About Bistro Napa

3800 S. Virginia Street
Reno, NV 89502
View Larger Map

Creative, delicious and unexpected. Savor contemporary cuisine inspired by Napa Valley in a sophisticated, vibrant, yet comfortable atmosphere with emphasis on seasonal, organic ingredients and simple, fresh flavors. Flown in from certified waters of the cold Pacific northwest, the finest oysters are served in the Raw Seafood Bar. Experience innovative small plates, perfect for sharing, delectable big plates and playful desserts that are deceptively delicious. The sommelier will help complement any Bistro experience with thoughtfully chosen wine from the 4,000-bottle wine cellar. Cutting-edge cocktails are infused with fresh fruit purees, boutique liquors and bitters. Gather for dinner or cocktails in a social scene that rivals the energy of the innovative cuisine.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Californian, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Moana/Peckham

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(775) 335-4539

Website:
http://atlantiscasino.com/reno-restaurants/bistro-napa

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking and acres of free self-parking.

Public Transit:
S. Virginia at E. Peckham

Executive Chef:
Robert Katausky | Clayton Slieff, Chef de Cuisine

Private Party Facilities:
The 4,000-bottle wine cellar is available for private dining. Please contact us for more information.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Bistro Napa Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.8

ambience

4.4

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Tahoe / Reno Area
Best Food
Tahoe / Reno Area
Best Service
Tahoe / Reno Area
10 More
Best Value
Tahoe / Reno Area
Romantic
Tahoe / Reno Area
Special Occasion
Tahoe / Reno Area
Contemporary American
Tahoe / Reno Area
Best Overall
Reno
Best Food
Reno
Best Service
Reno
Best Ambiance
Reno
Best Value
Reno
Special Occasion
Reno
Best Restaurants in Reno ›

Special Occasion (13)
Notable Wine List (11)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
See All
Romantic (9)
Good for Groups (6)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Good for a Date (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Business Meals (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Private Room (2)
Healthy (1)
Tapas (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Fun (1)
Cozy (1)
Sort By:
S
71 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Unexpected fine casual dining. While th ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 28, 2016

Unexpected fine casual dining. While the decor does not remind me of Napa (more like a Reno casino), the menu and wine list would hold their own. The food was well prepared and the service friendly and attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Excellent food and service!

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Excellent food and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dinner was an overall disappointment I w ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Dinner was an overall disappointment I was expecting more quality from the food and the service. Prime Rib was tough I ate but really should have sent it back. Wait staff were pleasant but was inattentive. We were left to ourselves without anyone checking in. When you have to ask for refills of water and soda is not what I call service. Waiter at next table was awesome wish I had him as the server.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

We started with the butternut squash and ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 27, 2016

We started with the butternut squash and pumpkin ravioli which was outstanding. I had the creamy onion soup and the sea bass which were both excellent. My husband had a Caesar salad which he said was quite good and the prime rib which he said was perhaps the best he has ever had. The cut of prime rib was exactly as he requested (rare). The bread basket they bring at the beginning has a lovely selection of breads including sourdough, multi grain, breadsticks and a wonderful guyere onion bun. The presentation of all the dishes was top notch. The atmosphere is quiet enough to actually have a conversation. The tables are plenty big and the chairs very comfortable.

If you want a bit more casual and don't mind a bit more noise, their happpy hour is outstanding. The value can't be beat and the selection of drinks and appetizers are among the best in town. This is not cheap house wine happy hour. This is 1/2 off quality wines from a nice selection. I think they also have great deals on mixed drinks as well. The appetizers are great.....try the flat bread pizzas, sliders, ravioli, Asian ribs.....you really can't go wrong.

Tags: Disabled Access, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Had excellent meal and service. great w ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Had excellent meal and service. great wine selections...

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

To begin, all diners get an amuse bouche ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 20, 2016

To begin, all diners get an amuse bouche (tantalizing appetizer) and champagne. Sure puts you in a good mood! Diverse menu and all was exquisitely plated. I prefer this to Atlantis's Steakhouse, excellent quality in an elegant setting and less expensive. Happy hour specials if you are not into dinner.

Meal ends with pink spun sugar (plated cotton candy). Must see to believe!

Reservations recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fabulous service and an unexpected surpr ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Fabulous service and an unexpected surprise for a restaurant in a casino! Did not feel like a casino at all! Food good or great depending on what you choose, generous wine pours, and again I can't repeat enough FABULOUS attentive, but not overbearing, service. And easy to talk--and hear--each other comfortably.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent service and food we really enj ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Excellent service and food we really enjoyed this restaurant as we celebrated a birthday.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We celebrated with a birthday dinner in ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 8, 2016

We celebrated with a birthday dinner in the wine room (private) for 10 people. The service was outstanding, elegant yet cozy environment. All of our guests were impressed with their food, menu selection was excellent. We had fish, steak, lamb, chicken, and all were prepared exceptionally well. Lovely starters. The staff were very attentive but not overbearing. A special and delicious cake was prepared exactly to our specifications. It was a pleasure dealing with everyone at the Bistro Napa. Thank you for making the evening one we will fondly remember!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Romantic, Good for a Date, Private Room, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was great as well as the service. G ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on November 1, 2016

Food was great as well as the service. Good portions are large and well worth the price! Good to see they don't gouge you on the add on's. Will definitely be going back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

The food, the ambiance and the service w ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on October 30, 2016

The food, the ambiance and the service were all about as good as it gets. It's a quiet and elegant setting. While the menu is a little pricey, as they say, you get what you pay for. I highly recommend this restaurant. -- B. Myers, Reno, NV

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Healthy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Tapas, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Everything was first class, elegant, and ...

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on October 18, 2016

Everything was first class, elegant, and the food was exceptional. A foodie paradise.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I had a delicious dinner ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on October 12, 2016

My husband and I had a delicious dinner at Bistro Napa. Service was excellent and the wine cellar was beautiful. I especially enjoyed sitting at the more intimate booth where we could talk easily. Meal and wine was expensive but worth it providing there is a special occasion to go with it.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Therapy dogs shouldn't be allowed, how i ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 10, 2016

Therapy dogs shouldn't be allowed, how is it sanitary to have a dog in a high end restaurant or any restaurant for that matter

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent service from Christopher and S ...

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 26, 2016

Excellent service from Christopher and Stephan. Wine selection is Awesome! Would love to go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Total experience was superb and very spe ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Total experience was superb and very special for our anniversary celebration.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

As always, Food and Service was Excellen ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on September 11, 2016

As always, Food and Service was Excellent. This is one of 3 places I don't mind spending the moola!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

While visiting Reno with friends to cele ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 20, 2016

While visiting Reno with friends to celebrate anniversary & birthday we went to Bistro Napa, OMG this place is to die for, everything about it from the bar area, appetizers, entrees and service was outstanding. We started with crab cakes to share, we had filet mignon, veal piccata and sea bass, all were excellent. Great anniversary dessert was gratis which we shared and of course the cotton candy. Our waiter Matt was wonderful, great service without overbearing. I wished I lived there so I could eat there again, I would highly recommend it.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

From the food to the service it was a wo ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 19, 2016

From the food to the service it was a wonderful experience. Excellent!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Good food, varied menu, great service, p ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on August 19, 2016

Good food, varied menu, great service, poor ambiance, high prices.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service5
value2

Excellent in every aspect from the momen ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on August 17, 2016

Excellent in every aspect from the moment you enter Bistro until you walk out. I would recommend the Bistro to anyone and for any occasion. Great food, service, ambiance, no noise level, wine and the Maitre d' made at least three rounds at our table to make sure we were satisfied. An excellent experience with your clients. Nice job Atlantis!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food, wine, and service! Highl ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on August 17, 2016

Excellent food, wine, and service! Highly recommend if you love properly prepared fresh food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was delicious. We had filet mig ...

vip
 (Tahoe)·Dined on August 15, 2016

The food was delicious. We had filet mignon with polenta and asparagus. It was beautifully prepared and served by a friendly and efficient staff.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Meleek (sp?) was wonderful! Watch out Ka ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 15, 2016

Meleek (sp?) was wonderful! Watch out Kamel (sp?)!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful evening! Love the service! ( ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on August 10, 2016

Wonderful evening! Love the service! ( Think the main server was Daniel, but not positive - fabulous staff from host to servers !!!)

Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I took my husband to dinner at the Bistr ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on August 3, 2016

I took my husband to dinner at the Bistro for his birthday dinner. I've been here many times, we are both in the food industry & to us, it is hard to find a restaurant with all the elements that create a memorable evening. Starting with Christian at the hostess desk to the comfort of the lovely booth, this is one of our favorites. Thanks so much for knowing & holding on to the elements

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent in every way! Cannot say enou ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 2, 2016

Excellent in every way!

Cannot say enough how much my party enjoyed!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We are locals and pick Bistro Napa again ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 28, 2016

We are locals and pick Bistro Napa again and again for that special night out. Great kitchen and great service...a great combination.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Nice evening Christopher and Steven were ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on July 28, 2016

Nice evening Christopher and Steven were fantastic the service was awesome

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Just a great experience! It was my birt ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 18, 2016

Just a great experience! It was my birthday and I loved the complimentary appetizer and champagne. The entrees were unique and well prepared.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We have been to Bistro Napa a few times ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on July 3, 2016

We have been to Bistro Napa a few times now and believe with confidence it is one of the nicest places to eat with consistency great food and equally impeccable service. Chris & Martin were stellar. I was even able to teach my daughter about table etiquette which is not as common as it once was. Thank you again Bistro Napa, you will see us again soon.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Celebrating our new home. The sea bass ...

vip
 (Tahoe)·Dined on June 13, 2016

Celebrating our new home. The sea bass was out of this world! the service and attention to our needs was right on spot. If you're looking to impress, take them here.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We have been here a couple of times and ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on May 24, 2016

We have been here a couple of times and enjoyed ourselves. So we looked forward to going back...the Napa Bistro did not let us down. All around great!!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always specatcular

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 7, 2016

Reliably wonderful. Happy hour is superior and desserts are decadent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Cioppino to die for!

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 30, 2016

We live north of San Francisco where Cioppino originated from, have tried Ciopinno from San Clemente North to Crescent City and the Ciopinno here at the Bistro rates one of the top 2 if not number one! Ample Crab meat and prepared perfectly, a Delicous Sea Food treat! Don't miss the Panko breaded King Crab cakes would return just for those alone! We had two children in a party of 6, the staff treated them with the upmost respect and engaged with them in a cute way especially when they were brought freshly spun cotton candy for a special treat! This will be a must do every time we visit Reno!!!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Find in Reno

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 30, 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our dining experience at Napa Bistro. The staff was delightful and made us feel very welcome! The menu selections were wonderful and the food delicious. It was my husband's birthday, and the staff celebrated it with style!

We found the prices to be very reasonable and the atmosphere lovely. We will definitely return!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always, really great food and good se ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on April 24, 2016

As always, really great food and good service. The ribeye steak was excellent...love that wood fired flavor. Cesar salad was wonderful.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Our experience did not live up to the hype

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on April 6, 2016

Read several reviews and was really looking forward to a great meal. What we got was so so food and a hefty bill for even worse service. Beverage top offs were non existent. Had to catch servers going by to request beverages. There was 5 of us, we all travel frequently on business and are very well accustomed to nice restaurants in many large cities. We had a wide range of menu items. The veal was not very good when compared to the la strada in the eldorado. The prime rib was probably the best thing on the menu and the steamed clams were good. The rest was not fitting for what we paid and the quality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

Oysters

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 12, 2016

We came for the oysters on the half shell and were not disappointed. Great selection and super-fresh. Add in a salad and a little Champagne and you have a dinner to be remembered.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Ohhhhh. The short ribs!!!

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on February 14, 2016

What a lovely experience and our first time dining with Bistro Napa. We had wonderful service, a great sommelier, and front row seats to enjoy watching and listening to 9 chefs prepare amazing dishes. You can't go wrong with their signature dishes. We had the lobster Mac and it was perfect with just the right cheeses and a velvety finish. The Chef de Cuisine was a mistro conducting a symphony of perfect plates. Some reasonably priced bottles of good wine as well. The cotton candy finish was a nice touch. ❤️

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.