Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.28mi
  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.28mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.28mi
  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.28mi

About Bistro Two Eighteen

Bienvenue! Bistro 218 combines the traditions of a French bistro with modern American cuisine. Located at 218 20th Street North, Birmingham native and professionally trained chef owner Tom Saab joins the revival of businesses in downtown Birmingham.

Bistro 218 features the elegant minimalist interior design of traditional of French bistros, while preserving the historical roots of the building, creating a comfortable, romantic atmosphere.

Bistro 218 brings French cuisine to every palette. Enjoy your bistro favorites-from quiche to duck confit! We strive to provide quality affordable food and impeccable service to all of our neighborhood friends. Come join us for a high quality dining experience in a relaxed atmosphere!

218 20th St. North
Birmingham, AL 35203
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:


Lunch:

Tuesday - Friday 11:00am - 2:00pm


Dinner:

Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm


Closed Sundays & Mondays

Cross Street:
2nd Ave. N.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(205) 983-7999

Website:
http://bistro218.com/

Parking Details:
Curbside Valet Parking Starting at 5pm

Executive Chef:
Tom Saab

Private Party Contact:
Tom Saab: (205) 983-7999

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Bistro Two Eighteen Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (30)
Good for a Date (25)
Good for Anniversaries (22)
See All
Pre/post Theatre (18)
Romantic (16)
Good for Birthdays (16)
Cozy (16)
Creative Cuisine (16)
Quiet Conversation (14)
Fit for Foodies (13)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Worth the Drive (11)
Bar Seating (10)
Historic (10)
Business Meals (9)
Notable Wine List (8)
Authentic (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Local Ingredients (7)
Casual (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Fun (4)
Modern Decor (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Seasonal (2)
People Watching (2)
Healthy (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Comfort Food (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Great Beer (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Organic (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sort By:
S
265 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined 6 days ago

What a great place to make an already special occasion (our anniversary) that much better! The proof is in the details which were plentiful. From the first moment upon entering the restaurant, we were treated like royalty with personal well wishes and greetings from the entire staff, including the chef! A special table had been selected for us in just the right spot, and, never did we open a door. Did I mention the food was incredible? The menu is small, but not too small, and each of our dishes were plated with creative zeal. We traveled from Montgomery, and we will be back!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on March 19, 2017

We had the most incredible meal the ambiance and service were 5 star. We will back again !!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Great food and service. The duck confit and shrimp & risotto were excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Small but interesting menu. Each plate had an explosion of flavors. My favorite was the Spanish octopus (with squid ink aioli).

Valet parking was a plus as it was raining heavily & there was no where to park nearby.

The chef walked around each table to ask how everything was, I thought that was s nice touch.

They obliged when we asked if they could turn off the large indoor overhead fans as it was kind of cold inside. I imagine these would be great in the summer!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Very nice place. Simple menu but well prepared. Accommodating service. Waiter surprised us with cheesecake for dessert.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Outstanding, great experience. Wonderful, personalized service by Jennifer and even Chef Tom! Great drinks, wonderful bottle of wine and a perfectly prepared meal. It was a great birthday. This is a hidden gem in downtown Birmingham. Even the Valet Park is well done. We will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Dinner was outstanding. We started with the Pomme Frites! Huge portion - enough for four. We had the salad which was small, but delicious. For our entree, we had the blackened redfish with grits and fried okra! Come on- do I have to tell you how good that was? Server was Rolando who was excellent. Definitely coming back again SOON!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Outstanding Value, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Impressed we were seated exactly on time, but getting to the bathroom from the upper loft was a bit of a problem; it was noisier than I expected, made it difficult to have a private conversation with the next table only a foot away. Perhaps banquette type seating would be nice. And try having green peppercorns in stock..they're great on meats.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 3, 2017

A very nice meal. Scallops in front of me, my wife with her scallops & filet and grouper (I think) for both of our friends. Everyone said theirs was very good. I would make a special note of their version of a West Indies Salad. Wonderful.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 26, 2017

For our delayed Valentine's dinner, my wife and I decided to try Bistro 218, as somewhere new. A thoroughly wonderful choice.

Since, due to hearing aids, I am susceptible to background noise, I was immediately comfortable with the level of noise, a definite plus.

Seating was almost immediate, thanks to the Open Table reservation, in the upstairs dining area. A nice intimate area, with few tables.

Our server, Rolando, appeared immediately with water, and took our drink order, while we made our meal decision. Remaining attentive throughout our visit.

We chose the Fritto misto appetizer, more than enough for two. My wife chose the scallops, while I went with the bouillabaisse. Both were delicious choices that did not disappoint.

We ended the meal with creme brule, since it was light.

Altogether, an enjoyable evening, at a restaurant that we will visit again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 25, 2017

The service was great. They gave us a special table since I had specified it was my wife's birthday on OpenTable. Everyone wished her a happy birthday. They food was excellent. Highly recommended!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 19, 2017

We had eaten at Bistro 218 before...great experience so went again. This time: Food, so-so; Service, close to surly; Attention to diners, not great at all. We will not go again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Worth a second visit. It's a new restaurant and they're still getting their bearings. Service was abysmally slow, which was doubly disappointing for an anniversary meal. Food was very good -- an excellent filet mignon and top notch Old Fashioned. Notable was the number of repeat clientele whom the chef/owner and other staff seemed to know well. That says a lot.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service1
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 16, 2017

The food was great, and the ambiance even better. It's not cheap, but it is well worth it!

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Horrible service -- it was impossible to get a drink from our waiter

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value1

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The atmosphere was great the food was very good, but I thought it was expensive. $90 each for a 4 course meal was high. I would go back when there was a full menu.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Valentine's Dinner for three couples. We had a preset menu with choice of appetizer, salad or soup, entree and dessert for a set price. All choices were excellent and we thoroughly enjoyed our dinner. My only complaint would be the slow bar service. They should have anticipated more clientele for Valentine's and had more bar staff working that evening. Also needed an additional parking valet for the evening. There was only one and he was quite frazzled which was evident in his attitude.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Me and my wife went here for Valentine's Day and the fixed menu was $90 per person. With a price tag such as that you would expect to be overwhelmed with and amazing feast. We had four courses and the food was good however for the price it was very underwhelming. Too many other places to go for cheaper and better.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We went for Valentines dinner. Initially, the service was very slow and I had to ask for a waiter but apparently there was an issue in the kitchen that caused some delays so we were told. Our waitress was charming and very attentive. The food was some of the best I have had at any Birmingham restaurant and I would highly recommend this establishment to anyone.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The entire staff was very attentive to the diners needs. They were busy due to Valentine's Day but made sure everyone enjoyed the special day.

Tags: Historic, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Once again Bistro 218 was phenomenal. From the staff to the amazing chef Tom, the food was fresh and superb. We will be back soon! Thanks so much for a great evening. The snapper with fettuccine was prepared perfectly. The filet was cooked just right and it was so tender. The West Indies salad is a must.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Great food! Our favorite restaurant. Never had a bad meal there.

Tags: Bar Seating, Romantic, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Food and atmosphere were special for our Valentine's Day date. Service was timely and efficient. Our server made good recommendations and was friendly. Chef Saab even made the rounds which made it even more personal. Top-notch restaurant in Birmingham!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 5, 2017

I consider Bistro 218 to be one of the better restaurants in Birmingham but was very disappointed with the service. Took over 20 minutes to get our first drink. Food was good with the exception of an overcooked steak.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value1

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Bistro 218 never disappoints! Now that they have added additional space, it is easier to get a reservation and allows you to sit in the bar area for a more casual feeling. Nice to have a place to go for drinks also - or sit and have a drink while waiting on dinner guests. Food and service delicious as always.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Quick Bite, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Food was lukewarm and overpriced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Good drinks, welcoming and smiling servers, nice ambiance. Disappointed by the very long wait time (35 minutes) to just place the order and not being served bread as the restaurant ran out of bread on a Saturday evening by 8pm!
However, good food and excellent creme brulee and appreciate the free dessert for our special occasion.

Tags: Historic, Comfort Food, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 29, 2017

They never disappoint! The food was delicious and the atmosphere is cozy but excellent in every way!

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Service significantly diminished since renovation. Food still excellent. Ambiance diminished as well. Cold feel. Ceiling fans in January not a good idea.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Went to Bistro 218 twice this week, once with friends from out of town and once with locals. In both cases neither of the other couples had been there before and in both cases they were so impressed. Food, service and atmosphere were excellent. Will be back soon

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 28, 2017

This is the second time I have taken three other people who have never been to Bistro Two Eighteen before and they all left raving about the food, the ambience and the service. It has become a new favorite! The West Indies salad is just incredible, my filet was perfect, the veal chop huge and reportedly delicious, scallops were incredible...I could go on, but you get the picture. New wines to try, and handcrafted cocktails add to this experience. Also, got to LOVE the fact that they have valet parking. It is downtown and parking can be a challenge. This is a restaurant where the food is awesome and you leave happy to have been there.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Disabled Access, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Bistro Two Eighteen is a great dining experience. The hardest part of the experience was deciding which entree to order (fantastic menu). Great service. Great food. Fantastic experience.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Gluten Free Options, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Organic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Historic, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 1, 2017

There are not enough words to say how much we enjoyed our New Year's Eve dinner!!! This restaurant is always amazing, but they really outdid themselves for this gourmet delight!!!!! This was the first time my husband had been there and he is already talking about going back. Thank you for such a wonderful end to our New Year's Eve experience!!!!!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Great space and friendly staff. Our food - trout with grits and shrimp and risotto- was very good. We happened to be there on a night with a very loud party. Otherwise, it is a really nice date atmosphere.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Wonderful ambience without being stuffy. The food That we received was not exactly as described on the menu, so be sure to ask for details about the entree if you are a 'precise' eater. Wine list excellent for this area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 29, 2016

We were seated right away, but after that the service got a little slow. Our waitress was very sweet, but had too many tables spread way apart. I had a lovely salad that was very fresh and a bowl of gumbo. The gumbo was good, but was not hot enough. My husband had a West Indies salad which was great! He also had a veal chop that was huge. It came with potatoes and asparagus. Overall, it was a very good dinner, though pricey. They do have a bar menu with smaller plates and better prices.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 24, 2016

An excellent new restaurant in downtown, Bistro 218 captures what has been missing since the demise of Restaurant G, The Veranda and Bombay. Creative, well-prepared food without the pretension of Hot & Hot , Ovenbird or Highlands. The gumbo rivals most I've had in NOLA and the red snapper on grits was awesome. The West Indies salad was a meal in itself and tasted incredible. A bit on the upper scale as far as pricing goes, but worth it with the impeccable service and fabulous food you get for the price of admission. Highly recommended!

Tags: Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 24, 2016

We were pleased with the entire experience, from the soundtrack playing overhead to the dessert. Menu selections were ample as well as the wine list. Our meat dishes arrived the moment we expected them, plated attractively and cooked perfectly. Portions were sized appropriately, not huge. Chef visited everyone. Service was attentive and friendly. Will definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 24, 2016

My favorite restaurant in Birmingham! I had the scallops which were the best I have ever had. My Granddaughter lived the hamburger and my daughter had the fish! Can't go wrong!
Great bar too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Great as usual. Lamb chops spectacular.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.