About Bistro Romano

120 Lombard Street
Philadelphia, PA 19147
View Larger Map

This Historic Landmark, nestled in an 18th century granary, will stimulate your senses with an ambiance of candlelight and casual elegance while creating an unforgettable dining experience. Wine Spectator Award for our wine list! Voted a “Best of Philly” Restaurant, guests enjoy Bistro Romano’s acclaimed Regional Italian Cuisine and rave of the award-winning Caesar Salad prepared tableside and the romantic underground wine cellar for two. Please call for Wine Cellar and Mystery Theatre reservations. We are now celebrating our 25th year! Wine Spectator Best of Award of Excellence (Two Glasses). Over 750 wine selections, including 20 by the glass.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Seafood, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday – Thursday: 4:30pm - 10:00pm, Friday – Saturday: 4:30pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Between Front and 2nd

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(215) 925-8880

Website:
http://www.bistroromano.com/

Entertainment:
Piano Bar Friday & Saturday; Mystery Dinner Theater Friday & Saturday - Must call 215-238-1313 for Mystery Theatre tickets.

Catering:
Bistro Romano provides off-site catering & theme parties for 25 to 2500.

Parking Details:
Parking Meters are free after 5pm on Wednesday nights . Discounted parking at Park America Garage at 215 Lombard Street: Sunday-Thursday $9, Friday and Saturday $19. Acquire parking pass from hostess.

Public Transit:
Septa: 40 Bus, 57 Bus

Executive Chef:
Michael DeLone

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Veal Saltimboca
Chicken Milanese
Antipasto
Grilled Chicken
Caesar Salad
Shrimp And Scallop Venezia
Roasted Garlic And Butternut Squash Soup
Breaded Artichokes
Pesto Gnocchi With Duck Ragu
Rigatoni With Sausage And Peppers
Trivento Malbec 2011
Mozzarella Fritte
Bread Basket
Osso Bucco Ravioli
Salmon And Scallops
Crab Stuffed Filet Mignon
Stuffed Pork Tenderloin
Pumpkin Bread Pudding With Caramel Rum Sauce
Veal Florentine
Crispy Duck
Tiramisu
Pasta Fagioli Soup
Salad
Pistachio Cannoli
Pescatore Pisa
Sausage And Broccoli Seina

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Bistro Romano can accommodate private parties of up to 125 people for a sit-down meal or 200 for a cocktail party in the 120 Room. Other rooms are available for smaller groups. Bistro Romano specializes in Business Meetings, Wedding Receptions, and Rehearsal Dinners.

Bistro Romano Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
Philadelphia / New Jersey Suburbs
Italian
Philadelphia / New Jersey Suburbs
Best Ambiance
Philadelphia
3 More
Notable Wine List
Philadelphia
Romantic
Philadelphia
Italian
Philadelphia
Best Restaurants in Society Hill ›

romantic (147)
special occasion (139)
neighborhood gem (95)
See All
fit for foodies (93)
notable wine list (76)
good for groups (49)
hot spot (19)
late-night find (19)
vibrant bar scene (12)
kid-friendly (7)
scenic view (6)
great for lunch (5)
great for brunch (4)
great for outdoor dining (2)
Sort By:
Newest
1632 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service5

The veal steak was delicious. The bar te ...

vip
Dined 13 hours ago

The veal steak was delicious. The bar tenders Ryan and Sean were attentive and knowledgeable.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love Bistro Ramano great service great f ...

Dined 6 days ago

Love Bistro Ramano great service great food and awesome experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience3
service1
value4

Very poor service on a special evening. ...

vip
Dined 7 days ago

Very poor service on a special evening. Waiting almost 2 hours for main course. Requested a take home bag for meal not finished and never came back to the table. Very disappointing experience.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We went to Bistro Romano to celebrate ou ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

We went to Bistro Romano to celebrate our wedding anniversary this past weekend and we loved it! We were looking for a cozy, romantic Italian restaurant and this was perfect. The dining area was charming and cozy. Our meal was delicious (I had the chicken Milanese and my husband had a veal special) - the wine list was huge and the dessert (cannoli) was wonderful. Only two negatives were that we had to ask for water and bread (it was busy) and there was a loud (and very enthusiastic) 40th birthday party group right next to us. No fault of Bistro Romano, though, and they were very apologetic about the noise, even giving us a gift certificate to use at our next visit. And we will definitely come back again! Thank you for helping us celebrate our anniversary!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

I've been there with my now-fiancee quit ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

I've been there with my now-fiancee quite a bit. It was good, however the service was a little slow, and I don't prefer sitting upstairs by the bar. Most likely we will go there again

Tags: late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The ambience was amazing as was the pian ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

The ambience was amazing as was the piano player. Perfect night and very romantic.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best dinners we have had in a ...

vip
Dined on June 17, 2016

One of the best dinners we have had in a long time. service was faultless and the food perfect! we can't wait to return.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

The chief had outdone himself tonight wi ...

vip
Dined on June 17, 2016

The chief had outdone himself tonight with the veal special it was like butter to cut and the green pepper corn sauce was delicious.

food5
ambience4
service5

The cheese plate during happy hour was d ...

vip
Dined on June 13, 2016

The cheese plate during happy hour was delicious and the bolnase is fabulous, but the crème de la crème was the side of olive oil poached new potatoes with salt. I had these for dessert they are that good.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect evening! Celebrated a birthday w ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Perfect evening! Celebrated a birthday with dinner. Love this place.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food1
ambience4
service4
value2

The service was very good and the wine c ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

The service was very good and the wine cellar for two was charming and quiet, but the food was quite poor. The pasta was extrememly over cooked, wet and soggy, and the apps/salad were mediocre at best. Our entrees were: a special - pappadelli bolenesge, and a regular menu item - seafood over linguini - both highly recommended by the waiter. Very surprised that an Italian restaurant rated this high could mess up such basic meals and over cook pasta to the point that we didn't eat it.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service is great. Food is good and prese ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Service is great. Food is good and presentation is excellant. A little noisy when full, but booths help to subdue sound. Parking lot is nearby.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is the classic Italian Restaurant. ...

vip
Dined on June 11, 2016

This is the classic Italian Restaurant. Every food item is prepared well with delicious sauces. I would highly recommend.

Tags: good for groups, romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I enjoyed dinner here for ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

My husband and I enjoyed dinner here for our wedding anniversary. It was very romantic, and the food was fantastic. We loved that the menu and wine lists were varied - in types and prices. Our server was kind and attentive, and we had an all around wonderful meal. We will certainly eat at Bistro Romano again.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

The duck that is on the menu was by far ...

vip
Dined on June 10, 2016

The duck that is on the menu was by far the best I have had, but the side of poached potatoes and olive oil was delicious and I would highly recommend them.

food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Another great meal.

Dined on June 10, 2016

I eat at Bistro Romano a few times a year and am never disappointed. If you like Caesar Salad the made fresh table side salad is the best. I am partial to the Vitello Rinaldi or Vitello Owen both of which are very tasty. The person I was with had Grouper Asparagi which was also delicious. The only downside was I did not bring my readers with me so I was not able to read the wine list. I asked the server for some assistance explaining what I was looking for. I was disappointed when he went for the most expensive bottles non of which had the characteristics I was looking for. The result of treating me like that reduces your tip.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First Time in Philly

Dined on June 10, 2016

This was our first stay in Philadelphia. Heard a lot about Center City and the restaurants. We saw this restaurant online. We liked what we saw and read, so we gave it a try. Glad we did. For our first restaurant experience in Philadelphia, we couldn't have asked for better. Great ambience, great neighborhood. Great food. We especially liked the table service for the Ceasar salad.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always- a delightful treat.

Dined on June 9, 2016

Homemade pasta that will change your life. Delightful service. Extensive wine list. Attention to detail. Gets better over time

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was outstanding very large port ...

vip
Dined on June 8, 2016

The food was outstanding very large portions, great presentation and most importantly excellent flavors.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Exceedingly nice- food was great- service great

Dined on June 7, 2016

Food, service, ambiance all great- I was very pleasantly surprised- will definitely return

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Fabulous food. Incredible ambience and p ...

Dined on June 6, 2016

Fabulous food. Incredible ambience and pleasant, knowledgeable service. Everything from the cocktails to the dessert and espresso was perfect.

food4
ambience4
service4

Food was uniformly very good and histori ...

vip
Dined on June 3, 2016

Food was uniformly very good and historic building was unique although a little dark on the lower level.

food5
ambience4
service5

I had the lobster dinner special it was ...

vip
Dined on May 31, 2016

I had the lobster dinner special it was delicious as always best deal in town. Kyle the manager was very efficient and professional ensuring that everything came out on time and perfect. Sean the bartender was also very attentive. I love coming to this place.

food5
ambience5
service5

Such a wonderfully AirPrint dinner exper ...

vip
Dined on May 30, 2016

Such a wonderfully AirPrint dinner experience, we returned the following week with another couple. The seafood combo with linguini was amazing. They were able to substitute spinach for the linguini that I ordered.

food5
ambience4
service5

Kate the hostess and Sean the bartender ...

vip
Dined on May 30, 2016

Kate the hostess and Sean the bartender were a joy to have dinner with. The special dinner menu was very delicious and had a great presentation, complement's to the chief.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

First Class

Dined on May 30, 2016

Got great attention from our waiter. The food was terrific.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

This is a perfect restaurant for a date ...

Dined on May 29, 2016

This is a perfect restaurant for a date night. My boyfriend and I were seated downstairs in the little booths, which we felt was perfectly intimate for a date night. We ordered the appetizer special of the octopus which was delicious. For dinner I ordered the entree special of the cod and my boyfriend ordered the Veal Saltimbocca Granto. We cleaned the plate with both of our entrees; they were absolutely delicious. Lastly for dessert we split the Hazelnut Semifreddo. Everything we ate was delicious and the ambience was perfect for our date night! We will definitely be visiting again.

food5
ambience5
service5

Always a great dining experience. The f ...

vip
Dined on May 29, 2016

Always a great dining experience. The food, wine and service are first rate.

food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Disappointing

vip
Dined on May 29, 2016

We had one salad and two pastas with a bill that was over $50. My pasta had a simple marinara sauce. Disappointing to say the least.

food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Ceasar Salad is the Draw

vip
Dined on May 28, 2016

My husband and I decided to go there based on a friend's recommendation for the Ceasar salad (which is made table side). The Ceasar salad was indeed delicious (a touch heavy on the cheese for my tastes, but otherwise delightful), and my steak was high quality (melt in your mouth tender) and cooked perfectly. As for my husband's duck dish, there was absolutely nothing wrong with it, but it was not memorable in the least. The wine list had some unusual selections from Italy and the GM was very knowledgeable and picked us a great bottle. Our server—while very friendly—seemed to forget about us a few times (we had to pour our own wine from the decanter), though thankfully our entrees came out nice and hot.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

They had a restaurant week style menu fo ...

Dined on May 28, 2016

They had a restaurant week style menu for the holiday weekend in which you could choose from roughly 4 options for 3 different courses. You could not go wrong with any of the options but in case you were struggling to make up your mind the knowledgable staff was there to help and offered suggestions for how the Chef recommends the meal. The staff was courteous and attentive while providing a light atmosphere.

food5
ambience4
service5

I had the special menu and everything I ...

vip
Dined on May 28, 2016

I had the special menu and everything I had was fantastic. The house made sausage, the lasagna and lamb were all excellent.

food5
ambience5
service5

The hostess Kate was excellent, as was J ...

vip
Dined on May 23, 2016

The hostess Kate was excellent, as was Joe the bar tender and I had a very good time. Thanks

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious

Dined on May 22, 2016

One of the best meals I've had in a long time! Even though we weren't seated till 845 with an 800 reservation is was well worth the wait. The dining room downstairs was very rustic looking and cozy. Our server Elana was very accommodating , pleasant and funny. We told her that we had to be out of restaurant by 950p as we were picking our son up at 10p. The table side Ceasar salad was very good as was the grilled octopus appetizer. All three entrées were great- grouper with a seafood risotto, gnocchi with duck ragu sauce and a chicken breast stuffed with spinach, mushroom and ricotta over garlicky mashed potatoes! Since we were on a time restraint we did not have dessert...next time! Will definitely return!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was a wonderful experience, the gen ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

This was a wonderful experience, the general manager was so awesome and he knew his wine, his food and how to treat customers. We had the Caesar salad, made at tableside and I think everyone who loves Caesar salad should go just to have theirs! Their pasta dishes are all handmade and truly were so wonderful. The desserts and the apps were also not to be missed. Our sever was very attentive, friendly and could make a mean Caesar salad. I am from out of town, but we were there celebrating my son's graduation and my other son's birthday and it was truly an amazing experience. The next time I am in Philly, I will be going there!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Been going to the Bistro for years and h ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Been going to the Bistro for years and have never had a bad meal or experience. This last time, we had a server by the name, Vienna. Amazing!!!! She a real person who was fun and sweet. Not just a server going through the motions. She really added to the experience. Definitely ask for this server. Thanks again Vienna for making our Anniversary night out great. Only bad thing was someone stole my umbrella from the lobby. HAHA... Really?!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

The octopus salad and the pasta special ...

vip
Dined on May 21, 2016

The octopus salad and the pasta special tonight were excellent.

food5
ambience5
service4

Incredibly fresh food (very clear that i ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

Incredibly fresh food (very clear that it's all done in house).

food4
ambience4
service4

Special pasta with shrimps and crab meat ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

Special pasta with shrimps and crab meat is amazing

food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Great food. We were celebrating and had ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Great food. We were celebrating and had a very good time.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.