About Black Angus Steakhouse - Fresno

1737 E. Shaw Avenue
Fresno, CA 93710
View Larger Map

Great for steak and so much more… Black Angus Steakhouse has built its reputation on providing a Genuine American Steakhouse experience to remember. Our Chefs are proud to serve only Black Angus steaks that are carefully aged, fresh-cut daily, and grilled over an open flame.



Our other specialties include a variety of succulent seafood, fall-off-the-bone Baby Back Ribs and our famous slow-roasted Prime Rib. Whatever you're craving, we pride ourselves at Black Angus Steakhouse for superior quality, friendly service, and great food. It's more than a tradition - it's our passion every day. Black Angus offers a full array of menu items that are naturally gluten free. Ask for their Gluten Free Trail Map.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, American

Hours of Operation:

Dinner: Monday - Friday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm, Saturday: 11:00am - 10:00pm, Sunday: 11:00am - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Cedar

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(559) 224-2205

Website:
http://www.blackangus.com/

Entertainment:
This Black Angus Steakhouse features a casual sports bar concept within the restaurant which boasts 10 to 12 hi-def flat screen TVs and offers various types of viewing zones. Each seat in the bar offers Guests the ability to watch different sporting events simultaneously. Free Wi-Fi is also available for fantasy sports players, as well as an ongoing calendar of sports-related promotions and contests.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Why wait for the weekend?!

MONDAY – FRIDAY: Best Happy Hour in town! Let loose from 3pm to 7pm in our bar and enjoy $3.50, $4.50 and $5.50 Drink and Full-Size appetizer specials.

TUESDAYS and SUNDAYS: Happy Tuesday and Sunday with Happy Hour from Open - Close in the bar.

WEDNESDAYS: Join us every Wednesday for our signature slow-roasted Prime Rib dinner and Sky-High Mud Pie dessert for only $18.99.


For exclusive offers and the latest Black Angus Steakhouse news delivered directly to your email inbox, click here (http://www.blackangus.com/primeclub/) to join the Prime Club.

Black Angus Steakhouse - Fresno Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.3

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (44)
Good for Birthdays (40)
Good for Anniversaries (39)
See All
Good for a Date (37)
Casual (30)
Good for Groups (25)
Family Style (23)
Quiet Conversation (22)
Comfort Food (20)
Bar Seating (20)
Cozy (20)
Outstanding Value (19)
Business Meals (17)
Romantic (15)
Worth the Drive (14)
Happy Hour (13)
Fun (13)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Kid-friendly (10)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Authentic (8)
Disabled Access (8)
Healthy (8)
Live Sports (7)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Tasting Menu (6)
Great Beer (6)
People Watching (6)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Seasonal (6)
Great for Brunch (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Modern Decor (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Private Room (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Hot Spot (2)
Dancing (2)
Spicy (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Fireplace (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Tapas (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Scenic View (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Historic (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
574 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We always enjoy the food and the service ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined 5 days ago

We always enjoy the food and the service is great.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Worth the Drive, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I dine out frequently. Of a ...

vip
 (San Joaquin)·Dined 6 days ago

My wife and I dine out frequently. Of all the places we eat this is my favorite.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our favorite place to dine, mainly becau ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Our favorite place to dine, mainly because of your quiet, comfortable booths. Caesar salad brings us in when we are undecided.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great New Year's Day Lunch! Great food a ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great New Year's Day Lunch! Great food and great service as usual!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Used OpenTable reservation for the first ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Used OpenTable reservation for the first time and was very pleased. We were seated at our reserved time. Our table server Michelle "Mitch" was excellent. The steak was cooked as requested. We will be back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Cozy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was New Year's Eve and it was extrem ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on January 1, 2017

It was New Year's Eve and it was extremely busy. We were their 6:45p and reservations were for 7 p. We were seated at 7 p in the bar area. Our waitress was Natalie and she was wonderful. Friendly and great service and the food was amazing. Always love eating there especially on New Year's Eve.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Your lobster was good and cooked just ri ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Your lobster was good and cooked just right. Much bigger than I've had in the past.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Really appreciate the service and the pr ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Really appreciate the service and the promptness for our reservation. The food was great!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Paleo Friendly, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was beyond excellent food was so ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Service was beyond excellent food was so good my steak was done to perfection and was great good value my wife and I had the campfire feast for two and had plenty of food highly recommend

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a greaT time at dinner. Everythin ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We had a greaT time at dinner. Everything was exceptional!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was abominable. The server had o ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Service was abominable. The server had only three tables so far as we could tell and everything took far longer than it should have. There were only two of us and the dinner took over two hours - mind you, this isn't a restaurant where you expect to spend a leisurely two hour meal - this is a steakhouse. And on that note, the filet mignon was order medium-well, and arrived rare and came back medium rare. Had to be sent back twice. Black Angus used to be an excellent choice for a good steak dinner, but "how the mighty have fallen." Far better choices in the Fresno-Clovis area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value2

The food and service is always great her ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on December 25, 2016

The food and service is always great here. There are few restaurants where you can actually enjoy a quiet meal. I have been a fan of this restaurant for years and will always continue to dine here. This is on my Favorites List.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Healthy, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We got our seating fairly close to our r ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We got our seating fairly close to our reservation time. Drink order was taken. After we ordered, appetizers came in a reasonable time, but the window of time to wait for our entrees was pretty lengthy. The restaurant wasn't packed at that time. Food orders came out nicely, and all guests were pleased with food, once it was delivered. Server, a veteran employee, was very accommodating, and served us well. She did a great job throughout our dining experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Great food and great service. I would co ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Great food and great service. I would come again. We come every year for xmas eve. and have never been disappointed. Thanks, our group had a great time.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The employees were great. Food was good ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 25, 2016

The employees were great. Food was good. Restaurant was clean and festive. Good ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our Christmas Eve dinner was awesome and ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Our Christmas Eve dinner was awesome and the service excellent. My family loved the grilled artichokes appetizer and the steak and lobster tails were great. Thank you for a wonderful Holiday dinner!

Tags: Special Occasion, Live Sports, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This wasn't even worth one star. Made r ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 24, 2016

This wasn't even worth one star. Made reservations for Christmas Eve afternoon 2pm on line one week before. Then followed up with a call to make sure reservation was received which was confirmed. Less than 24 hours before arrival, received phone call that dining room doesn't open until 3 pm. Too late to find reservations elsewhere. We were seated in the bar. Server forgot to bring place settings. We waited several minutes. She finally asked another server to bring our utensils and we waited several more minutes. The 12 oz ribeye steaks didn't even look like ribeye. Looked and shaped like thin - maybe at best 1/4" thick large in diameter - over cooked tough flank steak or left over thinly cut over cooked prime rib?? No marble what so ever and so tough. hard to cut with steak knife. One person ordered the ribs which seemed left over from the day before. The bread was dry and appeared left over from day before. Caesar salads had little or no dressing. Honestly, It seemed like everything could have been left over from the day before and they hadn't yet gotten around to making new salad dressing. Very bad experience. Manager offered to redo the steaks. But could not guarantee better results. She suggested the filet mignon. I don't like filet i like ribeye. Sometime ago at the same restaurant, my dad sent a steak back only to have the second one come back with same results. Awful experience. Never going back. Would give 0 star if

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

Great place, great food and service. Env ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Great place, great food and service. Environment I very plain, bland and boring. You need to add some more deco to spice things up.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5

My wife and I have dined at the Black An ...

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 22, 2016

My wife and I have dined at the Black Angus 33 times this year and has always been outstanding. We are holding my wife's Birthday party there just after Christmas.

The booths are high and well padded so we can have a good conversation with little noise.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

I ordered the Prime Rib, it was served a ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on December 18, 2016

I ordered the Prime Rib, it was served about 1/8" thick. I never had Prime Rib that thin of a slice, unless it was in a sandwich. It wasn't a very large piece either. Waitress said, it is by weight, 8oz. I will not go there for Prime Rib again or recommend others to try the Prime Rib.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

I reserved a table of 15 and we were tre ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on December 16, 2016

I reserved a table of 15 and we were treated like royalty. Great food, great services and a great deal on the City Slicker dinner. Would definitely do this again with coworkers, family or friends.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, Live Sports, Fun, Seasonal, , Special Occasion, Authentic, Casual, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Afternoon Tea, Notable Wine List, Family Style, Private Room, Romantic, Spicy, Good Vegetarian Options, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Great Beer, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

We eat there monthly and have never had ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 16, 2016

We eat there monthly and have never had a bad meal. The staff is very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a WONDERFUL time. It was our mont ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on December 10, 2016

We had a WONDERFUL time. It was our monthly get-together with long-time friends. The food was delicious and the service was excellent!

Tags: Seasonal, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Sunday Lunch, Tasting Menu, Quick Bite, Wood Oven, Comfort Food, Gluten Free Options, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Business Meals, Great Beer, , Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Fun, Late-night Find, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre, Modern Decor, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As usual, the food was excellent this ti ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 6, 2016

As usual, the food was excellent this time. However, the service was below average at best. We arrived relatively early (5:30) and there were very few customers at the time. We were also seated right away. However, either you were understaffed this evening, or our assigned server didn't bother to serve us well. He was there to take our orders promptly, but did not return with our meals on a timely basis. Further, I asked for coffee when we ordered, but was not offered a refill until our meals arrived (again, quite tardily), and then not again after that. Finally, we finished our meals well, well before the check arrived, and once it did, he did not return to settle our bill for 20-30 minutes--our friends, who paid the bill this time, almost left the table to search out our server so we could pay and leave. Thus, the food was quite good as usual, but the service this time was not.

Tags: Authentic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value5

We've had mixed results here. It can be ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on December 5, 2016

We've had mixed results here. It can be good. Service needs to be more consistent. The bathrooms were a mess. Management needs to take care of these issues.

Tags: Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Live Sports, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

The food was very good and it was enjoya ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on December 4, 2016

The food was very good and it was enjoyable to be able to sit down to a outstanding meal. The service was outstanding and our waiter was very respectful and knowledgeable. We will be back again in the not to distant future.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Family Style, Fireplace, Fun, Special Occasion, Healthy, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Disabled Access, Gluten Free Options, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant always serves up good fo ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on November 29, 2016

This restaurant always serves up good food and a good, quiet atmosphere. Almost no matter where you are seated, you feel like you have privacy. We have never had a bad food experience at this place. The waitress was great!

Tags: Special Occasion, Disabled Access, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had an amazing experience we were seated ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Had an amazing experience we were seated right away and our food took 10 minutes to get to our table hot and fresh our steak was cooked perfectly and everything was delicious definitely will be returning soon!!

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our go to for a good meal and good drink ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Our go to for a good meal and good drinks. Had a reservation, was sat quickly. Server was good.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Cozy, Disabled Access, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Happy Hour, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I was completely disappointed. We made a ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on November 25, 2016

I was completely disappointed. We made a reservation for 8 and when we arrived they said they were behind. Well we waited 30 minutes extra and to be frank the restaraunt was no way near full. They were understaffed and it was obvious no one wanted to be working. Our food took forever and the potato soup was sour. They steak was dry and the waitress was in such a hurry, she didnt even hear me order for my son even though she repeated the order to me at the time. They were rude and i cant believe that this is black angus first and last time ill ever eat at the frenso location.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

You may find a place with better steak, ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on November 25, 2016

You may find a place with better steak, but!!! Black Angus has always been GREAT service. Always a good choice.

Tags: Great Beer, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

very good food but in the end it took a ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 25, 2016

very good food but in the end it took a while for server to wait on us in the end it was someone else handing us the bill and boxes. During dinner no refills were given

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Casual, Worth the Drive, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value5

It was very crowded for Thanksgiving, bu ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on November 25, 2016

It was very crowded for Thanksgiving, but waiting was minimal. Service was good. I would have liked marshmallows on the yams though and more gravy on potatoes and meat.

Tags: Comfort Food, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Family Style, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value5

Great Restaurant. Have been eating there ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Great Restaurant. Have been eating there since it opened. Great staff. not too loud. Good for relaxed evening dining. Can accommodate groups. Food changes often and is very good for the money.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, , Disabled Access, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Thanksgiving dinner at Black Angus h ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on November 24, 2016

The Thanksgiving dinner at Black Angus has become a traditional for us. However this time the turkey plate was quite bland and the pumpkin pie tasted like dish soap. One if us ordered a filet minion for $24 which was the size of a silver dollar. While the atmosphere and the service is always excellent, the food was disappointing this time.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Cozy, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

We had our Thankgiving meal there, which ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We had our Thankgiving meal there, which we have done for at least the past 6 years.

We have always had excellent food and service, we do order from the menu rather the the traditional Turkey dinner, however friends who have been with us have said the Turkey dinner is very good. I had the wedge salad and I have to say it was the best one I have ever eaten, and I have eaten lots of them at various restaurants, your au gratin potatoes as usual were excellent as was the salmon I ordered, and I requested it be cooked fully with no translucence and it was perfect. my husband had a charred rare T Bone steak which also was cooked too perfection.

Our waitress was wonderful and your manager Seth stopped by our table to visit and we enjoyed a nice conversation with.

See you next year, if not before.

Tags: Business Meals, Family Style, Seasonal, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The server appeared to not care. Next ti ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on November 24, 2016

The server appeared to not care. Next time I will ask to sit in Mitch's section...she's the best!! Both steaks were under done..we did not send back. Asparagus was burnt...didn't complain. Coffee was cold..had to ask twice for cream. I really love going to your restaurant..and will in the future. But Thursdays dining experience was a downer. 😞

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

I was EXTREMELY Disappointed with this v ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on November 24, 2016

I was EXTREMELY Disappointed with this visit to Black Angus. I took a friend from out of town to delight in your usually Delicious Food, and made a reservation WEEKS IN ADVANCE. 1st thing, we had to wait for about 10 mins., then we were seated in your BAR @ a "Broken table" (two tables)..the food was not very good...it took FOREVER, and there was NO SEASONING on the veggies, and no replenishment on drinks; the Waitress acted like we were in her way sort of...we had just a party of 2, I guess she wanted a bigger party. I spent $80 that night, for steak, and unseasoned bland veggies & potato, and Hard Bread.I called the next week, after my company had left, and spoke with a young man who said he was the Mgr. he said "Oh, well on Thanksgiving, you HAVE to sit in the bar!" However, the bigger parties were being readily seated in the Restaurant. We had a GREAT Choice of things to look at, the Football game on 3 of the TV's or the Parade on another. The past 2 years I have had a guest meet me at the Black Angus for my treat on Thanksgiving....this has NEVER happened before....after I told the "Mgr." my story, he said he would need to speak with his Supervisor & see if here was something he could "do about it"...to make it "better" for me????

He took my name & number...thqt was on 11/28 or 29,it is 12/2/16 now, and I have never heard a word.

Prior to this, I would have told ANYONE who would care to listen how WONDERFUL Black Angus is, food and service, and ambiance...unfortunately, I cannot say that anymoe. Now, I am sure you are sorry you asked!? All I would recommend to anyone going to have a special dinner there is to MAKE SURE you aren't seated in the Bar..... :(

Thank you for caring enough to ask how my experience was...wish I could have told you better information.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

I knew it was going to be busy - so over ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on November 24, 2016

I knew it was going to be busy - so overall it was good. We have definitely had better at this establishment.

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

We had a reservation, but didn't really ...

 
 (Yosemite)·Dined on November 22, 2016

We had a reservation, but didn't really need one as the restaurant was only about a third full at 6:30 on this weeknight. As we were seated, we told them that it was our anniversary. We then sat there for 20 min without contact from anyone. I finally waved down a waiter to take our order. After waiting another 15 min for our drinks, I reminded the waiter that we had ordered drinks. At that point she finally jumped on it. The food came another 10-15 min later. The food was great, once we finally got it. We may return there someday, but certainly not for a special occasion like our anniversary. Too frustrating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.