Blackwall Hitch

4.3
730 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
American
Top Tags:
  • Good for a Date
  • Special Occasion
  • Casual
A dining experience blending the area’s finest in tastes & talents, Blackwall Hitch is a coastally inspired concept that creates a local connection. Here you’ll find seasonally driven and locally sourced food and spirits, great local music and the area’s friendliest staff and patrons. With each visit as you take in the local flavor, we guarantee you’ll be hook in no time. Get hooked on the flavor.
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private dining
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
American, Seafood
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Sunday - 10:00am - 12:00 am
Monday - Wednesday: 11:00am - 12:00am
Thursday - Saturday: 11:00am - 2:00am
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(410) 263-3454
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Chef Jonathan Seningen
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Sixth and Severn
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
We are pleased to offer parking to all Blackwall Hitch patrons. Our parking lot is located directly behind the restaurant off Severn Avenue.
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
Live Music Wednesday - Saturday Night and Sunday Jazz Brunch.
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
Reserve one of our private rooms for your next special occasion. We can accommodate a variety of events in our beautifully appointed dining rooms. From bridal luncheons to rehearsal dinners to family reunions and graduations, our special events manager will guide you through every step of your special event or dining request.
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Reserve one of our private rooms for your next special occasion. We can accommodate a variety of events in our beautifully appointed dining rooms. From bridal luncheons to rehearsal dinners to family reunions and graduations, our special events manager will guide you through every step.

View Private Dining Details
What 730 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.3based on recent ratings
4.3
food
4.4
service
4.3
ambience
4.0
value
Noise · Moderate
87% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 2 days ago

Great spot

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 2 days ago

Service and food was excellent! Will be back!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 3 days ago

Awesome place! I made a reservation for a small celebration lunch on the same day and Blackwall Hitch went above and beyond to make sure it was special. Our party was places in a private room with attentive servers that had great recommendations. I would recommend Blackwall Hitch to anyone.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 5 days ago

Father’s Day

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 5 days ago

We came to celebrate Father's Day. My husband and I come often for date night so we are familiar with the menu/service. This time around we brought our three kids and spared no expense. Appetizers, cocktails for the hubby and I, steak and seafood entrees, desserts. Our Server was fantastic, the experience was memorable. For us this is not the regular night out, but we really wanted to celebrate for Father's day so it was worth every penny we paid!

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined 5 days ago

Service was terrible. Kitchen staff served cold food and management did nothing to rectify the situation or ensure that we had a pleasant experience. This was my second time there and it will be the last.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 5 days ago

I took my dad here for a Father's Day brunch and despite how busy it was, we were waited on in a timely and friendly manner. The restaurant seemed prepared for the Father's Day business. I enjoyed the buffet style brunch, it was delicious, warm food. Well worth the price!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 6 days ago

We have been to BH several times and really love the atmosphere and the food choices. Whether dining in the lounge (often with live music), on the roof (great in early evening) or in the dining rooms, it’s always a great experience!

The big “must have” is the mussels in saffron/bacon sauce. Unbelievable! Where do you see that anywhere else? Chicken and Brie sandwich? Yes very nice!

Here’s the bummer. On our 7th time there, Mahi Mahi tacos were, well, “fishy” tasting, indicating that they weren’t fresh. Ugh!!

What is weird that we have lived in Annapolis for a year and we dine out often. And there is not one restaurant here that we haven’t had a bad meal. Not one. Including BH. Sorry. BH is not perfect. But it may be our favorite place in Annapolis.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined 6 days ago

3 of us arrived for our 1100 lunch appointment: the booth was dirty and we had to ask the staff to clean it. The music was very loud (for conversation) and we asked BH to turn down the speaker volume but they did not. The women at the next table kept 'hugging' her arms and shivering.

Our waiter was moderately attentive - he had to read the specials from the menu. He was competent but not necessarily engaging.

The food was tasty but we limited our selections based on the previous 3 visits (hit-or-miss). Parking is the best part of the restaurant.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on June 13, 2018

Food was disappointing, mediocre at best. Been going here for 3 years, each time quality of food declines. Surprising how limited the raw bar / seafood selection is for a waterfront town. Ambiance is always nice & main reason for going back. Over priced for quality.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 12, 2018

Perfect spot for a luncheon. Staff was attentive, food delicious and something for every pallet!
Will definitely come back!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 10, 2018

What an amazing experience!!! Great service, great food and a great time.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on June 10, 2018

Had a 1:45 reservation on Sunday, got to the restaurant early so we sat at the bar for a drink while waiting. Bar attendant was pleasant and attentive. Once table was available we walked over to find a two top that had a large table of 8 people next to us that didnt quite fit so they were sitting very closely, to an uncomfortable point. We sat and waited 15 minutes and no server stopped by to take drink orders or see if we were ordering from regular or brunch menu. We ended up getting up and going back to the bar as service and ambiance was much better. We immediately sat at a high top and were greeted by the 2nd bar attendant who was just as nice as the first, we ordered drinks and got our brunch. Very nice after that but very disappointed in regular restaurant service and ambiance of restaurant side

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on June 10, 2018

Recommended by our daughter. We celebrated our 40th wedding anniversary. It was superb.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on June 9, 2018

Server seemed to forget us multiple times. Response was very slow.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 6, 2018

Lovely lunch

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on June 3, 2018

Very disappointing. Have been there previously and food and service was good. This time the food was terrible. No other way to describe it. Won’t be back.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 3, 2018

Was skeptical as reviews we read were mixed, but we loved everything except dessert - there was no crust in the peach cobbler and that’s always the best part! Will definitely be back!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 3, 2018

Service was good once we finally got service. Food was ok but Yellowfin is cheaper with a lot more options and immediate service

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 2, 2018

pretty restaurant, food was good, service was very good until the food came, then we did not see our waitress again till time we finished. Do not order a Manhattan to drink.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 30, 2018

Overall lunch was very nice. Food was good and plentiful!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 27, 2018

We had an excellent server, Heather for our anniversary dinner. Food was great as well. I would definitely come back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 27, 2018

I always have the best time at Blackwall Hitch. I’ve tried multiple different dishes, but this time I had the steak and blue cheese salad and it was amazing. The staff is always friendly, and the manager came by and greeted our table as well. Definitely felt like I was in good hands.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 27, 2018

The food wasn’t as good as the cost and the service could’ve been better. I felt rob my fish was over cooked and I ordered a side of risotto and the waitress brought me something else really disappointing I guess I had hi hopes.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 27, 2018

Very enjoyable. Service was very good as was the food. Liked the menu and will return.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 27, 2018

Birthday Celebration

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 27, 2018

Went for brunch and moved from the main seating area which is oddly dark and had loud music blaring in one section to the bar area where the jazz band was playing. We could hear both the band and the streaming music. Staff were pleasant and accommodating. The brunch lines can get long. The food is above average but not worth the long waits in line.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 22, 2018

Celebrated a 60th birthday with 13, when we had only reserved for 10. They were very accommodating. Service and food were both awesome!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 20, 2018

Great service! Roberto was wonderful and helped make my friends surprise 50 th Birthday dinner a blast!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 20, 2018

1st time and it was very good

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 20, 2018

I truly recommend the Sunday brunch. Blackwall Hitch has is a great place to gather to eat and enjoy the atmosphere. You will not be disappointed.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 19, 2018

We enjoyed our dinner at Blackwall Hitch. We ordered appetizers, entrees, and desserts. The food tasted good but there wasn't much of it for the price we paid. The French fly flight was pretty good :) my brother ordered the shrimp appetizer for $17 and it came with 5 shrimp and a piece of bread. I ordered the Smith island cake and it was alright, nothing special. Overall, nice place. Not sure if I want to spend that much money on a little bit of food again.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 18, 2018

Food was great, very noisy in the large dining room, but had a great vibe on a Friday night! Service was good and we had a great evening!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Went there for Mother's Day. Very crowded and noisy. $1 Mimosas. Will not go there again for Brunch on a holiday like occasion, was just too busy. The buffet included mostly breakfast items, need more dinner/lunch items.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 13, 2018

So, it was Mother's Day and they had a buffet brunch for $39.99 per person. I had reservation for 3 and was seated at a table for 2 with an extra chair squeezed in, sticking out into the walkway. I asked for a bigger table and was moved without much issue. We had to wait 15 minutes for our reservation. Not the best way to start off. Their buffett was good but not spectacular. My son ordered non alcoholic "fancy lemonades" that came from the bar but cost $8.00... we were not advised as to the price. I would return and order off their regular menu but they did not seem prepared for Mother's Day and it left me feeling, "meh."

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Mothers Day

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 12, 2018

I had made a reservation for 8 (yes 8) a week before and had specially requested to be seated on the upper floor. But upon arrival, the hostess had this 'oh sh*t' look on their faces. They clearly did not listen to my request. Then they didn't even try to get me the table I wanted. We were seated on the ground floor. The food was good as always, but I was a bit disappointed that I had given them more than enough time to get my reservation right. It was a very special night for both families, and I was saddened that this amazing restaurant didn't even follow directions. I would definitely eat there again but call them ahead of time to make sure they got the reservation right. (Which is slightly annoying).

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 12, 2018

Just across the bridge in Eastport Annapolis, with ample parking. Well appointed restaurant and bar. Seasonal, local preference fresh produce and seafood - a variety of fresh oysters were delicious. Crab cakes were generous. Loved their take on soft shell crabs. Calimari was tender. Moderately expensive. Good service.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 12, 2018

Everything was overly salty (and I love salt). We started with the French Fry Flight. The portion is huge for an appetizer. While the dips and fry combinations were good, the fries themselves were far to salty especially farther down the cup we ate. For the meal, I ordered the soft shell crabs. There was so much fried, salty breading that you couldn’t taste the freshness of the generously sized crabs. I picked all the fried batter off and, unfortunately, could still taste the salt and oil flavor. My date ordered the Mahi Mahi tacos and the freshness of the fish was again lost in the fried flavor.

The restaurant has a lot of potential. The atmosphere is nice, the deck was great and the staff was friendly. The menu has a lot of delicious sounding options. The failure lies in the fact that not everything needs to be fried or covered in salt to taste good. For the prices, I expected much, much more.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on May 6, 2018

We were a party of four, we all enjoyed our appetizers: The Sassy mussels, gazpacho, and a french fry flight. The entree prices are way too high for the quality of seafood and food served.
My fish tacos were ok--plenty of mahi-mahi and the addition of feta was tasty but the coleslaw was flavorless. My friend's scallops were burnt to the point that two of the scallops (a total of 4) had no soft texture in them and we're hard hockey pucks. The scallops had been overly seared on both sides. The so-called saffron risotto didn't resemble risotto and when I tasted it, it was a sticky-gooey flavorless substance. She told the manager and he offered to give her something else. She picked fish tacos. The fish tacos come with a delicious side of roasted corn, but when my friend's tacos arrived she was not given any eating utensils. As the manager placed the plate down my friend politely asked if she could get a fork. The manager rolled his eyes slightly and then he never brought a fork. On top of that he had the nerve to charge her a dollar for the scallop meal. I guess because she did eat one scallop --that's how she knew they were tough and horrible. Our waitress became unattentive after our entrees cames. We had to hunt down various other people for assistance. My other friend did not realize his snapper was fried but description did say breaded, he was mildly satisfied with the dish. Overall the dining room looks great; and the resto has a huge appetizer menu so maybe this resto is best for appetizers and drinks.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
19

Tweets by Blackwall Hitch