About Black Sheep Restaurant

1534 Oak Street
Jacksonville, FL 32204
View Larger Map

Black Sheep is an independent restaurant located in Jacksonville"s historic 5-Points in Riverside. Our focus is on fresh, local ingredients, hand-crafted food, and gracious service. We offer a full bar, signature cocktails, craft beers and an excellent wine list. We offer fast-casual lunch Monday through Friday, dinner Monday through Saturday, and brunch Saturday and Sunday.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Happy Hour: Daily 3:00pm - 6:00pm
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 10:30am - 3:00pm, (limited menu 3pm-5pm), Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm (limited menu 11pm-midnight), Brunch: Saturday - Sunday: 9:30am - 3:00pm (limited menu 3pm-5pm),
Roof top dining, bar and lounge Sunday - Thursday 3:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 3:00pm - 12:00pm (Limited menu 11-midnight)

Cross Street:
Margaret St & Oak St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(904) 380-3091

Website:
http://blacksheep5points.com/

Parking Details:
The Riverside Trolley is available during Lunch hours Monday-Saturday.

Executive Chef:
Waylon Rivers

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Delivery, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Poutine
Braised Short Ribs
Truffled Black Hog Farms Egg Toast And Pinewood Street Bacon
Mushroom Carbonara
Shrimp and Grits
Lil Moo Ravioli
Berkshire Porkshop
Fried Olives
Pushing Daisies
Scallops And Pork Belly
Creme Brulee
Beet Salad
Cheese And Meat Board
Fried Green Tomato BLT
Pumpkin Sponge Cake
Hudson Valley Foie Gras Torchon
Crispy Skin Mayport Snapper
Country Style Pâté
Sage & Coriander Cured Arctic Char
Cowford Daisy (Cocktail)
Chocolate Malt Milkshake & House Made Oreos
Yellowtail Snapper & Butternut Squash Risotto
Calamari Escabeche
Bbq Duck Sandwich
Turkey Flat "Butcher's Block" Barossa
House Fries & Crack Aïoli
Black Hog Farm Chicken
Seasonal Paloma
Kale & Smoked Trout Salad
Market Greens Salad
Florida Lobster Roll
crispy skin salmon
Flounder Special
Caesar Salad With Shrimp
Duck Confit Panini
Truffled Egg Toast
Cowboy Meats Grass Fed Hamburger
Crab Cake with Sweet Corn Succotash
Bbq Pork Belly With Grits
Spaghetti Squash Soup, Duck Confit Fritter, Walnut Oil
Chicken Liver Mousse With Southern Pepper Relish
Mayport Shrimp & Grits
Bar-B-Q Fried Pork Rinds
Seared North Florida Snapper
Herb Marinated Tempeh
Bananas Foster Creme Pie
Black Hog Farm Chicken & Dumplings
Caesar Salad With Soft Boiled Egg
Chocolate Ganache Cake
Shrimp N Grits
Duck Panini With Bacon And Onion Jam
Banana Fosters Cream Pie
Warm Sea Salt & Vinegar Potato Chips
Duck Banh Mi
Roast Beef Sandwich
Hibiscus Tea
Jasmine Tea
Chicken And Dumplings (Gluten-Free (ie, Minus the Dumplings))
French Fries
Bar-B-Q Duck Sandwich
Brussel sprouts
Crispy Grooper With Fingerling Potatoes
Smoked Chicken Salad (Marcona Almonds & Apricots)
Pink Snapper over Sunburst Squash With Blackberry Jous
Hamburger
shrimp and grits!
Beermosa
Wainwright Cheddar Grits
Midnight Oil Coffee Stout (Beer)
Cucumber Collins (Cocktail)
Fried Green Tomato BLT (Sandwich)
Heavens Gate (Cocktail)
Cauliflower Soup
Pastrami Ruben
Pea Soup
Short Ribs And Bleu Cheese Bread Pudding
Steak With Bacon Creamed Spinach
S'mores Pie
Beet Salad And Soup Du Jour
Caesar Salad And French Onion Soup
Cappuccino
Shrimp Ceviche

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Black Sheep Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Contemporary American
Jacksonville
Best Restaurants in Jacksonville ›

Special Occasion (56)
Great for Outdoor Dining (51)
Neighborhood Gem (51)
See All
Fit for Foodies (49)
Scenic View (43)
Hot Spot (35)
Romantic (35)
Good for Groups (34)
Great for Lunch (30)
Great for Brunch (30)
Vibrant Bar Scene (29)
Notable Wine List (24)
Late-night Find (20)
Kid-friendly (7)
Sort By:
Newest
727 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Server forgot to put in our appetizer or ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined 5 days ago

Server forgot to put in our appetizer order. Always had to ask for things.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Black Sheep is good, but not great. Lot ...

vip
 (Savannah)
·Dined 6 days ago

Black Sheep is good, but not great. Lots of eclectic flavors and and foods mixed in interesting and different ways, which is sometimes fun but can also feel forced and confusing, which was my family's most recent experience here. If you like a very unique and different menu with unusual foods and combinations, this restaurant is for you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Service was quick and always nearby. Lag ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined 6 days ago

Service was quick and always nearby.

Lagunitas IPA is a fav and nice to see on draft.

The wife enjoyed her wine, can't remember which she had.

Shared the House-Cured Steelhead Salmon appetizer, which was quite tasty.

Dinner for me was the Springer Mountain Farm’s Chicken which was a nice mix of flavors.

Wifey had the nightly special, which was a grouper that she enjoyed.

Both of us found our entree's too salty to our liking, but we do not normally use any on our food.

Overall a nice experience.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Great Beer, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

The food was good. Parts were better th ...

 
·Dined on August 19, 2016

The food was good. Parts were better than good, but mostly good. I believe it was overpriced for how good it was. If the food was great or amazing, I would definitely be glad to pay for it, as the atmosphere, service, and scene were great. But, again, the food was good. I enjoyed it and will more than likely return and both of us will try different selections.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Roof top has an amazing ambience Everyth ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Roof top has an amazing ambience

Everything was delicious - love the fried olives, steak, short ribs, shrimp and grits. Only thing we did not like was the lamb bacon...we will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I had a party of 8 dining for my birthda ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

I had a party of 8 dining for my birthday. The accommodations were wonderful and the staff was very attentive and waited on us flawlessly. Drinks were full and pre-bussing is always a plus! After dinner we had drinks on the rooftop and the bartenders and hostess staff were warm and friendly. I will for sure be back.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went to the roof top bar before our meal ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Went to the roof top bar before our meal. Great service and food. Looking forward to a return dining experience soon.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We selected Black Sheep for this birthda ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

We selected Black Sheep for this birthday dinner because of very positive experiences in the past. We were not disappointed by the food or the service.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Bad waiter ,warm Martini and salty food. ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Bad waiter ,warm Martini and salty food. That's about wraps it up. Will not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1

We had a lot of fun. Food was great and ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

We had a lot of fun. Food was great and service was prompt. We look forward to eating there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

For this meal we ate on the rooftop whic ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

For this meal we ate on the rooftop which is one of the best places to eat in Jax. The food is always awesome and inventive. Everyone really needs some of their poutine in their life. The drink are super good also.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Our good was excellent and the service w ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Our good was excellent and the service was outstanding. This was a memorable night out for our 46th wedding anniversary!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everyone enjoyed their brunch meals and ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Everyone enjoyed their brunch meals and we had two persons with us who had never dined at Black Sheep. I guess the only disappointment was that my omelet was kind of dry. The eggs Benedict was very good according to my family members.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Shrimp and grits , Mac and cheese and ol ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Shrimp and grits , Mac and cheese and old bay chips were amazing. Loved going to the rooftop bar for a cocktail before our reservations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We live in the neighborhood and are freq ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

We live in the neighborhood and are frequent customers. We ended up seated at the bar, a choice of our own. We had steak and short ribs, both were excellent. Bar service was outstanding and our experience overall was awesome. We will definitely be back soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Tried Black Sheep for a unique dining ex ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Tried Black Sheep for a unique dining experience. As this was our first time to this restaurant we really enjoyed ourselves. Food was prepared very well and seasoned to perfection. Used Open Table for reservation to ensure our experience would be pleasant; arrived 5 minutes late due to trying to find a parking spot. Was able to still get seated with no delays. Enjoyed our time there. The only downside to the experience was we were seated next to another table and the two ladies were very loud. Tables are very close together.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent food and service. Very eclecti ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Excellent food and service. Very eclectic menu. Great Sunday deal - chicken for two. We will be back to try that.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First timer. The greeter could have been ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

First timer. The greeter could have been a little more personable . Our waiter was very informative, his service and attitude was great. The inside atmosphere was nice and elegant . Overall I definitely would return .

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Late-night Find, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Pasta stuck together! In a big clump! ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Pasta stuck together! In a big clump! Microwaved. Desserts mediocre. Requested dinner reservation in advance. Seated next to the busy loud bar. Could not talk. Very disappointed!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value4

Great might, great food, fun place with ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Great might, great food, fun place with an eclectic menu!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Black Sheep Restaurant in the Five Point ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Black Sheep Restaurant in the Five Points district of Jacksonville north of the river, has a local farm to table concept, full bar, and a second rooftop bar with a nice view. We went for an early dinner and started with cocktails - a dirty Tito's martini and a House special Rye cocktail with several added flavors. For appetizers, we opted for a beet salad and the daily soup special, a roasted corn bisque. Both were wonderful. Dinners were the Crispy Skin Steelhead, served over charred leeks and fennel with a citrus salad, and a House hamburger loaded with cheddar and bacon. Now well fed - both dinners were cooked perfectly and spot on flavor-wise - so we headed up the elevator to the rooftop bar, enjoyed a couple of House Specialty cocktails as we watched the sun set to our west. We will return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I was interested in Black Sheep because, ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

I was interested in Black Sheep because, its a rooftop Restaurant, However I was told that because I made a Reservation that I could not dine on the roof, which I thought was absurd! If I made a Reservation shouldn't I have made the choice ? Appetizer- fried green tomatoes (dry)

entrée- Steak and fries, Fries (burnt) the wine was good Though, sadly my bill was 90.00 and I still left and went to Hooters because I was still hungry, Totally ruined my romantic Wedding Anniversary.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

This was our wedding anniversary dinner ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

This was our wedding anniversary dinner and we were not impressed! Table was small, we were near the window and it was hot. The food was good but not plentiful. Too noisy for our taste. Service was fine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value2

My date night was wonderful. The food a ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

My date night was wonderful. The food and service was excellent. I will be coming back again.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and excellent service. We ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Excellent food and excellent service. We had the chicken dinner for two on a Sunday and it was super. The happy hour drinks are great also.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely delicious food. Great service ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Absolutely delicious food. Great service, great wine, and the rooftop bar is so cool. Definitely a great spot for a special night out.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a fabulous time, I closed a loan ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

We had a fabulous time, I closed a loan for one of your main vendors so it was a treat for he and his wife to get out on the town and enjoy the celebration. We have a blast THANKS

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was SPECTACULAR. And our server ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

The food was SPECTACULAR. And our server donny was awesome.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Soup was incredible as was the service! ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Soup was incredible as was the service! A little too pricey and too many ingredients in the main dishes. Kind of a sensory train wreck.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value1

Very clean and nice without being "fine ...

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Very clean and nice without being "fine dining". Was able to feel comfortable and laid back. Rooftop dining was a great experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My boyfriend and I had a birthday din ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

My boyfriend and I had a birthday dinner at Black Sheep, we had an time. We will definitely return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

High expectations based on feedback from ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

High expectations based on feedback from friends and published reviews. Must have been an off night. Food arrived cold . Broccoli and rice Caserole was watery and undercooked. Server didn't offer any perspective on the food or uniqueness of the restaurant. Basically had to force information out of her. And , when we told her the meal was not good, she just stared at us. That said, the atmosphere and drinks we great.

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value5

Excellent food and service. Catch of the ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Excellent food and service. Catch of the day was delectable. Fried green tomatoes and salted caramel creme brulee were also winners. Good mix of couples, families and even groups. A bit noisy initially, but noise level tapered down a bit as some of the group diners left.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I have been here once before, and the fo ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

I have been here once before, and the food did not disappoint. We had the sweetbread nuggets, the lamb bacon, and duck confit. They were all wonderful. The desserts weekend good, but not as flavorful as the apps and entrees.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

We enjoyed brunch very much but were dis ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

We enjoyed brunch very much but were dismayed that the pancakes and shrimp & grits were cold by the time they got to the roof. First time that has happened to us.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

great atmosphere. great food. knowledgea ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

great atmosphere. great food. knowledgeable staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Thank you to everyone at Black Sheep for ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Thank you to everyone at Black Sheep for making my anniversary night memorable. Everything was on point from the food, the service, to the ambience.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our services was really good. Even thoug ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Our services was really good. Even though our table wasn't ready for almost 40 min after our reservation was scheduled for, the manager made up for it

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Loud but still good. Great waiter Blaise ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Loud but still good. Great waiter Blaise would go again

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value4

The food was beyond amazing. My only iss ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

The food was beyond amazing. My only issue was that our waitress was a bit rude at times. She was a bit sarcastic and could be a turn off to some. Overall we had an amazing experience and we will be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.