About Bistro Vendome

1420 Larimer Street
Denver, CO 80202
View Larger Map

Bistro Vendome, designed to evoke the look and feel of a long-established, family-owned bistro plucked from a Parisian street corner, features a carefully crafted menu that contains a wealth of French flavors served in a comfortable and charming environment. Brought to you by the owners of nearby Rioja, Bistro Vendome is based a foundation of classical French with a lighter and more contemporary influence. This heartwarming bistro fare pairs well with the full service bar with more than 65 selections of French wine representing all regions of France. Every detail of the food, service and atmosphere guarantees a unique and authentic French dining experience.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:
Brunch Saturday-Sunday: 10:00am-2:00pm Dinner Monday-Thursday: 5:00pm-10:00pm Dinner Friday-Saturday: 5:00pm-11:00pm Dinner Sunday: 5:00pm-9:00pm

Cross Street:
14th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(303) 825-3232

Website:
http://www.bistrovendome.com/

Executive Chef:
Jennifer Jasinski

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Bistro Vendome
Bistro Vendome
Bistro Vendome
Bistro Vendome
Bistro Vendome
Bistro Vendome
Croque Vendome
Mussels
steak tartare
Eggs Benedict
Vidal Fleury Cotes Du Rhones
Amuse Bouche
Pain Perdu
Chicken Roulade
Beet Salad
Duck
Lobster Special
charcuterie
Omelette a la Truite Fumee
Crepe du Jour
Gaufre Maison
Crème Brulée / Sorbet Trio
Pommes Frites
Pear Tart
Blood Orange Crepes
Kir Royal
Rabbit Leg
Scallops with Risotto
Escargot
Chocolate Velvet Tart
plateau de fromages
Salade Campagnarde
Culotte D'agneau
Spaetzle With Spagetti Squash
Steak Frites
Blueberry Lavender Napoleon
Elk Bourguignon
Trout

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Private parties from 12-60 guests Perfect for weddings and receptions. State-of-the-art audiovisual including projector, monitor, screens

Bistro Vendome Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

French
Denver / Colorado
Outdoor Dining
Denver
Romantic
Denver
Best Restaurants in Downtown / LoDo ›

Great for Outdoor Dining (193)
Fit for Foodies (192)
Special Occasion (188)
See All
Romantic (179)
Neighborhood Gem (108)
Great for Brunch (97)
Notable Wine List (79)
Great for Lunch (38)
Good for Groups (33)
Hot Spot (20)
Scenic View (19)
Late-night Find (12)
Kid-friendly (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Authentic (1)
Sort By:
Newest
3948 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Reservation at 12:45pm and were not seat ...

vip
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined 2 days ago

Reservation at 12:45pm and were not seated until after 1:15pm...felt as though we were rushed out. I like this place a lot, but the service and attitude of the hosts leaves somethings to be desired.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

In a word: underwhelming. The food was m ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined 4 days ago

In a word: underwhelming. The food was mediocre at best. It wasn't bad, but it certainly did not live up to our expectations or the price point. The steak tartare tasted like homemade tuna salad with hamburger in it. His pork medallions were inconsistently cooked, somewhat dry, and the pairings were strange (herb butter with peaches?), and its bed of beans was unremarkable, like basic boiled beans. Her bouillabaisse was adequate, though lacking in anything to make it truly memorable. We skipped dessert, as we did not feel like adding to our disappointment of what should have been an amazing anniversary dinner. One wonders if they paid to be rated so highly in so many "Best of" lists.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

Bistro Vendome has never disappointed us ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined 6 days ago

Bistro Vendome has never disappointed us. Great service, knowledgeable servers, never pressured, and wonderful food. Steak frites rocks! We will return.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding. Creative , fresh. IThe tr ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined 7 days ago

Outstanding. Creative , fresh. IThe trout was wonderful. Works for Gluten free.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always great food. Never a disappointmen ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined 7 days ago

Always great food. Never a disappointment. Also a great spot for weekend brunch.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

From other reviews we expected a lot, an ...

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

From other reviews we expected a lot, and our expectations were surpassed. The food was amazing. We began by sharing the Steak Tartare, progressed to sharing the warm cauliflower salad, my friend had the whole fish (Branzino), and I had the Steak Frites. All the dishes were prepared perfectly, and although my friend said she preferred Steak Tartare to have horseradish (as her favorite local restaurant prepares it), she agreed that it was excellent. Things that go unnoticed but that show an experienced chef and a great team in the kitchen: dishes that are dissimilar, but are both cooked perfectly and served simultaneously at their peak. The fish arrived hot with crispy skin, the flesh tender and moist. The Steak Frites exactly medium rare, the frites fried crisp on the outside, the inside so creamy they almost felt hollow in my mouth. We finished with a lemon tart that was like nothing else I've ever had. The service was great, friendly and attentive without being intrusive. And for what this is, the prices are a screaming bargain. Why would you pay $50 for a steak at a steakhouse when the absolutely superior steak frites here goes off at $26? Cannot recommend this place highly enough.

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was perfectly cooked, and the ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

Everything was perfectly cooked, and the gnocchi was delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Sunday Brunch It was SO COLD in the rest ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Sunday Brunch

It was SO COLD in the restaurant that really you could not taste the food.

EXTREMELY UNCOMFORTABLE.

Could not wait to get out of there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

We had an incredible night. Very busy th ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

We had an incredible night. Very busy though, but well worth the wait.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Casual, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We enjoyed our experience at Bistro Vend ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

We enjoyed our experience at Bistro Vendome. We dined under the stars and were a little put off by fixed menu on dining under starts event and were not told that was the case. We would not have ordered so much food and maybe would have ordered a few extras if allowed. But the atmosphere is great inside and out. The service was great, we had to wait a bit and they offered us free champagne which was nice. Cozy French place and the food is good.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Historic, Comfort Food, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

The food was good and the staff knowledg ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

The food was good and the staff knowledgeable and competent. However, the overall organization of the restaurant was lacking with a kitchen apparently over burdened by too many orders. The wait to get food was very lengthy, helped somewhat by the complementary sorbet between distant courses and drinks provided by the wait person. Better planning and organization in anticipation of the heavy load of reservations.

Tags: Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Absolutely loved the dining alfresco eve ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Absolutely loved the dining alfresco event!! Would recommend this to all my friends & family. Steak frites were delicious!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

The Vendome was amazing all around! Food ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

The Vendome was amazing all around! Food,service,ambience etc...will highly recommend and be returning!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We had an 8pm reservation and were seate ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

We had an 8pm reservation and were seated at 8:15. There was a small choice of red wines by the glass, but I has two good glasses. The menu wasn't extensive, but the food was delicious and inventive. My son enjoyed a very good creme brulee and I have the delicious chocolate bouchons dessert. A touch pricey but the service and food were good.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Steak was disappointing, tough and grizz ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Steak was disappointing, tough and grizzly. Flank steaks are not a very good cut anyway. Excellent fries. Very good service. Delicious peach dessert.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

We enjoyed the patio dinning experience ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

We enjoyed the patio dinning experience, with food flavors that popped and excellent wine full of flavors. What I did not appreciate was someone behind me smoking at their table. I thought smoking on a patio dinning area was not allowed, but somehow it happened here!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

This is our go-to for special occasions ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

This is our go-to for special occasions and always delivers. We were in for my boyfriend's birthday this time but we ended up getting engaged on your patio. Bistro Vendôme always holds a special place in our hearts. <3

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Once again, Bistro Vendome exceeded our ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Once again, Bistro Vendome exceeded our expectations! The service was excellent with a surprise touch of complimentary champagne from the host for our celebration. The mussels are the best in town and you want to drink up the delicious broth. Our favorite dish continues to be the Crepes Vendome. Sitting on patio on a somewhat cool evening made the dinner all the more special.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We absolutely love Bistro Vendome, the f ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

We absolutely love Bistro Vendome, the food is always amazing and this visit was excellent cuisine. The steak tartare is the best and most authentic in America. We brought friends who visited from France and they conquered.

Our major disappointment was the service, our server was the most unpleasant and unattractive server we've encountered in a long time, to the point were I felt embarrassed to our special guests. It was so obvious that he simply did not want to be there that day, nor attend to our needs for a large 8 people table. Didn't bother to walk us through the menu nor announce the features of the day... We expected more than just a grumpy order taker... Disappointing for sure.

The food was absolutely fantastic though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2

We made a reservation and asked for a qu ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

We made a reservation and asked for a quiet table to celebrate our anniversary. We expected good food from the reviews, but they far surpassed any expectation we had. First, they offered us a table in their wine room, a quiet 4 table room with a big window. We were by ourselves on a Friday night! Next, our waiter, Robb, offered helpful suggestions with the menu and brought us a complimentary amuse bouche. I had the pork medallions on his recommendation and was not sorry. Delicious! My husband had the gnocchi and loved it. Finally, we went with his suggestion for dessert and it came with a candle to celebrate our anniversary. BEST OF ALL, they gave us an anniversary card personally signed by all the staff and comp'd us the dessert. Who does that?? I was so touched it brought tears to my eyes. We will be back. Until now, my best meals had been in France, but not anymore! Bravo, Bistro Vendome, et merci beaucoup!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We had a problem with the salads, which ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

We had a problem with the salads, which they fixed. We ordered beef which came out raw. We sent it back. One order was cooked better but the second order was still raw when the beef was presented again. Overall, we were disappointed because we know they are capable of doing better. Maybe we came on an off night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3

Wonderful special evening! My friend and ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Wonderful special evening! My friend and I went to Bistro Vendome for a special treat. We received excellent wine recommendations from our server (who was also a trained sommelier), and had a gorgeous meal. The service was wonderful, our server was extremely knowledgeable and made great recommendations (gluten free options too), and the restaurant was gorgeous! We can't wait to go back, and would definitely recommend it to anyone looking for a special night out!

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

From the beginning to end could not have ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

From the beginning to end could not have been better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We LOVE Bistro Vendome! The food was ex ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

We LOVE Bistro Vendome! The food was excellent, as always. The service was superb! The ambiance was cozy, yet vibrant. This is our "go-to" place when we are in Denver.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had several dishes that would be cons ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

We had several dishes that would be considered classic French cuisine, but there was nothing we are that we would consider excellent. It was all "just ok." However, the service was fantastic, even with us waiting 15 minutes to be seated despite us having reservations. I mentioned on the reservation that it was our anniversary, and they gave us special attention because of that.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Every time we visit Denver to see our ki ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Every time we visit Denver to see our kids we try to eat at Bistro Vendome and they never disappoint. We prefer to sit outside but you won't be disappointed with their indoor seating either. Our table of five all ordered something different and everyone was happy. The French fries are fabulous. Great French wines. This is one our favorite Denver restaurants.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic food and the waitress was incr ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Fantastic food and the waitress was incredibly attentive and nice.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I've gone to this restaurant several tim ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

I've gone to this restaurant several times. This visit it seemed as though the waitress was not very experienced. She made no wine recommendations although I invited her too. Brought the wrong entree for me (although it was corrected within three minutes). Just not up to the standards I've come to expect. Just so-so this time. I hope it is a hick-up and not a trend (as I like the overall experience and food I've had in the past). I'll definitely give it another go based on previous experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

bistro vendome does not disappoint. it ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

bistro vendome does not disappoint. it is especially good value for brunch. they had no space when i increased the number from 4 to 6 on short notice, but when i explained the special occasion with out of town guests, they accommodated us. my guests were impressed. i will go back. a little taste of paris in denver. i love it!

k in denver

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

It was a very nice enjoyable time.

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

It was a very nice enjoyable time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our first visit here. Exceptional servic ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Our first visit here. Exceptional service. The best escargot, baguette and trout we've had in Denver or Houston.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This delightful French restaurant has an ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

This delightful French restaurant has an amazing staff and delicious food. I took my fiancée here for her birthday, and it was a truly memorable evening. If you can, try the outdoor seating, it's truly spectacular!

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A great meal! Bistro Vendome is set in ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

A great meal! Bistro Vendome is set in a charming bricked courtyard off a busy street, giving the simple, elegant dining room a serene air. We were greeted warmly and seated immediately in a cozy corner booth. Service was outstanding, knowledgeable and warm, with many good suggestions on food and wines. The chef started us off with a cold cauliflower and garlic soup amuse, bright and flavorful. The onion soup was termed excellent, and my salad of rustic greens and goat cheese was out of this world. A hot, crisp baguette with fresh butter rounded it nicely. We had variations on steak frites--try the Roquefort with port reduction! The meat was perfect, tender and well-sauced. Desserts were great--macarons and chocolate decadence completed a memorable feast. Try it!

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A variation on French food, not authenti ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

A variation on French food, not authentic French. Food is nice, nothing was memorable. Pleasant atmosphere, pleasant service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

My husband and I went to Bistro Vendome ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

My husband and I went to Bistro Vendome for our anniversary. He loved the sea bass. I enjoyed the pork medallion which were soaked in brine. Fresh cherries were a delicious, surprising addition. The cauliflower salad was also unique. Loved the capers! I am gluten intolerant so could not have the gazpacho. I wish I would of asked it there was an alternative. I suggest asking when seated. The courtyard is a magical place--the sun sat and the lighting was very romantic. Make reservations a few days ahead for special occasions!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Our waitress was super - We loved our ta ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Our waitress was super - We loved our table for two #33.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The outdoor setting - beautiful. The foo ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

The outdoor setting - beautiful.

The food - delish.

The service - spot on.

The atmosphere - we were mystified by the fact that the music playing was mainstream pop. Did not fit any of the above. One would expect that charming, romantic french music which would have made the whold experience exponetially more charming. Somehow, expect to have the feeling we've left Denver (even for an hour) and landed in a Parisian cafe'.

Please Chef Jen... consider the music. It matters.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We had a reservation and were seated rig ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

We had a reservation and were seated right away at a very romantic corner table. The waiter was beyond excellent and made wonderful wine recommendations. The food was amazing! It was a very enjoyable dinner - we would definitely dine there again!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It is always our place to go for brunch/ ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

It is always our place to go for brunch/lunch before going to the theatre. Love the food and the whole experience. We always have Kir Royal and the French pastries. Wonderful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

We picked Bistro Vendome for our Oen Tab ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

We picked Bistro Vendome for our Oen Table points. Instead of trying to come down for Denver we decided to do Saturday Brunch. They have a beautiful, cozy courtyard patio Which was a lovely place to spend a Saturday.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.