About Blu Ristorante

17A Yorkville Avenue
Toronto, ON M4W 1L1
View Larger Map

On the quiet eastern front of Yorkville, set back behind a brick façade, Blu is an Italian restaurant based on authentic classic cuisine, yet, contemporary created by executive Chef; Massimo Callovini and Chef de Cuisine; Eric Bucher


Warmly lit stone walls and grand mirrors surround cozy leather seating and dark wood tables. Enter through a casual wine bar, which then leads to a hip, upscale dining room with an inviting ambiance.

Dinner is enhanced by the soothing live music Friday to Saturday. Pianist/singer, guitarrist/singer. Enjoy impeccable service for intimate dining or for large private parties up to 110 guests. Private rooms also available. One will remember Blu as a true memorable dining experience.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Friday: Dinner 5:00pm - 11:00pm,
Saturday: Dinner 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Sunday: Dinner 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(416) 921-1471

Website:
http://www.bluristorante.com/

Entertainment:
Live music Friday and Saturday. Soft contemporary music with a jazz feel. Allowing diners to enjoy live music and dinner conversation. Varied artists throughout the week. Please visit our website for more detailed information www.bluristorante.com

Parking Details:
Public parking 6 doors west on the same side of the street (Yorkville Avenue).

Public Transit:
Minute walk from Yonge/Bloor Subway Station.
6 minute walk from Bay/Bloor Subway Station.

Executive Chef:
Massimo Callovini

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Takeout, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
We specialize in all types of private functions such as: weddings, corporate functions, presentations, product launches, fashion shows, etc. We provide our clients with professional AV system. Menus can be created in coordination with Massimo Callovini
Blu has private rooms that accommodate tables of eight up to thirty two.

Restaurant Photos

Blu Ristorante
Smoked Sweet Potato Gnocchi With Lamb Meatballs
Beetroot Risotto
Duck Confit Arancini
Salumi Board
Caramel Popcorn, Orange Almond Tile, Sweet Corn Pannacota
Corn Pannacota
Watermelon, Blue Crab Meat, Avocado, Frizee, Black Sesame.
Apple Crumble with Ice Cream
Tiramisu
Grilled Seafood
Octopus
Seafood Linguini
Leg Of Lamb
Duck Confit Parpadelle
Rissotto
Duck Confit Terrine
Herb Stuffed Chicken Breast
Blu Dishes
Seared Scallops With Pork Belly
Rabbit Terrine
Braised Octopus
Beef Carpaccio with Truffle Oil
Veal Ravioli With Corn
Moules
Squid Ink Pasta With Grilled Tuna
Lemoncello Olive Cake

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Mon - Wed 5:30PM - 6:30PM

Private Dining

Conveniently located in stylish Yorkville, Blu Ristorante offers a selection of specialized amenities to suit your specific event needs, whether it’s enjoying cocktails and hors d’oeuvres in our spacious wine bar or intimate dining in the main dining room.

Blu Ristorante Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
Toronto
Best Restaurants in Yorkville ›

special occasion (105)
romantic (91)
fit for foodies (83)
See All
neighborhood gem (54)
good for groups (43)
notable wine list (37)
hot spot (23)
late-night find (13)
great for lunch (5)
vibrant bar scene (5)
kid-friendly (3)
great for outdoor dining (2)
great for brunch (1)
business meals (1)
pre/post theatre (1)
Sort By:
Newest
902 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Restaurant is in a good location in York ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined 5 days ago

Restaurant is in a good location in Yorkville. The decor and ambience are great. The food is beautifully plated. However, the value for Summerlicious menu was not good.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

Service was wonderful. Food was deliciou ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined 5 days ago

Service was wonderful. Food was delicious. We had the Summerlicious menu. I would hugely recommend the poached pear starter. Nice ambiance. And great neighbourhood to walk around.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Thank you so much for an Amazing Dinner ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined 5 days ago

Thank you so much for an Amazing Dinner :)

The food was amazing but the Service was The best.

For sure, we will be back

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The risotto was very undercooked, there ...

 
 (London)
·Dined 6 days ago

The risotto was very undercooked, there were a few stand outs but the overall food experience was not great. Expect more from a Yorkville restaurant. This was part of the Summerlicious so not sure if that brought the quality down.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

The service in the bar area is thr best! ...

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined 7 days ago

The service in the bar area is thr best! Love the staff! Food was on point!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Was disappointed with both my appetizer ...

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Was disappointed with both my appetizer and main. Had eaten at Blu a few times and loved the food and service. This time I ordered what was recommended which was the octopus appetizer and veal main. I found the octopus vinegary, which seemed odd. I also found my veal very salty and my mash cold.

I invited 4 people celebrating a birthday and no one else seemed to complain. Service was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Dinner was very good and Heidi, our serv ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Dinner was very good and Heidi, our server, was amazing. We did feel a bit rushed when the food came out quickly and then busboys attempted to clean up plates in front of those who were done, while others at the table still were eating. Too expensive for that!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Went there as part of Summerlicious and ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Went there as part of Summerlicious and am glad I did. The carpaccio and steak I had was fantastic and I will definitely be back for those! The ambiance was very romantic and I enjoyed the piano player. I did not like the automatic 18% gratuity imposed as I feel tip should be based on service. The waiter we had seemed like he was in a bad mood, was a little abrupt when taking our order and seemed uninterested in us as customers. I have waitressed, so I always tip well, but sometimes an automatic gratuity makes some servers not bother to try as hard.

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

Nice ambiance, very good service and fri ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Nice ambiance, very good service and friendly at the same time, good wine recommendations, great menu, food very good.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Blu never disappoints. From the warm gre ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Blu never disappoints. From the warm greeting at the door to the efficient and generous service, Alfredo runs a first rate establishment on every level.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was delicious. Space is a bit limit ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Food was delicious. Space is a bit limited but server was kind and knowledgeable about menu .

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We had a fantastic meal in a vibrant roo ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

We had a fantastic meal in a vibrant room with great atmosphere. There were so many good choices on the menu, it was hard to decide. We both had the beef tenderloin, and it was one of the best we've ever had. The appetizers were Also amazing. Too many choices again. The service was fantastic, just right - our waitress was not too intrusive and made us feel very comfortable. Blu is great value, definitely on par with, or better than, a lot of more expensive restaurants (that shall remain nameless).

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was exquisite. The ambience was abs ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Food was exquisite. The ambience was absolutely energetic. The soft lighting created the right mood for any occasion. Service impeccable. I will definitely be recommending this restaurant to my colleagues and friends.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We having been coming to Blu for years a ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

We having been coming to Blu for years and it just keeps getting better! Chef Eric has created a lovely and complimentary menu of fresh and light appetizers and pastas, together with some tasty savoury mains. We sat at the bar this time and had excellent service with very good wine recommendations. The evening was a wonderful experience. Thanks to all!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My meal was excellent (beef carpaccio, c ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

My meal was excellent (beef carpaccio, calamari/risotto/panna cotta), my husband thought his was fair and did not enjoy the sauce on his flat iron steak (beef carpaccio, flat iron steak, tiramisu). Service was prompt and efficient, but not warm. It almost felt as if our server was looking down on us as we were there participating in Summerlicious. OUr server literally stood over my husband's shoulder watching while he was using the machine to pay/tip. Definitely didn't make an attempt to get to know us or develop a server/customer relationship. Overall a good experience, but could be made better.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

We were there for Summerlicious and the ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

We were there for Summerlicious and the meal was excellent. We really enjoyed the Carpaccio, Hibiscus Poached Pear and Grilled Flat Iron Steak. My wife had the Grilled Calamari with Lemon Risotto which was truly excellent and probably the best part of our meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good Summerlicious menu. Food is ex ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Very good Summerlicious menu. Food is excellent. Portions are just right. Friendly staff. A bit dark - one member of our group needed a flashlight to read the menu. Overall, a very good experience!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We have been back many times to Blu, foo ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

We have been back many times to Blu, food always consistent and the seasonal specials have never let us down. Our friends like their wine, so being able to bring your own makes it a terrific value. Service has always been exceptional, even for those with very picky requests.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The piano player did not add to the atmo ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

The piano player did not add to the atmosphere just to the noise level which was way too high. It was the only negative about the evening.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Place was to noisy. The food was not wor ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Place was to noisy. The food was not worth the price. It was very regular.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4
value1

The atmosphere was beautiful, the servic ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

The atmosphere was beautiful, the service was impeccable, the food was delicious, and the wine list was impressive. I would highly recommend this restaurant for a classy dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

our food was delicious and the presentat ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

our food was delicious and the presentation very stylish,

a feast for the eyes and the tastebuds

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Brilliant friendly staff and the meal w ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Brilliant friendly staff and the meal was on par with any we have had in Queens Grill Cunard.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best restaurant in Toronto so far. Ever ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Best restaurant in Toronto so far. Everything was superb. Makes Canoe and others like that look like a greasy spoon.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Great meal and service. I had the pasta ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Great meal and service. I had the pasta special of grilled tuna and paperdelle pasta putenesca. Fabulous!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed the food even though the appe ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

We enjoyed the food even though the appetizer came with capers after I let the waiter know in advance that I was allergic to capers. Fortunately I only had a bite before I realized there were capers and did not have an allergic reaction. They offered another appetizer at no charge which was nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

Excellent service excellent food . Every ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Excellent service excellent food . Everytime we eat there we enjoy ourselves .

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My girlfriend and I were celebrating our ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

My girlfriend and I were celebrating our 8 year anniversary and had a wonderful time overall.

I called ahead and let them know of the special occasion, which was referenced upon arrival. We were given a great table near the pianist (who was incredible!). The atmosphere and food was amazing and would highly recommend. Loved the duck, very delicious!

Unfortunately, our server was far from welcoming and quite rude at times. Not once did he introduce himself, nor did he address ourselves or our table properly (standing behind me and not to the side of the table, where there was ample room). My girlfriend asked for a few recommendations twice, first request wasn't even acknowledged and walked away while she was mid sentence and the second was curtly responded with "Everything is good". Approx. 35 minutes passed by from first sitting down to placing our appetizer orders. Our server barely came to check up on us and really left a bad mark on the evening... I ordered a scotch to start my meal and didn't even get the chance to order a glass of wine for my main. After we had paid our bill, our server approached us and claimed to have just been told about our special occasion - where he graciously offered a complimentary drink. For the final 10 minutes, he was quite pleasant. Even though we walked out without a 'goodbye' or 'thank you for coming' from anyone. Quite disappointing given how nice the restaurant is and our special occasion.

I do want to make note that all other staff members were beyond courteous and helpful - always visiting us with a smile and top class service.

It was a great evening but unfortunately have a sour after taste considering the service from our main server.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

Blu never disappoint me. This must be th ...

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Blu never disappoint me. This must be the fifth time I dined here. Food and service were excellent. The live music is definitely a bonus on the weekend.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Amazing service, amazing customer servi ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Amazing service, amazing customer service, knowledgeable & friendly waiter, beautiful food display & tasty too. A bit expensive but worth it.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent service, delicious food, great ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Excellent service, delicious food, great location. Highly recommend this one.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Good dining experience! I will invite ...

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Good dining experience! I will invite my friends to there again.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I went to Blu with my children for my bi ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

I went to Blu with my children for my birthday. It was lovely and quiet. The food was outstanding. My son said "how do they make octopus so good' and my daughters favourite thing beet risotto was on the menu. Just a lovely night out

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were celebrating our 56th wedding ann ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

We were celebrating our 56th wedding anniversary and my husband's birthday (we got married on his birthday) and we were in Toronto to spend a weekend with our children and grandchildren.This was our third visit to Ristorante Blu to mark a special family occasion.It was walking distance from the Intercontinental Hotel on Bloor Street and we had always sat in the bar area because it was quieter and easier to talk.Our hotel had kindly sent us champagne to celebrate and I later ordered my favourite Cosmopolitan from Dustin at the bar.Our starters included tuna tartare,Cold melon soup,beet salad,and the mains were delicious breast of duck,seared ahi tuna,seafood linguini,and saltinboca,all exquisitely plated and deliciously prepared.We chose the chocolate cake dessert,and tirimasu which arrived with candles,and were the perfect sweet finish to another great dinner at Blu.Service was great and we chalked up another wonderful celebratory family dinner in Toronto....

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

fine food , excelant service , nice decor

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Where were there for my wife birthday . Paid extra $5 per person to be served our own cake. The food was delicious but pricy . Excelant service , the place was very clean with nice décor. Thanks to our server Shana. Most probably will be there again.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Blu was a great place to celebrate our friend’s

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

The food and drinks were excellent. I ordered the special- smoked salmon ravioli. Great choice.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Beautiful restaurant, good food, poor service

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

When paying steep prices you hope for service that matches. Wasn't the case here. Waiter was not friendly.

We loved the ambiance! And the gnocchi was fabulous.

Lower your excpectations for service you would expect in a fine dining establishment and you'll have a great time.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value2

Best sea bass in Toronto

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

My family and I have returned time and time again to Blu for their Chilean sea bass dish. This time, they changed the dish slightly (I believe it was spicy yam this time, and there was a distinctive lack of miso) but it is still the softest, most moist dish of its kind I've tried in the city. The grilled octopus and pan seared scallops we had for our appetizers were also winners.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

Excellent food; expensive wine list.

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

I wanted a glass of wine when I came in and asked the server if she could recommend a Sauvignon Blanc. She brought back a five oz glass (8 oz was the other choice). Of course, I could have looked at the wine list prior to ordering. When I received the bill, I found the price of $18 for 5 oz glass to be on the high side ($25 for the 8 oz, by the way). She could have shown me a few options in the wine list when I first came in. The quality-price ratio on the food was excellent, but do read the wine list prior to ordering!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Our waiter was knowledgeable, friendly, ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Our waiter was knowledgeable, friendly, and polite. He was very attentive but not overbearing. The vibe of the restaurant was cool and fancy, yet laid back. We felt comfortable dressed as business-casual. Overall a lovely evening that was in our budget. Thank you, Blu!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.