Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 1.79mi
  3. Distance: 1.81mi
  4. Distance: 1.81mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 1.79mi
  3. Distance: 1.81mi
  4. Distance: 1.81mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 1.79mi
  3. Distance: 1.81mi
  4. Distance: 1.81mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 1.79mi
  3. Distance: 1.81mi
  4. Distance: 1.81mi

About Black Point Grill at Sea Ranch Lodge

The acclaimed Black Point Grill at Sea Ranch Lodge features internationally-inspired California cuisine that emphasizes the freshest local ingredients. Seasonal menus and daily specials tempt with many satisfying options, from delectable entrees, small plates and appetizers to casual tavern fare, resulting in sophisticated yet uncontrived dining. To complement the food, our Oceanside restaurant offers an award-winning selection of about 110 unique regional wines. The evolving wine list showcases some of the best small estate wineries from Sonoma and Mendocino appellations.

60 Sea Walk Drive
The Sea Ranch, CA 95497
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Californian

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Daily 8:00am - 11:00am
Lunch 11:30am - 3pm
Dinner 5:30pm - 9pm

Cross Street:
60 Sea Walk Drive

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(707) 785-4821

Website:
http://searanchlodge.com/dine/black-point-grill

Catering:
We offer catering for celebrations of all kinds, weddings, birthdays, anniversaries, family reunions, holidays and corporate gatherings. Dial 707-785-4812 direct for Special events.

Parking Details:
Free Parking

Executive Chef:
Rebecca Stewart

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Black Point Grill at Sea Ranch Lodge Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.6

service

3.9

ambience

4.4

value

3.5

noise

Moderate

72% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (26)
Waterfront (17)
Romantic (13)
See All
Good for a Date (11)
Special Occasion (9)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Cozy (7)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Casual (6)
Fun (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Authentic (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Bar Seating (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Healthy (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Organic (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Business Meals (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
People Watching (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Seasonal (1)
Spicy (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Sort By:
S
233 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 3 days ago

This was a second visit to Black Point Grill within a five-day period. While the view is superb and the waitress helpful and friendly, the food fell short. The only option for a vegan meal was the side dressing for the halibut steak. Evidently during the week the vegetable plate is not available. My son's beef short ribs were dry and flavorless. We justified the price charged by the opportunity to watch the sunset and the fellowship.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined 4 days ago

A great dining experience. Great food and service with comfortable and relaxing Sea Ranch ambiance. Memorable views of the Sonoma coast and sunset!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Authentic, People Watching, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Casual, Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Waterfront, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

The choices for a vegan are quite limited on the menu, yet the chef prepared an attractive and tasty vegetable plate. The reason for coming to Black Point Grill is always the beautiful view of the ocean at sunset. In addition, our waitress was bright, friendly, and helpful.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 7 days ago

The view is a multi-million dollar view. I repeat what I just said. One can walk out, before or after dining a short 1/2 block distance (though there are no blocks around this neighborhood) to see seals, sea lions, whales spouting, a spectacular turquoise-water-color inlet. Everyone feels like they were one of the first ever to see this experience because there are so few people there, maybe 2 or 4 on the entire walk. The food. It is good, not spectacular or great, but good. The idea of watching the ocean and the people and the privacy of this area is worth the entire meal.

Tags: Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Fun, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value4

 
·Dined on September 14, 2017

Food was amazing. Ivan, our server, made the evening. He made it a real celebration as if he were celebrating with his own family.

Tags: Waterfront, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Healthy, Good for a Date, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 14, 2017

We were celebrating our wedding anniversary with friends. We were disappointed in the quality of the food. I think it has gone downhill since we were last there. They were out of some items listed on the menu by 7:00pm. Other items listed on their website were not available, an example was the lamb. I hope they improve the food and the menu, because it is a pleasant and convenient place to eat when staying at Sea Ranch.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 14, 2017

Waiter forgot to tell us most of the specials. The food peppery and had no other flavor.

Tags: Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 4, 2017

We stayed at their lodge, Sea Ranch Lodge. I wish this whole place was better. The dining room is beautiful, with ocean views. The food was unmemorable. The service was terrible. The staff was nice but they just kept making mistakes: our Caesar Salad didn't arrive until 30 minutes later with our entrees, by that time it wasn't crunchy. Cioppino wasn't served with a 'graveyard' dish and a spoon. When we asked for a spoon, it was given to me instead of my partner who asked her. This is the memory of my dinner there, unfortunately. I will not be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 4, 2017

This is a favorite family spot for special events while we are at Sea Ranch.
Brand new Chef (about Sept 1) has added some nice new things to the menu. Seems a bit of an asian touch in places.

We had terrible serving problems this Saturday night. We waited nearly an hour to get our entree! We believe it was due to them having a large private party in one of the dining rooms.
Certainly not the waitress's fault. Spoke the General Manager of the restaurant and he wouldn't take any blame. According to him: mostly due to new chef getting used to the kitchen and kitchen staff.
But: The sunset was lovely. Just could not keep drinking until the food arrived!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on August 27, 2017

The new chef, Rebecca, has performed a miracle. The food and atmosphere are much improved. The food was very fresh and creative. The staff's attitude was extremely positive. I hope this new trend continues.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
·Dined on August 27, 2017

Overall experience was one of best I have had after years of eating there. One of the best meals ever.........all five people at table (all locals) agreed on best meal.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 26, 2017

The quality of the food here has really deteriorated. We ordered a caprese which was served with old mushy tomatoes and vert little cheese. Even the fish and chips were off, the cole slaw was terrible. Good service, great view but lousy food..

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 23, 2017

Great place. Good food. View is as good as it gets anywhere. Good value. Highly recommend

Tags: Waterfront, Gluten Free Options, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 22, 2017

Lovely meal with a lovely view of the ocean. Friendly staff. A little pricey but food was excellent.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Cozy, Authentic, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 18, 2017

Every time we come to The Sea Ranch lodge or homes we have enjoyed this beautiful restaurant. Top flight service and amazing food. Put that together with a relaxing seat by the windows looking out at the Pacific ocean for a sunset and... well you know why we keep coming back.

Tags: Cozy, Authentic, Happy Hour, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on August 15, 2017

Succotash and wild rice were overcooked. Mushy.
Schnitzel meat very tough.
Long periods between wait staff visits.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 14, 2017

Wonderful views from restaurant! However, I tried calling twice with a question and got a recording. Initially, we were not credited with Open Table Points. And, after being seated, we had to ask our hostess to get us a waitperson

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Lovely view and the front house staff was good, but the kitchen was very slow and the food was only so-so.

Tags: Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

Read the views & was not sure about this restaurant, but we had a wonderful dinner. Also it was my husbands 35 birthday & on the reservation I asked if they could bring out a desert with a candle on it. I didn't even have to ask our wonderful waiter at the end of dinner. My husband tried to give him the credit card but I mentioned I wanted to see the dessert menu & our waiter knew what I was asking and minutes later brought out his dessert with a candle & my husband was so surprised.
Also you cannot beat the view!

Tags: Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 11, 2017

We have been coming here for 4 summers and this year the restaurant has slipped in food, offerings...not too exciting and bland and service and decor need to be freshen up.. It needs updating, cleaning, and an infusion of cash. Perhaps, clean carpeting, new chairs, and general decor could be refreshed. The view is spectacular but the room needs care and updating.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
·Dined on August 10, 2017

Excellent, friendly service with an upscale menu and good wine list. Beautiful views of sunset over the ocean. Fish-and-chips is a very reasonably priced favorite, and it's done right.

Tags: Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 9, 2017

Good food, but not worth the value. It's fine dining price, but doesn't really meet the standard. We went to low key places not long after that surpassed the food here. Service and view were good though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on August 7, 2017

The clam chowder was excellent! The beef short ribs were awful- dry aand sinewy. Service is great.

Tags: Romantic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on August 7, 2017

Food was awful. Excessive sauces, undercooked risotto, soggy salad. Waitress forgot items ordered

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Spectacular view, wide variety on the menu, delicious food, happy and prompt service, great ambiance plus a quiet and serene lodge to stay in nature. Loved it!

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Organic, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 4, 2017

While staying in sea ranch we found black point grill. Be sure to make reservations a day ahead, but worth it. Beautiful views and good food.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on August 3, 2017

We are renting a house in Sea Ranch and have had dinner at the lodge twice. The food was great and prepared well. The staff is excellent from the Manager, Jessica, to the servers. They all tried to accommodate our needs and provide excellent service for the six of us. The dinners were all served at the same time which is greatly appreciated. The servers were attentive to our needs throughout the meal. We are looking forward to our dinner tomorrow! Thanks for making our vacation so special.

Tags: Casual, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 30, 2017

We come here each summer when we are in the area. This time we'd heard mixed reviews about the food and service but decided to try it again. The only glitch was that our Open Table teservstion was not showing on their computer, though we had a note confirming it. The hostess handled that competently and sat us iby the window in good time. We ordered two of our favorites - fish and chips and hamburger - and were pleased with both. The server, Tina, was very attentive and friendly. We will return.

Tags: Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Ravioli was drowning in butter, Caesar Salad was wilted and sopping with dressing. Steak order was good. Swordfish average.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Wonderful meal, fabulous service - s terrific dining exoerience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Excellent meal, outstanding service from a waitress who was knowledgable and funny.

Tags: Scenic View, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 6, 2017

The outstanding view is matched with a great meal and friendly service. A real treat.

Tags: Good for a Date, Scenic View, Authentic, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 2, 2017

The food was very slow in arriving.
The fries were truly COLD.
The coleslaw is inedible--shredded cabbage with globs of mayo dressing.
The new higher prices might not be absurd if the food was excellent quality.
As it is, you are presenting poor food at high prices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Our waiter Ivan was on point with recommendations. We had oysters that were soo buttery as our appetizer along with a cocktail on the house...thank you! Our entree was yellowtail jack on black rice with crab. Hats off to the chef It was delicious! The best part of it all was to see true customer service and interaction thank you for the hospitality and views!

Tags: Romantic, Waterfront, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Cozy, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 17, 2017

We arrived on Saturday for Father's day/ Mom's Birthday. They were friendly. They announced the specials which Dad ordered, they then brought his "special" which wasn't what they said, then told him there was miscommunication so they changed his meal without informing or asking. My mom had to ask three times for a glass of wine. The appetizer was supposed to be a mix of veggies and it was mostly kalamari with a few random pieces of mushroom. At the end of the meal we waited 15 minutes for the check we asked for. My Mom also had to ask three times for her doggie bag food. The service was friendly, completely disorganized, under staffed, and the kitchen was in turmoil. It wasn't that busy. is was steady. Also we listened to excuses from our server about how they were training new people, there were miscommunication, and at least 5 i'm sorries. that's a bit too much i'm sorry for the black point @ sea ranch.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Service was better than usual. The food was not bad.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Honestly, I was amazed at the overall experience myself and guests had at Black Point Grill.
I have been there 4 times now and 2 of the times the service was on par for the restaurant, but this last time the kitchen needs to be properly trained.
This time I ordered a starter, salad, and main course. The salad was brought before my starter.
Then I had to wait till all my guests had finished their main course to get mine. And it was salmon that was totally raw and not cooked. I sent it back. I waited another 25 mins. and got the another raw piece of fish! At this point, I was past it and we decided as everyone else was finished to order dessert. I order chocolate cake. I was told after ordering it that they were out of chocolate cake. At this point, the waitress admitted she was embarrassed to come and tell me no cake. The wait staff and hostesses were doing their best. The kitchen staff needs more training or replacement. If you read through all the reviews the majority are negative.
Management needs to do something quick so regulars keep coming back, and they don't rely only on unsuspecting tourists passing through.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Incredibly disappointing experience.
1. The service staff are rude and unhelpful. When we arrived, they sat us in the back without much of a view -- despite the fact that all of the tables with a view were empty!
2. You can't actually get a hold of anyone in the restaurant. We had been trying for days to call and push our reservation back -- but the number takes you to voicemail and no one ever calls back.
3. The food is UNACCEPTABLE. The burger was like a hockey puck. The brussels sprouts were drowning in a soy sauce. And the prime rib was terrible! My boyfriend couldn't take more than a few bites.
4. For all this, horribly overpriced.

I cannot recommend this restaurant to anyone. There is not much else in the area, but still you should not go.

Tags: Casual, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Service was great and very attentive. We had prime rib that was ok. Not great. Decent wine list. Overall for where we are it is good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 14, 2017

We ordered drinks as soon as we sat down, then had to ask twice for the wine we ordered. When it got to the table the Pinot Gris was hot. We finally got glasses of wine from the bar. Disappointing because the food was very good. Service was a huge thumbs-down.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service2
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.