Not available on OpenTable

Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network.
If you like, we’ll notify you by email if this restaurant joins.
Is this your restaurant? Claim this listing

Permanently Closed - Black Pig Bistro

4.1
275 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
CAN$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Spanish
Top Tags:
  • Fit for Foodies
  • Neighborhood Gem
  • Special Occasion

Similar Restaurants

About

This restaurant is permanently closed.

Black Pig Bistro is a casual restaurant that specializes in Spanish cuisine. The restaurant's name is derived from the Black Iberian Pig, which is commonly found in Portugal and Southern Spain. Many of the restaurant's dishes are made using Spanish-style grass-fed ham and pork. The interior of Black Pig Bistro is made to feel like home with exposed brick, white wooden furniture, rustic chandeliers and a lot of natural lighting.

Begin the meal with an appetizer like home-marinated olives and pepitas, pork belly with homemade mustard pickles or the Panzanella salad. For the main course, try dishes like peas and carpaccio, Cornish game hen and skirt steak served with cauliflower and kale slaw. End the meal at Black Pig Bistro with a sweet dessert like chocolate and brittle.

Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Spanish, French, Italian
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Dinner
Tuesday - Sunday 5:00pm - Close

Lunch
Friday - Sunday Lunch 11:00am-3:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(403) 460-0350
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Nick Dobberthien
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
We cater to offsite events ranging from a simple lunch to an elaborate dining experience. Contact us via phone @ 403-460-0350 or email @ eat@blackpigibistro.com for full details.
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
7a St.
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
There is ample free parking surrounding Black Pig Bistro. There are free 2 and 3 hour zones during the day. All parking is free after 6pm.
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
C-Train: Bridgeland/Memorial
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
We specialize in group events from 10 - 100. Call 403-460-0350 to discuss your next great event.
Additional
Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 275 People Are SayingWrite a review
Overall ratings and reviews
4.1based on all time ratings
4.2
food
4.2
service
4.1
ambience
3.7
value
Noise · Moderate
86% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
4.0Dined on August 19, 2016

Went for lunch. A limited menu, but very nicely done. Breakfast Bravas are a very unique spin, that is most closely related to poutine, but this is not poutine though equally tasty! The chorizo sandwich was also very tasty, and the desserts were fantastic. The beer selection is limited, but contains high quality choices, including a gluten free option for beer. The americano coffee afterwards hit the spot.

Friendly staff.

We went on a weekday in August, so it is hard to judge if it is normally busier at lunch time, but in our case it was extremely quiet.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 14, 2016

Although we were a little disappointed that the tapas menu has been curtailed, we thoroughly enjoyed what we had. Our server made us feel welcome, comfortable and well looked after.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on August 7, 2016

Sunday brunch with a full resto and one server was an issue. The gun was ran off his feet and couldn't keep up. Food was decent but service and staffing needs to be addressed ASAP. We were there August 6.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on August 5, 2016

Excellent in-house condiments and dressings.
Server very competent, pleasant and helpful.
Not clear that restaurant a tapas style establishment even after checking website.
Glad we tried something new.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 30, 2016

Met up with old friends and had a fantastic meal, attentive, friendly server. Delicious brunch dishes with gluten friendly options.
Brioche stuff French toast amazing as were the 3 Bennies order.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on July 16, 2016

Open Table indicated only small availability but the restaurant was actually literally empty of customers the entire time our part of 4 was there. Just thought you should know. Service was great but the menu has changed and the quality of the food is not as high as it was before.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on July 9, 2016

Always enjoy dining at Black Pig, and liked the new menu items since my last visit.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 30, 2016

New chef & new menu! High quality ingredients and clever preparations. Great date spot.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 4, 2016

Every time I've dined here I've been impressed. The food is wonderful and the service is excellent. The menu isn't vast because they make their food from scratch and put out quality food rather than mass quantities.

I highly recommend this for a nice brunch get together for friends.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on June 3, 2016

Went on a Friday evening. It was quiet in the restaurant. They did not do the tasting menu even though it's on the website .They did not have certain things on the small menu. They were out of red sangria, and out of 3 different beers on tap stating we are changing the kegs, however we were there for 1.5 hours and they were still changing the kegs. Food was okay, except for one dish that was amazing. Would not recommend this restaurant to anyone.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 22, 2016

Service was impeccable but I've had better bennies elsewhere in the city. For the prices it was pretty underwhelming.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 14, 2016

We preferred the menu a year ago when we had dinner there. Did not enjoy the 'sharing menu'
We felt it was not good value or customized enough -' Iberico ham with 3 slices of baguette for 4 people... Portions were small.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 13, 2016

We had great service, but, the food was kind of...unremarkable. At $45 a steak, I expect it to be good, and it was. But with so many excellent options at the same price point in Calgary, it doesn't stand up to the competition. Unless I lived in Bridgeland and wanted to walk somewhere, I'd go somewhere else.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 8, 2016

Service was a bit on the slow side but the good was excellent and very reason am for price. Great lattes as well

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 6, 2016

We've dined at Black Pig on a few occasions and have always enjoyed the changing menu, ambiance and wine list. Most recently, my partner and I had dinner at Black Pig and were so impressed by our server, Kate's knowledge of the menu. She made a great experience even better.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 6, 2016

I had been to Black Pig before and loved the menu! I was looking forward to going back for lunch, so checked their lunch menu and everything looked tasty. Unfortunately, when we got there the "lunch" menu was almost entirely brunch options. I asked the server about it and she said they changed the lunch menu a few weeks earlier. Why didn't they update their online menu? I wouldn't have gone had I known there were so few lunch options, but it looks great for brunch!
I had one of two sandwich options - the chorizo sandwich, which was yum! It would have been nice to have had more lunch options though.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 30, 2016

One of our favourite restaurants for many reasons.
Beautiful interior, very friendly helpful staff and of course a great sharing tapas menu ranging from small bites to large.
Quality and choice is great and extremely good value for money would definitely suit all pockets.
This is a must try restaurant in a lovely location and you will not be disappointed.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 29, 2016

Wanting to try this venue since it opened. They JUST changed their menu last week to the growing popularity of "sharing plates". Enjoyed perusing and choosing from the amusing cocktail findings. Appetizer we most enjoyed was a version of bruschetta. Half chicken was satisfyingly tasty. Desserts tiny, yet flavourful. Staff worked well together in unfolding our experience.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 23, 2016

Love this restaurant. Loads of great flavors and combinations - not your typical Calgary fare. Have been here multiple times now and have never been disappointed. Food is always high quality and staff really friendly. Had my parents with me this time and they did find it a little hard to hear the server.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 10, 2016

Interesting food prepared with great skill and plated beautiful - an excellent meal.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 8, 2016

Can't wait to go back again, menu options all looked so delicious.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 2, 2016

Really enjoyed the interesting menu. We ordered an number of appetizers before our main and the portions of the appetizers were so small difficult to be tasted by 4 people. Great flavors.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 31, 2016

There for a late weekday lunch, the place was quiet. This is NOT because of the food. Every bite from foie gras, soup, bocatello, burger and salted chocolate was wonderful.
We hear the chicken liver parfait is passe'. Too bad, we hear it was "crave-able."
Heading for an "edgier" menu, we're sure it will be a hit!!
Our server, Edward, answered every question, paid attention, and provided the perfect experience, even filling in complimentary wine substitutions.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 26, 2016

We were celebrating Easter here with friends...
- Our server was very patient and helpful. He was knowledgeable and if there was anything he didn't know, he'd let us know and come right back with an answer.
- The owner was very warm and generous, she offered to lend her coloring materials to our friend's daughter.
- We had an early dinner, so I wasn't able to see the lighting effect at night. But I'm pretty sure the ambience at night is romantic.
- We had most of the small plates in the menu to start and they were all very sumptuous. The entrees were all appropriately portioned and tasteful. We ordered four kinds of desserts to share and they were awesome!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 19, 2016

Dined out one evening with friends. The server was attentive, but no cloyingly so. He had a good knowledge of the menu and the wines. Paired them excellently. Not exactly cheap, but worth the trip. The room is simple but a nice atmosphere. Not so loud that you had to yell over the din or the music, so we could have a nice conversation over excellent food.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 18, 2016

Outstanding service that was efficient and respectful of our gathering. Presentation and taste very good.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 5, 2016

Very small portions. Assuming it's because Of taste of Calgary. Didn't give me enough knowledge of expertise and portion sizes. Very nice flavor but not full. 114 pound female.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on February 27, 2016

We were excited to try another Tapas restaurant. We were greeted immediately at the door so it was off to a great start.

Our waiter was very friendly and informative. However, the food took a long time to get to our table. We ordered 4 small plates and one dinner plate. We spent most of our time waiting for the next course.

I found it funny that our last small plate of steak tartare came out with our dinner plate. The Patatas Bravas and Tartare was a big disappointment

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 27, 2016

The owner(s) made the night for my wife and I. They were knowledgable, friendly and made us feel welcome.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 19, 2016

Went for dinner on Friday night and the restaurant was pretty much full and quite lively. We ordered the Jamon Iberico, chicken liver parfait, crispy egg, cucumber & apple salad, brocolini w/ spicy sauce, the Langoustine Tagliatelle with kale & prawns, and the beef tartare. While the Jamon Iberico was good, but it was only marginally better than prosciutto so it was hard to find value in the $26 platter which came with only about 8 super thinly sliced pieces of ham and about 6 slices of a tomato loaf, which tasted just like a plain baguette you could get from Safeway for $2. The chicken liver parfait was actually quite tasty and the crispy egg was cooked perfectly with a tasty cream sauce. Along with the cucumber & apple salad these 3 dishes were the highlight of our meal. The brocolini was a tad over cooked for my taste and the sauce didn't really go well with it in my opinion. The tagliatelle had great flavours, but I was disappointed in the pasta itself. It was weirdly mushy on the outside while the inside tasted a bit doughy and under cooked. I expected to be wowed by the pasta considering the chef came from Teatro. The beef tartare was on par with what you expect a beef tartare to taste like, nothing to complain or rave about there. We finished off the meal with dessert that was made special that night because the usual french toast w/ ganache dessert was sold out. It was replaced by two types of bread pudding served with ganache and salted caramel. The ganache was very decadent and I would have been happy eating just the ganache. The bread pudding lacked flavour and sourness from the yogurt sauce that it was sitting on did not go well together. After all that our bill came to about $120 for two people w/o beverages. We were pretty stuffed but unimpressed.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 19, 2016

Food was really good and the service was excellent. I would go back again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 19, 2016

Came for brunch with another couple because we wanted them to experience the Black Pig, and once again it did not disappoint, our server Edward was extremely knowledgable and very attentive. We will certainly be introducing more of our friends to the Black Pig😉

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2016

We had a fantastic later Sunday dinner. Although not a prime time the restaurant had a number of customers at other tables. Food was fantastic and we had a hard time just selecting the dishes that we did because there were so many more we wanted to taste as well. Fabulous waiter, and ambience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2016

The dining experience was extremely enjoyable, the food delicious and the service prompt and friendly. What more can you ask for.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on February 14, 2016

I wish we could say that this was a great dining experience as I had been looking forward to this Valentines lunch. But on a day such as this, I would have expected better staffing. The power outage in the building was not their fault, but the fact that there was so little support for the service staff is something they could have prepared better for. I hope others have a better experience than we did as the potential is there.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 13, 2016

The service we received on Saturday when we visited was fantastic. Attentive but not hovering. We had a wonderful waiter, who I unfortunately, didn't get the name of. We didn't realize they had peanuts in the place (we have an allergy in our group of diners) and they were very quick to respond, made sure that there was no cross contamination, and that we were safe to eat there. The food was amazing, from the starters of the heirloom beet soup, to the main courses which were all mouthwateringly delicious, to the fantastic brioche French toast dessert. The only issue was deciding what to order because it all sounded so good.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 11, 2016

I heard about through a friend. They highly recommended it and he was right. Great food, great service. I would defiantly come back again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 7, 2016

Great service, fabulous food, nice local, visually attractive food... We shall be back!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 7, 2016

We have been doing brunch lately with our grown children. I hate line-ups and all the popular places have them. I was looking for dinner places online and stumbled on brunch at the Pig and you can book on Open Table, so we did. Talk about no line-up, the place was dead. The upside was attentive service and good speed out of the kitchen. The food was excellent. My wife said her eggs benny were some of the best in the city. I had the pulled pork stuffed omelet with Spanish potatoes - great flavors. Prices are not bad for Calgary brunch considering the great décor and food quality - $13 to $15 for brunch items.
This is definitely on our do over brunch list.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on February 4, 2016

The service was pretty slow, and menu items just didn't quite match up with the presentation. All of the food was pretty mediocre and disappointing. My cocktail was one of the worst I've had in the city.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
7