About Bites Asian Tapas & Sushi

3313 N. Clark St.
Chicago, IL 60657
View Larger Map

Located in Lakeview neighborhood of Chicago, Bites is a casual, stylish and comfortable Asian bistro featuring a wide range of homemade small plate favorites from Thailand, Japan, China, Korea, India, Vietnam, and beyond. The result is a delicious assortment of tapas unique to us. At the sushi bar, you will find a variety of traditional and signature maki rolls (available in half and whole portions) as well as nigiri and sashimi. Our fireplace keeps you warm in the Winter and our outdoor patio makes you feel alive in the Summer. Enjoy our food with a variety of cocktails, beer & wine while catching up with friends and family. Bites is a fun place to be and is perfect for both casual dining and special occasions - date night, girls/guys night out, birthday party, bachelor/bachelorette party, baby shower, etc. Start or end your night right at Bites Asian Tapas & Sushi.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Tapas / Small Plates, Asian, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday 11:30am - 3pm
Brunch: Saturday - Sunday 10am - 3pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday & Sunday 3pm - 10pm
Friday & Saturday 3pm - 11pm
Happy Hours: Monday - Thursday 4pm - 7pm

Cross Street:
Buckingham

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(773) 270-5972

Website:
http://www.bitestapas.com/

Catering:
Bites offers both on-site and off-site catering. Please email info@bitestapas.com for more information.

Parking Details:
Street parking with Pay Box. Valet parking service is available next door at Mia Francesca.

Public Transit:
CTA train red, brown and purple lines at Belmont stop. CTA bus #22

Executive Chef:
Derek Intapura

Private Party Facilities:
Whether it is casual or formal get-togethers, life’s celebrations or business meetings, our welcoming atmosphere and delicious food will make your event even more special

Private Party Contact:
Asana Nakornchai: 7732705972x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Patio - Bites Asian Tapas & Sushi, Chicago, IL
Patio - Bites Asian Tapas & Sushi, Chicago, IL
Group Pic - Bites Asian Tapas & Sushi, Chicago, IL
Bite Me Maki - Bites Asian Tapas & Sushi, Chicago, IL
Spicy Miso Ramen - Bites Asian Tapas & Sushi, Chicago, IL
Buns - Bites Asian Tapas & Sushi, Chicago, IL
Buns - Bites Asian Tapas & Sushi, Chicago, IL
Catering Table - Bites Asian Tapas & Sushi, Chicago, IL
Happy Pride - Bites Asian Tapas & Sushi, Chicago, IL

Specials

Lunch Specials

Mondays - Fridays from 11:30 AM - 3:00 PM

Buy 1 Get 1 50% Off Small Bites

Mondays from 11:30 AM - 10:00 PM

$2 Bao/Buns & 1/2 price wine and sake bottles

Wednesdays from 11:30 AM - 10:00 PM

$6 Ramen

Tuesdays from 11:30 AM - 10:00 PM

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Lunch Specials

Mondays - Fridays from 11:30 AM - 3:00 PM

Details

Enjoy our lunch specials every weekday from 11:30am - 3pm. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Oct 3, 2016 - Feb 3, 2017 on Mondays - Fridays from 11:30 AM - 3:00 PM.

Buy 1 Get 1 50% Off Small Bites

Mondays from 11:30 AM - 10:00 PM

Details

All Small Bites are buy one get one 1/2 off. Excludes Tax and Tip. Dine-in only. Discount is taken on lower-priced items. Special valid Jan 9, 2017 - May 9, 2017 on Mondays from 11:30 AM - 10:00 PM.

$2 Bao/Buns & 1/2 price wine and sake bottles

Wednesdays from 11:30 AM - 10:00 PM

Details

$2 bao/bun including Pork char siu, Roasted duck, Chicken katsu, Crispy shrimp cake, Shiitake/Tofu and Avocado tempura. Excludes Tax and Tip. Dine-in only. Special valid Jan 11, 2017 - May 11, 2017 on Wednesdays from 11:30 AM - 10:00 PM.

$6 Ramen

Tuesdays from 11:30 AM - 10:00 PM

Details

$6 all Ramen every Tuesday. Excludes Tax and Tip. Dine-in only. Special valid Jan 10, 2017 - May 10, 2017 on Tuesdays from 11:30 AM - 10:00 PM.

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 10:00AM - 12:00PM 8:30PM - 9:30PM

Mon - Thu 11:30AM - 11:45AM 12:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 3:00PM 8:30PM - 9:30PM

Fri 11:30AM - 11:45AM 12:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 3:00PM 9:30PM - 10:30PM

Sat 10:00AM - 12:00PM 9:30PM - 10:30PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Bites Asian Tapas & Sushi Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.8

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Cozy (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
See All
Good for a Date (5)
Tapas (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Healthy (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Fun (4)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Casual (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Family Style (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Spicy (3)
Romantic (3)
Fireplace (3)
Authentic (2)
Special Occasion (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Business Meals (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Seasonal (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Live Sports (1)
People Watching (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
132 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I heard there were specials on Sunday an ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 9, 2017

I heard there were specials on Sunday and had a great time with a friend. We were surprised to be placed next to the fireplace on a chilly night and the atmosphere was awesome! I will definitely come back!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Gluten Free Options, Fun, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Family Style, , Quick Bite, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot, Fireplace, Great for Lunch, Tapas, Open Kitchen, Bar Seating, Spicy, Disabled Access, Worth the Drive, Live Sports, Healthy, Late-night Find, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We dined here with a group before the Co ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We dined here with a group before the Comedy Sports Show. The shareable plates were perfect for tasting a wide variety of items. Our server was great & gave us good suggestions to pace the meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

So great! Food is always awesome and the ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 28, 2016

So great! Food is always awesome and the food specials are a great deal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service, good food and lots of opt ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Great service, good food and lots of options. Nice intimate atmosphere and good prices.

Tags: Fun, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Great Beer, Family Style, Sunday Lunch,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Good food, drinks were nickel and dime w ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Good food, drinks were nickel and dime watered down, hence stay away for the drinks and order beer.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value4

Very good food, especially for the price ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Very good food, especially for the price! I will be visiting again soon.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

We found it on OpenTable and loved the f ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 10, 2016

We found it on OpenTable and loved the food! The crab sliders were awesome and the apps were amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious food and excellent service. Ev ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Delicious food and excellent service. Everything was fresh and warm and the server was extremely friendly and attentive.

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was incredible and very reasona ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 22, 2016

The food was incredible and very reasonably priced. I loved the samosas and the red curry corn fritters. The drinks were delicious and it was so affordable. The only downside was that the service was a bit slow, we had to physically go find our waitress a few times.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

Inventive cuisine. Fresh food, fresh tas ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Inventive cuisine. Fresh food, fresh taste. Carefully prepared. We sampled a lot of the small plates -- no clinkers.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Healthy, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The chicken and waffles were amazing

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 6, 2016

The chicken and waffles were amazing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food is delicious, there are a lot o ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on November 6, 2016

The food is delicious, there are a lot of unusual menu items that make great for sharing. The chairs at the high top tables are HORRIFIC. Very uncomfortable and sit unusually forward, we asked to move to a low top once one came available and the request was accommodated. Overall the experience was great.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Late-night Find, Tapas, Family Style, Fit for Foodies, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

First time and will be returning ~ the f ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 31, 2016

First time and will be returning ~ the food was very good and the service excellent. We especially enjoyed the small bites (salads & baos) and the sushi. Our server was very personable and is a true asset to this establishment. The place was decorated for Halloween ~ warm, friendly ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was pretty good, nothing too sp ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 26, 2016

The food was pretty good, nothing too special though. We were there on a Tuesday night and the restaurant was pretty empty. I have heard that it is much busier on the weekend, which makes sense.

Tags: Tapas, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

What a great place! The food, service, a ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 6, 2016

What a great place! The food, service, and experience was great. We sampled most of the small plates and enjoyed their $5 cocktail special. Our server was super helpful and attentive. Plus the owner shared a saki bomb with us! We had a fun time and will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went for my birthday--fun vibes, delicio ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 6, 2016

Went for my birthday--fun vibes, delicious food, and inexpensive! Definitely would go back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

I just love this restaurant. Have eaten ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 5, 2016

I just love this restaurant. Have eaten here several times for lunch, this was my first dinner, and as always, the food was really outstanding, service was great, atmosphere fun yet cozy, great back yard for outside dining, and prices are really great! This is an awesome restaurant!!!

Tags: Business Meals, Modern Decor, Authentic, Healthy, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best sushi in town

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 4, 2016

Best sushi in town

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had brunch at Bites for the first tim ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 25, 2016

We had brunch at Bites for the first time, and found the menu selection to be very good. The dishes we ordered provided interesting twists on standard brunch fare and everything was tasty.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Cozy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Come hungry! The menu has a little bit o ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Come hungry! The menu has a little bit of everything and will appeal to all. Our favorites: The Small Bites Korean Sliders and Tuna Tostado and the Signature Maki: Happy Pride.

The atmosphere is relaxed. There is seating in the back garden as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Broccoli Rolls and Bao Buns were amazing

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Broccoli Rolls and Bao Buns were amazing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Kind of odd ambiance, average food

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Kind of odd ambiance, average food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

This is a great place. The reason I said ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 17, 2016

This is a great place. The reason I said "noise level high" was NOT because of the inside but outside-- on the back patio. Unfortunately, you have 4 or 5 air conditioning units that surround you. When they all kick on, it's really loud. Obviously, the restaurant can't control this. But otherwise, a wonderful neighborhood place.

Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Eclectic Asian food, served in small por ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Eclectic Asian food, served in small portion like Spanish tapas. There is a mix of Japanese, Chinese, Thai and other inspirations from South and Southeast Asia in the cuisine. The Thai tea ice cream is nice to freshen your palate at the end. Surprisingly, there seems to be no public Wi-Fi in the restaurant, or perhaps my waitress (whom I had a hard time understanding) didn't know the password.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

First time there! Awesome experience!

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 12, 2016

First time there! Awesome experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We received extraordinarily bad service. ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 5, 2016

We received extraordinarily bad service. We waited 30 minutes for a server, and once we finally did have a server, she acted like our presence was a nuisance. We had to flag her down every time we wanted to order, which is unacceptable for a tapas restaurant... Two of the plates we ordered never even came out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

Great for sharing and lots of fun things ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Great for sharing and lots of fun things to try. Drinks were unique and good. I got the one with wasabi in it and it was surprisingly nice. The service was very whatever but maybe it was because we were at the front of the restaurant where it was less busy? Or maybe because our server was getting off work in an hour? Dunno but she didn't check up on us enough to see if we wanted to add dishes (tapas style) or see if we needed to order more drinks (we ended up going somewhere else for our second round cuz we were being neglected).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

The food was good but the service was aw ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 27, 2016

The food was good but the service was awful. We waited for 15 min to get seated (despite our OpenTable reservation), another 15 min to get water and they forgot a dish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

We had a great experience. The food was ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 25, 2016

We had a great experience. The food was flavorful and plentiful, even for tapas/small plates. It was nice to get a mix of sushi and other options (bao, shumai, etc.) The drinks were very tasty and only $4 on the night we went! The patio is very spacious and quiet, which is always a find in the city. Service was very friendly and warm.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food very good but service is slow

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Food very good but service is slow

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2

Great food! Wonderful array of menu item ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Great food! Wonderful array of menu items and very creative cocktails. We loved our experience at Bites!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Some of the best sushi I've had in a lon ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 19, 2016

Some of the best sushi I've had in a longtime.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Everything we ordered was delicious: duc ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 7, 2016

Everything we ordered was delicious: duck spring roll, drunk chicks, ramen with curry, corn fritters , etc. service was great. We loved the patio.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our experience at Bites was excellent. ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 6, 2016

Our experience at Bites was excellent. The food was very good and reasonably priced. The only problem was with Open Table. We were looking for a BYOB restaurant, and Open Table had it listed under Free Corkage & BYOB. The manager said that they frequently had customers who also thought the restaurant is BYOB. Open Table needs to get their information right.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Excellent food! We tried a variety of s ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 1, 2016

Excellent food! We tried a variety of sushi rolls and hot small plates. Very pleased and will come again!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

This place has delicious food but the se ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 31, 2016

This place has delicious food but the service is terribly slow. The place is clearly under staffed. Hopefully they improve on this because everything else about it is great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1

Great menu with many options. We tried s ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on July 29, 2016

Great menu with many options. We tried several sushi rolls, as well as sashimi, and everything was excellent. I love miso soup, but have never had it with jalapeños - it was delicious and I'll make it that way from now on!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bites is a neighborhood gem. The Wassup ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 23, 2016

Bites is a neighborhood gem. The Wassup Wasabi drink is my favorite. The Crying Tiger hangar steak, tuna tostada, crab rangoon, fried rice are fantastic. Everyone in the group loved the drunk chicks fried chicken. All is good here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

We went for date night and enjoyed a wid ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 21, 2016

We went for date night and enjoyed a wide variety of delicious bites. A little warm in the restaurant and the vinyl on the bench seating made for legs sticking to the seat, but otherwise a wholly enjoyable experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great $4 happy hour drinks at table too. ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on July 21, 2016

Great $4 happy hour drinks at table too. Excellent food and friendly waitress.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.