About Blossom

171 East Bay Street
Charleston, SC 29401
View Larger Map

Blossom, located in downtown Charleston, S.C., serves American cuisine highlighting the Lowcountry’s best seafood. Executive chef Adam Close offers simple, clean preparations which feature ingredients sourced from area fishermen and farmers. Open for lunch on Monday through Saturday, dinner nightly, and Sunday brunch, Blossom also offers seating on its patio.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Contemporary Southern

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 3:45pm
Dinner starts at 4:00 pm
Sunday Brunch 10:00am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
Located between Queen & Cumberland Streets

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 722-9200

Website:
http://www.blossomcharleston.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary parking weekdays after 5:00pm & all day Saturday & Sunday.
**Please note that the parking lot is not available Monday-Friday before 5:00pm. Public parking is located in the garage on Cumberland Street.

Executive Chef:
Adam Close

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Blossom invites beer lovers in for an evening of distinctive fare and craft beer with a Brooklyn Brewery beer dinner on
Sunday, June 28th.
Guests can enjoy a six-course tasting dinner with complementing brews from Brooklyn Brewery in Brooklyn, NY.
Our Executive Chef Adam Close will present a tasting menu inspired by the unique brews from Brooklyn Brewery.
Diners will round out the experience with a dessert from
Executive Pastry Chef Andrea Upchurch served alongside a sixth beer.
The beer dinner is priced at $50 per person, excluding tax and gratuity.
Dinner will begin at 7:00 PM.
For reservations contact Megan Fussell.
(843)937-4012 Ext. 267
Fussell250@gmail.com



Restaurant Photos

Blossom
Blossom
Blossom
Blossom
Blossom
Blossom
Blossom
Blossom
Blossom
Blossom
Blossom
Blossom
Blossom
Blossom
Blossom
Fried Pork Belly With Jalapeño Relish
Southern Fried Chicken
Buttermilk Pancakes Stuffed With Pecan Smoked Carolina Brisket
Fried Green Tomatos With Pimento Cheese
Black Pepper Buttermilk Biscuits With Bacon Jan
Pulled Pork Hash With Poached Eggs
lobster roll
Carolina Mountain Trout
Fried Green Tomatoes
Warmed Strawberry Rhubarb Crisp With Buttermilk Pie Ice Cream
Dinner Bread
Pan Seared Mahi Mahi
Butter Lettuce Salad
Spice Grilled Yellowfin Tuna Cipollinis, Charred Brussel Sprouts And Beet Beirre Rouge
Schramsberg Mirabelle Brut Rose Bottle Service
Lump Crab Tostada Salad
Vanilla Bean Creme Brulee With Fresh Berries
South Peach
Buttermilk Fried Artichoke Hearts
fish tacos
Red Velvet Bread Pudding With Strawberry Cheesecake Ice Cream
Buttermilk Fried Local Shrimp With Braised Brussel Sprouts
She Crab Soup
Cast Iron Skillet Scallops
Lemon Drop
Buttermilk Crusted Calamari
Black Maple Duck Breast Confit Wils Rice Port Wine Black Cherries
Caesar Salad
She-Crab Soup
Cobb Salad With Grilled Shrimp
Gin Blossom Martini
Crabcake and Fried Green Tomato
pumpkin soup
Mahi Mahi
Maple Leaf Farm Half Duck
New Orleans Style Shrimp And Grits
Butter Lettuce Wraps
Shrimp And Cheddar Grits
Double Cut Pork Chop
North Carolina Rainbow Trout
Ricotta Gnocchi With Scallops And Gorgonzola Cream Sauce
Bbq Pork Tenderloin
Pork Butt With Apricot Jelly And Salsa Verde

Private Dining

Blossom offers private dining for groups of 12 to 20 guests.

Blossom Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (118)
Special Occasion (109)
Good for Groups (74)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (74)
Romantic (69)
Great for Lunch (59)
Great for Outdoor Dining (44)
Great for Brunch (42)
Notable Wine List (31)
Hot Spot (26)
Kid-friendly (15)
Late-night Find (9)
Scenic View (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Casual (1)
Fun (1)
Sort By:
Newest
2738 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Excellent service, attentive staff quick ...

 
 (Fayetteville)
·Dined 2 days ago

Excellent service, attentive staff quick preparation of order. Casual atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Overall ambience was good, very similar ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined 3 days ago

Overall ambience was good, very similar to Blossom's sister restaurants Magnolia and Cypress. A bit noisy but much depends on table location. Avoid the middle row tables and request something farther back or along the walls. Food was very good but not outstanding. Potato-leek soup, calamari, mahi. However, the service was outstanding (Karen was our server) and made for a very pleasant evening. Recommended for a special occasion - just be aware of seating location.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Romantic, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

AWFUL. I will not be returning. The serv ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined 5 days ago

AWFUL. I will not be returning. The service was terrible. Our waitress neglected to mention key items on the special, and when I ordered it she was surprised the fish had sausage and didn't have the couscous it came with. It took 3 tries to bring me a sub par meal that was not what I asked for. Our waitress never checked on us, and there was no apology for the mess up.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value2

The food was absolutely delicious! We br ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined 5 days ago

The food was absolutely delicious! We brought our out of town guests and they loved it! We would definitely recommend again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Very friendly and knowledgable servers, ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined 6 days ago

Very friendly and knowledgable servers, especially John. He was outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Excellent food and our server John could ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 6 days ago

Excellent food and our server John couldn't have been better!! We will be back!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great place for kids, but if dining with ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined 6 days ago

Great place for kids, but if dining with adults only, there are so many better choices. The whipped potatoes served cold, the crabcakes were the worst I have ever eaten, very thin/flat and the size of silver dollar pancakes and almost as thin. the accompanying salad was mostly chopped Italian parsley and was inedible. My wife loved her crab louis salad though. It's very loud, which is great when traveling with young kids.

If you are looking for a better spot with young kids, go to Hank's.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value2

Not the Blossom I remembered. Dinner wi ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Not the Blossom I remembered. Dinner with my husband. Very loud, not able to carry on a conversation. Mostly families on a Tues night. Food...we took the recommendations of our server and ordered the swordfish special which turned out to be good, not so much for the crab cakes. Would not go back unless I had kids with us. Does have a parking lot next door that shares with another restaurant-that's a plus.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

I have eaten at Blossom multiple times & ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

I have eaten at Blossom multiple times & have always enjoyed it - this time however it was...boring. The food was presented prettily, wait staff was nice, but the food was unremarkable. Fried green tomatoes w/ pimento cheese as an appetizer was tasteless - only flavor discernable was "fried." As for the wedge salad - make it at home for a fraction of the cost. No blue cheese involved, no flavor to the dressing. Company at the table was great - but our least favorite meal in Charleston

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3

Went for brunch on Sunday around noon. W ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Went for brunch on Sunday around noon. Waited a while before a waitress came to our table. Service could have been better. Our table was too close to our neighbor, and the restaurant was not busy. They practically sat us on top of each other.

Havanero Ranchero entree was not good: chicken was extremely over cooked and the pork was very fatty and overdone as well. The French toast was good. I've been here several times, this was not one of their best performances.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

We enjoyed our best dinner at Blossom wh ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

We enjoyed our best dinner at Blossom while visiting Charleston for three nights

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

As always, terrific service and food.

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

As always, terrific service and food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We have been eating at Blossom's for man ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

We have been eating at Blossom's for many years now and they never disappoint! The food is always great, the service is professional and friendly, the price is appropriate. I recently had the shrimp and grits...marvelous! I would recommend Blossom's for both locals and visitors.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lived in Charleston for years and just a ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Lived in Charleston for years and just ate here for the first time. Amazing meal, highly recommended! Great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great find in a wonderful city worth the ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Great find in a wonderful city worth the visit food excellent scallops exceptional. Great staff friendly professional knowledgeable wonderful location convenient free parking what is not to love about this place!

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

A former Charlestonian visiting and retu ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

A former Charlestonian visiting and returning to Blossom. Food was creative and great. Would recommend it.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

My wife n I had excellent meal and servi ...

 
·Dined on August 10, 2016

My wife n I had excellent meal and service!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Blossom was great! We were in town for f ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Blossom was great! We were in town for family vacation and wanted a dinner everyone would enjoy. Blossom certainly exceeded that requirement!

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We were originally sat outside but saw a ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

We were originally sat outside but saw an open table outside and they let us sit there! It was perfect! Service and good were excellent! The inside seemed a bit too crowded and noisy, but still very worth it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Lovely menu selection, especially the fr ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Lovely menu selection, especially the fried artichokes, the shrimp and grits and the fried shrimp. Excellent service and warm and welcoming ambiance! Put it on your list for lunch, dinner and their lovely delightful Sunday Brunch!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A great dinner, especially for the food ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

A great dinner, especially for the food allergy challenged. After being seated, our waiter (Rich) greeted us and immediately inquired about my allergy we had entered with our Open Table reservation. Upon confirming my allergy, he was able to promptly direct me to available items on the menu that were safe or could be adjusted to be safe. I was then able to order a most excellent meal. I had the Tuna with coconut rice and it was the best meal I have had out in ages. My dinner companion had the fried chicken meal (delicious) and then the peach crisp for dessert (Fabulous!!). Our entire dining experience was enjoyable. Service was spectacular and we will definitely dine here again during our next visit to Charleston.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved blossom when they first opened, am ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Loved blossom when they first opened, ambience is nice, food was great back in the day. That is no longer the case. It is just mediocre at best. Disappointed in our experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

We visited with two toddlers for dinner. ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

We visited with two toddlers for dinner. Thee food was very good, my children enjoyed their pizza. The service was great, our server didn't miss a beat with the kids, cleared extra silverware and glasses out of their way and brought their food ahead of ours. Enjoyable little spot in Charleston!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great woodfired pizza. bagette in breadb ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Great woodfired pizza. bagette in breadbasket was great as well. Great stacked salad. Awesome service look forward to going back!! Added to our list of must eat at in Charleston.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The room was very warm with sun shining ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

The room was very warm with sun shining in our face. We had to find the hostess to get table service. Food description was incorrectly described by the waiter. We have been going to blossoms for years but will not be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Delicious! The beef carpaccio and tuna e ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Delicious! The beef carpaccio and tuna entree were delicious. Service was amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

They say is right away. The service was ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

They say is right away. The service was great. My husband got the special, it was a fish dish- a little dry. I think it was sitting in the window too long. It was a great meal though. Love the wine list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

The she crab soup is amazing. Crab cake ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

The she crab soup is amazing. Crab cakes are good but my wife's were very small for the price. The steak filet was also good however small and lukewarm. Don't get me wrong the food is good, I just expect more for an over $30 entree. The service was excellent and they did make us feel special for our anniversary. Complementary free parking beside the restaurant was also a plus.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Love this place. The Bloody Mary's at br ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Love this place. The Bloody Mary's at brunch are to die for.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Blossom was an awesome restaurant. Our f ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Blossom was an awesome restaurant. Our first visit to Charleston and southern charm surrounded us in this delightful spot. Loved the ambience and menu selections. Happening spot in a very busy neighborhood. Staff was great and food preparation was excellent - enjoyed a lovely bottle of rose with the help of a knowledgeable and personable waitperson. Prices were reasonable and would recommend highly.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The entrées were very pretty and tasted ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

The entrées were very pretty and tasted great. The restaurant was very nice and the desserts even better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Delicious food! Would definatley recomm ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Delicious food! Would definatley recommend! I had the pasta special with homeade pasta with shrimp and tilefish and finished the entire bowl! Yum!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great wait person..very little for Grand ...

 
 (Key West)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Great wait person..very little for Grandchildren..good but limited for them...Mahi great.."warm in restaurant" ?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Waiter was awesome! Very friendly and at ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Waiter was awesome! Very friendly and attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

The restaurant was very busy and thus it ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

The restaurant was very busy and thus it was a bit slow and a tad noisy. Food was quite good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Courtesy parking is available just a few ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Courtesy parking is available just a few steps away.

Great location. Ample bar seating. Great service. And the food...oh yes! The food is fabulous!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Blossom is one of my favorite Charleston ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Blossom is one of my favorite Charleston restaurants and have visited many times since moving here 4 years ago often bringing out of town guests. The seafood is well prepared, there are always a few unusual items on the menu (the fried green tomatoes is a different preparation) and also has menu items for the traditionalist. A plus is the complimentary parking in the lot next door on Bay Street.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Maybe it was an off-night for Blossom si ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Maybe it was an off-night for Blossom since we were drawn to it by all the other great reviews. The "peach sangria" was syrupy and tasted like 1/2 cheap white wine with 1/2 peach Schnapps with absolutely no other fruit flavor; it was so bad we sent it back in exchange for wine. My flatbread pizza was a safe choice, a basic crust topped with cheese and a few veggies plus a handful of salad with balsamic dressing on top of it. My friend's steak was flavorless except for the mound of herb butter on top of it. It was overshadowed by about half of an entire head of steamed broccoli atop a spoonful of mashed potatoes (both also flavorless). The service was just okay.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

My fried chicken small plate was delicio ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

My fried chicken small plate was delicious. My husband had pork wrapped in bacon that he thought was a bit dry. Ambience and service were terrific.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been coming to Blossoms for over ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

We have been coming to Blossoms for over two years and unfortunately, the service and atmosphere is no longer appropriate for dinner. Extremely loud, catering lots of "large" bachelor parties. We had to wait over one hour for our food to arrive, table without table cloth (while other tables had them); bus-boy and waiter ignored that our starter plates were empty (although we requested to have these items moved). Spoke with Manager on Duty, she was very apologetic and did not charge for entrees. Although we thank her for her gesture; the best solution is to re-arrange the area, where it can cater both regular dining customers like us and large parties at the opposite end. Additionally, improve customer service by teaching their employees body and facial language expressions. We don't think we will return at this location any time soon.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.