About Blackwall Hitch

400 Sixth Street
Annapolis, MD 21403
View Larger Map

A dining experience blending the area’s finest in tastes & talents, Blackwall Hitch is a coastally inspired concept that creates a local connection. Here you’ll find seasonally driven and locally sourced food and spirits, great local music and the area’s friendliest staff and patrons. With each visit as you take in the local flavor, we guarantee you’ll be hook in no time. Get hooked on the flavor.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Sunday - 10:00am - 12:00 am
Monday - Wednesday: 11:00am - 12:00am
Thursday - Saturday: 11:00am - 2:00am

Cross Street:
Sixth and Severn

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 263-3454

Website:
http://theblackwallhitch.com/

Entertainment:
Live Music Wednesday - Saturday Night and Sunday Jazz Brunch.

Parking Details:
We are pleased to offer parking to all Blackwall Hitch patrons. Our parking lot is located directly behind the restaurant off Severn Avenue.

Executive Chef:
Chef Jonathan Seningen

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Reserve one of our private rooms for your next special occasion. We can accommodate a variety of events in our beautifully appointed dining rooms. From bridal luncheons to rehearsal dinners to family reunions and graduations, our special events manager will guide you through every step of your special event or dining request.

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 24, 2016

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 24, 2016

Details

With all of the chaos surrounding the holidays, let us make Christmas Eve a day to relax. Take a break from preparations to join us for a meal. Blackwall Hitch will be open from 11am - 9pm. Select items from our regular menu or choose to enjoy our special three-course Christmas Eve dinner.

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Details

We are offering a special New Year’s Eve dinner menu. Three seating times are available, each with different prices per person. Our 5-6:30 seating is $75. The 7-9 seating is $95. Our final seating at 9:30 is $125, which includes a Champagne toast. We look forward to ringing in the New Year together!

Blackwall Hitch Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

4.1

ambience

4.1

value

3.4

noise

Moderate

75% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Groups (18)
Special Occasion (17)
Good for a Date (11)
See All
Vibrant Bar Scene (11)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Private Room (9)
Great for Brunch (8)
Fun (8)
Business Meals (7)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Live Music (7)
Bar Seating (6)
Hot Spot (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Casual (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Cozy (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Romantic (5)
Happy Hour (4)
Scenic View (4)
Seasonal (4)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Open Kitchen (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Authentic (2)
People Watching (2)
Local Ingredients (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Spicy (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Waterfront (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Live Sports (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Healthy (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Sort By:
S
339 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food was fantastic, but the wine lis ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

The food was fantastic, but the wine list was pricey. We came to check out the band "Crayfish" which was excellent.

Tags: Happy Hour, Open Kitchen, Cozy, Live Music, Private Room, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Loved the soup of the day, carrot with l ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 6 days ago

Loved the soup of the day, carrot with lemongrass. Yummy. So glad a I ordered the bowl. I also ordered the crab flatbread which was ok, just need a bit more Old Bay.

The band Saturday night was awesome, The Crayfish. We'll definitely be going back for dinner and a band again.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Menu was very intriguing! There were lot ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 6 days ago

Menu was very intriguing! There were lots of interesting things I wanted to try. Hubby had crabcakes and they were true MD style...fresh lump meat and very little breading. I had a Cajun penne pasta dish with chicken, sausage and shrimp. It was good but nothing to write home about. BUT then I had the upside down pineapple skillet cake and I was SOLD! Exquisitely divine and I would definitely return just to have that again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

The bar is great. Nice cozy fire, two g ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 25, 2016

The bar is great. Nice cozy fire, two good bands played it was very enjoyable. We had dinner in the restaurant. My food was good. Not great but good. I had the fish tacos. It is a fun place for dinner. The atmosphere is fun, but it can be loud.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

We went for Thanksgiving dinner. They ha ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We went for Thanksgiving dinner. They had a lovely buffet with a nice variety dishes, Everything we had was delicious. Our server was attentive. We are looking forward to returning for their regular menu.

Tags: Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Thanksgiving buffet was excellent. Some ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Thanksgiving buffet was excellent. Some of the traditional dishes had a little twist that made them quite unique. Our waiter, Eddie , was wonderful. Overall, a great meal and added to our enjoyment of a trip to Annapolis!

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First-time dining at this restaurant. I ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 18, 2016

First-time dining at this restaurant. It was a busy Friday night, yet the staff was extremely attentive, especially our server, Bohuna. She and the chefs were incredibly considerate of my daughter, who has food allergies. The food was exceptional, the atmosphere was vibrant, and everyone in our party had a great evening. We'll definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We go to Blackwall all the time and love ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 18, 2016

We go to Blackwall all the time and love it. Until this past time. They changed their menu. Not just the food choices but prices as well. Some of their food choices were good ones like the burger is now local meat. But, the mashed potatoes were not. They were way too buttery and didn't have a good flavor. The prices went up a bit which is disappointing because now we won't go there as often because it'll cost too much.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Private Room, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

This is the second time I have been ther ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 16, 2016

This is the second time I have been there and the second time I have been charged with someone else's check. Both times much more than mine. Be careful. The food is ok. The management corrected my bill but didn't even offer a drink or dessert for the mess up. I won't be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1

A good place for meeting for lunch. Not ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 14, 2016

A good place for meeting for lunch. Not very busy, so nicely quiet. Menu has a good selection of light fare.

Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

It was so cold in there that 3 out of 6 ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 12, 2016

It was so cold in there that 3 out of 6 of us had to wear our coats while eating dinner. Literally, cold air blowing directly on our table the whole time. The sweet waitress said that she knew it was a problem but there was nothing she could do. The bar was a normal temperature so if we go back, it will be to only sit at the bar or when the weather is nice again, outside.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

The glasses at the table set at our tabl ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 12, 2016

The glasses at the table set at our table tasted like lemon. Problem is neither glass had lemon in it, and the water bottle on the table didn't have lemon flavor either. The waitress forgot our wine order, but she was slammed so she likely had other things to worry on. The steak which was ordered medium was incredibly rare, and the brussel sprouts were undercooked. The flavor of the food was good, and my date enjoyed her salad (a quite generous portion.) I'd try it again, but I wasn't impressed with the first visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

I generally don't do reviews, but everyt ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 12, 2016

I generally don't do reviews, but everything about this meal and this restaurant was amazingly bad. It started with the uncomfortably soft and low bench seats and the hostess' unwillingness to seat us at a table with chairs even though there was one in plain sight. We went to this restaurant because it was written up as specializing in oysters, and they had one kind - Blue Points, the most nondescript of all oysters. At 6:30, the restaurant was out of crab legs for their signature dish, the Chesapeake Boil. The server forgot and had to be reminded to bring no less than three items during the meal. The scallop, shrimp, and crab in the Shobb salad had no taste other than the Old Bay seasoning. The noise level by 7:30 made it impossible to have a conversation. We eat out a lot in Annapolis, Baltimore, and DC, and I cannot remember a meal I enjoyed less than this one.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

We had a wonderful waitress who was hit ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 12, 2016

We had a wonderful waitress who was hit with 3 tables at once. We understood she was new to this venue but she was personable and very helpful with the menu.

It was our first tome there. It was good but not WOW in terms of food.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

Really loud...Bench seats need to be reu ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Really loud...Bench seats need to be reupholstered - sit really low at table.

Server was very good. Food was good-price to value was on the high side.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

The menu is very interesting, with enoug ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 10, 2016

The menu is very interesting, with enough choices to warrant a return to try something else. Service was attentive. The dishes (Blackwall Shrimp, Fried Green Tomatoes, Chipoltle Chicken sandwich, pear salad) were all delicious.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Food was great and our server Jennifer w ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Food was great and our server Jennifer was awesome, she was very nice and attentive!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

At first look one would think that this ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 6, 2016

At first look one would think that this place would be a great choice for dinner. There's a vibrant crowd, the place is decorated nicely, and the parking lot is full. We sat down and then the menu was handed to us. It has a very limited wine selection and a VERY large food selection. When you start looking over the food it is quickly realized that almost every dish has a sauce on it and is comes apparent that there is little that is fresh here (if anything). We first ordered a snack while we looked over the menu, Parmesan encrusted zucchini frites. While we were still deciding on our main course they came out and they were so heavily breaded and fried but worse, they were burnt and inedible. We sent them back and the waitress apologized. A manager appears shortly after and asks if there is something else we would like. We decided on the Bacon wrapped BBQ Chicken medallions based on his recommendation. A short while later HE brings them to us. I point out that he brought them back to us because they looked like little hockey pucks they were so over done. Why would he bring those to us after the previous appetizer disaster?! We sent them back after not being able to eat them and then we were ignored for 20 minutes. Were they just embarrassed and did not know how to handle the situation?? One wonders. Finally we flagged down our waitress and decided a burger and a salad would be a safe bet (we wanted something else but it was apparent the kitchen can not handle much in the way of creativity and well...frozen food is frozen food . Guess that's why everything has a sauce.) The burger was okay and the salad was not bad but we came here good good or great and ended up with much less. Overall this place looks nice but it's food does not stand up to outside appearances.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2

We had dinner at Blackwall Hitch. I had ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 5, 2016

We had dinner at Blackwall Hitch. I had the blackened mahi fish tacos. They were awesome but are served with a side of cus cus or something like it that didn't have much flavor. If I did it again I would have them sub out for a different side. My wife had the scallops and rissoto which was decent but not the best scallops. We also tried the surf and turf buffalo ribs and crab. Buffalo ribs were not that great and were not quite fall off the bone like the waiter said they were which lead to messy hands. Not really a place you want to eat with your hands. our waiter was Roger and he did a good job and really wanted to make sure we enjoyed our time and food. We will be back for the Fish tacos.

Tags: Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

We again had a fun, silly double Birthda ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 2, 2016

We again had a fun, silly double Birthday lunch at lunch time. Great choices and super service.

Thanks everyone

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Dinner with friends, their first visit t ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Dinner with friends, their first visit to Annapolis, many restaurant choices, Blackwall Hitch was our choice. Another great dining experience.

From the time we were greeted at the door, seated and waited upon, our evening was most enjoyable.

Our drinks, appetizers, and entrees were excellent, served by our waiter Rodger.

We'll be sure to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We have been to Blackwall Hitch several ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 25, 2016

We have been to Blackwall Hitch several times and the food has always been great! However, when we went last Tuesday evening the food was not good at all. I had the scallops and they were very dry and the bread was really stale. I think the weekend may be a better time to go.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value4

The brunch is a buffet and is in need of ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 23, 2016

The brunch is a buffet and is in need of organization. My wife waited 30 minutes for an omelet. For $5 more, you get endless Mimosas. However, I think the bartender just waved the bottle by the glass of orange juice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

We have enjoyed every visit to Blackwall ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 18, 2016

We have enjoyed every visit to Blackwall Hitch. The food and ambiance are great. The waitstaff leaves you feeling as if you are long-time friends. Perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

The service food and warm reception was ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 9, 2016

The service food and warm reception was super, I'll be going back!

Tags: Hot Spot, Spicy, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Waterfront, Great for Lunch, Afternoon Tea, Business Meals, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Special occassion - my birthday. Our wa ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Special occassion - my birthday. Our waitress was outstanding. Food as very tasty, presented well. Mimosas were great. Desert tray was very good. We'd dine there again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The brunch was one of the best I've ever ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 9, 2016

The brunch was one of the best I've ever had. The omelet with shrimp and lump crabmeat was awesome. The waitress was extremely friendly and checked on us often. I would certainly recommend to a friend. This was our first visit and everyone in my party absolutely loved everything. I would certainly recommend this place to others. It was well worth the 45 minute drive.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Live Music, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Fun, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Must try the mahi-mahi tacos

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Must try the mahi-mahi tacos

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Good lunch experience. Excellent service ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Good lunch experience. Excellent service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

This place is unsuccessfully trying to p ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 30, 2016

This place is unsuccessfully trying to punch above its weight. The menu seemed too ambitious for what the kitchen could execute. For instance, scallops over mushroom risotto came out with crunchy, clumpy risotto and an overabundance of too-sweet balsamic vinegar. The broth for steamed mussels lacked any complexity. I'm rarely disappointed by oysters, but their Blue Points and Choptanks were tiny, flavorless and poorly shucked--we had to rip the meat off the shell ourselves. Even kids' meals were disappointing. Noodles with butter and cheese? It doesn't come easier than that, but the young critics found their pasta to be lacking in both butter and cheese flavor. Our earnest server was trying his hardest but couldn't seem to stop pushing the crab dip and the allegedly "amazing" scampi. We won't be back to try those offerings, or anything else.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

The restaurant is very nice and has a pa ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 23, 2016

The restaurant is very nice and has a parking lot which is great. However, the food was not good. I ordered wings and they had no flavor and tasted terrible. I also ordered a steak which came say way-no flavor and tasted terrible. I never had bad wings before so I cant recommend a place that cant make wings. Would not return. The waitress was very nice and the menu had a fair amount of options. I wish i ordered something else so i could tell you how the food was. My friends like the place but not me.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Brunch at Blackwall Hitch was very meh; ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Brunch at Blackwall Hitch was very meh; disappointing considering the $30 price point. All the service stations were overwhelmed; the waffle station seemed poorly staffed. The omelet station was crowded, and I appreciate the sous chef who was apologetic for the wait.

Foodwise, the omelet was nicely prepared. The fried chicken accompanying the waffle station was inedible (cold, breading non-existent) -- don't serve fried chicken if you can't do it right.

The raw bar looked well-stocked, as did the regular breakfast items. I appreciated the crispy bacon. The desserts were disappointing; by 1 pm all that was left were danishes and a bread-type cake.

At a $30 price point, I expected a bit more as far as quality of fare as well as how they move customers through.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value1

The brunch was wonderful and including a ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 18, 2016

The brunch was wonderful and including an on letter and waffle station. There was nice live music.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Private Room, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We love this restaurant. Food is always ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 17, 2016

We love this restaurant. Food is always good...the salads, flatbreads and calamari particularly! Always some interesting and creative specials and the service is excellent... friendly, efficient but unobtrusive. Had to add 2 to our party of 6 at the last minute and then call again because we were running late but both times the person on the phone handled the issue graciously and accommodated us without any trouble. Only reason I didn't give 5 stars is that the noise level is pretty high but it's a lively spot so I'm not sure there's anything to be done about that.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Private Room, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time eating at this restaurant, re ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 13, 2016

First time eating at this restaurant, recommended by a friend, and truly loved the overall experience. Excellent food and fantastic service! Happy hour in bar area from 4 to 7 with discounted drinks and small plates. Tried their Scallops and mushroom risotto as an appetizer and it was excellent. Also thoroughly enjoyed my meal of Cajun mahi mahi tacos, recommended by server. She proactively recommended substituting the couscous for roasted Brussels Sprouts, my favorite! Loved the whole meal! Definitely would come back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great spot! Terrific food. Fantastic ser ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 11, 2016

Great spot! Terrific food. Fantastic service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The four of us all enjoyed our meals. I ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 10, 2016

The four of us all enjoyed our meals. I don't think anyone raved about their food, but no one complained either. Everything was tasty and served at the proper temperature. The loaf of bread was especially good. We sat in a booth, and the seats were exceptionally squishy. We asked to be moved to a table but there was none available. Our server was excellent. He was available when needed but didn't hover. He also recognized that we preferred that empty plates NOT be removed until everyone was finished and didn't keep trying to take away the empty plates. Noise level was quite loud. Conversation required raised voices.

Tags: Fun, Casual, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

The food was delicious and the atmospher ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 10, 2016

The food was delicious and the atmosphere was awesome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Wonderful dining experience especially f ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 9, 2016

Wonderful dining experience especially for special occasions.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Brunch was just buffet style. Most of th ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 5, 2016

Brunch was just buffet style. Most of the food was cold and some of it was burnt. Server didn't approach is for 20 minutes. Very expensive for bad food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.