Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.73mi
  2. Distance: 0.75mi
  3. Distance: 0.94mi
  4. Distance: 0.95mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.73mi
  2. Distance: 0.75mi
  3. Distance: 0.94mi
  4. Distance: 0.95mi

About Blue Boar Inn & Restaurant

The Blue Boar Inn and Restaurant is reminiscent of an old world European Hunting Lodge which is nestled in the foothills of Midway, Utah. The Inn's charming main dining room will accommodate 60 people. We specialize in European Fine Dining.

1235 Warm Springs Rd
Midway, UT 84049-6466
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
European, Contemporary German, Scandinavian

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 2:30pm.
Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm.
Breakfast: Monday - Saturday: 8:00am - 10:30am.

Cross Street:
Homestead Drive

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(435) 654-1400

Website:
http://www.theblueboarinn.com/

Parking Details:
Private parking on property and across street.

Executive Chef:
Eric May

Private Party Facilities:
Library seats 8-12 Small dining room seats 8-20

Private Party Contact:
Eric May: (435) 654-1400

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Farm to Table, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Blue Boar Inn & Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.8

value

4.4

noise

Quiet

98% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (20)
Romantic (16)
Good for Anniversaries (15)
See All
Good for a Date (14)
Quiet Conversation (14)
Great for Outdoor Dining (14)
Scenic View (12)
Worth the Drive (12)
Authentic (11)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Cozy (10)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Great for Brunch (6)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Notable Wine List (6)
Seasonal (6)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Business Meals (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Casual (3)
Fun (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Waterfront (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Healthy (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sort By:
S
222 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Had great ambiance and dinners(2), and 2 breakfasts. service was great(Jessica), and the Swiss Chalet and furnishings were a pleasure.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Love this place. It was so good. Can't wait to go back

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 31, 2017

We celebrated our anniversary. Wed. nights are "prix fixe" with a more limited menu. There were 4 entree choices - both the salmon and the beef were excellent. I've also had lunch there and the outside porch is pleasant. I will go again!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Great for Lunch, Seasonal, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Wonderful take on traditional European and Alpine cuisine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
·Dined on August 27, 2017

COULD NOT ASK ANYTHING MORE , EVERYTHING WAS BETTER THAN EXPECTED
One Note though , I was disappointed to see water spots from sprinklers on my nice corvette paint. But I will recommend to all I know!

Tags: Cozy, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Textbook culinary perfection.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Outstanding service, great setting outside on the patio, and food was absolutely incredible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

Everything was fantastic and we will be returning possibly next month but for 2 nights this time the only complaint I have is our server Matt who was our server for brunch on Sunday was horrible but Jack and Keena were great and made up for Matt's inability to properly wait on us. He had a very bad attitude and walked by our table several times and did not even acknowledge that we were sitting there.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Casual, Authentic, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

This place was incredible. I regret not actually staying the night but that just gives us an excuse to come back again. You will not find a better place with such a wonder staff, amazing food, and asuch a relaxed vibe.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Always a great meal! We are never disappointed with our foood or service.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

My husband and I came for dinner on our one year anniversary. Our experience was fabulous- from the food to the service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

Exceeded my expectations at every step. Beautiful building, super staff, and the food was marvelous. Recommended it to my circle of friends.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 4, 2017

We were here in the summer so, obviously, it was not very busy. However, the food was excellent. It was a nice get-away from the busy area of Park City.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on August 2, 2017

Overpriced and odd. Schnitzel was good. Filet was bad. Wine not poured by server much though it's represented as a great place to select fine wines.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

The food is great. The atmosphere is quiet, romantic and unique. The service is impressive. I highly recommend it!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on July 26, 2017

I think this was our tenth time here...so you know it is good! Food is excellent; decor is worth some extra time to view...for example, did you know that the floor in their little bar is reported to have come from an aircraft carrier hangar deck? Because we had two guests with us who had never been here, we asked for, and received, a nice tour of their rooms - or did you even know that it is not just a dining place, but a bed 'n breakfast, too? We give it a 9.9 out of 10 - but no one EVER gets a 10!!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Casual, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on July 18, 2017

Great food and service. Summer special Wednesday night dinner is worth the drive. Beautiful decor, cozy in winter and lovely view from outdoor deck.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Romantic, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Best restaurant in Utah! Chief Eric is one of the best Chiefs in the Region.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Afternoon Tea, Afternoon Coffee, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on July 14, 2017

I have been to the Blue Boar Inn many times and the food and atmosphere are always great!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 5, 2017

This is the third time that we've visited the Blue Boar Inn. We go once a year during the summer. While the last two years were great, this year's meal was not that good. We ate on a Wednesday which unbeknownst to us was the $29.95 fixed price meal ONLY; the regular menu was not available and unfortunately, that was the problem. Choices were soup or salad, chicken, beef or salmon for the entree and cheesecake or chocolate cake for dessert. We were so looking forward to the fondue and other specialties but were met with a bland butternut squash soup or plain green salad and some kind of meat with Bearnaise sauce (the sauce was good but the meat tasteless). Others had the salmon which was well liked though. The cheesecake dessert was tasty while the chocolate cake was not that great. The usual chef Eric was not working this Wednesday and perhaps that was the problem. They also usually serve sourdough bread but we had to specifically ask for it this time. Overall, they were just off their game this night. Even though we were quite disappointed with our meal, you should not not let my review dissuade you from going to the Blue Boar Inn. Usually, the food is excellent and the decor/service cannot be beat. I would only suggest that you go when Chef Eric is working.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Authentic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Our third time at the Blue Boar for our anniversary. Still the same great place. Service, food and wine all outstanding. Always a friendly visit from the owner. Rooms are very comfortable, well appointed and quiet. Close to hiking, golf and the towns of Midway and Heber.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on June 30, 2017

We have always liked Th Blue Boar. We often drive up for dinner, but not just for special occasions. We would recommend it to anyone who wants good food and atmosphere.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on June 26, 2017

Perfect evening. Great fondue, salad and perfect schnitzel; no room for dessert.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on June 24, 2017

We ate here for our Anniversary the food was amazing we had the fondue for 2 very yummy big portion size for our second course we ate the smoked duck salad the flavor was so good the duck tasted incredible our 3 course was the schnitzel and we loved every bite. Service was wonderful Sarah was are waitress and she was friendly and helpful. The atmosphere here was perfect for a romantic dinner quiet and peaceful. We will be back!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on June 24, 2017

This was our second trip to Blue Boar, wasn't all that impressed the first time around a few years ago, but this time everything was fantastic. Food was great. Will certainly be back.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 18, 2017

We had an excellent meal and wonderful service. We split a appetizer, salad, entree and dessert, and it was plenty of food.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 18, 2017

We tried this place based on a lot of positive reviews here and on other sites. I will say that, overall, the experience was enjoyable. I went with my family of four (two kids) and felt slightly out of place with the kids but that wasn't as a result of the staff. The food is great, I would highly recommend the starch eggs. However, its a bit overpriced.

I'd say this is one of those places that you should try once for the experience but, unless you can handle the bill, not a place I would make a regular.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Absolutely Fabulous! Stayed at the Inn for 2 days for our 10th wedding anniversary. Could not have better decor (all antiques and beautiful art pieces)and ambience. Food was perfect. Rack of Lamb very flavorful and cooked just the way I asked. Sliced duck breast with parmesan risotto, flavorful and creamy. Had the oreo cookie chocolate mousse dessert both nights it was so good. Breakfast Southwest Burrito was fabulous. Just a great mix of southwestern flavors. Spicey but not hot. Smoked salmon and gruyere cheese omelette with asparagus for Sunday brunch was truly amazing. The flavors were so well matched and blended. I just can't say enough good things about the Inn and the restaurant! Will definitely be going back!

Tags: Cozy, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Wonderful!! Definitely going back!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on June 3, 2017

It would be good to have vegetarian options. Beautiful location and restaurant, great for special occasions.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Great for Outdoor Dining, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 27, 2017

This was our second time for breakfast. We drove from Draper, Utah just for breakfast and will probably do so again.

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 20, 2017

I have been to the Blue Boar many times, and have loved it every time. The food is always innovative and perfectly prepared. This is my go-to spot for special occasions, and I have recommended it to many, many people. Today I visited for lunch, and my visit was as enjoyable as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Very nice - food was Excellant - service top notch. Loved the desserts. Will Definately be back many times in the future.

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 6, 2017

We were stuck waiting for our server at several different points. After we finished our entrees, for example, we waited 60 minutes for our server to return, clear our spots, and offer a desert menu. There were other parties who arrived after us, but who were able to pay and leave well before us. Food was tasty, despite frustrations with the wait time.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Food was cooked well but flavorless. For the price it should have been much better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Miami)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Interesting decor with a mounted boar's head on the wall. Built in the style of an alpine europeon hotel. Quiet with nice background music, good for conversation. Fondue was a great appetizer, enough for two or three people. The food was excellently prepared and we plan on returning to try some of the other items on the menu.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Wednesday's are local days so the menu is much smaller and it's a 3 course meal all for one very reasonable price. We didn't know this because we booked on open table instead of calling but the food was fantastic. Best cheesecake I've probably ever had, chocolate decadence was unexpectedly delicious too.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Food was wonderful, as always. Our waitress was rather rude and talked down to us a number of times. It was obvious she thought we didn't belong in the resturant. I'm not sure if it was because we were obviously much younger than she, but it made the experience less enjoyable for my husband and I. We've been dining at the blue boar restaurant for years and have never had such a disappointment in our experience. For the price you pay to eat there it was a huge let down to feel unwelcome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Blue Boar never fails to please. Excellent food in a great atmosphere. Worth the drive to Midway.... and maybe stay the night.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 5, 2017

One of the finest restaurants I have regularly visited. Service, setting, and cuisine are all outstanding.

Tags: Authentic, Business Meals, Romantic, Seasonal, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.