HelpiOS AppAndroid AppWindows Phone AppWindows 8 App

Not available on OpenTable

Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network.
If you like, we’ll notify you by email if this restaurant joins.
Is this your restaurant? Claim this listing

Permanently Closed - Black Pig Bistro

4.1
275 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
CAN$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Spanish
Top Tags:
  • Fit for Foodies (460)
  • Neighborhood Gem (387)
  • Special Occasion (232)

Similar Restaurants

About

This restaurant is permanently closed.

Black Pig Bistro is a casual restaurant that specializes in Spanish cuisine. The restaurant's name is derived from the Black Iberian Pig, which is commonly found in Portugal and Southern Spain. Many of the restaurant's dishes are made using Spanish-style grass-fed ham and pork. The interior of Black Pig Bistro is made to feel like home with exposed brick, white wooden furniture, rustic chandeliers and a lot of natural lighting.

Begin the meal with an appetizer like home-marinated olives and pepitas, pork belly with homemade mustard pickles or the Panzanella salad. For the main course, try dishes like peas and carpaccio, Cornish game hen and skirt steak served with cauliflower and kale slaw. End the meal at Black Pig Bistro with a sweet dessert like chocolate and brittle.

Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Spanish, French, Italian
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Dinner
Tuesday - Sunday 5:00pm - Close

Lunch
Friday - Sunday Lunch 11:00am-3:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(403) 460-0350
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
What 275 People Are SayingWrite a review
Overall ratings and reviews
4.1
  based on all time ratings
4.2
food
4.2
service
4.2
ambience
3.8
value
Noise · Moderate
86% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
Moncton (Calgary)
4.0
Dined on August 19, 2016

Went for lunch. A limited menu, but very nicely done. Breakfast Bravas are a very unique spin, that is most closely related to poutine, but this is not poutine though equally tasty! The chorizo sandwich was also very tasty, and the desserts were fantastic. The beer selection is limited, but contains high quality choices, including a gluten free option for beer. The americano coffee afterwards hit the spot.

Friendly staff.

We went on a weekday in August, so it is hard to judge if it is normally busier at lunch time, but in our case it was extremely quiet.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Calgary)
5.0
Dined on August 14, 2016

Although we were a little disappointed that the tapas menu has been curtailed, we thoroughly enjoyed what we had. Our server made us feel welcome, comfortable and well looked after.

Report
Helpful
vipOpenTable Diner (Calgary)
2.0
Dined on August 7, 2016

Sunday brunch with a full resto and one server was an issue. The gun was ran off his feet and couldn't keep up. Food was decent but service and staffing needs to be addressed ASAP. We were there August 6.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Calgary)
4.0
Dined on August 5, 2016

Excellent in-house condiments and dressings.
Server very competent, pleasant and helpful.
Not clear that restaurant a tapas style establishment even after checking website.
Glad we tried something new.

Report
Helpful
vipOpenTable Diner (Calgary)
5.0
Dined on July 30, 2016

Met up with old friends and had a fantastic meal, attentive, friendly server. Delicious brunch dishes with gluten friendly options.
Brioche stuff French toast amazing as were the 3 Bennies order.

Report
Helpful
Kate (Calgary)
3.0
Dined on July 16, 2016

Open Table indicated only small availability but the restaurant was actually literally empty of customers the entire time our part of 4 was there. Just thought you should know. Service was great but the menu has changed and the quality of the food is not as high as it was before.

Report
Helpful
TimothyG (Calgary)
4.0
Dined on July 9, 2016

Always enjoy dining at Black Pig, and liked the new menu items since my last visit.

Report
Helpful
vipeatitup (Calgary)
4.0
Dined on June 30, 2016

New chef & new menu! High quality ingredients and clever preparations. Great date spot.

Report
Helpful
vipOpenTable Diner (Calgary)
5.0
Dined on June 4, 2016

Every time I've dined here I've been impressed. The food is wonderful and the service is excellent. The menu isn't vast because they make their food from scratch and put out quality food rather than mass quantities.

I highly recommend this for a nice brunch get together for friends.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Calgary)
1.0
Dined on June 3, 2016

Went on a Friday evening. It was quiet in the restaurant. They did not do the tasting menu even though it's on the website .They did not have certain things on the small menu. They were out of red sangria, and out of 3 different beers on tap stating we are changing the kegs, however we were there for 1.5 hours and they were still changing the kegs. Food was okay, except for one dish that was amazing. Would not recommend this restaurant to anyone.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
28

Hours, Transportation, and Details

Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Spanish, French, Italian
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Dinner
Tuesday - Sunday 5:00pm - Close

Lunch
Friday - Sunday Lunch 11:00am-3:00pm
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
7a St.
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
Price range
CAN$30 and under
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(403) 460-0350
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
We cater to offsite events ranging from a simple lunch to an elaborate dining experience. Contact us via phone @ 403-460-0350 or email @ eat@blackpigibistro.com for full details.
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
There is ample free parking surrounding Black Pig Bistro. There are free 2 and 3 hour zones during the day. All parking is free after 6pm.
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
C-Train: Bridgeland/Memorial
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Nick Dobberthien
Additional
Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
We specialize in group events from 10 - 100. Call 403-460-0350 to discuss your next great event.