Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.47mi
  2. Distance: 0.47mi
  3. Distance: 0.48mi
  4. Distance: 0.60mi
  1. Distance: 0.47mi
  2. Distance: 0.47mi
  3. Distance: 0.48mi
  4. Distance: 0.60mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.47mi
  2. Distance: 0.47mi
  3. Distance: 0.48mi
  4. Distance: 0.60mi
  1. Distance: 0.47mi
  2. Distance: 0.47mi
  3. Distance: 0.48mi
  4. Distance: 0.60mi

About Blackwall Hitch

A dining experience blending the area’s finest in tastes & talents, Blackwall Hitch is a coastally inspired concept that creates a local connection. Here you’ll find seasonally driven and locally sourced food and spirits, great local music and the area’s friendliest staff and patrons. With each visit as you take in the local flavor, we guarantee you’ll be hook in no time. Get hooked on the flavor.

400 Sixth Street
Annapolis, MD 21403
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Sunday - 10:00am - 12:00 am
Monday - Wednesday: 11:00am - 12:00am
Thursday - Saturday: 11:00am - 2:00am

Cross Street:
Sixth and Severn

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 263-3454

Website:
http://theblackwallhitch.com/

Entertainment:
Live Music Wednesday - Saturday Night and Sunday Jazz Brunch.

Parking Details:
We are pleased to offer parking to all Blackwall Hitch patrons. Our parking lot is located directly behind the restaurant off Severn Avenue.

Executive Chef:
Chef Jonathan Seningen

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Reserve one of our private rooms for your next special occasion. We can accommodate a variety of events in our beautifully appointed dining rooms. From bridal luncheons to rehearsal dinners to family reunions and graduations, our special events manager will guide you through every step of your special event or dining request.

Specials

Cinco de Mayo - Special Menus & Offers

Friday, May 5, 2017

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Cinco de Mayo - Special Menus & Offers

Friday, May 5, 2017

Details

Join us for an all day Cinco de Mayo specialty menu featuring margaritas and a taco trio of short rib, cilantro lime shrimp and mahi mahi.

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Details

Give the mom in your life the celebration she deserves this year. Show Mom some extra love this year and reserve a table for the family to enjoy our incredible brunch spread. Custom omelettes, fresh pastries and mimosas are awaiting the mom in your life at Blackwall Hitch from 10am-3:30pm.

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon - Thu 12:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 2:00PM

Private Dining

Reserve one of our private rooms for your next special occasion. We can accommodate a variety of events in our beautifully appointed dining rooms. From bridal luncheons to rehearsal dinners to family reunions and graduations, our special events manager will guide you through every step.

Blackwall Hitch Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (32)
Special Occasion (28)
Great for Brunch (24)
See All
Casual (23)
Good for Birthdays (20)
Worth the Drive (18)
Romantic (17)
Good for Anniversaries (17)
Creative Cuisine (17)
Fit for Foodies (16)
Good for Groups (16)
Live Music (16)
Private Room (15)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Sunday Lunch (14)
Modern Decor (12)
Bar Seating (12)
Cozy (12)
Fun (12)
Local Ingredients (11)
Business Meals (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Happy Hour (10)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Hot Spot (8)
Comfort Food (8)
People Watching (7)
Great for Lunch (7)
Authentic (7)
Family Style (6)
Notable Wine List (5)
Fireplace (5)
Open Kitchen (4)
Healthy (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Kid-friendly (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Waterfront (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Dancing (3)
Historic (3)
Scenic View (3)
Tapas (2)
Great Beer (2)
Seasonal (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Spicy (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sort By:
S
428 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Really missed having the Prime Rib. The Top Round option was a disappointment

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 23, 2017

We drove from Feasterville, PA to meet my sister and brother-in-law from Sterling, VA and my daughter from Newport News, VA for Sunday Brunch. It was as close to a halfway point as we find with a brunch that sounded like it worth the drive. Blackwall Hitch was worth the 7 hours, 3 hours and 8 hours of driving! We all enjoyed ourselves. Everything we ate was prepared perfectly. The mimosas were well made and our glasses were always refilled. The live music was enjoyable and the wait staff was extremely attentive. If we ever decide on Annapolis as a meeting point again, we will definitely go back. As there is a location closer to my sister, there is a very real possibility that they will be trying that location too and a good chance we'll get to go with them. It was the best brunch we've been to since 700 Water Street in Washington, DC closed over a decade ago. It was a great day!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Fun, Live Music, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 22, 2017

My chocolate chip cookie skillet was DELICIOUSLY amazing!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 22, 2017

While I loved the cozy feel of the restaurant, I did not think that the food (at least what we ordered) was worth the expense. The calamari was amazing, but the mahi mahi tacos were very salty. I was also looking forward to trying the clam pizza, but it was extremely spicy and I did not enjoy it. Overall- I would go back, but would definitely order something different!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Beautiful weather, so we sat on the rooftop. Great old school music playing in the background. Regina (our server) was very engaging and offered great suggestions. The Figgy-Mule was awesome. Crab cake was good. He enjoyed the lamb chops. Since it was his pre-birthday dinner, ended the night with traditional Smith Island cake (very good). Will definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Loved the decor! The menu sounded so great on line but I was a bit skeptical when we arrived and saw that it was all pre-printed in color with pictures. That made me feel that we were in a chain restaurant.
Bacon wrapped chicken tenderloin app was over cooked and dry. Seafood salad had two over cook shrimp and scallops that were 1/4" thick. Dressing was so light that it had no flavor. However, my husband did enjoy the osso bucco.

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 17, 2017

We came for my 22nd birthday and had an absolutely wonderful time. The boyfriend and I came in a little earlier than our reservation to get some work done on our laptops before the rest of our party got there for lunch and it was not a problem! (Albeit it was lunch time and not too crowded)

It was a rainy afternoon- and as soon as we got in and dried our feet- the hostess told us to put our umbrellas in the basket as not to "get his floors wet"

Not the most professional way to greet your customers in my opinion as soon as they get in the door, but we'll write it off to a misunderstanding.

Once we were seated and situated- our waiter, Marc, took good care of us! He was absolutely excellent. He explained the whole menu to us- page by page. Very attentive, detail-oriented and personable!

The food came out fast- and it was fresh. $12 lunchboards were a sweet deal. We chose not to go with dessert this time, but Marc still brought out chocolate covered old bay crabs as a little aftermeal treat.

Good ambiance! The boyfriend and I will be sure to come back to visit the harbor in the summertime and will dine out on the rooftop, and make sure to say hello to Marc!

Tags: Family Style, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Went for Easter dinner and though it was pricey, it was very very good. Very different tastes for the pallet.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Please note that the normal or regular menu is not available during brunch. Did not go for brunch but had to eat from the brunch set up. Brunch is approximately $35-40 per person.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 16, 2017

The Sunday brunch included live jazz entertainment which made it most enjoyable. The food was first rate. It was well- prepared. I'm certainly looking forward to returning. 😎

Tags: Casual, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 10, 2017

What a nice surprise! Our first visit for our 21st anniversary. We sampled a bunch of different things. No disappointments. The swordfish...yum! Definitely going back!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 9, 2017

We arrived right on time for our 12:45 reservation for Sunday Brunch but were not seated until a little after 1. The hostesses explained that since the brunch includes unlimited mimosas many people tend to linger a while. That, combined with the very comfortable sofas that we were seated at, I could very well believe. If we had not been anxious to do some sight-seeing in Annapolis, I could easily have spent a very pleasant afternoon there. I don't really care for fish or seafood other than shrimp and the shrimp I had was excellent - probably as fresh as I have ever had. The chicken was good - not great but good. My husband had the prime rib which he said was very good and my son thoroughly enjoyed the waffles. Usually pastries at a buffet are not good but I was surprised that the ones at Blackwall Hitch were very good. I have read other reviews commenting on the noise level but I didn't think it was at all bad. It certainly was no worse than any other packed restaurant at Sunday brunch. I had no difficulty hearing or being heard by my table mates. Also, the service here was great. Drink refills were brought before our glasses were empty and when I commented to the waiter that I didn't see the chicken, he brought me a generous plate of chicken. I am looking forward to eating here again on our next visit to Annapolis.

Tags: Casual, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Brunch was great. Lots of tables but not too loud. Great ambiance. Good food. Bottomless mimosas!

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 1, 2017

This was our second and last time to give them a try. Food is not that good and service was slow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 31, 2017

The food here was excellent, and worth the cost, but, especially for someone with a rather small salary, this is not the kind of place we could visit often.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Went here for a Sunday brunch. You wont go wrong with this place. AMAZING food & GREAT service.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Very noisy, so don't come here if you want to have conversation. It is a bustling atmosphere. Good food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Went here with family that was in town on Saturday morning for an early lunch. Our waiter was great along with the ambiance. The food is always great here along with drinks. The food was great and dessert was fantastic. A few at the table had some of the signature hot chocolates, one hazelnut and the other smores, they were pretty decadent and would highly recommend along with the pineapple upside down cake for dessert. There were 2 private parties going on but we really could not tell, great atmosphere.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Private Room, Great for Lunch, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Bountiful menu offerings; great value for the price.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Fantastic experience! The food was great, both in quality and selection. The ambiance and service were fantastic. Finally, you can't beat the price point for their Sunday brunch offering.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 19, 2017

The food at brunch is fine. There is a lot to choose from. Nothing special. It's a buffet and it's quite expensive for what you get. It might make sense for someone who can eat three plates, but I think I'll stick with non-buffet options for brunch going forward.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Super fast service, quality food, and a great overall experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 18, 2017

The swordfish steaks were rubbery.
The oysters were as small as I've ever seen served, anywhere.
The filet was served warm, not hot.
And the band locked the men's room door behind them on their break.

Tags: Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 18, 2017

I have to say that I love their brunch more so than lunch or dinner. I've tried all, now but really love the brunch.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Great for Brunch, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 17, 2017

We have had much better experiences in the past, but this was just plain bad. In addition to risotto that was so undercooked that it was crunchy and fish that was so under-seasoned that it tasted like cardboard, the entire meal was barely lukewarm. Had we been able to get a server's attention, we might have sent it all back and gone somewhere else, but ours was not a corner of the dining room that the servers cared to visit very often. To top it all off, the specialty cocktail of the evening (St. Patrick's Day) had so little Irish whiskey in it that it barely altered the shade of an otherwise bland lemonade. Certainly will not be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Impromptu dinner with friends dear friends was even more enjoyable at Blackwall Hitch. The shrimp appetizer was fantastic. Our server was not only knowledgeable about the menu but gave onpoint recommendations about both wine and beer pairings. We were all impressed with her service. My daughter tried all the raw oyster selections and enjoyed them. I recommend the shrimp and grits! We lingered over conversation, coffee and dessert and never felt rushed. On our way out of the restaurant, our server realized that one of our group forgot his leftovers. She took the time to bring the bag out to us. Blacwall in an Annapolis favorite which has that perfect combination of great food, warm atmosphere and exceptional service!! Be sure to make reservations especially in the high tourism months. Enjoy!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Me and my group of friends had an amazing time at dinner and after dinner at the bar...singing and dancing!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 11, 2017

We really like the décor here and had very good service at both the bar and out table. The Maître D is always sort of problematic and unfriendly here although the young girls at the front desk are sweet. The food is actually the weak spot being somewhat average on most of our visits. We would go more if the food were to improve a bit. A good local spot with character.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 11, 2017

The food was delicious the only issue we had was when I told them I had a reservation through Open Table they kind of all look at each other perplexed like they didn't know I was talking about but they still seated us

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 9, 2017

I truly enjoyed my first time at Blackwell Hitch. The decor was country chic and the food was good.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Outstanding Value, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Excellent as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Drinks in the bar started great but the server at the table, though pleasant and polite, was slow. The $43 porterhouse looked like a flattened flank steak and we sent it back. My shrimp and grits was fine, nothing amazing. The food is overpriced for what you get.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 26, 2017

We have visited all locations and thought this one was the most romantic and cozy compared to the rest.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Food was good, but portions were small (3 carrots as a side). The chocolate torte was very rich.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Business Meals, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Great date with my wife. It was also Restaurant Week for Annapolis. The restaurant was a bit loud but the food was great.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Great Beer, Hot Spot, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 25, 2017

My friend and I enjoyed a great girls brunch on Saturday. We originally went for the restaurant week menu but opted for the regular menu instead. Our server Shelton was all smiles and very accommodating. The hostess was pleasant and gave us a tour of the restaurant and private dining spaces.
Definitely recommend this place!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 25, 2017

It was a little too noisy for us but we will go back. Possibly try eating in the bar area which was much less crowded on a Friday night.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Had a very nice dinner during restaurant week. I got the lump crab mac & cheese and it was AWESOME! My girlfriend got the shrimp & grits and it was also very good. Being restaurant week we took advantage of the special 3 course meal and we both left stuffed, so our decision to walk was a good one. I can't remember our server's name but she was GREAT! Very helpful with recommendations, very attentive throughout our meal, and she knew better than us and suggested we sit and wait for the meal to settle before she brought the desert. When we were ready we just let her know and the plates showed up in no time.

Overall I would definitely suggest that anyone try this place and I can't wait to go back during warmer weather to dine outside!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Visited for my wife's birthday. Specifically requested a dessert with a candle for my wife. They never even acknowledged it was her birthday nor was there any type of dessert offered.

We ordered the calamari for our appetizer. It was good, but the breading was very salty. For the main course my wife got the steak which she liked. I got the fish & chips. The chips were good but the fish was soggy. Definitely left a lot to be desired.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 22, 2017

The food, the decor, and the service was impeccable. My only note (which will not stop me from returning) is the music. They played classic rock all evening. It did not fit with the seaside upscale comfort the restaurant provided.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.