About Black Sheep Restaurant

1534 Oak Street
Jacksonville, FL 32204
View Larger Map

Black Sheep is an independent restaurant located in Jacksonville"s historic 5-Points in Riverside. Our focus is on fresh, local ingredients, hand-crafted food, and gracious service. We offer a full bar, signature cocktails, craft beers and an excellent wine list. We offer fast-casual lunch Monday through Friday, dinner Monday through Saturday, and brunch Saturday and Sunday.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Happy Hour: Daily 3:00pm - 6:00pm
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 10:30am - 3:00pm, (limited menu 3pm-5pm), Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm (limited menu 11pm-midnight), Brunch: Saturday - Sunday: 9:30am - 3:00pm (limited menu 3pm-5pm),
Roof top dining, bar and lounge Sunday - Thursday 3:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 3:00pm - 12:00pm (Limited menu 11-midnight)

Cross Street:
Margaret St & Oak St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(904) 380-3091

Website:
http://blacksheep5points.com/

Parking Details:
The Riverside Trolley is available during Lunch hours Monday-Saturday.

Executive Chef:
Waylon Rivers

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Delivery, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Smoking Area, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Black Sheep Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Contemporary American
Jacksonville
Most Booked
Jacksonville
Best Restaurants in Jacksonville ›

great for outdoor dining (63)
fit for foodies (61)
neighborhood gem (58)
See All
special occasion (50)
hot spot (47)
scenic view (43)
good for groups (39)
romantic (37)
great for brunch (34)
vibrant bar scene (32)
notable wine list (30)
great for lunch (29)
late-night find (27)
kid-friendly (4)
 (3)
 (3)
 (2)
 (2)
 (2)
 (2)
 (2)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
681 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Overrated. Portions were small; not memorable.

Dined 5 days ago

The service was fine but our overall experience did not meet the expectations of what we heard of the restaurant. The fried green olives were amazing. My husband ordered the pork sandwich which was good- but nothing you couldn't get at a fancy food truck. I've had better BBQ sandwiches at 4Rivers. The mac and cheese was very good, though a little salty. I ordered the duck confit and while it tasted fine, it was nothing overly exciting and the small portions were laughable, especially considering the $24 price tag. Some more variety on the menu would be nice. And if you're going to charge $25-$30 a plate, make sure you put a decent amount of food on there so people feel like they get their moneys worth. Until then, we'll be dining elsewhere. :)

Tags: fit for foodies, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

The best service ever totally and utterl ...

Dined on May 23, 2016

The best service ever totally and utterly pleased

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was outstanding and the service ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

The food was outstanding and the service was DeVine! I am so happy that we choose the Black Sheep for our dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were there for a Birthday Brunch and ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

We were there for a Birthday Brunch and the food and service was excellent! The Cardamom pancakes were to die for and the fresh bacon and eggs were just as good. We will return to try other dishes.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really great place for relaxing with a g ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Really great place for relaxing with a great view ambiance on the rooftop. I was visiting from out of town and chose to have brunch with my friends. The staff was great well the food. I noted my gluten free diet in my reservation. The hostess acknowledged my allegy gave seperate menu options. We had an awesome time.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service3

My food was delicious. Service was relat ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

My food was delicious. Service was relatively slow. I waited about 15 to 20 mins before my drink order was taken. But overall great

food3
ambience2
service4
value4

Black Sheep

Dined on May 8, 2016

Restaurant is fine. Nothing special but nothing negative to say either. By Jacksonville standards its probably on the better side of average. Overall solid safe place to grab a quick bite at a reasonable price.

food4
ambience3
service4
value2

Overpriced for what you get.

Dined on April 30, 2016

$21 for shrimp and grits...it was good but not $21 worth. For 2 drinks and shrimp and grits, my total was $54!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

The delicious is food! I know it sounds ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

The delicious is food! I know it sounds weird but water is very good too! I love the view from the rooftop as well!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

post symphony fare

Dined on April 24, 2016

We have always enjoyed the quality of the food at Black Sheep. We love having fine dining restaurants like this to go to in the late evening after the symphony.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything about this restaurant is amaz ...

Dined on April 17, 2016

Everything about this restaurant is amazing. We always sit on the roof and it is just beautiful. The food is some of the best I've ever had. I love this restaurant.

food5
ambience5
service5

I dined here TWICE during my recent visi ...

Dined on April 17, 2016

I dined here TWICE during my recent visit to Jax! Once for dinner Friday night, and Brunch on Sunday. I absolutely LOVE your cocktails... And both the dinner and brunch menu offerings were spot on!! Can't wait to come back next time I am in town!!

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Sitting outside on the patio was perfect.

Dined on April 17, 2016

I think brunch at Black Sheep is my favorite meal! There is plenty to choose from and I have never been disappointed with my selection. The noise level is lower, especially if sitting outside, which lends to great people watching as well. In other restaurants, I have felt that the service was spotty and inconsistent, but this is not the case at Black Sheep. The staff attention was excellent! Maybe I shouldn't give this review--I sure want to continue going to Saturday and Sunday brunches without the crowds, and this may give my secret away.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5

Our reservations for right on time! The ...

Dined on April 16, 2016

Our reservations for right on time! The food is amazing here. Service is excellent! Just wish the weather was better so we could've enjoyed the upstairs outside seating.

food5
ambience3
service5
value2

Great dining experience

vip
Dined on April 16, 2016

We were wary of Black Sheep when it first opened since we are pescatarians. The menu looked laden with beef and pork as are many of the local farm to table restaurants. However there are vegetarian and fish entrees , starters and side dishes and the kitchen is willing to make appropriate substitutions when necessary. In this regard, we are always able to put together an eclectic collection of starters, sides and entrees which are always well prepared and nicely plated. The service during our most recent visit was particularly attentive. It is becoming one of our go to eateries. Granted ,our choices are limited but not so much as at other similar venues and their willingness to make accommodations for dietary limitations is a big plus.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

The BLACK SHEEP: very enjoyable dinning.

Dined on April 14, 2016

Four friends dined at the restaurant on a Thursday evening. All diners were excellent and the portions were good. The service was impeccable. The ambiance is not romantic nor is it ostentatious. It is good. Terrific food served well !

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Quickly seated and waited upon. Wine re ...

vip
Dined on April 12, 2016

Quickly seated and waited upon. Wine recommendation was very good. Of course the Fried Olives were great...my wife had the shrimp and grits which was yummy delicious and I had the Korean short ribs which were superb. Service was excellent. Except for the increasing noise level as the evening grew, everything was top notch - we will be back!!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exceptional

Dined on April 10, 2016

Service is great, food fantastic and the roof top bar is unique and very cool, even in the winter! A must visit, we love this place, one of our favorites!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service3

The venue was awesome on the roof top!

Dined on April 10, 2016

The venue was awesome on the roof top!

food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Black Sheep is everything one could want.

Dined on April 7, 2016

Very cool, local bistro. Black Sheep is a great addition to a great neighborhood.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food and atmosphere.

Dined on April 3, 2016

Enjoyed delicious food and great atmosphere for friends. Love the drink menu as well. Southern influence to the menu but healthy options as well.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service4

Heaven's Gate is always a favorite cockt ...

Dined on March 27, 2016

Heaven's Gate is always a favorite cocktail - unsure exactly what my husband had. We began with the Poutine and Fried Green Tomatoes. Poutine was excellent, as always, but the Tomatoes seemed to be lacking something. Atop was diced tomatoes and lettuce, reminiscent of a pico de gallo, yet a complimentary sauce would have perfected them. The entree of Duck Confit served atop risotto was absolutely delicious. My husband enjoyed his Crispy Skin Salmon. We skipped dessert; too full. As for service - our server seemed a bit flighty. It felt as though she was going to hand us the check after our appetizers and before she even took our dinner order. We had to remind her we still had yet to order. I think total time from sit down to leaving, was 2-2.5 hours - and that's without dessert. The rooftop bar is always pleasant, whether it's for pre-dinner drinks or dinner itself. The weather was more than ideal.

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Overall great place!

Dined on March 21, 2016

I love the atmosphere of Blacksheep, the food, the location. The only thing was it took an hr to get our food. The food was great though once we did get it.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food1
ambience2
service1

Menu said 'fried chicken' special...NOT ...

Dined on March 20, 2016

Menu said 'fried chicken' special...NOT fried chicken...it was awful!!! Baked at best. Not tasty .... To bad for a restaurant with so many good dishes!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Recommend for Everyone!

Dined on March 20, 2016

It was amazing! Food was great. The view was superb. The weather was fantastic. Most importantly the service was great!

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing experience!

Dined on March 12, 2016

We were in awe of this place from the time we walked in until we left. The ambiance is stunning, the service was fabulous, and the food was amazing! We would definitely recommend Black Sheep and we will be back next time we visit Jacksonville!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Dinner

Dined on March 11, 2016

Great place for dining al fresco (nice inside seating as well). We had great server (Sarah) who was the perfect combination of friendly, knowledgeable, and efficient. Everything we ordered was outstanding!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Pointless Reservation

Dined on March 10, 2016

I had guests in town. I gave them three restaurant choices. They chose Black Sheep because I mentioned rooftop dining. I made reservations. When we arrived the hostess said reservations were for first floor dining room and we could wait 45 minutes for a table on the roof. We drove in rush hour traffic out of our way for rooftop dining and ended up sitting on the first floor patio. Luckily, the food was good and the server was nice. But poor customer service from hostess.

Tags: great for brunch
food5
ambience5
service5

3 people, 3 different orders & everythin ...

vip
Dined on March 6, 2016

3 people, 3 different orders & everything was fabulous!

food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Sunday Night home style dinner

Dined on March 6, 2016

We went for the Sunday special of fried chicken with mashed potatoes, creamed peas, and corn.we have been to Black Sheep several times and always enjoyed the food, atmosphere, and service. On this occasion, the service and the atmosphere were very good and so were the side dishes. The only disappointment was the chicken and it was a big disappointment. The texture was very chewy and rubbery, and it wasn't particularly flavorful. We had read some good reviews and so found this to be surprising.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Great location, service, and food

Dined on February 27, 2016

Wonderful roof-top bar with great view, attentive service and great mixologist. Food downstairs in the restaurant. Well prepared and served.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience5
service5

Service and food were great. Nice atmosp ...

Dined on February 21, 2016

Service and food were great. Nice atmosphere in a nice setting. We will return.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Black Sheep Review

Dined on February 20, 2016

I took my elderly parents to supper at Black Sheep over the weekend. We did eat a bit early, 6pm, but the food and the service was fantastic. I had worried that it'd be too loud but we sat near the window and my parents could easily hear myself as well as the server. The food was amazing- although I'm not a foodie and felt like I needed to google a few words on the menu- the waitress was happy to describe what some things were. I had the shrimp and grits- it was phenomenal. I highly recommend this spot. Next time I intend to go with friends so we can eat at the rooftop bar!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

We were disappointed with the food.

Dined on February 19, 2016

We went to Black Sheep before a concert and we were disappointed. The scrimp and grits were good but the pork shank wasn't good at all. It had two bones and a lot of fat and the meat was overcooked. The greens were odd tasting as well. Our server was fine but I don't know if it was where we were seated, but there were a lot of people coming by and bumping my husband. That was mostly the serving staff. You would think they would know better. We won't be going there again for sure.

food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Just Good

Dined on February 14, 2016

I was so excited to return this year for Valentine's Day. Last years dinner was excellent. This year, not so much. I made a reservation. We walked in and the two girls up front kept talking to each other. I had to interrupt their conversation after a couple minutes to get seated. Weren't authentic at all. Our server Logan was great. Fast, ensured we were taken care of and seemed like he cared. The Valentine Day menu this year was sad. No filet mignon as I hoped for so we settled for ribeye. Luckily we snatched the last two, one out of two entrees on special that day and no more at 6 pm! Steaks took a while to come out so we ordered two appetizers. Do not get the chicken bite appetizers. Not good. Fries were good. I ordered my ribeye medium rare. It was good but very chewy. Dessert was delicious! Asides from the bad service in the beginning and disappointing menu, our experience this year for Valentine's Day was just good.

Tags: hot spot
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

A bit disappointed

Dined on February 14, 2016

I had only two issues during my visit here.. First I went through the trouble of making a reservation for brunch on Valentines day in the hopes that I can secure a decent table. Upon arrival the restaurant was busy and they seated us close to entrance behind the hostess. This was the most uncomfortable seating arrangements, very busy with the in and out of customers.. I was expecting a better seating arrangement since I had reservations. Tables behind hostess and near entrance should be left available for walk-ins...not those who go through the trouble of a reservation. Having said that they were very accommodating when we asked if we could be moved to the roof top.. which by the way had lots of availability. My second issue or maybe it more of semantics is the definition of a brunch.. I've been to many brunches and my definition of a brunch is not a menu with a lunch and breakfast options. So I was a bit surprised when I asked for a brunch menu and they informed me that brunch is an option of breakfast and lunch items. We ended up just having some appetizers (which were really good) and drinks. Overall ambiance was nice, staff was polite and accommodating.. I will visit again but will be more specific in my reservation request.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Did not match reputation

Dined on February 13, 2016

This was our first time at Blacksheep. It has an amaing reputation and we were excited to try it. The service was good, as was the general setting and wine list. However, the noise level was a bit high and quickly escalated when the hostess seated a group of vividly tipsy and boisterous females behind us when other open and more secluded tables were available. Most surprising was the food. My wife ordered marinated Korean BBQ short ribs with kimchi atop grits. I ordered a hamburger with bread pudding on the side. We tried poutine as an appetizer. Their take on poutine was interesting, but was certainly not what ww expected (I'm 1/2 Canadian) and my wife thought it bland. The BBQ short ribs were very tough though we were promised otherwise. It also tasted as though it was salt-cured and not marinated. The kimchi was equally salty, but the grits were alright. My burger was amazing and I would recommend it, highly. But the bread pudding was deplorable. The top was burnt and whatever taste it had was simply that of grease mixed with bland bread. Due to its reputation, we will likely give it one more chance. All restaurants have their "off nights" every now and then, after all.

food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Date Night Highlights & Dessert Disappointment

Dined on February 12, 2016

My husband and I went for an early Valentines Date. We were lucky to get a table on the rooftop terrace. The atmosphere was relaxing with a cool breeze and beautiful sunset. It was a little chilly so the staff brought out heaters which made it very comfortable. The appetizers & dinner were delicious and the staff friendly & attentive. The only disappointment of the night was my dessert. A tastless peanut butter mousse on top of what was described as "crunchy almonds", that tasted more like stale cereal. It was very unappetizing and quite frankly, gross. It was a big let down to end a lovely night on a bad note. I would still recommend dining here, but may go somewhere else for dessert.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service4

Dusty Boot cocktail was awesome. The Shr ...

Dined on February 5, 2016

Dusty Boot cocktail was awesome. The Shrimp and grits was perfect.

food3
ambience3
service3
value1

Disappointing

Dined on February 3, 2016

It was disappointing. The food was fine, but severely overpriced. The high prices steak was rough and not tender. Wait staff was friendly, but not attentive.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.