About Bizou Brasserie

601 North Florida Avenue
Tampa, FL 33602
View Larger Map

Bizou Brasserie is located inside the Le Meridien Hotel in Downtown Tampa. Bizou Brasserie serves signature Contemporary American food, and Longitude Bar encourages mingling. Bizou offers the winning combination of superior cuisine, premium hand crafted cocktails, unparalleled atmosphere and first-rate service.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast Daily: 6:00am - 11:00am; Lunch Daily: 11:00am - 2:00pm;
Dinner: Sunday-Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm Friday and Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Twiggs St.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(813) 227-9555

Website:
http://www.bizoutampa.com/

Parking Details:
Valet Available through Hotel entrance

Executive Chef:
Brian Lairby

Private Party Facilities:
With Bizou's access to the banquet space within the Le Meridien Hotel, we can handle private parties small and large.

Private Party Contact:
Kristi Moser: 813-999-8203x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Cafe, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access

Bizou Brasserie Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.1

ambience

4.4

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (13)
Romantic (10)
Great for Lunch (9)
See All
Fit for Foodies (8)
Good for Groups (7)
Great for Brunch (7)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Notable Wine List (3)
Hot Spot (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Scenic View (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
168 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We've been to Bizou before and enjoyed i ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined 3 days ago

We've been to Bizou before and enjoyed it. This visit wasn't as good as the food was not as well prepared. The brunch menu seemed limited making selection challenging. Service was exceptional which made up for the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

Ceviche was lacking seasoning, catch of ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined 4 days ago

Ceviche was lacking seasoning, catch of the day was lack luster pasta accompaniment was overly salted. Bread served with dinner was dry. Very nice ambience and great lounge/bar area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

A great choice when in Tampa.

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

A great choice when in Tampa.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Celebrated our 10th Anniversary with din ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Celebrated our 10th Anniversary with dinner at Bizou Brasserie. The restaurant is not very full, but we had a nice booth. The food was very good. Snapper was wonderful. Service was great!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Such a cool place with amazing history. ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Such a cool place with amazing history. The food and specialty cocktails border on gastro pub cool

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent choice, very elegant setting, ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Excellent choice, very elegant setting, the food was very good, service was excellent as well. Great choice for an elegant, quiet, and romantic evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Enjoyed the food and with the exception ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Enjoyed the food and with the exception of a steak order that was ordered medium rare, but came out well done, all was tasty. Service was not great-there was only 2 other tables of people, but felt very rushed and pressured to make decisions. Was not offered a dessert menu or coffee without having to ask for it. The restaurant was not busy which made the server issue annoying. We'll give it another chance, but hopefully the service will improve.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

The food was excellent!

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

The food was excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Swanky and memorable birthday dinner! M ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Swanky and memorable birthday dinner! My husband and I enjoyed exploring the reimagined areas of the courthouse too!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This visit to Bizou Brasserie was wonder ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

This visit to Bizou Brasserie was wonderful. The noise level was good, service exceptional and

the food was delicious.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service were amazing! Will be g ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Food and service were amazing! Will be going back soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I doubt I will be back. The food was me ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

I doubt I will be back. The food was mediocre. I was not impressed by the atmosphere. And the service was just plain bad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value4

Ate here for Mother's Day breakfast and ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Ate here for Mother's Day breakfast and was very disappointed to find out after arriving that ordering off the normal brunch menu as not an option. All that was available was a VERY limited buffet style table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service2

Sunday Brunch

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

The indoor dining for Sunday was excellent. I think we all enjoyed the food, I know the sausage biscuit and gravy was very good. Our waiter seemed a little lost and had to return to verify some of our requests. He did keep our drinks filled and was attentive just tentative. I recommend Bizou for special occasions over routine dining for the ambiance!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Made a reservation just 15 min out, was ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

Made a reservation just 15 min out, was seated immediately.

A bit pricey as two apps and two house wines was $60 plus tip.

Food was good, service was excellent. Very nice building, architecture, and ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Interesting ambiance and great service

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

We visited again after about a year after our Bizou just opened. I was hoping the quirks in the kitchen were ironed out...however the menu looked the same and we made the mistake of ordering the charcuterie platter again. It felt and looked like they took grocery store quality meats and put them on the board, I have made a better meat and cheese board buying high quality meats and presenting them in an appetizing way (store bought Mortadella and very thick package like salami are not appetizing). The escargot was tasty, a little more soupy than I like, but the butter/salt ratio was very good. Another guest ordered the mushroom ravioli and liked his meal, my daughter ordered the filet. It needs seasoning - very bland. The service though was exceptional, we really liked our waiter, he was very accommodating and was really friendly. If I go back, I will not order the meat and cheese platter again but I would like to go back and try their cocktails. I have tried a few and they were very good.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Overpriced for happy hour

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on April 25, 2016

Very cool building and the renovations have maintained the architecture nicely of the old courthouse. Drinks were good value (we were there on Monday - $8 martinis), but the small plates were overpriced. $11 or $12 for 3 pieces of fried eggplant or 4 small pieces of bruschetta.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Great food and service...TOO LOUD

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

I've always enjoyed coming here in the past. The food and the service have always been good. Unfortunately, it was so loud that one of my guests couldn't participate in the conversation because of the loud band playing. The band was good but toooooooooooooooooo loud. I'm not sure if there is a future here for me.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Excellent food. Small, unimpressive wine ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on April 20, 2016

Excellent food. Small, unimpressive wine list.

Cocktails were average.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2

Location Location !

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on April 11, 2016

The most important asset of Brasserie Bizou is the location...in the amazing Le Meridien Tampa !

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Loud would be a better word than energet ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on April 5, 2016

Loud would be a better word than energetic.

Waiter, Ryan was excellent. HOWEVER, my Prime rib and fried potatoes were heavily salted. The waiter and hostess were concerned and did not charge me for the entrée. They also comped my desert. The first course, selection of 3 cheeses etcetera was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5

Excellent Atmosphere

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on April 1, 2016

I was pleasantly surprised at the intimate ambience of this restaurant. There is enough space between diners to allow for quiet conversation. The waiter was attentive and the food delicious.

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Wasn't anything extraordinary

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

We went there for Easter Brunch and we were rather disappointed. Food was okay but warm, not hot. Not a huge selection and though they had an omelette station they didn't offer sausage or bacon on the side. The building itself was amazing (old courthouse) and we may give it another try for dinner rather than brunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

For hotel guests, the restaurant is conv ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

For hotel guests, the restaurant is convenient, but I do not recommend it for non-guests seeking weekend brunch. The buffet was mediocre, the coffee bar (also omelette station) was very, very slow and the wait staff was inattentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

Food was very good. Portions were ridicu ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

Food was very good. Portions were ridiculously small.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Menu: Not an extensive menu however very creative

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

Visiting in Tampa, the Le Meridien was recommended and we dined there two nights because we were so pleased with the varied menu, service, presentation of food, and of course the end result of "deliciousness". We had one of the best Filets one night and fresh seafood the 2nd night; both had great side dishes and I would highly recommend the Risotto Potatoes and the Roasted Brussel Sprouts. We will definitely be back next time we are in town!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Food was good and service was awesome. S ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Food was good and service was awesome. Since it was Valentines Day they had a set menu. Food was good but arrived warm. The temp on the food should have been hot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Valentine's Day outing

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

I made a reservation in mid-January at this restaurant, for Valentine's Day for my boyfriend. He had been wanting to try it, so I thought this was a great opportunity to take him there. I must say I was pretty disappointed when I received a phone call the day prior to our reservation, confirming our dining time, and informing me that it was a fixed price menu. The reason he wanted to try it, was because there was some nice sounding dishes on the menu, and I never would have made a reservation there for valentine's day, had I known it was going to be a limited menu. There was nothing indicating that on the website, and no one informed me of that when I made the reservation (we went the day before the actual holiday, February 13). When I asked the person who called me what the menu was, she said I would receive an email, which I did not get for a couple of hours later. My boyfriend doesn't like seafood, so having only the options of mussels and shrimp for appetizers, was not exactly what we had in mind. Plus I am not a big dessert person, which of course was part of the package. At least we could order the items à la cart, which saved us from paying $75 each for a meal that we could only enjoy part of.

One positive note, the service was fantastic, and the food that we did order was quite good. Also, the wine pricing was pretty reasonable for a hotel.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

Nice find

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on February 11, 2016

Very succinctly- good food but we both had Steak Frites with over-seasoned frites and food got cold quickly and waiter more focused on larger tables.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

excellent food!!

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on February 9, 2016

The chef personally comes to each table to ask the guests about their food experience. Love it!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic food. Great ambiance . Excepti ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on January 30, 2016

Fantastic food. Great ambiance . Exceptional service. Please ask for Sam the server. Steak is AMAZING!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Tampa gem!

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on January 24, 2016

At first, the service was slow. But it improved during the meal and our service turned out well. I liked the decor and pleasant atmosphere. The food was excellent, as was the wine. My rating is an overall 5 stars. I do think more advertising is warranted so the good word gets out.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Food great; service slow but for a reason

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on January 22, 2016

The food was very, very good! I would go back again for this!

The night we went, the bar was overwhelmingly NOISY with patrons. There was a singer/guitarist performing too and he was actually drowned out despite the fact that he had an amp and microphone.

The servers were very nice and apologetic, but it was just so slow. Luckily we were there with no rush, so it was OK for us. But I could tell that others patrons were annoyed. Two servers told us it was the Billy Joel concert in town that evening, and that they were slammed unexpectedly with concert-goers on a time crunch. So the drinks arrived after the salad...the excuse was that the bartender was slammed with orders from dining room and the bar. We didn't even ask... the servers kept offering an explanation as to why it was slow and apologized when each thing came to our table. The entrees took a very long time to arrive. The original server did not return to check on us. I did see him scurrying to different tables all evening, so he was REALLY busy. Different servers brought our food (including a manager, I believe).

Again we were not in a hurry and we were not going to the concert. As a matter of fact, we used our iPhone to Google where Bill Joel was playing. It was the Amalie Arena in Tampa which is ONE mile from this restaurant.

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

Service modest. Food ok. Lighting awful.

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on January 20, 2016

For a hotel the food is about right. It neither surprises nor excites. Wait staff competent but not highly skilled. Ambiance austere in a big room with notvmuch intimacy. Lighting is white LEDs high in the ceiling casting an austere funereal whiteness. No candles on tables so the room - which is architecturally captivating - doesn't glow not invite.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

Ryan was our server. He cool. Brunch tu ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on January 17, 2016

Ryan was our server. He cool.

Brunch turkey sausage in the dinner soup is a fabulous idea. Just remember that frozen foods tend to be high in sodium.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4

The live music was the best part!!! Staf ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on January 16, 2016

The live music was the best part!!! Staff seemed overwhelmed.... Not sure why they were that busy! Food was under cooked and/or they were out of specific things. The hotel is awesome ... Very cool looking! Overall I wouldn't go back!! For the food or the hotel stay!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

Unique Facility

vip
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on January 13, 2016

This restaurant is in the old courthouse in downtown Tampa; now also a hotel, making the whole complex a very unique venue. The ceilings are high, as they were in the old courthouse days, causing the noise level to be elevated. Food was excellent and well presented by our attentive server, Tara (I think).

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Exceptional

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on January 4, 2016

What a gem! I was visiting the area and was staying at the hotel that this restaurant is located in. I was looking for a romantic restaurant to propose to my girlfriend. What a great staff! Everything was perfect! I would like to thank the staff again.

Thanks from Dan & Trisha

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Burgers were burnt.

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on January 2, 2016

Burgers were burnt.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

I love the ambiance!

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on January 1, 2016

I love the atmosphere of this trendy little restaurant. The food is great and so is the wine and cocktail choices. I absolutely consider the bar one of my favorite in Tampa, the bar food has many choices and the bartenders and wait staff are superior.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.