About Bistro Napa

3800 S. Virginia Street
Reno, NV 89502
View Larger Map

Creative, delicious and unexpected. Savor contemporary cuisine inspired by Napa Valley in a sophisticated, vibrant, yet comfortable atmosphere with emphasis on seasonal, organic ingredients and simple, fresh flavors. Flown in from certified waters of the cold Pacific northwest, the finest oysters are served in the Raw Seafood Bar. Experience innovative small plates, perfect for sharing, delectable big plates and playful desserts that are deceptively delicious. The sommelier will help complement any Bistro experience with thoughtfully chosen wine from the 4,000-bottle wine cellar. Cutting-edge cocktails are infused with fresh fruit purees, boutique liquors and bitters. Gather for dinner or cocktails in a social scene that rivals the energy of the innovative cuisine.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Californian, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Moana/Peckham

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(775) 335-4539

Website:
http://atlantiscasino.com/dining

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking and acres of free self-parking.

Public Transit:
S. Virginia at E. Peckham

Executive Chef:
Robert Katausky | Clayton Slieff, Chef de Cuisine

Private Party Facilities:
The 4,000-bottle wine cellar is available for private dining. Please contact us for more information.

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Bistro Napa Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Fit for Foodies
Tahoe / Reno Area
Notable Wine List
Tahoe / Reno Area
Romantic
Tahoe / Reno Area
9 More
Special Occasion
Tahoe / Reno Area
Contemporary American
Tahoe / Reno Area
Best Overall
Reno
Best Food
Reno
Best Service
Reno
Best Ambiance
Reno
Fit for Foodies
Reno
Romantic
Reno
Special Occasion
Reno
Best Restaurants in Reno ›

special occasion (16)
notable wine list (11)
fit for foodies (10)
See All
romantic (10)
good for groups (5)
hot spot (5)
vibrant bar scene (4)
neighborhood gem (3)
late-night find (3)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
42 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Just a great experience! It was my birt ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Just a great experience! It was my birthday and I loved the complimentary appetizer and champagne. The entrees were unique and well prepared.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We have been to Bistro Napa a few times ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

We have been to Bistro Napa a few times now and believe with confidence it is one of the nicest places to eat with consistency great food and equally impeccable service. Chris & Martin were stellar. I was even able to teach my daughter about table etiquette which is not as common as it once was. Thank you again Bistro Napa, you will see us again soon.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Celebrating our new home. The sea bass ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

Celebrating our new home. The sea bass was out of this world! the service and attention to our needs was right on spot. If you're looking to impress, take them here.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We have been here a couple of times and ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

We have been here a couple of times and enjoyed ourselves. So we looked forward to going back...the Napa Bistro did not let us down. All around great!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always specatcular

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Reliably wonderful. Happy hour is superior and desserts are decadent.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Cioppino to die for!

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

We live north of San Francisco where Cioppino originated from, have tried Ciopinno from San Clemente North to Crescent City and the Ciopinno here at the Bistro rates one of the top 2 if not number one! Ample Crab meat and prepared perfectly, a Delicous Sea Food treat! Don't miss the Panko breaded King Crab cakes would return just for those alone! We had two children in a party of 6, the staff treated them with the upmost respect and engaged with them in a cute way especially when they were brought freshly spun cotton candy for a special treat! This will be a must do every time we visit Reno!!!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Find in Reno

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our dining experience at Napa Bistro. The staff was delightful and made us feel very welcome! The menu selections were wonderful and the food delicious. It was my husband's birthday, and the staff celebrated it with style!

We found the prices to be very reasonable and the atmosphere lovely. We will definitely return!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always, really great food and good se ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

As always, really great food and good service. The ribeye steak was excellent...love that wood fired flavor. Cesar salad was wonderful.

Tags: special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Our experience did not live up to the hype

 
 (Omaha)
·Dined on April 6, 2016

Read several reviews and was really looking forward to a great meal. What we got was so so food and a hefty bill for even worse service. Beverage top offs were non existent. Had to catch servers going by to request beverages. There was 5 of us, we all travel frequently on business and are very well accustomed to nice restaurants in many large cities. We had a wide range of menu items. The veal was not very good when compared to the la strada in the eldorado. The prime rib was probably the best thing on the menu and the steamed clams were good. The rest was not fitting for what we paid and the quality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

Oysters

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

We came for the oysters on the half shell and were not disappointed. Great selection and super-fresh. Add in a salad and a little Champagne and you have a dinner to be remembered.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Ohhhhh. The short ribs!!!

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

What a lovely experience and our first time dining with Bistro Napa. We had wonderful service, a great sommelier, and front row seats to enjoy watching and listening to 9 chefs prepare amazing dishes. You can't go wrong with their signature dishes. We had the lobster Mac and it was perfect with just the right cheeses and a velvety finish. The Chef de Cuisine was a mistro conducting a symphony of perfect plates. Some reasonably priced bottles of good wine as well. The cotton candy finish was a nice touch. ❤️

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful service and great food

 
 (New England)
·Dined on January 27, 2016

Loved everything about our meal. Arrive early and enjoy happy hour at the bar before you sit down at your table. This was one of the nicest dining experiences we have had in Reno.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The restaurant was very nice and we were ...

vip
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on January 25, 2016

The restaurant was very nice and we were greeted and seated right away. The service was very good and our meals were excellent. I would definitely recommend this restaurant and would come back any time. Perhaps next time I will try the small plates. Overall rating 👍

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great evening for a Birthday Celebration ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on January 21, 2016

Great evening for a Birthday Celebration with an over the top wines selection by the Sommelier Christian. Sherwin provided suburb service and the Chefs special was excellent. Napa Bistro is a must fine experience in Reno.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Anniversary Dinner

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on January 14, 2016

Amazing cuisine , excellent service, very good wine ! A hidden gem In Reno.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Wonderful dinner!

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on December 30, 2015

We sat by the kitchen for wine and oysters with Cook Jorge, who was fun and friendly. Moved to table for dinner; don't miss the artichokes and escargot. Chef was kind enough to come out to share about his dishes. What a great guy and talented chef.

This has become an annual visit for us because of the service and food (did I mention David our server? Great!)

Do not miss dinner here. You will surely love it!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had dinner here before the concert. I ...

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on November 29, 2015

We had dinner here before the concert. It was our first time dining here. The waiter seemed a little bit taken back when we told him we needed to be finished by a certain time. I very gently told him that I know he's busy but he needs to not be short with us. After that, he was very gracious. My husbands fillet and lobster tails were excellent. My web salad was fabulous. The Chilean Seabass was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

Location

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on October 25, 2015

Overall, we were very satisfied with our dinner at Bistro Napa but were disappointed to find that it was located inside the Atlantis Casino as we were looking for an "out of casino" dining experience in Reno. Additionally, the restaurant is a bit difficult to locate in the building due to poor signage on the gaming floor.

The food and service are outstanding.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Exceptional Experience

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on October 6, 2015

First time to try this restaurant and I will definately be back. The service, food and wine list made it an exceptional experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent choice for dinner

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 10, 2015

Originally selected based on menu and location where we were staying. Service was excellent as was the food. Wines by the glass were very good but a bit pricey. Overall, an excellent selection for dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Absolutely Amazing

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on September 7, 2015

It was my boyfriend 30th Birthday so I surprised him with the restaurant. And From the greeting to the exit the service was amazing. I watched cotton candy desserts go through the restaurant... I had brought cake from an outside bakery they asked to plate the cake they went above and beyond and wrote "Happy Birthday" in chocolate sauce on the plate. Absolutely exceptional, Mark was the matron'd, he is amazing at his job even took a picture of us an sent us home with a print as a souvenir! By far the best dinning experience ever!!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Reno delight

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 6, 2015

One of the best in Reno for food, wine and service.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and atmosphere

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on September 5, 2015

Wonderful place for special occasions, romantic, great food, wine list wonderful and atmosphere is great.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on September 1, 2015

The Bistro Napa serves quality food and the service is excellent. The menu is varied enough for anyone's taste. I have dined there at least two dozen times with as many as 20 people and everyone has always enjoyed the experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Best Happy Hour in Reno

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 21, 2015

Absolutely fabulous food not to be missed if you are in Reno. The restaurant is in the Atlantis Hotel, which is one of the best in the city. The appetizers were creative and expertly prepared. The Butternut squash and pumpkin ravioli with pomegranate seeds were scrumptious and the grilled vegetables with wood fire artichokes w/ lemon aioli were outstanding. If you are adventurous, try the wild boar spring rolls. Your palate will be very happy.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious -

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on August 16, 2015

all four of my guests were blown away by their dinners. I had sea bass. Was so gooood!!!! And we started out by having some squash sage ravioli. So basic, right? No, was literally the best ravioli I have had in a long time. Great wine selection.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great fine dining restaurant in Atlantis ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 14, 2015

Great fine dining restaurant in Atlantis Casino, upscale, comfortable decor and seating. Nice menu selections. Food well prepared, very tasty, and nice portion sizes. Service was very good, server knew menu well, helped with dinner choices and with wine selection. Restaurant was quite busy, yet server kept up well with our table. Definitely would dine at Bistro Napa again next time in the area.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Outstanding service with Matt, great foo ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 17, 2015

Outstanding service with Matt, great food, elegant atmosphere without being pretentious. Treated our 5 yr old so nicely. Would highly recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great meal

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 16, 2015

Enjoyed our family dinner. Away from the chaos of the casino. Great wine list, attentive service and food was good!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Inventive dishes

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 7, 2015

Great food at Bristro Napa. We started with the perfectly portioned Baby Iceberg Wedge which was excellent. The Oysters Rockefeller were fresh but the recipe was too deconstructed for our tastes. We enjoyed the Potato Encrusted Salmon but really loved the flavors in the Pan Roasted Chilean Sea Bass.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

The food was delicious, however, the ser ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 9, 2015

The food was delicious, however, the service was seriously lacking. Our server, quite simply, was never around. I had to track him down every time we wanted something. He couldn't be bothered with our table, and unfortunately, that ruined the dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1

Nice restaurant in Reno

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 30, 2015

The Bistro Napa has the appearance of a big hotel restaurant, especially, after you go to the website and there is no indication that it is inside a hotel in Reno. However, once there, the restaurant is clean, pleasant, with an attentive wait staff. The food is well done with the oysters being fresh and OK. The Cioppino was well made, but without much heat. The wine list was adequate, and somewhat overpriced for the items present, but the Black-Kite Pinot was good and reasonably priced.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, late-night find, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Night out for good food and great conversation

vip
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on March 29, 2015

Great upbeat restaurant. Excellent offering of steaks and other entries. Extensive wine list. The staff are attentive and friendly.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Business Dinner Approved

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on March 6, 2015

We took some customers here for a business dinner. The sound level allowed us to visit easily and the food was very good. Our group had steak, lamb and seafood and everyone was pleased. The cotton candy at the end of dinner was an interesting twist!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Very enjoyable atmosphere and excellent ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on January 21, 2015

Very enjoyable atmosphere and excellent food. Had dinner with a prospective client and the service, food and noise level was very suitable for the meeting.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

30th Anniversary Dinner

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on January 13, 2015

Prime rib was cooked as requested, but a bit salty. Caprese and Cesar salads salads were fresh and delicious. Lots of choices for wine by the glass on the menu. We were eating during the national championship college football game and when the waiter found out we were interested in what was happening, he gave us discreet updates in the score.

Unfortunately, even though I specifically requested a quiet table, we were seated next to a loud group of 6 business people discussing customer service and making plans to gamble and drink. They seemed oblivious to the distruption they caused in an otherwise quiet space. It would have been nice for the restaurant to have honored our request and seated us away from that table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Fabulous

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on October 11, 2014

The food, service, and ambience was fabulous. We are already making plans to return. Both our dinners were cooked to perfection.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Unexpected pleasure

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on October 11, 2014

We were in Reno for one night, just passing through. Bistro Napa had great reviews so we tried it. Excellent food and excellent service. Next time we're driving through we'll make a point to stop so that we can enjoy dinner there again.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

A good place for a very good dinner

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 3, 2014

The title says it all. A wonderful dining experience punctuated with excellently prepared food, top notch service and a quiet, dimly-lit atmosphere.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Why anyone thinks this place is great is ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 21, 2014

Why anyone thinks this place is great is beyond us. Snooty waiter. Even servers in New York City are not snooty any longer. Get over yourselves. Food overcooked. And you have to walk through a smoke-filled casino. There is another entrance but they keep it quiet and walking down even that hall, it stinks of smoke. Awful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.