Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network. To see if they take reservations and have availability, you will need to call the restaurant directly or visit their website. View Details

Restaurants you may also like

BOPBOP
(26)
Korean | Center City, Philadelphia
Reserve Now
Estia - PhiladelphiaEstia - Philadelphia
(3730)
Greek | Center City, Philadelphia
Reserve Now
Nineteen - XIXNineteen - XIX
(2354)
Contemporary American | Center City, Philadelphia
Reserve Now
Morton's The Steakhouse - PhiladelphiaMorton's The Steakhouse - Philadelphia
(1026)
Steakhouse | Center City, Philadelphia
Reserve Now
Fine PalateFine Palate
(65)
Global, International | Center City, Philadelphia
Reserve Now
Franky Bradley’sFranky Bradley’s
(54)
American | Center City, Philadelphia
Reserve Now
Butcher & SingerButcher & Singer
(3493)
Steak | Center City, Philadelphia
Reserve Now
Double KnotDouble Knot
(205)
Sushi | Center City, Philadelphia
Reserve Now
Ocean Prime - PhiladelphiaOcean Prime - Philadelphia
(1274)
Seafood | Center City, Philadelphia
Reserve Now
VesperVesper
(87)
Contemporary American | Center City, Philadelphia
Reserve Now
IndeBlue - PhiladelphiaIndeBlue - Philadelphia
(653)
Indian | Center City, Philadelphia
Reserve Now
Bud & Marilyn'sBud & Marilyn's
(612)
American | Center City, Philadelphia
Reserve Now
Little Nonna'sLittle Nonna's
(1129)
Italian | Center City, Philadelphia
Reserve Now
Barbuzzo RestaurantBarbuzzo Restaurant
(3113)
Mediterranean | Center City, Philadelphia
Reserve Now
El VezEl Vez
(3098)
Mexican / Southwestern | Center City, Philadelphia
Reserve Now

About Bliss

220 South Broad Street
Philadelphia, PA 19102
View Larger Map

Whether stopping in for an energizing brunch or a relaxing dinner, Bliss has what you are looking for. With a menu featuring contemporary American cuisine, it offers classic comfort dishes in an upscale yet comfortable atmosphere. Bliss is located within the art district of Philadelphia, so it is conveniently close to other attractions like the Kimmel Center and the Merriam Theatre. Private events can be hosted on the mezzanine level of the restaurant, which can seat up to 32 people.

The Sunday brunch menu at Bliss is a special treat. Delight in salads, sandwiches or classic egg dishes. For dinner, enjoy the pan-seared salmon, braised boneless short ribs or the filet mignon. The cheese and charcuterie platters are a must-try and the dessert menu features sweet treats like crème brulee and gelato.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Mon-Sat 11:30am-2:30pm and Sun 11am-2:30pm.
Dinner: Mon-Thu 5pm-10pm, Fri-Sat 5pm-11pm and Sun 4pm-8:30pm.

Cross Street:
between Walnut & Locust

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(215) 731-1100

Website:
http://www.bliss-restaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Parking is available next door in the Bellevue/Hyatt Hotel self-parking garage. Discounted rate available to Bliss customers.

Public Transit:
Easily accessible by bus, train, and subway.

Executive Chef:
Perry Katsapis

Private Party Facilities:
Bliss is available for all types of private events, large and small: birthdays, anniversaries, rehearsal dinners, showers, business meetings, luncheons, corporate parties, holiday parties. Private dining is available in the second floor mezzanine room for up to 30 guests, and for larger parties in the main dining room/bar area. Restaurant buyouts are also available.

Private Party Contact:
Chris Nanni, GM: 2157311100x

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Center City District "Restaurant Week" starts Sun 8/2 to Fri 8/7 and from Sun 8/9 to Fri 8/14. Bliss will be featuring a three course prix fixe dinner menu for $35 per person, with all new menu items. Now accepting reservations.

Happy Hour at the Bliss Bar and on the Patio! Monday to Friday, 4-6pm. Specials include: $6 specialty martinis, $6 glass wines, $3/$4 beer specials, plus half price bar menu!

Happy Hour is also available at our outdoor patio seating. Bliss is the only restaurant along the Avenue of the Arts that offers outdoor seating. So if you want to enjoy the outdoors while you drink and dine, there's no better place along the Avenue!

Restaurant Photos

Crispy Chicken Sandwich
Jumbo Lump Crabcake Sandwich
Pumpkin Pear Soup
Salmon Fennel Salad
Wild Boar Ragu Pasta
Hanger Steak
Porcini Dusted Scallops
Olives
Focaccia
Sautéed Spinach
Crostini
Duck Breast & Duck Confit, Mushrooms, Sauteed Spinach, Mulled Spiced Wine Reduction
Bliss Burger
Lobster Risotto
"Seafood Hot Pot"
Bliss Salad
Red Snapper
Roasted Beet And Goat Cheese Salad
Watermelon, Basil, And Cucumber Soup
Hot Pot
roast pork
Chicken Sandwich
Sort By:
Newest
1445 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Comfortable

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on February 23, 2016

We were greeted as soon as we walked in the restaurant and seated. Our server Marissa was pleasant but more robotic than engaging. The Pear Cosmo was great!

Scallops with risotto was very tasty. Not a fan of asparagus and not sure it was in the description but they were on my plate. The Bliss Salad with mixed greens, grapes and gorgonzola was fantastic. Short ribs were done to perfection. We would go back, fast service. We were out in about an hour with a full restaurant on the first floor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

A quiet spot for a memorable dinner

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

This is my second visit to Bliss. I chose it because we wanted a quiet place to have a great dinner and conversation. So often, restaurants are so noisy that you find yourself yelling to be heard. This is not the case with Bliss. It is quiet enough for a business dinner or a catch-up with friends.

The food is prepared with care. I ordered the pan seared chicken and it was divinely prepared and served with root vegetables. We will definitely return to Bliss.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bliss was nothing short of lovely. The a ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

Bliss was nothing short of lovely. The ambiance was cozy and simple but could have easily been very hype on a busier night. We came after people had cleared out to go to shows. Our server's first question to us was whether we had somewhere to be, which was very considerate and showed he'd been serving there for a while.

He recommended carapaccio to us and ohh man was it incredible. He also gave us wine recommendations with our food, short ribs and salmon, that were perfect. Especially since my boyfriend wanted white with his short ribs instead of red - his recommendation was great.

My salmon had a crisp exterior and tender center - the Swiss chard was not bitter and the sauce and risotto that accompanied were incredible. Each bite was a great assortment of flavor. My boyfriend's shortrib had a tender, roast flavour with the au jus and wild rice with carrots. Again, each bite was perfect.

We got a flourless chocolate torte and creme brulee for dessert, and they were both pretty good. We weren't blown away by either, which was unfortunate given the quality of our dinner.

All in all, we had a fantastic night with great food in a lovely atmosphere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Food was fine

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on February 20, 2016

I felt like I had been sent back to the 1980's - 90's with the food. It was fine but not what I expect for today. Cocktails were non-event unfortunately. Nice looking space. The Hostess was very nice and a pleasure. Waitstaff were adequate but seemed they were following instructions more than really getting customer service. Nice but not engaging.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Missed a great time

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on February 18, 2016

We missed a great evening because of Bliss hd to close because of a gas lead, which they called me about two hours before the 6 p.m. booking time.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What stood out most to me was the lack o ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

What stood out most to me was the lack of food. I expected more for the prices I paid. The restaurant was empty only had for customers and the staff was nice but didn't seem like the staff for a high end restaurant. Overall I probably will not come back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3

Valentine's day dinner

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Our Valentine's Day dinner after the opera. My husband loved the mashed celeriac side (broadened our taste experience beyond celeriac soup), done similar to a family parsnip recipe. Waiter was very careful to check ingredients for all my choices due to my peanut allergy. TVs & bar crowd were low-volume, very important when in such a small, intimate space. I wish the Open Table online menu had specified the "choices" were only Prix Fixe, as we're not big eaters, and could've done without all the extras. Nice touch was a red rose presented to each female diner.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Horrible

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Arrived early and someone from behind the curtain screamed out "we're not open yet". Shocked and embarrassed we went out in the cold and found a place to hang until 4:00. They never told us the menu was price fixed even thou they spoke to me three times. Had bread dishes but had to ask for bread. Waitress said we haven't baked it yet. I wouldn't go back there for free. Place was cold and a total joke. People of the world avoid the bliss,I've never written a review even when I had bad service this was so horrible I had to write. Forget Bliss change the name to "nightmare"

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service1
value1

We have dined at BLISS many times but wi ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

We have dined at BLISS many times but within the last 6 months or so the service has seriously declined. I do not how they can state that they are one of Philadelphia's 50 best restaurants.

The wait staff's attire is not crisp and looks dingy and they do not appear to really know what they are doing. The couple sitting near us commented that this was first AND last dining at BLISS. Probably our last time as well.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value1

The menu on open table and their website ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

The menu on open table and their website differed, and NEITHER was the same as what was in the restaurant. After speaking to a host, I found out the menu on their website is a few YEARS out of date!

Salad had way too much dressing on it

Our drinks came out after our salad, rather than before

The price for the size of salmon we received was definitely not worth it

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1

Wonderful time!

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

My girlfriend and I had a very enjoyable time. The food was delicious and our waiter was awesome. We would recommend this to anyone looking for a quiet tasty meal :)

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great place

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on February 11, 2016

We've been to Bliss several times. The only negative this time was that they were short of servers. Ours was really running, but service was a bit slow, unlike the norm there. We'll certainly be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Overall, a really nice experience

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on February 7, 2016

Our server was fabulous! We were celebrating a birthday and she made the birthday person feel special. I wish I remembered her name becasue she was great - she made our experience memorable! The food was pretty good. It has big open windows that look out on to Broad Street which was fun. It was a cold February day so when the entrance door opened a lot of cold air would come in. They tried to compensate with a nice heavy curtain to block the cool air, but not completely successful. The heat was turned up so when the door was not opening the restaurant heated up a bit too much. I suspect it's not a problem if you're seated far from the door.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

It was a 40th birthday celebration. Bli ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on February 6, 2016

It was a 40th birthday celebration. Bliss is a favorite restaurant so that is why we decided to dine there. The waitress appeared of diner quality, did not offer a selection of water. When we requested sparkling they were out. Requested the wine list and our two selections were unavailable. There were no special dishes on the menu. Overall very disappointed. We did not eat. We offered to pay for the tap water we drank and left. The food was always excellent as is the service and atmosphere. Perhaps a bad night but we will wait sometime before we choose to dine there for dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1

The restaurant was crowded when we arriv ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 5, 2016

The restaurant was crowded when we arrived early for a 6:30 seating. We were immediately seated and sat at least 5 minutes before we were greeted by our server. We stated from the get go that we were going to a show at the Kimmel at 8pm and our server assured us that all would be fine. We intentionally ordered just one course, an entree, for each of us (party of 4) since it was obvious that our server was overloaded. Needless to say, 7:45pm rolled around and no food. We were getting ready to leave and the food came out, undercooked. We left and ended up scarfing down some pizza on Pine Street

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1

Bliss No Longer a Blissful Experience

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on February 5, 2016

The food at Bliss before the opera on Friday was great; unfortunately, the service was not. The wait person was unfamiliar with the menu and did not know how to serve wine; she poured the three of us full glasses without giving the person who ordered it a chance to taste it. Prices at Bliss has risen a great deal over the past year, so before our next subscription opera and orchestra performances we'll go elsewhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value2

Nothing exceptional

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on February 5, 2016

This was our first time at Bliss. While it was convenient as a pre-concert restaurant, the service was mediocre, at best. The food was fine - nothing exceptional, though, and at this price-point, it ought to be exceptional. We won't likely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

Never Again

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 5, 2016

Service awful, food not much better, waitress gave us a round of drinks because the service was so bad. People were walking out of the restaurant. My wife's salmon was so over done that it would dent the floor if she dropped it from the table.

Had walked by this restaurant many times while going from the Palm to the Kimmel Center. We should have stuck with the Palm.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Fantastic Chef needs a more educated house staff

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on January 31, 2016

Bliss is a great location for theater-goers, nearby hotel guests and locals going out on the town. So why was it so easy to get a reservation for Saturday evening when every other restaurant in town was booked between 6 and 9 pm? My guess is that prior diners had an "ok" experience as our party did. The host was friendly but seated us at a table that was not set completely for guests. He should be more attentive in seating guests... from taking bar orders, since he sat at the bar most of the night going through his cell phone, to making sure that the single candle on the table needed lighting. The waitress was young and uneducated about the menu. She needs more training. Confidence will follow. Cheese board was disappointing in presentation and freshness. Drinks were excellent. Entrees were superb. The chocolate torte, more like a brownie with ice cream, was surprisingly delicious... a taste of that was perfect for me. The creme brules were not the same. One was spot on. The other, eh. Kudos to the Chef and bartender. A more seasoned house staff should make for a more pleasant experience, customer loyalty and pumped up sales. I'll give Bliss another shot... perhaps sitting at the bar. The food is worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

this place is dying

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on January 30, 2016

the food is great, the service too but the place is dying, lighting makes you depressed, bathrooms are horrible and pretty cold. Needs a revamp

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value1

Bliss was indeed blissful on this night

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on January 26, 2016

I'm a Bliss lover, and in most ways my dinner experience was as good as always. However, the snow blizzard kept most diners away, so it was quiet. And because it was quiet we expected superb service, but it was inconsistent, including an error in the bill. A one-time slip up, I am confident, because I'll be back again soon.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Less Than

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on January 22, 2016

This occasion for lunch was much less than our previous experiences. This time was disappointing. The soup came out just barely warm. Sent back it came back hot, as it should have been the first time. No learning curve, though, because the entree came out the same way: the chicken only just warm, the veggies turning cold . To their credit the staff was apologetic and took off the price of one of the entrees. I'm sure the kitchen prepared the items appropriately hot, but by the time they got to the table they had been allowed to get cold .This lapse may be occurring due to the wait staff being over-busy in the dining room.Assigning an expediter would likely solve this problem. We've been here for pre-concert lunches a number of times, but if this continues, we will find other restaurants to enjoy - the neighborhood is full of promising alternatives. Bliss needs to refocus before their competitors benefit from their lapses.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Bliss-liss

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on January 18, 2016

My second negative experience here. Incredibly bad service. Interminably long waits for menus (then they were incomplete) and food service which required several requests to the bus boy and intervention by another server throughout the meal. Questions about the menu items couldn't be answered . Appetizers were delivered one at a time, soup did not have spoon and was cold when it finally came, gnocchi appetizer was pasty, the octopus over cooked, one appetizer not delivered until after several attempts to get the attention of our server and then it came after the other appetizers were finished. Entrees arrived after an interminably long wait. Scallops were cooked well and were tasty. Short ribs also flavorful but the farro was luke warm at best. One diner ordered a three course tasting which included dessert. It never came despite reminder. When the check arrived we were charged for four entrees (it was a party of 3) and no credit for dessert. Response to request for correction: "I thought you ordered an entree not an appetizer" No apologies...ever. Check came back after another excessively long wait, with corrected appetizer charge but no credit for unserved dessert. We gave up, paId and left. It took almost two hours for a pre theater dinner. Hard to believe this place survives. No third chance. Their name should de changed to Woeful or Forlorn.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

NO

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on January 8, 2016

Seems like this place is getting ready to close. Workers very disinterested and disappeared for long stretches of time. Barely anyone in the place. Food average at best. They closed at 830 on a Friday night

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

Service was not great. Felt very cobbled ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on January 1, 2016

Service was not great. Felt very cobbled together. Food was OK. Will not be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1

Absolutely delightful. Great little plac ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on December 31, 2015

Absolutely delightful. Great little place, awesome food and very attentive staff

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

First Time at Bliss

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on December 29, 2015

Bliss could not be more convenient or more accommodating, nestled between Broad Street parking garage (overpriced) and The Academy of Music! We were graciously met at the door with smiles and welcoming handshakes. Our table was ready and waiting for us even though we arrived 10 minutes early. The bustling street scene out their window was a happy reminder of the holiday season. Food was very good, but very slow in coming. The service was the same; when attentive, it was very good, but very slow between visits to check-in on us. Pricing is excellent . YES, we would recommend, and, YES, we will return!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value5

Great pre-theater service

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on December 19, 2015

Food was great. Our waiter kept us on pace for theater, but never made us feel rushed. Our table was right on a collision course with a waitress who was servicing the upstairs. She literally bashed into my husbands arm while he was eating several times as she cut the corner to race to the kitchen. SLOW DOWN!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Bliss - Great Food, Terrible Service

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on December 19, 2015

The food was really delicious. The ambiance was pleasant. The location to the Academy of Music was perfect (we had tickets for a performance). The service was terrible!! It felt like the staff was "bothered" by all the guests (the entire restaurant not just our table). The water was not proactively refilled, and it was a challenge to reorder our cocktails because our server refused to make eye contact, even though it was obvious we were trying to politely get her attention. There was another server walking around with bread, but he only came by once and gave us each ONE roll and walked away. Then when we waved him down for more bread, he looked disturbed that we would request another roll. Our sever did not smile; she did not know the menu so she could not answer our questions; a side dish came out as an appetizer; she mumbled; she did not make eye contact; she did not check on us; she did not introduce herself by offering her name when we were first seated. The only way we learned her name was when the check came ("Marissa") - which, by the way, was placed abruptly on our table before inquiring as to whether or not we may want some dessert. It was like this was her first job as a server. Another observation was that when they would wipe down a table after the guests had left, they wiped AROUND the place mat. They did not wipe down the whole table. They kept trying to take the plates before we were done eating, without asking if we were done eating. They took our flatware with the appetizers and when our main course arrived, our server took off so fast we did not have a chance to request flatware, and then it took a very long time before we could get her attention again. The bartender seemed to be the only person somewhat "on the ball" in the entire place. If there was a manager around, we never saw one. We also heard two other tables complain about the service and one even requested to speak to a manager. Food = delicious

Service = horrible

Would not recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

A mixed experience. . . .

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on December 16, 2015

We went here for a pleasant dinner before attending a show at the Kimmel Center. I had heard great things about the restaurant, so we were looking forward to the evening. Bottom line, this was a mixed experience and so at best the overall rating is 3 stars. First, when we entered the restaurant – no one was at the desk. We waited and finally I got the attention of the bartender who had someone from the back come out to seat us and confirm our reservation. So I immediately sense there is something off. Now, you should know that the food did not drop their star rating. It is really how they got a 3. The Pappardelle pasta was delicious as was the calamari and the Filet Mignon. The Bluecoat martinis were done perfectly and we had good pours of wine. So why do I give it only 3 stars? It was our server. He seemed as if he were “performing” a theatrical piece of his own design with grand gestures and a poorly written script -- rather than serving. Every interaction came with some attempt at wit and charm, but it seemed strained and contrived. The “young man” and the “petite young lady” lines might have worked a few decades ago on us, but they were a bit off putting now! Yet, it wasn’t just the old trite lines; it was the lack of attention. I can never understand when a server is at another nearby table and never looks in your direction – to save them a trip, to see if you need anything, etc. This server had that down to a science – he never looked at us unless we waved in his direction. So when I saw the calamari come out of the kitchen; I also saw it sit, and sit, and sit on the counter. Our server was nowhere to be found. Finally; another server swooped it up and delivered it to our table. When we pointed out it was cold – this new server – quite professionally said he would have them make a new batch and also made some rather generous adjustments to our bill. The food was quite good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Great stop before Kimmel show

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on December 16, 2015

They took very good care of us even though we were late due to traffic...good meal!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

It's ala carte at the Bliss

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on December 13, 2015

We were a group of four for Sunday dinner after the theatre. It was our first visit. I selected the Bliss Restaurant because it was listed in the "top 20" in Center City. My wife and I ordered the grilled snapper as our entrée. Mine was somewhat dry. My wife said hers was fine. The entrées came with a vegetable-- two stalks of asparagus! Side dishes were priced separately. And bread rolls were not included. Bliss has taken the "ala carte" menu to the extreme.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

Bliss has been a favorite for many years.

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on December 13, 2015

"We have always loved the ambiance here. The service has also been great and the food is amazing. Unfortunately, on this visit, we were informed that there was a new staff in place and it showed. There were a number of dishes on the menu that they were out of and some wines were not available as well. Hopefully, this was a one time experience and our next visit will be what we have become accustomed to.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Not the best visit

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on December 12, 2015

I've been to Bliss many times and this was the first time I was not happy, mainly because of the service. Our waitress seemed to have trouble getting orders straight. I asked for Pinot Noir and she brought me Pinot Grigio. I asked for spinach and she brought me asparagus. It was not just my table with the problems, but the table next to us (who were first time diners at the restaurant and who were not coming back) were also getting the wrong items. We were told the tie up in getting drinks was because they ran out of wine glasses. They also ran out of chardonnay. Really-what restaurant runs out of chardonnay????? I don't know what the problem was, but they better fix it quickly and train their waitresses better.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1

Loved the fixed lunch menu!

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on December 12, 2015

Excellent service...great place for lunch before the afternoon show.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent Center City Lunch Spot

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on December 7, 2015

Received a warm welcome and excellent service at Bliss. Great place for a leisurely lunch.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Not what I expected

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on December 6, 2015

We came for our 2 year anniversary dinner, adding that to the opentable reservation notes. Not that I expect that we would be treated different, but it was to say that tonight was a special dinner. We were sat by the window, which would have been nice, however the windows were not sealed well and there was a lot of cold wind coming into the restaurant. So much so, it was blowing the menu pages. I asked to be moved farther away and the hostess was very accommodating. From that point it was just downhill. The waitress (Kristen), was just awful. She didn't greet us, she just kind of stood about 5 feet from us for about 10 seconds before we finally said "Hi". She said "something to drink?" to which we asked for a wine menu and she seemed to be upset we didn't have one. Each step of the meal just seemed to be of an annoyance to her. She didn't come to check on our meal and just made us feel unwelcome. This was the first time I gave a 15% tip probably all year. Having been a server for many years, I am generous with my tips, this woman basically ruined our night and we will not be returning.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1

Good food

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on December 3, 2015

While the food was very good the service was slow the night we had dinner. We had to ask for bread and then also ask for water to be refilled. Could have been an off night for the staff.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Wont be open much longer.

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on November 21, 2015

"Out" of many menu items. "Out" of many beers and liquors. Something has happened. They should probably close, retool, rehire, etc and reopen under a new name with an entirely new management team. Bliss used to be one of our pre-event go to places. We will not be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3

Disappointed

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on November 21, 2015

This was our 5 or 6th visit to Bliss in the last 3 to 4 years. This was the 1st time that our wait service was slow, forgetful and not real attentive. When we asked about specials, she said there were none, but the menu had been changed recently. Having been there many times we saw the menu was the same as past years. The prices were well up from last spring and the portions were smaller. Three of the party had the bass and one had the lamb chops. The piece of bass was much smaller than recent times and the lamb was tough. We were very disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.