About Blue Boar Inn & Restaurant

1235 Warm Springs Rd
Midway, UT 84049-6466
View Larger Map

The Blue Boar Inn and Restaurant is reminiscent of an old world European Hunting Lodge which is nestled in the foothills of Midway, Utah. The Inn's charming main dining room will accommodate 60 people. We specialize in European Fine Dining.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
European, Contemporary German, Scandinavian

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 2:30pm.
Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm.
Breakfast: Monday - Saturday: 8:00am - 10:30am.

Cross Street:
Homestead Drive

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(435) 654-1400

Website:
http://www.theblueboarinn.com/

Parking Details:
Private parking on property and across street.

Executive Chef:
Eric May

Private Party Facilities:
Library seats 8-12 Small dining room seats 8-20

Private Party Contact:
Eric May: 4356541400

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Blue Boar Inn & Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.4

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Utah
Best Ambiance
Utah
Romantic
Utah
7 More
Scenic View
Utah
Special Occasion
Utah
Best Overall
Park City Area
Best Food
Park City Area
Best Service
Park City Area
Best Ambiance
Park City Area
Special Occasion
Park City Area

romantic (19)
special occasion (17)
great for outdoor dining (12)
See All
scenic view (10)
fit for foodies (9)
neighborhood gem (7)
great for brunch (5)
notable wine list (4)
good for groups (4)
great for lunch (2)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
137 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

My wife and I visited the Blue Boar Inn ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined 5 days ago

My wife and I visited the Blue Boar Inn for her Birthday. It is located in beautiful Midway. I would describe the Blue Boar Inn as rustic and cozy. The food was very good. We really enjoyed the Salmon.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The restaurant is beautiful. The food i ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

The restaurant is beautiful. The food is excellent. The service was at best indifferent.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Well worth the ride from park city

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Well worth the ride from park city

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Nice meal but a bit disappointed in our ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Nice meal but a bit disappointed in our food. Just average, not as good as meals we've had at the Blue Boar in the past.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Charming interior, and very pleasant out ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Charming interior, and very pleasant outdoor dining.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

All around excellent place to dine. Germ ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

All around excellent place to dine. German food authentic, seafood mouth watering. Will go back again.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was great. We sat on the deck ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

The food was great. We sat on the deck where they had a complimentary shall at every table in case the guests get cold. The wild boar meatballs were delicious as was the vanilla bean crème brulee. The wines by the glass were limited, however the bottle wine list was extensive and interesting. Overall, a very nice experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

A quaint European gem in the beautiful m ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

A quaint European gem in the beautiful middle of nowhere. The detail of the decor and the building itself transfer the diner back to the Swiss Alps. And the food!!!! I had the duck breast in sour cherry sauce, and it was out of this world. My husband had the veal, and it was also wonderful. Be warned - the fondue appetizer for 2 could easily serve 4. Sunday brunch was an exquisite ending to a memorable weekend stay.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food. Exceptional ambiance. ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Excellent food. Exceptional ambiance. Very nice anniversary dinner.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My favorite Resturant in Utah !! Highly ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

My favorite Resturant in Utah !! Highly recommend.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed a delightful evening outside ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

We enjoyed a delightful evening outside for our 46th wedding anniversary. It was outstanding.

The service was excellent and the food was delicious. I had the Beef Tenders with Bernaise Sauce which was the best I've experience since eating at the King Cole Restaurant in Indianapolis 44 years ago. My wife's salmon was equally excellent. We ate on the deck in pleasant evening weather. I am talking to all our friends about our experience, suggesting that they take their special one there.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

The food was absolutely great and the service was fast and well done.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was outstanding. Food prepare ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Everything was outstanding. Food prepared to perfection. Enjoyed our evening. Not rushed.

The waiter and staff were very attentive and did a great job.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Blue Boar

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on March 24, 2016

food was excellent flavor and nice size portions. Salad, entree, desert could not be better. Everyone on our party enjoyed their meal. Service was good, food came quickly, a little slow on the check. Would diffently return.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Blown away

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on March 19, 2016

I took my boyfriend for his birthday dinner to the Blue Boar Restaurant. The food was absolutely outstanding.

Starting with the Swedish Boar Meatballs, which had an amazing flavor, followed by French Onion Soup, which was to die for. The broth was rich and flavorful. Boyfriend had the red lentil salad, which was ok. I tried it and I would not recommend it. Neither would he.

My boyfriend then had the Wild Boar Bourgignon, which was the highlight of the night. The meat was so tender and the entire dish exploded of flavor. I am actually kind of jealous that I did not order the same. I had the Schnitzel, Spaetzle and Asparagus dish and it was alright. Nothing special, not extremely good. But, to be fair, I am German and I grew up eating and preparing Spaeztle all my life, so I may be a little spoiled in regards to Schnitzel and especially Spaetzle.

As desert I had Vanilla Creme Brulee with fruit and it was super light and great in flavor.

Overall an amazing dining experience. The staff was extremely professional and attentive.

If I had the money I would go once a month

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great quiet location nested in great spot

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

Everyone was so friendly and outgoing, we had an enjoyable time. There were 3 of us in the party and we didn't spend the night at the Inn just came up for the food.

Lovely dining area, great tasting food. Menu was very simple and very satisfying. The Inn keeper was super nice and funny at the same time. He mentioned Swiss days in September which we will for sure be there for that.

Highly recommend this restaurant to others who want a nice quiet cozy place to relax and enjoy a great meal.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Gem in Utah

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 25, 2016

Excellent restaurant that's not in Park City but a short drive to Midway. This is the third time we've eaten there and they never disappoint!! Love the Wednesday pre-fix menu.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always great!!

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

The Blue Boar Inn is consistently a wonderful place with a top notch chef. The appetizers are superb and the main courses are varied and good across the board. Save some room for dessert to cap off the meal!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Special Place

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on February 16, 2016

We love the Blue Boar Inn - It's quiet ambiance along with delicious classic food make it a wonderful dining experience. Every time we are in Park City we make sure we have lunch or dinner at the Blue Boar and it never disappoints.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Brunch in Town

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

We frequent Blue Boar Inn for their weekend brunch. So delicious words won't do it justice. My suggestion - try the salmon; beautiful, cooked perfectly, absolutely the best!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Hill

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Absolutely amazing dinner! Couldn't help but overeat as everything was beyond delicious. Highly recommend the schnitzel and filet -- mac 'n cheese and brussel sprouts for sides -- can't go wrong with any of the deserts either. The Inn is a great place to make a night of it -- amazing 5 course plated brunch included!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Missed the mark this time

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

My husband and i both felt like our dinner entrees missed the mark. We have eaten here before and were much happier with our previous choices (the best scallops we've ever had in our lives!), but this time, the entrees were pretty average. They do an awesome brunch and i was really excited to see Scotch eggs on the menu. These were made with perfectly soft yolks, but when the kitchen didn't have any Branson pickle, i realized just how important it is to my enjoyment of this dish. One other issue is that some of the tables for two seem too long. It kind of detracts from the intimate, romantic setting. A few inches might not seem like a big deal, but we truly notice a difference when we are seated at the smaller tables and can have a conversation without raising our voices. Overall, the food was kind of hit and miss this time around, but we have enjoyed staying and dining at the Blue Boar Inn in the past, and we will probably be back.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Wonderful evening here. Will go back.

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Wonderful evening here. Will go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Disappointing food

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

We drove up to this restaurant to get out of the inversion in SLC. The reviews that I read were all good. We were all disappointed with our food - everything was tasteless - not inedible but just flavorless! The weather was great but the food was not worth the drive!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

The experience was okay, but did not liv ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on January 23, 2016

The experience was okay, but did not live up to our expectations based on Blur Boar'd reputation.

The amuse Bouche was delicious, but the mains were average. For the price we have eaten much better food in Park City.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Consistently a 'fave' on the Wasatch Back'

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on January 23, 2016

Very much worth the extra trouble to get there and the added expense. BBI has always been a memorable dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent!

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on January 21, 2016

Charming Inn, delicious fresh food and excellent friendly service make this worth the drive from wherever!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Visit to Blue Boar

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on January 14, 2016

Once again, the Blue Boar came through as a dining experience to remember. We have begun an annual birthday celebration there, considering it to be such a special place to have dinner. We love the food, the ambiance and everything about it. Thanks to all who served us!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent meal and service

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on January 10, 2016

The brunch is 5 courses and very reasonable. And excellent food. Lovely room and service was great. I look forward to coming back for dinner sometime.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

over salted

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on December 29, 2015

after reading a lot about this a group of 8 went.

first, i will say the service was good..

second, and more dissappointing, the food was really mediocre highlighted by the fact that several of us ordered the pork shank that was just extremely oversalted.

none of us finished. furthermore, while cooked well, it was not exactly 'fall of the bone' material either.

the corn soup was very good.

the amuse bouche looked like it was pre-made early that afternoon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value3

The Ideal get away

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on December 29, 2015

The waiter was very attentive and knowledgeable about the menu. The food was great and the ambiance relaxed. There wasn't any rush we were made to feel comfortable and encouraged to enjoy our time. It was a great romantic get away for our anniversary. Making it even more special is the wonderful bed and breakfast it is part of.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Best at everything!

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on December 27, 2015

I have traveled all over the world. Not a place I can name approaches the Blue Boar Inn. It wasn't just the room or food or setting...although each of those were perfect. It's the staff and their attention to every detail, every comfort, every moment of truth. We will be back to the Blue Boar Inn. We'll be back soon and often.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

WONDERFUL FIND!

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on November 30, 2015

We were staying at The Homestead Sunday after Thanksgiving. We read a review of Blue Boar online. Decided to try it. This was a slow period after a holiday. Not a lot of people in Midway. The Inn was a beautiful place . There was snow around and it looked like we had stepped into Bavaria. The restaurant was very quiet with only 2 other couples dining. Totally beautiful and romantic. The service was outstanding and food was delicious. The staff was so very friendly. We went on a tour of Inn after dinner. It is a very charming place. We may return and stay there. Rooms were not big but would be all the space we needed for 2 people. I highly recommend the restaurant.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Our experience was amazing. We had such ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on November 29, 2015

Our experience was amazing. We had such a special anniversary get away. The room was cozy and had great amenities. Dinner was beyond amazing with such good service. Thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Exquisite fine dining!

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on November 14, 2015

We celebrated our anniversary and spent the night. It is open to family and kids but, this also made it a rough night as we could hear a baby crying throughout the night.

The food and ambiance is amazing! They play a beautiful instruments music background while you are eating.

The staff was courteous and very professional.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I'm glad we went but none of us will go ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on September 29, 2015

I'm glad we went but none of us will go out of our way to return. The best part of the meal was the fondue and the meatballs. The French onion soup was good, however, it was almost too hot to eat. One in our party commented that the blue cheese on his salad was too strong to eat and it had a bad aftertaste. Entrees we had were the lamb and schnitzel. Disappointed that we weren't told that the schnitzel was made with pork and not veal. Also, it was dry and difficult to cut. The sauce on the schnitzel was good. Creme brûlée and banana trifle for dessert. Good but not great. Service was attentive, however, we weren't asked for drink orders. Halfway through the meal, a person in our party asked for a soda.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Never disappoints!

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 22, 2015

We just had a mini family reunion at the Blue Boar. Our family was together for 4 days. We tried most of the dishes on the menu and everyone agreed they were great. The fillet melts in your mouth. The pork is very tasty. The onion soup is a favorite. The fondue is fun and anything Chef May does with scallops is special. The service is always personal and attentive. We live out of state and try to go to the Blue Boar at least twice a year because it is a very special place. They make us feel like part of the family.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Blue Boar Score!

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on September 19, 2015

We ate dinner here on a Saturday night and Chef Eric May's food was so over-the-top delicious that we stayed over night and had Sunday brunch the next morning! This is some of the best food we've ever had. Anywhere. In the world!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great dining experience. The ambience w ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on September 19, 2015

Great dining experience. The ambience was perfect. I lived in Germany and the food at Blue Boar is as good or better. I love the Schnitzel. My wife had plenty of gluten free options. I will return soon.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Perfect anniversary meal!

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on September 19, 2015

This was our first time at the Blue Boar Inn. We had a wonderful experience. The restaurant is quaint and beautifully appointed. The food was unbelievably good. Simple, clean local food. The roasted brussels sprouts is one of the best things either of us has had. The bread they make in-house was perfect. I had trout and my wife had schnitzel. Very good. We finished the meal with the best creme brûlée you can imagine. We will be back for our next anniversary. Next time, we plan to spend the weekend in one of their rooms. This is a new favorite in Utah. You will not be disappointed.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.