About Black Angus Steakhouse - Albuquerque

2290 Wyoming Blvd NE
Albuquerque, NM 87112
View Larger Map

Great for steak and so much more… Black Angus Steakhouse has built its reputation on providing a Genuine American Steakhouse experience to remember. Our Chefs are proud to serve only Black Angus steaks that are carefully aged, fresh-cut daily, and grilled over an open flame.



Our other specialties include a variety of succulent seafood, fall-off-the-bone Baby Back Ribs and our famous slow-roasted Prime Rib. Whatever you're craving, we pride ourselves at Black Angus Steakhouse for superior quality, friendly service, and great food. It's more than a tradition - it's our passion every day.

Black Angus offers a full array of menu items that are naturally gluten free. Ask for their Gluten Free Trail Map.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, American

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 3:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 3:00pm - 9:00pm, Sunday: 11:00am - 9:00pm



Cross Street:
Just south of Menaul

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(505) 292-1911

Website:
http://www.blackangus.com/

Entertainment:
This Black Angus Steakhouse features a casual sports bar concept within the restaurant which boasts 10 to 12 hi-def flat screen TVs and offers various types of viewing zones. Each seat in the bar offers Guests the ability to watch different sporting events simultaneously. Free Wi-Fi is also available for fantasy sports players, as well as an ongoing calendar of sports-related promotions and contests.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Why wait for the weekend?

MONDAY - FRIDAY: Best Happy Hour in town! Let loose from 3pm to 7pm in our bar and enjoy $4, $5 and $6 Drink and Full-Size appetizer specials.

TUESDAYS and SUNDAYS: Happy Tuesday and Sunday with Happy Hour from Open - Close in the bar.

WEDNESDAYS: Join us every Wednesday for our signature slow-roasted Prime Rib dinner and Sky-High Mud Pie dessert for only $18.99.


For exclusive offers and the latest Black Angus Steakhouse news delivered directly to your email inbox, click here (http://www.blackangus.com/primeclub/) to join the Prime Club.

Black Angus Steakhouse - Albuquerque Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

82% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (23)
Good for a Date (19)
Casual (19)
See All
Cozy (14)
Great for Lunch (13)
Good for Anniversaries (13)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Family Style (12)
Good for Groups (11)
Comfort Food (10)
Worth the Drive (10)
Business Meals (8)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Outstanding Value (8)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Bar Seating (7)
Fun (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Romantic (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Seasonal (4)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Authentic (3)
Healthy (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Historic (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
People Watching (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
368 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Staff was nice. I ordered a New York st ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Staff was nice. I ordered a New York strip and it was too tough to chew. They happily took it back and brought a prime rib, which was better, but I did not think it was any better than a buffet prime rib. Maybe my expectations were too high, but I thought a Black Angus would have better quality steaks.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Ambiance was excellent, food was very ta ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Ambiance was excellent, food was very tastfull and cooked perfectly.

Tags: , Modern Decor, Cozy, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was delicious and cooked perfec ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The food was delicious and cooked perfectly, our waiter was great and kept our drinks filled and was very knowledable about the menu, and we didn't have to wait long to be seated!

Tags: Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was very delicious and they served la ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 15, 2017

It was very delicious and they served large portions!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Filet wasn't cooked the way I asked. Fir ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Filet wasn't cooked the way I asked. First time for everything

Tags: Family Style, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Our waitress was awesome. Our steak was ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Our waitress was awesome.

Our steak was cooked they way we wanted!

Tags: Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Cozy, Tasting Menu, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Friendly staff, great service, affordabl ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Friendly staff, great service, affordable menu and a great place for date night or having a meal with a special friend.

Tags: Casual, Tasting Menu, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was plentiful and delicious. Was a ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Food was plentiful and delicious. Was a little noisy (kids crying) but not the fault of the restaurant. People complained about their meal the next table over (not sure what about), but the host was very accommodating and kept his cool; diffusing the situation. My filet was tender but could have been more flavorful. The brussel sprouts were to DIE FOR! Slice of pie for @ $6.50 was really small; although delicious.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great service and great food. Great sitt ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Great service and great food. Great sitting, private booths.

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Portions small, and service wasn't to gr ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Portions small, and service wasn't to great. This is the seconomy time we have gone. Glass was always empty and had to wait for refills. The first time we went we walked out because the services was horrile. We only ate there because that's where my mom wanted to eat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

Good food and excellent service. Met up ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Good food and excellent service. Met up with some friends for dinner and had a very enjoyable evening. The steaks were cooked exactly as ordered, the prime rib was not too fatty, the wagon wheel appetizer was good.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Cozy, Family Style, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My girlfriend ordered a raspberry lemond ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on January 22, 2017

My girlfriend ordered a raspberry lemondrop, waiter ordered as such, but she was served a strawberry lemondrop cocktail. It was her birthday and we used to get a chocolate chip cookie with ice cream for birthdays, not this time. Slightly disappointed Food and service were great.

Tags: Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I usually enjoy a meal at Black Angus, i ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on January 21, 2017

I usually enjoy a meal at Black Angus, it's one of my favorite steakhouses. However, this time it was just ok. The fried zucchini, which is normally one of my favorite appetizers was really salty. The bearnaise sauce changed as well, not what I was use to getting there. After this visit I probably won't go back anytime soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Eight of us went on a Sunday evening for ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on January 9, 2017

Eight of us went on a Sunday evening for dinner, saw our waiter twice, once when he took the order and then when he brought the checks, which took way too long to wait so we went to the lobby. Then there were errors. The support staff did an excellent job of keeping us satisfied. I was embarrassed. I frequently come here for lunch because of the food, but not the service.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

Server and host were both very welcoming ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Server and host were both very welcoming and professional. Server went out of her way to accommodate our children

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Authentic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

NYE dinner. Restaurant was overwhelmed. ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 1, 2017

NYE dinner. Restaurant was overwhelmed. Once order was placed, took over an hour for food delivery. Service was below average. Didn't bring bread, didn't refill coffee after asking if we said yes to a refill. May try again on a quieter night although the beef filet won't be ordered.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

The prices have drastically increased an ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The prices have drastically increased and they are skimpy with their portions and the food is okay. My steak was overcooked and was replaced with a new one within 2 minutes and was a bit tough. We initially had reservations for 5 people but one cancelled. There were several empty tables that would have been spacious for 4 people, however, we were sat in the smaller tables that occupy 4 people and space was limited, yet we observed several tables where 2 people were seated in the larger 4 table setting. For the past four years we have gone to this location for our New Years Eve dinner, however for the price and space accommodations, we will definitely reconsider a new restaurant in the future.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

The service was great and the food was d ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The service was great and the food was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Black Angus on Wyoming in Albuquerque is ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Black Angus on Wyoming in Albuquerque is one of my favorite choices for great food at a reasonable price and excellent service. I so appreciate the enticing deals they send me online which always motivates me to make a reservation.

Tags: , Special Occasion, Fun, Great for Brunch, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our 40th Anniversary was a delight eatin ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Our 40th Anniversary was a delight eating there. It was quite, service was very good, we enjoyed it very much. It was our first time there sense we moved back to Albuquerque. We use to eat there often and, we will be back.

Tags: Family Style, Comfort Food, Disabled Access, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We had a very nice Thanksgiving dinner, ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on November 25, 2016

We had a very nice Thanksgiving dinner, except prime rib had to be substituted because they were out of turkey at 6 pm.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Wood Oven, Healthy, , Casual, Paleo Friendly, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

There were 8 of us plus an 8 month-old b ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on November 24, 2016

There were 8 of us plus an 8 month-old baby for Thanksgiving dinner. The food was perfect and our waiter, Miguel, was fabulous. The restaurant was packed but he handled our table with such efficiency and always with a smile!! I'm going to ask for him every time we go back. We all had a great experience!!

Tags: Casual, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We reserved for Thanksgiving Day, We we ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We reserved for Thanksgiving Day, We were greeted cheerfully and seated at reserved time. The meal could have been served a tad warmer, but was very good. The waitress was very friendly and accommodating,

Tags: Tasting Menu, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The family has been gathering at Black A ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on November 24, 2016

The family has been gathering at Black Angus for 3 years in a row for Thanksgiving dinner. The service & management was friendly & cordial. Food portion seemed much less this year, with the turkey plate & the steak dinners as well. Plates came out less than warm unfortunately. We may try another restaurant next year.

Tags: Casual, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

There for thanksgiving, they had a big c ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on November 24, 2016

There for thanksgiving, they had a big crowd and the service people did a great job. Maybe because of the crowd the food was sub-par for the cost.

Tags: Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

The Thanksgiving meal was very good and ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on November 24, 2016

The Thanksgiving meal was very good and our waitress was amazing!

Tags: Good for Groups, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

An off day perhaps?? Service was very sl ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on November 24, 2016

An off day perhaps?? Service was very slow.. food was cool when delivered..obviously had been sitting for awhile.. server was very distracted. Not impressed at all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

Food was not hot served cool-twice... Ea ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Food was not hot served cool-twice...

Each item needs to be piping hot! Not room temp

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value4

Had Thanksgiving reservations for 3 at 1 ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Had Thanksgiving reservations for 3 at 12:45 pm. Arrived about 12:35 and found quite a few guests waiting. We were seated in our cozy booth promptly at 12:45. The staff was extremely welcoming, efficient, and attentative. The scrumptious holiday meal consisted of a soup or salad, a delicious turkey dinner plate, and pumpkin pie for dessert. Everyone was extreme friendly and courteous. The entire dining experience was outstanding from start to finish and all the guests left with doggie bags from the ample servings. We'll definite make Black Angus a family tradition.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Historic, , Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Cozy, Family Style, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was excellent, especially as ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Everything was excellent, especially as it was a very busy day.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Disabled Access, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Black Angus has my favorite steaks in to ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Black Angus has my favorite steaks in town. I like to come here for special occasions and any holiday where I don't end up cooking. I like the intimacy of the booths and just love the environment here.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

I wanted to check out their traditional ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on November 24, 2016

I wanted to check out their traditional Thanksgiving meal and was joined by two other friends. The price was reasonable and the online reservation system made it a breeze to enjoy the holiday meal.

Tags: Modern Decor, Great for Lunch, Family Style, Cozy, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

It must have been an off day for Thanksg ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 24, 2016

It must have been an off day for Thanksgiving because all three meat orders were not up to par they were tuff, should have sent them back. Usually the meat is good so will count this as an off expeience

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value3

The pumpkin pie was so much better than ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on November 24, 2016

The pumpkin pie was so much better than previous years! I actually ate it too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Great value -good food. Service was exc ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Great value -good food. Service was excellent. Really love the chocolate torte cake and the artichoke appetizer. Helpful tip - get a coupon from the internet before dining.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

ribeye steak was under cooked and very v ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on November 19, 2016

ribeye steak was under cooked and very very very fatty , very poor cut of meat.

Prime rib was excellent !

service was good!

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

It was our 29th wedding anniversary and ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on November 15, 2016

It was our 29th wedding anniversary and the service and food was horrible we will never go back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

My steak was raw so when I finally got t ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on November 13, 2016

My steak was raw so when I finally got to eat everyone was done I will not be going back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Special thanks to Black Angus for provid ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Special thanks to Black Angus for providing a free meal to Veterans on Veterans' Day. Great meal--steak was excellent. Really liked the twist on the Margarita.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I have been going to Black Angus for yea ...

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on November 11, 2016

I have been going to Black Angus for years and this last visit has to be the worst experience I have had of any restaurant that I have recalled attending in recent memory. We started out with the campfire feast for two and ordered the wagon wheel sampler. This option included a $3 up charge. I am not sure why because it was completely underwhelming. The fried zucchini was cold and dry, the potato skins were cold and hard and the buffalo chicken was very cold and hard...so disappointing. They brought us new buffalo chicken but it had a rather "odd" appearance, so we simply avoided. By the time our steaks came, things were a little better, but my baked potato was hard and the toppings were cold. I guess this place does not use microwaves or maybe there stove was not working correctly, because everything was so lukewarm. The baked potato soup was very salty and when we asked the server to have them use less salt on the soup, they said something that completely shocked us. The soup comes from a BAG!!!! What the heck!?! This is supposed be a higher class establishment! So the manager was very apologetic and nice, and offered us two desserts. We ordered the carrot cake and the cookie. Again, these desserts were taking way too long. At this point I was completely frustrated and just wanted to leave. The server came by and stated that my cookie dessert order never made it to the kitchen. I almost blew a fuse, but as I had stated earlier, by this time, I didn't care and just wanted to go. The manager brought us an extra cheesecake to go and again was very apologetic, to the point where he gave us an almost 50% discount on our check, which I very much appreciated.

The manager seemed very sincere, I wish I would have gotten his name. However, if he doesn't watch out, his restaurant is going to slowly die away. It seems like the kitchen staff didn't care. Sadly the best item of the entire evening was the beer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service2
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.