Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.46mi
  3. Distance: 0.48mi
  4. Distance: 0.59mi
  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.46mi
  3. Distance: 0.48mi
  4. Distance: 0.59mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.46mi
  3. Distance: 0.48mi
  4. Distance: 0.59mi
  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.46mi
  3. Distance: 0.48mi
  4. Distance: 0.59mi

About Black Angus Steakhouse - Fresno

Great for steak and so much more… Black Angus Steakhouse has built its reputation on providing a Genuine American Steakhouse experience to remember. Our Chefs are proud to serve only Black Angus steaks that are carefully aged, fresh-cut daily, and grilled over an open flame.



Our other specialties include a variety of succulent seafood, fall-off-the-bone Baby Back Ribs and our famous slow-roasted Prime Rib. Whatever you're craving, we pride ourselves at Black Angus Steakhouse for superior quality, friendly service, and great food. It's more than a tradition - it's our passion every day. Black Angus offers a full array of menu items that are naturally gluten free. Ask for their Gluten Free Trail Map.

1737 E. Shaw Avenue
Fresno, CA 93710
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, American

Hours of Operation:

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 3:00pm - 9:30pm, Friday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm Saturday: 12:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 12:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Cedar

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(559) 224-2205

Website:
http://www.blackangus.com/

Entertainment:
This Black Angus Steakhouse features a casual sports bar concept within the restaurant which boasts 10 to 12 hi-def flat screen TVs and offers various types of viewing zones. Each seat in the bar offers Guests the ability to watch different sporting events simultaneously. Free Wi-Fi is also available for fantasy sports players, as well as an ongoing calendar of sports-related promotions and contests.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Why wait for the weekend?!

MONDAY – FRIDAY: Best Happy Hour in town! Let loose from 3pm to 7pm in our bar and enjoy $3.50, $4.50 and $5.50 Drink and Full-Size appetizer specials.

TUESDAYS and SUNDAYS: Happy Tuesday and Sunday with Happy Hour from Open - Close in the bar.

WEDNESDAYS: Join us every Wednesday for our signature slow-roasted Prime Rib dinner and Sky-High Mud Pie dessert for only $18.99.


For exclusive offers and the latest Black Angus Steakhouse news delivered directly to your email inbox, click here (http://www.blackangus.com/primeclub/) to join the Prime Club.

Black Angus Steakhouse - Fresno Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.2

ambience

4.2

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (38)
Quiet Conversation (33)
Good for Birthdays (32)
See All
Casual (30)
Good for Anniversaries (29)
Good for a Date (28)
Cozy (27)
Good for Groups (24)
Family Style (22)
Romantic (19)
Comfort Food (19)
Bar Seating (19)
Worth the Drive (15)
Happy Hour (13)
Kid-friendly (12)
Disabled Access (12)
Business Meals (11)
Fun (10)
Tasting Menu (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Great for Lunch (8)
Outstanding Value (8)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Live Sports (5)
Great Beer (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Authentic (5)
Great for Brunch (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
People Watching (4)
Quick Bite (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Healthy (2)
Seasonal (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Hot Spot (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Tapas (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Private Room (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Fireplace (1)
Sort By:
S
640 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined 4 days ago

When we arrived, on time there were not enough servers to help with all the tables. We waited like an hour for our food. I think they were short handed. Food was tasty though, and we weren't in a rush so we didn't mind it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined 5 days ago

The service was slow and the food was average tonight. Usually better......

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 5 days ago

I have always loved Black Angus. My only concern for this location was the fact that it smelled musty, like it had water damage. Very clean and quiet atmosphere otherwise.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on May 14, 2017

I have been taking my family to Black Angus for over 20 yrs. This last time was not as good as others. Our waiter brought our salads and appetizers at the same time. Hard to enjoy. Two of us in our party order our steak Medium Rare. They both came our Rare. I went ahead and ate mine but sent my mother's back to be cooked longer. We had to ask for our desert. This was mother's day. I was disappointed.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Family Style, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Nice place to go with or without family. Excellent manager and assistant manager. Really nice greeting at the door. Pretty quick service in the bar. The staff is always friendly. We have taken several different people for dinner and/or cocktails.

Tags: People Watching, Seasonal, Vibrant Bar Scene, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Thanks to Chris who was a wonderful patient waiter. The couple we were with had just gone thru extreme medical conditions ( he didn't know this) and were slow in making selections. Chris was extremely kind and couldn't have been a better waiter. We eat here pretty often, the food is always good and service is always good. Of course we will be back 😁

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Disabled Access, Cozy, Authentic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on May 14, 2017

It was awesome everybody was so friendly and very helpful people showed up that we weren't expecting and they made rangement's for us to have a bigger table

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on May 7, 2017

The panko zucchini is a must try. Also one of the best mojitos it have ever had, refreshing strawberry. I only rated the food 4 stars for the mushy broccoli

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Service was excellent but food was not. Wedge salad had several brown leaves that should not have been served and baked potato was dried out and looked like it came from a prior diner's plate. Value was poor. Large table was in the middle of other diners which made it difficult to hear other members of our party. The older folks couldn't hear anything over the noise. Very disappointing. Waiter worked his tail off and was the only bright spot.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 4, 2017

The service was disorganized. Also this is the second time I've been there and they have been out of what I ordered.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Pre concert dinner for four....Quick friendly service....great food...great for low carbers!

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Always a great place for good, quality food at a reasonable price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on April 25, 2017

I have been coming to this restaurant for a family dinner or special occasions just for the food and overall service. We have never been disappointed. We travel from Hanford and will continue to go for as long as my car gets me there safely.

Tags: Casual, Cozy, Family Style, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Overall was a good experience. Food was excellent but service left something to be desired. Will visit again. Server may have just been having a bad night

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Enjoyed our dining experience. The server was excellent. We'll be returning this June.

Tags: Fireplace, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Cozy, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Server seemed distracted. Forgot wine with dinner, i had to remind him 1/2 way through dinner.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Once again a good time was had. Got a booth as requested not to close to others which is important . Will be making another time of it soon!!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great Beer, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We were seated promptly like we had indicated in our RSVP time. Adrain our waitress was very pleasant and efficient very delightful. The food was as usual delicious the Lobster and steak was cooked just perfect.. The noise level was normal and we really did enjoy our experience and we love Black Angus.

Tags: Healthy, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Enjoyed Easter Sunday lunch with family. Excellent service, food was good, everyone enjoyed it.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Awesome service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on April 16, 2017

I like it because it accommodates my daughter's wheelchair and the waitresses and Waiters are always very accommodating the food is good and plentiful. Our servings weres so big we have to take most of it home. we thoroughly enjoyed our time on Easter Sunday. We invited a friend to join us and she said she would probably join us again she thoroughenjoyed her dinner .

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on April 16, 2017

I have food intolerances that Black Angus is able to accommodate. I appreciate their flexibility to help me avoid an unusual combination of foods.

Tags: Bar Seating, Casual, Disabled Access, Good for Groups, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Great food and waitress. Lot of fun and a Lot of Food!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 16, 2017

I go to black angus because I have never had a disappointing meal. I can't say that about any other restaurant. The food is always excellent and not too expensive. I use cupons and get alot of food.

Tags: Business Meals, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Yosemite)·Dined on April 15, 2017

This is our local steakhouse; within easy distance and reliable. It takes reservations and that makes it easier to plan ahead. The food is usually very good and the service pleasant and unintrusive. Servings are generous but not overwhelming. They forgot part of the order but caught the error and corrected it in good time. It is our g0-to for good food , ease of getting there and getting in and because sometimes it is important to just have a good piece of red meat.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Good service, comfortable seating, nice place to enjoy a family dinner.

Tags: Comfort Food, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Quick Bite, Family Style, Sunday Lunch, Kid-friendly, Casual, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Service has really gone down.. it seems there are not enough waiters/waitresses to handle their customers.. we waited for 15 minutes to get our drinks overall an hour to get our dinner another hour to get our check.. we really loved dining with you however the last couple of times the service is no longer quality .. the waiter we had was great but he had to many tables to provide quality service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 4, 2017

Great service and food!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on March 30, 2017

We always go here for Birthdays, or any time to celabrate anything.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 29, 2017

As usual-service by Dave was great-very attentive to our needs, water fill ups, check on frequently, served food as we desired, and check on us to make sure dishes were cooked to perfection.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 28, 2017

Would like to see more locations. Have to come from Visalia (40 mi).

Tags: Casual, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on March 26, 2017

It was my mother's birthday and she likes to go to Black Angus because the food is consistently good and the service is always good! Reservations are suggested otherwise you will either be waiting if it is the dinner hours or eating in the bar.
My only suggestion for Black Angus is to include more vegan options. More people are turning to plant based diets due to either health concerns or animal ethics.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 26, 2017

This was not the best meal that we have had at Black Angus. The service this time was not as good as it has been before. Several times before this experience everything was outstanding. Although this particular day was on a sub-par level we would still go back and give it another try. Sometimes these things just happen.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Kid-friendly, Casual, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on March 18, 2017

The prime rib was outstanding overall experience was exceptional

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Disabled Access, Great Beer, Live Sports, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 18, 2017

I've always enjoyed eating here, but I was a little disappointed in the rib eye I was served on this occasion. The steak contained a lot of fat and grissel. There was probably 1/3 of the steak I could not eat which made the price seem a bit unfair.

Tags: Fun, Cozy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Overall this is a great restaurant and a perfect place for everyday dining, special occasions and get-togethers.

Tags: Bar Seating, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Food is always great. Don't have to wait for a table very long. Have had some very good service from employees.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Cozy, Special Occasion, Casual, Family Style, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on March 6, 2017

Always friendly greeting at door and service has always been GREAT. Thank You all at Black Angus at the Fresno and Shaw location

Tags: Worth the Drive, Cozy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Comfort Food, Family Style, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Fun, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Disabled Access, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Reservations were easy. We arrived and were seated within 5 minutes. The waitress seemed a little distracted and missed us on drink refills and cleaning our plates away before desert. Food was great and the amounts were more than enough.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on March 4, 2017

We are never disappointed with Black Angus in Fresno - great staff, food & drink options and value!

Tags: Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.