About Bistro Two Eighteen

218 20th St. North
Birmingham, AL 35203
View Larger Map

Bienvenue! Bistro 218 combines the traditions of a French bistro with modern American cuisine. Located at 218 20th Street North, Birmingham native and professionally trained chef owner Tom Saab joins the revival of businesses in downtown Birmingham.

Bistro 218 features the elegant minimalist interior design of traditional of French bistros, while preserving the historical roots of the building, creating a comfortable, romantic atmosphere.

Bistro 218 brings French cuisine to every palette. Enjoy your bistro favorites-from quiche to duck confit! We strive to provide quality affordable food and impeccable service to all of our neighborhood friends. Come join us for a high quality dining experience in a relaxed atmosphere!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:


Lunch:



Dinner:

Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm


Closed Sundays & Mondays

Cross Street:
2nd Ave. N.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(205) 983-7999

Website:
http://bistro218.com/

Parking Details:
Curbside Valet Parking Starting at 5pm

Executive Chef:
Tom Saab

Private Party Contact:
Tom Saab: (205) 983-7999

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Bistro Two Eighteen Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (22)
Good for a Date (16)
Good for Anniversaries (14)
See All
Cozy (13)
Romantic (13)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Business Meals (7)
Historic (7)
Notable Wine List (7)
Local Ingredients (7)
Worth the Drive (7)
Authentic (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Hot Spot (3)
Fun (3)
People Watching (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Healthy (1)
Organic (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Seasonal (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Great Beer (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
S
233 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Bistro Two Eighteen is a great dining ex ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 5 days ago

Bistro Two Eighteen is a great dining experience. The hardest part of the experience was deciding which entree to order (fantastic menu). Great service. Great food. Fantastic experience.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Gluten Free Options, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Organic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Historic, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

There are not enough words to say how mu ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 1, 2017

There are not enough words to say how much we enjoyed our New Year's Eve dinner!!! This restaurant is always amazing, but they really outdid themselves for this gourmet delight!!!!! This was the first time my husband had been there and he is already talking about going back. Thank you for such a wonderful end to our New Year's Eve experience!!!!!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great space and friendly staff. Our foo ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Great space and friendly staff. Our food - trout with grits and shrimp and risotto- was very good. We happened to be there on a night with a very loud party. Otherwise, it is a really nice date atmosphere.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful ambience without being stuffy. ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Wonderful ambience without being stuffy. The food That we received was not exactly as described on the menu, so be sure to ask for details about the entree if you are a 'precise' eater. Wine list excellent for this area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

We were seated right away, but after tha ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 29, 2016

We were seated right away, but after that the service got a little slow. Our waitress was very sweet, but had too many tables spread way apart. I had a lovely salad that was very fresh and a bowl of gumbo. The gumbo was good, but was not hot enough. My husband had a West Indies salad which was great! He also had a veal chop that was huge. It came with potatoes and asparagus. Overall, it was a very good dinner, though pricey. They do have a bar menu with smaller plates and better prices.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

An excellent new restaurant in downtown, ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 24, 2016

An excellent new restaurant in downtown, Bistro 218 captures what has been missing since the demise of Restaurant G, The Veranda and Bombay. Creative, well-prepared food without the pretension of Hot & Hot , Ovenbird or Highlands. The gumbo rivals most I've had in NOLA and the red snapper on grits was awesome. The West Indies salad was a meal in itself and tasted incredible. A bit on the upper scale as far as pricing goes, but worth it with the impeccable service and fabulous food you get for the price of admission. Highly recommended!

Tags: Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were pleased with the entire experien ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 24, 2016

We were pleased with the entire experience, from the soundtrack playing overhead to the dessert. Menu selections were ample as well as the wine list. Our meat dishes arrived the moment we expected them, plated attractively and cooked perfectly. Portions were sized appropriately, not huge. Chef visited everyone. Service was attentive and friendly. Will definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My favorite restaurant in Birmingham! I ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 24, 2016

My favorite restaurant in Birmingham! I had the scallops which were the best I have ever had. My Granddaughter lived the hamburger and my daughter had the fish! Can't go wrong!

Great bar too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great as usual. Lamb chops spectacula ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Great as usual. Lamb chops spectacular.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The atmosphere was great and the food wa ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 17, 2016

The atmosphere was great and the food was fantastic. I highly recommend Bistro Two Eighteen.

Tags: Modern Decor, , Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was a little disappointed that they di ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 17, 2016

I was a little disappointed that they didn't offer more vegan options. I had a vegggie plate and the portions were very small for 28 dollars. I got like 4 tiny new potatoes each about size of quarter. 4 asparagus some spinach very small portion. I wouldn't go back cause I left hungry. The 2 friends I was with orders New York strip. Their portions seemed very large.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Food was not great. Service was terrible ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Food was not great. Service was terrible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

All was excellent! However; we were a l ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 9, 2016

All was excellent! However; we were a little disappointed that the menu online & the actual menu were not the same.

Tags: Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Friendly service, excellent food, great ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Friendly service, excellent food, great for quiet dining.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first time back since the r ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 3, 2016

This was our first time back since the remodel, and it remains one of my favorite places in Birmingham. The food remains well-prepared and adequately portioned, with excellent waitstaff. The Bistro is always on our list for weekend date night options.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Oh dear. Such a lovely venue. Six of us ...

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Oh dear. Such a lovely venue. Six of us in such a festive Holiday mood but what a mess at this "restaurant ". Cocktails were good but skimpy and slooow coming out. Menu items took a lifetime to be served and were not even close to as presented on the menu. We did complain but nada. We then advised we needed our checks in order to get to our venue, but, alas took a full 20 minutes to get those checks. Never so disappointed and never to return...how sad in bustling downtown Birmingham.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

The service was very professional and co ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 30, 2016

The service was very professional and competent. 218 was having a soft opening of their new bistro adjoining and was very active. The older restaurant was larger and lightly attended. The atmosphere was very comforting and relaxing. A very pleasant evening. The food was exceptional. The gumbo and West Indies salad has been my fave for awhile and it continues to be exceptional. I had the veal chop which was done to to a turn. Best veal chop I've had in many years. It was a special dinner, and we have been in all of the finest in Birmingham. Special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

excellent staff, excellent food, and a g ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on November 24, 2016

excellent staff, excellent food, and a great location. This is dining. Would go again.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent meal, attentive and profession ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Excellent meal, attentive and professional bartender and wait staff.

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Always a great experience Chef Saab and ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Always a great experience Chef Saab and his team make everyone welcome and serve fantastic food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Love this place ! Don't be put off by th ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Love this place ! Don't be put off by the dumpster in front. Indicates progress... they are buying the space next door and putting in a bar. Blackened amberjack was delicious. Very personalable service... the owner, Tom Saab came by our table. Incredible attention to detail.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We found everything delicious from the F ...

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on October 28, 2016

We found everything delicious from the Frito Misto appetizer to the seared scallops I had and the chicken palliard my wife had, to the desserts. Service was attentive without being intrusive. Overall a great meal and experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful food and wonderful, friendly s ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Wonderful food and wonderful, friendly service. We will be back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a favorite. Great food great staf ...

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Always a favorite. Great food great staff. Tom and his crew always make your feel welcome. Looking forward to the new chapter.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding in every way. Stayed downto ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Outstanding in every way. Stayed downtown at The Redmont and walked to Bistro 218.

Crab cakes are a must for starter.

Tags: Romantic, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Historic, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic service, service and atmosphe ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Fantastic service, service and atmosphere! Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent restaurant. Very good service ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on September 16, 2016

Excellent restaurant. Very good service. Highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great place. Impeccable service, oh and ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Great place. Impeccable service, oh and complimentary valet parking

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My favorite restaurant in Birmingham! T ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 9, 2016

My favorite restaurant in Birmingham! The food is always fresh, creative and delicious!

The atmosphere is very nice but not stuffy at all...a touch of New Orleans fun is in the air! I always relax the minute I walk in. The drinks are great, the service fantastic and the food even better! A true gem in Downtown Birmingham.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Fun, Romantic, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Chef Tom Saab has done a great job with ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on September 9, 2016

Chef Tom Saab has done a great job with Bistro 218. The food is excellent, and in my opinion gives Highlands and Hot and Hot a run for their money. Service was top-notch. It is a hidden gem in downtown Birmingham, but I suggest anyone who has not given Bistro 218 a try should do so.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Historic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We absolutely love this place! The staff ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on August 28, 2016

We absolutely love this place! The staff is amazing, knowledgeable and on point with service. The food was remarkable!

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, , Disabled Access, Private Room, Hot Spot, Cozy, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious food and interesting signature ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on August 26, 2016

Delicious food and interesting signature drinks. The staff was amazing and made good suggestions. Not too loud so we could hear each other within our group! We'll be back often!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Advertised as intimate . Definitely not ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Advertised as intimate . Definitely not that. Tables too close together to have private conversation. Fix priced menu was very nice option, reasonable price. But steak was tough and pommes frites were soggy. Fish was done well , although grits were too runny. Dessert wonderful- best crime brûlée in town . Service slow and waitstaff preoccupied , not friendly. I would not bother coming back . Other places in town are better.

Tags: Historic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

Awesome Dinner, thank you for the Experi ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Awesome Dinner, thank you for the Experience !

The Server was Outstanding !

Tags: Historic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Special Occasion, Cozy, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was the perfect place to celebrate ou ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on August 20, 2016

It was the perfect place to celebrate our anniversary. Tracie, our server was top shelf. The food was amazing!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bistro 218 is now our favorite restauran ...

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Bistro 218 is now our favorite restaurant in Birmingham! Have tried them all - but for the total package of food service and ambiance - this is the place. We perfect fried green tomatoes, amberjack grilled perfectly....everything was great. Will be going back soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious food and friendly, professiona ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 13, 2016

Delicious food and friendly, professional service. A little "taste of New Orleans" in Downtown Birmingham!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a wonderful neighborhood find! A qu ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on August 13, 2016

What a wonderful neighborhood find! A quiet French bistro with food and wine as good as I found in Paris. Tres bien!

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was amazing. Hostess was friendly a ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on August 13, 2016

Food was amazing. Hostess was friendly and prompt. Server was terrible. He said maybe 17 words to us, rarely checked on needs, until it was time to pay, then said a lot of random pleasantries.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value4

Bistro 218 has a different feel to it th ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 13, 2016

Bistro 218 has a different feel to it than most restaurants in Birmingham. You feel like you are in a New York bistro. The food and wine is special!

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.