Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.28mi
  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.28mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.28mi
  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.28mi

About Bistro Two Eighteen

Welcome to Bistro 218
Nestled in the heart of Downtown Birmingham’s Financial and Theater District, Bistro 218 features side by side dining concepts.

Guests can enjoy a glass of wine or craft cocktail in our upscale casual bar room and indulge in a full bar menu under or proceed through the French doors into the main dining room and take pleasure in French classics paired with seasonally procured wines and local craft beers. Reservations are available in either room.

Ever changing menus are seasonal, with Gulf Coast influences and feature local foragers and farms supplying the best Alabama has to offer.

Bistro 218 honors the traditions of French bistros with minimalist decor in a historical setting. Dark Brazilian mahogany, high ceilings and exposed brick adorned with local art emanate a comforting yet elegant atmosphere that is perfect for a romantic dinner, a pre-theater meal or a relaxing night out.

218 20th St. North
Birmingham, AL 35203
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary French, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:


Lunch:

Tuesday - Friday 11:00am - 2:00pm


Dinner:

Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm


Closed Sundays & Mondays

Cross Street:
2nd Ave. N.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(205) 983-7999

Website:
http://bistro218.com/

Parking Details:
Curbside Valet Parking Starting at 5pm

Executive Chef:
Tom Saab

Private Party Contact:
Tom Saab: (205) 983-7999

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Bistro Two Eighteen Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.5

Noise

Quiet

99% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (29)
Good for Anniversaries (28)
Good for a Date (26)
See All
Fit for Foodies (24)
Pre/post Theatre (22)
Romantic (21)
Creative Cuisine (20)
Good for Birthdays (18)
Neighborhood Gem (18)
Quiet Conversation (18)
Handcrafted Cocktails (16)
Business Meals (13)
Notable Wine List (12)
Bar Seating (11)
Cozy (11)
Local Ingredients (11)
Authentic (10)
Worth the Drive (10)
Good for Groups (8)
Fun (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Seasonal (5)
Happy Hour (4)
People Watching (4)
Healthy (4)
Organic (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Casual (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Comfort Food (1)
Great Beer (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Scenic View (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort by
S
401 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 3, 2017

Some of the best red snapper ever eaten. No loud background noise so we could actually carry on a conversation. Great waiter.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 29, 2017

Great menu which changes daily. Nice selections of wines

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 25, 2017

The best restaurant in Birmingham. French/Southern cuisine, reminded me Louisiana, very balance menu for every taste.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 21, 2017

Great food without pretension, calm atmosphere, great music, not too loud, excellent service, menu uncomplicated but interesting, bigger wine list than necessary, but bravo for Bistro 218, can't hurt to have choices.

Tags: Disabled Access, Authentic, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on November 19, 2017

The food and service are always exceptional. The atmosphere embodies the revival of downtown Birmingham. We love Bistro Two Eighteen!

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on November 19, 2017

As always the Bistro did not disappoint! We received a great table, service, and a visit from Chef Saab. The food was superb and you can walk to your show at the beautiful Alabama Theater. It was another wonderful evening at Bistro 218!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on November 18, 2017

Overall this was a terrific dining experience. The only drawback was the noise level. I'd certainly recommend it to anyone and I plan on going back!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 18, 2017

a fantasic restaurant with a terrific selection of fine seafood. their dessert menu is absolutely inspired. definitely recommend the spanish octopus, so tender and flavorful. presentation was lovely. I would have appreciated a bit more of a breakdown when the dish was delivered though. I was given a brief summary of the octopus starter, which aided in my thoughtful enjoyment of the dish. However main course was placed infront of me with not much of a word. Fantastic service overall though. I still felt thoroughly take care of inspite of that. I'll definitely be coming back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on November 18, 2017

Food was delicious and the service was exceptional. The ambience, lighting was incredible. The noise level was energetic, but that's okay. It was crowded. Overall, our experience was great. We'll be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on November 18, 2017

Literally the best duck confit you have EVER put in your mouth. The scallops were yummy too!! Great service and nice to get out of our regular list of restaurants and head downtown

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on November 18, 2017

Excellent food and service. They were attentive and had nice recommendations. The kitchen was slightly slow but they made up for to with a dessert drink. Would come again often.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on November 11, 2017

Food was excellent ! We dine here often and have always had a wonderful experience. We recommend to all of our friends - look forward to our next date night!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on November 11, 2017

Our most recent visit was my fourth to Bistro 218. Each visit has been a perfect experience. Your initial impression of the ambiance of the restaurant just stepping in the door is a telling precursor to the incredible food that is headed your way. A wait at the bar, seldom necessary since the hostess runs a tight reservation schedule is not a bother, since the bartender is pleasant, helpful, knowledgeable and crafts a delicious cocktail.
At dinner, appetizers like crab cakes, gumbo and West Indies salad make for a difficult decision. I've had them all and struggle to decide which to order each time. Our visit this time offered entrees like Louisiana redfish over McEwen grits, Duroc osso bucco, pan seared scallops, duck confit, tournedos of beef filet among others. We went with redfish, scallops and duck. Not a person was disappointed in any part of the meal. Note...the lamb...when he has it on the menu, my friend David always orders the lamb and raves over it.
Chef Saab and his staff are magicians with a sauce, and as we all know..."the secret's in the sauce" I love this restaurant and have introduced it to several of my friends, who now also love it.

Tags: Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on November 11, 2017

Excellent food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on November 4, 2017

have dined with out of state family and friends for a dozen of times and no one has ever been disappointed in the quality of food or the service. Chef Saab runs a very good "ship".

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 2, 2017

Pretentious and ungenerous. I left hungry after 3 courses, and am not usually a voracious eater. Tournedos, priced at over $30, consisted of 2 pieces of tenderloin which resembled in size a hockey puck sliced horizontally resting on potato gratin which was about half the size of the meat. We will not return. We can, however, take comfort in having acquired an extensive knowledge of our server's preferences and particular favorites.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 29, 2017

Great dinner experience. We had been planning to try 218 for a while and should have gone sooner. Great atmosphere, excellent food. My wife had the red fish over grits which was outstanding. Definitely going back.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 28, 2017

Good food in a casual athmosohere that is definitely not a good value. We booked and dined at the bar, which is what we wanted - good food in a casual athmosohere. But, we were hit with the white linen prices next door, when they clearly have a bar menu with mostly similar fare at bar prices... that was disappointing.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on October 26, 2017

Bistro 218 always delivers. Wonderful food, great atmosphere. Perfect place to dine before a show, as the staff is attentive to delivering an amazing meal while getting you out on time.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Authentic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on October 21, 2017

Very pleasant dining experience. Complimentary valet parking was very convenient. The four of us each had a different entre and each of us were pleased with our choices. My sister-in-law said she wanted a "five course meal" by ordering one of each of the desserts on the menu - it was hard to decide which one to order. The BLT salad tasted just like it's namesake sandwich without the bread. My brother-in-law had wanted the lamb, but since it was not on the menu that night, he was very satisfied with the duck. He also commented that the octopus was the best he had ever eaten. The only complaint we had for the overall evening was that because the floors were original for the building they were uneven and our chairs rocked a little bit!

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on October 21, 2017

Only ones in restaurant and very poor service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on October 21, 2017

One of Birmingham's true dining jewels. I travel all over the world and would be proud to host anyone at Bistro 218. The hospitality and service are wonderful, the food is the equal of any offered anywhere in town. Please come to Bistro 218 and support and enjoy this special place.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, People Watching, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 19, 2017

A friend was in town for business and suggested Bistro 218 based on a colleague's recommendation. Great choice. The food was very good, service excellent. We sat at the bar. The drinks were good, and the bartender was very knowledgeable about the menu. We had a wonderful time. I plan to go back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fun, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on October 15, 2017

Great ambience. Excellent service. Delicious food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on October 13, 2017

The ambience was casual and cozy. The waitress was excellent, and also happened to be the sommelier with great suggestions. We were there pre theatre, and the fixed price 3 course dinner was very reasonable, with selections off the main menu. The food was excellent. I would highly recommend.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 10, 2017

Excellent choice for business dinner. Also noticed friends and families with older children enjoying the restaurant.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on October 10, 2017

This is one of my favorite restaurants. I’ve been here 15 to 20 times, and it has never disappointed me.

Tags: Healthy, Romantic, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Fantastic as always

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on October 6, 2017

Another OUTSTANDING meal with excellent service and a personal ambiance. As a cajun whom grew up in South Louisiana and New Orleans, I love foods with origins in from there and Todd Saab provides the best of those at Bistro 218. His Gumbo is by far the best we have had in Alabama, and his blackened redfish makes that which was served at Paul Prudhomme's restaurant pale by comparison. Bistro now has a new pastry chef whose creations we had to opportunity to try at this visit, and we were very impressed. Thanks Mr. Saab for another sublime meal.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on October 6, 2017

Other than a waiter who was both weird and inattentive, it was a great dining experience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 6, 2017

Server was almost odd at times, and inept about basic things such as busing dirty dishes off the table. Owner/chef Mr. Saab was spot on, calling us by name, attentive to every detail of our table (that the server, notably, had missed).
Dessert was good, but not exceptional.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on September 29, 2017

Very good food. Great service. Overpriced. Wines are particularly pricy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on September 28, 2017

Excellent and historic building. Tall ceilings with excellent service.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 21, 2017

We were celebrating an anniversary. It was not our first visit to bistro 218. The food has never disappointed. Tonight, it was spectacular. The duck confit was the best experienced. The other entree, red fish, was excuisitely done and highly recommended. Appetizers, gumbo and West Indies salad , were up to their high standards. Service was knowledgeable and outstanding. All in all, an exceptional evening and exceptional food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on September 16, 2017

I have eaten here many times and the food is always great. Best gumbo in Birmingham

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

Cool place!
Great friito misto and crab cakes.
West Indies salad amazing!!
Risotto flavorful but undercooked, only complaint.
Would go again.

Tags: Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

We really enjoyed dining with friends- food was incredible and it was nice to see manager/chef greeting all patrons!

Love being able to book on open table, 👍

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 8, 2017

Excellent dinner and service.
It is one our favorite places to take friends for dinner.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 2, 2017

The service and food were both exceptional. The watermelon/feta salad was outstanding. There was not a weakness from soup to nuts. I would drive back to Birmingham to eat here.

Tags: Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Healthy, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Paleo Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 1, 2017

Bistro 218 was great. The food was creative and prepared in an excellent fashion. The owner/chef came out to check on us as well and make sure everything was prepared to our satisfaction. Highly recommended. We had the beef and redfish.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.