Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi

About Blossom

Blossom, located in downtown Charleston, S.C., serves American cuisine highlighting the Lowcountry’s best seafood. Executive chef Adam Close offers simple, clean preparations which feature ingredients sourced from area fishermen and farmers. Open for lunch on Monday through Saturday, dinner nightly, and Sunday brunch, Blossom also offers seating on its patio.

171 East Bay Street
Charleston, SC 29401
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Contemporary Southern, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 3:45pm
Dinner starts at 4:00 pm
Sunday Brunch 10:00am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
Located between Queen & Cumberland Streets

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 722-9200

Website:
http://www.blossomcharleston.com/

Executive Chef:
Adam Close

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:



Private Dining

Blossom offers private dining for groups of 12 to 20 guests.

Blossom Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (106)
Special Occasion (90)
Local Ingredients (73)
See All
Creative Cuisine (66)
Good for Anniversaries (65)
Fit for Foodies (63)
Neighborhood Gem (61)
Casual (57)
Good for Birthdays (50)
Great for Lunch (49)
Great for Outdoor Dining (44)
Comfort Food (43)
Open Kitchen (38)
Romantic (38)
Good for Groups (38)
Fun (32)
Worth the Drive (32)
Business Meals (32)
Modern Decor (29)
Pre/post Theatre (28)
Wood Oven (27)
Bar Seating (27)
Authentic (26)
Historic (25)
Cozy (24)
Sunday Lunch (23)
Hot Spot (23)
Quiet Conversation (23)
Happy Hour (20)
Handcrafted Cocktails (16)
Notable Wine List (15)
People Watching (15)
Healthy (14)
Great for Brunch (12)
Family Style (10)
Kid-friendly (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Seasonal (9)
Late-night Find (9)
Outstanding Value (8)
Scenic View (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Tasting Menu (7)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Quick Bite (4)
Private Room (3)
Fireplace (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Vegan (3)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Tapas (2)
Waterfront (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Great Beer (1)
Spicy (1)
Organic (1)
Sort By:
S
3345 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined a day ago

Service and food were fantastic! We had appetizers, entrees, and dessert. Every course was perfection. My only complaint is that it was smokey. There is a wood burning oven, and I believe they need to install an additional vent or something for air circulation. Despite that, I would absolutely return again.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 2 days ago

This was our second time to charleston and our second time to Blossom. It was just as good the second time as the first. The Sunday brunch was delicious. The teenagers loved the French toast with a side of a bacon. The adults loved the skillet breakfast and Cajun etouffee.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 2 days ago

I expected more since it had good reviews in TripAdvisor, but it did not come near expectations set by these reviews. I ordered gumbo, which was average compared to gumbo I've had in comparable restaurants in New Orleans and Savannah. I ordered shrimp and grits for my main dish, which was "soupy" in consistency and the shrimp looked like the shrimp that comes in frozen pre-peeled shrimp you get in the supermarket. Service was good though. We had reservations for 9:45 PM but arrived at 9:10 PM and we're seated immediately. When visiting Charleston again, I doubt that I would return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 2 days ago

Excellent food
Oysters Rockefeller are the best in town

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 2 days ago

Wh should have left when walked in and the redhead hostess did not knowledges for two minutes. We had a reservation at 7:30 but we got there at 6:55 and we where going to grab a drink and the bar .. the Bar was busy and could not help us. Two different groups came in and didn't have reservations and she set them right away. One group was 3 people and the other was 2. At 7:18 we got seated and we got drinks and just order after how rude the redhead lady was I was. Not in the mood to order.. but my boyfriend got the sampler and it was a joke and the chicken was gross... we laugh and said Golden Corral tasted better... So don't go it's a waste of time and money... I travel here a lot and we eat at some amazing restaurants... maybe we had a off night... but it was a really bad time... but my Boyfriend and I made them best of it!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined 2 days ago

Consistently delicious and creative offerings from appetizers to dessert

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 2 days ago

My crab cake sandwich was absolutely delicious but, the next time I order it, I will ask for the tartar sauce on the side. My husband had the roasted turkey BLT, which he loved. Our server was friendly and attentive. Two managers checked on us, which we appreciated.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 3 days ago

It was amazing. I went with my girlfriend and it was the best date spot ever. Great food/service!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined 3 days ago

Consistently good, creative flavors and great value.

Tags: Casual, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 3 days ago

Everything was excellent. This was our first time dining here. Our meal was perfect. My wife loved the mahi mahi tacos and I had the scallops. Delicious, and very reasonable prices for Charleston. Request to sit outside.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined 3 days ago

Outstanding seafood! Everything (and I sampled 7 different dishes) was delicious. I would especially recommend the scallops (part of the "classics" on the menu) and the she-crab soup but I suspect you can't go wrong with any of the other menu items. The atmosphere is great and romantic. One piece of advice - make sure you are on time for your reservation (if you have one). Ours almost got cancelled because we were about 4-5 minutes late (or maybe that was just a joke that the host made). Anyway, overall, Blossom is now my top most favorite seafood restaurant in a long-long time.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Fun, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 3 days ago

Had freinds from NY visiting and we couldn't chose a better place. Food was just fantastic along with the service. Prices were very reasonable and the food was fresh and extremely tasty. Grits were some of the best I've had in SC.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 4 days ago

Our experience at Blossom was a little disappointing. Although the menu looked inviting, the end result was less than spectacular. I ordered the stuffed grouper and it was quite saltly. The service was pleasant but our wait for our food was longer than it should have been. The drinks however were very good, especially the the peach bellini and the bourbon mixed drink on special.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined 4 days ago

Service was very slow. The artichoke crab dip was just so so and it was difficult to eat as it had almost a soup like composition with cheese on top. The fried green tomatoes were great as was the lamb sausage pizza. We just had three appetizers and then two desserts. The banana pudding and the brownie sundae were again good, but not great. We've eaten here many times before but tonight was just average I'm sorry to say.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined 4 days ago

Great meal from appetizer through dessert!! Dustin was an excellent server. Thoroughly enjoyable dining experience!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 22, 2017

We eat at Blossom every time we go to Charleston. The food, service and ambiance are great. I highly recommend Blossom

Tags: Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Disabled Access, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 22, 2017

Excellent food. The one exception was the crab dip, which had a very thick layer of melted cheese (about 3/4" thick) that made it hard to get to the dip (of which there was very little). Otherwise the food was great. The seared ahi tuna and sea scallops were cooked perfectly, the grits were excellent. I would recommend Blossom. This was our third time here.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 22, 2017

We had a great time! Our server, Melissa, was the best! We try to go to Blossom every time we are is Charleston!

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 22, 2017

We waited to be greeted for a couple of minutes. The bartender saw us but didn't feel the need to acknowledge us and seemed irritated when we asked about a hostess. The food is not anything special. The most bland beet salad I've ever had with over roasted pistachios. The fried chicken, seafood platter and mashed potatoes were also underwhelming and bland. The best dish we had was the gumbo. The server was average, I've had better service at chain restaurants. I guess I expected a better experience because all the other restaurants in this group do a great job.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 21, 2017

The bread they bring out to your table is outstanding - butter with rosemary & and honey. - Geechie Boy grits as a side were fabulous. Shared the banana pudding for dessert - yum!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Always friendly and welcoming. We are locals and like having a good walkable spot for everyday dining.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 21, 2017

We decided to try for Sunday brunch since we love dinning there. Was a bit disappointed with the food and service. Coffee was room temp, were not offered any biscuits or breads and wife's eggs were over cooked.

Tags: Comfort Food, Seasonal, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Excellent shrimp and grits and fried chicken!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 20, 2017

We had the blackened catfish and it was wonderful! One of the best meals I've ever had in Charleston, and I'm a South Carolina native. So glad we tried this restaurant. We will definitely be back.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 19, 2017

We bought a second home in Charleston last year and have been slowly working through all the restaurants on a monthly visit basis. Blossom has landed in our top 1-2 places so far out of about 20+. Worth the rating. Food was excellent with reasonable wine list. Great decor on the inside. Service was pleasant but a bit hectic. But, overall, worth its rating (unlike many of the other "famous" places). If you like creative food which tastes great and is not overpriced, this is the restaurant.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Justin was an amazingly good waiter! The spicey sauce for grilled shrimp was great.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Vegan, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Great place to explore the tastes sensations of the Low Country. We took advice of server and were very pleased and satisfied with the selections we made. We look forward to a return during our next visit to Charleston.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 17, 2017

We dine here whenever we visit Charleston and have recommended it to several acquaintances. The food and service is consistently excellent. One of our favorite restaurants in Charleston.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Absolutely delicious!! Loved it!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Nice experience. I felt the kitchen was generating a particularly high level of smoke, however.

Still remains one of my favorites.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Love the Mahdi entree. We stop in Charleston once a year and we always visit Blossom

Tags: Local Ingredients, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Historic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Mothers Day great food

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Historic, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Food was excellent nice restaurant good menu good value the service was a little slow but it was mother's day glad we went

Tags: Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 14, 2017

I took my mother to Blossom for Mother's Day and we had the best time! The food was amazing, and at a great price point! We had the best server, Melissa. She took great care of us! I highly recommend Blossom!

Tags: Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The overall experience was good, but there were a few hiccups throughout the meal. The server didn't tell us about any dinner specials. Then when we were finally able to order- my husband's entree was plated wrong (he ordered grilled Mahi Mahi with mashed potatoes and butter beans with the lemon caper butter and ended up with Mahi over collards with a side of sea island read beans that were awful.) The server did apologize profusely and comped our dessert. Overall it was good, but not the quality I have grown to love about Blossom over the years.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We have been frequent diners of Blossom's and unfortunately for our Mother's Day lunch was disappointed by the quality of our food server.

Cory seemed at best lethargic and at times forgetful. We ordered a Paul Hobbs Chardonnay and he brought us a Pinot Noir. Trying to avoid any further confusion, we asked for the correct type of wine glass only to be surprised with Chardonnay glasses. After a second request, he brought us the correct glasses.

Our table was not cleared after each course - so we were able to" stack the dishes" and then asked him to remove them.

Not a great experience.😂😂😂

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Interesting and varied menu with several local fresh fish and seafood options as well as several choices for carnivores. Lively, fun atmosphere. Excellent service. Convenient complimentary parking is a bonus!

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Seasonal, Hot Spot, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on May 13, 2017

Wonderful experience! Will return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on May 13, 2017

We had no idea what to expect as we were just visiting Charleston. It was a busy place. Our server was terrific. She took time to describe unfamiliar dishes like fried green tomatoes with 3 sauces - just very delicious. She helped us treat a neighboring table with held back tears. Our lunch was a grand success!

Tags: Spicy, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Had a great lunch of mahi-mahi. The service was great too.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.