About Blackwall Hitch

400 Sixth Street
Annapolis, MD 21403
View Larger Map

From the moment you enter Blackwall Hitch in Annapolis’ Historic Eastport, you sense the attention to detail that has been harnessed to bring you and your companions a complete and satisfying dining experience. You sense the urban chic vibe with a connection to history, see and feel the attention to detail with comfortable, creative spaces for gatherings, smell the salty and savory aromas wafting from the oyster bar and dining area, and hear the bustle and music in the pub. After receiving easy-going, yet excellent service, sampling a signature Blackwall Hitch cocktail, and savoring a palate-and-hunger-satiating dinner, the voice in your ear says, “I have found my new favorite place in Naptown!”

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Sunday - 10:00am - 12:00 am
Monday - Wednesday: 11:00am - 12:00am
Thursday - Saturday: 11:00am - 2:00am

Cross Street:
Sixth and Severn

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 263-3454

Website:
http://theblackwallhitch.com/

Entertainment:
Live Music Wednesday - Saturday Night and Sunday Brunch

Executive Chef:
Chef Zachary Pope

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Blackwall Hitch Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.2

ambience

4.2

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Lunch
Greater Annapolis
Best Restaurants in Annapolis ›

good for groups (50)
special occasion (47)
great for lunch (40)
See All
neighborhood gem (36)
fit for foodies (34)
great for brunch (31)
vibrant bar scene (31)
great for outdoor dining (29)
hot spot (22)
romantic (20)
scenic view (20)
notable wine list (15)
kid-friendly (13)
late-night find (10)
Sort By:
Newest
264 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Second time dining at Blackwall Hitch. W ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 4 days ago

Second time dining at Blackwall Hitch. We came back because of the food, and the great drink selection. Arrived a little early for our reservation, but were seated right away. We had a wonderful waiter (wish I could remember his name!) who was very attentive. We started out with the Flaming Saganaki (excellent!!) paired with a couple of Dirty Hitch and Hibiscus Mojito cocktails. For dinner, our table had the Shobb salad (filled with lots of shellfish), lobster roll (complemented with tasty skinny fries), Shrimp and Crab Ceviche (listed under the starters, but I found it a very pleasing, light entree), and the Mahi Mahi Tacos (three on the plate, so be hungry when you order this!), all of which we would heartily recommend!

We ended the meal with the Raspberry sherbet which was nice and refreshing. They brought out a small bowl with one scoop ($6?) and then followed up with another bowl of three scoops, saying someone had made a mistake with the first small bowl. Nice!!!

Would highly recommend Blackwall Hitch to others while visiting the Annapolis Harbor/Easton area. Easy walk from the Inner Harbor. Great people work here!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Very slow and poor service. Replenishme ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined 5 days ago

Very slow and poor service. Replenishments were not provided or offered. Server was not available - hard to find. Had to wait 30 minutes for check after we had to ASK for it. Very disappointed in the service, was sorry that I brought my parents to this restaurant.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

Would definitely go back again. A little ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined 5 days ago

Would definitely go back again. A little noisy but overall a fun place. I wouldn't recommend for a 1st date because of the noise unless you sit on the deck.

Tags: good for groups, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Happy Hour was great! The bar has great ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Happy Hour was great! The bar has great "living room" type seating that's very conducive for conversation. Food was great and service was great. We'll be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I loved this restaurant and can't wait t ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

I loved this restaurant and can't wait to come back

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went for the brunch but even tho the ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

We went for the brunch but even tho the hours were until 2pm, at a little after 1pm the selection was substantially & disappointedly reduced. Menu options were good. We thought that sitting on the far side of the dining room would be quitter, but not so. It was so loud the 4 of us had to shout to be heard. This is a continual problem there.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

I believe they have a few issues to work ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

I believe they have a few issues to work on!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

On a hot & humid weekday night we escape ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

On a hot & humid weekday night we escaped into the restaurant for dinner. The dining room was pleasantly quiet. Our server was very attentive. My drink choice is always very specific & it was perfect! We chose different types of selections; one the shrimp udon salad; the other Surf n' Turf. Both were excellent, although the seeds of the jalapeno in the salad lit my mouth on fire! It was a pleasant, leisurely Wednesday evening dinner.

Tags: neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Alissa our bartender was great. She made ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Alissa our bartender was great. She made excellent beer recommendations and provided awesome service.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The place is fabulous, the food was supe ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

The place is fabulous, the food was superb, the service was in a word terrific. I am recommending this place to all my friends and anybody else that will listen. This is a must try place!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Celebrating daughter's 18th b-day. Food ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Celebrating daughter's 18th b-day. Food is really good but pricey. The house bread is wonderful; had fish tacos, softshell crabs, and shrimp & grits. Very delicious. But the best were the salads -- had the wedge, house, and pear. All were amazing with tasty dressings. Crab dip = so-so. The chef needs to revisit the dessert menu 'cause it is bland compared to the rest of the menu. Wine list extensive and well priced for every budget. Server was attentive and paced our meal, understanding that we were there not to be rushed through. Very noisy tho'. The acoustics of the place permit noise to travel, particularly from the bar area where a band was playing. Sat in a booth and sunk to the floor which was disconcerting and not to mention too low to eat enjoyably. The cushions are old and need to be replaced. The place really encourages large parties to have fun and celebrate.

Tags: good for groups, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

The food was not good. The wine was not ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

The food was not good. The wine was not good. Drinks were overpriced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

Ambiance was great. Easy parking and goo ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Ambiance was great. Easy parking and good location. Good was mediocre at best and therefore over priced. Hostesses were difficult and rude.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2

A good place for a local date night.

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

A good place for a local date night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5

It is always too cold there. The cevi ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

It is always too cold there.

The ceviche was awful. Not enough seafood. Too many red peppers.

Service was great. Flatbreads are delicious. Fish tacos and burger were good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5

Interesting dishes, nicely prepared and ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Interesting dishes, nicely prepared and presented. Service was excellent! Nice, clean, pleasant surroundings. Scallop and shrimp dishes were excellent! Will visit again and recommend to others.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our party of 8 was seated comfortably in ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Our party of 8 was seated comfortably in the dining room. Food arrived in a timely manner and everyone in the party enjoyed themselves.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

This is my second time in 4 weeks and I ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

This is my second time in 4 weeks and I LOVE Blackwall Hitch.Both times for brunch so I need to come back for lunch or dinner. Love everything about the location, energy, food, music and service

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Went for their Sunday brunch to celebrat ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Went for their Sunday brunch to celebrate Father's Day. The food selections were great; lots of variety. Good balance between "breakfast" foods and "lunch" foods. Food was excellent; our server was attentive and had a great personality. We would definitely go back for brunch and give it a try for dinner.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Sunday Brunch in Annapolis. Food is ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Best Sunday Brunch in Annapolis. Food is excellent, great variety and ambiance. Loved the jazz band.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was delicious! There was a mix up w ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Food was delicious! There was a mix up with our appetizers not coming out before our meal, however, we still got to enjoy them throughout the meal and they were on the house. We were very satisfied with the staff recognizing this inconvenience and remedying the situation in a fair way. We'll definitely be back.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We enjoyed our experience despite a roug ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

We enjoyed our experience despite a rough start. We were seated adjacent to a rehearsal dinner which was going to get loud and be distracting as there was no visual or sound buffer. The hostess very nicely accepted our request for seating upstairs (where the only options are a small private space or the wonderful outside deck). The deck was full so we had a delicious crab [what else!] dip and a super Malbec while we waited 30 minutes in the bar. Once seated on the deck the service was attentive, and the food & drinks were great.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

The outside area is a great atmosphere. ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

The outside area is a great atmosphere. Perfect evening dining and the service was exceptional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Have been there before in the bar side f ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Have been there before in the bar side for music and late night appetizers and had a great time.

Decided to try going for a late lunch / early dinner for our anniversary. The dining room was mostly empty as it was between meal times which was great, but they tried to seat us next to a group of 8 diners. Thought that was kinda weird as we were there for our anniversary, and the room was mostly empty. The ambiance was nice, the service was fantastic. The main entree was OK. Was a little disappointed with the menu selections, seemed more like standard bar food, I can get at the green turtle.

I would recommend for late night appetizers and drinks, but not necessarily for dinner.

Tags: great for lunch, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

Food was awful we had a party of 8. Over ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Food was awful we had a party of 8. Over seasoned ---- overdone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value2

First time visit. Great location and set ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

First time visit. Great location and setting. We will come back.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Service and seats need work

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Waited ten minutes after being seated, still no waiter and the place was less than a third full. After asking the bus boy, she came over. The black couch seats need support. We fell into them and the table was up to our shoulders. Food good. Too many noodles with osso bucco, needed veggies. Asian noodle salad with shrimp and a couple of peanuts left much to be desired. The pineapple upside down cake was phenomenal with fun presentation.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

Perfect evening out in Annapolis!

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

I went on Trip Advisor and checked out the reviews for this restaurant and wasn't disappointed. The decor was lovely and we got superior service. The food was excellent. We had a total of 7 people and everyone loved what they individually got. I would definitely recommend it and absolutely return! Walking around Annapolis afterwards was a huge treat too.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Family Type

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

We were a bit disappointed, we thought the restaurant was located along the water. The view of the water is from the rooftop. It was rainy and we ended up sitting inside in a high traffic area. The food is delicious and service is so so. It is great for family and a group. Not a place to celebrate your anniversary.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

Excellent place from decor to location t ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Excellent place from decor to location to service. The staff from the hostess to the waitress were professional and attentive. Great music and tasty appetizers. Can't wait to try the Alexandria and The beach locations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Blackwall Hitch, new favorite!

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

This was our first visit to Blackwall Hitch to celebrate my sons high school graduation. There were 6 of us in our party and the restaurant exceeded our expectations. Everything was stellar, the ambiance, service, location, parking and especially the food! All six of us felt the food was exceptional, not one complaint. All wait staff and employees were welcoming, pleasant and always smiling. They seemed genuinely happy to be there and eager serve. Hats off to executive chef, Zachary Pope! Thank you, Blackwall Hitch, for a truly memorable afternoon - you are our new favorite restaurant and we look forward to returning!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is our second visit to this locatio ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

This is our second visit to this location. The first time we had dinner. Restaurant was packed and the service was good. I had the shrimp and grits. They were awesome! Loved the fried green tomatoes as well. Second visit was for a celebratory lunch around 3pm. We had 8 people in our party (5 adults 3 kids). The place was fairly empty - only 1 other party was seated in the main dining area , yet we were seated directly behind them. Service was EXTREMELY slow. Drinks and apps came out promptly, but our main meal took about an hour to come out. We ordered burgers, flat bread pizzas, a couple of kids meals and one steak. Nothing overly complicated. Overall, food is good and the atmosphere is very cool. I would come back despite the slow service at our last visit.

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Annapolis surprise

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

We went to see the Blue Angels, but found out the upstairs deck was rented out (good for them, bad for us), I wish the web site had noted this. We were early enough to grab lunch and walk out to see the performance, no problem. Service was great and very attentive. We had more than just the server check on us...impressive. Food was good, I had the Lobster Roll, since never had one before. I wasn't impressed for $23, but now I know. I'm not a big fan of rosemary, which flavored the fries, but they were different. My wife had a burger, she loved it. I would return again just to try different items from the menu.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We had a wonderful time at an end-of-yea ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on May 17, 2016

We had a wonderful time at an end-of-year celebration dinner for our group of 8. Blackwall Hitch was able to give us an out-of-the way spot, which really helped keep the background noise down, we extremely helpful and attentive to our needs, and did a great job taking care of us. The food was on point, we had a great time, and will definitely be back.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

This is our first visit to the restauran ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

This is our first visit to the restaurant and we went for the Sunday Brunch. Great décor and the wait staff was wonderful. Food was great and loved the bottomless mimosas!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We enjoyed our meal and experience very much!

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 9, 2016

Thank you very much for having us, we enjoyed the food and experience. I just love the deocr. The menu had a lot of great choices. We were happy with what we chose, the burgers were great, the flatbreads were a little small but good, zucchini frites tasty, etc. I though the dessert menu could have one or two more items (maybe tiramisu, another chocolate options, another pie option).

Drinks were good, although we were told the bartender would make our drinks using the $4 rail drink special only to find we were charged much more than that. It was during happy hour hours and at the bar. I thought that was a little silly.

All in all, we'll be back. Your shobb is my favorite :) I had a nice birthday.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

That is how I saw it.

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

This was a fine dining experience overall. The service started out slow but soon become very efficient and professional. From the time we were seated until we left (approx 1.5 hrs) the staff worked like Trojans. I have nothing but compliments from my experience. The small glitches will work themselves out with time.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

2nd Time with New Friends

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

We selected this restaurant as a 1st time for our friends. Service was great, food was DELICIOUS and the atmosphere was perfect. We moved to the bar after dinner for drinks and was surprised and delighted with the sound of the band "Vintage #18"!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Average food

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on April 26, 2016

Our server was great especially for only having worked there a short time. Food was so so .

over all the experience was not what I was lead to believe

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

We went here for our wedding anniversary ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on April 26, 2016

We went here for our wedding anniversary early on a Tuesday at 6pm. Enjoyed a couple of drinks at the bar first. They were very good but very pricey. Maybe we missed happy hour? We were seated right away and had our pick of the house - I was surprised but glad it was empty because I read that the place gets very noisy. And it did later when a private party arrived, but thankfully they closed off the doors to their room later. Armchairs are super comfy and nice decor. We liked our pear salad and the ceviche to start, and no charge to share. Scallops and risotto were very good. Also liked the fish (mahi?) tacos. The sauces didn't overpower the food. Server was excellent. I will definitely eat there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.