Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.10mi
  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.10mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.10mi
  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.10mi

About Blu Ristorante

Top 100 restaurants in Canada and 50 Most romantic restaurants also in Canada op Open Table 2016
On the quiet eastern front of Yorkville, set back behind a brick façade, Blu is an Italian restaurant based on authentic classic cuisine, yet, contemporary created by executive Chef; Eric Bucher and Chef de Cuisine; Andrew Harasti


Warmly lit stone walls and grand mirrors surround cozy leather seating and white table cloths. Enter through a casual wine bar, which then leads to a hip, upscale dining room with an inviting ambiance.

Dinner is enhanced by the soothing live music Friday to Saturday. Pianist/singer, guitarrist/singer. Enjoy impeccable service for intimate dining or for large private parties up to 110 guests. Private rooms also available. One will remember Blu as a true memorable dining experience.
Blu has become a staple restaurant in Toronto over the last ten years

17A Yorkville Avenue
Toronto, ON M4W 1L1
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Friday: Dinner 5:00pm - 11:00pm,
Saturday: Dinner 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Sunday: Dinner 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(416) 921-1471

Website:
http://www.bluristorante.com/

Entertainment:
Live music Friday and Saturday. Soft contemporary music with a jazz feel. Allowing diners to enjoy live music and dinner conversation. Varied artists throughout the week. Please visit our website for more detailed information www.bluristorante.com

Parking Details:
Public parking 6 doors west on the same side of the street (Yorkville Avenue).

Public Transit:
Minute walk from Yonge/Bloor Subway Station.
6 minute walk from Bay/Bloor Subway Station.

Executive Chef:
Eric Bucher

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We specialize in all types of private functions such as: weddings, corporate functions, presentations, product launches, fashion shows, etc. We provide our clients with professional AV system. Menus can be created in coordination with Massimo Callovini
Blu has private rooms that accommodate tables of eight up to thirty two.

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon - Wed 5:30PM - 6:30PM

Blu Ristorante Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (31)
Good for a Date (30)
Romantic (24)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (20)
Good for Birthdays (18)
Live Music (16)
Fit for Foodies (15)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Cozy (11)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Notable Wine List (10)
Business Meals (8)
Authentic (7)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Good for Groups (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Local Ingredients (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Comfort Food (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Casual (4)
Bar Seating (3)
Healthy (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Fun (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Great Beer (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Sort By:
S
1173 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined 3 days ago

I always dine at Blu, service are food are excellent. My last dinner the desert was not as usual I complained to waitress she came back with apologies from chef but nothing was done about it. In a restaurant like blu I the minimum is to wave it from bill.

Tags: Romantic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

Elegant space with good food to match.
Service is impeccable with options for the most picky eaters.

Tags: Live Music, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

anniversary dinner. Surprised us with a complimentary tiramisu!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

The decor and Ambience was soothing and perfect for the special occasion we were celebrating. Our waiter was attentive, and friendly. The food was very tasty, and portions were a good size - we left full and satisfied. We will definitely go back.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 16, 2017

we sat in the bar area which is more private and airy-love it-Brian was an amazing server

Tags: Great Beer, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on September 11, 2017

Blu does an outstanding meal service in a lovely venue. The wait staff is informative, polite and professional. The meal presentation is attractive and delicious.
The added bonus is the generous space between tables, permitting a rare sense of privacy in restaurants today.
"Bravo" & thank you.

Tags: Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Live Music, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

From the moment I walked in, I knew I made the right decision in booking my reservation at Blu Ristorante for my aunt's birthday. The Hostess, Tristan, was super helpful and very welcoming. Right away, he asked me if I required anything special for the evening or had any requests and showed me to my table. Service was impeccable. Heidi made our experience so wonderful. Constantly making sure we were okay and well taken care of, Heidi went above and beyond for us. Between the ambiance, excellent service, live entertainment and delicious food, it was truly a night to remember.

I would certainly recommend this restaurant to all of my friends and family, and it won't be long until I return to this restaurant. It was my first time on Yorkville and it certainly will not be my last!

A special thank you to Tristan, Heidi, Chef, and the kitchen staff at Blu Ristorante for making my aunt's birthday a special one!

Tags: Fun, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Business Meals, Happy Hour, Live Music, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

the restaurant is beautiful and the staff is amazing.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Exceptional dining experience. Food is delicious and the setting is very romantic for a date or special occasion. 5 star !!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

Had an amazing experience at BLU! Me and my husband went for dinner on a Saturday night. We loved our food and service. Everything about the dinner was just amazing!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Was very impressed with the impeccable service. The food was very well presented and absolutely delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

Great restaurant. Food excellent as well as the service. It is now one of a very few restaurants where you can go, talk and hear the other person.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

The service was good. Location is nice, but the food was all a bit off. The pasta was undercooked, the octopus was overly salty, the lamb was good as was the ceasar salad but portions were small.

Overall not bad but too pricey relative to quality and portion size.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 30, 2017

The recent visit was a repeat after previous wonderful dining experiences. it did not disappoint once again. The greeting upon arrival was warm and welcoming . The food was wonderful and Cody our waiter provided friendly, attentive and professional service. All the staff were very hospitable. I will definitely be returning soon .

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 23, 2017

This is officially now one of our Yorkville favourites! Addicted to their Swordfish!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on August 23, 2017

Food was excellent. Recommend to try the Beet Risotto as well as Fettucine Seafood. Great atmosphere and friendly service.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 21, 2017

Amazing ambiance, great staff owner is amazing! Definetely a place I recommend for any occasion

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 20, 2017

A great find for Yorkville fine dining. This restaurant has a crazy cool atmosphere along with a pretty sweet bar area. The selection of wines compliments their delightful cuisine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
·Dined on August 19, 2017

I chose Blu for our 18th year anniversary dinner. Reservation process was very easy (online) followed by a confirmation call from Blu the next day. We had a great dinner at Blu – great table, service, food, and atmosphere.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 17, 2017

Small restaurant with nice decor which was a perfect setting for a birthday dinner for my girlfriend. The wait staff were very attentive to us and we never had to wait long for anything. Delicious food with good portions given the price. Would recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 14, 2017

Very good experience
* very good food - tasty and presentation
* very good wine selection
* nice hosts - waiters/waitresses well trained and very friendly
Thank you! :-)

Tags: Notable Wine List, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 14, 2017

Outstanding dining experience! Wonderfully intimate atmosphere! We are looking forward to checking out their live music Fridays and Saturdays! Their rack of Lamb is sublime as are their Duck breasts. Thank you Heidi for completing this culinary experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 13, 2017

We had a fabulous time! I had mentioned that it was our anniversary dinner when I booked the reservation online and they brought out a special little something for my wife. Right from when we sat down at our table until the last dessert drink we had, the service & food when exceptional & totally recommend coming to Blu for a wonderful night out.

Thank you to all the staff who made our 17th wedding anniversary memorable!

Until the next time,

Tony & Sandy Cordeiro!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 13, 2017

I had a Reso still had to wait 20 min

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 13, 2017

incredible food, excellent seervice great wine list and a elegant atmosphere Will definitely be a repeat visit

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Excellent service and food! Ambiance is great for a romantic dinner. Will definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Fantastic food, nice ambience, great service.... definitely would recommend visiting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 11, 2017

Great service, amazing staff, delicious food, and beautiful music.
Sebastian made our night very special.
We will definetely come back.

Tags: Romantic, Live Music, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 10, 2017

The lamb rack was perfectly cooked. The carpacio with just a hint of truffle oil was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 9, 2017

The food was very good with a wide variety across the board. It was well prepared and presented. You always know the service is good when you are left alone and the staff show up just when needed.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Another trip to Blu and another amazing dinner. Had a new waiter that I had never seen before and he was very good. The food was spectacular as usual. Beef tenderloin was perfect, started with a cheese and salami platter and a bottle of Tignanello which was so tasty. The piano player was playing incredible songs and really adds to the ambiance.

Will keep going back and keep recommending it all my friends.

Tags: Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Fantastic! We will definitely be coming back. The food was outstanding and the service was perfect. A hidden gem.

Tags: Healthy, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Authentic, Special Occasion, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

My boyfriend and I went to Blu for our 2 year anniversary and it was amazing. Of course quite expensive but we were prepared for that splurge on a special day! We both really enjoyed our mains of Wild Boar Gnocchi and Beef Tenderloin!! Yummo - we've been raving about it since. Service was just attentive enough with letting us have some peace while we ate. We visited on a Saturday (and I'm not sure if this is a daily thing) but we were treated with a piano bar playing lovely music throughout our time there. Ambience was romantic and perfect for a special occasion. Highly recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

My husband and I came here for our anniversary. We were only in town for the weekend and found this place based on reviews on Google Maps. It was excellent. Food was all perfect and our server was very polite and knowledgeable about the food and wine. There was a man singing and playing piano and he was great as well. I wish we lived closer so we could come back again soon!

Tags: Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Live Music, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Blu was recommended to us as a great place to dine in decor is comfortably modern. Our server, Don was terrific making recommendations on wine, appetizers, and an entree. The rigatoni bolognese was wonderful. We stayed for dessert, sorbetto with coffee to hear the entertainment.
There was a guitarist who sang soft mellow tunes who was excellent.

Tags: Special Occasion, Live Music, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 27, 2017

My bride (married 42 years ago ) and I have "date night" every second Thursday. This week we tried Blu Ristorante. We were seated at a table in the front section where the noise level was less. Wait staff was attentive and helpful. Menu was interesting. We shared the ahi tuna appetizer which was delicious and ordered the salmon (she) and roasted beet risotto (me) which were both great. We'll go back once we hit every other good restaurant in our favourite city! I recommend this restaurant Make a reservation!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 25, 2017

Outstanding experience from food to service!
The best dining experience our whole week of vacation.
The decor was beautiful.

U have to visit in yorkville area

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Food was great, just about everything you'd expect from a restaurant at this price point, variety, freshness, tasty. Huge negative: making our reservation, I did not mention it was our anniversary. 3-4 hours prior our reservation I edited our reservation on "Open Table" for this point only, now saying it is our (over 30 years) anniversary. For such a restaurant I clearly expect changes made to my reservation not only being noted, but obviously acting on a potential new customer. Very disappointing.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Exceptional service and outstanding food. A nice quiet environment with great options on the menu.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Picked it by reviews on open table. it was fantastic atmosphere very sophisticated service
Unbelievable and food was outstanding could not have done better it was a true fine

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.