About Bites Asian Tapas & Sushi

3313 N. Clark St.
Chicago, IL 60657
View Larger Map

Located in Lakeview neighborhood of Chicago, Bites is a casual, stylish and comfortable Asian bistro featuring a wide range of homemade small plate favorites from Thailand, Japan, China, Korea, India, Vietnam, and beyond. The result is a delicious assortment of tapas unique to us. At the sushi bar, you will find a variety of traditional and signature maki rolls (available in half and whole portions) as well as nigiri and sashimi. Our fireplace keeps you warm in the Winter and our outdoor patio makes you feel alive in the Summer. Enjoy our food with a variety of cocktails, beer & wine while catching up with friends and family. Bites is a fun place to be and is perfect for both casual dining and special occasions - date night, girls/guys night out, birthday party, bachelor/bachelorette party, baby shower, etc. Start or end your night right at Bites Asian Tapas & Sushi.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Tapas / Small Plates, Asian, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday 11:30am - 4pm
Brunch: Saturday - Sunday 10am - 3pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday 4pm - 10pm
Friday 4pm - 11pm
Saturday 3pm - 11pm
Sunday 3pm - 10pm

Cross Street:
Buckingham

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(773) 270-5972

Website:
http://www.bitestapas.com/

Catering:
Bites offers both on-site and off-site catering. Please email info@bitestapas.com for more information.

Parking Details:
Street parking with Pay Box. Valet parking service is available next door at Mia Francesca.

Public Transit:
CTA train red, brown and purple lines at Belmont stop. CTA bus #22

Executive Chef:
Derek Intapura

Private Party Facilities:
Whether it is casual or formal get-togethers, life’s celebrations or business meetings, our welcoming atmosphere and delicious food will make your event even more special

Private Party Contact:
Asana Nakornchai: 7732705972x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Bites Asian Tapas & Sushi
Bites Asian Tapas & Sushi
Bites Asian Tapas & Sushi
Bites Asian Tapas & Sushi
Bites Asian Tapas & Sushi
Bites Asian Tapas & Sushi
Bites Asian Tapas & Sushi
Bites Asian Tapas & Sushi
Bites Asian Tapas & Sushi
Bites Asian Tapas & Sushi
Bites Asian Tapas & Sushi
Bites Asian Tapas & Sushi
Bites Asian Tapas & Sushi
Bites Asian Tapas & Sushi

Specials

$4 Bites Cocktails

Thursdays from 11:30 AM - 10:00 PM

$2 Bao/Buns

Wednesdays from 11:30 AM - 10:00 PM

$6 Ramen

Tuesdays from 11:30 AM - 10:00 PM

$2 Selected Small Bites

Mondays from 11:30 AM - 10:00 PM

$2 Half Sushi Rolls

Sundays from 11:30 AM - 10:00 PM

1,000-Point Tables

Specials

$4 Bites Cocktails

Thursdays from 11:30 AM - 10:00 PM

Details

$4 house cocktails every Thursday including - Wassup Wasabi: Vodka, ginger syrup, lychee juice, lemon, wasabi - Gentlemen's Wood: Bourbon, simple syrup, cherry, mango, orange & cherry bitters - Ginger Margarita: Tequila, lime, ginger syrup, ginger. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Aug 29, 2016 - Oct 31, 2016 on Thursdays from 11:30 AM - 10:00 PM.

$2 Bao/Buns

Wednesdays from 11:30 AM - 10:00 PM

Details

$2 bao/bun including Pork char siu, Roasted duck, Chicken katsu, Crispy shrimp cake, Shiitake/Tofu and Avocado tempura. Excludes Tax and Tip. Dine-in only. Special valid Aug 29, 2016 - Oct 31, 2016 on Wednesdays from 11:30 AM - 10:00 PM.

$6 Ramen

Tuesdays from 11:30 AM - 10:00 PM

Details

$6 all Ramen every Tuesday. Excludes Tax and Tip. Dine-in only. Special valid Aug 29, 2016 - Oct 31, 2016 on Tuesdays from 11:30 AM - 10:00 PM.

$2 Selected Small Bites

Mondays from 11:30 AM - 10:00 PM

Details

$2 selected Small Bites including - Spicy Crab Rangoon - Taro Fries - Jumbo Shrimp Shumai - Samosa - Emerald Gyoza - Edamame/Garlic Edamame. Excludes Tax and Tip. Dine-in only. Special valid Aug 29, 2016 - Oct 31, 2016 on Mondays from 11:30 AM - 10:00 PM.

$2 Half Sushi Rolls

Sundays from 11:30 AM - 10:00 PM

Details

$2 half Veggie Rolls $3 half Traditional Rolls $4 half Signature Rolls. Excludes Tax and Tip. Dine-in only. Special valid Aug 29, 2016 - Oct 31, 2016 on Sundays from 11:30 AM - 10:00 PM.

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 8:30PM - 9:30PM

Mon - Thu 12:00PM - 1:00PM 5:00PM - 6:00PM 8:00PM - 9:30PM

Fri - Sat 5:00PM - 6:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Bites Asian Tapas & Sushi Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.0

ambience

4.2

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Value
Chicago / Illinois
Best Value
Chicago
Best Restaurants in Lakeview / East Lakeview ›

Neighborhood Gem (22)
Fit for Foodies (19)
Good for Groups (15)
See All
Great for Outdoor Dining (14)
Romantic (9)
Great for Lunch (7)
Special Occasion (7)
Hot Spot (5)
Kid-friendly (5)
Tapas (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Casual (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Authentic (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Fun (1)
Quick Bite (1)
People Watching (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Cozy (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Vegan (1)
Healthy (1)
Sort By:
Newest
112 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Broccoli Rolls and Bao Buns were amazing

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 3 days ago

Broccoli Rolls and Bao Buns were amazing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Kind of odd ambiance, average food

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Kind of odd ambiance, average food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

This is a great place. The reason I said ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

This is a great place. The reason I said "noise level high" was NOT because of the inside but outside-- on the back patio. Unfortunately, you have 4 or 5 air conditioning units that surround you. When they all kick on, it's really loud. Obviously, the restaurant can't control this. But otherwise, a wonderful neighborhood place.

Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Eclectic Asian food, served in small por ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Eclectic Asian food, served in small portion like Spanish tapas. There is a mix of Japanese, Chinese, Thai and other inspirations from South and Southeast Asia in the cuisine. The Thai tea ice cream is nice to freshen your palate at the end. Surprisingly, there seems to be no public Wi-Fi in the restaurant, or perhaps my waitress (whom I had a hard time understanding) didn't know the password.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

First time there! Awesome experience!

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

First time there! Awesome experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We received extraordinarily bad service. ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

We received extraordinarily bad service. We waited 30 minutes for a server, and once we finally did have a server, she acted like our presence was a nuisance. We had to flag her down every time we wanted to order, which is unacceptable for a tapas restaurant... Two of the plates we ordered never even came out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

Great for sharing and lots of fun things ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Great for sharing and lots of fun things to try. Drinks were unique and good. I got the one with wasabi in it and it was surprisingly nice. The service was very whatever but maybe it was because we were at the front of the restaurant where it was less busy? Or maybe because our server was getting off work in an hour? Dunno but she didn't check up on us enough to see if we wanted to add dishes (tapas style) or see if we needed to order more drinks (we ended up going somewhere else for our second round cuz we were being neglected).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

The food was good but the service was aw ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

The food was good but the service was awful. We waited for 15 min to get seated (despite our OpenTable reservation), another 15 min to get water and they forgot a dish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

We had a great experience. The food was ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

We had a great experience. The food was flavorful and plentiful, even for tapas/small plates. It was nice to get a mix of sushi and other options (bao, shumai, etc.) The drinks were very tasty and only $4 on the night we went! The patio is very spacious and quiet, which is always a find in the city. Service was very friendly and warm.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food very good but service is slow

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Food very good but service is slow

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2

Great food! Wonderful array of menu item ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Great food! Wonderful array of menu items and very creative cocktails. We loved our experience at Bites!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Some of the best sushi I've had in a lon ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Some of the best sushi I've had in a longtime.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Everything we ordered was delicious: duc ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Everything we ordered was delicious: duck spring roll, drunk chicks, ramen with curry, corn fritters , etc. service was great. We loved the patio.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our experience at Bites was excellent. ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Our experience at Bites was excellent. The food was very good and reasonably priced. The only problem was with Open Table. We were looking for a BYOB restaurant, and Open Table had it listed under Free Corkage & BYOB. The manager said that they frequently had customers who also thought the restaurant is BYOB. Open Table needs to get their information right.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Excellent food! We tried a variety of s ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Excellent food! We tried a variety of sushi rolls and hot small plates. Very pleased and will come again!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

This place has delicious food but the se ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

This place has delicious food but the service is terribly slow. The place is clearly under staffed. Hopefully they improve on this because everything else about it is great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1

Great menu with many options. We tried s ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Great menu with many options. We tried several sushi rolls, as well as sashimi, and everything was excellent. I love miso soup, but have never had it with jalapeños - it was delicious and I'll make it that way from now on!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bites is a neighborhood gem. The Wassup ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Bites is a neighborhood gem. The Wassup Wasabi drink is my favorite. The Crying Tiger hangar steak, tuna tostada, crab rangoon, fried rice are fantastic. Everyone in the group loved the drunk chicks fried chicken. All is good here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

We went for date night and enjoyed a wid ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

We went for date night and enjoyed a wide variety of delicious bites. A little warm in the restaurant and the vinyl on the bench seating made for legs sticking to the seat, but otherwise a wholly enjoyable experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great $4 happy hour drinks at table too. ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Great $4 happy hour drinks at table too. Excellent food and friendly waitress.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

The wings and spicy crab Rangoon were ex ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

The wings and spicy crab Rangoon were excellent! The pork bao, fries, and drunk chicks were fine, but not amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

The occasion that we were celebrating wa ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The occasion that we were celebrating was my 25th birthday and I am so pleased that Bites is where we ended up! The reason for choosing the location was because of its availability for a large group on a Friday night- not always a huge selection in Chicago!

The food was perfect for a group as the restaurant offers a tapas style menu. Everyone was able to try multiple little dishes and could eat as much or as little as they chose. The food and drinks were very affordable and everyone raved about how delicious everything tasted! Our server did a great job handling all 20 of us which is no small task! Although I would have liked to have another person assigned to our table, she did a great job of making it work.

One of the only issues I has was that OpenTable listed the restaurant as a BYOB spot. When I went in the day before to check the place out, I was informed that they are actually NOT byob although you could bring in your own for a $10 per bottle corkage fee. We ended up having a mix of people that brought stuff and people who ordered off of the bar menu.

We were also able to bring in a cake to sing "Happy Birthday" and I don't believe they charged extra for doing so.

The real icing on the cake though was when it came time to pay. The server gave each couple/ person separate checks and got everything correct in terms of splitting all the small plates. I have spent over 8 years in the industry and this is not common for bigger groups! The server was gracious, attentive, accurate, and not at all (or at least didn't show it) annoyed by the fact that separate checks made things so much easier for us.

I will absolutely be back again for date nights, birthdays, or pre-Wrigley food-ups. Great experience overall! Did I mention the place is super cute inside? It is!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Came here on a whim with my girlfriend a ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Came here on a whim with my girlfriend after our first visit several months ago. We really enjoyed all our dishes. And the fact that their beverage program has some sake based cocktails make me very happy and the drinks are quite lovely. This place hit the spot I was craving for Asian style cuisine. Our server was very nice she seemed very new to the industry but she was attentive. With a little time and experience she will be a pro!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Great atmosphere! We really enjoyed the ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Great atmosphere! We really enjoyed their food....everything was timed perfectly and be sure to try the mulberry margarita. Delicious! They have a very cute and quaint outdoor patio that is perfect for a group gathering of friends.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

This place has the most delicious fancy ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

This place has the most delicious fancy sushi. I highly recommend this restaurant. We've been twice in 2 weeks.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

LOVED Bites! EVERYTHING we ordered was ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

LOVED Bites! EVERYTHING we ordered was absolutely delicious! And, I mean EVERYTHING. The appetizers, the sushi, the nigiri, and the drinks were all amazing!

The only thing that lacked in our entire experience was the service. It was slow and at the end of the night, we were not given the drink discount (daily special) prices and our bill was almost $40 more than it should have been. But, once we pointed it out, they did correct it.

DEFINITELY recommend!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

The food was phenomenal: great portion s ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

The food was phenomenal: great portion sizes, many options (I'm vegetarian and was so happy to see a vegetarian maki section) and pretty (presentation wise). I came in a big group of 8 and was so glad that everyone got something they truly enjoyed and left full. The servers were very patient but I would have appreciated if they were a bit more attentive. The ambience was very relaxing; yellow lighting, wood tables, pretty dishware are all things I noticed, and I thought it was really charming that they were playing the oldies

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Every time I visit I fall even more in l ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Every time I visit I fall even more in love with each new dish I try. The food is outstanding. Atmosphere is very comfy and fun. Service is top notch. I very much enjoy this restaurant!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

food was ok, disappointing compared to t ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

food was ok, disappointing compared to the reviews & pics online. it was so loud I had to scream across the table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Experience was awesome! We waited a few ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Experience was awesome! We waited a few minutes before a server came over and they gave us a free appetizer as an apology. Amazing service and obviously great management. Also the sushi is incredible!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This little gem was even better than we ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

This little gem was even better than we anticipated!! Loved the patio and everything we ordered was wonderful. We can't wait to go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Most of the food was cold

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

And fried. The Korean sliders were so spicy, you couldn't eat them and the pork was slimy (think sliced undercooked bacon). This place has great potential, but fell pretty far short. Really disappointed.....

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value4

Mash Restaurant

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

I felt like if I was in the t.v. show, Mash, this restaurant would be one I would have frequented. I really liked the music and decor. The wait staff was attentive. The ginger margarita was a refreshing twist on the margarita. I really enjoyed the jalapeno miso soup and my entree was the bbq pork with coconut rice, which I thoroughly enjoyed. I look forward to going back so I can try other dishes on the menu. My husband enjoyed the chef's choice shashimi.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great Service + Good Food = Nice Date Ni ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

Great Service + Good Food = Nice Date Night with my wife!!

Will be back! The Specials are good and so were the drinks! You must go!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Excellent sushi, charming atmosphere

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

My family and I went to see The Blue Man Group and we were looking for a nice spot for dinner. We Googled "great restaurants around Briar Street Theater." Bites popped up. So, it was a total stab in the dark for us. The reviews were excellent so we thought we would give it a try. The ambience was warm and inviting. Lots of wood. Our table was nice and secluded. We ordered a couple rolls. The Lava Roll was outstanding. We all ordered a couple different small bites plates. The Crying Tiger was hands down the best tasting steak I have had in quite some time. Our server was attentive and extremely helpful in suggesting menu choices. All in all, we loved it and will be back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great flavors, quality ingredients, perf ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

Great flavors, quality ingredients, perfect portions. Drinks are OK

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Really enjoyed the white tuna sushi.

 
 (London)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

Really enjoyed the white tuna sushi.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent Find

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 8, 2016

We really enjoyed the specials eggplant tempura, the pork bao and the Thai Barbie shrimp was amazing - spicy hot and tasty.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

Pre-concert meal

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on April 1, 2016

Ate hear before a concert at the Riviera theater. Nice location along Clark street. We ate early so, restaurant was fairly empty. Muzak was 70's hits which was nice for us but didn't quite fit the style of the restaurant. Interesting menu of Asian Tapas and Sushi. We had the Samosas, the Shrimp Dumplings and the Taro Fries - all good and tasty. I also had a Nigiri chef selection - all were delicious. There was just two of us and it was easy to hold a conversation. The menu would lend itself to a larger group of people who wanted to share a variety of dishes. WOuld have been fun to sample more.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Good drinks, nice location.

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 1, 2016

Good drinks, nice location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.