Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi

About Blossom

Blossom, located in downtown Charleston, S.C., serves American cuisine highlighting the Lowcountry’s best seafood. Executive chef Adam Close offers simple, clean preparations which feature ingredients sourced from area fishermen and farmers. Open for lunch on Monday through Saturday, dinner nightly, and Sunday brunch, Blossom also offers seating on its patio.

171 East Bay Street
Charleston, SC 29401
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Contemporary Southern, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 3:45pm
Dinner starts at 4:00 pm
Sunday Brunch 10:00am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
Located between Queen & Cumberland Streets

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 722-9200

Website:
http://www.blossomcharleston.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary parking is available at the Wells Fargo bank after 5:00 PM on weekdays and all day on weekends at the corner of East Bay and Broad Streets.

Executive Chef:
Adam Close

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:



Private Dining

Blossom offers private dining for groups of 12 to 20 guests.

Blossom Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (90)
Special Occasion (89)
Good for Anniversaries (62)
See All
Casual (61)
Local Ingredients (55)
Creative Cuisine (54)
Fit for Foodies (48)
Good for Birthdays (45)
Romantic (42)
Neighborhood Gem (38)
Good for Groups (36)
Authentic (35)
Fun (30)
Comfort Food (29)
Business Meals (29)
Great for Outdoor Dining (28)
Worth the Drive (28)
Great for Lunch (27)
Sunday Lunch (27)
Bar Seating (25)
Cozy (25)
Happy Hour (22)
Quiet Conversation (22)
Handcrafted Cocktails (20)
Great for Brunch (18)
Notable Wine List (18)
Pre/post Theatre (18)
People Watching (12)
Seasonal (12)
Hot Spot (12)
Tasting Menu (7)
Quick Bite (6)
Late-night Find (5)
Tapas (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Disabled Access (4)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Great Beer (3)
Organic (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Scenic View (2)
Waterfront (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort By:
S
3552 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 2 days ago

We celebrated our anniversary at Blossom last night. We were greeted with two glasses of champagne! Our waiter was awesome (he did forget to tell us about one of the specials, which I totally would have ordered) but he was very friendly and tentative! My husband loved the striped bass and my crab ravioli was pretty good (I wasn't a fan of one of the seasoning in the ravioli). Wine and beer were excellent! The dessert was my favorite part! Order the southern pecan pie sundae - it will NOT disappoint.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Outstanding experience -- from ambience of the courtyard to the fantastic food! Thank you!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Menu provides gourmet treats; well prepared and presented with great service.

Tags: Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 4 days ago

Good service and food. Would go back again. Wife still raving about the swordfish.

Tags: Casual, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 4 days ago

Having dinner with friends and the food was excellent - tried the fried chicken for the first time and it was amazing. Our server, Cooper, was phenomenal-will definitely request to be seated in his section on future visits if he is working.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined 4 days ago

We celebrated our anniversary there and we enjoyed the food selections, service and of course the delicious food.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined 5 days ago

Our waitress Kayla was incredible she made the trip for us otherwise we would've been very unhappy the chef decided to put hot pepper in the homeless and butter beans so for me they were an uneatable Crabcake in the group or it was wonderful the fish was terribly dry mashed potatoes were cold but Kayla brought me fresh ones even though the chef gave her a very hard time which we could hear this was our first visit

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined 6 days ago

Food was really good but on the expensive side. You used to be able to park free but now you have to pay--cost us $9 for 2 hours. We'll either use the parking garage or choose another restaurant next time.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 18, 2017

My wife and I absolutely love this restaurant. We love the service and the food is amazing. There's a great selection of wine choices. The seating is very comfortable with great scenic views inside and outside. Whenever we're in town in Charlestown, Blossom is always on our list.

Tags: Good for a Date, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on September 18, 2017

The food was really good. The only problem I had was that the open space of the large room resulted in a LOT of noise. It was hard to carry on a conversation while eating.

Tags: Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Wonderful! Thoroughly enjoyed the food. Service was amazing.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 9, 2017

We have enjoyed eating at Blossoms for years.
It was consistently good. Clean. Service was sharp. Food was delicious.

We were there a few months ago and it was only fair.
Decided to return and it was just not good.
We were a group of 4- all of us have eaten here many times. All of us were sadly disappointed.

Will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on September 4, 2017

A BIG disappointment! I got a Shrimp Roll ( a riff on a lobster roll) . It had 5 shrimp that were certainly not fresh and I think were actually farm-raised frozen. A sad statement in a seafood city. The service was marginal. The waiter laughed at the 6 or 7 large flies that were at our table. My wife's Crab Louis was better but very under-dressed. The waiter claimed to be baking fresh bred for us but when it arrived t was clearly days old and it was served with an odd compound butter that contained chives, honey and cayenne. The calamari appetizer was dripping with grease. Not Good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 4, 2017

Food was delicious, the fish was not over-seasoned with a lot of sauce, as usually happens in American restaurants. We loved the choise of white fish like grouper! Service was great, ambience is very nice!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Nice ambience, good service. Portions are not large.
My daughter's shrimp and grits was excellent.
I ordered the Jumbo Shrimp which were just a normal size! Disappointed for sure as I would have ordered something else had I known. I ordered them broiled and they used a seasoning on them that was a but overpowering to the flavor of mild shrimp.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 3, 2017

We ate dinner at Blossom while on a weekend getaway. Having never been to the area a friend of mine recommended a few restaurants. We had a wonderful dinner and the service was excellent. We will be back when we visit again.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Blossom consistently delivers great food & service. I love both their outdoor and indoor seating and they have a great location on East Bay Street. One of my favorite things is their variety of food (for those who love seafood and for those who don't) so there is always something for everyone. Plus, they have the best she crab soup in Charleston!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 3, 2017

She crab was average and tasted like an afterthought. The same is true for their grits. The swordfish was very good and the collards were outstanding. The Lavender martini was good but a bit too sweet. The blackened shrimp was good. The restaurant is very noisy, however, there is a quite, more ambient room in the front that was not offered to us. Had we know how loud this restaurant is, we would have chosen the quiet room.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on September 2, 2017

By far our best meal in Charleston. From the She Crab soup to the Lobster Spinach and Artichoke dip to the Blackened catfish. Everything was fabulous. I had the blue crab ravioli and was even more delicious than the description stated. The honey basil lemonade was my favorite drink I had of all the drinks. Service was top notch and turnaround from order to food delivery was super quick. Would HIGHLY recommend this place!!!!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Casual, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Authentic, Happy Hour, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

First time dining at Blossom. Some of the best tasting food, ever! Delicious!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Casual, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on September 2, 2017

We chose Blossom because it was close to our hotel, but after eating there we would have driven across town for that meal. It was a great mix of both local cuisine and some old standbys all prepared with the right balance of spice and flavor. We had a mix of seafood and chicken dishes and from the before dinner drinks (my wife had a Lavender Martini (first we had ever seen)) to the dessert (we both had the Chocolate Sorbet with is very rich but amazing flavor) it was a meal that we will long remember. My wife started with a bowl of gumbo and it was the best she had ever had (and we have eaten in some of the finest in New Orleans) and I had a wedge salad with some sugar glazed bacon (if you have never tried that it is an incredible mix of flavors). The Scallops which my wife had was amazingly well prepared combined with some local flavor sides which were all well prepared. I joked with her as she was finishing up, scraping all of the last remnants of the meal from her plate, that no one would probably notice if she licked the bowl clean. The Fried chicken (yes, Fried Chicken) I had was a well prepared boneless chicken breast over the top of some very well done Black eyed Peas and Mashed Potatoes with Cole Slaw on the side. A super local favorite for South Carolina.

The only negative we could come up with was the overall noise level. The building is an old but restored trading facility from two centuries ago and the wooden ceiling is really good for echoing. But outside of that we would recommend this as a great stop in Charleston.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Authentic, Comfort Food, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 1, 2017

Very loud and food was marginal especially considering the price. Won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service5
value1

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 1, 2017

This was a very enjoyable experience. All four of us had delicious meals and were able to talk comfortably the entire time. Our waiter was top-notch and took good care of us. We also had a tasty cocktail at the bar before the meal. We will all definitely be back!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 30, 2017

It was our wedding anniversary and Blossom was reccomended. They had our table ready and surprised us with champagne for a toast! That was a very nice touch!
The service and menu were excellent. The ambiance very appealing. Our dinners were delicious and the presentation very nice. The scallops were the best I have ever tasted.
Overall, it was a lovely experience. Our only complaint is the noise level. Instead of an intimate conversation we had to talk loudly in order to hear each other. Eating outside would have been better but not the right weather.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 30, 2017

Great service as a walk in (we arrived 30 minutes before our reservation and were seated almost immediately).

Tags: Quick Bite, Late-night Find, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 29, 2017

I have frequented this restaurant for over ten years (perhaps longer; can't remember when it opened). Frequently, at a place where you eat often, you sometimes get a bad meal. Never has that been the case at Blossom. It certainly wasn't this time either. Outstanding meal. Fish there has always been my favorite menu item. It has been my favorite restaurant in town for a long time. Great food, atmosphere and service. It cannot be beat!

Tags: Good for Groups, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on August 29, 2017

We were very disappointed in our dining experience at Blossom yesterday. We had very nice service, but felt that the menu was misleading. The tacos were cold - and never intended to be warm or hot. I returned a barbecue chicken taco to the kitchen because it had a small amount of barbecue sauce on the bottom, and cold chicken pieces scattered on top, with lots of lettuce and tomato. I would never have expected it to be cold - all the way through. My husband had a shrimp salad melt. It was open-faced (not disclosed on the menu), with melted cheese that appeared (and tasted) to be Velveeta on top. Also, the lima beans tasted like they had been cooked in water flavored with a chicken bouillon cube. The broth completely masked the flavor of those delicious local (we presume) beans. We will not be back. We always go to either Magnolias or Blossom when we go to Charleston (at least twice per year), and we did not feel that Blossom was even the same restaurant we have come to know and love. SO disappointing. And expensive! I also felt that - even though I ordered corn tacos (I have celiac disease) that I was served flour tacos. It was not clear that the restaurant had an understanding of the serious nature of celiac disease. Gluten free is not a fad for celiacs. It is a serious disease and I felt the kitchen was very casual about my request.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Over the years, my wife and I have eaten several times at Blossom, mostly for lunch. This time and the time before, we had dinner there. We like the dinner options that are available. Our food was excellent though I was especially impressed by our server who remembered us from our last visit Memorial Day weekend. She even remembered the beer I ordered as well as the entree. We look forward to returning on another visit to Charleston.

Tags: Fun, Casual, Local Ingredients, Kid-friendly, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Great Beer, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

Tte second i have been here. Not sure what happened. It was not a good experience this time. The waiter often forgot to check up on us. That was actually the worst. Never had that before. Then the food was mediocre and very salty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Great service and food selections! Will definitely be back many more times.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Healthy, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Romantic, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 25, 2017

Great experience. Food was over the top and our server Kala was knowledgeable about the different entrees and was very helpful in assisting us in making our choices for dinner. Will be back soon.

Tags: Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 24, 2017

Our meal at Blossom was delicious. For appetizers we had a very good crab cake and fried green tomatoes. I don't know if fried green tomatoes typically are served with a dollop of cheese and tomato sauce, but they were tasty, even if they overshadowed the tomatoes. The crab cake was tasty. My husband had the shrimp and grits which was delicious. I had the fried chicken with pea shoots which were good, if a little salty. The red velvet bread pudding for desert did not disappoint! The restaurant gets very noisy once it fills up, which can be a little distracting, but the food is very good.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 24, 2017

Always friendly efficient service. Quality of food and presentation consistently excellent. Our favorite pre theatre venue.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 22, 2017

We started with She Crab Soup. The food was divine. My boyfriend said the shrimp in the shrimp and grits was the best he's ever had! Our server was very nice and attentive.

We were very pleased with the table we got. The acoustics are not the best, therefore a lot of loud conversations are occurring all around you.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on August 22, 2017

The food was excellent. The waitress was friendly, courteous and attentive. Dining at Blossom was one of the highlights of my visit to Charleston.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 21, 2017

For a party of four, one order was a disaster. They got the order wrong three times and ended up with no food. To be accurate, the other three meals were fine. The one bad order was comped, to their credit.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 21, 2017

Blossom proved to be more than advertised. She crab soup was thick and creamy, oysters fresh and delicious (although rather expensive compared to competitors), and the entrees (Scallops were outrageously good and the bass special was delicious) were creative in appearance and taste. Would highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 21, 2017

I will start with the positive: The Sea Scallops were absolutely amazing! The negative: poor service and the noise was ear ringing! I would expected better service and more quite, ambiance for Downtown Dining.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 21, 2017

We were in town for the Eclipse. I was disappointed that Magnolias was fully booked. However, Blossom couldn't have been better. Fabulous meals -swordfish and fried shrimp dinners were outstanding, perfectly prepared. The service was excellent and the prices are reasonable. The manager circulated throughout the restaurant making sure everyone was happy.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (London)·Dined on August 21, 2017

It's nice to see that Blossom has has a little overhaul on their chairs and benches etc., As usual the food was great and our server was very friendly and everything came out promptly for lunch. It was a little busier than usual as it was the afternoon of the eclipse, but everything was served fast and hot. Food as usual was great!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.