About Blue Boar Inn & Restaurant

1235 Warm Springs Rd
Midway, UT 84049-6466
View Larger Map

The Blue Boar Inn and Restaurant is reminiscent of an old world European Hunting Lodge which is nestled in the foothills of Midway, Utah. The Inn's charming main dining room will accommodate 60 people. We specialize in European Fine Dining.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
European, Contemporary German, Scandinavian

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 2:30pm.
Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm.
Breakfast: Monday - Saturday: 8:00am - 10:30am.

Cross Street:
Homestead Drive

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(435) 654-1400

Website:
http://www.theblueboarinn.com/

Parking Details:
Private parking on property and across street.

Executive Chef:
Eric May

Private Party Facilities:
Library seats 8-12 Small dining room seats 8-20

Private Party Contact:
Eric May: 4356541400

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Farm to Table, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Blue Boar Inn & Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Utah
Best Ambiance
Utah
Best Value
Utah
9 More
Outdoor Dining
Utah
Romantic
Utah
Special Occasion
Utah
Best Overall
Park City Area
Best Food
Park City Area
Best Ambiance
Park City Area
Best Value
Park City Area
Outdoor Dining
Park City Area
Special Occasion
Park City Area

Special Occasion (30)
Romantic (27)
Great for Outdoor Dining (18)
See All
Scenic View (15)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Great for Brunch (9)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Good for Groups (7)
Notable Wine List (6)
Great for Lunch (5)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Good for a Date (4)
Worth the Drive (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Historic (3)
Local Ingredients (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Business Meals (2)
People Watching (1)
Organic (1)
Fun (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Private Room (1)
Authentic (1)
Cozy (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Casual (1)
Sort By:
Newest
146 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Very historic decor with period antiques ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Very historic decor with period antiques. Excellent and friendly staff. Great food and great selection.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Cozy, Historic, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We often visit The Blue Boar for dinner. ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

We often visit The Blue Boar for dinner. It is a great place for special occasions or just because. The food is very good and they have nice soups, and salads as well. The price is reasonable and the atmosphere is outstanding.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I went to the Blue Boar t ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

My husband and I went to the Blue Boar to celebrate our anniversary. We had an amazing time, it was everything I had hoped for and more. We stayed in the frost room which was a little rustic and nicely decorated. The food was amazing I tried something new and was so impressed with the quality of the food. The service for our dinner and brunch was also outstanding.

Overall an outstanding experience.

I am sure we will be back!

Thanks for a great experience.

Kim Evans

Tags: People Watching, Organic, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

After being seated for a quiet romantic ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

After being seated for a quiet romantic celebration of our Anniversary, a group of eight or more "boisterous" and "jovial" people were seated right next to us. We could not speak over their enthusiasm. That got worse as they became inebriated.

Next year we may look for another place.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Great option for the Park City Area. Wo ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Great option for the Park City Area. Worth the drive. The server and Hostess were delightful.

Had the trout, was delicious. Wife had the Venerschnitzel(sp) and she said it was wonderful.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awsome our waitresses all were great lov ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Awsome our waitresses all were great loved the building the chef is amazing how he can plate food and the desserts were incredible....

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Group of six friends for a late dinner. ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Group of six friends for a late dinner. Had a great experience with food, servicer and ambiance. We will be going back and recommending to friends.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Food used to be good there. Maybe they ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Food used to be good there. Maybe they lost their chef. Everything is either over cooked or undercooked. Staff is nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service2

We love the Blue Boar Inn. The ambiance ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

We love the Blue Boar Inn. The ambiance is so lovely - we always feel like we are in a European Hunting or Ski Lodge.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

My wife and I visited the Blue Boar Inn ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

My wife and I visited the Blue Boar Inn for her Birthday. It is located in beautiful Midway. I would describe the Blue Boar Inn as rustic and cozy. The food was very good. We really enjoyed the Salmon.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The restaurant is beautiful. The food i ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

The restaurant is beautiful. The food is excellent. The service was at best indifferent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Well worth the ride from park city

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Well worth the ride from park city

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Nice meal but a bit disappointed in our ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Nice meal but a bit disappointed in our food. Just average, not as good as meals we've had at the Blue Boar in the past.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Charming interior, and very pleasant out ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Charming interior, and very pleasant outdoor dining.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

All around excellent place to dine. Germ ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

All around excellent place to dine. German food authentic, seafood mouth watering. Will go back again.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was great. We sat on the deck ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

The food was great. We sat on the deck where they had a complimentary shall at every table in case the guests get cold. The wild boar meatballs were delicious as was the vanilla bean crème brulee. The wines by the glass were limited, however the bottle wine list was extensive and interesting. Overall, a very nice experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

A quaint European gem in the beautiful m ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

A quaint European gem in the beautiful middle of nowhere. The detail of the decor and the building itself transfer the diner back to the Swiss Alps. And the food!!!! I had the duck breast in sour cherry sauce, and it was out of this world. My husband had the veal, and it was also wonderful. Be warned - the fondue appetizer for 2 could easily serve 4. Sunday brunch was an exquisite ending to a memorable weekend stay.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food. Exceptional ambiance. ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Excellent food. Exceptional ambiance. Very nice anniversary dinner.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My favorite Resturant in Utah !! Highly ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

My favorite Resturant in Utah !! Highly recommend.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed a delightful evening outside ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

We enjoyed a delightful evening outside for our 46th wedding anniversary. It was outstanding.

The service was excellent and the food was delicious. I had the Beef Tenders with Bernaise Sauce which was the best I've experience since eating at the King Cole Restaurant in Indianapolis 44 years ago. My wife's salmon was equally excellent. We ate on the deck in pleasant evening weather. I am talking to all our friends about our experience, suggesting that they take their special one there.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

The food was absolutely great and the service was fast and well done.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was outstanding. Food prepare ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Everything was outstanding. Food prepared to perfection. Enjoyed our evening. Not rushed.

The waiter and staff were very attentive and did a great job.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Blue Boar

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on March 24, 2016

food was excellent flavor and nice size portions. Salad, entree, desert could not be better. Everyone on our party enjoyed their meal. Service was good, food came quickly, a little slow on the check. Would diffently return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Blown away

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on March 19, 2016

I took my boyfriend for his birthday dinner to the Blue Boar Restaurant. The food was absolutely outstanding.

Starting with the Swedish Boar Meatballs, which had an amazing flavor, followed by French Onion Soup, which was to die for. The broth was rich and flavorful. Boyfriend had the red lentil salad, which was ok. I tried it and I would not recommend it. Neither would he.

My boyfriend then had the Wild Boar Bourgignon, which was the highlight of the night. The meat was so tender and the entire dish exploded of flavor. I am actually kind of jealous that I did not order the same. I had the Schnitzel, Spaetzle and Asparagus dish and it was alright. Nothing special, not extremely good. But, to be fair, I am German and I grew up eating and preparing Spaeztle all my life, so I may be a little spoiled in regards to Schnitzel and especially Spaetzle.

As desert I had Vanilla Creme Brulee with fruit and it was super light and great in flavor.

Overall an amazing dining experience. The staff was extremely professional and attentive.

If I had the money I would go once a month

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great quiet location nested in great spot

vip
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

Everyone was so friendly and outgoing, we had an enjoyable time. There were 3 of us in the party and we didn't spend the night at the Inn just came up for the food.

Lovely dining area, great tasting food. Menu was very simple and very satisfying. The Inn keeper was super nice and funny at the same time. He mentioned Swiss days in September which we will for sure be there for that.

Highly recommend this restaurant to others who want a nice quiet cozy place to relax and enjoy a great meal.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Gem in Utah

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 25, 2016

Excellent restaurant that's not in Park City but a short drive to Midway. This is the third time we've eaten there and they never disappoint!! Love the Wednesday pre-fix menu.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always great!!

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

The Blue Boar Inn is consistently a wonderful place with a top notch chef. The appetizers are superb and the main courses are varied and good across the board. Save some room for dessert to cap off the meal!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Special Place

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on February 16, 2016

We love the Blue Boar Inn - It's quiet ambiance along with delicious classic food make it a wonderful dining experience. Every time we are in Park City we make sure we have lunch or dinner at the Blue Boar and it never disappoints.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Brunch in Town

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

We frequent Blue Boar Inn for their weekend brunch. So delicious words won't do it justice. My suggestion - try the salmon; beautiful, cooked perfectly, absolutely the best!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Hill

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Absolutely amazing dinner! Couldn't help but overeat as everything was beyond delicious. Highly recommend the schnitzel and filet -- mac 'n cheese and brussel sprouts for sides -- can't go wrong with any of the deserts either. The Inn is a great place to make a night of it -- amazing 5 course plated brunch included!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Missed the mark this time

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

My husband and i both felt like our dinner entrees missed the mark. We have eaten here before and were much happier with our previous choices (the best scallops we've ever had in our lives!), but this time, the entrees were pretty average. They do an awesome brunch and i was really excited to see Scotch eggs on the menu. These were made with perfectly soft yolks, but when the kitchen didn't have any Branson pickle, i realized just how important it is to my enjoyment of this dish. One other issue is that some of the tables for two seem too long. It kind of detracts from the intimate, romantic setting. A few inches might not seem like a big deal, but we truly notice a difference when we are seated at the smaller tables and can have a conversation without raising our voices. Overall, the food was kind of hit and miss this time around, but we have enjoyed staying and dining at the Blue Boar Inn in the past, and we will probably be back.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Wonderful evening here. Will go back.

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Wonderful evening here. Will go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Disappointing food

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

We drove up to this restaurant to get out of the inversion in SLC. The reviews that I read were all good. We were all disappointed with our food - everything was tasteless - not inedible but just flavorless! The weather was great but the food was not worth the drive!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

The experience was okay, but did not liv ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on January 23, 2016

The experience was okay, but did not live up to our expectations based on Blur Boar'd reputation.

The amuse Bouche was delicious, but the mains were average. For the price we have eaten much better food in Park City.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Consistently a 'fave' on the Wasatch Back'

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on January 23, 2016

Very much worth the extra trouble to get there and the added expense. BBI has always been a memorable dining experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent!

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on January 21, 2016

Charming Inn, delicious fresh food and excellent friendly service make this worth the drive from wherever!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Visit to Blue Boar

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on January 14, 2016

Once again, the Blue Boar came through as a dining experience to remember. We have begun an annual birthday celebration there, considering it to be such a special place to have dinner. We love the food, the ambiance and everything about it. Thanks to all who served us!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent meal and service

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on January 10, 2016

The brunch is 5 courses and very reasonable. And excellent food. Lovely room and service was great. I look forward to coming back for dinner sometime.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

over salted

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on December 29, 2015

after reading a lot about this a group of 8 went.

first, i will say the service was good..

second, and more dissappointing, the food was really mediocre highlighted by the fact that several of us ordered the pork shank that was just extremely oversalted.

none of us finished. furthermore, while cooked well, it was not exactly 'fall of the bone' material either.

the corn soup was very good.

the amuse bouche looked like it was pre-made early that afternoon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value3

The Ideal get away

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on December 29, 2015

The waiter was very attentive and knowledgeable about the menu. The food was great and the ambiance relaxed. There wasn't any rush we were made to feel comfortable and encouraged to enjoy our time. It was a great romantic get away for our anniversary. Making it even more special is the wonderful bed and breakfast it is part of.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.