About Black Olive

814 S. Bond Street
Baltimore, MD 21231
View Larger Map

The Black Olive is a Psarotaverna which is a Greek fish tavern set in the historic Baltimore neighborhood of Fells Point. We specialize in Mediterranean seafood such a whole fish; grilled and fileting at tableside. We also offer traditonal Greek dishes, housemade breads and desserts. Enjoy signature items such as our Village Pie, Grilled Octupus salad, Rack of Lamb ,grilled Filet Mignon or our fresh Dover Sole prepared to your liking. Pair your entree with international wines carefully selected by our sommelier ranging from California, New Zealand, and showcasing beautiful small vineyards from Greece.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Greek, Mediterranean, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm -10:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 5:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Sunday: 4:00 pm - 7:30 pm

Cross Street:
Shakespeare

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 276-7141

Website:
http://www.theblackolive.com/

Parking Details:
$10 valet charge.

Executive Chef:
Pauline Spiliadis

Private Party Facilities:
The Black Olive has four private rooms on premises. Additionally, our exclusive wine cellar and outdoor seating area are available for private gatherings. Our restaurant is eager to accomodate special needs and menu requests. We look forward to helping you create a successful event.

Private Party Contact:
Connie Fulco: 4102767141

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
The Black Olive restaurant opened its doors in 1997 after renovating a Fell’s Point row house that had been vacant for years. Over the years the restaurant grew and became a Baltimore institution. In the early days of the restaurant, on the back patio, where the view of the Inner Harbor and Harbor East reminded one of the histories of a city, a dream was hatched.
In the summer of 2010 that dream becomes a reality. The new Inn at the Black Olive, located on Caroline Street behind the original Black Olive restaurant will open its doors for business.
The Inn will have a market selling organic and sustainable fresh fruits and vegetables, wine, fresh seafood, foods prepared in the Black Olive kitchen, backed goods from a new bakery, suites for guests to spend the night with us, a rooftop café and wine bar that can be used for private events.

Restaurant Photos

Baklava ice cream - Black Olive, Baltimore, MD
Greek Pie - Black Olive, Baltimore, MD
Grilled Octopus Salad - Black Olive, Baltimore, MD
Black Olive Special Grill - Black Olive, Baltimore, MD
Fish - Black Olive, Baltimore, MD
Sauteed Sardines - Black Olive, Baltimore, MD
Olive bread pudding - Black Olive, Baltimore, MD
Loukomades - Black Olive, Baltimore, MD
Rockfish - Black Olive, Baltimore, MD
Baklava - Black Olive, Baltimore, MD
Fish Soup - Black Olive, Baltimore, MD
Seafood Kabobs - Black Olive, Baltimore, MD
Lamb Kleftiko - Black Olive, Baltimore, MD

Black Olive Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.0

ambience

3.9

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (17)
Romantic (10)
Fit for Foodies (10)
See All
Good for a Date (10)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Notable Wine List (8)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Cozy (6)
Authentic (6)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Healthy (5)
Historic (5)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Tapas (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Open Kitchen (3)
Business Meals (3)
Casual (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Organic (2)
Private Room (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Vegan (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Fun (1)
People Watching (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sort By:
S
2055 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food was very good but the service was v ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined 4 days ago

Food was very good but the service was very slow. Dinner took over 3 hours

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

The Black Olive was a wonderful place fo ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 6 days ago

The Black Olive was a wonderful place for dinner. The fish is amazing fresh and while that is their speciality their lamb was outstanding for the non-seafood loving member of the family.

Service was as good as it can get. Lastly the chef was very accommodating for one of the party who is gluten intolerant.

It is a quality restaurant with a professional staff so be prepared to pay accordingly.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fifth time to Black Olive. Have brought ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Fifth time to Black Olive. Have brought numerous friends. Such unique food, perfect seasoning, lovely service and a great price. They bring a few unexpected hors doevres every time and the ambiance could not be better. Any adult looking for a quiet fabulous dinner should come here.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sensational food. Perfectly cooked. Grea ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Sensational food. Perfectly cooked. Great wine. Indifferent service. No warmth. Cold atmosphere. Greek welcoming spirit totally absent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service1
value2

Bland and uninteresting food lacking pre ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Bland and uninteresting food lacking presentation. For $30+ entrees I expect a good dish. This looked and tasted like it was made in haste and without value.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

The eggplant was outstanding. The bread ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 13, 2016

The eggplant was outstanding. The bread has to be homemade. The seafood is outstanding. The service is impeccable and the owner is delightful.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Tapas, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Always a treat to eat at the Black Olive ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Always a treat to eat at the Black Olive. Elizabeth's service impeccable! Sensational spot!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As usual a phenomenal meal! The Dover So ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 5, 2016

As usual a phenomenal meal! The Dover Soul was cooked to perfection. Can't wait to go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, People Watching, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The best restaurant that we've been to i ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 30, 2016

The best restaurant that we've been to in quite some time. Grape leaves with grilled sardines were great as were the cheese filled ones. Choice of fresh fish that you could select from an ice filled tray was great. Fish was prepared perfectly and filleted perfectly by the server. The lamb chops/jumbo shrimp entree was also perfectly prepared.

A place that we'll definitely visit again the next time we're in Baltimore.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A festive and delicious meal was enjoyed ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 28, 2016

A festive and delicious meal was enjoyed at The Black Olive to celebrate my husband's birthday. This restaurant never disappoints with its Mediterranean offerings made with fresh ingredients and generous portions. Our party of 4 began the meal with the Sharing Platter of hummus and spreads with a plentiful offering of crusty whole wheat bread. We each had a different fish, grilled and de-boned. From the Bronzini, to the Turbo and Rockfish, each was cooked to perfection, moist and well-flavored. And the selection of roasted vegetables was the perfect complement to the main dish. We all shared plates of baklava and carrot cake -- which were so flavorful and not too sweet. Overall a very enjoyable meal and a perfect way to celebrate a birthday.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Open Kitchen, Healthy, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Very good food, but service spotty. Arri ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Very good food, but service spotty. Arrived about 15 minutes before reservation time, was seated promptly, but no one took our drink order for 15 minutes or so.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Food was excellent, service dropped off ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Food was excellent, service dropped off a bit in the middle of the meal (we had to ask another server fro our waitress to collect our dessert selections as well as our check, but not so much that it negatively affected our experience. Would definintely return and recommend to others.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

From the appetizers to dessertsThe Black ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 22, 2016

From the appetizers to dessertsThe Black Olive did not disappoint. The food, especially the fish, was beyond fresh.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Was expecting more after a friend recomm ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Was expecting more after a friend recommended Black Olive. Food acceptable but we were seated in a small back room where we had to listen to the threesome at the next table blab on about nothing. Two additional dining rooms in the front looked much more appealing and had available seating. My bad for not asking for a table change.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

I've been visiting this restaurant for y ...

 
 (Key West)·Dined on October 15, 2016

I've been visiting this restaurant for years It never disappoints

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Awesome dining experience probably our f ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 12, 2016

Awesome dining experience probably our favorite dining establishment in Maryland, very understated but very Top notch..

Tags: Healthy, Romantic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Black Olive never disappoints! The food ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 11, 2016

Black Olive never disappoints! The food is superb and the atmosphere cozy. There is a glitzy new Greek restaurant nearby, but Black Olive's food is much better!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Have been waiting to go to this restaura ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Have been waiting to go to this restaurant, but not as impressed as I thought I would be.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

I ordered a couple small plates and they ...

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on September 28, 2016

I ordered a couple small plates and they were brought all at once, rather than in sequence.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

We had a large group for a business meal ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 22, 2016

We had a large group for a business meal and reserved a private room. The service was great and food was delicious. Be sure to take the fish tour to see all the amazing options. Highly recommended! The grilled octopus, shrimp, and scallops were all amazing!

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of our favorites in the Baltimore ar ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 21, 2016

One of our favorites in the Baltimore area, Black Olive serves excellent Greek food. Fish & seafood are top notch. The hot & cold mezze are excellent. Fantastic wine list featuring some hard-to-find Greek wines.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Cozy, Casual, Healthy, Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Authentic Greek Ranks with some the b ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 12, 2016

Authentic Greek Ranks with some the best like MILOS in NYC.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Healthy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

I love this restaurant but this visit wa ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 3, 2016

I love this restaurant but this visit was very disappointing . Service was slow and amateurish. The saganaki came luke warm. The fish was great but only cole slaw as a side? Not worth the $!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

Had a great experience, but txt A/C was ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Had a great experience, but txt A/C was not keeping the restaurant cold. Had to have fans on everywhere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

I hate to provide this feedback because ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 27, 2016

I hate to provide this feedback because I loved the restaurant the first time we came in. However, I was in with my wife and daughter this past Sat. and it was excessively hot and humid, frankly to a point of actual discomfort. We witnessed several couples come in and leave because it was so uncomfortable. We're from Florida where it is much more hot and humid and it is never as hot in a restaurant in Florida as it was at yours on Sat. I would actually be fine if it was just the heat, but my daughter's filet was very well done and she ordered it "medium". It was very tough for a piece of filet because it was cooked so much. Also, my wife's grilled shrimps were very dry because they were way overcooked. To be fair, I had the bronzini and it was very good. I'm truly sorry to say this but we paid top dollar for an extremely uncomfortable, largely (2/3) overcooked meals. I even gave the server a good tip. I'm not the type to complain in a restaurant, so we didn't say anything. I'm also not the type to send food back and I feel we had every right to send the shrimp and steak back.

Anyway, sorry for the frank feedback but perhaps this will help you for future customers.

Thank you very much for your consideration.

Sincerely,

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

I read great reviews about this place. I ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 21, 2016

I read great reviews about this place. I found it to be average or even a bit below average. Although it is a Greek restaurant, there were no Greek cooks in the kitchen. I found the food to be a bit salty. The prices were a bit high. The service was very good though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service5
value1

This was a really good dining experience ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 20, 2016

This was a really good dining experience, a bit pricey but the entrees were delicious. All the menu items listed on the website are not available when you go to the restaurant. I have been wanting to go to this restaurant for a while now and am really glad I did. I will be returning in the near future.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

My friends and I were out for a girl's n ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 14, 2016

My friends and I were out for a girl's night and we chose the Black Olive because a couple of us had been there before and had a wonderful meal. The owners took us to see the fresh fish available and when we were unsure of what to order, they offered to create a meal for us. It was absolutely delicious! I highly recommend The Black Olive!

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We received a referral from a friend to ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 7, 2016

We received a referral from a friend to try this place for dinner. We were extremely disappointed in the food. The bar was set very high, however the food was not what we expected at all. We expected the finest seafood in the area, but the food was definitely unacceptable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3
value1

A pleasant evening out started with a co ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 6, 2016

A pleasant evening out started with a cocktail, a martini made with potato vodka. I never had potato vodka before and I won't order again; not my kind of taste. Appetizer of the grilled calamari filled with Greek cheeses was excellent. The mixed green salad ingredients were fresh and covered with a light vinaigrette. Simply prepared fresh fish was outstanding. Ordered the St. Peter's Fish. Perfectly sauteed and filleted at table side. Spouse ordered the grilled shrimp over linguine with a tomato based sauce with red peppers. Desserts were made in house and delicious. Service was attentive and the courses were properly spaced. Ambiance was low keyed and the noise level low. Will visit again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Black Olive used to be my favorite resta ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 23, 2016

Black Olive used to be my favorite restaurant in Baltimore. This last visit, however, was most disappointing. The fish selection was limited - and the service was very, very slow. Almost inattentive. My friend's salmon was not seasoned properly. Nor was my lamb. My glass of wine was from a bottle that had been opened at least two days earlier, as it was "musty". I never thought I would submit a bad review about the Black Olive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

The fresh seafood is the reason to go to ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 23, 2016

The fresh seafood is the reason to go to Black Olive. We were torn between the small plates option versus the grilled catch of the day and ended up doing a bit of both . Among the small plates, the grilled octopus salad was the one that really stood out, although the saganaki came in as a close second. The whole grilled branzino, fileted at the table, was also excellent.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

The Black Olive must have changed owners ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 17, 2016

The Black Olive must have changed ownership in the recent past because our friends had been there before and like it, but have changed their minds about it. We were there for the first time. We all thought there was an overkill on organic and local fresh feature of this restaurant. The waiter said there didn't carry normal brands of alcohol (Dewar's scotch, etc.) because they featured organic brands. Well, all alcohol originates from organic sources.

My dish was supposed to be "colossal grilled shrimp" but the actual size of the shrimp was underwhelming and a far cry from "colossal." I could have gotten six larger shrimp in any grocery store. And there was no sauce for them and by the time the dinner was served, my shrimp were lukewarm off the grill on the kabob skewer. My wife's dish of Rock fish was average to below average and she has had Rock fish in a lot of places, not just Baltimore, where the Bay Rock fish are generally good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

I cannot recommend Black Olive enough. I ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 15, 2016

I cannot recommend Black Olive enough. It provide's Baltimore with a unique dining experience that can only be matched in Greece itself! If you are looking for delicious, fresh dishes and an evening full of wonderful memories, save a table at Black Olive.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food but on a hot summer night the ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 15, 2016

Great food but on a hot summer night there was only a fan, and no AC. Fortunately we were the only ones there in the beginning so we had the fan for awhile, but still that was a little surprising of an experience for such a renowned restaurant!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

Phenomenal dining experience. Vince was ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 13, 2016

Phenomenal dining experience. Vince was a great server and very knowledgeable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Was very excited to go to the Black Oliv ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 3, 2016

Was very excited to go to the Black Olive because I had heard so many great things about the food. Server was a little ditzy, but attentive. Was told about the fresh fish and two of our party of three decided to go with the Dover Sole. Fish was good, and served with vegetables on the side. We were stunned when we got our bill. $48 for the entree. Dover sole and vegetables !! Are you kidding me? We'll never go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value1

We wanted a quiet, intimate dinner and c ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 2, 2016

We wanted a quiet, intimate dinner and choose this restaurant for an anniversary dinner based on its menu. Our drinks before the meal were pretty standard, nothing special. The appetizers were very good (grilled sardines and stuffed calamari). The grilled branzini was very tasty; the turbot was lacking. Service was adequate - took quite a while before our initial drink order was taken and then more waiting before they were brought. We had a nice, enjoyable dinner though I'm not sure I'd make the effort to return. The valet, on the other hand, was simply wonderful - very friendly and energetic!! His greeting and send off were outstanding "bookends" to an otherwise good evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

I wish I could say that I discovered a n ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 2, 2016

I wish I could say that I discovered a neighborhood gem in Black Olive. Unfortunately that was not the case. The food was fine, but not great, and certainly not worth the price. My first clue was that the restaurant -- which bills itself as authentic Greek -- didn't serve pita.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

A repeat visit for lunch. We found the ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 30, 2016

A repeat visit for lunch. We found the three course luncheon special to be a delicious value.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.