About Bistro Romano

120 Lombard Street
Philadelphia, PA 19147
View Larger Map

This Historic Landmark, nestled in an 18th century granary, will stimulate your senses with an ambiance of candlelight and casual elegance while creating an unforgettable dining experience. Wine Spectator Award for our wine list! Voted a “Best of Philly” Restaurant, guests enjoy Bistro Romano’s acclaimed Regional Italian Cuisine and rave of the award-winning Caesar Salad prepared tableside and the romantic underground wine cellar for two. Please call for Wine Cellar and Mystery Theatre reservations. We are now celebrating our 25th year! Wine Spectator Best of Award of Excellence (Two Glasses). Over 750 wine selections, including 20 by the glass.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Seafood, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday – Thursday: 4:30pm - 10:00pm, Friday – Saturday: 4:30pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Between Front and 2nd

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(215) 925-8880

Website:
http://www.bistroromano.com/

Entertainment:
Piano Bar Friday & Saturday; Mystery Dinner Theater Friday & Saturday - Must call 215-238-1313 for Mystery Theatre tickets.

Catering:
Bistro Romano provides off-site catering & theme parties for 25 to 2500.

Parking Details:
Parking Meters are free after 5pm on Wednesday nights . Discounted parking at Park America Garage at 215 Lombard Street: Sunday-Thursday $9, Friday and Saturday $19. Acquire parking pass from hostess.

Public Transit:
Septa: 40 Bus, 57 Bus

Executive Chef:
Michael DeLone

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Veal Saltimboca
Chicken Milanese
Antipasto
Grilled Chicken
Caesar Salad
Shrimp And Scallop Venezia
Roasted Garlic And Butternut Squash Soup
Breaded Artichokes
Pesto Gnocchi With Duck Ragu
Rigatoni With Sausage And Peppers
Trivento Malbec 2011
Mozzarella Fritte
Bread Basket
Osso Bucco Ravioli
Salmon And Scallops
Crab Stuffed Filet Mignon
Stuffed Pork Tenderloin
Pumpkin Bread Pudding With Caramel Rum Sauce
Veal Florentine
Crispy Duck
Tiramisu
Pasta Fagioli Soup
Salad
Pistachio Cannoli
Pescatore Pisa
Sausage And Broccoli Seina

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Bistro Romano can accommodate private parties of up to 125 people for a sit-down meal or 200 for a cocktail party in the 120 Room. Other rooms are available for smaller groups. Bistro Romano specializes in Business Meetings, Wedding Receptions, and Rehearsal Dinners.

Bistro Romano Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
Philadelphia / New Jersey Suburbs
Notable Wine List
Philadelphia
Romantic
Philadelphia
1 More
Italian
Philadelphia
Best Restaurants in Society Hill ›

romantic (148)
special occasion (136)
neighborhood gem (97)
See All
fit for foodies (88)
notable wine list (77)
good for groups (48)
hot spot (19)
late-night find (17)
vibrant bar scene (9)
kid-friendly (6)
great for lunch (5)
scenic view (4)
great for brunch (4)
great for outdoor dining (2)
Sort By:
Newest
1663 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Bistro Romano is one of our go to restau ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 4 days ago

Bistro Romano is one of our go to restaurants for special occasions. We love the ambience and the service is usually very good. We had a great experience at our last visit. As it usually is, the food was outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Kat the hostess is very pretty and has g ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 4 days ago

Kat the hostess is very pretty and has great hair. And the food and service was impeccable. I really do enjoy coming here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Best lobster! Just like in New England. ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 5 days ago

Best lobster! Just like in New England. Very fresh, sweet, tender. I have enjoyed the Tuesday night lobster dinner at this place many times and it is always delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Bistro Romano has an odd, antiquated fee ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 7 days ago

Bistro Romano has an odd, antiquated feel that seems romantic from the 80s. Lots of older clientele, perhaps loyal customers, but I failed to see the appeal. The pasta did not taste homemade (not sure if it was) and the menu seemed past its prime and quite pricey for the quality. I had the chicken cutlet with arugula and fresh mozzarella. The cutlet was fried and very tough (and bizarrely giant, forming the base for the salad, which made the salad slightly warm). I took advantage of BR's ubiquitous birthday coupon and, after declining dessert, was given a candle after the meal mounted in a quarter-size dollop of cannoli cream. I wasn't looking for a dessert but this seemed ridiculous to give me something inedible (they had cleared silverware too by this point). The whole experience was mediocre.

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

My BFF and I have adopted this place as ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

My BFF and I have adopted this place as our fav spot some years back. After a 5 year hiatus, she chose to celebrate her 29th bday here!!! The ambiance, food and service have only gotten better with age!!! We had an amazing time!!!! We closed the restaurant tonight :-) It was a great experience!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Of course the food was delicious and the ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Of course the food was delicious and the staff was attentive and professional, you have some very good people working for you. That's why I keep coming back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The service staff was lovely. but the fa ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

The service staff was lovely. but the facility needs a complete overhaul. It had an odor of a wet and moldy basement. The food was just average and over priced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

Bistro Romano by far is our favorite res ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Bistro Romano by far is our favorite restaurant. To us its like visiting with family for are always warmly greeted. Food is superb and their specials are a must. Caesar Salad remains the best in Philly.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic Caesar Salad. Staff was friend ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Fantastic Caesar Salad. Staff was friendly and good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

LOVE THIS PLACE. COME HERE OFTEN.. I A ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

LOVE THIS PLACE. COME HERE OFTEN.. I ALWAYS RECOMMEND IT... COMING BACK AGAIN FOR MY ANNIVERSARY NEXT WEEK !!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first time dining at Bistro ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

This was our first time dining at Bistro Romano and everything about our date here was great. We were seated as soon as we got there and we had a reservation. Our waiter was very knowledgeable about the specials and made some great recommendations. Having the Caesar salad made table side was really special but $10 was a bit much for a salad. But we both got the filet mignon and it just melted in your mouth. We also had 2 glasses of wine, white zinfandel which really went well with our meal. We were stuffed afterwards and passed on dessert. I would highly recommend this restaurant as a nice romantic night out with great food and service.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was fantastic, the the staff wa ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

The food was fantastic, the the staff was more than accommodating. We had reservations and the seating was quick. We were given a small corner seat, but the wait staff made sure we were cared for during the whole meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great way to start the weekend! Went fo ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Great way to start the weekend! Went for the summer special dinner menu. Excellent choices for each of the three courses. Came with a complimentary beverage. We chose the excellent chianti on the menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Servers are knowledgable, friendly, and ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Servers are knowledgable, friendly, and extremely helpful. The food was impeccable, delicious and served quickly. The ambiance is exactly what you'd ask for in an upscale yet private Italian dining experience. We'll be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Kate was great. The food was delicious. ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Kate was great. The food was delicious. Drop the mike.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Wanted to impress my out of town guests ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Wanted to impress my out of town guests and visit one of our favorite city restaurants. The evening did not disappoint. Always a nice meal. Excellent server too.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

What stood out was the service. When the ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

What stood out was the service. When the food wasn't to my liking they kindly replaced with pleasure. And their marinated strawberries for the cheesecake is to die for

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I live in New Jersey and my husband and ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

I live in New Jersey and my husband and I usually go to local restaurants However, We travel to the city for Bistro Romano. The food, service, and atmosphere is outstanding. You must order the Caesar salad served table side. And I cannot forget to thank there manager Kyle. He greets every table and makes you feel special.

Thank you Bistro Romano for a great Saturday night.

Tags: romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Privacy is superb with all-booth dining ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Privacy is superb with all-booth dining downstairs. This also makes hearing a breeze. It is a bit on the dark side, for those who do not want to be observed.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The veal special ravioli and the gazpach ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

The veal special ravioli and the gazpacho.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Our food and service were fabulous

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Our food and service were fabulous

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing service! Our appetizers were tak ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Amazing service! Our appetizers were taking a while, and before we could say anything, the manager come over and apologized and offered a glass of wine on the house. Looking forward to our next visit!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

The veal steak was delicious. The bar te ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

The veal steak was delicious. The bar tenders Ryan and Sean were attentive and knowledgeable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Bistro Romano is the real deal. The GM A ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Bistro Romano is the real deal. The GM Anthony makes each visit a real dining experience. The night starts at the bar with great service and drinks made to perfection. The service and food are top shelf. This place is a must for a romantic night out. We cannot wait to return.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Simply outstanding, more than just great ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Simply outstanding, more than just great food. It was a dining experience and the service was outstanding!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bistro Romano has a birthday special tha ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Bistro Romano has a birthday special that we have received for years and finally decided to give it a try. The food was great and the service (our server was Elena) was outstanding. She was very attentive without being overbearing. We will definitely try again!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The downstairs seating at Bistro Romano ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

The downstairs seating at Bistro Romano reminds me of eating in restaurants in Italy. The ambiance is wonderful, along with the delicious food. The table-side caesar salad is great, too! Our table had a wide assortment of food and each plate was amazing. You can't go wrong at Bistro Romano!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The atmosphere was understated but sumpt ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

The atmosphere was understated but sumptuous. My wife described it as dining in an elegant wine cellar. The staff were all friendly and attentive. Food was excellent as was the wine.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

2nd visit . Great meal and service.

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

2nd visit . Great meal and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Love Bistro Ramano great service great f ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Love Bistro Ramano great service great food and awesome experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very poor service on a special evening. ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Very poor service on a special evening. Waiting almost 2 hours for main course. Requested a take home bag for meal not finished and never came back to the table. Very disappointing experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value4

We went to Bistro Romano to celebrate ou ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We went to Bistro Romano to celebrate our wedding anniversary this past weekend and we loved it! We were looking for a cozy, romantic Italian restaurant and this was perfect. The dining area was charming and cozy. Our meal was delicious (I had the chicken Milanese and my husband had a veal special) - the wine list was huge and the dessert (cannoli) was wonderful. Only two negatives were that we had to ask for water and bread (it was busy) and there was a loud (and very enthusiastic) 40th birthday party group right next to us. No fault of Bistro Romano, though, and they were very apologetic about the noise, even giving us a gift certificate to use at our next visit. And we will definitely come back again! Thank you for helping us celebrate our anniversary!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I've been there with my now-fiancee quit ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

I've been there with my now-fiancee quite a bit. It was good, however the service was a little slow, and I don't prefer sitting upstairs by the bar. Most likely we will go there again

Tags: late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

The ambience was amazing as was the pian ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

The ambience was amazing as was the piano player. Perfect night and very romantic.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I dined at Bistro Romano ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

My husband and I dined at Bistro Romano on June 18, 2016 in celebration of his birthday. We dined in the wine cellar was was both extremely cozy and romantic. The service was unbelievably good, very attentive and knowledgeable. The food was equally as excellent. We can not say enough positive about our experience and strongly recommend this restaurant, We are looking forward to returning for an other unforgettable evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best dinners we have had in a ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

One of the best dinners we have had in a long time. service was faultless and the food perfect! we can't wait to return.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The chief had outdone himself tonight wi ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

The chief had outdone himself tonight with the veal special it was like butter to cut and the green pepper corn sauce was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The cheese plate during happy hour was d ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

The cheese plate during happy hour was delicious and the bolnase is fabulous, but the crème de la crème was the side of olive oil poached new potatoes with salt. I had these for dessert they are that good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Perfect evening! Celebrated a birthday w ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Perfect evening! Celebrated a birthday with dinner. Love this place.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was very good and the wine c ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

The service was very good and the wine cellar for two was charming and quiet, but the food was quite poor. The pasta was extrememly over cooked, wet and soggy, and the apps/salad were mediocre at best. Our entrees were: a special - pappadelli bolenesge, and a regular menu item - seafood over linguini - both highly recommended by the waiter. Very surprised that an Italian restaurant rated this high could mess up such basic meals and over cook pasta to the point that we didn't eat it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.