About Bistro Vendome

1420 Larimer Street
Denver, CO 80202
View Larger Map

Bistro Vendome, designed to evoke the look and feel of a long-established, family-owned bistro plucked from a Parisian street corner, features a carefully crafted menu that contains a wealth of French flavors served in a comfortable and charming environment. Brought to you by the owners of nearby Rioja, Bistro Vendome is based a foundation of classical French with a lighter and more contemporary influence. This heartwarming bistro fare pairs well with the full service bar with more than 65 selections of French wine representing all regions of France. Every detail of the food, service and atmosphere guarantees a unique and authentic French dining experience.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:
Brunch Saturday-Sunday: 10:00am-2:00pm Dinner Monday-Thursday: 5:00pm-10:00pm Dinner Friday-Saturday: 5:00pm-11:00pm Dinner Sunday: 5:00pm-9:00pm

Cross Street:
14th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(303) 825-3232

Website:
http://www.bistrovendome.com/

Executive Chef:
Jennifer Jasinski

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Private parties from 12-60 guests Perfect for weddings and receptions. State-of-the-art audiovisual including projector, monitor, screens

Bistro Vendome Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

French
Denver / Colorado
Best Overall
Denver
Romantic
Denver
Best Restaurants in Downtown / LoDo ›

fit for foodies (210)
special occasion (206)
romantic (186)
See All
great for outdoor dining (129)
neighborhood gem (100)
notable wine list (97)
great for brunch (90)
good for groups (37)
great for lunch (34)
hot spot (29)
late-night find (20)
vibrant bar scene (8)
scenic view (8)
kid-friendly (7)
Sort By:
Newest
3809 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience4
service1
value2

They did not seat us at our correct rese ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

They did not seat us at our correct reservation time, 20 min late and the man who served us gave himself a extra 3.00 tip on our tab when we saw it go through on our bank account.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We celebrated our anniversary at Bistro ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

We celebrated our anniversary at Bistro Vendome. We had a drink at the bar before dinner, & the bartender was gracious with his suggestions for our dinner menu. The entire waitstaff were very attentive to our needs. The food was fabulous! We started with the escargot hazelnuts & garlic butter; & topped with baked puff pastry. Very special!!! Steak Frittes & Sausage stuffed Quail were our main entrees... So delicious!!! We would highly recommend Bistro Vendome to anyone who appreciates a fine dining experience. Thank you Bistro Vendome for the 2 glasses of bubbly you presented to us in celebration of our Anniversary!!! It was the cherry on top!🍾🍒🎉🎈

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Saturday Brunch with Friends!

Dined on May 14, 2016

The quiche was amazing, I'm a vegetarian and they kindly removed the ham for me. also, the croissants and jam were spectacular. the staff was friendly and the service was very timely. overall it was a great experience and I will definitely be going back.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies
food4
ambience5
service5

Our reservation was at 7 and they were o ...

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

Our reservation was at 7 and they were out of the special - a 5 ounce tenderloin steak. I ordered steak tartar but they brought something else. They corrected everything and even gave us some i credits They were extremely accommodating.

food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Fav app was off the menu, but they made it anyway!

vip
Dined on May 13, 2016

We noticed they had removed an old favorite appetizer from their menu and we remarked on it. The wait person checked with chef to see if they could pull it together for us and they did! Soooo good!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

We were first in line for a weeknight di ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

We were first in line for a weeknight dinner before the theater, and the staff was respectful of our time constraints without feeling rushed. Our entrees (chicken and steak frites) were well-prepared and appropriately sized. Wine pairings were perfect but, these are the French...

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have dined at Bistro Vendome many tim ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

We have dined at Bistro Vendome many times. It is always #1 on my list of favorite restaurants to go when whenever we're in Denver.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a wonderful birthday dinner celeb ...

vip
Dined on May 12, 2016

We had a wonderful birthday dinner celebration and the food was outstanding!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Nothing special, seems kind of tired. Th ...

vip
Dined on May 11, 2016

Nothing special, seems kind of tired. The food was fine but not memorable.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

GET TOGETHER WITH FRIENDS PRIOR TO THE C ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

GET TOGETHER WITH FRIENDS PRIOR TO THE COLORADO OPERA. GREAT LOCATION IF YOU ARE GOING TO ANY PERFORMANCE AT DCPA. FOOD WAS TERRIFIC. NICE WINE CHOICES. WE THOROUGHLY ENJOYED OURSELVES.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Vendome was recommended by a friend and ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

Vendome was recommended by a friend and lived up to expectations! Fantastic setting and the food was delicious (the duck leg special was fall-off-the-bone spectacular). The only comment I had was the persistent interruptions from the wait staff. While that is good service, it was an annoying interference with conversation.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and ambiance.

vip
Dined on May 9, 2016

Best meal I've had in a long time , and I eat out often. I would go back if I lived in Denver. This is a rave review, in case you didn't know.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, late-night find
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Wonderful Brunch

Dined on May 8, 2016

Wonderful good and terrific ambiance. A real treat for Morher's Day

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome

Dined on May 8, 2016

Bistro Vendome never disappoints! The food was amazing - the service was outstanding!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Don't get seated next to the kitchen

Dined on May 7, 2016

Although I made my reservations several weeks before the event, we were seated in the worst seat in the house, right next to the kitchen entry. This is despite the fact that there was an unoccupied table right by the window, which was not used while we were there. (I regret that I did not ask for the other table when we were seated.) Waiters streamed in and out with the curtain door flapping madly. Each time they came in or out they called out some code name - it sounded like "In." My husband kept turning around as he thought they were saying his name. The food did not live up to the quality I have experienced in the past. The salad was very bland and had little dressing. Two of us felt that our entrees were not well seasoned (cioppino, trout). The service was good but not outstanding. The overall atmosphere was pleasant but we were distracted due to the seating assignment. Not as enjoyable as expected.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful, as always!

vip
Dined on May 7, 2016

We had dinner before the symphony and it was just perfect! The food is always amazing and our server, Shelby, was so knowledgeable and attentive. It was so great! We will definitely be back to sit in the garden!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5

Wonderful food, excellent service with c ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

Wonderful food, excellent service with careful attention to complicated requests due to allergies. We were done with plenty of time to get to our performance.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Love this Place!

Dined on May 7, 2016

This restaurant was recommended by a friend for a special occasion. Everything about our experience was near perfect, from the feeling of walking into a real French bistro to our drinks at the bar to our excellent service and the delicious food. I scored big points with my guests for reserving a table at Bistro Vendome. I look forward to returning for another great experience when I come back to Denver.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fabulous French on Denver's Larimer Square

Dined on May 6, 2016

Second time to dine at Bistro Vendome was just as marvelous as the first! From the inventive Fleur de Lis cocktail to the wonderful Steak Frites with Green Peppercorn Sauce, French wine and Chocolate dessert, it was so delicious! Beautiful, authentic French bistro type setting and very attentive and knowledgeable waitress! Love and can't wait to go back again!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our Server Shelby was very helpful and m ...

Dined on May 4, 2016

Our Server Shelby was very helpful and made everything perfect for the evening.. I would come back again & again

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Yum!

Dined on May 4, 2016

I've had brunches and dinners here. The food is always amazing. The staff are very attentive whether it's just two of us, a group, and even with a 9 year old.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food

Dined on May 2, 2016

My wife and I were in Denver for the weekend, we wanted to check out different restaurants, while we were. We had reservations, The food was excellent, the service was great and the chocolate cake was to die for.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love this place!

Dined on May 2, 2016

I've been going to Bistro for years and have loved every experience and every meal. The food is amazing; you cannot go wrong. The steak frites is my personal favorite but the entrees are always wonderful and a great value. The atmosphere is cozy and the staff is very friendly. You should go for sure!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Intimate, like a true bistro

Dined on May 1, 2016

Wonderfully intimate setting like you would find in a European bistro.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyed the Professional attitudes & Knowledge!

Dined on April 28, 2016

Would recommend for family and business moments. The Staff proved to be knowledgeable and helpful. Bar was small but, had great personality non the same. I would recommend the mussels for a crispy bread addition with tender buttered garlic sauce to add flavor delight.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect Anniversary date!

Dined on April 25, 2016

I recently celebrate my first year wedding anniversary. I made the reservation through opentable and put a note there that it was our anniversary. The restaurant was perfect! We got a table in the outside courtyard, and immediately the restaurant gave us two glasses of champagne. Our waiter also delivered a handwritten card from all of the staff at Bistro Vendome which was a great touch. The food was amazing: we had Quail stuffed with Pork, and Rainbow Trout. Both were made perfectly. I absolutely recommend this restaurant. It is a perfect gem hidden off of Larimer Square.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

This is our favorite brunch place to bri ...

Dined on April 24, 2016

This is our favorite brunch place to bring out of town friends and family. As usual, everything was outstanding. The service was superb.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Enjoyable Dining

vip
Dined on April 24, 2016

Unfortunately, our evening did not start out the best. Valet parking was unavailable (apparently it was a prom night and valet was stressed out by limos blocking availability of valets to return cars). Then, we were seated almost 45 minutes after our reservation time. Though, once we decided to to the bar, the wait was more enjoyable. The food was worth the wait. We started with the charcuterie board. It was better than any other I have experienced at other restaurants. Variety was not only different, but was delicious. The wine recommendation was spot on. We then had the Steak Frittes and the Blanc de Pulet entrees. The steak was cooked to order. Unfortunately, I am not a fan of the flat iron cut. So, I am sure this was perfection to others, but not my favorite (I should have asked was cut the steak was). Again, not a fault of Bistro Vendome, just personal preference. However, the frittes were perfect. The chicken entree was fantastic, crispy and seasoned well. We finished with the Chocolate Bouchons...delicious. This was our first time dining at Bistro Vendome, but will not be our last.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5

We had forgotten how much a great waitst ...

Dined on April 23, 2016

We had forgotten how much a great waitstaff changes a dining experience. Our waiter made this experience exceptional.

food2
ambience5
service5
value5

Not a great night for food, but impeccable service

Dined on April 23, 2016

We have had many great experiences and amazing food here over a ten year period, but tonight the food was a bit off. The bread was crusty and hot. Our escargot was served in an unique and tasty way with hazelnuts. The fries are usually hot and crispy with a sweet/sour drizzle that makes them stand out, but tonight they were lukewarm. Our meat was served way overcooked, and when they tried again, we received the correct temperature but chewy ends of a bad piece of beef. But the service is beyond compare here. They not only apologized, they admitted to their mistakes and tried to make it right by comping our meal. This shows real pride in their food, and a strong ethic to create a brand. Once we have a fair or poor meal, we never return to a restaurant. But this time, we will be back.

Tags: romantic, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Perfect dining experience

Dined on April 23, 2016

This is one of my favorite restaurants and even though I don't live in Denver, I will gladly drive the hour it takes to get there. I was treating one of my closest friends to a birthday brunch and it was a predictably excellent experience. We were seated immediately at our requested window table and promptly greeted by our server. He was friendly, funny and offered great food suggestions. From the French pressed coffee to the dessert and everything in between, our meal was absolutely delicious. Already planning our next visit and can't wait!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bistro Vendome Never Disappoints

Dined on April 23, 2016

I have loved going to Bistro Vendome ever since I had my first Breakfast/Brunch there, about 10 years ago. After moving away from Colorado then returning last year, I was curious as to whether the restaurant was as stellar as I remembered. It was! We started our meal with fresh croissants, French pressed coffee and the beautiful outdoor seating area. I ordered quiche while my husband had the shrimp and grits with red gravy. I could not decide whether I liked his dish better than mine - both were scrumptious. What's more amazing is my quiche came with a root vegetable medley that was as memorable as everything else. I'm not even a big vegetable fan and I was practically licking the plate clean... It is nice to know that some places remain excellent over time.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service4

The restaurant was great, but the tall h ...

Dined on April 22, 2016

The restaurant was great, but the tall host wearing all black clearly lacks a sense of humor, or at least it wasn't on display Friday evening at 5:15.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A bit of France on Larimer

Dined on April 20, 2016

A cozy, almost on the left bank of Paris, restaurant in downtown Denver. The servers were friendly, knowledgable and excellent. The mussels were outstanding - just like in Brussels said my husband, as was everything else we ate. We wil certainly return. Valet parking across the street topped off a delicious and fun dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fantastic!

Dined on April 17, 2016

Whether dining along, with friends or with business associates, Bistro Vendome is my first choice. The food selection is different enough but not too 'out there', the service was impeccable, and the seating was perfect - not too close to other tables.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Might have been a bad night...

vip
Dined on April 16, 2016

Bistro Vendome has been an old standby for many years, but on this night, they missed badly on the pace of the meal. After being served salad and soup, it took nearly an hour for the entrees to arrive. While the tardy food was good, it wasn't worth the wait. The server explained that the kitchen had "gotten behind", but this is below the standard I expect of this establishment.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

"Best Bday Dinner Ever," said my sister

Dined on April 16, 2016

Recently hosted my sister's 30th Bday dinner here (An intimate gathering of 6 family members). She was almost brought to tears of joy by the high level of attentive service, the delectable food, and lovely ambience. As a host it's hard to find a restaurant that will please parents, boyfriends, grandparents etc. Vendome delivered palatable pleasure to all, as noted by even my mother. Everyone's meal was perfectly cooked and timed well. The servers were attentive and worked as a team. I have enjoyed dining at Bistro Vendome on multiple occasions and was so happy to share this special occasion with family who now also give Bistro Vendome rave reviews. The staff even presented my sister with a hand written Bday card signed by staffers that included a coupon for a free desert. She was touched by the thoughtfulness and thankful that no one sang happy bday ;) We had two orders of the trout, and it was melt in your mouth. Everyone else ordered steaks Au Poivre w the best frites in the entire world! Salads were ordered that were perfect portions and even the side of hericot vert was far from a boring side. And of course, the ever famous brown paper bag baguette served w the meal, DELISH! Top that off with a bottle of wine and a superb Macaron or Creme Brulee for desert and you might wonder if you're in heaven.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Great food and atmosphere

vip
Dined on April 14, 2016

The food is excellent here, and sitting outside on the patio courtyard can't be beat. The service was a little slow but that's the only complaint.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My favorite restaurant!!!!

Dined on April 11, 2016

My Boyfriend and I are very particular about where we eat. Bistro Vendome has, by far, some of the best food at an incredibly reasonable price! The quality of the consistently extraordinary and the service is great. It is the prefect place for date night, sophisticated enough to dress up, yet casual enough to feel completely relaxed and comfortable. I highly recommend the mussels and the steak and frits with Bernese Sauce. I can't wait for our next date night!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The food is fabulous! And service 5 stars.

Dined on April 10, 2016

I had the flash fried whole yellow snapper with was light and perfectly prepared and presented. The night we went we were not able to sit in the patio due to rain, but our dinner was wonderful in spite of that. Bistro Von Dome always seems to deliver the finest experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.