About Bistro Romano

120 Lombard Street
Philadelphia, PA 19147
View Larger Map

This Historic Landmark, nestled in an 18th century granary, will stimulate your senses with an ambiance of candlelight and casual elegance while creating an unforgettable dining experience. Wine Spectator Award for our wine list! Voted a “Best of Philly” Restaurant, guests enjoy Bistro Romano’s acclaimed Regional Italian Cuisine and rave of the award-winning Caesar Salad prepared tableside and the romantic underground wine cellar for two. Please call for Wine Cellar and Mystery Theatre reservations. We are now celebrating our 25th year! Wine Spectator Best of Award of Excellence (Two Glasses). Over 750 wine selections, including 20 by the glass.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Seafood, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday – Thursday: 4:30pm - 10:00pm, Friday – Saturday: 4:30pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Between Front and 2nd

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(215) 925-8880

Website:
http://www.bistroromano.com/

Entertainment:
Piano Bar Friday & Saturday; Mystery Dinner Theater Friday & Saturday - Must call 215-238-1313 for Mystery Theatre tickets.

Catering:
Bistro Romano provides off-site catering & theme parties for 25 to 2500.

Parking Details:
Parking Meters are free after 5pm on Wednesday nights . Discounted parking at Park America Garage at 215 Lombard Street: Sunday-Thursday $9, Friday and Saturday $19. Acquire parking pass from hostess.

Public Transit:
Septa: 40 Bus, 57 Bus

Executive Chef:
Michael DeLone

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Veal Saltimboca
Chicken Milanese
Antipasto
Grilled Chicken
Caesar Salad
Roasted Garlic And Butternut Squash Soup
Shrimp And Scallop Venezia
Breaded Artichokes
Pesto Gnocchi With Duck Ragu
Rigatoni With Sausage And Peppers
Mozzarella Fritte
Trivento Malbec 2011
Bread Basket
Osso Bucco Ravioli
Salmon And Scallops
Crab Stuffed Filet Mignon
Stuffed Pork Tenderloin
Pumpkin Bread Pudding With Caramel Rum Sauce
Veal Florentine
Crispy Duck
Salad
Tiramisu
Pasta Fagioli Soup
Pistachio Cannoli
Pescatore Pisa
Sausage And Broccoli Seina

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Bistro Romano can accommodate private parties of up to 125 people for a sit-down meal or 200 for a cocktail party in the 120 Room. Other rooms are available for smaller groups. Bistro Romano specializes in Business Meetings, Wedding Receptions, and Rehearsal Dinners.

Bistro Romano Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
Philadelphia / New Jersey Suburbs
Best Ambiance
Philadelphia
Notable Wine List
Philadelphia
2 More
Romantic
Philadelphia
Italian
Philadelphia
Best Restaurants in Society Hill ›

Romantic (127)
Special Occasion (108)
Neighborhood Gem (78)
See All
Notable Wine List (65)
Fit for Foodies (60)
Good for Groups (31)
Good for a Date (24)
Good for Anniversaries (22)
Cozy (19)
Authentic (17)
Hot Spot (16)
Historic (15)
Quiet Conversation (14)
Good for Birthdays (14)
Late-night Find (12)
Outstanding Value (9)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Bar Seating (8)
Great for Lunch (7)
Casual (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Fun (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Private Room (6)
Happy Hour (5)
Scenic View (5)
Business Meals (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Fireplace (2)
Live Music (2)
Great Beer (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Spicy (1)
Seasonal (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
People Watching (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Waterfront (1)
Healthy (1)
Live Sports (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1719 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Well like always it has to be the food. ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 5 days ago

Well like always it has to be the food. The Resturant Week menu was great, hard to choose from. I was happy after the first course and full after the second. I sat at the bar and watched Sean do what he does best, making the patron's feel right at home. I was so full that I took the chocolate torte to go, but I didn't get very far. I stopped by the twisted tail and three lovely ladies who work there had the torte, and said that it "was the best dessert that they had ever had." Thanks for being in the neighborhood.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Had a wedding rehearsal dinner at Bistro ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 5 days ago

Had a wedding rehearsal dinner at Bistro Romano a few years ago and loved the food especially the Lobster Ravioli. This time around Lobster Ravioli wasn't good at all or hot when served to us. It didn't taste or even look the same.....maybe new cook or supplier? I also, tried the chicken and didn't think it had a good flavor to it. The waiter also seemed a little too serious or just miserable.......he kinda dampened the mood a little and it made me feel uncomfortable. I won't ever go back. Too many restaurants out there to choose from with great food and pleasant waiters/waitresses.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value2

We ate there during restaurant week, we ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 6 days ago

We ate there during restaurant week, we thought the portions were going to be smaller then normal but they were not!! The food was delicious and service was great they were very attentive to our needs

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Historic, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Private Room, Authentic, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The appetizer made with lentils, I forge ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

The appetizer made with lentils, I forget the Italian word for it, was perfect. It was balanced with the other ingredients on the plate. Very tasty. And the gnocchi, I forgot how good and rich they are, but balanced with the duck Ragu they were perfect together. Thanks Anthony for the idea of two half portions, good call, I got the best of both worlds.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We had a fabulous experience with an exc ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

We had a fabulous experience with an excellent meal and service. The ambiance was one of the best we've had. Highly recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service and food! Cozy downstairs ...

vip
 (Virginia)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Great service and food! Cozy downstairs seating. Delicious concoctions made at the bar too! Liz was a great bartender!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Cozy, Bar Seating, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been to Bistro Romano's many tim ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

We have been to Bistro Romano's many times. The service is always excellent and friendly. You never feel rushed even if you feel like a second cup of coffee with desert. The food is good and the atmosphere is pleasant.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Cozy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great restaurant with terrific atmospher ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Great restaurant with terrific atmosphere. Loved our visit and will definitely return

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I'm so glad we tried Bistro Romano for r ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

I'm so glad we tried Bistro Romano for restaurant week. Every meal was spectacular and the gnocchi was amazing it was so soft and fluffy. I can't wait to go back!

Tags: Cozy, Authentic, Romantic, Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed a delicious dinner. We went t ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

We enjoyed a delicious dinner. We went there during Restaurant Week to try it and were very happy we did.

Tags: Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place was perfect all the way aroun ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

This place was perfect all the way around. Its atmosphere was beautiful like taking a step right into Tuscany. The mood lighting made it very romantic but perfect for a great dinner with family as I was there with both my parents. The food was outstanding.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

You have to go to this restaurant! The ...

vip
 (Columbus)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

You have to go to this restaurant! The atmosphere, food, service and wine list are top notch! From the hostess that greets you, to the servers that bring your bread and fill your water glass, to the bartenders, waiters and the manager, everyone is so welcoming. I have to give special recognition to Florian and Anthony. They provided us with exceptional service and treated us like family. So much so that we ate there 2 of the 3 nights we were in town. The food and wine were out of this world! We just spent 2 weeks in Italy and our meals here rivaled some of the best in Italy. We left feeling like we have made some great friends and will make it a point to come back whenever we are near Philly!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We selected to eat here because of a cou ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

We selected to eat here because of a coupon we received in the mail. Because it was the start of Philly's Restaurant Week, we choose our meals from that menu and will be using the coupon for a future visit. The Restaurant Week special menu had enough selections that everyone had something different to eat. The food was excellent. The service was excellent. The ambiance was excellent too. I will return and would recommend Bistro Romano to others.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was okay but for the price you ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

The food was okay but for the price you can find better in the city.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Great meal and a great place. Private r ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Great meal and a great place. Private room in a small wine cellar for a romantic eveing or special occasion. Service was outstanding.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Romantic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

recommended by a friend while visiting c ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

recommended by a friend while visiting college grandson - each of six entrees were outstanding.

Tags: Special Occasion, Historic, Great Beer, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bistro Romano is consistently a great re ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Bistro Romano is consistently a great restaurant. A great spot for a date with your wife or a place to bring a customer when they are in town

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

House made artisan ham app and burratta ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

House made artisan ham app and burratta cheese ... AMAZING

Special seafood pasta dish and perfectly grilled steak with compound butter!! Are you kidding me ? The only thing possibly better than the food was the excellent service and attentive staff... ask for Vienna and Anthony (mgr)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was amazing. We had the salad w ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

The food was amazing. We had the salad which was awesome. Best I've ever had. My husband had the gnocchi in this truffle cream sauce which was the best sauce I've ever tasted and they melted in your mouth. I'd highly recommend this place!

Tags: Business Meals, Historic, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Tableside Caesar is amazing. Elayna wen ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

Tableside Caesar is amazing. Elayna went above and beyond to make my birthday special - always a great meal when I come here - thank you!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a wonderful dining experience! Gre ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

What a wonderful dining experience!

Great fresh food that was prepared perfectly and served professionally in a cozy and comfortable atmosphere!

Many thanks to everyone at Bistro Romano!

Tags: Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Seasonal, Authentic, Quick Bite, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Happy Hour, Hot Spot, Live Music, Afternoon Coffee, Great for Lunch, Great Beer, Private Room, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Casual, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Healthy, Romantic, Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Live Sports, Bar Seating, Fireplace, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love the intimate and warm ambience in t ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Love the intimate and warm ambience in the cozy downstairs booths. Staff is so friendly, service oriented and fun from the minute the hostess greets until you exit. We had the weekend summer special which can't be beat.

Desserts are yummy- canolli and tiramisu. Pastas are homemade and unusual. Cold Corn soup delish. Burrata toast and seared duck breast were perfectly executed too. Can never go wrong here!

Was recently there for one of the best happy hrs in town. Sean the bartender is awesome!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Elena was great!

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Elena was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Bistro Romano is always reliably good. A ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Bistro Romano is always reliably good. And with a three-course special for $29.95, it was hard to beat. The service is always excellent. While Bistro Romano is hardly trendy, having been around a long time, the place obviously is doing something right.

Tags: Comfort Food, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food and service equals a great va ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Great food and service equals a great value. Nice location.

Tags: Historic, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food, service and venue! Would ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Excellent food, service and venue! Would absolutely recommend it

Tags: Business Meals, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The beef short rib with pasta and the po ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

The beef short rib with pasta and the poach potatoes. The entire staff that day was on point, friendly, diligent and professional. Everyone from the chef to the servers to all the wait staff make my visit to your establishment highly enjoyable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Delightful -- as always! Have returned ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

Delightful -- as always! Have returned many times; love the décor, background music, and having the ability to have a conversation without screaming. Lobster Night is a great price and a great meal.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Happy Hour, Outstanding Value, Business Meals, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Romantic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great new menu additions , excellent bar ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Great new menu additions , excellent bartenders, good wine selection

Our favorite go to restaurant. Wonderful staff and the most delicious specials

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Historic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

From the front door until we left this p ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

From the front door until we left this place was perfect! Beautiful old feel and ambiance. The staff were all very friendly. Our waiter was the best I've ever had wait on me. The food was delicious!! I'd recommend Bistro Romano to everyone! It was terrific! Thank you For a wonderful evening!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good but not great like the last few tim ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Good but not great like the last few times. I think they were understaffed for the night. We had a party of 8 and it seemed like we were stacking dishes while waiting for a bus boy. My friend had to ask for a beer multiple times as the waiter stopped at our table. Usually the Caesar Salad is on point but not on this night, same with the lobster ravioli. Apps were great. Cocktails were well made. We will probably come back but might try a few places in Collingswood NJ.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value3

We ate at the bar and both of our meals ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

We ate at the bar and both of our meals were delicious and the service was excellent. Believe it or not, Ryan was very attentive even though he seemed to be busy making drink's and getting food orders. Thanks for another great dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Had some friends visiting from out of to ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Had some friends visiting from out of town, and they wanted to grab some Italian food in the city. Italian is not a cuisine I have much experience dining out, so I asked around, and this location came highly recommended. It did not disappoint.

The wine selection was varied and extensive, and the wine flight options kept things interesting. The menu items were more than just pasta dishes or steaks - which was refreshing.

The overall feel of the restaurant was comfortable - and it was easy to forget we were not the only people there.

After dinner, we opted to sit at the bar for a little bit, and were greeted with friendly/witty banter, which was much appreciated.

All in all, a great experience all around - I would definitely do it again.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Really did not expect a great deal becau ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

Really did not expect a great deal because we had been there over ten years ago and it was a bit dungeony and food was average.Since then the space has exposed stone walls individual pews, little private spaces. A complimentary starter of chopped beets, apple mouse and micro green was presented on a large spoon. Sundried tomato oil was delicious for the warm assortment of breads. The calamari was maybe the best we every had. The rings were lightly breaded, plump and extremely tender. The seafood pasta dish was delicous as was the veal dish with broccoli rabe, cheese over mashed potato and a demi glaze sauce. For dessert We shared the ricotta cheesecake. I almost did not order because I read it was dry. I personally prefer this to a creamy cheesecake. We order a limoncello to share and they gave us a complimentary second one so we did not have to share.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Outstanding Value, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The professionalism of the bar tender Se ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

The professionalism of the bar tender Sean, who was being inundated which Monday night pasta specials. The food just kept coming out and he would keep going down to retrieve the food or side's.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

One of our go to place for great food in ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

One of our go to place for great food in the city, never had anything I did not like.

Highly recommend the Pollo Milanese and Grouper Romano, both are outstanding.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Over very good

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Over very good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

I have been going to Bistro Romano for s ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

I have been going to Bistro Romano for several years and have always had excellent food and a great time here. It's my favorite restaurant in Philadelphia.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Love the lobster ravioli and the Caesar ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Love the lobster ravioli and the Caesar salad made at table side.

Ambiance is superb!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

I could not have been happier with my ex ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

I could not have been happier with my experience at Bistro Romano. My fiancé and I ate there in celebration of our 7-year anniversary. A friend of ours recommended the restaurant to us. We were looking for somewhere quiet with great food, great atmosphere, and good prices. Bistro Romano checked off every box for us! The food and drinks were well priced and the wine-list was excellent on the night we ate there. Everything down to our server was fantastic. I have been recommending the restaurant to everyone I know ever since, and I can't wait to go back!

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Outstanding Value, Notable Wine List, Historic, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.