About Blossom

171 East Bay Street
Charleston, SC 29401
View Larger Map

Blossom, located in downtown Charleston, S.C., serves American cuisine highlighting the Lowcountry’s best seafood. Executive chef Adam Close offers simple, clean preparations which feature ingredients sourced from area fishermen and farmers. Open for lunch on Monday through Saturday, dinner nightly, and Sunday brunch, Blossom also offers seating on its patio.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Contemporary Southern, Low Country

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 3:45pm
Dinner starts at 4:00 pm
Sunday Brunch 10:00am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
Located between Queen & Cumberland Streets

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 722-9200

Website:
http://www.blossomcharleston.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary parking weekdays after 5:00pm & all day Saturday & Sunday.
**Please note that the parking lot is not available Monday-Friday before 5:00pm. Public parking is located in the garage on Cumberland Street.

Executive Chef:
Adam Close

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Blossom invites beer lovers in for an evening of distinctive fare and craft beer with a Brooklyn Brewery beer dinner on
Sunday, June 28th.
Guests can enjoy a six-course tasting dinner with complementing brews from Brooklyn Brewery in Brooklyn, NY.
Our Executive Chef Adam Close will present a tasting menu inspired by the unique brews from Brooklyn Brewery.
Diners will round out the experience with a dessert from
Executive Pastry Chef Andrea Upchurch served alongside a sixth beer.
The beer dinner is priced at $50 per person, excluding tax and gratuity.
Dinner will begin at 7:00 PM.
For reservations contact Megan Fussell.
(843)937-4012 Ext. 267
Fussell250@gmail.com



Restaurant Photos

Private Dining

Blossom offers private dining for groups of 12 to 20 guests.

Blossom Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

fit for foodies (128)
special occasion (124)
romantic (86)
See All
great for lunch (72)
good for groups (67)
neighborhood gem (66)
great for brunch (57)
great for outdoor dining (50)
notable wine list (30)
hot spot (26)
kid-friendly (20)
vibrant bar scene (12)
late-night find (12)
scenic view (9)
 (4)
 (4)
 (3)
 (2)
 (2)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
2631 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Appetizers , entrees , wine all excellen ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

Appetizers , entrees , wine all excellent . Superb service even though restaurant was full . Table ready upon arrival . Highly recommend !

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Blossom - A Gem!

Dined on May 20, 2016

Blossom is one of those places that never gets old. Our server Jan has been there for a couple of years and despite the large lunch crowd was her usual pleasant and efficient self. I had salmon greek salad that was prepared perfectly. My bud had shrimp poor boy that he reported was terrific. We each had the banana pudding dessert which was very good. Blossom manager Megan stopped by to be sure all was prepared well. We are so spoiled that we don't bother to go anywhere else for our Friday lunches. What a great place!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service4

LOVED the experience and the food!!!! Co ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

LOVED the experience and the food!!!! Couldn't pick a better place to dine in Charleston.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Anniversary Dinner

Dined on May 17, 2016

I mentioned it was our anniversary in the booking, and we were given glasses of sparkling wine when we arrived which was really lovely, and the great service continued throughout our meal. Our dinner was delicious- we started with the applewood bacon dip that came with kettle-cooked chips- yum!! Then my husband had the swordfish special that night, and I had filet of beef; both were great and cooked just as we ordered. We took home the peanut butter cup cheesecake for later as were too full after dinner- so good!! Highly recommend Blossom for any special occasion dinners!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

Appetizer and grits were great (calamari ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

Appetizer and grits were great (calamari)! John our server was fantastic! However the crab cakes were burned and the shrimp tasted like fast food. As far as the ambience the dining area was not really big enough to accommodate a party of 10 plus a party of 12 in the same area. My husband and I could not even carry on a conversation. We left as soon as we could. Unfortunate experience for us. Hopefully your experience is better.

food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Weekday evening; we had reservations, th ...

Dined on May 16, 2016

Weekday evening; we had reservations, there was a short wait. Outside is limited but nice seating, a wall with an ivy on it creates a nice green and functioning barrier. Service was good, friendly, quick enough. The food was well executed; shrimp and grits dish was very good, brisket as well. I liked my she crab soup here better then at a praised Fleet Landing, it had a kick to it and had more meat. The green salad with beets and pickled radishes is a nice deviation from the usual, the only drawback was that some pieces of the radish were tough to chew. Do nto miss desserts by chef Upchurch. We shared an excellent coconut pie meringue with rum roasted pineapple. The other not-your-standard deserts all looked very tempting, but we could not try them all.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5

We went here for brunch during a quick t ...

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

We went here for brunch during a quick trip to Charlestown and it was absolutely wonderful! Our server John couldn't have been better. Be sure to get the bacon dip and chicken and waffles!!

food1
ambience3
service4
value3

I had been to Blossom for lunch and it w ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

I had been to Blossom for lunch and it was fantastic. My wife and I went back for dinner. It was a special occasion. Even though I had made reservations far in advance, we were seated in the bar. The meal was terrible. It was so salty (and we like salt) that we had to send it back. The manager was not very friendly or apologetic. Luckily we had a great waiter/bartender who convinced us to order dessert. The bread pudding was fantastic. But overall, our romantic dinner ended up being dessert and drinks with the main course at home, leftovers.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Blossom is one of my favorites in Charle ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Blossom is one of my favorites in Charleston! Would definitely come back again & again!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5

Decent low country food. Nothing that s ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Decent low country food. Nothing that stood out as "amazing". As with most restaurants in Charleston the craft beer craze has really not hit as of yet. Older crowd. A bit "behind the curve". OK selection but better offerings in the same price point in C-ton.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Highly recommend!

Dined on May 11, 2016

Excellent service and the food was amazing. One of the best meals I've had in a long time. The calamari was fantastic as were the shrimp and grits and mahi mahi.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great date night dining!

Dined on May 11, 2016

Food, wine, cocktails and service were all on point! Would definitely recommend for date night or vacationers looking for a fresh take on Charleston cuisine.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

small portions

Dined on May 9, 2016

Scallops were a very small portion -- had only three scallops. Lots of filler beneath them.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Had a wonderful Mother's Day dinner here.

Dined on May 8, 2016

My 2 teenagers really enjoy this restaurant. We have had several special dinners here. Crab cakes were very good - not very large (which I prefer) and full of lump crab meat and not a lot of filler bread crumbs etc. The kids always get the She crab soup. It is delicious. We sat outside and it was lovely.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

The waiter was wonderful. Friendly and k ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

The waiter was wonderful. Friendly and knowledgeable. The food was pretty good, but the brunch menu could be expanded.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies
food4
ambience3
service3

We enjoyed Blossom for Mother's Day brun ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

We enjoyed Blossom for Mother's Day brunch and we were not disappointed. The Mahi Mahi was very good and well prepared. A few more options on the kids menu would be nice, but, overall a very positive experience and very good food.

food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Not Their Best

Dined on May 8, 2016

We have visited Blossom several times and have been very pleased. Mother's Day we went to Brunch and was disappointed with the food. I had the Country Fried Steak and Biscuit. The meat was tough as shoe leather and dry. The biscuit itself was hard and there was very little gravy to make it go down easier. We ordered a cinnamon roll for an appetizer and it was cold and dry. My wife did enjoy the sauce with her soft shell crab but the crab itself was overcooked. As I said, we have had enjoyable meals there, but this time not so much. We will give it another go at another time.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outdoor Dinner

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

We chose Blossom for the dinner portion of our tour de restaurant and it was a fantastic choice! We sat outside in the courtyard and enjoyed the music, as well as fresh air. We almost asked to change as when they walk you to the dining room the path is conveniently near the open kitchen. Great smells coming out of that area! The service was on point and the food was fantastic all around. She Crab Soup, Charcuterie Wrapped Tenderloin, Scallops, Brussel Sprouts and more were tasty and done right. The inside looked like a fun and lively atmosphere that had large tables for groups. Would like to experience that too. Highly recommend!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service4

The salads and the entrée were very flav ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

The salads and the entrée were very flavorful. The meringue dessert fell short however.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best meal I've ever had

Dined on May 6, 2016

I had the tuna and the combination of flavors on the plate perfectly complemented each other. My husband had the mahi mahi and he said it's the best fish he's ever had. The calamari was delicious!! We will definitely eat at Blossom any time we are in Charleston!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic!!!!

Dined on May 6, 2016

What a great restaurant!! We would certainly go here again on our next visit to Charleston! Just awesome!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent meal with great friends

Dined on May 6, 2016

Charlestown has alot of great restaurants...Blossom is one of them. The Blackfish special was expertly prepared. The standard dish of fried shrimp was pushed up a notch with sauces that surprised.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Underwhelmed

Dined on May 6, 2016

Reservation was on time. Service was good but portions very small for the price. Broccoli was over cooked and tough as leather. We liked our table and thankfully picked a very good wine.

food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Delicious

Dined on May 4, 2016

Very attentive service. Our waiter did a great job. Shrimp and Grits were very delicious. My business associate had the grouper special which she said was very good as well. I've been here before when I'm in Charleston and I enjoy it every time.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Charleston classic

Dined on May 2, 2016

One of my favorite restaurants to dine at when in Charleston. This restaurant group has it figured out. The wine list is paired very well with the cuisine selection.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food1
ambience3
service1

I had stated that it was our anniversary ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

I had stated that it was our anniversary on reservation. Not sure why they ask because they didn't recognize it at all. My husbands pizza was burnt and we Had to send it back. Bartender was not educated in how to make a drink. He was a stick with the menu kind of bartender. Not willing to make something for us that was not on menu. Waitress had no personality and the overall experience was very disappointing. I had this reservation as a surprise for my husband and it was a terrible experience for a special occasion. We will NOT go back.

food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Magnolia lite

Dined on April 27, 2016

This restaurant is fine, but the food was not comparable to Magnolia, which is in the same family of eateries. Blossom is well located, well decorated and has a pleasant vibe . The food is very good, but not great.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Great Food in a out of date design

Dined on April 25, 2016

The table we were given, was against the back wall....for two people... Tables there are too close to that rock wall and block a persons energy when you sit against it, especially when the one is next to the large window... Felt as if we were placed in a corner, a tight corner. Replace this area with the nice looking booths, like the ones you have in a different location against the wall... We request a change and we got it...

Tags: neighborhood gem
food1
ambience5
service1
value1

Food cold, we mentioned it, they refired ...

Dined on April 25, 2016

Food cold, we mentioned it, they refired it, it came out cold again. Server lacked presentation voice - was basically whispering

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Once again - wonderful

Dined on April 24, 2016

We for some odd reason had not been to Blossom in a while. Once again we had a wonderful experience. Food great, service wonderful and experience overall gets 5 stars.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Lovely brunch

vip
Dined on April 24, 2016

Very pleasant venue for brunch. Creative menu with good options but not overly ambitious. Service is good and attentive. There is a small outdoor eating space but the inside space is light and airy so you really do not feel closed in. Our food was plentiful aqnd not outragiously large portions. A very pleasant experience. We will return.

Tags: brunch, fit for foodies, lunch
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Outside dining only

Dined on April 24, 2016

I would recommend for outside dining only due to the noise level inside.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Too Noisy

Dined on April 24, 2016

We were a group of girls who have not seen each other in months. The noise level was so high that it was difficult to talk at the table. The food was OK as was the service. I was a bit disappointed given all of the choices to consider in Charleston.

food4
ambience1
service3
value3

BLOSSOM REVIEW

Dined on April 23, 2016

Despite the carpeted floor, this restaurant was very noisy. My dinner was lukewarm. However, it was delicious!

food2
ambience5
service3
value2

Was Favorite -- Not Anymore

Dined on April 23, 2016

This used to be one of my favorite places to eat in downtown Charleston. I took my new to Charleston boyfriend here and I had raved about it to him. The service was ok. It was busy but we sat outside where our server didn't have that many large tables so not sure why he struggled so much. The fried green tomatoes were very good. The butter served with the bread also good. The fact I'm using the butter as a positive lends to the notion that this review is about to go down from here. I ordered the pork tenderloin wrapped in prosciutto served on goat cheese grits with spinach. The grits were very good. The meat was very tough..hard to cut and chew. The flavor made me think it was old. My boyfriend ordered the flounder. He said the flavor was good. But it was just the fish on the plate with a handful of parsley dropped on top. And at $29 I would think it would come with at least one side if not better presentation. Very disappointed...Won't be coming back anytime soon.

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Quintessential Charleston

Dined on April 23, 2016

Great menu selections. Food was delicious. Server was knowledgable and attentive. The decor is light and airy and very welcoming. They have a separate room up front that would be great for a small group/party. The restaurant is conveniently located.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Great Food, Great Service

vip
Dined on April 23, 2016

Don't be fooled by the view from the sidewalk. The bar and main dining room are further back. We used Open Table to find local restaurants and followed up a recommendation from the hotel front desk. Excellent service from start to finish. The food was amazing. Seafood and grits was very tasty. Also received favorable comments on the crab cakes and other fish entrees.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

We regularly eat there before CSO concer ...

vip
Dined on April 22, 2016

We regularly eat there before CSO concerts. They open early, are prompt with service and the food is good ( they also make a good Manhattan)

food5
ambience4
service5

Lovely experience at Blossom! Food was w ...

Dined on April 22, 2016

Lovely experience at Blossom! Food was wonderful and the staff was friendly and attentive.

food4
ambience5
service5

Dined at Blossom in their courtyard area ...

Dined on April 21, 2016

Dined at Blossom in their courtyard area. The weather was perfect and, despite the adjacent parking lot, the court yard was very quiet and the high wall with ivy and koi pond made us forget that we there we were in a bustling area. The food was sensational, from start to finish. Highlights were southern fried chicken, which was light and perfectly tender, and shrimp and grits. The grits, especially, were very tasty and the only draw back for me was that the gravy was a bit salty, though still delicious. Upon mentioning this to our server, Darcy, she graciously asked whether I'd like something else prepared, then a manager stopped by our table a minute later to express concern over the saltiness and, again, to find out whether I'd prefer a different entree. I declined as the meal was still delicious despite my apparent salt sensitivity and I continued to eat the shrimp and grits sans gravy. After dinner, we were offered a fresh raspberry sorbet, which was also very tasty. We moved to the bar area for a drink on the way out and the bartenders were both super friendly and chatted with us about upcoming drink specials they were in the midst of experimenting with. Overall, the food and staff were excellent and we'd happily visit again!

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.