About Black Angus Steakhouse - Fresno

1737 E. Shaw Avenue
Fresno, CA 93710
View Larger Map

Great for steak and so much more… Black Angus Steakhouse has built its reputation on providing a Genuine American Steakhouse experience to remember. Our Chefs are proud to serve only Black Angus steaks that are carefully aged, fresh-cut daily, and grilled over an open flame.



Our other specialties include a variety of succulent seafood, fall-off-the-bone Baby Back Ribs and our famous slow-roasted Prime Rib. Whatever you're craving, we pride ourselves at Black Angus Steakhouse for superior quality, friendly service, and great food. It's more than a tradition - it's our passion every day. Black Angus offers a full array of menu items that are naturally gluten free. Ask for their Gluten Free Trail Map.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, American

Hours of Operation:

Dinner: Monday - Friday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm, Saturday: 11:00am - 10:00pm, Sunday: 11:00am - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Cedar

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(559) 224-2205

Website:
http://www.blackangus.com/

Entertainment:
This Black Angus Steakhouse features a casual sports bar concept within the restaurant which boasts 10 to 12 hi-def flat screen TVs and offers various types of viewing zones. Each seat in the bar offers Guests the ability to watch different sporting events simultaneously. Free Wi-Fi is also available for fantasy sports players, as well as an ongoing calendar of sports-related promotions and contests.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Why wait for the weekend?!

MONDAY – FRIDAY: Best Happy Hour in town! Let loose from 3pm to 7pm in our bar and enjoy $3.50, $4.50 and $5.50 Drink and Full-Size appetizer specials.

TUESDAYS and SUNDAYS: Happy Tuesday and Sunday with Happy Hour from Open - Close in the bar.

WEDNESDAYS: Join us every Wednesday for our signature slow-roasted Prime Rib dinner and Sky-High Mud Pie dessert for only $18.99.


For exclusive offers and the latest Black Angus Steakhouse news delivered directly to your email inbox, click here (http://www.blackangus.com/primeclub/) to join the Prime Club.

Black Angus Steakhouse - Fresno Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.3

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Value
Fresno / San Joaquin Valley
Special Occasion
Fresno / San Joaquin Valley
Most Booked
Fresno / San Joaquin Valley
1 More
Most Booked
Fresno
Best Restaurants in Fresno ›

Special Occasion (37)
Good for Anniversaries (33)
Good for Birthdays (31)
See All
Good for a Date (30)
Casual (30)
Family Style (27)
Good for Groups (21)
Quiet Conversation (21)
Cozy (20)
Comfort Food (20)
Bar Seating (17)
Outstanding Value (17)
Romantic (16)
Business Meals (15)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Fun (11)
Authentic (10)
Worth the Drive (9)
Happy Hour (9)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Disabled Access (8)
Kid-friendly (7)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Live Sports (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Great for Brunch (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Great Beer (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Healthy (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Seasonal (4)
Hot Spot (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Late-night Find (3)
People Watching (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Local Ingredients (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Historic (2)
Private Room (2)
Spicy (1)
Fireplace (1)
Dancing (1)
Tapas (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Sort By:
S
534 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

As usual, the food was excellent this ti ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined 4 days ago

As usual, the food was excellent this time. However, the service was below average at best. We arrived relatively early (5:30) and there were very few customers at the time. We were also seated right away. However, either you were understaffed this evening, or our assigned server didn't bother to serve us well. He was there to take our orders promptly, but did not return with our meals on a timely basis. Further, I asked for coffee when we ordered, but was not offered a refill until our meals arrived (again, quite tardily), and then not again after that. Finally, we finished our meals well, well before the check arrived, and once it did, he did not return to settle our bill for 20-30 minutes--our friends, who paid the bill this time, almost left the table to search out our server so we could pay and leave. Thus, the food was quite good as usual, but the service this time was not.

Tags: Authentic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value5

We've had mixed results here. It can be ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined 5 days ago

We've had mixed results here. It can be good. Service needs to be more consistent. The bathrooms were a mess. Management needs to take care of these issues.

Tags: Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Live Sports, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

The food was very good and it was enjoya ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined 6 days ago

The food was very good and it was enjoyable to be able to sit down to a outstanding meal. The service was outstanding and our waiter was very respectful and knowledgeable. We will be back again in the not to distant future.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Family Style, Fireplace, Fun, Special Occasion, Healthy, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Disabled Access, Gluten Free Options, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had an amazing experience we were seated ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Had an amazing experience we were seated right away and our food took 10 minutes to get to our table hot and fresh our steak was cooked perfectly and everything was delicious definitely will be returning soon!!

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our go to for a good meal and good drink ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Our go to for a good meal and good drinks. Had a reservation, was sat quickly. Server was good.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Cozy, Disabled Access, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Happy Hour, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I was completely disappointed. We made a ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on November 25, 2016

I was completely disappointed. We made a reservation for 8 and when we arrived they said they were behind. Well we waited 30 minutes extra and to be frank the restaraunt was no way near full. They were understaffed and it was obvious no one wanted to be working. Our food took forever and the potato soup was sour. They steak was dry and the waitress was in such a hurry, she didnt even hear me order for my son even though she repeated the order to me at the time. They were rude and i cant believe that this is black angus first and last time ill ever eat at the frenso location.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

You may find a place with better steak, ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on November 25, 2016

You may find a place with better steak, but!!! Black Angus has always been GREAT service. Always a good choice.

Tags: Great Beer, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

very good food but in the end it took a ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 25, 2016

very good food but in the end it took a while for server to wait on us in the end it was someone else handing us the bill and boxes. During dinner no refills were given

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Casual, Worth the Drive, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value5

It was very crowded for Thanksgiving, bu ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on November 25, 2016

It was very crowded for Thanksgiving, but waiting was minimal. Service was good. I would have liked marshmallows on the yams though and more gravy on potatoes and meat.

Tags: Comfort Food, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Family Style, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value5

Great Restaurant. Have been eating there ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Great Restaurant. Have been eating there since it opened. Great staff. not too loud. Good for relaxed evening dining. Can accommodate groups. Food changes often and is very good for the money.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Disabled Access, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Thanksgiving dinner at Black Angus h ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on November 24, 2016

The Thanksgiving dinner at Black Angus has become a traditional for us. However this time the turkey plate was quite bland and the pumpkin pie tasted like dish soap. One if us ordered a filet minion for $24 which was the size of a silver dollar. While the atmosphere and the service is always excellent, the food was disappointing this time.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Cozy, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

We had our Thankgiving meal there, which ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We had our Thankgiving meal there, which we have done for at least the past 6 years.

We have always had excellent food and service, we do order from the menu rather the the traditional Turkey dinner, however friends who have been with us have said the Turkey dinner is very good. I had the wedge salad and I have to say it was the best one I have ever eaten, and I have eaten lots of them at various restaurants, your au gratin potatoes as usual were excellent as was the salmon I ordered, and I requested it be cooked fully with no translucence and it was perfect. my husband had a charred rare T Bone steak which also was cooked too perfection.

Our waitress was wonderful and your manager Seth stopped by our table to visit and we enjoyed a nice conversation with.

See you next year, if not before.

Tags: Business Meals, Family Style, Seasonal, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The server appeared to not care. Next ti ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on November 24, 2016

The server appeared to not care. Next time I will ask to sit in Mitch's section...she's the best!! Both steaks were under done..we did not send back. Asparagus was burnt...didn't complain. Coffee was cold..had to ask twice for cream. I really love going to your restaurant..and will in the future. But Thursdays dining experience was a downer. 😞

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

I was EXTREMELY Disappointed with this v ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on November 24, 2016

I was EXTREMELY Disappointed with this visit to Black Angus. I took a friend from out of town to delight in your usually Delicious Food, and made a reservation WEEKS IN ADVANCE. 1st thing, we had to wait for about 10 mins., then we were seated in your BAR @ a "Broken table" (two tables)..the food was not very good...it took FOREVER, and there was NO SEASONING on the veggies, and no replenishment on drinks; the Waitress acted like we were in her way sort of...we had just a party of 2, I guess she wanted a bigger party. I spent $80 that night, for steak, and unseasoned bland veggies & potato, and Hard Bread.I called the next week, after my company had left, and spoke with a young man who said he was the Mgr. he said "Oh, well on Thanksgiving, you HAVE to sit in the bar!" However, the bigger parties were being readily seated in the Restaurant. We had a GREAT Choice of things to look at, the Football game on 3 of the TV's or the Parade on another. The past 2 years I have had a guest meet me at the Black Angus for my treat on Thanksgiving....this has NEVER happened before....after I told the "Mgr." my story, he said he would need to speak with his Supervisor & see if here was something he could "do about it"...to make it "better" for me????

He took my name & number...thqt was on 11/28 or 29,it is 12/2/16 now, and I have never heard a word.

Prior to this, I would have told ANYONE who would care to listen how WONDERFUL Black Angus is, food and service, and ambiance...unfortunately, I cannot say that anymoe. Now, I am sure you are sorry you asked!? All I would recommend to anyone going to have a special dinner there is to MAKE SURE you aren't seated in the Bar..... :(

Thank you for caring enough to ask how my experience was...wish I could have told you better information.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

I knew it was going to be busy - so over ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on November 24, 2016

I knew it was going to be busy - so overall it was good. We have definitely had better at this establishment.

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

We had a reservation, but didn't really ...

 
 (Yosemite)·Dined on November 22, 2016

We had a reservation, but didn't really need one as the restaurant was only about a third full at 6:30 on this weeknight. As we were seated, we told them that it was our anniversary. We then sat there for 20 min without contact from anyone. I finally waved down a waiter to take our order. After waiting another 15 min for our drinks, I reminded the waiter that we had ordered drinks. At that point she finally jumped on it. The food came another 10-15 min later. The food was great, once we finally got it. We may return there someday, but certainly not for a special occasion like our anniversary. Too frustrating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value4

Wonderful food and great service! I woul ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Wonderful food and great service! I would go back. We were on a date

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fun, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome service! Food was on point! Gre ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Awesome service! Food was on point! Great atmosphere. Courteous staff.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Good for a Date, Romantic, Family Style, Outstanding Value, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a great time. Waiter was courteous b ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Had a great time. Waiter was courteous but didn't houver. Food was great, especially since I was on weight watchers, plenty of good food available. Will defintely go again.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The iced tea was to strong and expensive ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on November 17, 2016

The iced tea was to strong and expensive. The service was good the server seemed to be new at the job. All in all it was a good experience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Everything was fine except for the reser ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Everything was fine except for the reservations. When we checked in they said we were late. I said that can't be, we're an hour early. They said they had us down for 2 pm, but we could be seated anyway. Then they asked if we wanted to wait for the rest of our party. I said what party, there's just the two of us. The girl checked and said "we have you down for party of 6 at 2 pm". I said no that's party of 2 at 6 pm. Other than that, everything was great.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value5

We regularly eat at Black Angus because ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on November 13, 2016

We regularly eat at Black Angus because the food and service are always excellent. The atmosphere is friendly, with seating that provides some privacy. We often use the coupons emailed to us, and so the meal is a great value!

Tags: Casual, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We made a reservation on open table for ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 12, 2016

We made a reservation on open table for a table of 6 at 700PM when we arrived at 630 they should they are 25 minutes behind reservation times. I checked open table for a reservation at a different restaurant I noticed they were still accepting reservations for 645 and 700 for a party of 6. (Should fix issue with open table so more reservations aren't being taken than the location can handle) We went to bar area to have a drink while we waiting for table after about 45 minutes we were able to get a table for 6 in the bar area. The service was excellent with how busy of a night that our waitress was having. One meal came out wrong. One person that ordered the T-bone received a prime rib. We didn't worry about changing order because food took so long to come out. Excellent experience just suggest fixing your reservation system.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value5

My steak was cooked properly but was not ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on November 12, 2016

My steak was cooked properly but was not even warm when it was served!!

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Slow service. Food was ok but over price ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Slow service. Food was ok but over priced

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

Thank you for the free dinner for vetera ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Thank you for the free dinner for veterans. My wife & I made reservations a couple days prior and we only waited a few minutes before being seated. The meals were very good and we love the quiet atmosphere of this restaurant. Thank you again from a veteran.

Tags: Cozy, Private Room, Molecular Gastronomy, Special Occasion, Disabled Access, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great time, with a party of 15, ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on November 7, 2016

We had a great time, with a party of 15, we were never without anything we needed! Good food cooked to perfection and friendly service!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Live Sports, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Seasonal, Healthy, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Family Style, Good for Groups, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

One of our favorite restaurants. Food i ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 6, 2016

One of our favorite restaurants. Food is always good and great prices. Service is always friendly and exceptional and they take care of our your needs. Our waitress "Nicki" was the best. Thank you.

Tags: Casual, Comfort Food, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Our dinner was delicious. Everything was ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Our dinner was delicious. Everything was cooked perfectly.

Tags: Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Food was great for the price. Our server ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Food was great for the price. Our server was awesome.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great food and (with coupon) a great pri ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Great food and (with coupon) a great price. We took my father-in-law out for his 96th birthday and we all enjoyed ourselves. The

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Great for Brunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The last three months I have had a rib-e ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 1, 2016

The last three months I have had a rib-eye at Westwoods, Harris Ranch and Black Angus. BlackAngus was by far the tastiest, and the lowest price, the best value by far! 1/3 the cost of Ruth's Chris. My Wife rates the same for the Filet, our 1st choice for a steak house

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Family Style, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

From happy hour through Campfire Dinner, ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 26, 2016

From happy hour through Campfire Dinner, we enjoyed. We're regulars and good food and drinks plus attentive service and great value are why.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Outstanding Value, Cozy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Our server was superb. We've never had ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Our server was superb. We've never had such personal, caring service before very attentive, great personality, winning smile, smelt fantabulous, made are evening more than pleasant!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We had a 5:00pm reservation and didn't g ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on October 17, 2016

We had a 5:00pm reservation and didn't get seated until 5:20. People came in after us got seated first. Not a memory making anniversery

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Waiter Eric provided great service. Foo ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Waiter Eric provided great service. Food was very good. Parking was pretty crammed due to football game. Nice evening out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We enjoy coming here to have good food a ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on October 15, 2016

We enjoy coming here to have good food and good conversations with friends.

Tags: Great Beer, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Outstanding Value, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Minimal wait to be seated, quick & accur ...

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 10, 2016

Minimal wait to be seated, quick & accurate service, predictable & tasty choices, and

accurate billing as usual, thanks!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was good as it always is. Howev ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on October 9, 2016

The food was good as it always is. However the service was surprisingly slow. A family that was seated 10 mins after us was finishing their dessert before our entrees were served.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1

Celebrating two birthdays. We go there ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Celebrating two birthdays. We go there on special occasions; and the waitress remembered us from the last time, which would have been months ago. We were able to visit without any hurry to leave.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.