Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.73mi
  2. Distance: 0.75mi
  3. Distance: 0.94mi
  4. Distance: 0.95mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.73mi
  2. Distance: 0.75mi
  3. Distance: 0.94mi
  4. Distance: 0.95mi

About Blue Boar Inn & Restaurant

The Blue Boar Inn and Restaurant is reminiscent of an old world European Hunting Lodge which is nestled in the foothills of Midway, Utah. The Inn's charming main dining room will accommodate 60 people. We specialize in European Fine Dining.

1235 Warm Springs Rd
Midway, UT 84049-6466
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
European, Contemporary German, Scandinavian

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 2:30pm.
Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm.
Breakfast: Monday - Saturday: 8:00am - 10:30am.

Cross Street:
Homestead Drive

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(435) 654-1400

Website:
http://www.theblueboarinn.com/

Parking Details:
Private parking on property and across street.

Executive Chef:
Eric May

Private Party Facilities:
Library seats 8-12 Small dining room seats 8-20

Private Party Contact:
Eric May: (435) 654-1400

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Farm to Table, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Blue Boar Inn & Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.6

ambience

4.8

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Cozy (21)
Special Occasion (19)
Romantic (17)
See All
Good for a Date (16)
Historic (14)
Good for Anniversaries (14)
Authentic (14)
Worth the Drive (12)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Fireplace (9)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Scenic View (7)
Notable Wine List (7)
Local Ingredients (6)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Great for Brunch (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Business Meals (5)
Good for Groups (4)
Casual (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Tasting Menu (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Family Style (2)
Seasonal (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Fun (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Vegan (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sort By:
S
185 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Food was wonderful, as always. Our waitress was rather rude and talked down to us a number of times. It was obvious she thought we didn't belong in the resturant. I'm not sure if it was because we were obviously much younger than she, but it made the experience less enjoyable for my husband and I. We've been dining at the blue boar restaurant for years and have never had such a disappointment in our experience. For the price you pay to eat there it was a huge let down to feel unwelcome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Blue Boar never fails to please. Excellent food in a great atmosphere. Worth the drive to Midway.... and maybe stay the night.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 6, 2017

One of the finest restaurants I have regularly visited. Service, setting, and cuisine are all outstanding.

Tags: Authentic, Business Meals, Romantic, Seasonal, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on April 3, 2017

Celebrated our 40th anniversary by having dinner there. Food was 5 star, great service by Kathy, wonderful ambiance. Definitely a 10 in our books.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Three couples had dinner at the Blue Boar Inn in Midway, UT this past Saturday evening. Appetizers and entrees were uniformly excellent. Service was very good, and the overall experience was excellent. We all very much enjoyed ourselves. We have dined at the Blue Boar Inn a number of times over the past three or four years, and our experience is consistently excellent. It is a bit out of the way for folks who may be staying in Park City for vacation (we are locals), but worth the drive, as we find the Blue Boar compares favorably with many of the restaurants on Main St. We brought our own wine, and the cost for two (with gratuity) was right around $175, so it is on the pricey side, but comparable to the nicer restaurants on Main St. in Park City. We would highly recommend it.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on March 20, 2017

This was a gem! Would recommend to anyone traveling to the area to make the trip.

Tags: Special Occasion, Family Style, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Great Beer, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on March 19, 2017

If you like good food, service and ambiance the Blue Boat is a must. The drive from park city is worth it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Authentic, Good for a Date, Historic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fireplace, Creative Cuisine, Afternoon Coffee, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 19, 2017

It was a great venue, perfect for celebrating a special occasion.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Executive Chef, Eric May, was most gracious, insuring that our friends, who have recently purchased a townhome in the local area, were made familiar with this lovely dining adventure. My husband and I had visited prior to this occasion. and we selected to dine here to celebrate our friends' new vacation home. The Service, the Atmosphere, The Quiet Dining, and The Delicious Food Didn't Disappoint.... All Were Outstanding.
I Highly Recommend This Location For Any Special Occasion or Just For An Evening Experience Of Complete Gracious Dining.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on March 14, 2017

We had a wonderful evening at one of our favorite restaurants. I have never complained about the Blue Boar Inn but this time the service could have been better. There were not a lot of people there on a Monday night but service was slow and I had to ask three times for a dessert menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Great Food and very unique place for a business dinner.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Family Style, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Authentic, Romantic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 21, 2017

The restaurant has an authentic classic European atmosphere, from the decorative artwork from the 16th century to present, an elegant fireplace, antique European stove, paintings, menu, etc. The food was amazing, as was the service. It was a very pleasant surprise (to me) in the middle of rural Utah. I look forward to eating there again! Kudos to the owners and management for a truly wonderful experience.

Tags: Romantic, Historic, Cozy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The service was very good overall. I just thought for our first visit the waiter could have talked a little more about the menu--most popular dishes, German/European choices, more specific explanation. He answered all the questions I had--just thought he could have oriented us to the uniqueness of the restaurant as newcomers.

Tags: Historic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 10, 2017

The Blue Boar is so a must to visit. The food and atmosphere are perfect!! We will look into staying at the Inn in the future to get the complete experience!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Historic, Authentic, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Kid-friendly, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Afternoon Tea, Seasonal, Romantic, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Wait staff over whelmed and made for a very bad experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Delicious food and a great menu. Very lovely ambiance and cozy surroundings.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 29, 2017

I have stayed and eat here several times before. Atmosphere is wonderful. I do have a comment on waitress service as lacking a bit. I had to ask for refills on drinks a few times. Waitress did not check on us randomly as before when we dined there. Also the initial pastry basket was lacking, on had 3 small muffins, I remember better pastries on previous occasions. All in all one of favorite spots, just need to tighten up a bit.

Tags: Romantic, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 29, 2017

We celebrated our 8th Anniversary and were very happy we chose Blue Boar for our dinner reservation. The decor and building was so beautiful and unique. Staff was friendly and our food was brought in just the right time. The food was very good and we enjoyed our stay at the Blue Boar

Tags: Authentic, Fireplace, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 4, 2017

This restaurant never disappoints. The food and service are great. From the wild boar Swedish meatballs, the cheese fondue and the French onion soup, to the schnitzel and the duck breast. Simply delicious food. We keep coming back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Very good food in a Swiss ambiance. Excellent service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Reminded us of wonderful restaurants and cuisine in the Austrian alps. Lamb chops were great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 24, 2016

We decided to add a little something special to Christmas with a visit to the Blue Boar.
We were not disappointed.
The salmon was moist, the filet mignon was beyond tender and flavorful.
Service was impeccable.
The ambience was memorable.
5 stars all night long.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Overall a wonderful experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 5, 2016

Great experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Always a wonderful experience! We cannot wait to return for another great meal.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Outstanding Value, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Fun, Family Style, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Excellent as always. Would like to see more items on the menu if possible. I would say the "servers in training" (youngsters) are always polished and very good.

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 13, 2016

We had a wonderful meal and the ambiance was wonderful. Attentive service but not over the top. It's a wonderful place and highly recommend for any special occasion. Not cheap by any means but well worth it.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 3, 2016

We enjoy the Wednesday night prefix menu and the value but since we come fairly often, I would like to see some changes made to that menu. Also, I ordered the petite fillet this trip and asked for it to be cooked medium rare. I felt it was on the rare side.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Historic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Dining at the Blue Boar Inn, perfect ending to a special day!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on October 24, 2016

The breakfast was delicious. However, the filet mignon was bland and rare even though I request it to be cooked "medium well." I would recommend this Inn and the breakfast, but not for dinner. I don't mind the prices, but they did not match the taste of the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on October 23, 2016

The building, view and service were amazing. The food was average. We ordered the fondue appetizer, wedge salads a filet for my husband and salmon for myself, the chocolate waffle desert and the chocolate cheese cake. It was good, but not outstanding for the price.

Tags: Historic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on October 19, 2016

We try to dine at The lue Boar Inn each time we visit our vacation home in Park City.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Delicious food, impeccable service, beautiful location, cozy German/Swiss decore. We loved it.

Tags: Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Romantic, Good for a Date, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 12, 2016

The Blue Boar Inn & Restaurant is absolutely amazing!!!! We always have a great experience when we visit. We have only dined, so we can only recommend that. We would eat here everyday so it's probably good we don't live next door.

The amuse-bouche is something we look forward to when we go! The ambience is so relaxing but classy.

We really don't think that there is a bad thing on the menu. Well we've always had something plum edible.

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Historic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Beautiful restaurant and we highly recommend dining there (just make a reservation in advance). The food was amazing and everything that we tried was delicious and perfectly prepared and seasoned. The service was phenomenal and our server was on point and prompt at every step along the way. The wine list was extremely robust and complete and the only nitpick that I had was that red wine should be served slightly chilled to the right temp.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Great find in a quaint neighborhood. Very unique and interesting setting. Everyone in our party enjoyed their food. Good beer and wine list.

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 8, 2016

What a wonderful dining experience we had at the Blue Boar Inn. Food was delicious, wine menu extensive, ambiance was relaxing and romantic.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on October 2, 2016

We were there for Sunday brunch. The entrees were good, but the rest of the courses were very mediocre

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on September 27, 2016

Our second trip with out of town guest. Food was wonderful and abundant

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 15, 2016

Very historic decor with period antiques. Excellent and friendly staff. Great food and great selection.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Cozy, Historic, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.