About Blue Boar Inn & Restaurant

1235 Warm Springs Rd
Midway, UT 84049-6466
View Larger Map

The Blue Boar Inn and Restaurant is reminiscent of an old world European Hunting Lodge which is nestled in the foothills of Midway, Utah. The Inn's charming main dining room will accommodate 60 people. We specialize in European Fine Dining.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
European, Contemporary German, Scandinavian

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 2:30pm.
Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm.
Breakfast: Monday - Saturday: 8:00am - 10:30am.

Cross Street:
Homestead Drive

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(435) 654-1400

Website:
http://www.theblueboarinn.com/

Parking Details:
Private parking on property and across street.

Executive Chef:
Eric May

Private Party Facilities:
Library seats 8-12 Small dining room seats 8-20

Private Party Contact:
Eric May: 4356541400

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Blue Boar Inn & Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.7

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Utah
Best Service
Utah
Best Ambiance
Utah
12 More
Best Value
Utah
Great for Brunch
Utah
Romantic
Utah
Scenic View
Utah
Special Occasion
Utah
Best Overall
Park City Area
Best Food
Park City Area
Best Service
Park City Area
Best Ambiance
Park City Area
Best Value
Park City Area
Fit for Foodies
Park City Area
Special Occasion
Park City Area

special occasion (16)
romantic (15)
scenic view (10)
See All
neighborhood gem (9)
fit for foodies (8)
great for outdoor dining (7)
great for brunch (5)
great for lunch (3)
notable wine list (3)
good for groups (2)
Sort By:
Newest
128 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My favorite Resturant in Utah !! Highly ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

My favorite Resturant in Utah !! Highly recommend.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed a delightful evening outside ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

We enjoyed a delightful evening outside for our 46th wedding anniversary. It was outstanding. The service was excellent and the food was delicious. I had the Beef Tenders with Bernaise Sauce which was the best I've experience since eating at the King Cole Restaurant in Indianapolis 44 years ago. My wife's salmon was equally excellent. We ate on the deck in pleasant evening weather. I am talking to all our friends about our experience, suggesting that they take their special one there.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful

Dined on June 2, 2016

The food was absolutely great and the service was fast and well done.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Everything was outstanding. Food prepare ...

Dined on May 29, 2016

Everything was outstanding. Food prepared to perfection. Enjoyed our evening. Not rushed. The waiter and staff were very attentive and did a great job.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Blue Boar

Dined on March 24, 2016

food was excellent flavor and nice size portions. Salad, entree, desert could not be better. Everyone on our party enjoyed their meal. Service was good, food came quickly, a little slow on the check. Would diffently return.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Blown away

Dined on March 19, 2016

I took my boyfriend for his birthday dinner to the Blue Boar Restaurant. The food was absolutely outstanding. Starting with the Swedish Boar Meatballs, which had an amazing flavor, followed by French Onion Soup, which was to die for. The broth was rich and flavorful. Boyfriend had the red lentil salad, which was ok. I tried it and I would not recommend it. Neither would he. My boyfriend then had the Wild Boar Bourgignon, which was the highlight of the night. The meat was so tender and the entire dish exploded of flavor. I am actually kind of jealous that I did not order the same. I had the Schnitzel, Spaetzle and Asparagus dish and it was alright. Nothing special, not extremely good. But, to be fair, I am German and I grew up eating and preparing Spaeztle all my life, so I may be a little spoiled in regards to Schnitzel and especially Spaetzle. As desert I had Vanilla Creme Brulee with fruit and it was super light and great in flavor. Overall an amazing dining experience. The staff was extremely professional and attentive. If I had the money I would go once a month

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Great quiet location nested in great spot

Dined on March 12, 2016

Everyone was so friendly and outgoing, we had an enjoyable time. There were 3 of us in the party and we didn't spend the night at the Inn just came up for the food. Lovely dining area, great tasting food. Menu was very simple and very satisfying. The Inn keeper was super nice and funny at the same time. He mentioned Swiss days in September which we will for sure be there for that. Highly recommend this restaurant to others who want a nice quiet cozy place to relax and enjoy a great meal.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Gem in Utah

Dined on February 25, 2016

Excellent restaurant that's not in Park City but a short drive to Midway. This is the third time we've eaten there and they never disappoint!! Love the Wednesday pre-fix menu.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always great!!

Dined on February 21, 2016

The Blue Boar Inn is consistently a wonderful place with a top notch chef. The appetizers are superb and the main courses are varied and good across the board. Save some room for dessert to cap off the meal!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Special Place

Dined on February 16, 2016

We love the Blue Boar Inn - It's quiet ambiance along with delicious classic food make it a wonderful dining experience. Every time we are in Park City we make sure we have lunch or dinner at the Blue Boar and it never disappoints.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Brunch in Town

Dined on February 14, 2016

We frequent Blue Boar Inn for their weekend brunch. So delicious words won't do it justice. My suggestion - try the salmon; beautiful, cooked perfectly, absolutely the best!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Hill

Dined on February 14, 2016

Absolutely amazing dinner! Couldn't help but overeat as everything was beyond delicious. Highly recommend the schnitzel and filet -- mac 'n cheese and brussel sprouts for sides -- can't go wrong with any of the deserts either. The Inn is a great place to make a night of it -- amazing 5 course plated brunch included!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Missed the mark this time

Dined on February 14, 2016

My husband and i both felt like our dinner entrees missed the mark. We have eaten here before and were much happier with our previous choices (the best scallops we've ever had in our lives!), but this time, the entrees were pretty average. They do an awesome brunch and i was really excited to see Scotch eggs on the menu. These were made with perfectly soft yolks, but when the kitchen didn't have any Branson pickle, i realized just how important it is to my enjoyment of this dish. One other issue is that some of the tables for two seem too long. It kind of detracts from the intimate, romantic setting. A few inches might not seem like a big deal, but we truly notice a difference when we are seated at the smaller tables and can have a conversation without raising our voices. Overall, the food was kind of hit and miss this time around, but we have enjoyed staying and dining at the Blue Boar Inn in the past, and we will probably be back.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful evening here. Will go back.

vip
Dined on February 14, 2016

Wonderful evening here. Will go back.

food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Disappointing food

Dined on February 13, 2016

We drove up to this restaurant to get out of the inversion in SLC. The reviews that I read were all good. We were all disappointed with our food - everything was tasteless - not inedible but just flavorless! The weather was great but the food was not worth the drive!

food3
ambience4
service3

The experience was okay, but did not liv ...

Dined on January 23, 2016

The experience was okay, but did not live up to our expectations based on Blur Boar'd reputation. The amuse Bouche was delicious, but the mains were average. For the price we have eaten much better food in Park City.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Consistently a 'fave' on the Wasatch Back'

Dined on January 23, 2016

Very much worth the extra trouble to get there and the added expense. BBI has always been a memorable dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent!

Dined on January 21, 2016

Charming Inn, delicious fresh food and excellent friendly service make this worth the drive from wherever!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Visit to Blue Boar

Dined on January 14, 2016

Once again, the Blue Boar came through as a dining experience to remember. We have begun an annual birthday celebration there, considering it to be such a special place to have dinner. We love the food, the ambiance and everything about it. Thanks to all who served us!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent meal and service

Dined on January 10, 2016

The brunch is 5 courses and very reasonable. And excellent food. Lovely room and service was great. I look forward to coming back for dinner sometime.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food1
ambience4
service4
value3

over salted

vip
Dined on December 29, 2015

after reading a lot about this a group of 8 went. first, i will say the service was good.. second, and more dissappointing, the food was really mediocre highlighted by the fact that several of us ordered the pork shank that was just extremely oversalted. none of us finished. furthermore, while cooked well, it was not exactly 'fall of the bone' material either. the corn soup was very good. the amuse bouche looked like it was pre-made early that afternoon.

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The Ideal get away

Dined on December 29, 2015

The waiter was very attentive and knowledgeable about the menu. The food was great and the ambiance relaxed. There wasn't any rush we were made to feel comfortable and encouraged to enjoy our time. It was a great romantic get away for our anniversary. Making it even more special is the wonderful bed and breakfast it is part of.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best at everything!

Dined on December 27, 2015

I have traveled all over the world. Not a place I can name approaches the Blue Boar Inn. It wasn't just the room or food or setting...although each of those were perfect. It's the staff and their attention to every detail, every comfort, every moment of truth. We will be back to the Blue Boar Inn. We'll be back soon and often.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5

WONDERFUL FIND!

Dined on November 30, 2015

We were staying at The Homestead Sunday after Thanksgiving. We read a review of Blue Boar online. Decided to try it. This was a slow period after a holiday. Not a lot of people in Midway. The Inn was a beautiful place . There was snow around and it looked like we had stepped into Bavaria. The restaurant was very quiet with only 2 other couples dining. Totally beautiful and romantic. The service was outstanding and food was delicious. The staff was so very friendly. We went on a tour of Inn after dinner. It is a very charming place. We may return and stay there. Rooms were not big but would be all the space we needed for 2 people. I highly recommend the restaurant.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Our experience was amazing. We had such ...

Dined on November 29, 2015

Our experience was amazing. We had such a special anniversary get away. The room was cozy and had great amenities. Dinner was beyond amazing with such good service. Thank you!

food5
ambience5
service5

Exquisite fine dining!

Dined on November 14, 2015

We celebrated our anniversary and spent the night. It is open to family and kids but, this also made it a rough night as we could hear a baby crying throughout the night. The food and ambiance is amazing! They play a beautiful instruments music background while you are eating. The staff was courteous and very professional.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food3
ambience3
service3

I'm glad we went but none of us will go ...

Dined on September 29, 2015

I'm glad we went but none of us will go out of our way to return. The best part of the meal was the fondue and the meatballs. The French onion soup was good, however, it was almost too hot to eat. One in our party commented that the blue cheese on his salad was too strong to eat and it had a bad aftertaste. Entrees we had were the lamb and schnitzel. Disappointed that we weren't told that the schnitzel was made with pork and not veal. Also, it was dry and difficult to cut. The sauce on the schnitzel was good. Creme brûlée and banana trifle for dessert. Good but not great. Service was attentive, however, we weren't asked for drink orders. Halfway through the meal, a person in our party asked for a soda.

food5
ambience5
service5

Never disappoints!

vip
Dined on September 22, 2015

We just had a mini family reunion at the Blue Boar. Our family was together for 4 days. We tried most of the dishes on the menu and everyone agreed they were great. The fillet melts in your mouth. The pork is very tasty. The onion soup is a favorite. The fondue is fun and anything Chef May does with scallops is special. The service is always personal and attentive. We live out of state and try to go to the Blue Boar at least twice a year because it is a very special place. They make us feel like part of the family.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Blue Boar Score!

Dined on September 19, 2015

We ate dinner here on a Saturday night and Chef Eric May's food was so over-the-top delicious that we stayed over night and had Sunday brunch the next morning! This is some of the best food we've ever had. Anywhere. In the world!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Great dining experience. The ambience w ...

Dined on September 19, 2015

Great dining experience. The ambience was perfect. I lived in Germany and the food at Blue Boar is as good or better. I love the Schnitzel. My wife had plenty of gluten free options. I will return soon.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Perfect anniversary meal!

Dined on September 19, 2015

This was our first time at the Blue Boar Inn. We had a wonderful experience. The restaurant is quaint and beautifully appointed. The food was unbelievably good. Simple, clean local food. The roasted brussels sprouts is one of the best things either of us has had. The bread they make in-house was perfect. I had trout and my wife had schnitzel. Very good. We finished the meal with the best creme brûlée you can imagine. We will be back for our next anniversary. Next time, we plan to spend the weekend in one of their rooms. This is a new favorite in Utah. You will not be disappointed.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service5

Brunch with family

Dined on September 13, 2015

You can actually order from the brunch menu.! There are no annoying buffet lines to deal with! The price per person is based on the cost of your entree. But each entree includes juice, coffee, assorted pasteries, panna cota, and strawberries short cake. Our server was very helpful but was not intrusive. After brunch take a few minutes to drive though the neighbor and look at the beautiful homes - many have decorative murals painted on the stucco.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5

We visited for Sunday Brunch and enjoyed ...

Dined on September 13, 2015

We visited for Sunday Brunch and enjoyed the great atmosphere of Midway. The brunch was excellent with the many courses brought out. I had the salmon and it was prepared superbly. My wife had the waffle and it was not as good. It tasted a bit chalky. We will very likely go back. Great staff and service!

food5
ambience5
service5

This is the best brunch in the park city ...

vip
Dined on September 7, 2015

This is the best brunch in the park city Wasatch county area

food3
ambience5
service5

Great Environment and Fantastic Service

Dined on September 5, 2015

I took my wife to this restaurant for our 17th wedding anniversary. The ambiance and service were quite excellent. I had pre-arranged to have some flowers and a card at the table for my wife (to be added to the bill) and was very impressed with the beautiful arrangement that was chosen. The food, on the other hand, varied from excellent to just ok. The most expensive plate I ordered was actually my least favorite. I am sure the restaurant would have done something about it (given the fantastic service), but I didn't want to complain in front of my wife given that it was a special event we were celebrating. You definitely need to be prepared to spend a good amount of money as this restaurant is NOT cheap.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Rack of lamb great!! French onion soup best ever

Dined on August 30, 2015

The service was great. All personnel were very attentive and professional.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5

Alpine charm in rural Utah

Dined on August 23, 2015

The drive to Heber Valley and Midway is lovely. The Blue Boar Inn is located in an upscale neighborhood on the edge of scenic mountain access. The Inn itself is inviting and charming with a Swiss décor. The menu offers a manageable variety of succulent and comfortable dishes. The service is attentive but not overbearing. The dessert menu is simplistic.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

True hospitality and culinary talent

Dined on August 22, 2015

Our best dining experience by far in the Park City area. Very gracious European setting. The staff knows how to be accommodating without fawning and the food coming out of the kitchen is exceptional. The fondue for two will feed four. We had filet, salmon, lamb and schnitzel, all excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Fabulous.

vip
Dined on August 20, 2015

Great restaurant for every meal. The food, service and ambience is wonderful. Would recommend this restaurant to anyone.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

The Blue Boar Inn's attention to detail ...

vip
Dined on August 18, 2015

The Blue Boar Inn's attention to detail is impeccable. Walking up to the restaurant evokes the feeling of visiting an old world, European inn. From the design of the interior and exterior of the building to the presentation and quality of the food, the experience far exceeded all expectations. The staff were warm, inviting, and endlessly helpful, even giving us a tour of the rooms at the inn after our meal, since we were there on a quiet Monday evening. The experience at Blue Boar Inn was truly memorable, wonderful, and well worth the drive from Park City. Tips: - If driving from Park City during the summer, take the Guardsman's Pass route, it is achingly beautiful. - The fondue is spectacular - Stay in one of the incredible rooms if you can - Take your time and enjoy

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.