Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 22 times today
Special offers available. See details

Blackwall Hitch

4.4
679 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
American
Perfect For:
  • Good for a Date
  • Special Occasion
  • Great for Brunch
A dining experience blending the area’s finest in tastes & talents, Blackwall Hitch is a coastally inspired concept that creates a local connection. Here you’ll find seasonally driven and locally sourced food and spirits, great local music and the area’s friendliest staff and patrons. With each visit as you take in the local flavor, we guarantee you’ll be hook in no time. Get hooked on the flavor.
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private dining
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
American, Seafood
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Sunday - 10:00am - 12:00 am
Monday - Wednesday: 11:00am - 12:00am
Thursday - Saturday: 11:00am - 2:00am
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(410) 263-3454
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Chef Jonathan Seningen
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Sixth and Severn
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
We are pleased to offer parking to all Blackwall Hitch patrons. Our parking lot is located directly behind the restaurant off Severn Avenue.
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
Live Music Wednesday - Saturday Night and Sunday Jazz Brunch.
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
Reserve one of our private rooms for your next special occasion. We can accommodate a variety of events in our beautifully appointed dining rooms. From bridal luncheons to rehearsal dinners to family reunions and graduations, our special events manager will guide you through every step of your special event or dining request.
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Reserve one of our private rooms for your next special occasion. We can accommodate a variety of events in our beautifully appointed dining rooms. From bridal luncheons to rehearsal dinners to family reunions and graduations, our special events manager will guide you through every step.

View Private Dining Details

Specials

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Treat her to something special this mothers day. Join us at Blackwall Hitch for a decadent mothers day brunch and leave the dishes to us.

Sunday, May 13, 2018

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Sun 4:00PM - 9:00PM
Mon - Fri 11:00AM - 11:45AM 12:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 2:00PM
Sat 11:00AM - 2:00PM

What 679 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.4based on recent ratings
4.4
food
4.4
service
4.4
ambience
4.1
value
Noise · Moderate
91% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
1.0Dined 5 days ago

They don’t respect reservations so expect to wait a long time if you make a reservation! We had to wait an hour after our reservation time to be seated .
The atmosphere is hectic, unprofessional, disorganized and the food is not all that good.
When sitting at the oyster bar it was interesting to watch staff members run by and grab french fries to stick their mouth.
All in all a very unpleasant experience-

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 5 days ago

Shrimp and grits were soooooo good. Salvating just thinking about it. So so good.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined 6 days ago

Excellent service and nice ambiance. However, I ordered salmon and kale salad. The salmon didn’t meet my expectations. It was stale and not fresh. It tasted like it’s been frozen for a while. The kale leaves and stems were matured and fibrous.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 15, 2018

Service was terrible. Calamari over cooked. Scallops were very good.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 15, 2018

We went here for dinner on a Sunday night. Service was very good. The waiter was knowledgeable and made recommendations of things to get or not to get, which is appreciated. The food was very good. The crab dip appetizer was good but they didn’t provide enough pita for the amount of dip and charged you extra for more...which is chincy I think. But the rest of the food was good portions for the price. It’s a beautiful restaurant as well.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 15, 2018

First time. Food was great! We sat outdoors in their roof top dining. It is small- but fun view. Cozy. Wait staff was great. We recommend the flaming crab dip! Yum! We will be back. Parking is a challenge if they are busy- even though they have their own parking lot.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 14, 2018

The restaurant was at a good location. The atomsphere was nice. The food and service was very good.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on April 14, 2018

Never again. Service horrible, food not great.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 13, 2018

Good food and excellent rooftop! The shrimp appetizer and fried green tomatoes were good.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 11, 2018

I have a certified Therapy Dog and was in town for a memorial service. I made the reservation for the rooftop so I could bring the Dog, but was too cold. Not knowing what the Maryland Therapy Dog rules were, I offered to leave. The hostess insisted that we stay, seated us at a discreet table, brought a bowl of water and made us feel so welcome. I was treating a dear friend to birthday dinner and we had a delicious meal. Much to choose from. The shrimp appetizer was a robust way to start the meal. The Smith Island Cake tasted like it had "real" buttercream frosting.
When we were leaving, the Governor and his entourage arrived in a flurry of dark cars and suits. He didn't need therapy from a big black lab, so we took our satisfied leave!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 11, 2018

Everything was very nice. -been there before and will be there again

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 8, 2018

Nice food and drink selection. The server was somewhat attentive; the fries were not hot but warm; and the fish and chips were overcooked (almost burnt). I would try again with the hopes that the food would be hot when served and not overcooked. My family and loved the atmosphere. Great location.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 8, 2018

My husband and I visited this restaurant for the first time, and it was on a Sunday for brunch. Our experience was spectacular. The food was great and so was Ashley our waitress. Ryan the Manager on duty was very pleasant. He came over to make sure we were enjoying our experience, he also spoke to us throughout our time dining at the restaurant if we looked like we needed a little direction! Not only was he speaking to the guests to ensure they were enjoying their dining experience he was also working the floor, assisting his team where necessary. I saw him carrying trays of dirty dishing a few times and really lending a hand where he could. It was nice to see that as a Manager he doesn’t just lead the team, but he gets involved in the “dirty” work as well. We will surely be visiting again for Sunday brunch!!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 8, 2018

Expansive brunch offerings (which were all tasty), great live music and tasty mimosas for a good price. I'll be back soon.!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 8, 2018

This is one of my favorite places to have brunch. Love the food and the staff is always exceptional!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 7, 2018

Food was mediocre. Atmosphere and service was very good.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2018

Never heard of it! Selected it for a friends birthday lunch and we were both amazed! Brian, our server was great and there were so many food options that we didn’t know which to decide. We both selected the crab cakes and a salad — kale and ceaser. Needless to say neither of us left disappointed. Thanks for making her birthday lunch a great event! Can’t wait to return!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 5, 2018

First time there; won’t be the last
Brian took great care of us from start to finish
Food was very good
Beer selection was good

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

My husband and I had a great Easter dinner at this restaurant. We ate the Bayou Penne, Shrimp and Grits, Caesar and Autumn Harvest Salads. The Grapefruit Wine Crush is worth a try too. Everything was very good! We highly recommend this spot. We will return for dinner and to try their brunch.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

Easter Sunday

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 1, 2018

We recently visited for Easter brunch. After much confusion by the hostesses on our reservation, we were seated in the bar area next to the band and at the intersection of two brunch lines. We could barely speak to each other due to the noise and people continuously hitting our chairs. While the food was ok, I won't return or recommend it for brunch again. Also, the cost was high for just ok food, bad atmosphere, and bad service. This is disappointing since when I have dinned here for lunch or dinner things have been very good.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 31, 2018

My favorite restaurant and amazing service!!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 31, 2018

Saturday lunch time wasn’t busy and the restaurant was so much quieter than during the Sunday brunch which tends to be boisterous. My party of four enjoyed the food, service and decor.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 26, 2018

Our friends try to get together for lunch at least once a month and the eight of us loved Blackwall Hitch. We were in a room with a round table for 8 that allows for better conversations and hearing one another. The food and drinks selections were enjoyed by everyone.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 25, 2018

I have been to Blackwall before and this time the experience was to say the least....disappointing.

Upon checking in the manager at the reservation desk barely spoke. I didn’t feel welcomed and I noticed him speaking and laughing with Blackwall staff later during dinner.

My son ordered Fish and Chips that where over cooked. The waitress took them back and reorder him another order and the manager came out and apologize and that was greatly appreciated. However, the second batch was not much better and the amount of bread to fish ratio was ridiculous. Very little fish and lotsa of bread.

To top the night my wife and I order the special of the day Scallop Jambalaya. It was pretty good until I realized on my last bite that there was no sausage in my portion. I only realized that when I ate a bit of my wife’s portion.

I am still a fan of Blackwall and I plan on coming back as I believe this was just a bad day for them, however if and when I do if I have another experience like this one I will surely not come back. I can enjoy the Chart House or Carroll’s Creek.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 25, 2018

We just stopped by on a Saturday because they had parking, which is a plus in Annapolis! Our dinner was delicious and the bartenders were pleasant...I highly recommend it!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 25, 2018

First time here. Sunday brunch, so I know its a tough one for a reataurant! Our food was good and the atmosphere was fun. The only criticisms were that they forgot to put any dressing on one of their signature salads and the server took my friend’s plate away while she was still eating. At least she asked me if I was finished! Bloody Mary needs work-I didn’t like the mix. Too heavy and had a weird taste. I will give this place another try though!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 25, 2018

While the food quality remains the same and is a good value for a comprehensive brunch with bottomless mimosas, we feel this brunch is now oversubscribed and has become just too hectic and crowded. Today we were 15mins late for our reservation as the parking was impossible and we had to park several blocks away in a neighborhood (which can’t be happy with these crowds). As much as it would require more advanced thinking on our part (book at least a week in advance), we feel they should reduce the seating capacity. Otherwise, we will probably look elsewhere as it is just not relaxing and has taken on the feel of a mass feed. Before this crowding situation became a reality, the only real criticisms I had were the weak dessert options and the apparent inability to make a decent latte. The staff members are very hard-working, responsive and pleasant despite the chaos.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 25, 2018

Can’t wait to come back. Great food and service.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on March 24, 2018

Had to wait 2 hours after our reservation time. So annoying

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 23, 2018

Nice place. Good food. A little pricey, especially the appetizers.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 23, 2018

Loved our waitress. She was phenomenal. Honest. Let me go through the food. I have been here a few times and it's a hit and miss. Crab soup ...too salty.
Crab dip.....overly cheesy. Didn't taste crab.
Salad....delicious. steak and frites...frites were hard as hell. Lol. Under cooked maybe. Steak was great. Truffles made in house.... horrible.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 18, 2018

Our server was great but beyond that the food did not reflect the amount of money we paid for brunch and we even had a gift card. Still paid too much. Any bread product on the buffet (biscuits, bagels, pastries, waffles) was stale. And the oysters were very few and not fresh at all. Way too much work with the “mix your own” cocktail sauce, and mignonette sauce was missed. Lastly and most disappointing, the fried chicken was SO VERY DRY. Just awful. Not worth $110 for two adults and 1 child.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 18, 2018

One of my absolute favorite places to have brunch! The Alexandria, Va., and Annapolis locations are Wonderful! Our server,Julia, (3/18) -Annapolis location, THEE ABSOLUTE Best!!! We were there for my friends 44th Bday Brunch celebration! Everything was perfect!

Will be back again and again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 18, 2018

Everything was wonderful as usual! Some friends who were meeting us and made a last minute reservation were asking to sit near our group. The hostess was so helpful and we ended up getting a semi-private room since there were 10 adults and a toddler. Our waitress Kerrie (I hope I spelled that correctly) was so fantastic and I appreciate her putting up with us! Can’t wait to return for brunch... it’s so delicious!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 17, 2018

My husband and I had dinner at Blackwall Hitchin Annapolis on a Saturday night. The decor and ambiance are nice, but it was a bit dark in the section were were seated in. It was separate from larger groups with kids, so we didn't mind.

The food was very good. We started with the Ahi Poke Tower, which was very tasty. I had the MD Crab Soup, which was very nicely seasoned, and my husband had the Cream of Wild Mushroom Soup. He said he would have been happy with just that for dinner! I had the scallops with saffron risotto for dinner. It was the perfect amount of food and well balanced between the large scallops and risotto. My husband had the braised short rib, which he enjoyed as well.

The one big negative for the night was the speed of the service - too fast. We were enjoying a night out without kids, and could have easily been in and out 45 minutes if we had not made an effort to slow the meal. Our appetizer came out moments after our bread was placed on the table. We ordered our soups and entrees as we were eating the appetizer, and they came out just as we finished the appetizer. Then, we got two bites into our soups before our entrees came out. We told the servers it was very fast and struggled to find room on the table for everything.

We will definitely be going again, perhaps maybe the Rehobeth location for brunch soon.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 13, 2018

Amazing! The staff was incredibly accommodating especially Ashley!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 11, 2018

We have had the pleasure of eating at BWH a number of times. Our only general complaint is the noise level of the dining room either portion. The small rooms should be much quieter at least the upstairs is. Maybe some partitions would help and the big open ceiling lends it self to reflected noise. We still enjoy eating there. Last Sunday my wife asked for a mod to her lunch into a wrap and ws told they don't do that but you have previously. She should have said more but did not. Our bad.

Thank you

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 11, 2018

Our waitress was awesome and attentive. Guided us to the buffet.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 11, 2018

The food & service were wonderful. The noise level was a bit much...but we would go again!!

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
17