About Blu Ristorante

17A Yorkville Avenue
Toronto, ON M4W 1L1
View Larger Map

On the quiet eastern front of Yorkville, set back behind a brick façade, Blu is an Italian restaurant based on authentic classic cuisine, yet, contemporary created by executive Chef; Eric Bucher and Chef de Cuisine; Andrew Harasti


Warmly lit stone walls and grand mirrors surround cozy leather seating and white table cloths. Enter through a casual wine bar, which then leads to a hip, upscale dining room with an inviting ambiance.

Dinner is enhanced by the soothing live music Friday to Saturday. Pianist/singer, guitarrist/singer. Enjoy impeccable service for intimate dining or for large private parties up to 110 guests. Private rooms also available. One will remember Blu as a true memorable dining experience.
Blu has become a staple restaurant in Toronto over the last ten years

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Friday: Dinner 5:00pm - 11:00pm,
Saturday: Dinner 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Sunday: Dinner 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(416) 921-1471

Website:
http://www.bluristorante.com/

Entertainment:
Live music Friday and Saturday. Soft contemporary music with a jazz feel. Allowing diners to enjoy live music and dinner conversation. Varied artists throughout the week. Please visit our website for more detailed information www.bluristorante.com

Parking Details:
Public parking 6 doors west on the same side of the street (Yorkville Avenue).

Public Transit:
Minute walk from Yonge/Bloor Subway Station.
6 minute walk from Bay/Bloor Subway Station.

Executive Chef:
Massimo Callovini

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We specialize in all types of private functions such as: weddings, corporate functions, presentations, product launches, fashion shows, etc. We provide our clients with professional AV system. Menus can be created in coordination with Massimo Callovini
Blu has private rooms that accommodate tables of eight up to thirty two.

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Beetroot Risotto - Blu Ristorante, Toronto, ON
Smoked Sweet Potato Gnocchi With Lamb Meatballs - Blu Ristorante, Toronto, ON
Apple Crumble with Ice Cream - Blu Ristorante, Toronto, ON
Tiramisu - Blu Ristorante, Toronto, ON
Grilled Seafood - Blu Ristorante, Toronto, ON
Octopus - Blu Ristorante, Toronto, ON
Seafood Linguini - Blu Ristorante, Toronto, ON
Leg Of Lamb - Blu Ristorante, Toronto, ON
Duck Confit Parpadelle - Blu Ristorante, Toronto, ON
Rissotto - Blu Ristorante, Toronto, ON
Watermelon, Blue Crab Meat, Avocado, Frizee, Black Sesame. - Blu Ristorante, Toronto, ON
Caramel Popcorn, Orange Almond Tile, Sweet Corn Pannacota - Blu Ristorante, Toronto, ON
Salumi Board - Blu Ristorante, Toronto, ON
Blu Dishes - Blu Ristorante, Toronto, ON
Corn Pannacota - Blu Ristorante, Toronto, ON
Duck Confit Terrine - Blu Ristorante, Toronto, ON
Duck Confit Arancini - Blu Ristorante, Toronto, ON
Herb Stuffed Chicken Breast - Blu Ristorante, Toronto, ON
Rabbit Terrine - Blu Ristorante, Toronto, ON
Braised Octopus - Blu Ristorante, Toronto, ON
Seared Scallops With Pork Belly - Blu Ristorante, Toronto, ON
Beef Carpaccio with Truffle Oil - Blu Ristorante, Toronto, ON
Veal Ravioli With Corn - Blu Ristorante, Toronto, ON
Moules - Blu Ristorante, Toronto, ON
Lemoncello Olive Cake - Blu Ristorante, Toronto, ON
Squid Ink Pasta With Grilled Tuna - Blu Ristorante, Toronto, ON

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Details

Four course Valentine's menu
$95.00 per person plus
Live pianist/singer and guitarist/singer.

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon - Wed 5:30PM - 6:30PM

Private Dining

Conveniently located in stylish Yorkville, Blu Ristorante offers a selection of specialized amenities to suit your specific event needs, whether it’s enjoying cocktails and hors d’oeuvres in our spacious wine bar or intimate dining in the main dining room.

Blu Ristorante Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (41)
Romantic (40)
Special Occasion (34)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (31)
Live Music (29)
Creative Cuisine (24)
Good for Birthdays (24)
Cozy (22)
Business Meals (21)
Good for Groups (18)
Fit for Foodies (16)
Modern Decor (16)
Notable Wine List (15)
Quiet Conversation (15)
Worth the Drive (12)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Fun (9)
Casual (9)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Authentic (9)
Tasting Menu (7)
Hot Spot (7)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Late-night Find (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Family Style (5)
Healthy (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (4)
Private Room (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Fireplace (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Seasonal (2)
Happy Hour (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
People Watching (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Organic (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Vegan (1)
Spicy (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1036 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Blu has become one of our favorite resta ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined a day ago

Blu has become one of our favorite restaurants to dine at. The food never disappoints and the chefs are accommodating with menu changes. The service is excellent, attentive and friendly. We enjoyed the live guitarist/singer as well.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Fun, Good for a Date, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best restaurant experiences i ...

 
 (Dubai)·Dined 2 days ago

One of the best restaurant experiences in Toronto

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went there to celebrate our engagement. ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 7 days ago

Went there to celebrate our engagement. The service and food was excellent! We were seated 2 tables away from the acoustic piano and amplifier, so it made casual conversation difficult. Next time we attend we will request a table further from the piano, but overall it was superb!

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Romantic, Live Music, Bar Seating, Healthy, Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great place for a special occasion or da ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 7 days ago

Great place for a special occasion or date. Great ambience and service. The food was nicely plated, good flavour and filling quantity. Love music is a nice addon for the night!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We loved the fact that we met up with fr ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 13, 2017

We loved the fact that we met up with friends we see very rarely from far away and never rushed. Liked that water glasses were always filled

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Late-night Find, Fun, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Paleo Friendly, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I have been going to Blu for a few years ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 5, 2017

I have been going to Blu for a few years now. I used to be a regular when they had opened for lunch and continue to suggest they do so again (but I fully understand and accept the reasons for not offering lunch service).

The staff and management is very friendly and knowledgeable. I have enjoyed dinners with business colleagues / family / friends and neighbours, all have agreed that Blu offers great food and a great atmosphere. Definitely going back!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Private Room, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience dining had an amazing N ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great experience dining had an amazing New Years there great place for a date Service is always amazing they have some nice live music talent

Tags: Worth the Drive, Live Music, Good for a Date, Cozy, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything about this place is great! ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Everything about this place is great!

We went for NYE dinner and it seemed like they like they were trying to get us in and out asap.

I was offended when they brought me the bill without having asked for it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

we were 6. Live music and delicious food ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 31, 2016

we were 6. Live music and delicious food with great service. Would most certainly go again.

Tags: Live Music, Cozy, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Brunch, Late-night Find, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

My first time there and i was very satis ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 28, 2016

My first time there and i was very satisfied. Going to give it a second shot to confirm it wasn't luck (which i doubt), there is experience running this place. The Host and the staff.kitchen got out the proper message and experience to the guests! Food was great! Everyone's plate went back empty! Staff was on target, very receptive and attentive (although the new guy kept interrupting our conversations) but i still give him a pass! AND the atmosphere was quite pleasant. Can't wait to try it again. Bravo to Blu...we can't wait to come see you again!!

The NSC crew.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

It's a Italian restaurant, so we made a ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 25, 2016

It's a Italian restaurant, so we made a mistake that ordered a steak. Steak is not good as others especially seafoods and pastas. Fortunately, we ordered the grill calamari and seafood linguine. These two courses were outstanding. They left me deep impression. I highly recommend that people who want to go there order the grill calamari and a pasta since Blu is a Italian restaurant that seafood and pasta are they good at. It's a little bit noisy since it has live music, so people have to raise their indoor voice to talk. Bad or not.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

I ordered the braised octopus as appetiz ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 24, 2016

I ordered the braised octopus as appetizer and apparently it is over seasoned. At the same time the lobster linguini tastes ok but is not mixed with the cream evenly. Over all a nice place to go but they really need to keep up with the food quality during busy times.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

This restaurant delivers splendid servic ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 24, 2016

This restaurant delivers splendid service and outstanding food.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had wonderful evening dinner on Christma ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Had wonderful evening dinner on Christmas eve.

Fantastic foods and services.

Loved to go there again :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was very good. Loud table beside ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Service was very good. Loud table beside us. Food was good , though octopus was dry, tuna was delicious.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was good but really pricey. Our ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 21, 2016

The food was good but really pricey. Our server did not provide a good service. We felt like because we were young individuals the server did not provide care for our table. He was extremely rude and not friendly. There were multiple servers who kept ignoring us when we asked for help or when we said we were ready to order.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

Love the rack of lamb main !thats a mu ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Love the rack of lamb main !thats a must have. This restaurant is worth a try

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The dishes we had weren't great, but goo ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 19, 2016

The dishes we had weren't great, but good enough. The dinning environment and atmosphere on the other hand were wonderful with attentive staff.

Although it is a bit pricey ($130 for 2 appetizers and 2 entrees plus tip), but the overall experience was quite satisfactory.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Romantic, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Me and my husband went for dinner on Sat ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Me and my husband went for dinner on Saturday night. What a excellent meal., the food was incredible the ambiance was perfect. The wait staff was just excellent.. will definitely be back...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Absolutely fabulous evening! Everything ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Absolutely fabulous evening! Everything was perfect and couldn't have been any better.

Outstanding one of the best restaurants we have ever dined in. Jonathan and his staff were spectacular. Food was simply amazing. We went for my boyfriend's birthday and were absolutely thrilled, very intimate and romantic. We will recommend this restaurant to everyone and definitely looking forward to returning.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Live Music, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were seated immediately and staff was ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 17, 2016

We were seated immediately and staff was perfectly attentive throughout our dining experience. The food was excellent, as was the ambience. We both enjoyed ourselves very much. We would highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

What a great find! Fantastic food and t ...

 
 (London)·Dined on December 17, 2016

What a great find! Fantastic food and the service was phenomenal - very friendly

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent! Delightful dining experience ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Excellent! Delightful dining experience with delectable food! Would definitely go back for more! Ps. My Beef Tenderloin melted in my mouth, best I've ever had...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The Beef Carpaccio was the bet I have ev ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 14, 2016

The Beef Carpaccio was the bet I have ever had. My wife ordered the duck and sent it back as it was dry and they provided her with another selection and was very kind and professional about it.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was delicious my wife and I enj ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 10, 2016

The food was delicious my wife and I enjoyed very much. Great atmosphere, very good service. The only thing I would say was negative is that the cream brûlée was very bed, way below the level of the rest of the dinner. The other desert we ordered -hot chocolate cake was perfect. Also a glass of red wine (8oz) was 22$. To expensive. Overall we enjoyed very much and the Maine course were sooooo good...definitely recommended!!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

the food was excellent and the waiter wa ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 10, 2016

the food was excellent and the waiter was friendly and professional

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was great and the service was o ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 6, 2016

The food was great and the service was outstanding. We all had a good overall experience.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

I am very picky, salad had to much dress ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 4, 2016

I am very picky, salad had to much dressing and our main courses were just okay.

Tags: Cozy, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

Great ambiance, attentive service, HQ d ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Great ambiance, attentive service, HQ dishes, well thought out wine selection, to go with pro-level piano entertainment. Everything is priced accordingly.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Live Music, Authentic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

It was an excellent experience! Great se ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 3, 2016

It was an excellent experience! Great service and food!

The only thing - it was hard to hear the live music, because of the loud noise /people.

Other than that, great place!

Tags: Cozy, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

We were at Blu for the first time celebr ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 29, 2016

We were at Blu for the first time celebrating my parents 60th anniversary.Everything from the service to the food and ambience was exceptional. I would highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

In the beginning the service was okay bu ...

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 27, 2016

In the beginning the service was okay but it soon turned into a very very poor effort to deliver customer service. Wine pours were grossly inconsistent to the point I had to complain and tell the service staff to pick up their game and management changed out our server to Jonathan. From there service improved and what ever was left of the evening was adequately salvaged.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

Friday evening- The live music starts fr ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Friday evening- The live music starts from 8pm till 10pm. A man playing mallow blues on classical guitar. Classic ambience with amazing tasting food. Ordered duck- marinated and roasted to perfection. Stuffed chicken breast- delicious in taste and great in portion. Pasta- Pasta sauce tasted very fresh and mild, pasta cooked to perfection. Desserts were just okay. Nothing exclusive about desserts.

Overall, great place for a special occasion or fine dinning. Live music works as a romantic ambience, so perfect for anniversaries or dates.

But the best part that will make me wanna go again is the FOOD! Worth the pain to drive and finding the parking.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Family Style, Cozy, Late-night Find, Live Music, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Very bad service. I've had.better servic ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Very bad service. I've had.better service at McDonalds McCafe

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

Food is perfect but portions are a littl ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Food is perfect but portions are a little bit small.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Live Music, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Delicious food. A beautiful dining exper ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Delicious food. A beautiful dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Phenomenal attention to detail and outst ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Phenomenal attention to detail and outstanding ambiance. Live music will recommend.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good restaurant but the portion siz ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Very good restaurant but the portion size was very petite. With that being said it was very flavourful.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Comfortable decor and the tables were we ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Comfortable decor and the tables were well spaced for privacy. Full house and lively group, but the acoustics were such that the background sound wasn't shrill.

The menu had a good selection but I didn't find the soup of the day or chicken dish particularly memorable. Service was friendly, professional and efficient, and never obtrusive. Overall a pleasant experience.

If someone asked me I'd say the meal experience was enjoyable, but I wouldn't go out of the way to recommend the restaurant to a friend.

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Its was really nice. A little dark to re ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Its was really nice. A little dark to read the menu and the Live music wasn't necessary it was just back ground noise. Over all very good.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.