About Blossom

171 East Bay Street
Charleston, SC 29401
View Larger Map

Blossom, located in downtown Charleston, S.C., serves American cuisine highlighting the Lowcountry’s best seafood. Executive chef Adam Close offers simple, clean preparations which feature ingredients sourced from area fishermen and farmers. Open for lunch on Monday through Saturday, dinner nightly, and Sunday brunch, Blossom also offers seating on its patio.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Contemporary Southern

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 3:45pm
Dinner starts at 4:00 pm
Sunday Brunch 10:00am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
Located between Queen & Cumberland Streets

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 722-9200

Website:
http://www.blossomcharleston.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary parking weekdays after 5:00pm & all day Saturday & Sunday.
**Please note that the parking lot is not available Monday-Friday before 5:00pm. Public parking is located in the garage on Cumberland Street.

Executive Chef:
Adam Close

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Blossom invites beer lovers in for an evening of distinctive fare and craft beer with a Brooklyn Brewery beer dinner on
Sunday, June 28th.
Guests can enjoy a six-course tasting dinner with complementing brews from Brooklyn Brewery in Brooklyn, NY.
Our Executive Chef Adam Close will present a tasting menu inspired by the unique brews from Brooklyn Brewery.
Diners will round out the experience with a dessert from
Executive Pastry Chef Andrea Upchurch served alongside a sixth beer.
The beer dinner is priced at $50 per person, excluding tax and gratuity.
Dinner will begin at 7:00 PM.
For reservations contact Megan Fussell.
(843)937-4012 Ext. 267
Fussell250@gmail.com



Restaurant Photos

Blossom, Charleston, SC
Blossom, Charleston, SC
Blossom, Charleston, SC
Blossom, Charleston, SC
Blossom, Charleston, SC
Blossom, Charleston, SC
Blossom, Charleston, SC
Blossom, Charleston, SC
Blossom, Charleston, SC
Blossom, Charleston, SC
Blossom, Charleston, SC
Blossom, Charleston, SC
Blossom, Charleston, SC
Blossom, Charleston, SC
Blossom, Charleston, SC
Fried Pork Belly With Jalapeño Relish - Blossom, Charleston, SC
Southern Fried Chicken - Blossom, Charleston, SC
Buttermilk Pancakes Stuffed With Pecan Smoked Carolina Brisket - Blossom, Charleston, SC
Fried Green Tomatos With Pimento Cheese - Blossom, Charleston, SC
Black Pepper Buttermilk Biscuits With Bacon Jan - Blossom, Charleston, SC
Pulled Pork Hash With Poached Eggs - Blossom, Charleston, SC
lobster roll - Blossom, Charleston, SC
Carolina Mountain Trout - Blossom, Charleston, SC
Fried Green Tomatoes - Blossom, Charleston, SC
Warmed Strawberry Rhubarb Crisp With Buttermilk Pie Ice Cream - Blossom, Charleston, SC
Dinner Bread - Blossom, Charleston, SC
Pan Seared Mahi Mahi - Blossom, Charleston, SC
Butter Lettuce Salad - Blossom, Charleston, SC
Spice Grilled Yellowfin Tuna Cipollinis, Charred Brussel Sprouts And Beet Beirre Rouge - Blossom, Charleston, SC
Schramsberg Mirabelle Brut Rose Bottle Service - Blossom, Charleston, SC
Lump Crab Tostada Salad - Blossom, Charleston, SC
Vanilla Bean Creme Brulee With Fresh Berries - Blossom, Charleston, SC
South Peach - Blossom, Charleston, SC
Buttermilk Fried Artichoke Hearts - Blossom, Charleston, SC
fish tacos - Blossom, Charleston, SC
Red Velvet Bread Pudding With Strawberry Cheesecake Ice Cream - Blossom, Charleston, SC
Buttermilk Fried Local Shrimp With Braised Brussel Sprouts - Blossom, Charleston, SC
She Crab Soup  - Blossom, Charleston, SC
Cast Iron Skillet Scallops - Blossom, Charleston, SC
Lemon Drop - Blossom, Charleston, SC
Buttermilk Crusted Calamari - Blossom, Charleston, SC
Black Maple Duck Breast Confit Wils Rice Port Wine Black Cherries - Blossom, Charleston, SC
Caesar Salad - Blossom, Charleston, SC
She-Crab Soup - Blossom, Charleston, SC
Cobb Salad With Grilled Shrimp - Blossom, Charleston, SC
Gin Blossom Martini - Blossom, Charleston, SC
Crabcake and Fried Green Tomato - Blossom, Charleston, SC
pumpkin soup - Blossom, Charleston, SC
Mahi Mahi - Blossom, Charleston, SC
Maple Leaf Farm Half Duck - Blossom, Charleston, SC
New Orleans Style Shrimp And Grits - Blossom, Charleston, SC
Butter Lettuce Wraps - Blossom, Charleston, SC
Shrimp And Cheddar Grits - Blossom, Charleston, SC
Double Cut Pork Chop - Blossom, Charleston, SC
North Carolina Rainbow Trout - Blossom, Charleston, SC
Ricotta Gnocchi With Scallops And Gorgonzola Cream Sauce - Blossom, Charleston, SC
Bbq Pork Tenderloin - Blossom, Charleston, SC
Pork Butt With Apricot Jelly And Salsa Verde - Blossom, Charleston, SC

Private Dining

Blossom offers private dining for groups of 12 to 20 guests.

Blossom Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (50)
Good for a Date (46)
Local Ingredients (40)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (38)
Fit for Foodies (38)
Creative Cuisine (36)
Romantic (35)
Neighborhood Gem (32)
Good for Groups (29)
Casual (28)
Good for Birthdays (24)
Great for Outdoor Dining (23)
Great for Lunch (22)
Open Kitchen (21)
Wood Oven (20)
Worth the Drive (19)
Fun (19)
Modern Decor (18)
Business Meals (17)
Authentic (16)
Comfort Food (16)
Pre/post Theatre (16)
Outstanding Value (14)
Quiet Conversation (14)
Historic (14)
Sunday Lunch (13)
Bar Seating (13)
Cozy (12)
Healthy (11)
Great for Brunch (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Seasonal (10)
Notable Wine List (10)
Hot Spot (9)
People Watching (8)
Scenic View (5)
Family Style (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Kid-friendly (5)
Happy Hour (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Great Beer (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Tapas (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Private Room (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Fireplace (1)
Waterfront (1)
Organic (1)
Live Sports (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Vegan (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sort By:
S
2879 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We ate at three restaurants in Charlesto ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined 3 days ago

We ate at three restaurants in Charleston this trip. Food was good, but I had blackened catfish which was good, but it was covered with cheese sauce. My wife had shrimp and grits which she said was good. We ended up sitting in a corner when there were tons of tables available. Waiter was okay but was sort of lethargic. He did his job and did not disappear and he received and 18% tip instead of 20%.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

My meal and my husband's were delicious! ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

My meal and my husband's were delicious! It was our 35th anniversary to which we were gifted with 2 glasses of complimentary champagne. Very nice date and meal!

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Waitress was very nice, but food was inc ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined 6 days ago

Waitress was very nice, but food was incredibly disappointing. Scallops & shrimp tasted they came from the freezer section of Sams or Costco. The tables were also set with bread plates & butter knives, but we never saw bread served to anyone. Will not be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4

Almost perfect experience. Greeted by a ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 6 days ago

Almost perfect experience. Greeted by a friendly hostess, and then our server. He was friendly and attentive. He brought our drinks with some of their fresh baked bread, which was divine. Our food didn't take too long and my husband and I enjoyed everything. I'm a light eater, so I ended up taking a lot home, and our server seemed fine with boxing everything up. The manager visited our table and we could honestly say that everything was great. We will definitely go back! Oh yeah, don't forget the free parking!

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Open Kitchen, Wood Oven, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Brunch was very good--loved the bacon & ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 7 days ago

Brunch was very good--loved the bacon & shrimp in the Bloody Mary. Service was exceptional.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent food and service. Had 21st bir ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Excellent food and service. Had 21st birthday there. I've already recommended to other friends

Tags: Business Meals, Fun, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

food was quite good, but we were disappo ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 2, 2016

food was quite good, but we were disappointed when our server Darcie brought out the apple crisp and the topping was charred, so much that you could smell it. the manager did get us a replacement but we felt it should've been discounted, as it should have not been sent or delivered to begin with.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Was disappointed in my choice of entrees ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Was disappointed in my choice of entrees- Citrus-marinated Mahi-mahi tacos. Others in our group were pleased with their entrees. Service was mediocre. Maitre D was accommodating.

Tags: Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

One our favorites. Especially great serv ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 2, 2016

One our favorites. Especially great service this time. Food as usual was creative and very good. Lamb sausage pizza was the best.

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I have eaten many times at Blossom and h ...

vip
 (Wilmington)·Dined on December 2, 2016

I have eaten many times at Blossom and have never been disappointed. This trip was once again a delight to my taste buds. My wife had a grouper dish with fresh vegetables and I had their Seafood Gumbo and it was perfect. Next trip to Charleston will see us there again.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Afternoon Coffee, Vegan, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation, Wood Oven, Afternoon Tea, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Disabled Access, Casual, Romantic, Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our first visit to Blossom and it won't ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Our first visit to Blossom and it won't be our last. The food and ambiance were five star. The noise level was high but tolerable. My seafood cobb salad was full of fresh shellfish and greens. My son and husband both had the scallops which were excellent. Try it, you won't be disappointed!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We sat outside. It was a beautiful night ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 25, 2016

We sat outside. It was a beautiful night with a cool breeze. Our waitress was amazing and offered suggestions on what to order. The crab,spinach and artichoke dip was AMAZING! I don't think you could go wrong with anything on their menu! I would recommend to anyone who is visiting Charleston to check out Blossom!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is one of our favorite restaurants ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 25, 2016

This is one of our favorite restaurants in Charleston, but our experience was disappointing. Our waiter did not take our drink order after we were seated and was very inattentive from the beginning. When he did finally come to take our order, he didn't write anything down. Consequently, one member of our group did not receive his drink and he also received the wrong entree. The waiter seemed very distracted and uninterested in providing good service. The food was good, but the service was definitely not up to par.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

Food was way too salty. Service was so s ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Food was way too salty. Service was so so - not particularly enthusiastic. She crab soup tasted like thick mushy flour paste. No reason to return

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Beautiful setting. Outdoor patio. Great ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Beautiful setting. Outdoor patio. Great service. Delicious Low country cuisine. Dined there twice in one weekend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very disappointing, especially given the ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Very disappointing, especially given the caliber of other restaurants in the group. The special Thanksgiving meal was dry and served barely warm, like it had been sitting out for hours then reheated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Parking on the street is going to be a c ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Parking on the street is going to be a challenge. We happened to drive by the restaurant's own private lot which is shared with it's sister restaurants. We parked in the lot and it was FREE! You will have to get your parking stub validated in the restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food and service was outstanding. Can' ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Food and service was outstanding. Can't wait to go back to Charleston and eat there again.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went for Thanksgiving. We were able ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We went for Thanksgiving. We were able to pick from the menu, which was nice. My husband and I did not want to have Turkey. We started with the Prince Edward Mussels which were very good. My husband had the Steak Oscar which was very tender and tasty. I had the grilled scallops with shrimp....great flavors. Service was very good considering how busy they were for Thanksgiving. Will go back.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

My kids loved their Thanksgiving dinners ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 24, 2016

My kids loved their Thanksgiving dinners. It was nice to have a small kids turkey dinner option. The fried chicken was excellent. The service felt rushed. Beer menu was lackluster. Fun, lively atmosphere.

Tags: Modern Decor, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value4

We have enjoyed Blossom on several occas ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We have enjoyed Blossom on several occasions. We have had the best soft shell crabs ever in the spring. This time was for Thanksgiving, which is a bit of a challenge if you don't want the traditional fare. They attended to the details with special butter for the special bread, warmed plates, local food, all with excellent service.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We enjoyed our Thanksgiving dinner at Bl ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We enjoyed our Thanksgiving dinner at Blossom. Skipped the traditional turkey and mashed potatoes on the menu and opted for seafood. Both meals were outstanding and service was outstanding especially considering how very busy things were on Thanksgiving day. This is a somewhat casual dining experience with great food. If you like a little more formal and upscale dining then the sister establishment, Cypress, right next door is also a great option.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

This is the second Thanksgiving we have ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 24, 2016

This is the second Thanksgiving we have spent at Blossom. Our food was delicious and the courtyard seating was just what we wanted on this sunny 78 degree day in the lowcountry. Blossom is one of our favorites!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always, the food was very good. The w ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 23, 2016

As always, the food was very good. The wait staff seemed especially busy even though the restaurant was not full. Our only complaint was that the food was not served hot which makes me wonder how long it had been sitting there waiting for the server to pick it up. But very good meal otherwise and a pleasant waiter.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Cozy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Good food and service. The restaurant is ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 21, 2016

Good food and service. The restaurant is dark and needs uodating. For the price, btr to go to Magnolia which has better ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

This past Saturday was very noisy! My hu ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 20, 2016

This past Saturday was very noisy! My husband and I could hardly hear ourselves speak. The restaurant is very comfy and has great lightening. Unfortunately the noise level did but a damper on the evening.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value4

Great upbeat, modern atmosphere. Blossom ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Great upbeat, modern atmosphere. Blossoms is a landmark in Charleston where we are never disappointed.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

When we arrived for dinner we were greet ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 17, 2016

When we arrived for dinner we were greeted promptly by our server, Rachael. She did an excellent job. We ordered our first rounds of drinks and they arrived quickly and accurately. We all ordered appetizers as well as entrees. I ordered the she crab soup. It was ok. Nothing special about it. It wasn't that hot and the soup was starting to "break". When my entree of Mahi Mahi arrived it had been overlooked and was starting to dry out in the middle. The rice was adequate that came with the Mahi. I would most likely go back and try some different options from the menu.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

Highly recommend. Great food and service ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Highly recommend. Great food and service

Nice atmosphere

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Outstanding Value, Modern Decor, Open Kitchen, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great ambience and service. Loved the cr ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Great ambience and service.

Loved the crispy oysters. Fried chicken was okay.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

We ordered the Crab Louie salad - a $20 ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 15, 2016

We ordered the Crab Louie salad - a $20 appetizer - and were sadly surprised to get a decent sized patty of crabmeat smothered in Russian dressing. Instead of the promised avocado they had substituted watery guacamole. The Bibb lettuce underneath was not consumable. Our entree, the $32 Ahi Tuna, was unappetizing and bland. It ranged in color from light grey (around the edges) to purple in the center. There were no roasted tomatoes and the spinach accompaniment was simply a scoop of boiled spinach. The server was not very attentive. The acoustics were horrible. And all that for over $100 without drinks or dessert.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

Good food and service

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Good food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Everything was outstanding but especiall ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Everything was outstanding but especially loved the BBQ boiled peanuts!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went to Blossoms after the theatre. The ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Went to Blossoms after the theatre. The food was wonderful as was the service. Perfect spot to enjoy Charleston with friends.

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

A pleasurable experience overall. The ch ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 12, 2016

A pleasurable experience overall. The chef and staff were very accommodating for my wife's extensive allergy list which is a must for us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Everything was above average - not five- ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Everything was above average - not five-star, but very, very nice. Beautiful building and ambience. Easy lighting. The she-crab soup was the best we've ever had! Although he needs a little more wine-pouring practice, our waiter did a good job. There was some time when he should have checked back with us sooner, but that's better than too much hovering. All-in-all a nice dining experience.

Tags: Healthy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Chef and waiter worked well together to ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Chef and waiter worked well together to design meal around dining partners severe shell fish allergy.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was the first time we had been to B ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 11, 2016

This was the first time we had been to Blossom and it was great. We will stop by again.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Seafood was the main attraction that dre ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Seafood was the main attraction that drew us here. Tuna Poke was chewy? A new one for us, oysters were not fresh and stuck to their shell. She crab soup was too thick and salty. We ordered a seafood sampler and the shrimp were overcooked and gummy, in other words, old... Very disappointed. Great location though and a pretty patio setting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

I had chargrilled grouper. It was extre ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 11, 2016

I had chargrilled grouper. It was extremely salty. so much that I didn't bother to finish it. The grits that came with it were also over salted. My husband had the blackened Grouper. His was better, but also over salted. My daughter had a shrimp and scallop dish, which was quite good. Very disappointed in the our two dishes, and with so many options in Charleston, doubt we'll return...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.