Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.28mi
  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.28mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.28mi
  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.28mi

About Bistro Two Eighteen

Welcome to Bistro 218
Nestled in the heart of Downtown Birmingham’s Financial and Theater District, Bistro 218 features side by side dining concepts.

Guests can enjoy a glass of wine or craft cocktail in our upscale casual bar room and indulge in a full bar menu under or proceed through the French doors into the main dining room and take pleasure in French classics paired with seasonally procured wines and local craft beers. Reservations are available in either room.

Ever changing menus are seasonal, with Gulf Coast influences and feature local foragers and farms supplying the best Alabama has to offer.

Bistro 218 honors the traditions of French bistros with minimalist decor in a historical setting. Dark Brazilian mahogany, high ceilings and exposed brick adorned with local art emanate a comforting yet elegant atmosphere that is perfect for a romantic dinner, a pre-theater meal or a relaxing night out.

218 20th St. North
Birmingham, AL 35203
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary French, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:


Lunch:

Tuesday - Friday 11:00am - 2:00pm


Dinner:

Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm


Closed Sundays & Mondays

Cross Street:
2nd Ave. N.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(205) 983-7999

Website:
http://bistro218.com/

Parking Details:
Curbside Valet Parking Starting at 5pm

Executive Chef:
Tom Saab

Private Party Contact:
Tom Saab: (205) 983-7999

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Bistro Two Eighteen Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.4

Noise

Quiet

100% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (35)
Good for Anniversaries (33)
Fit for Foodies (31)
See All
Good for a Date (29)
Romantic (28)
Creative Cuisine (25)
Pre/post Theatre (24)
Quiet Conversation (21)
Neighborhood Gem (20)
Good for Birthdays (18)
Business Meals (18)
Bar Seating (16)
Handcrafted Cocktails (16)
Local Ingredients (16)
Cozy (16)
Notable Wine List (11)
Authentic (10)
Worth the Drive (10)
Fun (8)
Good for Groups (7)
Great for Lunch (6)
Casual (5)
People Watching (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Great Beer (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Organic (3)
Seasonal (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Scenic View (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Spicy (1)
Tapas (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
378 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined 3 days ago

Great ambience. Excellent service. Delicious food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined 4 days ago

The ambience was casual and cozy. The waitress was excellent, and also happened to be the sommelier with great suggestions. We were there pre theatre, and the fixed price 3 course dinner was very reasonable, with selections off the main menu. The food was excellent. I would highly recommend.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 7 days ago

Excellent choice for business dinner. Also noticed friends and families with older children enjoying the restaurant.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined 7 days ago

This is one of my favorite restaurants. I’ve been here 15 to 20 times, and it has never disappointed me.

Tags: Healthy, Romantic, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Fantastic as always

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on October 6, 2017

Another OUTSTANDING meal with excellent service and a personal ambiance. As a cajun whom grew up in South Louisiana and New Orleans, I love foods with origins in from there and Todd Saab provides the best of those at Bistro 218. His Gumbo is by far the best we have had in Alabama, and his blackened redfish makes that which was served at Paul Prudhomme's restaurant pale by comparison. Bistro now has a new pastry chef whose creations we had to opportunity to try at this visit, and we were very impressed. Thanks Mr. Saab for another sublime meal.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on October 6, 2017

Other than a waiter who was both weird and inattentive, it was a great dining experience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 6, 2017

Server was almost odd at times, and inept about basic things such as busing dirty dishes off the table. Owner/chef Mr. Saab was spot on, calling us by name, attentive to every detail of our table (that the server, notably, had missed).
Dessert was good, but not exceptional.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on September 29, 2017

Very good food. Great service. Overpriced. Wines are particularly pricy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on September 28, 2017

Excellent and historic building. Tall ceilings with excellent service.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 21, 2017

We were celebrating an anniversary. It was not our first visit to bistro 218. The food has never disappointed. Tonight, it was spectacular. The duck confit was the best experienced. The other entree, red fish, was excuisitely done and highly recommended. Appetizers, gumbo and West Indies salad , were up to their high standards. Service was knowledgeable and outstanding. All in all, an exceptional evening and exceptional food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on September 16, 2017

I have eaten here many times and the food is always great. Best gumbo in Birmingham

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

Cool place!
Great friito misto and crab cakes.
West Indies salad amazing!!
Risotto flavorful but undercooked, only complaint.
Would go again.

Tags: Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

We really enjoyed dining with friends- food was incredible and it was nice to see manager/chef greeting all patrons!

Love being able to book on open table, 👍

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 8, 2017

Excellent dinner and service.
It is one our favorite places to take friends for dinner.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 2, 2017

The service and food were both exceptional. The watermelon/feta salad was outstanding. There was not a weakness from soup to nuts. I would drive back to Birmingham to eat here.

Tags: Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Healthy, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Paleo Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 1, 2017

Bistro 218 was great. The food was creative and prepared in an excellent fashion. The owner/chef came out to check on us as well and make sure everything was prepared to our satisfaction. Highly recommended. We had the beef and redfish.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 29, 2017

Awesome food and ambiance the service could have been better...it was slow to get wine and cocktails at the table but the bar service was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Beyond perfection.... always! We would rank this restaurant in the top 5 for restaurants in Birmingham. Their food is amazing! Everything is always cooked and seasoned to perfection. The chef is very creative and the presentation is superb! Bistro 218 exceeds all expectations every single time we dine there. Their food rivals that of the long time Birmingham staple for fine dining, Highlands Bar and Grill. Absolutely delicious!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Fantastic every time. A downtown gem. Fresh food prepared with passion. Waitstaff that is perfect. Invited first timers from the "suburbs" and they fell in love with it.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on August 25, 2017

We enjoyed our first experience @ Bistro 218. A friend recommended your restaurant. Our meals were very good. Service good. Restaurant a little dark. Great artwork, but too much, not enough lighting to show the work. Less is more in this instance. I suggest reducing number of works, focus on 1 or 2 artists and remove the pricing. It's not a gallery, but a fine restaurant. Great to see good things in city center. We will return.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Absolutely fantastic meal and dessert! If you're in Birmingham, put this on your restaurant bucket list. Chef Tom made sure we were pleased, and we were.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on August 20, 2017

We visited as a first time guest to take advantage of the Birmingham Restaurant Week menu. The food was exceptional as was the service. A visit to our table by the chef, to welcome us as a first time guest, was an added pleasure. We will certainly be back!

Tags: Romantic, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Must try the West Indies Salad and the Octopus! It's the best around!

Tags: Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 18, 2017

My go-to place for downtown fine dining. Excellent as usual.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 17, 2017

It was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on August 16, 2017

This was our first visit to Bistro 218, and we regret that it has taken us so long to try this restaurant! We visited during Birmingham Restaurant Week and both of us had the seafood gumbo, blackened redfish, and creme brûlée. Every part of the meal was delicious and the service was excellent. The waiter made a great wine recommendation to accompany our dinner. We plan to return soon!

Tags: Business Meals, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on August 15, 2017

We visited the Bistro for the Birmingham Restaurant Week menu. We loved all the choices but settled on the gumbo app and redfish for the entree. Another diner had the steak au poivre. Everything was absolutely delicious...we dined in the bar which was quiet on this particular night. Weekends might be more loud. We also love that you can get smaller versions of the entrees on the bar side. We will do that next time we go there. Service was prompt and courteous. Wine service was also excellent. This restaurant is very near the new Elyton Hotel, so anyone staying there should definitely go to the Bistro Two Eighteen.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on August 13, 2017

A favorite restaurant for us--server Tracy always tops!!
Hostess Sara showed us Southern Hospitality
Cuisine outstanding--
A great night!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Our first visit to Bistro two eighteen. The cocktails were wonderful and the bartenders very welcoming and knowledgeable. We were seated and enjoyed s great dinner during Restaurant Week!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, People Watching, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Cozy, Great Beer, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Had excellent meal for restaurant week. Everything was on point. great atmosphere with the new addition to the restaurant.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on August 12, 2017

The best. Had the restaurant week menu and everything was superb. Service outstanding. Will even go get your valet parked car for you. Seriously- what other restaurant in Birmingham will do that.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Highly recommend. Great food, great service, not noisy. Felt private as tables aren't stacked together.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on August 10, 2017

Enjoyed wonderful evening celebrating wife's birthday. Pork belly, watermelon salad and crab cakes appetizers were fantastic. Scallops as entree were great and redfish and lamb were very good. Had creme brûlée and peach gallete for dessert were perfect end to a great meal and portions were adequate for 4 to share! Will be back.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Great Beer, Paleo Friendly, Authentic, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Food was delicious. Excellent service. My only complaint is that they make you wait a long time to get your food, because they want for you to order more drinks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

Went for a birthday celebration. The food was good. I had the scallops and my date had the grouper. I thought the scallops were amazing and the grouper was average. The service was outstanding and the ambiance lent it self to the occasion. We were seated in the "loft" part of the restaurant which was more private and romantic. Dessert was very good as we shared both the chocolate tart and the peach galette.
Highly recommended.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Always great, been here many times and never a bad experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on August 5, 2017

We started with the chanterelle mushrooms, which were firm and buttery. Wife wasn't in the mood for fish or seafood and was surprised they did not have any chicken dish. The duck and pork did not appeal to her. She ended up with tenderloin medallions, which were very good. I had the blacked redfish, which was very good as well. A tad pricey for the entrees, but overall Food was great. Our server was great, but sweated profusely, which had us constantly wonder why so. We ended upstairs in a small 5 table dining area. Great for private dining, but we would have preferred to be downstairs. We could only guess the long stairs our waiter had to walk up and down all evening caused his sweating.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on August 4, 2017

We enjoyed a very nice meal with good service. When ordering the last bottle of a wine on the menu it would be really good if the wait person let the patrons know that it was the last bottle just in case they were inclined to have another.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on August 3, 2017

We were very pleased with our first visit. Quiet, with low lighting and an intimate atmosphere. Excellent personalized service. The food was very good with generous portions, and the desserts were excellent. Location is very convenient for an evening at the Alabama or Lyric theaters nearby. We'll be back for sure.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.