About Black Angus Steakhouse - Fresno

1737 E. Shaw Avenue
Fresno, CA 93710
View Larger Map

Great for steak and so much more… Black Angus Steakhouse has built its reputation on providing a Genuine American Steakhouse experience to remember. Our Chefs are proud to serve only Black Angus steaks that are carefully aged, fresh-cut daily, and grilled over an open flame.



Our other specialties include a variety of succulent seafood, fall-off-the-bone Baby Back Ribs and our famous slow-roasted Prime Rib. Whatever you're craving, we pride ourselves at Black Angus Steakhouse for superior quality, friendly service, and great food. It's more than a tradition - it's our passion every day. Black Angus offers a full array of menu items that are naturally gluten free. Ask for their Gluten Free Trail Map.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, American

Hours of Operation:

Dinner: Monday - Friday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm, Saturday: 11:00am - 10:00pm, Sunday: 11:00am - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Cedar

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(559) 224-2205

Website:
http://www.blackangus.com/

Entertainment:
This Black Angus Steakhouse features a casual sports bar concept within the restaurant which boasts 10 to 12 hi-def flat screen TVs and offers various types of viewing zones. Each seat in the bar offers Guests the ability to watch different sporting events simultaneously. Free Wi-Fi is also available for fantasy sports players, as well as an ongoing calendar of sports-related promotions and contests.

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Why wait for the weekend?!

MONDAY – FRIDAY: Best Happy Hour in town! Let loose from 3pm to 7pm in our bar and enjoy $3.50, $4.50 and $5.50 Drink and Full-Size appetizer specials.

TUESDAYS and SUNDAYS: Happy Tuesday and Sunday with Happy Hour from Open - Close in the bar.

WEDNESDAYS: Join us every Wednesday for our signature slow-roasted Prime Rib dinner and Sky-High Mud Pie dessert for only $18.99.


For exclusive offers and the latest Black Angus Steakhouse news delivered directly to your email inbox, click here (http://www.blackangus.com/primeclub/) to join the Prime Club.

Black Angus Steakhouse - Fresno Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.1

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Value
Fresno / San Joaquin Valley
Special Occasion
Fresno / San Joaquin Valley
Most Booked
Fresno / San Joaquin Valley
1 More
Most Booked
Fresno
Best Restaurants in Fresno ›

Special Occasion (58)
Good for Groups (41)
Romantic (27)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (24)
Fit for Foodies (15)
Kid-friendly (13)
Great for Lunch (9)
Notable Wine List (7)
Great for Brunch (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Late-night Find (2)
Sort By:
Newest
478 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Eric our waiter was outstanding. Good ...

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined 5 days ago

Eric our waiter was outstanding. Good service and awesome food.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fun, Great Beer, Outstanding Value, Casual, Hot Spot, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our only regret this month was to see th ...

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined 5 days ago

Our only regret this month was to see that you have eliminated your "Mondo" Margaritta drink. What you did serve was ok in it's place, but it's much smaller, and thought you could "make more" by hoping customers would order more than one. We didn't. The food was fantastic, so we tried to off-set the loss of the Mondo. Yes, we will be back. We belong to your Prime Rib club and take advantage of that "campfire feast for two". Why change a good thing, right?

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love this place. Good food and it usua ...

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined 6 days ago

I love this place. Good food and it usually has good service although it can be extremely slow at times.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Always quality steaks, price is right an ...

vip
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Always quality steaks, price is right and a nice quiet place to bring friends for good conversation over dinner.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Never had a bad meal here. We can alway ...

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Never had a bad meal here. We can always count on having a great dinner at Black Angus.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The waiter was very good the food was go ...

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

The waiter was very good the food was good the price was in line for fresno good night for all

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place for good food. My wife and ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Great place for good food. My wife and I go there every week.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

While the food was good - the service wa ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

While the food was good - the service was painfully slow - both in getting our drinks and food. The restaurant was not crowded and there was plenty of staff on hand, yet they appeared to be highly disorganized and unaware of how poor the service was. It's a shame because the feed was truly decent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1

A fine example of the usual high standar ...

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

A fine example of the usual high standards in all Black Angus locations!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a wonderful place to have dinner ...

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Always a wonderful place to have dinner for any occasion. Great food and service !

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Good was good, server was amazing!!! Pri ...

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Good was good, server was amazing!!! Price was descent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Good for 2 people or a group. Great for ...

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Good for 2 people or a group. Great for family get togethers, everyone can find something on the menu.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was phenomenal

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

The food was phenomenal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Great steaks! Slow service. Had a reserv ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Great steaks! Slow service. Had a reservation and restaurant not busy. Waited about 15 min for table.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

This is our very favorite place to dine. ...

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

This is our very favorite place to dine. Alone, or with friends, it has been excellent. We use our prime club membership to utilize the savings. It doesn't matter when you use your membership, as you always get the very best service and food. We love being able to stay for 2 or 3 hours without feeling rushed. It is our first choice for dining and drinks!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

All food was prepared as ordered. Excell ...

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

All food was prepared as ordered. Excellent flavor. Would recommend this restaurant to anyone who wants a good meal. Service was good, courteous and prompt. We will be back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

dinner was great service good like that ...

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

dinner was great service good like that you can make a reservation ( not meany resturants do that any more) over all experiance very good

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Black Angus serves quality food. Their f ...

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Black Angus serves quality food. Their food is amazing. The service was great. I definitely look forward to many more .

Tags: Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was very slow ,we were seated at ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Service was very slow ,we were seated at 4:30 and didn't get out til 6: 45 and they were not busy. Server got the order wrong, bread was hard like a rock so we asked for another. Appetizer was very skimpy this time as was the salad plate. Seems like the quality of the food has gone down since our last visit. We won't be going back anytime soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Everything was exceptional. We had a gre ...

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Everything was exceptional. We had a great time and enjoyed our date night for our anniversary. It was a nice suprise to have a dessert at the end.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

IT SEEMS LIKE WHENEVER WE ARE IN THE MOO ...

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

IT SEEMS LIKE WHENEVER WE ARE IN THE MOOD FOR A GREAT MEAL WE TEND TO THINK OF BLACK ANGUS. THE AMBIANCE IS ALWAYS OF QUALITY ASSURANCE, THE THE STAFFS IS VERY HELPFUL. mY BIRTHDAY IS COMING UP SOON, AND GUESS WHAT? i M HOPING WE AND MY FAMILY CAN MAKE RESERVATIONS FOR THAT EVENING. keep UP THE GOOD WORK, AND I WILL BE A CUSTOMER FOR LIFE. THANK YOU MUCH, WITH REGARDS ......JESS AND MARIA HERNAND

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Service was very good. As was the time t ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Service was very good. As was the time to bring the food to the table.

I ordered the BBQ Chicken and ribs dinner. I thought first of all, the sections were quite small. I think at least 3 or 4 ribs would be better. Also a more generous sized chicken breast. The BBQ sauce flavor was OK but nothing unique and a little over- powering. My side of Ceasar salad was excellent.

Not a huge selection of draft beer, but a great variety

My wife's prime rib was excellent, as well as my daughter's baked chicken.

The only other area that seems to need attention is coffee. The quality of the coffee seems to say, "we serve coffee just in case someone orders it." Might consider improving it and even offering cappuccino and latte as well to go with your very good desserts.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

Good place for family and friends to enj ...

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Good place for family and friends to enjoy a night out

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

The food is always excellent and the bes ...

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The food is always excellent and the best margaritas in town!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Celebrated Fathers Day with my husband a ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Celebrated Fathers Day with my husband at the Angus in Fresno, CA.

Did not appear that busy when we arrived, 1pm, but were seated in a reasonable amount of time and server was satisfactory. I think she was doing her best under the circumstances of the day. Would recommend if you are not in a hurry.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Server was horrible. Food took forever.. ...

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Server was horrible. Food took forever...then got our order wrong, never apologized. 2 hours for dinner was not good. Once we got the correct food, it was good . . .but ackward two of us eating after everyone was done...hard to enjoy.

Not the kind of dinner can normally afford. . .sad waste of hard earned money.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value2

My only concern was the long wait betwee ...

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

My only concern was the long wait between reservation time 4:30 pm to actual seating time 4:45 pm to actual waitstaff member approaching our table. The hosting staff, wait staff were all excellent, however it seemed a bit unorganized. It was the same way back in March when we visited the restaurant to celebrate my mother's birthday. Overall the service and food is great, but my suggestion is better staffing for weekends as both occasions were on weekends.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We have always had the best food and lov ...

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

We have always had the best food and love the ambiance especially on quieter times not so full of people will definately be back and soon

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

I had a coupon for my free steak dinner ...

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

I had a coupon for my free steak dinner for my birthday. My wife and I went and we had a great meal. My steak was perfect. I did not realize until talking to a co worker that I should have gotten a free Cowboy cookie dessert since it was my birthday. the waiter did not offer this, although he did offer a dessert menu. That was disappointing that he probably did not know about that offer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

Great meal, Quiet, Rrelaxed on a Friday night.

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

Our meal was great. I had the salmon and my husband had the prime rib. Everything was spiced and cooked just right.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good value, food and service

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

Online reservations work great. We get there early to take advantage of the happy hour. Food was good as always and service was cheerful and attentive. Took a while to get bread because it wasn't yet baked, but other than that, it was fine. We like the booths and that no matter how many big groups are in the house, we always get seated where we can have intimate conversation. As for value, being a member of Prime Club, we have more opportunities to save and we take advantage of them.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

My family and I had a wonderful dinner.

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

My family and I had a wonderful and delicious dinner. Everyone was very attentive and accommodating. The ambiance was nice and the privacy provided in the booths was very appreciated. The menu provided us with options to fit all our different likings. I would return with my family and friends.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not a Good Meal This Time

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on May 31, 2016

Very disappointing meal for me personally. The others in my group enjoyed theirs. Mine was not prepared in accordance with my instructions to the server.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Black Angus has a pleasant dining atmosp ...

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Black Angus has a pleasant dining atmosphere! It's a great place to dine with children as they have items that most kids enjoy eating! We need one in the Tulare and Visalia areas!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Best service

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

We ALWAYS request Nicole. She is AMAZING. We love the food and the drinks. We go there all the time, however this was an anniversary dinner. We love the whole restaurant. We are always served quickly. We usually make reservations as well so we never wait more than 5 minutes for our table. All of the staff is nice. Although Nicole is our favorite. You should give her a raise! The food always exceeds expectations. It's always full of talk and laughter, but not an overwhelming amount. It just sounds like everyone is having a great time.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service were top notch! No comp ...

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Food and service were top notch! No complaints at all!!! Eager to go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food as always!

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on May 9, 2016

Had the CampFire combo, always a great deal! Steak was delicious, as was the cheesecake!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mothers Day Dinner

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on May 9, 2016

The staff was friendly and professional. The steaks were cooked to perfection and the potato soup was great. We always come to the Fresno restaurant on holidays and special occasions.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Mother's day lunch

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

We had a wonderful Mother's Day lunch. Our waitress was attentive and helpful. We sat in the bar and actually preferred it over the dining area.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had to wait 40 minutes for our table eve ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Had to wait 40 minutes for our table even with a reservation. Not good.

Getting off to a bad start just set the mood for the rest of the night. It would have to be amazing food and service after that and it was not.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.