About Bistro Vendome

1420 Larimer Street
Denver, CO 80202
View Larger Map

Bistro Vendome, designed to evoke the look and feel of a long-established, family-owned bistro plucked from a Parisian street corner, features a carefully crafted menu that contains a wealth of French flavors served in a comfortable and charming environment. Brought to you by the owners of nearby Rioja, Bistro Vendome is based a foundation of classical French with a lighter and more contemporary influence. This heartwarming bistro fare pairs well with the full service bar with more than 65 selections of French wine representing all regions of France. Every detail of the food, service and atmosphere guarantees a unique and authentic French dining experience.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:
Brunch Saturday-Sunday: 10:00am-2:00pm Dinner Monday-Thursday: 5:00pm-10:00pm Dinner Friday-Saturday: 5:00pm-11:00pm Dinner Sunday: 5:00pm-9:00pm

Cross Street:
14th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(303) 825-3232

Website:
http://www.bistrovendome.com/

Executive Chef:
Jennifer Jasinski

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Bistro Vendome
Bistro Vendome
Bistro Vendome
Bistro Vendome
Bistro Vendome
Bistro Vendome
Croque Vendome
Mussels
steak tartare
Eggs Benedict
Vidal Fleury Cotes Du Rhones
Amuse Bouche
Pain Perdu
Beet Salad
Chicken Roulade
Duck
Lobster Special
charcuterie
Crepe du Jour
Omelette a la Truite Fumee
Gaufre Maison
Crème Brulée / Sorbet Trio
Pommes Frites
Blood Orange Crepes
Pear Tart
Kir Royal
Escargot
Chocolate Velvet Tart
Scallops with Risotto
Rabbit Leg
plateau de fromages
Salade Campagnarde
Culotte D'agneau
Spaetzle With Spagetti Squash
Steak Frites
Elk Bourguignon
Blueberry Lavender Napoleon
Trout

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Private parties from 12-60 guests Perfect for weddings and receptions. State-of-the-art audiovisual including projector, monitor, screens

Bistro Vendome Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

French
Denver / Colorado
Best Overall
Denver
Best Value
Denver
Best Restaurants in Downtown / LoDo ›

special occasion (215)
fit for foodies (211)
romantic (193)
See All
great for outdoor dining (168)
neighborhood gem (106)
notable wine list (96)
great for brunch (92)
good for groups (39)
great for lunch (38)
hot spot (30)
late-night find (16)
scenic view (14)
kid-friendly (8)
vibrant bar scene (5)
Sort By:
Newest
3858 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

Bistro Vendome is one of our favorite pl ...

vip
Dined 5 days ago

Bistro Vendome is one of our favorite places. Their terrace is a great place to be seated in the early evening after the day's heat is moderating. Over the last 6 months we have experienced some inconsistency in the food quality and preparation. At out latest visit the trout was exceptional but the steak au poivre was disappointing. The meat was tough and not well seasoned and the sauce was overly sharp. We are beginning to lose confidence in this restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The staff was friendly and able to answe ...

Dined 5 days ago

The staff was friendly and able to answer questions about the menu. The food was very good

Tags: great for brunch
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We had two dinners here during our stay- ...

Dined 6 days ago

We had two dinners here during our stay--one for business with guests, and we returned for a quiet relaxing diner a deux, so obviously, we liked it!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Caycee, the bartender was awesome. He no ...

Dined 6 days ago

Caycee, the bartender was awesome. He not only did great drinks but knew the food too ...and it's preparation. Have not found better in Denver!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been going to Bistro Vadom for y ...

Dined 6 days ago

We have been going to Bistro Vadom for years. Even with the prior ownership. The food is always excellent setting on the patio is the best location downtown. Would always recommend branch is a special place to go really appreciate it

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My aunt and I both had been wanting to t ...

Dined 6 days ago

My aunt and I both had been wanting to try Bistro Vendome for years, but I live in colo spgs and we just couldn't get there. On that Friday, I left work early and and on a whim thought we would see if we could find parking and get in. I wasn't sure my online reservation had gone through. Clearly it did. She is a VERY picky eater but enjoyed herself so much. She said when she gets out if town company in August she would bring them to BV. Kudos to the team there for meeting and surpassing her expectations. A good evening all around.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was my delayed Father's Day dinner ...

Dined on June 22, 2016

This was my delayed Father's Day dinner so I got to pick the restaurant. Bistro Vendome is one of my favorites and it was a delicious and fun dining experience. We asked to be seated outside as the ambiance is delightful...like a touch of Paris. We started with Moules and a cheese platter, both of which were excellent. Three of us had the Steak Frites (2 bernaise and 1 peppercorn) and my son had the Caille Rotie (sausage stuffed quail). We always share tastes and everyone agreed that the food was wonderful, as usual!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been fans of Bistro Vendome for ...

vip
Dined on June 21, 2016

We have been fans of Bistro Vendome for over 15 years. It's our go-to place for the certainty of a lovely evening out with superb service and wonderful food. We've never been disappointed!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience1
service3
value3

We have eaten at Bistro many times and h ...

Dined on June 21, 2016

We have eaten at Bistro many times and have had a great experience, however our visit on Monday night left me disappointed. We sent a message ahead of time that this was an anniversary dinner, and had been to Bistro before on this occasion. We arrived on time, had to wait for a table, then were given a tiny little table in a bad location. We loved our food but the night left us wondering what happened to the Bistro we used to love.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service1
value5

Food wonderful, atmosphere lovely and it ...

vip
Dined on June 21, 2016

Food wonderful, atmosphere lovely and it all lends itself to a special evening had it not been for our server Carmen. She was the most unpleasant person I have ever encountered at one of our frequent establishments. It was my husbands birthday and there were 3 of us at the table. We all considered leaving after we ordered our drink because of CARMEN. She was overwhelmingly rude. We decided to stay only because we really love the food. The other servers were all very helpful and nice. I suggest you visit Bistro Vendome and ask to be seated at any table that Carmen does not serve. I am not sure we will go back after she left such a bad taste in our mouths.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Attentive, knowledgable service. Simple, ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Attentive, knowledgable service. Simple, well-prepared dishes. Wonderful al fresco ambience. Only limitation is a limited and pricey wine list.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service3

Food was delicious. Got to sit outside i ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Food was delicious. Got to sit outside in their beautiful gardens. We were seated right away but our server seemed distracted. I've been to this restaurant four times and the three previous times we received impeccable service. This time, we waited for everything. He seemed very upset when we did not initially order alcohol and after that he seemed to forget about us. We had to ask about the specials, ask for more water and iced tea, ask for the check (waited 20 minutes for this). Hostess, bus persons, etc were great but our server was very average.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We just returned from France and it was ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

We just returned from France and it was as wonderful as a Bistro in Paris. Our waiter was magnifique'.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server Christine was really great an ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

Our server Christine was really great and helped us with some great suggestions on wine and food. The Diebolt Brewing Company Anton Francois French Ale was also amazing.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5

Glad we found this place as we were from ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

Glad we found this place as we were from out of town and didn't have many options in terms of getting around. The courtyard provided a nice area away from the city streets and felt very relaxing. The food was excellent as was the service. Really enjoyed our experience and recommend it!

food3
ambience3
service1
value3

Nice place, food is OK, service not so n ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

Nice place, food is OK, service not so nice for everybody totally unclear entrance. When approaching from terrace, one is bluntly send away! furthermore all items that we ordered went wrong! 2 in stead of one and vice versa totally disrupting the nice ambiance of the place. Please provide for more professional waiters

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

This has been and remains of our favorit ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

This has been and remains of our favorite places in town. Bistro Vendome is perfect for everything from a casual weeknight dinner to a romantic birthday. The menu changes often and is always superb.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

a delightful dining experience!

vip
Dined on June 12, 2016

Everything was spot on: service, food, and ambience. We got our favorite server and she made the dining experience extra pleasant because of her warmth and friendliness. All the rest of the wait staff were wonderful, too. We sat on the inside next to open doors to the patio -- truly lovely. All the food was absolutely delicious! This restaurant remains one our favorites here in Denver.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Flashback to France

Dined on June 12, 2016

While dining at Bistro Vendôme one can forget that they are not in France. This is the second time that we have dined at Bistro Vendôme. The first was a wonderful romantic evening. The second, we returned with well-traveled foodie friends. We were pleased that the experience not only met, but exceeded, our expectations. Everything was perfect and our server, Phil, was one of the best and most knowledgeable and professional we have encountered in the USA. We sat outdoors and were transported by the ambience, incredible food and great wines. The wine list had changed since our previous visit but did not disappoint and the food was fresh and fun. I am vegetarian but the rest of our party was not - we all thoroughly enjoyed everything that we ordered including the amazing desserts and espressos.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

I thought the services was a bit lacking ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

I thought the services was a bit lacking, but the food was good. My husband and I went to celebrate our wedding anniversary. I was hoping there would be something more special.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

As always, the food was delicious, servi ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

As always, the food was delicious, service impeccable and friendly. The brunch menu has a variety of choices suitable for foodies and traditionalists. The restaurant is tucked back from the street. It's charming and the patio is pleasant. Everyone in our party loved it.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place is a little spendy, but ideal ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

This place is a little spendy, but ideal for a special night out with your SO or friends. They have a variety of protein entree options, which is great if you are a picky eater. Make sure you try a few ounces of their cheeses; they are good-sized and delicious.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Delicious Dinner

Dined on June 8, 2016

Girl's night out with family before "Beauty and the Beast". The Steak Frites didn't disappoint. The only disappointment was one of our guest's entry was not put in so she had to wait for her dinner while we ate. We were given a dessert, that no one really wanted as we were full, to compensate when really her meal should have been comped. Put a little damper on the meal but we enjoyed the evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service5

I asked for a juicy burger and it was ma ...

Dined on June 5, 2016

I asked for a juicy burger and it was marginal. Busy service that did the best they could. Seating was delayed and many guests without reservations sat before us. I will think twice before going back as there are many more places to try.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Authentic French in a casual, romantic setting

Dined on June 5, 2016

Great salad, wonderful trout, delicious desserts and good wine.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing Brunch in the Garden

vip
Dined on June 5, 2016

This is a wonderful restaurant for any meal but it's especially amazing for a Sunday brunch. Make sure you make reservations and ask to be seated in the garden. The food is wonderful and the garden is so amazing! You won't be disappointed!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Our waitress was fun and very nice!

Dined on June 5, 2016

The environment was beautiful and romantic. The food always came in perfect timing. (Not too soon, not too fast.)

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfection...

Dined on June 4, 2016

We had a day o' birthday for my friend who turned 60 with a stop at Bistro Vendome in the middle for lunch. Everyone raved over their selection - I can speak for the Trout dish - delicate and light and perfectly seasoned. Carmen was our server and went well beyond our expectation - she really helped make our day special.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our Anniversary dinner

vip
Dined on June 4, 2016

Although we've never had a bad meal at Bistro Vendome, I must say that everyone was on their top of the game best ever last Friday night, gracious and welcoming, from the prompt recognition when we arrived for our reservation, to the attentive bartender at their zinc top bar (who made the perfect dry martini for my husband), to the patio dining experience. We've eaten les moules in many restaurants, but the Bistro makes them the best--just straight forward, redolent of white wine and butter properly served with crusty bread and a spoon to catch the soup. Some restaurants these days seem to think the simple flavors need to be spiced up with pepper flakes and tomato, but these remind me of the very first time I have them over 50 years ago at Mont St. Michele in France--simply delicious. Thanks to our waiter for being just right amount of attentive, giving us time to talk and savor every last bite of food.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful setting. Felt like I was back in France.

Dined on June 4, 2016

Beautiful setting. Felt like I was back in France at an intimate, romantic bistro. The food was outstanding. The service impeccable and attentive. Great for a couple's night out.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

I almost didn't choose this place becaus ...

Dined on June 3, 2016

I almost didn't choose this place because of some negatives I found on Google, but it was great. We were seated promptly, service was fine and most of the food and wine superb. My only negative comment is French fries should not be sugary sweet. I was told most people like them that way, but I thought they were awful. I was also told you can order them to be savory instead. I'll do that next time. Would definitely go back. Oh, it's quite popular so I recommend making a reservation as we did.

food4
ambience2
service2
value2

Disappointing

Dined on June 3, 2016

Requested seating outside, were seated inside right next to the kitchen door. Reason for selecting BIstro Vendome was promoted Thursday Special - Cassoulet. They were out of it.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

A Denver gem!

Dined on June 3, 2016

This is one of our very favorite restaurants in Denver. This is always a go-back for us. It is small, so not loud. The service and food is always superb!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Been before but so glad we revisited!

Dined on May 30, 2016

We haven't been to BV in a couple of years but revisited on Sunday evening with good friends. The food was outstanding and as our friend said "it's like visiting the Left Bank in Paris with no jet lag". Thats a pretty good description! It was delicious. We all had the trout and all of us ate every bite. The salads were so fresh and each was outstanding. Loved it so much that we just made another reservation to revisit when we can sit on their lovely patio (one of the best in Denver). Thank you to BV!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5

Overall this restaurant scores well in a ...

Dined on May 29, 2016

Overall this restaurant scores well in all aspects. Definetly, we are coming back.

food4
ambience5
service5

The duck confit was amazing and the frie ...

Dined on May 29, 2016

The duck confit was amazing and the fries were incredible, as always!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful all around!

Dined on May 29, 2016

We wanted a special evening out, and Bistro Vendome really delivered. Server was wonderful, cocktails well mixed, steak cooked perfectly. Nothing but great things to say about this place. Would HIGHLY recommend.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4

We are from out of town and have been ab ...

Dined on May 28, 2016

We are from out of town and have been able to come and eat at Vendome a couple of times a year for the past four years. Each time the meal had been superb and presents a value far in excess of the moderate menu pricing. Love the classic unpretentious nature of this bistro. Staff always knowledgeable and helpful with a wine pairing. Highly recommend.

food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful, we thought we were in Paris!

vip
Dined on May 28, 2016

Wonderful, we thought we were in Paris!

food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome! Food...service...ambiance

Dined on May 28, 2016

We frequent many fine restaurants in Denver and bistro Vendome never fails. The exquisite cuisine, service, andvalue can't be beat.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.