Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.23mi
  3. Distance: 0.26mi
  4. Distance: 0.30mi
  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.23mi
  3. Distance: 0.26mi
  4. Distance: 0.30mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.23mi
  3. Distance: 0.26mi
  4. Distance: 0.30mi
  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.23mi
  3. Distance: 0.26mi
  4. Distance: 0.30mi

About Bizou Brasserie

Bizou Brasserie is located inside the Le Meridien Hotel in Downtown Tampa. Bizou Brasserie serves signature Contemporary American food, and Longitude Bar encourages mingling. Bizou offers the winning combination of superior cuisine, premium hand crafted cocktails, unparalleled atmosphere and first-rate service.

601 North Florida Avenue
Tampa, FL 33602
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast Daily: 6:00am - 11:00am; Lunch Daily: 11:00am - 2:00pm;
Dinner: Sunday-Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm Friday and Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Twiggs St.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(813) 227-9555

Website:
http://www.bizoutampa.com/

Parking Details:
Valet Available through Hotel entrance

Executive Chef:
Brian Lairby

Private Party Facilities:
With Bizou's access to the banquet space within the Le Meridien Hotel, we can handle private parties small and large.

Private Party Contact:
Kristi Moser: (813) 999-8203

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Cafe, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access

Bizou Brasserie Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.1

ambience

4.2

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

79% would recommend it to a friend

Historic (23)
Good for a Date (17)
Romantic (15)
See All
Special Occasion (14)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Cozy (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Bar Seating (7)
Business Meals (7)
Notable Wine List (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Casual (6)
Modern Decor (6)
Live Music (6)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
Fun (5)
Tasting Menu (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Healthy (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Quick Bite (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Family Style (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Vegan (1)
Authentic (1)
Great Beer (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Seasonal (1)
People Watching (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Organic (1)
Sort By:
S
236 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 7 days ago

We went for the Easter buffet...all aspects of our experience were great from the moment we arrived. Great service, great food and great atmosphere!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Savannah)·Dined 7 days ago

Loved the atmosphere. Looking forward to going back.

Tags: Cozy, Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined 7 days ago

Great food. Good service. Like what did to this historic sight. Only negative was valet parking took 20 minutes to retire out car when completed and it was not crowded. Park on the street if you can. However. I would go back.

Tags: Historic, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 29, 2017

We chose this restaurant based primarily on proximity to a show that we were attending that evening. It ended up being a very good selection! We started out with the cheese plate appetizer, which we were very satisfied with. (There's a running joke in our house that a Tampa cheese plate typically includes a hunk of Velveeta, a slice of Kraft American, and a piece of string cheese. This was definitely not the case.) For dinner, I had the cedar plank salmon, and my wife chose the prime rib. Both were delicious.

Our visit was on a Wednesday evening, so I suspect that it was much quieter than usual. The waiter was very attentive, and the overall experience was great. I felt that the prices were a bit inflated, which is common for hotel restaurants, but I thought the food was much better than what is often found in hotel dining. We will definitely return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Fourth Friday Drink/St Pattys themed was well made,great experience. I will for sure be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Excellent night out. Service was slightly uneven but to be fair we probably contibuted to that by having our party arrive half and hour apart.
Cocktail menu is varied and well priced for "specialty" cocktails. Wine list is well priced and definetely encourges you to purchase a bottle if you have at least 2 glasses.
If you are a vegetarian I highly recommend the porchini mushroom ravioli. Gnocchi were good, if slightly dense. The cheese plate is a good starter and the 5 cheese plate had a good selection, even if I do wish they had included a blue cheese.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 17, 2017

I love the Brasserie, however I think the food tasted like the refrigerator that it was kept in. The shrimp recipe was too sweet and didn't go with the description on the menu. The atmosphere is terrific, you can go there and have an intimate date and not be bothered. The wait staff is always exceptional and great spirits list. I hope that they work a bit on the menu. It is a terrific place one of my favorites.

Tags: Seasonal, Great for Lunch, Afternoon Coffee, Fun, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Afternoon Tea, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Great Beer, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (London)·Dined on March 13, 2017

The staff were great and the wine was lovely but The food was only ok.

Tags: Bar Seating, Quick Bite, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 12, 2017

The wine selection was adequate, service was OK but not top notch, but food and setting were well worth the trip. I would go again in a heartbeat.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Our service was terrible. We ended up walking out after being ignored for over 15 minutes. The restaurant was not even busy and our server only had 2 other tables which we watched get attention the entire time. We were forgotten about. What makes it worse is that it was an anniversary dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 11, 2017

I'm a returning guest and my previous experiences were much better than my visit on 3/11/17. The food quality has been on a decline with each visit and this was the pinnacle of disappointment. In addition, the hostess was a lovely young lady but was improperly dressed with her assets much more visible than what’s appropriate in an upscale restaurant.
My mom ordered the special, which was grouper and it was dry, overcooked, and flavorless. My friend ordered the Bizou burger which was not cooked to the requested temperature. I ordered a salad which was supposed to have proper Cesar dressing with anchovies (as indicated on the menu), but it was beyond bland and the homemade croutons were like overcooked little bricks.
Thankfully our server was extremely pleasant and made the experience tolerable. The atmosphere in the evening seems to be a bit drab and could benefit from better lighting and a warmer atmosphere. The integrity of the old courthouse is definitely present but the ambiance leaves a lot to be desired. The website says the menu offers a hint of French inspirations with the comfort of American favorites across a variety of cultures; however it seems more suitable to say that this is a restaurant with an identity crisis and no real sense of what they offer for the menu selection.
I’ve had the opportunity to dine in establishments that offer a much better quality of food for the price. I found our $200.00 check to be quite overpriced for what we were served; the prices are clearly not aligned with the quality.
We did not offer this feedback to the manager at the time of our dining experience because we did not want to be viewed as though we were trying to obtain a free meal. However, I truly hope the management team reads this and takes the opportunity to improve their food. We’d love to return at some point but are very hesitant to do so unless changes are made to improve the food quality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service4
value1

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Delicious food! Great architecture and service was excellent.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Live Music, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 5, 2017

the absolute worst restaurant I have every been. everything was terrible. I could not
recommend this to anyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Very pleased with dining experience. Ryan was our waiter . He was friendly, knowledgable, attentive and funny. The hostess was great, and seated us, by request, at a booth that could accommodate six,even though there were only two of us. No problems. Food was very good; a reasonable serving size, not huge and not just a few bites artfully arranged on a plate. We'll go back.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 27, 2017

Great place to have a business meal with prospective customer. Thank you!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Outstanding Value, Great for Brunch, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 24, 2017

The setting was interesting and not jam-packed, but the high noise level was quite unpleasant. On top of that the food was mediocre and the service was slow and inattentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 23, 2017

This place was a great find! Was just looking for someone to get dinner before seeing Wicked and was so happy that the food was great!! I had the Bousin Stuffed Chicken with spinach and mashed potatoes. It was so good that I cleaned my plate, but didn't leave feeling overstuffed. Great portion sizing! I would definitely recommend this place!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 23, 2017

The restaurant was very nice. The waiter was good. This food was very tasty, the only issue was that you get very little food for the price. My wife got a plate with a medium size piece of salmon and 8 half slices of small potatoes, that was it. I got a medium piece of filet mignon, a half cup of mashed potatoes and a couple of tablespoons of mushrooms. Also, the sangria we ordered was so-so. They were on the sour side and did not seem like there was much alcohol in them. There were small plates with butter knives at the place settings, but no bread was ever offered or brought. We blew this off thinking that for the price of the meals that we would get a decent size meal to eat. Didn't happen. If you want a good tasting meal (but little of it and terrible sangria) in a nice looking place, then this might be the place for you.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 18, 2017

The service was fantastic. We were running late for a show and they were able to provide great high end dinner and drinks, very quickly.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Modern Decor, Historic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Atmosphere was very unique. Food and service just a tad underwhelming given the price point. Just a few tweeks could make this place go from good to great.

Tags: Good for a Date, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Seems to be quite noisy. There is little in the establishment to quiet sound.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value4

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Had a reservation but took a bit to get seated, hostess kept taking phone calls while we stood in front of her. Once seated, after receiving water and bread quickly, we didn't see our waitress for more than 30 minutes. Had to wave down a manager to give our drink and dinner order. Martinis were great, unfortunate that we waited almost 45 minutes to get them. Fried zucchini ribbons appetizer was awful; was like eating really bad pork rinds. Salmon and steak entrees were perfectly prepared. Main entrees and live music were the only redeeming qualities. Hit our favorite night spot on Royal afterward, to keep our Friday night from being a total waste. Won't come back for a second try.

Tags: Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Great food and ambiance. Love the historic pieces. Very friendly staff throughout. Had an awesome dinner!

Tags: Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Historic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Better food presentation, and silver ware that you eat with and go in your mouth does not go on the bare table as they were when we sat at our table. Make sure the tables and seating are wiped clean before guest arrive seats had crumbs. These are my recommendations for the restaurant.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Chicken and fish was overcooked and service was mediocre.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 15, 2017

I was very disappointed with the food. The escargot tasted as if they were canned, the shrimp fondue is just a dip, and the food overall very salty. I decided to go here as I saw it on Emeril's top places to it. Far from it. I think the food was frozen and only wanted up on site. However, our waitress was very polite and attentive. The food tasted horrible!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 13, 2017

They need to add creme brûlée to the dessert men, important in a French Restaurant.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Recently visited this restaurant with my wife and was pleasantly surprised. Excellent food, great service and reasonably priced. Will definitely return!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Gluten Free Options, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Organic, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Live Music, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 11, 2017

This was my first time at the restaurant and I was pleased with the quality of service. I chose this restaurant for its ambiance and they did not discount. It was delightful and the live music was great. Most importantly the food was delicious! Definitely recommend it.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Live Music, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Love the live music and the bar area is beautiful. Great HH drinks and the HH tacos are pretty good. Unfortunately the food was not the greatest. Our main dish took 50 mins to arrive, the ceviche was bland and was just shrimp - no on fish or assorted seafood, and the duck did not taste fresh (I had to send it back). For these reasons I'd only return for a cocktail and move on for dinner.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 4, 2017

I know it's weird for high marks on Food, Service, and Ambiance, but a low overall. I had made a reservation for 6:15 but when we arrived the hostess said there was a little delay and ask if we would like to wait at the bar. No problem, until 6:45 rolls around and we are no where close to being seated. So my wife and I ate at the bar. The bar tenders were fantastic, entertaining, and made some pretty amazing cocktails! The food was incredible and the atmosphere is open and beautiful.

Tags: Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 4, 2017

From the moment Charlie greeted us at the front desk to the great service by our server, Neil, we enjoyed our causal lunch before a performance at the Tampa theater. The meal was wonderfully plated, the fries delicious but must say the veggie burger was not what was expected. It was rather mushy, however, the flavor was good.
Next time in Tampa, I would definitely stop by again and enjoy the quiet atmosphere and the beautiful design of this establishment.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 3, 2017

We had a very romantic evening in a beautiful setting. We don't normally eat at hotel restaurants but we weren't disappointed in the food or atmosphere here. It used to be an old court house and still has many of its artifacts and architectural details. The service was excellent, friendly and discreet. We were here pre theater and had a nice easy walk to the Straz.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Quick Bite, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 29, 2017

We waited 15 minutes for a server and another 15 minutes for table water. I'd like to thi k of myself, and the other three people I dined with, as patient and appreciative. However, this was hands down the wrost service I have had a restaurant to date.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Service was poor, waited forever for food. Actually the last to leave due to long delay. Food when it arrived was ok, not great. The hostess Charlie tried to help as best she could but essentially we were ignored by wait staff, told there was no table for us by another hostess when half the place was empty. Not a good experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 29, 2017

We live downtown, have for over 7 years. Last year we stopped dining at Bizou, because of a steep decline in food quality after a menu change that didn't really hi well with us. We decided after all this time to give it a try again. I'm happy to report that Bizou is back!

The food was great and so was the service.

I still wish the original blue cheese was used for the stuffed olives in the martini. Bizou used to have the best martinis in Town because of the excellent blue cheese. At $16 each the martinis are good but not the best like they used to be. That's a shame but not something that will keep us away.

So happy Bizou is back and better than ever. We'll be coming back again soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Love the building and interior decor. Food good, my salmon not cooked to request but sauce was tasty. Wailing musician was creative but much too loud for conversation, acoustics amplify sound to a practically deafening level (around 8 on Friday). Kinda trendy, hipsters. Would go back and try lunch. Prices a little high...$16 burger. Service good. Waiter mixed up something but fixed it pleasantly.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Live Music, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options, Historic, Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Bizou fue un trámite, ni ordinario ni extraordinario, el servicio es muy superior a la comida, creo que en lugar de pensar en regresar, optaría por buscar otras opciones en la ciudad.

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Historic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 14, 2017

The food & drinks were excellent, but the service was rather poor. Our server audibly complained to us about everything from the number of tables he was serving that evening to our seating arrangement to keeping track of what was ordered. The service briefly improved after speaking to a manager, but then reverted to the original attitude. It was a celebratory occasion, but the service really cast a pall on the experience.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Outstanding experience. It began with their most gracious & helpful valet. Then we became awed by historical architecture mixed with modern elegance. Then were greeted with creative & taste tempting menu selections; superb service with great attention to every detail; with above & beyond efforts to make the evening special & personal. Just not enough words to express how exceptional the facility & staff were. So said simply, thank you.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.