About Bistro Vendome

1420 Larimer Street
Denver, CO 80202
View Larger Map

Bistro Vendome, designed to evoke the look and feel of a long-established, family-owned bistro plucked from a Parisian street corner, features a carefully crafted menu that contains a wealth of French flavors served in a comfortable and charming environment. Brought to you by the owners of nearby Rioja, Bistro Vendome is based a foundation of classical French with a lighter and more contemporary influence. This heartwarming bistro fare pairs well with the full service bar with more than 65 selections of French wine representing all regions of France. Every detail of the food, service and atmosphere guarantees a unique and authentic French dining experience.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:
Brunch Saturday-Sunday: 10:00am-2:00pm Dinner Monday-Thursday: 5:00pm-10:00pm Dinner Friday-Saturday: 5:00pm-11:00pm Dinner Sunday: 5:00pm-9:00pm

Cross Street:
14th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(303) 825-3232

Website:
http://www.bistrovendome.com/

Executive Chef:
Jennifer Jasinski

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Bistro Vendome
Bistro Vendome
Bistro Vendome
Bistro Vendome
Bistro Vendome
Bistro Vendome
Croque Vendome
Mussels
steak tartare
Eggs Benedict
Vidal Fleury Cotes Du Rhones
Amuse Bouche
Pain Perdu
Beet Salad
Chicken Roulade
Duck
Lobster Special
charcuterie
Crepe du Jour
Omelette a la Truite Fumee
Gaufre Maison
Crème Brulée / Sorbet Trio
Pommes Frites
Blood Orange Crepes
Pear Tart
Kir Royal
Escargot
Chocolate Velvet Tart
Scallops with Risotto
Rabbit Leg
plateau de fromages
Salade Campagnarde
Culotte D'agneau
Spaetzle With Spagetti Squash
Steak Frites
Elk Bourguignon
Blueberry Lavender Napoleon
Trout

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Private parties from 12-60 guests Perfect for weddings and receptions. State-of-the-art audiovisual including projector, monitor, screens

Bistro Vendome Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

French
Denver / Colorado
Outdoor Dining
Denver
Romantic
Denver
Best Restaurants in Downtown / LoDo ›

fit for foodies (217)
special occasion (216)
romantic (203)
See All
great for outdoor dining (197)
neighborhood gem (108)
great for brunch (102)
notable wine list (97)
great for lunch (43)
good for groups (41)
hot spot (31)
late-night find (17)
scenic view (17)
kid-friendly (10)
vibrant bar scene (5)
Sort By:
Newest
3898 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We had friends in from Chicago and Phoen ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined 2 days ago

We had friends in from Chicago and Phoenix and had the best brunch outside in the courtyard.

Tags: brunch, fit for foodies, outdoor eating, neighbourhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Four of us came after theatre and were s ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined 3 days ago

Four of us came after theatre and were seated within a few minutes. Love the unique menu and the variety for our diverse food requirement. One person had the steak tartar (favorite) another had the crepes as an appetizer, before our main course. The combination of flavors makes every bite delicious..

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Had an enjoyable meal. The trout was a b ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined 4 days ago

Had an enjoyable meal. The trout was a bit too salty for our taste, but the wine, baguette and gnocchi were all quite good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Bistro Vendome has been one of our favor ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined 4 days ago

Bistro Vendome has been one of our favorites for a long time. They impress with new and different menu items, but continue to make sure each and every dish, drink, and service are top quality. Highly recommend!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We ate inside as it was too hot but the ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined 4 days ago

We ate inside as it was too hot but the ambiance of the restaurant is wonderful and the service and food was outstanding. It's a special place.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food, service and overall experience ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined 5 days ago

The food, service and overall experience was great.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best French food in Denver. For memorab ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined 7 days ago

Best French food in Denver. For memorable time, start with the Vendome crepes.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent bistro. Felt like we were in F ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Excellent bistro. Felt like we were in France. Best mussels appetizer I've ever had. I had steak frittes, my wife the roast chicken. Both delicious. Home made ice cream selection to top things off. Our waitress was friendly. Only negative was the long wait between appetizers and entrees.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

It's such a pleasure to dine at Bistro V ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

It's such a pleasure to dine at Bistro Vendome! It always exceeds expectations. The chef and kitchen obviously at the top of their game. Each plate is perfectly prepared, seasoned and plated. I had the crepe Vendome and am already planning a trip back to savor it again - delicious! Our server Rachel was a doll and on top of everything. Keep it up Bistro Vendome - you are one of the best in Denver!

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service and wine list. Food came o ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Great service and wine list. Food came out quick and was great.

Tags: neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

Excellent food. I just wish the fries we ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Excellent food. I just wish the fries were simply salted rather than glazed and sweetened.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Just spent 11 days in Paris and the food ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Just spent 11 days in Paris and the food at Bistro Vendome is undoubtedly the best we have ever had.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The parts of the meal that were the most ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The parts of the meal that were the most enjoyable were the ambience (once the children were reigned in) and the petrale sole main dish and the amuse bouche. The sole, especially, was very nicely done. And our wine pairings were very good. There were a few things that detracted from the meal: the duck confit was overly salty and not crisped. The steak tartar had far too much "stuff" mixed in. I have sometimes had this dish served very bare bones and the condiments (minced shallots, caper, dijon,etc) on the side. I think I prefer that preparation. Also, while I wouldn't call our service slow, I would say that our waiter was inattentive.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

One of mine and my family's favorite pla ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

One of mine and my family's favorite places. Always good food, nice ambiance and never disappoints. Have gone for lots of birthdays as well as just out with friends.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place was beautiful and the food wa ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

This place was beautiful and the food was incredible. It was a full house so it could have been a bit more mellow and intimate but the ambiance was dreamy and I would still consider my evening perfect. It took a while to seat my party of 4 even though I had a reservation, which had me wary of the experience ahead. The food took quite a bit to get out; a couple that arrived after us received their entree and finished it before our plates arrived. However the staff was professional and provided the formal service you would expect in an establishment such as this. They were very attentive with our drinks and were pleasant when answering the any questions about the menu. I look forward to returning on a less busy evening, if that is even possible at such a gem of a restaurant!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

A wonderful restaurant with a very atten ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

A wonderful restaurant with a very attentive and friendly staff. Quickly corrected a minor mistake from our order. Food is excellent. I had steak frites and learned from previous times to ask for them without the sticky sweet coating they put on them. They were happy to comply and we all enjoyed our food.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bistro Vendome is our "go to" restaurant ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Bistro Vendome is our "go to" restaurant before events at the Pepsi Center. We have had many positive experiences with them. The food is good, reasonably priced with a great wine list. It's simple, elegantly casual and of high quality without being stuffy or pretentious. Unfortunately our last experience did not hit their usual high mark.

We sat down at 6:00 for an 8:00 concert at the Pepsi Center. We ordered dinner by 6:10 and then we waited. At 7:00 I mentioned to our waitress that we had a concert at 8:00 and was told, "so does everybody here." We watched tables that arrived after us eat, pay and leave and we still had no food and a second bottle of wine we ordered 15 minutes before failed to materialize. At 7:15 I complained to the two managers (owners?) and within seconds there was a flurry of service activity at our table. The wine was comp'ed which was great. Unfortunately one of the steaks ordered medium arrive cold center rare and had to be taken back. A fresh medium one arrived within 90 seconds. We paid our check while eating as fast as we could. Fast Pedicab to the Pepsi Center and hit our seats just as the lights went down for Sting. It worked. Bistro Vendome usually does far better. They did do a great job trying to fix what they realized was a poor performance. We will be back. They deserve another try to redeem themselves.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

Great authentic French flare. Menu chan ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Great authentic French flare. Menu changes seasonally. A favorite for years.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The mussels with Classic sauce were supe ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

The mussels with Classic sauce were superb, a n's the sparkling wine was great !

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Movie night a bust - couldn't serve the ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Movie night a bust - couldn't serve the dining room even With a set menu - really average food due to lack of attention to detail in sauce and quanity, didn't live up to regular expectations or as advertised. Julia child would have been disappointed. Sad also to see management n staff enjoying wine w movie in cushioned booth while I stood due to hard bistro chair. Much needed revamp for further productions.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2
value2

Bistro Vendome is always a delightful pl ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Bistro Vendome is always a delightful place to dine any time of the year. in summer the patio is delightful. The food is varied and always delicious. The wine list is excellent. Servers are knowledgeable and attentive making for a most pleasant dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Our service, food and ambience was grea ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Our service, food and ambience was great. The trout was perfect and quiche delicious. Staff recommended the perfect wine.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

great food, great venue, good service, ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

great food, great venue, good service, parking is a real problem , a favorite of ours for brunch,

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Only problem was the fruit flies in the ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Only problem was the fruit flies in the beer and wine. They replaced the beer but couldnt stop nature. Maybe if all the ceiling fans were working it would have blown them away. Server was apologetic but it put a littel damper on the meal. Small portions but very tasty. I would go back.

Tags: romantic, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great honest food , good service and rea ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Great honest food , good service and really nice location :)

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We have our anniversary dinner at Bistro ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

We have our anniversary dinner at Bistro Vendome every year as this is where we had our wedding reception. The night out is better each time we visit. Not sure how they can top it next year!! Special thanks to Shelby and Christine for making it extra special. The food and experience never disappoint. Amazing cuisine and even better staff. Saying thank you is not even close to expressing our gratitude. See you soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a wonderful experience there. Th ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

We had a wonderful experience there. The food and wine were excellent. Our waiter was very friendly and courteous. He knew we had a show at 8pm and worked hard at getting us our food and bill. I felt you were very accommodating because our friends were coming from out of town and I needed to change reservations at the last minute to 6pm. We were very, very pleased and will be returning. Thank you.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Always fabulous! Always. Love the food. ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Always fabulous! Always. Love the food. Service is incredible and knowledgeable. We sat outside and if felt like we could havebeen dining any place in the world. This is the place I always recommend. Thank you Bistro Vendome. You are the best!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good food, though several dishes se ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Very good food, though several dishes seemed too salty. (One of our indicators - our elderly mom adds salt over & over to her meals but didn't ask for the salt once.)

The waiter, Adam, was absolutely excellent - knowledgeable, caring, creative & willing to go the extra mile. Tres professionel et charmant!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Everything was great, except that I was ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Everything was great, except that I was disappointed about the bouillabaisse , it wasn't the classic one from the south of France that I know. Other than that, everything else that we had was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

We had visited Bistro Vendome on our las ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

We had visited Bistro Vendome on our last visit to Denver as a group four years ago. We were there again for the same choral festival, and decided it would be great to make our last night get together in town at the bistro. It was as good as it was last time, and we really had a fitting end to our time in Denver.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great restaurant, would highly recommend ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Great restaurant, would highly recommend it to anyone looking for a wonderful French bistro meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, late-night find, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really a nice surprise. We were from out ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Really a nice surprise. We were from out of town and I booked this restaurant before we arrived in Denver. My trout dinner was amazing enough to make me wish I had time to dine there again before we left Denver. A real find.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

It was very pleasant evening to celebrat ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

It was very pleasant evening to celebrate our 30th anniversary. Service was great, Adam, seemed to show up just when we needed him, did not bother with annoying questions. Atmosphere was friendly, it was quiet, so we could have a nice conversation. Food was delicious.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The wine pours were quite small for the ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

The wine pours were quite small for the price tag.Food was good,but not excellent.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Excellent service, well organized by tra ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Excellent service, well organized by trained staff. Very crowded indoor area surprisingly insulated for noise muffling. Excellent Bistro type food - especially from Burgundy region. Decor appropriate for Place Vendome simulation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was absolutely outstanding. Bes ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

The food was absolutely outstanding. Best meal I've had in quite some time. :) service was great as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was in Denver for a convention (5 days ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

I was in Denver for a convention (5 days). This was by far the best food I had while I was in Denver. It was so great I had to come back before I left. Both meals were exquisite. Every aspect of the dinner was outstanding. And the service was great. When I returned, the hostess, waitress... knew me and remembered what I had ordered for dinner. I felt as though I was special.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Went to Bistro for brunch. Love the Pari ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Went to Bistro for brunch. Love the Parisian feel of the courtyard which makes it feel very European. The location is off Larimer and yet removed from the bustle of the street. Had lamb crepes that was amazing! The cocktails were well made and presented. Overall a great dining experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Bistro Vendome is one of our favorite pl ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Bistro Vendome is one of our favorite places. Their terrace is a great place to be seated in the early evening after the day's heat is moderating. Over the last 6 months we have experienced some inconsistency in the food quality and preparation. At out latest visit the trout was exceptional but the steak au poivre was disappointing. The meat was tough and not well seasoned and the sauce was overly sharp. We are beginning to lose confidence in this restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.