About Black Angus Steakhouse - Albuquerque

2290 Wyoming Blvd NE
Albuquerque, NM 87112
View Larger Map

Great for steak and so much more… Black Angus Steakhouse has built its reputation on providing a Genuine American Steakhouse experience to remember. Our Chefs are proud to serve only Black Angus steaks that are carefully aged, fresh-cut daily, and grilled over an open flame.



Our other specialties include a variety of succulent seafood, fall-off-the-bone Baby Back Ribs and our famous slow-roasted Prime Rib. Whatever you're craving, we pride ourselves at Black Angus Steakhouse for superior quality, friendly service, and great food. It's more than a tradition - it's our passion every day.

Black Angus offers a full array of menu items that are naturally gluten free. Ask for their Gluten Free Trail Map.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, American

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 3:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 11:00am - 9:00pm



Cross Street:
Just south of Menaul

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(505) 292-1911

Website:
http://www.blackangus.com/

Entertainment:
This Black Angus Steakhouse features a casual sports bar concept within the restaurant which boasts 10 to 12 hi-def flat screen TVs and offers various types of viewing zones. Each seat in the bar offers Guests the ability to watch different sporting events simultaneously. Free Wi-Fi is also available for fantasy sports players, as well as an ongoing calendar of sports-related promotions and contests.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Why wait for the weekend?

MONDAY - FRIDAY: Best Happy Hour in town! Let loose from 3pm to 7pm in our bar and enjoy $4, $5 and $6 Drink and Full-Size appetizer specials.

TUESDAYS and SUNDAYS: Happy Tuesday and Sunday with Happy Hour from Open - Close in the bar.

WEDNESDAYS: Join us every Wednesday for our signature slow-roasted Prime Rib dinner and Sky-High Mud Pie dessert for only $18.99.


For exclusive offers and the latest Black Angus Steakhouse news delivered directly to your email inbox, click here (http://www.blackangus.com/primeclub/) to join the Prime Club.

Black Angus Steakhouse - Albuquerque Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Lunch
New Mexico
Special Occasion
New Mexico
Special Occasion
Albuquerque
Best Restaurants in Albuquerque ›

special occasion (31)
great for lunch (22)
good for groups (21)
See All
romantic (12)
neighborhood gem (11)
fit for foodies (11)
kid-friendly (8)
late-night find (2)
great for brunch (2)
vibrant bar scene (1)
hot spot (1)
notable wine list (1)
Sort By:
Newest
300 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The service was absolutely fantastic! T ...

Dined 5 days ago

The service was absolutely fantastic! The food was delicious, my filet migon was tender and cooked perfectly. We were celebrating a birthday and got a free freshly baked chocolate chip cookie with vanilla ice cream, what a treat and wonderful surprise! The noise level was nice, we got to enjoy a nice quiet dinner.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Still my favorite steakhouse in Albuquer ...

Dined 5 days ago

Still my favorite steakhouse in Albuquerque. I love coming here for our birthdays and anniversaries. I just only wish they offered the cheesecake for free for our birthdays! It's my favorite!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Good place to go to get away from fast f ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Good place to go to get away from fast food and get decent service

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

AWESOME FOOD, AWESOME SERVICE AND AWESOM ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

AWESOME FOOD, AWESOME SERVICE AND AWESOME DRINKS. WELL WORTH THE 90 MILE DRIVE.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

I like the privacy provided by the high ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

I like the privacy provided by the high walled booths, its a unique feel to this restaurant. I highly recommend the steaks.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4

We love coming to Black Angus and it's a ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

We love coming to Black Angus and it's always great food, great service and quiet for such a large restaurant. We will continue to come back again and again.

food3
ambience2
service1
value2

Disappointed

Dined on June 6, 2016

We were made to wait while others who came in after us were attended to. Once we were seated, it took over 10 minutes before we were approached for our drink order. The waiter never came back with requested additional bread ordered once the food arrived, nor to check if we wanted additional drinks.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

A nice, quiet place to get together and chat

Dined on May 29, 2016

Good place to get together with family or friends and chat, the noise level is low and the booths are large. The food is good, not exotic, so everyone can find something suitable. Good old American fare but done well done. Service has always been good. Oh yes, the bread served before the meal is excellent.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Anniversay Dinner at Black Angus

Dined on May 28, 2016

We have been going to Black Angus in Albuquerque for our anniversary for several years now and the experience has been good overall. We like the quite atmosphere, unlike a lot of other steah houses where you can't hear each other talk at the table. Steaks are usually cooked to order correctly. Minor problem this time around when we ordered the Atichoke Spinach Dip, it came with chips instead of the bread that the menu stated it came with. Person who served it said comes with chips not bread and departed. If that is the case they should change the menu. But overall a nice experience. The coupons they send in the mail are a good value.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great time at the Angus

Dined on May 21, 2016

Great time. The grilled artichoke is terrific. Dale our waiter made our special occasion very special !

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very good food and excellent staff.

Dined on May 21, 2016

They have some neat specials where two people can get an appetizer, an entree, and share a dessert. There are lot of choices. The food is a little pricey, but not any more than most steakhouses. I would recommend for business dinners, meals with friends, or even date night--the lighting is dimmed and you can hear each other. Very good.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience4
service5

Dale our server was outstanding!

Dined on May 9, 2016

Dale our server was outstanding!

food3
ambience4
service1
value4

Great restaurant for the value

Dined on May 8, 2016

Low service rating not due to server , our food took 2 hours! And the manager did not even comp a single desert.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mother's Day Lunch

Dined on May 8, 2016

With the Open Table reservation for 1:00 pm on a busy day like Mother's Day, we were seated within 10 minutes of the reservation though people were arriving in crowds about that time. My son and I had a great dining experience, and even though they were super busy, service and food were timely; then even encouraging us to relax and converse for as long as we wanted following the meal -- altogether it was great! I'm especially grateful to a restaurant that isn't just herding people in and out to make more money on volume. Black Angus provides a beautiful balance of service, well prepared food, ambiance and value. This, of course, was not my first visit to Black Angus, but every time I have been there I have been treated royally. I would definitely recommend this restaurant to anyone.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Great Steaks

Dined on May 8, 2016

We went on Mother's Day and were really glad we had made reservations. Our server was fantastic. The steaks were really great. The lobster had to be returned because it was so overcooked that we couldn't cut it but the replacement was okay but not great. There was no quibbling over getting the overdone one replaced so we appreciated that. Lesson learned -- order the beef.

Tags: great for lunch
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Prime Rib and Ribeye

Dined on May 8, 2016

I used Open Table to book on Mother's Day the day before. Seated quickly and received great service including the manager checking in with us. Pleased with the service on such a busy day. Food was also above expectations. Tender and falorful beef!

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Celebrations!

Dined on May 7, 2016

We were celebrating two birthdays and Mother's Day. Had a delightful time! Service was attentive, continuous, and friendly. Food was very good - four-year old celebrating one of the birthdays said he was very hungry - he tried steak for the first time plus enjoyed chicken tenders and broccoli.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Always great

Dined on May 7, 2016

Every time I go To BA the service is great, food is amazing and the people are great!

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Artichoke delite

Dined on April 30, 2016

Everything was great, you'll have to try their baked artichoke, very nice.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

Birthday dinner

Dined on April 25, 2016

Made open table reservation and was seated immediately. Our table was quiet and not near the kitchen (which we ask for). Appetizer, dinners were served. My husband's prime rib was to be medium rare, but was more rare than he preferred. He didn't notice right away until he cut into the center. Did not send back, but he was not pleased. My dinner was perfectly prepared. We waited longer than anticipated for dessert, but it was good and my steak and dessert was free due to birthday dinner coupon from Prime Club.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Usual Good Experience

Dined on April 23, 2016

My wife and I took her sister out to celebrate her move to Albuquerque. We wanted to treat her to a good experience with good food, something that would be memorable. We chose Black Angus. Although the prices are higher than what we would normally get (not being foodies or those who eat out much), the meals were shared between the three of us or brought home for reheating and re-eating. The service was very good, especially since there was some ongoing drama with a customer two tables away. The ambience was that of comfort and isolation, even if the decorations are a cross between cowboy chic and cowboy kitsch. But, then, you don't really go to a good steakhouse for the ambience, you go for the food--and while perhaps not four stars, it was good, tasty and more than enough for two good meals. It did not hurt that we had a coupon for my wife's and my meal. It would have been better if the coupon had been applied to our bill without having to prompt the server. Still, overall, recommended.

Tags: special occasion
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

Prime rib was not up to your normal quality

Dined on April 10, 2016

Fried shrimp was overdone also, It may have been one of those rare off days. My wife and I were celebrating our 63 anniversary. We will be back again one day for another meal.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was delicious. Service was great.

Dined on April 8, 2016

The choice of entrees was good. We enjoyed Prime Rib and a Ribeye Steak. The sides were delicious too. The key lime pie was a topping on a romantic anniversary dinner. Our server was very attentive - always looking to see if we needed more water, etc.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent Food and Atmosphere

Dined on March 27, 2016

Everything was outstanding. The server and management was far beyond what we expected.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food! Service was fast and polite. ...

Dined on March 27, 2016

Great food! Service was fast and polite. Will definitely be back.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Oldie But Goodie

Dined on March 27, 2016

Steaks a specialty. Tasty. Good salad and sides s.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch
food2
ambience4
service4

The feel off the restaurant was great f ...

Dined on March 20, 2016

The feel off the restaurant was great from the beginning the beer and appetizers were very good the entree was very disappointing not worth the wait money or time

food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Reliable

Dined on March 15, 2016

Although it hasn't changed decor in years I like the way Black Angus is laid out. With this high backs on the tables it is quiet and never seems crowded even when it is. Food is good although they are better at steaks than at chicken. Service was a good balance of keeping glasses filled without too much. I will be back.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

A Delightful evening

Dined on March 9, 2016

My 2 sisters and I celebrated a birthday there and had a most delightful evening. We were served promptly, and the staff was pleasant, helpful, and had a wonderful sense of humor that kept us entertained. Our margaritas were the best we'd had in ages! The food was also excellent. Unfortunately, the filet mignon of one of my sisters was a little too rare, so the waiter took it back and had it cooked a little more. Then it came back a little overdone. Although my sister said it was ok and ate it anyway, the waiter took it off our bill with his apologies. When we chose to linger a while over our coffee and chat, the wait staff didn't seem to mind, and we didn't feel rushed. All in all, it was a very pleasant evening and we look forward to a return visit.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience3
service4
value1

Good service, but...

Dined on March 7, 2016

Even though we made a reservation, we were seated right next to a service area. There were very few tables occupied. We spent our dinner hearing clanking and the staff talking and joking. The food was good but over-priced.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

great steak and chicken

Dined on February 27, 2016

We enjoyed ourselves at the restaurant. My wife ordered a steak and I ordered Terriyaki Chicken....MMMM Delicious!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

The food was awesome

Dined on February 20, 2016

The food was awesome. The waitress was ok. Took us over an hour to get our meal but everything came out hot. And the dessert didn't take long to get

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Nice restuaurant experience

Dined on February 15, 2016

We had valentines dinner a Black Angus, and while it will not become our new favorite restaurant, it was nice, the booths were good and provided a sense of privacy, the wait staff was very attentive and served us well. It does seem to have the feeling of a chain restaurant and not a intimate local dining spot. We both had the NY strip steaks, and while the flavor was acceptable, they were a little on the tough side and the side orders were nothing to write home about but were good. We did have a reservation and didn't have to wait more than 5 mins to be seated, so overall a good experience, I would only say that it is a little overpriced for the quality of meat they serve.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Service and food were amazing!

Dined on February 15, 2016

I really do recommend this restaurant. There was very good service, the food was out of the park! Now if you want a great steak, than that's the place to be!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We wanted a steak and wow did we get it!!

Dined on February 14, 2016

The nice booths with your own personal space quiet and relaxing. It's the best dining place for a date with your loved one. The steak was excellent with all the fixings so fresh and wonderful. I recommend this place 100% . service was perfect. Just an over all perfect dinner with portions and one heck of a steak!! We will definitely be back.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Good service, but prime rib not as good...

Dined on February 14, 2016

We come to Black Angus to celebrate special occasions. It has always been our favorite place to enjoy a nice prime rib dinner. This time, however, it seems like the quality of the steaks we ordered were not as good. I am not sure if they were a little undercooked or if the quality of meat has changed. It just seemed as though the taste have have grown to love was just not there this time. We hope to continue dinning at Black Angus in the future and hope our next visit is better. Thanks Black Angus!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

All was great but short or staff .

Dined on February 14, 2016

Had a great time, our waitstaff was fine, just overwhelmed. The bar was slow as well. Busy weekend, but they needed more staff. Food was great.

food5
ambience4
service2
value5

Food excellent. Service slow

Dined on February 14, 2016

The steaks are prepared the way you order. Excellent seasonings and very tender. Mashed potatoes, green beans, salad were excellent. Augratin potatoes were all cheese and very little potato. Bread was hot and fresh. Service was very slow. Out waitress had only 4 tables but she would disappear for long stretches. We wondered if she was working the kitchen as well. No tea refills until another waiter saw me go to the tea station and pour my own refill. While it was a busy night the service needs vast improvement.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful place to eat

Dined on February 14, 2016

First time eating here, and have to say it was the greatest place to eat. Just love the atmosphere and the food, that food was the best I've had for a steakhouse. The service was great to, our waitress was very friendly and willing to answer any questions we had, plus always had a smile. I will go back soon when for special occasion. Keep up the great work!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Black Angus ABQ

Dined on February 13, 2016

Reservation was honored, seated within 5 minutes and service was outstanding. My wife and split the steak and grilled shrimp and we ordered extra sides. Meal was delicious and dessert was fabulous. My only minor note would be the frozen margarita, it was a bit on the small side and way too many big ice fragments, this drink should be more on the frozen side. We usually have Valentine's dinner at Black Angus, it had been our tradition for the past 19 years. Great place and food is always great.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.