Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.73mi
  2. Distance: 0.75mi
  3. Distance: 0.94mi
  4. Distance: 0.95mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.73mi
  2. Distance: 0.75mi
  3. Distance: 0.94mi
  4. Distance: 0.95mi

About Blue Boar Inn & Restaurant

The Blue Boar Inn and Restaurant is reminiscent of an old world European Hunting Lodge which is nestled in the foothills of Midway, Utah. The Inn's charming main dining room will accommodate 60 people. We specialize in European Fine Dining.

1235 Warm Springs Rd
Midway, UT 84049-6466
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
European, Contemporary German, Scandinavian

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 2:30pm.
Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm.
Breakfast: Monday - Saturday: 8:00am - 10:30am.

Cross Street:
Homestead Drive

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(435) 654-1400

Website:
http://www.theblueboarinn.com/

Parking Details:
Private parking on property and across street.

Executive Chef:
Eric May

Private Party Facilities:
Library seats 8-12 Small dining room seats 8-20

Private Party Contact:
Eric May: (435) 654-1400

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Farm to Table, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Blue Boar Inn & Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.8

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Quiet Conversation (15)
Cozy (14)
Special Occasion (13)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Worth the Drive (10)
Authentic (9)
Romantic (9)
Good for a Date (8)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Scenic View (7)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Great for Brunch (6)
Notable Wine List (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Good for Groups (4)
Local Ingredients (3)
Fun (3)
Casual (3)
Seasonal (3)
Historic (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Fireplace (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Healthy (1)
Business Meals (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sort By:
S
206 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 4 days ago

Great food and service. Summer special Wednesday night dinner is worth the drive. Beautiful decor, cozy in winter and lovely view from outdoor deck.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Romantic, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 6 days ago

Best restaurant in Utah! Chief Eric is one of the best Chiefs in the Region.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Afternoon Tea, Afternoon Coffee, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on July 14, 2017

I have been to the Blue Boar Inn many times and the food and atmosphere are always great!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 5, 2017

This is the third time that we've visited the Blue Boar Inn. We go once a year during the summer. While the last two years were great, this year's meal was not that good. We ate on a Wednesday which unbeknownst to us was the $29.95 fixed price meal ONLY; the regular menu was not available and unfortunately, that was the problem. Choices were soup or salad, chicken, beef or salmon for the entree and cheesecake or chocolate cake for dessert. We were so looking forward to the fondue and other specialties but were met with a bland butternut squash soup or plain green salad and some kind of meat with Bearnaise sauce (the sauce was good but the meat tasteless). Others had the salmon which was well liked though. The cheesecake dessert was tasty while the chocolate cake was not that great. The usual chef Eric was not working this Wednesday and perhaps that was the problem. They also usually serve sourdough bread but we had to specifically ask for it this time. Overall, they were just off their game this night. Even though we were quite disappointed with our meal, you should not not let my review dissuade you from going to the Blue Boar Inn. Usually, the food is excellent and the decor/service cannot be beat. I would only suggest that you go when Chef Eric is working.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Authentic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Our third time at the Blue Boar for our anniversary. Still the same great place. Service, food and wine all outstanding. Always a friendly visit from the owner. Rooms are very comfortable, well appointed and quiet. Close to hiking, golf and the towns of Midway and Heber.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on June 30, 2017

We have always liked Th Blue Boar. We often drive up for dinner, but not just for special occasions. We would recommend it to anyone who wants good food and atmosphere.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on June 26, 2017

Perfect evening. Great fondue, salad and perfect schnitzel; no room for dessert.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on June 24, 2017

We ate here for our Anniversary the food was amazing we had the fondue for 2 very yummy big portion size for our second course we ate the smoked duck salad the flavor was so good the duck tasted incredible our 3 course was the schnitzel and we loved every bite. Service was wonderful Sarah was are waitress and she was friendly and helpful. The atmosphere here was perfect for a romantic dinner quiet and peaceful. We will be back!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on June 24, 2017

This was our second trip to Blue Boar, wasn't all that impressed the first time around a few years ago, but this time everything was fantastic. Food was great. Will certainly be back.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 18, 2017

We had an excellent meal and wonderful service. We split a appetizer, salad, entree and dessert, and it was plenty of food.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 18, 2017

We tried this place based on a lot of positive reviews here and on other sites. I will say that, overall, the experience was enjoyable. I went with my family of four (two kids) and felt slightly out of place with the kids but that wasn't as a result of the staff. The food is great, I would highly recommend the starch eggs. However, its a bit overpriced.

I'd say this is one of those places that you should try once for the experience but, unless you can handle the bill, not a place I would make a regular.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Absolutely Fabulous! Stayed at the Inn for 2 days for our 10th wedding anniversary. Could not have better decor (all antiques and beautiful art pieces)and ambience. Food was perfect. Rack of Lamb very flavorful and cooked just the way I asked. Sliced duck breast with parmesan risotto, flavorful and creamy. Had the oreo cookie chocolate mousse dessert both nights it was so good. Breakfast Southwest Burrito was fabulous. Just a great mix of southwestern flavors. Spicey but not hot. Smoked salmon and gruyere cheese omelette with asparagus for Sunday brunch was truly amazing. The flavors were so well matched and blended. I just can't say enough good things about the Inn and the restaurant! Will definitely be going back!

Tags: Cozy, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Wonderful!! Definitely going back!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on June 3, 2017

It would be good to have vegetarian options. Beautiful location and restaurant, great for special occasions.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Great for Outdoor Dining, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 27, 2017

This was our second time for breakfast. We drove from Draper, Utah just for breakfast and will probably do so again.

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 20, 2017

I have been to the Blue Boar many times, and have loved it every time. The food is always innovative and perfectly prepared. This is my go-to spot for special occasions, and I have recommended it to many, many people. Today I visited for lunch, and my visit was as enjoyable as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Very nice - food was Excellant - service top notch. Loved the desserts. Will Definately be back many times in the future.

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 6, 2017

We were stuck waiting for our server at several different points. After we finished our entrees, for example, we waited 60 minutes for our server to return, clear our spots, and offer a desert menu. There were other parties who arrived after us, but who were able to pay and leave well before us. Food was tasty, despite frustrations with the wait time.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Food was cooked well but flavorless. For the price it should have been much better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Miami)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Interesting decor with a mounted boar's head on the wall. Built in the style of an alpine europeon hotel. Quiet with nice background music, good for conversation. Fondue was a great appetizer, enough for two or three people. The food was excellently prepared and we plan on returning to try some of the other items on the menu.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Wednesday's are local days so the menu is much smaller and it's a 3 course meal all for one very reasonable price. We didn't know this because we booked on open table instead of calling but the food was fantastic. Best cheesecake I've probably ever had, chocolate decadence was unexpectedly delicious too.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Food was wonderful, as always. Our waitress was rather rude and talked down to us a number of times. It was obvious she thought we didn't belong in the resturant. I'm not sure if it was because we were obviously much younger than she, but it made the experience less enjoyable for my husband and I. We've been dining at the blue boar restaurant for years and have never had such a disappointment in our experience. For the price you pay to eat there it was a huge let down to feel unwelcome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Blue Boar never fails to please. Excellent food in a great atmosphere. Worth the drive to Midway.... and maybe stay the night.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 5, 2017

One of the finest restaurants I have regularly visited. Service, setting, and cuisine are all outstanding.

Tags: Authentic, Business Meals, Romantic, Seasonal, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Celebrated our 40th anniversary by having dinner there. Food was 5 star, great service by Kathy, wonderful ambiance. Definitely a 10 in our books.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Three couples had dinner at the Blue Boar Inn in Midway, UT this past Saturday evening. Appetizers and entrees were uniformly excellent. Service was very good, and the overall experience was excellent. We all very much enjoyed ourselves. We have dined at the Blue Boar Inn a number of times over the past three or four years, and our experience is consistently excellent. It is a bit out of the way for folks who may be staying in Park City for vacation (we are locals), but worth the drive, as we find the Blue Boar compares favorably with many of the restaurants on Main St. We brought our own wine, and the cost for two (with gratuity) was right around $175, so it is on the pricey side, but comparable to the nicer restaurants on Main St. in Park City. We would highly recommend it.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on March 19, 2017

This was a gem! Would recommend to anyone traveling to the area to make the trip.

Tags: Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Great Beer, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on March 19, 2017

If you like good food, service and ambiance the Blue Boat is a must. The drive from park city is worth it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Authentic, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Afternoon Coffee, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 18, 2017

It was a great venue, perfect for celebrating a special occasion.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Executive Chef, Eric May, was most gracious, insuring that our friends, who have recently purchased a townhome in the local area, were made familiar with this lovely dining adventure. My husband and I had visited prior to this occasion. and we selected to dine here to celebrate our friends' new vacation home. The Service, the Atmosphere, The Quiet Dining, and The Delicious Food Didn't Disappoint.... All Were Outstanding.
I Highly Recommend This Location For Any Special Occasion or Just For An Evening Experience Of Complete Gracious Dining.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on March 13, 2017

We had a wonderful evening at one of our favorite restaurants. I have never complained about the Blue Boar Inn but this time the service could have been better. There were not a lot of people there on a Monday night but service was slow and I had to ask three times for a dessert menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 1, 2017

Great Food and very unique place for a business dinner.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 20, 2017

The restaurant has an authentic classic European atmosphere, from the decorative artwork from the 16th century to present, an elegant fireplace, antique European stove, paintings, menu, etc. The food was amazing, as was the service. It was a very pleasant surprise (to me) in the middle of rural Utah. I look forward to eating there again! Kudos to the owners and management for a truly wonderful experience.

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The service was very good overall. I just thought for our first visit the waiter could have talked a little more about the menu--most popular dishes, German/European choices, more specific explanation. He answered all the questions I had--just thought he could have oriented us to the uniqueness of the restaurant as newcomers.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 10, 2017

The Blue Boar is so a must to visit. The food and atmosphere are perfect!! We will look into staying at the Inn in the future to get the complete experience!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Kid-friendly, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Afternoon Tea, Seasonal, Romantic, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Wait staff over whelmed and made for a very bad experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Delicious food and a great menu. Very lovely ambiance and cozy surroundings.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 29, 2017

I have stayed and eat here several times before. Atmosphere is wonderful. I do have a comment on waitress service as lacking a bit. I had to ask for refills on drinks a few times. Waitress did not check on us randomly as before when we dined there. Also the initial pastry basket was lacking, on had 3 small muffins, I remember better pastries on previous occasions. All in all one of favorite spots, just need to tighten up a bit.

Tags: Romantic, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 28, 2017

We celebrated our 8th Anniversary and were very happy we chose Blue Boar for our dinner reservation. The decor and building was so beautiful and unique. Staff was friendly and our food was brought in just the right time. The food was very good and we enjoyed our stay at the Blue Boar

Tags: Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 3, 2017

This restaurant never disappoints. The food and service are great. From the wild boar Swedish meatballs, the cheese fondue and the French onion soup, to the schnitzel and the duck breast. Simply delicious food. We keep coming back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.