Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi

About Blossom

Blossom, located in downtown Charleston, S.C., serves American cuisine highlighting the Lowcountry’s best seafood. Executive chef Adam Close offers simple, clean preparations which feature ingredients sourced from area fishermen and farmers. Open for lunch on Monday through Saturday, dinner nightly, and Sunday brunch, Blossom also offers seating on its patio.

171 East Bay Street
Charleston, SC 29401
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Contemporary Southern, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 3:45pm
Dinner starts at 4:00 pm
Sunday Brunch 10:00am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
Located between Queen & Cumberland Streets

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 722-9200

Website:
http://www.blossomcharleston.com/

Executive Chef:
Adam Close

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:



Private Dining

Blossom offers private dining for groups of 12 to 20 guests.

Blossom Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (114)
Special Occasion (109)
Good for Anniversaries (83)
See All
Local Ingredients (79)
Creative Cuisine (78)
Fit for Foodies (75)
Casual (70)
Neighborhood Gem (66)
Good for Birthdays (58)
Romantic (55)
Great for Outdoor Dining (55)
Great for Lunch (45)
Good for Groups (43)
Fun (43)
Authentic (41)
Worth the Drive (39)
Business Meals (39)
Comfort Food (37)
Bar Seating (33)
Happy Hour (32)
Sunday Lunch (32)
Quiet Conversation (30)
Cozy (29)
Pre/post Theatre (29)
Handcrafted Cocktails (25)
Open Kitchen (24)
Hot Spot (22)
Healthy (21)
Notable Wine List (18)
Modern Decor (18)
Wood Oven (18)
Kid-friendly (17)
Seasonal (17)
People Watching (16)
Historic (16)
Great for Brunch (16)
Late-night Find (10)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Family Style (9)
Scenic View (9)
Quick Bite (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Tasting Menu (6)
Afternoon Tea (6)
Disabled Access (6)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Tapas (4)
Vegan (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Waterfront (3)
Organic (3)
Fireplace (2)
Private Room (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Great Beer (2)
Spicy (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sort By:
S
3459 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined 2 days ago

Really just average. I had fish tacos that I could have found better anywhere else. Not disgusting by any means but nothing to write home about

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Savannah)·Dined 3 days ago

By far one of the best restaurants in Charleston! Food and service always consistent

Tags: Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Quick Bite, Local Ingredients, Kid-friendly, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Authentic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 4 days ago

Great service,great food. Have eaten at Blossom several times and never dissappointed

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 4 days ago

Excellent salmon salad

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined 5 days ago

Great Food & service! 2nd time there & we'd go again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 6 days ago

Over all it was just an ok experiance. Food was good but not great. Service was ok not wow.. Disapointed compared to level of food from Cyprus.

Tags: Casual, Romantic, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

As always, we had a great time at Blossom. The food and service continue to be great and it is one of the best, if not the best, values in downtown Charleston!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Casual, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined 6 days ago

I visited Blossom with friends for a friend's 30th birthday. We all enjoyed our amazing food and wine and we were even greeted with complimentary glasses of champagne for a toast! This is a beautiful restaurant with a lot of personality! Our server was very knowledgeable and gave great recommendations as well. I would definitely recommend Blossom to anyone looking for quality food, great service, and an experience that embodies the historic and beautiful personality of Charleston!

Tags: Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Good for a Date, Fun, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Seasonal, Healthy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined 7 days ago

Great experience. Best service and even better food/drinks. Thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined 7 days ago

I ate dinner here over the weekend and was somewhat disappointed in my overall experience. I'm an Event Manager and visit many restaurants during my travel. I made a reservation for two people and got seated in a very small table in the middle of two loud parties. When I asked to be moved the hostess told me she could not move me. Needless to say I was disappointed and made for a less than satisfied dinner experience. In addition I ordered the Jumbo shrimp and they were less than jumbo plus had a string of asparagus that was thin. I most likely will just go with Magnolias for my personal and group reservations.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Blossom was fantastic - food was amazing! I would recommend it to anyone!

Tags: Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Romantic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Really delicious dinner! I had the blackened catfish and it was incredible. Cute place, good service and food. Would definitely recommend.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Food was very tasty, served quickly and our server couldn't have been nicer or more professional. (wished I could remember his name!) Charleston is a very busy place to dine on Saturday nights and we were in and out in about an hour. (wow!)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Our server was attentive. When she was delayed she told us why and when she'd be back. Oysters were good but not shucked very well. Ahi tuna poke appetizer was very good. Mahi tacos had the tiniest piece of mahi and were mainly just cabbage. I couldn't even taste any fish. My son got the seared mahi entree and that was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 13, 2017

I confess. It was so good the first night of our business trip we went there the next night--which turned out to be a wonderful Birthday Eve dinner for me!! I love Magnolia's which has the same owner but this just might be my new fave!

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Great menu, lots of choices a little on the pricey side but very good.

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 13, 2017

This restaurant was perfect in every area! Outstanding!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date, People Watching, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Jacob Caughman was an excellent waiter

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Jan is excellent, ask for her.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on July 8, 2017

The food was absolutely DELICIOUS! Definitely will be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Great overall experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Dinner & service were excellent! Red velvet bread pudding was the best dessert we've had!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 7, 2017

The evening started with an order for drinks. I ordered a gin & tonic and the waiter asked if Hendricks was okay. I didn't see the cocktail list that had been placed under a menu so I said yes before I realized I had just been up-sold. Would not have minded all that much except for the fact that there was no sparkle from the tonic, the lime looked like it had been around a while and I got little taste of gin. We split fried green tomato appetizer. To Blossom's credit our server appeared after a not unreasonable wait and told us the cook was not happy with what came out of the fryer and they were therefore changing the oil and redoing the dish. Appreciated that. The second attempt was okay. Have to say that the slices of tomato were so thin that really all you tasted was the breading. The pepper jelly, bacon jam and pimento cheese that accompanied them were better than the tomatoes themselves. I had the special for the night; A grilled striped bass served skin-on over mashed potatoes with carrots, and leek & lobster butter. The fish was a little over cooked and a slight bit dry. The lobster butter was good and helped compensate for the slightly dry fish. My wife had the grilled scallops which were very good. Nice sear on them and still tender flavorful and moist. Of the two entrees that was clearly the better one.
The noise level when we first arrived was "energetic" to use Open Table's description. I would call it just plain loud. It calmed down over the course of our dinner so that by the end of dinner around 8:45 we could comfortably carry on a conversation across the table.
On the whole I would say the food is decent but Blossom on this particular night just seems to feel like a place that was trying to get as many patrons/tourists in and out as they possibly could. Not a bad experience but with all the choices in Charleston we will keep exploring other restaurants on our next visit.

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Competes for one of the best meals we've ever had. Fried green tomato appetizer was AMAZING! Blackened catfish and pan roasted mahi entrees were unbelievable as well - highly recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Good atmosphere and good food but room temp was to warm.

Tags: Comfort Food, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on July 5, 2017

Very good restaurant with good location downtown. Food is seasonal and creative. Just be aware, they do move through things quickly, so if you want a little time be cautious how you order. The pre dinner cocktails were served followed by the appetizers before you barely had a chance to enjoy the drink. So, order you cocktail if you want. And wait to order the rest of your meal.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 5, 2017

We really loved eating at Blossom but the air conditioning needed some help. Granted it was a very hot day but by the end of the meal we were all feeling somewhat uncomfortable. However everyone's dish and appetizer was superb!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on July 5, 2017

The food was outstanding! Great evening out!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 4, 2017

Great seafood! My wife had chargrilled Mahi Mahi and loved it. I had blackened jumbo Shrimp, it was excellent. Great service too.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Trusted establishment in Charleston. Always consistent. Offers a wide range of food options from pizza to excellent seafood!

Tags: Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Empty restaurant but my wife and I were seated in a terrible location next to kitchen and on a corner trafficked by everyone in and out of the kitchen and customers coming and going. This seating only a convenience to the staff. Loud kitchen staff made it difficult to converse quietly with my wife on this special 42 wedding anniversary . Seated in the hottest spot in the restaurant at 4 pm with very few people in the restaurant and many other more comfortable options. Value is extremely low for cost to product received.

Look, I am not telling you anything you don't already know about this restaurant. If you are in this business and you think this is acceptable you are in the wrong business. Why ask customers what they think about this? It is too obvious.
This is the second time I have dined here. First time several years ago this was nice. Now it is not.
By the way food was average.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 2, 2017

This was our third time at Blossom. The first time was great. The second time was not as good so we decided to give it another try. Our server was wonderful and very attentive. The room was extremely hot. We asked for the manager and asked if they could raise the air and he said "the machine is doing the best it can". What was also a huge problem was the smoke from the kitchen. Our eyes were burning and we smelled when we left the restaurant. The good was mediocre at best. Very disappointed. Don't think we will be returning anytime soon. Sorry

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Always a pleasure at Blossom. Food and service are excellent.

Tags: Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Great dining experience! We went for brunch and had the chicken and biscuits and the Eggs Benedict. Both were fantastic! Great service as well!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Blossom has become a go-to for us for brunch when visiting the city! Everything is so good and I love the patio and general look of the restaurant. Brunch selection is great and the bread and butter is amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on July 1, 2017

The food and service were great but, the espresso was cold when it arrived at the table.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Great location in Charleston with both indoor & outdoor seating. Best shrimp and grits ever. Our waitress was very prompt and friendly.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Food was good but seemed to have too many different tastes on the same plate. Especially the catfish dish suffered from this. I love the restaurant decor and feel. A great place but needs a bit of refinement of the menu

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 1, 2017

First time at Blossom for dinner. Food was good, especially the staple shrimp n grits. i asked about the advertised special, server said he didnt know how it was because he never tasted it (?) Very good food for the price, and relaxing atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Blossom became one of our favorite restaurants over 15 years ago and it's still a favorite! We love everything about it - its location in the heart of Charleston, its atmosphere, its great food & service! Blossom is a restaurant that never disappoints!

Tags: Cozy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.