About Black Angus Steakhouse - Fresno

Great for steak and so much more… Black Angus Steakhouse has built its reputation on providing a Genuine American Steakhouse experience to remember. Our Chefs are proud to serve only Black Angus steaks that are carefully aged, fresh-cut daily, and grilled over an open flame.



Our other specialties include a variety of succulent seafood, fall-off-the-bone Baby Back Ribs and our famous slow-roasted Prime Rib. Whatever you're craving, we pride ourselves at Black Angus Steakhouse for superior quality, friendly service, and great food. It's more than a tradition - it's our passion every day. Black Angus offers a full array of menu items that are naturally gluten free. Ask for their Gluten Free Trail Map.

1737 E. Shaw Avenue
Fresno, CA 93710
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, American

Hours of Operation:

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 3:00pm - 9:30pm, Friday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm Saturday: 12:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 12:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Cedar

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(559) 224-2205

Website:
http://www.blackangus.com/

Entertainment:
This Black Angus Steakhouse features a casual sports bar concept within the restaurant which boasts 10 to 12 hi-def flat screen TVs and offers various types of viewing zones. Each seat in the bar offers Guests the ability to watch different sporting events simultaneously. Free Wi-Fi is also available for fantasy sports players, as well as an ongoing calendar of sports-related promotions and contests.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Why wait for the weekend?!

MONDAY – FRIDAY: Best Happy Hour in town! Let loose from 3pm to 7pm in our bar and enjoy $3.50, $4.50 and $5.50 Drink and Full-Size appetizer specials.

TUESDAYS and SUNDAYS: Happy Tuesday and Sunday with Happy Hour from Open - Close in the bar.

WEDNESDAYS: Join us every Wednesday for our signature slow-roasted Prime Rib dinner and Sky-High Mud Pie dessert for only $18.99.


For exclusive offers and the latest Black Angus Steakhouse news delivered directly to your email inbox, click here (http://www.blackangus.com/primeclub/) to join the Prime Club.

Black Angus Steakhouse - Fresno Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.2

ambience

4.2

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (53)
Good for Birthdays (46)
Good for Anniversaries (44)
See All
Good for a Date (41)
Casual (31)
Good for Groups (31)
Family Style (30)
Cozy (26)
Quiet Conversation (25)
Bar Seating (23)
Romantic (23)
Comfort Food (21)
Outstanding Value (19)
Happy Hour (19)
Worth the Drive (18)
Business Meals (17)
Kid-friendly (14)
Fun (12)
Disabled Access (10)
Great for Lunch (9)
Tasting Menu (8)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Authentic (8)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Healthy (7)
Live Sports (7)
Seasonal (6)
People Watching (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Great Beer (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Great for Brunch (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Fireplace (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Private Room (2)
Quick Bite (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Scenic View (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Spicy (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Dancing (1)
Sort By:
S
599 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined 3 days ago

Great food. Kind of pricey. Well worth the extra money though!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Joaquin)·Dined 4 days ago

It took quite awhile to get our food. Good thing we weren't in a hurry. The grilled artichoke appetizer took half an hour but it was very tasty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on February 20, 2017

The food and service was very good.

Only complaint was it was cold had to leave our jackets on.

Tags: Happy Hour, Disabled Access, Kid-friendly, People Watching, Great Beer, Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Business Meals, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Love the privacy of the restaurant we had a booth and the booths are rather tall so you don't see the people to either side or behind you you can actually hear the conversation going on at your table it was very enjoyable

Tags: Special Occasion, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 18, 2017

I see a marked improvement since 8 months ago on my last visit steak and lobster was terrific service was Wonderful

Tags: Family Style, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Recently experienced my first time dining at Black Angus and I cannot WAIT to go back! The food was absolutely delicious. I ordered the ribeye and it was full of flavor and cooked to perfection. My husband ordered the Prime Rib and was very impressed with the flavor and cut. (That says a lot!)

The Steakhouse Chili Nachos appetizer is a MUST. They are now in my top three best nachos of all time.

The decor is cowboy themed and rustic with dim lighting but not so dark you can't see the menu. Great ambiance.

Will definitely be returning to give Happy Hour a try!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on February 15, 2017

my wife and i once again enjoyed a fine evening of dining, the booth seating is very private and can be romantic. you can actually have a conversation in privacy , we have decided that this is our date night place to start.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 15, 2017

This is one of our favorite restaurants. Food is always very good, reasonably priced, and cooked to perfection. Customer service is always outstanding. See no reason to go to places like Ruth Chris or Flemmings when you have quality restaurants like Black Angus.

Tags: Modern Decor, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on February 14, 2017

I reserved a table for six a few days ago, and we were seated between five and ten minutes after our reservation time. Not too bad for a busy night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Slow service. steak had a lot of fat. must of been a off night for them.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on February 13, 2017

My wife and I had dinner on Sunday. We both had the filet and lobster. It was absolutely delicious.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on February 12, 2017

I've always loved Black Angus, been going there for pass 20yrs. Service wasn't that great, but food was great as always!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Fun, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Business Meals, Live Sports, Good for Birthdays, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on February 12, 2017

My wife and I really enjoyed our evening together & our waitress (Taylor) was very sweet and attentive to our needs. We felt very comfortable and enjoyed the atmosphere. I would recommend this establishment to everyone who would like to have a wonderful experience.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Casual, Fun, Romantic, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We were seated late because of the pre-Valentine rush, but the bar staff took care of us while we waited. Attentive and friendly staff. After we were seated it took a long time to get my glass of wine so the waiter comped it. Excellent Ribeye Steak! Romantic atmosphere. Overall good experience and would highly recommend.

Tags: Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Special Occasion, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Wonderful service, excellent food, a bit pricey, but worth every bite.

Tags: Family Style, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 5, 2017

We went to celebrate my birthday. Was very glad we made a reservation, as it was packed, even at 5:30pm. We were seated promptly in a nice, secluded booth. Our server was there quickly to take our drink order. Our dinner was wonderful. And, for a treat, they provided us with a birthday cookie w/ice cream and a lit candle. Very nice evening.

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on February 3, 2017

All the food was so good! I can not wait to go back.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on February 1, 2017

It was within an hour of closing time when we arrived (there were only 2 other tables in sight) and our specialty drinks had little or NO alcohol, then we ordered onion rings as a side but it was too late to cook them or any deep fried item. Our soup was luke warm, but tasted wonderful!!! They made us feel like we were intruding so we had our desssert boxed up. The waiter acted like he was high on crystal method with his runny nose, speed walking, fast mumbling talking and forgetfulness. We are willing to shake off the experiencer and give them another chance to be great though.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Food was very good as it usually is, with special preparation requests adhered to completely. However, the service this time was not nearly as good as it has been in the past. For example, I ordered coffee, plus a spoon to stir it with. In spite of repeated requests, I never received a spoon. Further, refills were rare & not very timely. That issue notwithstanding, our evening was very enjoyable.

Tags: Family Style, Modern Decor, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on January 29, 2017

The food was great and the steak was cooked to perfection, service was good, but our utensils were dirty. Dried food was on them, the bread plates were dirty and greasy. Our server brought clean items and our table made the comment that dishwashers breakdown or temperatures aren't checked routinely. We didn't want to leave. We knew our dining experience would be worth it. Hope the problems are fixed.

Tags: Good for Groups, Disabled Access, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Special Occasion, Family Style, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Good place to get together and good food. Not too noisy.

Tags: Cozy, Disabled Access, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on January 26, 2017

I have been to most of the steakhouses in Fresno,CA and although they are very good, I find that Black Angus is my favorite. I have never had a bad experience there or left thinking the food was not good. For me, I find that their steaks seem to have a great flavor. Personally, I wish it was a bit cheaper (they do offer gift cards and coupons), I continually return. Since our tastes may be

different, I would highly recommend you try it for yourself(-ves). I would recommend making a reservation as some nights, it is really busy, and that not for a special event. Although I've not had anything bad, if this is your first time, I would recommend the Campfire deal or the steak and prawns or steak and lobster (seasonal), I would try the Hawaiian Avalanche while you are waiting and the combination appetizer plate. Don't forget to ask for their molasses bread and butter (fresh from the oven). The Campfire coupon also includes dessert so you might try the flourless torte or creme brulee or cheesecake... Either way, I think you will have a most lovely evening. (Btw, the managers are really easy to work with and if you happen to be there the night Seth is working, please tell him Tim said hello~!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Paleo Friendly, Business Meals, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Disabled Access, Live Sports, Family Style, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Cozy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Poor service. There for 2 hours for dinner. Very slow ordered steak medium it came out rare. Had to send it back. Had to wait another 20 mins. Everything was cold when it came back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Food was very good. Our waiter was cheerful and very observant to our needs

Tags: Special Occasion, Family Style, Happy Hour, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on January 15, 2017

We always enjoy the food and the service is great.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Worth the Drive, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on January 14, 2017

My wife and I dine out frequently. Of all the places we eat this is my favorite.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Our favorite place to dine, mainly because of your quiet, comfortable booths. Caesar salad brings us in when we are undecided.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great New Year's Day Lunch! Great food and great service as usual!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Used OpenTable reservation for the first time and was very pleased. We were seated at our reserved time. Our table server Michelle "Mitch" was excellent. The steak was cooked as requested. We will be back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Cozy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on January 1, 2017

It was New Year's Eve and it was extremely busy. We were their 6:45p and reservations were for 7 p. We were seated at 7 p in the bar area. Our waitress was Natalie and she was wonderful. Friendly and great service and the food was amazing. Always love eating there especially on New Year's Eve.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Your lobster was good and cooked just right. Much bigger than I've had in the past.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Really appreciate the service and the promptness for our reservation. The food was great!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Paleo Friendly, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Service was beyond excellent food was so good my steak was done to perfection and was great good value my wife and I had the campfire feast for two and had plenty of food highly recommend

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We had a greaT time at dinner. Everything was exceptional!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Service was abominable. The server had only three tables so far as we could tell and everything took far longer than it should have. There were only two of us and the dinner took over two hours - mind you, this isn't a restaurant where you expect to spend a leisurely two hour meal - this is a steakhouse. And on that note, the filet mignon was order medium-well, and arrived rare and came back medium rare. Had to be sent back twice. Black Angus used to be an excellent choice for a good steak dinner, but "how the mighty have fallen." Far better choices in the Fresno-Clovis area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on December 25, 2016

The food and service is always great here. There are few restaurants where you can actually enjoy a quiet meal. I have been a fan of this restaurant for years and will always continue to dine here. This is on my Favorites List.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Healthy, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We got our seating fairly close to our reservation time. Drink order was taken. After we ordered, appetizers came in a reasonable time, but the window of time to wait for our entrees was pretty lengthy. The restaurant wasn't packed at that time. Food orders came out nicely, and all guests were pleased with food, once it was delivered. Server, a veteran employee, was very accommodating, and served us well. She did a great job throughout our dining experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Great food and great service. I would come again. We come every year for xmas eve. and have never been disappointed. Thanks, our group had a great time.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 25, 2016

The employees were great. Food was good. Restaurant was clean and festive. Good ambiance.

Tags: Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Our Christmas Eve dinner was awesome and the service excellent. My family loved the grilled artichokes appetizer and the steak and lobster tails were great. Thank you for a wonderful Holiday dinner!

Tags: Special Occasion, Live Sports, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.