About Bistro Toulouse

1220 Ben Sawyer Blvd
Mount Pleasant, SC 29464
View Larger Map

Bistro Toulouse brings the Parisian experience to Mount Pleasant, South Carolina. We offer modern interpretations of classic regional French dishes, fine wines and cocktails in a newly renovated space in the Sea Island Shopping Center. The atmosphere is comfortable and inviting featuring a large granite bar, natural wood décor, soft colors and lighting, eye catching art work and great music.
We use fresh, high quality ingredients prepared with sensitivity and care. Our dishes include French bistro classics, seasonal specialties and daily specials to showcase the creativity of our culinary team.
What pairs better with great food than great wine? Bistro Toulouse offers wines that complement our cuisine. Our focus is on French varietals and traditional styles of production, though we offer wines from all over the globe, including 18-20 selections by the glass. Our seasonal house cocktails include creative beverages made with our own infused liquors and syrups.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French, Contemporary French, French American

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Saturday - Sunday: 11:00am - 3:00pm
Lunch: Tuesday - Friday 11:30am - 2:30pm
Dinner: Tuesday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
Chuck Dawley Blvd (Route 526)

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 216-3434

Website:
http://www.bistrotoulouse.com/

Parking Details:
Ample complimentary parking is available right outside our door in the Sea Island Shopping Center.

Executive Chef:
Matthew Schulz

Additional:
Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Details

Bring your Valentine in for a special 5+ course Chef's Tasting menu featuring Scallops, Filet Mignon, French Cheeses and decadent desserts. 2 choices offered each course. $67 per guest with optional wine pairing for $22. Tax and gratuity not included. Also serving pre-Valentines special Feb 10-12

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Bistro Toulouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.2

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (17)
Good for a Date (17)
Neighborhood Gem (16)
See All
Casual (15)
Special Occasion (14)
Bar Seating (12)
Cozy (12)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Authentic (11)
Romantic (10)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Worth the Drive (8)
Fun (8)
Local Ingredients (6)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
Seasonal (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Business Meals (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Family Style (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Tapas (1)
Healthy (1)
Afternoon Coffee (0)
Sort By:
S
361 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Nice atmosphere and attentive wait staff ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined 2 days ago

Nice atmosphere and attentive wait staff. They were kind enough to offer selections posted on the Restaurant Week Menu a la carte.

Will definitely return.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

If you like French cooking, Bistro Toulo ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 3 days ago

If you like French cooking, Bistro Toulouse is for you. I dined there during Charleston's Restaurant Week, choosing the $35 menu. My first course was the house pâté, really more of a terrine, surrounded with bacon and studded with pistachios. Instead of the usual cornichons, it came with a variety of pickled vegetables plus fresh frisée. The steak au poivre was studded with crunchy green peppercorns. Although ordered medium rare, it was just a trifle undercooked, but this is better than overcooked. It came on top of braised spinach with potato purée underneath for a nice contrast of flavors. Dessert was a lavender crème brulée with a subtle taste of lavender. I heartily recommend Bistro Toulouse. After all, you have nothing "Toulouse" (sorry--I could not resist a bilingual pun).

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Authentic, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

That was my first trip to Bistro Talouse ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 6 days ago

That was my first trip to Bistro Talouse but it will not be the last. The food and the service were both excellent. The noise level was high but tolerable.

The whole experience was pleasurable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We came to Bistro Toulouse since it was ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 6 days ago

We came to Bistro Toulouse since it was on the Charleston Restaurant Week list and we had not been but wanted to try it. We found the setting great even though it is in a strip center. The food was outstanding and they had a very thorough and complete wine list. Mt wife had the chocolate soufflé for dessert and it was to die for. Both of our entrees, tile fish and coq au vin, were both equally great. We had driven about 20 miles to get here but will certainly make the trip again

Tags: Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a great find! A terrific French bi ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 11, 2017

What a great find! A terrific French bistro in a strip mall with a Goodwill and a grocery store. We would never have found this without Open Table. Excellent service and excellent food. Highly recommended.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food, exceptional service (Pierre a ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Good food, exceptional service (Pierre aka Matt). Will definitely dine there again and look

forward to having lunch there

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I've eaten here many times. I took a fri ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 8, 2017

I've eaten here many times. I took a friend who had never been before during Restaurant Week in January 2017. Their RW menu is always a good selection of what they excel in preparing. But if you want the full experience, get the wine pairings. A lot of effort goes into making sure it all goes together. Their regular menu is also very good. Portion sizes are good. Just be careful. It's way too easy to order too much food! And if you can't finish that bottle of wine, no worries. They can cork it to go. And on Wednesday nights they heavily discount the wine. And they have a very nice wine selection. Don't let its location scare you away. As soon as you walk in the door you forget that it is nestled in between a pizzaria and a launderette.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Authentic, Romantic, Good for a Date, Cozy, Disabled Access, Bar Seating, Tapas, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Been several times and always quite good ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Been several times and always quite good. I think it may be the best French restaurant in the Charleston area. Don't be fooled that it is in a shopping center, once inside it looks like a French bistro atmosphere

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

This was a surprising find. We went as ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 7, 2017

This was a surprising find. We went as it was restaurant week and found this great place. The menu was very authentic and everything else as well. The escargot were not the best as they came out warm, however everything else I got as well as my wife was awesome. The price was exceptional as well. Can't wait to go back.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Pre/post Theatre, Late-night Find, Good for Groups, Authentic, Casual, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value5

The roast chicken crepe had good flavor; ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 7, 2017

The roast chicken crepe had good flavor; but was dry and needed to be topped off with a savory sauce. In fact, I was surprised it didn't have a light sauce over it. It also didn't need the greens in the crepe just the chicken, goat cheese, mushrooms and tomato confit would of sufficed. My partner had the Braised Pork Hash, it also had good flavor but it wasn't a true hash. It was runny and more like pork stew with poached eggs on top. If they had taken the braised pork and served it over grilled rustic chopped potatoes, onions, and peppers it would of been amazing. Our desserts were on point and made up for the so so main meal. The lavender crème brulee and red velvet bread pudding were outstanding! Service was good and staff was very friendly.

Tags: Cozy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Thoroughly enjoyed dinner. Service was ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Thoroughly enjoyed dinner. Service was very good. Glad we got to try it during Restaurant Week. Menu had good choices. Will go again.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Great service & food! 👍🏼👍🏼

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Great service & food! 👍🏼👍🏼

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food matched excellent service. We went ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Food matched excellent service. We went for restaurant week for lunch and had the special. We will be back when we return to Charleston.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Bon! I was in the area and checked Open ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Bon! I was in the area and checked Open Table to find a good place for lunch. I spend half my time in France, and am always wary of "French" restaurants, but decided to give this a try. When I saw it was in a strip mall, I got even warier. Well, I was WRONG! This is a fabulous restaurant.

From the moment I walked in and was greeted by the fellow behind the bar, who took care of me immediately, I knew I had lucked out. The service was top-notch professional, the menu, terrific, and the food superb! I had the mushroom crepe, and it was better than some I have had in France. The bread was also wonderful.

I can't say enough good things about Bistro Toulouse, and will be sure to return. It actually made me happy that I have two doctors in Mount Pleasant whom I must see regularly. Makes the drive up from Beaufort worthwhile.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Cozy, Outstanding Value, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had dinner there early on New Years E ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We had dinner there early on New Years Eve. They had a prix fixe dinner with paired wines. It was totally lovely. It couldn't have been any better.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had another great meal here. The food ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 29, 2016

We had another great meal here. The food and the service were terrific. The desert souffles are absolutely to die for. This is a real gem in a non-descript strip mall. Highly recommended. We'll be back many more times.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

19th wedding anniversary

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 28, 2016

19th wedding anniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

the maître D was very helpful in serving ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 25, 2016

the maître D was very helpful in serving us some meat instead of the fish. and the duck was cooked to perfection. Nice Christmas dinner

Tags: Bar Seating, Family Style, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We stopped in because our friends loved ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 23, 2016

We stopped in because our friends loved the place, but we were a little dubious about"French food." Boy, did we have to eat our doubt along with the best roast chicken I have ever had in my life. My husband says the grilled octopus was outstanding, and the bartender couldn't have been more helpful by giving me the recipe to the delicious cocktail I had ordered. This place is great, but don't y'all come and keep me from getting in!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service, good wine selection, menu ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Great service, good wine selection, menu variety, excellent food.

Tags: Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The onion soup is wonderful. In our part ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 18, 2016

The onion soup is wonderful. In our party of 8, all entrees were exceptional. If I had to make one suggestion, it is that all food should be served piping hot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Our server was one of the best I have ha ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Our server was one of the best I have had in years. She was very helpful and deserves credit for having a great dining experience.

We had three friends who were first time customers and there all will be back.

Tags: Romantic, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We always have a delicious meal here and ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 9, 2016

We always have a delicious meal here and our friends said they would definitely be back as well!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Molecular Gastronomy, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our second visit and we really ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 7, 2016

This was our second visit and we really enjoyed our meals and time with friends. Two had Hanger Steak, the others had Flounder and Mussels. The meals were all outstanding as was the service. The noise level can get just a bit elevated but not outside what you'd expect. We'll be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Love this local French place. Mussels an ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Love this local French place. Mussels and fries are awesome. Duck breast really wonderful and the people and service are excellent.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Our entrees came out cold :( waiter was ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Our entrees came out cold :( waiter was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5

Wonderful hidden restaurant with delicio ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Wonderful hidden restaurant with delicious french food!!

Tags: Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I ordered my steak medium and it came ou ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 19, 2016

I ordered my steak medium and it came out rare. Since it was sliced, this should have been corrected.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always enjoyable. The service is fabulou ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Always enjoyable. The service is fabulous food is delicious. One of my favorites.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The French onion soup and mussels are fa ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 13, 2016

The French onion soup and mussels are fabulous. Who would know hidden in the strip mall this restaurant would be delightful? So glad it is close to home.....

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Superb neighborhood gem! Highly recommen ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Superb neighborhood gem! Highly recommended! We had charcuterie first, fois gras pate highly recommended. Salad was very good, very nice greens; and barrel fish which was delicious but could have been cooked a minute less for our tastes, but still not to be missed! Get a soufflé- we shared orange, exceptional. Waitress was great, gave us some recommendations for ventures into the city. Worth going here for sure!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

One of the best casual French dining opt ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 6, 2016

One of the best casual French dining options around the Galleria area.

Has a great authentic "Bistro" feel.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and drinks were as delicious as ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 5, 2016

The food and drinks were as delicious as ever, and the service as outstanding as ever! (Please see my previous review) Still one of our top three favorite restaurants in Charleston... which is saying something, given the wealth of great restaurants here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This small bistro holds its own against ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 25, 2016

This small bistro holds its own against the top restaurants in Charleston! Located in a small unassuming strip mall, do not judge the book by its cover.

There are so many positives to my dining experience I'm not sure where to begin but let's start with the kind, friendly service immediately when you walk in the door. Everyone is smiling, they are truly happy to serve you a wonderful meal. The chef walks out into the restaurant periodically to see what's going on, that to me is the clue that he understands how to make a restaurant successful.

The menu is just the right size, with a lovely offering of international cheeses as well as specials of the day.

The food itself is brilliantly prepared, perfectly seasoned. The breads are homemade and it they have this wonderful whipped butter which you really must try, and I normally don't eat butter but I couldn't help myself.

The wine selection is very nice and the wines served by the glass are great and inexpensive.

Ambience is lovely....warm earthy colors, simple table and chairs, French artwork. My only recommendation to the owners would be to add in French music, and to put on the television some travelogue videos of France (rather than the local TV channel).

The place was filled with a broad array of clientele, including couples on first dates, many tables of groups of women out to have a fine dining experience or celebrate a special occasion, to singles..... sitting at the bar, enjoying the ambience and some great food.

This will surely will become one of my favorite restaurants in the Charleston area, after just moving here from Europe.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Delightful, easily overlooked. Wonderful ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Delightful, easily overlooked. Wonderful food and a lively bistro atmosphere.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Having just moved back the Mt. Pleasant ...

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Having just moved back the Mt. Pleasant area after 8 years in Nashville, we were pleasantly surprised to find such a gem right in the old part of Mount Pleasant. This is very similar to our favorite French Bistro in Nashville as the menu was structured very similarly and the food and service exceeded that place in every way.

We had a reservation but sat at the bar for drinks and dinner and our Server (the bartender) was extremely knowledgeable and really knew his way around the menu. We enjoyed the Octopus and Charcuterie appetizers as well as the outstanding preparation of the daily catch and mouthwatering desserts! We highly recommend this gem and plan to come back on a regular basis.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect eggs Benedict! Great brunch spot ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Perfect eggs Benedict! Great brunch spot with great service!

Tags: Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent food and knowledgeable staff. ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Excellent food and knowledgeable staff. Don't let it's strip mall location throw you off. The red velvet cake soufflé was excellent!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Bistro Toulouse is a wonderful treat - f ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 28, 2016

Bistro Toulouse is a wonderful treat - food and service are excellent - if you enjoy crepes, mussels, homemade soup - this is a wonderful restaurant to visit

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

In France there are four distinct types ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 24, 2016

In France there are four distinct types of places that sell prepared food to clients seated at tables. They are, Cafe, Brasserie, Bistro, and Restaurant. The quality and variety of food, wine, and also the price increases for each type, begininning at a cafe. Bistro Toulouse is an an authentic "Bistro", ie. A neighborhood spot full of regulars. The food is excellent, with a wide selection, mostly from the south-east of France. The wait staff is knowledgeable, efficient, and, unlike their French cousins, very personable. Located in a suburban shopping center, your Ubetr driver will find it. Bon Appétit!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Disabled Access, Casual, Authentic, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.