Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Thu, 5/24
Time
11:30 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 22 times today
Special offers available. See details

Blu Ristorante

4.4
1282 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
CAN$31 to CAN$50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Italian
Top Tags:
  • Special Occasion
  • Good for a Date
  • Romantic
Top 100 Italian restaurants in Canada 2017
Top 100 restaurants in Canada and 50 Most romantic restaurants also in Canada on Open Table 2016
On the quiet eastern front of Yorkville, set back behind a brick façade, Blu is an Italian restaurant based on authentic classic cuisine, yet, contemporary created by executive Chef; Eric Bucher and his team


Warmly lit stone walls and grand mirrors surround cozy leather seating and white table cloths. Enter through a casual wine bar, which then leads to a upscale dining room with an inviting ambiance.

Dinner is enhanced by the soothing live music Friday to Saturday. Pianist/singer, guitarrist/singer. Enjoy impeccable service for intimate dining or for large private parties up to 110 guests. Private rooms also available. One will remember Blu as a true memorable dining experience.
Blu has become a staple restaurant in Toronto over the last ten years
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Italian, Modern European, Contemporary Italian
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Monday - Friday: Dinner 5:00pm - 10:30m,
Saturday: Dinner 5:00pm - 10:30m
Sunday: Dinner 5:00pm - 10:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(416) 921-1471
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Smart Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Eric Bucher
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Public parking 6 doors west on the same side of the street (Yorkville Avenue).
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
Minute walk from Yonge/Bloor Subway Station.
6 minute walk from Bay/Bloor Subway Station.
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
Live music Friday and Saturday. Soft contemporary music with a jazz feel. Allowing diners to enjoy live music and dinner conversation. Varied artists. Please visit our website for more detailed information www.bluristorante.com
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
We specialize in all types of private functions such as: weddings, corporate functions, presentations, , fashion shows, etc. We provide our clients with professional AV system. Menus can be created in coordination with Alfredo Rodriguez (owner)
Blu offers private rooms Sunday to Thursday for 10, 20 and 30 guests.
Blu is also available for bull buyouts up to 120 guests
Additional
Bar Dining, Beer, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Sun - Thu 5:00PM - 6:00PM

What 1282 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.4based on recent ratings
4.4
food
4.5
service
4.5
ambience
4.0
value
Noise · Moderate
89% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
4.0Dined 5 days ago

Very good food and service, but little too crowded and simple staging

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 5 days ago

Had an amazing time for my boyfriend’s birthday. The service was exceptionally good and the food was amazing. Especially the steak, he won’t stop raving about it. We’ll definitely be back!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 17, 2018

Okay but overpriced .certainly not best italian place as advertised

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 16, 2018

Was my daughters birthday, the service was excellent and the food outstanding. Highly recommend this restaurant

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Three of us had dinner. Some reasonable wines that complimented an excellent bolognese pasta, rack of lamb and filet mignon. Food was excellent and very tasty. My only complaint is that it's very pricey. We eat out all the time in many excellent Toronto restaurants and prices here are a bit high.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

I had a lovely brunch at Blu Ristorante. The staff was naturally pleasant and helpful without being too overbearing. They checked in at the right times and had great customer service, from the host who seated us to the table runner to our server. The ambiance was soothing and not so posh that it felt fake. The guitarist was a nice touch to a special occasion. The food portions were great and the taste of everything from the appetizer to the dessert was delicious. I would definitely come back and obviously would recommend this place without hesitation. Great job everyone!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

This is one of our favourite restaurants for a special evening. The service is always outstanding. As a vegetarian I appreciate that there are three entrees that I can choose from - in upscale restaurants there is often only one - and I find them to be creative. We had a lovely time.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 12, 2018

Wonderful service. From reservation to qrrival to departure (Alfredo even called for a cab for us! :) personable charming waitstaff. Yhe carpaccio was divine (although I preferred the bread to the crustini (too noisy to chew :) and the salmon w farro salad and vegetables and puree combination was delectable!!!
Recommendimg to friends to try. Only suggestion is we found the main portions were small for the price (ie beet risotto). A lovely experience. I would go back again. Cheers!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 11, 2018

Outstanding meal!!! Can’t wait to return!!! Thank you for excellent evening!!! 👨🏼‍🍳👍🏻 ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️😋

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 5, 2018

Quaint place! The service was outstanding! Had the pasta special it was just ok. Not a super flavourful sauce. Priced reasonably and they even gave me a free dessert as it was my birthday!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 4, 2018

Excellent quality food, Great ambiance, Overall we had a very good time.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 30, 2018

Nice Italian restaurant with excellent food. Big portions of well crafted dishes. Pleasant service and overall atmosphere. Recommend for any occasion.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 28, 2018

Great restaurant! Bradly was fantastic as entertainment.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 22, 2018

Delicious food and fantastic service to celebrate my mom’s birthday. The staff were very accommodating when our plans changed last minute and we showed up with extra people.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 22, 2018

It was just ok.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 22, 2018

BLU is the perfect place for celebrations or just a quiet meal with friends and family.
The menu offers meat, fish or vegan dishes. There is something for everyone.
Service is excellent and the live music adds the perfect touch.
BLU is one of my favourite places to eat in Yorkville.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 21, 2018

Blu was great! From when we entered, we were treated so well. We also had to change our reservation to make it earlier and despite a busy night, accommodations were made for us. From the bread and the chili-infused olive oil dip + bread to the end of the meal, my partner and I were quite happy. A cocktail can also make or break a dinner - all cocktails we ordered from simple mojitos to fancier margaritas were 11/10. The serving sizes were perfect and the rack of lamb was cooked to perfection. If I had one thing for Blu to improve upon, it would be to use a little less sauce on the rack of lamb so that the flavour of the meat itself could be savoured more. Overall, a 9/10 experience and I am quite picky with my food.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 19, 2018

I made a reservation the morning of the day we came in and had my fingers crossed. I had read a couple of reviews that made me feel a bit wary but I'd say 90% of the reviews were phenomenal and I hoped our experience was part of the 90%.

My mind was blown to say the least. Right when we walked in, although it seemed like they were a bit unprepared for our reservation, they took into consideration we would want our own spot to ourselves and we were seated against a wall with a divider between the party guests in the room over. Their conversation carried over, but we could easily hear one another without speaking loudly.

The service was impeccable, we had a couple of servers swing by to see how we were doing and it really felt like they were genuinely interested in if we enjoyed our time and meal. Holly was our main server and she was fantastic. She was so sweet and attentive, doing such a wonderful job in ensuring we enjoyed every aspect of our time there.

I was honestly expecting the food to be small portions especially from the reviews, but both parties' orders were ginormous compared to our expectations. I actually didn't finish mine and had to pass it off to my significant other. The food tasted amazing and both of us were thoroughly pleased. I can't entirely remember what we ordered, but according to my date it was authentic and really well put together!

Side note:
It was my significant other's birthday and I had made a note on the reservation to please bring out a tiramisu dessert that said Happy Birthday. I had just asked if she had seen my note and she said she would check.

The surprise came out as a success with a cute little candle on top. There was no singing (thankfully), and it was such a sweet presentation. Thank you, Holly and the team at Blu for making my surprise a success.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 19, 2018

It was excellent. The McManus Chardonnay was a bit pricy for an 8oz glass.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 18, 2018

Great service. Wonderful food. Great value. Highly recommend!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2018

Great experience at Blu from moment we walked in! We requested an extra seat and were accomodated without any issues. Food was excellent and had some unique combinations. Loved the carpaccio and the wild boar gnocchi. Wait staff were was very attentive and really helped to make it a great experience. Would definitely dine at Blu again!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 6, 2018

Waiter was intrusive. No idea how to wait on a table. We suspect he may have been stoned

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 3, 2018

It never disappoints, great friendly service.
Good for business meetings

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 24, 2018

Overall great experience with the food, service and ambiance. Only unusual experience, which was a first for me, was that we had to leave our table at a certain time to make room for the next reservation. So felt a bit rushed. We were made aware of this as we were seated.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 21, 2018

The food and services were excellent. Will definitely go back again!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 19, 2018

The best restaurant I have been to so far in Toronto.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 17, 2018

Great ambiance for a birthday dinner. The live music was a great accompaniment for the dinner which was delicious and well plated. The restaurant was a goreat fine dining option and my girls and I really enjoyed our time there. Drinks are really pricey at $15/cocktail however.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 16, 2018

Great meal, best stuffed pasta I have tried.
Music was live but subtle, we were able to carry on with our conversation. Attentive friendly service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 14, 2018

My friend and I enjoyed our dinner at Blu. My server suggested beet risotto as my veggie meal and it was to die for. The portion could have been a little bigger, but other than that, it was wonderful. We shared a very delicious dessert. Our server was very polished and made us feel special. All the staff were friendly and courteous. I will definitely visit Blu again.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 11, 2018

We have been planning to go for a while to Blu. We made reservations 1 week prior to going.

2 issues with Blu:

1) We walked in and gave our name for our reservation. The hostess offered us a table near the door outside the the main dining room. We asked for inside and she was very reluctant to seat us elsewhere saying it was the only table they had. We insisted, and another hostess was able to find us a great seat, in the main dining room that was not full!
2) We ordered the swordfish and a pasta dish with shrimp, lobster and calamari. The sword fish was great, but the pasta had one piece of shrimp and very small piece of lobster. For a $35 dish, I would have expected more.

But the Waitress was very friendly.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 10, 2018

Very nice atmosphere, great service, good food, one of our favourite restaurants in the Yorkvilke area.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 4, 2018

Great evening out! Dinner was delicious, service was amazing!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 25, 2018

We felt our server cared about our experience and had lots of great recommendations when we were ordering.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 25, 2018

Great service. Excellent food. A fine, fine dining experience!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 24, 2018

Attentive and courteous servers/sophisticated ambiance. A definite gem.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 21, 2018

We especially appreciated that we could talk without straining to hear each other over music and patron noise. Lovely armosphere and very pleasant staff, delicious nicely presented food.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 19, 2018

Great food, great service.
Thank you...

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 16, 2018

Exceptional service and food!
Soft live music provided a beautiful ambiance

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 11, 2018

Great service, well executed dishes, beautiful cozy restaurant. Highly recommend this restaurant

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 10, 2018

Everything was great. The only complaint I have is the food was over salted.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
33