About Blossom

171 East Bay Street
Charleston, SC 29401
View Larger Map

Blossom, located in downtown Charleston, S.C., serves American cuisine highlighting the Lowcountry’s best seafood. Executive chef Adam Close offers simple, clean preparations which feature ingredients sourced from area fishermen and farmers. Open for lunch on Monday through Saturday, dinner nightly, and Sunday brunch, Blossom also offers seating on its patio.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Contemporary Southern

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 3:45pm
Dinner starts at 4:00 pm
Sunday Brunch 10:00am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
Located between Queen & Cumberland Streets

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 722-9200

Website:
http://www.blossomcharleston.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary parking weekdays after 5:00pm & all day Saturday & Sunday.
**Please note that the parking lot is not available Monday-Friday before 5:00pm. Public parking is located in the garage on Cumberland Street.

Executive Chef:
Adam Close

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Beer, Cafe, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Blossom invites beer lovers in for an evening of distinctive fare and craft beer with a Brooklyn Brewery beer dinner on
Sunday, June 28th.
Guests can enjoy a six-course tasting dinner with complementing brews from Brooklyn Brewery in Brooklyn, NY.
Our Executive Chef Adam Close will present a tasting menu inspired by the unique brews from Brooklyn Brewery.
Diners will round out the experience with a dessert from
Executive Pastry Chef Andrea Upchurch served alongside a sixth beer.
The beer dinner is priced at $50 per person, excluding tax and gratuity.
Dinner will begin at 7:00 PM.
For reservations contact Megan Fussell.
(843)937-4012 Ext. 267
Fussell250@gmail.com



Restaurant Photos

Blossom
Blossom
Blossom
Blossom
Blossom
Blossom
Blossom
Blossom
Blossom
Blossom
Blossom
Blossom
Blossom
Blossom
Blossom
Fried Pork Belly With Jalapeño Relish
Southern Fried Chicken
Buttermilk Pancakes Stuffed With Pecan Smoked Carolina Brisket
Fried Green Tomatos With Pimento Cheese
Black Pepper Buttermilk Biscuits With Bacon Jan
Pulled Pork Hash With Poached Eggs
lobster roll
Carolina Mountain Trout
Fried Green Tomatoes
Warmed Strawberry Rhubarb Crisp With Buttermilk Pie Ice Cream
Dinner Bread
Pan Seared Mahi Mahi
Butter Lettuce Salad
Spice Grilled Yellowfin Tuna Cipollinis, Charred Brussel Sprouts And Beet Beirre Rouge
Schramsberg Mirabelle Brut Rose Bottle Service
Lump Crab Tostada Salad
Vanilla Bean Creme Brulee With Fresh Berries
South Peach
Buttermilk Fried Artichoke Hearts
fish tacos
Red Velvet Bread Pudding With Strawberry Cheesecake Ice Cream
Buttermilk Fried Local Shrimp With Braised Brussel Sprouts
She Crab Soup
Cast Iron Skillet Scallops
Buttermilk Crusted Calamari
Lemon Drop
Black Maple Duck Breast Confit Wils Rice Port Wine Black Cherries
Caesar Salad
She-Crab Soup
Cobb Salad With Grilled Shrimp
Gin Blossom Martini
Crabcake and Fried Green Tomato
pumpkin soup
Mahi Mahi
Maple Leaf Farm Half Duck
New Orleans Style Shrimp And Grits
Butter Lettuce Wraps
Double Cut Pork Chop
Shrimp And Cheddar Grits
North Carolina Rainbow Trout
Ricotta Gnocchi With Scallops And Gorgonzola Cream Sauce
Pork Butt With Apricot Jelly And Salsa Verde
Bbq Pork Tenderloin

Private Dining

Blossom offers private dining for groups of 12 to 20 guests.

Blossom Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

fit for foodies (133)
special occasion (118)
good for groups (81)
See All
neighborhood gem (79)
romantic (75)
great for lunch (68)
great for outdoor dining (53)
great for brunch (47)
notable wine list (32)
hot spot (25)
kid-friendly (16)
late-night find (9)
scenic view (9)
vibrant bar scene (7)
Sort By:
Newest
2705 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Delicious food! Would definatley recomm ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined 3 days ago

Delicious food! Would definatley recommend! I had the pasta special with homeade pasta with shrimp and tilefish and finished the entire bowl! Yum!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Waiter was awesome! Very friendly and at ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 5 days ago

Waiter was awesome! Very friendly and attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

The restaurant was very busy and thus it ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined 6 days ago

The restaurant was very busy and thus it was a bit slow and a tad noisy. Food was quite good.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Courtesy parking is available just a few ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Courtesy parking is available just a few steps away.

Great location. Ample bar seating. Great service. And the food...oh yes! The food is fabulous!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Blossom is one of my favorite Charleston ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Blossom is one of my favorite Charleston restaurants and have visited many times since moving here 4 years ago often bringing out of town guests. The seafood is well prepared, there are always a few unusual items on the menu (the fried green tomatoes is a different preparation) and also has menu items for the traditionalist. A plus is the complimentary parking in the lot next door on Bay Street.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Maybe it was an off-night for Blossom si ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Maybe it was an off-night for Blossom since we were drawn to it by all the other great reviews. The "peach sangria" was syrupy and tasted like 1/2 cheap white wine with 1/2 peach Schnapps with absolutely no other fruit flavor; it was so bad we sent it back in exchange for wine. My flatbread pizza was a safe choice, a basic crust topped with cheese and a few veggies plus a handful of salad with balsamic dressing on top of it. My friend's steak was flavorless except for the mound of herb butter on top of it. It was overshadowed by about half of an entire head of steamed broccoli atop a spoonful of mashed potatoes (both also flavorless). The service was just okay.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

My fried chicken small plate was delicio ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

My fried chicken small plate was delicious. My husband had pork wrapped in bacon that he thought was a bit dry. Ambience and service were terrific.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been coming to Blossoms for over ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

We have been coming to Blossoms for over two years and unfortunately, the service and atmosphere is no longer appropriate for dinner. Extremely loud, catering lots of "large" bachelor parties. We had to wait over one hour for our food to arrive, table without table cloth (while other tables had them); bus-boy and waiter ignored that our starter plates were empty (although we requested to have these items moved). Spoke with Manager on Duty, she was very apologetic and did not charge for entrees. Although we thank her for her gesture; the best solution is to re-arrange the area, where it can cater both regular dining customers like us and large parties at the opposite end. Additionally, improve customer service by teaching their employees body and facial language expressions. We don't think we will return at this location any time soon.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

Food and service was good. Noise level w ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Food and service was good. Noise level was high. Server was excellent.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

We went with another couple and had a go ...

 
·Dined on July 16, 2016

We went with another couple and had a good time, nothing to complain about but nothing to rave about either. Service, food, setting was all good, but not amazing. We would go back but not top of the list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

I have been to this restaurant before an ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

I have been to this restaurant before and it was wonderful. This time the food and service was fabulous, but the environment was too hot. This visit it was a summer evening and the wood fire grill was so hot it heated up the room. The flames were felt on our bare arms. We could feel it three tables in. The only appropriately cool place in the restaurant was the ladies room. The thermostats outside the ladies room indicated that the dining room was 83 degrees. We could not finish our main dishes because of the environmental heat. The wood fire pizza oven seems to be the issue. There needs to be more ventilation. When we finished at 7:30pm, it was cooler outside than inside. One of our party of four was elderly and became ill due to the heat. My next visit will be in the winter until the heat issue is resolved.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

Amazing food!! The crab tostadas were ex ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Amazing food!! The crab tostadas were excellent!! Can't wait to return the next time we are in Charleston!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Blossom is one of Charlestons great rest ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Blossom is one of Charlestons great restaurants. Good for any occasion. We have never been disappointed with anything that was ordered. Service has always been top rate. One downside - It can be VERY noisy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Had a wonderful meal. My date had a pota ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Had a wonderful meal. My date had a potato crusted Halibut that the server did a good job of describing. I had the filet which was cooked beautifully. Food was very good.

Had an awesome server. I work in the business and recognize great service and very friendly and knowledgeable as well. I am not totally sure but I believe her name was Lacy.

Overall a great experience and I would ask for the same server again when I come back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The blue crab tostadas are amazing! A li ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

The blue crab tostadas are amazing! A little disappointed that we weren't told about the award winning fried chicken though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

The food was excellent and priced reason ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

The food was excellent and priced reasonably. The waitress was very nice. The lump crab tostadas were delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Blossom is a good restaurant but in Char ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Blossom is a good restaurant but in Charleston mid-tear. There is nothing to note either good or not so good. We did find it a little noisy for a business discussion.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

way too hot need better AC we alm ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

way too hot need better AC we almost left food was good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Blossom located in the heart of everythi ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Blossom located in the heart of everything is a mainstay and always dependable. The dining room is large and airy. The best salmon you'll find anywhere. The staff if welcoming.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service were as always, ter ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

The food and service were as always, terrific...the calamari was exceptionally good as the trout entree.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was very good. The entrees w ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

The service was very good. The entrees were plated well and very tasty. I enjoyed the experience. Down side - tables were tight but not uncomfortable - so what. I will go back and would recommend Blossoms.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Delicious crab tostadas, perfectly cooke ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Delicious crab tostadas, perfectly cooked scallops and a wonderful risotto. Crab cakes too oily and very little crab meat (mostly bread crumbs). Raspberry sorbet was half-melted when served and seemed like raspberry sherbet more than sorbet.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

The staff was very friendly. The restau ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

The staff was very friendly. The restaurant was very hot so there must be some issues with the air conditioning system. The Mahi Mahi was a bit over cooked. The appetizers were good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Thomas was our server. Food and service ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Thomas was our server. Food and service great. However place was steaming hot. Invest more in ac. I know it was 98 outside but that's not uncommon in the south in July and August. You will pay dividends with better hvac and keep you a step ahead. Not sure I would go back there in summer

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value4

We had a delightful lunch. We came in ea ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

We had a delightful lunch. We came in early & it was nice & quiet. The server was just okay. He was knowledge of the menu but did not offer bread & did not bring any. Was attentive otherwise. Was great food. Would dine here again which we have.

Tags: great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

This should not be just a tourist orien ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

This should not be just a tourist oriented restaurant. While the menu is somewhat limited, that allows the chef and kitchen to do what it does well. The potato leek soup was well prepared and very flavorful, but the characteristics of the dish make it far more suitable to any time of year besides 90 plus degree days. Perhaps a bit more attention to the season's impact on dishes is in order. The crab cakes were a good recipe, again very well prepared, but they could have benefited from a sauce, such as a remoulade sauce. Before the dish was gone, it had become a quite dry and a bit crusty. A sauce would have contributed to the dish being as enjoyable toward the end as was the first bite. Our server, Summer, was very professional and very knowledgeable about the menu. She was a delight throughout our meal without intruding. We'll go here again for a mid-week light dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value5

inattentive service marred evening. sin ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

inattentive service marred evening. single diner, ignored for more than 5 minutes upon being seated. out of sparking water at 730..really? soda,water substituted which,was flat. gin blossom martini was served slmost room temperature and had no rosemary infusion bottled, not fresh lime juice. food good: arugula salad, crab cakes, though cakes were almost burnt having been, seemingly, resauteed. poor overly sweet and heavy dessert choices (which I did not order). very disappointing overall.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1

Food was great and the manager was perso ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Food was great and the manager was personable. We must have had a new server because he seemed nervous and unfamiliar with the menu so I knew to be patient. He fumbled with the bill, told us he fixed a price because the computer was wrong, but when he brought the bill it was still incorrect. It was only $2 so it wasn't worth sending him back for another 10 minutes. He needed to shadow another server for a couple more days. Wasn't impressed with his service which has no reflection on my opinion of the restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

The food was delicious and the service w ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

The food was delicious and the service was superb.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great restaurant with great food. Light ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Great restaurant with great food. Light open atmosphere a great spot to dine with friends or a special occasion. Best seafood I've had in Charleston!

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went for our first wedding anniversary. ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Went for our first wedding anniversary. The staff was great, had a nice card and some champagne waiting on us, service throughout was excellent as well! The food was good overall, the pork belly app was outstanding, my wife really enjoyed her entrée, mine was ok. All that being said we will definitely return in the future.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Best selection during our trip to Charle ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Best selection during our trip to Charleston! Great menu choices, and excellent service. A little noisy though and difficult to migrate from table to front exit.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

Delicious food and excellent service!

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Delicious food and excellent service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great food and wonderful waitress. Sweet ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Great food and wonderful waitress. Sweet tea mint julep was awesome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Could have been so much better. My sons ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Could have been so much better. My sons crab cakes were good and my wife got teh special(red fish) and it was okay. I got the brisket and it was not good at all. Very dry and the beans were off texturally. The wings as an appetizer were great. My question is how can you snoke your wongs with great flavor but the smoked brisket had none. Also, at a restaurant where you spend 50ish per person, I expect to meet a mgr or owner to say hello or thank you. We saw neither. With all the great restaurants in Charleston, this one was a miss.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

Friendly staff, great atmosphere

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

Friendly staff, great atmosphere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

I've eaten at Blossom once before and I ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

I've eaten at Blossom once before and I was impressed with my meal. I had forgotten about the somewhat limited menu and how pricey the menu selections were. The restaurant ambiance is not someplace where I'd consider going for a special occasion. Menu prices were high for what you got. And the menu selection was limited. I'd recommend your visiting Blossom because the food was delicious and the service was excellent. I'm just stuck on the cost of the menu items. I really thought that it is a restaurant whose menu prices are out of line.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Blossom is a great place for all meals! ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Blossom is a great place for all meals! Delicious food and our server was very attentive without being overbearing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

I wanted a restaurant that would take re ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

I wanted a restaurant that would take reservations and wouldn't rush us to turn over the table. The waitress understood we hadn't seen each other in a long time and gave us all the time we wanted. Very much appreciated and I chose the perfect place that also has good food.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We had a fantastic experience and the br ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We had a fantastic experience and the brunch menu is wonderful! Terrific food! Great service! Low noise.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.