About Bistro Toulouse

1220 Ben Sawyer Blvd
Mount Pleasant, SC 29464
View Larger Map

Bistro Toulouse brings the Parisian experience to Mount Pleasant, South Carolina. We offer modern interpretations of classic regional French dishes, fine wines and cocktails in a newly renovated space in the Sea Island Shopping Center. The atmosphere is comfortable and inviting featuring a large granite bar, natural wood décor, soft colors and lighting, eye catching art work and great music.
We use fresh, high quality ingredients prepared with sensitivity and care. Our dishes include French bistro classics, seasonal specialties and daily specials to showcase the creativity of our culinary team.
What pairs better with great food than great wine? Bistro Toulouse offers wines that complement our cuisine. Our focus is on French varietals and traditional styles of production, though we offer wines from all over the globe, including 18-20 selections by the glass. Our seasonal house cocktails include creative beverages made with our own infused liquors and syrups.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French, Contemporary French, French American

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Saturday - Sunday: 11:00am - 3:00pm
Lunch: Tuesday - Friday 11:30am - 2:30pm
Dinner: Tuesday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
Chuck Dawley Blvd (Route 526)

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 216-3434

Website:
http://www.bistrotoulouse.com/

Parking Details:
Ample complimentary parking is available right outside our door in the Sea Island Shopping Center.

Executive Chef:
Matthew Schulz

Additional:
Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Bistro Toulouse, Mount Pleasant, SC
  • Bistro Toulouse, Mount Pleasant, SC
  • Bistro Toulouse, Mount Pleasant, SC
  • Bistro Toulouse, Mount Pleasant, SC
Bistro Toulouse, Mount Pleasant, SC
Bistro Toulouse, Mount Pleasant, SC
Bistro Toulouse, Mount Pleasant, SC
Bistro Toulouse, Mount Pleasant, SC

Specials

Wine Wednesdays

Wednesdays from 11:30 AM - 9:30 PM

Weekday Happy Hour

Fridays, Tuesdays, Wednesdays and Thursdays from 5:00 PM - 6:30 PM

Christmas Eve Prix Fixe Menu

Saturday Dec 24, 2016 from 5:00 PM - 8:30 PM

New Years Eve Prix Fixe Menu

Saturday Dec 31, 2016 from 5:00 PM - 9:30 PM

Specials

Wine Wednesdays

Wednesdays from 11:30 AM - 9:30 PM

Details

Make Wednesday your favorite day of the week! $10 off all bottles of wine all day and special by the glass features. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Nov 4, 2016 - Mar 4, 2017 on Wednesdays from 11:30 AM - 9:30 PM.

Weekday Happy Hour

Fridays, Tuesdays, Wednesdays and Thursdays from 5:00 PM - 6:30 PM

Details

Unwind with us Tue-Fri, 5-6:30PM $2 off Signature Cocktails and Wines by the Glass $1 off Draft and Select Bottled Beer $6 Mussels $3 Frites $3 Marinated Olives. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Nov 4, 2016 - Mar 4, 2017 on Fridays, Tuesdays, Wednesdays and Thursdays from 5:00 PM - 6:30 PM.

Christmas Eve Prix Fixe Menu

Saturday Dec 24, 2016 from 5:00 PM - 8:30 PM

Details

Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $49.00. Celebrate the holidays with us! Features include Escargots en Croute, Butternut Squash Soup, Roasted Goose, Fresh Local Catch, Gingerbread Crème Brulee & Dark Chocolate-Peppermint Soufflé. Wine Pairing $18. Excludes Tax and Tip. Reservations Recommended. A la carte menu & specials will be available as well. Special valid on Saturday Dec 24, 2016 from 5:00 PM - 8:30 PM.

New Years Eve Prix Fixe Menu

Saturday Dec 31, 2016 from 5:00 PM - 9:30 PM

Details

5 Course Prix Fixe Meal for $76.00, Wine Pairing $23. Ring in the New Year with us! Features include Roulade of Duck Confit, Coquille St Jacques, Fresh Catch, Short Rib, Red Velvet Souffle & MUCH more. Includes Champagne Toast & Chef's Amuse. Excludes Tax and Tip. Reservations Recommended. Limited a la carte menu available at bar only. Special valid on Saturday Dec 31, 2016 from 5:00 PM - 9:30 PM.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Bistro Toulouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.0

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Fit for Foodies
Charleston
Neighborhood Gem
Charleston
Best Restaurants in Mount Pleasant ›

Neighborhood Gem (18)
Good for Anniversaries (16)
Fit for Foodies (15)
See All
Good for a Date (13)
Authentic (13)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Casual (11)
Special Occasion (10)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Bar Seating (9)
Romantic (8)
Cozy (7)
Worth the Drive (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Outstanding Value (5)
Great for Brunch (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Fun (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Comfort Food (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Business Meals (2)
Seasonal (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Healthy (2)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sort By:
S
334 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Wonderful hidden restaurant with delicio ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Wonderful hidden restaurant with delicious french food!!

Tags: Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I ordered my steak medium and it came ou ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 19, 2016

I ordered my steak medium and it came out rare. Since it was sliced, this should have been corrected.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always enjoyable. The service is fabulou ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Always enjoyable. The service is fabulous food is delicious. One of my favorites.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The French onion soup and mussels are fa ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 13, 2016

The French onion soup and mussels are fabulous. Who would know hidden in the strip mall this restaurant would be delightful? So glad it is close to home.....

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Superb neighborhood gem! Highly recommen ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Superb neighborhood gem! Highly recommended! We had charcuterie first, fois gras pate highly recommended. Salad was very good, very nice greens; and barrel fish which was delicious but could have been cooked a minute less for our tastes, but still not to be missed! Get a soufflé- we shared orange, exceptional. Waitress was great, gave us some recommendations for ventures into the city. Worth going here for sure!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

One of the best casual French dining opt ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 6, 2016

One of the best casual French dining options around the Galleria area.

Has a great authentic "Bistro" feel.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and drinks were as delicious as ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 5, 2016

The food and drinks were as delicious as ever, and the service as outstanding as ever! (Please see my previous review) Still one of our top three favorite restaurants in Charleston... which is saying something, given the wealth of great restaurants here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This small bistro holds its own against ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 25, 2016

This small bistro holds its own against the top restaurants in Charleston! Located in a small unassuming strip mall, do not judge the book by its cover.

There are so many positives to my dining experience I'm not sure where to begin but let's start with the kind, friendly service immediately when you walk in the door. Everyone is smiling, they are truly happy to serve you a wonderful meal. The chef walks out into the restaurant periodically to see what's going on, that to me is the clue that he understands how to make a restaurant successful.

The menu is just the right size, with a lovely offering of international cheeses as well as specials of the day.

The food itself is brilliantly prepared, perfectly seasoned. The breads are homemade and it they have this wonderful whipped butter which you really must try, and I normally don't eat butter but I couldn't help myself.

The wine selection is very nice and the wines served by the glass are great and inexpensive.

Ambience is lovely....warm earthy colors, simple table and chairs, French artwork. My only recommendation to the owners would be to add in French music, and to put on the television some travelogue videos of France (rather than the local TV channel).

The place was filled with a broad array of clientele, including couples on first dates, many tables of groups of women out to have a fine dining experience or celebrate a special occasion, to singles..... sitting at the bar, enjoying the ambience and some great food.

This will surely will become one of my favorite restaurants in the Charleston area, after just moving here from Europe.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Delightful, easily overlooked. Wonderful ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Delightful, easily overlooked. Wonderful food and a lively bistro atmosphere.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Having just moved back the Mt. Pleasant ...

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Having just moved back the Mt. Pleasant area after 8 years in Nashville, we were pleasantly surprised to find such a gem right in the old part of Mount Pleasant. This is very similar to our favorite French Bistro in Nashville as the menu was structured very similarly and the food and service exceeded that place in every way.

We had a reservation but sat at the bar for drinks and dinner and our Server (the bartender) was extremely knowledgeable and really knew his way around the menu. We enjoyed the Octopus and Charcuterie appetizers as well as the outstanding preparation of the daily catch and mouthwatering desserts! We highly recommend this gem and plan to come back on a regular basis.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect eggs Benedict! Great brunch spot ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Perfect eggs Benedict! Great brunch spot with great service!

Tags: Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent food and knowledgeable staff. ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Excellent food and knowledgeable staff. Don't let it's strip mall location throw you off. The red velvet cake soufflé was excellent!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Bistro Toulouse is a wonderful treat - f ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 28, 2016

Bistro Toulouse is a wonderful treat - food and service are excellent - if you enjoy crepes, mussels, homemade soup - this is a wonderful restaurant to visit

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

In France there are four distinct types ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 24, 2016

In France there are four distinct types of places that sell prepared food to clients seated at tables. They are, Cafe, Brasserie, Bistro, and Restaurant. The quality and variety of food, wine, and also the price increases for each type, begininning at a cafe. Bistro Toulouse is an an authentic "Bistro", ie. A neighborhood spot full of regulars. The food is excellent, with a wide selection, mostly from the south-east of France. The wait staff is knowledgeable, efficient, and, unlike their French cousins, very personable. Located in a suburban shopping center, your Ubetr driver will find it. Bon Appétit!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Disabled Access, Casual, Authentic, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This is a wonderful little bistro in a m ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 24, 2016

This is a wonderful little bistro in a most unlikely location! We feel transformed when we walk through the door - feels like a little cafe in France! Waitstaff exceptional- I never feel rushed - food is excellent ! I have no complaints at all - LOVE this place ! It's right up there with FIG , HUSK,MUSE,PAN E VINO and other better known downtown restaurants!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Really enjoyed this local restaurant as ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Really enjoyed this local restaurant as we are always trying to find Mt Pleasant restaurants close to home. Chose this restaurant because it was restaurant week. The location is small and quaint. The gazpacho & crab appetizer was the highlight of the meal...so fresh and simply good! Of course my husband had to try to fries and they were amazing with hanger steak. My chicken was so moist and very tasty. We will definitely return for another visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We have dined at this restaurant several ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 14, 2016

We have dined at this restaurant several times and been highly impressed with the food and service every time. Recently during restaurant week friends, who had never eaten at Bistro Toulouse, wanted to try it out. Like us, they were just delighted with the quality of the food. The four of us chose the Herb Roasted Chicken and their appetizer Shrimp and Grits. Both dishes were outstanding. All of us felt it might well be the best chicken dish we had eaten in Charleston. Due to it being a very very rainy day, there were not as many patrons as we have seen in the past when it has been full. However, this made for a nice and quiet atmosphere for conversation. We highly recommend this gem.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service were both excellent. Wi ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Food and service were both excellent. Will definitely go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Ask for STELLA and you will be happy. Gr ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Ask for STELLA and you will be happy. Great food, QUIET, and Stella is the best.

Tags: Authentic, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We eat here on a regular basis and have ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 10, 2016

We eat here on a regular basis and have always been pleased but Friday night the service was average to poor. Server did not explain menu and made us feel rushed and when asked to help us celebrate a birthday the server said "buy a dessert and we will stick a candle in it" . Not quite what I expected.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Tried bistros for restaurant week . Seat ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 9, 2016

Tried bistros for restaurant week . Seated promptly knew our name. Small place behind burger joint Pleasant decor . Ordered gazpacho.... was great with crab salad mixed in.. then had beef burgeoning verytender dessert was lavender flavored tiramisu . All with Frenchwine pairings dinner for two less than100. Service was great felt a little rushed but will be back

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value4

The food and service never disappoints! ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 9, 2016

The food and service never disappoints! Great meal as always!

Tags: Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Restaurant week menu. Food was well pre ...

 
 (Puerto Vallarta)·Dined on September 8, 2016

Restaurant week menu. Food was well prepared, matched well with wines and served by great staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

WE always enjoy ourselves when we dine w ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 4, 2016

WE always enjoy ourselves when we dine with you.....thanks

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

I've been to B. Toulouse many times in t ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 3, 2016

I've been to B. Toulouse many times in the past. I took a French friend who was visiting. The charcuterie was truly excellent as was my duck entree. It really was about the best duck I've ever had. Even the lavender creme brûlée was quite tasty. They dropped the ball on my friend's mussels. The standard moule pot was not eve half full. The mussels were overcooked and quite uneven in size. That's not the way to impress folks. The service was pretty good and knowledgeable. Sure, I'll be back. Overall, I like the place. I still do. Not sure I'd be ordering mussels any time soon, however...

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent food, wine and cocktails, and ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 30, 2016

Excellent food, wine and cocktails, and service. Have to have the olive tray and charcuteri.

Tags: Casual, Bar Seating, Authentic, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This is a surprising find! Bistro Toulou ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 27, 2016

This is a surprising find! Bistro Toulouse sits on the edge of a nondescript parking lot, but the place is anything but nondescript! Outstanding french cuisine, and very good and helpful waitstaff. I will return.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

We have been ordering here for take out ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 21, 2016

We have been ordering here for take out lunch but we wanted to taste the french onion soup and you could not get it as a take out. So we decided to go for dinner and we were not disappointed. The chef has a wonderful flare of the cuisine and I am afraid that when people find out about him, we will not be able to get a table... It is that good. I promise. I a foody lover and he is right their with the top chefs in the area.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service. Steak frites is ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Great food and service. Steak frites is amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

I wanted to introduce my friend to this ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 18, 2016

I wanted to introduce my friend to this place, since I love dining here. Turns out, she went to brunch here before our lunch date - but loved it! This is a great place for lunch or brunch. Will try dinner here soon!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We've been several times. First time for ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 17, 2016

We've been several times. First time for lunch. It was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The service is always great and my famil ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 14, 2016

The service is always great and my family always enjoys our Sunday Brunches there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

This is a true gem! I don't even want to ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 13, 2016

This is a true gem! I don't even want to tell you all about it because it's that wonderful little neighbor type place where the food is outstanding and you can get a reservation during high tourist season.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

We had the most wonderful dinner, fantas ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 10, 2016

We had the most wonderful dinner, fantastic service and cannot wait to go back. This is a GEM!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Bistro Toulouse is one of our go-to spot ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 29, 2016

Bistro Toulouse is one of our go-to spots for date night. Reasonably priced, always consistent quality. The food is always yummy and perfectly cooked. Cocktails are delicious, wine list is always great. One of our Mt Pleasant faves!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Great find on Coleman Blvd. Small, inti ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 28, 2016

Great find on Coleman Blvd. Small, intimate, came for the French menu but we all had fresh tile fish, one of the specials of the day Not a large wine list but diverse and extremely reasonably priced. Definitely worth going back to try out the ret of the menu!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Very nice brunch at Bistro Toulouse! Eg ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on July 24, 2016

Very nice brunch at Bistro Toulouse! Eggs Benedict were cooked perfectly with a very tasty Hollandaise sauce. The Omelet with goat cheese was very good as well. Nice spot to go after church for brunch. Also, great, friendly service!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Interesting and delicious French food. ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 23, 2016

Interesting and delicious French food. Service is phenomenal!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The location had us wondering, but once ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 23, 2016

The location had us wondering, but once inside we were pleasantly surprised! The food, service and wine were exceptional!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great food and service!

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 20, 2016

Great food and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.