Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.28mi
  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.28mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.28mi
  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.28mi

About Bistro Two Eighteen

Welcome to Bistro 218
Nestled in the heart of Downtown Birmingham’s Financial and Theater District, Bistro 218 features side by side dining concepts.

Guests can enjoy a glass of wine or craft cocktail in our upscale casual bar room and indulge in a full bar menu under or proceed through the French doors into the main dining room and take pleasure in French classics paired with seasonally procured wines and local craft beers. Reservations are available in either room.

Ever changing menus are seasonal, with Gulf Coast influences and feature local foragers and farms supplying the best Alabama has to offer.

Bistro 218 honors the traditions of French bistros with minimalist decor in a historical setting. Dark Brazilian mahogany, high ceilings and exposed brick adorned with local art emanate a comforting yet elegant atmosphere that is perfect for a romantic dinner, a pre-theater meal or a relaxing night out.

218 20th St. North
Birmingham, AL 35203
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:


Lunch:

Tuesday - Friday 11:00am - 2:00pm


Dinner:

Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm


Closed Sundays & Mondays

Cross Street:
2nd Ave. N.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(205) 983-7999

Website:
http://bistro218.com/

Parking Details:
Curbside Valet Parking Starting at 5pm

Executive Chef:
Tom Saab

Private Party Contact:
Tom Saab: (205) 983-7999

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Bistro Two Eighteen Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (35)
Good for a Date (30)
Good for Anniversaries (25)
See All
Romantic (23)
Fit for Foodies (22)
Pre/post Theatre (19)
Quiet Conversation (19)
Good for Birthdays (17)
Worth the Drive (16)
Cozy (16)
Creative Cuisine (15)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Bar Seating (14)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Notable Wine List (11)
Business Meals (11)
Historic (10)
Local Ingredients (8)
Authentic (7)
Fun (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Casual (5)
Great for Lunch (4)
Outstanding Value (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Healthy (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Seasonal (2)
Organic (1)
People Watching (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Great Beer (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
S
285 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined 3 days ago

The duck confit was one of the best entrees I've had in a while- really good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Veal chop was perfect and the redfish was perfectly cooked. Love this place!!

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Food was ok. Bone found in my fish didn't help anything. Portion size was the best thing I could say.

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Perfect ambiance and food!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Outstanding place to dine. Service was exceptional, and the food was fantastic. Perfect place for a special night out.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 15, 2017

food was great ..however the alcohol is over priced other than that it is a great i will
go back but will just order water

Tags: Authentic, Disabled Access, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Absolutely fabulous evening! Great service as we sat at a sidewalk table on a wonderful night, chatting with friends who happened by on a great evening for a walk downtown. A splendid meal of fresh caught seafood was our choice for all, and it was perfect. One of those places that you hope will continually do well (they recently expanded their space), but doesn't ever get so crowded that its regulars can't get in.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Historic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 14, 2017

This place continues to not let us down. Their cocktails are consistent and very well balanced. Their portions are such that you can enjoy an app, dinner and dessert and not leave filling 'too full'. The service staff is professional without sacrificing personality.

Tags: Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Delicious food!! Staff very accommodating since I inadvertently made my reservation on the wrong day. They seated us immediately and it was wonderful.

Tags: Historic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Bistro 218 is GREAT for food, service and atmosphere with a relatively low noise level.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Our new favorite restaurant in downtown Birmingham. Food was great. Service was great and all the employees were amazing. They knew we were going to the theatre and made sure we were out in plenty of time without rushing us. Great below the radar place.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 8, 2017

We had excellent food and drinks on this visit much like we have had in the past visits to 218. On this visit we were on a tight time schedule. The server did an outstanding job of serving the meal quickly without making it feel rushed.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 8, 2017

The food was great as always. If you have the opportunity you must try the crab cakes they are amazing

Tags: Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 7, 2017

We made this reservation to celebrate our wedding anniversary. As always, the food was fantastic! We were given "the best seat in the house" and Chef Tom made a point to come by our table to check on us and extend best wishes. What a wonderful experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 7, 2017

It was fantastic! Really enjoyed the experience. I will definitely go back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 7, 2017

This was our second visit to Bistro Two Eighteen and we will be back. Excellent food and service. Love the music and the ambiance. Friendly staff and a wonderful chef!

Tags: Healthy, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Disabled Access, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Historic, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 5, 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed our dinner at Bistro 218. Gumbo is really good. Service was very good. And it's quiet enough to have a conversation!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Tim the bartender from Albany was great and the staff were all wonderful. Living in New York and visiting family and friends - it was great to know Birmingham now offers such nice cuisine in a trendy Portland style environment with good price for the service, style and food. I will definitely be back every trip to Birmingham and all of my family and friends in Here will frequent this establishment!!! Can't wait for my next meal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Have eaten at Bistro several times - everything always perfect! Service, ambiance, food, cocktails.....this is now our favorite Birmingham restaurant.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Had a nice time! This was our second visit! Food was good and not too pricey. Service was good. We will go back!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 22, 2017

What a great place to make an already special occasion (our anniversary) that much better! The proof is in the details which were plentiful. From the first moment upon entering the restaurant, we were treated like royalty with personal well wishes and greetings from the entire staff, including the chef! A special table had been selected for us in just the right spot, and, never did we open a door. Did I mention the food was incredible? The menu is small, but not too small, and each of our dishes were plated with creative zeal. We traveled from Montgomery, and we will be back!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on March 19, 2017

We had the most incredible meal the ambiance and service were 5 star. We will back again !!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Great food and service. The duck confit and shrimp & risotto were excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Small but interesting menu. Each plate had an explosion of flavors. My favorite was the Spanish octopus (with squid ink aioli).

Valet parking was a plus as it was raining heavily & there was no where to park nearby.

The chef walked around each table to ask how everything was, I thought that was s nice touch.

They obliged when we asked if they could turn off the large indoor overhead fans as it was kind of cold inside. I imagine these would be great in the summer!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Very nice place. Simple menu but well prepared. Accommodating service. Waiter surprised us with cheesecake for dessert.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Outstanding, great experience. Wonderful, personalized service by Jennifer and even Chef Tom! Great drinks, wonderful bottle of wine and a perfectly prepared meal. It was a great birthday. This is a hidden gem in downtown Birmingham. Even the Valet Park is well done. We will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Dinner was outstanding. We started with the Pomme Frites! Huge portion - enough for four. We had the salad which was small, but delicious. For our entree, we had the blackened redfish with grits and fried okra! Come on- do I have to tell you how good that was? Server was Rolando who was excellent. Definitely coming back again SOON!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Outstanding Value, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Impressed we were seated exactly on time, but getting to the bathroom from the upper loft was a bit of a problem; it was noisier than I expected, made it difficult to have a private conversation with the next table only a foot away. Perhaps banquette type seating would be nice. And try having green peppercorns in stock..they're great on meats.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 3, 2017

A very nice meal. Scallops in front of me, my wife with her scallops & filet and grouper (I think) for both of our friends. Everyone said theirs was very good. I would make a special note of their version of a West Indies Salad. Wonderful.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 26, 2017

For our delayed Valentine's dinner, my wife and I decided to try Bistro 218, as somewhere new. A thoroughly wonderful choice.

Since, due to hearing aids, I am susceptible to background noise, I was immediately comfortable with the level of noise, a definite plus.

Seating was almost immediate, thanks to the Open Table reservation, in the upstairs dining area. A nice intimate area, with few tables.

Our server, Rolando, appeared immediately with water, and took our drink order, while we made our meal decision. Remaining attentive throughout our visit.

We chose the Fritto misto appetizer, more than enough for two. My wife chose the scallops, while I went with the bouillabaisse. Both were delicious choices that did not disappoint.

We ended the meal with creme brule, since it was light.

Altogether, an enjoyable evening, at a restaurant that we will visit again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 25, 2017

The service was great. They gave us a special table since I had specified it was my wife's birthday on OpenTable. Everyone wished her a happy birthday. They food was excellent. Highly recommended!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 19, 2017

We had eaten at Bistro 218 before...great experience so went again. This time: Food, so-so; Service, close to surly; Attention to diners, not great at all. We will not go again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Worth a second visit. It's a new restaurant and they're still getting their bearings. Service was abysmally slow, which was doubly disappointing for an anniversary meal. Food was very good -- an excellent filet mignon and top notch Old Fashioned. Notable was the number of repeat clientele whom the chef/owner and other staff seemed to know well. That says a lot.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service1
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 16, 2017

The food was great, and the ambiance even better. It's not cheap, but it is well worth it!

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Horrible service -- it was impossible to get a drink from our waiter

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value1

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The atmosphere was great the food was very good, but I thought it was expensive. $90 each for a 4 course meal was high. I would go back when there was a full menu.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Valentine's Dinner for three couples. We had a preset menu with choice of appetizer, salad or soup, entree and dessert for a set price. All choices were excellent and we thoroughly enjoyed our dinner. My only complaint would be the slow bar service. They should have anticipated more clientele for Valentine's and had more bar staff working that evening. Also needed an additional parking valet for the evening. There was only one and he was quite frazzled which was evident in his attitude.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Me and my wife went here for Valentine's Day and the fixed menu was $90 per person. With a price tag such as that you would expect to be overwhelmed with and amazing feast. We had four courses and the food was good however for the price it was very underwhelming. Too many other places to go for cheaper and better.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We went for Valentines dinner. Initially, the service was very slow and I had to ask for a waiter but apparently there was an issue in the kitchen that caused some delays so we were told. Our waitress was charming and very attentive. The food was some of the best I have had at any Birmingham restaurant and I would highly recommend this establishment to anyone.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The entire staff was very attentive to the diners needs. They were busy due to Valentine's Day but made sure everyone enjoyed the special day.

Tags: Historic, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.