Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.18mi
  4. Distance: 0.25mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.18mi
  4. Distance: 0.25mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.18mi
  4. Distance: 0.25mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.18mi
  4. Distance: 0.25mi

About Black Olive

The Black Olive is a Psarotaverna which is a Greek fish tavern set in the historic Baltimore neighborhood of Fells Point. We specialize in Mediterranean seafood such a whole fish; grilled and fileting at tableside. We also offer traditonal Greek dishes, housemade breads and desserts. Enjoy signature items such as our Village Pie, Grilled Octupus salad, Rack of Lamb ,grilled Filet Mignon or our fresh Dover Sole prepared to your liking. Pair your entree with international wines carefully selected by our sommelier ranging from California, New Zealand, and showcasing beautiful small vineyards from Greece.

814 S. Bond Street
Baltimore, MD 21231
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Greek, Mediterranean, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm -10:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 5:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Sunday: 4:00 pm - 7:30 pm

Cross Street:
Shakespeare

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 276-7141

Website:
http://www.theblackolive.com/

Parking Details:
$10 valet charge.

Executive Chef:
Pauline Spiliadis

Private Party Facilities:
The Black Olive has four private rooms on premises. Additionally, our exclusive wine cellar and outdoor seating area are available for private gatherings. Our restaurant is eager to accomodate special needs and menu requests. We look forward to helping you create a successful event.

Private Party Contact:
Connie Fulco: (410) 276-7141

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
The Black Olive restaurant opened its doors in 1997 after renovating a Fell’s Point row house that had been vacant for years. Over the years the restaurant grew and became a Baltimore institution. In the early days of the restaurant, on the back patio, where the view of the Inner Harbor and Harbor East reminded one of the histories of a city, a dream was hatched.
In the summer of 2010 that dream becomes a reality. The new Inn at the Black Olive, located on Caroline Street behind the original Black Olive restaurant will open its doors for business.
The Inn will have a market selling organic and sustainable fresh fruits and vegetables, wine, fresh seafood, foods prepared in the Black Olive kitchen, backed goods from a new bakery, suites for guests to spend the night with us, a rooftop café and wine bar that can be used for private events.

Black Olive Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.1

ambience

4.2

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (23)
Good for a Date (20)
Fit for Foodies (19)
See All
Romantic (17)
Special Occasion (17)
Authentic (15)
Quiet Conversation (14)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Local Ingredients (11)
Cozy (11)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Healthy (8)
Notable Wine List (7)
Good for Groups (7)
Organic (7)
Worth the Drive (6)
Business Meals (6)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Open Kitchen (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Tapas (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Historic (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Tasting Menu (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Casual (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Fun (2)
Seasonal (2)
Comfort Food (1)
People Watching (1)
Family Style (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Private Room (1)
Sort By:
S
2215 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (London)·Dined 2 days ago

Outstanding fresh seafood. The service was also terrific.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 5 days ago

Small dishes appetizers were disappointing. Grilled fish was tasty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Fabulous evening with perfectly prepared dishes and appropriate portions. The beets were amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Easter is an important holiday for my family. We normally do alot of cooking on holidays and celebrate and fellowship together. My Aunt is very ill and lost her husband the day before Thanksgiving. My father is very ill with Parkinson's, My husband a disabled vet. My father can't normally tolerate being out too late. I may be wrong and their opening time could have been 5p. The restaurant was empty and I quickly found the reason. My father's favorite is rockfish and the rest of us love red snapper. They were out of rockfish and had only 2 servings of red snapper available. If you, like me, read the rave reviews on their fresh fish, you had better call first. Our busboy was more attentive than our waitress. He brought us the butter we requested from our waitress after a few requests. I do not drink. On special occasions my family may elect to have a cocktail but they were either out of premium liquor or don't carry anything but rail. Even though my dad didn't get his rockfish, we elected to let my folks have the 2 remaining red snapper dishes, and the remaining 3 of us had salmon and swordfish. All of us agreed that the fish was absolutely delicious and wonderfully prepared. The sides we all had, potatoes and asparagus salad were wonderful and fresh. I could have taken a bucket of those potatoes home. I'm almost sure it was the owner I met when I entered. Whoever she was, she was kind, warm and motherly. But I was so dissappointed in the unavailability of the most popular fish dishes. Had I known that, I would have canceled. I ordered a driver to make it all special from a little savings I had. We rarely get to have those types of experiences. I put on a happy face, humbly thanked the Lord for what we did have, but was in tears after we were dropped off. Call ahead if you have your heart set on something particular or you're going to be very disappointed.

Tags: Organic, Disabled Access, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Very mediocre. When we were last there, several years ago, everything was perfect. We don't know what accounts for the change, but it was a very disappointing experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Our dinner was delicious in the waitstaff very attentive. We had the cheese rolled in grape leaves, the Greek salad with avocado, Bronzino And red snapper. Very very good. We had homemade ice cream (vanilla) for dessert. One of the best restaurants for fish in Baltimore.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 12, 2017

An amazingly delightful restaurant - a gem of a Fells Point treasure - food outstanding, fresh beautifully prepared seafood, wonderful lamb, Greek dishes exquisitely made but American cuisine also delicious. Service fast, courteous, attentive and unobtrusive. Ambience lovely. Outside dining available in a private courtyard not on the street. Possible to have a lovely private conversation with one other or a small group with larger groups also accommodated - could not more highly recommend!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 10, 2017

I had reservations for myself and a business associate at 1:00 ,pm on Monday. When we arrived and walked in the place was dark and we were approached by a lady who said we're closed. No explanation until I said I had reservations for 1:00. She then explained "our server didn't show up". I then asked if all the other employees were there and she said yes, although I didn't see anyone. Does Black Olive have only one server? I've never heard of anything so ridiculous. We drove about 30 minutes to get there just to be turned away. I was very disappointed with the Black Olive and don't know if I'd recommend them again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 7, 2017

I've been here multiple times over the last 7 years and I've always been extremely pleased with everything. This time was bad enough for me not to ever come back.

Let's start with the good: octopus, lentil soup, chilled asparagus
Needing work, while fresh and cooked perfectly the fish was not seasoned properly the sauce helped but I still added salt and pepper
The baklava ice cream ; one of my favorites had way too much baklava this time and no honey drizzle.

Finally the kicker: I'm a big wine with dinner person and typically when you purchase a glass of wine for $12 and up I get at least 5 oz I barely got $3 and when I inquired the server told me they used big glasses to which I replied this is not about the glass it's under poured. She told me she couldn't do anything because the manager was there and I said get the manager and I'll tell her. So I sat through dinner with no wine and the manager never came to the table. I refused to drink the wine and sent it away. This level of dining deserves more attention to something so abundantly simple. Cost was not the issue principle was I will not dine there again and I will share my experience with all my foodie friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 1, 2017

The fish was out of this world , very fresh and perfectly grilled.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 1, 2017

We have dined at the Black Olive on each of our trips to Baltimore or DC over the past 13 years, and will never come to the area without fitting in an opportunity to visit this amazing restaurant. The preparation of each of the dishes, from the appetizers through the dessert is memorable and constantly changing. The fish is so very fresh, and prepared in the most elegant and simple way, and is, without exception, our favorite of any on the planet. We constantly recommend this restaurant to anyone coming to the BWI/DC area. Enjoy!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 1, 2017

We saw a review in the Baltimore Sun and were coming downtown so we decided to come to the Black Olive. They had a wonderful selection of fresh fish on display to be grilled whole and then de-boned at the table. We tried two and were very pleased. We also had the scallop starter and they were they among the best (again grilled) that I have eaten. When our foodie daughter from San Francisco gets into town again, We'll bring her here! A wonderful dinning experience!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Excellent food and service. Our waiter did an excellent job on the "fish tour". I selected the grilled Black Sea Bass and it was outstanding. My friend loved the octopus salad and my husband enjoyed the Black Olive Special Grill as his meal. It was such a nice dining experience. We will be back.

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 27, 2017

We were very pleased and surprised with our outstanding lunch at the Black Olive. We had never heard of it and I did a search for a Mediterranean Restaurant in Baltimore, MD through Open Table. Thank you.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Historic, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Attentive service without being imposing. Fish and crab cakes were perfectl. The flourless Belgian chocolate cake was stupendous. We spent about 4 1/2 hours to closing and were never rushed. Great place!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Excellent food and service as usual. Very reliable. Very authentic.

Tags: Authentic, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 28, 2017

We brought business clients from California. They were so impressed! The owners were present and gave them the 5-star treatment. The food is SOOOO great and fresh. This is truly a Greek restaurant! OPA!

Tags: Business Meals, Private Room, Historic, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Authentic, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 21, 2017

I took my wife to her favorite restaurant for her birthday. The Black Olive serves consistently fresh quality seafood that is prepared in the Greek manner that we enjoyed during our stay in Crete. It was perfectly cooked and the presentation was outstanding. Our waitstaff was attentive, knowledgeable and pleasant.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Outstanding Greek Cuisine in a homely setting with great and friendly service!!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Organic, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Went for valentines day date night - have been before, was a lovely set course menu with many choices - the stuffed calamari, greek salad, while maine lobster, shrimp and lamb and then baklava and fresh fruit woth grand marnier cream - all delicious

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Organic, Great for Lunch, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 11, 2017

I have visited this location on other occasions. Our experience has always been favorable. However, this time was troublesome. The place was empty on a holiday weekend night. They were out of several items. The service was very slow. The sign is missing out front. It appears they are closing their doors. I would not recommend this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 11, 2017

This place was just OK...I won't go back. Food so, so...service slow..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We've been here multiple times and enjoyed our time each time, but the service this time was noticeably slower and the food wasn't quite to the level we've come to expect. Not sure what was wrong, we will definitely try it again because this was an exception , but it was definitely disappointing for us folks who save up for a special trip to a great restaurant.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Food was very nice. Service was slow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 30, 2017

If you are looking for absolutely fantastic seafood dining, then the Black Olive is for you. The service is always top notch and the food is incredible. We have eaten here on numerous special occasions and we have never been disappointed. We look forward to returning again soon for another wonderful dining experience.

Tags: Business Meals, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 29, 2017

I had forgotten how good this restaurant was. I will be back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Healthy, Paleo Friendly, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Birthday dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 29, 2017

We went for restaurant week and had a great time. The food was amazing and the wine was even better!

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 28, 2017

We went during Baltimore Restaurant week. I liked the Branzini. 2 members of our party had the Lamb Shank and felt it was a little fatty. Otherwise another great meal at Black Olive.

Thanks
John

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Great food and knowledgable/helpful staff. Quiet and enjoyable location.

Tags: Good for Groups, Molecular Gastronomy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Great service, restaurant week menu was really good.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 21, 2017

My second visit to the Black Olive and it was even better than the first. A quiet table in the corner for a romantic birthday celebration. Scallops! Broiled to perfection. Our server invited me to try the wine first, it was delicious, but I never know. Best app: Greek Sampler, each spread better than the last :) Crab Cakes nicely done and gluten free! Service was great. Ambiance lovely. Thank you Black Olive, I look forward to my next visit to Baltimore.

Tags: Seasonal, Paleo Friendly, Special Occasion, Romantic, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 21, 2017

It was restaurant week and they offered wonderful choices. I had the bronzini with their homemade fish sauce. It was the best fish I have ever had...superb. I'm afraid it will spoil me for any other. The Greek spread sampler was delicious, too. We will definitively be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Organic, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 21, 2017

One of the best restaurant week menus out there! Great way to experience this higher end restaurant without breaking the bank!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Very very good food. We went on restaurant week so they had no full menu (only the restaurant week fixed menu + 4 appetizers). The bronzini was outstanding. The fish soup and mushroom soup were good, maybe too salty but the flavor was excellent. Deserts were nice, especially the carrot cake. I put a note in the reservation noting it was my partners birthday and they honored the implicit request without needing to remind them, which was great. Wine selection is interesting (mostly French) I had to select wine twice because they were out of the first two bottles I selected. They were also out of the third, so they replaced it with a similar one, which I estimated to be twice as expensive as the original one, but they still charged us with the initial price, which was great on their part.
Highly recommended place. They also seem to have some very interesting practices regarding fishing and sustainability, so that's a great plus. Looking forward to dining there again during non-restaurant week to be able to look at the full menu.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 18, 2017

I've heard the the food is outstanding at the Black Olive. This was my 1st visit and I was not tempted to make any yum sounds at all. Was very disappointing. The food was strictly fair.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 16, 2017

The service is great because even the owner took his time to talk to us and made sure that we had our orders right. The food was really great tasting but quite pricey for the location and ambience. The annex dining area where we sat was cold but they have a portable heater that didn't really help so much to warm up the room. It is really quiet because the no music being played at all. But overall , it was a nice a nice birthday for my husband.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Melizansalata is second to none. But dessert had been sitting around too long.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Spoke to the restaurant before arriving and was never told that it was s limited menu that night. Waitress never checked on ys after initial order, we all would gave irdered mire drinks. Food took a long time to come out and was overcooked. We were told the only availability fir our party was 5:30 but there were several empty tables around us

Tags: Good for a Date
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Soggy salad had wilted lettuce and too much oil dressing, shell fish platter was overlooked making it dry, limited wine menu, and the waitress had other tables in a different part of the restaurant so service was spotty. I was excited before we went but left disappointed.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.