About Bistro Vendome

1420 Larimer Street
Denver, CO 80202
View Larger Map

Bistro Vendome, designed to evoke the look and feel of a long-established, family-owned bistro plucked from a Parisian street corner, features a carefully crafted menu that contains a wealth of French flavors served in a comfortable and charming environment. Brought to you by the owners of nearby Rioja, Bistro Vendome is based a foundation of classical French with a lighter and more contemporary influence. This heartwarming bistro fare pairs well with the full service bar with more than 65 selections of French wine representing all regions of France. Every detail of the food, service and atmosphere guarantees a unique and authentic French dining experience.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:
Brunch Saturday-Sunday: 10:00am-2:00pm Dinner Monday-Thursday: 5:00pm-10:00pm Dinner Friday-Saturday: 5:00pm-11:00pm Dinner Sunday: 5:00pm-9:00pm

Cross Street:
14th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(303) 825-3232

Website:
http://www.bistrovendome.com/

Executive Chef:
Jennifer Jasinski

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Bistro Vendome
Bistro Vendome
Bistro Vendome
Bistro Vendome
Bistro Vendome
Bistro Vendome
Croque Vendome
Mussels
steak tartare
Eggs Benedict
Vidal Fleury Cotes Du Rhones
Amuse Bouche
Pain Perdu
Chicken Roulade
Beet Salad
Duck
Lobster Special
charcuterie
Omelette a la Truite Fumee
Crepe du Jour
Gaufre Maison
Crème Brulée / Sorbet Trio
Pommes Frites
Pear Tart
Blood Orange Crepes
Kir Royal
Rabbit Leg
Scallops with Risotto
Escargot
Chocolate Velvet Tart
plateau de fromages
Salade Campagnarde
Culotte D'agneau
Spaetzle With Spagetti Squash
Steak Frites
Blueberry Lavender Napoleon
Elk Bourguignon
Trout

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Private parties from 12-60 guests Perfect for weddings and receptions. State-of-the-art audiovisual including projector, monitor, screens

Bistro Vendome Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

French
Denver / Colorado
Outdoor Dining
Denver
Romantic
Denver
Best Restaurants in Downtown / LoDo ›

Great for Outdoor Dining (172)
Special Occasion (163)
Fit for Foodies (162)
See All
Romantic (156)
Neighborhood Gem (105)
Great for Brunch (81)
Notable Wine List (70)
Great for Lunch (35)
Good for Groups (26)
Good for Anniversaries (23)
Good for a Date (21)
Hot Spot (18)
Authentic (17)
Scenic View (17)
Pre/post Theatre (17)
Good for Birthdays (15)
Creative Cuisine (14)
Cozy (14)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Late-night Find (9)
Casual (8)
Worth the Drive (7)
Fun (7)
Kid-friendly (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Local Ingredients (5)
Historic (5)
People Watching (4)
Business Meals (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Seasonal (3)
Outstanding Value (2)
Healthy (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Private Room (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sort By:
Newest
3982 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

wonderful and great restaurant, ambiance ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined 3 days ago

wonderful and great restaurant, ambiance is so nice and feels like we are in a very special place

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Overall we had a wonderful dinner. Love ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

Overall we had a wonderful dinner. Loved the back patio.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We came early in the evening because we ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

We came early in the evening because we had our one-year-old with us. The staff were delightfully helpful. They had a high chair ready. The service was excellent the food delicious. I had been hoping for the quintessential Gallic meal (onion soup, steak frites, glass of Cahors and a cognac) to remind us of our time in France and Bistro Vendome did not disappoint.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Always great food and service in the per ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Always great food and service in the perfect setting.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent place for dinner and good wine ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Excellent place for dinner and good wine! Appetizers are amazing, so be sure to come hungry! The staff is very friendly and knowledgeable when making a wine or food selection. Definitely one of the best restaurants in downtown Denver!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very disappointing. Pricey but mediocre ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Very disappointing. Pricey but mediocre cocktails. Forgettable food. Service was perfunctory, what you would expect from a chain restaurant, not fine dining. We went to celebrate the birthday of an out of town guest & felt embarrassed to have brought her there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Food was good, portion was small, servic ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Food was good, portion was small, service was good

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Next best thing to Paris, France! It's t ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Next best thing to Paris, France! It's the best I've had in quite some time.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Historic, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The port reduction was absolutely perfec ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

The port reduction was absolutely perfect. The meat was tender and flavorful.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We chose Bistro Vendome for our 4th anni ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

We chose Bistro Vendome for our 4th anniversary. The food was delicious, our server was excellent, and we had a great time. Thank you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

For anyone who thinks of French restaura ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

For anyone who thinks of French restaurants as intimidating or just plain snooty, Bistro Vendome is here to prove otherwise. It IS a bit on the pricey side (although no more so than other fine dining places in Denver) but the casual elegance of the setting is enhanced by a friendly and knowledgeable staff and the food is both inventive and wonderfully tasteful. This is dining at a casual pace...you probably COULD grab a quick bite here but you'll want to spend at least a couple of hours savouring the experience. My wife and I do not live in Colorado and only get there occasionally but a dinner at Bistro Vendome is one of the stronges

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We have always enjoyed going to bistro v ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

We have always enjoyed going to bistro vendome, celebrating anniversaries, love the patio

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Usually really fantastic food. This tim ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Usually really fantastic food. This time disappointed with lack of filling in omelette and too much the same pastries. Someone else might have really liked, so just personal opinion. It was quite chilly in dining room. We were underdressed for the air conditioning. Will probably be back again because we love the ambience.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

To start the environment was very fittin ...

 
 (Nebraska)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

To start the environment was very fitting to a European themed restaurant. We arrived a bit early for our reservation so we had cocktails at the bar, which at 2045 wasn't full as the dining room was. I had the French 75 and it was so good I had two more, but I had to share the third with my partner. She had a deep red fruity drink that was equally smooth. The food came promptly after lush purple lettuce salads. Our sever was well versed en francais and that made the evening even more for fun.

Its a perfect niche place off the alley just like in a European city. I hope to get to sit on the patio before it gets too cold!

Tags: Cozy, Authentic, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Historic, Special Occasion, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

An unexpected delight. A french restaur ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

An unexpected delight. A french restaurant in Denver. Fun location, reasonable sound level and congenial atmosphere combine for provocative experience. Quail with handmade sausage came with spectacular sauce. Had a wonderful red but can't remember the name. Good wine list.

Tags: Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

My favorite restaurant in Denver! Delici ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

My favorite restaurant in Denver! Delicious steak and frites!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant is right in the heart of ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

This restaurant is right in the heart of Larimer Square. The staff was all friendly and accommodating. The food was very good, although the portions were pretty small. Dining on the patio was very pleasant. Overall, nice experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Nearly perfect in Denver. Beautiful atmo ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

Nearly perfect in Denver. Beautiful atmosphere delicious prepared right. Wish lived near enough to visit more often.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We decided to try this place before a Br ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

We decided to try this place before a Broadway, and it was perfect. They are considerate of evening plans and the food is delivered very timely. The service was superb and the food was delicious. We love French cuisine and enjoyed it thoroughly. The restaurant itself has outdoor and indoor seating, and is in a lovely location. Highly recommend for a romantic dinner.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Afternoon Tea, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was amazing. Our waiter was fan ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

The food was amazing. Our waiter was fantastic and answered all our questions. It was really fun to eat French food before seeing Phantom.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We always have a fantastic meal at Bistr ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

We always have a fantastic meal at Bistro Vendome. As my daughters say, 10 out of 10 would recommend :)

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely September morning on the Bistro's ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Lovely September morning on the Bistro's patio. We had been to dinner here several times but never before brunch. Each entree was wonderful and presented beautifully: French press coffee was perfect with pastriesfor starter. Attentive but nor rushed service, and we appreciated that the music piped much too loudly from speaker by our table was quickly turned way down at our request.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is a great French Bistro with a fab ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

This is a great French Bistro with a fabulous breakfast menu. It's pricey, but worth it. They also have a patio that is awesome if you like dining al Fresca.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and service. Gives a real Par ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Great food and service. Gives a real Paris bistro feel; especially sitting outside.

Tags: Healthy, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing brunch! Great food, great servic ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Amazing brunch! Great food, great service and a great table. We sat inside in front of the open doors overlooking the patio. Better than being on the patio.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My family and I go to the Bistro because ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

My family and I go to the Bistro because of the great food. It is such a pleasant atmisohere. We go there for most special occasions. We have never been disappointed.

Tags: Casual, Local Ingredients, Wood Oven, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Disabled Access, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Outstanding Value, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Tight menu done well. Authentic French ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Tight menu done well. Authentic French bistro food. Disappointed that the 1/2 broiled chicken was not on the menu, but the duck confit made up for it. Interior of the restaurant is like dining in a small spot off the road in Normandy. Miss the broiled chicken though.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Always great! This is a classic French ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Always great! This is a classic French Bistro that consistently puts out great food. The wine list is interesting and the service is excellent. Try the Steak Frites...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I make it a point to always dine at Bist ...

vip
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

I make it a point to always dine at Bistro Vendôme when I'm in Denver; it's my favorite--and owned by WOMEN! The attention to detail is sublime. Normally, I sit in the garden, but this time they weren't able to accommodate (its first come first serve); however, we had the next best seating: at the French doors opening to the garden! We were served complimentary chilled celery soup; it followed escargot prepared the traditional way sans pastry in garlic butter with bread crumbs and toasted baguette slices. The pork tenderloin medallions with warm grilled peaches was a gastronomic delight! The lean buttery steak w/ Bernaisse sauce was cooked perfectly and very tender. We also tried one w/ the green peppercorn (au poivre) which was also really wonderful --but the Bernaisse was the best! The butter leaf baby lettuces w/ morning radishes and herbes was fresh and dressed in a light vinaigrette that did not overwhelm the herbes. Nice wine selection, too. ❤️ See you in two weeks, Vendôme!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Bistro Vendome' delivers once again with ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

Bistro Vendome' delivers once again with wonderful food and wine served by attentive and pleasant staff in a warm and ejoyable setting.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Fun, Cozy, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our waitress was exceptional. Very know ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

Our waitress was exceptional. Very knowledgeable about both the food and wines. Good recommendations about food and wine pairing. She was attentive at all times and made sure our needs were being met. My only concern was the rapid delivery of the different courses. This was a special occasion and we had plenty of time for a leisurely dinner. Yet, the courses came before we were ready for them. The waitress did sense this and held back the main course for a bit so that I could finish the salad course. Otherwise, an excellent experience and one that we will repeat when the next occasion occurs.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We have been coming to Bistro Vendome fo ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

We have been coming to Bistro Vendome for almost 20 years and it never disappoints. It's our "go to" restaurant and the place our grown children choose when they come home to visit. Always lovely. Thank you!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Reservation at 12:45pm and were not seat ...

vip
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Reservation at 12:45pm and were not seated until after 1:15pm...felt as though we were rushed out. I like this place a lot, but the service and attitude of the hosts leaves somethings to be desired.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

Amazing food and incredible atmosphere, ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Amazing food and incredible atmosphere, however we sat outside and were quite uncomfortable in the "waffle" chairs and matching table- these didn't seem to equate to the expensive menu. I raved about the food all night and plan to revisit sometime, likely in the winter though when I'm not tempted to sit outside in the uncomfortable seats.

Tags: Romantic, Hot Spot, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

In a word: underwhelming. The food was m ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

In a word: underwhelming. The food was mediocre at best. It wasn't bad, but it certainly did not live up to our expectations or the price point. The steak tartare tasted like homemade tuna salad with hamburger in it. His pork medallions were inconsistently cooked, somewhat dry, and the pairings were strange (herb butter with peaches?), and its bed of beans was unremarkable, like basic boiled beans. Her bouillabaisse was adequate, though lacking in anything to make it truly memorable. We skipped dessert, as we did not feel like adding to our disappointment of what should have been an amazing anniversary dinner. One wonders if they paid to be rated so highly in so many "Best of" lists.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

Bistro Vendome has never disappointed us ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

Bistro Vendome has never disappointed us. Great service, knowledgeable servers, never pressured, and wonderful food. Steak frites rocks! We will return.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding. Creative , fresh. IThe tr ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

Outstanding. Creative , fresh. IThe trout was wonderful. Works for Gluten free.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always great food. Never a disappointmen ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

Always great food. Never a disappointment. Also a great spot for weekend brunch.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

From other reviews we expected a lot, an ...

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

From other reviews we expected a lot, and our expectations were surpassed. The food was amazing. We began by sharing the Steak Tartare, progressed to sharing the warm cauliflower salad, my friend had the whole fish (Branzino), and I had the Steak Frites. All the dishes were prepared perfectly, and although my friend said she preferred Steak Tartare to have horseradish (as her favorite local restaurant prepares it), she agreed that it was excellent. Things that go unnoticed but that show an experienced chef and a great team in the kitchen: dishes that are dissimilar, but are both cooked perfectly and served simultaneously at their peak. The fish arrived hot with crispy skin, the flesh tender and moist. The Steak Frites exactly medium rare, the frites fried crisp on the outside, the inside so creamy they almost felt hollow in my mouth. We finished with a lemon tart that was like nothing else I've ever had. The service was great, friendly and attentive without being intrusive. And for what this is, the prices are a screaming bargain. Why would you pay $50 for a steak at a steakhouse when the absolutely superior steak frites here goes off at $26? Cannot recommend this place highly enough.

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was perfectly cooked, and the ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

Everything was perfectly cooked, and the gnocchi was delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.