About Blu Ristorante

17A Yorkville Avenue
Toronto, ON M4W 1L1
View Larger Map

On the quiet eastern front of Yorkville, set back behind a brick façade, Blu is an Italian restaurant based on authentic classic cuisine, yet, contemporary created by executive Chef; Massimo Callovini and Chef de Cuisine; Eric Bucher


Warmly lit stone walls and grand mirrors surround cozy leather seating and dark wood tables. Enter through a casual wine bar, which then leads to a hip, upscale dining room with an inviting ambiance.

Dinner is enhanced by the soothing live music Friday to Saturday. Pianist/singer, guitarrist/singer. Enjoy impeccable service for intimate dining or for large private parties up to 110 guests. Private rooms also available. One will remember Blu as a true memorable dining experience.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Friday: Dinner 5:00pm - 11:00pm,
Saturday: Dinner 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Sunday: Dinner 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(416) 921-1471

Website:
http://www.bluristorante.com/

Entertainment:
Live music Friday and Saturday. Soft contemporary music with a jazz feel. Allowing diners to enjoy live music and dinner conversation. Varied artists throughout the week. Please visit our website for more detailed information www.bluristorante.com

Parking Details:
Public parking 6 doors west on the same side of the street (Yorkville Avenue).

Public Transit:
Minute walk from Yonge/Bloor Subway Station.
6 minute walk from Bay/Bloor Subway Station.

Executive Chef:
Massimo Callovini

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Takeout, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
We specialize in all types of private functions such as: weddings, corporate functions, presentations, product launches, fashion shows, etc. We provide our clients with professional AV system. Menus can be created in coordination with Massimo Callovini
Blu has private rooms that accommodate tables of eight up to thirty two.

Restaurant Photos

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Mon - Wed 5:30PM - 6:30PM

Private Dining

Conveniently located in stylish Yorkville, Blu Ristorante offers a selection of specialized amenities to suit your specific event needs, whether it’s enjoying cocktails and hors d’oeuvres in our spacious wine bar or intimate dining in the main dining room.

Blu Ristorante Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
Toronto
Best Restaurants in Yorkville ›

romantic (113)
special occasion (104)
fit for foodies (82)
See All
neighborhood gem (40)
notable wine list (40)
good for groups (34)
hot spot (23)
late-night find (15)
vibrant bar scene (6)
great for lunch (5)
kid-friendly (5)
scenic view (2)
great for outdoor dining (2)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
861 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazingggggggg!!!!!!! Everything was jus ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Amazingggggggg!!!!!!! Everything was just perfect. The food was delicious and looked insanely goood

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food. Would have preferred no live ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Great food. Would have preferred no live music. Was fine but we wanted to talk and hard to hear each other.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Everything was great. The only exception ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

Everything was great. The only exception was the piece of tuna we had. It was tough.

Tags: romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

There are quite a few restaurants in Yor ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

There are quite a few restaurants in Yorkville but few that have the combination that Blu has- outstanding food, well served, in a quiet enough environment to talk and comfortable cool ambiance. We will return and recommend BLu highly.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

Soaked by the drinks

Dined on May 7, 2016

Comfortable high-end ambiance. Food was very good but overpriced especially the drinks

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Great Romantic Restaurant

Dined on May 5, 2016

If you are looking for a romantic restaurant with a great location then this is the one for you! Food was awesome, setting was 10/10. Service was good, could have been a little more polite especially when you're spending essentially $50 per person. Great place for a special occasion.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Nice restaurant close to Four Season's

Dined on May 4, 2016

We always enjoy a nice dinner at BLU when when arriving at the Four Season's hotel in the evening. It is a real nice but still casual place with good Italian food right accross the street from the hotel - so we can walk there. Always pleasant service and nice ambiance.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

recommended

Dined on May 1, 2016

my familly and i travelled around the world and serouisly, ist a grestest place ever.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience !!

Dined on April 30, 2016

Great dining, romantic and elegant, best food we ever had, had a great ambiance, and the jazz singer set an awesome mood for the nite out!!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very Enjoyable Dinner

Dined on April 29, 2016

My parents and I were staying at the Four Seasons. This restaurant was recommended to us. We were greeted promptly and taken to our table. The server was very friendly. The specials were given to us and we ended up all going with one of the special that night. Drinks were great! Food was absolutely delicious. The food servers were very polite and friendly. The atomosphere was very quiet but comfortable. Very enjoyable evening out for a Friday Night.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Good meal and great service, but was lac ...

Dined on April 26, 2016

Good meal and great service, but was lacking some of the traditional past dishes I love in Italian food.

food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Great atmosphere and wonderful food

Dined on April 24, 2016

This restaurant was a big surprise for us, it was a fantastic experience for for entertainment and dining. They had a pianist there that was exceptional, playing a range of music (rock / blues etc.) but all in a sultry jazzy tempo. Really great. The only drawback we had was that we were first seated in the front of the restaurant, tucked in a corner against the wall. So, we opted to wait at the bar for about 45mins until we could get a table near the entertainment and the rest of the dining crowd. You should request to be in the dining room.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Special Anniversary meal that did not disappoint.

Dined on April 20, 2016

The restaurant decor and the overall ambience was lovely, although a little noisy. The service was impeccable. The veal saltimbocca was delicious; as was the calamari and beef tenderloin. We would definitely return.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Good but not to expectations

Dined on April 17, 2016

Blu is a good restaurant and a vibrant spot but not the great experience one would expect. The service style is not to my liking with up to 5 staff servicing the table. I prefer one waiter to own my experience. That being said, the food was hot and tasty. But that is also what i expect from a good corner diner!

Tags: hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Nice find in Yorkville

Dined on April 16, 2016

I booked this after reading some reviews. At first I was sceptical because it's not in the main restaurant section of Yorkville. It's east of Yonge. I was impressed when we entered. Great ambiance. Live music. Very busy which was a good sign. I had my 7 year old daughter with me at 7:30 on Saturday night and they treated us like any other patron which was nice. I had the sea bass which was amazing. The kale was incredible. My daughter had pasta. It was good but like most of these restaurants a simple pasta bolognese was way overpriced. And no, I wasn't expecting kid friendly menus. Overall a great dinner and I would definitely go back.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

While very pricey, the ambiance was terrific.

Dined on April 16, 2016

Interior stone walls, a mellow, but talented piano player and exceptional service. The food was also terrific and nice size portions. I would highly recommend this restaurant. It is in my top ten places because everything was amazing...so much that it is worth the high cost. The lighting was also perfect. Not too dark and yet unique. The piano player was a highlight. He was not karaoke, he was also unique and an wonderful addition to the experience.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Perfect Blu......

Dined on April 14, 2016

The bar was a perfect place to wait for our guests. Great martinis, perfectly prepared. Service at the bar and in the dining room were perfect. Can say it was topped off with a perfect evening with the bride and groom to-be.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service4

Great spot. Live music

vip
Dined on April 10, 2016

Great spot. Live music

food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Left hungry

Dined on April 9, 2016

Food and atmosphere were both amazing but we left there still hungry. Got more food at a bar near by. Blu portions are too small .

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing - again

Dined on April 3, 2016

We were warmly welcomed, had great discreet yet engaged service. The food was amazing. I recommend to anyone looking for a quiet environment with great food and service.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Took us 45 minutes later than our reserv ...

Dined on April 3, 2016

Took us 45 minutes later than our reservation. Offered us champagne and apologized. Food was good. They didn't have a pasta dish that we wanted to order. Said they ran out. Overall just average

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent all around.

vip
Dined on April 3, 2016

Second time there, very consistent with service and food quality. Best grilled octopus appetizer in the city. Duck was amazing, so was the Lobster & Prawn pasta. The custom Espresso martini was a nice treat as well. Live solo musician, not loud at all, so you don't have to yell or speak loud to your date and we sat within 10ft from speaker. Definitely give this place a try.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Good find

Dined on April 2, 2016

Good food & ambience a trifle pricey but worthwhile experience

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing food

Dined on March 30, 2016

We've been to Blu a few times and the food is always amazing. Best steak and grillef calamari I ever had!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Experience

Dined on March 30, 2016

From the moment the first person walked in the front door until the last person left to go home Jonathan and the team at Blu took great care of our corporate group of 7 for dinner. The food was fabulous, wine list was generous and included many choices of reasonably priced reds to fit corporate rules and the service was highly attentive.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience2
service1
value1

okay food with terrible service

Dined on March 26, 2016

okay food - far away from real Italian, but not too bad terrible service - they tried to overcharged us 3 times. 1st bill was $250, 2nd $180, 3rd $150. bottom line: if you'll go there check your bill carefully

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very special spot

Dined on March 20, 2016

Blu is quite non-descript from the outside. As soon as you walk in though, you realize it's a beauty. It feels warm and sophisticated at the same time. All the staff were very friendly, helpful and professional. The food was delicious. The live music was an added treat. He was a pianist-singer with great talent. He wasn't obtrusive in any way. It's expensive but worth it for a treat. I'm looking forward to going back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

, a real meal can you please suppurt?

Dined on March 20, 2016

Bolognese. It was the worst dish . 25 dollars for kraft mac and cheese

food4
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband's birthday!

Dined on March 19, 2016

It was my husband's birthday so instead of inviting a lot of people to our home we decided to go downtown to try this hot spot. We really enjoyed it and the food was great. We took our kids with us and they relaxed too, what does not happen so often. In general everything was great!

Tags: romantic, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great neighbourhood find.

Dined on March 17, 2016

Went with friend before Toronto Refwrence Library evening function. We both agreed we will go back. Good food, service, value. Can't wait to try for late night date; good ambiance.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent!!!

Dined on March 16, 2016

This was my 2nd time within 2 months at this restaurant and I was not disappointed. Food is tasty and service is excellent. We had 2 very good meals here.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful Experience

Dined on March 13, 2016

My experience at Blu Ristorante was a memorable one. All aspects of the restaurant were great! The service was excellent. More than just the designated waiter waited on my table; the candle kept on going out and someone was always quick to relight it. The food was superb! I got a veal dish and it was very very good. The ambiance was nice as well. I was taking my friend out for her birthday and it was everything that I wanted and expected. The only negative comment I would have would be the noise level. I was seated very closely to another table and it was sometimes difficult to talk without raising my voice. Other than that though, overall stellar restaurant! I would definitely go again!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Favorite Restaurant

Dined on March 12, 2016

The BEST best duck breast and chocolate cake I had. My husband and I enjoyed the special seabass appetizer as well. Plus, we can bring our favorite wine for $30 corkage fee. Highly recommended for a romantic dinner or special date night. The live music is very lovely as well.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great Experience, Outstanding Value and Food

Dined on March 12, 2016

Ate here while on a weekend getaway, Saturday night, they had a Guitar player making for great ambiance, his volume was not intrusive and what he played was a great backdrop. Food and service were outstanding. The menu was unique and we wanted to try everything, what we did try we loved!!! The price for the service and quality of food is very reasonable. GO!!!

food4
ambience5
service5
value5

great spot for romantic dinner.....

Dined on March 12, 2016

great food Chilean Sea Bass is a rare find in Toronto and this restaurant does it best and the wine matching fantastic

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

We had such a great time at this restaur ...

Dined on March 10, 2016

We had such a great time at this restaurant. Specially our server haidy, she made sure our moment felt special. We were there celebrating my partners 26th bday. And for sure we will be back for just regular dinner. Food was also to die for. Overall we had such a great experience

food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Everything was good. Our server was not ...

Dined on March 6, 2016

Everything was good. Our server was not friendly at all, mind you. Other than her poor attitude, we quite enjoyed the experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Disappointing

Dined on February 21, 2016

Our table wasn't ready when we showed up for our reservation so we opted to sit by the bar, which was fine, so I can't comment on the vibe in the rest of the venue. The food was terrible, and so was the service and the bill was high. Needless to say, we wouldn't recommend. Once of the most disappointing experiences ever.

food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Delicious dinner

Dined on February 21, 2016

Our dinner last Saturday was really delicious. The tuna entree was exceptional and the chocolate cake dessert was to die for. The live music made for a nice atmosphere as well. Expensive but worth it for a treat!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5

The octopus appetizer was the best I hav ...

Dined on February 20, 2016

The octopus appetizer was the best I have ever had anywhere.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.