About Bistro Romano

120 Lombard Street
Philadelphia, PA 19147
View Larger Map

This Historic Landmark, nestled in an 18th century granary, will stimulate your senses with an ambiance of candlelight and casual elegance while creating an unforgettable dining experience. Wine Spectator Award for our wine list! Voted a “Best of Philly” Restaurant, guests enjoy Bistro Romano’s acclaimed Regional Italian Cuisine and rave of the award-winning Caesar Salad prepared tableside and the romantic underground wine cellar for two. Please call for Wine Cellar and Mystery Theatre reservations. We are now celebrating our 25th year! Wine Spectator Best of Award of Excellence (Two Glasses). Over 750 wine selections, including 20 by the glass.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Seafood, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday – Thursday: 4:30pm - 10:00pm, Friday – Saturday: 4:30pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Between Front and 2nd

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(215) 925-8880

Website:
http://www.bistroromano.com/

Entertainment:
Piano Bar Friday & Saturday; Mystery Dinner Theater Friday & Saturday - Must call 215-238-1313 for Mystery Theatre tickets.

Catering:
Bistro Romano provides off-site catering & theme parties for 25 to 2500.

Parking Details:
Parking Meters are free after 5pm on Wednesday nights . Discounted parking at Park America Garage at 215 Lombard Street: Sunday-Thursday $9, Friday and Saturday $19. Acquire parking pass from hostess.

Public Transit:
Septa: 40 Bus, 57 Bus

Executive Chef:
Michael DeLone

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Veal Saltimboca
Chicken Milanese
Antipasto
Grilled Chicken
Caesar Salad
Roasted Garlic And Butternut Squash Soup
Shrimp And Scallop Venezia
Breaded Artichokes
Pesto Gnocchi With Duck Ragu
Rigatoni With Sausage And Peppers
Mozzarella Fritte
Trivento Malbec 2011
Bread Basket
Osso Bucco Ravioli
Salmon And Scallops
Crab Stuffed Filet Mignon
Stuffed Pork Tenderloin
Pumpkin Bread Pudding With Caramel Rum Sauce
Veal Florentine
Crispy Duck
Salad
Tiramisu
Pasta Fagioli Soup
Pistachio Cannoli
Pescatore Pisa
Sausage And Broccoli Seina

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Bistro Romano can accommodate private parties of up to 125 people for a sit-down meal or 200 for a cocktail party in the 120 Room. Other rooms are available for smaller groups. Bistro Romano specializes in Business Meetings, Wedding Receptions, and Rehearsal Dinners.

Bistro Romano Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
Philadelphia / New Jersey Suburbs
Best Ambiance
Philadelphia
Romantic
Philadelphia
1 More
Italian
Philadelphia
Best Restaurants in Society Hill ›

Romantic (140)
Special Occasion (127)
Neighborhood Gem (88)
See All
Fit for Foodies (73)
Notable Wine List (70)
Good for Groups (40)
Hot Spot (19)
Late-night Find (13)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Scenic View (6)
Kid-friendly (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Cozy (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Historic (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Casual (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1691 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great new menu additions , excellent bar ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 3 days ago

Great new menu additions , excellent bartenders, good wine selection

Our favorite go to restaurant. Wonderful staff and the most delicious specials

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Historic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

From the front door until we left this p ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 4 days ago

From the front door until we left this place was perfect! Beautiful old feel and ambiance. The staff were all very friendly. Our waiter was the best I've ever had wait on me. The food was delicious!! I'd recommend Bistro Romano to everyone! It was terrific! Thank you For a wonderful evening!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good but not great like the last few tim ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 5 days ago

Good but not great like the last few times. I think they were understaffed for the night. We had a party of 8 and it seemed like we were stacking dishes while waiting for a bus boy. My friend had to ask for a beer multiple times as the waiter stopped at our table. Usually the Caesar Salad is on point but not on this night, same with the lobster ravioli. Apps were great. Cocktails were well made. We will probably come back but might try a few places in Collingswood NJ.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value3

We ate at the bar and both of our meals ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 5 days ago

We ate at the bar and both of our meals were delicious and the service was excellent. Believe it or not, Ryan was very attentive even though he seemed to be busy making drink's and getting food orders. Thanks for another great dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Had some friends visiting from out of to ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 6 days ago

Had some friends visiting from out of town, and they wanted to grab some Italian food in the city. Italian is not a cuisine I have much experience dining out, so I asked around, and this location came highly recommended. It did not disappoint.

The wine selection was varied and extensive, and the wine flight options kept things interesting. The menu items were more than just pasta dishes or steaks - which was refreshing.

The overall feel of the restaurant was comfortable - and it was easy to forget we were not the only people there.

After dinner, we opted to sit at the bar for a little bit, and were greeted with friendly/witty banter, which was much appreciated.

All in all, a great experience all around - I would definitely do it again.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Really did not expect a great deal becau ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined 6 days ago

Really did not expect a great deal because we had been there over ten years ago and it was a bit dungeony and food was average.Since then the space has exposed stone walls individual pews, little private spaces. A complimentary starter of chopped beets, apple mouse and micro green was presented on a large spoon. Sundried tomato oil was delicious for the warm assortment of breads. The calamari was maybe the best we every had. The rings were lightly breaded, plump and extremely tender. The seafood pasta dish was delicous as was the veal dish with broccoli rabe, cheese over mashed potato and a demi glaze sauce. For dessert We shared the ricotta cheesecake. I almost did not order because I read it was dry. I personally prefer this to a creamy cheesecake. We order a limoncello to share and they gave us a complimentary second one so we did not have to share.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Outstanding Value, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The professionalism of the bar tender Se ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

The professionalism of the bar tender Sean, who was being inundated which Monday night pasta specials. The food just kept coming out and he would keep going down to retrieve the food or side's.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

One of our go to place for great food in ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

One of our go to place for great food in the city, never had anything I did not like.

Highly recommend the Pollo Milanese and Grouper Romano, both are outstanding.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Over very good

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Over very good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

I have been going to Bistro Romano for s ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

I have been going to Bistro Romano for several years and have always had excellent food and a great time here. It's my favorite restaurant in Philadelphia.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Love the lobster ravioli and the Caesar ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Love the lobster ravioli and the Caesar salad made at table side.

Ambiance is superb!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

I could not have been happier with my ex ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

I could not have been happier with my experience at Bistro Romano. My fiancé and I ate there in celebration of our 7-year anniversary. A friend of ours recommended the restaurant to us. We were looking for somewhere quiet with great food, great atmosphere, and good prices. Bistro Romano checked off every box for us! The food and drinks were well priced and the wine-list was excellent on the night we ate there. Everything down to our server was fantastic. I have been recommending the restaurant to everyone I know ever since, and I can't wait to go back!

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Outstanding Value, Notable Wine List, Historic, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Very nice ambiance and food was amazing. ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Very nice ambiance and food was amazing. My wife was very impressed too. Will definitely come back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Despite having reservations, we were mad ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Despite having reservations, we were made to wait a half hour in the front waiting room, watching other parties walk in who were sat immediately. The restaurant was far from packed. The hostess seemed unconcerned and when I asked about it, she hurriedly responded saying she didn't have a table for 2 and we went back to waiting. Eventually we caved and sat upstairs by the bar at a wobbly table. We moved over one table to another wobbly table. The manager came over and offered a complimentary beverage. A nice server came over with our drinks and offered to fix the wobbly table which was nice. Off to a rocky start but it could have turned around.

Honestly I couldn't tell you who our actual server was because we saw them so little.

The food was good. The octopus was overcooked, but if the service were better, I may return for the menu. Decent wine list.

At the end of the night, the check sat on the table with my credit card in it for a full 15 minutes before my date picked the check up, angrily, and walked over to the hostess stand (past 2 bartenders who were doing nothing) where the hostess and our server were chatting. Overall the service was atrocious and I will not be returning. Only time in 10 years that I left less than a 20% tip.

The date went well, but the restaurant was honestly embarrassing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

We were in town on vacation and decided ...

 
·Dined on August 13, 2016

We were in town on vacation and decided to go to Bistro Romano because of the reviews. The service was excellent and the food was delicious. I really enjoyed the look of the restaurant because it's not something we have in Florida. We even bought a gift certificate for family that lives there.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was amazing! Hats off to the chef! ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Food was amazing! Hats off to the chef! Everything on the menu looked great, but went with the pork shank special, which was absolutely delicious. The wine flights were also great!

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic. The table-side caesar salad i ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Fantastic. The table-side caesar salad is the best around.....period. The wine selection is exceptional. Oh, and the food is perfect. All entrees were cooked perfectly and extremely tasty. Can't wait to go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of best spots we have eaten in a lon ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

One of best spots we have eaten in a long time, food and service were exceptional. Easy to find with easy cheap nearby parking. We will be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was absolutely amazing . You ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Everything was absolutely amazing . You guys definitely made my 10 yr anniversary special . The food was great . Are waitress ally was awesome . Ill definitely be back soon . Thank you guys

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Was here for the pasta night dinner and ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Was here for the pasta night dinner and it was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Our 3rd visit and as always we left comp ...

 
 (Poconos)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Our 3rd visit and as always we left completely satisfied. The food was excellent..... every appetizer, main course, outstanding. Prices are good. I KNOW they have the best homemade marinara anywhere!!!! We look forward to going back....again and again and again!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The food, service and atmosphere were ex ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

The food, service and atmosphere were excellent! I would highly recommend this restaurant to anyone!

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent!!! Very Romantic!! Outstanding ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Excellent!!! Very Romantic!! Outstanding Service!!🍷🍸

Tags: Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The company that I was with and the food ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

The company that I was with and the food were both excellent. I always enjoy coming to your fine establishment for the local flavor. Thanks

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Absolutely adored my 1st dining experien ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Absolutely adored my 1st dining experience at Bistro Romano. Every aspect of it. From the bruschetta that from 1st glance(the plating was lovely) I knew would be spectacular to the chicken Milanese.

When I learned that the house bread, was actually made on site I knew this dining experience would be a treat. When a restaurant takes the time to make their own bread, you know everything will be a true labor of love and of the highest quality.

The chef has a beautiful way with preparing and plating food tasty and appealing to the eye.

The service was awesome from Liz(waitress), to Anthony(GM) as well as all of the supporting staff(waiter, bread server, busboy/girl) . I awoke the next day thinking about the wonderful experience I had, wishing that more restaurants would hit the mark.

I can't wait to go back.

Salud!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent experience

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Excellent experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The staff was nice and the food was good ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

The staff was nice and the food was good but the dining room underground felt like a dungeon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

Bistro Romano is one of our go to restau ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Bistro Romano is one of our go to restaurants for special occasions. We love the ambience and the service is usually very good. We had a great experience at our last visit. As it usually is, the food was outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Kat the hostess is very pretty and has g ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Kat the hostess is very pretty and has great hair. And the food and service was impeccable. I really do enjoy coming here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Best lobster! Just like in New England. ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Best lobster! Just like in New England. Very fresh, sweet, tender. I have enjoyed the Tuesday night lobster dinner at this place many times and it is always delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Bistro Romano has an odd, antiquated fee ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Bistro Romano has an odd, antiquated feel that seems romantic from the 80s. Lots of older clientele, perhaps loyal customers, but I failed to see the appeal. The pasta did not taste homemade (not sure if it was) and the menu seemed past its prime and quite pricey for the quality. I had the chicken cutlet with arugula and fresh mozzarella. The cutlet was fried and very tough (and bizarrely giant, forming the base for the salad, which made the salad slightly warm). I took advantage of BR's ubiquitous birthday coupon and, after declining dessert, was given a candle after the meal mounted in a quarter-size dollop of cannoli cream. I wasn't looking for a dessert but this seemed ridiculous to give me something inedible (they had cleared silverware too by this point). The whole experience was mediocre.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

My BFF and I have adopted this place as ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

My BFF and I have adopted this place as our fav spot some years back. After a 5 year hiatus, she chose to celebrate her 29th bday here!!! The ambiance, food and service have only gotten better with age!!! We had an amazing time!!!! We closed the restaurant tonight :-) It was a great experience!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were in Philadelphia recently for a m ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

We were in Philadelphia recently for a meeting & were absolutely delighted to find Bistro Romano.

The food the ambiance & the delightful young lady server made it a thoroughly wonderful experience. The manager took time out from his very busy evening to speak to us & to his credit helped with clearing tables & serving. Highly recommend this fine restaurant & will return the next time in Philadelphia.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Of course the food was delicious and the ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Of course the food was delicious and the staff was attentive and professional, you have some very good people working for you. That's why I keep coming back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The service staff was lovely. but the fa ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

The service staff was lovely. but the facility needs a complete overhaul. It had an odor of a wet and moldy basement. The food was just average and over priced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

Bistro Romano by far is our favorite res ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Bistro Romano by far is our favorite restaurant. To us its like visiting with family for are always warmly greeted. Food is superb and their specials are a must. Caesar Salad remains the best in Philly.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic Caesar Salad. Staff was friend ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Fantastic Caesar Salad. Staff was friendly and good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

LOVE THIS PLACE. COME HERE OFTEN.. I A ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

LOVE THIS PLACE. COME HERE OFTEN.. I ALWAYS RECOMMEND IT... COMING BACK AGAIN FOR MY ANNIVERSARY NEXT WEEK !!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first time dining at Bistro ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

This was our first time dining at Bistro Romano and everything about our date here was great. We were seated as soon as we got there and we had a reservation. Our waiter was very knowledgeable about the specials and made some great recommendations. Having the Caesar salad made table side was really special but $10 was a bit much for a salad. But we both got the filet mignon and it just melted in your mouth. We also had 2 glasses of wine, white zinfandel which really went well with our meal. We were stuffed afterwards and passed on dessert. I would highly recommend this restaurant as a nice romantic night out with great food and service.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was fantastic, the the staff wa ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

The food was fantastic, the the staff was more than accommodating. We had reservations and the seating was quick. We were given a small corner seat, but the wait staff made sure we were cared for during the whole meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.