Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.46mi
  3. Distance: 0.48mi
  4. Distance: 0.59mi
  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.46mi
  3. Distance: 0.48mi
  4. Distance: 0.59mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.46mi
  3. Distance: 0.48mi
  4. Distance: 0.59mi
  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.46mi
  3. Distance: 0.48mi
  4. Distance: 0.59mi

About Black Angus Steakhouse - Fresno

Great for steak and so much more… Black Angus Steakhouse has built its reputation on providing a Genuine American Steakhouse experience to remember. Our Chefs are proud to serve only Black Angus steaks that are carefully aged, fresh-cut daily, and grilled over an open flame.



Our other specialties include a variety of succulent seafood, fall-off-the-bone Baby Back Ribs and our famous slow-roasted Prime Rib. Whatever you're craving, we pride ourselves at Black Angus Steakhouse for superior quality, friendly service, and great food. It's more than a tradition - it's our passion every day. Black Angus offers a full array of menu items that are naturally gluten free. Ask for their Gluten Free Trail Map.

1737 E. Shaw Avenue
Fresno, CA 93710
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, American

Hours of Operation:

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 3:00pm - 9:30pm, Friday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm Saturday: 12:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 12:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Cedar

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(559) 224-2205

Website:
http://www.blackangus.com/

Entertainment:
This Black Angus Steakhouse features a casual sports bar concept within the restaurant which boasts 10 to 12 hi-def flat screen TVs and offers various types of viewing zones. Each seat in the bar offers Guests the ability to watch different sporting events simultaneously. Free Wi-Fi is also available for fantasy sports players, as well as an ongoing calendar of sports-related promotions and contests.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Why wait for the weekend?!

MONDAY – FRIDAY: Best Happy Hour in town! Let loose from 3pm to 7pm in our bar and enjoy $3.50, $4.50 and $5.50 Drink and Full-Size appetizer specials.

TUESDAYS and SUNDAYS: Happy Tuesday and Sunday with Happy Hour from Open - Close in the bar.

WEDNESDAYS: Join us every Wednesday for our signature slow-roasted Prime Rib dinner and Sky-High Mud Pie dessert for only $18.99.


For exclusive offers and the latest Black Angus Steakhouse news delivered directly to your email inbox, click here (http://www.blackangus.com/primeclub/) to join the Prime Club.

Black Angus Steakhouse - Fresno Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.3

Noise

Quiet

96% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (34)
Good for a Date (31)
Good for Birthdays (30)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (29)
Casual (27)
Quiet Conversation (23)
Good for Groups (22)
Romantic (22)
Business Meals (16)
Cozy (14)
Fun (14)
Comfort Food (14)
Happy Hour (12)
Disabled Access (9)
Bar Seating (8)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Seasonal (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
Live Sports (6)
Healthy (5)
Authentic (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Great Beer (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
People Watching (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Scenic View (1)
Tapas (1)
Vegan (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sort By:
S
708 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 5 days ago

We had a nice time but the hostess for Oct. 12 needs a new attitude.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 9, 2017

Our waiter was the best. He was very friendly and answered all of our questions. He made the dinner even more special. His name was Shawn.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Disabled Access, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 8, 2017

Great meal and wonderful service. Reservations had a seated quickly and food was tasty!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 8, 2017

My wife had a great time for her birthday thank you

Tags: Hot Spot, Cozy, Romantic, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on October 6, 2017

We had a booth which is quite private and noise-free. The meal was all that we expected, which was excellent. The steaks were done to perfection, and the service was all that we could ask for.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 5, 2017

Black Angus is generally good food but it has gotten a bit pricey. With food and labor costs being so high I guess it's understandable... all in all we had a great dinner and lot's of fun...

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on October 3, 2017

Always good food! The filet mignon is outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
·Dined on September 24, 2017

Great food, good atmosphere,. Employees are professional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on September 23, 2017

Our experience was positive. Hadn't been in a while. Service was great, though they brought the wrong appetizer and our food was barely warm.

Tags: Business Meals, Fun, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Paleo Friendly, Happy Hour, Comfort Food, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on September 23, 2017

We go there weekly for a good meal. Now everyone knows our first names.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Casual, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
·Dined on September 17, 2017

My husband and I had a very good night for dinner just had a little problem our girl took to long to bring our bread other then that everything was perfect!!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

I've been to this restaurant several times and this was by far the best experience I've had. The staff was very friendly and the service was the best I've had here. The meal was served while still warm (the appetizer was actually hot) our server was very attentive.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on September 13, 2017

Went for the steak, shrimp and lobster special. It was very good and enough to eat. Steak was good and cooked our liking for both my wife and I. Good value. Wait staff was very good and tended to all our needs.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

The place smelled like leaky water pipes in the walls. It had a very moist and mildew smell.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value2

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on August 26, 2017

This is one of my favorite places in Fresno. The ambiance is excellent and the food has never been bad in the time that I have visited. The staff are friendly with a wide selection of choices
and options. The servers are usually sociable, helpful, and with a sense of humor. I come here quite frequently and would recommend it to any one. It is a bit more expensive than your
local every day place but you get what you pay for. Give it a try. I think you will like it. Although there is usually room, I would highly recommend making reservations.

Tags: Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Sunday Lunch, Paleo Friendly, Good Vegetarian Options, Vibrant Bar Scene, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Live Sports, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Healthy, Quick Bite, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour, Seasonal, People Watching, Casual, Gluten Free Options, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Disabled Access, Vegan, Afternoon Coffee, Afternoon Tea, Good for Groups, Authentic, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 25, 2017

We've been making it a regular visit on our wedding anniversary when we're in town. We feel right at home. Meals are very good, though getting a little pricey. The regular salted-rim margaritas were a bit flat.

Tags: Special Occasion, Seasonal, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Really enjoyed our dinner at the Black Angus. The Filet was excellent, cooked perfectly as ordered. Excellent service as well ~ prompt, friendly and energetic. We will definitely return and would recommend the Black Angus in Fresno to anyone for a great dinner, where you can actually enjoy a conversation with your meal, because the noise level is not too loud.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Healthy, Seasonal, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Tapas, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Live Sports, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Before my wife and I got together we had been to the Black Angus separately quite a few years ago. It had been awhile since we had gone out to eat and thought it would be somewhat nostalgic and something we would now experience together. It is nice to see that somethings don't change...or at least not very much. The food was very good and their are not many places where your salad comes with the fork and plate chilled. We splurged and my wife had the prime rib and lobster and I had the rib eye and lobster. We enjoyed them very much. Both were cooked perfectly and very tender and juicy. We really enjoyed the high booths as it gave more of a private, cozy feel. Bar service was excellent and our waiter did a good job however when someone "stops" to ask how things are, it would be nice if they actually stopped. Probably a little picky I know but that's how it is. Overall it was a good experience, very good value for the dollar and for a restaurant as busy as this one was, pretty quite. We will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined on August 20, 2017

Always great food and service . Open table makes reservations easy.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Yosemite)·Dined on August 20, 2017

We come here when we are visiting my mother (age 96). This is the only place she like to eat dinner at. We enjoy the food and the service. Just wish they would sit us when we arrive . There are plenty of empty tables. Yet we have to wait until our reservation time or later before we get seated.

Tags: Good for a Date, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 19, 2017

Service was slow. We had 2 servers and asked for bread and never got it. Took 26 minutes to get all of our tickets. I usually go here a lot but after this experience probably not so much anymore. The whole party was unsatisfied with a few things.

Tags: Seasonal, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on August 18, 2017

The food service was great, the food was very good, and the value was good because we had a coupon. The only negative item was that when I arrived on time for my reservation, the hostess said that 3 reservations were ahead of me and I would have to wait a bit. After a 15 minute wait past our reservation time, we were finally seated in what was a less-than- half- filled restaurant.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Casual, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on August 13, 2017

We had a great meal and the service was excellent. Suggest better staffing for early Sunday diners as we saw several people walk out because hostess informed them of a 20 minute wait. It was 4:30 and no crowd but she said there were only 2 servers. When offering the bar seating area she was it encouraging and didn't suggest the guests check it out. We had reservations and waited 20 minutes ourselves, however, once seated everything was great.

Tags: Seasonal, Comfort Food, Paleo Friendly, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

The food was great but we had ordered 2 med well steaks and received 2 med rare. The server returned steaks to kitchen and within a short while they were returned done to perfection. Also added another bake potato to ease the wait. We have used this restaurant numerous times and this was the first very minor mix up. Will always return.

Tags: Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Disabled Access, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Wonderful food, great service. Overall an awesome experience. Will Definately be returning

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

We have ate here many times and I usually would give it a 5 star rating. This time however it was not a good experience. Service was very slow, even though there were only 2 other parties in the restaurant.
For starters the food tasted like it was left over from the night before. The bread was as hard as a rock, the prime rib tasted old, broccoli was hard, not even fresh - had to cut it with a SHARP knife. Guess we picked a bad day to go there - might be a while before we go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value3

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on August 8, 2017

Food was Ok but nothing special! They don't respect OpenTable reservation as they close at 9:30 o clock but the app takes reservation until 9:45! We almost have to beg for having a seat!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

 
·Dined on August 7, 2017

Amazing deal as always with the camp fire feast deal! My husband and I always go for it when we celebrate special occasions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on August 7, 2017

Great steakhouse. Good food, fair price, quick and friendly service.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Live Sports, Happy Hour, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

Since this is a steak house, the food Is moderately priced. Adrianna is an awesome server. With 10 people in the group I was worried about the little things, but she took care of us. (The last time we were here, with a group of 12, the server didn't come by the table enough). The lobster tail was mushy, but the steaks were good and our water, tea and coffee was kept full.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 4, 2017

HORRIBLE!
Took over an hour and a half to revive our meals and when we did, they were COLD! Spoke to the manager to have it taken back; when she brought the food back out, it was like warm! Will never go here again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value2

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 3, 2017

Visiting the area and found this choice was highly rated so we gave it a try. We both had prime rib and it was ok - not great but also not bad. The sides - salad and potato were good as was the bread. The price was reasonable and the drinks were also good. The service was wonderful. Maybe I would select a different entree if returning to the area.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 3, 2017

Haven't been in a Black Angus for a long time. As usual, food and service were great. Got away from the standard steak selections this time. Salmon and Shrimp. Both were good. I will be keeping this one on my list for the next time back in town.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Black Angus is one of our favorite restaurants in Fresno. The food is always freshly prepared and the price is great...you can't beat the Dinner for Two coupon.

Tags: Comfort Food, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Healthy, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

The ambience was wonderful. Vey diverse group of patrons. Server forgot one order. It was served within minutes of the reminder. The back was stuffy and hot. It was well over 100 degrees however. Conversation was wonderful also, as this was a birthday dinner.

Tags: People Watching, Worth the Drive, Disabled Access, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Excellent service by Chris.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Great food and value.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on July 23, 2017

There were 4 of us. My husband and I ordered one BBQ dinner to share...2 complete meals came to the table. This is the 2nd time this has happened. Looks like we need to say it more than once.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Authentic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on July 21, 2017

The service was some of the best for any restaurant we have eaten in the Fresno-Clovis area. The manager Seth was extremely cordial and helpful. We eat here quite regularly. I highly recommend this restaurant for anyone who wants good food in a nice atmosphere.

Tags: Casual, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on July 18, 2017

They were excellent in accommodating our group of 11! We were able to get the special and all of us came home with boxes of leftovers- yum!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.