About Black Sheep Restaurant

1534 Oak Street
Jacksonville, FL 32204
View Larger Map

Black Sheep is an independent restaurant located in Jacksonville"s historic 5-Points in Riverside. Our focus is on fresh, local ingredients, hand-crafted food, and gracious service. We offer a full bar, signature cocktails, craft beers and an excellent wine list. We offer fast-casual lunch Monday through Friday, dinner Monday through Saturday, and brunch Saturday and Sunday.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Happy Hour: Daily 3:00pm - 6:00pm
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 10:30am - 3:00pm, (limited menu 3pm-5pm), Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm (limited menu 11pm-midnight), Brunch: Saturday - Sunday: 9:30am - 3:00pm (limited menu 3pm-5pm),
Roof top dining, bar and lounge Sunday - Thursday 3:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 3:00pm - 12:00pm (Limited menu 11-midnight)

Cross Street:
Margaret St & Oak St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(904) 380-3091

Website:
http://blacksheep5points.com/

Parking Details:
The Riverside Trolley is available during Lunch hours Monday-Saturday.

Executive Chef:
Waylon Rivers

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Delivery, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Black Sheep Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (29)
Creative Cuisine (21)
Special Occasion (21)
See All
Fit for Foodies (19)
Local Ingredients (18)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Handcrafted Cocktails (14)
Good for Anniversaries (13)
Great for Outdoor Dining (13)
Modern Decor (13)
Casual (13)
Good for Birthdays (13)
Fun (12)
Vibrant Bar Scene (12)
Bar Seating (12)
Romantic (12)
Business Meals (11)
People Watching (10)
Happy Hour (10)
Cozy (9)
Worth the Drive (9)
Notable Wine List (8)
Good for Groups (8)
Comfort Food (8)
Fireplace (7)
Scenic View (7)
Late-night Find (7)
Great for Brunch (6)
Hot Spot (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Seasonal (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Healthy (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Authentic (4)
Organic (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Great Beer (3)
Family Style (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Historic (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Live Sports (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
820 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We had a great brunch this past Sunday. ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined 2 days ago

We had a great brunch this past Sunday. Kyle took excellent care of us - he made great menu & beverage recommendations!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love the rooftop seating, unfortunately ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined 2 days ago

Love the rooftop seating, unfortunately due to impending inclement weather, we had a drink there and then moved to our reserved table inside .

I had the Steak Diane and was completely disappointed. On the menu, it was listed as a ribeye. It was shaped like a filet but the taste and texture was more like a slab of rump roast that had been grilled. To me medium rare is supposed to be a warm pink center. My steak was cold in the middle and quite tough. Very disappointed as it was the most expensive item on the menu. Others in my party had other entrees and liked them better. I think we would all agree that the food was nothing special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Celebrating husband's birthday. Had din ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined 3 days ago

Celebrating husband's birthday. Had dinner on the roof. No reservations possible up there but had a few cocktails at the bar and were seated within a reasonable amount of time for a busy Friday night. View was great, service was great, food was good for the price. Really nice wine list. Over all enjoyed the experience and would definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

We went with friends for a special occas ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 15, 2017

We went with friends for a special occasion. The food was good but not amazing. There are other places in Jax to get better meal. The chairs were uncomfortable and the table was very blah. The Decour was nice. The server was attentive but awkward. Excellent desserts.

Tags: Healthy, Modern Decor, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

My family had a wonderful dinner. The s ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 15, 2017

My family had a wonderful dinner. The service was great and the food was good. Highly recommend the roof top bar for an after dinner drink.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Historic, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We were seated at a table behind the hos ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 15, 2017

We were seated at a table behind the hostess station for Sunday brunch.

15 minutes later, we still hadn't been greeted at our table, so we left.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

Service was pretty good. Black sheep as ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Service was pretty good. Black sheep as a whole has been changing some staples we love-the deviled eggs and fhe fried green tomatoes-and they're not for the better. We will be eating here less because of that, and we used to come every week almost.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Really enjoyed the food and roof top din ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Really enjoyed the food and roof top dining. Loved the heating for cool evenings.

Tags: People Watching, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Fun, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing experience as usual. I have a nu ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Amazing experience as usual. I have a number of dietary restrictions and Black Sheep exceeded expectations with alternate selections that were simply delicious.

Tags: Happy Hour, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I am a shrimp and grits snob and black S ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 8, 2017

I am a shrimp and grits snob and black Sheep got it right. Absolutely delicious. Drinks are amazing too.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The ambiance and are location really goo ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 7, 2017

The ambiance and are location really good The Rooftop Bar was extremely nice but the drinks are extremely weak We all only got one due to that fact

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Fun ambience, great service and food--lo ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Fun ambience, great service and food--love that most of it is locally sourced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

I ordered the d coop cocktail and the sh ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 4, 2017

I ordered the d coop cocktail and the shrimp and grits. Both were great, the shrimp were a little over seasoned but all in all it was good. We sat on the rooftop with the fire going and it was beautiful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Great dinner! Food was outstanding. Wa ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Great dinner! Food was outstanding. Wait staff were professional and knowledgeable. Great decor and rooftop dining.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My second time here. My girlfriend and I ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 31, 2016

My second time here. My girlfriend and I were celebrating the new year. They sat us in the same exact table we had our first date. When they found out they brought us champagne to celebrate. The food is amazing. The staff is not snoody like some high end places. Food so good there was not much conversation this time.

Tags: Authentic, Great Beer, Healthy, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, very good service, wonderful ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Great food, very good service, wonderful rooftop dinning area, neat fire pit. There were 4 of us dinning and everyone's meal was absolutely wonderful. Great specials, great wine, great mixed drinks, very good night for a birthday celebration.

Tags: Romantic, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Cozy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching, Fireplace, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food.. Enjoyed smoked trout and ka ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Great food.. Enjoyed smoked trout and kale salad. Yummy.. Best part was the Carmel popcorn creme brulee. It was delicious, highly recommended. Service by Gil was excellent.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Had dinner outside at the rooftop dining ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Had dinner outside at the rooftop dining area and was such a great experience. Great menu with a variety of choices for starters and entrees.....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was phenomenal, the atmosphere ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on December 18, 2016

The food was phenomenal, the atmosphere was beyond my expectations, and the service was top notch. I highly recommend this restaurant to anyone in or visiting the Jacksonville area. You won't be disappointed!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

inconsistent food

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 18, 2016

inconsistent food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

very impressed how fast was the service ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on December 17, 2016

very impressed how fast was the service and prices are not bad at all. Roof top is excellent for great "Date" with your special someone. food is very good. i would definitely come back for a spacial celebration or group gathering.

Tags: Cozy, Late-night Find, Romantic, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Fireplace, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very nice experience. First time here. P ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 13, 2016

Very nice experience. First time here. Parking not good so having a plan would be helpful.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It was amazing! The restaurant was very ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 10, 2016

It was amazing! The restaurant was very nice and inviting. The staff, from hostesses to wait staff to management (who came to around to ask how we were doing) were fabulous. My husband and I came to Jax for the weekend and thought of trying this restaurant as it has nice reviews. Couldn't agree more! The food was fabulous! We had two specials, tuna tartare and lobster - both outstanding. We also had their Korean ribs which were phenomenal. Drinks and dessert made it all a memorable evening. Well done!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

4.8/5 - While there was some initial con ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 10, 2016

4.8/5 - While there was some initial confusion seating us (we had a reservation, for two), the food was absolutely delicious, our server friendly and attentive, and that (homemade) Oreo milkshake--my god that milkshake.

We look forward to coming back!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great Beer, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

First visit to Black Sheep Restaurant an ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 9, 2016

First visit to Black Sheep Restaurant and found the Service EXCELLENT, the food outstanding and the ambiance enjoyable. I've already recommended it to many of our friends. We will certainly be back again...

Tags: Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Fun, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great Food and cocktails. Wine list also ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Great Food and cocktails. Wine list also includes some great reasonably prices options. I have been here twice. Once on the roof terrace and once in the main restaurant. Enjoyed it immensely both times. The servers are efficient, knowledgeable and friendly.

Tags: Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Great food! The roof top is absolutely f ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 6, 2016

Great food! The roof top is absolutely fantastic. dress appropriately for roof top weather lol

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

My friends and I had a great experience ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 4, 2016

My friends and I had a great experience having brunch on the rooftop! The Eggs Benedict were fantastic and so were the Bloody Marys. Great ambiance and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Enjoyed cocktails on the rooftop bar and ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Enjoyed cocktails on the rooftop bar and a spectacular meal. Every one of us left satisfied. We will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

My daughter and I love this place! Grea ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on November 27, 2016

My daughter and I love this place! Great atmosphere, service, and food!

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual, Family Style, Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had an outstanding meal, 1st at Black Sh ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Had an outstanding meal, 1st at Black Sheep and Donald our server was great. Explained every dish and told us his personal favorite. He was spot on, the selection was great. We will be going back soon!

Tags: Late-night Find, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our first visit to Black Sheep after hea ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Our first visit to Black Sheep after hearing many good things. We were not disappointed!!! Celebrating our 16th wedding anniversary in a great setting, with awesome food and great service! Don't wait, make a reservation now! You won't regret it!!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Arrived at 5:25. Told we didn't have res ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on November 21, 2016

Arrived at 5:25. Told we didn't have reservation. Told her made through Open Table. She said it was there but for 11/28. Not so! Seated us next to bar. Salads okay. Steak was good but signature fries soggy and burned. Duck confit- leg and thigh- lots of tendons to wade through. Fried Kale garnish greasy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

roof top bar was great, meal was perfec ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on November 19, 2016

roof top bar was great,

meal was perfect, service great, dessert way to small

Tags: Casual, Fireplace, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food and atmosphere. We sat outsid ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Great food and atmosphere. We sat outside in the front patio and it was great. Next time we will try the rooftop patio. We will definitely be back and have already talked it up to many friends. Truly a great Jacksonville find.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great flavors and very creative combinat ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Great flavors and very creative combinations (I'd never considered ordering fried olives as an app but they were very tasty). The ambiance and service were solid and while we did not try the rooftop bar, I'm sure it's a fun spot. The restaurant is located in the middle of a neighborhood about 10 min from downtown and parking is kind of tight but to be expected in a bigger city. I had the fish special which was North Carolina snapper that night and my girlfriend had shrimp and grits. Both plates were fantastic. We will definitely return if/when in Jacksonville again.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent Saturday brunch! Well designe ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Excellent Saturday brunch! Well designed menu, great drinks and service. Always good, never dissappointed

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place was Amazing. The ambience was ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on November 12, 2016

This place was Amazing. The ambience was incredible and full of life. I took my wife out for her Birthday and everything from the food, the service and the price was amazing. I have no complaints at all. I would recommend this to everyone and anyone looking for a nice beautiful place to dine.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience. The roof top was great ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Great experience. The roof top was great. Had drinks, and sat next to a fire place. Food was really good. I had a very nice size pork chop with a not very good black eye peas. My wife had duck good bit salty. Since it was a special occasion they gave us a free dessert of our choice. But over all a great expedience.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Fireplace, Fun, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We enjoyed everything that was presented ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 6, 2016

We enjoyed everything that was presented to us - healthy and most enjoyable. Our table had salmon, chicken, shrimp and grits, spaghetti carbonara, and the pork chop. All of our guests said they would definitely come back. Wine and beer list was not extensive but well represented.

Tags: Healthy, Seasonal, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.