Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 9 times today

Bistro Two Eighteen

4.7
518 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Contemporary French
Top Tags:
  • Special Occasion
  • Good for a Date
  • Good for Anniversaries
Welcome to Bistro 218
Nestled in the heart of Downtown Birmingham’s Financial and Theater District, Bistro 218 features side by side dining concepts.

Guests can enjoy a glass of wine or craft cocktail in our upscale casual bar room and indulge in a full bar menu under or proceed through the French doors into the main dining room and take pleasure in French classics paired with seasonally procured wines and local craft beers. Reservations are available in either room.

Ever changing menus are seasonal, with Gulf Coast influences and feature local foragers and farms supplying the best Alabama has to offer.

Bistro 218 honors the traditions of French bistros with minimalist decor in a historical setting. Dark Brazilian mahogany, high ceilings and exposed brick adorned with local art emanate a comforting yet elegant atmosphere that is perfect for a romantic dinner, a pre-theater meal or a relaxing night out.
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Contemporary French, Contemporary American
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation


Lunch:

Tuesday - Friday 11:00am - 2:00pm


Dinner:

Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm


Closed Sundays & Mondays
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(205) 983-7999
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Smart Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Tom Saab
icon/ic_contactCreated with Sketch.
Private party contact
Tom Saab: (205) 983-7999
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
2nd Ave. N.
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Complimentary Curbside Valet Parking Starting at 5pm
Additional
Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 518 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.7based on recent ratings
4.8
food
4.7
service
4.7
ambience
4.4
value
Noise · Quiet
99% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 4 days ago

Excellent food, great service. I've eaten here several times when I'm in Birmingham, always an excellent meal.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 4 days ago

Celebrated our 25th wedding anniversary and could not have been more pleased with the service, food and ambience. Definitely a night we will never forget!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 19, 2018

Always delicious food, excellent service, and a quiet setting. Favorite restaurant in Birmingham.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 18, 2018

They accommodated our menu requests with regard to dietary restrictions. Great experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 18, 2018

Fairly regular diners there, and have never, EVER been disappointed. Food is always outstanding, service is great, and the drink/bar selections are excellent.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 18, 2018

My wife and I are regular diners on the Birmingham circuit but for some reason we had not tried Bistro 218 and thought the time was right to give it a try. Our decision was well rewarded. We had a fantastic evening. Ambience, food preparation, service, etc...were all top notch. We will definitely be back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 18, 2018

Fabulous Dinner and Favorite Restaurant. The Host remembered to put me at a select table she had recommended on a previous occasion. We felt thoroughly spoiled, the food was delectable, and our evening was made complete by a visit from the Owner/Chef Saab.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 16, 2018

Excellent Steak Frites.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 16, 2018

Charming bistro in downtown Birmingham. Great ambience in a historic brick building. Good food and interesting cocktails. The dining room has a romantic atmosphere.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 15, 2018

Scallops were delicious. Great music and top notch service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

First time to go and it was excellent. We went for my sister's birthday and they not only left a card on the table wishing her a happy birthday but came out with a candle and dessert when the meal was over. I would and will definitely go again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

Very pleased. My wife and I celebrated her birthday. We started with the gumbo. My wife had the beef tenderloin and shrimp; I had the redfish. It was all beautifully presented and delicious. The cocktails were generous and tasty. My wife was made to feel important, as everyone - including Chef Saab - wished her a happy birthday. Thanks to all at Bistro Two Eighteen for your hospitality. We will be back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

Wonderful meal, one of the best I’ve had in Birmingham. Recommend the Pork Belly, the Tournedos, the Blackened redfish, and the triple Mousse dessert. Everything was French quality with a southern flair. Attentive service, nice ambiance, and did nice low-key honoring of my Mom’s 80th!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 10, 2018

Lovely dinner, service and ambience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 6, 2018

We had a excellent experience at Bistro 218. The ambience was amazing. The nose level was low. We could hear each other with no problem. We were seated immediately. The service was exceptional. We had the oysters and crab cakes for our appetizer. Both were delicious, but the crab cakes were to die for.... For our entree, my lady friend had the steak tornadoes, medium. It was cooked perfect. I had the red snapper. Both dishes were out of the world delicious. I recommend.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 5, 2018

My girlfriend and two friends of ours wanted to go out on a special kind of date, and we chose Bistro Two Eighteen. There was a refined and elegant, yet comfortable atmosphere. I was not out of place in a suit, nor were the several patrons in business casual attire. The waiting staff was formal, skilled, and respectful. The food was outstanding and the dessert menu was exceptional. Valet service was available and prompt, and the waitress kindly had our car brought around when she took the check.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 4, 2018

The Bistro exceeded my expectations. Great evening!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 2, 2018

I took my boyfriend to Bistro for his birthday because it came highly recommended and I wanted to go somewhere new. I made a note in the comments that it was his birthday and as soon as we arrived, everyone wished him a Happy a birthday. They had us a quite table in the back by ourselves and a sweet birthday message for him on the table. The food was stellar and we really enjoyed the atmosphere. The server was very knowledgeable about the menu, which is something I greatly appreciate. A wonderful experience!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 28, 2018

Excellent every time!!! Our go-to. Dinner and ambiance were great. They were attentive and appropriately priced.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 27, 2018

Bar area was inviting and bar staff was great, personable and creative, especially Phyllis!
Dinner seating was loud, dark, not conducive to conversation
We were located right next to the A/C intake so every time it cycled there was a loud “ clunk”, then everyone got chilly, donned sweaters... until it cycled off
Server was gone for long periods, water not refilled when needed, we tried to self serve but pitchers were mostly dry as well.
Food was not worthy of repeat visit.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 27, 2018

What a great evening! Went for my wife’s birthday. They reserved a window table for us and had a cute sign on the table wishing my wife a Happy Birthday. Chef came out to greet us right after we had ordered the wine. Our waiter was great, explained a few things on the menu and took our app order. Food was outstanding! We have been several times before and always love it.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 26, 2018

The place is very nice, and had great service, but we had a 5:30 PM reservation and indicated we had a 7:00 PM show at the BJCC. There really was no sense of urgency to get food out in time. Your prices have gone up, probably like most in downtown, but you quantity of food was pathetic. Your charging $34-$39 on entrees and the portions are awful. We had drinks, wine, appetizer and dinner and spent $360+ and walked out hungry. That is ridiculous. Example of portion vs. price...four shrimp or four scallops on a plate for $39. Decorated on the plate very nicely, but not near enough food for the price charged. Once couple had to go to Arby's after the show because they were starving. I will pay good money for a meal, but best service and a decent quantity of food needs to be served. I have eaten here 2-3 times prior, and did not experience this issue. Services was great other than trying to get me out on time for a 7:00 pm performance. We completely missed the first half of the show and walked in at intermission. I was less than pleased.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 21, 2018

This is our favorite restaurant in Birmingham. We absolutely love the food and personal attention. Tom- the head chef- always comes out to Welcome us and speak to many tables. The redfish dish is fantastic. Our server made a couple of minor mistakes and was so apologetic. Just great food, good prices for food of this quality and a place where they let you know they appreciate your business and want you to return. We love it there!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 21, 2018

Wonderful place! Bartenders and wait staff wonderful. Drinks and food superb. Highly recommend.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 21, 2018

Great food and service. Well prepared fish entrée over grits was superb.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 20, 2018

Great ambiance. Good for foodies and anyone who appreciates fine dining.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 19, 2018

Large party for concert event downtown birmingham

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 19, 2018

My in-laws recommended Bistro 218 to us . Everything was excellent. We will be back!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 13, 2018

BLUF (Bottom Line Up Front): Go now and return often. Extraordinary service and outstanding food. There is a reason Bistro 218 has won so many awards and received such great reviews.

My wife and I were celebrating a belated ChristmAnniversary date night. After being greeted by the host, we decided to have a cocktail at the bar as we arrived a little early for our reservation. Phyllis was a first class bartender who not only made us feel welcome but provided great service.

Upon being seated, we were welcomed with a "Happy Anniversary" card and quote provided by the team at Bistro 218. Tracy wished us Happy Anniversary, reviewed the menu and specials and made some terrific recommendations from their seasonal menu. - Crab Cakes, Blackened RedFish with cheese grits and Beef Tournedos au poivre. WOW!! Every dish was expertly plated, hot (very important) and perfectly cooked and seasoned.

We really appreciated the chef stopping by and checking in as well.

The deserts were awesome too. Of special note, the pot de creme was out of this world.

We will certainly be back. Thanks for making our date night so special.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 11, 2018

I've been here 4 times while travelling and usually with a group. Food is consistently good and menu evolves with seasonality of ingredients. Service has always been good. Cool repurposed building with character. I'll be back.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 7, 2018

First time. Very very good. One of three desert items was not very good. They could improve on that front. Otherwise, everything great. Waiter could have been more engaged.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2018

I love this place. I’ve eaten there perhaps 6 to 7 times, and I’ve never had a bad experience. Mr. Saab, The owner/chef can frequently be seen going table to table ensuring that everything is OK.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 5, 2018

Our waiter , Rolando , was more than excellent. He answered all our questions
and was very attentive throughout the evening. The menu had a good varity of
choices and we were pleased with the quality and portion size.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 5, 2018

This is one of the best restaurants in Birmingham, and not many people know it. It’s primarily because of the kitchen / chef. The food is prepared superbly, especially seafood. The flavors are pleasing, and the variety of the menu will please many. I would describe it as French with a Southern and Cajun influence, or maybe the other way around? The service is very good—maybe not the most professionally trained you’d find in other cities, but everyone is very friendly, attentive, and willing to please. The biggest knock to me is the atmosphere. It’s a finely refurbished old downtown site, but it’s too much concrete floor and lack of something soft to absorb sound and provide warmth and a more comforting atmosphere. Construction nearby also is noisy during the day.

I’ve been here for business dinner and lunch, and I plan on bringing my wife to dinner to really enjoy the food. Suggest you do likewise.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 4, 2018

I will be going here many more times. This was my second time and my whole groups first. They've been talking about how great everything was for the past two days. Thank you for everything!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 4, 2018

Consistently perfect - good meals masterfully and memorably prepares. Chef owner often out front to greet guests. The duck, scallops, beef or fish dishes are perfect. Our vegetarian friend appreciated an option in the menu. . We live in Birmingham and dine out frequently and this has become our favorite. It has an elegant urban setting, old building with brick walks, soft lighting, white tablecloths, unobtrusive knowledgeable wait staff, easy valet parking. Make a reservation - this is a popular spot.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

I had a meal that was to die for... For starters, I had the raw oysters. I had the beef tenderloin tornadoes. I don't usually eat a dessert, but tonight, I had the Granny Smith apple pie with cinnamon ice cream. It was out of this world delicious.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 31, 2018

Food was excellent!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 30, 2018

Pleasant dinner. Could carry on a conversation w/o difficulty. Service was good and not intrusive.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 25, 2018

This is one of our favorites in town and a go to for us on a regular basis. The staff is always friendly and accommodating. Comfortable atmosphere and Chef Tom has a magical touch with all food. The Gumbo is always a good way to start the meal as is the fritto misto. Never have been disappointed with any dinner choice.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
13