About Blossom

Blossom, located in downtown Charleston, S.C., serves American cuisine highlighting the Lowcountry’s best seafood. Executive chef Adam Close offers simple, clean preparations which feature ingredients sourced from area fishermen and farmers. Open for lunch on Monday through Saturday, dinner nightly, and Sunday brunch, Blossom also offers seating on its patio.

171 East Bay Street
Charleston, SC 29401
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Contemporary Southern

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 3:45pm
Dinner starts at 4:00 pm
Sunday Brunch 10:00am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
Located between Queen & Cumberland Streets

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 722-9200

Website:
http://www.blossomcharleston.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary parking weekdays after 5:00pm & all day Saturday & Sunday.
**Please note that the parking lot is not available Monday-Friday before 5:00pm. Public parking is located in the garage on Cumberland Street.

Executive Chef:
Adam Close

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Blossom invites beer lovers in for an evening of distinctive fare and craft beer with a Brooklyn Brewery beer dinner on
Sunday, June 28th.
Guests can enjoy a six-course tasting dinner with complementing brews from Brooklyn Brewery in Brooklyn, NY.
Our Executive Chef Adam Close will present a tasting menu inspired by the unique brews from Brooklyn Brewery.
Diners will round out the experience with a dessert from
Executive Pastry Chef Andrea Upchurch served alongside a sixth beer.
The beer dinner is priced at $50 per person, excluding tax and gratuity.
Dinner will begin at 7:00 PM.
For reservations contact Megan Fussell.
(843)937-4012 Ext. 267
Fussell250@gmail.com



Private Dining

Blossom offers private dining for groups of 12 to 20 guests.

Blossom Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (68)
Special Occasion (54)
Local Ingredients (48)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (43)
Romantic (37)
Creative Cuisine (37)
Casual (34)
Good for Birthdays (33)
Fit for Foodies (32)
Neighborhood Gem (32)
Open Kitchen (25)
Great for Lunch (24)
Pre/post Theatre (22)
Cozy (21)
Wood Oven (21)
Comfort Food (21)
Business Meals (20)
Good for Groups (19)
Great for Outdoor Dining (18)
Modern Decor (18)
Worth the Drive (17)
Authentic (17)
Outstanding Value (16)
Fun (16)
Sunday Lunch (15)
Bar Seating (15)
Notable Wine List (14)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Historic (12)
Healthy (10)
Hot Spot (8)
Seasonal (7)
People Watching (7)
Great for Brunch (7)
Happy Hour (6)
Kid-friendly (6)
Disabled Access (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Family Style (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Private Room (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Organic (2)
Scenic View (2)
Great Beer (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Fireplace (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Vegan (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Live Sports (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
3114 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined 6 days ago

The fried green tomatoes were excellent as was the lump crab cake. The service was very good, too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 6 days ago

Delicious. Great atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined 6 days ago

Came here for brunch and was surprised to get a table right away. Service was great and very attentive. French toast was delicious however the coffee was terrible- very weak. Surprised that for a brunch place that the coffee would be less than stellar. Frittata was extremely bland. Would not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined 7 days ago

Our dinners, including appetizers, were excellent, far better than the desserts, which were just average. Cocktails were tasty. Lots of Wine choices. Waitstaff were friendly, and managed a very busy night gracefully.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 7 days ago

Blossoms is our favorite restaurant when we visit Charleston each Spring. Good low country menu, great service and bright atmosphere.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 7 days ago

Our experience was excellent - our server Mark made ALL THE DIFFERENCE over our previous experience with another server. Mark is a true professional and made for a wonderful dining experience. Food was good, served quickly and therefore hot (as it should be). Wedge salad was excellent. Bread was tasty, as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 7 days ago

Service was outstanding and the meal was excellent Wait time was minimal. Convenient parking is a big plus in downtown Charleston.

Tags: Business Meals, Disabled Access, People Watching, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 18, 2017

This weekend dinner at Blossom was a highlight of our Charleston visit. From the moment we entered to the final glass of bubbly the entire experience was 5 star. Our server, Mark, looked after us in a professional and knowledgeable manner. Each of dishes was well described and presented in perfect detail. The fish tacos and fresh flounder were excellently prepared and full of flavor. We always eat here as there are never any bad surprises and we will see the folks at Blossom soon.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Enjoyed eating here very much. Food was delicious! Good service. A little loud at first but settled down after awhile.

Tags: Authentic, Casual, Wood Oven, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Recommended by friends for our weekend in Charleston and did not disappoint!! The atmosphere is modern and fun and the service was excellent. Best fried shrimp I have ever tasted. Also loved the oysters Rockefeller, crab stuffed grouper over creamed spinach and the creme brûlée was divine. Every bite delicious!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 17, 2017

The appetizer of pimento cheese, peanut humus, okra, flatbread was great. The crab stuffed grouper was good but would liked to have had it seared without stuffing. Could not accommodate this. Not as noisy as I had read. Like parking next door. Enjoyed meal and fellowship with family.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Good looking' sangria, the deviled eggs deserve an appetizer for themselves (incredibly good), the sorbet was the best value desert,

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Romantic, Good for a Date, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 16, 2017

The selection of seafood was great. There were a large number of selections for someone who is on a diet and doesn't want large quantities of butter.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The food was amazing! Our server left some to be desired. He seemed uninterested in us and was very negligent. I often had to ask other servers for help with things as we watched him cater to other tables in a very different manner. I was disappointed because I asked for a table in a quiet secluded area for our anniversary dinner and instead we were put in the far back corner of the restaurant. It felt we were in the center of everything, which is the complete opposite of what I wanted. We sat at the table directly in front of the servers' register and it took away from the ambiance and overall experience. I also came wks in advance to prepay/get a gift card for our meal & spoke with employees about our visit to come. All in all, we had a nice dinner but as earlier stated, the service took away from our experience. We recommend the Sea Scallops! We both ordered it and got an order to-go! SO GOOD! And also, the crab and avocado toast appetizer & she-crab are also great!

Tags: Romantic, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value4

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Great food, well prepared. Good menu variety, perhaps a slightly more extensive optional side selection would be nice. Our waiter C.J. was outstanding, very personable, very knowledgeable of the menu, and attentively monitored our entire dining experience. Definitely a recommendation.

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Beautiful, light salads. Great service .....

Music too loud !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 12, 2017

we had a good meal service was very good to outstanding although not your Oyster Spot

Tags: Comfort Food, Romantic, Family Style, Casual, Good Vegetarian Options, Outstanding Value, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Perfect portions, delicious sauces and sides. Fish cooked very nicely

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 11, 2017

As always, our experience at Blossom was fabulous! Our server was very attentive, and the food was amazing. We were there to celebrate my aunt's birthday, and she is now walking with the help of a walker. Being able to park next door and the ease of access was so valuable to us. We will definitely come back many times.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Historic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Loved the food but the noise level was really loud

If you don't go st peak time should be ok

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Would recommend Blossoms. Great bar & drinks, the food was wonderful. Flounder & my husband had a pasta dish. Service was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Great night out with my wife on her Birthday!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Food tasted like frozen seafood even though the ocean was 2 blocks away, super expensive for sub par food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value1

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Took my college son and his two friends out for dinner. Nice comfortable atmosphere without being stuffy or pretentious. Wait staff was very attentive and professional but also showed a good sense of humor when the boys asked for a fourth round of bread. The seafood was very good and the portions generous for the most part. Noise level is high but unless looking for a quiet romantic dinner, I would definitely recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Great place to eat and service is excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 4, 2017

I am a native and I can say I was most pleased with my entire dining experience.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Great dining experience in downtown. We started with Oysters Rockefellar (some of the best I've had) and bread. My dinner was chargrilled shrimp, lemon caper sauce, asparagus, and garlic spinach. My husband had the Swordfish in the herbed butter sauce, asparagus, and potatoes. Dessert was AMAZING - red velvet bread pudding! They even sent me home with the ingredient list for the red velvet bread pudding.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 3, 2017

nice place for lunch. Good outdoor dining in the back garden, Love the menu for lunch!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Enjoyed the meal and the service was very good. Thought pricing was fair. Only recommendation is a larger "wine by the glass" selection.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 27, 2017

The food and service was excellent. This is not the place, though, for an intimate occasion or to engage in quiet conversation. The acoustics are terrible and make it almost impossible to talk with those at your table.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 24, 2017

Best service ever! Our waiter, CJ, was excellent, and we are fairly high maintenance seniors. Two of our group had the luncheon crab cake and ate every bite. Another, the flat bread vegetable pizza which was done perfectly. The other, the pizza special of the day, which was more than she could finish. The only disappointment --- the she crab soup. Overall, a fun birthday celebration well worth the long drive.

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 21, 2017

I've dined here multiple times over the past 10 years or so. However this experience was tainted by very bad service.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 19, 2017

I've lived in Charleston a few years, and after eating here for the first time for restaurant week, I can't believe I waited this long! Great seafood!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Everything from the ambiance to service was great. The food is normally somewhat worth the price, however this time the food left MUCH to be desired!!!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Open Kitchen, Cozy, Romantic, Good for a Date, Disabled Access, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 17, 2017

The crab Louie was delicious and beautifully presented. Service excellent. Great luncheon spot!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Quick Bite, Organic, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 17, 2017

Had a great restaurant week dinner tonight. We got the butternut squash bisque, chorizo, duck cassoulet and mahi mahi . For dessert we had banana pudding and fudge brownie. Nice service, fairly quiet setting. All in all a great evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Great experience overall. Service was on point. We arrived a little early for our reservation and were seated immediately with no problem. Unfortunately they ran out of the dish I had been craving all day king, but having worked in restaurants long enough I understood completely (we did have a late reservation) during restaurant week. Ended up having the Mahi Mahi. The rice and sauce was incredible. The fish itself was good--if perhaps slightly over seasoned for my personal taste. Overall though, I'd recommend it to friends visiting Charleston!

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 15, 2017

The food was fantastic and the service from everyone could not have been better

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Looking for Friday night dinner for the 2 of us and Seaford was the menu choice. Checked Opentable for Seafood restaurants, with price in mind & available 6-6:30 pm reservations. Blossoms was the choice. Surprise, 2nd day of restaurant week and some great choices on Blossoms $30/3 course price fixed menue. My choice was the Miah Miah and my wife's choice was a Cobb salad! Meals were excellent, service was outstanding, and overall a fantastic dining experience!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Casual, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Healthy, Historic, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 12, 2017

One of my favorite Charleston restaurants.

Always good

Tags: Business Meals, Bar Seating, Romantic, Private Room, Open Kitchen, Sunday Lunch, Wood Oven, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 12, 2017

I have been to Blossom several times and always enjoyed the food and good service! One of my favorites in Charleston. This last dinner was great except the restaurant was quite chilly and my daughter and I never really warmed up, so it was a tad distracting from our experience.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Get the Mahi Entree!!! I can not stress that enough.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Service was spectacular , but food was very mediocre. Not at all impressed. Our entire meal was over salted. Dessert was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Excellent experience great food would go back anytime. Parking is free

Tags: Family Style, Cozy, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 8, 2017

We had a great brunch at Blossom. The food was delicious. I loved being able to see a church steeple out the window.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Afternoon Tea, Cozy, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 4, 2017

my had the seafood salad- loved it. I had seared grouper, it was outstanding, best I have ever had. Reasonable prices for the quality. Will look forward to going back again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Always awesome. We go every time we are in charleston and menu is always different and we always love the specials and deserts

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 4, 2017

My wife and I were celebrating our Anniversary. We enjoyed the fried green tomatoes for an appetizer, they were wonderful! I ordered the shrimp and grits which were great. My wife had the pan seared Mahi, she said it was a little salty for her. Endre was our server and he was incredible. Overall, we had a wonderful experience!!!!

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Great place for lunch! Look forward to returning for dinner. Kayla did an excellent job as wait-staff. Nice ambience and upscale menu. Gumbo was great, as was calamari & clams. Bread and seasoned butter were delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great food; great atmosphere; great service!!!!!! I would recommend to anyone visiting Charleston who is looking for a more casual night out.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Casual, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Wood Oven, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.