Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 1.79mi
  3. Distance: 1.81mi
  4. Distance: 1.81mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 1.79mi
  3. Distance: 1.81mi
  4. Distance: 1.81mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 1.79mi
  3. Distance: 1.81mi
  4. Distance: 1.81mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 1.79mi
  3. Distance: 1.81mi
  4. Distance: 1.81mi

About Black Point Grill at Sea Ranch Lodge

The acclaimed Black Point Grill at Sea Ranch Lodge features internationally-inspired California cuisine that emphasizes the freshest local ingredients. Seasonal menus and daily specials tempt with many satisfying options, from delectable entrees, small plates and appetizers to casual tavern fare, resulting in sophisticated yet uncontrived dining. To complement the food, our Oceanside restaurant offers an award-winning selection of about 110 unique regional wines. The evolving wine list showcases some of the best small estate wineries from Sonoma and Mendocino appellations.

60 Sea Walk Drive
The Sea Ranch, CA 95497
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Californian

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Daily 8:00am - 11:00am
Lunch 11:30am - 3pm
Dinner 5:30pm - 9pm

Cross Street:
60 Sea Walk Drive

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(707) 785-4821

Website:
http://searanchlodge.com/dine/black-point-grill

Executive Chef:
Christian Andersen

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Black Point Grill at Sea Ranch Lodge Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

3.8

ambience

4.2

value

3.3

noise

Moderate

74% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (17)
Waterfront (13)
Special Occasion (9)
See All
Good for a Date (8)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Romantic (6)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Casual (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Cozy (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Seasonal (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Fireplace (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Authentic (2)
Fun (2)
Historic (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Good for Groups (1)
Family Style (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Great Beer (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Business Meals (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Tapas (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
190 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 18, 2017

While the food is good, I found the service to be underwhelming, hurried. Despite being friendly, I expected much better service from this place. The location of course and the view make up for it!

Tags: Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 18, 2017

While the menu had some good choices & the food was decent, the service was terrible and the attention to detail was sorely lacking. Service at breakfast was even worse. Sad because the view is lovely but this place needs some updating and a trained wait staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 13, 2017

The ambiance was great, the food was amazing, and I would highly recommend. Romantic atmosphere as well.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Let me start with the best part of it: our server was great. She definitely deserves 5 stars. But, they were out of a LOT of the regulars, were making substitutions and did not have a full menu. I understand running out of specials, but at 6:30 on a Friday night you should not be out of regular menu items. The portions were small for the price. But, it was still a great view and great service so they get 4 stars.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 2, 2017

It is very overpriced for what it is. I got salmon with three french green beans and mashed potatoes and I think it was over $30. My husband did get a nice steak. Overall, it was just too expensive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 26, 2017

This is a beautiful place to eat with friends or for a special occasion. Located at Sea Ranch right smack dab overlooking the Pacific Ocean, beautiful views await you from any table. Service is excellent and the food makes my mouth water even now.

Tags: Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Gluten Free Options, Vegan, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 24, 2017

The Lodge continues to have mediocre service, if that, virtually no supervision of the staff and a general lack of professionalism. It is obvious the owners have decided to rely on the view and the many one time tourists driving the coast, rather than improve the place and attract the locals.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Went twice:
Lunch was okay although they didn't provide dressing for the Cobb salad I ordered which I didn't realize until I was back to my room, very annoying and ruined my $18 Cobb salad that said it came with bacon but did not.
Dinner was a disaster, was told by hostess to tip well since we requested a good seat for our last honeymoon dinner, very odd.
We ordered the half crab and mussels for apps. Mashed potatoes had to be sent back because they were cold. Mussels went to the other table and it took 10 minutes for them to figure out their mistake so we had to wait even longer.
We ordered the seafood pasta special and they brought out a pasta with bolganese. The sever apologized and said she'd reduce it on our bill. She didn't and then when we had to ask, she only deducted it from $28 to $24.
Overall not a good experience either time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Loved our waitress Monica and the mussels were very tasty
Along with the beet salad, molasses lamb & seafood pot pie
Also great wines

Tags: Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Tapas, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Fireplace, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Great dining experience. Love the new menu options. Thanks for bringing back the halibut!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Waterfront, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 15, 2017

They are trying, but a four course fancy dinner is an over-reach for a place that is understaffed and poorly trained. If the owners invested money in training and in attracting staff, they would get a good response from the community.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Love this restaurant! Love the food, love the service, love the incredible views. Unforgettable dining experiences have happened on numerous occasions for me here.

Tags: Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Outstanding service. They accommodating us - we are vegetarian & do not eat eggs. Best to let them know in advance of dietary needs. Great soups, pancakes, butternut squash ravioli, & risotto. The views are great - you can see the Pacific Ocean. The restaurant is part of Sea Ranch Lodge & there are 2 Tesla chargers & another car charger on the property.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Another wonderful evening at the Black Point Grill. The service is friendly and timely, the wine list local and the sea food selections appetizing. The oysters were from Washington state, and tasted a bit stale, but perhaps not surprising on a quiet night. The mussels and frites were delicious, and the specials of the night were local and fresh.

Tags: Seasonal, Paleo Friendly, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Went to the Black Point Grill at the Sea Ranch Lodge to celebrate my 60th birthday. The food was very good and the ambience can't be beat especially if you get a seat overlooking the ocean at sunset. The service was congenial but a little understaffed so we had to ask a few times for more bread and to get two more place settings for the four people in our party. The rib eye steak and the short ribs were very good and the filet of sole was fresh. Corkage fee was $15 for opening all of our wine through the course of our dinner, and they gave me complimentary apple pie a la mode desert.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Fireplace, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 14, 2017

For many years we have been lodging at the Sea Ranch lodge and dining at Black Point Grill, which is located at the Sea Ranch lodge. I would consider the Black Point Grill the better place for dinner when staying at the Sea Ranch. My husband and I were however disappointed this time as we feel that food quality, service quality is not what it used to be. We had breakfast and dinner here. At dinner it took a really long time for a server to come by after we were seated. Fortunately we weren't in a hurry. Then we were twice educated on the specials of the day. The wine we chose from the wine list was not available and the second one we picked either. The breakfast is no longer included in the room price. Hence I was very disappointed to see that also the quality wasn't what it used to be. The hash browns were oil with a crust around....I did not eat. The views off course can't be beat!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 7, 2017

had prime rib, pork chop entrees...adequate, blah.
few other dinner restaurants in the area.
got billed more for wine than printed in the menu.

Tags: Scenic View
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Excellent food, great variety and lovely setting

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Lovely evening and elegant dinner

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 30, 2016

The restaurant was very nice. The noise level from other guests was perfect for having a comfortable conversation at our table. Food was quite good, although one of our party is vegetarian and wanted more options for his meal.
Thank You.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great Beer, Seasonal, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 30, 2016

The crab was warm and fresh, the oysters crisp and salty with an interesting mango minionette. The service was excellent as well!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Communication among the staff is poor

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Joyed an extremely nice dinner at Christmas. Great atmosphere. Chef is accommodating.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Stunning views in an iconic midcentury building complex. Excellent service and really good food. True perfection.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Seasonal, Afternoon Coffee, Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Fireplace, Great for Brunch, Modern Decor, Authentic, Fun, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 26, 2016

So Much Lost Potential. We went to the Black Point Grill for Xmas dinner hoping for a memorable dining experience but skeptical since so many chefs have come and gone over the years with quality drastically varying with each change. The menu was lovely but the execution was disappointing. Only the soup and salad were satisfying. The meat dishes came luke warm and it was almost ridiculous that we were asked how we wanted our roast beef cooked since it was a colorless thinly sliced piece of meat when it arrived. The turkey portion was meager and nothing special. Requests such as substitute greens for potatoes was ignored. The bread was stale, having been preheated earlier. The desserts could have been from a frozen desert manufacturer and were left largely uneaten. The cookies were stale.
We felt sorry for our server who tried her best. The chef came over to apologize for the delay in serving us and frankly there was no delay whatsoever, everything else deserved an apology. When the bill arrived there were a number of mistakes in the restaurant's favor and to be fair to them they comped us two glasses of wine. I guess we will wait until a new chef arrives before we give the Black Point Grill another chance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 26, 2016

When I first arrived at Sea Ranch in 2008, the dining at the Lodge was quite good. Unfortunately, it has suffered from multiple management and Executive Chef changes, some of which were definitely necessary, however, this did not improve the direction of service, or the food. Christmas dinner 2016 was a sad effort, the soup and salad course were good, but all of my guests were disappointed in the entree and dessert course. And with the near $500 tab, NOT A GOOD VALUE!

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Had Christmas Eve dinner here. Service was excellent, both in the bar and in the restaurant. Fixed menu dinner for this particular evening. Wild mushroom tart and my wife's Dungeness crab bisque were absolutely outstanding as was the pecan pie for dessert. My wife had a seafood pot pie that was top notch with an crisp, tender crust and a delicious, sea food packed interior. I had the wild turkey which was very good with wonderful flavors. I am a dark meat fan and that was terrific; white meat as per normal was a little dry (just like mom used to make). Thankfully, they brought me more of the very flavorful gravy which helped a lot.

Tags: Waterfront, Cozy, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 23, 2016

The food was fine. They were overwhelmed and understaffed on a busy Thursday night. Had to wait 10 minutes just to meet the hostess who was off clearing tables. After we ordered drinks I had to go to the bar to make sure they got delivered because they didn't arrive in time for us to enjoy them before the meal was served. Staff was busy and tried to make it right, but they just didn't have enough help.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 23, 2016

We were excited to eat here the first night of our Sea Ranch Christmas vacation however were more than disappointed with the service and quality of food. We were sat promptly for our 6:30 reservation yet from there everything was slow so we were at the restaurant until 9:00 pm for two courses. I wish I could say it was a leisurely meal however the time in between drinks to apps to entrees was awkward for which the waitress apologized. After being told our entrees would be out in 10 minutes, it was 25. The appetizers were tastier and more enjoyable than out entrees. Two members of our party of 4 had ordered fish & chips, the fish served noticeably burnt and cooked in old oil, dark brown in color. The manager who was making rounds to other tables did not have the courtesy to speak with us after we expressed our disappointment to the waitress. Needless to say, we will not be coming back to the Black Point Grill.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 27, 2016

When I booked this reservation, reviews for the Black Point Grill were mixed--and particularly poor for service. We had a lovely dinner there. The food was OK and the service was very good. I would go again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Good food but don't sit in the back by the kitchen because the ventilation system is out of whack. Food is good but not what I'd call exquisite (esp for price). Overall however it was a decent experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Very understaffed. Long delays in service.. Staff apologetic. Think managemt needs to be reviewed... Bartender was not only trying to do her job, but no waiterdee, waitresses were available so she was working at least three jobs...Very poor management.. would not go back or recommend to anyone I know...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Staff was pleasant enough; in fact our server was quite attentive as was the busboy. Food was so-so; I had the scallops and prawn. Prawns were way overcooked and the sauce was way too much and way too heavy with the risotto. Scallops were tasty. Also had the tuna poke; which was adequate; needed to have a little more heat to get through the protein. My dining partner had the petrale sole. He said it was fine, rather boring plate with rice and no color. Dining room could use a face lift; a bit dated and food could be upgraded for price.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 1, 2016

Friendly wait staff but we thought the meal was expensive...largely due to $12/glass wine.

Tags: Casual, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 30, 2016

What a great spot! The

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 30, 2016

What an improvement since our last couple of visits. Everything was perfect. The entire staff, including the Hostess, our Server, Chef & General Mgr were all working hard to make sure everyone was having a great experience. We look forward to coming back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Dinner was over priced. Same OLD menu! They need to change. We also tied breakfast here. I was awful. Served cold and delivered wrong order. Took 40 min to get food. Over 10 flies on the window. Yuck! I will never eat here again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Thank you for this opportunity to recommend Black Point Grill. Graciously our waitress responded to our request for vegan possibilities on the menu. Your chef in consideration of a non-animal entre prepared a delicious and attractive vegetable plate. The setting, of course, was magnificent - a sunset that turned the whole sky pink. Well done.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 11, 2016

Everything was good. Except rude treatment by hostess. I would have left before being seated had I not been concerned about embarrasing my wife.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 8, 2016

The restaurant was a bit of a let-down: friendly-enough service, but so-so food at dinner. There were some interesting local wines by the glass - but nothing I would rave about.
Breakfast was disappointing, for both service and the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.