About Bistro Romano

120 Lombard Street
Philadelphia, PA 19147
View Larger Map

This Historic Landmark, nestled in an 18th century granary, will stimulate your senses with an ambiance of candlelight and casual elegance while creating an unforgettable dining experience. Wine Spectator Award for our wine list! Voted a “Best of Philly” Restaurant, guests enjoy Bistro Romano’s acclaimed Regional Italian Cuisine and rave of the award-winning Caesar Salad prepared tableside and the romantic underground wine cellar for two. Please call for Wine Cellar and Mystery Theatre reservations. We are now celebrating our 25th year! Wine Spectator Best of Award of Excellence (Two Glasses). Over 750 wine selections, including 20 by the glass.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Seafood, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday – Thursday: 4:30pm - 10:00pm, Friday – Saturday: 4:30pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Between Front and 2nd

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(215) 925-8880

Website:
http://www.bistroromano.com/

Entertainment:
Piano Bar Friday & Saturday; Mystery Dinner Theater Friday & Saturday - Must call 215-238-1313 for Mystery Theatre tickets.

Catering:
Bistro Romano provides off-site catering & theme parties for 25 to 2500.

Parking Details:
Parking Meters are free after 5pm on Wednesday nights . Discounted parking at Park America Garage at 215 Lombard Street: Sunday-Thursday $9, Friday and Saturday $19. Acquire parking pass from hostess.

Public Transit:
Septa: 40 Bus, 57 Bus

Executive Chef:
Michael DeLone

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Veal Saltimboca - Bistro Romano, Philadelphia, PA
Chicken Milanese - Bistro Romano, Philadelphia, PA
Antipasto - Bistro Romano, Philadelphia, PA
Grilled Chicken - Bistro Romano, Philadelphia, PA
Osso Bucco Ravioli - Bistro Romano, Philadelphia, PA
Roasted Garlic And Butternut Squash Soup - Bistro Romano, Philadelphia, PA
Shrimp And Scallop Venezia - Bistro Romano, Philadelphia, PA
Breaded Artichokes - Bistro Romano, Philadelphia, PA
Caesar Salad - Bistro Romano, Philadelphia, PA
Pesto Gnocchi With Duck Ragu - Bistro Romano, Philadelphia, PA
Rigatoni With Sausage And Peppers - Bistro Romano, Philadelphia, PA
Mozzarella Fritte - Bistro Romano, Philadelphia, PA
Trivento Malbec 2011 - Bistro Romano, Philadelphia, PA
Bread Basket - Bistro Romano, Philadelphia, PA
Salmon And Scallops - Bistro Romano, Philadelphia, PA
Crab Stuffed Filet Mignon - Bistro Romano, Philadelphia, PA
Stuffed Pork Tenderloin - Bistro Romano, Philadelphia, PA
Pumpkin Bread Pudding With Caramel Rum Sauce - Bistro Romano, Philadelphia, PA
Veal Florentine - Bistro Romano, Philadelphia, PA
Crispy Duck - Bistro Romano, Philadelphia, PA
Salad - Bistro Romano, Philadelphia, PA
Tiramisu - Bistro Romano, Philadelphia, PA
Pasta Fagioli Soup - Bistro Romano, Philadelphia, PA
Pistachio Cannoli - Bistro Romano, Philadelphia, PA
Pescatore Pisa - Bistro Romano, Philadelphia, PA
Sausage And Broccoli Seina - Bistro Romano, Philadelphia, PA

Specials

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Specials

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Details

Happy New Year! 3P Open. Three courses $44. pp, must be seated by 3:30P. Five Courses $78. pp starting at 5P. 10:30P reservations receive complimentary bubbles to toast 2017! Candlelit ambience in Historic Society Hill. Walk to fireworks on Penns Landing - 6P & Midnight before or after you dine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Bistro Romano can accommodate private parties of up to 125 people for a sit-down meal or 200 for a cocktail party in the 120 Room. Other rooms are available for smaller groups. Bistro Romano specializes in Business Meetings, Wedding Receptions, and Rehearsal Dinners.

Bistro Romano Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
Philadelphia
Best Restaurants in Society Hill ›

Romantic (73)
Special Occasion (61)
Good for a Date (60)
See All
Cozy (50)
Good for Anniversaries (49)
Neighborhood Gem (42)
Notable Wine List (39)
Quiet Conversation (36)
Authentic (34)
Good for Birthdays (30)
Fit for Foodies (30)
Historic (27)
Creative Cuisine (25)
Worth the Drive (24)
Business Meals (17)
Good for Groups (17)
Pre/post Theatre (17)
Fun (16)
Comfort Food (16)
Outstanding Value (15)
Casual (15)
Bar Seating (13)
Private Room (12)
Happy Hour (11)
Live Music (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Hot Spot (7)
Local Ingredients (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Healthy (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Fireplace (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Family Style (3)
People Watching (3)
Great Beer (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Seasonal (2)
Live Sports (2)
Spicy (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Waterfront (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Scenic View (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Organic (1)
Sort By:
S
1796 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We have dined at Bistro Romano for sever ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

We have dined at Bistro Romano for several years and while the food was good it was not up to the level that we have come to expect. The food was adequate but not exceptional. We noticed that the menu has evolved somewhat. But for example my wife and I had the porcini dusted pork loin. It was actually rather bland and could have used more seasoning. The Pork was very well done and for pork tenderloin too well cooked. My daughter had the squid ink cavatelli. The server warned us that it was spicy, she asked for it to be toned down a little, maybe it was but we couldn't tell. The spicy over played every other one of its flavors. Sometimes when the heat is too much it is a little astringent or acidic to the palette. This is what came across. If I had to rate the restaurant based on our past experiences (we have eaten their at least a dozen times for dinner over the past few years, I would rate it is either in decline or struggling to find its culinary footing. We did notice that there was a different executive chef. We may try again in a couple of years but for our 23rd wedding anniversary somewhat disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

Wonderful meal, seated on time, service ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 3 days ago

Wonderful meal, seated on time, service was both excellent and friendly.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The goat cheese tortellini was delicious ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 28, 2016

The goat cheese tortellini was delicious and the service was impeccable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We were from out of town and went on the ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 27, 2016

We were from out of town and went on the basis of other OpenTable reviews. It is a warm, charming place in what must have once been an old industrial building. The menu was not surprising but it was broad and promising. We split a Caesar Salad which, even shared, was quite large, then my partner had Saltimbocca alla Romana and I had a nice fresh tuna dish. Portions were generous. We asked for a quiet table, as we do routinely, and they put us back in a pleasant corner on the path to the kitchen, which meant we were asked far too many times by each passing wait or kitchen staff if we were doing okay -- better, certainly, than being ignored! In all, a nice evening.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

We decided to try this restaurant and co ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 27, 2016

We decided to try this restaurant and could not have been more pleased. First, the ambiance is wonderful- a beautiful setting for a dinner, whether a night out or a special occasion. The service attention, from beginning to end, was superb. We had Caesar salad and Potato/tomato crab soup. Main courses were Chicken Milanese and Veal Saltimbocca. We could have finished the main course, but it was too good for one sitting so we boxed 1/2 of it and savored it a second time. Will definitely return.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food & service are wonderful! Food real ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Food & service are wonderful! Food really is wonderful but we recommend getting appetizers because potion sizes aren't large. This is a great date place! Love it & will definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

I took my girlfriend here while she was ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 26, 2016

I took my girlfriend here while she was visiting me for Thanksgiving in Philadelphia as somewhat of a late anniversary treat since we don't get to see each other too much. It's located in a nice area near Penn's Landing. When we arrived at the door, we were offered to have our coats taken to be hung up during our stay. The lighting and music in the place was very romantic and our food was exceptional. Our waiter had incredible timing as well, being very quick and accurate with anything we could need during our experience there. I would highly recommend this place, and I plan on making it a regular anniversary stop.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

What a wonderful experience we had at Bi ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 26, 2016

What a wonderful experience we had at Bistro Romano in Philadelphia the evening after Thanksgiving. My daughter is in Graduate School at Penn and was unable to come home to North Carolina for the Holiday, so I flew up to take her to a special Father/Daughter dinner. From the cocktails to the appetizers to the wonderful main course (I recommend the lobster ravioli for great winter comfort food!) everything was fresh, delicious and beautifully presented. Topped off with the best carrot cake I've ever had and steaming coffee...it was a very special night. Special mention about the fresh Caesar Salad prepared at our table and the attentive, but not intrusive, wait staff. It exceeded our expectations and we both noticed that our mention of this being a special evening was remembered and a very nice table was provided. If you haven't been...go! We'll certainly be back!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value, Business Meals, Historic, Private Room, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Comfort Food, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food is excellent

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Food is excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The delicious Lamb shank that I had and ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 23, 2016

The delicious Lamb shank that I had and the outstanding service of everyone who was working this night is the reason why I comeback.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Caesar salad prepared table-side is a mu ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Caesar salad prepared table-side is a must. Ambiance is perfect for special occasions and a romantic night out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Never a bad time, would keep going back. ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Never a bad time, would keep going back. Every dish is unique and unbelievably good. Best Italian it Philly

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved the medieval cellar look and ambia ...

 
 (México)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Loved the medieval cellar look and ambiance. Food was very good. Great service as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Bistro Romano was excellent. We got the ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Bistro Romano was excellent. We got the burrata appetizer with flatbread, the Calamarata, and the Paccheri. All were very good. The service was excellent - maybe even too attentive. Overall, we had a great experience here and I'd recommend it.

Tags: Romantic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Impeccable service as always and extreme ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Impeccable service as always and extremely delicious food. The duck breast was phenomenal as was the sweet potato gnocchi and the Buffalo mozzarella. Sean and Ryan we're both very attentive; as was Anthony; along with the individuals who ran my food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We are dining frequently at the Bistro. ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 17, 2016

We are dining frequently at the Bistro. The menu has changed, but the chef will still prepare your favorite dish from the previous menu, if you ask for it.

Tags: Cozy, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Enjoyable dinner.

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Enjoyable dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Bistro Romano never let's us down. Perfe ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Bistro Romano never let's us down. Perfect location for a romantic meal or double date.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had been here several times before, bu ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 12, 2016

I had been here several times before, but always downstairs. Avoid the upstairs, especially if on a date. It was a 40 degree night but they had cold air blowing on us from overhead fans. Manager was afraid other folks might want them on, but who wants cold air blowing on them & their food on a near-freezing night? Upstairs atmosphere is loud with drunks yelling at the piano man. Servers are very friendly and food very good. But, the service was very hurried. My date was chewing her chicken when the plate was pulled. So, overall, average at best on that night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service3

Great place to take a date or go with a ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Great place to take a date or go with a few close friends. Great atmosphere!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service was good, ambience very nice. W ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Service was good, ambience very nice. We were a party of six and it was important that we be able to have conversation without competing noise. It was no problem. We had a great time there. Oh, I forgot to mention that the food was very good as well. Recommend the tableside Caesar Salad.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

The Lamb sausage pasta special was delic ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 5, 2016

The Lamb sausage pasta special was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

A restaurant like they used to be in the ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 4, 2016

A restaurant like they used to be in the 50's & 60's. Booths for groups of 2 or 4. Table seating for others. Dimly lit with candles on tables and piano player Fri. and Sat. nights. Food very good, with ample servings. A large wine list with some reasonable prices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

The ambience can't be beat, rustic and r ...

vip
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on November 4, 2016

The ambience can't be beat, rustic and romantic. Don't have to hear other tables' conversations! Service is outstanding without being obtrusive. Great friendly vibe and outstanding food. Love this place.

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Private Room, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Visiting while on a business trip in Mor ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 1, 2016

Visiting while on a business trip in Morristown, NJ, I was responsible for finding a dinner spot for my manager and I. I found several good looking websites and the reviews for Bistro Romano and its location (right over the bridge from NJ, made it my top rated candidate for an after-work dinner. We were blown away by the freshness of the food and the deliciousness of home-cooked Italian cuisine. I do not typically eat Italian out at restaurants as nothing compares to my grandmother's cooking but we enjoyed a meal even Nonna would love. We had a wonderful culinary experience, thank you!

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Historic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

By far the best pasta I have had this si ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 31, 2016

By far the best pasta I have had this side of the Atlantic. BUCATINI. Thank you for this pasta. Unbelievably beautiful rich umami flavor, from a vegetarian like dish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Delicious as usual. Never a bad meal at ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Delicious as usual. Never a bad meal at BR. Definitely go if you have never been.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was good but felt like we were bein ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Food was good but felt like we were being rushed the entire dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

This is an outstanding Italian restauran ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 25, 2016

This is an outstanding Italian restaurant! Excellent food and service. Beautiful historic building and dining room. This would be my go to Italian restaurant if I didn't live 1,100 miles away!

Tags: Cozy, Historic, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The question OpenTable asks is: "What st ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 24, 2016

The question OpenTable asks is: "What stood out to you when you dined?" Besides the excellent service that I always receive at your establishment and the locals that come to your restaurant for the ambience, is the value you receive for the meal that you get on pasta night. Thank you all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The Short Rib special was delicious. Say ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 23, 2016

The Short Rib special was delicious. Say no more.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The gnocchi and farro seafood salad were ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 23, 2016

The gnocchi and farro seafood salad were outstanding. The veal loin was disappointing as it was very chewy. The service and ambiance were excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyable dinner for the five of us. Wai ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Enjoyable dinner for the five of us. Waiter was helpful, manager visited the table and we were greeted when we arrived and when we left we were thanked for dining at the restaurant. We will be back. Other diners were sociable. Pricing was very reasonable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dodos was extremely salty almost inedibl ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Dodos was extremely salty almost inedible polenta, server was nice but distracted

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

Parking was expensive for the weekend. O ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Parking was expensive for the weekend. Our server, Elena, was phenomenal! She made suggestions, spoke from experience and was very friendly. She even made sure to check on us after our meal, at the bar. The 2 guys working the bar were very friendly, not shy with the booze and incredibly attentive. Try the Smoked Old Fashion! The live piano was very enjoyable and not too loud. The atmosphere was relaxing, unusually pleasant and felt private. We wish we could recall the manager's name because he was friendly and made sure to check on our experience. Don't bring the kids, it's not that kind of place. Also, if I hadn't worn a sport coat I would've felt underdressed. Overall, we recommend Bistro Romano for any special occasion, especially something intimate.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Outstanding Value, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Live Music, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Historic, Notable Wine List, Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Private Room, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Their grilled octopus appetizer is delic ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Their grilled octopus appetizer is delicious ! We do recommend it. Their piano bar is great !

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, People Watching, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Unbelievable food and service. Absolutel ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Unbelievable food and service. Absolutely in love with this place and will continue to refer others. We will be back soon!

Tags: Organic, Business Meals, Live Music, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service were great. Ombiance g ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Food and service were great. Ombiance good. What else can I say.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

The Risotto Verti, I was not sure about ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 20, 2016

The Risotto Verti, I was not sure about how much I would like this, I knew it would be good. But after I had it, OMG this was another eleven PLUS on a scale of one to ten. The food that is coming out of your kitchen is outstanding. The server's and managers also were doing a great job, with there being a show upstairs. I saw them getting slammed and they just went with the flow. EXCELLENT. Thanks again for being so close to the neighborhood, it's like a mini vacation everytime I come in.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

I had items that are on the new bar menu ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 17, 2016

I had items that are on the new bar menu. The Salumeriia plate was the perfect size. I also tried the Porcini dusted pork ribs, and they are fantastic. The new Menu was easier to read and has some good autumn selections for me to try.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.