Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 11 times today
Special offers available. See details

Black Olive

4.3
2368 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Greek
Top Tags:
  • Special Occasion
  • Authentic
  • Quiet Conversation
The Black Olive is a Psarotaverna which is a Greek fish tavern set in the historic Baltimore neighborhood of Fells Point. We specialize in Mediterranean seafood such a whole fish; grilled and fileting at tableside. We also offer traditonal Greek dishes, housemade breads and desserts. Enjoy signature items such as our Village Pie, Grilled Octupus salad, Rack of Lamb ,grilled Filet Mignon or our fresh Dover Sole prepared to your liking. Pair your entree with international wines carefully selected by our sommelier ranging from California, New Zealand, and showcasing beautiful small vineyards from Greece.
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Greek, Mediterranean, Seafood
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Lunch
Monday-Friday 12-2:30
Dinner
Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm -10:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 5:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Sunday: 4:00 pm - 7:30 pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(410) 276-7141
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Pauline Spiliadis
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Shakespeare
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
$10 valet charge.
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
The Black Olive restaurant opened its doors in 1997 after renovating a Fell’s Point row house that had been vacant for years. Over the years the restaurant grew and became a Baltimore institution. In the early days of the restaurant, on the back patio, where the view of the Inner Harbor and Harbor East reminded one of the histories of a city, a dream was hatched.
Additional
Bar Dining, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Sun 5:00PM - 5:30PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM
Mon 5:00PM - 5:30PM 8:30PM - 9:00PM
Tue - Sat 5:00PM - 5:30PM 8:30PM - 10:00PM

What 2368 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.3based on recent ratings
4.4
food
4.2
service
4.2
ambience
3.8
value
Noise · Quiet
71% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
4.0Dined 2 days ago

First time at Black Olive and I loved it. They fillet your fish tableside, and the fish was perfectly cooked and even had that smoky grill flavor. The eggplant appetizer was wonderful and could easily win over those who think they don't like eggplant! I had a wonderfully fun cocktail. The ambiance was low key and perfect for dining. The recorded music was Greek, I think, but created a nice foundation since it wasn't too loud but cushioned the whole experience. Lovely service too. But the baklava, sadly, was not flaky at all. Still, other desserts look worth trying next time.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined 2 days ago

Got together with old friends to catch up. The wait staff were slow and inattentive. The food was way below expectations. And one of the employees had horrible body odor that capped off a very expensive evening. My wife and I used to come here often and loved this place but don’t expect to go back anytime soon without significant improvements.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 3 days ago

Delicious fresh fish. Oysters fantastic! Nice selection of Greek wines!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined 4 days ago

Waiter did not know the menu, wines, and was hygiene challenged.
The decor was worn.
However, the fish would have been excellent if the waiter knew the proper way to de bone it.
The reviews we read prior to our booking were not our experience at all.
Pricey for the quality of the experience
This is from 2 globally traveled foodies used to NYC, London, etc prices

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined 6 days ago

Great authentic Greek food however we were disappointed that there were no scallops or octopus available, the two things I am most wanted to sample. If you like whole fish this is the place for you.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 14, 2018

Food was awesome!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

I live in Raleigh, NC and was looking for a great place to have a Mother's Day date with my husband of 21 years; I booked online, not knowing what to expect. I reserved for late afternoon. It turned out to be an excellent idea. We parked in front of the restaurant and our table was ready. Everyone who served us was fantastic, courteous, considerate, attentive to our needs. The food was very tasty, delicious and authentic; in fact, I swapped my fish, oh yes, and I have put the note while booking online; they have noticed that little comment. I got a grilled dove sole. Everything was just too good. The quietness allows for a great conversation. I will refer this place to anyone who knows how to appreciate good food and those who are ready to venture in this special place; I will be back, very soon.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 11, 2018

This place has seen it's day. The server needed a shower and deodorant, so that made for a stinky visit. Other than that, drinks were ok and the food wasn't any better. I got a mixed grill for $30. It came with a lot, but everything was overcooked and dry. The best part of the meal - baklava ice cream. I'm not sure why this is still on Baltimore's Top 50.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 10, 2018

One of the best Greek restaurants that I have eaten at. Everything is amazing!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 9, 2018

This is a great restaurant. Would have preferred front seating and slightly quicker service. But excellent food!!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 9, 2018

We heard about Black Olive from a foodie friend. We stopped in for lunch, were pleasantly surprised by a prix-fixe lunch menu and enjoyed incredible seafood--scallops, crabcakes, grilled fish (expertly deboned at our table) and a Greek dessert selection. Restaurant is set on a very pretty cobblestone side street lined by old historic buildings, and charmingly decorated inside. Service was gracious and attentive.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 8, 2018

Excellent food, on the classic greek side of things. Everything tasted good. Service was friendly and efficient. A solid, quality alternative in Fells Point.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 8, 2018

Great food and service in a classy setting. We were on the later side but they were very accommodating. Near all the bars and activity in Fells Point.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on May 6, 2018

We started with two appetizers. Mussels were very good with a great sauce to dip. We also had octopus which was too charred and over cooked. We ordered five entrees, 4 whole fish and 1 beef filet. ALL were over cooked and service was super slow. It took about 1.5 hours for our entrees to arrive. This was a Birthday celebration and dinner was a big disappointment.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 2, 2018

A great experience. We enjoyed the tour of the fresh fish counter and our hostess knowledge of the flavors of each choice. Had a nice and fairly priced Spanish wine. We will be back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 29, 2018

We went to the Black Olive to celebrate our Anniversary. The food was outstanding, the staff was attentive, and the ambiance was perfect. We will return!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 29, 2018

If you enjoy fresh seafood, cooked with wonderful Greek herbs and spices, this is the restaurant for you. Wonderful appetizers, Greek salads and fabulous baklava complete the meal.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 28, 2018

Some dishes were great, but others were frankly bad. We ordered two of the same dishes one had a great crunchy crust, the other was soggy... too hit or miss!! Also slow service, the kitchen was too backed up.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 28, 2018

Great food and service

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 27, 2018

Chose Black Olive on the recommendation of a Baltimore local. The restaurant is housed in a converted row house which made for a cozy spot to enjoy a fresh meal. Olives, assorted greek small plates, grilled whole fish, and a great selection of wines - our dining experience was just what we were looking for.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 21, 2018

Had a lovely dinner with friends at The Black Olive. The restaurant has the feel of an authentic Greek taverna. Fresh fish from both the Chesapeake and from the Mediterranean are available and on display on ice, and upon request, will be de-boned tableside. It has been several years since I last visited this restaurant, but it is now back on my list to dine more frequently.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 14, 2018

splendid dinner, party of 4. outstanding Dover sole - not easy to find. you have to go to Greece to equal the small plates/appetizer offerings - well prepared/constructed. this is not a Sysco frozen food restaurant - highly recommended.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 11, 2018

We had a large group and they took very good care of us. The food as always was fantastic!!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 7, 2018

The speed of the food coming out was painfully slow. The tartar was too spicy & more like cerviche. Nothing was adjusted or done once I commented about slowness. Using the open table gift card was a chore b/c waitress did not know what to do.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 6, 2018

The fish was impeccable and delicious but the restaurant has extremely limited beer offerings and my salad was unimpressive, especially for the price. It was overdressed and inelegantly plated.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 5, 2018

Excellent food, excellent atmosphere, a good place for one on one discussion.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

There were 4 of us. We all had a truly wonderful time and the food exceeded our expectations. Our waiter was a real cool guy who laughed our jokes and shared a few of his own. We got a tour of the kitchen and were shown the different types of fish on ice. Although my fish was grilled whole, my waiter filleted it at the table, at his suggestion. I can only give The Black Olive the highest rating possible!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

My husband and had a lovely date at Black Olive on Easter and the food and service we as nice as we expected!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 31, 2018

We had a wonderful time at the Black Olive ! The food was delicious !

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 31, 2018

The food was amazing. Delicious, extraordinary. I was a single person so they sat me in a back room. with a view of a back porch closed up for the winter. They asked me if I wanted still water or sparkling and the still water was $7. I had to pour my own. I told the waitress I wanted wine with dinner and had to remind her.
But the food was some of the best I have ever had and worth the less than pleasant room and service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 30, 2018

I use the Black Olive restaurant for one on one business conversation at the final stage of trying to recruit top faculty talent to Johns Hopkins :)

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 24, 2018

Took me 20 minutes to find parking. It was a busy Saturday night so the overall service was slow. The grilled octopus salad was slightly over cooked, the sardines wrapped in grape leaves was good. The main course arrived an hour later the fish was excellent, the fillet mignon was cooked rare instead of the requested medium. It was sent back &!was returned still rare. Our desserts and coffee were comped . My main complaint was the very slow service.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 24, 2018

We love taking our friends and clients (both from in town and out of town) to The Black Olive. The fact that you can pick the actual fish you will be eating is wonderful. The Dover Sole was so flavorful and well prepared. The grilled octopus salad is always a favorite of ours. The Baklava ice cream tasted just like the pastry! Delicious!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 23, 2018

The Black Olive was one of our favorite restaurants, been there lots of times. It was our go to place for great seafood. Not anymore. It is not the same. The menu has changed. The portions are smaller and the prices are higher. I usually get the sampler appetizer as my dinner. It has a little bit of everything. The plate was half the size it used to be and had no shrimp on it as it did previously. The worst part was the service. It should not take over two hours for dinner. It was 25 minutes before they took our drink order. Almost an hour for our appetizers and 2 hours after we sat down for our dinner to arrive. Not acceptable. We love there dessert sampler but did not get it due to the long wait for everything else. The food was decent but not worth the long wait or the price. I'm not sure if they changed ownership or they are under new management. All I know is we won't be back.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 22, 2018

Very good food and creative menu. Unfortunately, the restaurant was out of two entrée choices we made, and one dessert choice. That is either very bad luck or it is often out of things.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 20, 2018

Lovely in every possible way! Fresh fish, beautiful presentation, and wonderful service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 19, 2018

It is always a great experience and good food.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 11, 2018

Extremely DIFFICULT for a disabled person or elderly as there is no VALET or easy access to parking!

At $ 240 for 2 I EXPECT one or the other.

The server was impeccably professional

The grilled octopus is undersized and has a rather ridiculous pile of red onion to mask this.

A village salad again was less than generous (four slices of cucumber, three olives and two minuscule slivers of feta) really? The tomatoes were divine.

Both the Dover sole and Bronzini were delicious and served at table!

Overpriced, unimaginative and extremely difficult to get in the door.

Save your money. Try Samos in Greek Town--you'll feed 6 at that price and your guests will be just as happy.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 11, 2018

The Black Olive can always be counted on to provide fresh, well prepared seafood as well as traditional Greek plates. This visit was no exception. After sharing the saganaki plate (grilled halloumi cheese and thinly sliced zucchini) and grilled sardines in grape leaves (very nice size sardines that were tender and salty)--both delicious. My husband enjoyed a grilled bronzini and I had the lamp chops and crab cake. I would not normally order a crab cake, but after touring the fresh fish and seeing this cake that lacked filler I could not resist pairing it with the fresh beautiful lamb chops. Both were seasoned beautifully to let the produce shine. Bonus--I keep a gluten-free diet and the crab cake is gluten free--that alone should tell you that it is free of filler.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 9, 2018

My wife and I had missed lunch at the Black Olive and were anxious to try it again now that lunch is back. We both had the $20 prix fixe lunch with a supplement for the grilled octopus salad. We consider that dish to be one of the best in town. The rest of the meal was also very good. Although new, our server was pleasant and attentive. A great lunch! We hope they keep it up.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
60

Tweets by Black Olive