Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.46mi
  3. Distance: 0.48mi
  4. Distance: 0.59mi
  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.46mi
  3. Distance: 0.48mi
  4. Distance: 0.59mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.46mi
  3. Distance: 0.48mi
  4. Distance: 0.59mi
  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.46mi
  3. Distance: 0.48mi
  4. Distance: 0.59mi

About Black Angus Steakhouse - Fresno

Great for steak and so much more… Black Angus Steakhouse has built its reputation on providing a Genuine American Steakhouse experience to remember. Our Chefs are proud to serve only Black Angus steaks that are carefully aged, fresh-cut daily, and grilled over an open flame.



Our other specialties include a variety of succulent seafood, fall-off-the-bone Baby Back Ribs and our famous slow-roasted Prime Rib. Whatever you're craving, we pride ourselves at Black Angus Steakhouse for superior quality, friendly service, and great food. It's more than a tradition - it's our passion every day. Black Angus offers a full array of menu items that are naturally gluten free. Ask for their Gluten Free Trail Map.

1737 E. Shaw Avenue
Fresno, CA 93710
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, American

Hours of Operation:

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 3:00pm - 9:30pm, Friday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm Saturday: 12:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 12:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Cedar

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(559) 224-2205

Website:
http://www.blackangus.com/

Entertainment:
This Black Angus Steakhouse features a casual sports bar concept within the restaurant which boasts 10 to 12 hi-def flat screen TVs and offers various types of viewing zones. Each seat in the bar offers Guests the ability to watch different sporting events simultaneously. Free Wi-Fi is also available for fantasy sports players, as well as an ongoing calendar of sports-related promotions and contests.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Why wait for the weekend?!

MONDAY – FRIDAY: Best Happy Hour in town! Let loose from 3pm to 7pm in our bar and enjoy $3.50, $4.50 and $5.50 Drink and Full-Size appetizer specials.

TUESDAYS and SUNDAYS: Happy Tuesday and Sunday with Happy Hour from Open - Close in the bar.

WEDNESDAYS: Join us every Wednesday for our signature slow-roasted Prime Rib dinner and Sky-High Mud Pie dessert for only $18.99.


For exclusive offers and the latest Black Angus Steakhouse news delivered directly to your email inbox, click here (http://www.blackangus.com/primeclub/) to join the Prime Club.

Black Angus Steakhouse - Fresno Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.2

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (33)
Quiet Conversation (32)
Good for Anniversaries (32)
See All
Good for a Date (31)
Casual (31)
Good for Groups (28)
Good for Birthdays (26)
Romantic (18)
Business Meals (17)
Comfort Food (14)
Bar Seating (12)
Disabled Access (11)
Cozy (11)
Worth the Drive (11)
Fun (9)
Happy Hour (9)
Tasting Menu (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Live Sports (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Authentic (5)
People Watching (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Seasonal (4)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Great Beer (3)
Family Style (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Tapas (1)
Private Room (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Fireplace (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
685 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined 4 days ago

We had a great meal and the service was excellent. Suggest better staffing for early Sunday diners as we saw several people walk out because hostess informed them of a 20 minute wait. It was 4:30 and no crowd but she said there were only 2 servers. When offering the bar seating area she was it encouraging and didn't suggest the guests check it out. We had reservations and waited 20 minutes ourselves, however, once seated everything was great.

Tags: Seasonal, Comfort Food, Paleo Friendly, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 4 days ago

The food was great but we had ordered 2 med well steaks and received 2 med rare. The server returned steaks to kitchen and within a short while they were returned done to perfection. Also added another bake potato to ease the wait. We have used this restaurant numerous times and this was the first very minor mix up. Will always return.

Tags: Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Disabled Access, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined 5 days ago

Wonderful food, great service. Overall an awesome experience. Will Definately be returning

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined 5 days ago

We have ate here many times and I usually would give it a 5 star rating. This time however it was not a good experience. Service was very slow, even though there were only 2 other parties in the restaurant.
For starters the food tasted like it was left over from the night before. The bread was as hard as a rock, the prime rib tasted old, broccoli was hard, not even fresh - had to cut it with a SHARP knife. Guess we picked a bad day to go there - might be a while before we go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value3

 
·Dined on August 7, 2017

Amazing deal as always with the camp fire feast deal! My husband and I always go for it when we celebrate special occasions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on August 7, 2017

Great steakhouse. Good food, fair price, quick and friendly service.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Live Sports, Happy Hour, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

Since this is a steak house, the food Is moderately priced. Adrianna is an awesome server. With 10 people in the group I was worried about the little things, but she took care of us. (The last time we were here, with a group of 12, the server didn't come by the table enough). The lobster tail was mushy, but the steaks were good and our water, tea and coffee was kept full.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 4, 2017

HORRIBLE!
Took over an hour and a half to revive our meals and when we did, they were COLD! Spoke to the manager to have it taken back; when she brought the food back out, it was like warm! Will never go here again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value2

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 3, 2017

Visiting the area and found this choice was highly rated so we gave it a try. We both had prime rib and it was ok - not great but also not bad. The sides - salad and potato were good as was the bread. The price was reasonable and the drinks were also good. The service was wonderful. Maybe I would select a different entree if returning to the area.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 3, 2017

Haven't been in a Black Angus for a long time. As usual, food and service were great. Got away from the standard steak selections this time. Salmon and Shrimp. Both were good. I will be keeping this one on my list for the next time back in town.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Black Angus is one of our favorite restaurants in Fresno. The food is always freshly prepared and the price is great...you can't beat the Dinner for Two coupon.

Tags: Comfort Food, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Healthy, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

The ambience was wonderful. Vey diverse group of patrons. Server forgot one order. It was served within minutes of the reminder. The back was stuffy and hot. It was well over 100 degrees however. Conversation was wonderful also, as this was a birthday dinner.

Tags: People Watching, Worth the Drive, Disabled Access, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Excellent service by Chris.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Great food and value.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on July 23, 2017

There were 4 of us. My husband and I ordered one BBQ dinner to share...2 complete meals came to the table. This is the 2nd time this has happened. Looks like we need to say it more than once.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Authentic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on July 21, 2017

The service was some of the best for any restaurant we have eaten in the Fresno-Clovis area. The manager Seth was extremely cordial and helpful. We eat here quite regularly. I highly recommend this restaurant for anyone who wants good food in a nice atmosphere.

Tags: Casual, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on July 18, 2017

They were excellent in accommodating our group of 11! We were able to get the special and all of us came home with boxes of leftovers- yum!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Food cooked to perfection and great taste. David our waiter was so attentive and anticipated our every want.

Tags: Cozy, Casual, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Excellent food, service and value. This was our second visit within the last two months and once again I was able to cut my steak with a fork. Doesn't get any better.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on July 10, 2017

Bday and mom died

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on July 7, 2017

The food at this location is always great. Normally our service is really good as well, but on this occasion it wasn't as good. Maybe they were short staffed. It took a long time to get our drinks and once they were brought to us, we waited a really long time before our waitress came to take our order. Then we waited quite a while just for the bread. We had our almost 3 yr old with us and he was getting very impatient without any bread to keep him occupied. When the food came, the fries were missing from my son's plate. Not sure how she didn't notice that there were only 5 fried shrimp on the plate and no fries. Long wait for the fries, which of course were really hot and then had to wait for them to be cool enough for him to eat. It made dining out with our special needs son very difficult. Our last trip with him went great, but we didn't have the long wait for service or mixups.

We still love the restaurant and will be back. Hopefully this was just an off night.

Tags: Fun, Happy Hour, Live Sports, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Groups, Disabled Access, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Special Occasion, Great Beer, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on July 3, 2017

We have come to enjoy Black Angus quite a bit. We had two family members with us, and it was quiet enough to be able to enjoy our conversation with them. The meals serous were excellent, as was our server. Our order was a tad slow in arriving, but that did not detract from our enjoyment of the food or our conversation. Well done.

Tags: Business Meals, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on June 30, 2017

We had a problem with being charged for an extra prime rib, which we did not get. After phone call to manager, Seth, twice he replied that our server, David, should have let him know that we had to send one of the meals back due to overcooking of the meat (prime rib); manager said they have to account for every piece of meat that goes out and that second serving, replacing the overcooked meat caused the problem. We'll see if we receive a refund, as Seth indicated, for that incorrect charge, which supposedly will have to come from Corporate.

Tags: Live Sports, Casual, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Had reservation. Was told at door they were running a little behind. Waited over 30 minuets for table. Restaurant was fairly empty many open tables and they still sat us next to kitchen door. Obviously severely understaffed. Had to be at least 15 open tables in our section.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on June 21, 2017

Good time. Great service and food. Just like always.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Disabled Access, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on June 20, 2017

We have always had an enjoyable meal at Black Angus. The staff is always very helpful and accomodating. This time the young waitress took time to take pictures of our family gathering. The desserts are very good but unfortunately most of the time we do not leave room for them under our belts.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 19, 2017

From bar to dessert, friendly service, quality food @ great price + reasonably priced wine. We dine here often and it's always good.

Tags: Business Meals, Casual, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on June 18, 2017

We have truly enjoyed coming back to the Black Angus. Food is excellent, prices great, clean, friendly staff and great service. We are pleased we have gotten the same waiter each time, David. He is excellent!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Healthy, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 18, 2017

We had a party of 4 for Fathers Day. We got the seating we requested via Open Table.
Server never mentioned the additional charge for the asparagus side, that was disappointing and his repeated description of the entree "doneness" was very rote/mechanical and almost annoying. But his service was very good otherwise.

It may be awhile before we return due to the above.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Have NEVER been disappointed!!! The Black Angus is a fantastic place to go for any occasion...

Tags: Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Cozy, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on June 17, 2017

We went to Black Angus to enjoy my free birthday meal, and beat the heat that has been blazing in Central California. Had the Fire Grilled Fresh Artichoke appetizer - always a good choice! I ordered the 6 oz filet with roasted asparagus and loaded baked potato, and my husband had the BBQ Chicken and Ribs. Steak was cooked to order, the asparagus tender-crisp, and the baked potato was just as good as it always is. I'm guessing my husband's dinner was very tasty, as it did not take long for him to clean his plate! We enjoy Black Angus once every couple of months, and it never disappoints.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Good food, they always have a good deal with the prices , good service and ambiance,

Tags: Healthy, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on June 17, 2017

First let me say that our Server was great!! The food was good but it was too hot in the restaurant to enjoy it. The restaurant was so hot that people had to fan themselves. We were in one of the large booths and were extremely uncomfortable. We mentioned how hot it was to our server and was told he is not allowed to adjust it. He said they would write him up if he did. There was a large party in the tables in front of us and they were also very uncomfortable. There was a big grasshopper that jumped onto their table while they were eating. We overheard their server ask them if they were done ordering drinks because it takes a while to separate the tabs. I get that but telling people not to order anymore drinks in a super hot restaurant is one way to limit their spending. I spent $72.70 on food and drinks and feel that it was a lot of money to spend for not being completely able to actually enjoy our food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Our Server Michelle was amazing. She kept all glasses fool, made recommendations to my three teenagers and my 6 year old. I understand that preparing food for 10 and timing it to come out together is probably difficult so I understand the long wait. However we never had to ask for anything from Michelle. Once the appetizers came out everything went so smoothly. This is not meant to be a negative comment but my sister, and my wife’s parents commented how they had forgotten about “this place”. However, after our experience we all agreed we will be coming back for sure. The food was very good and all of the staff that passed by had smiles. I tip my hat to the Manager. He obviously treats the staff well or they would not be so pleasant. I will definitely be returning. My prime rib was delicious. My compliments to the Chef and staff! Thank you. My birthday celebration was outstanding thanks to all of you.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Enjoyed our meal of filet and new york strip. The potato au-gratin was very good. Had very good service. Would recommend to all.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on June 15, 2017

This is one of the best values and quality meals in Fresno/Clovis area. Brittany was a fantastic server and the food was excellent!

Tags: Bar Seating, Good Vegetarian Options, Live Sports, Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Romantic, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Great services as always. Service prompt and efficient as well as friendly. Sat where we could do great people watch

Tags: Comfort Food, People Watching, Casual, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Everyone is always good with customer service. The food was awesome like always

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Blank Angus is consistently good! Good food, good service, good prices. If I want steak, we go to Black Angus!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 4, 2017

We took 10 of our friends there for lunch because we love the fact that we can hear the conversation well. Great food!!!❤️

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.