Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.18mi
  4. Distance: 0.25mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.18mi
  4. Distance: 0.25mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.18mi
  4. Distance: 0.25mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.18mi
  4. Distance: 0.25mi

About Black Olive

The Black Olive is a Psarotaverna which is a Greek fish tavern set in the historic Baltimore neighborhood of Fells Point. We specialize in Mediterranean seafood such a whole fish; grilled and fileting at tableside. We also offer traditonal Greek dishes, housemade breads and desserts. Enjoy signature items such as our Village Pie, Grilled Octupus salad, Rack of Lamb ,grilled Filet Mignon or our fresh Dover Sole prepared to your liking. Pair your entree with international wines carefully selected by our sommelier ranging from California, New Zealand, and showcasing beautiful small vineyards from Greece.

814 S. Bond Street
Baltimore, MD 21231
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Greek, Mediterranean, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm -10:00pm

Friday - Saturday: 5:00 pm - 10:30 pm

Sunday: 4:00 pm - 7:30 pm

Cross Street:
Shakespeare

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 276-7141

Website:
http://www.theblackolive.com/

Parking Details:
$10 valet charge.

Executive Chef:
Pauline Spiliadis

Private Party Facilities:
The Black Olive has four private rooms on premises. Additionally, our exclusive wine cellar and outdoor seating area are available for private gatherings. Our restaurant is eager to accomodate special needs and menu requests. We look forward to helping you create a successful event.

Private Party Contact:
Connie Fulco: (410) 276-7141

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
The Black Olive restaurant opened its doors in 1997 after renovating a Fell’s Point row house that had been vacant for years. Over the years the restaurant grew and became a Baltimore institution. In the early days of the restaurant, on the back patio, where the view of the Inner Harbor and Harbor East reminded one of the histories of a city, a dream was hatched.

Black Olive Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.0

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Authentic (18)
Special Occasion (17)
Fit for Foodies (17)
See All
Good for a Date (17)
Neighborhood Gem (17)
Good for Anniversaries (13)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Romantic (13)
Cozy (12)
Notable Wine List (12)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Worth the Drive (7)
Organic (6)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Local Ingredients (5)
Business Meals (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Tapas (3)
Tasting Menu (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Historic (2)
Fun (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Seasonal (2)
Casual (2)
Waterfront (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Open Kitchen (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Fireplace (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Family Style (1)
Sort By:
S
2250 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 3 days ago

This is a good restaurant for special occasions. Traditional Greek food in a comfortable, quiet setting. The featured food is fresh fish, simply prepared, but there are also other seafood offerings. The Greek salad is excellent and the desserts, as well. We had a delicious carrot cake. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone, but especially those who have visited Greece and enjoyed the food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value3

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

The location, atmosphere, service and food was all perfect for fine intimate dining.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 9, 2017

Great spot! We love it, just don't sit outside in the back, you will be devoured by bugs! The food is great! The staff is friendly and the carrot cake is out of this world!

Tags: Bar Seating, Quick Bite, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Disabled Access, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 3, 2017

GREAT FRESH CUISINE PAIRED WITH GREAT SERVICE!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 31, 2017

This restaurant pays attention to every detail and treats you as if you were royalty. Food is great! The crab cake was without any shells and did not contain a lot of filler that some restaurants use. We attended during Baltimore restaurant week and they did not scrimp on portions. We highly recommend going there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

Excellent food and friendly service. The waitress was attentive, but not obtrusive. I went for restaurant week but I am gluten free the staff graciously provided options for me. The only drawback was the lighting. The lights were bright and positioned above a ceiling fan was gave the effects of strobe lighting when looking down at the table. Overall an excellent experience. Excellent soup starter and a rockfish entree. I will definitely be back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 29, 2017

It had been a few years since we had been to Black Olive but we recalled our prior dining experiences there as delicious and memorable. On a whim, I made a rare Saturday night date with my husband and booked a table since we have been longing to return . I was happy to see that it was Restaurant Week because I knew from past RWs the owner really whipped up tasty and value packed prix fix specials for the week. We were not disappointed. We added a non-RW appetizer of grilled octopus to our orders. Can food be too tasty? The octopus was so tender and flavorful - I was overwhelmed - no hyperbole folks! We enjoyed the exceptional spread plate and Greek salad. The Entrees of Crab cake and Cornmeal crusted rockfish were both superb and the seafood kabob had extra scallops and shrimp. Our desserts were the berry cobbler and carrot cake. The servings were generous. My husband was so happy he wanted to return the following night! Peruse the extensive wine list or order a palate pleasing crafted cocktail. Dont miss out on the fish "tour." It was good to shop the entrees and fish before they get to your table! AND note to the rack of lamb- I'm coming back for you!

Tags: Authentic, Worth the Drive, Tapas, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 27, 2017

Great restaurant with very interesting wine list and terrific food. The seafood is wonderful. Mediterranean and Greek dishes are fresh and perfectly prepared. The wine list has many hard to find Greek wines and also has great French and Italian wine.

Tags: Cozy, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 27, 2017

One of the best few meals I ever experienced in a restaurant! Everyone was ecstatic about their entree, selecting your fish from an iced case was a nice experience, the rack of lamb on charcoal was amazing, the asparagus was beautiful and perfectly cooked, the bread was so good I could have eaten it as a meal by itself.
We were in Baltimore for a conference and dined at the restaurant with some friends. Most of us had been in the restaurant business for many years. For me, it's been 50 years--chef for Lady Bird Johnson, sous chef at Green Pastures (at the time on James Beard's list of 100 best restaurants in the world, written several books on the industry, Masters and Doctorate in the industry, etc.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 26, 2017

Black Olive is amazing! You're not going to beat their fish.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 22, 2017

For more than a decade, the Black Olive has been one of my favorite Baltimore fine-dining restaurants. The food remains excellent-- the best and freshest selection and seafood to be found. THe lamb dishes are also superb. But after the past couple of visits, the Black Olive is off the favorites list.

They have an extensive wine list. Unfortunately, none of the good or interesting wines on it are in stock. After our first three choices were out of stock we settled for the mass-produced mediocrity the server suggested. Ordinarily, I wouldn't have done so, but more than a half an hour had passed and the appetizers course nearly finished. It seemed the only way to get wine. It was a sugar bomb when we told her we wanted to something dry and Old World style.

The service is slow and indifferent. They have done away with valet parking, which in a busy urban neighborhood on a Saturday night is a big issue. When I complained--having had to walk in the rain in heels to the restaurant--the owner shrugged and said, there is a parking garage on the next block. For Black Olive prices I demand good service, good wine, and valet parking. But if you are already in the area, don't care for wine or attentive service, the food is great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 15, 2017

We have been dining here for years and it never disappoints. Absolutely the best scallops we have ever tasted for the appetizer, and the bronzini was done to perfection. We ate early (5:30pm) on a Saturday night and were one of only 3 couples dining. When we left slightly before 7 the restaurant was still fairly empty. With great fresh food and excellent service, I don't quite understand why they are not packed. We live in the suburbs, but it was a quick and easy drive to Fells Point, with plenty of parking.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Black Olive is a consistent purveyor of the best fresh seafood in Baltimore. Always reliable with great service and fish selections. Cooked to perfection. A great choice in the Fells Point neighborhood.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Nice local spot that is just outside the heart of Fells Point. Fairly casual place with a nice atmosphere. A conversation at the table isn't muffled by your typical restaurant background noise or other conversations. The food was very good with an emphasis on fresh fish and other seafood entrees. Authentic greek dishes available on many menu selections. Would definitely dine here again.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Great food. Waitress was lovely. Some of the patrons were total snobs and rude to the wait staff. Foods a bit pricey for what it is and still very well prepared.

Tags: Healthy, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on June 29, 2017

The outdoor seating area was beautiful. We sat in booths under a spreading grape arbor with bunches to ripening grapes suspended over our heads. Very perfect was a warm summer evening.

Tags: Romantic, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Owner asked how things were but really did not want to hear it!

Waitress was inattentive, unfriendly and aloof.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value1

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Our food was delicious. Simply grilled fish and salad for me. Grilled shrimp and lamb chops with roasted potatoes for my husband. Despite the fact it didn't seem very busy, our server was very inattentive, supposedly because she was busy. Another server basically did most of the work for us. I felt bad that the tip went to our server. The other young lady deserved it.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Romantic, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 17, 2017

one of the best fish restaurants in the Baltimore-DC corridor. food is outstanding. the stuffed calamari is amazing as is the grilled octopus salad. The fish selection is really good and they show you the fish before they cook it and filet it at the table if you want. I went once about 7 years ago and then again this weekend. outstanding both times and I asked myself why I hadn't been back in so long. I'm definitely going back again soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 13, 2017

6th time there; always take new friends. Ask to see the wine cellar!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 10, 2017

We will be back; our experience was fantastic. Our waitress, Jessica, was a jewel.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Savannah)·Dined on June 5, 2017

Fresh food, prepared perfectly. This restaurant never disappoints.

Tags: Organic, Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 4, 2017

I have been to The Black Olive several times in the past. The price tag makes it not as often as I'd like. We've always had some of the fresh fish but this time, I decided to have some lamb and shrimp on the grill. The server was not particularly attentive. We had to ask for additional oil (for dipping bread) three times. I asked for the lamb to be medium rare but it came out well done (brown all the way through). It really was tasty but I should have stuck with the fish. My wife had the bronzini, which is what she usually gets. It was fantastic as expected. We finished the meal off with the best baklava I've ever eaten. This was a nice experience but we've had better here. I expect a bit more for the price. The total was just under $150 for appetizer, two entrees, a couple of drinks and dessert.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 4, 2017

If you love Greek food or like your fish fresh and prepared simply to enhance its flavors, then this is a must visit. We sat outside and soaked in the sun after days of rain. The wait staff ensured our water glasses were always full. We started with two orders of the grilled octopus salad split three ways. It was heavenly. We then tried the dorado, bronzini and the turbot. We had the whole fish filleted before serving - but still watch for the stray bone. Almost too full for dessert we split an order of the baklava ice cream. Yum. Asked for an received fantastic advice on the wine choice.

Tags: Good for Groups, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 27, 2017

The waitress did not do her job of introducing herself to us, she did not pay much attention to how we were doing, and overall she could have done better at making the experience enjoyable for us.

Tags: Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 25, 2017

Everything was great, the only thing is when i called for my left over food that i forgot to take home , it was thrown away.
l

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 19, 2017

When in Baltimore we ALWAYS do the Black Olive. Everything they serve is wonderful. My favorite is their Greek version of Bouillabaisse, "Kakavia." I've had Giada’s Cioppino in Las Vegas, and Bobby Flay's Bouillabaisse in New York. Both are excellent. The Black Olive's version is the best!

Everything is FRESH, especially seafood. They make fabulous Lamb, succulent steaks and delightful side dishes. Salads are beautiful and large. They serve warm fresh bread and plump firm Kalamata olives with a spiced olive oil unlike anywhere else, short of a trip to Greece.

Wine selection is unique. They specialize in Greek regionals but have superb yet fairly priced choices of classics from the world over. The wait staff is trained in wine selection and pairings.

On our latest lunch visit, the owner’s handsome son served us with relaxed yet prompt panache. His mother (the owner and master chef) seemed genuinely involved in the food and the quality our experience.

Separate small rooms are cozy without feeling crowded.

Windows and ceiling sunlights make for afternoons that swim in luxurious wine-laced haze. Night-time lighting is romantic but I can still read the menu! Real art, wine maps and tasteful decor adorns this scrupulously clean establishment.

Go early for lunch and always make reservations for dinner. Baltimore natives know this place so it is usually full during prime times. Yes, you can get affordable fast lunches there, but it really is worth taking your time to savor this experience.

They have valet parking, …darn convenient on weekends near Fell's point. It’s an easy stroll from Admiral Fell's hotel.

I discovered this superb restaurant three years ago when a relative took us there. I went back the next day TWICE! It really is THAT good! I have been around fine dining decades before the food network created the "foodie" trend. This is the real deal.

You have not tasted Baltimore until you try the Black Olive.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Organic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 14, 2017

normally this place is awesome, but something went horribly wrong for mother's day. there was a special menu that was almost entirely seafood (one vegetarian but no meat or chicken). it took an hour for our appetizers to arrive. our main courses were an oddly large portion of fish (could've easily fed two people), served with a weird sliced apple and fennel salad. no rice or potatoes or anything that you could even order to go with. desert was odd too, no chocolate options. we will not be returning any time soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Delicious food and friendly, attentive staff. The grilled octopus and lamb shank were amazing!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Tapas, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Food was excellent; server and busboy not overly friendly
Disappointed that on a Saturday night there were a lot of empty seats. Hope this is not an omen for the restaurant

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 3, 2017

We were the only people eating lunch so I cannot judge the noise level accurately. The waiter was somewhat overbearing and neither of us were crazy about the food except for the bread which was outstanding. Beware of ordering wine. 4 oz pour of a watery Makbec was $12.50!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 28, 2017

The first time we were at Black Olive we were really impressed. This time it was just average at best. The service was average. The food this time just ok. Octopus was great. Pita bread was soaked in oil and burnt from flare ups- sent that back to the kitchen... eggplant mouse was bland and slightly sour. Dover sole was prepared fine and polenta was very good. Presentation of the entree was very basic. For $120 plus tip it was just not good enough. Sorry.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Another outstanding dining experience at the Black Olive. Their fish and seafood is second to none. You could make an entire meal out of the mezze appetizers, although it would be a shame to miss the fresh fish as a main course.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (London)·Dined on April 25, 2017

Outstanding fresh seafood. The service was also terrific.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Small dishes appetizers were disappointing. Grilled fish was tasty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Fabulous evening with perfectly prepared dishes and appropriate portions. The beets were amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Very mediocre. When we were last there, several years ago, everything was perfect. We don't know what accounts for the change, but it was a very disappointing experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Easter is an important holiday for my family. We normally do alot of cooking on holidays and celebrate and fellowship together. My Aunt is very ill and lost her husband the day before Thanksgiving. My father is very ill with Parkinson's, My husband a disabled vet. My father can't normally tolerate being out too late. I may be wrong and their opening time could have been 5p. The restaurant was empty and I quickly found the reason. My father's favorite is rockfish and the rest of us love red snapper. They were out of rockfish and had only 2 servings of red snapper available. If you, like me, read the rave reviews on their fresh fish, you had better call first. Our busboy was more attentive than our waitress. He brought us the butter we requested from our waitress after a few requests. I do not drink. On special occasions my family may elect to have a cocktail but they were either out of premium liquor or don't carry anything but rail. Even though my dad didn't get his rockfish, we elected to let my folks have the 2 remaining red snapper dishes, and the remaining 3 of us had salmon and swordfish. All of us agreed that the fish was absolutely delicious and wonderfully prepared. The sides we all had, potatoes and asparagus salad were wonderful and fresh. I could have taken a bucket of those potatoes home. I'm almost sure it was the owner I met when I entered. Whoever she was, she was kind, warm and motherly. But I was so dissappointed in the unavailability of the most popular fish dishes. Had I known that, I would have canceled. I ordered a driver to make it all special from a little savings I had. We rarely get to have those types of experiences. I put on a happy face, humbly thanked the Lord for what we did have, but was in tears after we were dropped off. Call ahead if you have your heart set on something particular or you're going to be very disappointed.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Disabled Access, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Our dinner was delicious in the waitstaff very attentive. We had the cheese rolled in grape leaves, the Greek salad with avocado, Bronzino And red snapper. Very very good. We had homemade ice cream (vanilla) for dessert. One of the best restaurants for fish in Baltimore.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 12, 2017

An amazingly delightful restaurant - a gem of a Fells Point treasure - food outstanding, fresh beautifully prepared seafood, wonderful lamb, Greek dishes exquisitely made but American cuisine also delicious. Service fast, courteous, attentive and unobtrusive. Ambience lovely. Outside dining available in a private courtyard not on the street. Possible to have a lovely private conversation with one other or a small group with larger groups also accommodated - could not more highly recommend!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.