Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.83mi
  2. Distance: 1.08mi
  3. Distance: 1.16mi
  4. Distance: 1.18mi
  1. Distance: 0.83mi
  2. Distance: 1.08mi
  3. Distance: 1.16mi
  4. Distance: 1.18mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.83mi
  2. Distance: 1.08mi
  3. Distance: 1.16mi
  4. Distance: 1.18mi
  1. Distance: 0.83mi
  2. Distance: 1.08mi
  3. Distance: 1.16mi
  4. Distance: 1.18mi

About Bistro Merlot

The moment you enter Bistro Merlot, you know you’re in for a treat. An exquisite interior highlighted with elegant use of tile, lighting and the perfect seating capacity makes this the ideal setting for a casual meal or a special event. But the focal point that impresses all who enter is a stunning open kitchen that offers intimacy between diner and chef, assuring you a dining experience transformed far beyond the ordinary.



Come try our casual, tranquil dining with a menu inspired by great flavors, traditions and the passion of its owner/chef. So whether you’re dreaming of one of the best Filet Mignon, Wild Pacific salmon, Kyle’s famous Cajun Shrimp Pasta or mouth-watering Jambalaya, your taste buds will ask where you’ve been all their lives.



3541 St. Charles Boulevard
Kirkland, QC h9h 3c4
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
International, Bistro, Global, International

Hours of Operation:
Monday CLOSED
Tuesday 11:30 – 2:30 5:00 - 9:00
Wednesday 11:30 – 2:30 5:00 - 9:00
Thursday 11:30 – 2:30 5:00 - 9:00
Friday 11:30 – 2:30 5:00 - 10:00
Saturday -- 5:00 – 10:00
Sunday CLOSED

Cross Street:
Brunswick

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(514) 697-8989

Website:
http://www.bistromerlot.ca/

Catering:
Whether the party is at our place or yours...
We can do the catering for you!
From formal to casual, we offer a wide variety of delicious menus that can be tailored to events of any size or budget to ensure that your event will be one to remember.


Simply give us a call for more information or an estimate for your catered event or function.

Executive Chef:
Kyle Seles

Private Party Facilities:
Our newly renovated restaurant can serve up to 100 guests. Bistro Merlot can cater to any event; birthdays, holiday parties, christenings, showers, business meetings… Chef Kyle can help you customize the perfect menu for your event.

Private Party Contact:
Melissa Sleno: (514) 697-8989

Additional:
Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wine

Bistro Merlot Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.9

ambience

4.4

value

4.8

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Birthdays (3)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
See All
Comfort Food (2)
Cozy (2)
Casual (2)
Tasting Menu (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Special Occasion (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Fireplace (1)
Authentic (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Healthy (1)
Business Meals (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (0)
Sort By:
S
52 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Great spot for lunch. Great value and service was quick and friendly.

Tags: Business Meals, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Quick Bite, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Une table incontournable de la banlieue ouest. Notre endroit préféré. J'y ai dégusté le homard mac ´n'cheese...un must à découvrir. L'accueil, le service, la nourriture en vaut le détour

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Very good food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on February 28, 2017

Great food, service and value.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Very enjoyable meal. The food was delicious and the service was very nice. The orange and cream creme brûlée was incredible

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Healthy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on February 3, 2017

I love how easy it is to get and park at the restaurant when you walk in the staff makes you feel very welcome. The waitress we had was knowledgeable and could answer all question. Once diner finished we had a wounderfull dessert great coffee. Then we received our bill that I found to be very reasonable for the service and food we had. A great time was had by all that was with me. Thank you. (Our waitress was a young girl called Kelly)

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tasting Menu, Authentic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Very interesting cuisine at a reasonable price.
Nice people and good ambiance.
Great place for a pleasant and relaxing dinner.

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Went on Friday, Jan 7 with 2 other couples. Service was excellent, friendly and attentive. Food was delicious, hot and very tasty. Wait was not long. Restaurant was about half full, which is too bad. People re missing out on a real gem. The other really positive thing is the noise level is low so you can carry on a conversation and hear the rest of your party. We all enjoyed the evening and would highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value, Cozy, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on December 20, 2016

This is just a great place to eat on the West Island. There are so many food choices on the menu that making one choice is difficult. I guess that's why I keep going back. Their lunch menu is also terrific and very reasonable. Have and would recommend Bistro Merlot !

Tags: Outstanding Value, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Great service. Food was fresh and tasty. Decor could be spiced up a bit. Very plain.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on December 18, 2016

What a pleasant find!

A really varied and eclectic menu, bringing Italian, southern and far eastern foods together. I have my meals picked out for many future visits!

Excellent wait staff who are engaging and know their menu and wine list inside out.

This was our first time, but will absolutely not be our last.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Fireplace, Spicy, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on December 13, 2016

We really enjoyed our meal, the service was great and I will be going back soon.

Tags: Authentic, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Fireplace, Fun, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on November 13, 2016

great food, service was great! loved how many options we had

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Cold atmosphere although service and food good. Needs some warmth .

Tags: Business Meals, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on August 5, 2016

Close to home, great date night with my husband. Enjoyed the food, will go back just to try other menu options. Our server was great.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on July 21, 2016

We had a nice quick meal before paint night. Enjoyed our food and wine :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Montreal)·Dined on July 15, 2016

Never disappoints!
Always delicious and great service...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on May 25, 2016

Food was extremely delicious. My friend and I had the drunken shrimp and avocado/tomato bruschetta appetizers as well as Thai Rice Bowl and Fish N'Chips. Not many tables and lots of wasted space. Décor lacklustre and forgettable.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

vip
 (Montreal)·Dined on March 17, 2016

I'm never disappointed with anything I try on the menu. Had the fish and chips...delicious!
And the blondie brownie for dessert is a must!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on February 9, 2016

This was our first time here and we will be back. Food was fresh and tasty-pizza was good, soup salad and Dumplings very good. Dessert was a decadent blonde brownie. Espresso and Cappuccino were really good - all wonderful ! Recommend - prices also good and fair .

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on January 23, 2016

The ambiance and service were excellent. The food which has an Asian influence, was good but skimpy on the meat addditives. Moderately priced. Went for dinner, but will try the luncheon menu soon. Would be an excellent choice of restaurants, had it been bring your own wine.

Tags: Late-night Find, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on November 27, 2015

As it was not my first experience at the Bistro. Everything was up to our expectations.
We had the cod, it was excellent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on November 18, 2015

The restaurant is a little too large for a cosy setting....

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

vip
 (Montreal)·Dined on November 17, 2015

The food was amazing, omg the desert!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on November 7, 2015

This was our first time at Bistro Merlot but it won't be the last!!! The service was very friendly and the food was delicious. The prices are also very reasonable. Next time we'll try to leave room for their yummy deserts!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 22, 2015

Memorable service as always, thank you Bistro Merlot! Will be back for New York Jazz night!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Montreal)·Dined on October 2, 2015

Have been there many times and we have never been disappointed. Everything is always delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on September 5, 2015

Great restaurant. Food is good. Ate a jambalaya, sure that is not the same flavour than a jambalaya in NOLA, but good.

Very nice service.

We will certainly go back

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 23, 2015

Kelly is such a delight, and the food was spectacular as usual. I could seriously eat at Bistro Merlot once a week. There are dishes to please every palate, service is always friendly and everyone I have invited to eat there can't wait to go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on August 22, 2015

We've been several times to Bistro Merlot and it never disappoints. The food is always fantastic and the staff are super friendly. The owner/chef even walks around to the different tables to see if everyone is enjoying their meal. Some of our favourite dishes include the lobster mac and cheese, jalapeno soup, blackened salmon, Korean rice bowl and the desserts are divine - toffee brownie, creme brulee, flourless chocolate torte. So good! Highly recommended!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on June 20, 2015

Wonderful filet mignon... yes, rare as requested! Soup... seafood chowder, excellent. Great staff, welcoming, enthusiastic and competent. We never waited, courses were timed perfectly. Friendly Chef Kyle. The staff and chef are wonderfully friendly with returning and new customers.
Thanks for a great dining experience. We will be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on June 17, 2015

Restaurant just moved and is now closer to us.
Tried it and found the place much nicer and brighter. Also found food to be only ok - chicken was dry. Service was too expeditious. Waiter seemed to be in a rush to serve and present invoice, although the restaurant was fairly empty.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on April 19, 2015

I had a really nice chicken dish but the potatoes taste old. I didn't like. Really good service, original dishes. I will come back another time.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on April 18, 2015

food always excellent, staff always friendly and knowledgeable

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on December 20, 2014

You MUST try the jalapeno soup! It's absolutely AMAZING!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on December 13, 2014

Eclectic choice of dishes and appetizers, that should accommodate almost anybody.
Several dishes and appetizers we tried were very tasty.
Very strongly recommended.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on November 1, 2014

Friendly and helpful staff, prompt service, a delicious meal accompanied by a private selection Pinot Noir. Certainly worth return visits to sample other items. Also worth exploring are the take-home meals from an extensive and international menu.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Montreal)·Dined on October 19, 2014

First time at this bistro - really enjoyed the food. Will definitely go back!!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 10, 2014

great food, service, setting...unassuming location......will definitely be back

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on September 6, 2014

Nice variety on the menu and our group had 4 dishes that were all great!

Even what we thought would be simple pasta dishes were made special by the great flavors in the sauces.

Calamari was perfect as well!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.