About Blackwall Hitch

400 Sixth Street
Annapolis, MD 21403
View Larger Map

A dining experience blending the area’s finest in tastes & talents, Blackwall Hitch is a coastally inspired concept that creates a local connection. Here you’ll find seasonally driven and locally sourced food and spirits, great local music and the area’s friendliest staff and patrons. With each visit as you take in the local flavor, we guarantee you’ll be hook in no time. Get hooked on the flavor.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Sunday - 10:00am - 12:00 am
Monday - Wednesday: 11:00am - 12:00am
Thursday - Saturday: 11:00am - 2:00am

Cross Street:
Sixth and Severn

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 263-3454

Website:
http://theblackwallhitch.com/

Entertainment:
Live Music Wednesday - Saturday Night and Sunday Jazz Brunch.

Parking Details:
We are pleased to offer parking to all Blackwall Hitch patrons. Our parking lot is located directly behind the restaurant off Severn Avenue.

Executive Chef:
Chef Jonathan Seningen

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Reserve one of our private rooms for your next special occasion. We can accommodate a variety of events in our beautifully appointed dining rooms. From bridal luncheons to rehearsal dinners to family reunions and graduations, our special events manager will guide you through every step of your special event or dining request.

Restaurant Photos

  • Bar - Blackwall Hitch, Annapolis, MD
  • Blackwall Hitch, Annapolis, MD
  • Blackwall Hitch, Annapolis, MD
  • Scallop - Blackwall Hitch, Annapolis, MD
  • Burger - Blackwall Hitch, Annapolis, MD
  • Mahi Mahi Tacos - Blackwall Hitch, Annapolis, MD
  • Blackwall Hitch, Annapolis, MD
  • Blackwall Hitch, Annapolis, MD
  • Blackwall Hitch, Annapolis, MD

Report a photo problem

Bar - Blackwall Hitch, Annapolis, MD
Scallop - Blackwall Hitch, Annapolis, MD
Burger - Blackwall Hitch, Annapolis, MD
Mahi Mahi Tacos - Blackwall Hitch, Annapolis, MD

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Details

We are excited to offer a special Valentine's Day dinner menu! The menu will be available Friday, 2/10 - Monday, 2/13 with the regular dinner menu. Tuesday, 2/14 will be the special menu only. Four courses. $79 per person. Reservations required.

Blackwall Hitch Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.3

ambience

4.1

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

79% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Groups (18)
Special Occasion (17)
Good for a Date (15)
See All
Live Music (14)
Great for Brunch (11)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Happy Hour (10)
Bar Seating (10)
Fun (10)
Cozy (9)
Business Meals (9)
Private Room (8)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Great for Lunch (7)
Modern Decor (7)
Casual (7)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Fireplace (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Open Kitchen (5)
Outstanding Value (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Seasonal (4)
Healthy (4)
Romantic (4)
Notable Wine List (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
People Watching (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Waterfront (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Great Beer (2)
Authentic (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Scenic View (1)
Spicy (1)
Historic (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Dancing (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Family Style (1)
Live Sports (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
359 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Wonderful service and fantastic brunch s ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 7 days ago

Wonderful service and fantastic brunch spread

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Live Music, Good for a Date, Family Style, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time at this restaurant and it was ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 13, 2017

First time at this restaurant and it was very good. Great service, great food, and prices were reasonable. I will definitely go back.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Service started out slow to start, but o ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Service started out slow to start, but once wait staff attended - things rolled.

My biggest issue was that the bench seats sit really low. They need to be raised.

This was a brunch meal. Food was excellent. Best Omelette station around. And I personally like the oysters.

Always wished that the brunch jazz band was in the dining area and not the bar area.

Tags: Private Room, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Live Music, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, People Watching, Disabled Access, Special Occasion, Fireplace, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Restaurant was pretty full and the noise ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Restaurant was pretty full and the noise level was high. Conversation across the table was often difficult. The food was good, but overpriced. There were three steaks ordered at our table, one of which was ordered rare and the other two medium rare. They were ALL extremely rare.

The band was fun and danceable, but again, the bar prices were pretty steep. Not sure the the "bang for buck" ratio was great.

Tags: Live Music, Dancing
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

For a New Years Eve reservation, the res ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 1, 2017

For a New Years Eve reservation, the restaurant failed to state, at reservation time, that they were providing a prix fixe menu only. They failed to state the price of said menu was $150 per couple not including beverages or tip. After being seated, our waitress gave us this news and when we finally stopped laughing, she rolled her eyes because apparently we were not the only diners who had been duped like this. So we got up and walked down the street to the Chart House for a great meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

New Years Eve dinner was delicious. Jus ...

 
 (Yosemite)·Dined on January 1, 2017

New Years Eve dinner was delicious. Just downright good food and very good service. Blackwall is one of our favorites.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Fireplace, Happy Hour, Casual, Modern Decor, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Showed up a little before our reservatio ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Showed up a little before our reservation time and were seated right away. The restaurant got pretty busy after 7 pm on a Thursday evening, but our waitress stayed plenty attentive. Food was great, we loved the decor, and will hopefully return in the future!

Tags: Modern Decor, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Vibrant Bar Scene, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Live Music, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The Blackwall Hitch continues to be a fa ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 27, 2016

The Blackwall Hitch continues to be a favorite

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Accommodated our party of 8 at a moments ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Accommodated our party of 8 at a moments notice and provided fantastic service (and food!) to my family.

Have also attended a baby shower and birthday party in the upstairs private room and they did an outstanding job of taking care of everyone. Love this place!

Tags: Modern Decor, Historic, Quick Bite, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Good for Groups, Seasonal, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Server was amazing. Food and atmosphere ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Server was amazing. Food and atmosphere where great as well. Band was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food wasn't that great.

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 17, 2016

The food wasn't that great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service4
value1

The gluten free options are excellent he ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 14, 2016

The gluten free options are excellent here! I had the scallops over risotto- really delicious.

A $12 lunch feature is great value, also. Modern and open dining room.

Tags: Healthy, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our favorite place for dinner and brunch ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Our favorite place for dinner and brunch. My husband and I have celebrated birthdays and anniversaries here! Love the food, the service is great, the live music is a great bonus too! We always have a wonderful time here!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Live Music, Cozy, Romantic, Fireplace, , Disabled Access, Private Room, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

No quiet space anywhere. More of a resta ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 10, 2016

No quiet space anywhere. More of a restaurant for loud parties and groups.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food and ambiance that made for an ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Great food and ambiance that made for an awesome date night! A hip spot in conservative Annapolis that we will check out again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our server Alyssa was friendly, knowledg ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Our server Alyssa was friendly, knowledgeable, and professional. She was prepared to answer any questions and made great recommendations. The manager was also very attentive to the guests and helpful to the staff. All of our entrees had great flavor and we had tasty beverages to go with them. I love the ambiance and decor and the live music is an awesome feature! We will definitely be returning!

Tags: Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Open Kitchen, Live Music, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Modern Decor, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We have three family members with Dec. b ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 9, 2016

We have three family members with Dec. birthdays so I made reservations about three weeks prior. We were shown to a table not prepared and one table had issues with the legs of the table so it moved and was an inch or two shorter than than the adjoining table. Also cold air was blowing on us most of the evening. The food was good and server nice but don't think because you have a reservation you are anything special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

We enjoyed our meal, but the noise level ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 3, 2016

We enjoyed our meal, but the noise level made it difficult to converse with our friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

We had a great experience at the restaur ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 2, 2016

We had a great experience at the restaurant, everything was woderful

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Casual, Good for a Date, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was fantastic, but the wine lis ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 27, 2016

The food was fantastic, but the wine list was pricey. We came to check out the band "Crayfish" which was excellent.

Tags: Happy Hour, Open Kitchen, Cozy, Live Music, Private Room, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Menu was very intriguing! There were lot ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Menu was very intriguing! There were lots of interesting things I wanted to try. Hubby had crabcakes and they were true MD style...fresh lump meat and very little breading. I had a Cajun penne pasta dish with chicken, sausage and shrimp. It was good but nothing to write home about. BUT then I had the upside down pineapple skillet cake and I was SOLD! Exquisitely divine and I would definitely return just to have that again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Loved the soup of the day, carrot with l ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Loved the soup of the day, carrot with lemongrass. Yummy. So glad a I ordered the bowl. I also ordered the crab flatbread which was ok, just need a bit more Old Bay.

The band Saturday night was awesome, The Crayfish. We'll definitely be going back for dinner and a band again.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The bar is great. Nice cozy fire, two g ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 25, 2016

The bar is great. Nice cozy fire, two good bands played it was very enjoyable. We had dinner in the restaurant. My food was good. Not great but good. I had the fish tacos. It is a fun place for dinner. The atmosphere is fun, but it can be loud.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

We went for Thanksgiving dinner. They ha ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We went for Thanksgiving dinner. They had a lovely buffet with a nice variety dishes, Everything we had was delicious. Our server was attentive. We are looking forward to returning for their regular menu.

Tags: Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Thanksgiving buffet was excellent. Some ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Thanksgiving buffet was excellent. Some of the traditional dishes had a little twist that made them quite unique. Our waiter, Eddie , was wonderful. Overall, a great meal and added to our enjoyment of a trip to Annapolis!

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First-time dining at this restaurant. I ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 18, 2016

First-time dining at this restaurant. It was a busy Friday night, yet the staff was extremely attentive, especially our server, Bohuna. She and the chefs were incredibly considerate of my daughter, who has food allergies. The food was exceptional, the atmosphere was vibrant, and everyone in our party had a great evening. We'll definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We go to Blackwall all the time and love ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 18, 2016

We go to Blackwall all the time and love it. Until this past time. They changed their menu. Not just the food choices but prices as well. Some of their food choices were good ones like the burger is now local meat. But, the mashed potatoes were not. They were way too buttery and didn't have a good flavor. The prices went up a bit which is disappointing because now we won't go there as often because it'll cost too much.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Private Room, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

This is the second time I have been ther ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 16, 2016

This is the second time I have been there and the second time I have been charged with someone else's check. Both times much more than mine. Be careful. The food is ok. The management corrected my bill but didn't even offer a drink or dessert for the mess up. I won't be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1

A good place for meeting for lunch. Not ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 14, 2016

A good place for meeting for lunch. Not very busy, so nicely quiet. Menu has a good selection of light fare.

Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

It was so cold in there that 3 out of 6 ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 12, 2016

It was so cold in there that 3 out of 6 of us had to wear our coats while eating dinner. Literally, cold air blowing directly on our table the whole time. The sweet waitress said that she knew it was a problem but there was nothing she could do. The bar was a normal temperature so if we go back, it will be to only sit at the bar or when the weather is nice again, outside.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

I generally don't do reviews, but everyt ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 12, 2016

I generally don't do reviews, but everything about this meal and this restaurant was amazingly bad. It started with the uncomfortably soft and low bench seats and the hostess' unwillingness to seat us at a table with chairs even though there was one in plain sight. We went to this restaurant because it was written up as specializing in oysters, and they had one kind - Blue Points, the most nondescript of all oysters. At 6:30, the restaurant was out of crab legs for their signature dish, the Chesapeake Boil. The server forgot and had to be reminded to bring no less than three items during the meal. The scallop, shrimp, and crab in the Shobb salad had no taste other than the Old Bay seasoning. The noise level by 7:30 made it impossible to have a conversation. We eat out a lot in Annapolis, Baltimore, and DC, and I cannot remember a meal I enjoyed less than this one.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

The glasses at the table set at our tabl ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 12, 2016

The glasses at the table set at our table tasted like lemon. Problem is neither glass had lemon in it, and the water bottle on the table didn't have lemon flavor either. The waitress forgot our wine order, but she was slammed so she likely had other things to worry on. The steak which was ordered medium was incredibly rare, and the brussel sprouts were undercooked. The flavor of the food was good, and my date enjoyed her salad (a quite generous portion.) I'd try it again, but I wasn't impressed with the first visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

We had a wonderful waitress who was hit ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 12, 2016

We had a wonderful waitress who was hit with 3 tables at once. We understood she was new to this venue but she was personable and very helpful with the menu.

It was our first tome there. It was good but not WOW in terms of food.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

Really loud...Bench seats need to be reu ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Really loud...Bench seats need to be reupholstered - sit really low at table.

Server was very good. Food was good-price to value was on the high side.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

The menu is very interesting, with enoug ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 10, 2016

The menu is very interesting, with enough choices to warrant a return to try something else. Service was attentive. The dishes (Blackwall Shrimp, Fried Green Tomatoes, Chipoltle Chicken sandwich, pear salad) were all delicious.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Food was great and our server Jennifer w ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Food was great and our server Jennifer was awesome, she was very nice and attentive!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

At first look one would think that this ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 6, 2016

At first look one would think that this place would be a great choice for dinner. There's a vibrant crowd, the place is decorated nicely, and the parking lot is full. We sat down and then the menu was handed to us. It has a very limited wine selection and a VERY large food selection. When you start looking over the food it is quickly realized that almost every dish has a sauce on it and is comes apparent that there is little that is fresh here (if anything). We first ordered a snack while we looked over the menu, Parmesan encrusted zucchini frites. While we were still deciding on our main course they came out and they were so heavily breaded and fried but worse, they were burnt and inedible. We sent them back and the waitress apologized. A manager appears shortly after and asks if there is something else we would like. We decided on the Bacon wrapped BBQ Chicken medallions based on his recommendation. A short while later HE brings them to us. I point out that he brought them back to us because they looked like little hockey pucks they were so over done. Why would he bring those to us after the previous appetizer disaster?! We sent them back after not being able to eat them and then we were ignored for 20 minutes. Were they just embarrassed and did not know how to handle the situation?? One wonders. Finally we flagged down our waitress and decided a burger and a salad would be a safe bet (we wanted something else but it was apparent the kitchen can not handle much in the way of creativity and well...frozen food is frozen food . Guess that's why everything has a sauce.) The burger was okay and the salad was not bad but we came here good good or great and ended up with much less. Overall this place looks nice but it's food does not stand up to outside appearances.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2

We had dinner at Blackwall Hitch. I had ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 5, 2016

We had dinner at Blackwall Hitch. I had the blackened mahi fish tacos. They were awesome but are served with a side of cus cus or something like it that didn't have much flavor. If I did it again I would have them sub out for a different side. My wife had the scallops and rissoto which was decent but not the best scallops. We also tried the surf and turf buffalo ribs and crab. Buffalo ribs were not that great and were not quite fall off the bone like the waiter said they were which lead to messy hands. Not really a place you want to eat with your hands. our waiter was Roger and he did a good job and really wanted to make sure we enjoyed our time and food. We will be back for the Fish tacos.

Tags: Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

We again had a fun, silly double Birthda ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 2, 2016

We again had a fun, silly double Birthday lunch at lunch time. Great choices and super service.

Thanks everyone

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Dinner with friends, their first visit t ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Dinner with friends, their first visit to Annapolis, many restaurant choices, Blackwall Hitch was our choice. Another great dining experience.

From the time we were greeted at the door, seated and waited upon, our evening was most enjoyable.

Our drinks, appetizers, and entrees were excellent, served by our waiter Rodger.

We'll be sure to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.