About Blend on Main

152 Main Street
Manasquan, NJ 08736
View Larger Map

Located in Manasquan, NJ 08736

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Bistro, Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:
Lunch
Tuesday through Sunday 11:30 - 2:30

Dinner
Tuesday through Thursday 5:00 - 9:30

Friday 5:00 - 10:00

Saturday5:00 - 10:00

Sunday Brunch 10:30-2:30
Dinner 4:00 - 9:00

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(732) 223-0030

Website:
http://blendonmain.com/

Catering:
On Site or Off Site Catering & Event Planning
If you’re considering choosing us to provide the food on your big day, thank you. We promise to put as much care and love into the preparation of the food for your event as you have into planning the rest of the occasion. We understand you want everything to be perfect and that’s a good thing, because we do too.

Parking Details:
Ample parking is available behind our restaurant and can be found by following the driveway on the east side of our building.

Executive Chef:
Chef Lou Smith

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, BYO Liquor, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch

Blend on Main Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

fit for foodies (48)
neighborhood gem (40)
special occasion (29)
See All
good for groups (26)
romantic (17)
great for lunch (9)
great for brunch (7)
great for outdoor dining (5)
kid-friendly (4)
hot spot (4)
scenic view (1)
late-night find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
335 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

High end food, excellent service. A kee ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined 5 days ago

High end food, excellent service. A keeper when back in Jersey

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love this restaurant. Have never had ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

We love this restaurant. Have never had a bad meal. the tuna tacos , tuna everything and drunken donuts is the perfect meal.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Blend is a wonderful eatery with good fr ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Blend is a wonderful eatery with good fresh food and presentation. The service was excellent .

We will return again soon. A great find.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Although the waitress was top-notch, the ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Although the waitress was top-notch, there were flies and gnats on the table the entire time! It's hard to have a pleasurable experience while sweating insects the entire time!

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service5
value1

Fabulous food & very professional , atte ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Fabulous food & very professional , attentive service !

A little noisy once dinner is in full swing so ask for a quiet location if desired , or go early or later on .

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Although we were the only diners, there ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Although we were the only diners, there was a party going on, which made the noise level high. However, the chef was very considerate of this and offered us our dessert for free, which I though was commendable. The food was very good and the portions fine. We ordered from the a la carte menu and if I return, I would probably order from the fix price menu. Overall it was a very enjoyable meal. And our server was great.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

This was our third return to Blend. W ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

This was our third return to Blend. We had the same server, Jean, who is terrific. She knows the menu and all the details of the daily specials.

Appetizers, salad, entrees, and dessert were all very, very good. I wanted to try the Tomahawk steak special, unfortunately it was for two and I did not have a partner to endulge with me, it was 50 ounces.

Looking forward to our next time there.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Sadly, this isn't even close to being co ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Sadly, this isn't even close to being comparable to 'Firefly', which used to be at this location. And what made it more challenging to 'like' was... #1, the appetizer called "Peaches and Cream" came out with one Peach (with a follow up plate of peaches, because they forgot to addd them) #2, they ran out of mushrooms (our reservation was at 6:30pm - not a late dinner for things to be 'eighty-sixed' as we were told by the waitress), #3, my sister's dinner came out with something black moving on top of her crab cakes, and #4 not only did no one follow up regarding #3... they tried charging us for the meal, when in reality we should have stuck to our initial response and walk out without eating (instead quietly stuck it out). Very disappointing to say the least.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

a real gem for the north Jersey shore. M ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

a real gem for the north Jersey shore. Manasquan is a nice town to walk around before dinner, the restaurant is attractive, the service was friendly and most importantly, the food was outstanding . Beautifully prepared dishes , nice variety of fresh fish, meat , vegetables, pasta, salad. Remember to bring your own wine !!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Lobsterpalloza was fantastic! We thoroug ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Lobsterpalloza was fantastic! We thoroughly enjoyed our delicious appetizers and dinners. Can't wait to return to try something else!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

As usual, another enjoyable evening at B ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

As usual, another enjoyable evening at Blend. This time as guests of my children to kick-off our Fathers Day weekend visit. Everyone enjoyed their meals and its this reliability of quality preparation and service that makes Blend on Main one of our favorite go-to's. Only downside is it can get a little noisy on "in-season" weekends, but that's true of most places now.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Love the different types of food present ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Love the different types of food presented. Always a place to go for special occasions.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

The service was horrific!! We waited ove ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

The service was horrific!! We waited over a hour for our entrees. When we asked what the issue was, we were told that they had several large parties to serve. REALLY? When the entrees did finally arrive, two out the four were undercooked and tasteless. This establishment won't last long. The location has changed hands too many times to count.

Tags: kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

A lovely night out

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

My husband and I wanted to have a romantic dinner close to home and we weren't disappointed. We were even more impressed that there were many items labeled gluten free, which is something we need. We will definitely be back this summer and are looking forward to eating outside next time!

Tags: romantic, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Could be better

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

This is the second time in about a month that we have taken friends to Blend and found it to be disappointing. The last time we had a server who was clearly frazzled and let us know about it which is totally unprofessional and this time the place was not very busy at all but our entrees all came out cold! We were not impressed! You pay a pretty penny to eat at Blend so that means that there are certain expectations that need to be met. I don't think it's too much to ask that our food come out hot. I mentioned it to the server who was very nice, and she told the chef so they gave us a free dessert, but if we come back again and still have problems, it will be the last time we spend our money there. There are plenty of other wonderful restaurants to go to where we get get good service and good hot food!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Great Place

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Visited Blend during the busy Memorial Day weekend. The place was fantastic. Being greeted by a very special host, to speaking personally with the chef, to having Heather as our waitress, to enjoying some excellent food, the evening was just special. Will definitely be visiting again very soon.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a favorite

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

Blend offers an eclectic menu with interesting spins on various dishes. The grits in the shrimp and grits were the best I've ever had outside the South.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Blend on Main was fantastic. Definitely ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

Blend on Main was fantastic. Definitely will be back. Get the Surf and Turf App!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Food was delicious and beautifully prese ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Food was delicious and beautifully presented. Great service. Perfect for a nice occasion. We will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

This was a tasty surprise, interesting m ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

This was a tasty surprise, interesting menu, lovely presentation and really delicious food. Definitely returning.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Excellent experience, food was wonderful ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

Excellent experience, food was wonderful, staff was very good. Price was somewhat reasonable.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great find!!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

Our whole experience was truly great at Blend. From the warm fresh pretzel bread with awesome dipping sauce, the unbelievable Mac and Cheese balls, the perfectly cooked sushi grade Tuna and well seasoned steaks with shoe string fries to the light and yummy doughnuts. I'm already looking forward to going back. Our waiter was also really great!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Darryl did a nice job as server. The pea ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

Darryl did a nice job as server. The peaches and cream starter was nice,a good dish for summer. The new menu is varied and offers a nice range of choices. Chef Lou continues to offer a quality experience with BYOB and free parking.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Food is the star here. Just fabulous!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

Food is the star here. Just fabulous!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Great food!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

Blend is one of our favorite restaurants. The food is awesome, the menu, while limited in items, has something for everyone, and there are always nightly specials / and the specials are always awesome! The service is usually consistently solid, waiters/waitresses always enthusiastic, and attentive. And the byob aspect makes it even more special!

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went to Blend on Main during the rest ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

We went to Blend on Main during the restaurant week and got a good deal. The three course meal was excellent. I love the wild mushroom soup, the cod and the ice-cream. Everything was perfectly prepared and the portion was just the right size.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Not very pleased

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

Not at all what we anticipated our waitress acted very rushed the entrees were small in size the risotto had an ingredient that I asked about and she didn't know what it was but didn't bother to find out. I could have been allergic to it . BTW it is called ramp (cousin to the onion) . Due to this experience we are likely not to return

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Sadly, surprised to find it was restaurant week.

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

Arrived with special friends to find it was restaurant week and there was a special menu although you could still order from the regular menu...The were short ribs on the restaurant week menu and I love them so I believe three of the 4 ordered the short ribs. We were shocked to find that there was only one small portion a tiny rib, on the plate. Thank goodness the other woman in our party ordered a steak from the regular menu. She was the only one to leave without being hungry. It was a very bad experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value2

Great food, a must go to if in manasquan

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 15, 2016

My wife and I, since moving to town, go to Blend at least every other month if not monthly. Never have we had a bad meal. Staff is always friendly, BYOB, great atmosphere and again food is amazing.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was very good but it is always on t ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

Food was very good but it is always on the noisy side. Terrific dessert and interesting specials.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Algonquin Theater

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 8, 2016

their pris fixe menu in association with the Algonquin Theater was quite good and a great value for the $30

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Chef, beautiful restaurant

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 3, 2016

We were a party of 5 and came directly from the Algonquin Theatre. Our servers were very attentive, the food was fabulous and the Chef even came out to greet us and inquire after our meal. Top shelf in every way, definitely going back.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

Very good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

A real gem

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

This was my first time at the Blend and it will not be my last. The food was superb and the service was outstanding. I require gluten free food and the menu was more than ample for my needs. Since it is BYOB it makes it a good value for a group.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect night out

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 29, 2016

My wife and I had a fantastic time at Blend. Hummus was delicious and so was the short ribs and Cod fish. Excellent food and service.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Easter Dinner

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

We were there for the first seating for Easter Dinner. The food was delicious and plentiful and the service was excellent. The only complaint I have is about the desserts. I was expecting much more than cakepops, brownies and funfuttie cupcakes, I'm an adult. There was chocolate mousse and it was just okay. Blend on Main is a good place and I will go back, even though I was a little disappointed.

Tags: great for brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Dinner was fabulous. Calamari app is a must.

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on March 6, 2016

I wish I could remember our servers name but he is from Napa. He was attentive without being overly attentive and he took excellent care of us.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Limited but normally reliable menu

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

Unfortunately, this review was requested following the first disappointing dining experience out of many over the last two years. Normally, I'd rate Blend, one of our local reliable favorites, four stars overall. Last Sunday's dinner for four however, left two patrons very disappointed, as one order of the always popular and generous pork chop specifically ordered "medium" was served rare, and left mostly uneaten as a result. The other entree disappointment was the coq au vin, both in it's less then normally attractive presentation, and it's overall taste as it arrived more piled then presented on a flat plate, and dry and missing it's usual freshly cooked temperature and juicy tenderness. Being a Sunday night, the kitchen wasn't as busy and the room was half empty, which probably should have nothing to do with either presentation or attention to detail, but I will now stick to our normal Friday or Saturday evening reservations where the vibe is more upbeat (although the low noise level was a treat) and the kitchen seems to respond to the more upbeat mood.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

VALENTINE'S DAY DELECTABLE!!

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on February 26, 2016

Our first visit to "Blend On Main" took place Friday, as a two-week late celebration of Valentine's Day. My wife's bronchitis and my sinusitis forced us to cancel a week's worth of plans, & kept us out of work as well. The moral of the story, however, is that good things come to those who wait! Dinner began with my wife and I sharing their California Flatbread. Crispy, yet sweet and savory, this delectable appetizer (preceded by two pretzel rolls with house-made deli mustard) was just a portent of all the goodness coming our way. My wife ordered the 8 ounce Bistro Steak with potato puree and charred asparagus, I ordered the "Big Chop." A house smoked, Berkshire heritage pork chop, with warm fingerling potato salad & haricot verts. Both of us ordered our meats "medium well," and were prepared perfectly. My pork chop's char on the outside gave it a bacon-like taste, but was smoky and juicy on the inside. This just might be the best pork chop I've ever eaten anywhere! That being said, no first visit to this Manasquan BYOB would be complete for any couple without enjoying the "Ring Ding for Two." The restaurant's menu describes this delectable dessert perfectly: a decadent play on a childhood favorite, peanut butter mousse, devil’s food cake, belgium or belgian chocolate jacket, crispy phyllo, fresh berry. Or more simply put, a hint of Drake's "Funny Bone," but predominantly an upscale version of the classic devil's food cake we all loved as kids. And still love today! House-brewed coffee washed down the aforementioned confection, completing one of the best Valentine's Day dinners we've ever had, regardless of the timing. We'll be back soon!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Great Local Eatery

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 20, 2016

As always Blend on Main is a great dining experience. Food is fresh and delicious. Wait staff was attentive and great as usual. Always a pleasure dining here.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.