About Bistro Toulouse

1220 Ben Sawyer Blvd
Mount Pleasant, SC 29464
View Larger Map

Bistro Toulouse brings the Parisian experience to Mount Pleasant, South Carolina. We offer modern interpretations of classic regional French dishes, fine wines and cocktails in a newly renovated space in the Sea Island Shopping Center. The atmosphere is comfortable and inviting featuring a large granite bar, natural wood décor, soft colors and lighting, eye catching art work and great music.
We use fresh, high quality ingredients prepared with sensitivity and care. Our dishes include French bistro classics, seasonal specialties and daily specials to showcase the creativity of our culinary team.
What pairs better with great food than great wine? Bistro Toulouse offers wines that complement our cuisine. Our focus is on French varietals and traditional styles of production, though we offer wines from all over the globe, including 18-20 selections by the glass. Our seasonal house cocktails include creative beverages made with our own infused liquors and syrups.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French, Contemporary French, French American

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Saturday - Sunday: 11:00am - 3:00pm
Lunch: Tuesday - Friday 11:30am - 2:30pm
Dinner: Tuesday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
Chuck Dawley Blvd (Route 526)

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 216-3434

Website:
http://www.bistrotoulouse.com/

Parking Details:
Ample complimentary parking is available right outside our door in the Sea Island Shopping Center.

Executive Chef:
Matthew Schulz

Additional:
Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

  • Bistro Toulouse
  • Bistro Toulouse
  • Bistro Toulouse
  • Bistro Toulouse
Bistro Toulouse
Bistro Toulouse
Bistro Toulouse
Bistro Toulouse

Promotions

Weekday Happy Hour

Tuesdays - Fridays from 5:00 PM - 6:30 PM

Wine Wednesdays

Wednesdays from 11:30 AM - 9:30 PM

Promotions

Weekday Happy Hour

Tuesdays - Fridays from 5:00 PM - 6:30 PM

Details
Wine Wednesdays

Wednesdays from 11:30 AM - 9:30 PM

Details

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Bistro Toulouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.0

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

fit for foodies (39)
neighborhood gem (32)
special occasion (25)
See All
notable wine list (20)
great for brunch (12)
romantic (11)
great for lunch (9)
good for groups (8)
hot spot (2)
late-night find (1)
kid-friendly (1)
vibrant bar scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
292 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The location had us wondering, but once ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined 2 days ago

The location had us wondering, but once inside we were pleasantly surprised! The food, service and wine were exceptional!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great food and service!

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined 5 days ago

Great food and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great dinner and great value. Friend re ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined 6 days ago

Great dinner and great value. Friend recommended and now I'll recommend.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

A great neighborhood spot with good food ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

A great neighborhood spot with good food and service. Will become a regular stop for us.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Their Tour de France special items enhan ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Their Tour de France special items enhanced their existing menu. Featured wine selections were good. Dessert soufflé was excellent. If you like French food, you will love this place.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Delicious fish, topping much too salty G ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Delicious fish, topping much too salty

Great veggies, again too much salt

My husband enjoyed the duck but didn't like the sauce

Also the vegetable and noodles under the duck breast were not to his liking, and he had stomach pains the rest of the night

The warm bread was very good as was the dessert

They seemed to be pushing the dessert soufflés that night

Tags: vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

best french restaurant in entire charles ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

best french restaurant in entire charleston area. authentic bistro food

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were regular diners at Bistro Toulous ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

We were regular diners at Bistro Toulouse until we moved away 6 months ago. During a visit back to the area we booked a table and were pleased to be greeted upon arrival by a staff that still remembered us and had set our favorite table for us!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Simply a must for any person who loves f ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Simply a must for any person who loves food and great services. We were a group of four on our first visit to Toulouse. Because of the reviews we decided to try it and we found the good reviews spot on. I guess there's a possibility that you could have have a bad experience but ours was just perfect! Our server was a perfect match for us. She was responsive, fun and knowledgeable about the offerings. We had the oysters which were amazing. They had an Apple mignionette that added just the right amount of crunch and a burst of flavor. We also tried tho octopus which was delicious. Then we tried the herbed chicken (a must) which is prepared with a herb butter rubbed layer under the skin. Delicious. Two of us had the fish specials speciais that night.

Everything was exceptional. And then, based on reader reviews, we ordered souffles ... Every bite better than the first. Very complex taste that was a great sweet ending.

We really can't wait to go back! It's a It's a gem for sure. We have hit a great many of the restaurants in Mt Pleasant and also Charleston over the last 15 years and this one is right up there. I agree it can be a bit noisy and the tables are a bit close together but if you have spent any time in NY you won't notice because the food is the reason you go here!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

I am never disappointed and this time wa ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

I am never disappointed and this time was no exception. Food, Service, Ambiance truly authentic and top notch. Loved the special appetizer ceviche with fresh tuna and watermelon. Yummy! See you next time!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Love their menu, especially the chartuce ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Love their menu, especially the chartucerie options. Gracious and friendly service. Ended the meal with both soufflé choices and they were perfect. Looking forward to going back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The duck breast is " to die for" and the ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

The duck breast is " to die for" and the crème brulee is exceptional "a must"

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

The service is always professional but w ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

The service is always professional but warm and friendly. We have never been disappointed in the food, and the menu is varied enough to satisfy anyone.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

First visit and definitely would go back ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

First visit and definitely would go back. Service was excellent. Brunch menu looks quite appealing.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

I really enjoyed the meal and the servic ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

I really enjoyed the meal and the service was excellent. The acoustics in this restaurant are so poor that it is very hard to hear and carry a conversation. Sometimes you can hear the conversation at a nearby table better than at your own table.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Great find in Mount Pleasant! Awesome f ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Great find in Mount Pleasant! Awesome food and service in an unassuming storefront. Traditional French bistro /provincial food with great preparation. The additional bonus was a rare to find in South Cari a dessert, a soufflé that was wonderful.

Do t let the storefront fool you. The service was outstanding. With not only attention, but knowledge of the menu. This tells me that the service team is not just wait staff.

I will return when I am in town again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Another great meal!

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

Having just tried this restaurant a few days previously, we needed a convenient spot to meet a business associate. The food was delicious and the service outstanding again. A new neighborhood fav!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Swetbreads appetizer was very good. Ord ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

Swetbreads appetizer was very good. Ordered off the special nighty menu for a party of six. Everyone enjoyed and shared.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Lovely

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

I took my mom here for our last dinner in Charleston on a friend's recommendation. The food was outstanding, the atmosphere was relaxed yet attentive, and the staff was genuinely nice. I highly recommend the orange souflle; I wish that we ordered the chocolate souflle as well. Everything was wonderful. I cannot recommend this place enough.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've always meant to try this restaurant ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 6, 2016

I've always meant to try this restaurant and needed to find someplace open late on Sunday after flying back to Charleston. What a find! We will definitely add this to our neighborhood favorites. The food was outstanding as was the service! Highly recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I love the food and wine selection. Our ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

I love the food and wine selection. Our server was knowledgeable, friendly and helpful. This was my third visit. Lovely dinner with great wine recommendations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

This was an overall 4.5 but had to the 4 ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

This was an overall 4.5 but had to the 4 instead of the 5 primarily because of the ambiance category. We loved the food beginning with a cheese and charcuterie tray - only $15 for four choices- followed by a cassoulet for one and the bouillabaisse for the other. The wine we chose was much enjoyed but the selection was limited and a number of the choices were not available. Good service with knowledgeable staff. The restaurant is located in a strip shopping center and the atmosphere inside could have felt a little more upscale and cozier. We will definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Wonderful dinner

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Went with friends to enjoy a pre "Mother's Day Dinner". Excellent menu and choices; the special are always just that....recommend reservations on weekends.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We love the food here! It just delicious ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

We love the food here!

It just delicious ! We go often and they make you feel right at home!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

danm

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on April 27, 2016

this is a fabulous restaurant. We have been there many times and are extremely pleased very time. Recently for a wine dinner and everything again was superb. Highly recommend it.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really nice surprise...nice atmosphere r ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

Really nice surprise...nice atmosphere right in Mt.P.

Outstanding food and very good service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Good First Time Dining Experience

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

We ate for the first time at Bistro Toulouse this past weekend and had a nice experience. We ordered the gnocchi special with mushrooms and ramps with the gnocchi being very light and tasty. For an entree I ordered the chicken which was absolutely marvelous and I would definitely order again. My husband ordered the steak/frites, steak medium. While some parts of the steak were close to medium, most of it was very rare. It is our fault for not saying something sooner to the staff but sometimes you just start eating and cutting away the red parts and the next thing you know you have pieces of red meat piling up on your plate. Our waiter and manager apologized and offered us a complimentary port each which was outstanding. We ended with the orange/vanilla souffle which melted in our mouths. I spoke with a co-worker who frequents the restaurant and she too said that the steak is usually quite under cooked and no longer orders it. Other than that , it was a very good dinner and we will be back.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Bistro Toulouse was recommended by a clo ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on April 8, 2016

Bistro Toulouse was recommended by a close friend so we were eager to have dinner there. We loved the menu choices and very much enjoyed every part of the dining including after dinner drinks. Superior service from the door in to the door out to leave. It was a little noisy but that was because there were a lot of happy people there on a Friday night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

One of the best in the area

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

We have been there twice for Sunday brunch and three times for dinner. This last time was excellent and the other visits just a notch behind. I think this is one of the best kept secrets in the Charleston area for food. Excellent French cooking . We had the soft shell crabs and escargots for the appetizer. Wonderful presentation and deliciuos.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

A pleasant surprise.

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

A last minute search for a Sunday Brunch found several options nearby.

This was the first time we had visited Bistro Loulouse, reviews were very good and we would agree.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Easter Brunch

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

Absolutely a neighborhood gem tucked into the Harris Teeter anchored strip mall in Mount Pleasant. Don't let the outside appearance fool you an absolute delight foodie delight and mussels to die for plus the crusty oh so appropriate French bread. Have the bloody MaryWe will be back and soon. Our party of 8 are still talking about what a wonderful brunch we all enjoyed. If still available order the French onion soup or the warm asparagus salad. Ah Paris in the Spring!

Tags: great for brunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

european flovor

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 9, 2016

tries, somewhat successfully, to capture the atmosphere of the old time french brasseries

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

ONE of the BEST BRUNCH offerings in Mt. Pleasant

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on March 6, 2016

SO why is this place not slammed busy with a 20-minute waiting line to get a table? You got me. For when you compare what is served here and at the prices our table of 5 foodies was totally amazed when one is to look at a 15-mile radius of the competition. This place is the BOMB! Good service and exceptionally great food. Maybe they are just a hidden gem, because we have all had far less quality food at places where the line was long. Maybe I should not boast too loudly, for the next time I visit I may be subject to a long wait for a table. Advise to book on OpenTable just in case. Kudos to the kitchen and waitstaff.

Dined a 2nd time: As awesome as the first.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Cocktails were good but that's where the ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on March 6, 2016

Cocktails were good but that's where their pluses end. This is not French food. Examples: Salad lyonnaise should only have frisée and theirs had spring also. Additionally the dressing should be robust and savory and the egg (the star ingredient) should be poached perfectly. Buerre Blanc sauce shouldn't be watery and should have flavor. This took away from an otherwise well prepared piece of fish. Fries with steak would have been better paired with a burger bc they were too think and there wasn't enough sauce to coat even a fourth of them. But all this could have been salvaged for an average experience if it wasn't for the worst service I've ever experienced for this price point of food. Our server was clearly over her skis and perhaps not her fault. This places needs at least one food runner and one bus boy as their responsibilities fell on the servers and bartenders to the detriment of the customer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1

Treasure on Mt. Pleasant

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on March 4, 2016

What a hidden treasure. I would never have found it without Open Table. Yes, I will return.

Thanks Open Table.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

had Sunday brunch. Portions small but t ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

had Sunday brunch. Portions small but tasty. would go again.

Tags: great for brunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Best French restaurant in Charleston area

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

Been there now 3 tisane can't get enough. Food is excellent and great variety. When French food is prepared well, it is fantastic and they do it well here.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This is what a neighborhood bistro shoul ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

This is what a neighborhood bistro should be. Very good renditions of the classics: cassoulet, steak tartare, mussels frites, plus several fresh catch offerings daily. Our server, Walt, could not have been better. And the wine list has good variety at reasonable prices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

The perfect French bistro. Mussels and f ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on February 27, 2016

The perfect French bistro. Mussels and frites, steak and frites, lightly dressed green salad and yummy soufflés! Want to go back to try the onion soup. It looked divine. All of the food is well seasoned and prepared perfectly. My only food complaint is the bread. Though it was quite good, I would prefer a crusty white baguette to go with the mussels. The restaurant was incredibly loud. This was made worse by the all female table next to us. They were yelling. Why is it so much fun to go out with a group of girls and such torment being next to them?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Pricey!

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

Waited 30 minutes past our reservation time to be seated at a table by the restrooms.

The fixed price meal with a $44 bottle of wine + tax + tip set me back over $200--not a great value.

We will try Bistro Toulouse again when we can order ala carte.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.