Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.47mi
  2. Distance: 0.47mi
  3. Distance: 0.48mi
  4. Distance: 0.60mi
  1. Distance: 0.47mi
  2. Distance: 0.47mi
  3. Distance: 0.48mi
  4. Distance: 0.60mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.47mi
  2. Distance: 0.47mi
  3. Distance: 0.48mi
  4. Distance: 0.60mi
  1. Distance: 0.47mi
  2. Distance: 0.47mi
  3. Distance: 0.48mi
  4. Distance: 0.60mi

About Blackwall Hitch

A dining experience blending the area’s finest in tastes & talents, Blackwall Hitch is a coastally inspired concept that creates a local connection. Here you’ll find seasonally driven and locally sourced food and spirits, great local music and the area’s friendliest staff and patrons. With each visit as you take in the local flavor, we guarantee you’ll be hook in no time. Get hooked on the flavor.

400 Sixth Street
Annapolis, MD 21403
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Sunday - 10:00am - 12:00 am
Monday - Wednesday: 11:00am - 12:00am
Thursday - Saturday: 11:00am - 2:00am

Cross Street:
Sixth and Severn

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 263-3454

Website:
http://theblackwallhitch.com/

Entertainment:
Live Music Wednesday - Saturday Night and Sunday Jazz Brunch.

Parking Details:
We are pleased to offer parking to all Blackwall Hitch patrons. Our parking lot is located directly behind the restaurant off Severn Avenue.

Executive Chef:
Chef Jonathan Seningen

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Reserve one of our private rooms for your next special occasion. We can accommodate a variety of events in our beautifully appointed dining rooms. From bridal luncheons to rehearsal dinners to family reunions and graduations, our special events manager will guide you through every step of your special event or dining request.

Private Dining

Reserve one of our private rooms for your next special occasion. We can accommodate a variety of events in our beautifully appointed dining rooms. From bridal luncheons to rehearsal dinners to family reunions and graduations, our special events manager will guide you through every step.

Blackwall Hitch Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

82% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (27)
Special Occasion (24)
Neighborhood Gem (18)
See All
Good for Groups (18)
Great for Outdoor Dining (18)
Fun (17)
Casual (16)
Good for Birthdays (15)
Great for Brunch (15)
Live Music (15)
Good for Anniversaries (14)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Great for Lunch (12)
Worth the Drive (12)
Romantic (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Bar Seating (10)
Scenic View (10)
Happy Hour (10)
Cozy (10)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Business Meals (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Local Ingredients (6)
Kid-friendly (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Authentic (5)
Comfort Food (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Seasonal (4)
Family Style (4)
Waterfront (3)
Private Room (3)
Great Beer (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
People Watching (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Live Sports (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Tapas (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
S
501 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 3 days ago

The food, drinks and atmosphere was great! My favorite restaurant in Annapolis.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 4 days ago

Amazing! Took my mother for her birthday and she was pleasantly surprised. Great food and the place is beautiful. We will definitely come again. The server took a little long to get to us in the beginning but once she came she was very attentive & my mimosa glass was never empty 😉. My 7 yr old daughter said she loved this restaurant because it was fancy.
So glad we came, we will definitely be back.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Casual, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Late-night Find, Sunday Lunch, Live Music, Happy Hour, Afternoon Tea, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Cool spot, decent food, horrendous service.

Hostess stand would be the stand out as far as how poor the service was but it extended to the actual wait staff as well.

If you're willing to be annoyed and ill-served, the ambiance is great, music was good and the food is pretty good.

Tags: Happy Hour, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, Live Music, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 5 days ago

Booth was so worn out we all sank low making it hard to reach table. Food obviously made early in day - cold and overdone!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 6 days ago

Tomatoes on toast was lovely. Watermelon salad tasted a little tired. Shrimp with toast was fantastic, as was the crab cake sandwich. Plate presentation was great. Gorgeous kitchen,
guest seating was comfortable. Overall a great place. I would definitely go back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Food and service was AMAZING! Great location, beautiful restaurant and awesome staff!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Had an amazing bottomless brunch, Food was amazing, servers were great and did not rush us.

Tags: Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

Delicious crab dip and fried green tomatoes! Our waitress and service excellent! Would definitely go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Wonderful meal. Crabby mac and cheese was tasty, but a hidden jalapeno pepper ruined the dish for me. This item should be specified on the entrée description to avoid surprise. Why ruin a crab dish with this very spicy addition??? It overpowered the delicate flavor of the crab. My husband enjoyed his Shrimp and Grits. The atmosphere was upscale. Nice mix of ages. Better noise insulation would be appreciated.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Great time, great food and drink celebrating a family birthday. Selections are good and tasty.

Tags: Quick Bite, Live Music, Bar Seating, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Service was excellent. Thank you Roger our waiter. Food was very good. My Branzino needed a flavored sauce and the veggies needed seasoning but the fish was cooked perfectly. We loved the fried green tomatoes appetizer and my husband's crab cakes were excellent. We will try it again.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

Food was fine but for these prices, the server should be more attentive and clear the table of appetizer plates prior to bringing out entrees. She was pleasant but unfamiliar with the liquor and beer options. The air conditioning wasn't cooling the area properly and the room was loud so don't come here if you want a quiet atmosphere. I would not rush back for a dinner here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

 
·Dined on August 11, 2017

Excellent service. The restaurant is beautiful. The food was great. Would definitely recommend to friends. Try the cucumber cooler cocktail, it's delicious

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 9, 2017

It was our anniversary dinner and it was amazing from start to finish! Service and food were beyond excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

Food was bland with little to no taste but our server was fantastic.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Service was terrible. Took 15 minutes to get one, small margarita, and a while to get app and meals. Hamburger bun was way over toasted, probably stale. Wedge salad was half a wedge. Very small portions. We won't be back. That location has a hex on it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Blackwall Hitch is one of my favorite late night spots on Friday and Saturday nights. I've been for dinner and was pleased. This was my first time for the Sunday Buffet and was disappointed. I reserved a table for 1:30 (brunch 10-2). However, I called to ask about the ending time and was it worth arriving at 1:30. The receptionist/hostess advised that the bar would be replenished at 2:00 and would remain open for some time. Furthest from the truth. Literally at 2:00, everything was taken away. We were extremely disappointed about the incorrect information. I spoke with the manager and he couldn't have been nicer, explaining that it was over at 2. He offered some appetizers, great, but nothing worth the $29.99 we paid. Lesson learned but management should ensure that everyone is aware of the policy. I'll go back because the staff in the bar area and waitress were the sweetest things.

Tags: Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Romantic, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

We went to celebrate my sisters birthday. Place was nice and packed - we could barely hear each other over the noise. I got the fish tacos - they were great! Only thing I would say is I wrote in the open table we were celebrating a birthday and even told our waitress it was my sisters birthday and they didn't bring a dessert to celebrate :( - was kind of disappointed in that but overall nice experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Very loud... almost too loud. Food slightly overpriced by about 10%.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
·Dined on August 2, 2017

Crab cakes were just one step short of being sent back. Also, $11.00 for a glass of non-specific Pinot Grigio is outrageous. Waitress was sweet but I refrained from suggesting that she work at a better place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

We had a great time. The Sunday Brunch is very good especially the made to order omelettes and chicken and waffles. Atmosphere is cool and very comfortable. Sunday brunch is very busy time so encourage reservations, or sit at the bar--which is also a great area.

Tags: Comfort Food, Live Music, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 30, 2017

We always have a great time going to brunch at Blackwall Hitch.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 30, 2017

We had a group of 6. The drinks were great, the food perfection, and our server was exceptional. Special thanks to our bartender Shelton and our server Kerrie-Anne. The manager was very attentive and stopped by a couple of times.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

Excellent from start to finish. Absolutely outstanding food. Try the ahi tuna appetizer with the different dipping sauces!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 20, 2017

Service was very good. The food was average.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on July 18, 2017

The chef is creative and a true culinary artist. Service was good and there is always someone keeping an eye on the dinner floor. Never want for anything. Presentation was great and all in all made for a great dinner. The best I have had in Annapolis!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 14, 2017

We had a wonderful time. The hospitality and service from the wait staff was impeccable. It's always nice to see the floor manager walking around checking on his/her guests. My fiancé had the Day boat sea scallops and I had the bayou penne. Both of us thoroughly enjoyed our respective meals.

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Both service and food were excellent. Loved the decor. Nice that our booth had a slight separation from the booth behind us and we didn't feel like we were sitting right up next to someone. Will definately be going again

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Had a great time at this restaurant. Hidden Gem. Food was OK, service was better, would go back again

Tags: Good for a Date, Quick Bite, Quiet Conversation, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 9, 2017

We've eaten here many times in the past but until this Sunday, had not experienced one of the best done buffet brunches in the NCR. The service was very good, the staff accomodating, the food was plentuful and prices were reasonable given the vast variety and scrumptious taste of the food offerings. $5 for bottomless mimosas was fantastic. Reservations will save you a big disappointment. Don't just show up for Sunday brunch. Be prepared, parking can be a challenge.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 7, 2017

We have been hearing about Blackwall Hitch for a couple of years, and have been eager to try it! Unfortunately, we were a little "underwhelmed" with our experience. It has a nice location, and atmosphere, but we found it fairly expensive considering the combination of food and service. We chose to sit outside on the rooftop patio, since it was a beautiful evening. The drinks were served in plastic cups. We had to ask for silverware. When the appetizer came, we had to ask for plates. We had to ask for water. This was a little surprising, since the restaurant was not that busy when we arrived. The food was good but not amazing. The upcharge to substitute tossed salad greens for French fries for the side was $5. For 4 people the bill was just under $300 (which included a shared appetizer, one entrée each, a couple drinks each, and 2 shared desserts.) If we go again, I think we will aim for happy hour and shared appetizers, rather than a meal.

Tags: Happy Hour, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Understaffed for a holiday weekend. Service was chaotic and rushed. Crab cakes were a disappointment. Veggies were soggy. Drinks were weak. Needed a flashlight to read the menu. We won't be back. 😕

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Wonderful spot for brunch in Annapolis...the wait staff were amazing, and the ambiance was awesome, I went for a girls day out, it was perfect!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 2, 2017

The brunch never disappoints here!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 25, 2017

We went for Sunday brunch. Excellent food and mimosas while listening to live music.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Bar Seating, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Gracious staff, good service, average food

Outside dining might be worth exploring provided view extends beyond the street

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Service was great as was the food - many choices and all were awesome!

Tags: Great Beer, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 18, 2017

We went there for dinner on Father's Day. We had a a 6 pm reservation and arrived at 5:50 pm and we're seated right away. We ordered mussels for an appetizer. The waitress brought out two seafood forks for three people seated at the table. When we went to use a standard size fork, we realized that we didn't have silverware for each person. We had to ask the waitress twice for additional silverware before she actually brought it over. In fact, one time when she came back to the table without the silverware she stated, "It's ok, I'll bring it over before your food gets here." After completing the appetizer (we'd been seated for approximately 45 minutes), the waitress came to apologize for food taking so long. 10 minutes later she came back to say that food would be another "10 minutes or so." When the food finally arrived, my husband's french fries were cold and had no hints of the rosemary that they claim to be seasoned with and my Cajun Penne was bland. The only spice came from the sausage. When we asked for the dessert menu, the ordered the chocolate chip skillet cookie, which we were informed was sold out.
Blackwall Hitch is a moderately priced restaurant, but the service and taste of the food left much to be desired. I don't have to go back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 18, 2017

We arrived early for our reservation. We were seated and no one came to the table for about 15 minutes. They just switched from the Father's Day brunch crew to the next and no one was around to give us or anything. Manager finally came and apologized.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 17, 2017

The whole bronzino was phenomenal and the portions were amble as well as an excellent value. Although the noise level was high it did not detract from an overall great experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.