About Blossom

171 East Bay Street
Charleston, SC 29401
View Larger Map

Blossom, located in downtown Charleston, S.C., serves American cuisine highlighting the Lowcountry’s best seafood. Executive chef Adam Close offers simple, clean preparations which feature ingredients sourced from area fishermen and farmers. Open for lunch on Monday through Saturday, dinner nightly, and Sunday brunch, Blossom also offers seating on its patio.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Contemporary Southern

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 3:45pm
Dinner starts at 4:00 pm
Sunday Brunch 10:00am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
Located between Queen & Cumberland Streets

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 722-9200

Website:
http://www.blossomcharleston.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary parking weekdays after 5:00pm & all day Saturday & Sunday.
**Please note that the parking lot is not available Monday-Friday before 5:00pm. Public parking is located in the garage on Cumberland Street.

Executive Chef:
Adam Close

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Blossom invites beer lovers in for an evening of distinctive fare and craft beer with a Brooklyn Brewery beer dinner on
Sunday, June 28th.
Guests can enjoy a six-course tasting dinner with complementing brews from Brooklyn Brewery in Brooklyn, NY.
Our Executive Chef Adam Close will present a tasting menu inspired by the unique brews from Brooklyn Brewery.
Diners will round out the experience with a dessert from
Executive Pastry Chef Andrea Upchurch served alongside a sixth beer.
The beer dinner is priced at $50 per person, excluding tax and gratuity.
Dinner will begin at 7:00 PM.
For reservations contact Megan Fussell.
(843)937-4012 Ext. 267
Fussell250@gmail.com



Restaurant Photos

Blossom
Blossom
Blossom
Blossom
Blossom
Blossom
Blossom
Blossom
Blossom
Blossom
Blossom
Blossom
Blossom
Blossom
Blossom
Fried Pork Belly With Jalapeño Relish
Southern Fried Chicken
Buttermilk Pancakes Stuffed With Pecan Smoked Carolina Brisket
Fried Green Tomatos With Pimento Cheese
Black Pepper Buttermilk Biscuits With Bacon Jan
Pulled Pork Hash With Poached Eggs
lobster roll
Carolina Mountain Trout
Fried Green Tomatoes
Warmed Strawberry Rhubarb Crisp With Buttermilk Pie Ice Cream
Dinner Bread
Pan Seared Mahi Mahi
Butter Lettuce Salad
Spice Grilled Yellowfin Tuna Cipollinis, Charred Brussel Sprouts And Beet Beirre Rouge
Schramsberg Mirabelle Brut Rose Bottle Service
Lump Crab Tostada Salad
Vanilla Bean Creme Brulee With Fresh Berries
South Peach
Buttermilk Fried Artichoke Hearts
fish tacos
Red Velvet Bread Pudding With Strawberry Cheesecake Ice Cream
Buttermilk Fried Local Shrimp With Braised Brussel Sprouts
She Crab Soup
Cast Iron Skillet Scallops
Lemon Drop
Buttermilk Crusted Calamari
Black Maple Duck Breast Confit Wils Rice Port Wine Black Cherries
Caesar Salad
She-Crab Soup
Cobb Salad With Grilled Shrimp
Gin Blossom Martini
Crabcake and Fried Green Tomato
pumpkin soup
Mahi Mahi
Maple Leaf Farm Half Duck
New Orleans Style Shrimp And Grits
Butter Lettuce Wraps
Shrimp And Cheddar Grits
Double Cut Pork Chop
North Carolina Rainbow Trout
Ricotta Gnocchi With Scallops And Gorgonzola Cream Sauce
Bbq Pork Tenderloin
Pork Butt With Apricot Jelly And Salsa Verde

Private Dining

Blossom offers private dining for groups of 12 to 20 guests.

Blossom Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Seafood
South Carolina
Seafood
Charleston
Best Restaurants in Downtown Charleston ›

Special Occasion (84)
Fit for Foodies (79)
Good for Groups (61)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (56)
Romantic (46)
Great for Lunch (43)
Great for Brunch (30)
Great for Outdoor Dining (26)
Hot Spot (21)
Notable Wine List (19)
Good for Anniversaries (17)
Kid-friendly (14)
Good for a Date (13)
Casual (13)
Local Ingredients (12)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Worth the Drive (9)
Fun (9)
Wood Oven (8)
Scenic View (7)
Late-night Find (7)
Business Meals (7)
Comfort Food (7)
Modern Decor (7)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Open Kitchen (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Authentic (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Historic (6)
Cozy (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
People Watching (4)
Family Style (4)
Happy Hour (3)
Healthy (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Private Room (2)
Tapas (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Great Beer (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Waterfront (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Fireplace (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sort By:
Newest
2778 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We had not been to Blossom in years. Th ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined 4 days ago

We had not been to Blossom in years. They have just redone their menu and while I loved the old one the new menu is amazing. We will definitely be going back sooner this time!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Historic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The waiter brought my experience down. ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 4 days ago

The waiter brought my experience down. You go to a place like Blossom for not only great food but equal service. Our waiter was lazy and uncaring. I had to stop him to ask to order wine and bread. My mahi mahi was just good. My friend's Steak Oscar was excellent. So the food... hit or miss. I expected more while may at least $26 an entree. There are MANY choices in Charleston to eat at... I wouldn't recommend Blossom. It was a definite let down.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Very nice place in the heart of Charlest ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined 4 days ago

Very nice place in the heart of Charleston, fresh ingredients, nice presentation and good service make Blossom a winner.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We were very impressed with our first v ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined 5 days ago

We were very impressed with our first visit to Blossom. We used a gift card and were NOT disappointed. From the greeter to our fabulous waiter, Richard, it was a very satisfying and fun encounter. We will return for sure!

Barb

Tags: Business Meals, Historic, Comfort Food, Outstanding Value, Quick Bite, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I took my friend here for a bday dinner ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on September 21, 2016

I took my friend here for a bday dinner last wed night while we were on vacation in Charleston. We arrived early and were told we wld have to wait for our time which was fine as we planned to have drinks at the bar. The bar was full so we sat at a high table at the hostesses suggestion. We were never acnowlaged in any way, so we thought maybe we were supposed to go order at the bar? No instruction or menus made it really confusing. I finally ordered and the bartender slipped together one of the "specialty" drinks but he left out the pecan vodka and did not even bother to shake it. By this time our table was ready so I paid and we were seated. It was very messy, noisy and bright overall, bathrooms were a disaster. Our server was nice but maybe too busy as she did not want to offer suggestions or anything. After the initial greet we sat for abt 15 min waiting for her to return so we cld order. The bread/butter was great and so was the food! We only saw our servers (she was training) a few times, and had to finally flag down the trainee for water refills. Overall great food but sitting right by the kitchen with an overburdened server was not a great bday dinner

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

Great all around experience!

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on September 21, 2016

Great all around experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had gumbo, fried green tomatoes, Mahi ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 21, 2016

We had gumbo, fried green tomatoes, Mahi Mahi, and shrimp and grits. Everything was delicious, however, the gumbo was too thick and served with too much rice. Also there was very little crab, 1 shrimp and no scallops.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant is great! From greet to ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 20, 2016

This restaurant is great! From greet to departure and everything in between, our expectations were met or exceeded. Great seafood and non-seafood options. Loved this place and will be back!

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Celebrated our engagement at Blossom, th ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Celebrated our engagement at Blossom, the food and service was top notch. Blossom has a great energy about it and you can tell that everyone's enjoying their food and atmosphere.

Tags: Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Blossom is part of three different resta ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Blossom is part of three different restaurants, including Magnolia's and Cyprus. We wanted to eat at Magnolia's but there were no decent reservation times. The only options we had from Open Table were 9:00 and later.

I looked at reviews and overall Blossom got pretty decent reviews so we went there. Same scenario with reservations, either way early or late, so we took the 6:15 opening. We left around 7:30 and there were plenty of tables open. So if Open Table tells you there are no tables at the time you want one, my suggestion would be to call directly before making a reservation online.

We started with their Bacon Dip and it was really good. I would recommend that.

My wife had the fried shrimp, nothing fancy and she was okay with it.

I had the brisket and sausage with mashed potatoes and BBQ beans. The potatoes were cold. The sausage was a piece about as big around as a hotdog, not even two inches long, split and grilled. Seriously, it was two little bites.

I had four slices of brisket about 4 inches long, fairly thin. Since there was some fat in the middle of the slices, it had to have come from where the point and the flat meet. The flavor was smoky, but again, very small portion. Not worth the cost in my opinion.

We split a vanilla creme brulee' that was the best I've ever had.

Our server was good, made sure we were taken care of.

Overall, it wasn't what I expected it to be.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

I was so disappointed with the dining ex ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

I was so disappointed with the dining experience at Blossom. The food was below average and sparse for the price. The crab cakes were the worst I have ever eaten!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

We were in Charelston, South Carolina fo ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

We were in Charelston, South Carolina for a conference, ans several people recommended Blossom. The food was very good, though a bit on the higher side adequately reflected the quality of the food. Service was also very good. The restaurant was somewhat noisier than I might like but , we could talk to each other without shouting.

Tags: Fun, Business Meals, Casual, Private Room, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

My husband and I had a delicious meal at ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

My husband and I had a delicious meal at Bloosom during restaurant week which was a good value. We will definitely go back again next time we are in Charleston.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We enjoyed our lunch at Blossom- The ser ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

We enjoyed our lunch at Blossom- The service was good and the waitress was warm

and friendly.

Tags: Business Meals, Fun, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Went for Charleston Restaurant Week with ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

Went for Charleston Restaurant Week with a friend, I hadn't been there in a long time so I thought I'd give it a try, the menu sounded good. The service was good but the food was not unfortunately .....my appetizer (fried okra) was way too salty and my main course (mahi mahi over hoppin john) the two tiny hockey puck size pieces were way over cooked and dry, dry, dry !! I did however enjoy my dessert (blondie brownie w/ice cream). I hate to write a not so great review and in hindsight I should have spoken to the manager but they were starting to get busy and I was too tired at that point.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value2

Great food and service

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

Great food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Two of us had birthdays and we were give ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

Two of us had birthdays and we were given champagne for a toast along with birthday cards signed by employees. such a thoughtful gesture! the service was comfortable and well-done. Food was delicious. conversation was sparkling. we could not have asked for a better evening.

thank you, Blossom.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great dinner, and even better service. O ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

Great dinner, and even better service. Our server made sure our dinner was memorable. Will be back as soon as possible!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Historic, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Fun, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We celebrated our 1st wedding anniversar ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

We celebrated our 1st wedding anniversary here and they brought us complimentary champagne. The staff was very friendly and the food was delicious. We will definitely come back here again, especially for special occasions!

Tags: Family Style, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Great Beer, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Authentic, Healthy, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We ate at Blossom last year for restaura ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

We ate at Blossom last year for restaurant week and the food was fabulous. It was good this year but definitely did not compare to our first experience. We drove from Columbia and all in all we had a nice time.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Food was pretty good but nothing special ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Food was pretty good but nothing special. It was a commercial experience overall.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Great Service, Karen was outstanding! We ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Great Service, Karen was outstanding! We loved our meal and the service provided. Nice touch meeting the manager!

Tags: Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Open Kitchen, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Scenic View, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching, Outstanding Value, Local Ingredients, Wood Oven, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

liked this place very well atmosphere an ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

liked this place very well atmosphere and ambiance excellent food and service also great

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Tapas, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I don't know if they were having a bad n ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

I don't know if they were having a bad night, but even with making reservations earlier in the day and showing up on time, we waited over an hour between being seated and receiving our food, and we didn't order anything unusual or with any specific instructions. We walked into a mostly-full restaurant, and by the time we received our entrees, we were one of only 3 tables left.

Tags: Romantic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value1

As a local, I appreciate the excellent f ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

As a local, I appreciate the excellent food and service of Blossoms.........and have enjoyed the restaurant since it opened many years ago. In July, I hosted a group of 12 on a Saturday night. Last Sunday, I dined with my sister and her husband, and my 3 month old granddaughter!!! She was content to look out of the window at the passers-by. Our server was professional, competent and friendly. We enjoyed the salmon, steak biscuit, and vegetable frittata.......and were well pleased. Besides the food and service, one cannot appreciate enough the ease with parking in busy downtown Charleston. Thank you !!

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Waterfront, Local Ingredients, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Family Style, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sunday brunch with friends. Smaller port ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Sunday brunch with friends. Smaller portion sizes were great- all clean plates! - and nice atmosphere. Great staff. And the food was very good. One of our group is a foodie and he was disappointed that his etoufee was really just a thin sauce rather than the rich brown roux he expected, but it tasted good. Recommend the skillet scrambler for brunch - yummy.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We went for Sunday Brunch over Labor Day ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

We went for Sunday Brunch over Labor Day weekend and had a great visit! Our waitress was great and good was delicious and came with generous, quality portions. We'll be back for sure!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Blossom is a Charleston dining staple. D ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Blossom is a Charleston dining staple. Delicious Lowcountry cuisine. Beautiful dining room. Gracious staff. Formal enough for a special occasion, yet lively, approachable, and fresh.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely cocktails, appetizers, entrees, a ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Lovely cocktails, appetizers, entrees, and excellent service!

Very poor acoustics, too noisy....

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Our overall experience was good. I woul ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Our overall experience was good. I would recommend; however, you do it once and that was enough. The brussell sprouts were not cooked enough and bland. Prices were reasonable and atmosphere was casual, both good qualities.

Tags: Family Style, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Had dinner there on a Saturday night. My ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Had dinner there on a Saturday night. My wife had the red shrimp appetizer that was the special. It was probably the best appetizer I have ever had and definitely the best shrimp I have ever eaten. It was similar to the BBQ shrimp at Mr. B's in New Orleans but better. I had the crab cakes for dinner and they were excellent, filled with crab and not overloaded with filler. My wife had the Grouper special and again it was delicious. We came to Blossom for Mother's Day and was disappointed but they more than made up for it this time. We will be back soon!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

We enjoy going to Blossom. Nice open roo ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

We enjoy going to Blossom. Nice open room, attentive service, nice menu that is well prepared and presented. One of our go to places iin Charleston, where we have a home.

Tags: Wood Oven, Worth the Drive, Tapas, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

REALLY delicious meal. Best she crab sou ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

REALLY delicious meal. Best she crab soup I have had in Charleston. Highly recommended, I will be back, too!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Wonderful place and the food was perfect ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Wonderful place and the food was perfect. Look forward to returning. You can't go wrong here.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Waiter forgot to wrap my leftovers. When ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Waiter forgot to wrap my leftovers. When I asked for them, I got a fresh new meal to take home. Great customer service.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Great food, awesome service, just a litt ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Great food, awesome service, just a little too noisy to have a 4 way conversation. Next time I'll request a table in the front room.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Celebrated an anniversary. Wonderful eve ...

 
 (Naples)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Celebrated an anniversary. Wonderful evening, great waiter, great dining experience. Would definitely try again when in the city of Charleston again.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Best fried green tomatoes in Charleston! ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Best fried green tomatoes in Charleston!!! We come here every summer.

Tags: Wood Oven, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Blossom has been a favorite of ours when ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

Blossom has been a favorite of ours whenever we visit Charleston, SC. Since we live in Columbia, it is fairly close and we get there often for one reason or another. Blossom and Magnolia sit on either side of their parking lot and parking is a big plus in Charleston!

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service, attentive staff quick ...

 
 (Fayetteville)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

Excellent service, attentive staff quick preparation of order. Casual atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.