Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.73mi
  2. Distance: 0.75mi
  3. Distance: 0.94mi
  4. Distance: 0.95mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.73mi
  2. Distance: 0.75mi
  3. Distance: 0.94mi
  4. Distance: 0.95mi

About Blue Boar Inn & Restaurant

The Blue Boar Inn and Restaurant is reminiscent of an old world European Hunting Lodge which is nestled in the foothills of Midway, Utah. The Inn's charming main dining room will accommodate 60 people. We specialize in European Fine Dining.

1235 Warm Springs Rd
Midway, UT 84049-6466
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
European, Contemporary German, Scandinavian

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 2:30pm.
Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm.
Breakfast: Monday - Saturday: 8:00am - 10:30am.

Cross Street:
Homestead Drive

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(435) 654-1400

Website:
http://www.theblueboarinn.com/

Parking Details:
Private parking on property and across street.

Executive Chef:
Eric May

Private Party Facilities:
Library seats 8-12 Small dining room seats 8-20

Private Party Contact:
Eric May: (435) 654-1400

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Farm to Table, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Blue Boar Inn & Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.6

ambience

4.8

value

4.4

Noise

Quiet

88% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (14)
Romantic (13)
Quiet Conversation (12)
See All
Cozy (11)
Good for a Date (11)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Worth the Drive (9)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Authentic (6)
Great for Brunch (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Scenic View (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Business Meals (5)
Seasonal (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Casual (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Fun (1)
People Watching (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Sort by
S
253 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 6 days ago

The best schnitzels outside of Austria

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined 6 days ago

Really good food, excellent ambience...just pretty cool all around. Great service from the staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined 7 days ago

Lovely experience. We had an early Valentines dinner with good friends. It was their first visit and they were quite impressed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 9, 2018

This was our fourth visit to the Blue Boar Inn , we enjoy the atmosphere and the excellent food. Having a full bar and good wines makes this a great place for adults. While it is a higher end restaurant the food, service and atmosphere make this well worth a visit.
The rack of lamb was superb as was the French Onion soup.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on February 4, 2018

Blue Boar Inn was a fun dining experience for Sunday Brunch! The decor was authentic and interesting and the Inn is incredibly charming. The menu had lots of options as long as you aren't vegetarian. They were not able to accommodate the dietary restrictions of some members of our group. They food that was ordered was delicious! Their service needs work - we had to make multiple requests for items to different people. I was almost finished with my meal by the time we received the hot sauce we requested.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 3, 2018

It is definitely worth the drive to the Blue Boar Inn. Quiet and charming inn located inMidway, UT. You feel as though you are in an Austrian inn. Too bad, this a mild winter and no snow.

We enjoyed a nice birthday lunch. The French Onion soup is excellent, this is a must! Salads as well as lunch entrees were great.

We will be back with friends.

Tags: Cozy, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 2, 2018

Beautiful quaint & cozy Swiss Lodge style restaurant in Midway. Service and food were superb. Would love to visit again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 1, 2018

Great food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 28, 2018

Very special place. Feels like a trip to Switzerland! Been many times and always a treat! Kathy is a terrific server.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 27, 2018

One of the dishes was served cold and had to be sent back. Service was inattentive. Disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 27, 2018

A collection of crossbows on the walls dating to the 14th century!!! A hidden gem in Midway, more memorable and interesting than any places we've found in nearby Heber City. Personalized service like your very own private dining room ... at very reasonable prices. Made for a fantastic Saturday brunch two weekends in a row during the Sundance Film Festival.

Tags: Authentic, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Fun, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 26, 2018

Always one of our favorite restaurants to bring visitors.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on January 21, 2018

Second time for Sunday brunch
Very special charming place
Delicious food Great Value
Love the decor

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 19, 2018

Overall a great place, little over priced but that comes with the type of place it is. Dinner was delicious, but not very much food for the price. Room was very comfortable (106) although chest pieces were broken and one of the drawers handle was broken.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Seasonal, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value2

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 17, 2018

Perhaps the best total package....fine dining and wonderful environment

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Cozy, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 13, 2018

The ambience was excellent - cozy mountain lodge with some grandeur. However, the food was a mixed experience. The potato-crusted salmon was an A+, the rack of lamb was a B, the filet mignon was a C- (and the waiter said it would be excellent, so it was a big disappointment). Service was acceptable. We were celebrating a birthday, nothing special came from that. Bottom line is for the price, the value wasn't that great. Maybe if you get the right dishes across the board, it is worthwhile.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 30, 2017

Lovely local restaurant with unique decorations, good food and a quiet and cozy environment.

Tags: Seasonal, Casual, Great for Lunch, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 29, 2017

Maybe my dissapointment is due to the hype this restaurant has? We drove the half hour from Park City to see what all the great accolades were about. It is a very pretty room and setting in Midway. Our service was underwhelming as was the food? My daughter ordered the vegetable panini. This is not a panini. It was large vegetable slices on toasted wheat bread. She stopped eating it after just a couple of bites. My wife had a just ok Turkey sandwich and I had the fish and chips that were lightly fried and very good. It is a pretty room and the food is ok. Not great Not bad either ....... just underwhelming for the hype. The host and the service lacked any kind of energy and personality. Better options in Park City.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 26, 2017

We were in Utah for the holidays and stayed in Midway. We had read good reviews about the Blue Boar Inn & Restaurant. The ambience was unique and special. The service was great. And the food was even better. The fondue is so special we can’t stop talking about it. And we each tried different entrees which were all delicious - potato crusted salmon, roasted cod, lamb, and double thick pork chop. Delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 21, 2017

Beautiful restaurant, great food, impeccable service all served in wonderful ambience. Bring your appetite for a truly excellent dining experience

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 5, 2017

Excellent food, great service. A must for a romantic dinner.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 3, 2017

Amazing food! We will be back for sure. The maple glazed salmon with cauliflower potatoes was one of the top 2 dishes I have ever eaten, and The French onion soup was the best I’ve had. Such quality food. We wish we could eat here every night.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 1, 2017

The food and service at our table were good. We have eaten here several times and will go back.
We had the Iceberg salad, Blue Boar salad and Swedish Meatballs. For our entrees we had the Duck, Crab cakes and Filet Mignon.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 18, 2017

Chef made special effort to accommodate diet restrictions of no added sugar, no dairy and gluten free. Thanks!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 17, 2017

The service and food was wonderful. My husband and I had dinner here last night for our anniversary. I asked our waitress for a dinner recommendation and it did not disappoint. I had the schnitzel for the first time in my life. Without her recommendation I would not have tried it. It was absolutely delicious! The portion was huge, easily enough for 2 meals. My husband had the double cut pork chop which was good but nothing out of the ordinary. He liked my meal so much I gave him half and we were both full afterwards. We would eat here again for another special occassion!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 10, 2017

I had high expectations for this place. The appetizers (meatballs and escargot) and soup (French onion) were good, but the entrees (duck breast and breaded pork) were not very good. The best part was the asparagus honestly. Overall, it was not worth the money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on October 31, 2017

Very pleasant 'European' atmosphere, excellent food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 23, 2017

The whole experience was perfect. We loved walking around the inn and seeing all the antiques and architectural elements. The chicken scallopini and cauliflower po'boy were excellent.

Tags: Casual, Cozy, Romantic, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on October 21, 2017

A perfect local get-away for us from Salt Lake City. Staff took very good care of us, and we felt very special. Highly recommended.

Tags: Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on October 20, 2017

This is a lovely restaurant with great food. Salmon was cooked just right and the salad came with a tasty dressing.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Cozy, Romantic, Gluten Free Options, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on October 2, 2017

Great spot for any dinning occasion. Excellent service and presentation.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Had great ambiance and dinners(2), and 2 breakfasts. service was great(Jessica), and the Swiss Chalet and furnishings were a pleasure.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Love this place. It was so good. Can't wait to go back

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 30, 2017

We celebrated our anniversary. Wed. nights are "prix fixe" with a more limited menu. There were 4 entree choices - both the salmon and the beef were excellent. I've also had lunch there and the outside porch is pleasant. I will go again!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Great for Lunch, Seasonal, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Wonderful take on traditional European and Alpine cuisine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on August 26, 2017

COULD NOT ASK ANYTHING MORE , EVERYTHING WAS BETTER THAN EXPECTED
One Note though , I was disappointed to see water spots from sprinklers on my nice corvette paint. But I will recommend to all I know!

Tags: Cozy, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Textbook culinary perfection.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Outstanding service, great setting outside on the patio, and food was absolutely incredible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Everything was fantastic and we will be returning possibly next month but for 2 nights this time the only complaint I have is our server Matt who was our server for brunch on Sunday was horrible but Jack and Keena were great and made up for Matt's inability to properly wait on us. He had a very bad attitude and walked by our table several times and did not even acknowledge that we were sitting there.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Casual, Authentic, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on August 12, 2017

This place was incredible. I regret not actually staying the night but that just gives us an excuse to come back again. You will not find a better place with such a wonder staff, amazing food, and asuch a relaxed vibe.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.