasteless. The food presentations were fabulous. The wine by the glass options were very pricey and not very enjoyable. The sommalier was very pleasant and anxious to please me.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

We dined here to celebrate my husband's ...

 
·Dined on July 15, 2016

We dined here to celebrate my husband's milestone birthday. We enjoyed Eric Ripert's tasting menu with wine pairings. The food presentations were delicious, the wine parings were perfect, the staff was delightful, and the service was impeccable.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.