Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.47mi
  2. Distance: 0.47mi
  3. Distance: 0.48mi
  4. Distance: 0.60mi
  1. Distance: 0.47mi
  2. Distance: 0.47mi
  3. Distance: 0.48mi
  4. Distance: 0.60mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.47mi
  2. Distance: 0.47mi
  3. Distance: 0.48mi
  4. Distance: 0.60mi
  1. Distance: 0.47mi
  2. Distance: 0.47mi
  3. Distance: 0.48mi
  4. Distance: 0.60mi

About Blackwall Hitch

A dining experience blending the area’s finest in tastes & talents, Blackwall Hitch is a coastally inspired concept that creates a local connection. Here you’ll find seasonally driven and locally sourced food and spirits, great local music and the area’s friendliest staff and patrons. With each visit as you take in the local flavor, we guarantee you’ll be hook in no time. Get hooked on the flavor.

400 Sixth Street
Annapolis, MD 21403
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Sunday - 10:00am - 12:00 am
Monday - Wednesday: 11:00am - 12:00am
Thursday - Saturday: 11:00am - 2:00am

Cross Street:
Sixth and Severn

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 263-3454

Website:
http://theblackwallhitch.com/

Entertainment:
Live Music Wednesday - Saturday Night and Sunday Jazz Brunch.

Parking Details:
We are pleased to offer parking to all Blackwall Hitch patrons. Our parking lot is located directly behind the restaurant off Severn Avenue.

Executive Chef:
Chef Jonathan Seningen

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Reserve one of our private rooms for your next special occasion. We can accommodate a variety of events in our beautifully appointed dining rooms. From bridal luncheons to rehearsal dinners to family reunions and graduations, our special events manager will guide you through every step of your special event or dining request.

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 4:00PM - 9:00PM

Mon - Thu 11:00AM - 2:00PM 4:00PM - 9:00PM

Fri - Sat 11:00AM - 2:00PM

Private Dining

Reserve one of our private rooms for your next special occasion. We can accommodate a variety of events in our beautifully appointed dining rooms. From bridal luncheons to rehearsal dinners to family reunions and graduations, our special events manager will guide you through every step.

Blackwall Hitch Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

Noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (24)
Good for Birthdays (22)
Good for Groups (22)
See All
Good for a Date (20)
Casual (16)
Fun (16)
Good for Anniversaries (15)
Great for Brunch (15)
Live Music (15)
Bar Seating (14)
Vibrant Bar Scene (13)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Romantic (12)
Great for Lunch (12)
Worth the Drive (12)
Sunday Lunch (12)
Cozy (11)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Happy Hour (10)
Authentic (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Business Meals (8)
Comfort Food (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Healthy (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Great Beer (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Live Sports (2)
People Watching (2)
Scenic View (2)
Seasonal (2)
Spicy (2)
Vegan (2)
Waterfront (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort by
S
553 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 3 days ago

I took my wife there for her birthday party and she had lots of fun. The restaurant was crowded and lively. A live band was there playing a few minutes after we arrived. The food was great. However, I had made note in my reservation of the occasion and there were no acknowledgement as such. I would visit again but not for any special occasion as it was lost on the restaurant management to pay attention to that kind of detail. At least a happy birthday from the manager or waiter would be appropriate and appreciated. Do not expect the restaurant to assist in your celebration. For that, you will be on your own.

Tags: Healthy, Notable Wine List, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 3 days ago

The waitress as new but she did a nice job considering that fact.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 6, 2017

Took a long time to get a server but once we did she was fine. Pork osso bocco was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 3, 2017

We were here for a birthday. The restaurant was very busy, holiday parties clearly had begun. Our waitress was very attentive and the food was good.

Tags: Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 26, 2017

This place was Absolutely Awesome! We were there for Sunday Brunch and everything from the food to the service TOP NOTCH!!!!

Tags: Bar Seating, Great for Brunch, Fun, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 26, 2017

It is very nice inside. I like the private rooms and the bar area is nice. The food is just average and on the high side. We did enjoy the Shrimp starter dish.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

 
·Dined on November 23, 2017

...wanted to do something outside of the box with the family for Thanksgiving...okay, okay, I did not want to cook! : )

But! Really...We all enjoyed the food, the décor, the friendly wait staff, etc.

We will return again for sure!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 21, 2017

My wife and I had dinner after a long day traveling. It lifted our spirits. The food and service were both exceptional. My wife enjoyed the Day Boat Scallops and I had the branzino. It was the best I've had. Paired with a bottle of New Zealand Sauvignon Blanc, at half price on Monday, we were very pleased.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 20, 2017

My birthday. Even though I noted that on open table when I made the reservation, the restaurant staff never mentioned a birthday greeting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on November 19, 2017

My birthday brunch was fantastic! The service was excellent. The food was amazing! My girlfriends and I love everything about Blackwall Hitch. It was definitely a birthday celebration to remember.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Live Music, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Fun, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 18, 2017

Been to the one in Alexandria before and I'll never go back . The Annapolis location, however, was fantastic. Organized, great food and service.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 15, 2017

What Blackwall may lack a bit in food quality it more than makes up for in service. I have been there twice; both times, something I ate was a little sub-par. (The rest of what I ate was quite good!) But the staff is tremendously accommodating, compensating us generously when there was a mishap with a broken plate on the first visit and gifting us not one, but two special compliments for my friend's birthday on the second.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 12, 2017

After being seated, there was no service at our table - it was crickets for almost 15 mins; and other patrons were getting taken care of. One of our guests quipped at a nearby busser, and Bryan appeared.

He graciously apologized, and said he’d stand in until they determined who would handle our party. Bryan ended up waiting on us for the evening, and turned a rough start into a terrific dining experience. He was quick with the details, offered suggestions and pairings, and had a witty sense of humor. He reminded us of the professional waiters you often experience in New Orleans.

The food is well prepared, delicious flavors and the menu offers a wide variety of options. It did not disappoint anyone.

We did not make it into the bar area, but it is spacious and looked vibrant. We plan to return soon, and have added it to our short list of Annapolis area eateries.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 12, 2017

Food was incredibleeee and those mimosas are everything. #brunchallday

Tags: Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 12, 2017

This was the first time for my husband and I coming here. I was happy there was parking. We were seated quickly and the hostesses were very sweet. Brunch food was good. We had a little bit of everything. Our waiter Nic was very attentive and kept the mimosas flowing. It was definitely a good value.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 12, 2017

It was a loud evening after a home Navy football game so the place was packed. We met friends we hadn't seen in quite some time so it took us a while to place our dinner order after drinks and appetizers. Nick S was very accommodating and patient with us despite being busy.He was on his game. Fun place with lots of energy and live music later in the evening.
The only drawback was difficulty parking. There is a good sized parking lot but many people had taken up two spaces with one car. Not sure where you can park if the lot is full other than in downtown Annapolis.

Tags: Quick Bite, Fun, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on November 11, 2017

I was there for my mom's 75th birthday. Party of six and was seated in a semi private room. Loved the privacy. Excellent service and great food!!!

Tags: Casual, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 11, 2017

Good food, great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 5, 2017

Great menu but food was not flavorful. Nice staff. I may try brunch to make sure this was not one-off situation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

 
·Dined on November 5, 2017

Excellent food, but we came for the live jazz and were seated in a room away from the stage, right under a speaker loudly blaring ‘80s rock. We were the first patrons to arrive so this made little sense. It also seemed like an insult to the musicians.

Tags: Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined on November 4, 2017

This was my first time dining at Blackwall Hitch, but it sure won't be my last. The food was amazing. I was concerned about how service would be sitting in the bar area (we were there for the band). Service could not have been better. Everyone was friendly, prompt, a pleasure!

Tags: Fun, Authentic, Live Music, People Watching, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on November 4, 2017

The waitress rushed us and came to take the plates before we were finished eating. They were very busy. Food otherwise was ok.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
·Dined on November 3, 2017

Great food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 3, 2017

On our first visit here we were pleasantly surprised with the comfortable decor ( we loved the open kitchen, overstuffed booths, upscale lighting, modern nautical design, attractive bar and bar area with high back chairs), fireplace, live music in the bar area and were treated to excellent service in the dining area. The menu tries hard with meat, seafood, organic, gluten- free and vegan selections. Complimentary cornbread muffins (too sweet for me) and I chose the raw oyster appetizer and my partner chose the wings. My oysters were tiny (there were 6) but the flavor was good: 3 each Blue Point and Blackwall. Our server was new but she was very pleasant and worked hard to make sure we were happy. The wings were the best I've had anywhere in the area. I especially loved the sweet chili ones which were tender and juicy, not overcooked, fresh and tasty (we love these so much we took an order home). The crab cake platter (36$) was substantial, lots of crabmeat and served with their signature rosemary fries, also good. We also tried the fried zucchini stack served with marinara. These were fine (arranged like a jenga puzzle) but expensive at $9. For drinks, we tried the kettle one dirty martini served with blue cheese olives and a splash of Sriracha (they were called something else). These were great (11$) Overall we were pleased with our dining experience and I would recommend to try it. Can be crowded and parking is difficult however on a Friday night. We had overlooked this restaurant previously and are glad we took a chance and discovered it. Good Live music in the comfortable bar area. We will be back.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Great Beer, Cozy, Bar Seating, Casual
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 31, 2017

Went on Halloween so the place was pretty empty. The food was great. Steak frites and seafood paella! The paella was more gumbo, but still good. Our waiter, Brian, was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
·Dined on October 29, 2017

Everything was absolutely wonderful; the food, environment, quick attentive service, great music, etc. The only thing I would say was a lil bit irritating was that they advertise the Sunday brunch as a "jazz" Sunday brunch; however, the only time you could hear the jazz band was when you were in the bar area where the omelet station was. It the next room where we were seated, they had house music on so we couldn't hear the jazz music which was part of the reason we wanted to do the brunch. Other than that, fabulous!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 22, 2017

Enjoyed, look forward to coming back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on October 18, 2017

Service was outstanding. Really wonderful staff. Food was great too.

Tags: Fun, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 15, 2017

Busy nite with a large catered party getting preference. Just 2 of us. Waited 25 minutes for cocktails. Long wait for appetizers and entrees. They were out of both of our wine choices too. They gave us drinks, appetizers and dessert for free. We were there for 2 hours. Not the anniversary dinner we had expected. Our server Hillary tried to make it better, bless her ❤.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 13, 2017

I had a group of friends come for the weekend and we made a reservation. I have been to this restaraunt several times before, thats why I picked it again. Unfortunately, all that could go wrong did that night. It was a very busy weekend, not unexpected, however, the restaurant rolled out a new menu and things went poorly. The waitress did not know the menu very well and told us it was a new menu. She did not write down our orders correctly, so one person in our party did not get her food for almost 25 minutes after ours. 3 people did not get the right food, and 2 of the same dishes came out completely different. Drink orders were way off and ended in incorrect checks. They did however offer deserts, and took off one meal. When the check came it had to be adjusted 2 times. We spent almost 3 hours there.
On the bright side, we did have a fairly private room away from a very noisy dining room. My friends did like the ambiance of the restaurant, and I will come back at a much slower time, not dinner rush.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on October 11, 2017

Enjoyed oysters, shared a crab cake dinner. Food was average. Waitress was a little over the top. New trainee was tagging along. She was so chatty & attentive, it was annoying. The place is tired & unappealing. Could use the experts of "Restaurant Makeover". Ugly black booths, felt damp & clammy! No pun intended. I would pick another place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 7, 2017

The food was a bit on the salty side - luckily this wasn’t a problem for me, but some of it was inedible for my husband. I’d also suggest a bit more attentiveness to the restrooms. This is the second time in as many visits that I’ve had to report no toilet paper in the ladies room.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 24, 2017

Our waiter was very freindly, attentive and went above and beyond to make sure everything was satisfactory. The atmosphere of the restaurant was very welcoming, relaxing and, the decor was very representative of the area. Menu is not over powering and the portions are amazing. Prices are extremely reasonable. We will be returning.

Tags: Comfort Food, Authentic, Paleo Friendly, Spicy, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 24, 2017

We came for birthday brunch for my sister and thoroughly enjoyed the experience! The waitress was wonderful and a lovely lady even checked on us to see if everything was alright. I have already told my friends about the restaurant and we are making plans now to come for brunch. We also loved the live jazz!!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Afternoon Coffee, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Live Music, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 24, 2017

The food was very good. Sidney was attentive and enthusiastic. Very enjoyable experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 24, 2017

Never disappointing!!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on September 24, 2017

Excellent brunch buffet!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 23, 2017

The restaurant was overbooked and even though we had a reservation, our seating was not that great. That being said, it was a very busy night all over Annapolis. Would like to go there, not n a Saturday night. Waitress was terrific and food came out quickly. Soup and fish I had was very good.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 23, 2017

Excellent atmosphere food and service the location was great parking was tough if you arrive after 500 pm

Tags: Late-night Find, Vegan, Healthy, Cozy, Hot Spot, Great Beer, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 21, 2017

From the moment when we arrived at the door, I knew we should have just left. We were greeted by a hostess who had her iPhone earbuds in her ears and was listening to music and not paying attention. We waited patiently until she finally looked up. I told her our name and she then removed one earbud and asked me to repeat what I said. She then quickly moved us directly next to a table of a party of 8. The group was extremely loud and used the "f" bomb as frequently as they could with no one from the restaurant asking them to stop. Our waiter was apologetic for them and he did pay attention to us but the first impression was a lasting one...one that says I will never return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.