Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.18mi
  4. Distance: 0.25mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.18mi
  4. Distance: 0.25mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.18mi
  4. Distance: 0.25mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.18mi
  4. Distance: 0.25mi

About Black Olive

The Black Olive is a Psarotaverna which is a Greek fish tavern set in the historic Baltimore neighborhood of Fells Point. We specialize in Mediterranean seafood such a whole fish; grilled and fileting at tableside. We also offer traditonal Greek dishes, housemade breads and desserts. Enjoy signature items such as our Village Pie, Grilled Octupus salad, Rack of Lamb ,grilled Filet Mignon or our fresh Dover Sole prepared to your liking. Pair your entree with international wines carefully selected by our sommelier ranging from California, New Zealand, and showcasing beautiful small vineyards from Greece.

814 S. Bond Street
Baltimore, MD 21231
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Greek, Mediterranean, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm -10:00pm

Friday - Saturday: 5:00 pm - 10:30 pm

Sunday: 4:00 pm - 7:30 pm

Cross Street:
Shakespeare

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 276-7141

Website:
http://www.theblackolive.com/

Parking Details:
$10 valet charge.

Executive Chef:
Pauline Spiliadis

Private Party Facilities:
The Black Olive has four private rooms on premises. Additionally, our exclusive wine cellar and outdoor seating area are available for private gatherings. Our restaurant is eager to accomodate special needs and menu requests. We look forward to helping you create a successful event.

Private Party Contact:
Connie Fulco: (410) 276-7141

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
The Black Olive restaurant opened its doors in 1997 after renovating a Fell’s Point row house that had been vacant for years. Over the years the restaurant grew and became a Baltimore institution. In the early days of the restaurant, on the back patio, where the view of the Inner Harbor and Harbor East reminded one of the histories of a city, a dream was hatched.

Black Olive Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.1

ambience

4.2

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

Authentic (17)
NeighborhoodGem (15)
SpecialOccasions (15)
See All
Foodies (13)
GoodForDates (11)
Romance (10)
CreativeCuisine (10)
QuietConversation (10)
LocalIngredients (8)
Anniversaries (7)
NotableWineList (7)
Birthdays (7)
Cozy (7)
Organic (6)
Healthy (6)
WorthTheDrive (5)
BusinessMeals (5)
Historic (4)
Groups (4)
Tapas (3)
Fun (2)
OutdoorDining (2)
GlutenFree (2)
OpenKitchen (2)
VegetarianOptions (2)
Fireplace (1)
PrePostTheatre (1)
MolecularGastronomy (1)
DisabledAccess (1)
Lunch (1)
Seasonal (1)
FamilyStyle (1)
TastingMenu (1)
PrivateRoom (1)
HandcraftedCocktails (1)
PaleoFriendly (1)
Sort By:
S
2231 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 2 days ago

Our food was delicious. Simply grilled fish and salad for me. Grilled shrimp and lamb chops with roasted potatoes for my husband. Despite the fact it didn't seem very busy, our server was very inattentive, supposedly because she was busy. Another server basically did most of the work for us. I felt bad that the tip went to our server. The other young lady deserved it.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Romantic, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 13, 2017

6th time there; always take new friends. Ask to see the wine cellar!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 10, 2017

We will be back; our experience was fantastic. Our waitress, Jessica, was a jewel.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Savannah)·Dined on June 5, 2017

Fresh food, prepared perfectly. This restaurant never disappoints.

Tags: Organic, Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 4, 2017

I have been to The Black Olive several times in the past. The price tag makes it not as often as I'd like. We've always had some of the fresh fish but this time, I decided to have some lamb and shrimp on the grill. The server was not particularly attentive. We had to ask for additional oil (for dipping bread) three times. I asked for the lamb to be medium rare but it came out well done (brown all the way through). It really was tasty but I should have stuck with the fish. My wife had the bronzini, which is what she usually gets. It was fantastic as expected. We finished the meal off with the best baklava I've ever eaten. This was a nice experience but we've had better here. I expect a bit more for the price. The total was just under $150 for appetizer, two entrees, a couple of drinks and dessert.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 4, 2017

If you love Greek food or like your fish fresh and prepared simply to enhance its flavors, then this is a must visit. We sat outside and soaked in the sun after days of rain. The wait staff ensured our water glasses were always full. We started with two orders of the grilled octopus salad split three ways. It was heavenly. We then tried the dorado, bronzini and the turbot. We had the whole fish filleted before serving - but still watch for the stray bone. Almost too full for dessert we split an order of the baklava ice cream. Yum. Asked for an received fantastic advice on the wine choice.

Tags: Good for Groups, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 28, 2017

The waitress did not do her job of introducing herself to us, she did not pay much attention to how we were doing, and overall she could have done better at making the experience enjoyable for us.

Tags: Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 25, 2017

Everything was great, the only thing is when i called for my left over food that i forgot to take home , it was thrown away.
l

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 19, 2017

When in Baltimore we ALWAYS do the Black Olive. Everything they serve is wonderful. My favorite is their Greek version of Bouillabaisse, "Kakavia." I've had Giada’s Cioppino in Las Vegas, and Bobby Flay's Bouillabaisse in New York. Both are excellent. The Black Olive's version is the best!

Everything is FRESH, especially seafood. They make fabulous Lamb, succulent steaks and delightful side dishes. Salads are beautiful and large. They serve warm fresh bread and plump firm Kalamata olives with a spiced olive oil unlike anywhere else, short of a trip to Greece.

Wine selection is unique. They specialize in Greek regionals but have superb yet fairly priced choices of classics from the world over. The wait staff is trained in wine selection and pairings.

On our latest lunch visit, the owner’s handsome son served us with relaxed yet prompt panache. His mother (the owner and master chef) seemed genuinely involved in the food and the quality our experience.

Separate small rooms are cozy without feeling crowded.

Windows and ceiling sunlights make for afternoons that swim in luxurious wine-laced haze. Night-time lighting is romantic but I can still read the menu! Real art, wine maps and tasteful decor adorns this scrupulously clean establishment.

Go early for lunch and always make reservations for dinner. Baltimore natives know this place so it is usually full during prime times. Yes, you can get affordable fast lunches there, but it really is worth taking your time to savor this experience.

They have valet parking, …darn convenient on weekends near Fell's point. It’s an easy stroll from Admiral Fell's hotel.

I discovered this superb restaurant three years ago when a relative took us there. I went back the next day TWICE! It really is THAT good! I have been around fine dining decades before the food network created the "foodie" trend. This is the real deal.

You have not tasted Baltimore until you try the Black Olive.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Organic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 14, 2017

normally this place is awesome, but something went horribly wrong for mother's day. there was a special menu that was almost entirely seafood (one vegetarian but no meat or chicken). it took an hour for our appetizers to arrive. our main courses were an oddly large portion of fish (could've easily fed two people), served with a weird sliced apple and fennel salad. no rice or potatoes or anything that you could even order to go with. desert was odd too, no chocolate options. we will not be returning any time soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Delicious food and friendly, attentive staff. The grilled octopus and lamb shank were amazing!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Tapas, Gluten Free Options, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Food was excellent; server and busboy not overly friendly
Disappointed that on a Saturday night there were a lot of empty seats. Hope this is not an omen for the restaurant

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 3, 2017

We were the only people eating lunch so I cannot judge the noise level accurately. The waiter was somewhat overbearing and neither of us were crazy about the food except for the bread which was outstanding. Beware of ordering wine. 4 oz pour of a watery Makbec was $12.50!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 28, 2017

The first time we were at Black Olive we were really impressed. This time it was just average at best. The service was average. The food this time just ok. Octopus was great. Pita bread was soaked in oil and burnt from flare ups- sent that back to the kitchen... eggplant mouse was bland and slightly sour. Dover sole was prepared fine and polenta was very good. Presentation of the entree was very basic. For $120 plus tip it was just not good enough. Sorry.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Another outstanding dining experience at the Black Olive. Their fish and seafood is second to none. You could make an entire meal out of the mezze appetizers, although it would be a shame to miss the fresh fish as a main course.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fireplace, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (London)·Dined on April 25, 2017

Outstanding fresh seafood. The service was also terrific.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Small dishes appetizers were disappointing. Grilled fish was tasty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Fabulous evening with perfectly prepared dishes and appropriate portions. The beets were amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Easter is an important holiday for my family. We normally do alot of cooking on holidays and celebrate and fellowship together. My Aunt is very ill and lost her husband the day before Thanksgiving. My father is very ill with Parkinson's, My husband a disabled vet. My father can't normally tolerate being out too late. I may be wrong and their opening time could have been 5p. The restaurant was empty and I quickly found the reason. My father's favorite is rockfish and the rest of us love red snapper. They were out of rockfish and had only 2 servings of red snapper available. If you, like me, read the rave reviews on their fresh fish, you had better call first. Our busboy was more attentive than our waitress. He brought us the butter we requested from our waitress after a few requests. I do not drink. On special occasions my family may elect to have a cocktail but they were either out of premium liquor or don't carry anything but rail. Even though my dad didn't get his rockfish, we elected to let my folks have the 2 remaining red snapper dishes, and the remaining 3 of us had salmon and swordfish. All of us agreed that the fish was absolutely delicious and wonderfully prepared. The sides we all had, potatoes and asparagus salad were wonderful and fresh. I could have taken a bucket of those potatoes home. I'm almost sure it was the owner I met when I entered. Whoever she was, she was kind, warm and motherly. But I was so dissappointed in the unavailability of the most popular fish dishes. Had I known that, I would have canceled. I ordered a driver to make it all special from a little savings I had. We rarely get to have those types of experiences. I put on a happy face, humbly thanked the Lord for what we did have, but was in tears after we were dropped off. Call ahead if you have your heart set on something particular or you're going to be very disappointed.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Disabled Access, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Very mediocre. When we were last there, several years ago, everything was perfect. We don't know what accounts for the change, but it was a very disappointing experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Our dinner was delicious in the waitstaff very attentive. We had the cheese rolled in grape leaves, the Greek salad with avocado, Bronzino And red snapper. Very very good. We had homemade ice cream (vanilla) for dessert. One of the best restaurants for fish in Baltimore.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 12, 2017

An amazingly delightful restaurant - a gem of a Fells Point treasure - food outstanding, fresh beautifully prepared seafood, wonderful lamb, Greek dishes exquisitely made but American cuisine also delicious. Service fast, courteous, attentive and unobtrusive. Ambience lovely. Outside dining available in a private courtyard not on the street. Possible to have a lovely private conversation with one other or a small group with larger groups also accommodated - could not more highly recommend!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 10, 2017

I had reservations for myself and a business associate at 1:00 ,pm on Monday. When we arrived and walked in the place was dark and we were approached by a lady who said we're closed. No explanation until I said I had reservations for 1:00. She then explained "our server didn't show up". I then asked if all the other employees were there and she said yes, although I didn't see anyone. Does Black Olive have only one server? I've never heard of anything so ridiculous. We drove about 30 minutes to get there just to be turned away. I was very disappointed with the Black Olive and don't know if I'd recommend them again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 7, 2017

I've been here multiple times over the last 7 years and I've always been extremely pleased with everything. This time was bad enough for me not to ever come back.

Let's start with the good: octopus, lentil soup, chilled asparagus
Needing work, while fresh and cooked perfectly the fish was not seasoned properly the sauce helped but I still added salt and pepper
The baklava ice cream ; one of my favorites had way too much baklava this time and no honey drizzle.

Finally the kicker: I'm a big wine with dinner person and typically when you purchase a glass of wine for $12 and up I get at least 5 oz I barely got $3 and when I inquired the server told me they used big glasses to which I replied this is not about the glass it's under poured. She told me she couldn't do anything because the manager was there and I said get the manager and I'll tell her. So I sat through dinner with no wine and the manager never came to the table. I refused to drink the wine and sent it away. This level of dining deserves more attention to something so abundantly simple. Cost was not the issue principle was I will not dine there again and I will share my experience with all my foodie friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 1, 2017

The fish was out of this world , very fresh and perfectly grilled.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 1, 2017

We have dined at the Black Olive on each of our trips to Baltimore or DC over the past 13 years, and will never come to the area without fitting in an opportunity to visit this amazing restaurant. The preparation of each of the dishes, from the appetizers through the dessert is memorable and constantly changing. The fish is so very fresh, and prepared in the most elegant and simple way, and is, without exception, our favorite of any on the planet. We constantly recommend this restaurant to anyone coming to the BWI/DC area. Enjoy!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 1, 2017

We saw a review in the Baltimore Sun and were coming downtown so we decided to come to the Black Olive. They had a wonderful selection of fresh fish on display to be grilled whole and then de-boned at the table. We tried two and were very pleased. We also had the scallop starter and they were they among the best (again grilled) that I have eaten. When our foodie daughter from San Francisco gets into town again, We'll bring her here! A wonderful dinning experience!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Excellent food and service. Our waiter did an excellent job on the "fish tour". I selected the grilled Black Sea Bass and it was outstanding. My friend loved the octopus salad and my husband enjoyed the Black Olive Special Grill as his meal. It was such a nice dining experience. We will be back.

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 27, 2017

We were very pleased and surprised with our outstanding lunch at the Black Olive. We had never heard of it and I did a search for a Mediterranean Restaurant in Baltimore, MD through Open Table. Thank you.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Historic, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Attentive service without being imposing. Fish and crab cakes were perfectl. The flourless Belgian chocolate cake was stupendous. We spent about 4 1/2 hours to closing and were never rushed. Great place!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Excellent food and service as usual. Very reliable. Very authentic.

Tags: Authentic, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 28, 2017

We brought business clients from California. They were so impressed! The owners were present and gave them the 5-star treatment. The food is SOOOO great and fresh. This is truly a Greek restaurant! OPA!

Tags: Business Meals, Private Room, Historic, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Authentic, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 21, 2017

I took my wife to her favorite restaurant for her birthday. The Black Olive serves consistently fresh quality seafood that is prepared in the Greek manner that we enjoyed during our stay in Crete. It was perfectly cooked and the presentation was outstanding. Our waitstaff was attentive, knowledgeable and pleasant.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Outstanding Greek Cuisine in a homely setting with great and friendly service!!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Organic, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Went for valentines day date night - have been before, was a lovely set course menu with many choices - the stuffed calamari, greek salad, while maine lobster, shrimp and lamb and then baklava and fresh fruit woth grand marnier cream - all delicious

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Organic, Great for Lunch, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 11, 2017

I have visited this location on other occasions. Our experience has always been favorable. However, this time was troublesome. The place was empty on a holiday weekend night. They were out of several items. The service was very slow. The sign is missing out front. It appears they are closing their doors. I would not recommend this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 11, 2017

This place was just OK...I won't go back. Food so, so...service slow..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We've been here multiple times and enjoyed our time each time, but the service this time was noticeably slower and the food wasn't quite to the level we've come to expect. Not sure what was wrong, we will definitely try it again because this was an exception , but it was definitely disappointing for us folks who save up for a special trip to a great restaurant.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Food was very nice. Service was slow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 30, 2017

If you are looking for absolutely fantastic seafood dining, then the Black Olive is for you. The service is always top notch and the food is incredible. We have eaten here on numerous special occasions and we have never been disappointed. We look forward to returning again soon for another wonderful dining experience.

Tags: Business Meals, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.