About Blackwall Hitch

400 Sixth Street
Annapolis, MD 21403
View Larger Map

From the moment you enter Blackwall Hitch in Annapolis’ Historic Eastport, you sense the attention to detail that has been harnessed to bring you and your companions a complete and satisfying dining experience. You sense the urban chic vibe with a connection to history, see and feel the attention to detail with comfortable, creative spaces for gatherings, smell the salty and savory aromas wafting from the oyster bar and dining area, and hear the bustle and music in the pub. After receiving easy-going, yet excellent service, sampling a signature Blackwall Hitch cocktail, and savoring a palate-and-hunger-satiating dinner, the voice in your ear says, “I have found my new favorite place in Naptown!”

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Sunday - 10:00am - 12:00 am
Monday - Wednesday: 11:00am - 12:00am
Thursday - Saturday: 11:00am - 2:00am

Cross Street:
Sixth and Severn

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 263-3454

Website:
http://theblackwallhitch.com/

Entertainment:
Live Music Wednesday - Saturday Night and Sunday Brunch

Executive Chef:
Chef Zachary Pope

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Blackwall Hitch Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

4.1

ambience

4.1

value

3.5

noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Groups (44)
Special Occasion (35)
Vibrant Bar Scene (28)
See All
Great for Lunch (24)
Neighborhood Gem (22)
Hot Spot (21)
Fit for Foodies (20)
Great for Brunch (18)
Romantic (15)
Scenic View (14)
Great for Outdoor Dining (13)
Notable Wine List (13)
Kid-friendly (7)
Late-night Find (6)
Private Room (6)
Business Meals (5)
Good for a Date (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Fun (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Casual (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Live Music (3)
Seasonal (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Bar Seating (2)
People Watching (2)
Comfort Food (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Authentic (1)
Cozy (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Sort By:
Newest
306 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The restaurant is very nice and has a pa ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on September 23, 2016

The restaurant is very nice and has a parking lot which is great. However, the food was not good. I ordered wings and they had no flavor and tasted terrible. I also ordered a steak which came say way-no flavor and tasted terrible. I never had bad wings before so I cant recommend a place that cant make wings. Would not return. The waitress was very nice and the menu had a fair amount of options. I wish i ordered something else so i could tell you how the food was. My friends like the place but not me.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Brunch at Blackwall Hitch was very meh; ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Brunch at Blackwall Hitch was very meh; disappointing considering the $30 price point. All the service stations were overwhelmed; the waffle station seemed poorly staffed. The omelet station was crowded, and I appreciate the sous chef who was apologetic for the wait.

Foodwise, the omelet was nicely prepared. The fried chicken accompanying the waffle station was inedible (cold, breading non-existent) -- don't serve fried chicken if you can't do it right.

The raw bar looked well-stocked, as did the regular breakfast items. I appreciated the crispy bacon. The desserts were disappointing; by 1 pm all that was left were danishes and a bread-type cake.

At a $30 price point, I expected a bit more as far as quality of fare as well as how they move customers through.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value1

The brunch was wonderful and including a ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

The brunch was wonderful and including an on letter and waffle station. There was nice live music.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Private Room, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We love this restaurant. Food is always ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

We love this restaurant. Food is always good...the salads, flatbreads and calamari particularly! Always some interesting and creative specials and the service is excellent... friendly, efficient but unobtrusive. Had to add 2 to our party of 6 at the last minute and then call again because we were running late but both times the person on the phone handled the issue graciously and accommodated us without any trouble. Only reason I didn't give 5 stars is that the noise level is pretty high but it's a lively spot so I'm not sure there's anything to be done about that.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Private Room, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time eating at this restaurant, re ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

First time eating at this restaurant, recommended by a friend, and truly loved the overall experience. Excellent food and fantastic service! Happy hour in bar area from 4 to 7 with discounted drinks and small plates. Tried their Scallops and mushroom risotto as an appetizer and it was excellent. Also thoroughly enjoyed my meal of Cajun mahi mahi tacos, recommended by server. She proactively recommended substituting the couscous for roasted Brussels Sprouts, my favorite! Loved the whole meal! Definitely would come back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great spot! Terrific food. Fantastic ser ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Great spot! Terrific food. Fantastic service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The four of us all enjoyed our meals. I ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

The four of us all enjoyed our meals. I don't think anyone raved about their food, but no one complained either. Everything was tasty and served at the proper temperature. The loaf of bread was especially good. We sat in a booth, and the seats were exceptionally squishy. We asked to be moved to a table but there was none available. Our server was excellent. He was available when needed but didn't hover. He also recognized that we preferred that empty plates NOT be removed until everyone was finished and didn't keep trying to take away the empty plates. Noise level was quite loud. Conversation required raised voices.

Tags: Fun, Casual, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

The food was delicious and the atmospher ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

The food was delicious and the atmosphere was awesome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Wonderful dining experience especially f ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Wonderful dining experience especially for special occasions.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Brunch was just buffet style. Most of th ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Brunch was just buffet style. Most of the food was cold and some of it was burnt. Server didn't approach is for 20 minutes. Very expensive for bad food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Service was poor at best. Waiter couldn ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Service was poor at best. Waiter couldn't be bothered.....

Food took forever to arrive.

$20 Fish tacos - no flavor

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

We waited over 20 minutes for our drinks ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

We waited over 20 minutes for our drinks, 40 minutes for appetizers, and then once we had finished our appetizers we were informed that the entree one of us ordered wasn't available and to pick something new out. We brought a group of friends that were visiting from out of town and we ended up leaving before we could eat. This place used to be so good and we were extremely disappointed and embarrassed that our friends had to experience that.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1
value1

Good time, good food. Shrimp and grits w ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Good time, good food. Shrimp and grits was a little spicy.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Three of us met for lunch, two were repe ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

Three of us met for lunch, two were repeat diners here. All of us enjoyed the meal. The server was prompt, the food well-prepared and tasty, and they were willing to turn down the music for us. Lots of free parking, a plus in this location.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I was very disappointed with our dining ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

I was very disappointed with our dining experience at Blackwall Hitch. My husband and I came in for our one year anniversary dinner. Annapolis is where we got married the previous year and were looking forward to a nice dinner at BH which was recommended once before. The decor was beautiful and the patio was nice. We really wanted to like everything else but it all fell flat. They forgot to put my husbands order in and therefore it took longer than expected. My food came out bland and cold. The food was not worth the price. After their error with ordering the waitress promised to comp something from our bill and that her manager would come over and offer it to us. The manager came over and apologized, not offering us anything to make the situation better. The waitress came back, was shocked nothing was offered, but offered on her own to give us a free chocolate dessert. I am allergic to chocolate so I asked if we could chose a different dessert , which she said no problem. A few minutes later she came over with the chocolate dessert, clearly not listening to us at all. I believe they have a communication error and felt as is providing good customer service was not a priority to them. My husband and I have dined all over DC, Baltimore and MD and this would be our worst customer experience to date.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

I absolutely love this place. The decor ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

I absolutely love this place. The decor was beautiful. The food was great and the service was outstanding. The waiter made my guest and I feel really combortable during Sunday brunch. The live band was a great touch.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Private Room, Romantic, Live Music, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had dinner at Blackwall Hitch to cele ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

We had dinner at Blackwall Hitch to celebrate our anniversary. We were seated at a table in a very noisy section of the restaurant. We asked to be moved to a quieter location, but we're told no alternative tables were available. The hostess seemed confused by our request.

The food was good, not great. The service was very good. The server was in training, but was knowledgeable, helpful, friendly and efficient.

We would recommend BH for lunch, happy hour or groups, but not for a quiet dinner.

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual, Fun, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

Very upbeat dining experience. The wait ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Very upbeat dining experience. The wait staff was attentive and the menu items varied and delicious. Good for a casual evening out or a special occasion. Excellent dining spot away from the tourist crowds.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good Moscow mule as well as the crab di ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Good Moscow mule as well as the crab dip. Large parties were monopolizing servers time. But they fit us in

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

We ended up at Blackwell Hitch after our ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

We ended up at Blackwell Hitch after our original anniversary plans fell through. It wasn't a disappointing alternative. The decor is unique and modern. The restaurant isn't too dark. Our table was against the wall and one seat was like a couch or love seat instead of a usual booth. The food was all very good. We started with the saganaki appetizer, then each of us tried a different combination from the surf and turf offerings. We were fill d by that point, but did take a slice of Smith Island cake to go. All were very tasty. The wine offerings were better than average. I would definitely be open to a return visit.

Tags: Authentic, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent service. Our crab dip was amaz ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Excellent service. Our crab dip was amazing, but the rest of the dinner came out warm and not as hot as I would have liked. Overall great experience and would go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Booth seating is not good. Seats are wa ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Booth seating is not good. Seats are way too low for the tables, especially if you are a small person. I ordered the special and while it was ok, it was not very special. .. fish was way overdone to the point of being dry. The drinks were delicious, the service was excellent and of course, the space has been beautifully decorated. A fun place to go, but they need to do a better job in the kitchen. I will stick to the salads from now on.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

While the decor is beautiful and unique, ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

While the decor is beautiful and unique, the seating was uncomfortable for dinner. The use of couch like seating is pretty, but too soft and low to eat at comfortably. The first table we sat at had a vent dripping water on us. Not long after we sat down, a large crowd gathered in the area behind us for some type of reception. There needs to be a divider between that and the rest of the dining. I could hardly hear the conversation with our dinner guests, we had to speak so loudly.

I ordered a salad with a "lump crabcake", which i paid $15 extra for. What arrived was a small salad with a few sprinkles of crabmeat on it. If I were invited to dine there again (not by my choice), I would hope the rooftop dining would be a better experience.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value3

Food was excellent. Wait staff could hav ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Food was excellent. Wait staff could have been a little better. Never asked if we would like a drink before taking our food order.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

Superb! The energetic bar scene was rig ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Superb! The energetic bar scene was right up my alley. There was a good mix of couples as well as groups of women and men just hanging for girls or guys night. We had a couple of drinks at the bar which had a more than adequate selection of beer and wine. Once we were seated for dinner the waitress was very attentive and the food was excellent. My wife had the lump crab cake dinner and I had the scallop risotto. Both were excellent!

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We were seated 20 minutes after our rese ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

We were seated 20 minutes after our reservation time. The table was located right next to the kitchen which presented a dirty water order and less than one foot next to a neighboring table. The menu did have a lot of options and the atmosphere and decor was very well done. Our appetizers came out very quickly and was very tasty; however we noticed our same waitress offered the table next to us dinner rolls but we were not offered them. We both did order appetizers. Our entree came out about 35 minutes after we finished our appetizer and unfortunately the waitress put in the incorrect order. The hamburger we ordered was ordered medium rare and it came out well done. The entree that came out incorrect did come back within 10 minutes, leaving us to question why it took so long in the first place. The waitress did say she would comp us the incorrect entree order but when we received the check she omitted our drinks and appetizer but charged us for two entrees, we thought "okay, maybe she just took these items off instead" However when we received the credit card receipt the bill was $20 more than the original check. So we had to complain to the manager, who explained that the waitress provided us with the wrong check originally. Need i say more, we had a terrible experience and will not be returning.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1
value1

All staff was very friendly, even when m ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

All staff was very friendly, even when my 2 year old was doing 2 year old things. Food was good, we were seated promptly, and our guests were very impressed by the whole experience. Not somewhere I would recommend taking kids if you don't have to- save it for a date night.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The atmosphere was really nice for our a ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

The atmosphere was really nice for our anniversary dinner. The cocktails were a bit pricey but delicious. They have gluten free options which I need, so that was a plus. My scallops were over cooked and the risotto wasn't creamy at all. Definitely not worth the price. Flourless chocolate cake was good. Overall, quite pricey.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

Service was sub-par and noise level was ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Service was sub-par and noise level was high! Staff did their best to keep the noise level controlled by closing doors on both party rooms adjacent to the first floor dining area, but it was difficult to hold a conversation at our table. Server was either brand new with no help or was completely overwhelmed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

It was our first time, and we loved it! ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

It was our first time, and we loved it! Great place!

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Romantic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Nice brunch although the a la carte menu ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Nice brunch although the a la carte menu was more appealing. The salmon ran out by 1pm but otherwise, it was very prettily presented. Big burgers, friendly waiters, decent pours of wine and a fun crowd with an excellent jazz band from DC (BSQ, Bob Schwartz Quartet), so it was a good time and great tunes. Nice way to pass a Sunday afternoon in Annapolis.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

My husband and I came In for the jazz br ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

My husband and I came In for the jazz brunch. The restaurant was loud and the service was lacking. I have never paid so much money for a breakfast buffet in all my life and it was nothing special. We didn't even get the bottomless mimosas. Had we done that our bill would have been over $80. For breakfast that is just insane. I don't know if i'll ever go back. If I wanted to spend that kind of money I would have gone to miss shirley's and got the crab cake benedict. That is worth the $20+ price tag.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value1

It was our first time visiting. The occ ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

It was our first time visiting. The occasion was a friends birthday. Brunch was very good. Comfortable seating. A good variety of breakfast and lunch foods. Noise level was relatively low, which was good for catching up. Cute venue. I would recommend and would try again.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Great experience. Very popular! Loud, ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Great experience. Very popular! Loud, so be ok with shouting across the table. In spite of doing just that, everyone in our group enjoyed our meal, the service, and the evening!

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time here. Heard several people me ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

First time here. Heard several people mention it so we had to try it. Food was good. Service very good. We started our meal with 2 starters, the Calamari and the Shrimp App. Both very good. Calamari was cooked perfectly. I had the Mahi Tacos. Very good. They gave you 3 of them. Was surprised to hear they had Dogfish 90 min. on tap. SO that was a pleasant surprise. My wife had the Filet Flatbread. It was good. A little steep for $16. Overall a fun evening and good food.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Great restaurant--a year ago when we had ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Great restaurant--a year ago when we had our rehearsal dinner here. They seem to be under new management, service was spotty, food was not what it was, and some of the best things are gone from the menu. We celebrated our anniversary (told them in the reservation booking) there, and while the manager asked everyone how their meal was, he ignored us. Perhaps it's because we were the gay couple?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

Great food. Great service. Fun and vib ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Great food. Great service. Fun and vibrant atmosphere. Great to see parking available so near downtown Annapolis.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Second time dining at Blackwall Hitch. W ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Second time dining at Blackwall Hitch. We came back because of the food, and the great drink selection. Arrived a little early for our reservation, but were seated right away. We had a wonderful waiter (wish I could remember his name!) who was very attentive. We started out with the Flaming Saganaki (excellent!!) paired with a couple of Dirty Hitch and Hibiscus Mojito cocktails. For dinner, our table had the Shobb salad (filled with lots of shellfish), lobster roll (complemented with tasty skinny fries), Shrimp and Crab Ceviche (listed under the starters, but I found it a very pleasing, light entree), and the Mahi Mahi Tacos (three on the plate, so be hungry when you order this!), all of which we would heartily recommend!

We ended the meal with the Raspberry sherbet which was nice and refreshing. They brought out a small bowl with one scoop ($6?) and then followed up with another bowl of three scoops, saying someone had made a mistake with the first small bowl. Nice!!!

Would highly recommend Blackwall Hitch to others while visiting the Annapolis Harbor/Easton area. Easy walk from the Inner Harbor. Great people work here!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Blackwall Hitch specializes in seafood, ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Blackwall Hitch specializes in seafood, but there are a lot of dishes to choose from, and options that I haven't seen in other seafood places (check their menu online). The crab cakes were really good. My wife ordered filet mignon, and it was pretty darn tasty, too. I don't drink wine, but I noticed that they have an extensive wine list. They have a good beer selection, on tap and in bottles. Although this is a good place to go for a special occasion, if you're looking for a quiet dinner, this is not the place. It's pretty loud. Not that you have to shout to be heard, but loud, nonetheless. I definitely recommend Blackwall Hitch. My wife and I had a great night out.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very slow and poor service. Replenishme ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Very slow and poor service. Replenishments were not provided or offered. Server was not available - hard to find. Had to wait 30 minutes for check after we had to ASK for it. Very disappointed in the service, was sorry that I brought my parents to this restaurant.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.