About Black Angus Steakhouse - Fresno

1737 E. Shaw Avenue
Fresno, CA 93710
View Larger Map

Great for steak and so much more… Black Angus Steakhouse has built its reputation on providing a Genuine American Steakhouse experience to remember. Our Chefs are proud to serve only Black Angus steaks that are carefully aged, fresh-cut daily, and grilled over an open flame.



Our other specialties include a variety of succulent seafood, fall-off-the-bone Baby Back Ribs and our famous slow-roasted Prime Rib. Whatever you're craving, we pride ourselves at Black Angus Steakhouse for superior quality, friendly service, and great food. It's more than a tradition - it's our passion every day. Black Angus offers a full array of menu items that are naturally gluten free. Ask for their Gluten Free Trail Map.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, American

Hours of Operation:

Dinner: Monday - Friday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm, Saturday: 11:00am - 10:00pm, Sunday: 11:00am - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Cedar

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(559) 224-2205

Website:
http://www.blackangus.com/

Entertainment:
This Black Angus Steakhouse features a casual sports bar concept within the restaurant which boasts 10 to 12 hi-def flat screen TVs and offers various types of viewing zones. Each seat in the bar offers Guests the ability to watch different sporting events simultaneously. Free Wi-Fi is also available for fantasy sports players, as well as an ongoing calendar of sports-related promotions and contests.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Why wait for the weekend?!

MONDAY – FRIDAY: Best Happy Hour in town! Let loose from 3pm to 7pm in our bar and enjoy $3.50, $4.50 and $5.50 Drink and Full-Size appetizer specials.

TUESDAYS and SUNDAYS: Happy Tuesday and Sunday with Happy Hour from Open - Close in the bar.

WEDNESDAYS: Join us every Wednesday for our signature slow-roasted Prime Rib dinner and Sky-High Mud Pie dessert for only $18.99.


For exclusive offers and the latest Black Angus Steakhouse news delivered directly to your email inbox, click here (http://www.blackangus.com/primeclub/) to join the Prime Club.

Promotions

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Promotions

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Details
Treat Dad on his special day to our juicy hand-cut steaks, aged a minimum of 21 days, and grilled over an open flame. Hurry and make a reservation today.

Black Angus Steakhouse - Fresno Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.1

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Value
Fresno / San Joaquin Valley
Romantic
Fresno / San Joaquin Valley
Special Occasion
Fresno / San Joaquin Valley
5 More
Best Overall
Fresno
Best Service
Fresno
Best Ambiance
Fresno
Special Occasion
Fresno
Most Booked
Fresno
Best Restaurants in Fresno ›

special occasion (61)
good for groups (45)
romantic (37)
See All
neighborhood gem (23)
great for lunch (20)
kid-friendly (20)
fit for foodies (14)
vibrant bar scene (9)
great for brunch (9)
notable wine list (8)
late-night find (8)
great for outdoor dining (4)
hot spot (3)
scenic view (2)
Sort By:
Newest
444 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Black Angus has a pleasant dining atmosp ...

Dined 5 days ago

Black Angus has a pleasant dining atmosphere! It's a great place to dine with children as they have items that most kids enjoy eating! We need one in the Tulare and Visalia areas!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Food and service were top notch! No comp ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Food and service were top notch! No complaints at all!!! Eager to go back!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food as always!

Dined on May 9, 2016

Had the CampFire combo, always a great deal! Steak was delicious, as was the cheesecake!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Mothers Day Dinner

Dined on May 9, 2016

The staff was friendly and professional. The steaks were cooked to perfection and the potato soup was great. We always come to the Fresno restaurant on holidays and special occasions.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mother's day lunch

Dined on May 8, 2016

We had a wonderful Mother's Day lunch. Our waitress was attentive and helpful. We sat in the bar and actually preferred it over the dining area.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food2
ambience3
service3

Had to wait 40 minutes for our table eve ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Had to wait 40 minutes for our table even with a reservation. Not good. Getting off to a bad start just set the mood for the rest of the night. It would have to be amazing food and service after that and it was not.

food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Black Angus Fresno

Dined on May 8, 2016

Our meal was very good. Service was good but much slower than usual. The parking lot has seen better days and seriously needs to be repaved and re-striped.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Very Good Value & great entrees

Dined on May 1, 2016

If you are looking for a quiet place to eat that serves very great tasting entrees at a very good value then look no further. We had the two for $42 coupon so it was a great deal. Sign up for future specials and desert on your birthday. The portions are just right but still had a portion left over. Enjoy.

Tags: good for groups
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

The art of prime roast is missing

Dined on April 28, 2016

We requested medium well, no pink, on two prime rib orders. What we recieved were two different stages of pink. We have always had no less than one inch thickness, and these were thin. Not cut evenly, and clearly didn't try. The meat tasted good! The rest of the meals were delicious. However, we went for the prime rib special... Our waitress had an off night, and missed a salad, waited ten minutes for beverages, and tried THREE TIMES TO UPSELL US. We will give this place another shot, as we dine here twice a year with friends, and it's been a better experience all the way around.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Good beef

Dined on April 26, 2016

We went there for the good meats they have there. We'd We've ate there before and never had a bad meal. The service is good and a good value.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Choice

Dined on April 3, 2016

Only issue was I ordered prime rib and got a rib eye. Was still good. Just not prime rib.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food1
ambience1
service5
value1

overated

Dined on April 2, 2016

The restaurant is outdated, the food was bland, the lobster was chewy, over priced for what we got.

food3
ambience5
service5
value5

Quality of steaks

Dined on March 30, 2016

I am sorry, but 3 different times, the steaks have been tough or lots of gristle in them. And then, the steak knife is another item. Next time, I am going to bring my own knife that is not serrated! Even the food server agreed. Everything else, loaded potato, green beans, molasses rolls and, especially, the mud pie was great. I may have to change my selection to chicken and ribs. I do like Black Angus, just not the steaks. I even had the $3 extra one before and it was a bit better--still not melt-in-your mouth. After I cut the left over steak in mini pieces, it became more edible. Couldn't have done that with your knives. Thanks for reading this.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Family Lunch

Dined on March 27, 2016

Family lunch with four generations....something on the menu for everyone. Servings were large with lots of leftovers to take home. Favorite was the Loaded Baked Potato Soup. Prime Rib and New York Strip were both good. Our server Nicole (not sure of the spelling) was amazing....we would eat here again just because of her. Key Lime Pie was the perfect dessert.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

Disappointed

Dined on March 26, 2016

Wait time was good. Everything else was disappointing. Prices were very high, food mediocre for price.

Tags: kid-friendly
food3
ambience2
service1
value4

Black Angus - Mixed Bag the Last Couple of Visits

Dined on March 14, 2016

Black Angus has always been our preferred steak house in Fresno. The wait time is reasonable and the restaurant is quieter than other similar places in Fresno, and the value is a little bit better. This time, we arrived 2 minutes prior to our reservation. We were informed that we would be seated at the time of our reservation. ? We requested a booth in our reservation. We were seated in a booth with a view of the server station and kitchen. There were many other booths available away from the kitchen. The service was horrible. The salads were served immediately after the appetizer. Drinks were not replenished. We spilled a drink and used our napkins to mop it up. A long while later, we asked for three new napkins, one to finish cleaning the table and two for our laps. We were brought only 2 and no offer to clean the table. Later the food was brought and placed on the still wet table. Only after complaining did the server bring the extra napkin. It didn't occur to her to clean the table for us. We were never once asked how the food was or if we needed anything the entire time. It was my husband's birthday. Not a good evening. The steaks were cooked to perfection however. The last time we were there, we ordered the same steaks. One was beautiful. The other was a horribly cut piece of nonsense. Macie H., our server, needs some real training, as does the hostess. We'll give our one time favorite restaurant one more try. I selected the 'yes' button for recommending to a friend, but with caution. I scored low on ambiance because of unnecessarily being seated near the kitchen. I scored only medium on the food because while it was excellent this time, it was a poor quality piece of meat the last time. It simply should always be good.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice experience

Dined on March 14, 2016

The waiter was awesome. Very friendly and on top of things !

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Angus Night Out...always a great time.

Dined on March 12, 2016

I always look forward to going to Black Angus. Great dinner specials and dine in coupons to use that are delivered in the paper, or now via my new online registration. I am always happy to take friends and out of town guests to enjoy Black Angus. Always awesome!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

Very disappointed!

Dined on March 12, 2016

We made reservations for a party of 12 for my birthday... Our entire party was so disappointed the food was not good.. My husband and I ordered the ribeye it was like rubber and fat. Wouldn't recommend to anyone.

food2
ambience2
service4

Food was lukewarm. Not very impressed

Dined on March 6, 2016

Food was lukewarm. Not very impressed

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, great atmosphere, great service!

Dined on February 28, 2016

Enjoyed our evening out with my parents, we were celebrating my mother's 77th birthday. Our server was great--she brought my Mom a Cowboy Cookie with a candle at the end of our meal. :) Such a nice touch! We go to Black Angus for special occasions or anytime we want to have a delicious dinner. Love their filet mignon with sauteed mushrooms! And the Cowboy Cookie is DELICIOUS!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Celebrate An Engagement

Dined on February 26, 2016

Special time to visit with my granddaughter and her fiancée. Service great.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

great meal

Dined on February 26, 2016

We went to celebrate birthday. Out waiter was very friendly came back a number of time to make sure that we didn't need anything food was delicious and cooked the way I asked

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

Disappointing

Dined on February 21, 2016

My husband and I made reservations for Saturday evening. The amount of time to get seated wasn't bad...less than 10 minutes. The amount of time to even get bread and or order taken was ridiculous. Also ridiculous, the amount of time to get our order. It was over an hour. By the time food arrived we needed to leave. We snacked while we again waited for boxes. The food was luke warm at best. Not appropriate for a steak house. Overall the visit was very disappointing. I'm not sure my husband and I will go again.

food4
ambience2
service2
value2

Only bad thing was long wait for food to ...

Dined on February 21, 2016

Only bad thing was long wait for food to come. Server was friendly but did forget few things.

food2
ambience4
service5
value5

NY steak was disappointing!

Dined on February 16, 2016

We always dine here or Flemings for special occasions. Although my Salmon was perfect, my husbands NY steak was too tough and he only ate half of it because he has weak teeth.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Richard442

Dined on February 15, 2016

Love the Happy hour in the bar. Good selection of Drinks and appetizers. Dinner is served hot and in a timely manner. Great selection of Meats and Sea foods. Deserts are grand.. Love the Staff. Been going long enough that everyone remembers our names.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great for Quiet Adult Dining

Dined on February 15, 2016

Just had a great dinner for Valentine's Day at the Fresno Black Angus. So nice to enjoy adult company in secluded quiet booth. Food was fabulous and the service top notch. Great specials made it afforable with no skimping on portions or quality. Thank Black Angus for a relaxing evening with friends.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

GREAT FOOD AND SERVICE!

Dined on February 14, 2016

When here for the second year in a row for Valentine's Day had a great time with my wife this is a great atmosphere romantic quiet place to take the wife I always enjoy it the food is awesome!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food & Service!

Dined on February 14, 2016

Love getting the Campfire Feast! Too much food but love being able to try a lot of their food! Highly recommend trying it!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was delicious their staff very ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

The food was delicious their staff very friendly. Our wait wasn't long for our food

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing dinner

Dined on February 14, 2016

I have no complaints for this place. Black Angus was amazing hope to go back soon

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

Unknown Gem!

Dined on February 14, 2016

The food was good me and my husband always get the campfire feast. Service was OK the kitchen forgot about our entrees. Thankfully our appetizers and salad were out early. Our servers were great and management gave us extra desert for the delay. The steaks are better than some high priced places. Love coming here.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

Great place 2 eat especially 4 a romantic setting

Dined on February 14, 2016

This is our go to spot for special occasions and wouldn't want to change anything about black Angus.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

The food is tasty. Took over 15 mins to get water

Dined on February 14, 2016

It took waitress more than 15 minutes to come to our table, that's after my husband complained to management. Manager compensated by giving a discount on the bill. Also, one of the salads had old lettuce. The stakes were good.

food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Food good , reservations not followed

Dined on February 7, 2016

I made reservations for 7 30 pm we got there at 7:20 checked in and we were told that would have the next table on the closest to our time as possible. After 30 minutes we finally hit the table and then it was a little loud being in the Bar side. It took it took 15 minutes to get my mixed drink after she took the order. The food was great but the service needs a little help

Tags: special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall outstanding food and service!! ...

Dined on February 7, 2016

Overall outstanding food and service!! I will recommend Black Angus to all my friends and co-workers.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Catlover

Dined on January 24, 2016

The food was absolutely fabulous! The waitress was very sweet, attentive and knowledgeable about the menu.Kudos to her!! She was very accommodating. I was with another couple and they loved the food as well. The food was very presentable and filling. I plan on returning very soon!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Deb

Dined on January 24, 2016

We meet friends here monthly for dinner. We arrive at 4:30 and stay talking sometimes until 8:30. They never ask us to leave because of how long we stay. The food is consistently great. Drinks are great. The service is outstanding. We have been doing this for over 2 years and take advantage of the "prine club" members. Our favorite is the campfire feast for two. Cant go wrong.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Best Steak house Restaurant

Dined on January 24, 2016

Great food,variety to choose from and fulfilling, reasonable price, awesome food service, friendly and kid accommodating, overall the Best Steak House restaurant!! Defiantly worth every penny! Highly recommend!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.