About Black Point Grill at Sea Ranch Lodge

60 Sea Walk Drive
The Sea Ranch, CA 95497
View Larger Map

The acclaimed Black Point Grill at Sea Ranch Lodge features internationally-inspired California cuisine that emphasizes the freshest local ingredients. Seasonal menus and daily specials tempt with many satisfying options, from delectable entrees, small plates and appetizers to casual tavern fare, resulting in sophisticated yet uncontrived dining. To complement the food, our Oceanside restaurant offers an award-winning selection of about 110 unique regional wines. The evolving wine list showcases some of the best small estate wineries from Sonoma and Mendocino appellations.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Californian

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Daily 8:00am - 11:00am
Lunch 11:30am - 3pm
Dinner 5:30pm - 9pm

Cross Street:
60 Sea Walk Drive

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(707) 785-4821

Website:
http://searanchlodge.com/dine/black-point-grill

Executive Chef:
Richard Whipple

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Beer, Cafe, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Black Point Grill at Sea Ranch Lodge
  • Black Point Grill at Sea Ranch Lodge
  • Black Point Grill at Sea Ranch Lodge
  • Black Point Grill at Sea Ranch Lodge
  • Black Point Grill at Sea Ranch Lodge
  • Black Point Grill at Sea Ranch Lodge
Black Point Grill at Sea Ranch Lodge
Black Point Grill at Sea Ranch Lodge
Black Point Grill at Sea Ranch Lodge
Black Point Grill at Sea Ranch Lodge
Black Point Grill at Sea Ranch Lodge
Black Point Grill at Sea Ranch Lodge

Black Point Grill at Sea Ranch Lodge Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.7

service

3.6

ambience

4.1

value

3.3

noise

Moderate

76% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Mendocino
Best Restaurants in Sea Ranch ›

scenic view (22)
special occasion (8)
romantic (7)
See All
notable wine list (5)
neighborhood gem (5)
fit for foodies (4)
good for groups (4)
great for lunch (3)
vibrant bar scene (3)
great for brunch (2)
hot spot (1)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
122 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Lovely dinner and service, as always. G ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined 6 days ago

Lovely dinner and service, as always.

Gorgeous sunset was a bonus.

Will return before our week at SR is up.

Carolyn Cowan

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The Raspberry French Toast was fabulous, ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

The Raspberry French Toast was fabulous, and the view was breathtaking.

Tags: great for brunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The Lodge boasts a fine quality restaura ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

The Lodge boasts a fine quality restaurant, Black Point Grill, to complement the Sea Ranch ambiance. The views are outstanding, truly memorable: the food compliments the view well. Local wines are great, since its in the Russian River Valley, known for great Pinots. Worth a try.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Loved the relaxing feel of Sea Ranch Lod ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Loved the relaxing feel of Sea Ranch Lodge...the view from our dining table was fabulous!

Unfortunately, the management needs to take control of this property, posthaste.

All personnel need to be properly dressed for their jobs. It would be nice if the men at least wore a belt to work and nice black slacks or at least clean, pressed jeans. If you don't look professional when you go to work, how can you act in a professional manner?

Our waitress was very friendly but needed some training. Knowing how to pronounce the evening's specials and clearing the table before bringing out dessert are basic table waiting skills that should be reviewed in a training session before waiting tables.

The butter lettuce salad with fresh strawberries & goat cheese with raspberry vinaigrette was outstanding (except for the leaf that still had dirt on both the front and back sides...a little too much farm to table).

The chicken with greens and pesto pasta however was a complete disaster.

It looked like frozen pesto was microwaved to defrost it, then added to the pasta. When it arrived at table, the pasta was literally floating on a bed of olive oil, the greens and melted cheese from the pesto were a glob of goo and the chicken had been so overcooked that it was like jerky.

Chef Gordon Ramsay would be horrified, as were my husband and I. To be fair, the waitress apologized profusely, did not charge us for the dish, and offered to make me something else. I declined. Why? Because my husband's pork chop dinner was not much better. His overcooked pork chop was topped by an under cooked apple. Although he did manage to make it through half of his dinner, I ate the delicious seeded hot bread that was provided and called it an evening.

Let's hope Sea Ranch Lodge makes an agreement with one of the Culinary Institute's in Northern Ca and hires a new chef every six months...the chef's can get working experience and Sea Ranch Lodge can save its reputation...if it has one left to save.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value2

Tasty and well prepared food. Reasonable ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Tasty and well prepared food. Reasonable prices. Ate there twice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The menu selections were very ordinary a ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

The menu selections were very ordinary and sparse. There was a very poor choice of items offered which was shocking for a place such as this. I wasn't able to find anything I liked on the menu. The quality of the food was lacking as was the knowledge of the wait staff. I would NOT recommend eating here.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

Even knowing from a previous visit that ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 10, 2016

Even knowing from a previous visit that this place is overpriced did not prepare us for paying $27 for a small, dry very overcooked piece of yellowfin tuna on a pile of rice with the promised cauliflower that went with it being few sprigs that served as garnish, not a vegetable with your dinner as the listing suggested. This was given to me was in lieu of the steelhead which was on the menu but not available, and after we were told that neither mussels nor oysters which we wanted to order were available because they'd sold out the previous day (Mother's Day) and hadn't gotten a new delivery. OK, but then a hour later, we heard same waitress tell the people at the next table that they'd just sold the last order of mussels a few minutes before!

So to sum up: out of their best food options, bad cooking, lying waitpeople. On the upside, my hubby's fish and chips were good, but nothing out of the ordinary. This place runs on being about the only nice dining place in the area and its view. Don't get taken. Or at least stick to the fish and chips or burgers and other can't fail, cheaper dishes.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

Good Food-- Want more menu selections

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 9, 2016

The view is outstanding, the food was good but the menu is relatively limited though diverse. Would like to see more options.

Tags: scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

Good food with a fantastic view

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 26, 2016

If you are in the area or staying at Sea Ranch, the restaurant can provide you with good food in a lovely setting. We ate there twice in our two-night stay. The first night the restaurant was busy and service was very slow, the food not really hot, but still tasty (salmon and a burger). The second night was much quieter and the food came quickly and piping hot. And even when you are waiting there is that fantastic view.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Our waitress was very efficient. The Hal ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 3, 2016

Our waitress was very efficient. The Halibut was cooked to perfection.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

50th birthday dinner

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

We read reviews which berated the service. We happened to have a superb, attentive but not obtrusive server (Kimi) who was very professional and pleasant. The salads were superb (esp. Caesar), the mussels superb (taste of curry, an doth steaks excellent meat albeit over-cooked. Oc course the scenic view is spectacular and a wonderful setting for my wife's 50th birthday with our daughter. We will come back.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Good food hindered by bad service

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 20, 2016

Service ruined what would have been a good meal... food tasted great, but took a long time to get.

Tags: romantic, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Getting Better

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 11, 2016

We've been visiting Sea Ranch for decades. Lately, we try eating dinners out more often. After a protracted period of indifferent food and poor service, dinners are really starting to hum. Caesar salad was super with great polenta croutons. Fresh salmon was just about perfect. Even the service has improved considerably.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

My last visit here was top notch.

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 22, 2016

The bar drinks were right on, and the dinner was delicious. Views of the Pacific are outstanding.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

good food good time

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on January 20, 2016

My husband and I had dinner here and truly enjoyed it. The food was delicious, our server was sweet. It was perfect.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sonoma coast

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on January 9, 2016

The Sonoma coast is so wild and scenic, yet only 2.5 hours from my home in the East Bay. The lodge is nice, great views but pricey. The grill is good, but limited in selection, and wine list. Stay VRBO, have casual food at the grill, bring your own wine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Won't go back for a while

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on January 1, 2016

1/2 hr to get drinks asked 4 bread 3 x service was terrible we used to go all the time to the lodge but the service and meal was so bad we won't go back again for a while

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service1
value1

Not sure what has changed, but after 25 ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on December 31, 2015

Not sure what has changed, but after 25 years of memories, this time the experience fell short. Service was only ok, food was ok, atmosphere was ok. Nothing was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

Not ready for prime time

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on December 4, 2015

I ordered a caesar salad and was brought a roquefourt; ordered a cheeseburger and was brought a hamburger; I flagged down a waiter to tell him I did not get what I ordered and he replied that it was not his table, that he had not "delivered "it. Three times while "enjoying" my meal with friends, we were interrupted abruptly to be asked if "everything was all right". An honest answer would have only made the evening worse.

And at the end, we asked why we were not given the standard small chocolates and were told "we are out of them". We then asked "for how long" and were told "3 weeks."

There was no evidence of a manager or anyone in charge, the entire evening. The lodge has absentee owners and it shows---bigtime.

The view has been the key to the Lodges longevity and apparently the owners are satisfied with that rather than providing either quality food or service.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1

Bread served was hard and stale, fries s ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on November 26, 2015

Bread served was hard and stale, fries served with pulled pork sandwich were cold. Ordered clam chowder, which was also served cold. Awful experience.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1

We ate in the bar, seated at the bar. Tw ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on November 26, 2015

We ate in the bar, seated at the bar. Two families dominated the seating area in the bar with their eight children. The kids were loud and unruly and the parents paid no attention. My food was awful and it was the signature dish - fish and chips. The fish was not cooked properly, likely because it wasn't properly thawed. We got great service from the bartender, however. Overall, not a good experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service4

Food with a View

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on November 15, 2015

Recently gave this place another try after a disappointing dinner with family. Wow — what a difference some daylight makes. The view from the back patio is amazing and on a warm and clear day it was incredible. The Fish&Chips lunch with a cold draft beer was nice, but majestic ocean and crashing waves was the real hit.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Service was really poor

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on November 1, 2015

We went for a Birthday Dinner, based on good comments from some friends. When the customers who were previously seated are complaining when you walk in that is a bad sign.

Despite having a 7pm reservation we stood at the entry for 15 min before someone even noticed us. Then once seated we were on our own, no bread , no water, finally flagged some one down. Got bread no butter, and it just went down hill from there.

Go to the Gualala Hotel skip this place!!!!!!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1

Good food and great views

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on November 1, 2015

Everyone in our party went for the special of the day: Strip Steak on top of smashed potatoes with blue cheese - very tasty. Good selection of drinks and wine. The only weirdness was the staff seemed slightly flustered when we arrived at 5:30 for dinner. We wouldn't have arrived that early, except that OpenTable showed the only times available were 5:30 or 9:00. Not a big deal, but if you are open for bookings at 5:30, you shouldn't be surprised when people show up at that time.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Poor Service and Uninspired Food

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on October 31, 2015

We had dinner on consecutive nights with different servers and both experiences were very similar. The service was poor and the food was not very good. Given the quality of service and what we could view of the kitchen operation, I suspect that this place has a management problem. The view is nice but I would not recommend this restaurant.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1

Good, not great

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on October 19, 2015

Was staying at a friend's home in Sea Ranch and wanted a nice dinner without cooking. It took a while before a hostess even appeared after we walked in. The place feels tired. The food was ok - I ordered halibut and it was well flavored but overcooked and dry. My boyfriend had short ribs and was pretty happy with them. It's redeeming value is the view, so make sure to book a table early enough to watch the sunset.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

Sunset Dinner

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on October 14, 2015

We felt very well taken care of by the wait staff. The ocean sunset view was perfect! The restaurant does not have a/c and we happened to be there on a day when it was 83 degrees outside which resulted in the dining room being overheated until the sun went down. One of us had the salmon special with black rice and a dark green vegetable & it was exceptional! The other diner had the fish & chips which were in the average range. The clam chowder was tasty & the wine list was impressive. Overall a lovely, romantic, sunset dinner!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Surprise Delight

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on October 1, 2015

The Black Point Grill at Sea Ranch Lodge was a delightful surprise at the end of a long journey. We didn't expect to find what I would call five-star cuisine awaiting us. The food was high quality, prepared expertly and presented artistically. The salmon was perhaps the best I have eaten anywhere. The staff was friendly and accommodating. The view was spectacular. I would give the Black Point Grill a rave review and kudos to the chef.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Black Point Grill @ The Sea Ranch Lodge

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 18, 2015

Ate here because we stayed at the lodge. I had the salmon special and my husband had the braised short rib. The food was good but not spectacular. Still decent enough that we both left with full bellies. We ordered a bottle of the King Fish Cabernet which was actually pretty good but pricey. Our server was very nice and made some local recommendations for things to do. I don't mind paying for fine dining but Black Point isnt really in that category.

Tags: romantic, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Sea Ranch Lodge

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 18, 2015

Always a pleasant repast dining at the Lodge. Chef continues

with interesting and very tasty menu. recommended

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

Deliciousness

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on September 7, 2015

We went for our 14 year anniversary and from start to finish the meal was great. anderson valley chardonnay with oysters,halibut and let me tell you creme brule that I truly feel is my favorite I have ever had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Fair food at higher price

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 6, 2015

I usually expect that a restaurant situated with a great view will not excel at the food. Black Point Grill is no exception, I'm afraid. It's good enough - but not entirely worth the price - unless you've got nowhere else to go to watch the sun set over the ocean. Tuna tartare was flavorful, but had more cucumber and avocado than tuna. For a $15 appetizer, I expect more. Service was friendly but very slow.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2

Great view .. Reserve a table for an early dinner

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 6, 2015

Dining room was somewhat noisy but everything else was perfect. I thought the wine list was a bit high on the prices. I noticed a number of guests bringing wine .

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

ocean view, wonderful waitstaff, lovely

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 1, 2015

We had a wonderful time at this relaxed yet very attractive restaurant facing a dramatic ocean, attended to by genuinely friendly and competent waitstaff, a great combination of vitality and intimacy so that we could talk without having to shout, and superb vegetarian options, including unusual salads, all divine, and a wild mushroom pasta to die for.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Food was terrible and overpriced

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 29, 2015

The food was terrible and over-priced. The view was amazing and our server was nice, but overall I can only recommend this restaurant for a cocktail and a view.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

@ sea ranch lodge restaurant

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 28, 2015

after so many years of going to sea ranch we decided to eat at the lodge...nice atmosphere but food was mediocre at best and service was spotty...ever have fresh oysters on half shell that were room temperature or even warm as opposed to being on ice? you'll find them here...drag...

entree...halibut, on bed of mashed potatoes...fish was ok but potatoes were greasy...and so it goes- don't plan on returning..

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

Black Pt. Grill

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 15, 2015

The food was good, overall. I couldn't give great because of a couple of real downsiders. The salad had spicy potato chips instead of croutons, which was cool and fun, but most of the chips were really soggy from the dressing. Not sure if the salad sat too long before being served, cuz the service really was below par. My main dish was brought before my salad, instead of apologizing for mistake acted like it was normal to get the salad after the main dish. Really? Oh, beet salad with goat cheese was sooooo good. Fish and Chips? Fish good, chips soggy flavorless chips, coleslaw - eh. Watched other wait staff who seemed more attentive than our waiter, so maybe just a bad night.

Tags: kid-friendly, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2

Fine dining at Sea Ranch

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 31, 2015

We got a quiet table with a beautiful view of the ocean, as requested for a birthday. The restaurant makes good use of local produce and cheeses. The two appetizers were very tasty and beautifully presented (tomato cheese galette and heirloom beets on goat cheese), as was the local salmon. The chocolate brownie sundae was a bit disappointing (brownie too chewy and more ice cream would have been appreciated). Server was very pleasant and friendly.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Better times behind

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 25, 2015

Party of three at 6:30 on a Fri night in mid summer. When we got there the place was less than half full, when we left at 8:00 it was more than half full. What does that tell you?

They do OK on the food. The remote location gives them a captive audience and a difficulty getting good permeant staff. Service was spotty. My wife's coffee after desert was served without a saucer (it's their tablecloth) which came later with the cream and sugar. Ordering was a bit of a push pull and we felt crowded in spite of no incoming crush of patrons. We've been there a few times over the last 15 years. Not sure ownership will be the same two years from now. I hope not.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

Attitude to spare

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 17, 2015

Open table said they only had seating at 5:30 and 8:15. I selected 8:15 and based on experience, arrive at 7:15. The dining room had many empty tables. I asked if I could be seated and hostess said they were expecting ;many people but would do what she could. She was unpleasant, unsmiling, defensive and downright nasty. She gave me table as far away from things as possible. The restaurant never filled-indeed the number of empty tales kept increasing so that by about 8:00, the place was almost empty.

Food was not bad although I order chowder followed by an entrée but after two spoonfuls, the entree arrived and the waiter explained the kitchen "was quite efficient".

I would not go back as long as same hostess worked there.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.