Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 1.79mi
  3. Distance: 1.81mi
  4. Distance: 1.81mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 1.79mi
  3. Distance: 1.81mi
  4. Distance: 1.81mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 1.79mi
  3. Distance: 1.81mi
  4. Distance: 1.81mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 1.79mi
  3. Distance: 1.81mi
  4. Distance: 1.81mi

About Black Point Grill at Sea Ranch Lodge

The acclaimed Black Point Grill at Sea Ranch Lodge features internationally-inspired California cuisine that emphasizes the freshest local ingredients. Seasonal menus and daily specials tempt with many satisfying options, from delectable entrees, small plates and appetizers to casual tavern fare, resulting in sophisticated yet uncontrived dining. To complement the food, our Oceanside restaurant offers an award-winning selection of about 110 unique regional wines. The evolving wine list showcases some of the best small estate wineries from Sonoma and Mendocino appellations.

60 Sea Walk Drive
The Sea Ranch, CA 95497
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Californian

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Daily 8:00am - 11:00am
Lunch 11:30am - 3pm
Dinner 5:30pm - 9pm

Cross Street:
60 Sea Walk Drive

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(707) 785-4821

Website:
http://searanchlodge.com/dine/black-point-grill

Executive Chef:
Christian Andersen

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Black Point Grill at Sea Ranch Lodge Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.3

service

3.8

ambience

4.0

value

3.1

noise

Moderate

67% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (13)
Waterfront (11)
Casual (5)
See All
Worth the Drive (4)
Special Occasion (4)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Cozy (3)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Good for a Date (3)
Fun (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Romantic (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Organic (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Seasonal (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Authentic (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
203 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Excellent meal, outstanding service from a waitress who was knowledgable and funny.

Tags: Scenic View, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 6, 2017

The outstanding view is matched with a great meal and friendly service. A real treat.

Tags: Good for a Date, Scenic View, Authentic, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 2, 2017

The food was very slow in arriving.
The fries were truly COLD.
The coleslaw is inedible--shredded cabbage with globs of mayo dressing.
The new higher prices might not be absurd if the food was excellent quality.
As it is, you are presenting poor food at high prices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Our waiter Ivan was on point with recommendations. We had oysters that were soo buttery as our appetizer along with a cocktail on the house...thank you! Our entree was yellowtail jack on black rice with crab. Hats off to the chef It was delicious! The best part of it all was to see true customer service and interaction thank you for the hospitality and views!

Tags: Romantic, Waterfront, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Cozy, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 17, 2017

We arrived on Saturday for Father's day/ Mom's Birthday. They were friendly. They announced the specials which Dad ordered, they then brought his "special" which wasn't what they said, then told him there was miscommunication so they changed his meal without informing or asking. My mom had to ask three times for a glass of wine. The appetizer was supposed to be a mix of veggies and it was mostly kalamari with a few random pieces of mushroom. At the end of the meal we waited 15 minutes for the check we asked for. My Mom also had to ask three times for her doggie bag food. The service was friendly, completely disorganized, under staffed, and the kitchen was in turmoil. It wasn't that busy. is was steady. Also we listened to excuses from our server about how they were training new people, there were miscommunication, and at least 5 i'm sorries. that's a bit too much i'm sorry for the black point @ sea ranch.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Service was better than usual. The food was not bad.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Honestly, I was amazed at the overall experience myself and guests had at Black Point Grill.
I have been there 4 times now and 2 of the times the service was on par for the restaurant, but this last time the kitchen needs to be properly trained.
This time I ordered a starter, salad, and main course. The salad was brought before my starter.
Then I had to wait till all my guests had finished their main course to get mine. And it was salmon that was totally raw and not cooked. I sent it back. I waited another 25 mins. and got the another raw piece of fish! At this point, I was past it and we decided as everyone else was finished to order dessert. I order chocolate cake. I was told after ordering it that they were out of chocolate cake. At this point, the waitress admitted she was embarrassed to come and tell me no cake. The wait staff and hostesses were doing their best. The kitchen staff needs more training or replacement. If you read through all the reviews the majority are negative.
Management needs to do something quick so regulars keep coming back, and they don't rely only on unsuspecting tourists passing through.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Incredibly disappointing experience.
1. The service staff are rude and unhelpful. When we arrived, they sat us in the back without much of a view -- despite the fact that all of the tables with a view were empty!
2. You can't actually get a hold of anyone in the restaurant. We had been trying for days to call and push our reservation back -- but the number takes you to voicemail and no one ever calls back.
3. The food is UNACCEPTABLE. The burger was like a hockey puck. The brussels sprouts were drowning in a soy sauce. And the prime rib was terrible! My boyfriend couldn't take more than a few bites.
4. For all this, horribly overpriced.

I cannot recommend this restaurant to anyone. There is not much else in the area, but still you should not go.

Tags: Casual, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Service was great and very attentive. We had prime rib that was ok. Not great. Decent wine list. Overall for where we are it is good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 14, 2017

We ordered drinks as soon as we sat down, then had to ask twice for the wine we ordered. When it got to the table the Pinot Gris was hot. We finally got glasses of wine from the bar. Disappointing because the food was very good. Service was a huge thumbs-down.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service2
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Specific table was reserved as requested. Waiter Trevor was superb, great sense of humor. dinners were wonderful. We come here at least twice a year.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 1, 2017

We arrived at exactly 5:45 pm for our reservation and were shown directly to a window seat.
As it was my wife's birthday, we wanted a special evening. The atmosphere was conducive for a relaxing dinner meal. Our server Isac went the extra mile for us with outstanding service and good conversation as he served us through the entire meal. His outgoing personality and sense of humor was refreshing and at a level that a 5 star restaurant should demand.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on March 27, 2017

The view is beautiful and the staff is friendly. The food was just OK. I probably wouldn't eat there again unfortunately. Our waiter was nice but not very knowledgeable about the menu items. The presentation of the food is well done but the flavor and quality is just not there.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 17, 2017

While the food is good, I found the service to be underwhelming, hurried. Despite being friendly, I expected much better service from this place. The location of course and the view make up for it!

Tags: Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 17, 2017

While the menu had some good choices & the food was decent, the service was terrible and the attention to detail was sorely lacking. Service at breakfast was even worse. Sad because the view is lovely but this place needs some updating and a trained wait staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 12, 2017

The ambiance was great, the food was amazing, and I would highly recommend. Romantic atmosphere as well.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Let me start with the best part of it: our server was great. She definitely deserves 5 stars. But, they were out of a LOT of the regulars, were making substitutions and did not have a full menu. I understand running out of specials, but at 6:30 on a Friday night you should not be out of regular menu items. The portions were small for the price. But, it was still a great view and great service so they get 4 stars.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 1, 2017

It is very overpriced for what it is. I got salmon with three french green beans and mashed potatoes and I think it was over $30. My husband did get a nice steak. Overall, it was just too expensive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 25, 2017

This is a beautiful place to eat with friends or for a special occasion. Located at Sea Ranch right smack dab overlooking the Pacific Ocean, beautiful views await you from any table. Service is excellent and the food makes my mouth water even now.

Tags: Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Gluten Free Options, Vegan, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 23, 2017

The Lodge continues to have mediocre service, if that, virtually no supervision of the staff and a general lack of professionalism. It is obvious the owners have decided to rely on the view and the many one time tourists driving the coast, rather than improve the place and attract the locals.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 22, 2017

Went twice:
Lunch was okay although they didn't provide dressing for the Cobb salad I ordered which I didn't realize until I was back to my room, very annoying and ruined my $18 Cobb salad that said it came with bacon but did not.
Dinner was a disaster, was told by hostess to tip well since we requested a good seat for our last honeymoon dinner, very odd.
We ordered the half crab and mussels for apps. Mashed potatoes had to be sent back because they were cold. Mussels went to the other table and it took 10 minutes for them to figure out their mistake so we had to wait even longer.
We ordered the seafood pasta special and they brought out a pasta with bolganese. The sever apologized and said she'd reduce it on our bill. She didn't and then when we had to ask, she only deducted it from $28 to $24.
Overall not a good experience either time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Loved our waitress Monica and the mussels were very tasty
Along with the beet salad, molasses lamb & seafood pot pie
Also great wines

Tags: Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Tapas, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Great dining experience. Love the new menu options. Thanks for bringing back the halibut!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Waterfront, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 14, 2017

They are trying, but a four course fancy dinner is an over-reach for a place that is understaffed and poorly trained. If the owners invested money in training and in attracting staff, they would get a good response from the community.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Love this restaurant! Love the food, love the service, love the incredible views. Unforgettable dining experiences have happened on numerous occasions for me here.

Tags: Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Outstanding service. They accommodating us - we are vegetarian & do not eat eggs. Best to let them know in advance of dietary needs. Great soups, pancakes, butternut squash ravioli, & risotto. The views are great - you can see the Pacific Ocean. The restaurant is part of Sea Ranch Lodge & there are 2 Tesla chargers & another car charger on the property.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Another wonderful evening at the Black Point Grill. The service is friendly and timely, the wine list local and the sea food selections appetizing. The oysters were from Washington state, and tasted a bit stale, but perhaps not surprising on a quiet night. The mussels and frites were delicious, and the specials of the night were local and fresh.

Tags: Seasonal, Paleo Friendly, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Went to the Black Point Grill at the Sea Ranch Lodge to celebrate my 60th birthday. The food was very good and the ambience can't be beat especially if you get a seat overlooking the ocean at sunset. The service was congenial but a little understaffed so we had to ask a few times for more bread and to get two more place settings for the four people in our party. The rib eye steak and the short ribs were very good and the filet of sole was fresh. Corkage fee was $15 for opening all of our wine through the course of our dinner, and they gave me complimentary apple pie a la mode desert.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 13, 2017

For many years we have been lodging at the Sea Ranch lodge and dining at Black Point Grill, which is located at the Sea Ranch lodge. I would consider the Black Point Grill the better place for dinner when staying at the Sea Ranch. My husband and I were however disappointed this time as we feel that food quality, service quality is not what it used to be. We had breakfast and dinner here. At dinner it took a really long time for a server to come by after we were seated. Fortunately we weren't in a hurry. Then we were twice educated on the specials of the day. The wine we chose from the wine list was not available and the second one we picked either. The breakfast is no longer included in the room price. Hence I was very disappointed to see that also the quality wasn't what it used to be. The hash browns were oil with a crust around....I did not eat. The views off course can't be beat!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 6, 2017

had prime rib, pork chop entrees...adequate, blah.
few other dinner restaurants in the area.
got billed more for wine than printed in the menu.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Excellent food, great variety and lovely setting

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Lovely evening and elegant dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 29, 2016

The restaurant was very nice. The noise level from other guests was perfect for having a comfortable conversation at our table. Food was quite good, although one of our party is vegetarian and wanted more options for his meal.
Thank You.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great Beer, Seasonal, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 29, 2016

The crab was warm and fresh, the oysters crisp and salty with an interesting mango minionette. The service was excellent as well!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Communication among the staff is poor

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Joyed an extremely nice dinner at Christmas. Great atmosphere. Chef is accommodating.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Stunning views in an iconic midcentury building complex. Excellent service and really good food. True perfection.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Seasonal, Afternoon Coffee, Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Authentic, Fun, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 25, 2016

So Much Lost Potential. We went to the Black Point Grill for Xmas dinner hoping for a memorable dining experience but skeptical since so many chefs have come and gone over the years with quality drastically varying with each change. The menu was lovely but the execution was disappointing. Only the soup and salad were satisfying. The meat dishes came luke warm and it was almost ridiculous that we were asked how we wanted our roast beef cooked since it was a colorless thinly sliced piece of meat when it arrived. The turkey portion was meager and nothing special. Requests such as substitute greens for potatoes was ignored. The bread was stale, having been preheated earlier. The desserts could have been from a frozen desert manufacturer and were left largely uneaten. The cookies were stale.
We felt sorry for our server who tried her best. The chef came over to apologize for the delay in serving us and frankly there was no delay whatsoever, everything else deserved an apology. When the bill arrived there were a number of mistakes in the restaurant's favor and to be fair to them they comped us two glasses of wine. I guess we will wait until a new chef arrives before we give the Black Point Grill another chance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 25, 2016

When I first arrived at Sea Ranch in 2008, the dining at the Lodge was quite good. Unfortunately, it has suffered from multiple management and Executive Chef changes, some of which were definitely necessary, however, this did not improve the direction of service, or the food. Christmas dinner 2016 was a sad effort, the soup and salad course were good, but all of my guests were disappointed in the entree and dessert course. And with the near $500 tab, NOT A GOOD VALUE!

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Had Christmas Eve dinner here. Service was excellent, both in the bar and in the restaurant. Fixed menu dinner for this particular evening. Wild mushroom tart and my wife's Dungeness crab bisque were absolutely outstanding as was the pecan pie for dessert. My wife had a seafood pot pie that was top notch with an crisp, tender crust and a delicious, sea food packed interior. I had the wild turkey which was very good with wonderful flavors. I am a dark meat fan and that was terrific; white meat as per normal was a little dry (just like mom used to make). Thankfully, they brought me more of the very flavorful gravy which helped a lot.

Tags: Waterfront, Cozy, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.