Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.28mi
  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.28mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.28mi
  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.28mi

About Bistro Two Eighteen

Welcome to Bistro 218
Nestled in the heart of Downtown Birmingham’s Financial and Theater District, Bistro 218 features side by side dining concepts.

Guests can enjoy a glass of wine or craft cocktail in our upscale casual bar room and indulge in a full bar menu under or proceed through the French doors into the main dining room and take pleasure in French classics paired with seasonally procured wines and local craft beers. Reservations are available in either room.

Ever changing menus are seasonal, with Gulf Coast influences and feature local foragers and farms supplying the best Alabama has to offer.

Bistro 218 honors the traditions of French bistros with minimalist decor in a historical setting. Dark Brazilian mahogany, high ceilings and exposed brick adorned with local art emanate a comforting yet elegant atmosphere that is perfect for a romantic dinner, a pre-theater meal or a relaxing night out.

218 20th St. North
Birmingham, AL 35203
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:


Lunch:

Tuesday - Friday 11:00am - 2:00pm


Dinner:

Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm


Closed Sundays & Mondays

Cross Street:
2nd Ave. N.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(205) 983-7999

Website:
http://bistro218.com/

Parking Details:
Curbside Valet Parking Starting at 5pm

Executive Chef:
Tom Saab

Private Party Contact:
Tom Saab: (205) 983-7999

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Bistro Two Eighteen Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.8

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (43)
Good for a Date (37)
Romantic (33)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (33)
Quiet Conversation (29)
Fit for Foodies (28)
Creative Cuisine (25)
Neighborhood Gem (22)
Handcrafted Cocktails (20)
Pre/post Theatre (18)
Cozy (17)
Bar Seating (16)
Worth the Drive (16)
Business Meals (15)
Local Ingredients (13)
Notable Wine List (12)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Authentic (10)
Good for Groups (10)
Great for Lunch (8)
Healthy (8)
Casual (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Historic (5)
Disabled Access (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Fun (3)
Seasonal (3)
People Watching (3)
Modern Decor (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Family Style (1)
Scenic View (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
319 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined 3 days ago

This was the best restaurant I've eaten at for a long time. The entire experience from appetizers to dessert was fabulous. The pork belly app was the best thing in Birmingham. The scallop dish was perfect. The waiter, Rolando I think, was perfect, as well. This is my new favorite place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined 4 days ago

The experience here was exceptional. The food was amazing.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 6 days ago

Can I give more stars than 5??! My second time at this lovely place and my second time I was blown away by the service, the food and the chef!

They made our special occasion even more special with their thoughtfulness.

The food was so creative and incredibly delicious.

I just wish I lived closer to come here more often!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Another OUTSTANDING evening at Bistro 218: After a 5 month absence due to an orthopedic procedure, we were glad to ask two couples to accompany us for a meal at Tom Saab's iconic restaurant. As in the past, we were not disappointed. The meal, from the appetizer (wild sauté hanterelles), to the salads (watermelon salad and the Bistro salad, my wife's favorite), to the entrees (duck confit, steak tornados au poive, and the best fresh blackened redfish this native of Louisiana has ever had), was sublime. Our server, Tracy, was outstanding as usual. Our thanks to Mr. Saab and his outstanding staff for another memorable evening.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good Vegetarian Options, Vibrant Bar Scene, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, People Watching, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 18, 2017

May be the best kept secret in Birmingham. The staff is always attentive. Tom, the chef, is available to meet the diners and talk with them. The Duck Confit is the best that I have every had, anywhere. Look for Bistro 218 to soon be ranked as one of the best in Birmingham.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Excellent. We will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Great pork belly appetizer- one of the best I've had. Black grouper also delicious.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on June 10, 2017

My husband and I traveled to Birmingham, AL for our anniversary. I selected Bistro 218 for our anniversary dinner. Anna Claire greeted us and wished us a Happy Anniversary, took us to the best table in the house upstairs, and chatted wth us for a few minutes about the Birmingham area. There was a nice anniversary message waiting for us on the table. Our server, Tracey, brought us flutes of complimentary sparkling wine for a toast. A little later, Chef Tom stopped by to introduce himself and chat. Delivery of food was perfectly timed and the service could not have been better. My husband loved his watermelon salad and I enjoyed the bistro chopped salad. Our entrees of Louisiana Red Snapper and shrimp and vegetable risotto were outstanding. We declined dessert because we were heading to Railroad Park for the complimentary Alabama Symphony outdoor concert that evening so we did not want to overdue it. We both agreed that this was one of the best dining experiences we have had in our MANY years of dining!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Amazing night. Definitely sit upstairs if you want an intimate time. Pork belly was best in class. Wait staff is exceptionally friendly and helpful. Best meal in Alabama by far.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on June 9, 2017

The food was wonderful and the staff was so sweet.

Tags: Tapas, Bar Seating, Gluten Free Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on June 3, 2017

As always-perfect!! Best in Birmingham.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 31, 2017

Restaurant was great, service was great. There for my husbands birthday and they put a sign on the table saying "Happy Birmingham " which was a sweet touch. We loved it!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Molecular Gastronomy, Casual, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Disabled Access, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Business Meals, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 28, 2017

We had a great meal with friends. It was the first time they ate at Bistro 218 and raved about it. Our waiter was very knowledgeable about the food and helped with wine pairings. The atmosphere is great for conversation and spending time with friends. The wine list is great and the food was amazing!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Authentic, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Very well might be the best food I have ever had served by the kindest, most knowledgable and professional staff ever. I am so glad I found this place and will definitely be returning.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Excellent as always! Great new menu and delicious cocktails

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 25, 2017

The food was delicious and the service superb. I really like the new bar.

Tags: Happy Hour, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 25, 2017

The usual excellent dining experience. The gumbo continues to amaze. Highly recommend the red snapper fish.

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Excellent service. Exceptional food. Gave me exactly the table that I requested. Just a great experience all around. It was a first date night for me and it made a good first impression.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Romantic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Bistro 218 has become our go-to restaurant for pre-theater dinner...or really, any occasion that says "I want excellent food" We have totally enjoyed every visit. I have introduced several friends to this restaurant and all have raved. It's a keeper :)

Tags: Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 18, 2017

3rd time with terrible service. This restaurant has gone down hill quickly since expansion. Too bad because nice venue. Won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 13, 2017

We had the duck confit and the lamb. Both were succulent. Couldn't be better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Everything was great except the filet. It was cooked to perfection but it had no flavor. Very disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Food was delicious. Service was outstanding. We'll be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Bistro 218 has been one of our favorites since it opened. Tuesday, we ate there with friends ahead of the Brian Wilson concert. All six of us raved about our meal. My wife had sea scallops and a couple of people had their black grouper. My order was wrong as that's what I had asked for as well, but instead was served blackened snapper (I think) on bed of succotash with pearl onions. They may actually call it something different, but you get the gist. Anyway, it looked delicious so I didn't bother alerting the waiter. And delicious it was. This was certainly one of the best meals I have ever had. Secondly, I have to call attention to the West Indies salad I had before the meal. This was the second time I've had it there. It is *not* Mr. Bailey's recipe, it is their own version and I cannot tell you how they do it, but I can tell you that it is a must try version. I think I just salivated a little thinking about.

And, as an FYI, to anyone that missed Brian Wilson, you missed a real treat there as well.

Tags: Authentic, Healthy, Special Occasion, Casual, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Very strong menu. Authentic French dishes and recipes. Excellent, creative preparations. Lovely atmosphere of a true french bistro. Quiet, great for conversation. Very nice wine list.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 6, 2017

SIMPLY AWESOME - and not overpriced. Excellent menu choice, with great wines and service. Definitely best dinner I've had in Birmingham for a while!

Tags: Healthy, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Vibrant Bar Scene, Family Style, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Wonderful experience. Our wait staff was exceptional and the food was superb.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 4, 2017

We met friends for dinner on Thursday at Bistro 218, they had never been and we had been once with another group of friends. Glad our friends enjoyed their meal as much as we did. The wine selection was wonderful, the food was good, wait staff excellent. My only critisism was on the redfish, it would have been nice if the grey part of the fish had been removed back in the kitchen rather than us peeling it off with our forks. The fish was fresh and well prepared, great flavors paired with the fried whole okra. I'd come back!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Lovely downtown setting with brick walls and stylish lighting. Bar is well managed and a fun first stop. Dinners were delicious. My wife ate lightly with the West Indies salad that was awesome. My duck confit was also delicious. We will return soon!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 29, 2017

This was our second trip to Bistro 218 and it was even better than the first! We both had the Manhattan Filet, which was one of the best filets I've ever had.

Tags: Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Very nice, relatively new restaurant, with excellent dinner choices that are made to very high standards (which is somewhat unusual in this city). The food is more or less French, and done excellently. For instance the octopus appetizer was the best one ever. Main courses were excellent, too. The only minor negative note is that the servers needs a little bit more training, but very knowledgeable and nice.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 28, 2017

The steak I had was the one of the best I have ever had including major steak houses. Bistro 218 is not a steak house -- it's a flavor house. Very good food and service.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Loved everything about our recent pre-theatre dinner: the ambiance, view of 20th street, service, tasteful presentation and delicious food from local ingredients.

Tags: Modern Decor, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 26, 2017

The duck confit was one of the best entrees I've had in a while- really good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Veal chop was perfect and the redfish was perfectly cooked. Love this place!!

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Food was ok. Bone found in my fish didn't help anything. Portion size was the best thing I could say.

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Perfect ambiance and food!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Outstanding place to dine. Service was exceptional, and the food was fantastic. Perfect place for a special night out.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 15, 2017

food was great ..however the alcohol is over priced other than that it is a great i will
go back but will just order water

Tags: Authentic, Disabled Access, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Absolutely fabulous evening! Great service as we sat at a sidewalk table on a wonderful night, chatting with friends who happened by on a great evening for a walk downtown. A splendid meal of fresh caught seafood was our choice for all, and it was perfect. One of those places that you hope will continually do well (they recently expanded their space), but doesn't ever get so crowded that its regulars can't get in.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Historic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.