About Blossom

171 East Bay Street
Charleston, SC 29401
View Larger Map

Blossom, located in downtown Charleston, S.C., serves American cuisine highlighting the Lowcountry’s best seafood. Executive chef Adam Close offers simple, clean preparations which feature ingredients sourced from area fishermen and farmers. Open for lunch on Monday through Saturday, dinner nightly, and Sunday brunch, Blossom also offers seating on its patio.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Contemporary Southern, Low Country

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 3:45pm
Dinner starts at 4:00 pm
Sunday Brunch 10:00am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
Located between Queen & Cumberland Streets

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 722-9200

Website:
http://www.blossomcharleston.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary parking weekdays after 5:00pm & all day Saturday & Sunday.
**Please note that the parking lot is not available Monday-Friday before 5:00pm. Public parking is located in the garage on Cumberland Street.

Executive Chef:
Adam Close

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Blossom invites beer lovers in for an evening of distinctive fare and craft beer with a Brooklyn Brewery beer dinner on
Sunday, June 28th.
Guests can enjoy a six-course tasting dinner with complementing brews from Brooklyn Brewery in Brooklyn, NY.
Our Executive Chef Adam Close will present a tasting menu inspired by the unique brews from Brooklyn Brewery.
Diners will round out the experience with a dessert from
Executive Pastry Chef Andrea Upchurch served alongside a sixth beer.
The beer dinner is priced at $50 per person, excluding tax and gratuity.
Dinner will begin at 7:00 PM.
For reservations contact Megan Fussell.
(843)937-4012 Ext. 267
Fussell250@gmail.com



Restaurant Photos

Blossom
Blossom
Blossom
Blossom
Blossom
Blossom
Blossom
Blossom
Blossom
Blossom
Blossom
Blossom
Blossom
Blossom
Blossom
Fried Pork Belly With Jalapeño Relish
Southern Fried Chicken
Buttermilk Pancakes Stuffed With Pecan Smoked Carolina Brisket
Fried Green Tomatos With Pimento Cheese
Black Pepper Buttermilk Biscuits With Bacon Jan
Pulled Pork Hash With Poached Eggs
lobster roll
Carolina Mountain Trout
Lump Crab Tostada Salad
Fried Green Tomatoes
Warmed Strawberry Rhubarb Crisp With Buttermilk Pie Ice Cream
Dinner Bread
Pan Seared Mahi Mahi
Butter Lettuce Salad
Spice Grilled Yellowfin Tuna Cipollinis, Charred Brussel Sprouts And Beet Beirre Rouge
Schramsberg Mirabelle Brut Rose Bottle Service
Vanilla Bean Creme Brulee With Fresh Berries
South Peach
Buttermilk Fried Artichoke Hearts
fish tacos
Red Velvet Bread Pudding With Strawberry Cheesecake Ice Cream
Buttermilk Fried Local Shrimp With Braised Brussel Sprouts
She Crab Soup
Cast Iron Skillet Scallops
Buttermilk Crusted Calamari
Lemon Drop
Black Maple Duck Breast Confit Wils Rice Port Wine Black Cherries
Caesar Salad
She-Crab Soup
Cobb Salad With Grilled Shrimp
Gin Blossom Martini
Crabcake and Fried Green Tomato
pumpkin soup
Mahi Mahi
Maple Leaf Farm Half Duck
New Orleans Style Shrimp And Grits
Butter Lettuce Wraps
Double Cut Pork Chop
Shrimp And Cheddar Grits
North Carolina Rainbow Trout
Ricotta Gnocchi With Scallops And Gorgonzola Cream Sauce
Pork Butt With Apricot Jelly And Salsa Verde
Bbq Pork Tenderloin

Private Dining

Blossom offers private dining for groups of 12 to 20 guests.

Blossom Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

fit for foodies (137)
special occasion (123)
good for groups (84)
See All
great for lunch (82)
romantic (80)
neighborhood gem (75)
great for outdoor dining (68)
great for brunch (61)
notable wine list (33)
hot spot (26)
kid-friendly (20)
late-night find (11)
vibrant bar scene (11)
scenic view (9)
Sort By:
Newest
2673 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

Best selection during our trip to Charle ...

Dined 6 days ago

Best selection during our trip to Charleston! Great menu choices, and excellent service. A little noisy though and difficult to migrate from table to front exit.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

Delicious food and excellent service!

Dined 6 days ago

Delicious food and excellent service!

food4
ambience4
service5

Great food and wonderful waitress. Sweet ...

Dined 7 days ago

Great food and wonderful waitress. Sweet tea mint julep was awesome.

food3
ambience5
service4
value2

Could have been so much better. My sons ...

Dined 7 days ago

Could have been so much better. My sons crab cakes were good and my wife got teh special(red fish) and it was okay. I got the brisket and it was not good at all. Very dry and the beans were off texturally. The wings as an appetizer were great. My question is how can you snoke your wongs with great flavor but the smoked brisket had none. Also, at a restaurant where you spend 50ish per person, I expect to meet a mgr or owner to say hello or thank you. We saw neither. With all the great restaurants in Charleston, this one was a miss.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
food4
ambience5
service5

Friendly staff, great atmosphere

Dined on June 21, 2016

Friendly staff, great atmosphere

food3
ambience3
service4
value2

I've eaten at Blossom once before and I ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

I've eaten at Blossom once before and I was impressed with my meal. I had forgotten about the somewhat limited menu and how pricey the menu selections were. The restaurant ambiance is not someplace where I'd consider going for a special occasion. Menu prices were high for what you got. And the menu selection was limited. I'd recommend your visiting Blossom because the food was delicious and the service was excellent. I'm just stuck on the cost of the menu items. I really thought that it is a restaurant whose menu prices are out of line.

food4
ambience5
service5

Blossom is a great place for all meals! ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Blossom is a great place for all meals! Delicious food and our server was very attentive without being overbearing.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

I wanted a restaurant that would take re ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

I wanted a restaurant that would take reservations and wouldn't rush us to turn over the table. The waitress understood we hadn't seen each other in a long time and gave us all the time we wanted. Very much appreciated and I chose the perfect place that also has good food.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a fantastic experience and the br ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

We had a fantastic experience and the brunch menu is wonderful! Terrific food! Great service! Low noise.

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Really great service and enjoyed the des ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Really great service and enjoyed the description of the menu. I will be returning to Blossom.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We went for a Father's Day dinner and th ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

We went for a Father's Day dinner and the meal was terrific, ambiance was very nice and the waiter was excellent, but it's a bit pricey. We had an issue with the sun in our eyes inside the restaurant during dinner.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We had a wonderful time at Blossom based ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

We had a wonderful time at Blossom based on a recommendation. The food was delicious and our server Jacob was wonderful. He kept the flow at the right pace, he seemed to appear when we needed him but wasn't overly checking on us. We really enjoyed our dinner here.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Lovely restaurant with very good fresh f ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Lovely restaurant with very good fresh food and an extensive wine list. Service was very good.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

We were traveling in Charleston and want ...

vip
Dined on June 17, 2016

We were traveling in Charleston and wanted to revisit Blossom. It was very good, but not as good as I remembered from the past.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Never disappoints . The staff is alway ...

vip
Dined on June 17, 2016

Never disappoints . The staff is always attentive. Manger checks your table and chats.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was both pretty and tasty and the s ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

Food was both pretty and tasty and the service was superb

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service; food was delicious as ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

Excellent service; food was delicious as always; have had multiple business lunches here and have been pleased each time; absolutely will go back again.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

I cannot state how amazing my dining exp ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

I cannot state how amazing my dining experience was. After walking past and browsing their menu numerous times this vacation my girlfriend and I finally decided to try it out, and are mad at ourselves for not trying it sooner. The food was phenomenal, cooked to perfection and served in a timely manner at an affordable price. Mark, our server, was great, not rushing us out the door even though we noticed we were his last table. A definite must try.

food3
ambience3
service5
value4

Blossom Benedict was more bread than egg ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Blossom Benedict was more bread than egg. Noise is usually high at this restaurant? Retry. Good.valie for the location.

Tags: great for brunch
food5
ambience5
service5

We are a local family and this was our f ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

We are a local family and this was our first time at Blossom. A beautiful location with an easy Charleston casual atmosphere that we really enjoyed. Our server, Cory, was knowledgable about the menu and specialty cocktails. We appreciated his expertise and opinions. We've already decided on a return visit in the near future!

food5
ambience3
service5
value4

I went there with a friend from out of t ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

I went there with a friend from out of town during Spoleto. The shrimp and grits were excellent as was the wine and the service

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

We went to Blossoms prior to a Spolleto ...

vip
Dined on June 10, 2016

We went to Blossoms prior to a Spolleto event. It had been years since we had been there and thought we would give it a try. Food was good, service was good. Was not the best experience though since they sat us at a table that had the sun beating in our eyes. Really need a shade on that ceiling glass for the late afternoon. All in all very consistent and will go again.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Wife's pizza crust was burned on the bot ...

Dined on June 10, 2016

Wife's pizza crust was burned on the bottom. She was disappointed.

food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Have been dining at Blossom for 20 years ...

Dined on June 10, 2016

Have been dining at Blossom for 20 years. It never disappoints.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

yummy

Dined on June 9, 2016

our waitress was nice, but very slow - not very attentive 3 scallops in my meal was on the skimpy side, however they along with everything else on my plate were fabulous! my dining partner loved her fish

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience5
service5

This was our last dinner before leaving ...

Dined on June 8, 2016

This was our last dinner before leaving Charleston, and it was a good choice. I really want to give Blossom a 5 Star, but I can't because they were sold out of my favorite fish. I was excited to see pecan flounder on the menu, but they were sold out by 530 PM. I guess I don't understand how any restaurant by the ocean sells out of fish? But, the golden tile was excellent. My wife ordered salmon, and it was also excellent. One glass of wine, 1 app, 2 entrees, and 2 deserts was $120 after gratuity. Excellent food and service.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Experience

Dined on June 8, 2016

A friend and I met here for dinner. Both the food and service were very good. My friend is vegetarian and the server was very helpful at providing her with some options to accommodate her needs. I had the scallops which were well cooked and very tasty.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

First Time at Blossom

Dined on June 7, 2016

We arrived at Blossom early (5:30 reservation) in order to make a show at a nearby theater. We have often eaten at the sister restaurant Magnolias, and the food and service there is impeccable. Although the restaurant did not appear to be that busy the service was very slow. Our waitress kept reaching across the table in front of us to serve our food, drinks and cutlery. This resulted in a huge spill of beer and coffee onto her tray, the tabletop and the pants leg of one of our friends. She needs to move around the table and serve from behind and next to the person she is trying to serve. I think we will stick with Magnolias from now on.

food4
ambience4
service4

Dined at Blossom around 7:30 on a Sunday ...

Dined on June 5, 2016

Dined at Blossom around 7:30 on a Sunday evening. We made reservations but it was not crowded. I had the She Crab soup and Spring Vegetable Flatbread Pizza. It was good, not great. My fiancé had the Potato & Leek soup and Shrimp and Grits. He really enjoyed both. Our waiter was kind and did a nice job. However the host and hostess were a little flat in greeting us, and did not seem organized. When we left they were both standing at the bar and did not acknowledge us. I read other comments about issues with reservations and such. It seems the front of house is an area that needs improvement. Overall I would go back for lunch or something light.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We thoroughly enjoyed our time at Blosso ...

Dined on June 3, 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our time at Blossom. The service was great and the food was wonderful. Would definitely do it again and recommend it to friends.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

The tuna and coconut rice were amazing! ...

Dined on June 2, 2016

The tuna and coconut rice were amazing! Great service and friendly staff! Definitely a must visit!

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Best meal so far.

Dined on June 2, 2016

Our table was ready when we arrived, so we did not have to wait. The entire meal, from soup to dessert, was wonderful. Our server was friendly, the atmosphere was festive with several large parties. I gave four stars for ambience due to the smoke from the wood fired oven being trapped in the dining area.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Very good food diluted by poor service

vip
Dined on May 30, 2016

My wife and I dined at Blossom on Monday May 30th. Granted it is Memorial Day, but the service was totally off. We walked in for our 8:00 pm reservation, and when we gave our name we received a blank stare from the hostess. A second hostess then seated us with a rather curt "this way." Our waiter arrived and said "what do you want to drink." When it came time to tell about the specials he said "we have drum-something," fumbled around in his notes and said "yeah, it's drum fish." No plates were provided for the shared starter, and we never received plates after requesting them. Waiter insisted on calling my wife "Miss" throughout the evening. Entrees were delivered to the table with the same finesse as one would receive in the chow line of a state prison. When it came time for desert, the desert was plopped down in front of us. The table top has no linen, and had an oily sheen from the previous 2-3 turns of the table. The kitchen staff should have a real problem with the front of the house staff, as the food quality was excellent. Fish was cooked to perfection. Everything was delicious. The most pleasant interaction with staff was when our parking ticket was validated. Come for the food - just expect disinterested service.

food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Outstanding

Dined on May 30, 2016

Our dinner experoence was everything we expected it to be - Outstanding

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service4

Delicious food...tho 20 min wait for our ...

Dined on May 30, 2016

Delicious food...tho 20 min wait for our reservation was frustrating.

food4
ambience2
service2
value3

Slowest service ever

Dined on May 30, 2016

Made reservations well in advance for 8:00. Arrived a few minutes before. Did not get seated until 8:50. At 9:20 we had still not been served. Food was good but Will not recommend due to the extremely slow service.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great variety of food choices and everyt ...

vip
Dined on May 29, 2016

Great variety of food choices and everything is great. Service is top notch

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

New city-vacation with friends

Dined on May 28, 2016

Blossom was recommended by friend and it did not disappoint. Delicious entries got raves from each member of our party. High on our list to go back for another great meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

A little noisy

Dined on May 27, 2016

We enjoyed the food but the setting was a little noisy for our taste. When we arrived, we were about to be seated in between two full tables. We felt like they were cramming us in between them and the sunlight where the table was was going to blind us. We asked for a different table and they obliged. We thought the food was very good and enjoyed it.

food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We were visiting Charleston on vacation ...

vip
Dined on May 22, 2016

We were visiting Charleston on vacation and needed a nice restaurant for dinner. I looked your restaurant up online and it seemed nice, so we decided to try it. It was a lovely experience and we enjoyed it very much. Recommend highly!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.