Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.28mi
  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.28mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.28mi
  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.28mi

About Bistro Two Eighteen

Welcome to Bistro 218
Nestled in the heart of Downtown Birmingham’s Financial and Theater District, Bistro 218 features side by side dining concepts.

Guests can enjoy a glass of wine or craft cocktail in our upscale casual bar room and indulge in a full bar menu under or proceed through the French doors into the main dining room and take pleasure in French classics paired with seasonally procured wines and local craft beers. Reservations are available in either room.

Ever changing menus are seasonal, with Gulf Coast influences and feature local foragers and farms supplying the best Alabama has to offer.

Bistro 218 honors the traditions of French bistros with minimalist decor in a historical setting. Dark Brazilian mahogany, high ceilings and exposed brick adorned with local art emanate a comforting yet elegant atmosphere that is perfect for a romantic dinner, a pre-theater meal or a relaxing night out.

218 20th St. North
Birmingham, AL 35203
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:


Lunch:

Tuesday - Friday 11:00am - 2:00pm


Dinner:

Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm


Closed Sundays & Mondays

Cross Street:
2nd Ave. N.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(205) 983-7999

Website:
http://bistro218.com/

Parking Details:
Curbside Valet Parking Starting at 5pm

Executive Chef:
Tom Saab

Private Party Contact:
Tom Saab: (205) 983-7999

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Bistro Two Eighteen Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.8

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (41)
Good for Anniversaries (34)
Romantic (33)
See All
Good for a Date (32)
Creative Cuisine (31)
Fit for Foodies (30)
Quiet Conversation (25)
Neighborhood Gem (21)
Local Ingredients (20)
Cozy (19)
Handcrafted Cocktails (18)
Bar Seating (17)
Business Meals (17)
Pre/post Theatre (16)
Good for Birthdays (13)
Authentic (11)
Worth the Drive (11)
Notable Wine List (11)
Good for Groups (9)
Fun (7)
People Watching (7)
Casual (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Tasting Menu (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Tapas (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Seasonal (2)
Great Beer (2)
Scenic View (1)
Spicy (1)
Organic (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Family Style (1)
Sort By:
S
353 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 2 days ago

It was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined 3 days ago

This was our first visit to Bistro 218, and we regret that it has taken us so long to try this restaurant! We visited during Birmingham Restaurant Week and both of us had the seafood gumbo, blackened redfish, and creme brûlée. Every part of the meal was delicious and the service was excellent. The waiter made a great wine recommendation to accompany our dinner. We plan to return soon!

Tags: Business Meals, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined 4 days ago

We visited the Bistro for the Birmingham Restaurant Week menu. We loved all the choices but settled on the gumbo app and redfish for the entree. Another diner had the steak au poivre. Everything was absolutely delicious...we dined in the bar which was quiet on this particular night. Weekends might be more loud. We also love that you can get smaller versions of the entrees on the bar side. We will do that next time we go there. Service was prompt and courteous. Wine service was also excellent. This restaurant is very near the new Elyton Hotel, so anyone staying there should definitely go to the Bistro Two Eighteen.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined 7 days ago

A favorite restaurant for us--server Tracy always tops!!
Hostess Sara showed us Southern Hospitality
Cuisine outstanding--
A great night!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 7 days ago

Our first visit to Bistro two eighteen. The cocktails were wonderful and the bartenders very welcoming and knowledgeable. We were seated and enjoyed s great dinner during Restaurant Week!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, People Watching, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Cozy, Great Beer, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Had excellent meal for restaurant week. Everything was on point. great atmosphere with the new addition to the restaurant.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on August 12, 2017

The best. Had the restaurant week menu and everything was superb. Service outstanding. Will even go get your valet parked car for you. Seriously- what other restaurant in Birmingham will do that.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Highly recommend. Great food, great service, not noisy. Felt private as tables aren't stacked together.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on August 10, 2017

Enjoyed wonderful evening celebrating wife's birthday. Pork belly, watermelon salad and crab cakes appetizers were fantastic. Scallops as entree were great and redfish and lamb were very good. Had creme brûlée and peach gallete for dessert were perfect end to a great meal and portions were adequate for 4 to share! Will be back.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Great Beer, Paleo Friendly, Authentic, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Food was delicious. Excellent service. My only complaint is that they make you wait a long time to get your food, because they want for you to order more drinks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

Went for a birthday celebration. The food was good. I had the scallops and my date had the grouper. I thought the scallops were amazing and the grouper was average. The service was outstanding and the ambiance lent it self to the occasion. We were seated in the "loft" part of the restaurant which was more private and romantic. Dessert was very good as we shared both the chocolate tart and the peach galette.
Highly recommended.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Always great, been here many times and never a bad experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on August 5, 2017

We started with the chanterelle mushrooms, which were firm and buttery. Wife wasn't in the mood for fish or seafood and was surprised they did not have any chicken dish. The duck and pork did not appeal to her. She ended up with tenderloin medallions, which were very good. I had the blacked redfish, which was very good as well. A tad pricey for the entrees, but overall Food was great. Our server was great, but sweated profusely, which had us constantly wonder why so. We ended upstairs in a small 5 table dining area. Great for private dining, but we would have preferred to be downstairs. We could only guess the long stairs our waiter had to walk up and down all evening caused his sweating.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on August 4, 2017

We enjoyed a very nice meal with good service. When ordering the last bottle of a wine on the menu it would be really good if the wait person let the patrons know that it was the last bottle just in case they were inclined to have another.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on August 3, 2017

We were very pleased with our first visit. Quiet, with low lighting and an intimate atmosphere. Excellent personalized service. The food was very good with generous portions, and the desserts were excellent. Location is very convenient for an evening at the Alabama or Lyric theaters nearby. We'll be back for sure.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on August 2, 2017

Great time great food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 29, 2017

One of our favorites. Perfectly prepared food and excellent service. They also have a very good wine selection and bar menu.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 26, 2017

Everything was very good and our out of town guest were very impressed

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Bar Seating, Spicy, Pre/post Theatre, Organic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on July 25, 2017

Great food! The service staff were outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on July 23, 2017

Great place for a date night, drinks and apps with friends or business dinners. The grill octopus was perfection, I had the grilled snapper and my husband had the blackened grouper which were both delicious and cooked perfectly. I would highly suggest the Creme Brûlée for dessert.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on July 23, 2017

We had a get-together with some friends who had not been there before. Rolando was great! Always a wonderful experience!

Tags: Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 19, 2017

I would definitely recommend the gumbo, best I have ever had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 15, 2017

This is always a good place to dine. The enlarged bar area is great and all of the art work is wonderful. Service and food was very good.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on July 15, 2017

This is one of our favorite Birmingham restaurants. It is fun to be downtown, the food is excellent and the ambiance with the original brick walls lends itself to warmth. Tom is always a great host and has created a real winner.

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Very good service. The food is amazing. A bit pricy, but well worth it.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Fantastic experience again. Our favorite restaurant in Birmingham. You can actually have a conversation while having a fine dining experience! Impossible at highlands, hot and hot, etc where you are literally sitting in someone's lap. The food here is fantastic- the chef came around and greeted several tables, all around great experience. Will be back many times!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on July 7, 2017

3rd time to visit Bistro Two Eighteen. Outstanding each time. Chef spoke w us twice just to be social which was a very nice touch. Highly recommend the restaurant to foodies like our selves.

Cannot wait to dine again.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Food and service were top notch. Relaxed atmosphere with lots of personal attention . Server was very knowledgeable and made thoughtful suggestions.

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Always a pleasure to eat here. They had chanterelle mushrooms as an appetizer - very good start. One of our entrees was the blackened red fish on grits with fried okra. This wa the winner.
The snapper and lamb we also very good with excellent with a good setup accompanying them.
Our server was a knowledgeable sommelier who added to our evening.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on June 24, 2017

This was the best restaurant I've eaten at for a long time. The entire experience from appetizers to dessert was fabulous. The pork belly app was the best thing in Birmingham. The scallop dish was perfect. The waiter, Rolando I think, was perfect, as well. This is my new favorite place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on June 23, 2017

The experience here was exceptional. The food was amazing.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 21, 2017

Can I give more stars than 5??! My second time at this lovely place and my second time I was blown away by the service, the food and the chef!

They made our special occasion even more special with their thoughtfulness.

The food was so creative and incredibly delicious.

I just wish I lived closer to come here more often!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on June 20, 2017

Delicious courses, expertly paced. Food and service among the top in Birmingham fine dining.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 17, 2017

May be the best kept secret in Birmingham. The staff is always attentive. Tom, the chef, is available to meet the diners and talk with them. The Duck Confit is the best that I have every had, anywhere. Look for Bistro 218 to soon be ranked as one of the best in Birmingham.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Another OUTSTANDING evening at Bistro 218: After a 5 month absence due to an orthopedic procedure, we were glad to ask two couples to accompany us for a meal at Tom Saab's iconic restaurant. As in the past, we were not disappointed. The meal, from the appetizer (wild sauté hanterelles), to the salads (watermelon salad and the Bistro salad, my wife's favorite), to the entrees (duck confit, steak tornados au poive, and the best fresh blackened redfish this native of Louisiana has ever had), was sublime. Our server, Tracy, was outstanding as usual. Our thanks to Mr. Saab and his outstanding staff for another memorable evening.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good Vegetarian Options, Vibrant Bar Scene, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, People Watching, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Excellent. We will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Great pork belly appetizer- one of the best I've had. Black grouper also delicious.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on June 10, 2017

My husband and I traveled to Birmingham, AL for our anniversary. I selected Bistro 218 for our anniversary dinner. Anna Claire greeted us and wished us a Happy Anniversary, took us to the best table in the house upstairs, and chatted wth us for a few minutes about the Birmingham area. There was a nice anniversary message waiting for us on the table. Our server, Tracey, brought us flutes of complimentary sparkling wine for a toast. A little later, Chef Tom stopped by to introduce himself and chat. Delivery of food was perfectly timed and the service could not have been better. My husband loved his watermelon salad and I enjoyed the bistro chopped salad. Our entrees of Louisiana Red Snapper and shrimp and vegetable risotto were outstanding. We declined dessert because we were heading to Railroad Park for the complimentary Alabama Symphony outdoor concert that evening so we did not want to overdue it. We both agreed that this was one of the best dining experiences we have had in our MANY years of dining!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on June 9, 2017

We had such a great time! We were celebrating our anniversary and my best friend's birthday. We asked for a window table, and when we got there, not only were we given a window table, but there were individual placards. One wishing my wife and I Happy Anniversary, and another wishing my best friend a Happy Birthday. Very nice! The service was outstanding, and the food was SO GOOD!! Everyone was so nice and accommodating. We will DEFINITELY be back soon!

Tags: Romantic, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, People Watching, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Amazing night. Definitely sit upstairs if you want an intimate time. Pork belly was best in class. Wait staff is exceptionally friendly and helpful. Best meal in Alabama by far.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.