About Bistro Vendome

1420 Larimer Street
Denver, CO 80202
View Larger Map

Bistro Vendome, designed to evoke the look and feel of a long-established, family-owned bistro plucked from a Parisian street corner, features a carefully crafted menu that contains a wealth of French flavors served in a comfortable and charming environment. Brought to you by the owners of nearby Rioja, Bistro Vendome is based a foundation of classical French with a lighter and more contemporary influence. This heartwarming bistro fare pairs well with the full service bar with more than 65 selections of French wine representing all regions of France. Every detail of the food, service and atmosphere guarantees a unique and authentic French dining experience.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:
Brunch Saturday-Sunday: 10:00am-2:00pm Dinner Monday-Thursday: 5:00pm-10:00pm Dinner Friday-Saturday: 5:00pm-11:00pm Dinner Sunday: 5:00pm-9:00pm

Cross Street:
14th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(303) 825-3232

Website:
http://www.bistrovendome.com/

Executive Chef:
Jennifer Jasinski

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Bistro Vendome, Denver, CO
Bistro Vendome, Denver, CO
Bistro Vendome, Denver, CO
Bistro Vendome, Denver, CO
Bistro Vendome, Denver, CO
Bistro Vendome, Denver, CO
Croque Vendome - Bistro Vendome, Denver, CO
Mussels - Bistro Vendome, Denver, CO
steak tartare - Bistro Vendome, Denver, CO
Eggs Benedict - Bistro Vendome, Denver, CO
Vidal Fleury Cotes Du Rhones - Bistro Vendome, Denver, CO
Amuse Bouche - Bistro Vendome, Denver, CO
Pain Perdu - Bistro Vendome, Denver, CO
Chicken Roulade - Bistro Vendome, Denver, CO
Beet Salad - Bistro Vendome, Denver, CO
Duck - Bistro Vendome, Denver, CO
Lobster Special - Bistro Vendome, Denver, CO
charcuterie - Bistro Vendome, Denver, CO
Omelette a la Truite Fumee - Bistro Vendome, Denver, CO
Crepe du Jour - Bistro Vendome, Denver, CO
Gaufre Maison - Bistro Vendome, Denver, CO
Crème Brulée / Sorbet Trio - Bistro Vendome, Denver, CO
Pommes Frites - Bistro Vendome, Denver, CO
Pear Tart - Bistro Vendome, Denver, CO
Blood Orange Crepes - Bistro Vendome, Denver, CO
Kir Royal - Bistro Vendome, Denver, CO
Rabbit Leg - Bistro Vendome, Denver, CO
Scallops with Risotto - Bistro Vendome, Denver, CO
Escargot - Bistro Vendome, Denver, CO
Chocolate Velvet Tart - Bistro Vendome, Denver, CO
plateau de fromages - Bistro Vendome, Denver, CO
Salade Campagnarde - Bistro Vendome, Denver, CO
Culotte D'agneau - Bistro Vendome, Denver, CO
Spaetzle With Spagetti Squash - Bistro Vendome, Denver, CO
Steak Frites - Bistro Vendome, Denver, CO
Blueberry Lavender Napoleon - Bistro Vendome, Denver, CO
Elk Bourguignon - Bistro Vendome, Denver, CO
Trout - Bistro Vendome, Denver, CO

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Private parties from 12-60 guests Perfect for weddings and receptions. State-of-the-art audiovisual including projector, monitor, screens

Bistro Vendome Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

French
Denver / Colorado
Best Restaurants in Downtown / LoDo ›

Fit for Foodies (83)
Special Occasion (82)
Romantic (79)
See All
Good for a Date (79)
Great for Outdoor Dining (68)
Good for Anniversaries (68)
Pre/post Theatre (56)
Authentic (48)
Cozy (44)
Good for Birthdays (43)
Neighborhood Gem (42)
Notable Wine List (42)
Creative Cuisine (41)
Quiet Conversation (41)
Great for Brunch (33)
Worth the Drive (29)
Casual (26)
Business Meals (18)
Handcrafted Cocktails (16)
Sunday Lunch (16)
Fun (16)
Good for Groups (12)
Seasonal (12)
Great for Lunch (12)
Historic (11)
Bar Seating (11)
Comfort Food (11)
Local Ingredients (11)
Hot Spot (10)
Outstanding Value (10)
Happy Hour (9)
People Watching (8)
Late-night Find (8)
Scenic View (8)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Molecular Gastronomy (5)
Afternoon Coffee (5)
Private Room (5)
Healthy (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Organic (3)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Wood Oven (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Great Beer (1)
Family Style (1)
Sort By:
S
4082 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I come here ever year for my birthday. I ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined 5 days ago

I come here ever year for my birthday. I love the atmosphere, food, service and the personal touch that goes into everything that is done here. You can really taste the passion that is cooked into the food. The servers even signed a birthday card for me ! Love love love this place ! Thank you to all who put such thought and love into their job. Most of the time it's the small things that make the most impact on an experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bistro Vendome is always a pleasurable e ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined 6 days ago

Bistro Vendome is always a pleasurable experience. I've been coming here off and on for four years, and I'm never disappointed. The food was fabulous, I wish we could have stayed for dessert!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Disabled Access, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome place for a great meal with frie ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Awesome place for a great meal with friends. Excellent food and drink menu with great service. Ambiance was very good and made for a very enjoyable evening. I would highly recommend Bistro Vendome as choice for dinner.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was good but portions were on the s ...

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Food was good but portions were on the small size. Waitresses were very nice but Maitre d was quite unaccommodating

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value1

We dined there on tuesday night. The res ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 30, 2016

We dined there on tuesday night. The restaurant has such a warm feel on such a cold night. Th e server Shelby was great with suggestions on food and wine. The onion soup is delicious and the steak frite with bernaise was so good I wish it wouldnt end.

Overall a wonderful evening .

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My mom and I love the menu for Sunday br ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 27, 2016

My mom and I love the menu for Sunday brunch.. our sweet potatoe quiche was great and

the muchroom/goat cheese crepes were great!!

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was outstanding! Service was excell ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Food was outstanding! Service was excellent! and atmosphere was wonderful. First time to this restaurant and will not be our last! I had the special of the night, Duck. My husband had the whole fish, both of which were amazing! such great flavor!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a wonderful time. Enjoyed my steak w ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Had a wonderful time. Enjoyed my steak with bearnaise sauce! Thank-you

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My friend and I had a great dinner and t ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 20, 2016

My friend and I had a great dinner and the whole dining experience was so fun!

We ended up with the Larimer Square "Hipster Santa" as our waiter, and he was great at his job and fun and accommodating to our request!

I'd highly recommend this restaurant for a excellent dinner in a great atmosphere.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Molecular Gastronomy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We had a lovely dinner and drinks. Just ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on November 20, 2016

We had a lovely dinner and drinks. Just the right food and reminded us us country inn in France.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

All I can say is WOW. The 3 of us each g ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 19, 2016

All I can say is WOW. The 3 of us each got a different menu item because we couldn't choose - and so we all tried each other's...My one friend got the quiche (spinach florentine & it was super tasty!!), I got the benedict (FREAKING AMAZING) & their french toast (pain somethin') is unreal. We also had french press coffee which was a great treat, AND I had a bloody mary. All of this and the bill was like $65...clearly brunch is the way to go for this place. Yum yum yum!!!!

Oh, and it was my friend's birthday and they gave her a coupon for a free dessert and glass of wine - how nice! <3 <3

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Historic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved it!!!

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Loved it!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We went for the Beaujolais dinner. Wife ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on November 18, 2016

We went for the Beaujolais dinner. Wife isn't a meat eater, except duck, so it was perfect. We had one of everything and shared. The servers were remarkably attentive-best we've seen in Denver. Heavier curtains for winter might be nice-tables for two can be chilly if you don't plan ahead.

Tags: Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This is one of my favorite restaurants i ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 18, 2016

This is one of my favorite restaurants in all of Denver. They have great food and are always changing/updating the menu. They also have an extensive wine list (more limited on the beer selection). Really cool atmosphere that is great for B-day's, business, dates, etc.

Tags: Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We wanted a special place for a special ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 17, 2016

We wanted a special place for a special birthday celebration and were very happy with our choice of Bistro Vendome. The service was attentive without being intrusive, the different courses were all excellent - the quail was a first for us - and we topped it off with a delightful, and sinful, chocolate desert! Will definitely return.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It is my first time to Bistro Vendome an ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on November 17, 2016

It is my first time to Bistro Vendome and I found that it lived up to the positive recommendations of friends and family that have been there before. Quiet, off-street location, combined with small French Cafe ambiance, and outside patio when the weather allows. Very nice for special occasions or romantic dates, or fine for small business dinner as well. Great place and I recommend.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

The varied menu drew us in to the restau ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 15, 2016

The varied menu drew us in to the restaurant. We were not disappointed. The items on the menu were delicious, and the off-menu chicken special was fantastic. The service was attentive without being obtrusive. The wine choices were great complements to the food. It was good stuff.

Tags: Casual, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Fun, Authentic, Business Meals, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

We had the chef's special for the night. ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 15, 2016

We had the chef's special for the night...absolutely the best chicken dish I've ever tasted! I wish they would put it on the menu as a regular item.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had Sunday brunch before seeing Jerse ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 13, 2016

We had Sunday brunch before seeing Jersey Boys at the theater. I had a Crôque Madame which was flavorful and similar to France. Others had quiche and the mussels. All of it was good. The only negative was that my husband is a celiac and they were aware of this, but still brought his mussels with two beautifully toasted pieces of bread on the top. He had to send it back. The ambiance is wonderful here, but outside dining is quieter.

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Outstanding Value, Afternoon Coffee, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The eggs Benedict with duck confit were ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 13, 2016

The eggs Benedict with duck confit were fantastic. Our waitress didn't tell about any specials and we only heard about them after ordering when the server at the table next to us explained the different options so that was disappointing. However I would definitely eat here again as the food was so good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

Really good food! Did I mention, Really ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Really good food! Did I mention, Really Good Food! Great menu, lots of options for everyone.

Our service staff was perfect. Just there when we needed them. Always. But no 'dropping by' asking "How is everything tasting?" Duh...

Great coffee and deserts.

Have never been disappointed. All my guests have been full of praise.

Bill W

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was very good, with a nice vari ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 13, 2016

The food was very good, with a nice variety of options. The service was friendly and attentive, without being intrusive or disruptive to the meal. While the reviews I read suggested it was a good place for a romantic dinner, that wasn't the case at all. It was somewhat loud and energetic, making it great for a group of people, but not so good for a couple.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Waited 30 minutes to be seated for our O ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Waited 30 minutes to be seated for our Open Table reservation. The quarters are cramped, service fair. The food was good, but nothing exceptional. Plenty of good choices just steps away.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

I had a fabulous brunch experience here ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on November 13, 2016

I had a fabulous brunch experience here recently, but on this night when I returned to Bistro Vendome with my wife things weren't as special. There was an air of pretense with the staff-begrudgingly answering questions about the location and menu-that made the evening uncomfortable, and our meals were good, but not what we've come to expect from the stable of Jennifer Jasinski run establishments.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

My 12-year-old "foodie" wanted desperate ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 12, 2016

My 12-year-old "foodie" wanted desperately to eat at a great French restaurant for her birthday. Bistro Vendome certainly did not disappoint! Impeccable service, authentic French menu, in a beautiful, cozy setting. The food was truly amazing, but what makes it stand out even further was the attentive staff. They seemed a little amused that a 12-year-old would choose Bistro Vendome as their birthday dinner spot, but when she ordered escargot and steak tartare, they understood that this wasn't exactly your average preteen. They brought her a "mocktail" and comped dessert. We'll definitely return! A perfect evening!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Happy Hour, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The Bistro was as good as ever! Couldn't ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 12, 2016

The Bistro was as good as ever! Couldn't have enjoyed it more and the food was excellent!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Casual, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We stopped in here for a Veterans Day ge ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 12, 2016

We stopped in here for a Veterans Day getaway trip. We brought along some friends who were in the neighborhood. Our friends took longer than we estimated they would, so we enjoyed a cocktail in the bar area. Once our friends arrived we were seated within a few minutes. We ordered escargot, steak tartare, and chicken liver mousse, and there was nothing left after the 4 of us dug in. Good service, seating is cozy, prices are reasonable for fancy fare.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

This has been a favorite restaurant of o ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 12, 2016

This has been a favorite restaurant of ours for years! Every time it just gets more exquisite!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Authentic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Comfort Food, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was outstanding, the food was spot on ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 10, 2016

It was outstanding, the food was spot on, drinks were well crafted and the service was great. I highly recommend to anyone looking for a great night out!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Consistently good. One of the few place ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Consistently good. One of the few places in Denver for good French food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

The Caille Rôtie and Steak Au Poivre wer ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 8, 2016

The Caille Rôtie and Steak Au Poivre were a great save to lackluster service initiated by a 5 minute wait after seating to be greeted.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2

Oh my, where do I start. The food was fa ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Oh my, where do I start. The food was fantastic and the value was amazing. We had the escargot, the charcuterrie plate, friend had the whole seabass (which was amazing and she ate the entire thing), I had the pork sausage stuffed quail (to die for) and my other friend had the pork chops. Now my description is nothing like the menu, which is just perfect. I loved the ambience, we were there for a just a girls night dinner. Oh, and desert. Let's put it this way, we each ordered our own and did not share one bite! I had the crème brulee, my friend had the lemon tart (beautiful presentation) and my other friend had the macaroons. I just loved every single bite, and the wine was fantastic. The service was amazing, and we were able to chat, drink and eat without ever feeling rushed.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Late-night Find, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Outstanding Value, Romantic, Special Occasion, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Pork chop was amazing. Want to go back a ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Pork chop was amazing. Want to go back and try the steak. Im always disappointed when nice restaurants don't keep a couple kegs on hand. So only bottled beer. To there credit they did have some interesting craft choices. Wait staff was great, attentive and knew the many personally. Atmosphere feels historic, clean and vibrant.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Nothing 'wow' about this place. The food ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Nothing 'wow' about this place. The food was just ok- drinks were meh - and atmosphere was too bright and loud. Wanted to try this place for a while, I'm bummed it didn't meet expectations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4

This is one of our goto places. The food ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 2, 2016

This is one of our goto places. The food,service and wine are all top notice! You feel as if you have walked into a neighborhood French bistro.

Tags: Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Many visits to Sister restaurant Rioja a ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Many visits to Sister restaurant Rioja across the street and because that one is so good, never wanted to venture beyond. My mistake! Totally different cuisine but everything else, food, quality, service, ambiance and value-for-money is just as good (or better). Only problem is making the choice in the future (or that of the other 2 restaurants associated with these).

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We just visited Paris a few weeks ago an ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 2, 2016

We just visited Paris a few weeks ago and the meal at Bistro Vendome was as good or better than two fabulous dinners we had had in Paris. The trout was excellent as was the wine by the glass.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The pork chop was excellent, as was the ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on November 2, 2016

The pork chop was excellent, as was the steak. However, the 'frites' were way too sugary. Not sure if it possible to get them plain, but next time we will ask.

Tags: Casual, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

We sat outside, in love, under the white ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 2, 2016

We sat outside, in love, under the white lights and starlight.

Rob was the best waiter I've had in years. Calm, gave us space- great with recommendations (which we listened to) and he cared. His arm tatts are so Denver too which I loved because I love Denver- which is why I live here.

The food was melt-in-your mouth good. We got the quail and rainbow trout. The wine pairing that Rob recommended for us was divine.

Expensive- worth every penny.

Tags: Romantic, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very well done. Great staff and wonderfu ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 1, 2016

Very well done. Great staff and wonderful food.... got to order the fries

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.