About Blu Ristorante

17A Yorkville Avenue
Toronto, ON M4W 1L1
View Larger Map

On the quiet eastern front of Yorkville, set back behind a brick façade, Blu is an Italian restaurant based on authentic classic cuisine, yet, contemporary created by executive Chef; Eric Bucher and Chef de Cuisine; Andrew Harasti


Warmly lit stone walls and grand mirrors surround cozy leather seating and white table cloths. Enter through a casual wine bar, which then leads to a hip, upscale dining room with an inviting ambiance.

Dinner is enhanced by the soothing live music Friday to Saturday. Pianist/singer, guitarrist/singer. Enjoy impeccable service for intimate dining or for large private parties up to 110 guests. Private rooms also available. One will remember Blu as a true memorable dining experience.
Blu has become a staple restaurant in Toronto over the last ten years

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Friday: Dinner 5:00pm - 11:00pm,
Saturday: Dinner 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Sunday: Dinner 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(416) 921-1471

Website:
http://www.bluristorante.com/

Entertainment:
Live music Friday and Saturday. Soft contemporary music with a jazz feel. Allowing diners to enjoy live music and dinner conversation. Varied artists throughout the week. Please visit our website for more detailed information www.bluristorante.com

Parking Details:
Public parking 6 doors west on the same side of the street (Yorkville Avenue).

Public Transit:
Minute walk from Yonge/Bloor Subway Station.
6 minute walk from Bay/Bloor Subway Station.

Executive Chef:
Massimo Callovini

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We specialize in all types of private functions such as: weddings, corporate functions, presentations, product launches, fashion shows, etc. We provide our clients with professional AV system. Menus can be created in coordination with Massimo Callovini
Blu has private rooms that accommodate tables of eight up to thirty two.

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon - Wed 5:30PM - 6:30PM

Private Dining

Conveniently located in stylish Yorkville, Blu Ristorante offers a selection of specialized amenities to suit your specific event needs, whether it’s enjoying cocktails and hors d’oeuvres in our spacious wine bar or intimate dining in the main dining room.

Blu Ristorante Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (51)
Good for a Date (48)
Special Occasion (38)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (33)
Live Music (32)
Creative Cuisine (27)
Good for Birthdays (26)
Cozy (21)
Good for Groups (19)
Quiet Conversation (18)
Notable Wine List (17)
Business Meals (16)
Modern Decor (15)
Fit for Foodies (13)
Casual (12)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Worth the Drive (10)
Fun (9)
Hot Spot (8)
Authentic (6)
Healthy (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Bar Seating (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Great for Lunch (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Family Style (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Seasonal (2)
Private Room (2)
Fireplace (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Organic (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1066 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food and service was very good !

 
 (Toronto)·Dined a day ago

Food and service was very good !

Tags: Live Music, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Service wasn't too great

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 3 days ago

Service wasn't too great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

Came here with my girlfriend, she's vega ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 5 days ago

Came here with my girlfriend, she's vegan and due to that fact I'm more or less a vegetarian now. I just wanted to surprise her with somewhere different for once, as we've been to all of the cities few purely vegan haunts time and time again.

I had researched ahead, as well as called to confirm the vegan options I had read about online. There weren't many but it warranted a try due to my motivation described in the paragraph above. The place was nice and all - attentive wait staff, nice surroundings, but given the vast price of the meal I couldn't help but feel cheated with what we received in the end. I realize full and well that it comes with the territory of choosing to live the lifestyles we do (vegan and vegetarian), but when you pay the same price for a plate of quinoa and two mushrooms for a main as someone receiving a deliciously prepared sea bass, or steak, you start to wonder if you're getting your money's worth. In my opinion, we didn't.

Another example would be when We had to substitute the cheese portion of the appetizer: they kindly took our requests into consideration, and did so in a timely and efficient manner - but pear slices, no matter how well prepared or soaked in how nice of vinegarette, is NO replacement financially for a finely aged and prepared cheese board.

As well, the drinks were far more expensive for the quality. Don't get me wrong - everything was nice, the wait staff was great, the atmosphere was relaxing/romantic, but for $320+ I'd want more than nice. I'd want spectacular, mind blowing dishes.

I can't really speak for their meat dishes, I'm sure the meal would have been better if we hadn't gone in with our dietary handicaps so to say, and been able to experience a more well rounded menu, but for vegan/vegetarian individuals I'd have to say avoid: next time I'll book a table at Planta.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

I booked this reservation and no where o ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 5 days ago

I booked this reservation and no where on the website did it mention a pre fix menu, and then once I arrived for dinner there was not even a price on the menu, just "tax and gratuity extra". I feel this is really sneaky and should have been specified.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

Thought it was hugely overpriced for Val ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined 5 days ago

Thought it was hugely overpriced for Valentine's day

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

very very unforgettable with my friends

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 5 days ago

very very unforgettable with my friends

Tags: Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Live Music, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I'd give it a 4 star and not 5 just beca ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 12, 2017

I'd give it a 4 star and not 5 just because we had a reservation and still had to wait for couple minutes and didn't get the table we wanted. Understandable that it was a Saturday night and a weekend before Valentine's day. Great ambiance, romantic, live music but not too loud, you can still have a conversation without yelling. I'd recommend this place for a date night and special occasions.

Tags: Live Music, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Excellent food and service. Loved the pi ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Excellent food and service. Loved the piano player on a Saturday evening. Topped off a great visit to Toronto.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The beef salad with burrata I loved alon ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The beef salad with burrata I loved along with the gnocchi. Wine was very expensive though. Perfect date place or special occasion.

Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great place to enjoy a special occasion. ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Great place to enjoy a special occasion. We were please with the service and the food was excellent. I would definitely come back.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

This was not our first time visiting Blu ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 4, 2017

This was not our first time visiting Blu, but now there is a reason for not returning.

The server kept emphasizing that the main dishes have huge portions and we have to share.

We found this strange because we ordered one dish per person during our previous visits.

We decided to share anyway since he suggested multiple times but everything was certainly not sharable.

When we asked how long it would take if we order another one, he asked back "How much time do you have left?"

It is understandable there is a certain time limit at a restaurant and it should be respected.

But you shouldn't be giving false information to your customers so they can leave early.

Tags: Cozy, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

Amazing. I had such a terrific time. The ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Amazing. I had such a terrific time. The staff is amazing and was efficient. I will definately go back. Heidi was such an amazing server.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A delicious meal was served to us within ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 4, 2017

A delicious meal was served to us within a perfect amount of time and with exceptional service. The food was nothing short of amazing, the boar gnocchi was rich with sauce and had lots of flavour. They had a wide wine selection and the espresso we finished the night off with was great. Highly recommend this awesome place.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Comfort Food
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Birthday party

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Birthday party

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall the experience was good. The ser ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Overall the experience was good. The service was not as attentive and thorough as I would have expected but the food was fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Great pianoman on saturday night. Made o ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Great pianoman on saturday night. Made our night! Boss boys were friendly and truly polite.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was good, ambiance nice. Only c ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 29, 2017

The food was good, ambiance nice. Only complaint is that our reservation was for 8:15pm, and we didn't get seated till 8:45pm, and I had requested originally for a table close to the live music and that didn't end up happening. If that had gone as planned, this restaurant would have absolutely sold me and got a full 5.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Picked the place because of live music.U ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Picked the place because of live music.Unfortunately that place has absolutly no acustic(narrow place),stuffed with max tables ,patrons talking so loud I could not hear my wife across the table not to mention musician.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

Wild boar Ravi was delicious. We brought ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Wild boar Ravi was delicious. We brought two 4 year olds on a busy Saturday night, and they treated us wonderfully. The food was the best I've had in Toronto. Wine selection was also quite nice. Highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had an amazing experience celebrating ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 28, 2017

We had an amazing experience celebrating my boyfriends birthday. Excellent service, delicious food, good size portions, beatiful decor, live music, tables not too close together. They were nice enough to take my order back and not change me for it, because I ordered tuna without knowing that it's a raw fish dish. We will definatelly come back again!

Tags: Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Healthy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Truly outstanding! Service, food and amb ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Truly outstanding! Service, food and ambience makes this a must visit restaurant. May have been the best seafood pasta I have ever had. Thank you Blu for a great evening

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The staff was incredibly friendly, the s ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 27, 2017

The staff was incredibly friendly, the service was exceptional, they accomodated a special birthday request. The food came quickly and lived up to expectations.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service, amazing food. Will retur ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 23, 2017

Great service, amazing food. Will return for sure!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Modern Decor, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was an awesome spot for a birthday ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 21, 2017

This was an awesome spot for a birthday dinner. The food was impeccable. Would absolutely go again!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Excellent! Warm friendly service and th ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Excellent! Warm friendly service and the food was delicious. Loved the ambience.

Tags: Business Meals, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Blu has become one of our favorite resta ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Blu has become one of our favorite restaurants to dine at. The food never disappoints and the chefs are accommodating with menu changes. The service is excellent, attentive and friendly. We enjoyed the live guitarist/singer as well.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Fun, Good for a Date, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best restaurant experiences i ...

 
 (Dubai)·Dined on January 20, 2017

One of the best restaurant experiences in Toronto

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Pork and Duck Terrine was delicious, ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 19, 2017

The Pork and Duck Terrine was delicious, as was the Beet and Burrata salad. My friend had the Wild Boar and Gnocchi entrée and said it was the best she ever had, I opted for the Seafood Linguine in olive oil and garlic and it was perfect, not too oily and not dry either, seafood was also cooked to perfection. Service was professional but also friendly. We will definitely be back, next time on the weekend to enjoy the live music.

Tags: Live Music, Fun, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went there to celebrate our engagement. ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Went there to celebrate our engagement. The service and food was excellent! We were seated 2 tables away from the acoustic piano and amplifier, so it made casual conversation difficult. Next time we attend we will request a table further from the piano, but overall it was superb!

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Romantic, Live Music, Bar Seating, Healthy, Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great place for a special occasion or da ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Great place for a special occasion or date. Great ambience and service. The food was nicely plated, good flavour and filling quantity. Love music is a nice addon for the night!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We loved the fact that we met up with fr ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 13, 2017

We loved the fact that we met up with friends we see very rarely from far away and never rushed. Liked that water glasses were always filled

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Late-night Find, Fun, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Paleo Friendly, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I have been going to Blu for a few years ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 5, 2017

I have been going to Blu for a few years now. I used to be a regular when they had opened for lunch and continue to suggest they do so again (but I fully understand and accept the reasons for not offering lunch service).

The staff and management is very friendly and knowledgeable. I have enjoyed dinners with business colleagues / family / friends and neighbours, all have agreed that Blu offers great food and a great atmosphere. Definitely going back!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Private Room, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience dining had an amazing N ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great experience dining had an amazing New Years there great place for a date Service is always amazing they have some nice live music talent

Tags: Worth the Drive, Live Music, Good for a Date, Cozy, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything about this place is great! ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Everything about this place is great!

We went for NYE dinner and it seemed like they like they were trying to get us in and out asap.

I was offended when they brought me the bill without having asked for it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

we were 6. Live music and delicious food ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 31, 2016

we were 6. Live music and delicious food with great service. Would most certainly go again.

Tags: Live Music, Cozy, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Brunch, Late-night Find, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

My first time there and i was very satis ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 28, 2016

My first time there and i was very satisfied. Going to give it a second shot to confirm it wasn't luck (which i doubt), there is experience running this place. The Host and the staff.kitchen got out the proper message and experience to the guests! Food was great! Everyone's plate went back empty! Staff was on target, very receptive and attentive (although the new guy kept interrupting our conversations) but i still give him a pass! AND the atmosphere was quite pleasant. Can't wait to try it again. Bravo to Blu...we can't wait to come see you again!!

The NSC crew.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

It's a Italian restaurant, so we made a ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 25, 2016

It's a Italian restaurant, so we made a mistake that ordered a steak. Steak is not good as others especially seafoods and pastas. Fortunately, we ordered the grill calamari and seafood linguine. These two courses were outstanding. They left me deep impression. I highly recommend that people who want to go there order the grill calamari and a pasta since Blu is a Italian restaurant that seafood and pasta are they good at. It's a little bit noisy since it has live music, so people have to raise their indoor voice to talk. Bad or not.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

I ordered the braised octopus as appetiz ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 24, 2016

I ordered the braised octopus as appetizer and apparently it is over seasoned. At the same time the lobster linguini tastes ok but is not mixed with the cream evenly. Over all a nice place to go but they really need to keep up with the food quality during busy times.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

This restaurant delivers splendid servic ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 24, 2016

This restaurant delivers splendid service and outstanding food.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had wonderful evening dinner on Christma ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Had wonderful evening dinner on Christmas eve.

Fantastic foods and services.

Loved to go there again :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.