Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.34mi
  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.34mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.34mi
  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.34mi

About Black Angus Steakhouse - Albuquerque

Great for steak and so much more… Black Angus Steakhouse has built its reputation on providing a Genuine American Steakhouse experience to remember. Our Chefs are proud to serve only Black Angus steaks that are carefully aged, fresh-cut daily, and grilled over an open flame.



Our other specialties include a variety of succulent seafood, fall-off-the-bone Baby Back Ribs and our famous slow-roasted Prime Rib. Whatever you're craving, we pride ourselves at Black Angus Steakhouse for superior quality, friendly service, and great food. It's more than a tradition - it's our passion every day.

Black Angus offers a full array of menu items that are naturally gluten free. Ask for their Gluten Free Trail Map.

2290 Wyoming Blvd NE
Albuquerque, NM 87112
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, American

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 3:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 3:00pm - 9:00pm, Sunday: 11:00am - 9:00pm



Cross Street:
Just south of Menaul

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(505) 292-1911

Website:
http://www.blackangus.com/

Entertainment:
This Black Angus Steakhouse features a casual sports bar concept within the restaurant which boasts 10 to 12 hi-def flat screen TVs and offers various types of viewing zones. Each seat in the bar offers Guests the ability to watch different sporting events simultaneously. Free Wi-Fi is also available for fantasy sports players, as well as an ongoing calendar of sports-related promotions and contests.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Why wait for the weekend?

MONDAY - FRIDAY: Best Happy Hour in town! Let loose from 3pm to 7pm in our bar and enjoy $4, $5 and $6 Drink and Full-Size appetizer specials.

TUESDAYS and SUNDAYS: Happy Tuesday and Sunday with Happy Hour from Open - Close in the bar.

WEDNESDAYS: Join us every Wednesday for our signature slow-roasted Prime Rib dinner and Sky-High Mud Pie dessert for only $18.99.


For exclusive offers and the latest Black Angus Steakhouse news delivered directly to your email inbox, click here (http://www.blackangus.com/primeclub/) to join the Prime Club.

Black Angus Steakhouse - Albuquerque Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.0

ambience

3.9

value

3.6

Noise

Moderate

78% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (11)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
See All
Casual (7)
Good for a Date (7)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Romantic (6)
Cozy (6)
Business Meals (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Bar Seating (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Kid-friendly (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Fun (2)
Live Sports (2)
People Watching (2)
Seasonal (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Great Beer (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
S
425 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined 7 days ago

VERY good venue, small service problem, but we've been there a dozen times and this was the first issue we'd had. Presentation was colorful, entree was properly prepared, adult beverages were reasonable.

Tags: Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Great Beer, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
·Dined on October 13, 2017

Had a coupon for the Fall Trio. The steak was a little tough and the lobster was a little cold. But overall it was good. I would go again.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, People Watching, Live Sports, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Our waiter Dale was excellent. We were seated promptly

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value3

 
·Dined on October 1, 2017

My wife and I ordered the Prime Rib. It was cooked to order, juicy but the meat just had no flavor for being "Choice" beef. The service was outstanding - Dale was our Waiter. The meal was good but just not outstanding which I was hoping for.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
·Dined on September 26, 2017

The food was delicious. We had the Fall Special which was so much food for the price. The hostess was so friendly & the waiter was very attentive. We had a wonderful meal & intend to go back soon.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 22, 2017

This place is not cheap and one would think that a steakhouse restaurant could cook a steak as ordered. Over and over again, it either comes to me underdone or overdone. Under-done is worse because then you have to wait while your table companions chow down as the kitchen over-cooks your steak for you.

There other issue is with ordering a common cocktail that never comes to the table right. I have bartended, and every bar I know of has a bartender drink guide to refer to. But the Black Angus doesn't seem to care.

We've had the waiter on other occasions, he is attentive; but can't countermand the kitchen and the bar short-comings. My dining companions sometimes pick this place, I don't know why I ever would.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 17, 2017

The sides listed on the menu were not all available. The steak was sub-par, and the lobster was dry and had not seen the ocean in a very a long time. I do NOT recommend it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

Seating for reservations was a bit late, but forgivable. What I took issue with was the amount of time taken to get the order out to us, and when it came out, our birthday girl's steak was overcooked and two of our baked potatoes were half cooked. We sent the steak back and told them we needed medium rare, 13 minutes later it came out, rare. By this time we had been there over a hour and a half and everyone, except one person had finished their meal.

Our waitress was a gem, she tried to keep a simile and make things right. She sent out management and they did comp three meals, gave a dessert to go and gifted the birthday girl a gift certificate for future use. I appreciate their willingness to try and make things better, but by that time, I was done with the whole experience and place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on September 6, 2017

Very laid back, great service by Dale.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on September 4, 2017

Service was slow, despite near empty dining room. We were bright the wrong drinks. My child's steak was rare, ordered medium. My steak was a weird triangle/pyrimid shape that was not cooked evenly. We once loved this place.We brought our out of town guests for a nice dinner, but left feeling embarrassed about our choice. Will not likely return.

Tags: Cozy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on August 31, 2017

The food and service are always great. The campfire special with the coupon is an excellent deal. One of the few quiet restaurants in town.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 30, 2017

Training day !!
Food out in wrong order, salad tasted like it came out of the freezer !!
Appetizer : potatoes burnt, chicken fingers cold
Zucchini over cooked, celery was great !!
$3 taken off bill for upgrade but couldn't eat 1/2 of the sampler !!
Prime rib dry and cold, potatoe dry !!
Lobster small, butter very garlically and salty !!
Happy 30th Anniversary to us !!

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

 
·Dined on August 29, 2017

Had a table of eight, functional, not a booth person. The food was good, had 6oz filet, but don't believe it was. Still, very tasty, perhaps need a new scale.

Tags: Good for Groups, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

We were out on a date night , the entire staff made our dinner very special, we felt special, we will be back ,! Compliments to the chef !

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Casual, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on August 26, 2017

The service (Dale) was extremely slow. Honestly, the worst service I've ever had. I Ordered prime rib and received rib eye. Daughter ordered grilled shrimp and received fried shrimp. The fried was taken away and grilled shrimp was brought; however, I was charged for both?? The server snatched my tab when I brought up the overcharge. My Other daughter ordered fried shrimp and mac n cheese.. received mashed potatoes. I'm not one to complain... but... with the price of the food the service should be exemplary. The food was spectacular once it was right and I'll definitely visit again. I'll request another server.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

 
·Dined on August 24, 2017

Our waiter Dale was awesome, I'll took my husband over there for his birthday and he told Dale that he was blind and he read that menu to him and he even cut up the meat for him before he served us, which never happens when we go somewhere to eat, we really enjoyed Our dinner, we definitely recommend to our friends.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Afternoon Coffee, Special Occasion, Fun, Live Sports, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on August 24, 2017

My husband and I enjoyed a delicious dinner. Started with fried zucchini (I highly recommend), filet mignon with bleu cheese, mushrooms. We had a coupon for free lobster so we used it to go with our steaks. Service was great as was the food.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

The service was really slow due to the fact the wait person had to do everything no help available. We did not get all our food we ordered and the steaks were below par. Had to keep asking for refills and missing food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on August 3, 2017

Great food, excellent waitress!! It was my wife's birthday celebration so it was special for us. The meals were fresh, jot and tasty. We will return....on a Wednesday for that decadent chocolate mud cake/pie.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

The place looks beautiful.... Dinner was a delish.... Enjoyed our evening dinner.... Nice peace and quiet....

Tags: Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Food was good but the appetizer came after the meal and was horrible.(wagon wheel appetizer)over cooked and cold

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Enjoyed a prime rib meal with my wife a few days ago and my open table reservation worked as expected. The service was top notch, as well.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on July 4, 2017

Disappointing...Years ago the food was great now its not so good poor presentation wilted garnish overcooked steak over grilled prawns.

Tags: Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Very good overall. Felt like we were special guests when going there. Food was prepared as requested, sides were delicious. Our waiter was great and took care of us very well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Everything was great food, service and ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on June 28, 2017

We have eaten here many many times over the last 30 years and BY FAR this was the most disappointing.
The food was excellent as always but the level of service was way below what we usually expect.
I still tipped good for the "effort" but was left with a not good taste in regard to the service.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Casual, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Usually enjoy every part of our visit. Tonight not so much. Filet mignon ordered med rare came back over cooked because of a med well burger order. Steak returned box requested because everyone else finished their meal and mgr didn't offer discount on $215 (not including additional $50 tip) meal for 5 persons.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on June 21, 2017

Very loud in the bar area from the "music" blasting so that folks had to shout to have conversations. Not very pleasant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on June 20, 2017

Great steaks and friendly service. Good value meal for two diners.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on June 18, 2017

I made a reservation online and showed up 2 minutes prior at 658pm. I was told that they were behind on the reservations so we sat. We were seated around 725-730. The only issue afterward was it took a while for our drinks. The food was fantastic. Everyone really enjoyed everything.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Casual, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Epic Fail on Father's Day... Maybe I don't understand the concept of "reservation" but it was apparent that using OpenTable to make a reservation at Black Angus just doesn't work...

I made an OpenTable reservation 24 hours in advance. We arrived 5 minutes early, expecting to be seated shortly... 1/2 hour later, they sat me, my wife and my 87 year Father in the bar. 1 hour and a half later, we got our food. ...there was a parking space right in front... so they weren't THAT busy...

In the end, the manager comp'ed some of the food (which WAS cooked to temperature).... I just don't understand why it was so difficult not to honor my reservation and why nobody told me that the dinning room wasn't available...

If you have another choice... Make it...

I also gave Black Angus a poor rating when I got home, and got a call from the regional manager... Haven't had time to talk to him... but he claimed in his phone message "that's not the way [they] do things..."

...well, it was... So an apology is nice, but Father's Day dinner still sucked...
It's too bad... 'cause the food is good. But one just has to suffer abuse to get it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 18, 2017

The service is warm, friendly, and attentive. The booths are private. The food, however, is unremarkable.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Disabled Access, Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on June 18, 2017

For it being a steakhouse, the steaks that my parents ordered on our recent visit were terrible

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Place is tired & in need of an upgrade. Service is ok. Bar area has obnoxiously loud music. Entrees are ok, but hardly worth the value especially surf & turf combos. Atmosphere is more like a diner with upgraded decor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4
value2

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Service was quite slow even though we were dining early and the restaurant was not very busy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on May 25, 2017

Ordered rack of lamb medium rare and got it cocked medium well.

Tags: Great Beer, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Generally enjoy BA but this time they seemed too busy, service was slow and steaks were poor quality and overcooked. Would have sent them back but would have taken too long. Would no longer recommend because for the price there is no value.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The manager John Mark was absolutely wonderful in accommodating all of our needs he came to our table a couple of times to make sure we had everything to satisfaction and perfection. It was amazing meal

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Disabled Access, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Bar Seating, Seasonal, Healthy, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Cozy, Comfort Food, Fun, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Business Meals, Live Sports, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Alex did an excellent job. Courteous, efficient and great attention to detail.
Enjoyed!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The Prime Rib 3/4 lb. was done perfectly. The value was great!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.