Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.47mi
  2. Distance: 0.47mi
  3. Distance: 0.48mi
  4. Distance: 0.60mi
  1. Distance: 0.47mi
  2. Distance: 0.47mi
  3. Distance: 0.48mi
  4. Distance: 0.60mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.47mi
  2. Distance: 0.47mi
  3. Distance: 0.48mi
  4. Distance: 0.60mi
  1. Distance: 0.47mi
  2. Distance: 0.47mi
  3. Distance: 0.48mi
  4. Distance: 0.60mi

About Blackwall Hitch

A dining experience blending the area’s finest in tastes & talents, Blackwall Hitch is a coastally inspired concept that creates a local connection. Here you’ll find seasonally driven and locally sourced food and spirits, great local music and the area’s friendliest staff and patrons. With each visit as you take in the local flavor, we guarantee you’ll be hook in no time. Get hooked on the flavor.

400 Sixth Street
Annapolis, MD 21403
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Sunday - 10:00am - 12:00 am
Monday - Wednesday: 11:00am - 12:00am
Thursday - Saturday: 11:00am - 2:00am

Cross Street:
Sixth and Severn

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 263-3454

Website:
http://theblackwallhitch.com/

Entertainment:
Live Music Wednesday - Saturday Night and Sunday Jazz Brunch.

Parking Details:
We are pleased to offer parking to all Blackwall Hitch patrons. Our parking lot is located directly behind the restaurant off Severn Avenue.

Executive Chef:
Chef Jonathan Seningen

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Reserve one of our private rooms for your next special occasion. We can accommodate a variety of events in our beautifully appointed dining rooms. From bridal luncheons to rehearsal dinners to family reunions and graduations, our special events manager will guide you through every step of your special event or dining request.

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 7:45PM - 10:00PM

Mon - Fri 11:00AM - 11:45AM 12:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 2:00PM 5:00PM - 6:15PM 7:15PM - 10:00PM

Private Dining

Reserve one of our private rooms for your next special occasion. We can accommodate a variety of events in our beautifully appointed dining rooms. From bridal luncheons to rehearsal dinners to family reunions and graduations, our special events manager will guide you through every step.

Blackwall Hitch Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (22)
Special Occasion (20)
Great for Brunch (20)
See All
Fun (19)
Casual (17)
Worth the Drive (15)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Good for Birthdays (14)
Great for Outdoor Dining (14)
Great for Lunch (13)
Good for Groups (13)
Live Music (11)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Cozy (10)
Bar Seating (10)
Modern Decor (9)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Romantic (8)
Local Ingredients (8)
Happy Hour (8)
Scenic View (8)
Business Meals (8)
Hot Spot (8)
People Watching (7)
Private Room (7)
Authentic (7)
Family Style (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Seasonal (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Waterfront (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Great Beer (2)
Historic (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Tapas (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Healthy (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Comfort Food (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Live Sports (1)
Fireplace (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort By:
S
464 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 3 days ago

We went for Sunday brunch. Excellent food and mimosas while listening to live music.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Bar Seating, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 4 days ago

Gracious staff, good service, average food

Outside dining might be worth exploring provided view extends beyond the street

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined 5 days ago

Service was great as was the food - many choices and all were awesome!

Tags: Great Beer, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 18, 2017

We went there for dinner on Father's Day. We had a a 6 pm reservation and arrived at 5:50 pm and we're seated right away. We ordered mussels for an appetizer. The waitress brought out two seafood forks for three people seated at the table. When we went to use a standard size fork, we realized that we didn't have silverware for each person. We had to ask the waitress twice for additional silverware before she actually brought it over. In fact, one time when she came back to the table without the silverware she stated, "It's ok, I'll bring it over before your food gets here." After completing the appetizer (we'd been seated for approximately 45 minutes), the waitress came to apologize for food taking so long. 10 minutes later she came back to say that food would be another "10 minutes or so." When the food finally arrived, my husband's french fries were cold and had no hints of the rosemary that they claim to be seasoned with and my Cajun Penne was bland. The only spice came from the sausage. When we asked for the dessert menu, the ordered the chocolate chip skillet cookie, which we were informed was sold out.
Blackwall Hitch is a moderately priced restaurant, but the service and taste of the food left much to be desired. I don't have to go back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 17, 2017

The whole bronzino was phenomenal and the portions were amble as well as an excellent value. Although the noise level was high it did not detract from an overall great experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 17, 2017

As always, food was excellent!

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 15, 2017

We dined on the roof and it was a perfect night for it. Service was excellent, the food, delicious.

Tags: Fun, Live Music, Authentic, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Our waiter Mark was very good. The brunch as always was wonderful!! We are never disappointed!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Live Music, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Great meal, great wait staff, and overall great feel to the place.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 9, 2017

First time guests and we really enjoyed it. Had some drinks at the bar first to try out the happy hour. Very welcoming and we started a conversation with a regular that owns the spa next door. After our drinks we went upstairs to the deck for some food. Ordered the shrimp appetizer that was rich and filling with the grilled bread. Highly recommended. Also ordered the French fry flight which was a nice salty treat. Came with three different sauces and I'm all about that. Had several drinks to pair with our light fare. Ended with the fresh baked cookie in the cast iron and some White Russians. Loved both the bar and roof deck. Great scene. Overall great spot and will be returning to try out some other options.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Our Food and Service was great! The dessert - Smith Island Cake (Coconut and Carrot) is something I would not get again. Neither the Coconut nor Carrot taste good.

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 2, 2017

This place never disappoints. They do seafood extraordinarily, of course, but pretty much everything we have ever had here is amazing. Service is always great, happy hour prices are also great but dinner here is the best. It's a no brainer for out of town guests with their spacious parking lot. The deck in nice weather is also a treat. Love this place.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 28, 2017

I eat out a lot. The service, and food were way below mediocre. Would not recommend. It was not even busy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Service is always top notch! Sunday brunch always taste great....hard to find anything wrong.
I recommend this to all of my friends!

Tags: Cozy, Live Music, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 23, 2017

Our server suggested a shrimp appetizer and it was great! We both loved our enetrees, soft-shell crab and mahi-mahi tacos. A very pleasant atmosphere for a business lunch.

Tags: Cozy, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Food was amazing, waitress was super nice and I love the interior design-super fun and trendy modern coastal decor-loved it!

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Fun, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Our server Sarah was great! She was the only one working the Crows Nest and was clearly busy but was still able to give us the attention we needed.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Seated under air conditioner, hostess didn't try to help find another less freezing area, we independently found another table that was not under direct air flow but had to switch ourselves, the new waitress forgot an order and spilled water on our table and guests TWICE, prime rib was only 1/8" thick and over cooked (ordered medium rare), most of the food was too salty and the food was too expensive for the quality. We drove a long way though a storm to celebrate a birthday and this special night was most memorable for the poor choice in dining. There were only 6 of us but the waitress didn't receive any help until it was too late to salvage the night. The manager came out twice but again too many excuses too late in our experience.

Tags: Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Blackwall always pleases with the excellent service, attentive staff and innovative and fresh menu items. Blackwall is my go-to place for client meetings and dinners as well as a relaxing and fun spot for a night out with my spouse. Also a special note about their special events manager, Darcy - she is top notch. I can always count on her and her team to deliver for my private groups I book there for my company. A favorite spot for both business and leisure in beautiful downtown Annapolis - what more can you ask for?

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Private Room, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The restaurant changed the menu right before Mother's Day and it was a bit confusing for the staff. The didn't have the wine we wanted nor the steak that one person in our party wanted. The beer on draft was warm so had to take bottles and the bartender couldn't find Campari for my cocktail so had to order something else.

Having said all that, I would recommend the restaurant for quality and prep of food, location and ambiance.

Tags: Fun, Happy Hour, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Family Style, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Birthday and Mother's Day

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Enjoyed a great Mothers Day brunch. Buffett had plenty of options and the ambiance was ideal. the jazz band was excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 13, 2017

I like this restaurant vey much but this past Saturday night we didn't have good service. We had a reservation but still waited 1/2 hour to sit down. Then we were seated and it was extremely loud- but we were moved to another table after I made the request. The food was pretty good, but to great.

Tags: Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Extremely loud on a Saturday night. The acoustics of the building are such that the nose level is abnormally loud, you can't hear your company across the table. Ordered the two specials lamb with scallops and braided pork shank neither came with any seasoning or sauce so they were bland. The sides were okay nothing exceptional overall not impressed with the two dishes we received. The booth was almost impossible to get into and out of and are very uncomfortable to sit at because of their design. The waitress was covering for someone who was late and was constantly forgetting something or delivering everything late. It was Saturday night and she was very nice and it seemed like a hip place to get drinks. Probably won't go back but it would have been better with different dinners and when it was slower.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Mother's Day lunch. Everyone enjoyed their food and desserts. Waiter was great.

Tags: Modern Decor, Fun, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Excellent Mother's Day weekend Saturday lunch for my family. Excellent food: lamb chops, hamburgers, salads and desserts.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 13, 2017

My daughter and I went for lunch to celebrate her birthday. We loved the food and the atmosphere. We look forward to going back at night for outdoor rooftop dining and live music😊Thank you for a lovely day!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Cozy, Late-night Find, Private Room, Business Meals, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Food was good. Service was great. A little noisy but not terrible. Rockfish was out of this world.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Great lunch menu that's only $12. Beautiful atmosphere. Convenient parking which is tough in Annapolis.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Our waitress Heather was outstanding, the price was WOW, shocked at the price. We honestly thought gratuity was added or maybe our dear server mad a mistake but nope, extremely overpriced. Disappointed in that, so much so that I doubt we would go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Fun and casual restaurant with family and friends!
Parking available too!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Great brunch! The food, bottomless mimosas, service and selection of music played during was all fabulous. Will definitely be going again, make reservations if you want to sit on the dining room side (its quiet and allows more conversation)!

Tags: Waterfront, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Food and drinks were phenomenal! Enjoyed the frietd green tomatoes topped with crab and the scallops--so delicious. Sevice was impecable. Our server was Damion(sp) and he accommodated all our funky requests.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 30, 2017

The waitress seemed a little flighty and/or high. She contradicted herself about asking the Chef if I would be able to substitute an item in one of their Dishes for the day. Saying; "I would not be able to get the substitute because they were out to the item". But she suggested an entree that included the item I chose as a substitute. Which left me with the impression that she failed to ask the Chef and instead of saying so, she lied. The restaurant was out of their most expensive dinner entree, which was my second choice. I summons for the Manager on duty, and after explaining to him the situation, he speaking with the Chef and returning with an explanation. He was able to facilitate me having my First selected entree with an apology.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Great service and food was excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Although the servers were fantastic, they kept apologizing be they had no support staff and believe me, we could tell. Things were a bit disorganized from start to finish. The food was good but overall just an average night.

Tags: Modern Decor, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Really missed having the Prime Rib. The Top Round option was a disappointment

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 23, 2017

We drove from Feasterville, PA to meet my sister and brother-in-law from Sterling, VA and my daughter from Newport News, VA for Sunday Brunch. It was as close to a halfway point as we find with a brunch that sounded like it worth the drive. Blackwall Hitch was worth the 7 hours, 3 hours and 8 hours of driving! We all enjoyed ourselves. Everything we ate was prepared perfectly. The mimosas were well made and our glasses were always refilled. The live music was enjoyable and the wait staff was extremely attentive. If we ever decide on Annapolis as a meeting point again, we will definitely go back. As there is a location closer to my sister, there is a very real possibility that they will be trying that location too and a good chance we'll get to go with them. It was the best brunch we've been to since 700 Water Street in Washington, DC closed over a decade ago. It was a great day!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Fun, Live Music, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 22, 2017

My chocolate chip cookie skillet was DELICIOUSLY amazing!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 22, 2017

While I loved the cozy feel of the restaurant, I did not think that the food (at least what we ordered) was worth the expense. The calamari was amazing, but the mahi mahi tacos were very salty. I was also looking forward to trying the clam pizza, but it was extremely spicy and I did not enjoy it. Overall- I would go back, but would definitely order something different!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.