Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.23mi
  3. Distance: 0.26mi
  4. Distance: 0.30mi
  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.23mi
  3. Distance: 0.26mi
  4. Distance: 0.30mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.23mi
  3. Distance: 0.26mi
  4. Distance: 0.30mi
  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.23mi
  3. Distance: 0.26mi
  4. Distance: 0.30mi

About Bizou Brasserie

Bizou Brasserie is located inside the Le Meridien Hotel in Downtown Tampa. Bizou Brasserie serves signature Contemporary American food, and Longitude Bar encourages mingling. Bizou offers the winning combination of superior cuisine, premium hand crafted cocktails, unparalleled atmosphere and first-rate service.

601 North Florida Avenue
Tampa, FL 33602
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast Daily: 6:00am - 11:00am; Lunch Daily: 11:00am - 2:00pm;
Dinner: Sunday-Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm Friday and Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Twiggs St.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(813) 227-9555

Website:
http://www.bizoutampa.com/

Parking Details:
Valet Available through Hotel entrance

Executive Chef:
Brian Lairby

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Cafe, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access

Bizou Brasserie Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Quiet

79% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (12)
Good for a Date (11)
Quiet Conversation (8)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Romantic (7)
Authentic (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Business Meals (4)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Healthy (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Casual (4)
Bar Seating (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Live Music (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Fun (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Seasonal (1)
Tapas (1)
Cozy (1)
Sort By:
S
259 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Great vibe. Loved the menu. Service was great. Just needs more people!
It's a great place to discover.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 15, 2017

The place was great, our waitress was really accommodating, and give us some free dessert, would definitely go again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on August 30, 2017

Prime rib initially came out not hot. They fixed it immediately with new one. One of the best prime ribs around!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Great food. Hostess Charlie is charming and very personable. Heather bartender/manager was fantastic!

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Great spot to eat with lots of cool Tampa history and very friendly staff. Thanks for the impromptu tour of the hotel!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Spectacular service, they truly went above and beyond. We celebrated our anniversary and will never forget it. The food, recommendations, and atmosphere was special.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Surprisingly good food, at fair prices. Great place to be able to have dinner and conversation. So many restaurants these days are just too loud; it's tiring to have to shout at each other to be heard. But this was an easy decibel level--we could actually talk to each other at normal to low volumes. Service was excellent; attentive without interfering in our space.

Tags: Late-night Find, Tapas, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Food was good; we had charcuterie, Caesar and skirt steak and fries. Salad could have more than one anchovy and a there could have been a third cheese on the charcuterie. Food was reasonably priced. Biggest detractor here is the poor choice of lighting in the ceiling. Very bright white flood style lights in ceiling provide all the romantic ambience of a high school gym. Hire a lighting person and divide up the space with more dividers for more private, warm feel. Sam, our waiter, was excellent. Lots of interesting cocktail choices, but they're a little pricey, so choose wisely. Good desserts, with baked goods right there. Bar looked like a good place for a date.

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Went for an early Sunday dinner date after attending the Tampa Theatre. It was the perfect date night. Food was cooked to perfection and very flavorful. We had the Sausage Risotto and the Parmesan crusted Filet Mignon.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Neat place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 4, 2017

We had a lovely lunch after being seated by the friendliest hostess. Our waiter was very friendly and professional, attentive without hovering. Food was totally amazing and satisfying.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

The restaurant was extremely hot humid and cafeteria Hall noisy. The bar area is great as its large open and great for a quick meet and greet for business.
Parking is limited and almost non-existent. There is valet but you will have to wait longer than normal for valet.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Beautiful setting! Larry, Cody and Charlie are gems. Those 3 alone are worth the price of admission! The cuisine was executed to perfection. You pay more for less in other establishments that are not worth the time to consider. Twice a year I come to the area, it'll be a requirement to make reservations and not miss the experience ever again!

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 16, 2017

We enjoyed our anniversary dinner. The food and service was great.

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 15, 2017

I love this place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Americanized bland poor French food paired with subpar service in a room with no personality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Food priced right and done well. Pricy drinks/cocktails.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Food was a disappointment! Omelet dry, shrimp and grits poor and cafe con leche not up to Ybor City standards.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Beautiful hotel/restaurant! Very close to the Tampa Theatre for pre dinner and great for after show drinks. Excellent food and staff.

Tags: Fun, Quick Bite, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Well located in downtown. Good service food would be "hotel" quality.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Loved the experience with my wife! Enjoyed every part of being there. Great service, food, and ambiance. Don't leave Tampa without coming here.

Tags: Tasting Menu, People Watching, Scenic View, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Romantic, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Wonderful place... would of have turned down the volume on the live music

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on April 28, 2017

I took my wife here for our anniversary, it was nice to be able to go to a fancy place and get dressed up. Our waiter was very good..very attentive and very nice. We had the escargot appetizer and also the zucchini ribbons appetizer both were delicious. I had the salmon and my wife had the Mahi special we both thoroughly enjoyed our meals. With tax and tip our bill was a little over $100 but it was well worth every penny, the ingredients were fresh, everything was seasoned perfectly and cooked perfectly. It can be difficult to cook fish correctly and they did an outstanding job here. This is going to be our new anniversary tradition, we loved this place.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Tapas, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great Beer, Fun, Live Music, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View, Gluten Free Options, Paleo Friendly, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We went for the Easter buffet...all aspects of our experience were great from the moment we arrived. Great service, great food and great atmosphere!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Loved the atmosphere. Looking forward to going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Great food. Good service. Like what did to this historic sight. Only negative was valet parking took 20 minutes to retire out car when completed and it was not crowded. Park on the street if you can. However. I would go back.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 29, 2017

We chose this restaurant based primarily on proximity to a show that we were attending that evening. It ended up being a very good selection! We started out with the cheese plate appetizer, which we were very satisfied with. (There's a running joke in our house that a Tampa cheese plate typically includes a hunk of Velveeta, a slice of Kraft American, and a piece of string cheese. This was definitely not the case.) For dinner, I had the cedar plank salmon, and my wife chose the prime rib. Both were delicious.

Our visit was on a Wednesday evening, so I suspect that it was much quieter than usual. The waiter was very attentive, and the overall experience was great. I felt that the prices were a bit inflated, which is common for hotel restaurants, but I thought the food was much better than what is often found in hotel dining. We will definitely return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Fourth Friday Drink/St Pattys themed was well made,great experience. I will for sure be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Excellent night out. Service was slightly uneven but to be fair we probably contibuted to that by having our party arrive half and hour apart.
Cocktail menu is varied and well priced for "specialty" cocktails. Wine list is well priced and definetely encourges you to purchase a bottle if you have at least 2 glasses.
If you are a vegetarian I highly recommend the porchini mushroom ravioli. Gnocchi were good, if slightly dense. The cheese plate is a good starter and the 5 cheese plate had a good selection, even if I do wish they had included a blue cheese.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 17, 2017

I love the Brasserie, however I think the food tasted like the refrigerator that it was kept in. The shrimp recipe was too sweet and didn't go with the description on the menu. The atmosphere is terrific, you can go there and have an intimate date and not be bothered. The wait staff is always exceptional and great spirits list. I hope that they work a bit on the menu. It is a terrific place one of my favorites.

Tags: Seasonal, Great for Lunch, Afternoon Coffee, Fun, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Afternoon Tea, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Great Beer, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on March 12, 2017

The staff were great and the wine was lovely but The food was only ok.

Tags: Bar Seating, Quick Bite, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 12, 2017

The wine selection was adequate, service was OK but not top notch, but food and setting were well worth the trip. I would go again in a heartbeat.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Our service was terrible. We ended up walking out after being ignored for over 15 minutes. The restaurant was not even busy and our server only had 2 other tables which we watched get attention the entire time. We were forgotten about. What makes it worse is that it was an anniversary dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 11, 2017

I'm a returning guest and my previous experiences were much better than my visit on 3/11/17. The food quality has been on a decline with each visit and this was the pinnacle of disappointment. In addition, the hostess was a lovely young lady but was improperly dressed with her assets much more visible than what’s appropriate in an upscale restaurant.
My mom ordered the special, which was grouper and it was dry, overcooked, and flavorless. My friend ordered the Bizou burger which was not cooked to the requested temperature. I ordered a salad which was supposed to have proper Cesar dressing with anchovies (as indicated on the menu), but it was beyond bland and the homemade croutons were like overcooked little bricks.
Thankfully our server was extremely pleasant and made the experience tolerable. The atmosphere in the evening seems to be a bit drab and could benefit from better lighting and a warmer atmosphere. The integrity of the old courthouse is definitely present but the ambiance leaves a lot to be desired. The website says the menu offers a hint of French inspirations with the comfort of American favorites across a variety of cultures; however it seems more suitable to say that this is a restaurant with an identity crisis and no real sense of what they offer for the menu selection.
I’ve had the opportunity to dine in establishments that offer a much better quality of food for the price. I found our $200.00 check to be quite overpriced for what we were served; the prices are clearly not aligned with the quality.
We did not offer this feedback to the manager at the time of our dining experience because we did not want to be viewed as though we were trying to obtain a free meal. However, I truly hope the management team reads this and takes the opportunity to improve their food. We’d love to return at some point but are very hesitant to do so unless changes are made to improve the food quality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service4
value1

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Delicious food! Great architecture and service was excellent.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Live Music, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 5, 2017

the absolute worst restaurant I have every been. everything was terrible. I could not
recommend this to anyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Very pleased with dining experience. Ryan was our waiter . He was friendly, knowledgable, attentive and funny. The hostess was great, and seated us, by request, at a booth that could accommodate six,even though there were only two of us. No problems. Food was very good; a reasonable serving size, not huge and not just a few bites artfully arranged on a plate. We'll go back.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 27, 2017

Great place to have a business meal with prospective customer. Thank you!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Outstanding Value, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 24, 2017

The setting was interesting and not jam-packed, but the high noise level was quite unpleasant. On top of that the food was mediocre and the service was slow and inattentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 23, 2017

This place was a great find! Was just looking for someone to get dinner before seeing Wicked and was so happy that the food was great!! I had the Bousin Stuffed Chicken with spinach and mashed potatoes. It was so good that I cleaned my plate, but didn't leave feeling overstuffed. Great portion sizing! I would definitely recommend this place!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.