About Bistro Toulouse

1220 Ben Sawyer Blvd
Mount Pleasant, SC 29464
View Larger Map

Bistro Toulouse brings the Parisian experience to Mount Pleasant, South Carolina. We offer modern interpretations of classic regional French dishes, fine wines and cocktails in a newly renovated space in the Sea Island Shopping Center. The atmosphere is comfortable and inviting featuring a large granite bar, natural wood décor, soft colors and lighting, eye catching art work and great music.
We use fresh, high quality ingredients prepared with sensitivity and care. Our dishes include French bistro classics, seasonal specialties and daily specials to showcase the creativity of our culinary team.
What pairs better with great food than great wine? Bistro Toulouse offers wines that complement our cuisine. Our focus is on French varietals and traditional styles of production, though we offer wines from all over the globe, including 18-20 selections by the glass. Our seasonal house cocktails include creative beverages made with our own infused liquors and syrups.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French, Contemporary French, French American

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Saturday - Sunday: 11:00am - 3:00pm
Lunch: Tuesday - Friday 11:30am - 2:30pm
Dinner: Tuesday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
Chuck Dawley Blvd (Route 526)

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 216-3434

Website:
http://www.bistrotoulouse.com/

Parking Details:
Ample complimentary parking is available right outside our door in the Sea Island Shopping Center.

Executive Chef:
Matthew Schulz

Additional:
Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Bistro Toulouse
  • Bistro Toulouse
  • Bistro Toulouse
  • Bistro Toulouse
Bistro Toulouse
Bistro Toulouse
Bistro Toulouse
Bistro Toulouse

Specials

Wine Wednesdays

Wednesdays from 11:30 AM - 9:30 PM

Specials

Wine Wednesdays

Wednesdays from 11:30 AM - 9:30 PM

Details

Make Wednesday your favorite day of the week! $10 off all bottles of wine all day and special by the glass features. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Jun 18, 2016 - Oct 18, 2016 on Wednesdays from 11:30 AM - 9:30 PM.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Bistro Toulouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.0

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Food
Charleston
Fit for Foodies
Charleston
Best Restaurants in Mount Pleasant ›

Fit for Foodies (42)
Neighborhood Gem (40)
Special Occasion (30)
See All
Great for Brunch (14)
Notable Wine List (13)
Romantic (13)
Great for Lunch (12)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Good for a Date (10)
Authentic (9)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Good for Groups (6)
Casual (5)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Cozy (4)
Hot Spot (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Healthy (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Comfort Food (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Business Meals (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sort By:
Newest
320 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

In France there are four distinct types ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined 5 days ago

In France there are four distinct types of places that sell prepared food to clients seated at tables. They are, Cafe, Brasserie, Bistro, and Restaurant. The quality and variety of food, wine, and also the price increases for each type, begininning at a cafe. Bistro Toulouse is an an authentic "Bistro", ie. A neighborhood spot full of regulars. The food is excellent, with a wide selection, mostly from the south-east of France. The wait staff is knowledgeable, efficient, and, unlike their French cousins, very personable. Located in a suburban shopping center, your Ubetr driver will find it. Bon Appétit!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Disabled Access, Casual, Authentic, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This is a wonderful little bistro in a m ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined 5 days ago

This is a wonderful little bistro in a most unlikely location! We feel transformed when we walk through the door - feels like a little cafe in France! Waitstaff exceptional- I never feel rushed - food is excellent ! I have no complaints at all - LOVE this place ! It's right up there with FIG , HUSK,MUSE,PAN E VINO and other better known downtown restaurants!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Really enjoyed this local restaurant as ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Really enjoyed this local restaurant as we are always trying to find Mt Pleasant restaurants close to home. Chose this restaurant because it was restaurant week. The location is small and quaint. The gazpacho & crab appetizer was the highlight of the meal...so fresh and simply good! Of course my husband had to try to fries and they were amazing with hanger steak. My chicken was so moist and very tasty. We will definitely return for another visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We have dined at this restaurant several ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

We have dined at this restaurant several times and been highly impressed with the food and service every time. Recently during restaurant week friends, who had never eaten at Bistro Toulouse, wanted to try it out. Like us, they were just delighted with the quality of the food. The four of us chose the Herb Roasted Chicken and their appetizer Shrimp and Grits. Both dishes were outstanding. All of us felt it might well be the best chicken dish we had eaten in Charleston. Due to it being a very very rainy day, there were not as many patrons as we have seen in the past when it has been full. However, this made for a nice and quiet atmosphere for conversation. We highly recommend this gem.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service were both excellent. Wi ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Food and service were both excellent. Will definitely go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Ask for STELLA and you will be happy. Gr ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Ask for STELLA and you will be happy. Great food, QUIET, and Stella is the best.

Tags: Authentic, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We eat here on a regular basis and have ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

We eat here on a regular basis and have always been pleased but Friday night the service was average to poor. Server did not explain menu and made us feel rushed and when asked to help us celebrate a birthday the server said "buy a dessert and we will stick a candle in it" . Not quite what I expected.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Tried bistros for restaurant week . Seat ...

vip
 (Charleston)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Tried bistros for restaurant week . Seated promptly knew our name. Small place behind burger joint Pleasant decor . Ordered gazpacho.... was great with crab salad mixed in.. then had beef burgeoning verytender dessert was lavender flavored tiramisu . All with Frenchwine pairings dinner for two less than100. Service was great felt a little rushed but will be back

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value4

The food and service never disappoints! ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

The food and service never disappoints! Great meal as always!

Tags: Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Restaurant week menu. Food was well pre ...

 
 (Puerto Vallarta)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

Restaurant week menu. Food was well prepared, matched well with wines and served by great staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

WE always enjoy ourselves when we dine w ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

WE always enjoy ourselves when we dine with you.....thanks

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

I've been to B. Toulouse many times in t ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

I've been to B. Toulouse many times in the past. I took a French friend who was visiting. The charcuterie was truly excellent as was my duck entree. It really was about the best duck I've ever had. Even the lavender creme brûlée was quite tasty. They dropped the ball on my friend's mussels. The standard moule pot was not eve half full. The mussels were overcooked and quite uneven in size. That's not the way to impress folks. The service was pretty good and knowledgeable. Sure, I'll be back. Overall, I like the place. I still do. Not sure I'd be ordering mussels any time soon, however...

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent food, wine and cocktails, and ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

Excellent food, wine and cocktails, and service. Have to have the olive tray and charcuteri.

Tags: Casual, Bar Seating, Authentic, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This is a surprising find! Bistro Toulou ...

vip
 (Charleston)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

This is a surprising find! Bistro Toulouse sits on the edge of a nondescript parking lot, but the place is anything but nondescript! Outstanding french cuisine, and very good and helpful waitstaff. I will return.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

We have been ordering here for take out ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

We have been ordering here for take out lunch but we wanted to taste the french onion soup and you could not get it as a take out. So we decided to go for dinner and we were not disappointed. The chef has a wonderful flare of the cuisine and I am afraid that when people find out about him, we will not be able to get a table... It is that good. I promise. I a foody lover and he is right their with the top chefs in the area.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service. Steak frites is ...

vip
 (Charleston)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Great food and service. Steak frites is amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

I wanted to introduce my friend to this ...

vip
 (Charleston)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

I wanted to introduce my friend to this place, since I love dining here. Turns out, she went to brunch here before our lunch date - but loved it! This is a great place for lunch or brunch. Will try dinner here soon!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We've been several times. First time for ...

vip
 (Charleston)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

We've been several times. First time for lunch. It was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is a true gem! I don't even want to ...

vip
 (Charleston)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

This is a true gem! I don't even want to tell you all about it because it's that wonderful little neighbor type place where the food is outstanding and you can get a reservation during high tourist season.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

We had the most wonderful dinner, fantas ...

vip
 (Charleston)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

We had the most wonderful dinner, fantastic service and cannot wait to go back. This is a GEM!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Bistro Toulouse is one of our go-to spot ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Bistro Toulouse is one of our go-to spots for date night. Reasonably priced, always consistent quality. The food is always yummy and perfectly cooked. Cocktails are delicious, wine list is always great. One of our Mt Pleasant faves!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Great find on Coleman Blvd. Small, inti ...

vip
 (Charleston)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Great find on Coleman Blvd. Small, intimate, came for the French menu but we all had fresh tile fish, one of the specials of the day Not a large wine list but diverse and extremely reasonably priced. Definitely worth going back to try out the ret of the menu!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Very nice brunch at Bistro Toulouse! Eg ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Very nice brunch at Bistro Toulouse! Eggs Benedict were cooked perfectly with a very tasty Hollandaise sauce. The Omelet with goat cheese was very good as well. Nice spot to go after church for brunch. Also, great, friendly service!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Interesting and delicious French food. ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Interesting and delicious French food. Service is phenomenal!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The location had us wondering, but once ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

The location had us wondering, but once inside we were pleasantly surprised! The food, service and wine were exceptional!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great food and service!

vip
 (Charleston)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Great food and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great dinner and great value. Friend re ...

vip
 (Charleston)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Great dinner and great value. Friend recommended and now I'll recommend.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

A great neighborhood spot with good food ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

A great neighborhood spot with good food and service. Will become a regular stop for us.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Their Tour de France special items enhan ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Their Tour de France special items enhanced their existing menu. Featured wine selections were good. Dessert soufflé was excellent. If you like French food, you will love this place.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Delicious fish, topping much too salty G ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Delicious fish, topping much too salty

Great veggies, again too much salt

My husband enjoyed the duck but didn't like the sauce

Also the vegetable and noodles under the duck breast were not to his liking, and he had stomach pains the rest of the night

The warm bread was very good as was the dessert

They seemed to be pushing the dessert soufflés that night

Tags: Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

Go here whenever I need a French food di ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Go here whenever I need a French food dinner. Always high quality, good service and well organized to serve people. Few tables, so reservations are highly recommended.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

best french restaurant in entire charles ...

vip
 (Charleston)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

best french restaurant in entire charleston area. authentic bistro food

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were regular diners at Bistro Toulous ...

vip
 (Charleston)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

We were regular diners at Bistro Toulouse until we moved away 6 months ago. During a visit back to the area we booked a table and were pleased to be greeted upon arrival by a staff that still remembered us and had set our favorite table for us!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Simply a must for any person who loves f ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Simply a must for any person who loves food and great services. We were a group of four on our first visit to Toulouse. Because of the reviews we decided to try it and we found the good reviews spot on. I guess there's a possibility that you could have have a bad experience but ours was just perfect! Our server was a perfect match for us. She was responsive, fun and knowledgeable about the offerings. We had the oysters which were amazing. They had an Apple mignionette that added just the right amount of crunch and a burst of flavor. We also tried tho octopus which was delicious. Then we tried the herbed chicken (a must) which is prepared with a herb butter rubbed layer under the skin. Delicious. Two of us had the fish specials speciais that night.

Everything was exceptional. And then, based on reader reviews, we ordered souffles ... Every bite better than the first. Very complex taste that was a great sweet ending.

We really can't wait to go back! It's a It's a gem for sure. We have hit a great many of the restaurants in Mt Pleasant and also Charleston over the last 15 years and this one is right up there. I agree it can be a bit noisy and the tables are a bit close together but if you have spent any time in NY you won't notice because the food is the reason you go here!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

I am never disappointed and this time wa ...

vip
 (Charleston)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

I am never disappointed and this time was no exception. Food, Service, Ambiance truly authentic and top notch. Loved the special appetizer ceviche with fresh tuna and watermelon. Yummy! See you next time!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Love their menu, especially the chartuce ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Love their menu, especially the chartucerie options. Gracious and friendly service. Ended the meal with both soufflé choices and they were perfect. Looking forward to going back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The duck breast is " to die for" and the ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

The duck breast is " to die for" and the crème brulee is exceptional "a must"

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

The service is always professional but w ...

vip
 (Charleston)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

The service is always professional but warm and friendly. We have never been disappointed in the food, and the menu is varied enough to satisfy anyone.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I had a wonderful meal at Bistro Toulous ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

I had a wonderful meal at Bistro Toulouse. Being a foodie, I wanted to create my own tasting menu. I had the charcuterie board, Steak tartare, escargot, duck breast entree and chocolate souffle. I love making my own tasking menus. The bartender was awesome in finding great wines which I prefer and his personality just made the evening. I really enjoyed myself, will come back. Duck breast had a bit too much salt for me, but I am sensitive to salt. I totally recommend the venue.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

First visit and definitely would go back ...

vip
 (Charleston)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

First visit and definitely would go back. Service was excellent. Brunch menu looks quite appealing.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.