About Bistro Romano

120 Lombard Street
Philadelphia, PA 19147
View Larger Map

This Historic Landmark, nestled in an 18th century granary, will stimulate your senses with an ambiance of candlelight and casual elegance while creating an unforgettable dining experience. Wine Spectator Award for our wine list! Voted a “Best of Philly” Restaurant, guests enjoy Bistro Romano’s acclaimed Regional Italian Cuisine and rave of the award-winning Caesar Salad prepared tableside and the romantic underground wine cellar for two. Please call for Wine Cellar and Mystery Theatre reservations. We are now celebrating our 25th year! Wine Spectator Best of Award of Excellence (Two Glasses). Over 750 wine selections, including 20 by the glass.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Seafood, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday – Thursday: 4:30pm - 10:00pm, Friday – Saturday: 4:30pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Between Front and 2nd

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(215) 925-8880

Website:
http://www.bistroromano.com/

Entertainment:
Piano Bar Friday & Saturday; Mystery Dinner Theater Friday & Saturday - Must call 215-238-1313 for Mystery Theatre tickets.

Catering:
Bistro Romano provides off-site catering & theme parties for 25 to 2500.

Parking Details:
Parking Meters are free after 5pm on Wednesday nights . Discounted parking at Park America Garage at 215 Lombard Street: Sunday-Thursday $9, Friday and Saturday $19. Acquire parking pass from hostess.

Public Transit:
Septa: 40 Bus, 57 Bus

Executive Chef:
Michael DeLone

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Details

We will be serving Chef's Five Course Valentine's Menu $78 per guest. Candlelight, Rose Petals, Romance & Bistro Romano. Named to both OpenTable’s 100 Top Romantic Restaurants in America & Travel & Leisure Magazine’s list of America’s Most Romantic Restaurants. Cupid is Calling!

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Bistro Romano can accommodate private parties of up to 125 people for a sit-down meal or 200 for a cocktail party in the 120 Room. Other rooms are available for smaller groups. Bistro Romano specializes in Business Meetings, Wedding Receptions, and Rehearsal Dinners.

Bistro Romano Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (66)
Good for a Date (58)
Cozy (49)
See All
Special Occasion (48)
Good for Anniversaries (47)
Notable Wine List (36)
Quiet Conversation (33)
Neighborhood Gem (31)
Good for Birthdays (30)
Worth the Drive (26)
Authentic (25)
Creative Cuisine (25)
Fit for Foodies (24)
Historic (21)
Fun (15)
Pre/post Theatre (14)
Good for Groups (14)
Business Meals (13)
Comfort Food (13)
Outstanding Value (11)
Bar Seating (10)
Casual (10)
Private Room (8)
Tasting Menu (7)
Live Music (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Local Ingredients (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Family Style (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Healthy (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
People Watching (2)
Seasonal (2)
Fireplace (1)
Live Sports (1)
Organic (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Great Beer (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Tapas (1)
Waterfront (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1930 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

It was pasta night and the gnocchi delic ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined a day ago

It was pasta night and the gnocchi delicious

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We did restaurant week and the food was ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 2 days ago

We did restaurant week and the food was fantastic! Would definitely return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I took my wife to Bistro Romano for her ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 3 days ago

I took my wife to Bistro Romano for her 40th Birthday. We had an amazing time. The staff was very accommodating and pleasant. They provided us with a discount parking voucher which was very useful and the parking lot was less than a block away. The ambiance once inside was very warm, from coat checking to the hostess (who made sure rose petals were on our table for my wife) to the waiter who took care of us. We were seated in a very intimate area where we could enjoy each other's conversation without a lot of interruptions. The staff did come to check on us, which was appreciated. My wife posted on Facebook how awesome of a time she had at Bistro Romano and shared how amazing the Creme' Brulee was. The Caesar salad and dinner was also fantastic. We can't wait to go back with some friends to do the Mystery Dinner that they have. Great job Bistro Romano.... Thumbs Up!

Tags: Good for a Date, Family Style, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bistro Romano is one of my favorite Phil ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 3 days ago

Bistro Romano is one of my favorite Philly restaurants. I love the cozy and historic atmosphere. The food is consistently excellent and they have an impressive wine menu. Well worth the price for a wonderful night out with the people you love.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, Historic, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Special Occasion, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall excellent experience. Had the du ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

Overall excellent experience. Had the duck ravioli special. The ravioli was great but the sauce was heavy on salt, which when brought to their attention, immediately offered to replace it. The semifreddo was spectacular. Would highly recommend. Will return if we are back in the area.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The setting was very cute & romantic. My ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 3 days ago

The setting was very cute & romantic. My fiancé had requested rose petals to be placed on the table before our arrival - I loved it. Our waitress was very kind and attentive. Perfect for date night.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

We love Bistro Romano!. Always great foo ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 4 days ago

We love Bistro Romano!. Always great food& wine. Romantic atmosphere and great service. Thank you.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Romantic, Historic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Healthy, Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The flavor profile of the dishes was way ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

The flavor profile of the dishes was way too overwhelming and didn't combine well. There were about 10 different flavors on each plate which overpowered the main course. Need to scale back on the amount of sauces that were used to dress the plate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3

Exceptional service from the moment I wa ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Exceptional service from the moment I walked in til the moment I left. Definitely a new favorite for me!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best lobster ever! Lobster tastes like f ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 17, 2017

Best lobster ever! Lobster tastes like fresh lobster in New England. Very tender and delicious. I have brought groups to Tuesday Lobster Fest about a dozen times and they always love it. I highly recommend it.

Tags: , Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful place and amazing food and ser ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Beautiful place and amazing food and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We made a reservation. We waited a littl ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 15, 2017

We made a reservation. We waited a little bit but it was worth the wait. The hostess was nice and allowed us to have better seating than what was originally offered. The server knew her stuff and was very polite. The drinks, entree and dessert all were delicious. Well worth the money.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love Bistro Romano -- friendly yet pro ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 14, 2017

I love Bistro Romano -- friendly yet professional service, excellent culinary experience, and romantic.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Historic, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food, awesome Caesar Salad and Lob ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Great food, awesome Caesar Salad and Lobster Ravioli.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I have been here many times ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 8, 2017

My wife and I have been here many times and love it. When I made our reservations I requested a romantic table for a special birthday ( my wife says). We were brought to our table covered in rose petals and very romantic.. The service was spectacular. The staff made my wife's birthday a wonderful experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My fiance and I visited for her birthday ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 7, 2017

My fiance and I visited for her birthday, and there are no words that would do our experience justice. The ambiance, the cuisine, the service, the memories. All 5 star! Romantic setting, quiet dining set in a wine cellar, and some of the best food we've had dining out. And Elena, our server was amazing. Thank you Bistro Romano. We will see you again very soon.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful as always. Fantastic food, gre ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Wonderful as always. Fantastic food, great service.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Fun, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed an excellent Dinner downstair ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We enjoyed an excellent Dinner downstairs! A great place to bring in the new year. The food and music were wonderful

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was fantastic and service was i ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The food was fantastic and service was impeccable. I highly recommend.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, , Authentic, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We go to Bustro Romano when we want a ca ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We go to Bustro Romano when we want a casual atmosphere with good basic food. They have a wonderful Cesar salad. The service is always attentive and friendly. We were particularly impressed this New Years Eve. Generally food and service on this night is sub oar. Busting aranano did a great job of providing its usual great service and good food!

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Went here with a small group for NYE din ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Went here with a small group for NYE dinner. We all enjoyed the various options on the prix fixe menu, along with the accompanying wine pairings. Speedy and attentive service as well. Love the ambiance of the place (old wine cellar). It was nice having someone playing the piano while we dined. Hidden gem, definitely recommended

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Our favorite romantic date night. Amazin ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Our favorite romantic date night. Amazing food, great wine, lovely staff. Love the ambiance. Never dissatisfied.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I'm not a fan of the fixed menu but it w ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 31, 2016

I'm not a fan of the fixed menu but it was New Year's Eve so I understand. We've been here before and always enjoy. Happy New Year!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

We enjoyed the New Year's Eve early seat ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We enjoyed the New Year's Eve early seating. The food was excellent and there was even a kids menu that my 4 year old enjoyed. He is still talking about his meal. The dining area is unique and candlelit, like being in a wine cellar. The service was very good as well. We have been coming here for years and will continue to so so.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our third visit and once again the food ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Our third visit and once again the food was great. Service was not up to the previous visits but overall a very good dining experience. We will definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

New gem for us. Staff was very friendly ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 30, 2016

New gem for us. Staff was very friendly and helpful; ambience was very sweet and food was over the top delicious. Would highly recommend this restaurant for any occasion!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I know that I submit reviews all the tim ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 30, 2016

I know that I submit reviews all the time, and rave about the food, but this rack of lamb was the best lamb that I have ever had. I have said this before, that the food went from a nine to an eleven. This Rack of Lamb however was on its own scale, a feast for the god's.

This is not hyperbole, I mean this, with every taste bud in my head.

It was the perfect way to end 2016, thank you for allowing me to come here and enjoy this beautiful place you have created. The staff are all so great.

Happy New Year too everyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Nice spot. Had a good time. The food, ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Nice spot. Had a good time. The food, service and wine were excellent.

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Delicious specials: swordfish and homema ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Delicious specials: swordfish and homemade linguine and crab. We celebrated our anniversary with a complimentary bottle of wine. Well worth the drive from South Jersey. Yum.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We have been coming here for years and q ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 28, 2016

We have been coming here for years and quite frankly, this is the only restaurant worth the drive into Philadelphia. It has great atmosphere and it is one of the few places where we don't have to shout over obnoxious music. Recommended for a first date. If she isn't impressed, get rid of her.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, , Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Highly recommended

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Highly recommended

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Hanging with the inlaws from Germany.

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Hanging with the inlaws from Germany.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Shaun the bar tender was amazing! 4 of u ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Shaun the bar tender was amazing! 4 of us girls enjoyed his service! Good Happy Hour menu

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Cozy, Romantic, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyed a great meal for Christmas Eve w ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Enjoyed a great meal for Christmas Eve with family. Outstanding menu options, very well executed, and nice suggestions of wine and spirits to complement. Service was exceptionally friendly and attentive by Florian and many other colleagues.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, , Fit for Foodies, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Good experience , staff always helpful , ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Good experience , staff always helpful , lighting could've a little better some seats it's very dark .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

The Caesar salad is outstanding. It's h ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 21, 2016

The Caesar salad is outstanding. It's hard to find a place that still does table-side Caesar salad, and the dressing is exactly what it is supposed to be!!

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Really excellent- this has become one of ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Really excellent- this has become one of our favorite restaurants

Tags: Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was our second time here. My family ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 19, 2016

This was our second time here. My family and I stumbled upon Bistro Romano while starving on our way home out of Philadelphia. Some of the best Italian fare I have encountered in a while. I could eat a gallon of their fried calamari. The pickled peppers with it are so delicious.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for a Date, Family Style, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Passed our expectations, romantic atmosp ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Passed our expectations, romantic atmosphere with great service.

Beautifully decorated for the holidays as well

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

I had dinner here for date night. We ord ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 17, 2016

I had dinner here for date night. We ordered the Calamari and Cesar Salad for appetizers, and the Filet Mignon and Lobster Ravioli as entrees. Everything was delicious!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.