About Bites Asian Tapas & Sushi

3313 N. Clark St.
Chicago, IL 60657
View Larger Map

Located in Lakeview neighborhood of Chicago, Bites is a casual, stylish and comfortable Asian bistro featuring a wide range of homemade small plate favorites from Thailand, Japan, China, Korea, India, Vietnam, and beyond. The result is a delicious assortment of tapas unique to us. At the sushi bar, you will find a variety of traditional and signature maki rolls (available in half and whole portions) as well as nigiri and sashimi. Our fireplace keeps you warm in the Winter and our outdoor patio makes you feel alive in the Summer. Enjoy our food with a variety of cocktails, beer & wine while catching up with friends and family. Bites is a fun place to be and is perfect for both casual dining and special occasions - date night, girls/guys night out, birthday party, bachelor/bachelorette party, baby shower, etc. Start or end your night right at Bites Asian Tapas & Sushi.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Tapas / Small Plates, Asian, Sushi

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: Daily: 11:30am - 4:00pm (Lunch Special: Monday - Friday); Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm; Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Buckingham

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(773) 270-5972

Website:
http://www.bitestapas.com/

Catering:
Bites offers both on-site and off-site catering. Please email info@bitestapas.com for more information.

Parking Details:
Street parking with Pay Box. Valet parking service is available next door at Mia Francesca.

Public Transit:
CTA train red, brown and purple lines at Belmont stop. CTA bus #22

Executive Chef:
Derek Intapura

Private Party Facilities:
Whether it is casual or formal get-togethers, life’s celebrations or business meetings, our welcoming atmosphere and delicious food will make your event even more special

Private Party Contact:
Asana Nakornchai: 7732705972x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Delivery, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Bites Asian Tapas & Sushi
Bites Asian Tapas & Sushi
Bites Asian Tapas & Sushi
Bites Asian Tapas & Sushi
Bites Asian Tapas & Sushi
Bites Asian Tapas & Sushi
Bites Asian Tapas & Sushi
Bites Asian Tapas & Sushi
Bites Asian Tapas & Sushi
Bites Asian Tapas & Sushi
Bites Asian Tapas & Sushi
Bites Asian Tapas & Sushi
Bites Asian Tapas & Sushi
Bites Asian Tapas & Sushi

Promotions

Half-priced Maki

Sundays from 11:30 AM - 10:00 PM

$2 Selected Small Bites

Mondays from 11:30 AM - 10:00 PM

$2 Bao/Buns

Wednesdays from 11:30 AM - 10:00 PM

$6 Ramen

Tuesdays from 11:30 AM - 10:00 PM

$4 Bites Cocktails

Thursdays from 11:30 AM - 10:00 PM

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

Half-priced Maki

Sundays from 11:30 AM - 10:00 PM

Details
$2 Selected Small Bites

Mondays from 11:30 AM - 10:00 PM

Details
$2 Bao/Buns

Wednesdays from 11:30 AM - 10:00 PM

Details
$6 Ramen

Tuesdays from 11:30 AM - 10:00 PM

Details
$4 Bites Cocktails

Thursdays from 11:30 AM - 10:00 PM

Details
1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 8:30PM - 9:30PM

Mon - Thu 12:00PM - 1:00PM 5:00PM - 6:00PM 8:00PM - 9:30PM

Fri - Sat 5:00PM - 6:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Bites Asian Tapas & Sushi Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.3

ambience

4.4

value

4.6

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Value
Chicago / Illinois
Best Value
Chicago
Best Restaurants in Lakeview / East Lakeview ›

fit for foodies (26)
neighborhood gem (24)
good for groups (17)
See All
great for outdoor dining (9)
great for lunch (8)
romantic (8)
hot spot (7)
special occasion (6)
vibrant bar scene (2)
late-night find (2)
kid-friendly (2)
great for brunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
91 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The wings and spicy crab Rangoon were ex ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined 5 days ago

The wings and spicy crab Rangoon were excellent! The pork bao, fries, and drunk chicks were fine, but not amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

The occasion that we were celebrating wa ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The occasion that we were celebrating was my 25th birthday and I am so pleased that Bites is where we ended up! The reason for choosing the location was because of its availability for a large group on a Friday night- not always a huge selection in Chicago!

The food was perfect for a group as the restaurant offers a tapas style menu. Everyone was able to try multiple little dishes and could eat as much or as little as they chose. The food and drinks were very affordable and everyone raved about how delicious everything tasted! Our server did a great job handling all 20 of us which is no small task! Although I would have liked to have another person assigned to our table, she did a great job of making it work.

One of the only issues I has was that OpenTable listed the restaurant as a BYOB spot. When I went in the day before to check the place out, I was informed that they are actually NOT byob although you could bring in your own for a $10 per bottle corkage fee. We ended up having a mix of people that brought stuff and people who ordered off of the bar menu.

We were also able to bring in a cake to sing "Happy Birthday" and I don't believe they charged extra for doing so.

The real icing on the cake though was when it came time to pay. The server gave each couple/ person separate checks and got everything correct in terms of splitting all the small plates. I have spent over 8 years in the industry and this is not common for bigger groups! The server was gracious, attentive, accurate, and not at all (or at least didn't show it) annoyed by the fact that separate checks made things so much easier for us.

I will absolutely be back again for date nights, birthdays, or pre-Wrigley food-ups. Great experience overall! Did I mention the place is super cute inside? It is!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great atmosphere! We really enjoyed the ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Great atmosphere! We really enjoyed their food....everything was timed perfectly and be sure to try the mulberry margarita. Delicious! They have a very cute and quaint outdoor patio that is perfect for a group gathering of friends.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

This place has the most delicious fancy ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

This place has the most delicious fancy sushi. I highly recommend this restaurant. We've been twice in 2 weeks.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

LOVED Bites! EVERYTHING we ordered was ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

LOVED Bites! EVERYTHING we ordered was absolutely delicious! And, I mean EVERYTHING. The appetizers, the sushi, the nigiri, and the drinks were all amazing!

The only thing that lacked in our entire experience was the service. It was slow and at the end of the night, we were not given the drink discount (daily special) prices and our bill was almost $40 more than it should have been. But, once we pointed it out, they did correct it.

DEFINITELY recommend!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

The food was phenomenal: great portion s ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

The food was phenomenal: great portion sizes, many options (I'm vegetarian and was so happy to see a vegetarian maki section) and pretty (presentation wise). I came in a big group of 8 and was so glad that everyone got something they truly enjoyed and left full. The servers were very patient but I would have appreciated if they were a bit more attentive. The ambience was very relaxing; yellow lighting, wood tables, pretty dishware are all things I noticed, and I thought it was really charming that they were playing the oldies

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Every time I visit I fall even more in l ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Every time I visit I fall even more in love with each new dish I try. The food is outstanding. Atmosphere is very comfy and fun. Service is top notch. I very much enjoy this restaurant!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

food was ok, disappointing compared to t ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

food was ok, disappointing compared to the reviews & pics online. it was so loud I had to scream across the table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Experience was awesome! We waited a few ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Experience was awesome! We waited a few minutes before a server came over and they gave us a free appetizer as an apology. Amazing service and obviously great management. Also the sushi is incredible!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This little gem was even better than we ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

This little gem was even better than we anticipated!! Loved the patio and everything we ordered was wonderful. We can't wait to go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Most of the food was cold

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

And fried. The Korean sliders were so spicy, you couldn't eat them and the pork was slimy (think sliced undercooked bacon). This place has great potential, but fell pretty far short. Really disappointed.....

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value4

Mash Restaurant

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

I felt like if I was in the t.v. show, Mash, this restaurant would be one I would have frequented. I really liked the music and decor. The wait staff was attentive. The ginger margarita was a refreshing twist on the margarita. I really enjoyed the jalapeno miso soup and my entree was the bbq pork with coconut rice, which I thoroughly enjoyed. I look forward to going back so I can try other dishes on the menu. My husband enjoyed the chef's choice shashimi.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great Service + Good Food = Nice Date Ni ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

Great Service + Good Food = Nice Date Night with my wife!!

Will be back! The Specials are good and so were the drinks! You must go!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Excellent sushi, charming atmosphere

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

My family and I went to see The Blue Man Group and we were looking for a nice spot for dinner. We Googled "great restaurants around Briar Street Theater." Bites popped up. So, it was a total stab in the dark for us. The reviews were excellent so we thought we would give it a try. The ambience was warm and inviting. Lots of wood. Our table was nice and secluded. We ordered a couple rolls. The Lava Roll was outstanding. We all ordered a couple different small bites plates. The Crying Tiger was hands down the best tasting steak I have had in quite some time. Our server was attentive and extremely helpful in suggesting menu choices. All in all, we loved it and will be back.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great flavors, quality ingredients, perf ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

Great flavors, quality ingredients, perfect portions. Drinks are OK

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Really enjoyed the white tuna sushi.

 
 (London)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

Really enjoyed the white tuna sushi.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent Find

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 8, 2016

We really enjoyed the specials eggplant tempura, the pork bao and the Thai Barbie shrimp was amazing - spicy hot and tasty.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

Pre-concert meal

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on April 1, 2016

Ate hear before a concert at the Riviera theater. Nice location along Clark street. We ate early so, restaurant was fairly empty. Muzak was 70's hits which was nice for us but didn't quite fit the style of the restaurant. Interesting menu of Asian Tapas and Sushi. We had the Samosas, the Shrimp Dumplings and the Taro Fries - all good and tasty. I also had a Nigiri chef selection - all were delicious. There was just two of us and it was easy to hold a conversation. The menu would lend itself to a larger group of people who wanted to share a variety of dishes. WOuld have been fun to sample more.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Good drinks, nice location.

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 1, 2016

Good drinks, nice location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5

Nice decor and cool interesting twist on food

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on March 30, 2016

I am a foodie and like creativity in dishes so I like that they fuze different cuisines

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great tapas and nice space

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on March 25, 2016

Great wait staff. Comfortable seating . Delicious food.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I had a reservation for 8:30 and wasn't ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on March 20, 2016

I had a reservation for 8:30 and wasn't seated until 10:15. We spent a lot of money at the bar waiting to be seated and they kept telling me "10 more minutes." By the time we actually sat down I decided to go home because I didn't want to be eating dinner at 11 at night. Very disappointing considering it was for a party of 16 people.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Food was good, service poor, and they ch ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on March 19, 2016

Food was good, service poor, and they charged $0.50 for siracha.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

They charge a $10 per bottle corkage fee ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on March 13, 2016

They charge a $10 per bottle corkage fee. PER BOTTLE. Avoid them.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

Great Experience

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on March 11, 2016

The food, service and ambiance were all really nice. I enjoyed the variety of the menu and everything tasted great. Overall, I had a great time and will be back again.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

The Roasted Duck Eggrolls were lovely! T ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on March 9, 2016

The Roasted Duck Eggrolls were lovely! The Chinese Sausage Fried Rice is definitely comfort food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

New Favorite Spot!

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on March 5, 2016

Bites' unassuming from the exterior, but went above and beyond my expectations! The service was attentive, the ambience is great, and the food is indescribable! I've been a handful of times now. Once with my daughter (who loves everything about it, especially the Bites Wings), again with a group of friends, and a third time to celebrate my MIL's birthday. The staff at Bites went out of their way to make my MIL feel special on her big day. If I have my way, we'll be back 1000 times!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

I went with a group for Sunday brunch and we had an excellent experience. The service, food, and drinks were all great! I would highly recommend you give this place a try. The menu is very extensive and everything we had was great. Sushi, korean sliders, shrimp shumai, on and on. Everything was great!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on February 27, 2016

The sushi at Asian bites was seriously delicious. I usually hold off on sushi from restaurants that have a more extensive menu, but I was drawn to the half rolls, so we tried two of them. We also ordered the coconut rice with bbq pork and Singapore noodles with bbq pork. They were both good plates, but we already have a reservation for next week for more sushi!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing Find

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

Bites was absolutely amazing, especially the dessert. The Cookie Dough Chopsticks were to die for and their Crying Tiger steak dish was so good, I couldn't stop eating. The sushi was great and the prices for all plates were very reasonable. Loved the atmosphere and the service was good too!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Outstanding food and service.

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

The food was amazing and the service was awesome. Great selection of drinks including a few Asian imports. More impressive than the food was the music selection lol, great classics were playing all night! It set the mood for dinner there quite well with my friends there. Would definitely go again and recommend to anyone and everyone who wants a very fair priced but great asian food experience in Lakeview/Wrigleyville.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Disappointing return

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 20, 2016

We were excited to return to Bites after a quick drop in one evening but were disappointed to have a lackluster experience with very poor service all around. Somehow it seemed our orders never got placed as 3-4 parties sat around us after us were served their entire meals before we received any food or drinks we ordered. Our drinks did come after flagging our service 3 times and waiting over 30 minutes. The food was delayed just as much after reordering with the server who lost our order and we still were missing some items and received (and paid) for some things we never ordered. The food and drinks still tasted great but it wasn't worth sitting for two hours and paying the full price of the meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

I think this is my new favorite restaurant!

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on February 19, 2016

Back for my second time. Again for lunch. I was able to try a few more things and was very happy with each item. I think the Miso soup is perhaps the best I've ever had. The flank steak was excellent. The duck egg rolls were tasty, and the asian chicken sliders were very yummy.

I will absolutely be back to keep trying more dishes! And the room is quite lovely, decorated very well. One day I hope to try it at night, but for now, its my favorite new lunch spot!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I enjoyed the drinks but when it came ti ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on February 18, 2016

I enjoyed the drinks but when it came time for the sushi- one of my rolls had a funny/ refrigerator taste - it seems they keep their sushi ingredients in Tupperware in the fridge? Total turn off.

The service was great and the cooked food enjoyable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

The food was great and the portions were ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

The food was great and the portions were well sized. I was surprised how well the temperature was controlled as well. We were seated at a table by an ouside window but we didn't even feel a chill at all. The cocktails We had were great as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Only thing not to love is the name!

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on February 9, 2016

While the owners were clearly not creative in naming this joint, the food and service are great. Everything from the Ramen (which is legit), to sushi and salads were all great. The quality of the food and value are spot on. The ambiance of the place is great too. The atmosphere is contemporaryish with reclaimed lumber, wood floors and Edison lights. The service, every time I have been has been good and i will definitely make this a new favorite.

I worry about the location being on a fairly nondescript part of Clark, but get inside and enjoy!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very pleasantly surprised!

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on February 8, 2016

What a sweet little restaurant. Only had lunch, but definitely want to go back again for dinner and more! Food was excellent! Service was great and the room is lovely!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Except for one dish, everything we order ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on January 24, 2016

Except for one dish, everything we ordered as great. Staff was friendly, however, service was slow and the restaurant was only half full. Server apologized several times for the delay but didn't offer any explanation. Prices were great, so the slow service can be overlooked.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Great food but lack of service

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on January 24, 2016

Absolutely love the food and the Ambiance ... however service needs improvement! Staff was working very hard but maybe they need more servers on a Saturday night. Came with 3 friends at my recommendation and they shared the same comments

Tags: romantic, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

Great service. We were the only table in ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on January 22, 2016

Great service. We were the only table in there though so ambiance was a little off. We were hoping the fireplace would be going as well on such a cold snowy day.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.