About Black Angus Steakhouse - Fresno

1737 E. Shaw Avenue
Fresno, CA 93710
View Larger Map

Great for steak and so much more… Black Angus Steakhouse has built its reputation on providing a Genuine American Steakhouse experience to remember. Our Chefs are proud to serve only Black Angus steaks that are carefully aged, fresh-cut daily, and grilled over an open flame.



Our other specialties include a variety of succulent seafood, fall-off-the-bone Baby Back Ribs and our famous slow-roasted Prime Rib. Whatever you're craving, we pride ourselves at Black Angus Steakhouse for superior quality, friendly service, and great food. It's more than a tradition - it's our passion every day. Black Angus offers a full array of menu items that are naturally gluten free. Ask for their Gluten Free Trail Map.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, American

Hours of Operation:

Dinner: Monday - Friday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm, Saturday: 11:00am - 10:00pm, Sunday: 11:00am - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Cedar

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(559) 224-2205

Website:
http://www.blackangus.com/

Entertainment:
This Black Angus Steakhouse features a casual sports bar concept within the restaurant which boasts 10 to 12 hi-def flat screen TVs and offers various types of viewing zones. Each seat in the bar offers Guests the ability to watch different sporting events simultaneously. Free Wi-Fi is also available for fantasy sports players, as well as an ongoing calendar of sports-related promotions and contests.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Why wait for the weekend?!

MONDAY – FRIDAY: Best Happy Hour in town! Let loose from 3pm to 7pm in our bar and enjoy $3.50, $4.50 and $5.50 Drink and Full-Size appetizer specials.

TUESDAYS and SUNDAYS: Happy Tuesday and Sunday with Happy Hour from Open - Close in the bar.

WEDNESDAYS: Join us every Wednesday for our signature slow-roasted Prime Rib dinner and Sky-High Mud Pie dessert for only $18.99.


For exclusive offers and the latest Black Angus Steakhouse news delivered directly to your email inbox, click here (http://www.blackangus.com/primeclub/) to join the Prime Club.

Black Angus Steakhouse - Fresno Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.2

ambience

4.1

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Value
Fresno / San Joaquin Valley
Special Occasion
Fresno / San Joaquin Valley
Most Booked
Fresno / San Joaquin Valley
1 More
Most Booked
Fresno
Best Restaurants in Fresno ›

special occasion (45)
good for groups (32)
romantic (21)
See All
neighborhood gem (17)
kid-friendly (12)
fit for foodies (11)
great for lunch (10)
notable wine list (6)
great for brunch (5)
late-night find (3)
vibrant bar scene (2)
hot spot (2)
great for outdoor dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
466 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food was phenomenal

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined 4 days ago

The food was phenomenal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Great steaks! Slow service. Had a reserv ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Great steaks! Slow service. Had a reservation and restaurant not busy. Waited about 15 min for table.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

This is our very favorite place to dine. ...

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

This is our very favorite place to dine. Alone, or with friends, it has been excellent. We use our prime club membership to utilize the savings. It doesn't matter when you use your membership, as you always get the very best service and food. We love being able to stay for 2 or 3 hours without feeling rushed. It is our first choice for dining and drinks!

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

All food was prepared as ordered. Excell ...

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

All food was prepared as ordered. Excellent flavor. Would recommend this restaurant to anyone who wants a good meal. Service was good, courteous and prompt. We will be back.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

dinner was great service good like that ...

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

dinner was great service good like that you can make a reservation ( not meany resturants do that any more) over all experiance very good

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Black Angus serves quality food. Their f ...

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Black Angus serves quality food. Their food is amazing. The service was great. I definitely look forward to many more .

Tags: kid-friendly, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was very slow ,we were seated at ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Service was very slow ,we were seated at 4:30 and didn't get out til 6: 45 and they were not busy. Server got the order wrong, bread was hard like a rock so we asked for another. Appetizer was very skimpy this time as was the salad plate. Seems like the quality of the food has gone down since our last visit. We won't be going back anytime soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Everything was exceptional. We had a gre ...

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Everything was exceptional. We had a great time and enjoyed our date night for our anniversary. It was a nice suprise to have a dessert at the end.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

IT SEEMS LIKE WHENEVER WE ARE IN THE MOO ...

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

IT SEEMS LIKE WHENEVER WE ARE IN THE MOOD FOR A GREAT MEAL WE TEND TO THINK OF BLACK ANGUS. THE AMBIANCE IS ALWAYS OF QUALITY ASSURANCE, THE THE STAFFS IS VERY HELPFUL. mY BIRTHDAY IS COMING UP SOON, AND GUESS WHAT? i M HOPING WE AND MY FAMILY CAN MAKE RESERVATIONS FOR THAT EVENING. keep UP THE GOOD WORK, AND I WILL BE A CUSTOMER FOR LIFE. THANK YOU MUCH, WITH REGARDS ......JESS AND MARIA HERNAND

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Service was very good. As was the time t ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Service was very good. As was the time to bring the food to the table.

I ordered the BBQ Chicken and ribs dinner. I thought first of all, the sections were quite small. I think at least 3 or 4 ribs would be better. Also a more generous sized chicken breast. The BBQ sauce flavor was OK but nothing unique and a little over- powering. My side of Ceasar salad was excellent.

Not a huge selection of draft beer, but a great variety

My wife's prime rib was excellent, as well as my daughter's baked chicken.

The only other area that seems to need attention is coffee. The quality of the coffee seems to say, "we serve coffee just in case someone orders it." Might consider improving it and even offering cappuccino and latte as well to go with your very good desserts.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

Good place for family and friends to enj ...

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Good place for family and friends to enjoy a night out

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

The food is always excellent and the bes ...

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The food is always excellent and the best margaritas in town!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Celebrated Fathers Day with my husband a ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Celebrated Fathers Day with my husband at the Angus in Fresno, CA.

Did not appear that busy when we arrived, 1pm, but were seated in a reasonable amount of time and server was satisfactory. I think she was doing her best under the circumstances of the day. Would recommend if you are not in a hurry.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Server was horrible. Food took forever.. ...

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Server was horrible. Food took forever...then got our order wrong, never apologized. 2 hours for dinner was not good. Once we got the correct food, it was good . . .but ackward two of us eating after everyone was done...hard to enjoy.

Not the kind of dinner can normally afford. . .sad waste of hard earned money.

Tags: notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value2

My only concern was the long wait betwee ...

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

My only concern was the long wait between reservation time 4:30 pm to actual seating time 4:45 pm to actual waitstaff member approaching our table. The hosting staff, wait staff were all excellent, however it seemed a bit unorganized. It was the same way back in March when we visited the restaurant to celebrate my mother's birthday. Overall the service and food is great, but my suggestion is better staffing for weekends as both occasions were on weekends.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We have always had the best food and lov ...

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

We have always had the best food and love the ambiance especially on quieter times not so full of people will definately be back and soon

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

I had a coupon for my free steak dinner ...

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

I had a coupon for my free steak dinner for my birthday. My wife and I went and we had a great meal. My steak was perfect. I did not realize until talking to a co worker that I should have gotten a free Cowboy cookie dessert since it was my birthday. the waiter did not offer this, although he did offer a dessert menu. That was disappointing that he probably did not know about that offer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

Great meal, Quiet, Rrelaxed on a Friday night.

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

Our meal was great. I had the salmon and my husband had the prime rib. Everything was spiced and cooked just right.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good value, food and service

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

Online reservations work great. We get there early to take advantage of the happy hour. Food was good as always and service was cheerful and attentive. Took a while to get bread because it wasn't yet baked, but other than that, it was fine. We like the booths and that no matter how many big groups are in the house, we always get seated where we can have intimate conversation. As for value, being a member of Prime Club, we have more opportunities to save and we take advantage of them.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

My family and I had a wonderful dinner.

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

My family and I had a wonderful and delicious dinner. Everyone was very attentive and accommodating. The ambiance was nice and the privacy provided in the booths was very appreciated. The menu provided us with options to fit all our different likings. I would return with my family and friends.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not a Good Meal This Time

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on May 31, 2016

Very disappointing meal for me personally. The others in my group enjoyed theirs. Mine was not prepared in accordance with my instructions to the server.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Black Angus has a pleasant dining atmosp ...

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Black Angus has a pleasant dining atmosphere! It's a great place to dine with children as they have items that most kids enjoy eating! We need one in the Tulare and Visalia areas!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Best service

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

We ALWAYS request Nicole. She is AMAZING. We love the food and the drinks. We go there all the time, however this was an anniversary dinner. We love the whole restaurant. We are always served quickly. We usually make reservations as well so we never wait more than 5 minutes for our table. All of the staff is nice. Although Nicole is our favorite. You should give her a raise! The food always exceeds expectations. It's always full of talk and laughter, but not an overwhelming amount. It just sounds like everyone is having a great time.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service were top notch! No comp ...

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Food and service were top notch! No complaints at all!!! Eager to go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food as always!

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on May 9, 2016

Had the CampFire combo, always a great deal! Steak was delicious, as was the cheesecake!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mothers Day Dinner

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on May 9, 2016

The staff was friendly and professional. The steaks were cooked to perfection and the potato soup was great. We always come to the Fresno restaurant on holidays and special occasions.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Mother's day lunch

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

We had a wonderful Mother's Day lunch. Our waitress was attentive and helpful. We sat in the bar and actually preferred it over the dining area.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had to wait 40 minutes for our table eve ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Had to wait 40 minutes for our table even with a reservation. Not good.

Getting off to a bad start just set the mood for the rest of the night. It would have to be amazing food and service after that and it was not.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

Black Angus Fresno

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Our meal was very good. Service was good but much slower than usual.

The parking lot has seen better days and seriously needs to be repaved and re-striped.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Very Good Value & great entrees

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

If you are looking for a quiet place to eat that serves very great tasting entrees at a very good value then look no further. We had the two for $42 coupon so it was a great deal. Sign up for future specials and desert on your birthday. The portions are just right but still had a portion left over. Enjoy.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

The art of prime roast is missing

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on April 28, 2016

We requested medium well, no pink, on two prime rib orders. What we recieved were two different stages of pink. We have always had no less than one inch thickness, and these were thin. Not cut evenly, and clearly didn't try. The meat tasted good! The rest of the meals were delicious. However, we went for the prime rib special... Our waitress had an off night, and missed a salad, waited ten minutes for beverages, and tried THREE TIMES TO UPSELL US.

We will give this place another shot, as we dine here twice a year with friends, and it's been a better experience all the way around.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

Good beef

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on April 26, 2016

We went there for the good meats they have there. We'd We've ate there before and never had a bad meal. The service is good and a good value.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Choice

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on April 3, 2016

Only issue was I ordered prime rib and got a rib eye. Was still good. Just not prime rib.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

overated

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

The restaurant is outdated, the food was bland, the lobster was chewy, over priced for what we got.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service5
value1

Quality of steaks

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on March 30, 2016

I am sorry, but 3 different times, the steaks have been tough or lots of gristle in them. And then, the steak knife is another item. Next time, I am going to bring my own knife that is not serrated! Even the food server agreed. Everything else, loaded potato, green beans, molasses rolls and, especially, the mud pie was great. I may have to change my selection to chicken and ribs. I do like Black Angus, just not the steaks. I even had the $3 extra one before and it was a bit better--still not melt-in-your mouth. After I cut the left over steak in mini pieces, it became more edible. Couldn't have done that with your knives.

Thanks for reading this.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

Family Lunch

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

Family lunch with four generations....something on the menu for everyone. Servings were large with lots of leftovers to take home. Favorite was the Loaded Baked Potato Soup. Prime Rib and New York Strip were both good. Our server Nicole (not sure of the spelling) was amazing....we would eat here again just because of her. Key Lime Pie was the perfect dessert.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Disappointed

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

Wait time was good. Everything else was disappointing. Prices were very high, food mediocre for price.

Tags: kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

Black Angus - Mixed Bag the Last Couple of Visits

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on March 14, 2016

Black Angus has always been our preferred steak house in Fresno. The wait time is reasonable and the restaurant is quieter than other similar places in Fresno, and the value is a little bit better. This time, we arrived 2 minutes prior to our reservation. We were informed that we would be seated at the time of our reservation. ? We requested a booth in our reservation. We were seated in a booth with a view of the server station and kitchen. There were many other booths available away from the kitchen. The service was horrible. The salads were served immediately after the appetizer. Drinks were not replenished. We spilled a drink and used our napkins to mop it up. A long while later, we asked for three new napkins, one to finish cleaning the table and two for our laps. We were brought only 2 and no offer to clean the table. Later the food was brought and placed on the still wet table. Only after complaining did the server bring the extra napkin. It didn't occur to her to clean the table for us. We were never once asked how the food was or if we needed anything the entire time. It was my husband's birthday. Not a good evening. The steaks were cooked to perfection however. The last time we were there, we ordered the same steaks. One was beautiful. The other was a horribly cut piece of nonsense. Macie H., our server, needs some real training, as does the hostess. We'll give our one time favorite restaurant one more try. I selected the 'yes' button for recommending to a friend, but with caution. I scored low on ambiance because of unnecessarily being seated near the kitchen. I scored only medium on the food because while it was excellent this time, it was a poor quality piece of meat the last time. It simply should always be good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value4

Nice experience

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on March 14, 2016

The waiter was awesome. Very friendly and on top of things !

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Angus Night Out...always a great time.

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

I always look forward to going to Black Angus. Great dinner specials and dine in coupons to use that are delivered in the paper, or now via my new online registration. I am always happy to take friends and out of town guests to enjoy Black Angus. Always awesome!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.