About Bizou Brasserie

601 North Florida Avenue
Tampa, FL 33602
View Larger Map

Bizou Brasserie is located inside the Le Meridien Hotel in Downtown Tampa. Bizou Brasserie serves signature Contemporary American food, and Longitude Bar encourages mingling. Bizou offers the winning combination of superior cuisine, premium hand crafted cocktails, unparalleled atmosphere and first-rate service.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast Daily: 6:00am - 11:00am; Lunch Daily: 11:00am - 2:00pm;
Dinner: Sunday-Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm Friday and Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Twiggs St.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(813) 227-9555

Website:
http://www.bizoutampa.com/

Parking Details:
Valet Available through Hotel entrance

Executive Chef:
Brian Lairby

Private Party Facilities:
With Bizou's access to the banquet space within the Le Meridien Hotel, we can handle private parties small and large.

Private Party Contact:
Kristi Moser: (813) 999-8203

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Cafe, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access

Bizou Brasserie Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.1

ambience

4.2

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

82% would recommend it to a friend

Historic (12)
Good for a Date (10)
Special Occasion (8)
See All
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Romantic (7)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Business Meals (4)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Casual (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Local Ingredients (2)
Scenic View (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Cozy (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Family Style (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Authentic (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Vegan (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Hot Spot (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Tapas (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Healthy (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Fun (1)
Sort By:
S
197 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food & drinks were excellent, but th ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 14, 2017

The food & drinks were excellent, but the service was rather poor. Our server audibly complained to us about everything from the number of tables he was serving that evening to our seating arrangement to keeping track of what was ordered. The service briefly improved after speaking to a manager, but then reverted to the original attitude. It was a celebratory occasion, but the service really cast a pall on the experience.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Outstanding experience. It began with th ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Outstanding experience. It began with their most gracious & helpful valet. Then we became awed by historical architecture mixed with modern elegance. Then were greeted with creative & taste tempting menu selections; superb service with great attention to every detail; with above & beyond efforts to make the evening special & personal. Just not enough words to express how exceptional the facility & staff were. So said simply, thank you.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent find. Limited on Christmas ni ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Excellent find. Limited on Christmas night our options and this was fabulous. Sat at bar, great food and bartenders were attentive and friendly. We will be back.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We wanted to vist Bizou Brasserie a ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We wanted to vist Bizou Brasserie and look at Court Building. We got parking across the street, we were seated right away. We had fun people watching and listening to very

interesting music in the restaurant. We want to return for Brunch.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Unique site - it is the house restaurant ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Unique site - it is the house restaurant in the Le Meridien hotel in downtown Tampa - more specifically, it is in the lobby of the former U.S. Courthouse, which Le Meridien has transformed into a boutique hotel. But the site isn't all, it's a fine restaurant with topnotch service. I've been here for business lunches and dinners many times before - they handle groups with apparent ease, by the way - this was my first time dining with my wife on "my own dime" and was quite pleased. The menu and wine list are modest in size but both have enough variety to please - and they do it all well - the preparation and presentation are artfully done and delicious. This has become one our (rather than just "my") favorite dining spots downtown

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good food and great ambiance!

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Good food and great ambiance!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Fast and professional service and great ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Fast and professional service and great food by all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

It was very quiet for a Monday lunch. I ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 19, 2016

It was very quiet for a Monday lunch. I ordered a chopped salad and added "prawns" to my salad. The "prawns" were nothing more than normal small sized shrimp just lightly grilled, no seasoning, just bland dry small shrimp. The salad did not have much at all in it except lettuce, radicchio and some onion. My bill was $23 with an unsweet iced tea. I just felt like a salad for $21 should have been way better. When I think if prawns I think really nice, fresh large plump grilled shrimp with a buttery finish. The salad just did not have any life to it. For such a beautiful restaurant and the prices charged, I was hoping for way better ☹️ I know of close by restaurants that has amazing salads, consistently for half the price! Sorry, honestly is best.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2

Quality food and service at reasonable p ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Quality food and service at reasonable pricing. Overall fantastic restoration of an historic courthouse. They need to do more to contain the noise, especially if there is a party in the bar with music.

Tags: Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value4

It took FOREVER to get our mimosas. We h ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 4, 2016

It took FOREVER to get our mimosas. We had to ask twice for them. The place wasn't busy at all. The chorizo was burnt and tough to chew. Portions were scant. $40 for coffee and two small breakfast plates is not a value. I guess we should have known when we walked at noon on a Sunday and the place was empty. Shame. It has such potential.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Warm greeting, followed by impeccable se ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Warm greeting, followed by impeccable service and great food. What more can I ask for?

Tags: Vegan, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Lovely evening pre show dinner. Wished h ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 29, 2016

Lovely evening pre show dinner. Wished had more time to enjoy ambiance.

Tags: Tapas, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

The service was extremely slow. The food ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 26, 2016

The service was extremely slow. The food was ok, but definitely not worth the price. We were staying at the hotel so the convenience is the only thing that made us eat here twice. Very over priced for what you get.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value1

Tried this place for Thanksgiving dinner ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Tried this place for Thanksgiving dinner. We were very pleased with the cooking, the service, wine list, etc. Will very likely return for brunch or perhaps tea.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Family Style, Romantic, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

The food was nothing to write home about ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 14, 2016

The food was nothing to write home about despite the expectations from the menu information. However our server and the hostess were excellent!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Service was fabulous! I would come back ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Service was fabulous! I would come back again for a business lunch or special occasion.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Fit for Foodies, Afternoon Coffee, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service from the hostess greet ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Excellent service from the hostess greeting when we arrived to the hostess thanking us for visiting the restaurant when we were leaving....The food and table service was also Excellent....We will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I organized a lunch for a group of ladie ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 4, 2016

I organized a lunch for a group of ladies here. I made the reservation several weeks ahead of time and called the day before to confirm. It was frustrating that they were not ready for us and didn't show they I had increased the number when I called. We had to wait for them to set up the table.

The fish sandwich I had for lunch had good flavor, but had a very tough center. I wasn't able to eat it as a sandwich and had to cut the meat of the skin embedded in the fish.

The service was ok, but included a 20% gratuity since we had a large party. Unfortunately the waiter mixed up two of our group's bills charging the wrong cards. After more than 20 minutes they were unable to fix the problem. One person ended up paying more than she should while another paid too little. The hostess offered us some macaroons while we waited and apologized, which was nice. However the overall experience was really disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2

The location and ambience is a one of ki ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 29, 2016

The location and ambience is a one of kind experience in Tampa. Service was great, starting with the bar outside, the hostess, and our waiter. Went for a Halloween party, so place was kind of loud, but that was to be expected. Food was great and drinks were strong. Overall wonderful experience and we will be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

The food was very bad and we could only ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 29, 2016

The food was very bad and we could only manage to eat a few spoons of the main meal: vegan risotto had too much acidity and the steak was too salty. The escargot were edible but not great. Too bad because the ambiance was nice but you cannot fail that badly in the food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3

Amazing ambiance. Attentive waitstaff . ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Amazing ambiance. Attentive waitstaff . The food was by far some of the finest in the Tampa Bay Area. Great, romantic experience for a date.

Tags: Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Outstanding Value, Authentic, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everyone else was very happy with their ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Everyone else was very happy with their food, but I ordered a medium rare burger that was medium well at best. Would have sent it back, but my fella had scarfed down half before I ever took a bite. Bummer cuz I couldn't really eat it.

The previous time they got an order wrong as well, but all that being said, the ambience is amazing, service is good, wine is fantastic, and the food is pretty great when they get it right!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

Total disappointment. The pics they put ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Total disappointment. The pics they put online are of the bar which is very small but nice. The dining room is like stepping back to the 80s. Very drab in appearance, seating felt like a Dennys, nothing felt special or nice in the dining room (especially the carpet floor!?). Menu was a let down. French name but has 2 burgers on the menu, Italian dishes, grouper and rice...almost nothing evoking French cuisine. Wine selection was good. Total missed opportunity by the owners given the beauty and history of the building.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2

Love the history of this place. Always e ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Love the history of this place. Always enjoy the experience, but I do believe it is overpriced across the board.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

The food was good but not worth the pric ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 11, 2016

The food was good but not worth the price seemed under seasoned and the sausage was dry. Not what I expected for 17$ a plate. Service was amazing. And the building itself was breath taking.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Our server Larry was a gem himself. All ...

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on September 7, 2016

Our server Larry was a gem himself. All smiles and extremely pleasant. Very attentive . Water glasses were always full. Larry also saw our parking pass and had it validated without being asked. I wish there were more people like Larry in this world.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Brunch Sunday is great. I had the meatl ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on August 28, 2016

Brunch Sunday is great. I had the meatloaf sliders and they were amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We've been to Bizou before and enjoyed i ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 28, 2016

We've been to Bizou before and enjoyed it. This visit wasn't as good as the food was not as well prepared. The brunch menu seemed limited making selection challenging. Service was exceptional which made up for the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

Ceviche was lacking seasoning, catch of ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 28, 2016

Ceviche was lacking seasoning, catch of the day was lack luster pasta accompaniment was overly salted. Bread served with dinner was dry. Very nice ambience and great lounge/bar area.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

A great choice when in Tampa.

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 7, 2016

A great choice when in Tampa.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Celebrated our 10th Anniversary with din ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 30, 2016

Celebrated our 10th Anniversary with dinner at Bizou Brasserie. The restaurant is not very full, but we had a nice booth. The food was very good. Snapper was wonderful. Service was great!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Such a cool place with amazing history. ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on July 23, 2016

Such a cool place with amazing history. The food and specialty cocktails border on gastro pub cool

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A SPECTACULAR RESTAURANT IN A SPECTACULA ...

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on July 18, 2016

A SPECTACULAR RESTAURANT IN A SPECTACULAR HOTEL!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent choice, very elegant setting, ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 10, 2016

Excellent choice, very elegant setting, the food was very good, service was excellent as well. Great choice for an elegant, quiet, and romantic evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Enjoyed the food and with the exception ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 25, 2016

Enjoyed the food and with the exception of a steak order that was ordered medium rare, but came out well done, all was tasty. Service was not great-there was only 2 other tables of people, but felt very rushed and pressured to make decisions. Was not offered a dessert menu or coffee without having to ask for it. The restaurant was not busy which made the server issue annoying. We'll give it another chance, but hopefully the service will improve.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

The food was excellent!

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 23, 2016

The food was excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Swanky and memorable birthday dinner! M ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 20, 2016

Swanky and memorable birthday dinner! My husband and I enjoyed exploring the reimagined areas of the courthouse too!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This visit to Bizou Brasserie was wonder ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 20, 2016

This visit to Bizou Brasserie was wonderful. The noise level was good, service exceptional and

the food was delicious.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service were amazing! Will be g ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 5, 2016

Food and service were amazing! Will be going back soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I doubt I will be back. The food was me ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 28, 2016

I doubt I will be back. The food was mediocre. I was not impressed by the atmosphere. And the service was just plain bad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.