About Bistro Toulouse

1220 Ben Sawyer Blvd
Mount Pleasant, SC 29464
View Larger Map

Bistro Toulouse brings the Parisian experience to Mount Pleasant, South Carolina. We offer modern interpretations of classic regional French dishes, fine wines and cocktails in a newly renovated space in the Sea Island Shopping Center. The atmosphere is comfortable and inviting featuring a large granite bar, natural wood décor, soft colors and lighting, eye catching art work and great music.
We use fresh, high quality ingredients prepared with sensitivity and care. Our dishes include French bistro classics, seasonal specialties and daily specials to showcase the creativity of our culinary team.
What pairs better with great food than great wine? Bistro Toulouse offers wines that complement our cuisine. Our focus is on French varietals and traditional styles of production, though we offer wines from all over the globe, including 18-20 selections by the glass. Our seasonal house cocktails include creative beverages made with our own infused liquors and syrups.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French, Contemporary French, French American

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Saturday - Sunday: 11:00am - 3:00pm
Lunch: Tuesday - Friday 11:30am - 2:30pm
Dinner: Tuesday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
Chuck Dawley Blvd (Route 526)

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 216-3434

Website:
http://www.bistrotoulouse.com/

Parking Details:
Ample complimentary parking is available right outside our door in the Sea Island Shopping Center.

Executive Chef:
Matthew Schulz

Additional:
Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Bistro Toulouse
  • Bistro Toulouse
  • Bistro Toulouse
  • Bistro Toulouse
Bistro Toulouse
Bistro Toulouse
Bistro Toulouse
Bistro Toulouse

Promotions

Weekday Happy Hour

Tuesdays - Fridays from 5:00 PM - 6:30 PM

Wine Wednesdays

Wednesdays from 11:30 AM - 9:30 PM

Promotions

Weekday Happy Hour

Tuesdays - Fridays from 5:00 PM - 6:30 PM

Details

Unwind with us Tue-Fri, 5-6:30PM $2 off Signature Cocktails and Wines by the Glass $1 off Draft and Select Bottled Beer $6 Mussels $3 Frites $3 Marinated Olives. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid May 15, 2016 - Sep 15, 2016 on Tuesdays - Fridays from 5:00 PM - 6:30 PM.

Wine Wednesdays

Wednesdays from 11:30 AM - 9:30 PM

Details

Make Wednesday your favorite day of the week! $10 off all bottles of wine all day and special by the glass features. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Jun 18, 2016 - Oct 18, 2016 on Wednesdays from 11:30 AM - 9:30 PM.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Bistro Toulouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

3.9

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Service
Charleston
Best Restaurants in Mount Pleasant ›

Fit for Foodies (38)
Neighborhood Gem (31)
Special Occasion (28)
See All
Notable Wine List (17)
Great for Brunch (13)
Romantic (11)
Great for Lunch (9)
Good for Groups (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Sort By:
Newest
305 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This is a surprising find! Bistro Toulou ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined 3 days ago

This is a surprising find! Bistro Toulouse sits on the edge of a nondescript parking lot, but the place is anything but nondescript! Outstanding french cuisine, and very good and helpful waitstaff. I will return.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

We have been ordering here for take out ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

We have been ordering here for take out lunch but we wanted to taste the french onion soup and you could not get it as a take out. So we decided to go for dinner and we were not disappointed. The chef has a wonderful flare of the cuisine and I am afraid that when people find out about him, we will not be able to get a table... It is that good. I promise. I a foody lover and he is right their with the top chefs in the area.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service. Steak frites is ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Great food and service. Steak frites is amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

I wanted to introduce my friend to this ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

I wanted to introduce my friend to this place, since I love dining here. Turns out, she went to brunch here before our lunch date - but loved it! This is a great place for lunch or brunch. Will try dinner here soon!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We've been several times. First time for ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

We've been several times. First time for lunch. It was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is a true gem! I don't even want to ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

This is a true gem! I don't even want to tell you all about it because it's that wonderful little neighbor type place where the food is outstanding and you can get a reservation during high tourist season.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

We had the most wonderful dinner, fantas ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

We had the most wonderful dinner, fantastic service and cannot wait to go back. This is a GEM!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Bistro Toulouse is one of our go-to spot ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Bistro Toulouse is one of our go-to spots for date night. Reasonably priced, always consistent quality. The food is always yummy and perfectly cooked. Cocktails are delicious, wine list is always great. One of our Mt Pleasant faves!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Great find on Coleman Blvd. Small, inti ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Great find on Coleman Blvd. Small, intimate, came for the French menu but we all had fresh tile fish, one of the specials of the day Not a large wine list but diverse and extremely reasonably priced. Definitely worth going back to try out the ret of the menu!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Very nice brunch at Bistro Toulouse! Eg ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Very nice brunch at Bistro Toulouse! Eggs Benedict were cooked perfectly with a very tasty Hollandaise sauce. The Omelet with goat cheese was very good as well. Nice spot to go after church for brunch. Also, great, friendly service!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Interesting and delicious French food. ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Interesting and delicious French food. Service is phenomenal!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The location had us wondering, but once ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

The location had us wondering, but once inside we were pleasantly surprised! The food, service and wine were exceptional!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great food and service!

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Great food and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great dinner and great value. Friend re ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Great dinner and great value. Friend recommended and now I'll recommend.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

A great neighborhood spot with good food ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

A great neighborhood spot with good food and service. Will become a regular stop for us.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Their Tour de France special items enhan ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Their Tour de France special items enhanced their existing menu. Featured wine selections were good. Dessert soufflé was excellent. If you like French food, you will love this place.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Delicious fish, topping much too salty G ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Delicious fish, topping much too salty

Great veggies, again too much salt

My husband enjoyed the duck but didn't like the sauce

Also the vegetable and noodles under the duck breast were not to his liking, and he had stomach pains the rest of the night

The warm bread was very good as was the dessert

They seemed to be pushing the dessert soufflés that night

Tags: Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

best french restaurant in entire charles ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

best french restaurant in entire charleston area. authentic bistro food

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were regular diners at Bistro Toulous ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

We were regular diners at Bistro Toulouse until we moved away 6 months ago. During a visit back to the area we booked a table and were pleased to be greeted upon arrival by a staff that still remembered us and had set our favorite table for us!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Simply a must for any person who loves f ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Simply a must for any person who loves food and great services. We were a group of four on our first visit to Toulouse. Because of the reviews we decided to try it and we found the good reviews spot on. I guess there's a possibility that you could have have a bad experience but ours was just perfect! Our server was a perfect match for us. She was responsive, fun and knowledgeable about the offerings. We had the oysters which were amazing. They had an Apple mignionette that added just the right amount of crunch and a burst of flavor. We also tried tho octopus which was delicious. Then we tried the herbed chicken (a must) which is prepared with a herb butter rubbed layer under the skin. Delicious. Two of us had the fish specials speciais that night.

Everything was exceptional. And then, based on reader reviews, we ordered souffles ... Every bite better than the first. Very complex taste that was a great sweet ending.

We really can't wait to go back! It's a It's a gem for sure. We have hit a great many of the restaurants in Mt Pleasant and also Charleston over the last 15 years and this one is right up there. I agree it can be a bit noisy and the tables are a bit close together but if you have spent any time in NY you won't notice because the food is the reason you go here!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

I am never disappointed and this time wa ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

I am never disappointed and this time was no exception. Food, Service, Ambiance truly authentic and top notch. Loved the special appetizer ceviche with fresh tuna and watermelon. Yummy! See you next time!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Love their menu, especially the chartuce ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Love their menu, especially the chartucerie options. Gracious and friendly service. Ended the meal with both soufflé choices and they were perfect. Looking forward to going back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The duck breast is " to die for" and the ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

The duck breast is " to die for" and the crème brulee is exceptional "a must"

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

The service is always professional but w ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

The service is always professional but warm and friendly. We have never been disappointed in the food, and the menu is varied enough to satisfy anyone.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I had a wonderful meal at Bistro Toulous ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

I had a wonderful meal at Bistro Toulouse. Being a foodie, I wanted to create my own tasting menu. I had the charcuterie board, Steak tartare, escargot, duck breast entree and chocolate souffle. I love making my own tasking menus. The bartender was awesome in finding great wines which I prefer and his personality just made the evening. I really enjoyed myself, will come back. Duck breast had a bit too much salt for me, but I am sensitive to salt. I totally recommend the venue.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

First visit and definitely would go back ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

First visit and definitely would go back. Service was excellent. Brunch menu looks quite appealing.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

I really enjoyed the meal and the servic ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

I really enjoyed the meal and the service was excellent. The acoustics in this restaurant are so poor that it is very hard to hear and carry a conversation. Sometimes you can hear the conversation at a nearby table better than at your own table.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Great find in Mount Pleasant! Awesome f ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Great find in Mount Pleasant! Awesome food and service in an unassuming storefront. Traditional French bistro /provincial food with great preparation. The additional bonus was a rare to find in South Cari a dessert, a soufflé that was wonderful.

Do t let the storefront fool you. The service was outstanding. With not only attention, but knowledge of the menu. This tells me that the service team is not just wait staff.

I will return when I am in town again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Another great meal!

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

Having just tried this restaurant a few days previously, we needed a convenient spot to meet a business associate. The food was delicious and the service outstanding again. A new neighborhood fav!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Swetbreads appetizer was very good. Ord ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

Swetbreads appetizer was very good. Ordered off the special nighty menu for a party of six. Everyone enjoyed and shared.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Lovely

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

I took my mom here for our last dinner in Charleston on a friend's recommendation. The food was outstanding, the atmosphere was relaxed yet attentive, and the staff was genuinely nice. I highly recommend the orange souflle; I wish that we ordered the chocolate souflle as well. Everything was wonderful. I cannot recommend this place enough.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've always meant to try this restaurant ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 6, 2016

I've always meant to try this restaurant and needed to find someplace open late on Sunday after flying back to Charleston. What a find! We will definitely add this to our neighborhood favorites. The food was outstanding as was the service! Highly recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I love the food and wine selection. Our ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

I love the food and wine selection. Our server was knowledgeable, friendly and helpful. This was my third visit. Lovely dinner with great wine recommendations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

This was an overall 4.5 but had to the 4 ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

This was an overall 4.5 but had to the 4 instead of the 5 primarily because of the ambiance category. We loved the food beginning with a cheese and charcuterie tray - only $15 for four choices- followed by a cassoulet for one and the bouillabaisse for the other. The wine we chose was much enjoyed but the selection was limited and a number of the choices were not available. Good service with knowledgeable staff. The restaurant is located in a strip shopping center and the atmosphere inside could have felt a little more upscale and cozier. We will definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Food is great!! Perfect addition to Mt ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

Food is great!! Perfect addition to Mt P's food scene. Staff is very friendly and knowledgable. I highly recommend. We eat here weekly with our kids.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Wonderful dinner

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Went with friends to enjoy a pre "Mother's Day Dinner". Excellent menu and choices; the special are always just that....recommend reservations on weekends.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We love the food here! It just delicious ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

We love the food here!

It just delicious ! We go often and they make you feel right at home!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

danm

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on April 27, 2016

this is a fabulous restaurant. We have been there many times and are extremely pleased very time. Recently for a wine dinner and everything again was superb. Highly recommend it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really nice surprise...nice atmosphere r ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

Really nice surprise...nice atmosphere right in Mt.P.

Outstanding food and very good service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Good First Time Dining Experience

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

We ate for the first time at Bistro Toulouse this past weekend and had a nice experience. We ordered the gnocchi special with mushrooms and ramps with the gnocchi being very light and tasty. For an entree I ordered the chicken which was absolutely marvelous and I would definitely order again. My husband ordered the steak/frites, steak medium. While some parts of the steak were close to medium, most of it was very rare. It is our fault for not saying something sooner to the staff but sometimes you just start eating and cutting away the red parts and the next thing you know you have pieces of red meat piling up on your plate. Our waiter and manager apologized and offered us a complimentary port each which was outstanding. We ended with the orange/vanilla souffle which melted in our mouths. I spoke with a co-worker who frequents the restaurant and she too said that the steak is usually quite under cooked and no longer orders it. Other than that , it was a very good dinner and we will be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.