About Blu Ristorante

17A Yorkville Avenue
Toronto, ON M4W 1L1
View Larger Map

On the quiet eastern front of Yorkville, set back behind a brick façade, Blu is an Italian restaurant based on authentic classic cuisine, yet, contemporary created by executive Chef; Massimo Callovini and Chef de Cuisine; Eric Bucher


Warmly lit stone walls and grand mirrors surround cozy leather seating and dark wood tables. Enter through a casual wine bar, which then leads to a hip, upscale dining room with an inviting ambiance.

Dinner is enhanced by the soothing live music Friday to Saturday. Pianist/singer, guitarrist/singer. Enjoy impeccable service for intimate dining or for large private parties up to 110 guests. Private rooms also available. One will remember Blu as a true memorable dining experience.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Friday: Dinner 5:00pm - 11:00pm,
Saturday: Dinner 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Sunday: Dinner 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(416) 921-1471

Website:
http://www.bluristorante.com/

Entertainment:
Live music Friday and Saturday. Soft contemporary music with a jazz feel. Allowing diners to enjoy live music and dinner conversation. Varied artists throughout the week. Please visit our website for more detailed information www.bluristorante.com

Parking Details:
Public parking 6 doors west on the same side of the street (Yorkville Avenue).

Public Transit:
Minute walk from Yonge/Bloor Subway Station.
6 minute walk from Bay/Bloor Subway Station.

Executive Chef:
Massimo Callovini

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We specialize in all types of private functions such as: weddings, corporate functions, presentations, product launches, fashion shows, etc. We provide our clients with professional AV system. Menus can be created in coordination with Massimo Callovini
Blu has private rooms that accommodate tables of eight up to thirty two.

Restaurant Photos

Blu Ristorante
Beetroot Risotto
Smoked Sweet Potato Gnocchi With Lamb Meatballs
Duck Confit Arancini
Apple Crumble with Ice Cream
Tiramisu
Grilled Seafood
Octopus
Seafood Linguini
Leg Of Lamb
Duck Confit Parpadelle
Rissotto
Watermelon, Blue Crab Meat, Avocado, Frizee, Black Sesame.
Caramel Popcorn, Orange Almond Tile, Sweet Corn Pannacota
Salumi Board
Blu Dishes
Corn Pannacota
Duck Confit Terrine
Herb Stuffed Chicken Breast
Rabbit Terrine
Braised Octopus
Seared Scallops With Pork Belly
Beef Carpaccio with Truffle Oil
Veal Ravioli With Corn
Moules
Lemoncello Olive Cake
Squid Ink Pasta With Grilled Tuna

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Mon - Wed 5:30PM - 6:30PM

Private Dining

Conveniently located in stylish Yorkville, Blu Ristorante offers a selection of specialized amenities to suit your specific event needs, whether it’s enjoying cocktails and hors d’oeuvres in our spacious wine bar or intimate dining in the main dining room.

Blu Ristorante Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
Toronto
Best Restaurants in Yorkville ›

Special Occasion (87)
Romantic (71)
Fit for Foodies (60)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (37)
Good for Groups (37)
Notable Wine List (36)
Hot Spot (12)
Late-night Find (11)
Good for a Date (9)
Cozy (8)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Worth the Drive (5)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Fun (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Business Meals (3)
Authentic (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Live Music (3)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Healthy (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Great Beer (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Casual (1)
Private Room (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
Newest
930 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Our waiter was very rude. Our dinner was ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined 3 days ago

Our waiter was very rude. Our dinner was late. The waiters set the wrong plates down in front of the wrong people, so some people didn't get what they ordered. The manager was very nice and offered us a lot of compensation. That was the only good thing about our night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Had the 5 course dinner, very good . Car ...

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined 7 days ago

Had the 5 course dinner, very good . Carpaccio was very nice. My duck was not cooked , and was tough, needs to be served cooked a bit more, not a meat to be served rare in my opinion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

The restaurant was clean and nicely set. ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

The restaurant was clean and nicely set. The staff were friendly. The food and drinks were good and nicely done. The only thing is that I believe you can get far better food and drinks for the value the menu asks for. In my opinion the whole menu (food and drinks specially the wine menu) is over rated and over priced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value1

The restaurant was beautiful, service wa ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

The restaurant was beautiful, service was great.. Food absolutely delish!! Overall a very romantic and memorable experience.. Loved the freshly baked chocolate cake, it's definitely worth the wait!!!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is a great restaurant with an extre ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

This is a great restaurant with an extremely talented chef.

I had the sea bass. It was outstanding. Couldn't have been prepared any better.

Others had the rack of lamb that was excellent.

The veal was terrific along with the filet.

Try this place. You will go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exceptional food. We created our own tas ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Exceptional food. We created our own tasting menu by sharing several dishes. Server very accommodating.

Tags: Bar Seating, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Acceptable, adult Italian in a convenien ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Acceptable, adult Italian in a convenient location. Food is nothing special, but service and atmosphere are fine, if a bit pricey (as befits the neighborhood).

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Very good food, romantic atmosphere, and ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Very good food, romantic atmosphere, and excellent live music. This restaurant will not dissapoint, no matter what occasion. Definitely visit Blu again.

Tags: Live Music, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

We dined last evening expecting great th ...

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

We dined last evening expecting great things given the high prices and previous reviews. We arrived on time and were quickly seated. The service was very uneven. The food was just bad. My wife liked the kale salad. My octupus starter was previously cooked and not even warmed up properly. The fetuccine was tolerable. The sea bass was passable. The lamb was very greasy in some sort of unidentifiable sauce and puree. The pannacotta desert was factory made. The same with the creme brulee which was just a milk starch pudding not creamy and very cold. I would not recommend this restaurant when there are many in Toronto far less pricey with much better service and food. One to avoid.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

We loved the place Great staff , Great ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

We loved the place Great staff , Great food and live entertainment !!!

we will be back !!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It was a very quiet evening, may not be ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

It was a very quiet evening, may not be fully representative.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The food was terrific and the service wa ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

The food was terrific and the service was attentive but not obtrusive. Being a holiday Monday it was relatively quiet which allowed for good conversation levels. I would definitely go back, it was thoroughly enjoyable.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

I had a reservation for 8pm on Friday, S ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

I had a reservation for 8pm on Friday, September 2nd, 2016. On the Blu Ristorante website, it showed that a piano player/singer would be performing and I booked the restaurant precisely for that. However, when we came, there was a guitar player playing and the piano player was nowhere to be found. I asked one of the staff if the piano player would be playing, since that's what it said on the website. He said the musicians make their own schedule. In that case, the website was rather misleading, as it gave me incorrect and false information.

The ambiance in the restaurant was fantastic, however, our server, learning that we were there only for dessert, immediately came off as standoffish and took away our plate settings with a rather cold distaste and attitude. He didn't even comment, as I would expect in a restaurant of this class, on the dessert menu or make any suggestions. He simply took away our plates without a word and even a "no dinner?" surprise in his voice, when in the reservation note, I clearly indicated that my wife and I would be there only for dessert and the live music. Obviously, they don't read the comments for their reservations. Very disappointing.

Dessert was fair. Presentation was unique and eye catching. The tiramisu was ok, especially considering the $13 price tag, I've had much, much better for much, much less in other upscale restaurants.

I'll come back only for the ambiance and maybe the food. The service was on the disappointing side. I hope that will not affect anyone else's stay.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

The food was excellent and John, the sin ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

The food was excellent and John, the singer/pianist added depth and richness to the ambiance.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Menu was outstanding , took us forever t ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Menu was outstanding , took us forever to choose something ! Ambiance was perfect , live jazz guitar in background..

Attentive , friendly service , they went out of their way to ensure we had a special night !

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything on their menu sounds deliciou ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

Everything on their menu sounds delicious and it is. We are so glad we picked Blu Ristorante for our 12 years Ann dinner. Love it

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Thank you for the great food and the won ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Thank you for the great food and the wonderfull evening Eric, Parents and his brother Marc. Special thanks to brian

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our evening at Blu Ristorante was exactl ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Our evening at Blu Ristorante was exactly what we were looking for...great menu, lovely wine selection, beautiful decor and expert staff. We were visiting Toronto and looking for romantic Sunday evening "date night". The restaurant offered a Chef's tasting menu option which consisted of 5 courses and we added the wine pairing option. We enjoyed each course and the wine pairings were perfect. The courses were generous, delicious with a lovely presentation. We also had a choice of two options for the main course. Our dinner was paced perfectly, allowing us to chat, savour the wine and delicious food. The price was reasonable, particularly with the wine choices factored in. I strongly recommend ths restaurant.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The live music was such a bonus! The mus ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

The live music was such a bonus! The musician took requests and really made our night that much more special

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Good food. Good value. Good service. Hig ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Good food. Good value. Good service. Highly recommend.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Late-night Find, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was great and server did a great jo ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Food was great and server did a great job. This is my 3rd or 4th trip and the food is always very consistant.

Will be back for sure.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I loved the vibe at this place. Ambianc ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

I loved the vibe at this place. Ambiance is beautiful and they even had live music, very very nice. Service was great from the entrance to the end. The food was nothing out of the common. I had a bolognese pasta and my friend has gnochi. Honestly for an authentic Italian restaurant, this was the type of food I could buy in the grocery store (and not even a gourmet grocery store). But, wine selection was very good and again, service and ambiance excellent.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value2

We were visiting Toronto from USA and we ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

We were visiting Toronto from USA and we had an outstanding evening. It was a highlight of our visit.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Romantic, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Blu was recommended to us by a Toronto r ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Blu was recommended to us by a Toronto resident, who joined us. Our dinners were outstanding. I ordered a chicken dish. Chicken usually isn't terribly exciting, but this dish was extraordinary. The service was impeccable.. I highly recommend Blu.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous food and extremely helpful and ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Fabulous food and extremely helpful and friendly waitstaff

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

With a party of 8 from out of town this ...

 
·Dined on July 25, 2016

With a party of 8 from out of town this was a outstanding find. Great dinner, service very attentive, all in a very up scale urban setting.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Restaurant is in a good location in York ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Restaurant is in a good location in Yorkville. The decor and ambience are great. The food is beautifully plated. However, the value for Summerlicious menu was not good.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

Service was wonderful. Food was deliciou ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Service was wonderful. Food was delicious. We had the Summerlicious menu. I would hugely recommend the poached pear starter. Nice ambiance. And great neighbourhood to walk around.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Thank you so much for an Amazing Dinner ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Thank you so much for an Amazing Dinner :)

The food was amazing but the Service was The best.

For sure, we will be back

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Romantic, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The risotto was very undercooked, there ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

The risotto was very undercooked, there were a few stand outs but the overall food experience was not great. Expect more from a Yorkville restaurant. This was part of the Summerlicious so not sure if that brought the quality down.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

The service in the bar area is thr best! ...

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

The service in the bar area is thr best! Love the staff! Food was on point!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Was disappointed with both my appetizer ...

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Was disappointed with both my appetizer and main. Had eaten at Blu a few times and loved the food and service. This time I ordered what was recommended which was the octopus appetizer and veal main. I found the octopus vinegary, which seemed odd. I also found my veal very salty and my mash cold.

I invited 4 people celebrating a birthday and no one else seemed to complain. Service was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Dinner was very good and Heidi, our serv ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Dinner was very good and Heidi, our server, was amazing. We did feel a bit rushed when the food came out quickly and then busboys attempted to clean up plates in front of those who were done, while others at the table still were eating. Too expensive for that!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Went there as part of Summerlicious and ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Went there as part of Summerlicious and am glad I did. The carpaccio and steak I had was fantastic and I will definitely be back for those! The ambiance was very romantic and I enjoyed the piano player. I did not like the automatic 18% gratuity imposed as I feel tip should be based on service. The waiter we had seemed like he was in a bad mood, was a little abrupt when taking our order and seemed uninterested in us as customers. I have waitressed, so I always tip well, but sometimes an automatic gratuity makes some servers not bother to try as hard.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

Nice ambiance, very good service and fri ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Nice ambiance, very good service and friendly at the same time, good wine recommendations, great menu, food very good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Blu never disappoints. From the warm gre ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Blu never disappoints. From the warm greeting at the door to the efficient and generous service, Alfredo runs a first rate establishment on every level.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was delicious. Space is a bit limit ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Food was delicious. Space is a bit limited but server was kind and knowledgeable about menu .

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We had a fantastic meal in a vibrant roo ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

We had a fantastic meal in a vibrant room with great atmosphere. There were so many good choices on the menu, it was hard to decide. We both had the beef tenderloin, and it was one of the best we've ever had. The appetizers were Also amazing. Too many choices again. The service was fantastic, just right - our waitress was not too intrusive and made us feel very comfortable. Blu is great value, definitely on par with, or better than, a lot of more expensive restaurants (that shall remain nameless).

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was exquisite. The ambience was abs ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Food was exquisite. The ambience was absolutely energetic. The soft lighting created the right mood for any occasion. Service impeccable. I will definitely be recommending this restaurant to my colleagues and friends.

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We having been coming to Blu for years a ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

We having been coming to Blu for years and it just keeps getting better! Chef Eric has created a lovely and complimentary menu of fresh and light appetizers and pastas, together with some tasty savoury mains. We sat at the bar this time and had excellent service with very good wine recommendations. The evening was a wonderful experience. Thanks to all!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.