About Black Sheep Restaurant

1534 Oak Street
Jacksonville, FL 32204
View Larger Map

Black Sheep is an independent restaurant located in Jacksonville"s historic 5-Points in Riverside. Our focus is on fresh, local ingredients, hand-crafted food, and gracious service. We offer a full bar, signature cocktails, craft beers and an excellent wine list. We offer fast-casual lunch Monday through Friday, dinner Monday through Saturday, and brunch Saturday and Sunday.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Happy Hour: Daily 3:00pm - 6:00pm
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 10:30am - 3:00pm, (limited menu 3pm-5pm), Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm (limited menu 11pm-midnight), Brunch: Saturday - Sunday: 9:30am - 3:00pm (limited menu 3pm-5pm),
Roof top dining, bar and lounge Sunday - Thursday 3:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 3:00pm - 12:00pm (Limited menu 11-midnight)

Cross Street:
Margaret St & Oak St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(904) 380-3091

Website:
http://blacksheep5points.com/

Parking Details:
The Riverside Trolley is available during Lunch hours Monday-Saturday.

Executive Chef:
Waylon Rivers

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Delivery, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Smoking Area, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Poutine
Truffled Black Hog Farms Egg Toast And Pinewood Street Bacon
Shrimp and Grits
Lil Moo Ravioli
Fried Olives
Berkshire Porkshop
Scallops And Pork Belly
Pushing Daisies
Creme Brulee
Cheese And Meat Board
Beet Salad
Braised Short Ribs
Pumpkin Sponge Cake
Fried Green Tomato BLT
Country Style Pâté
Crispy Skin Mayport Snapper
Hudson Valley Foie Gras Torchon
Cowford Daisy (Cocktail)
Sage & Coriander Cured Arctic Char
Florida Lobster Roll
Market Greens Salad
Caesar Salad With Shrimp
Chocolate Malt Milkshake & House Made Oreos
Yellowtail Snapper & Butternut Squash Risotto
Calamari Escabeche
Bbq Duck Sandwich
Turkey Flat "Butcher's Block" Barossa
House Fries & Crack Aïoli
Black Hog Farm Chicken
Seasonal Paloma
Kale & Smoked Trout Salad
crispy skin salmon
Flounder Special
Duck Confit Panini
Truffled Egg Toast
Cowboy Meats Grass Fed Hamburger
Crab Cake with Sweet Corn Succotash
Spaghetti Squash Soup, Duck Confit Fritter, Walnut Oil
Bbq Pork Belly With Grits
Chicken Liver Mousse With Southern Pepper Relish
Mayport Shrimp & Grits
Seared North Florida Snapper
Bar-B-Q Fried Pork Rinds
Herb Marinated Tempeh
Bananas Foster Creme Pie
Black Hog Farm Chicken & Dumplings
Caesar Salad With Soft Boiled Egg
Chocolate Ganache Cake
Shrimp N Grits
Duck Panini With Bacon And Onion Jam
Warm Sea Salt & Vinegar Potato Chips
Banana Fosters Cream Pie
Duck Banh Mi
Hibiscus Tea
Roast Beef Sandwich
Jasmine Tea
Chicken And Dumplings (Gluten-Free (ie, Minus the Dumplings))
French Fries
Bar-B-Q Duck Sandwich
Brussel sprouts
Crispy Grooper With Fingerling Potatoes
Smoked Chicken Salad (Marcona Almonds & Apricots)
Pink Snapper over Sunburst Squash With Blackberry Jous
Hamburger
shrimp and grits!
Wainwright Cheddar Grits
Cucumber Collins (Cocktail)
Midnight Oil Coffee Stout (Beer)
Fried Green Tomato BLT (Sandwich)
Beermosa
Heavens Gate (Cocktail)
Cauliflower Soup
Pastrami Ruben
Pea Soup
Short Ribs And Bleu Cheese Bread Pudding
S'mores Pie
Steak With Bacon Creamed Spinach
Caesar Salad And French Onion Soup
Beet Salad And Soup Du Jour
Cappuccino
Shrimp Ceviche

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Black Sheep Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Contemporary American
Jacksonville
Best Restaurants in Jacksonville ›

great for outdoor dining (61)
fit for foodies (59)
special occasion (55)
See All
neighborhood gem (53)
scenic view (46)
hot spot (42)
good for groups (42)
romantic (39)
great for lunch (38)
great for brunch (36)
vibrant bar scene (33)
notable wine list (31)
late-night find (26)
kid-friendly (8)
Sort By:
Newest
708 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Pasta stuck together! In a big clump! ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined 4 days ago

Pasta stuck together! In a big clump! Microwaved. Desserts mediocre. Requested dinner reservation in advance. Seated next to the busy loud bar. Could not talk. Very disappointed!

Tags: great for brunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value4

Great might, great food, fun place with ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined 4 days ago

Great might, great food, fun place with an eclectic menu!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Black Sheep Restaurant in the Five Point ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined 5 days ago

Black Sheep Restaurant in the Five Points district of Jacksonville north of the river, has a local farm to table concept, full bar, and a second rooftop bar with a nice view. We went for an early dinner and started with cocktails - a dirty Tito's martini and a House special Rye cocktail with several added flavors. For appetizers, we opted for a beet salad and the daily soup special, a roasted corn bisque. Both were wonderful. Dinners were the Crispy Skin Steelhead, served over charred leeks and fennel with a citrus salad, and a House hamburger loaded with cheddar and bacon. Now well fed - both dinners were cooked perfectly and spot on flavor-wise - so we headed up the elevator to the rooftop bar, enjoyed a couple of House Specialty cocktails as we watched the sun set to our west. We will return.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This was our wedding anniversary dinner ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined 7 days ago

This was our wedding anniversary dinner and we were not impressed! Table was small, we were near the window and it was hot. The food was good but not plentiful. Too noisy for our taste. Service was fine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value2

My date night was wonderful. The food a ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

My date night was wonderful. The food and service was excellent. I will be coming back again.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and excellent service. We ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Excellent food and excellent service. We had the chicken dinner for two on a Sunday and it was super. The happy hour drinks are great also.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely delicious food. Great service ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Absolutely delicious food. Great service, great wine, and the rooftop bar is so cool. Definitely a great spot for a special night out.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a fabulous time, I closed a loan ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

We had a fabulous time, I closed a loan for one of your main vendors so it was a treat for he and his wife to get out on the town and enjoy the celebration. We have a blast THANKS

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was SPECTACULAR. And our server ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

The food was SPECTACULAR. And our server donny was awesome.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Soup was incredible as was the service! ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Soup was incredible as was the service! A little too pricey and too many ingredients in the main dishes. Kind of a sensory train wreck.

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value1

Very clean and nice without being "fine ...

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Very clean and nice without being "fine dining". Was able to feel comfortable and laid back. Rooftop dining was a great experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My boyfriend and I had a birthday din ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

My boyfriend and I had a birthday dinner at Black Sheep, we had an time. We will definitely return.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

High expectations based on feedback from ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

High expectations based on feedback from friends and published reviews. Must have been an off night. Food arrived cold . Broccoli and rice Caserole was watery and undercooked. Server didn't offer any perspective on the food or uniqueness of the restaurant. Basically had to force information out of her. And , when we told her the meal was not good, she just stared at us. That said, the atmosphere and drinks we great.

Tags: neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value5

Excellent food and service. Catch of the ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Excellent food and service. Catch of the day was delectable. Fried green tomatoes and salted caramel creme brulee were also winners. Good mix of couples, families and even groups. A bit noisy initially, but noise level tapered down a bit as some of the group diners left.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I have been here once before, and the fo ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

I have been here once before, and the food did not disappoint. We had the sweetbread nuggets, the lamb bacon, and duck confit. They were all wonderful. The desserts weekend good, but not as flavorful as the apps and entrees.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

We enjoyed brunch very much but were dis ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

We enjoyed brunch very much but were dismayed that the pancakes and shrimp & grits were cold by the time they got to the roof. First time that has happened to us.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

great atmosphere. great food. knowledgea ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

great atmosphere. great food. knowledgeable staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Thank you to everyone at Black Sheep for ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Thank you to everyone at Black Sheep for making my anniversary night memorable. Everything was on point from the food, the service, to the ambience.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our services was really good. Even thoug ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Our services was really good. Even though our table wasn't ready for almost 40 min after our reservation was scheduled for, the manager made up for it

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Loud but still good. Great waiter Blaise ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Loud but still good. Great waiter Blaise would go again

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value4

The food was beyond amazing. My only iss ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

The food was beyond amazing. My only issue was that our waitress was a bit rude at times. She was a bit sarcastic and could be a turn off to some. Overall we had an amazing experience and we will be back!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Rooftop dining in Jacksonville

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

The roof at Black Sheep is a great place for brunch, lunch, or cocktails. It is refreshing to be outside and not at street level with the traffic.

Servers are courteous and attentive.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Farm to Table

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Great farm to table food featuring Black Hog Farm meats which make yummy sandwiches.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Fabulous Brunch Cardamom Pancakes

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

The chef's recipe for Cardamom pancakes is fabulous. You get three large, fluffy, tasty pancakes with real maple syrup and homemade strawberry jam and apple butter. This is the second time my husband and I have been back for brunch. Hats off to the chef for these awesome pancakes!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Improve your Desert

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

The food was really good, but the desert was not compare with the quality of food we get it, the texture was old and not flavor inside

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Overrated. Portions were small; not memorable.

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

The service was fine but our overall experience did not meet the expectations of what we heard of the restaurant.

The fried green olives were amazing. My husband ordered the pork sandwich which was good- but nothing you couldn't get at a fancy food truck. I've had better BBQ sandwiches at 4Rivers.

The mac and cheese was very good, though a little salty.

I ordered the duck confit and while it tasted fine, it was nothing overly exciting and the small portions were laughable, especially considering the $24 price tag.

Some more variety on the menu would be nice. And if you're going to charge $25-$30 a plate, make sure you put a decent amount of food on there so people feel like they get their moneys worth. Until then, we'll be dining elsewhere. :)

Tags: fit for foodies, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

The best service ever totally and utterl ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on May 23, 2016

The best service ever totally and utterly pleased

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was outstanding and the service ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

The food was outstanding and the service was DeVine! I am so happy that we choose the Black Sheep for our dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were there for a Birthday Brunch and ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

We were there for a Birthday Brunch and the food and service was excellent! The Cardamom pancakes were to die for and the fresh bacon and eggs were just as good. We will return to try other dishes.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome! Absolutely love fried chicken S ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Awesome! Absolutely love fried chicken Sunday's with all day happy hour!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Really great place for relaxing with a g ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Really great place for relaxing with a great view ambiance on the rooftop. I was visiting from out of town and chose to have brunch with my friends. The staff was great well the food. I noted my gluten free diet in my reservation. The hostess acknowledged my allegy gave seperate menu options. We had an awesome time.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My food was delicious. Service was relat ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

My food was delicious. Service was relatively slow. I waited about 15 to 20 mins before my drink order was taken. But overall great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Black Sheep

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Restaurant is fine. Nothing special but nothing negative to say either. By Jacksonville standards its probably on the better side of average. Overall solid safe place to grab a quick bite at a reasonable price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value4

Overpriced for what you get.

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

$21 for shrimp and grits...it was good but not $21 worth. For 2 drinks and shrimp and grits, my total was $54!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

The delicious is food! I know it sounds ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

The delicious is food! I know it sounds weird but water is very good too! I love the view from the rooftop as well!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

post symphony fare

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

We have always enjoyed the quality of the food at Black Sheep. We love having fine dining restaurants like this to go to in the late evening after the symphony.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything about this restaurant is amaz ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

Everything about this restaurant is amazing. We always sit on the roof and it is just beautiful. The food is some of the best I've ever had. I love this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I dined here TWICE during my recent visi ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

I dined here TWICE during my recent visit to Jax! Once for dinner Friday night, and Brunch on Sunday. I absolutely LOVE your cocktails... And both the dinner and brunch menu offerings were spot on!! Can't wait to come back next time I am in town!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Sitting outside on the patio was perfect.

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

I think brunch at Black Sheep is my favorite meal! There is plenty to choose from and I have never been disappointed with my selection. The noise level is lower, especially if sitting outside, which lends to great people watching as well. In other restaurants, I have felt that the service was spotty and inconsistent, but this is not the case at Black Sheep. The staff attention was excellent!

Maybe I shouldn't give this review--I sure want to continue going to Saturday and Sunday brunches without the crowds, and this may give my secret away.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our reservations for right on time! The ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

Our reservations for right on time! The food is amazing here. Service is excellent! Just wish the weather was better so we could've enjoyed the upstairs outside seating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.