About Black Point Grill at Sea Ranch Lodge

60 Sea Walk Drive
The Sea Ranch, CA 95497
View Larger Map

The acclaimed Black Point Grill at Sea Ranch Lodge features internationally-inspired California cuisine that emphasizes the freshest local ingredients. Seasonal menus and daily specials tempt with many satisfying options, from delectable entrees, small plates and appetizers to casual tavern fare, resulting in sophisticated yet uncontrived dining. To complement the food, our Oceanside restaurant offers an award-winning selection of about 110 unique regional wines. The evolving wine list showcases some of the best small estate wineries from Sonoma and Mendocino appellations.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Californian

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Daily 8:00am - 11:00am
Lunch 11:30am - 3pm
Dinner 5:30pm - 9pm

Cross Street:
60 Sea Walk Drive

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(707) 785-4821

Website:
http://searanchlodge.com/dine/black-point-grill

Executive Chef:
Richard Whipple

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Black Point Grill at Sea Ranch Lodge
  • Black Point Grill at Sea Ranch Lodge
  • Black Point Grill at Sea Ranch Lodge
  • Black Point Grill at Sea Ranch Lodge
  • Black Point Grill at Sea Ranch Lodge
  • Black Point Grill at Sea Ranch Lodge
Black Point Grill at Sea Ranch Lodge
Black Point Grill at Sea Ranch Lodge
Black Point Grill at Sea Ranch Lodge
Black Point Grill at Sea Ranch Lodge
Black Point Grill at Sea Ranch Lodge
Black Point Grill at Sea Ranch Lodge

Black Point Grill at Sea Ranch Lodge Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.4

service

3.2

ambience

3.8

value

3.0

noise

Moderate

68% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Mendocino
Best Restaurants in Sea Ranch ›

Scenic View (30)
Romantic (10)
Special Occasion (8)
See All
Notable Wine List (7)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Good for Groups (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Great for Lunch (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Kid-friendly (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
139 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The service is and has been for a long t ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 7 days ago

The service is and has been for a long time problematic. Within just the last week, I went for lunch with 5 others and asked for table for 6. I was told it would be a while because one had to be set. I replied that there was an empty table for 6 right in front of us and was told "it was set for dinner". Fortunately another wait person overheard the conversation and told us to sit there.

A few days later I had a reservation for 1; showed up on time, dining room was half empty and I was told to wait a few minutes; then shown to the farthest table in what was obviously "Siberia". I ordered burger with no fries. Of course it came with plate full of fries---and the beat goes on.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

My wife and I both got food poisoning on ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

My wife and I both got food poisoning on the fish. We were warned about the shrimp by the locals who also had food poisoning recently

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2

The best! Always the best at the Sea Ran ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

The best! Always the best at the Sea Ranch Lodge. My grandfather would take me here in the early 80's and will always remind me of him. Just as beautiful as I remember. We had oysters, more appetizers, drinks from the bar, specials and our 11 month old children were welcomed with open arms! Thank you! We will see ya soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Definitely make a reservation for Friday ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Definitely make a reservation for Fridays and Saturdays as the options in the area are limited. The food was fantastic, but the service was spotty.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value4

We went here for my finance's birthday d ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

We went here for my finance's birthday dinner. Great wine list, and the food was good. Service was slow, and the price was higher than we would have paid for similar quality food elsewhere in the North Bay.

Tags: Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Great view and that is about it. Food is ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Great view and that is about it. Food is very average which is a shame because with the location they could really have something here.

PS: If you order the "Roasted Chicken Breast" don't be surprised when they bring you a leg and thigh only? I had the Whole Roasted Fish - it was in a batter and deep fried - roasted??

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

The service was rather slow at the resta ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

The service was rather slow at the restaurant. The food was good but not great and the dining room was noisy. It took 10 minutes to get water, 20 minutes to get wine and 40 minutes to get my dinner salad. The staff and kitchen must have been understaffed.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Have eaten dinner at this restaurant 17 ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Have eaten dinner at this restaurant 17 years running every summer when we travel there for a week. Have to say the service this time was horrible and the food worse. Overall not sure what's going on but they seem to be able to handle lunch (although the service is slow anytime) but the dinners have deteriorated to the point that we will avoid this restaurant for dinner going forward.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1
value1

Sea Food plates were outstanding as was ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Sea Food plates were outstanding as was the soup and salads. Our waitress was very accommodating and since it was our 45th anniversary the complimentary champagne was a nice touch. Flowers I had ordered were handled well by the restaurant and placed properly on our table.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Thursday afternoon (5:00pm) we went to m ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Thursday afternoon (5:00pm) we went to make a reservation for 4 for 5:30 and were told that they were all booked. We looked inside the restaurant and no one was there. They again told us we needed a reservation to dine there. I took out my cell phone and went on Open Table and noticed there was several times available for dinner. At 5:10 I made a reservation for the four of us. We were seated at 5:30 and noticed the restaurant was still empty except for us. During dinner, 6:00 ish, one other table was taken and one and one half hours later when we left there was still available tables. The food was very good only surpassed by the exceptional service. DON'T EAT BREAKFAST THERE THOUGH. Terrible breakfast and service! We also had a room there at the lodge and it was filthy with trash in the trash can and dead bugs squashed on the window covering.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

The food was just meh. I was also surpri ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

The food was just meh. I was also surprised by the lack of non meat items on the menu. The waitress was terrific and the views can't be beat, the the food just wasn't great. Lumpy, bland polenta. Salads that looked great but had no flavor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4

Restaurant was about 1/2 full but they s ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Restaurant was about 1/2 full but they seemed to be having trouble getting people seated. Our reservation was handled quickly. No drink requests and then about 20 minute to get our order in. Another 20 minutes before the cocktails showed up. The entrees were very good it was just that the service was so incredibly slow and disorganized. The hostess seemed to be serving as hostess, waitress and busperson as well....

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

I struggle to understand the negative re ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

I struggle to understand the negative reviews. We stayed at Sea Ranch and ate at the restaurant all weekend - two dinners, two breakfasts and lunch. We couldn't have been more pleased with the food, the service and the views. I actually was worried based on the negative reviews to even try it!

First, the food. We were told the menu was recently overhauled. Over the course of the weekend, we had the tomato soup, heirloom tomato and burrata salad, tempura green beens, shrimp and scallop risotto (twice actually), burger, steak, Waldorf salad and desserts. Each meal was cooked perfectly and prepared beautifully. The produce was also off-the-farm fresh.

The servers could not have been more attentive and friendly. We never waited to be seated. On the second night we had a relatively new waiter, but our waitress (Athena) from the night before stopped by to check on us and ask us how our day was.

We kept commenting during each meal that the recent negative reviews must have been on really off nights as our experience proved very opposite.

At Sea Ranch Lodge there is only one restaurant so not much choice, but I do believe they have made concerted efforts to read and address the negative reviews. It was our first time there and would go back again and again.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Coming from Florida we booked 3 weeks ou ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Coming from Florida we booked 3 weeks out and requested a window view for the sunset and potential wildlife and whale sighting. My fiancé is a huge wildlife lover along with myself. We arrived early for are reservation and waited 30 minutes to be seated. Would of been fine but looking around the corner we saw 4 open tables! Why the wait?! Finally we were seated but they sat us towards the inside portion of the restaurant instead of the requested window view that was requested 3 weeks in advise. Stupid me being to nice of a person didn't say anything and bit my lip.

Sat for 20 minutes before we were even offered water, waitress came out with water apologized and asked what we would like to drink. Waiting 20 minutes we already knew what we wanted to drink and eat by this point so we ordered. Waited 15 minutes for my beer, waitress offered us bread, we said sure, add on 20 minutes.

Sunset came and we couldn't see anything due to the family's that got "the window tables" with rude kids jumping up and down by the Windows like kangaroos. Very annoying.

Food came out. I ordered a medium steak, it was terrible and cooked so well-done it was almost dry. My fiancé order a chicken salad, terrible per her words.

We ordered a desert brownie sundae. About the only good thing.

Won't be going back, think it gets good reviews by locals because it's the only place really in the area so probably some home town love gets thrown to them.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

We had to wait a very long time to be se ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

We had to wait a very long time to be seated, even though we had a reservation. Then, once we were seated, nobody acknowledged we were there, and we just sat there...and waited...and waited. We flagged someone down and she said she would get someone to serve us, but we again waited! We almost walked out, but had nowhere else to go for dinner; we were also staying at the Sea Ranch Lodge. Finally, a wonderful waitress named Sevi attended to us and was very apologetic. It seemed she was running the whole place on her own! They seemed to be very understaffed, and, according to our waitress, most everyone was new on the job (it was the hostess's second day!) and the menu was new as well. She had to go in the kitchen to help put a salad together, even though she was waiting on almost every table, bussing dishes, and attending to every other need to keep the place running. We so much appreciated her efforts, but not only was it not fair to us as paying customers, it wasn't fair to her to have to try to hold the place together on her own (with very few helpers, most of whom were inexperienced). We returned for breakfast the next morning since we were staying there and found it to be mediocre. They were out of a few things that were on the menu, and my over easy eggs were basically raw inside (with "jello-like" whites). Overall, we were not impressed with what we thought would be a top of the line dining experience, especially considering that the lodge is a very high end place.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Lovely dinner and service, as always. G ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Lovely dinner and service, as always.

Gorgeous sunset was a bonus.

Will return before our week at SR is up.

Carolyn Cowan

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The Raspberry French Toast was fabulous, ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

The Raspberry French Toast was fabulous, and the view was breathtaking.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We sat at the bar prior to dining and or ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

We sat at the bar prior to dining and ordered an appetizer. The bartender had to be asked for utensils and napkins when our food was served. Despite our reservation, we were seated at a table facing a wall. We sat for over 15 minutes waiting for someone to acknowledge us. The people next to us asked if we had been seated in the invisible section as well. The restaurant was not busy. Then when someone did come with bread, we had to ask to see our server. The hostess arrived and apologized for the delay. We finally just gave our order to the hostess. Our server arrived to apologize as well, then promised us dessert to compensate for the delay in ordering, etc. Food was served and no one came back. We received our bill, no dessert. No mention of it. At that point, we just wanted to leave.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

The Lodge boasts a fine quality restaura ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

The Lodge boasts a fine quality restaurant, Black Point Grill, to complement the Sea Ranch ambiance. The views are outstanding, truly memorable: the food compliments the view well. Local wines are great, since its in the Russian River Valley, known for great Pinots. Worth a try.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Loved the relaxing feel of Sea Ranch Lod ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Loved the relaxing feel of Sea Ranch Lodge...the view from our dining table was fabulous!

Unfortunately, the management needs to take control of this property, posthaste.

All personnel need to be properly dressed for their jobs. It would be nice if the men at least wore a belt to work and nice black slacks or at least clean, pressed jeans. If you don't look professional when you go to work, how can you act in a professional manner?

Our waitress was very friendly but needed some training. Knowing how to pronounce the evening's specials and clearing the table before bringing out dessert are basic table waiting skills that should be reviewed in a training session before waiting tables.

The butter lettuce salad with fresh strawberries & goat cheese with raspberry vinaigrette was outstanding (except for the leaf that still had dirt on both the front and back sides...a little too much farm to table).

The chicken with greens and pesto pasta however was a complete disaster.

It looked like frozen pesto was microwaved to defrost it, then added to the pasta. When it arrived at table, the pasta was literally floating on a bed of olive oil, the greens and melted cheese from the pesto were a glob of goo and the chicken had been so overcooked that it was like jerky.

Chef Gordon Ramsay would be horrified, as were my husband and I. To be fair, the waitress apologized profusely, did not charge us for the dish, and offered to make me something else. I declined. Why? Because my husband's pork chop dinner was not much better. His overcooked pork chop was topped by an under cooked apple. Although he did manage to make it through half of his dinner, I ate the delicious seeded hot bread that was provided and called it an evening.

Let's hope Sea Ranch Lodge makes an agreement with one of the Culinary Institute's in Northern Ca and hires a new chef every six months...the chef's can get working experience and Sea Ranch Lodge can save its reputation...if it has one left to save.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value2

Tasty and well prepared food. Reasonable ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Tasty and well prepared food. Reasonable prices. Ate there twice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The menu selections were very ordinary a ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

The menu selections were very ordinary and sparse. There was a very poor choice of items offered which was shocking for a place such as this. I wasn't able to find anything I liked on the menu. The quality of the food was lacking as was the knowledge of the wait staff. I would NOT recommend eating here.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

Captive dining at its worst, no other di ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Captive dining at its worst, no other dining options for miles.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1

Even knowing from a previous visit that ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 10, 2016

Even knowing from a previous visit that this place is overpriced did not prepare us for paying $27 for a small, dry very overcooked piece of yellowfin tuna on a pile of rice with the promised cauliflower that went with it being few sprigs that served as garnish, not a vegetable with your dinner as the listing suggested. This was given to me was in lieu of the steelhead which was on the menu but not available, and after we were told that neither mussels nor oysters which we wanted to order were available because they'd sold out the previous day (Mother's Day) and hadn't gotten a new delivery. OK, but then a hour later, we heard same waitress tell the people at the next table that they'd just sold the last order of mussels a few minutes before!

So to sum up: out of their best food options, bad cooking, lying waitpeople. On the upside, my hubby's fish and chips were good, but nothing out of the ordinary. This place runs on being about the only nice dining place in the area and its view. Don't get taken. Or at least stick to the fish and chips or burgers and other can't fail, cheaper dishes.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

Good Food-- Want more menu selections

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 9, 2016

The view is outstanding, the food was good but the menu is relatively limited though diverse. Would like to see more options.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

Good food with a fantastic view

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 26, 2016

If you are in the area or staying at Sea Ranch, the restaurant can provide you with good food in a lovely setting. We ate there twice in our two-night stay. The first night the restaurant was busy and service was very slow, the food not really hot, but still tasty (salmon and a burger). The second night was much quieter and the food came quickly and piping hot. And even when you are waiting there is that fantastic view.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Our waitress was very efficient. The Hal ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 3, 2016

Our waitress was very efficient. The Halibut was cooked to perfection.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

50th birthday dinner

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

We read reviews which berated the service. We happened to have a superb, attentive but not obtrusive server (Kimi) who was very professional and pleasant. The salads were superb (esp. Caesar), the mussels superb (taste of curry, an doth steaks excellent meat albeit over-cooked. Oc course the scenic view is spectacular and a wonderful setting for my wife's 50th birthday with our daughter. We will come back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Good food hindered by bad service

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 20, 2016

Service ruined what would have been a good meal... food tasted great, but took a long time to get.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Getting Better

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 11, 2016

We've been visiting Sea Ranch for decades. Lately, we try eating dinners out more often. After a protracted period of indifferent food and poor service, dinners are really starting to hum. Caesar salad was super with great polenta croutons. Fresh salmon was just about perfect. Even the service has improved considerably.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

My last visit here was top notch.

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 22, 2016

The bar drinks were right on, and the dinner was delicious. Views of the Pacific are outstanding.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

good food good time

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on January 20, 2016

My husband and I had dinner here and truly enjoyed it. The food was delicious, our server was sweet. It was perfect.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sonoma coast

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on January 9, 2016

The Sonoma coast is so wild and scenic, yet only 2.5 hours from my home in the East Bay. The lodge is nice, great views but pricey. The grill is good, but limited in selection, and wine list. Stay VRBO, have casual food at the grill, bring your own wine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Won't go back for a while

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on January 1, 2016

1/2 hr to get drinks asked 4 bread 3 x service was terrible we used to go all the time to the lodge but the service and meal was so bad we won't go back again for a while

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service1
value1

Not sure what has changed, but after 25 ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on December 31, 2015

Not sure what has changed, but after 25 years of memories, this time the experience fell short. Service was only ok, food was ok, atmosphere was ok. Nothing was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

Not ready for prime time

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on December 4, 2015

I ordered a caesar salad and was brought a roquefourt; ordered a cheeseburger and was brought a hamburger; I flagged down a waiter to tell him I did not get what I ordered and he replied that it was not his table, that he had not "delivered "it. Three times while "enjoying" my meal with friends, we were interrupted abruptly to be asked if "everything was all right". An honest answer would have only made the evening worse.

And at the end, we asked why we were not given the standard small chocolates and were told "we are out of them". We then asked "for how long" and were told "3 weeks."

There was no evidence of a manager or anyone in charge, the entire evening. The lodge has absentee owners and it shows---bigtime.

The view has been the key to the Lodges longevity and apparently the owners are satisfied with that rather than providing either quality food or service.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1

Bread served was hard and stale, fries s ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on November 26, 2015

Bread served was hard and stale, fries served with pulled pork sandwich were cold. Ordered clam chowder, which was also served cold. Awful experience.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1

We ate in the bar, seated at the bar. Tw ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on November 26, 2015

We ate in the bar, seated at the bar. Two families dominated the seating area in the bar with their eight children. The kids were loud and unruly and the parents paid no attention. My food was awful and it was the signature dish - fish and chips. The fish was not cooked properly, likely because it wasn't properly thawed. We got great service from the bartender, however. Overall, not a good experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service4

Food with a View

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on November 15, 2015

Recently gave this place another try after a disappointing dinner with family. Wow — what a difference some daylight makes. The view from the back patio is amazing and on a warm and clear day it was incredible. The Fish&Chips lunch with a cold draft beer was nice, but majestic ocean and crashing waves was the real hit.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Service was really poor

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on November 1, 2015

We went for a Birthday Dinner, based on good comments from some friends. When the customers who were previously seated are complaining when you walk in that is a bad sign.

Despite having a 7pm reservation we stood at the entry for 15 min before someone even noticed us. Then once seated we were on our own, no bread , no water, finally flagged some one down. Got bread no butter, and it just went down hill from there.

Go to the Gualala Hotel skip this place!!!!!!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.