Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.10mi
  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.10mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.10mi
  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.10mi

About Blu Ristorante

On the quiet eastern front of Yorkville, set back behind a brick façade, Blu is an Italian restaurant based on authentic classic cuisine, yet, contemporary created by executive Chef; Eric Bucher and Chef de Cuisine; Andrew Harasti


Warmly lit stone walls and grand mirrors surround cozy leather seating and white table cloths. Enter through a casual wine bar, which then leads to a hip, upscale dining room with an inviting ambiance.

Dinner is enhanced by the soothing live music Friday to Saturday. Pianist/singer, guitarrist/singer. Enjoy impeccable service for intimate dining or for large private parties up to 110 guests. Private rooms also available. One will remember Blu as a true memorable dining experience.
Blu has become a staple restaurant in Toronto over the last ten years

17A Yorkville Avenue
Toronto, ON M4W 1L1
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Friday: Dinner 5:00pm - 11:00pm,
Saturday: Dinner 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Sunday: Dinner 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(416) 921-1471

Website:
http://www.bluristorante.com/

Entertainment:
Live music Friday and Saturday. Soft contemporary music with a jazz feel. Allowing diners to enjoy live music and dinner conversation. Varied artists throughout the week. Please visit our website for more detailed information www.bluristorante.com

Parking Details:
Public parking 6 doors west on the same side of the street (Yorkville Avenue).

Public Transit:
Minute walk from Yonge/Bloor Subway Station.
6 minute walk from Bay/Bloor Subway Station.

Executive Chef:
Massimo Callovini

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We specialize in all types of private functions such as: weddings, corporate functions, presentations, product launches, fashion shows, etc. We provide our clients with professional AV system. Menus can be created in coordination with Massimo Callovini
Blu has private rooms that accommodate tables of eight up to thirty two.

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon - Wed 5:30PM - 6:30PM

Private Dining

Conveniently located in stylish Yorkville, Blu Ristorante offers a selection of specialized amenities to suit your specific event needs, whether it’s enjoying cocktails and hors d’oeuvres in our spacious wine bar or intimate dining in the main dining room.

Blu Ristorante Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (49)
Romantic (44)
Special Occasion (34)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (32)
Good for Birthdays (26)
Live Music (26)
Creative Cuisine (22)
Cozy (21)
Good for Groups (19)
Notable Wine List (18)
Business Meals (17)
Quiet Conversation (17)
Modern Decor (15)
Fit for Foodies (13)
Worth the Drive (11)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Casual (10)
Fun (8)
Hot Spot (7)
Authentic (7)
Healthy (6)
Comfort Food (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Fireplace (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Seasonal (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Private Room (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Vegan (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Sort By:
S
1080 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 4 days ago

First of all, its over priced, menus dont have the English translation for each menu item so if your not italian, good luck. Not really a place for vegetarians. Wine prices sre up there for decent wine. Food was ok nothing special. They dont even have any pizza options and its an italian restaurant lol

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 5 days ago

I made reservations as it was my boyfriends 50th birthday and I wanted this night to be a memorable one for him being a milestone birthday. Blu was the perfect choice. I have never been here and I made a note on my reservations that its his 50th birthday. The waiter was amazing he knows how to give top service and friendly too. The food was great we ordered the Pear Salad and I had Lobster salad which was a special and couple drinks. For Entree we ordered the Steak and I had SeaBass. Both were very good. And of course end the night ended with chocolate cake and cappuccino. They decroated his plate with a Happy 50th Birthday and prior to that management came to use with complimentry Prosecco to toast the occasion. Which was classy of them. Thank you Blu for making this night so special

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Cozy, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Overall an excellent dining experience for our entire group. Great service. Great food and portion sizes. I had the rack of lamb which was very good and sizable. I've been to all the Yorkville restaurants and Blu is one of the best. I would definitely recommend to anyone in the Yorkville area looking for 5 star dining.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Poor service. We didn't like the octopus and the waiter seemed very annoyed by it. My
" medium steak" was way over cooked and so hard to cut through, however we didn't say anything as the waiter was already annoyed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 18, 2017

We received a friendly greeting when we entered, which was pleasant. The restaurant I wounderstand say is cosy, they had live entertainment it was nice but I found too loud. My husband was not able to hearead me from across the table. But the food and service was great.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 18, 2017

We were in Toronto for a weekend getaway and found Blu. It was one of the best meals we've had. The ambiance was perfect! It was Saturday night so there was a piano player. He was awesome.

We ordered the Prosciutto Di Parma, Parmigiano Reggiano and the Grilled Calamari for appetizers. My husband ordered the special which was risotto with an 8 oz. filet. I had linguini with lobster and prawns. We ended our meal with a trio of house made gelato and sorbet and really good cappacinos. It was all delicious.

One of the managers, Jonathan, stopped by our table several times and was quite solicitous. I wish I could remember the name of our server because he was terrific too. The restaurant was full and never did we feel rushed as sometimes happens in busy places.

The only suggestion we have is with regard to the at table credit card machine. It felt a bit awkward and took from the ambiance to have a machine brought to the table - not to mention the server standing by while you choose the amount of tip to add.

All-in-all it was a grrat evening and meal. We hope to visit again if we find ourselves back in Toronto and highly recommend it.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Live Music, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 11, 2017

excellent evening ,mike the server was great ! Special birthday and anniversary

Tags: Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 25, 2017

We were there for a special family dinner. My co-worker recommended the restaurant and we were not disappointed!

Our server was Heidi and she was great. Actually all the servers were great!

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 25, 2017

3-4 years ago this restaurant would have been among my all-time favourites. I visited twice over the spam of 1 year - this was my third visit after a long hiatus, and my how things have slipped.

For a place that used to have outstanding service, this experience was poor. Dirty water glasses at the start, and the clatter of crashing dishes at a neighbouring table didn't exactly fit with the fine dining we were hoping for. The medium-rare rack of lamb I ordered came out blue (even the outside was raw), and our waiter started to argue when I asked for it to be cooked a little longer (he tried to pass it off as 'medium'). After that he checked on us repeatedly to ask how the food was, to the point of redundancy.

Food-wise, it's still good although not on par with as I remembered it. The rack of lamb was actually my favourite dish from the past, and good as it was it didn't quite measure up to memory - it used to be crusted with walnuts, whereas now I'm not sure if there were any? Portions were also a bit smaller. My girlfriend had the salmon which, I will say, was cooked exceptionally - but the sauce was a bit disappointing as it turned into more of a tomato soup, and it was less than complimentary.

For dessert we had the chocolate cake, which if memory serves has been a long standing feature - and it was still delicious.

Overall, a decent meal tarnished by substandard service, which failed to live up to the exceptional quality that this spot once offered. With the abundance of French/Italian restaurants in Toronto, doubtful that we will be back for a long time.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Heidi is a great server. Have a good time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 24, 2017

We had two pasta's that night! The pasta bolognese was your average beef pasta 8/10. However the prawn and lobster pasta was one of the best I've ever had! Not to mention their tiramisu dessert is a first class dessert! Make sure you plan 1.5 hours for dinner here!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Food and service was very good !

Tags: Live Music, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Grilled calamari appetizer was fantastic but my arugula salad was exceptionally bland and beef tenderloin was nervy and lacked flavour. My husband's tuna tartare and pear, walnut salad were very good but the lamb rack lacked seasoning and flavour. Cooked perfectly though. Wait staff were a little cold and took some time to get them to smile. Heard great things about Blu but it didn't quite live up to our expectations. Give it a try for yourself, maybe ours was just an off-night. Piano player/singer was best part of the night .. he was wonderful.

Tags: Live Music, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Great food and very accommodating for kids preferences. A+++.7

Tags: Healthy, Late-night Find, Paleo Friendly, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Service wasn't too great

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Great ambiance and service. However, the food fell flat. It was okay.

Tags: Cozy, Business Meals, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Came here with my girlfriend, she's vegan and due to that fact I'm more or less a vegetarian now. I just wanted to surprise her with somewhere different for once, as we've been to all of the cities few purely vegan haunts time and time again.

I had researched ahead, as well as called to confirm the vegan options I had read about online. There weren't many but it warranted a try due to my motivation described in the paragraph above. The place was nice and all - attentive wait staff, nice surroundings, but given the vast price of the meal I couldn't help but feel cheated with what we received in the end. I realize full and well that it comes with the territory of choosing to live the lifestyles we do (vegan and vegetarian), but when you pay the same price for a plate of quinoa and two mushrooms for a main as someone receiving a deliciously prepared sea bass, or steak, you start to wonder if you're getting your money's worth. In my opinion, we didn't.

Another example would be when We had to substitute the cheese portion of the appetizer: they kindly took our requests into consideration, and did so in a timely and efficient manner - but pear slices, no matter how well prepared or soaked in how nice of vinegarette, is NO replacement financially for a finely aged and prepared cheese board.

As well, the drinks were far more expensive for the quality. Don't get me wrong - everything was nice, the wait staff was great, the atmosphere was relaxing/romantic, but for $320+ I'd want more than nice. I'd want spectacular, mind blowing dishes.

I can't really speak for their meat dishes, I'm sure the meal would have been better if we hadn't gone in with our dietary handicaps so to say, and been able to experience a more well rounded menu, but for vegan/vegetarian individuals I'd have to say avoid: next time I'll book a table at Planta.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 15, 2017

I booked this reservation and no where on the website did it mention a pre fix menu, and then once I arrived for dinner there was not even a price on the menu, just "tax and gratuity extra". I feel this is really sneaky and should have been specified.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Thought it was hugely overpriced for Valentine's day

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 14, 2017

very very unforgettable with my friends

Tags: Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Live Music, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 12, 2017

I'd give it a 4 star and not 5 just because we had a reservation and still had to wait for couple minutes and didn't get the table we wanted. Understandable that it was a Saturday night and a weekend before Valentine's day. Great ambiance, romantic, live music but not too loud, you can still have a conversation without yelling. I'd recommend this place for a date night and special occasions.

Tags: Live Music, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Excellent food and service. Loved the piano player on a Saturday evening. Topped off a great visit to Toronto.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The beef salad with burrata I loved along with the gnocchi. Wine was very expensive though. Perfect date place or special occasion.

Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Great place to enjoy a special occasion. We were please with the service and the food was excellent. I would definitely come back.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 4, 2017

This was not our first time visiting Blu, but now there is a reason for not returning.

The server kept emphasizing that the main dishes have huge portions and we have to share.
We found this strange because we ordered one dish per person during our previous visits.

We decided to share anyway since he suggested multiple times but everything was certainly not sharable.
When we asked how long it would take if we order another one, he asked back "How much time do you have left?"

It is understandable there is a certain time limit at a restaurant and it should be respected.
But you shouldn't be giving false information to your customers so they can leave early.

Tags: Cozy, Live Music
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Amazing. I had such a terrific time. The staff is amazing and was efficient. I will definately go back. Heidi was such an amazing server.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 4, 2017

A delicious meal was served to us within a perfect amount of time and with exceptional service. The food was nothing short of amazing, the boar gnocchi was rich with sauce and had lots of flavour. They had a wide wine selection and the espresso we finished the night off with was great. Highly recommend this awesome place.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Comfort Food
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Birthday party

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Overall the experience was good. The service was not as attentive and thorough as I would have expected but the food was fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Great pianoman on saturday night. Made our night! Boss boys were friendly and truly polite.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 29, 2017

The food was good, ambiance nice. Only complaint is that our reservation was for 8:15pm, and we didn't get seated till 8:45pm, and I had requested originally for a table close to the live music and that didn't end up happening. If that had gone as planned, this restaurant would have absolutely sold me and got a full 5.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Picked the place because of live music.Unfortunately that place has absolutly no acustic(narrow place),stuffed with max tables ,patrons talking so loud I could not hear my wife across the table not to mention musician.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Wild boar Ravi was delicious. We brought two 4 year olds on a busy Saturday night, and they treated us wonderfully. The food was the best I've had in Toronto. Wine selection was also quite nice. Highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 28, 2017

We had an amazing experience celebrating my boyfriends birthday. Excellent service, delicious food, good size portions, beatiful decor, live music, tables not too close together. They were nice enough to take my order back and not change me for it, because I ordered tuna without knowing that it's a raw fish dish. We will definatelly come back again!

Tags: Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Healthy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Truly outstanding! Service, food and ambience makes this a must visit restaurant. May have been the best seafood pasta I have ever had. Thank you Blu for a great evening

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 27, 2017

The staff was incredibly friendly, the service was exceptional, they accomodated a special birthday request. The food came quickly and lived up to expectations.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 23, 2017

Great service, amazing food. Will return for sure!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Modern Decor, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 21, 2017

This was an awesome spot for a birthday dinner. The food was impeccable. Would absolutely go again!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Excellent! Warm friendly service and the food was delicious. Loved the ambience.

Tags: Business Meals, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Blu has become one of our favorite restaurants to dine at. The food never disappoints and the chefs are accommodating with menu changes. The service is excellent, attentive and friendly. We enjoyed the live guitarist/singer as well.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Fun, Good for a Date, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.