About Blend - Baton Rouge

304 Laurel St.
Baton Rouge, LA 70801
View Larger Map

We create an atmosphere that blends exceptional wines, exquisite food, and specialty cocktails with great company. Our kitchen uses locally sourced products from rich soil and abundant waterways of the Mississippi, which creates menu options for all palates. The eclectic architectural designs of wooden beams and exposed brick with modern touches create an atmosphere that is perfect for an evening out, finishing a business meeting, or a celebratory event.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary Southern, Creole, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Bar: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 1:00am

Cross Street:
3rd Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(225) 757-5645

Website:
http://www.blendbr.com/

Catering:
In house catering for private events.

Parking Details:
Gate entrance located on 5th Street. Parking lot is directly behind Blend.

Executive Chef:
Troy Deano

Private Party Facilities:
Our entire venue or just the 2nd floor (loft) is open for hosting private events.

Private Party Contact:
andy@firebellyconcepts.com: x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
Wine Dinners

Blend - Baton Rouge Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

special occasion (5)
notable wine list (4)
fit for foodies (3)
See All
good for groups (2)
romantic (2)
hot spot (2)
late-night find (2)
vibrant bar scene (1)
neighborhood gem (1)
Sort By:
Newest
30 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I brought friends from out of state. Th ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

I brought friends from out of state. They loved it as much as I did and said so on their Facebook page. Thank you !

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Atmosphere

Dined on April 1, 2016

Great atmosphere for an intimate evening with that special someone

Tags: special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Mediocre flavor, not worth the price

Dined on February 14, 2016

Blend has a very relaxed, almost rustic chic atmosphere. The upstairs loft looked pretty swanky but the atmosphere (unfortunately) was the best part of the dining experience. We had a reservation but wasn't seated until 20 minutes later. It seemed they were understaffed and underprepared for the evening (Valentine's weekend). We got the cheese plate which was average compared to the price. The flatbread served was a bit overdone and the server didn't tell which pieces complimented what on the plate. The wine was again a little pricey but that's to be expected at a wine bar. I don't recommend ordering food here, or going when there is a special holiday.

Tags: romantic, late-night find, notable wine list
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Wine bar not restaurant

vip
Dined on February 14, 2016

My husband and I decided to try Blend during the Valentine's Day weekend. We got the fixed menu and a cheese plate along with drinks. He had sweet potato soup, sliced steak, and carrot cake. I had a broccoli Gorgonzola salad, seafood bouillabaisse, and chocolate candy bar. They have an extensive wine and drink menu, which is the highlight. The cheese plate was good, but the rest of the food was fairly mediocre especially for the steep price. I thought the bouillabaisse was fishy, the salad was decent, and his sweet potato soup was inedible. His steak was okay, nothing special, but the root purée it was sitting on was really bitter. The carrot cake was visually a mess and didn't have much flavor. We did enjoy the candy bar dessert which came with a shot of mulled wine. It was really loud inside, and we had to yell to be heard. The service was average. It's a nice bar, but we won't be going back for dinner.

Tags: good for groups, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Yummy and Lovely

Dined on January 10, 2016

My husband and I went here prior to a show because we've dined here before and know how well you're treated. Our overall experience is always a nice one here, as they take great care of their patrons. It was a steady evening here on a Friday, and the hostess and servers were attentive and courteous with the crowd. We were greeted and seated promptly, and we were brought to a lovely table for two with a nice view of the bar and the outside. Our food was prepared like art, as it always is, and my duck was superb! The shrimp and grits were also a true treat. My only complaint is the portions. You definitely are paying for the atmosphere and the artistic venue style more than the actual food. The quality is impeccable and the flavors are delicious, but it's more of a small plate style venue, so be prepared to pay more for more in quantity if you're super hungry. The prices are a bit high for the amount you get, but the food is always beautiful and is prepared deliciously overall. The wine list is awesome, and they always have seasonal gems for you to try. I love their knowledge and availability of rare finds, and it's nice to be able to sample new choices from time-to-time. They take pride in their selections and it shows for sure! We will continue to dine here because it's a lovely establishment, and they do always take great care of you here. It's a lovely date night spot.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing food, great ambiance

Dined on October 30, 2015

Chef Troy Deano has come up with the yummiest combinations, truly unusual but perfect every time. Warm, friendly and inviting bar with excellent mixed drinks and extensive wine list.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Birthday spot!

Dined on August 8, 2015

My sister had a retirement birthday party. We had a party of 14 at 7 15. This was no problem. Our party was seated upstairs, this allowed us the ability to be away from the noise of customers downstairs. They had a long wood table that looks like a piece of art itself. We had an array of food and wine. We had the tour of wines. Which allowed us to try 3 wines and a cheese plate or the shrimp and grits. Not one of us walked away hungry or unsatisfied with service or the wines/mixed drinks we received. If you are looking for something great to have a celebration or just hanging out with friends on the weekends. The Blend never disappoints! Make Blend part of your weekly hang out.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service5

Not a retaurant

Dined on August 1, 2015

This is more of a bar with appetizers and finger foods. Not a restaurant as I was expecting being that it was on Opentable. Nice bar though and food was good.

Tags: romantic, late-night find, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

The best!

Dined on July 23, 2015

The best cheese plate in town with charcuterie. Always have had a great chefs and so whether you go for a 7 wine pairing dinner special course meal or a great burger in the evening. They never disappointed. Restaurant week gives you the opportunity to have a 3 course meal for $30, but unfortunately they don't have their full menu available during that time as well. That isn't reason to go elsewhere they have an extensive wine list including blended (fingerprint wines just as an excellent suggestion) to wines and mixed drinks which incudles the best old fashion in Baton Rouge.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4

Impressive

Dined on July 23, 2015

Impressive food, well thought out and executed. Classy surroundings and knowledgeable staff. I expected good wine but was surprised by the quality of the food. We visited during restaurant week.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Unique find cloe to all Downtown hotels

Dined on July 3, 2015

Great small dish restaurant. Excellent and varied wine list. Easy access to all downtown hotels.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful discovery. Hip but sophisticated.

Dined on May 22, 2015

Excellent atmosphere for any type of evening . Loved the set up . Very good small plates and drinks. Will definitely return.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service4

Love this place. Always have great wines ...

Dined on April 12, 2015

Love this place. Always have great wines to choose from and the food is good

Tags: fit for foodies, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4

Enjoyable

Dined on March 1, 2015

Food was delicious, and a nice extra to just the bar. They had an extensive wine and martini selection. Great place for dates and conversations.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Two trips in and done

vip
Dined on February 15, 2015

We gave this place one more chance due to the ambience and the hoped promise of a great dining and drinking occasion. Showed up for dinner on a Friday night, three top and were seated in some couches and chairs over in a corner area which seemed a bit odd but was actually not bad at all. Seems they were having some in house bazaar or boutique thing that filled a lot of the normal eating space. Then some type tour came in and sat right next to us and we had to listen to the tour guide for about a 10 minute fairly loud oration. The main reasons we will not be back do not have to do with any of that. It is simply that the value does not match the prices and they seem to want to skimp wherever they can in order to make their money. Case in point was the paltry pour in their wines by the glass. They must measure it in excruciating detail to make sure they don't go overboard. Never have we been to a place this exacting. it seems chintzy. Same thing with a $26 meat and cheese plate. Not enough food for one much less for three to share. And they could not replicate a Boulvardier cocktail either. Two glasses of wine, and they do attempt to upsell every glass of wine, two cocktails and the minimalist app plate and $100 only to leave and go somewhere else to eat. We have also heard from other locals they have tried Blend and do not go back either. Not worth Manhattan prices for Baton Rouge.

food5
ambience5
service5

Love the small plates. Great menu items!

vip
Dined on November 29, 2014

Always great service and delicious food. Love BLEND

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Restaurant Week Success

Dined on July 18, 2014

As always, a great specialty menu for restaurant week!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent Dining Experience

Dined on July 18, 2014

Dinner and drinks were fantastic last night! The staff and wine list were incredible. Chef Eric Sibley created a great specialty menu this week. This is a great restaurant and hidden gem downtown!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service3

Restaurant Week

Dined on July 18, 2014

Our first visit & overall we were pleased. Food was good, and once we resolved a seating issue the service was very attentive. I was disappointed that although I had made a reservation no table was prepared for us. We were seated next to a four top plus a 6-month old child. They were loud & obnoxious, and I asked to be moved. We were finally successful in the reseating process, but the request and the reseating was handled very inexpertly and reluctantly. Once the owner was apprised of the situation by his staff, he was very attentive and he made certain staff was attentive as well.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Put on your bucket list for dining

Dined on July 16, 2014

Three friends went to Blend for a supper during Restaurant Week. The décor (cozy yet upbeat), service, attention to detail, food, and wine were all remarkable. We were even visited by the owner and the chef. Could not have been an more wonderful. A real gem that you should try if you want to be impressed. The food was wonderful!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing Restaurant

Dined on July 16, 2014

It was an amazing experience. The waiter was probably the best I had ever had. It was very romantic and quiet and the food was absolutely fantastic.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Awesomesauce!!

Dined on July 5, 2014

I made a reservation at Blend on a whim for 4th of July weekend because it was close to the hotel I was staying at downtown. What a find! My date and I had an amazing time ... the food was fabulous (try the alligator sausage, the scallops, and the shrimp flatbread), the drinks were great and the staff super friendly and attentive. We had the best time snuggled up on a couch 2 nights in a row. We will definitely be back! Thanks Blend! : )

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place!

Dined on May 17, 2014

My wife and I had the best time at Blend! I will surely recommend this place to my coworkers, friends and family. The wine was great and I enjoyed the wine flight that I got. The food was also phenomenal. The service and management came around often to make sure that everything was going good and it was always great!

Tags: special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5

Friday night treat

vip
Dined on April 19, 2014

My wife and I were downtown for Live after Five. We decided to have a quick dinner before returning home. We decided to try The Blend. The place is full of high tables, couches, and nice soft chairs. We chose a high table near the back wall. We were immediately greeted by our great server. We ordered some wine and started enjoying the evening. Although, Brei was not offered on the menu, the server got the chef to add it to our order. Included were sausage and duck ham and flatbread.The Brie and sausage were great, ham, not so much. Next were fried green tomatoes with lump crab. Great stuff. Then came mushroom soup. Cleaned the bowl. We finished off the meal with a very tastie burger? The menu said the burger was to share. We did not listen.

food5
ambience4
service5

GREAT for a group

Dined on April 6, 2014

Went with a group of friends before an event. We all ordered and shared everything. It was all delicious and moderately priced so that no one was worried about breaking the bank. Great service, great food, great atmosphere. I've already told my husband this is where I want to go for our anniversary dinner!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Food

Dined on March 28, 2014

The food is always amazing and the staff is always friendly and helpful.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service5

Nice place for a quiet meal

Dined on March 14, 2014

Enjoyed eating at Blend. Pleasant atmosphere with a pretty good wine list. Had some fromage and charcuterie which was very good. The flatbread we had was hit or miss, but the arancini was very good. Overall I wood recommend Blend based on the great service by Brittany, our lovely waitress, the nice ambiance, and some good wine.

Tags: notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Lovely and Delicious!

vip
Dined on February 23, 2014

The food was delicious and the bar and restaurant was super romantic! My sister and I went to celebrate her engagement and had a wonderful meal and some lovely wine. Overall, it was the perfect "blend" of romantic ambiance and dining perfection. We will definitely be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food2
ambience5
service2

Disappointed

Dined on February 15, 2014

Was really looking forward to trying this restaurant but we were very disappointed in service and food.

Tags: romantic
food3
ambience4
service3

Blend came up on the short end

Dined on February 14, 2014

I read great reviews, heard great things, but fell short. the menu is scaled down to names w/a lacking description. extremely small portions. no prices except for a few drinks. The waiter was making my husband uncomfortable, flamboyant staff. At one point we ordered a bottle of wine that we were familiar with before and the waiter brings a completely different bottle out insisting it's a better fit with our meal. The wine was comparable to drinking kool aid in a glass. Turns out later it was a $65 dollar bottle of the worst wine combination. I am not sure whether it was the waiter or not but the employees are not as knowledgable as the reviews say

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.