About Blu Ristorante

17A Yorkville Avenue
Toronto, ON M4W 1L1
View Larger Map

On the quiet eastern front of Yorkville, set back behind a brick façade, Blu is an Italian restaurant based on authentic classic cuisine, yet, contemporary created by executive Chef; Eric Bucher and Chef de Cuisine; Andrew Harasti


Warmly lit stone walls and grand mirrors surround cozy leather seating and white table cloths. Enter through a casual wine bar, which then leads to a hip, upscale dining room with an inviting ambiance.

Dinner is enhanced by the soothing live music Friday to Saturday. Pianist/singer, guitarrist/singer. Enjoy impeccable service for intimate dining or for large private parties up to 110 guests. Private rooms also available. One will remember Blu as a true memorable dining experience.
Blu has become a staple restaurant in Toronto over the last ten years

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Friday: Dinner 5:00pm - 11:00pm,
Saturday: Dinner 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Sunday: Dinner 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(416) 921-1471

Website:
http://www.bluristorante.com/

Entertainment:
Live music Friday and Saturday. Soft contemporary music with a jazz feel. Allowing diners to enjoy live music and dinner conversation. Varied artists throughout the week. Please visit our website for more detailed information www.bluristorante.com

Parking Details:
Public parking 6 doors west on the same side of the street (Yorkville Avenue).

Public Transit:
Minute walk from Yonge/Bloor Subway Station.
6 minute walk from Bay/Bloor Subway Station.

Executive Chef:
Massimo Callovini

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We specialize in all types of private functions such as: weddings, corporate functions, presentations, product launches, fashion shows, etc. We provide our clients with professional AV system. Menus can be created in coordination with Massimo Callovini
Blu has private rooms that accommodate tables of eight up to thirty two.

Restaurant Photos

Blu Ristorante, Toronto, ON
Beetroot Risotto - Blu Ristorante, Toronto, ON
Smoked Sweet Potato Gnocchi With Lamb Meatballs - Blu Ristorante, Toronto, ON
Apple Crumble with Ice Cream - Blu Ristorante, Toronto, ON
Tiramisu - Blu Ristorante, Toronto, ON
Grilled Seafood - Blu Ristorante, Toronto, ON
Octopus - Blu Ristorante, Toronto, ON
Seafood Linguini - Blu Ristorante, Toronto, ON
Leg Of Lamb - Blu Ristorante, Toronto, ON
Duck Confit Parpadelle - Blu Ristorante, Toronto, ON
Rissotto - Blu Ristorante, Toronto, ON
Watermelon, Blue Crab Meat, Avocado, Frizee, Black Sesame. - Blu Ristorante, Toronto, ON
Caramel Popcorn, Orange Almond Tile, Sweet Corn Pannacota - Blu Ristorante, Toronto, ON
Salumi Board - Blu Ristorante, Toronto, ON
Blu Dishes - Blu Ristorante, Toronto, ON
Corn Pannacota - Blu Ristorante, Toronto, ON
Duck Confit Terrine - Blu Ristorante, Toronto, ON
Duck Confit Arancini - Blu Ristorante, Toronto, ON
Herb Stuffed Chicken Breast - Blu Ristorante, Toronto, ON
Rabbit Terrine - Blu Ristorante, Toronto, ON
Braised Octopus - Blu Ristorante, Toronto, ON
Seared Scallops With Pork Belly - Blu Ristorante, Toronto, ON
Beef Carpaccio with Truffle Oil - Blu Ristorante, Toronto, ON
Veal Ravioli With Corn - Blu Ristorante, Toronto, ON
Moules - Blu Ristorante, Toronto, ON
Lemoncello Olive Cake - Blu Ristorante, Toronto, ON
Squid Ink Pasta With Grilled Tuna - Blu Ristorante, Toronto, ON

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 24, 2016

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 24, 2016

Details

Blu Will be open on Christmas Eve. A La carte Service.

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Details

First seating $85.00 tables back by 8:30 p.m.
Second Seating $125.00 after 7:45 p.m. to late 2017
Bar Tables Menu Price $85.00 first and second seating. NYE 2017 Blu Ristorante tax & gratuity not included 4 course Pre-Fixe Menu. Live pianist/singer after 8:00 p.m.

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon - Wed 5:30PM - 6:30PM

Private Dining

Conveniently located in stylish Yorkville, Blu Ristorante offers a selection of specialized amenities to suit your specific event needs, whether it’s enjoying cocktails and hors d’oeuvres in our spacious wine bar or intimate dining in the main dining room.

Blu Ristorante Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.4

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
Toronto
Best Restaurants in Yorkville ›

Special Occasion (38)
Romantic (37)
Good for a Date (27)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (21)
Creative Cuisine (19)
Live Music (18)
Fit for Foodies (17)
Cozy (17)
Notable Wine List (16)
Good for Birthdays (14)
Good for Groups (13)
Business Meals (13)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Worth the Drive (10)
Modern Decor (10)
Authentic (8)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Tasting Menu (7)
Late-night Find (7)
Fun (6)
Casual (6)
Family Style (5)
Private Room (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Healthy (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Outstanding Value (1)
Vegan (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Comfort Food (1)
People Watching (1)
Great Beer (1)
Tapas (1)
Spicy (1)
Fireplace (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Organic (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Sort By:
S
972 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We were at Blu for the first time celebr ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

We were at Blu for the first time celebrating my parents 60th anniversary.Everything from the service to the food and ambience was exceptional. I would highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

In the beginning the service was okay bu ...

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 27, 2016

In the beginning the service was okay but it soon turned into a very very poor effort to deliver customer service. Wine pours were grossly inconsistent to the point I had to complain and tell the service staff to pick up their game and management changed out our server to Jonathan. From there service improved and what ever was left of the evening was adequately salvaged.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

Friday evening- The live music starts fr ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Friday evening- The live music starts from 8pm till 10pm. A man playing mallow blues on classical guitar. Classic ambience with amazing tasting food. Ordered duck- marinated and roasted to perfection. Stuffed chicken breast- delicious in taste and great in portion. Pasta- Pasta sauce tasted very fresh and mild, pasta cooked to perfection. Desserts were just okay. Nothing exclusive about desserts.

Overall, great place for a special occasion or fine dinning. Live music works as a romantic ambience, so perfect for anniversaries or dates.

But the best part that will make me wanna go again is the FOOD! Worth the pain to drive and finding the parking.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Family Style, Cozy, Late-night Find, Live Music, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Very bad service. I've had.better servic ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Very bad service. I've had.better service at McDonalds McCafe

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

Food is perfect but portions are a littl ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Food is perfect but portions are a little bit small.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Live Music, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Delicious food. A beautiful dining exper ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Delicious food. A beautiful dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Phenomenal attention to detail and outst ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Phenomenal attention to detail and outstanding ambiance. Live music will recommend.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good restaurant but the portion siz ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Very good restaurant but the portion size was very petite. With that being said it was very flavourful.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Comfortable decor and the tables were we ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Comfortable decor and the tables were well spaced for privacy. Full house and lively group, but the acoustics were such that the background sound wasn't shrill.

The menu had a good selection but I didn't find the soup of the day or chicken dish particularly memorable. Service was friendly, professional and efficient, and never obtrusive. Overall a pleasant experience.

If someone asked me I'd say the meal experience was enjoyable, but I wouldn't go out of the way to recommend the restaurant to a friend.

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Its was really nice. A little dark to re ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Its was really nice. A little dark to read the menu and the Live music wasn't necessary it was just back ground noise. Over all very good.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great atmosphere, great service, delicio ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Great atmosphere, great service, delicious food! Thanks Blu...you never disappoint!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Love this restaurant! Second visit and f ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Love this restaurant! Second visit and food was as delicious as the first. Top notch service and atmosphere. Lovely wine selection. The live music ambiance.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Business Meals, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Service was outstanding, Food was delici ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Service was outstanding, Food was delicious but small portions... I ordered Chilean sea bass and it was very small piece. Special dessert penacotta!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5

I went to Blu for a birthday celebration ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 29, 2016

I went to Blu for a birthday celebration with my partner. We arrived early on a Sat evening after a full day of work in Toronto (we came from out of town). The service was impeccable and the food was wonderful. The ambiance was amazing as well and we really had a lovely experience. Thank you!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Finally, a restaurant with a nice atmosp ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Finally, a restaurant with a nice atmosphere that has LIVE music. Not enough live music in Toronto restaurants. Will be back because of that.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

It's a very nice restaurant, food is ama ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 27, 2016

It's a very nice restaurant, food is amazing and a perfect place for a date ,

Tags: Good for a Date
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Service and food were absolutely fantast ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Service and food were absolutely fantastic!! It was a bit noisy when we were there but still had a great experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Very good restaurant with a good service ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Very good restaurant with a good service and amazing food. It is worth the value for time to time.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The staff were outstanding.Food was amaz ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 22, 2016

The staff were outstanding.Food was amazing. The perfect evening!

Tags: Fireplace, Happy Hour, Late-night Find, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Family Style, Hot Spot, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Cozy, Modern Decor, Private Room, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Live Music, Romantic
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our second time at Blu. Previou ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 21, 2016

This was our second time at Blu. Previously there for New Years Eve. The menu is great. Lots of choices. The buratta salad was delicious . The Australian rack of lamb was cooked perfectly and the sea bass tender and tasty. Our waiter was fun and knowledgeable. The only thing that was less than excellent was that the wine we chose was priced at triple the purchase price. I don't mind paying double but triple is too much. Will definitely go back.

Tags: Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful experience. Delicious food, ve ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 18, 2016

Wonderful experience. Delicious food, very comfortable ambience, excellent service and amazing food. Highly recommended. Thank you for a great experience. Will definitely be back.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Business meeting with clients from out o ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 18, 2016

Business meeting with clients from out of town and BLU did not disappoint! Excellent food and service! Would definetely recommend.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a very nice dinner. They were runnin ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Had a very nice dinner. They were running late so they brought us champagne while we waited. Very thoughtful. I'm pregnant so they offered to bring me a virgin mojito instead. Dinner was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went to Blu based on a recommendation fr ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 11, 2016

Went to Blu based on a recommendation from a social media site. They were named in the top 10 Italian restaurants in Toronto.

I honestly was not too impressed with the food which is one of the main reasons we visited Blu.

The appetizers were good, but everything was just so so. My guests complained of their seafood as overcooked. The food itself wasn't bad, but I had greater expectations.

Our server mixed up all 6 orders and gave the wrong food to each of us.

Loved the interior design. Very beautiful.

And the wine selection was amazing too.

Overall, great experience, but could have been better.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

The live music, the lobster pasta was n ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 9, 2016

The live music, the lobster pasta was not worth the 33 dollars. Only one small piece of lobster was given and it wasnt even the tail.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

Had a fantastic time at Blu. My wife and ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Had a fantastic time at Blu. My wife and I came once before and did not have the best experience, but we decided to give it another try. I came back with my wife and parents. We went on a Saturday night and we thoroughly enjoyed the live music (piano player). The appetizers were great and on time. Though the place was absolutely packed, it was Saturday before Thanksgiving after all, we came just a bit early for our reservation and the table was already set and waiting for us. We ordered two racks of lamb, the steak, a pasta and a salad along with appetizers. Everything was delicious. Some may say that the side and garnish for the rack of lamb does not suit the dish, and I admit I tasted a few ingredients for the first time, but the dish had a great balance and the meat was cooked just the way I asked for. The steak was absolutely superb and delicious, so no complaints there. All the meat dishes were immaculate and the Rigatoni Bolognese was to die for as well. The ambiance is a true gem. It's a cozy place for a dinner for two or a family dinner. Whatever the occasion, Blu has got you covered. Be prepared to leave a premium for the goodies, as the bill for 5 came out to $260 before tip, and that was without alcohol. But you get what you pay for. Premium location, premium ingredients with a spotless place and beautiful setting. Thank you to Blu for making it a special night.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Late-night Find, Live Music, Gluten Free Options, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We loved our evening. Romantic with gre ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 9, 2016

We loved our evening. Romantic with great food and great music. Loved the piano music

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I assume they were trying to do a second ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 8, 2016

I assume they were trying to do a second seating, but $300 and not even a coffee refill😶. Also, there was no way the 8 oz glasses of wine had 8oz

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

Great veal and lobster fettuccine and ho ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Great veal and lobster fettuccine and house wine by the glass

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

We enjoyed our evening at Blu Ristorante ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 2, 2016

We enjoyed our evening at Blu Ristorante. The service was professional and welcoming.

We stared with the Tuna Tartar & Grilled Calamari, shared the Nova Scotia Lobster & Prawn

Fettuccine as a second course. For our main course we decided on the Sesame Crusted Ahi

Tuna & the AAA Angus Beef Tenerloin, both were delicious. Unfortunately we had no room

left to try dessert. We will be back very soon !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice place, with great food. If you have ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Nice place, with great food. If you have a special occasion, Blu should be on the list when making a decision.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

Excellent menu and wine list. Our waite ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 29, 2016

Excellent menu and wine list. Our waiter, Jonathan Loblaw, was attentive, approachable, and knowledgeable of the food and wines. We had a great evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is my favourite restaurant in Yorkv ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 29, 2016

This is my favourite restaurant in Yorkville, with a relaxing atmosphere. We had a wonderful dinner, we go here often and it gets better every time. The service is so detail oriented, ask and you shall receive here!!! They make dining here a smooth and enjoyable experience for all special occasions. Wonderful attention to detail, the food is divine with an amazing menu.

Tags: Private Room, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Vegan, Modern Decor, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Molecular Gastronomy, Cozy, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Authentic, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options, Family Style, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Healthy, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exquisite cuisine and excellent service! ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 28, 2016

Exquisite cuisine and excellent service! My co-worker and I have been scouting several restaurants to host our annual Christmas party. Blu won our future reservation! We tried the scallops and carpaccio appetizers as recommended from our server. We both agreed they were the best we've ever had! For our main dishes we had the duck and lobster prawn fettucine. The duck was cooked a perfect med-rare, and melted in our mouths. The pasta dish had generous amounts of lobster and shrimp, and the sauce complemented the flavours of the seafood perfectly. Our server was friendly and professional, he was very knowledgeable of the wine and cuisine. It is such a beautiful restaurant and we booked our Christmas party that night with the manager. They also have a wide variety of gluten-free options which was a concern as some of our guests in the party have allergies. We are looking forward to having Blu host our Christmas party and can't wait to be back!

Tags: Live Music, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have had our fair share of fine dinin ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 27, 2016

We have had our fair share of fine dining and enjoy a wonderful evening at Blu. Everything was great from the tasting menu to service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a great time, service and food we ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 27, 2016

We had a great time, service and food were amazing

Great wine selection by the glass

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very well executed menu, great flavors, ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 27, 2016

Very well executed menu, great flavors, very professional service, elegant ambience. Pricey but worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was really good but not amazing ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 26, 2016

The food was really good but not amazing, I found the restaurant expensive.

If you order a cheese, you'll pay each small piece of cheese $8.

Again good restaurant overall but they should review their price

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service4
value3

As you can see, I gave 1 star for overal ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 25, 2016

As you can see, I gave 1 star for overall and very high ratings for everything else. This is because they do a poor job with reservations and I don't think they appreciate Open Table bookings. When I arrived the hostess said my table wasn't ready but the current guests were wrapping up at a table which was probably the second worst in the restaurant. She suggested we have a drink at the bar and wait, so we said no problem. Luckily, there were two spots at the bar because the 2 guests didn't wrap up for another 45 minutes and the host didn't come to ask us to sit for 1 hr and 15 minutes after our Open Table scheduled reservation. If we didn't eat at the bar, we wouldn't have known how good the food was. Excellent food but like Seinfeld says they know how to take a reservation but don't know how to hold a reservation and that is the most important part!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

The restaurant was nice. The food was ve ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 24, 2016

The restaurant was nice. The food was very good. Our server was rude and disappeared often, and that was reflected in his tip. The music was nice but a touch too loud, which made conversing difficult. Between the loud music and our server it ruined the ambiance of the restaurant. Based on our service I could not recommend this restaurant to anyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service1
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.