About Black Olive

814 S. Bond Street
Baltimore, MD 21231
View Larger Map

The Black Olive is a Psarotaverna which is a Greek fish tavern set in the historic Baltimore neighborhood of Fells Point. We specialize in Mediterranean seafood such a whole fish; grilled and fileting at tableside. We also offer traditonal Greek dishes, housemade breads and desserts. Enjoy signature items such as our Village Pie, Grilled Octupus salad, Rack of Lamb ,grilled Filet Mignon or our fresh Dover Sole prepared to your liking. Pair your entree with international wines carefully selected by our sommelier ranging from California, New Zealand, and showcasing beautiful small vineyards from Greece.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Greek, Mediterranean, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch:
Monday - Sunday: 12:00 pm - 2:00 pm
Dinner:
Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm -10:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 5:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Sunday: 4:00 pm - 7:30 pm

Cross Street:
Shakespeare

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 276-7141

Website:
http://www.theblackolive.com/

Parking Details:
$10 valet charge.

Executive Chef:
Pauline Spiliadis

Private Party Facilities:
The Black Olive has four private rooms on premises. Additionally, our exclusive wine cellar and outdoor seating area are available for private gatherings. Our restaurant is eager to accomodate special needs and menu requests. We look forward to helping you create a successful event.

Private Party Contact:
Connie Fulco: 4102767141

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
The Black Olive restaurant opened its doors in 1997 after renovating a Fell’s Point row house that had been vacant for years. Over the years the restaurant grew and became a Baltimore institution. In the early days of the restaurant, on the back patio, where the view of the Inner Harbor and Harbor East reminded one of the histories of a city, a dream was hatched.
In the summer of 2010 that dream becomes a reality. The new Inn at the Black Olive, located on Caroline Street behind the original Black Olive restaurant will open its doors for business.
The Inn will have a market selling organic and sustainable fresh fruits and vegetables, wine, fresh seafood, foods prepared in the Black Olive kitchen, backed goods from a new bakery, suites for guests to spend the night with us, a rooftop café and wine bar that can be used for private events.

Restaurant Photos

Black Olive Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

3.8

ambience

4

noise

Quiet

89% would recommend it to a friend

fit for foodies (48)
special occasion (42)
neighborhood gem (38)
See All
romantic (30)
notable wine list (12)
good for groups (11)
great for lunch (8)
great for outdoor dining (3)
hot spot (1)
great for brunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1997 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

This restaurant was in the upper echelon ...

Dined 6 days ago

This restaurant was in the upper echelon of great. While it's a 4 $ign place the food was over the top delicious. From warm house made bread to the appetizers to the mezzo plates and main courses, everything was perfectly prepared. Our group focused on the seafood and we were not disappointed. Of special note were the "rope grown" muscles. HUGE!! and tasty.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Black Olive continues to deliver truly e ...

Dined 6 days ago

Black Olive continues to deliver truly excellent food.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Romantic dinner for our wedding annivers ...

Dined 7 days ago

Romantic dinner for our wedding anniversary. Everything was just wonderful! We cannot wait to return.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food2
ambience3
service3

Lamb in paper VERY tough

vip
Dined on May 16, 2016

Lamb in paper VERY tough

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

My wife and I went to this unassuming re ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

My wife and I went to this unassuming restaurant on our first dinner date after our daughter was born. It is located in the quaint Fells Point neighborhood in Baltimore. They had valet parking (a must in this neighborhood), which was a nice start to the dining experience. The restaurant is in an old row house, and it has a very rustic/old school look...brick walls, antique posters showcasing herbs and fish species, etc. I thought that it was interesting that they only had organic liquors, but the bourbon tasted just fine to me! This was really my only "drawback" of the pace. Fish/seafood is the restaurant's specialty, and it's apparent from the start. The server took us to "tour" the fish (8 different specimens) and described the flavors and even the native information regarding each fish. For the appetizer, we shared grilled calamari stuffed with various Greek cheeses. It was a delightful dish! For the entrees, we shared the Branzini...which they filleted right at the table. It was served with a simple olive oil sauce, and it was so tender and flavorful. We also shared a lamb dish...it was cooked in parchment paper along with olive oil and other sauces. The lamb was also very tender and flavorful. We finished the meal by sharing a piece of baklava. Overall, I appreciated the knowledge of the server regarding the fish, and the food was some of the best in Baltimore.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent Food

Dined on May 7, 2016

We made reservations for our anniversary and arrived at 5:45pm on a Saturday. While the restaurant was busy, it was not over crowded and the room the put us in had a large table of people, plus another table of two. By the time we left, all of the tables in the restaurant were full, but there was no line of people waiting at the door. I'd definitely make reservations again on a Friday/Saturday evening. The food was fantastic - I had Sea Scallops on the Charcoal and my husband had the Lamb & Shrimp on the Charcoal. The food was exceptionally fresh, done perfectly and it came out in a reasonable amount of time. This is quite possibly the best upscale Greek/Mediterranean we've ever had. The flavors of the food really popped, and it was seasoned perfectly. The service, while not overly friendly, was adequate and prompt. I never felt that our server was rude, but I didn't feel like she was at the top of her game either (I had to ask what the fresh fish of the day was, noted that another server told a nearby table about a soup of the day and some special drinks). Apps, wine & dessert were all fantastic as well - we will be back and will definitely recommend The Black Olive to friends.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Neilm

Dined on May 1, 2016

Great place to get very fresh seafood, prepared perfectly and cooked/presented nicely. After our visit about 5 other parties from our group ate there and all agreed it was very good - wine list interesting too!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighbourhood gem
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

First Bad Experience

Dined on May 1, 2016

First, let me say the food was amazing, as always! The service is usually outstanding in every way. We have been going there for 7 years and have never had a bad experience, until our most recent visit. Our server was MIA for most of our night. The chef delivered the appetizer. Our bus boy was really good with water and bread. Our server was there for the first drinks and disappeared. She came back for the dinner and then disappeared. Eventually, she came back to give us a desert menu and then disappeared for 20 minutes. I do come here for leisurely dining but that was excessive. This did not make me want to never come back but I hope to return to the service I know next time or that might have to be it.....

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The Food is Excellent

Dined on April 23, 2016

This was our first visit and we plan to go back again. New favorite for Fells Point / Harbor East. It's pricey, but the food is ridiculously good. Service was great and the server was very knowledgeable about the food and types of fish available that day. I highly recommend the Black Olive if you are a fan of Mediterranean cuisine.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

Second trip

Dined on April 20, 2016

This was my second visit over the course of 2 years while on business trips. Both times I had less then stellar wait staff in comparison to what I viewed other tables receiving. This trip, the waitperson struggled at best to describe the fish available for the evening at their display case. The restaurant expects their waitstaff to be the "bartender" also for their tables. Our waitperson didn't know how to make a basic Manhattan. :-( The waitperson also struggled with the "table side filleting" of the whole fish in comparison to the other staff person who assisted with my table guests fish. The preparation was outstanding, but my table guest and I ordered the same fish with 2 different preparations, but they both came out grilled as opposed to one being grilled and the other being sauteed. While I believe the food is STELLAR, I can't get past both experiences being lacking in the service department, especially for a meal that was $100 per person (including tip). There was never anything in the service that was so horrible to be reported to Management at any one time, but when you add up the entire experience vs. the cost its just not something I would repeat or recommend to friends. I wouldn't return or recommend this restaurant.

food4
ambience3
service2
value3

It has been better

Dined on April 20, 2016

I enjoyed dinner, however, I have had better times there. The service started a bit laggard (regarding wait without even getting a server to acknowledge our presence) then abrasive (once the server arrived). However, it got better. The server noticed I was displeased and I refrained from saying anything therefore, she evenly came to the other side of 'simply nice'. I honestly don't believe anyone wanted to serve us for whatever their reasons. Because I noticed there was a table with 4 gentlemen who were sat about 17 mins after us and the same server greeted them before arriving to our table. I would have been okeh, if someone had stopped to introduced themselves and even just ask me to be patient. I am straddling the fence of not returning.

food5
ambience4
service3
value5

The fixed price three course lunch was g ...

vip
Dined on April 18, 2016

The fixed price three course lunch was great with lots of choices; however, the service was way too slow for a business meeting. We were there well over an hour and had to get our included dessert to go because we had to get back to work.

food4
ambience4
service3
value3

consistent?

Dined on April 15, 2016

Enjoyable and tasty, for certain. Couldn't help feeling that the bones of the restaurant need a little freshening and updating.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Friday night at The Black Olive

Dined on April 8, 2016

Food selection not as extensive as prior visits. Grill not working properly limited types of preparations and specific foods. Service was fantastic and when the food came out, it was great!

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Food!

Dined on April 8, 2016

Great Food! Terrific Service! Would love to return! Wish there was something like this in my hometown

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience4
service4
value2

Outstanding food, especially the fresh fish.

Dined on April 2, 2016

The grilled fresh fish was wonderful. The appetizers were outstanding as well. One of the servers was a low-key, old-school gentleman; another was a younger one who was very good, but he knew it. You will pay top dollar for this wonderful food.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a genuine surprise!

Dined on April 2, 2016

The Black Olive is a true diamond in the rough; a modest outward appearance, but what a remarkable dining experience. Service was outstanding and the food was truly superb. My wife and I were so impressed at how this restaurant exceeding all of our expectations.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent quiet dining with superb food

Dined on March 21, 2016

We had a wonderful dinner, excellent wine, great dessert...and amazing service (thanks to Ashley!) Service was perfect - quiet, discrete, aware of our needs, and good advice on the food. Get the soup with the large shrimp! Highly recommend this quiet spot.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Saturday Night Out

Dined on March 19, 2016

Black Olive is a superb restaurant. Service by Elizabeth was excellent. The entrees were exquisite.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious as always. We love the Black O ...

Dined on March 4, 2016

Delicious as always. We love the Black Olive for lunch and dinner. The best fish dished done simply to perfection.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great Greek food in old Baltimore

vip
Dined on March 3, 2016

My friend and I had a great lunch experience with one of the window tables in the original room of the restaurant. We ordered bronzini which was delicious and had Greek salads---very fresh--and kalamata olives and bread with olive oil. I used to like the bread better in past visits, as this time it did not come in a small loaf but had been cut and seasoned. We had very good coffee and split a piece of carrot cake for dessert. A very nice experience when one has the time to dine and not just eat. It was nice to have the owner and his wife stop to say hello and ask how everything was.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Service Hiccups

vip
Dined on February 28, 2016

The food at the Black Olive never disappoints. The appetizers and the fresh fish entrees are always terrific. We've been there 3-4 times over the past couple of years. Considering it's a 1-hour drive to get there for us, it's saying a lot that we keep coming back. However, on the last two occasions, things have been less than perfect. On one occasion, the person whose birthday we were celebrating ordered the Dover sole and was told they had run out. A different fish was ordered and we were later told that that fish was also unavailable. Finally, someone came out from the kitchen to tell us they found a piece of sole after all. On this last visit, we were told that there was no lobster whatsoever available and that no lamb shank was left (at 8:00 p.m. on a Saturday). Our party of 4 was seated by the hostess, who presented us with a small dish with 4 olives on it. Why ration the olives? We asked for more olives...twice. The servers kept refilling our water glasses with tap water although we had ordered sparkling water. One of our appetizers required some sort of bread to eat it, but no additional bread was brought to the table with the appetizer (and we had already eaten the bread that was set out for the whole table). We asked for more olive oil for the bread...twice. These types of service hiccups need to be ironed out. The staff was friendly enough, but needs more training. I still recommend Black Olive to folks who want a nice meal in the Fells Point area, but given so many other options, it will probably be a while before I return.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience1
service1
value2

Disappointing

Dined on February 27, 2016

It was a Friday evening and the restaurant was only half-full - already a bad sign. We tried 4 small plates - they were all very well-prepared, interesting, and tasty. So the food remains high quality but the service was chaotic and in general it looked like the restaurant was not being well run. It was the service and ambience that made it a disappointing experience. To top it off, the baklava for dessert was hard and stale - not what you would expect in a Greek restaurant.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

Maybe a bad night

vip
Dined on February 21, 2016

Perhaps we went on a bad night, but the food was mediocre at best. One entre had clearly been prepared well in advance and simply re-heated (and it was not fully heated at that). The waiter only had two tables, but we had to look for him when we were ready to order. Especially given the prices, we were very disappointed.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

lunch at Black Olive

Dined on February 17, 2016

I like to take job applicants to the Black Olive as they are open for lunch and have great food. There is also an nice ambience, great service and not too noisy so able to converse easily.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

High Hopes End in Disappointment

Dined on February 15, 2016

We had been wanting to try Black Olive for years, so we decided that our last Valentine's Day while living in the city would be an excellent occasion. However, as soon as we showed up, we were greeted with a very limited fixed menu for the holiday. While not an automatic dealbreaker, we were certainly disappointed to find out that we could only choose from three appetizers, four entrees, and two desserts. This was a far cry from the menu that we were hoping to be exploring. Regardless, we were able to settle on selections and the food started coming. It was all a little chilly and overly oily. I think our favorite part was the asparagus which, while not fantastic because of the half stick of butter, were at least decent. Besides that, the entrees came out before we even finished the appetizers and the baklava dessert was about four bites. Sadly, this all cost $60 per person. While I can understand a bit of an up-charge for the holiday, I would have put a fair market value on these dishes in the $30 range, unfortunately. Was it our fault that we booked a reservation for Sunday night of Valentine's Day Weekend? Maybe. Probably not. Either way, we were treated to a rushed and uninspired meal, so we probably won't return.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great Valentine's Day Dinner

Dined on February 15, 2016

The Black Olive was on point for every aspect of the meal. Even with some hiccups that could potentially make the experience less, they picked right up and made sure we had an amazing evening. We will be returning...again!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

Valentine's Day Dinner

Dined on February 14, 2016

The soup was served in a bowl without a plate underneath it, which meant that the server had his thumb in my soup. It also meant that there was no place for the spoon. The manager was not a problem solver, as we asked for seating in a specific room when we made the reservation, however she decided not to honor our request. Luckily, the hostess overruled the manager. To get us back, the manager made certain that we were the last people to have their car brought around, which is no big deal except that it was 15 degrees F outside. How petty.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

Awful!

Dined on February 14, 2016

Friends and I had recently gone to the black olive for Valentine's Day and the experience was terrible. The manager asked us if we would mind sitting in the wine cellar-I'm sure they over booked the tables. The wine cellar was freezing, they placed 2 space heaters to keep us warm(it never got above 54 degrees). The service was slow since we were down stairs, food was average at best and nothing stood out from the experience. I would never return, nor would I recommend this restaurant. Tons of better options close by!!!

food4
ambience3
service2
value2

It was ok if you like that kind of place

Dined on February 13, 2016

I dont go out much but we where celebrating so we reserved a table for two on feb 13th. There was one server and he was busy. Our food took at least 45 mins but was good. And we had to get up and find someone for our check and my fiance coat. We chose the black olive because we where staying at the inn. For the price of 150$ for two ppl and we each only had one beer and the three corse meal with very small portions and a lack of servers, Poor guy was running food plus the bar, we wont go back. Ordered grub hub when we got back to our room from mustang allys and spent 80$ got three times as much food most seafood and was delivered right to our room.

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Still delivers

Dined on February 10, 2016

Delicious cuisine. Small place-could use light music because smaller dining room and one large group dominated the ambiance. If want fresh seafood, esp fish, cannot beat this place. Longtime Baltimore gem. Our server Earl was extremely knowledge and table side food prep was perfect.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Using Open Table lingo, it's a "neighbor ...

vip
Dined on February 9, 2016

Using Open Table lingo, it's a "neighborhood gem." The food is always great, plus it's such a comfortable and attractive place. Tried something new this time - the grilled shrimp. They keep things quite simple - the shrimp was simply olive oil, salt, pepper - and so tasty. I have never been disappointed!

food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Solid neighborhood restaurant

vip
Dined on February 7, 2016

Black Olive has the relaxed feel of an established neighborhood spot, a nice departure from the trendier places, even if service is a bit slow. The grilled vegetables and polenta were good but not exciting. The grilled fish is amazing and what they are known for, although I had hoped for some locally-caught varieties. It was a great place to relax on a Saturday night.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service4

The sea bass was deboned table side and ...

Dined on February 2, 2016

The sea bass was deboned table side and cooked to perfection. The Kakavia, fisherman's stew, lacked flavor and not worth the price--$40. The atmosphere is very quaint.

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Best fish in the DMV

Dined on January 30, 2016

Pricey but worth it. This is hands down the best place for fish and seafood, made right. Don't neglect the homemade ice cream and Greek coffee. The staff is friendly and helpful in making selections.

Tags: special occasion
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

WARNING: The service can be hit or miss.

Dined on January 17, 2016

The food is always fabulous, and the atmosphere is delightful, but the service can be horrible.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Seafood is excellent

Dined on January 17, 2016

Every time I am in Baltimore I make a point to dine here. Service is superb, the seafood is excellent - very fresh and excellently prepared. Owner takes you into the kitchen to select your fish. Highly recommend !

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

One of the Best in baltimore

Dined on January 16, 2016

One our very favorite restaurants. We always have a great meal and a great experience here.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent

Dined on January 9, 2016

All of our food was excellent, along with the service. You can tell that the chef took great pride in his food, as he personally delivered it to us.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Wonderful as always. Since they had just ...

vip
Dined on January 8, 2016

Wonderful as always. Since they had just reopened after a week's holiday, the fish selection was not as extensive as usual, but the Bronzini was perfectly prepared. I do wish they had not wrapped the bread with the salad when we took a small portion home. We will definitely return, as this a favorite of ours.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.