Is this your restaurant?Claim this listing.

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.39mi
  2. Distance: 0.44mi
  3. Distance: 0.48mi
  4. Distance: 0.49mi
Get Notified
We'll send you an email if this restaurant joins OpenTable.
Notify Me

Restaurants you may also like

Screaming TunaScreaming Tuna
(507)
$$$$
Sushi | Milwaukee, Milwaukee
Booked 21 times today
Merriment SocialMerriment Social
(249)
$$$$
Contemporary American | Milwaukee, Milwaukee
Booked 28 times today
DanDan MilwaukeeDanDan Milwaukee
(365)
$$$$
Chinese | Milwaukee, Milwaukee
Booked 27 times today
MovidaMovida
(164)
$$$$
Tapas / Small Plates | Milwaukee, Milwaukee
Booked 10 times today
MorelMorel
(430)
$$$$
American | Milwaukee, Milwaukee
Booked 20 times today
Tre RivaliTre Rivali
(330)
$$$$
Mediterranean | Milwaukee, Milwaukee
Booked 46 times today
Harbor HouseHarbor House
(4119)
$$$$
Seafood | Milwaukee, Milwaukee
Booked 70 times today
OnestoOnesto
(576)
$$$$
Italian | Milwaukee, Milwaukee
Booked 27 times today
Water BuffaloWater Buffalo
(861)
$$$$
American | Milwaukee, Milwaukee
Booked 24 times today
SwigSwig
(882)
$$$$
American | Milwaukee, Milwaukee
Booked 14 times today
Third Coast ProvisionsThird Coast Provisions
(234)
$$$$
Contemporary American | Milwaukee, Milwaukee
Booked 28 times today
Crazy WaterCrazy Water
(382)
$$$$
American | Milwaukee, Milwaukee
Booked 11 times today
SmythSmyth
(961)
$$$$
American | Milwaukee, Milwaukee
Booked 17 times today
Stella Van BurenStella Van Buren
(113)
$$$$
Steakhouse | Milwaukee, Milwaukee
Booked 30 times today
The Capital Grille - MilwaukeeThe Capital Grille - Milwaukee
(1305)
$$$$
Steakhouse | Milwaukee, Milwaukee
Booked 16 times today

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.39mi
  2. Distance: 0.44mi
  3. Distance: 0.48mi
  4. Distance: 0.49mi

About Black Sheep

Housed in a turn-of-the-century industrial building, Black Sheep boasts exposed brick walls, original wood flooring and a soaring beadboard ceiling — all enhanced by tasteful, eclectic modern interiors — creating a cozy chic vibe.

Featuring a rotating selection of 16 unique bottles tapped from a self-serve dispensing system, Black Sheep offers three sizes of pours for sampling and pairings. We offer inventive crafted cocktails and an beer list that appeals to true enthusiasts. Black Sheep's menu offers casual yet inventive food selections including plates to share, salads, desserts including pairings from Indulgence Chocolatiers and our gourmet haute dogs. Sunday Brunch brings Milwaukee's first DJ brunch, with music from noon to 4 p.m.

216 S. Second St
Milwaukee, WI 53204
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:


Sunday Brunch: 10:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Pittsburgh

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(414) 223-0903

Website:
http://www.blacksheepmke.com/

Executive Chef:
Frank Harroun and Valerie Stafford

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Black Sheep Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.0

Overall Rating

based on all time ratingsThis restaurant has not received enough recent ratings to display a current ratings snapshot
food

4.2

service

3.8

ambience

4.3

value

5.0

Noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (55)
Good for Groups (47)
Neighborhood Gem (43)
See All
Hot Spot (40)
Vibrant Bar Scene (36)
Notable Wine List (33)
Romantic (19)
Great for Brunch (17)
Late-night Find (17)
Great for Lunch (14)
Special Occasion (11)
Kid-friendly (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Casual (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sort by
S
52 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 14, 2015

Had Brunch at Black Sheep, loved the décor, menu was very interesting, coffee strong and delicious. The service was a left a little bit to be desired as there was only one waitress on and she was running like crazy to service the entire restaurant on her own. Hostess filled water and cleared tables, but wasn't very prompt with coffee refills.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 5, 2015

waited 45 minutes for our entrees and watched people who arrived after we did receive their food before ours arrived (in one case, others received the same entree we ordered)

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 16, 2015

This was our second visit to Black Sheep. On our first, about 6 months ago, we thoroughly enjoyed the food---it was imaginative bar food. But, our server was rude. This visit, our server was very friendly and pleasant. We thought the menu had been cut down quite a bit. The food was OK. The real problem was that we had to wait a very long time for our entrees, and when we did get them, half of them were lukewarm at best. It was a disappointing experience all in all, and enough to prevent us from returning.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 2, 2015

We went to Black Sheep once, and loved that Happy Hour existed on Saturday. When we returned, we still hit happy hour, but the deals had changed. The food was still good, but overall wasn't the deal that we intended to hit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 18, 2015

This place is different than when it first opened. I get that places change, but why get rid of your gourmet hot dogs!! Those were seriously the best! I'm a little disappointed in that. Love the serve yourself wine bar though. Also, the waitress was super rude to us, which kind of ruined the night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 6, 2015

I had high hopes for Black Sheep but it did not deliver. The "wine bar" had a limited (undesirable) selection and the food was mediocre at best. Our group had the mac and cheese (dry), the mussels (basically onions in some sour broth), the burger (ok), the Wooster (also ok) and some salads. The sangria and the hummus plate were the most redeeming aspects of the meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 27, 2015

The restaurant gets very lively on Friday’s and Saturday’s around 7 pm. It is a great spot for a group of 4-6 people. There is something on the menu for everyone, and great large appetizers for sharing. Black Sheep does a great job at taking old favorites, like a Hot Dog, and making them “gourmet” by adding toppings and cheeses that you might never have tried, but always make a great combination. The staff is very attentive. When we arrived our table was not ready, and we were finally seated after 40 minutes. However, Management comped us a round of drinks at the bar and 3 appetizers, which is so much more than most restaurants do.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 14, 2015

Lots of fun perks - wine on tap, haute dog menu, spiked tea / sangria / punch available.
Sit at the bar and get plenty of attention - cute spot.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 14, 2015

Really good food and reasonable drink prices for happy hour. Loved the ambiance and our waitress.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 14, 2015

It was a fantastic experience. The menu is so fun and you won't believe what they can do with a hot dog. Everything was delicious and the portions are certainly not skimpy..Expect to leave satisfied. Also, be sure ask your server about the wine bar. It's such a clever concept!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 8, 2015

Great service and awesome menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 30, 2015

If you are leaning towards the more adventurous side of the scale when it comes to your wieners, leave the ballpark behind and get down to Black Sheep. Haute dogs are not to be taken lightly. The Trailer Park Dog is a pure slice of americana unabashedly prepared with a food genius level of execution. The Armada takes chorizo to a whole new world. And the poutine, a delicacy not easily found in Milwaukee, is worth trashing any diet for a day.

Wine on tap is a unique experience that any wine lover will appreciate, especially if indecisiveness is ever an issue. The knowledgeable staff can guide guests through the options with honesty and enthusiasm and the craft cocktail list does not disappoint.

Black Sheep is a must visit destination for anyone that is intrigued by the idea of Milwaukee's most gourmet hot dog experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 28, 2015

We stop by last Sunday for brunch, it was really good so we wanted to try it for dinner, I was not disappointed, was very good, it tasted fresh, just wish our started was a bit more hot, beer was good and chicken pot pie was nice and steaming, will definitely come back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 24, 2015

THe service was very good, but I would only return for drinks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 15, 2015

Never thought I would like eating hot dogs this much! Great cocktails and beer selections, too.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 9, 2015

The food was cold. The service was slow. The menu was special.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 3, 2015

I dined at Black Sheep with a group of 5 total and we really enjoyed our visit to Black Sheep. The menu was great, lots of interesting items that were well thought out. The 'Haute Dog' I had was very good - the closest thing to Chicago's former encased meats champion, Hot Doug's (RIP) that I've ever had outside of that establishment. The other app type food we had was also quite good. The place had a fun vibe to it and seemed to have good spots to accommodate many medium sized or small groups.

My only complaint was where we were seated was a bit dark. At one point, I actually used my phone to help me read the menu. Other spots seemed more well lit, so just try not to be stuck in the inner corner booth if you'd be off put by this as well.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 21, 2014

Great girls brunch. Food was great and mimosas were almost good as the company I was with. Definitely will go again. Loved the vibe and the decor. Food was creative yet familiar and waitress really took care of us.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 6, 2014

The atmosphere was great as was the food! The "haute" dog I had was delicious and the two people I dined with ordered the poutine and mac & cheese--which were served family style making it easy to share. The only downside was we had to wait for our wine to be chilled--twice--and we ordered the same bottle. Being a server myself, I would have put one on backup right away just in case, but it really was not a huge deal at all just more of an observation.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 21, 2014

The food menu is good, but limited. Only three traditional entrees. Drink menu is fun and unusual. You won't see some of these cocktails anywhere else! Good for small groups to share food as well as nice seating for couples. Service was friendly and responsive.

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 14, 2014

Overall, I would go back here. Just know that if you go on a weekend evening it gets very loud in the space. After yelling with some friends for two hours, we left feeling a bit hoarse. Otherwise the food was great. We tried the tots, scallops and Beal St. Dog, all things I would get again. We also tried the pretzel which was forgetable, but have high expectations for pretzels.

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 7, 2014

Very loud place. Menu is a bit odd. Salad was over drenched with dressing and the "special" my husband ordered had sat under a lamp for quite a while. Wonderful strawberries on the salad and generous gorgonzola. Would have been better with a grilled chicken option. Chicken and biscuit=Wonderful! Waitress recommended the house-very good, but overpriced and over iced. everything took way too long.Not just for us either. Everyone around us was waiting with an empty table. But she was quick to process the check. Not sure we'd return.Hostess was a bit rude as well. Like we woke her up. Seemed suspicious of our last minute reservation via Open Table. Anyway, cute place. Some tapestries would cut that noise though, like 10 of them.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 7, 2014

Loved the decor. Food was creative, fresh and delicious. Great bar and energy. We will definitely return. Waitstaff was working very hard. Overall, very well done.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 1, 2014

Food great -- service very poor. They seemed extremely understaffed in my opinion. This contributed I'm sure to the feeling we got that we were "bothering" the wait staff. We were told we could order all at once but our food would come out in stages. Instead, all of my food arrived at the same time while my husband waited 20 more minutes while I ate alone -- then all his food came out at the same time even though he had specifically asked it not - then he ate alone since I was finished. It even took about 15 minutes to get more bread/crackers for cheese.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 28, 2014

Upon entering, the decor is pleasing to the eye: clean, hip and ample space. The bartender was very nice, energetic and engaging. It was our first time in the bar and there were about 8 people total. It doubles as a bar restaurant. They have a cool menu with some very unique offerings. First, Haute Dogs with some wild toppings to choose from: I had the Beale St. Dog with Swiss Cheese, Pulled Pork and Fried Onion Rings (very good). We also had the Tater Tot Nachos which were topped with nacho cheese, sour cream and salsa (these were fantastic). Lastly, we ordered the grilled asparagus garnished with cherries and pecans (also top notch). They have a pour-your-own wine bar which is a novel idea and a good beer selection. Will come again.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 25, 2014

We went there for a friend's birthday dinner not knowing what to expect. Our server Keyona was funny and entertaining. She was also attentive without being overbearing. I have told many people about Black Sheep in Milwaukee already. And I will soon return. The food was outstanding.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 25, 2014

We were there early (6pm) on a Saturday and the music was way too loud. We felt like we were in a club. While the food was pretty good, we will not return because of the loud music. Not sure if this place wants to be a bar or a restaurant, but they are definitely going to lose food customers with the strong bar vibe. Also, the wine list could use some work. Half of the list are very pricey bottles. We would never consider paying over $50 for a bottle of wine at this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 18, 2014

Loved this find. Didn't think I would eat "Haute Dogs" for dinner, but our whole group did! I have been telling everyone about this place. Can't wait to go back and try the small plates. Drinks were also exceptional. Prices were great. A wonderful experience without breaking a budget. So tired of going out and spending a lot of money on average food and drinks.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 18, 2014

The experience here was very different. Even with being able to review the menu ahead of time, your mouth may not be ready for the very different flavors this place has to offer. This is not necessarily a bad thing and we enjoyed everything we ate. We highly recommend going between 4 and 7 pm Mon-Sat for their Happy Hour. They discount several drinks, appetizers and entrees. We recommend trying the Mac and Cheese appetizer if you like flavors of bleu cheese and garlic. They sure know how to make lamb chops! These were some of the best I remember for a long time. This place has some gourmet "Haut" Dogs that we plan to go back for. The staff is also very casual in appearance with visible tattoos and piercings.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 12, 2014

I made reservations for 11:30am for brunch, when we arrived (it was my first time) no one greeted me and I sat at the bar to wait for my party to arrive, still no one greeted me and they were not busy at all. The staff gave me looks and finally the bartender came over and I had to ask if I just sat anywhere or what. At first our waitress was quite rude but she did loosen up and was quite pleasant and funny. I did not need to make a reservation as the place was not busy at all. I would go back, food was good and the space it self is cool.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 11, 2014

while the food was good - it was still hot dogs....and really expensive ones. The whole idea about "serve-yourself" wine bar was lost on me. If that's the case, the cost should be far less. I have a hard time paying $15 for a 9 oz pour, when I know the retail on the bottle is $20....and yes, I understand the whole mark-up in a restaurant.
Plus the wine credit card was not cleared before it was given to our table...so we had 4 glasses of wine on it that weren't ours. Sorry....the restaurant itself was nicely appointed, nice vibe - we had reservations, but no hostess stand - and sign reads seat yourself.
Hope they figure it out....it could be great.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 3, 2014

We had been to Black Sheep for drinks in the past, but decided to try it for dinner with a larger group. The food was terrific, especially the apps and dogs, and the service was great. Overall, a great dinner experience and we will be going back soon.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on September 27, 2014

The gourmet hot dogs and tater tot nachos were excellent. The old fashion was also good enough for a return visit.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 20, 2014

We were a party of 5 and sampled many things on the menu. We thought everything was excellent! Also,the cocktails were thoughtful and delicious. The space is hip and inviting. Our female server was barely friendly;and while the food was great,the wait was far too long. That coupled with the fact that parking is a nightmare in the neighborhood may prevent us from returning.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 20, 2014

What a pleasant surprise! We had an awesome server at Black Sheep, she made our evening. We tried the Mac and cheese, delicious. Our entrees were good, meat and vegetables, not a lot of starches. Dessert was very yummy. The place is nicely decorated. Parking would be the only concern ... A little challenging, be prepared to walk a little. Nicely priced as well.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on September 19, 2014

nice selection of food. the rosemary grilled lamb chops were outstanding as well the grilled asparagus. Just the right amount of seasonings, etc.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on September 18, 2014

Let me say this first - I love the atmosphere and the food. I will keep going here. BUT - I've been here three times in the past month and each time at least one staff person (server or bartender) has given off the vibe that they resent me for showing up and quite frankly, prefer I'd drop dead. For the time being, their "badittudes" are entertaining and make me giggle. That being said, I haven't really had to wait for a beverage or my food (which I would not be able to overlook).

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on September 13, 2014

Place is very sheik.. why was I eating sloppy bar food?! Cocktails were a mess.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on September 12, 2014

Lack of appropriate level of staffing, very slow service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on September 9, 2014

We ate at Black Sheep for the first time last night and we really loved it! First of all, the decor is so great, unique pieces all over and just a very well thought out theme. Very visually appealing atmosphere. The menu is very unique and not overwhelming with choices. That's my hint that the food will be very tasty and then you read the combinations and it's hard to decide because it all looks good. We had the wooster dog from the happy hour menu. Wow, fabulous combination of salty, sweet and blue cheese bite! The pomme frites and truffle aioli, GET THEM or you're just a fool! And for dinner we did the scallops with risotto and the sugar charred steak...oh boy, both wonderful! We will go back and bring friends.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.