About Bizou Brasserie

601 North Florida Avenue
Tampa, FL 33602
View Larger Map

Bizou Brasserie is located inside the Le Meridien Hotel in Downtown Tampa. Bizou Brasserie serves signature Contemporary American food, and Longitude Bar encourages mingling. Bizou offers the winning combination of superior cuisine, premium hand crafted cocktails, unparalleled atmosphere and first-rate service.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast Daily: 6:00am - 11:00am; Lunch Daily: 11:00am - 2:00pm;
Dinner: Sunday-Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm Friday and Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Twiggs St.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(813) 227-9555

Website:
http://www.bizoutampa.com/

Parking Details:
Valet Available through Hotel entrance

Executive Chef:
Brian Lairby

Private Party Facilities:
With Bizou's access to the banquet space within the Le Meridien Hotel, we can handle private parties small and large.

Private Party Contact:
Kristi Moser: (813) 999-8203

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Cafe, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access

Bizou Brasserie Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.0

ambience

4.3

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

80% would recommend it to a friend

Historic (20)
Good for a Date (18)
Special Occasion (14)
See All
Romantic (13)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Cozy (8)
Modern Decor (8)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Business Meals (6)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Casual (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Live Music (5)
Worth the Drive (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Fun (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Vegan (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Healthy (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Family Style (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Tapas (1)
Authentic (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Quick Bite (1)
People Watching (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Organic (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
217 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The service was fantastic. We were runn ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined 2 days ago

The service was fantastic. We were running late for a show and they were able to provide great high end dinner and drinks, very quickly.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Modern Decor, Historic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Atmosphere was very unique. Food and ser ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined 2 days ago

Atmosphere was very unique. Food and service just a tad underwhelming given the price point. Just a few tweeks could make this place go from good to great.

Tags: Good for a Date, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

Seems to be quite noisy. There is little ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined 2 days ago

Seems to be quite noisy. There is little in the establishment to quiet sound.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value4

Had a reservation but took a bit to get ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined 3 days ago

Had a reservation but took a bit to get seated, hostess kept taking phone calls while we stood in front of her. Once seated, after receiving water and bread quickly, we didn't see our waitress for more than 30 minutes. Had to wave down a manager to give our drink and dinner order. Martinis were great, unfortunate that we waited almost 45 minutes to get them. Fried zucchini ribbons appetizer was awful; was like eating really bad pork rinds. Salmon and steak entrees were perfectly prepared. Main entrees and live music were the only redeeming qualities. Hit our favorite night spot on Royal afterward, to keep our Friday night from being a total waste. Won't come back for a second try.

Tags: Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

Great food and ambiance. Love the histor ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined 3 days ago

Great food and ambiance. Love the historic pieces. Very friendly staff throughout. Had an awesome dinner!

Tags: Good for a Date, , Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Historic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Better food presentation, and silver war ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined 6 days ago

Better food presentation, and silver ware that you eat with and go in your mouth does not go on the bare table as they were when we sat at our table. Make sure the tables and seating are wiped clean before guest arrive seats had crumbs. These are my recommendations for the restaurant.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Chicken and fish was overcooked and serv ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Chicken and fish was overcooked and service was mediocre.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

I was very disappointed with the food. T ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined 6 days ago

I was very disappointed with the food. The escargot tasted as if they were canned, the shrimp fondue is just a dip, and the food overall very salty. I decided to go here as I saw it on Emeril's top places to it. Far from it. I think the food was frozen and only wanted up on site. However, our waitress was very polite and attentive. The food tasted horrible!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value3

They need to add creme brûlée to the des ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined 7 days ago

They need to add creme brûlée to the dessert men, important in a French Restaurant.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Recently visited this restaurant with my ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Recently visited this restaurant with my wife and was pleasantly surprised. Excellent food, great service and reasonably priced. Will definitely return!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Gluten Free Options, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Organic, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Live Music, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

This was my first time at the restaurant ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 11, 2017

This was my first time at the restaurant and I was pleased with the quality of service. I chose this restaurant for its ambiance and they did not discount. It was delightful and the live music was great. Most importantly the food was delicious! Definitely recommend it.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Live Music, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love the live music and the bar area is ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Love the live music and the bar area is beautiful. Great HH drinks and the HH tacos are pretty good. Unfortunately the food was not the greatest. Our main dish took 50 mins to arrive, the ceviche was bland and was just shrimp - no on fish or assorted seafood, and the duck did not taste fresh (I had to send it back). For these reasons I'd only return for a cocktail and move on for dinner.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

I know it's weird for high marks on Food ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 4, 2017

I know it's weird for high marks on Food, Service, and Ambiance, but a low overall. I had made a reservation for 6:15 but when we arrived the hostess said there was a little delay and ask if we would like to wait at the bar. No problem, until 6:45 rolls around and we are no where close to being seated. So my wife and I ate at the bar. The bar tenders were fantastic, entertaining, and made some pretty amazing cocktails! The food was incredible and the atmosphere is open and beautiful.

Tags: Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

From the moment Charlie greeted us at th ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 4, 2017

From the moment Charlie greeted us at the front desk to the great service by our server, Neil, we enjoyed our causal lunch before a performance at the Tampa theater. The meal was wonderfully plated, the fries delicious but must say the veggie burger was not what was expected. It was rather mushy, however, the flavor was good.

Next time in Tampa, I would definitely stop by again and enjoy the quiet atmosphere and the beautiful design of this establishment.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a very romantic evening in a beau ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 3, 2017

We had a very romantic evening in a beautiful setting. We don't normally eat at hotel restaurants but we weren't disappointed in the food or atmosphere here. It used to be an old court house and still has many of its artifacts and architectural details. The service was excellent, friendly and discreet. We were here pre theater and had a nice easy walk to the Straz.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Quick Bite, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We waited 15 minutes for a server and an ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 29, 2017

We waited 15 minutes for a server and another 15 minutes for table water. I'd like to thi k of myself, and the other three people I dined with, as patient and appreciative. However, this was hands down the wrost service I have had a restaurant to date.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

Service was poor, waited forever for foo ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Service was poor, waited forever for food. Actually the last to leave due to long delay. Food when it arrived was ok, not great. The hostess Charlie tried to help as best she could but essentially we were ignored by wait staff, told there was no table for us by another hostess when half the place was empty. Not a good experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value3

We live downtown, have for over 7 years. ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 29, 2017

We live downtown, have for over 7 years. Last year we stopped dining at Bizou, because of a steep decline in food quality after a menu change that didn't really hi well with us. We decided after all this time to give it a try again. I'm happy to report that Bizou is back!

The food was great and so was the service.

I still wish the original blue cheese was used for the stuffed olives in the martini. Bizou used to have the best martinis in Town because of the excellent blue cheese. At $16 each the martinis are good but not the best like they used to be. That's a shame but not something that will keep us away.

So happy Bizou is back and better than ever. We'll be coming back again soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Love the building and interior decor. Fo ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Love the building and interior decor. Food good, my salmon not cooked to request but sauce was tasty. Wailing musician was creative but much too loud for conversation, acoustics amplify sound to a practically deafening level (around 8 on Friday). Kinda trendy, hipsters. Would go back and try lunch. Prices a little high...$16 burger. Service good. Waiter mixed up something but fixed it pleasantly.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Live Music, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options, Historic, Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value4

Bizou fue un trámite, ni ordinario ni ex ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Bizou fue un trámite, ni ordinario ni extraordinario, el servicio es muy superior a la comida, creo que en lugar de pensar en regresar, optaría por buscar otras opciones en la ciudad.

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Historic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

The food & drinks were excellent, but th ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 14, 2017

The food & drinks were excellent, but the service was rather poor. Our server audibly complained to us about everything from the number of tables he was serving that evening to our seating arrangement to keeping track of what was ordered. The service briefly improved after speaking to a manager, but then reverted to the original attitude. It was a celebratory occasion, but the service really cast a pall on the experience.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Outstanding experience. It began with th ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Outstanding experience. It began with their most gracious & helpful valet. Then we became awed by historical architecture mixed with modern elegance. Then were greeted with creative & taste tempting menu selections; superb service with great attention to every detail; with above & beyond efforts to make the evening special & personal. Just not enough words to express how exceptional the facility & staff were. So said simply, thank you.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent find. Limited on Christmas ni ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Excellent find. Limited on Christmas night our options and this was fabulous. Sat at bar, great food and bartenders were attentive and friendly. We will be back.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We wanted to vist Bizou Brasserie a ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We wanted to vist Bizou Brasserie and look at Court Building. We got parking across the street, we were seated right away. We had fun people watching and listening to very

interesting music in the restaurant. We want to return for Brunch.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Unique site - it is the house restaurant ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Unique site - it is the house restaurant in the Le Meridien hotel in downtown Tampa - more specifically, it is in the lobby of the former U.S. Courthouse, which Le Meridien has transformed into a boutique hotel. But the site isn't all, it's a fine restaurant with topnotch service. I've been here for business lunches and dinners many times before - they handle groups with apparent ease, by the way - this was my first time dining with my wife on "my own dime" and was quite pleased. The menu and wine list are modest in size but both have enough variety to please - and they do it all well - the preparation and presentation are artfully done and delicious. This has become one our (rather than just "my") favorite dining spots downtown

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good food and great ambiance!

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Good food and great ambiance!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Fast and professional service and great ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Fast and professional service and great food by all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

It was very quiet for a Monday lunch. I ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 19, 2016

It was very quiet for a Monday lunch. I ordered a chopped salad and added "prawns" to my salad. The "prawns" were nothing more than normal small sized shrimp just lightly grilled, no seasoning, just bland dry small shrimp. The salad did not have much at all in it except lettuce, radicchio and some onion. My bill was $23 with an unsweet iced tea. I just felt like a salad for $21 should have been way better. When I think if prawns I think really nice, fresh large plump grilled shrimp with a buttery finish. The salad just did not have any life to it. For such a beautiful restaurant and the prices charged, I was hoping for way better ☹️ I know of close by restaurants that has amazing salads, consistently for half the price! Sorry, honestly is best.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2

Quality food and service at reasonable p ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Quality food and service at reasonable pricing. Overall fantastic restoration of an historic courthouse. They need to do more to contain the noise, especially if there is a party in the bar with music.

Tags: Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value4

It took FOREVER to get our mimosas. We h ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 4, 2016

It took FOREVER to get our mimosas. We had to ask twice for them. The place wasn't busy at all. The chorizo was burnt and tough to chew. Portions were scant. $40 for coffee and two small breakfast plates is not a value. I guess we should have known when we walked at noon on a Sunday and the place was empty. Shame. It has such potential.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Warm greeting, followed by impeccable se ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Warm greeting, followed by impeccable service and great food. What more can I ask for?

Tags: Vegan, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Lovely evening pre show dinner. Wished h ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 29, 2016

Lovely evening pre show dinner. Wished had more time to enjoy ambiance.

Tags: Tapas, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

The service was extremely slow. The food ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 26, 2016

The service was extremely slow. The food was ok, but definitely not worth the price. We were staying at the hotel so the convenience is the only thing that made us eat here twice. Very over priced for what you get.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value1

Tried this place for Thanksgiving dinner ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Tried this place for Thanksgiving dinner. We were very pleased with the cooking, the service, wine list, etc. Will very likely return for brunch or perhaps tea.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Family Style, Romantic, Special Occasion, , Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

The food was nothing to write home about ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 14, 2016

The food was nothing to write home about despite the expectations from the menu information. However our server and the hostess were excellent!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Service was fabulous! I would come back ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Service was fabulous! I would come back again for a business lunch or special occasion.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Fit for Foodies, Afternoon Coffee, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service from the hostess greet ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Excellent service from the hostess greeting when we arrived to the hostess thanking us for visiting the restaurant when we were leaving....The food and table service was also Excellent....We will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I organized a lunch for a group of ladie ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 4, 2016

I organized a lunch for a group of ladies here. I made the reservation several weeks ahead of time and called the day before to confirm. It was frustrating that they were not ready for us and didn't show they I had increased the number when I called. We had to wait for them to set up the table.

The fish sandwich I had for lunch had good flavor, but had a very tough center. I wasn't able to eat it as a sandwich and had to cut the meat of the skin embedded in the fish.

The service was ok, but included a 20% gratuity since we had a large party. Unfortunately the waiter mixed up two of our group's bills charging the wrong cards. After more than 20 minutes they were unable to fix the problem. One person ended up paying more than she should while another paid too little. The hostess offered us some macaroons while we waited and apologized, which was nice. However the overall experience was really disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2

The location and ambience is a one of ki ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 29, 2016

The location and ambience is a one of kind experience in Tampa. Service was great, starting with the bar outside, the hostess, and our waiter. Went for a Halloween party, so place was kind of loud, but that was to be expected. Food was great and drinks were strong. Overall wonderful experience and we will be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

The food was very bad and we could only ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 29, 2016

The food was very bad and we could only manage to eat a few spoons of the main meal: vegan risotto had too much acidity and the steak was too salty. The escargot were edible but not great. Too bad because the ambiance was nice but you cannot fail that badly in the food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.