About Black Sheep Restaurant

1534 Oak Street
Jacksonville, FL 32204
View Larger Map

Black Sheep is an independent restaurant located in Jacksonville"s historic 5-Points in Riverside. Our focus is on fresh, local ingredients, hand-crafted food, and gracious service. We offer a full bar, signature cocktails, craft beers and an excellent wine list. We offer fast-casual lunch Monday through Friday, dinner Monday through Saturday, and brunch Saturday and Sunday.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Happy Hour: Daily 3:00pm - 6:00pm
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 10:30am - 3:00pm, (limited menu 3pm-5pm), Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm (limited menu 11pm-midnight), Brunch: Saturday - Sunday: 9:30am - 3:00pm (limited menu 3pm-5pm),
Roof top dining, bar and lounge Sunday - Thursday 3:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 3:00pm - 12:00pm (Limited menu 11-midnight)

Cross Street:
Margaret St & Oak St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(904) 380-3091

Website:
http://blacksheep5points.com/

Parking Details:
The Riverside Trolley is available during Lunch hours Monday-Saturday.

Executive Chef:
Waylon Rivers

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Delivery, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Smoking Area, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Poutine
Truffled Black Hog Farms Egg Toast And Pinewood Street Bacon
Shrimp and Grits
Lil Moo Ravioli
Fried Olives
Berkshire Porkshop
Scallops And Pork Belly
Pushing Daisies
Creme Brulee
Cheese And Meat Board
Fried Green Tomato BLT
Beet Salad
Braised Short Ribs
Pumpkin Sponge Cake
Country Style Pâté
Crispy Skin Mayport Snapper
Hudson Valley Foie Gras Torchon
Cowford Daisy (Cocktail)
Sage & Coriander Cured Arctic Char
Florida Lobster Roll
Market Greens Salad
Caesar Salad With Shrimp
crispy skin salmon
Seasonal Paloma
Kale & Smoked Trout Salad
Black Hog Farm Chicken
Chocolate Malt Milkshake & House Made Oreos
Yellowtail Snapper & Butternut Squash Risotto
Calamari Escabeche
Bbq Duck Sandwich
Turkey Flat "Butcher's Block" Barossa
House Fries & Crack Aïoli
Flounder Special
Duck Confit Panini
Truffled Egg Toast
Cowboy Meats Grass Fed Hamburger
Crab Cake with Sweet Corn Succotash
Spaghetti Squash Soup, Duck Confit Fritter, Walnut Oil
Bbq Pork Belly With Grits
Chicken Liver Mousse With Southern Pepper Relish
Mayport Shrimp & Grits
Seared North Florida Snapper
Bar-B-Q Fried Pork Rinds
Herb Marinated Tempeh
Bananas Foster Creme Pie
Black Hog Farm Chicken & Dumplings
Caesar Salad With Soft Boiled Egg
Chocolate Ganache Cake
Shrimp N Grits
Duck Panini With Bacon And Onion Jam
Warm Sea Salt & Vinegar Potato Chips
Banana Fosters Cream Pie
Duck Banh Mi
Hibiscus Tea
Roast Beef Sandwich
Jasmine Tea
Chicken And Dumplings (Gluten-Free (ie, Minus the Dumplings))
French Fries
Bar-B-Q Duck Sandwich
Brussel sprouts
Crispy Grooper With Fingerling Potatoes
Smoked Chicken Salad (Marcona Almonds & Apricots)
Pink Snapper over Sunburst Squash With Blackberry Jous
Hamburger
shrimp and grits!
Wainwright Cheddar Grits
Cucumber Collins (Cocktail)
Midnight Oil Coffee Stout (Beer)
Fried Green Tomato BLT (Sandwich)
Beermosa
Heavens Gate (Cocktail)
Cauliflower Soup
Pastrami Ruben
Pea Soup
Short Ribs And Bleu Cheese Bread Pudding
S'mores Pie
Steak With Bacon Creamed Spinach
Caesar Salad And French Onion Soup
Beet Salad And Soup Du Jour
Cappuccino
Shrimp Ceviche

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Black Sheep Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Contemporary American
Jacksonville
Best Restaurants in Jacksonville ›

great for outdoor dining (69)
fit for foodies (63)
neighborhood gem (61)
See All
special occasion (59)
scenic view (51)
hot spot (51)
good for groups (45)
romantic (40)
great for brunch (38)
vibrant bar scene (37)
great for lunch (36)
notable wine list (31)
late-night find (28)
kid-friendly (6)
Sort By:
Newest
693 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service3

I have been here once before, and the fo ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

I have been here once before, and the food did not disappoint. We had the sweetbread nuggets, the lamb bacon, and duck confit. They were all wonderful. The desserts weekend good, but not as flavorful as the apps and entrees.

food3
ambience5
service4
value4

We enjoyed brunch very much but were dis ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

We enjoyed brunch very much but were dismayed that the pancakes and shrimp & grits were cold by the time they got to the roof. First time that has happened to us.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

great atmosphere. great food. knowledgea ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

great atmosphere. great food. knowledgeable staff.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Thank you to everyone at Black Sheep for ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Thank you to everyone at Black Sheep for making my anniversary night memorable. Everything was on point from the food, the service, to the ambience.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Our services was really good. Even thoug ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Our services was really good. Even though our table wasn't ready for almost 40 min after our reservation was scheduled for, the manager made up for it

food5
ambience2
service4
value4

Loud but still good. Great waiter Blaise ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Loud but still good. Great waiter Blaise would go again

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

The food was beyond amazing. My only iss ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

The food was beyond amazing. My only issue was that our waitress was a bit rude at times. She was a bit sarcastic and could be a turn off to some. Overall we had an amazing experience and we will be back!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Rooftop dining in Jacksonville

Dined on June 5, 2016

The roof at Black Sheep is a great place for brunch, lunch, or cocktails. It is refreshing to be outside and not at street level with the traffic. Servers are courteous and attentive.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Farm to Table

vip
Dined on June 4, 2016

Great farm to table food featuring Black Hog Farm meats which make yummy sandwiches.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous Brunch Cardamom Pancakes

Dined on May 29, 2016

The chef's recipe for Cardamom pancakes is fabulous. You get three large, fluffy, tasty pancakes with real maple syrup and homemade strawberry jam and apple butter. This is the second time my husband and I have been back for brunch. Hats off to the chef for these awesome pancakes!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Improve your Desert

Dined on May 29, 2016

The food was really good, but the desert was not compare with the quality of food we get it, the texture was old and not flavor inside

Tags: great for lunch
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Overrated. Portions were small; not memorable.

Dined on May 26, 2016

The service was fine but our overall experience did not meet the expectations of what we heard of the restaurant. The fried green olives were amazing. My husband ordered the pork sandwich which was good- but nothing you couldn't get at a fancy food truck. I've had better BBQ sandwiches at 4Rivers. The mac and cheese was very good, though a little salty. I ordered the duck confit and while it tasted fine, it was nothing overly exciting and the small portions were laughable, especially considering the $24 price tag. Some more variety on the menu would be nice. And if you're going to charge $25-$30 a plate, make sure you put a decent amount of food on there so people feel like they get their moneys worth. Until then, we'll be dining elsewhere. :)

Tags: fit for foodies, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

The best service ever totally and utterl ...

Dined on May 23, 2016

The best service ever totally and utterly pleased

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was outstanding and the service ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

The food was outstanding and the service was DeVine! I am so happy that we choose the Black Sheep for our dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were there for a Birthday Brunch and ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

We were there for a Birthday Brunch and the food and service was excellent! The Cardamom pancakes were to die for and the fresh bacon and eggs were just as good. We will return to try other dishes.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really great place for relaxing with a g ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Really great place for relaxing with a great view ambiance on the rooftop. I was visiting from out of town and chose to have brunch with my friends. The staff was great well the food. I noted my gluten free diet in my reservation. The hostess acknowledged my allegy gave seperate menu options. We had an awesome time.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service3

My food was delicious. Service was relat ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

My food was delicious. Service was relatively slow. I waited about 15 to 20 mins before my drink order was taken. But overall great

food3
ambience2
service4
value4

Black Sheep

Dined on May 8, 2016

Restaurant is fine. Nothing special but nothing negative to say either. By Jacksonville standards its probably on the better side of average. Overall solid safe place to grab a quick bite at a reasonable price.

food4
ambience3
service4
value2

Overpriced for what you get.

Dined on April 30, 2016

$21 for shrimp and grits...it was good but not $21 worth. For 2 drinks and shrimp and grits, my total was $54!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

The delicious is food! I know it sounds ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

The delicious is food! I know it sounds weird but water is very good too! I love the view from the rooftop as well!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

post symphony fare

Dined on April 24, 2016

We have always enjoyed the quality of the food at Black Sheep. We love having fine dining restaurants like this to go to in the late evening after the symphony.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything about this restaurant is amaz ...

Dined on April 17, 2016

Everything about this restaurant is amazing. We always sit on the roof and it is just beautiful. The food is some of the best I've ever had. I love this restaurant.

food5
ambience5
service5

I dined here TWICE during my recent visi ...

Dined on April 17, 2016

I dined here TWICE during my recent visit to Jax! Once for dinner Friday night, and Brunch on Sunday. I absolutely LOVE your cocktails... And both the dinner and brunch menu offerings were spot on!! Can't wait to come back next time I am in town!!

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Sitting outside on the patio was perfect.

Dined on April 17, 2016

I think brunch at Black Sheep is my favorite meal! There is plenty to choose from and I have never been disappointed with my selection. The noise level is lower, especially if sitting outside, which lends to great people watching as well. In other restaurants, I have felt that the service was spotty and inconsistent, but this is not the case at Black Sheep. The staff attention was excellent! Maybe I shouldn't give this review--I sure want to continue going to Saturday and Sunday brunches without the crowds, and this may give my secret away.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5

Our reservations for right on time! The ...

Dined on April 16, 2016

Our reservations for right on time! The food is amazing here. Service is excellent! Just wish the weather was better so we could've enjoyed the upstairs outside seating.

food5
ambience3
service5
value2

Great dining experience

vip
Dined on April 16, 2016

We were wary of Black Sheep when it first opened since we are pescatarians. The menu looked laden with beef and pork as are many of the local farm to table restaurants. However there are vegetarian and fish entrees , starters and side dishes and the kitchen is willing to make appropriate substitutions when necessary. In this regard, we are always able to put together an eclectic collection of starters, sides and entrees which are always well prepared and nicely plated. The service during our most recent visit was particularly attentive. It is becoming one of our go to eateries. Granted ,our choices are limited but not so much as at other similar venues and their willingness to make accommodations for dietary limitations is a big plus.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

The BLACK SHEEP: very enjoyable dinning.

Dined on April 14, 2016

Four friends dined at the restaurant on a Thursday evening. All diners were excellent and the portions were good. The service was impeccable. The ambiance is not romantic nor is it ostentatious. It is good. Terrific food served well !

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Quickly seated and waited upon. Wine re ...

vip
Dined on April 12, 2016

Quickly seated and waited upon. Wine recommendation was very good. Of course the Fried Olives were great...my wife had the shrimp and grits which was yummy delicious and I had the Korean short ribs which were superb. Service was excellent. Except for the increasing noise level as the evening grew, everything was top notch - we will be back!!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exceptional

Dined on April 10, 2016

Service is great, food fantastic and the roof top bar is unique and very cool, even in the winter! A must visit, we love this place, one of our favorites!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service3

The venue was awesome on the roof top!

Dined on April 10, 2016

The venue was awesome on the roof top!

food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Black Sheep is everything one could want.

Dined on April 7, 2016

Very cool, local bistro. Black Sheep is a great addition to a great neighborhood.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food and atmosphere.

Dined on April 3, 2016

Enjoyed delicious food and great atmosphere for friends. Love the drink menu as well. Southern influence to the menu but healthy options as well.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service4

Heaven's Gate is always a favorite cockt ...

Dined on March 27, 2016

Heaven's Gate is always a favorite cocktail - unsure exactly what my husband had. We began with the Poutine and Fried Green Tomatoes. Poutine was excellent, as always, but the Tomatoes seemed to be lacking something. Atop was diced tomatoes and lettuce, reminiscent of a pico de gallo, yet a complimentary sauce would have perfected them. The entree of Duck Confit served atop risotto was absolutely delicious. My husband enjoyed his Crispy Skin Salmon. We skipped dessert; too full. As for service - our server seemed a bit flighty. It felt as though she was going to hand us the check after our appetizers and before she even took our dinner order. We had to remind her we still had yet to order. I think total time from sit down to leaving, was 2-2.5 hours - and that's without dessert. The rooftop bar is always pleasant, whether it's for pre-dinner drinks or dinner itself. The weather was more than ideal.

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Overall great place!

Dined on March 21, 2016

I love the atmosphere of Blacksheep, the food, the location. The only thing was it took an hr to get our food. The food was great though once we did get it.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food1
ambience2
service1

Menu said 'fried chicken' special...NOT ...

Dined on March 20, 2016

Menu said 'fried chicken' special...NOT fried chicken...it was awful!!! Baked at best. Not tasty .... To bad for a restaurant with so many good dishes!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Recommend for Everyone!

Dined on March 20, 2016

It was amazing! Food was great. The view was superb. The weather was fantastic. Most importantly the service was great!

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing experience!

Dined on March 12, 2016

We were in awe of this place from the time we walked in until we left. The ambiance is stunning, the service was fabulous, and the food was amazing! We would definitely recommend Black Sheep and we will be back next time we visit Jacksonville!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Dinner

Dined on March 11, 2016

Great place for dining al fresco (nice inside seating as well). We had great server (Sarah) who was the perfect combination of friendly, knowledgeable, and efficient. Everything we ordered was outstanding!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Pointless Reservation

Dined on March 10, 2016

I had guests in town. I gave them three restaurant choices. They chose Black Sheep because I mentioned rooftop dining. I made reservations. When we arrived the hostess said reservations were for first floor dining room and we could wait 45 minutes for a table on the roof. We drove in rush hour traffic out of our way for rooftop dining and ended up sitting on the first floor patio. Luckily, the food was good and the server was nice. But poor customer service from hostess.

Tags: great for brunch
food5
ambience5
service5

3 people, 3 different orders & everythin ...

vip
Dined on March 6, 2016

3 people, 3 different orders & everything was fabulous!

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.