About Blue Boar Inn & Restaurant

1235 Warm Springs Rd
Midway, UT 84049-6466
View Larger Map

The Blue Boar Inn and Restaurant is reminiscent of an old world European Hunting Lodge which is nestled in the foothills of Midway, Utah. The Inn's charming main dining room will accommodate 60 people. We specialize in European Fine Dining.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
European, Contemporary German, Scandinavian

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 2:30pm.
Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm.
Breakfast: Monday - Saturday: 8:00am - 10:30am.

Cross Street:
Homestead Drive

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(435) 654-1400

Website:
http://www.theblueboarinn.com/

Parking Details:
Private parking on property and across street.

Executive Chef:
Eric May

Private Party Facilities:
Library seats 8-12 Small dining room seats 8-20

Private Party Contact:
Eric May: (435) 654-1400

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Farm to Table, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Blue Boar Inn & Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.8

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Cozy (9)
Special Occasion (9)
Quiet Conversation (8)
See All
Historic (8)
Romantic (8)
Authentic (8)
Good for a Date (7)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Worth the Drive (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Fireplace (5)
Business Meals (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Outstanding Value (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Scenic View (2)
Casual (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Comfort Food (1)
Family Style (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Fun (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sort By:
S
173 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The service was very good overall. I jus ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The service was very good overall. I just thought for our first visit the waiter could have talked a little more about the menu--most popular dishes, German/European choices, more specific explanation. He answered all the questions I had--just thought he could have oriented us to the uniqueness of the restaurant as newcomers.

Tags: Historic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The Blue Boar is so a must to visit. Th ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 10, 2017

The Blue Boar is so a must to visit. The food and atmosphere are perfect!! We will look into staying at the Inn in the future to get the complete experience!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Historic, Authentic, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Kid-friendly, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Afternoon Tea, Seasonal, Romantic, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wait staff over whelmed and made for a v ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Wait staff over whelmed and made for a very bad experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

Delicious food and a great menu. Very lo ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Delicious food and a great menu. Very lovely ambiance and cozy surroundings.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have stayed and eat here several times ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 29, 2017

I have stayed and eat here several times before. Atmosphere is wonderful. I do have a comment on waitress service as lacking a bit. I had to ask for refills on drinks a few times. Waitress did not check on us randomly as before when we dined there. Also the initial pastry basket was lacking, on had 3 small muffins, I remember better pastries on previous occasions. All in all one of favorite spots, just need to tighten up a bit.

Tags: Romantic, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value5

We celebrated our 8th Anniversary and we ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 29, 2017

We celebrated our 8th Anniversary and were very happy we chose Blue Boar for our dinner reservation. The decor and building was so beautiful and unique. Staff was friendly and our food was brought in just the right time. The food was very good and we enjoyed our stay at the Blue Boar

Tags: Authentic, Fireplace, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

This restaurant never disappoints. The f ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 4, 2017

This restaurant never disappoints. The food and service are great. From the wild boar Swedish meatballs, the cheese fondue and the French onion soup, to the schnitzel and the duck breast. Simply delicious food. We keep coming back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Very good food in a Swiss ambiance. Exce ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Very good food in a Swiss ambiance. Excellent service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Reminded us of wonderful restaurants and ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Reminded us of wonderful restaurants and cuisine in the Austrian alps. Lamb chops were great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We decided to add a little something spe ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 24, 2016

We decided to add a little something special to Christmas with a visit to the Blue Boar.

We were not disappointed.

The salmon was moist, the filet mignon was beyond tender and flavorful.

Service was impeccable.

The ambience was memorable.

5 stars all night long.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Overall a wonderful experience

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Overall a wonderful experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great experience!

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 5, 2016

Great experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a wonderful experience! We canno ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Always a wonderful experience! We cannot wait to return for another great meal.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, , Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Fun, Family Style, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent as always. Would like to see ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Excellent as always. Would like to see more items on the menu if possible. I would say the "servers in training" (youngsters) are always polished and very good.

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

We had a wonderful meal and the ambiance ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 13, 2016

We had a wonderful meal and the ambiance was wonderful. Attentive service but not over the top. It's a wonderful place and highly recommend for any special occasion. Not cheap by any means but well worth it.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We enjoy the Wednesday night prefix menu ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 3, 2016

We enjoy the Wednesday night prefix menu and the value but since we come fairly often, I would like to see some changes made to that menu. Also, I ordered the petite fillet this trip and asked for it to be cooked medium rare. I felt it was on the rare side.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Historic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Dining at the Blue Boar Inn, perfect end ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Dining at the Blue Boar Inn, perfect ending to a special day!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The breakfast was delicious. However, th ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on October 24, 2016

The breakfast was delicious. However, the filet mignon was bland and rare even though I request it to be cooked "medium well." I would recommend this Inn and the breakfast, but not for dinner. I don't mind the prices, but they did not match the taste of the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

The building, view and service were amaz ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on October 23, 2016

The building, view and service were amazing. The food was average. We ordered the fondue appetizer, wedge salads a filet for my husband and salmon for myself, the chocolate waffle desert and the chocolate cheese cake. It was good, but not outstanding for the price.

Tags: Historic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

We try to dine at The lue Boar Inn each ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on October 19, 2016

We try to dine at The lue Boar Inn each time we visit our vacation home in Park City.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious food, impeccable service, beau ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Delicious food, impeccable service, beautiful location, cozy German/Swiss decore. We loved it.

Tags: Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Romantic, Good for a Date, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The Blue Boar Inn & Restaurant is absolu ...

 
·Dined on October 12, 2016

The Blue Boar Inn & Restaurant is absolutely amazing!!!! We always have a great experience when we visit. We have only dined, so we can only recommend that. We would eat here everyday so it's probably good we don't live next door.

The amuse-bouche is something we look forward to when we go! The ambience is so relaxing but classy.

We really don't think that there is a bad thing on the menu. Well we've always had something plum edible.

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Historic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful restaurant and we highly recom ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Beautiful restaurant and we highly recommend dining there (just make a reservation in advance). The food was amazing and everything that we tried was delicious and perfectly prepared and seasoned. The service was phenomenal and our server was on point and prompt at every step along the way. The wine list was extremely robust and complete and the only nitpick that I had was that red wine should be served slightly chilled to the right temp.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great find in a quaint neighborhood. Ver ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Great find in a quaint neighborhood. Very unique and interesting setting. Everyone in our party enjoyed their food. Good beer and wine list.

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

What a wonderful dining experience we ha ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 8, 2016

What a wonderful dining experience we had at the Blue Boar Inn. Food was delicious, wine menu extensive, ambiance was relaxing and romantic.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were there for Sunday brunch. The en ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on October 2, 2016

We were there for Sunday brunch. The entrees were good, but the rest of the courses were very mediocre

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Our second trip with out of town guest. ...

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on September 27, 2016

Our second trip with out of town guest. Food was wonderful and abundant

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Very historic decor with period antiques ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 15, 2016

Very historic decor with period antiques. Excellent and friendly staff. Great food and great selection.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Cozy, Historic, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We often visit The Blue Boar for dinner. ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on August 27, 2016

We often visit The Blue Boar for dinner. It is a great place for special occasions or just because. The food is very good and they have nice soups, and salads as well. The price is reasonable and the atmosphere is outstanding.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I went to the Blue Boar t ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on August 26, 2016

My husband and I went to the Blue Boar to celebrate our anniversary. We had an amazing time, it was everything I had hoped for and more. We stayed in the frost room which was a little rustic and nicely decorated. The food was amazing I tried something new and was so impressed with the quality of the food. The service for our dinner and brunch was also outstanding.

Overall an outstanding experience.

I am sure we will be back!

Thanks for a great experience.

Kim Evans

Tags: People Watching, Organic, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

After being seated for a quiet romantic ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on August 25, 2016

After being seated for a quiet romantic celebration of our Anniversary, a group of eight or more "boisterous" and "jovial" people were seated right next to us. We could not speak over their enthusiasm. That got worse as they became inebriated.

Next year we may look for another place.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Great option for the Park City Area. Wo ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on August 21, 2016

Great option for the Park City Area. Worth the drive. The server and Hostess were delightful.

Had the trout, was delicious. Wife had the Venerschnitzel(sp) and she said it was wonderful.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awsome our waitresses all were great lov ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on August 16, 2016

Awsome our waitresses all were great loved the building the chef is amazing how he can plate food and the desserts were incredible....

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Group of six friends for a late dinner. ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 14, 2016

Group of six friends for a late dinner. Had a great experience with food, servicer and ambiance. We will be going back and recommending to friends.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Food used to be good there. Maybe they ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 9, 2016

Food used to be good there. Maybe they lost their chef. Everything is either over cooked or undercooked. Staff is nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service2

We love the Blue Boar Inn. The ambiance ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 1, 2016

We love the Blue Boar Inn. The ambiance is so lovely - we always feel like we are in a European Hunting or Ski Lodge.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

My wife and I visited the Blue Boar Inn ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on July 24, 2016

My wife and I visited the Blue Boar Inn for her Birthday. It is located in beautiful Midway. I would describe the Blue Boar Inn as rustic and cozy. The food was very good. We really enjoyed the Salmon.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The restaurant is beautiful. The food i ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 18, 2016

The restaurant is beautiful. The food is excellent. The service was at best indifferent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Well worth the ride from park city

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 18, 2016

Well worth the ride from park city

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Nice meal but a bit disappointed in our ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on July 7, 2016

Nice meal but a bit disappointed in our food. Just average, not as good as meals we've had at the Blue Boar in the past.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.