Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.46mi
  3. Distance: 0.48mi
  4. Distance: 0.59mi
  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.46mi
  3. Distance: 0.48mi
  4. Distance: 0.59mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.46mi
  3. Distance: 0.48mi
  4. Distance: 0.59mi
  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.46mi
  3. Distance: 0.48mi
  4. Distance: 0.59mi

About Black Angus Steakhouse - Fresno

Great for steak and so much more… Black Angus Steakhouse has built its reputation on providing a Genuine American Steakhouse experience to remember. Our Chefs are proud to serve only Black Angus steaks that are carefully aged, fresh-cut daily, and grilled over an open flame.



Our other specialties include a variety of succulent seafood, fall-off-the-bone Baby Back Ribs and our famous slow-roasted Prime Rib. Whatever you're craving, we pride ourselves at Black Angus Steakhouse for superior quality, friendly service, and great food. It's more than a tradition - it's our passion every day. Black Angus offers a full array of menu items that are naturally gluten free. Ask for their Gluten Free Trail Map.

1737 E. Shaw Avenue
Fresno, CA 93710
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, American

Hours of Operation:

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 3:00pm - 9:30pm, Friday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm Saturday: 12:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 12:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Cedar

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(559) 224-2205

Website:
http://www.blackangus.com/

Entertainment:
This Black Angus Steakhouse features a casual sports bar concept within the restaurant which boasts 10 to 12 hi-def flat screen TVs and offers various types of viewing zones. Each seat in the bar offers Guests the ability to watch different sporting events simultaneously. Free Wi-Fi is also available for fantasy sports players, as well as an ongoing calendar of sports-related promotions and contests.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Why wait for the weekend?!

MONDAY – FRIDAY: Best Happy Hour in town! Let loose from 3pm to 7pm in our bar and enjoy $3.50, $4.50 and $5.50 Drink and Full-Size appetizer specials.

TUESDAYS and SUNDAYS: Happy Tuesday and Sunday with Happy Hour from Open - Close in the bar.

WEDNESDAYS: Join us every Wednesday for our signature slow-roasted Prime Rib dinner and Sky-High Mud Pie dessert for only $18.99.


For exclusive offers and the latest Black Angus Steakhouse news delivered directly to your email inbox, click here (http://www.blackangus.com/primeclub/) to join the Prime Club.

Black Angus Steakhouse - Fresno Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

SpecialOccasions (38)
QuietConversation (34)
Casual (34)
See All
Anniversaries (33)
Birthdays (31)
GoodForDates (29)
Groups (23)
ComfortFood (20)
BarSeating (18)
Cozy (17)
Romance (15)
BusinessMeals (14)
Fun (11)
WorthTheDrive (11)
DisabledAccess (11)
FamilyStyle (10)
SundayLunch (10)
TastingMenu (10)
NeighborhoodGem (9)
ChildFriendly (8)
Lunch (8)
Healthy (8)
CreativeCuisine (8)
HappyHour (7)
PrePostTheatre (6)
Authentic (6)
Foodies (6)
VibrantBarScene (5)
LiveSports (4)
HandcraftedCocktails (4)
OutstandingValue (4)
GreatBeer (4)
PeopleWatching (4)
Brunch (4)
QuickBite (3)
NotableWineList (3)
GlutenFree (3)
VegetarianOptions (2)
LocalIngredients (2)
Seasonal (2)
ModernDecor (1)
Tapas (1)
WoodOven (1)
PrivateRoom (1)
Fireplace (1)
Sort By:
S
657 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 3 days ago

Had reservation. Was told at door they were running a little behind. Waited over 30 minuets for table. Restaurant was fairly empty many open tables and they still sat us next to kitchen door. Obviously severely understaffed. Had to be at least 15 open tables in our section.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined 6 days ago

We have always had an enjoyable meal at Black Angus. The staff is always very helpful and accomodating. This time the young waitress took time to take pictures of our family gathering. The desserts are very good but unfortunately most of the time we do not leave room for them under our belts.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on June 18, 2017

We have truly enjoyed coming back to the Black Angus. Food is excellent, prices great, clean, friendly staff and great service. We are pleased we have gotten the same waiter each time, David. He is excellent!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Healthy, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 18, 2017

We had a party of 4 for Fathers Day. We got the seating we requested via Open Table.
Server never mentioned the additional charge for the asparagus side, that was disappointing and his repeated description of the entree "doneness" was very rote/mechanical and almost annoying. But his service was very good otherwise.

It may be awhile before we return due to the above.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Have NEVER been disappointed!!! The Black Angus is a fantastic place to go for any occasion...

Tags: Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Cozy, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on June 18, 2017

We went to Black Angus to enjoy my free birthday meal, and beat the heat that has been blazing in Central California. Had the Fire Grilled Fresh Artichoke appetizer - always a good choice! I ordered the 6 oz filet with roasted asparagus and loaded baked potato, and my husband had the BBQ Chicken and Ribs. Steak was cooked to order, the asparagus tender-crisp, and the baked potato was just as good as it always is. I'm guessing my husband's dinner was very tasty, as it did not take long for him to clean his plate! We enjoy Black Angus once every couple of months, and it never disappoints.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Good food, they always have a good deal with the prices , good service and ambiance,

Tags: Healthy, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on June 18, 2017

First let me say that our Server was great!! The food was good but it was too hot in the restaurant to enjoy it. The restaurant was so hot that people had to fan themselves. We were in one of the large booths and were extremely uncomfortable. We mentioned how hot it was to our server and was told he is not allowed to adjust it. He said they would write him up if he did. There was a large party in the tables in front of us and they were also very uncomfortable. There was a big grasshopper that jumped onto their table while they were eating. We overheard their server ask them if they were done ordering drinks because it takes a while to separate the tabs. I get that but telling people not to order anymore drinks in a super hot restaurant is one way to limit their spending. I spent $72.70 on food and drinks and feel that it was a lot of money to spend for not being completely able to actually enjoy our food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Our Server Michelle was amazing. She kept all glasses fool, made recommendations to my three teenagers and my 6 year old. I understand that preparing food for 10 and timing it to come out together is probably difficult so I understand the long wait. However we never had to ask for anything from Michelle. Once the appetizers came out everything went so smoothly. This is not meant to be a negative comment but my sister, and my wife’s parents commented how they had forgotten about “this place”. However, after our experience we all agreed we will be coming back for sure. The food was very good and all of the staff that passed by had smiles. I tip my hat to the Manager. He obviously treats the staff well or they would not be so pleasant. I will definitely be returning. My prime rib was delicious. My compliments to the Chef and staff! Thank you. My birthday celebration was outstanding thanks to all of you.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Enjoyed our meal of filet and new york strip. The potato au-gratin was very good. Had very good service. Would recommend to all.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on June 15, 2017

This is one of the best values and quality meals in Fresno/Clovis area. Brittany was a fantastic server and the food was excellent!

Tags: Bar Seating, Good Vegetarian Options, Live Sports, Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Romantic, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Great services as always. Service prompt and efficient as well as friendly. Sat where we could do great people watch

Tags: Comfort Food, People Watching, Casual, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Everyone is always good with customer service. The food was awesome like always

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 4, 2017

We took 10 of our friends there for lunch because we love the fact that we can hear the conversation well. Great food!!!❤️

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Everything was amazing! Great food, great drinks, good service. We were very pleased. Definitely felt it was worth the price. Decent sized portions with sides included.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on May 30, 2017

Very nice evening. Food was excellent, company was fantastic. Lots of fun.

Tags: Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Disabled Access, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on May 20, 2017

When we arrived, on time there were not enough servers to help with all the tables. We waited like an hour for our food. I think they were short handed. Food was tasty though, and we weren't in a rush so we didn't mind it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on May 20, 2017

The service was slow and the food was average tonight. Usually better......

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 20, 2017

I have always loved Black Angus. My only concern for this location was the fact that it smelled musty, like it had water damage. Very clean and quiet atmosphere otherwise.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on May 14, 2017

I have been taking my family to Black Angus for over 20 yrs. This last time was not as good as others. Our waiter brought our salads and appetizers at the same time. Hard to enjoy. Two of us in our party order our steak Medium Rare. They both came our Rare. I went ahead and ate mine but sent my mother's back to be cooked longer. We had to ask for our desert. This was mother's day. I was disappointed.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Family Style, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Nice place to go with or without family. Excellent manager and assistant manager. Really nice greeting at the door. Pretty quick service in the bar. The staff is always friendly. We have taken several different people for dinner and/or cocktails.

Tags: People Watching, Seasonal, Vibrant Bar Scene, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Thanks to Chris who was a wonderful patient waiter. The couple we were with had just gone thru extreme medical conditions ( he didn't know this) and were slow in making selections. Chris was extremely kind and couldn't have been a better waiter. We eat here pretty often, the food is always good and service is always good. Of course we will be back 😁

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Disabled Access, Cozy, Authentic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on May 14, 2017

It was awesome everybody was so friendly and very helpful people showed up that we weren't expecting and they made rangement's for us to have a bigger table

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on May 7, 2017

The panko zucchini is a must try. Also one of the best mojitos it have ever had, refreshing strawberry. I only rated the food 4 stars for the mushy broccoli

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Service was excellent but food was not. Wedge salad had several brown leaves that should not have been served and baked potato was dried out and looked like it came from a prior diner's plate. Value was poor. Large table was in the middle of other diners which made it difficult to hear other members of our party. The older folks couldn't hear anything over the noise. Very disappointing. Waiter worked his tail off and was the only bright spot.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 4, 2017

The service was disorganized. Also this is the second time I've been there and they have been out of what I ordered.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Pre concert dinner for four....Quick friendly service....great food...great for low carbers!

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Always a great place for good, quality food at a reasonable price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on April 25, 2017

I have been coming to this restaurant for a family dinner or special occasions just for the food and overall service. We have never been disappointed. We travel from Hanford and will continue to go for as long as my car gets me there safely.

Tags: Casual, Cozy, Family Style, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Overall was a good experience. Food was excellent but service left something to be desired. Will visit again. Server may have just been having a bad night

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Enjoyed our dining experience. The server was excellent. We'll be returning this June.

Tags: Fireplace, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Cozy, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Server seemed distracted. Forgot wine with dinner, i had to remind him 1/2 way through dinner.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Once again a good time was had. Got a booth as requested not to close to others which is important . Will be making another time of it soon!!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great Beer, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We were seated promptly like we had indicated in our RSVP time. Adrain our waitress was very pleasant and efficient very delightful. The food was as usual delicious the Lobster and steak was cooked just perfect.. The noise level was normal and we really did enjoy our experience and we love Black Angus.

Tags: Healthy, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Enjoyed Easter Sunday lunch with family. Excellent service, food was good, everyone enjoyed it.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Awesome service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on April 16, 2017

I like it because it accommodates my daughter's wheelchair and the waitresses and Waiters are always very accommodating the food is good and plentiful. Our servings weres so big we have to take most of it home. we thoroughly enjoyed our time on Easter Sunday. We invited a friend to join us and she said she would probably join us again she thoroughenjoyed her dinner .

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on April 16, 2017

I have food intolerances that Black Angus is able to accommodate. I appreciate their flexibility to help me avoid an unusual combination of foods.

Tags: Bar Seating, Casual, Disabled Access, Good for Groups, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Great food and waitress. Lot of fun and a Lot of Food!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 16, 2017

I go to black angus because I have never had a disappointing meal. I can't say that about any other restaurant. The food is always excellent and not too expensive. I use cupons and get alot of food.

Tags: Business Meals, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.