Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.46mi
  3. Distance: 0.48mi
  4. Distance: 0.59mi
  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.46mi
  3. Distance: 0.48mi
  4. Distance: 0.59mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.46mi
  3. Distance: 0.48mi
  4. Distance: 0.59mi
  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.46mi
  3. Distance: 0.48mi
  4. Distance: 0.59mi

About Black Angus Steakhouse - Fresno

Great for steak and so much more… Black Angus Steakhouse has built its reputation on providing a Genuine American Steakhouse experience to remember. Our Chefs are proud to serve only Black Angus steaks that are carefully aged, fresh-cut daily, and grilled over an open flame.



Our other specialties include a variety of succulent seafood, fall-off-the-bone Baby Back Ribs and our famous slow-roasted Prime Rib. Whatever you're craving, we pride ourselves at Black Angus Steakhouse for superior quality, friendly service, and great food. It's more than a tradition - it's our passion every day. Black Angus offers a full array of menu items that are naturally gluten free. Ask for their Gluten Free Trail Map.

1737 E. Shaw Avenue
Fresno, CA 93710
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, American

Hours of Operation:

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 3:00pm - 9:30pm, Friday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm Saturday: 12:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 12:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Cedar

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(559) 224-2205

Website:
http://www.blackangus.com/

Entertainment:
This Black Angus Steakhouse features a casual sports bar concept within the restaurant which boasts 10 to 12 hi-def flat screen TVs and offers various types of viewing zones. Each seat in the bar offers Guests the ability to watch different sporting events simultaneously. Free Wi-Fi is also available for fantasy sports players, as well as an ongoing calendar of sports-related promotions and contests.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Why wait for the weekend?!

MONDAY – FRIDAY: Best Happy Hour in town! Let loose from 3pm to 7pm in our bar and enjoy $3.50, $4.50 and $5.50 Drink and Full-Size appetizer specials.

TUESDAYS and SUNDAYS: Happy Tuesday and Sunday with Happy Hour from Open - Close in the bar.

WEDNESDAYS: Join us every Wednesday for our signature slow-roasted Prime Rib dinner and Sky-High Mud Pie dessert for only $18.99.


For exclusive offers and the latest Black Angus Steakhouse news delivered directly to your email inbox, click here (http://www.blackangus.com/primeclub/) to join the Prime Club.

Black Angus Steakhouse - Fresno Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.2

ambience

4.2

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (43)
Good for Birthdays (43)
Good for Anniversaries (32)
See All
Good for a Date (30)
Casual (30)
Cozy (25)
Good for Groups (25)
Quiet Conversation (22)
Bar Seating (21)
Family Style (21)
Comfort Food (21)
Romantic (20)
Happy Hour (19)
Worth the Drive (17)
Kid-friendly (15)
Outstanding Value (14)
Business Meals (13)
Fun (12)
Disabled Access (8)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Live Sports (7)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Tasting Menu (7)
People Watching (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Healthy (5)
Great Beer (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Authentic (4)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Seasonal (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Fireplace (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Scenic View (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Private Room (1)
Spicy (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Dancing (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Sort By:
S
611 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 2 days ago

As usual-service by Dave was great-very attentive to our needs, water fill ups, check on frequently, served food as we desired, and check on us to make sure dishes were cooked to perfection.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 3 days ago

Would like to see more locations. Have to come from Visalia (40 mi).

Tags: Casual, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined 4 days ago

It was my mother's birthday and she likes to go to Black Angus because the food is consistently good and the service is always good! Reservations are suggested otherwise you will either be waiting if it is the dinner hours or eating in the bar.
My only suggestion for Black Angus is to include more vegan options. More people are turning to plant based diets due to either health concerns or animal ethics.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined 5 days ago

This was not the best meal that we have had at Black Angus. The service this time was not as good as it has been before. Several times before this experience everything was outstanding. Although this particular day was on a sub-par level we would still go back and give it another try. Sometimes these things just happen.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Kid-friendly, Casual, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on March 18, 2017

The prime rib was outstanding overall experience was exceptional

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Disabled Access, Great Beer, Live Sports, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 18, 2017

I've always enjoyed eating here, but I was a little disappointed in the rib eye I was served on this occasion. The steak contained a lot of fat and grissel. There was probably 1/3 of the steak I could not eat which made the price seem a bit unfair.

Tags: Fun, Cozy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Overall this is a great restaurant and a perfect place for everyday dining, special occasions and get-togethers.

Tags: Bar Seating, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Food is always great. Don't have to wait for a table very long. Have had some very good service from employees.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Cozy, Special Occasion, Casual, Family Style, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on March 6, 2017

Always friendly greeting at door and service has always been GREAT. Thank You all at Black Angus at the Fresno and Shaw location

Tags: Worth the Drive, Cozy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Comfort Food, Family Style, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Fun, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Disabled Access, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Reservations were easy. We arrived and were seated within 5 minutes. The waitress seemed a little distracted and missed us on drink refills and cleaning our plates away before desert. Food was great and the amounts were more than enough.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on March 4, 2017

We are never disappointed with Black Angus in Fresno - great staff, food & drink options and value!

Tags: Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on March 1, 2017

got a booth as requested however it was right across from a table with small loud children , which was not on the agenda. We had to shift in the booth not to look directly into their face.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Great food. Kind of pricey. Well worth the extra money though!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on February 25, 2017

It took quite awhile to get our food. Good thing we weren't in a hurry. The grilled artichoke appetizer took half an hour but it was very tasty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on February 20, 2017

The food and service was very good.
Only complaint was it was cold had to leave our jackets on.

Tags: Happy Hour, Disabled Access, Kid-friendly, People Watching, Great Beer, Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Business Meals, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Love the privacy of the restaurant we had a booth and the booths are rather tall so you don't see the people to either side or behind you you can actually hear the conversation going on at your table it was very enjoyable

Tags: Special Occasion, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 18, 2017

I see a marked improvement since 8 months ago on my last visit steak and lobster was terrific service was Wonderful

Tags: Family Style, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Recently experienced my first time dining at Black Angus and I cannot WAIT to go back! The food was absolutely delicious. I ordered the ribeye and it was full of flavor and cooked to perfection. My husband ordered the Prime Rib and was very impressed with the flavor and cut. (That says a lot!)

The Steakhouse Chili Nachos appetizer is a MUST. They are now in my top three best nachos of all time.

The decor is cowboy themed and rustic with dim lighting but not so dark you can't see the menu. Great ambiance.

Will definitely be returning to give Happy Hour a try!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on February 15, 2017

my wife and i once again enjoyed a fine evening of dining, the booth seating is very private and can be romantic. you can actually have a conversation in privacy , we have decided that this is our date night place to start.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 15, 2017

This is one of our favorite restaurants. Food is always very good, reasonably priced, and cooked to perfection. Customer service is always outstanding. See no reason to go to places like Ruth Chris or Flemmings when you have quality restaurants like Black Angus.

Tags: Modern Decor, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on February 14, 2017

I reserved a table for six a few days ago, and we were seated between five and ten minutes after our reservation time. Not too bad for a busy night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Slow service. steak had a lot of fat. must of been a off night for them.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on February 13, 2017

My wife and I had dinner on Sunday. We both had the filet and lobster. It was absolutely delicious.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on February 12, 2017

I've always loved Black Angus, been going there for pass 20yrs. Service wasn't that great, but food was great as always!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Fun, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Business Meals, Live Sports, Good for Birthdays, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on February 12, 2017

My wife and I really enjoyed our evening together & our waitress (Taylor) was very sweet and attentive to our needs. We felt very comfortable and enjoyed the atmosphere. I would recommend this establishment to everyone who would like to have a wonderful experience.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Casual, Fun, Romantic, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We were seated late because of the pre-Valentine rush, but the bar staff took care of us while we waited. Attentive and friendly staff. After we were seated it took a long time to get my glass of wine so the waiter comped it. Excellent Ribeye Steak! Romantic atmosphere. Overall good experience and would highly recommend.

Tags: Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Special Occasion, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Wonderful service, excellent food, a bit pricey, but worth every bite.

Tags: Family Style, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 5, 2017

We went to celebrate my birthday. Was very glad we made a reservation, as it was packed, even at 5:30pm. We were seated promptly in a nice, secluded booth. Our server was there quickly to take our drink order. Our dinner was wonderful. And, for a treat, they provided us with a birthday cookie w/ice cream and a lit candle. Very nice evening.

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on February 3, 2017

All the food was so good! I can not wait to go back.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on February 1, 2017

It was within an hour of closing time when we arrived (there were only 2 other tables in sight) and our specialty drinks had little or NO alcohol, then we ordered onion rings as a side but it was too late to cook them or any deep fried item. Our soup was luke warm, but tasted wonderful!!! They made us feel like we were intruding so we had our desssert boxed up. The waiter acted like he was high on crystal method with his runny nose, speed walking, fast mumbling talking and forgetfulness. We are willing to shake off the experiencer and give them another chance to be great though.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Cozy, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, People Watching, Great Beer, Romantic, Happy Hour, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Food was very good as it usually is, with special preparation requests adhered to completely. However, the service this time was not nearly as good as it has been in the past. For example, I ordered coffee, plus a spoon to stir it with. In spite of repeated requests, I never received a spoon. Further, refills were rare & not very timely. That issue notwithstanding, our evening was very enjoyable.

Tags: Family Style, Modern Decor, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on January 29, 2017

The food was great and the steak was cooked to perfection, service was good, but our utensils were dirty. Dried food was on them, the bread plates were dirty and greasy. Our server brought clean items and our table made the comment that dishwashers breakdown or temperatures aren't checked routinely. We didn't want to leave. We knew our dining experience would be worth it. Hope the problems are fixed.

Tags: Good for Groups, Disabled Access, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Special Occasion, Family Style, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Good place to get together and good food. Not too noisy.

Tags: Cozy, Disabled Access, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on January 26, 2017

I have been to most of the steakhouses in Fresno,CA and although they are very good, I find that Black Angus is my favorite. I have never had a bad experience there or left thinking the food was not good. For me, I find that their steaks seem to have a great flavor. Personally, I wish it was a bit cheaper (they do offer gift cards and coupons), I continually return. Since our tastes may be
different, I would highly recommend you try it for yourself(-ves). I would recommend making a reservation as some nights, it is really busy, and that not for a special event. Although I've not had anything bad, if this is your first time, I would recommend the Campfire deal or the steak and prawns or steak and lobster (seasonal), I would try the Hawaiian Avalanche while you are waiting and the combination appetizer plate. Don't forget to ask for their molasses bread and butter (fresh from the oven). The Campfire coupon also includes dessert so you might try the flourless torte or creme brulee or cheesecake... Either way, I think you will have a most lovely evening. (Btw, the managers are really easy to work with and if you happen to be there the night Seth is working, please tell him Tim said hello~!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Paleo Friendly, Business Meals, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Disabled Access, Live Sports, Family Style, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Cozy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Poor service. There for 2 hours for dinner. Very slow ordered steak medium it came out rare. Had to send it back. Had to wait another 20 mins. Everything was cold when it came back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Food was very good. Our waiter was cheerful and very observant to our needs

Tags: Special Occasion, Family Style, Happy Hour, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on January 15, 2017

We always enjoy the food and the service is great.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Worth the Drive, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on January 14, 2017

My wife and I dine out frequently. Of all the places we eat this is my favorite.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Our favorite place to dine, mainly because of your quiet, comfortable booths. Caesar salad brings us in when we are undecided.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great New Year's Day Lunch! Great food and great service as usual!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.