About Bistro Vendome

1420 Larimer Street
Denver, CO 80202
View Larger Map

Bistro Vendome, designed to evoke the look and feel of a long-established, family-owned bistro plucked from a Parisian street corner, features a carefully crafted menu that contains a wealth of French flavors served in a comfortable and charming environment. Brought to you by the owners of nearby Rioja, Bistro Vendome is based a foundation of classical French with a lighter and more contemporary influence. This heartwarming bistro fare pairs well with the full service bar with more than 65 selections of French wine representing all regions of France. Every detail of the food, service and atmosphere guarantees a unique and authentic French dining experience.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:
Brunch Saturday-Sunday: 10:00am-2:00pm Dinner Monday-Thursday: 5:00pm-10:00pm Dinner Friday-Saturday: 5:00pm-11:00pm Dinner Sunday: 5:00pm-9:00pm

Cross Street:
14th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(303) 825-3232

Website:
http://www.bistrovendome.com/

Executive Chef:
Jennifer Jasinski

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Croque Vendome - Bistro Vendome, Denver, CO
Mussels - Bistro Vendome, Denver, CO
steak tartare - Bistro Vendome, Denver, CO
Eggs Benedict - Bistro Vendome, Denver, CO
Vidal Fleury Cotes Du Rhones - Bistro Vendome, Denver, CO
Amuse Bouche - Bistro Vendome, Denver, CO
Pain Perdu - Bistro Vendome, Denver, CO
Chicken Roulade - Bistro Vendome, Denver, CO
Beet Salad - Bistro Vendome, Denver, CO
Duck - Bistro Vendome, Denver, CO
Lobster Special - Bistro Vendome, Denver, CO
charcuterie - Bistro Vendome, Denver, CO
Omelette a la Truite Fumee - Bistro Vendome, Denver, CO
Crepe du Jour - Bistro Vendome, Denver, CO
Gaufre Maison - Bistro Vendome, Denver, CO
Crème Brulée / Sorbet Trio - Bistro Vendome, Denver, CO
Pommes Frites - Bistro Vendome, Denver, CO
Pear Tart - Bistro Vendome, Denver, CO
Blood Orange Crepes - Bistro Vendome, Denver, CO
Kir Royal - Bistro Vendome, Denver, CO
Rabbit Leg - Bistro Vendome, Denver, CO
Scallops with Risotto - Bistro Vendome, Denver, CO
Escargot - Bistro Vendome, Denver, CO
Chocolate Velvet Tart - Bistro Vendome, Denver, CO
plateau de fromages - Bistro Vendome, Denver, CO
Salade Campagnarde - Bistro Vendome, Denver, CO
Culotte D'agneau - Bistro Vendome, Denver, CO
Spaetzle With Spagetti Squash - Bistro Vendome, Denver, CO
Steak Frites - Bistro Vendome, Denver, CO
Blueberry Lavender Napoleon - Bistro Vendome, Denver, CO
Elk Bourguignon - Bistro Vendome, Denver, CO
Trout - Bistro Vendome, Denver, CO

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Private parties from 12-60 guests Perfect for weddings and receptions. State-of-the-art audiovisual including projector, monitor, screens

Bistro Vendome Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (83)
Special Occasion (80)
Romantic (79)
See All
Fit for Foodies (76)
Good for Anniversaries (61)
Pre/post Theatre (53)
Cozy (49)
Authentic (48)
Great for Outdoor Dining (47)
Good for Birthdays (43)
Quiet Conversation (42)
Notable Wine List (41)
Creative Cuisine (40)
Great for Brunch (35)
Neighborhood Gem (31)
Worth the Drive (28)
Casual (21)
Sunday Lunch (19)
Handcrafted Cocktails (17)
Business Meals (16)
Outstanding Value (14)
Good for Groups (13)
Fun (12)
Bar Seating (11)
Seasonal (11)
Great for Lunch (10)
Comfort Food (10)
Historic (9)
Local Ingredients (9)
Happy Hour (8)
Hot Spot (7)
Molecular Gastronomy (7)
Late-night Find (6)
Afternoon Coffee (6)
Scenic View (6)
Modern Decor (5)
Private Room (5)
Afternoon Tea (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Tasting Menu (4)
Healthy (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Organic (4)
People Watching (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Great Beer (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Family Style (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
4350 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Very quality meal and great experience. ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 2 days ago

Very quality meal and great experience. This is the best French meal we've had in Denver.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Authentic, Seasonal, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Organic, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The Bistro has recently upped their game ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined 3 days ago

The Bistro has recently upped their game with a menu and delivery that should put them back in the Denver top 25.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our first French restaurant couldn't hav ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined 3 days ago

Our first French restaurant couldn't have picked a better choice. The service, food and ambience were perfect. We will definitely be back!

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bistro Vendome never disappoints. One of ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined 3 days ago

Bistro Vendome never disappoints. One of my favorite restaurants!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Afternoon Coffee, Neighborhood Gem, Afternoon Tea, Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We love French food and no one makes it ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined 4 days ago

We love French food and no one makes it anymore. We were able to order old favorites and really enjoyed it. They weren't outstanding but the food was very good and we would go again

Tags: Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Great food and great service. They seem ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined 5 days ago

Great food and great service. They seem to really care about our experience and even though I rarely ask for the manager to complement my server and the restaurant after dinner that's exactly what I did here.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Outstanding service, great wines by the ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined 5 days ago

Outstanding service, great wines by the glass, and wonderful food. They went out of their way to adjust to my food allergies.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Been going to Bistro Vendome for almost ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Been going to Bistro Vendome for almost 10 years for brunch or dinner. Always good. Sometimes great! Been to France 4 times and the ambience is very authentic. Weather permitting, outdoor seating is pleasant.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Good for a Date, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

My wife and I arrived a few minutes earl ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 7, 2017

My wife and I arrived a few minutes early, and as we were seated, we requested a quiet table, my wife and friend have hearing challenges, so we were graciously placed in a separate dining room. One of our challenges is finding a restaurant that respects our hearing needs. We appreciated the extra attention from our wait staff in accommodating us.

The brunch menu was great, a delightful selection, and the meal we were served was outstanding! Thanks to the wait staff and the chef, great work!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really enjoyed our anniversary dinner ou ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Really enjoyed our anniversary dinner out, they made it very special! Service was fantastic, food was exceptional and really enjoyed the ambience and the overall feel of the restaurant. The only negative here in my mind is the wine list and the knowledge the staff had around the wine. If you are a wine lover, you may be a bit disappointed but otherwise fantastic restaurant, willl be back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Terrific change of pace for us! We woul ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Terrific change of pace for us! We would not normally consider a French restaurant, but we'll definitely be back to this one! All of our food was exquisite, and was only exceeded by the outstanding, top-notch service we got from our server, Matt! Their specialty is Steak Frites which was perfect IMO. Fresh fish dishes look and smell great and will likely be our choice next time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Everything we ordered tasted better than ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Everything we ordered tasted better than we were prepared for. The gnocchis easily made it into the top five best foods I have eaten in my 24 year old life. The steak frites was delicious but the pepper flavor was a tiny bit strong. Overall though it was absolutely worth the price.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Disabled Access, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, , Romantic, Fun, Special Occasion, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Escargot, yum. Steak Frits, yum. All sai ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Escargot, yum. Steak Frits, yum. All said and done this is a fantastic place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My boyfriend and I went for New Year's E ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 1, 2017

My boyfriend and I went for New Year's Eve, and while we had to wait 30 minutes after our reservation was scheduled, once we were seated we had a divine time. The wine and food were phenomenal, from the cheeses to the main courses. The ambiance is beyond perfect for us: it was intimate and romantic, while maintaining a contemporary feel that can speak to all age ranges. Overall, it was a wonderful experience, and I will absolutely be returning in the future.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Private Room, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Fun, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Always a treat esp for special occasion ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Always a treat esp for special occasion Love the location ...close to DCPA and Lamimer St

Tags: Historic, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was great but our server was ou ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The food was great but our server was outstanding. He was a real pro and made the experience all the better. We were able to get a full dinner in before the Symphony and it was easy walking distance. I really recommend Bistro Vendome.

Tags: Healthy, , Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

We went with friends for brunch. Three ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We went with friends for brunch. Three of us ordered the croque monsieur which was very good. I would have put a little more béchamel sauce on it and I am sure they would have brought some, if we had asked. We also ordered the French pastries which were very good. French Press coffee is always better than others. Service was attentive and perfect. All in all, it was a very pleasant time.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

My friend and I always go to Bistro Vend ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 31, 2016

My friend and I always go to Bistro Vendome before going to a matinee at The Buell Theatre. We love to have a Kir Royale and share the pastries before getting our lunch.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food and very nice ambiance, but t ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Great food and very nice ambiance, but the service was so-so. Not super friendly and kind of hurried us through ordering. I'll try it again, maybe for dinner next time instead of brunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

have eaten here many times and loved bru ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 31, 2016

have eaten here many times and loved brunch. however i think they have a different chef on dec 31. the eggs benedict were dry...not much hollandaise. the croque monsier a bit dry too. the dessert was good and fr. onion soup good, but the usual sparkling quality that i am used to from vendome was missing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

Went for brunch based on reviews. Great ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Went for brunch based on reviews. Great atmosphere. Charcuterie was great, so was the service . Everything else was allright. Croque Monsier was too dry.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

The food was little short of stunning. l ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on December 30, 2016

The food was little short of stunning. long pauses to savor and appreciate each bite and constituent part. Service was also excellent. I recommend the charcuterie plate. The Quail was superb. At $75 each for apps, entrée, desert and drinks for this level is a good value. When we want to impress, we will have no hesitation returning with fellow foodies.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We went back to Bistro Vendome for a dua ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on December 30, 2016

We went back to Bistro Vendome for a dual celebration: the birthday of one daughter and the recent marriage of the other. They treated us like royalty, making certain that the dinner was a special occasion. We had a variety of appetizers and main courses; all were fantastic. Everyone was quite pleased. The staff treated us to dessert . We had a leisurely three-hour meal and never had to ask for anything. Glasses were always filled. Courses were well-timed. It was a memorable evening and we will certainly return again.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always, Bistro Vendome never disappoi ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 28, 2016

As always, Bistro Vendome never disappoints. Have been here at least a dozen times and it is absolute favorite Denver restaurant. Whether dinner on a special occasion or Sunday Brunch, it is an authentic French menu, and superb wait staff who know the details of what will arrive on your plate down to the smallest detail.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Molecular Gastronomy, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was average; noise level was a litt ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Food was average; noise level was a little high, although nothing like many restaurants these days. Service was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

This is one of our favorite restaurants ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 27, 2016

This is one of our favorite restaurants to visit when in Denver. Food and ambiance was great as usual. The service very attentive. The negative for this visit, we had a 7:15 pm reservation and had to wait 45 minutes for our table, due to a very, very chatty family who just sat after paying their bill. We were offered a table in the entry way, but declined due to it being cold. We were given free desserts to compensate for our long wait, which I appreciated. I always recommend Bistro Venedome to friends headed to Denver, and will continue to do so.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent food. Good wine selection, al ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Excellent food. Good wine selection, although very expensive markups on wine. However, and I think this is important, we were overcharged on two items--an $8 salad was charged at $10, and a $10 salad was charged at $17. I pointed it out and was told it was a computer error--no apology, although the bill was corrected. SO--don't leave without checking your bill against the menu prices.

Tags: Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Service was friendly and knowledgeable. ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Service was friendly and knowledgeable. Food was very good, best quail that I have had. Very good wine selections

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

christmas eve at vendome was perfect! th ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 25, 2016

christmas eve at vendome was perfect! the gnocchi were delicious and the service, superb. we always eat at vendome when we're in denver. thank you for a wonderful meal.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server was so on point with suggesti ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Our server was so on point with suggestions and understood exactly what we were looking for. From food to wine he made all the right choices for us. Incredible night!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service this time through (service ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Great service this time through (service is normally well above par, but tonight it was particularly excellent).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We enjoyed a wonderful meal. A great pla ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 23, 2016

We enjoyed a wonderful meal. A great place to gather with family and friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The first time we visited Bistro Vendome ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on December 23, 2016

The first time we visited Bistro Vendome it was around Christmas and besides the expertly prepared French cuisine, we very much enjoyed the holiday ambiance. There were multi-generational families enjoying a special holiday outing and little would-be ballerinas being treated to a special dinner before going to see a performance of The Nutcracker. We enjoyed it so much that we did it again the following December and then again the one after that, and the one after that, and . . .you get the idea. Such 'traditions' run the risk of disappointing due to inflated, nostalgia influenced expectations, but that has never been a problem for us at Bistro Vendome. The fare is consistently delicious, the service is impeccable, and the experience remains one of the things we look forward to every year's end.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

47 wedding anniversary

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 21, 2016

47 wedding anniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

While the french onion soup was very nic ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 19, 2016

While the french onion soup was very nice the steak could have been better. Was a little chewy. I ordered the rochefort steak frites and while the frites were very good (as always) the steak came out with a huge pile of cheese on top, not in the least bit melted. Very unappealing to look at and not very tasty. I expected more of a slightly melted cheese (not sauce since it comes with a burgundy sauce) but not just a pile of mush on top of the steak. Creme Brûlée for dessert and actually it was not that great either. A bit too runny, not quite set. This was a birthday dinner so we expected great things, and we've been here before. We may not come back because I don't think it was the best value for our money and time.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Simply lovely in every way. A true favor ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Simply lovely in every way. A true favorite and I will keep gong back!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful meal. Well priced. Plan on r ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Wonderful meal. Well priced. Plan on returning. Matt was great.

Tags: Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been here before and we continue ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 17, 2016

We have been here before and we continue to have a great meal and experience. We look forward to come return soon.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding !

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Outstanding !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Bistro Vendome is a place we always enjo ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Bistro Vendome is a place we always enjoy when celebrating anything! We have enjoyed many glasses of sparkling rose and appetizers in their intimate bar, and when we have elected to take it up a notch, the dining room is lovely. We recently celebrated my husband's birthday and the wine, food and service were absolutely perfect.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.