Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.34mi
  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.34mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.34mi
  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.34mi

About Black Angus Steakhouse - Albuquerque

Great for steak and so much more… Black Angus Steakhouse has built its reputation on providing a Genuine American Steakhouse experience to remember. Our Chefs are proud to serve only Black Angus steaks that are carefully aged, fresh-cut daily, and grilled over an open flame.



Our other specialties include a variety of succulent seafood, fall-off-the-bone Baby Back Ribs and our famous slow-roasted Prime Rib. Whatever you're craving, we pride ourselves at Black Angus Steakhouse for superior quality, friendly service, and great food. It's more than a tradition - it's our passion every day.

Black Angus offers a full array of menu items that are naturally gluten free. Ask for their Gluten Free Trail Map.

2290 Wyoming Blvd NE
Albuquerque, NM 87112
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, American

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 3:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 3:00pm - 9:00pm, Sunday: 11:00am - 9:00pm



Cross Street:
Just south of Menaul

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(505) 292-1911

Website:
http://www.blackangus.com/

Entertainment:
This Black Angus Steakhouse features a casual sports bar concept within the restaurant which boasts 10 to 12 hi-def flat screen TVs and offers various types of viewing zones. Each seat in the bar offers Guests the ability to watch different sporting events simultaneously. Free Wi-Fi is also available for fantasy sports players, as well as an ongoing calendar of sports-related promotions and contests.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Why wait for the weekend?

MONDAY - FRIDAY: Best Happy Hour in town! Let loose from 3pm to 7pm in our bar and enjoy $4, $5 and $6 Drink and Full-Size appetizer specials.

TUESDAYS and SUNDAYS: Happy Tuesday and Sunday with Happy Hour from Open - Close in the bar.

WEDNESDAYS: Join us every Wednesday for our signature slow-roasted Prime Rib dinner and Sky-High Mud Pie dessert for only $18.99.


For exclusive offers and the latest Black Angus Steakhouse news delivered directly to your email inbox, click here (http://www.blackangus.com/primeclub/) to join the Prime Club.

Black Angus Steakhouse - Albuquerque Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.0

ambience

3.9

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

82% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Anniversaries (10)
Casual (9)
Special Occasion (8)
See All
Good for a Date (8)
Cozy (7)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Great for Lunch (6)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Worth the Drive (4)
Business Meals (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Good for Groups (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Romantic (3)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Seasonal (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Great Beer (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Healthy (1)
Fun (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Family Style (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Live Sports (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
People Watching (1)
Sort By:
S
408 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

The service was really slow due to the fact the wait person had to do everything no help available. We did not get all our food we ordered and the steaks were below par. Had to keep asking for refills and missing food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on August 3, 2017

Great food, excellent waitress!! It was my wife's birthday celebration so it was special for us. The meals were fresh, jot and tasty. We will return....on a Wednesday for that decadent chocolate mud cake/pie.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

The place looks beautiful.... Dinner was a delish.... Enjoyed our evening dinner.... Nice peace and quiet....

Tags: Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Food was good but the appetizer came after the meal and was horrible.(wagon wheel appetizer)over cooked and cold

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Enjoyed a prime rib meal with my wife a few days ago and my open table reservation worked as expected. The service was top notch, as well.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on July 4, 2017

Disappointing...Years ago the food was great now its not so good poor presentation wilted garnish overcooked steak over grilled prawns.

Tags: Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Very good overall. Felt like we were special guests when going there. Food was prepared as requested, sides were delicious. Our waiter was great and took care of us very well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Everything was great food, service and ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on June 28, 2017

We have eaten here many many times over the last 30 years and BY FAR this was the most disappointing.
The food was excellent as always but the level of service was way below what we usually expect.
I still tipped good for the "effort" but was left with a not good taste in regard to the service.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Casual, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Usually enjoy every part of our visit. Tonight not so much. Filet mignon ordered med rare came back over cooked because of a med well burger order. Steak returned box requested because everyone else finished their meal and mgr didn't offer discount on $215 (not including additional $50 tip) meal for 5 persons.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on June 21, 2017

Very loud in the bar area from the "music" blasting so that folks had to shout to have conversations. Not very pleasant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on June 20, 2017

Great steaks and friendly service. Good value meal for two diners.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on June 18, 2017

I made a reservation online and showed up 2 minutes prior at 658pm. I was told that they were behind on the reservations so we sat. We were seated around 725-730. The only issue afterward was it took a while for our drinks. The food was fantastic. Everyone really enjoyed everything.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Casual, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Epic Fail on Father's Day... Maybe I don't understand the concept of "reservation" but it was apparent that using OpenTable to make a reservation at Black Angus just doesn't work...

I made an OpenTable reservation 24 hours in advance. We arrived 5 minutes early, expecting to be seated shortly... 1/2 hour later, they sat me, my wife and my 87 year Father in the bar. 1 hour and a half later, we got our food. ...there was a parking space right in front... so they weren't THAT busy...

In the end, the manager comp'ed some of the food (which WAS cooked to temperature).... I just don't understand why it was so difficult not to honor my reservation and why nobody told me that the dinning room wasn't available...

If you have another choice... Make it...

I also gave Black Angus a poor rating when I got home, and got a call from the regional manager... Haven't had time to talk to him... but he claimed in his phone message "that's not the way [they] do things..."

...well, it was... So an apology is nice, but Father's Day dinner still sucked...
It's too bad... 'cause the food is good. But one just has to suffer abuse to get it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 18, 2017

The service is warm, friendly, and attentive. The booths are private. The food, however, is unremarkable.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Disabled Access, Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on June 18, 2017

For it being a steakhouse, the steaks that my parents ordered on our recent visit were terrible

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Place is tired & in need of an upgrade. Service is ok. Bar area has obnoxiously loud music. Entrees are ok, but hardly worth the value especially surf & turf combos. Atmosphere is more like a diner with upgraded decor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4
value2

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Service was quite slow even though we were dining early and the restaurant was not very busy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on May 25, 2017

Ordered rack of lamb medium rare and got it cocked medium well.

Tags: Great Beer, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Generally enjoy BA but this time they seemed too busy, service was slow and steaks were poor quality and overcooked. Would have sent them back but would have taken too long. Would no longer recommend because for the price there is no value.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The manager John Mark was absolutely wonderful in accommodating all of our needs he came to our table a couple of times to make sure we had everything to satisfaction and perfection. It was amazing meal

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Disabled Access, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Bar Seating, Seasonal, Healthy, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Cozy, Comfort Food, Fun, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Business Meals, Live Sports, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Alex did an excellent job. Courteous, efficient and great attention to detail.
Enjoyed!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The Prime Rib 3/4 lb. was done perfectly. The value was great!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on May 13, 2017

My husband, father, and I went for an early Mother's Day dinner. It was packed but everyone was seated in a timely fashion. There was an incident that happened outside and even that was taken care of without distracting the dining atmosphere. This was also during High School graduations. We are sure to revisit soon.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on May 13, 2017

A nice place to meet family and friends. I like the spaceous booths and how they provide privacy.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Our lunch date at BA was a good experience - the wait staff was fantastic and the food was everything we could ask for. Will go back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Usually the steaks are very tasty; this time the cuts were very fatty. My baked potato was served luke warm at best. The appetizers were great. Wait time to be seated, even with reservation took too long and wait time for main entree to be served took too long.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We made our reservation over a week in advance and were never given a chocie of dining in the bar or not. Music was far to loud in the area we sat it it felt more like we were eating in a nightclub as apposed to a nice high end dining experience. We paid the price of high end and it was miserable. Food quality was mediocre at best. Ribs were all fat hardly no meat. Terribly disappointed with our overall dining experience. The service was excellent however. We are hesitant to eat dinner at Black Angus again. Not sure why we were sat in the bar when my wife went to the rest room there were several tables in the dining room available however we were told this was all that was available. We always enjoy lunch though.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service5
value1

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Great place to eat. Much quieter with more privacy than many local steak houses. If you want to be able to carry on a conversation while having wonderful food this is the place to go.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on April 16, 2017

This was an Easter Sunday dinner for 4 of us. Our reservation was for 3:00pm and we were seated on time. Drinks were ordered and served. Food was ordered when drinks were delivered. It was downhill from there and at no fault of the server whom we have had before and is great! I ordered Babyback Ribs because of the glowing words on the menu. However, what I received was anything but what your menu said I should. The ribs were burnt on top and I couldn't even cut the meat from the bone. Waitress took that back and asked what she could bring me. I requested a 6 oz. filet. She came back and asked if it was okay to butterfly it so that I would be able to eat with my companions. I indicated that it was okay and ate the sides that I had ordered while waiting for my steak. The steak was delivered and was well done, not medium as I had requested, and was as dry as a bone!

Will I return to this restaurant? No! This is not the first time an unacceptable meal has been served from the kitchen of this restaurant and, I'm sure, I'm not the only patron that has been subjected to this substandard food preparation!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5
value2

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We had the backroom to ourselves and Charles was our server. Everythong was perfect...

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on April 5, 2017

Service was extremely slow and the prime ribs were not cooked correctly at all. Mine was well done instead of medium. My fathers was medium instead of medium rare. Sent mine back just to have it come back almost the same- a little bit better. Management did comp my meal, which was nice, but it still was very a disappointing experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Steak was ok but not great, too much fat and no heinz 57 sauce.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Overall, the whole dining experience was enjoyable at a very distinuished eatery!!!

Tags: Bar Seating, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Quick Bite, Late-night Find, Organic, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value, Vegan, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on March 17, 2017

My wife and I ordered the campfire feast. Generally the New York steak is very good. This time however, the our steaks had too much gristle. They were also too fatty. The NY steak is supposed to be lean. The wedge salad was very good. The flourless tort was very good. Our service was excellent

Tags: Outstanding Value, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Waitress was excellent. Steak had to much fat, about 1/3 to1/2 was fat down the middle. Our appetizers were close to deep brown from burnt. I ordered Ribeye and shrimp, i had to ask for my shrimp came when I had finished my steak. I was only offered dessert to compensate for their mistake. I bet if I were of the Caucasian persuasion my meal (out of a party of five ) would have been comped. We spent $220 plus for this, my birthday dinner. Never get ripped off by this "restaurant again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Overall a nice dinner. Service a is okay, but had to ask several times for same item (coffee, water,etc. ..). It gets busy so waiting is average. Dessert was delivered, but not what we ordered. Fast wilth bill but slow on picking it up.

Tags: Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Our service was awful from the minute we walked in the door it tookthem forever to come to our table it took him forever to bring drinks to take our order service was terrible it was our anniversary and went cuz thought it was nice but it was ruined

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on March 4, 2017

We inquired prior to ordering prime rib whether the cuts were lean or fatty. We were informed the cut was lean. What was served was very fatty almost 1/3. The serving was also very thin which makes it difficult to grill it properly. Fat and thin prime rib = disappointment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Great food and company on my 23rd wedding anniversary

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Live Sports, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.