About Bistro Romano

120 Lombard Street
Philadelphia, PA 19147
View Larger Map

This Historic Landmark, nestled in an 18th century granary, will stimulate your senses with an ambiance of candlelight and casual elegance while creating an unforgettable dining experience. Wine Spectator Award for our wine list! Voted a “Best of Philly” Restaurant, guests enjoy Bistro Romano’s acclaimed Regional Italian Cuisine and rave of the award-winning Caesar Salad prepared tableside and the romantic underground wine cellar for two. Please call for Wine Cellar and Mystery Theatre reservations. We are now celebrating our 25th year! Wine Spectator Best of Award of Excellence (Two Glasses). Over 750 wine selections, including 20 by the glass.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Seafood, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday – Thursday: 4:30pm - 10:00pm, Friday – Saturday: 4:30pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Between Front and 2nd

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(215) 925-8880

Website:
http://www.bistroromano.com/

Entertainment:
Piano Bar Friday & Saturday; Mystery Dinner Theater Friday & Saturday - Must call 215-238-1313 for Mystery Theatre tickets.

Catering:
Bistro Romano provides off-site catering & theme parties for 25 to 2500.

Parking Details:
Parking Meters are free after 5pm on Wednesday nights . Discounted parking at Park America Garage at 215 Lombard Street: Sunday-Thursday $9, Friday and Saturday $19. Acquire parking pass from hostess.

Public Transit:
Septa: 40 Bus, 57 Bus

Executive Chef:
Michael DeLone

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Bistro Romano can accommodate private parties of up to 125 people for a sit-down meal or 200 for a cocktail party in the 120 Room. Other rooms are available for smaller groups. Bistro Romano specializes in Business Meetings, Wedding Receptions, and Rehearsal Dinners.

Bistro Romano Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
Philadelphia / New Jersey Suburbs
Best Ambiance
Philadelphia
Notable Wine List
Philadelphia
2 More
Romantic
Philadelphia
Italian
Philadelphia
Best Restaurants in Society Hill ›

romantic (176)
special occasion (154)
neighborhood gem (95)
See All
fit for foodies (90)
notable wine list (83)
good for groups (46)
hot spot (24)
late-night find (23)
vibrant bar scene (15)
great for lunch (11)
scenic view (9)
great for brunch (9)
kid-friendly (7)
great for outdoor dining (2)
Sort By:
Newest
1594 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

The hostess Kate was excellent, as was J ...

vip
Dined 2 days ago

The hostess Kate was excellent, as was Joe the bar tender and I had a very good time. Thanks

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Been going to the Bistro for years and h ...

Dined 4 days ago

Been going to the Bistro for years and have never had a bad meal or experience. This last time, we had a server by the name, Vienna. Amazing!!!! She a real person who was fun and sweet. Not just a server going through the motions. She really added to the experience. Definitely ask for this server. Thanks again Vienna for making our Anniversary night out great. Only bad thing was someone stole my umbrella from the lobby. HAHA... Really?!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

The octopus salad and the pasta special ...

vip
Dined 5 days ago

The octopus salad and the pasta special tonight were excellent.

food5
ambience5
service4

Incredibly fresh food (very clear that i ...

Dined 6 days ago

Incredibly fresh food (very clear that it's all done in house).

food4
ambience4
service4

Special pasta with shrimps and crab meat ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

Special pasta with shrimps and crab meat is amazing

food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Great food. We were celebrating and had ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Great food. We were celebrating and had a very good time.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

1st time there ...a suggestion from a f ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

1st time there ...a suggestion from a friend. So happy we went. The food was wonderful and ambiance was romantic.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

great ambiance, excellent desserts, lobs ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

great ambiance, excellent desserts, lobster ravioli to die for.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome place. Loved the ambiance. Food ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Awesome place. Loved the ambiance. Food and wine list great.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food;great service

Dined on May 13, 2016

Great Italian food served in a very nice atmosphere. Quaint surroundings allow for conversation and a relaxed dinner. We never felt rushed. The dessert was superb.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Authentic Italiano.....

Dined on May 8, 2016

Me and my daughter took my fiance here for mothers day and the food was really delicious.... we waited awhile between our appetizers and the entree, but our server kept us informed and we were okay with it because they were busy but everything was great!!!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service5

The Caesar salad was really good, especi ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

The Caesar salad was really good, especially the croutons. I had the lobster ravioli. It was delicious.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

"Great food, great service!!!!!!!! Nice ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

"Great food, great service!!!!!!!! Nice wine and drink list too!"

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great experience! Manager (Anthony) and ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Great experience! Manager (Anthony) and staff made us feel very welcomed! Throughly enjoyed ourselves:

food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Obnoxious guets/cheap ambience

Dined on May 8, 2016

The overall food and service was spectacular. Cooked to perfection and delivery was outstanding. However, there were some very obnoxious guests that made the experience rather a burden of talking over each other. The ambience was light lit at our table nudged up against the wall and rather seemed we were just not fitting in with the restaurant. I feel the management should not be so fast paced and remember everyone is a paying guest expecting the best treatment.

Tags: late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Caesar Salad & Romantic Ambiance

vip
Dined on May 7, 2016

My wife and I have been dining at Bistro Romano for many years, and we keep coming back. The dark, candle-lit cellar dining room has such very romantic ambiance. Their "table side" Caesar Salad is the best we have ever had, and the seafood and pasta entrees are next to none. Be sure to make a reservation for Friday and Saturday night because this restaurant is very popular.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Order the Caesar salad. Just do it.

Dined on May 7, 2016

Order the Caesar salad. Just do it.

food3
ambience3
service4
value4

Nice Evening

vip
Dined on May 7, 2016

We had a pleasant Meal. Service was wonderful. The lighting in the basement was little too dark for me but I am getting old needed my cell phone to shed some light on the menu.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Restaurant

Dined on May 7, 2016

Had early dinner after seeing a show at Penns Landing with a group of girlfriends. The food, wine, beer and service was beyond exceptional!

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bistro Romano is awesome

Dined on May 4, 2016

Bistro was awesome. I had a business meeting and I decided to have it there. My Co worker from St Louis raved about the food. Best Caesar Salad ever. Aleyna was very nice and attentive. Would totally recommend it. Will be going back.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another fantastic experience at Bistro Romano

Dined on May 1, 2016

We love this place. Both the food and wait-staff are terrific. I've been back several times over the past few months and each experience has been first class - this time Alex was very attentive. If you're looking for a great bottle of wine, consult with the GM/sommelier, Anthony - he's extremely knowledgeable and friendly and a great asset to the restaurant. This is a real gem in South Philly. I recommend the restaurant frequently to friends and family.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Back Again

Dined on April 28, 2016

Bistro Romano is the best Italian restaurant for a nice romantic evening. I have been coming to Bistro Romano since the early 1990s. I am NEVER disappointed. The ambiance may have changed over the years, for the better, but the high quality of the food and service has always remained the same.

Tags: romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

WOW..WOW and WOW !

vip
Dined on April 24, 2016

I can't believe I waited so long to try this remarkable restaurant. What a place. The GM Anthony Santini loves his job and it shows in all he does. The atmosphere is matched only by the food and service. The table side Caesar is a must. We really fell in love with this place. The gnocchi are the best I have ever tasted. The wine list may be one of the city's best. Ask about Anthony's limoncello it is the best. We already booked a return visit. This is what dining out is supposed to be. This place is amazing.My son had the duck and raved about it. The filet is excellent as well.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

enjoyable dinner

Dined on April 23, 2016

We met friends for dinner. It was a new experience for them and it lived up to our description

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food1
ambience4
service5
value1

Our server was terrific, very friendly a ...

Dined on April 23, 2016

Our server was terrific, very friendly and upbeat, however, we found the mixed drinks to be small and weak and the wine pours to be small. The salads were very good, however, both dinners were disappointing. Sadly, I would not recommend this restaurant for anything other than ambiance.

food5
ambience3
service3

The food was tasty. Great red sauces an ...

Dined on April 22, 2016

The food was tasty. Great red sauces and raviolis. Had a 2 top next to a pole, eh. A little awkward with the length of the table. Service was ok. I recommend giving this place a try.

food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was fabulous.

vip
Dined on April 22, 2016

Everything was fabulous.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

business dinner

vip
Dined on April 20, 2016

Bistro Romano is by far the best Italian Restaurant in Philly. Foreign guest was very much impressed with the food (especially the Caesar salad) the pasta and the main courses. Anthony provided that extra special touch and attention to our needs. Still the best!!!!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

If you want a nice first date, this is t ...

Dined on April 18, 2016

If you want a nice first date, this is the place for you. The food, service, atmosphere is everything you would want.

food4
ambience4
service3
value5

You can't beat this place for value

vip
Dined on April 16, 2016

I brought two NYC friends and for them to be that impressed spoke volumes! The atmosphere was charming and cozy and we were so happy to be tucked away in our booth downstairs and be able to hear each other! Dinner was fantastic. We had the barramundi special and it was one of the best fish dishes in my memory-- it melted in your mouth and the flavors were exquisite, highlighted by sundried tomatoes. We also had a delicious pasta dish with mushrooms. All pasta is house made. Table side caesar was such a treat. The best caesar in the city, even without the unobtrusive show. Dessert was a yummy cannoli. We were still talking about our wonderful evening there the following day!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful food! Great piano accompaniment.

Dined on April 16, 2016

I had a wonderful dinner with my family. The staff was very helpful and the atmosphere was delightful as we listened to piano playing

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food as always!

Dined on April 16, 2016

Great food as always!

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

My wife and I started coming here three ...

Dined on April 16, 2016

My wife and I started coming here three years ago. One of our favorite spots in the city. Small, but friendly. Caesar salad is incredible. Never had a bad meal here.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

The Gnocchi was great. Lobster ravioli w ...

Dined on April 12, 2016

The Gnocchi was great. Lobster ravioli was fantastic as well. Great service and atmosphere

food5
ambience5
service5

New to the city - first visit to Bistro ...

Dined on April 11, 2016

New to the city - first visit to Bistro Romano, and it will not be our last - great service, excellent good, and very cool setting downstairs of a very old building. Felt very authentic! Good wine list, also!

food5
ambience5
service5

Impeccable service, delicious food, uniq ...

Dined on April 9, 2016

Impeccable service, delicious food, unique atmosphere. Will definitely dine here again.

food4
ambience5
service4
value5

The meal and service were great. Real q ...

Dined on April 9, 2016

The meal and service were great. Real quaint spot near Penns Landing. Great for a romantic night out. Desert was the only thing that was average. Everything else was great

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great Food and Outstanding Service Always.

vip
Dined on April 7, 2016

Bistro Romano is our go-to place when we are in the city. The food is always good and the service is always excellent and friendly. When you go to a restaurant and the staff welcomes you in such a warm way, you feel like you are home. Kudos!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect all occassions

Dined on April 3, 2016

The entire experience from service to food was exceptional. I would drive into the city just to eat here.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
food5
ambience5
service5

Always a wonderful meal!

vip
Dined on April 2, 2016

Always a wonderful meal!

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.