HelpiOS AppAndroid AppWindows Phone AppWindows 8 App

Not available on OpenTable

Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network.
If you like, we’ll notify you by email if this restaurant joins.
Is this your restaurant? Claim this listing

Black Sheep

4.0
52 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Contemporary American
Top Tags:
  • Fit for Foodies (55)
  • Good for Groups (47)
  • Neighborhood Gem (43)

Similar Restaurants

About

Housed in a turn-of-the-century industrial building, Black Sheep boasts exposed brick walls, original wood flooring and a soaring beadboard ceiling — all enhanced by tasteful, eclectic modern interiors — creating a cozy chic vibe.

Featuring a rotating selection of 16 unique bottles tapped from a self-serve dispensing system, Black Sheep offers three sizes of pours for sampling and pairings. We offer inventive crafted cocktails and an beer list that appeals to true enthusiasts. Black Sheep's menu offers casual yet inventive food selections including plates to share, salads, desserts including pairings from Indulgence Chocolatiers and our gourmet haute dogs. Sunday Brunch brings Milwaukee's first DJ brunch, with music from noon to 4 p.m.
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Contemporary American
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation


Sunday Brunch: 10:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(414) 223-0903
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Frank Harroun and Valerie Stafford
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Pittsburgh
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wine
What 52 People Are SayingWrite a review
Overall ratings and reviews
4.0  based on all time ratings
4.2
food
3.8
service
4.3
ambience
5.0
value
Noise · Moderate
85% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
vipRdunc (Chicago)
4.0  Dined on June 14, 2015

Had Brunch at Black Sheep, loved the décor, menu was very interesting, coffee strong and delicious. The service was a left a little bit to be desired as there was only one waitress on and she was running like crazy to service the entire restaurant on her own. Hostess filled water and cleared tables, but wasn't very prompt with coffee refills.

Report
Helpful
vipOpenTable Diner (Milwaukee)
2.0  Dined on June 5, 2015

waited 45 minutes for our entrees and watched people who arrived after we did receive their food before ours arrived (in one case, others received the same entree we ordered)

Report
Helpful
FoodieTeacher (Phoenix)
3.0  Dined on May 16, 2015

This was our second visit to Black Sheep. On our first, about 6 months ago, we thoroughly enjoyed the food---it was imaginative bar food. But, our server was rude. This visit, our server was very friendly and pleasant. We thought the menu had been cut down quite a bit. The food was OK. The real problem was that we had to wait a very long time for our entrees, and when we did get them, half of them were lukewarm at best. It was a disappointing experience all in all, and enough to prevent us from returning.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Milwaukee)
4.0  Dined on May 2, 2015

We went to Black Sheep once, and loved that Happy Hour existed on Saturday. When we returned, we still hit happy hour, but the deals had changed. The food was still good, but overall wasn't the deal that we intended to hit.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Milwaukee)
3.0  Dined on April 18, 2015

This place is different than when it first opened. I get that places change, but why get rid of your gourmet hot dogs!! Those were seriously the best! I'm a little disappointed in that. Love the serve yourself wine bar though. Also, the waitress was super rude to us, which kind of ruined the night.

Report
Helpful
Disappointed (Milwaukee)
1.0  Dined on March 6, 2015

I had high hopes for Black Sheep but it did not deliver. The "wine bar" had a limited (undesirable) selection and the food was mediocre at best. Our group had the mac and cheese (dry), the mussels (basically onions in some sour broth), the burger (ok), the Wooster (also ok) and some salads. The sangria and the hummus plate were the most redeeming aspects of the meal.

Report
Helpful
AccidentalFoodie (Chicago)
5.0  Dined on February 27, 2015

The restaurant gets very lively on Friday’s and Saturday’s around 7 pm. It is a great spot for a group of 4-6 people. There is something on the menu for everyone, and great large appetizers for sharing. Black Sheep does a great job at taking old favorites, like a Hot Dog, and making them “gourmet” by adding toppings and cheeses that you might never have tried, but always make a great combination. The staff is very attentive. When we arrived our table was not ready, and we were finally seated after 40 minutes. However, Management comped us a round of drinks at the bar and 3 appetizers, which is so much more than most restaurants do.

Report
Helpful
KateR (Milwaukee)
3.0  Dined on February 14, 2015

Lots of fun perks - wine on tap, haute dog menu, spiked tea / sangria / punch available.
Sit at the bar and get plenty of attention - cute spot.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Milwaukee)
4.0  Dined on February 14, 2015

Really good food and reasonable drink prices for happy hour. Loved the ambiance and our waitress.

Report
Helpful
HungryMama (Milwaukee)
5.0  Dined on February 14, 2015

It was a fantastic experience. The menu is so fun and you won't believe what they can do with a hot dog. Everything was delicious and the portions are certainly not skimpy..Expect to leave satisfied. Also, be sure ask your server about the wine bar. It's such a clever concept!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Milwaukee)
4.0  Dined on February 8, 2015

Great service and awesome menu.

Report
Helpful
WaterWithLemon (Milwaukee)
5.0  Dined on January 30, 2015

If you are leaning towards the more adventurous side of the scale when it comes to your wieners, leave the ballpark behind and get down to Black Sheep. Haute dogs are not to be taken lightly. The Trailer Park Dog is a pure slice of americana unabashedly prepared with a food genius level of execution. The Armada takes chorizo to a whole new world. And the poutine, a delicacy not easily found in Milwaukee, is worth trashing any diet for a day.

Wine on tap is a unique experience that any wine lover will appreciate, especially if indecisiveness is ever an issue. The knowledgeable staff can guide guests through the options with honesty and enthusiasm and the craft cocktail list does not disappoint.

Black Sheep is a must visit destination for anyone that is intrigued by the idea of Milwaukee's most gourmet hot dog experience.

Report
Helpful
vipTot379 (Milwaukee)
4.0  Dined on January 28, 2015

We stop by last Sunday for brunch, it was really good so we wanted to try it for dinner, I was not disappointed, was very good, it tasted fresh, just wish our started was a bit more hot, beer was good and chicken pot pie was nice and steaming, will definitely come back.

Report
Helpful
122014 (Milwaukee)
3.0  Dined on January 24, 2015

THe service was very good, but I would only return for drinks.

Report
Helpful
vipFred (Milwaukee)
4.0  Dined on January 15, 2015

Never thought I would like eating hot dogs this much! Great cocktails and beer selections, too.

Report
Helpful
Sundae (Milwaukee)
2.0  Dined on January 9, 2015

The food was cold. The service was slow. The menu was special.

Report
Helpful
vipmbeemsterboer (Milwaukee)
5.0  Dined on January 3, 2015

I dined at Black Sheep with a group of 5 total and we really enjoyed our visit to Black Sheep. The menu was great, lots of interesting items that were well thought out. The 'Haute Dog' I had was very good - the closest thing to Chicago's former encased meats champion, Hot Doug's (RIP) that I've ever had outside of that establishment. The other app type food we had was also quite good. The place had a fun vibe to it and seemed to have good spots to accommodate many medium sized or small groups.

My only complaint was where we were seated was a bit dark. At one point, I actually used my phone to help me read the menu. Other spots seemed more well lit, so just try not to be stuck in the inner corner booth if you'd be off put by this as well.

Report
Helpful
kattyr3 (New York Area)
4.0  Dined on December 21, 2014

Great girls brunch. Food was great and mimosas were almost good as the company I was with. Definitely will go again. Loved the vibe and the decor. Food was creative yet familiar and waitress really took care of us.

Report
Helpful
CLS25 (Milwaukee)
4.0  Dined on December 6, 2014

The atmosphere was great as was the food! The "haute" dog I had was delicious and the two people I dined with ordered the poutine and mac & cheese--which were served family style making it easy to share. The only downside was we had to wait for our wine to be chilled--twice--and we ordered the same bottle. Being a server myself, I would have put one on backup right away just in case, but it really was not a huge deal at all just more of an observation.

Report
Helpful
Foodiefile (Milwaukee)
4.0  Dined on November 21, 2014

The food menu is good, but limited. Only three traditional entrees. Drink menu is fun and unusual. You won't see some of these cocktails anywhere else! Good for small groups to share food as well as nice seating for couples. Service was friendly and responsive.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3