Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi

About Blossom

Blossom, located in downtown Charleston, S.C., serves American cuisine highlighting the Lowcountry’s best seafood. Executive chef Adam Close offers simple, clean preparations which feature ingredients sourced from area fishermen and farmers. Open for lunch on Monday through Saturday, dinner nightly, and Sunday brunch, Blossom also offers seating on its patio.

171 East Bay Street
Charleston, SC 29401
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Contemporary Southern

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 3:45pm
Dinner starts at 4:00 pm
Sunday Brunch 10:00am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
Located between Queen & Cumberland Streets

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 722-9200

Website:
http://www.blossomcharleston.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary parking weekdays after 5:00pm & all day Saturday & Sunday.
**Please note that the parking lot is not available Monday-Friday before 5:00pm. Public parking is located in the garage on Cumberland Street.

Executive Chef:
Adam Close

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Blossom invites beer lovers in for an evening of distinctive fare and craft beer with a Brooklyn Brewery beer dinner on
Sunday, June 28th.
Guests can enjoy a six-course tasting dinner with complementing brews from Brooklyn Brewery in Brooklyn, NY.
Our Executive Chef Adam Close will present a tasting menu inspired by the unique brews from Brooklyn Brewery.
Diners will round out the experience with a dessert from
Executive Pastry Chef Andrea Upchurch served alongside a sixth beer.
The beer dinner is priced at $50 per person, excluding tax and gratuity.
Dinner will begin at 7:00 PM.
For reservations contact Megan Fussell.
(843)937-4012 Ext. 267
Fussell250@gmail.com



Private Dining

Blossom offers private dining for groups of 12 to 20 guests.

Blossom Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (77)
Special Occasion (68)
Local Ingredients (54)
See All
Casual (43)
Good for Anniversaries (41)
Neighborhood Gem (40)
Creative Cuisine (40)
Fit for Foodies (38)
Good for Birthdays (37)
Romantic (34)
Great for Lunch (32)
Comfort Food (32)
Open Kitchen (28)
Pre/post Theatre (26)
Good for Groups (25)
Wood Oven (25)
Cozy (25)
Business Meals (24)
Fun (21)
Modern Decor (21)
Authentic (19)
Great for Outdoor Dining (17)
Bar Seating (17)
Worth the Drive (16)
Sunday Lunch (15)
Historic (15)
Outstanding Value (15)
Quiet Conversation (14)
Notable Wine List (13)
Healthy (11)
Hot Spot (11)
People Watching (10)
Happy Hour (8)
Kid-friendly (7)
Great for Brunch (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Disabled Access (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Family Style (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Private Room (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Organic (3)
Seasonal (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Fireplace (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Vegan (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
S
3184 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 4 hours ago

Great prices for delicious food. I recommend the crab Louis salad

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 3 days ago

Everything was wonderful! Tuna poke app and Salmon entree were amazing.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 4 days ago

I knew the prices and location were too good to be true when we were given supermarket bread, over-cooked seafood, all served in a room with deafening noise. The wood-fired pizza was soggy with undercooked dough and way too much cheese; the shrimp had been left on the grill to the point that they were barely edible and my asparagus was so shriveled that it was almost unidentifiable. While our waitress tried to be attentive, it was obvious she had too many large groups to be more than serviceable. All in all, an underwhelming introduction to Charleston cuisine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 4 days ago

Have eaten at Blossom many times and have always been very pleased with level of service and quality of foods. Highly recommend !

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Wood Oven, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 4 days ago

Went for the Blossom Benedict with grit cakes and bar-b-q pork. Great meal. Sat out on the side patio. Highly recommend.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined 5 days ago

Vibrant and rather noisy on a Saturday. Great food from tuna ahi poke to fried oysters.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 6 days ago

Excellent waiter and bartender. Both made good recommendations. Waiter was attentive, and food quality very good.

Tags: Wood Oven, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 6 days ago

I can only say positive comments about this restaurant. The food was amazing. I had oysters and the crab Louie salad while my husband had blackened swordfish. The swordfish was cooked perfectly which isn't easy to do and the salad was full of top rate crab meat. Our waiter was Justin and he was extremely knowledgeable and helpful. The atmosphere is elegant but not stuffy and we will definitely be back when we are in town.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 6 days ago

We were in town for Spring Break and had our last meal in town. We chose two dishes to split and enjoyed ourselves so much! The food was very good and the service was amazing!

Tags: Fun, Modern Decor, Romantic, Authentic, Happy Hour, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 7 days ago

Blossom is great - casual setting, good menu, decent prices, good service.

Tags: Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Casual, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 7 days ago

Nice, good food good service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined 7 days ago

Great meal, great service - will continue to love to go here!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined 7 days ago

Blossom was recommended by the host at our B&B, and we were not disappointed. The food was excellent, and we liked the atmosphere. I definitely would make a return visit here. The seafood was outstanding. I got crab-stuffed flounder, and it was excellent.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on March 22, 2017

The service and the quality of the cuisine has def gone down at Blossom.
Stopped in for a later lunch so not many x

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 21, 2017

Great lunch! Our waiter was very knowledgable but had inside and outside tables so our service was a little slow. Our meal was outstanding and can't wait to come back!

Tags: Fun, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Wood Oven, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 20, 2017

Delicious, delicious, delicious!! Great seafood and fish. Wonderful ambiance!

Tags: Historic, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Bright cheerful dining room. Excellent friendly service. Great food.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Outstanding service. The brunch menu had a lot of variety. Have been there several times and have never been disappointed.

Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Great location and excellent service, apps were great, my salad was soggy and light in the feta. Sandwiches were light on the turkey but good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 19, 2017

I wish I could remember our waitress name but she was very good and attentive

Tags: Modern Decor, Late-night Find, Authentic, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Enjoyed the whole meal and the service was outstanding!

Tags: Modern Decor, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 18, 2017

The food was very good. I had a cup of Gumbo and it was pretty good. It was advertised as file' gumbo but there was okra in it. I guess somebody somewhere uses file' and okra as thickener and maybe here, but that is unusual. Nice flavor though. I added some pepper but it was a good gumbo. I had Shrimp and Grits as an entree and it was superb. Nice plump Carolina White shrimp, great grits, and a savory gravy. My companion had the classic Wedge Salad and a Filet and Mashed Pots for her entree. She was well pleased with both. It was a bit noisy but not overly so. The service was a bit slow but it was getting crowded.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Great for Lunch, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Excellent food and service. Price is reasonable. Highly recommend for any occasion.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Casual, Special Occasion, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Visiting Charleston on vacation. Had a great meal at their sister establishment, Cypress, the night before. The food at blossom was good, but not great. The service was absolutely horrible. Water wasn't refilled, bread cane out after appetizers, timing of the dishes coming out was bad, the wine service was sub par. Just bad. Never going back & wouldn't recommend.

Tags: Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 17, 2017

I was disappointed in our experience at Blossom. First of all it was very noisy! That type of thing doesn't usually bother me, so it surprised me how much it did on this visit. There was one particular group that was very loud and it really took away from the experience for me. The service wasn't that great either. The food was ok. It would not be at the top of my list for a return visit.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Not as good as previous dinners here. Food was disappointing this time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 17, 2017

In town for vacation and enjoyed delicious food. Noise level was disturbing as group of 10-12 people were behind us and it was difficult to hear each other. Would definitely return but request table away from large group.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

vip
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on March 17, 2017

We enjoyed everything about this establishment except the unruly table next to us. There was a group of 10-13 individuals who shouted and hooted at the top of their lungs. Others around them asked the management to control the situation, as did we. The manager said they were dealing with it, but more drinks continued to be delivered to the table and the commotion continued throughout our meal. We were happy to leave.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 17, 2017

The new menu is huge and excellent! My new favorite place!

Tags: Casual, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 17, 2017

This is a standard stop for us when in Charleston. Always good food and great service.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on March 16, 2017

excellent food and great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Even though I made advanced reservations, they tried to stick us in a corner behind a partition next to a wait staff station up against a wall. The large room had 8 tables open 2 against the windows overlooking the garden and the remaining in the center of the room. I had to reject the table for a better location... our party was dressed well & appropriately. It started the experience off on a bad foot.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Great food. Mark was a great server! Will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (London)·Dined on March 15, 2017

A starter of crab with avocado on toast was tasteless until I got the waiter to bring me drawn butter with garlic. The bread was a supermarket baguette, sliced too thick. Whoever conceived this dish (as normally served) had no idea what to do with top-quality fresh crab meat and produced an utter banality.

My main course of Blue Crab Raviolis (sic; if anyone Italian were connected with this restaurant, he/she would know that "ravioli" is already plural) had no discernible taste of crab, and the sauce was watery, possibly from failing to carefully drain the boiled collard greens and/or the ravioli. This dish was inferior to what you could get from a can.

The ambience was unremarkable, noise levels moderate, clientele looked prosperous.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

vip
 (New England)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Great service, great lunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 14, 2017

we had a great dinner here. First time in charleston Their food was spot on! Our waitress explained the menu very well!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 13, 2017

We had a lovely meal here on a Monday night. The she crab soup was good as an appetizer. My son, 9, had the fried shrimp and French fries. Nothing special. My daughter had the fish tacos, they were tasty. We also had the grilled shrimp with 2 vegetables and the mahi mahi chargrilled with 2 veggies. Portions were a little on the small side. Nothing absolutely blew us away. But the ambiance was nice and our server was very attentive. This is a safe choice but I probably won't be back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Both my husband and I enjoyed ourselves - the waiter (I am sorry, I forgot his name) was awesome. Gave us great recommendations and we LOVED everything. We will be back.
Thank you
Sean and Cathy OConnell

Tags: Bar Seating, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 13, 2017

My friend and I each ordered the salmon salad, which came as excellent fish on almost inedible kale, which we both commented on as a poor meal. We come there often and oder the same salad. This time it was poor, and we would not order it again. the kale was chewy and not tasty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 12, 2017

We went here for my wife's birthday dinner and it was easily one of the best meals we've had out in quite a while.
Started with mussels and boy howdy, were they great! It's very easy to overcook them and these were PERFECT!
My wife's Mahi was cooked perfectly and was a nice sized portion. My grouper was wonderful as well - just a tad on the salty side, but definitely not a deal-breaker! The kids meal selections are pretty standard, but as our waiter CJ said, they did have the best chicken tenders in town - and the portion was YUGE!
Nice selection of wine and the ambiance was just right. Music was not crazy loud like some restaurants you'd visit. Parking available right next door (weekends, at least) is a nice perk to boot.
This visit would definitely make me consider the other options in the this dining group.
Very happy.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Fun, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.