Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.10mi
  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.10mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.10mi
  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.10mi

About Blu Ristorante

Top 100 restaurants in Canada and 50 Most romantic restaurants also in Canada op Open Table 2016
On the quiet eastern front of Yorkville, set back behind a brick façade, Blu is an Italian restaurant based on authentic classic cuisine, yet, contemporary created by executive Chef; Eric Bucher and Chef de Cuisine; Andrew Harasti


Warmly lit stone walls and grand mirrors surround cozy leather seating and white table cloths. Enter through a casual wine bar, which then leads to a hip, upscale dining room with an inviting ambiance.

Dinner is enhanced by the soothing live music Friday to Saturday. Pianist/singer, guitarrist/singer. Enjoy impeccable service for intimate dining or for large private parties up to 110 guests. Private rooms also available. One will remember Blu as a true memorable dining experience.
Blu has become a staple restaurant in Toronto over the last ten years

17A Yorkville Avenue
Toronto, ON M4W 1L1
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Friday: Dinner 5:00pm - 11:00pm,
Saturday: Dinner 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Sunday: Dinner 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(416) 921-1471

Website:
http://www.bluristorante.com/

Entertainment:
Live music Friday and Saturday. Soft contemporary music with a jazz feel. Allowing diners to enjoy live music and dinner conversation. Varied artists throughout the week. Please visit our website for more detailed information www.bluristorante.com

Parking Details:
Public parking 6 doors west on the same side of the street (Yorkville Avenue).

Public Transit:
Minute walk from Yonge/Bloor Subway Station.
6 minute walk from Bay/Bloor Subway Station.

Executive Chef:
Eric Bucher

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We specialize in all types of private functions such as: weddings, corporate functions, presentations, product launches, fashion shows, etc. We provide our clients with professional AV system. Menus can be created in coordination with Massimo Callovini
Blu has private rooms that accommodate tables of eight up to thirty two.

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon - Wed 5:30PM - 6:30PM

Private Dining

Conveniently located in stylish Yorkville, Blu Ristorante offers a selection of specialized amenities to suit your specific event needs, whether it’s enjoying cocktails and hors d’oeuvres in our spacious wine bar or intimate dining in the main dining room.

Blu Ristorante Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (32)
Romantic (29)
Special Occasion (28)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (21)
Good for Birthdays (17)
Live Music (16)
Cozy (14)
Creative Cuisine (14)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Notable Wine List (12)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Business Meals (11)
Modern Decor (8)
Authentic (7)
Good for Groups (7)
Casual (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Comfort Food (5)
Fireplace (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Healthy (4)
Fun (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Private Room (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Vegan (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Family Style (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
S
1112 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined 2 days ago

Excellent ambience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

Wonderful table, delicious food (had the tasting menu) and oustanding service. Tanya's friendliness and engaging smile made our evening a very pleasant experience.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 20, 2017

It was our anniversary and we were surprised with a complimentary prosecco. Very kind and attentive. Delicious food. The only thing I didn't enjoy: the music. I was expecting piano jazz, but there was a not-so-good pop singer instead... But I will definetely go again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 19, 2017

I ordered the calamari with risotto, and it was probably the best meal I've had all year. I couldn't ask for better service either.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 19, 2017

I would recommend this restaurant for everything. Never disappointed wth food or service
Always seem to sit next to people who are loud mouths and never seem to stop talking. Annoying when you're having a nice dinner for two. However, not everyone will be bothered by this.
Don, who has been our sever for all times we have been, has a great sense of humour and a real pleasure to interact with.
Great establishment. Will return indefinitely

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Everything was excellent: food, service, ambience. This is Toronto dining at the highest level.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on May 14, 2017

Food was great service was poor - waited very long between meals - waiter was rude, we ordered appetizers, waited at least 20 minutes to later find out that he had forgotten to place our order because he had a long day - didn't even bother to follow with an apology.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Went to Blu to celebrate Mother's Day. Fantastic experience and ambient. The menu was fixed for the occasion. Antipasti and desert were amazing. Main course was fair. We (in a group of 3) ordered different courses so I tasted half of the options available. In my personal opinion they lacked some classic inspiration to Italian food. Even though I respect the fine dining concept, I believe that they should bring some of the traditional menu into their fusion approach. If they had checked that item on the list, it would have become my favourite spot in town.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We arrived at Blu and the place was definitely buzzing. Every table was occupied. The atmosphere was quaint with mood lighting yet lively with people laughing and conversing, wine being poured, live music in the background while the is staff running around, tending to tables and ensuring everything runs smoothly. We got seated right away but didn't get service for quite a while at first. We were understanding to this because there were some much larger parties that were just being served their food or getting ready to leave as we were coming in. Having been raised in the restaurant industry I understand that these sometimes take priority to new tables with smaller parties for various reasons. I respectfully approached a manager letting him know our situation. He apologized for the wait and from then on our night was wonderful. They definitely made it up to us. The food was amazing... I had the grilled calamari followed by the Filet Mignon and I'm still dreaming about it! We will definitely return.

J~

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Live Music, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The overall atmosphere was too busy. The staff were overwhelmed and the Noise was extremely too loud. On the other hand the waiting staff were pleasant and attentive. The food also wasn't the best. It was left bland and very basic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Service and the food were superior in quality toany restaurant I have been to in a long time.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Wonderful dining experience for Mother's Day. All the dishes were very tasty, the only problem is hard to decide what to order.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on May 12, 2017

the service and attention was excellent. The daily menu was great. I took the soup and calamari risotto. unbelievable.

a great meal !

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on May 7, 2017

We chose this restaurant on an impulse. The food and the service was beyond what we expected. I would recommend this restaurant for both the quality of the food, the presentation and the service . We will be back again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Brought my wife and mother for an early Mother's Day dinner. Fantastic food, great atmosphere and our waiter was awesome. Attentive, personable and friendly.

Will recommend to any of our friends and family, and would love to go again on a Friday or Saturday where they have live music!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 6, 2017

First time at the restaurant. Really enjoyed the food. Would definitely go again.

Tags: Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 6, 2017

The fish special was on the edge of overdone, everything else was quite amazing, I couldn't give it 4 and 5's across the board because of the fish being over

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Very good food , I highly recommend this restaurant to anyone who wants to go on a fancy dinner . Their beef tenderloin steak is amazing!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Attentive service. Great food. Lots of choice on the wine list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 26, 2017

We have been to Blu on a couple of occasions now. We have always been very satisfied. Friendly and beyond capable. Highly recommend.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 23, 2017

We had a private room. The duck and lamb were really good. Service was excellent and we all had a great time.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Overall food and service was wonderful. Music abit too loud was hard to have a conversation amongst a group of 6 people without having to raise our voices to hear one another. I do understand that is not very appropriate to ask for separate bills but it's also very annoying to start figuring out what's the total of the bills at the end of the dinner, specially when you have other reservations throughout the night... plus I had to wait almost 30mins, when I initially had reservations. Must add our service was very nice and welcoming.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 23, 2017

The food was delicious but very small portions. the alcohol /dessert was over charged...but amazing service/music .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 23, 2017

We went there on a Saturday with reservation, we were served right away. The restaurant was packed, but the atmosphere was really nice. The food on the other hand was amazing! the prices were really good for the quality of the food! I would go back for sure!

Tags: Live Music, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (London)·Dined on April 22, 2017

This place was beyond expectation the food, the service, the ambiance- it was all perfect! I will recommend this to anyone who wants to experience a perfect evening.
It was my wife's birthday, they surprised her with a personal not from the chef written in chocolate around her desert! Her smile said it all.
Thank you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Very nice meal with great service and friendly smiling faces.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Very nice place. Came there to celebrate my hubby's birthday and it was the right choice! Food was simply outstanding, especially Beef Carpaccio and Truffle Wild Boar Ragu - will definitely need to come back to try it again! Service was also very good :). Atmosphere was just perfect with ideal (for us and for the occasion) life music.
I was a bit surprised that they didn't put a candle on our dessert for the birthday guy, especially that I mentioned the reason was to celebrate his birthday when made the reservation and on the phone when confirmed it.., but it didn't spoil our evening, I will just get him a cake with a candle later today. By the way, the dessert, Vanilla Cream Brûlée was amazing! Another reason to come back to the Blu Restaurant.
Thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 15, 2017

We really enjoyed the food and the ambience. The pace was just right, not too hurried but received our food at a even pace. The waiter didn't bother us too much, just enough to make sure we were ok.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Dining was great!
Orders:
Pasta special (ravioli stuffed duck confit)
Chicken entre
Trio gelato and sorbet

Food:
Chicken was tender, juicy, flavourful. Outstanding
Pasta was fresh, could have used more flavour
Gelato was delicious

Service:
Great

Ambience:
Quiet, dark, perfect for special occasions - candle lit

Value:
8/10 - good food but price was steep

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Modern Decor, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 8, 2017

I recently went to Blu for an anniversary dinner with my girlfriend and we found the service, atmosphere and especiallly the food amazing ! I highly recommend Blu for any one who enjoys great food,

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 26, 2017

First of all, its over priced, menus dont have the English translation for each menu item so if your not italian, good luck. Not really a place for vegetarians. Wine prices sre up there for decent wine. Food was ok nothing special. They dont even have any pizza options and its an italian restaurant lol

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 25, 2017

I made reservations as it was my boyfriends 50th birthday and I wanted this night to be a memorable one for him being a milestone birthday. Blu was the perfect choice. I have never been here and I made a note on my reservations that its his 50th birthday. The waiter was amazing he knows how to give top service and friendly too. The food was great we ordered the Pear Salad and I had Lobster salad which was a special and couple drinks. For Entree we ordered the Steak and I had SeaBass. Both were very good. And of course end the night ended with chocolate cake and cappuccino. They decroated his plate with a Happy 50th Birthday and prior to that management came to use with complimentry Prosecco to toast the occasion. Which was classy of them. Thank you Blu for making this night so special

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Cozy, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Overall an excellent dining experience for our entire group. Great service. Great food and portion sizes. I had the rack of lamb which was very good and sizable. I've been to all the Yorkville restaurants and Blu is one of the best. I would definitely recommend to anyone in the Yorkville area looking for 5 star dining.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Poor service. We didn't like the octopus and the waiter seemed very annoyed by it. My
" medium steak" was way over cooked and so hard to cut through, however we didn't say anything as the waiter was already annoyed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 18, 2017

We received a friendly greeting when we entered, which was pleasant. The restaurant I wounderstand say is cosy, they had live entertainment it was nice but I found too loud. My husband was not able to hearead me from across the table. But the food and service was great.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 18, 2017

We were in Toronto for a weekend getaway and found Blu. It was one of the best meals we've had. The ambiance was perfect! It was Saturday night so there was a piano player. He was awesome.

We ordered the Prosciutto Di Parma, Parmigiano Reggiano and the Grilled Calamari for appetizers. My husband ordered the special which was risotto with an 8 oz. filet. I had linguini with lobster and prawns. We ended our meal with a trio of house made gelato and sorbet and really good cappacinos. It was all delicious.

One of the managers, Jonathan, stopped by our table several times and was quite solicitous. I wish I could remember the name of our server because he was terrific too. The restaurant was full and never did we feel rushed as sometimes happens in busy places.

The only suggestion we have is with regard to the at table credit card machine. It felt a bit awkward and took from the ambiance to have a machine brought to the table - not to mention the server standing by while you choose the amount of tip to add.

All-in-all it was a grrat evening and meal. We hope to visit again if we find ourselves back in Toronto and highly recommend it.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Live Music, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 18, 2017

The service is professional and understated

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 11, 2017

excellent evening ,mike the server was great ! Special birthday and anniversary

Tags: Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 25, 2017

We were there for a special family dinner. My co-worker recommended the restaurant and we were not disappointed!

Our server was Heidi and she was great. Actually all the servers were great!

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 25, 2017

3-4 years ago this restaurant would have been among my all-time favourites. I visited twice over the spam of 1 year - this was my third visit after a long hiatus, and my how things have slipped.

For a place that used to have outstanding service, this experience was poor. Dirty water glasses at the start, and the clatter of crashing dishes at a neighbouring table didn't exactly fit with the fine dining we were hoping for. The medium-rare rack of lamb I ordered came out blue (even the outside was raw), and our waiter started to argue when I asked for it to be cooked a little longer (he tried to pass it off as 'medium'). After that he checked on us repeatedly to ask how the food was, to the point of redundancy.

Food-wise, it's still good although not on par with as I remembered it. The rack of lamb was actually my favourite dish from the past, and good as it was it didn't quite measure up to memory - it used to be crusted with walnuts, whereas now I'm not sure if there were any? Portions were also a bit smaller. My girlfriend had the salmon which, I will say, was cooked exceptionally - but the sauce was a bit disappointing as it turned into more of a tomato soup, and it was less than complimentary.

For dessert we had the chocolate cake, which if memory serves has been a long standing feature - and it was still delicious.

Overall, a decent meal tarnished by substandard service, which failed to live up to the exceptional quality that this spot once offered. With the abundance of French/Italian restaurants in Toronto, doubtful that we will be back for a long time.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.