About Black Olive

814 S. Bond Street
Baltimore, MD 21231
View Larger Map

The Black Olive is a Psarotaverna which is a Greek fish tavern set in the historic Baltimore neighborhood of Fells Point. We specialize in Mediterranean seafood such a whole fish; grilled and fileting at tableside. We also offer traditonal Greek dishes, housemade breads and desserts. Enjoy signature items such as our Village Pie, Grilled Octupus salad, Rack of Lamb ,grilled Filet Mignon or our fresh Dover Sole prepared to your liking. Pair your entree with international wines carefully selected by our sommelier ranging from California, New Zealand, and showcasing beautiful small vineyards from Greece.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Greek, Mediterranean, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm -10:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 5:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Sunday: 4:00 pm - 7:30 pm

Cross Street:
Shakespeare

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 276-7141

Website:
http://www.theblackolive.com/

Parking Details:
$10 valet charge.

Executive Chef:
Pauline Spiliadis

Private Party Facilities:
The Black Olive has four private rooms on premises. Additionally, our exclusive wine cellar and outdoor seating area are available for private gatherings. Our restaurant is eager to accomodate special needs and menu requests. We look forward to helping you create a successful event.

Private Party Contact:
Connie Fulco: 4102767141

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
The Black Olive restaurant opened its doors in 1997 after renovating a Fell’s Point row house that had been vacant for years. Over the years the restaurant grew and became a Baltimore institution. In the early days of the restaurant, on the back patio, where the view of the Inner Harbor and Harbor East reminded one of the histories of a city, a dream was hatched.
In the summer of 2010 that dream becomes a reality. The new Inn at the Black Olive, located on Caroline Street behind the original Black Olive restaurant will open its doors for business.
The Inn will have a market selling organic and sustainable fresh fruits and vegetables, wine, fresh seafood, foods prepared in the Black Olive kitchen, backed goods from a new bakery, suites for guests to spend the night with us, a rooftop café and wine bar that can be used for private events.

Restaurant Photos

Baklava ice cream
Greek Pie
Grilled Octopus Salad
Black Olive Special Grill
Fish
Sauteed Sardines
Olive bread pudding
Loukomades
Rockfish
Baklava
Seafood Kabobs
Fish Soup
Lamb Kleftiko

Black Olive Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

3.9

ambience

4.1

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

fit for foodies (42)
special occasion (36)
neighborhood gem (33)
See All
romantic (28)
good for groups (10)
great for outdoor dining (8)
notable wine list (6)
great for lunch (4)
scenic view (1)
great for brunch (1)
hot spot (1)
late-night find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
2023 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Black Olive used to be my favorite resta ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined 7 days ago

Black Olive used to be my favorite restaurant in Baltimore. This last visit, however, was most disappointing. The fish selection was limited - and the service was very, very slow. Almost inattentive. My friend's salmon was not seasoned properly. Nor was my lamb. My glass of wine was from a bottle that had been opened at least two days earlier, as it was "musty". I never thought I would submit a bad review about the Black Olive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

The fresh seafood is the reason to go to ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

The fresh seafood is the reason to go to Black Olive. We were torn between the small plates option versus the grilled catch of the day and ended up doing a bit of both . Among the small plates, the grilled octopus salad was the one that really stood out, although the saganaki came in as a close second. The whole grilled branzino, fileted at the table, was also excellent.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

The Black Olive must have changed owners ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

The Black Olive must have changed ownership in the recent past because our friends had been there before and like it, but have changed their minds about it. We were there for the first time. We all thought there was an overkill on organic and local fresh feature of this restaurant. The waiter said there didn't carry normal brands of alcohol (Dewar's scotch, etc.) because they featured organic brands. Well, all alcohol originates from organic sources.

My dish was supposed to be "colossal grilled shrimp" but the actual size of the shrimp was underwhelming and a far cry from "colossal." I could have gotten six larger shrimp in any grocery store. And there was no sauce for them and by the time the dinner was served, my shrimp were lukewarm off the grill on the kabob skewer. My wife's dish of Rock fish was average to below average and she has had Rock fish in a lot of places, not just Baltimore, where the Bay Rock fish are generally good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

I cannot recommend Black Olive enough. I ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

I cannot recommend Black Olive enough. It provide's Baltimore with a unique dining experience that can only be matched in Greece itself! If you are looking for delicious, fresh dishes and an evening full of wonderful memories, save a table at Black Olive.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food but on a hot summer night the ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Great food but on a hot summer night there was only a fan, and no AC. Fortunately we were the only ones there in the beginning so we had the fan for awhile, but still that was a little surprising of an experience for such a renowned restaurant!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

Phenomenal dining experience. Vince was ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Phenomenal dining experience. Vince was a great server and very knowledgeable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Was very excited to go to the Black Oliv ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Was very excited to go to the Black Olive because I had heard so many great things about the food. Server was a little ditzy, but attentive. Was told about the fresh fish and two of our party of three decided to go with the Dover Sole. Fish was good, and served with vegetables on the side. We were stunned when we got our bill. $48 for the entree. Dover sole and vegetables !! Are you kidding me? We'll never go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value1

We wanted a quiet, intimate dinner and c ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

We wanted a quiet, intimate dinner and choose this restaurant for an anniversary dinner based on its menu. Our drinks before the meal were pretty standard, nothing special. The appetizers were very good (grilled sardines and stuffed calamari). The grilled branzini was very tasty; the turbot was lacking. Service was adequate - took quite a while before our initial drink order was taken and then more waiting before they were brought. We had a nice, enjoyable dinner though I'm not sure I'd make the effort to return. The valet, on the other hand, was simply wonderful - very friendly and energetic!! His greeting and send off were outstanding "bookends" to an otherwise good evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

I wish I could say that I discovered a n ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

I wish I could say that I discovered a neighborhood gem in Black Olive. Unfortunately that was not the case. The food was fine, but not great, and certainly not worth the price. My first clue was that the restaurant -- which bills itself as authentic Greek -- didn't serve pita.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

A repeat visit for lunch. We found the ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

A repeat visit for lunch. We found the three course luncheon special to be a delicious value.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We try to dine at the Black Olive whenev ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

We try to dine at the Black Olive whenever we are in Baltimore. We are usually in town for long hot days of our son's lacrosse tournaments and find the Black Olive to be such an amazing and refreshing treat at the end of the day. We have dined on their back deck (tranquil and lovely) as well inside the restaurant (charming and elegant yet comfortable). The service is excellent and best of all, their food is amazing. Fish of course is their specialty, and they have a wide variety of fresh fish on display on ice if you want to learn about your options and choose your entree. We love their appetizers so much too--generous servings made for sharing--like the delicious mezze platter with freshly made and savory spreads for warm flatbread and a seafood platter filled with grilled calamari, shrimp, scallops and more. The waitstaff has always recommended the perfect wine after we tell him/her what we like. I am sure their desserts are wonderful--but we have always filled ourselves to capacity on the aforementioned favorites and can't eat another bite when we get to dessert! We have dined there in a group of 6 and as a couple--and it is special either way.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Black Olive continues to be one of o ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

The Black Olive continues to be one of our favorites. The fresh fish selection is great and they do an excellent job preparing the dishes. The menu has many options to choose from. Outside of the main courses, they have a great Greek Salad and an awesome Carrot Cake.

You won't regret choosing this restaurant.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

This was our second visit to the Black O ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

This was our second visit to the Black Olive and it was as delicious as our first visit. The extremely fresh seafood was expertly prepared and presented. Unfortunately, we had no room for dessert which sounded fantastic.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Outstanding. "Shop" for your fish. The s ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Outstanding. "Shop" for your fish. The simply prepared whole fish is filleted table side. Could not be fresher. The grilled fresh sardines in grape leaves makes a great appetizer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food, great service! Most enj ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Excellent food, great service! Most enjoyable evening.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was really well-prepared. The tapa ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Food was really well-prepared. The tapas offerings were unique and well made. The service was outstanding. The waiter turned the meal from a good one to a great one.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food and service! The restaur ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Excellent food and service! The restaurant was having an AC problem and called earlier in the day to see if we wanted to keep our reservation. I thought that was awesome and I am glad we went anyway. Though it was a little warm, they brought in fans and blew me away with the service and food. Fresh seafood and Greek dishes. I can't wait to go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We had our anniversary dinner there. Th ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

We had our anniversary dinner there. The fish prepared tableside was delicious, but I thought that $48 for Dover sole, no matter how fresh and flavorful, is a crazy price! It was served with a very cheap and light side(apples with fennel). I couldn't believe that something else didn't come with it for such an extravagant price. The olive bread was outstanding, so I filled up on that. It was uncomfortably warm in the restaurant...no air on a very humid night. Had a fan blowing on us. The service was attentive and not overbearing. It was quiet enough to have a conversation without screaming, which I liked very much. Again, great fish, but overpriced!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Excellent Return Visit

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

It had been a number of years since my wife and I had been to the Black Olive (we live in Virginia). We were not disappointed upon our return. Both the Mediterranean Sea Bass and Crab Cakes were delicious! Our server, Earl, was a tremendous partner in our experience, guiding us with both menu and wine recommendations. His knowledge and spirit definitely enhanced our luncheon on the back deck.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mother's day dinner

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

It had been 7years since our last visit, and this visit did disappoint. Great appetizer, salad, and of coarse, the fish perfectly prepared.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A good surprise

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

This unassuming store front restaurant was very nice indeed. We came down from NYC to attend a wedding and enjoyed our meal here the night before. Lamb chop and shrimp was top notch. Stuffed calamari appetizer was delicious. All in all it was a very pleasant evening

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

we liked our food but mom did not like crab cakes

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

we heard about the black olive but had not had an occasion or chance to visit.

our dad and mom came from Florida and said they would like to take us to lunch.

we remembered we had wanted to go to the black olive.

lunch was good, just a little slow. we had to go back to put $ in the meter.

and our mom did not like the crab cakes.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Just not a great experience. Service la ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Just not a great experience. Service lacking. Good mediocre. Atmosphere seemed a bit dingy. Not the experience one would expect for the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1

This restaurant was in the upper echelon ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

This restaurant was in the upper echelon of great. While it's a 4 $ign place the food was over the top delicious. From warm house made bread to the appetizers to the mezzo plates and main courses, everything was perfectly prepared. Our group focused on the seafood and we were not disappointed. Of special note were the "rope grown" muscles. HUGE!! and tasty.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Black Olive continues to deliver truly e ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Black Olive continues to deliver truly excellent food.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Romantic dinner for our wedding annivers ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Romantic dinner for our wedding anniversary. Everything was just wonderful! We cannot wait to return.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food! However,the service was ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

Excellent food! However,the service was not up to the same quality. Asked in advance for a nice table for a special occasion, and we were dressed for it. But we were offered a tiny 2-top next to the bar! When many nicer tables were available? The waitress was pleasant but seemed unaware of how to be a waitress. We had to ask to have our water glasses refilled multiple times while staff seemed to wander aimlessly. Etc etc. Strange, because I've had lovely experiences there in the past.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

Lamb in paper VERY tough

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 16, 2016

Lamb in paper VERY tough

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

My wife and I went to this unassuming re ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

My wife and I went to this unassuming restaurant on our first dinner date after our daughter was born. It is located in the quaint Fells Point neighborhood in Baltimore. They had valet parking (a must in this neighborhood), which was a nice start to the dining experience.

The restaurant is in an old row house, and it has a very rustic/old school look...brick walls, antique posters showcasing herbs and fish species, etc.

I thought that it was interesting that they only had organic liquors, but the bourbon tasted just fine to me! This was really my only "drawback" of the pace.

Fish/seafood is the restaurant's specialty, and it's apparent from the start. The server took us to "tour" the fish (8 different specimens) and described the flavors and even the native information regarding each fish.

For the appetizer, we shared grilled calamari stuffed with various Greek cheeses. It was a delightful dish!

For the entrees, we shared the Branzini...which they filleted right at the table. It was served with a simple olive oil sauce, and it was so tender and flavorful. We also shared a lamb dish...it was cooked in parchment paper along with olive oil and other sauces. The lamb was also very tender and flavorful.

We finished the meal by sharing a piece of baklava.

Overall, I appreciated the knowledge of the server regarding the fish, and the food was some of the best in Baltimore.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Excellent Food

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

We made reservations for our anniversary and arrived at 5:45pm on a Saturday. While the restaurant was busy, it was not over crowded and the room the put us in had a large table of people, plus another table of two. By the time we left, all of the tables in the restaurant were full, but there was no line of people waiting at the door. I'd definitely make reservations again on a Friday/Saturday evening. The food was fantastic - I had Sea Scallops on the Charcoal and my husband had the Lamb & Shrimp on the Charcoal. The food was exceptionally fresh, done perfectly and it came out in a reasonable amount of time. This is quite possibly the best upscale Greek/Mediterranean we've ever had. The flavors of the food really popped, and it was seasoned perfectly. The service, while not overly friendly, was adequate and prompt. I never felt that our server was rude, but I didn't feel like she was at the top of her game either (I had to ask what the fresh fish of the day was, noted that another server told a nearby table about a soup of the day and some special drinks). Apps, wine & dessert were all fantastic as well - we will be back and will definitely recommend The Black Olive to friends.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Neilm

 
 (London)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

Great place to get very fresh seafood, prepared perfectly and cooked/presented nicely. After our visit about 5 other parties from our group ate there and all agreed it was very good - wine list interesting too!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighbourhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

First Bad Experience

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

First, let me say the food was amazing, as always! The service is usually outstanding in every way. We have been going there for 7 years and have never had a bad experience, until our most recent visit. Our server was MIA for most of our night. The chef delivered the appetizer. Our bus boy was really good with water and bread. Our server was there for the first drinks and disappeared. She came back for the dinner and then disappeared. Eventually, she came back to give us a desert menu and then disappeared for 20 minutes. I do come here for leisurely dining but that was excessive. This did not make me want to never come back but I hope to return to the service I know next time or that might have to be it.....

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

The Food is Excellent

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

This was our first visit and we plan to go back again. New favorite for Fells Point / Harbor East. It's pricey, but the food is ridiculously good. Service was great and the server was very knowledgeable about the food and types of fish available that day. I highly recommend the Black Olive if you are a fan of Mediterranean cuisine.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was good. I'm Greek and I'm not sur ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

Food was good. I'm Greek and I'm not sure how "Greek" I would classify this place. It's worth a shot, but I wouldn't run back, there are so many more places to try out in Baltimore.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Second trip

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 20, 2016

This was my second visit over the course of 2 years while on business trips. Both times I had less then stellar wait staff in comparison to what I viewed other tables receiving.

This trip, the waitperson struggled at best to describe the fish available for the evening at their display case.

The restaurant expects their waitstaff to be the "bartender" also for their tables. Our waitperson didn't know how to make a basic Manhattan. :-(

The waitperson also struggled with the "table side filleting" of the whole fish in comparison to the other staff person who assisted with my table guests fish.

The preparation was outstanding, but my table guest and I ordered the same fish with 2 different preparations, but they both came out grilled as opposed to one being grilled and the other being sauteed.

While I believe the food is STELLAR, I can't get past both experiences being lacking in the service department, especially for a meal that was $100 per person (including tip).

There was never anything in the service that was so horrible to be reported to Management at any one time, but when you add up the entire experience vs. the cost its just not something I would repeat or recommend to friends.

I wouldn't return or recommend this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

It has been better

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on April 20, 2016

I enjoyed dinner, however, I have had better times there. The service started a bit laggard (regarding wait without even getting a server to acknowledge our presence) then abrasive (once the server arrived). However, it got better. The server noticed I was displeased and I refrained from saying anything therefore, she evenly came to the other side of 'simply nice'.

I honestly don't believe anyone wanted to serve us for whatever their reasons. Because I noticed there was a table with 4 gentlemen who were sat about 17 mins after us and the same server greeted them before arriving to our table.

I would have been okeh, if someone had stopped to introduced themselves and even just ask me to be patient. I am straddling the fence of not returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

The fixed price three course lunch was g ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on April 18, 2016

The fixed price three course lunch was great with lots of choices; however, the service was way too slow for a business meeting. We were there well over an hour and had to get our included dessert to go because we had to get back to work.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

consistent?

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on April 15, 2016

Enjoyable and tasty, for certain. Couldn't help feeling that the bones of the restaurant need a little freshening and updating.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Friday night at The Black Olive

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on April 8, 2016

Food selection not as extensive as prior visits.

Grill not working properly limited types of preparations and specific foods.

Service was fantastic and when the food came out, it was great!

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Great Food!

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on April 8, 2016

Great Food! Terrific Service! Would love to return! Wish there was something like this in my hometown

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.