About Bistro Mexicana 129

129 rue Principale
Gatineau, QC J9H 3M5
View Larger Map

Spécialisé dans la nourriture mexicaine traditionnelle et authentique, préparée à partir de produits frais. Menu pour tous: sans gluten, végétarien...

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Mexican

Hours of Operation:

Lundi-Jeudi: 11h30 -21h00
Vendredi: 11h30 - 22h00
Samedi: 15h00-22h00
Dimanche: 15h00 - 21h00

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(819) 684-8181

Website:
http://bistromexicana129.wix.com/bistromexicana

Bistro Mexicana 129 Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.2

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (3)
Hot Spot (2)
Scenic View (2)
See All
Good for Groups (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Casual (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
People Watching (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Private Room (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Seasonal (1)
Authentic (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Fun (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sort By:
S
9 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Excellent food, ambiance, music, drink ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined 3 days ago

Excellent food, ambiance, music, drinks and service. We had a great time. We will go back.

Tags: Casual, Worth the Drive, Gluten Free Options, Outstanding Value, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Restaurant has a huge terrace...however ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on September 29, 2016

Restaurant has a huge terrace...however we did not get to enjoy it because the weather was a bit cool...inside is a bit small unless you go upstairs...we were lucky to get the only both on the ground floor...service was good but what impressed me the most was the QUANTITY of the food....HUGE PORTIONS we could not eat it all so we took a doggie back home with the rest.

prices are average for this type of Mexican food and we would recommend this restaurant to anyone looking for large fajitas...

Tags: Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Seasonal, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Worst restaurant experience I've ever ha ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 2, 2016

Worst restaurant experience I've ever had, hands down!

Made a reservation at 2 pm for a 6 pm meal through Open Table(and got a confirmation). When we got there, the hostess (who told me that she's also the owner, so I'll refer to her that was from here on in) told me that they cancelled my reservation on me because they were too busy.

She said that she had called '20 minutes ago' to cancel my order.

I checked my phone and there was no call.

She then told me that she can get me a table inside in '15 to 20 minutes'.

After a half hour wait, a person in my party of 5 went to ask her how much longer it would be.

The owner told her rudely to sit back down and wait.

I went back to tell her that we were leaving after waiting 40 minutes (and driving 30 minutes to get there) and the owner seemed very confused as to who I was and wrote my name down and told me it would be 20 minutes.

When I told her that I had already been waiting 40 minutes and had already talked to her, she rudely told me that I shouldn't had made a reservation on a Friday when they have a band playing (which was not posted anywhere on their website). Like this was my fault.

I told her that that's why I made a reservation.

She then told me that she never cancelled my reservation after I confronted her about it and that it'll be another 20 minutes.

I told her that my 5 year old can't wait 90 minutes for dinner.

She told me that I should had brought food for her if she was so hungry.

Absolutely the worst service I've ever, ever, experienced. The people in line behind me looked mortified by what had happened, and the people I brought from out of town said they've never seen such a incompetent owner.

90 minutes wasted and all we got were complete head games. I was so embarrassed.

This is a story I'll be telling people for decades.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Beautiful large patio and garden!!!!! Dr ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 17, 2016

Beautiful large patio and garden!!!!! Drinks were fantastic, staff was accommodating to our change in group size. Great place for my co workers and I to chat and joke. Fajitas and taco salad were the best we have ever had. There were lots of bees but the staff informed us that we were a day early and they were spraying the next morning to try and control them. The staff made sure we all had covers for our drinks so the bees didn't fly into our glasses and set up sugar traps away from our table to make the bees go away, which worked!! Will definitely be going back to check out the live band they have on Fridays

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Nous étions un groupe de 8 amies et nous ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on June 17, 2016

Nous étions un groupe de 8 amies et nous fêtions l'anniversaire de l'une d'entre nous. Tout le monde a été ravi, tant de la qualité de la nourriture que de l'ambiance, du cadre et du service. Je recommande fortement ce restaurant.

Tags: Idéal pour le repas du midi, ldéal pour manger en plein air, Parfait pour les groupes, Une occasion spéciale
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

A Disappointing Experience

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on August 21, 2015

Worst Margarita I ever had. The dish I ordered featured mole sauce - they had none. Our server forgot to place my partner's order. The noise level was deafening. People were smoking on the patio. Not going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

great find!

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 1, 2015

We were in town for vacation and came across this place online. Was a ways from our hotel but worth the cab ride. They had a live band that was great and food and drinks were delicious!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Je trouve juste regrétable qu'il n'avait ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on May 16, 2015

Je trouve juste regrétable qu'il n'avait pas reçu ma réservation avec ma demande spéciale car je voulais faire une surprise pour célébrer son départ pour l'école national de Police du Québec :(

Tags: Parfait pour les groupes, ldéal pour manger en plein air, Une trouvaille nocturne, Une occasion spéciale
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Good menu,but a little disappointed

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on November 10, 2014

The menu was great, the neighbourhood is quaint. The meal started off with an authentic margarita, well made. The service was great! Just disappointed with my main course of burritos. The accompaniments were really tasty- guacamole, black beans, corn. I would give it one more chance

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.