About Black Olive

The Black Olive is a Psarotaverna which is a Greek fish tavern set in the historic Baltimore neighborhood of Fells Point. We specialize in Mediterranean seafood such a whole fish; grilled and fileting at tableside. We also offer traditonal Greek dishes, housemade breads and desserts. Enjoy signature items such as our Village Pie, Grilled Octupus salad, Rack of Lamb ,grilled Filet Mignon or our fresh Dover Sole prepared to your liking. Pair your entree with international wines carefully selected by our sommelier ranging from California, New Zealand, and showcasing beautiful small vineyards from Greece.

814 S. Bond Street
Baltimore, MD 21231
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Greek, Mediterranean, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm -10:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 5:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Sunday: 4:00 pm - 7:30 pm

Cross Street:
Shakespeare

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 276-7141

Website:
http://www.theblackolive.com/

Parking Details:
$10 valet charge.

Executive Chef:
Pauline Spiliadis

Private Party Facilities:
The Black Olive has four private rooms on premises. Additionally, our exclusive wine cellar and outdoor seating area are available for private gatherings. Our restaurant is eager to accomodate special needs and menu requests. We look forward to helping you create a successful event.

Private Party Contact:
Connie Fulco: (410) 276-7141

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
The Black Olive restaurant opened its doors in 1997 after renovating a Fell’s Point row house that had been vacant for years. Over the years the restaurant grew and became a Baltimore institution. In the early days of the restaurant, on the back patio, where the view of the Inner Harbor and Harbor East reminded one of the histories of a city, a dream was hatched.
In the summer of 2010 that dream becomes a reality. The new Inn at the Black Olive, located on Caroline Street behind the original Black Olive restaurant will open its doors for business.
The Inn will have a market selling organic and sustainable fresh fruits and vegetables, wine, fresh seafood, foods prepared in the Black Olive kitchen, backed goods from a new bakery, suites for guests to spend the night with us, a rooftop café and wine bar that can be used for private events.

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Grilled Octopus Salad - Black Olive, Baltimore, MD
Black Olive Special Grill - Black Olive, Baltimore, MD
Fish - Black Olive, Baltimore, MD
Baklava ice cream - Black Olive, Baltimore, MD
Sauteed Sardines - Black Olive, Baltimore, MD
Olive bread pudding - Black Olive, Baltimore, MD
Loukomades - Black Olive, Baltimore, MD
Greek Pie - Black Olive, Baltimore, MD
Rockfish - Black Olive, Baltimore, MD
Baklava - Black Olive, Baltimore, MD
Fish Soup - Black Olive, Baltimore, MD
Seafood Kabobs - Black Olive, Baltimore, MD
Lamb Kleftiko - Black Olive, Baltimore, MD

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Details

20 years of experience in romantic meals. Chef Pauline just loves Valentine's Day. Choices for everyone from the seafood and grilled lamb and beef lover to the vegetarian.

Black Olive Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.0

ambience

4.0

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

80% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (13)
Special Occasion (12)
Cozy (11)
See All
Fit for Foodies (11)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Authentic (9)
Romantic (9)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Notable Wine List (7)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Healthy (5)
Business Meals (5)
Historic (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Tapas (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Organic (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Local Ingredients (2)
People Watching (2)
Fun (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Waterfront (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Vegan (1)
Private Room (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Casual (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
2176 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Very very good food. We went on restaura ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 2 days ago

Very very good food. We went on restaurant week so they had no full menu (only the restaurant week fixed menu + 4 appetizers). The bronzini was outstanding. The fish soup and mushroom soup were good, maybe too salty but the flavor was excellent. Deserts were nice, especially the carrot cake. I put a note in the reservation noting it was my partners birthday and they honored the implicit request without needing to remind them, which was great. Wine selection is interesting (mostly French) I had to select wine twice because they were out of the first two bottles I selected. They were also out of the third, so they replaced it with a similar one, which I estimated to be twice as expensive as the original one, but they still charged us with the initial price, which was great on their part.

Highly recommended place. They also seem to have some very interesting practices regarding fishing and sustainability, so that's a great plus. Looking forward to dining there again during non-restaurant week to be able to look at the full menu.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The service is great because even the ow ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 6 days ago

The service is great because even the owner took his time to talk to us and made sure that we had our orders right. The food was really great tasting but quite pricey for the location and ambience. The annex dining area where we sat was cold but they have a portable heater that didn't really help so much to warm up the room. It is really quiet because the no music being played at all. But overall , it was a nice a nice birthday for my husband.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Melizansalata is second to none. But des ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined 6 days ago

Melizansalata is second to none. But dessert had been sitting around too long.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Spoke to the restaurant before arriving ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Spoke to the restaurant before arriving and was never told that it was s limited menu that night. Waitress never checked on ys after initial order, we all would gave irdered mire drinks. Food took a long time to come out and was overcooked. We were told the only availability fir our party was 5:30 but there were several empty tables around us

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

Soggy salad had wilted lettuce and too m ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Soggy salad had wilted lettuce and too much oil dressing, shell fish platter was overlooked making it dry, limited wine menu, and the waitress had other tables in a different part of the restaurant so service was spotty. I was excited before we went but left disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

Great fresh fish. Always a very deliciou ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Great fresh fish. Always a very delicious meal with Greek influence.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Had a fabulous meal, nothing could've be ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Had a fabulous meal, nothing could've been nicer. The drink menu was a great addition to the food menu. We were able to sit in a very quiet and romantic spot that was just perfect for the occasion.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was New Year's Eve but to have to kee ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 1, 2017

It was New Year's Eve but to have to keep asking for silverware with each course got frustrating. Also surprising that it took a while to get our amuse bouche and then the next course came out before we finished the newly arrived amuse bouche. Most of the food was delicious but the crab cakes had a weird and unusal flavor that did not compliment the crab at all! The grilled fish was outstanding!

Tags: Wood Oven, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Crab cakes poor. Waiter is a big hurry. ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Crab cakes poor. Waiter is a big hurry. Very rushed

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

Our experience was honestly not very goo ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Our experience was honestly not very good. The restaurant itself has a nice ambience but that was mainly it. Our waitress came several times to take our order despite us having just sat down. If it were crowded or a weekend I would understand, but it wasn't. We ultimately ordered the grilled calamari with capers and onions, the pasta with clams, and the lamb kleftiko.

The calamari was quite delicious. I would order it again if I ever wanted to go back. The pasta dish came out and was awful. The pasta was clumpy and undercooked. The clams, while numerous, were small and flavorless. And the sauce was clam flavored water. We did not finish it. The lamb dish was just as bad. It came with couscous and some cream sauce. The sauce was watery and flavorless. The lamb was tough, chewy, and flavorless. And the couscous was undercooked and flavorless. We did not opt for dessert at that point. Unfortunately the restaurant is also outrageously priced for the quantity and quality of food. To spend $80, not drink, and be hungry and disappointed is a shame. We went for date night. I loved my date, I can't say the same for the restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

Quality has really declined since we las ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Quality has really declined since we last dined here about five years ago. Server was very confused and too involved. Furnishings are looking tired, bathroom was dirty. Food was subpar especially for the high prices

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

My wife and I had such a pleasant evenin ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 14, 2016

My wife and I had such a pleasant evening and the food had so much to do with that.

We both shared appetizers and as always we had the grilled octopus salad.

I am afraid we once again had the grilled lamb and grilled whole fish. We should be more adventurous but those entres are so beautifully prepared.

When visiting the Black Olive be sure to leave time before and after to explore the neighborhood which is a designated national historic district .

Tags: Organic, Comfort Food, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Historic, Romantic, Authentic, Business Meals, Tapas, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Fun, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Private Room, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

The food is outstanding with wonderful f ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 14, 2016

The food is outstanding with wonderful flavors that makes one wonder 'how they do that?'.

Tags: Business Meals, Waterfront, Molecular Gastronomy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The Seafood kabob was simply amazing!!! ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 10, 2016

The Seafood kabob was simply amazing!!! Everything was fresh and perfectly prepared. The whole evening was special. If you are looking for a fu evening dining experience, please go to the Black Olive. You will thank yourself.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The Black Olive Restaurant had phenomena ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 9, 2016

The Black Olive Restaurant had phenomenal Greek food. The grilled whole fish was exceptional. The fire roasted lamb and the grilled seafood platter absolutely delicious.

Tags: Cozy, Comfort Food, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was very good but the service was v ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on November 28, 2016

Food was very good but the service was very slow. Dinner took over 3 hours

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

The Black Olive was a wonderful place fo ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 26, 2016

The Black Olive was a wonderful place for dinner. The fish is amazing fresh and while that is their speciality their lamb was outstanding for the non-seafood loving member of the family.

Service was as good as it can get. Lastly the chef was very accommodating for one of the party who is gluten intolerant.

It is a quality restaurant with a professional staff so be prepared to pay accordingly.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fifth time to Black Olive. Have brought ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Fifth time to Black Olive. Have brought numerous friends. Such unique food, perfect seasoning, lovely service and a great price. They bring a few unexpected hors doevres every time and the ambiance could not be better. Any adult looking for a quiet fabulous dinner should come here.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sensational food. Perfectly cooked. Grea ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Sensational food. Perfectly cooked. Great wine. Indifferent service. No warmth. Cold atmosphere. Greek welcoming spirit totally absent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service1
value2

Bland and uninteresting food lacking pre ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Bland and uninteresting food lacking presentation. For $30+ entrees I expect a good dish. This looked and tasted like it was made in haste and without value.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

The eggplant was outstanding. The bread ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 13, 2016

The eggplant was outstanding. The bread has to be homemade. The seafood is outstanding. The service is impeccable and the owner is delightful.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Tapas, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Always a treat to eat at the Black Olive ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Always a treat to eat at the Black Olive. Elizabeth's service impeccable! Sensational spot!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As usual a phenomenal meal! The Dover So ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 5, 2016

As usual a phenomenal meal! The Dover Soul was cooked to perfection. Can't wait to go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, People Watching, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The best restaurant that we've been to i ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 30, 2016

The best restaurant that we've been to in quite some time. Grape leaves with grilled sardines were great as were the cheese filled ones. Choice of fresh fish that you could select from an ice filled tray was great. Fish was prepared perfectly and filleted perfectly by the server. The lamb chops/jumbo shrimp entree was also perfectly prepared.

A place that we'll definitely visit again the next time we're in Baltimore.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A festive and delicious meal was enjoyed ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 28, 2016

A festive and delicious meal was enjoyed at The Black Olive to celebrate my husband's birthday. This restaurant never disappoints with its Mediterranean offerings made with fresh ingredients and generous portions. Our party of 4 began the meal with the Sharing Platter of hummus and spreads with a plentiful offering of crusty whole wheat bread. We each had a different fish, grilled and de-boned. From the Bronzini, to the Turbo and Rockfish, each was cooked to perfection, moist and well-flavored. And the selection of roasted vegetables was the perfect complement to the main dish. We all shared plates of baklava and carrot cake -- which were so flavorful and not too sweet. Overall a very enjoyable meal and a perfect way to celebrate a birthday.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Open Kitchen, Healthy, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Very good food, but service spotty. Arri ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Very good food, but service spotty. Arrived about 15 minutes before reservation time, was seated promptly, but no one took our drink order for 15 minutes or so.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

From the appetizers to dessertsThe Black ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 22, 2016

From the appetizers to dessertsThe Black Olive did not disappoint. The food, especially the fish, was beyond fresh.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was excellent, service dropped off ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Food was excellent, service dropped off a bit in the middle of the meal (we had to ask another server fro our waitress to collect our dessert selections as well as our check, but not so much that it negatively affected our experience. Would definintely return and recommend to others.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Was expecting more after a friend recomm ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Was expecting more after a friend recommended Black Olive. Food acceptable but we were seated in a small back room where we had to listen to the threesome at the next table blab on about nothing. Two additional dining rooms in the front looked much more appealing and had available seating. My bad for not asking for a table change.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

I've been visiting this restaurant for y ...

 
 (Key West)·Dined on October 15, 2016

I've been visiting this restaurant for years It never disappoints

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Awesome dining experience probably our f ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 12, 2016

Awesome dining experience probably our favorite dining establishment in Maryland, very understated but very Top notch..

Tags: Healthy, Romantic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Black Olive never disappoints! The food ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 11, 2016

Black Olive never disappoints! The food is superb and the atmosphere cozy. There is a glitzy new Greek restaurant nearby, but Black Olive's food is much better!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Have been waiting to go to this restaura ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Have been waiting to go to this restaurant, but not as impressed as I thought I would be.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

I ordered a couple small plates and they ...

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on September 28, 2016

I ordered a couple small plates and they were brought all at once, rather than in sequence.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

We had a large group for a business meal ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 22, 2016

We had a large group for a business meal and reserved a private room. The service was great and food was delicious. Be sure to take the fish tour to see all the amazing options. Highly recommended! The grilled octopus, shrimp, and scallops were all amazing!

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of our favorites in the Baltimore ar ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 21, 2016

One of our favorites in the Baltimore area, Black Olive serves excellent Greek food. Fish & seafood are top notch. The hot & cold mezze are excellent. Fantastic wine list featuring some hard-to-find Greek wines.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Cozy, Casual, Healthy, Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Authentic Greek Ranks with some the b ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 12, 2016

Authentic Greek Ranks with some the best like MILOS in NYC.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Healthy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

I love this restaurant but this visit wa ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 3, 2016

I love this restaurant but this visit was very disappointing . Service was slow and amateurish. The saganaki came luke warm. The fish was great but only cole slaw as a side? Not worth the $!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

Had a great experience, but txt A/C was ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Had a great experience, but txt A/C was not keeping the restaurant cold. Had to have fans on everywhere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

I hate to provide this feedback because ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 27, 2016

I hate to provide this feedback because I loved the restaurant the first time we came in. However, I was in with my wife and daughter this past Sat. and it was excessively hot and humid, frankly to a point of actual discomfort. We witnessed several couples come in and leave because it was so uncomfortable. We're from Florida where it is much more hot and humid and it is never as hot in a restaurant in Florida as it was at yours on Sat. I would actually be fine if it was just the heat, but my daughter's filet was very well done and she ordered it "medium". It was very tough for a piece of filet because it was cooked so much. Also, my wife's grilled shrimps were very dry because they were way overcooked. To be fair, I had the bronzini and it was very good. I'm truly sorry to say this but we paid top dollar for an extremely uncomfortable, largely (2/3) overcooked meals. I even gave the server a good tip. I'm not the type to complain in a restaurant, so we didn't say anything. I'm also not the type to send food back and I feel we had every right to send the shrimp and steak back.

Anyway, sorry for the frank feedback but perhaps this will help you for future customers.

Thank you very much for your consideration.

Sincerely,

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.