About Blackwall Hitch

400 Sixth Street
Annapolis, MD 21403
View Larger Map

From the moment you enter Blackwall Hitch in Annapolis’ Historic Eastport, you sense the attention to detail that has been harnessed to bring you and your companions a complete and satisfying dining experience. You sense the urban chic vibe with a connection to history, see and feel the attention to detail with comfortable, creative spaces for gatherings, smell the salty and savory aromas wafting from the oyster bar and dining area, and hear the bustle and music in the pub. After receiving easy-going, yet excellent service, sampling a signature Blackwall Hitch cocktail, and savoring a palate-and-hunger-satiating dinner, the voice in your ear says, “I have found my new favorite place in Naptown!”

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Sunday - 10:00am - 12:00 am
Monday - Wednesday: 11:00am - 12:00am
Thursday - Saturday: 11:00am - 2:00am

Cross Street:
Sixth and Severn

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 263-3454

Website:
http://theblackwallhitch.com/

Entertainment:
Live Music Wednesday - Saturday Night and Sunday Brunch

Executive Chef:
Chef Zachary Pope

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Blackwall Hitch Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.1

ambience

4.2

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Lunch
Greater Annapolis
Best Restaurants in Annapolis ›

Good for Groups (51)
Special Occasion (48)
Great for Lunch (36)
See All
Vibrant Bar Scene (33)
Neighborhood Gem (31)
Fit for Foodies (30)
Great for Brunch (27)
Great for Outdoor Dining (24)
Hot Spot (24)
Scenic View (21)
Romantic (20)
Notable Wine List (16)
Kid-friendly (14)
Late-night Find (11)
Sort By:
Newest
285 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We ended up at Blackwell Hitch after our ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined 3 days ago

We ended up at Blackwell Hitch after our original anniversary plans fell through. It wasn't a disappointing alternative. The decor is unique and modern. The restaurant isn't too dark. Our table was against the wall and one seat was like a couch or love seat instead of a usual booth. The food was all very good. We started with the saganaki appetizer, then each of us tried a different combination from the surf and turf offerings. We were fill d by that point, but did take a slice of Smith Island cake to go. All were very tasty. The wine offerings were better than average. I would definitely be open to a return visit.

Tags: Authentic, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent service. Our crab dip was amaz ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 4 days ago

Excellent service. Our crab dip was amazing, but the rest of the dinner came out warm and not as hot as I would have liked. Overall great experience and would go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Booth seating is not good. Seats are wa ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined 4 days ago

Booth seating is not good. Seats are way too low for the tables, especially if you are a small person. I ordered the special and while it was ok, it was not very special. .. fish was way overdone to the point of being dry. The drinks were delicious, the service was excellent and of course, the space has been beautifully decorated. A fun place to go, but they need to do a better job in the kitchen. I will stick to the salads from now on.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

While the decor is beautiful and unique, ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined 4 days ago

While the decor is beautiful and unique, the seating was uncomfortable for dinner. The use of couch like seating is pretty, but too soft and low to eat at comfortably. The first table we sat at had a vent dripping water on us. Not long after we sat down, a large crowd gathered in the area behind us for some type of reception. There needs to be a divider between that and the rest of the dining. I could hardly hear the conversation with our dinner guests, we had to speak so loudly.

I ordered a salad with a "lump crabcake", which i paid $15 extra for. What arrived was a small salad with a few sprinkles of crabmeat on it. If I were invited to dine there again (not by my choice), I would hope the rooftop dining would be a better experience.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value3

Food was excellent. Wait staff could hav ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Food was excellent. Wait staff could have been a little better. Never asked if we would like a drink before taking our food order.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

Superb! The energetic bar scene was rig ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Superb! The energetic bar scene was right up my alley. There was a good mix of couples as well as groups of women and men just hanging for girls or guys night. We had a couple of drinks at the bar which had a more than adequate selection of beer and wine. Once we were seated for dinner the waitress was very attentive and the food was excellent. My wife had the lump crab cake dinner and I had the scallop risotto. Both were excellent!

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We were seated 20 minutes after our rese ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

We were seated 20 minutes after our reservation time. The table was located right next to the kitchen which presented a dirty water order and less than one foot next to a neighboring table. The menu did have a lot of options and the atmosphere and decor was very well done. Our appetizers came out very quickly and was very tasty; however we noticed our same waitress offered the table next to us dinner rolls but we were not offered them. We both did order appetizers. Our entree came out about 35 minutes after we finished our appetizer and unfortunately the waitress put in the incorrect order. The hamburger we ordered was ordered medium rare and it came out well done. The entree that came out incorrect did come back within 10 minutes, leaving us to question why it took so long in the first place. The waitress did say she would comp us the incorrect entree order but when we received the check she omitted our drinks and appetizer but charged us for two entrees, we thought "okay, maybe she just took these items off instead" However when we received the credit card receipt the bill was $20 more than the original check. So we had to complain to the manager, who explained that the waitress provided us with the wrong check originally. Need i say more, we had a terrible experience and will not be returning.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1
value1

All staff was very friendly, even when m ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

All staff was very friendly, even when my 2 year old was doing 2 year old things. Food was good, we were seated promptly, and our guests were very impressed by the whole experience. Not somewhere I would recommend taking kids if you don't have to- save it for a date night.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The atmosphere was really nice for our a ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

The atmosphere was really nice for our anniversary dinner. The cocktails were a bit pricey but delicious. They have gluten free options which I need, so that was a plus. My scallops were over cooked and the risotto wasn't creamy at all. Definitely not worth the price. Flourless chocolate cake was good. Overall, quite pricey.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

Service was sub-par and noise level was ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Service was sub-par and noise level was high! Staff did their best to keep the noise level controlled by closing doors on both party rooms adjacent to the first floor dining area, but it was difficult to hold a conversation at our table. Server was either brand new with no help or was completely overwhelmed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

It was our first time, and we loved it! ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

It was our first time, and we loved it! Great place!

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Romantic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Nice brunch although the a la carte menu ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Nice brunch although the a la carte menu was more appealing. The salmon ran out by 1pm but otherwise, it was very prettily presented. Big burgers, friendly waiters, decent pours of wine and a fun crowd with an excellent jazz band from DC (BSQ, Bob Schwartz Quartet), so it was a good time and great tunes. Nice way to pass a Sunday afternoon in Annapolis.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

My husband and I came In for the jazz br ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

My husband and I came In for the jazz brunch. The restaurant was loud and the service was lacking. I have never paid so much money for a breakfast buffet in all my life and it was nothing special. We didn't even get the bottomless mimosas. Had we done that our bill would have been over $80. For breakfast that is just insane. I don't know if i'll ever go back. If I wanted to spend that kind of money I would have gone to miss shirley's and got the crab cake benedict. That is worth the $20+ price tag.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value1

It was our first time visiting. The occ ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

It was our first time visiting. The occasion was a friends birthday. Brunch was very good. Comfortable seating. A good variety of breakfast and lunch foods. Noise level was relatively low, which was good for catching up. Cute venue. I would recommend and would try again.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Great experience. Very popular! Loud, ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Great experience. Very popular! Loud, so be ok with shouting across the table. In spite of doing just that, everyone in our group enjoyed our meal, the service, and the evening!

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time here. Heard several people me ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

First time here. Heard several people mention it so we had to try it. Food was good. Service very good. We started our meal with 2 starters, the Calamari and the Shrimp App. Both very good. Calamari was cooked perfectly. I had the Mahi Tacos. Very good. They gave you 3 of them. Was surprised to hear they had Dogfish 90 min. on tap. SO that was a pleasant surprise. My wife had the Filet Flatbread. It was good. A little steep for $16. Overall a fun evening and good food.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Great restaurant--a year ago when we had ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Great restaurant--a year ago when we had our rehearsal dinner here. They seem to be under new management, service was spotty, food was not what it was, and some of the best things are gone from the menu. We celebrated our anniversary (told them in the reservation booking) there, and while the manager asked everyone how their meal was, he ignored us. Perhaps it's because we were the gay couple?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

Great food. Great service. Fun and vib ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Great food. Great service. Fun and vibrant atmosphere. Great to see parking available so near downtown Annapolis.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Second time dining at Blackwall Hitch. W ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Second time dining at Blackwall Hitch. We came back because of the food, and the great drink selection. Arrived a little early for our reservation, but were seated right away. We had a wonderful waiter (wish I could remember his name!) who was very attentive. We started out with the Flaming Saganaki (excellent!!) paired with a couple of Dirty Hitch and Hibiscus Mojito cocktails. For dinner, our table had the Shobb salad (filled with lots of shellfish), lobster roll (complemented with tasty skinny fries), Shrimp and Crab Ceviche (listed under the starters, but I found it a very pleasing, light entree), and the Mahi Mahi Tacos (three on the plate, so be hungry when you order this!), all of which we would heartily recommend!

We ended the meal with the Raspberry sherbet which was nice and refreshing. They brought out a small bowl with one scoop ($6?) and then followed up with another bowl of three scoops, saying someone had made a mistake with the first small bowl. Nice!!!

Would highly recommend Blackwall Hitch to others while visiting the Annapolis Harbor/Easton area. Easy walk from the Inner Harbor. Great people work here!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Blackwall Hitch specializes in seafood, ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Blackwall Hitch specializes in seafood, but there are a lot of dishes to choose from, and options that I haven't seen in other seafood places (check their menu online). The crab cakes were really good. My wife ordered filet mignon, and it was pretty darn tasty, too. I don't drink wine, but I noticed that they have an extensive wine list. They have a good beer selection, on tap and in bottles. Although this is a good place to go for a special occasion, if you're looking for a quiet dinner, this is not the place. It's pretty loud. Not that you have to shout to be heard, but loud, nonetheless. I definitely recommend Blackwall Hitch. My wife and I had a great night out.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very slow and poor service. Replenishme ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Very slow and poor service. Replenishments were not provided or offered. Server was not available - hard to find. Had to wait 30 minutes for check after we had to ASK for it. Very disappointed in the service, was sorry that I brought my parents to this restaurant.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

Would definitely go back again. A little ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Would definitely go back again. A little noisy but overall a fun place. I wouldn't recommend for a 1st date because of the noise unless you sit on the deck.

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Happy Hour was great! The bar has great ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Happy Hour was great! The bar has great "living room" type seating that's very conducive for conversation. Food was great and service was great. We'll be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I loved this restaurant and can't wait t ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

I loved this restaurant and can't wait to come back

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went for the brunch but even tho the ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

We went for the brunch but even tho the hours were until 2pm, at a little after 1pm the selection was substantially & disappointedly reduced. Menu options were good. We thought that sitting on the far side of the dining room would be quitter, but not so. It was so loud the 4 of us had to shout to be heard. This is a continual problem there.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

I believe they have a few issues to work ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

I believe they have a few issues to work on!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

On a hot & humid weekday night we escape ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

On a hot & humid weekday night we escaped into the restaurant for dinner. The dining room was pleasantly quiet. Our server was very attentive. My drink choice is always very specific & it was perfect! We chose different types of selections; one the shrimp udon salad; the other Surf n' Turf. Both were excellent, although the seeds of the jalapeno in the salad lit my mouth on fire! It was a pleasant, leisurely Wednesday evening dinner.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Alissa our bartender was great. She made ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Alissa our bartender was great. She made excellent beer recommendations and provided awesome service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The place is fabulous, the food was supe ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

The place is fabulous, the food was superb, the service was in a word terrific. I am recommending this place to all my friends and anybody else that will listen. This is a must try place!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Celebrating daughter's 18th b-day. Food ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Celebrating daughter's 18th b-day. Food is really good but pricey. The house bread is wonderful; had fish tacos, softshell crabs, and shrimp & grits. Very delicious. But the best were the salads -- had the wedge, house, and pear. All were amazing with tasty dressings. Crab dip = so-so. The chef needs to revisit the dessert menu 'cause it is bland compared to the rest of the menu. Wine list extensive and well priced for every budget. Server was attentive and paced our meal, understanding that we were there not to be rushed through. Very noisy tho'. The acoustics of the place permit noise to travel, particularly from the bar area where a band was playing. Sat in a booth and sunk to the floor which was disconcerting and not to mention too low to eat enjoyably. The cushions are old and need to be replaced. The place really encourages large parties to have fun and celebrate.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

The food was not good. The wine was not ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

The food was not good. The wine was not good. Drinks were overpriced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

The Blackwall Hitch is a medicore restau ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

The Blackwall Hitch is a medicore restaurant masking itself as an upscale, fine dining establishment. The staff is ill prepared to cook, twice messing up our scallops; first under cooked and then over cooked. Also, the brussel sprouts were not fresh; they defrost frozen sprouts and quickly saute them. They were mushy and bland tasting. The wait staff is less than helpful and the manager was disinterested in getting the meal correctly served and only after several complaints did he finally concede to remove the charge from out tab. The local clientele is snobbish and much too condescending in their attitudes for my taste. I honestly do not recommend this establishment and for the first time in my many reviews, I cannot select any categories above by which to offer a recommendation. Don't go unless you like to abuse yourself!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Ambiance was great. Easy parking and goo ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Ambiance was great. Easy parking and good location. Good was mediocre at best and therefore over priced. Hostesses were difficult and rude.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2

A good place for a local date night.

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

A good place for a local date night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5

It is always too cold there. The cevi ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

It is always too cold there.

The ceviche was awful. Not enough seafood. Too many red peppers.

Service was great. Flatbreads are delicious. Fish tacos and burger were good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5

Interesting dishes, nicely prepared and ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Interesting dishes, nicely prepared and presented. Service was excellent! Nice, clean, pleasant surroundings. Scallop and shrimp dishes were excellent! Will visit again and recommend to others.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our party of 8 was seated comfortably in ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Our party of 8 was seated comfortably in the dining room. Food arrived in a timely manner and everyone in the party enjoyed themselves.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

This is my second time in 4 weeks and I ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

This is my second time in 4 weeks and I LOVE Blackwall Hitch.Both times for brunch so I need to come back for lunch or dinner. Love everything about the location, energy, food, music and service

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Went for their Sunday brunch to celebrat ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Went for their Sunday brunch to celebrate Father's Day. The food selections were great; lots of variety. Good balance between "breakfast" foods and "lunch" foods. Food was excellent; our server was attentive and had a great personality. We would definitely go back for brunch and give it a try for dinner.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Sunday Brunch in Annapolis. Food is ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Best Sunday Brunch in Annapolis. Food is excellent, great variety and ambiance. Loved the jazz band.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.