Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Thu, 5/24
Time
11:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 2 times today

Bistro Merlot

4.3
85 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
CAN$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
International
Top Tags:
  • Creative Cuisine
  • Neighborhood Gem
  • Casual
Bistro Merlot is a family-owned restaurant, offering catering services as well as take home meals for the busy families in the neighborhood.
With his heart and family in mind, Chef Kyle Seles has decided to open the doors to Bistro Merlot. With 20 years of experience in the restaurant trade, Chef Kyle has mastered various expertise of cooking.
Chef Kyle has also won several awards including top prize at Greystone’s Culinary Institute of America for Ingredients and Flavor Dynamics. Lastly, he won 1st place in a Culinary Competition with a popular concept restaurant.
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
International, Bistro, Global, International
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Lunch: Tuesday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm; Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(514) 697-8989
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Smart Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Kyle Seles
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private party facilities
Our newly renovated restaurant can serve up to 100 guests.
Bistro Merlot can cater to any event; birthdays, holiday parties, christenings, showers, business meetings…
Chef Kyle can help you customize the perfect menu for your event.
icon/ic_contactCreated with Sketch.
Private party contact
Melissa Sleno: (514) 697-8989
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
Whether the party is at our place or yours, we can do the catering for you!
From formal to casual, we offer a wide variety of delicious menus that can be tailored to events of any size or budget to ensure that your event will be one to remember.
Simply give us a call for more information or an estimate for your catered event or function.
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Brunswick
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
A variety of events are hosted and offered on a monthly basis.
Visit our website or Facebook page to obtain current details!
Additional
Bar Dining, Beer, Cocktails, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 85 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.3based on recent ratings
4.4
food
4.4
service
4.0
ambience
4.2
value
Noise · Quiet
95% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 6 days ago

Repeat customer. Great Jambalaya

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 6 days ago

Food was excellent and had paella and it had plenty of shrimp, saucage and chicken. One person asked for his meal to be less spicy, which was perfect, will gladly return

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 12, 2018

Great place for personal and business. Great food.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 4, 2018

We had a great get together with friends and both the cocktails & food were very good

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 18, 2018

Attentive service; delicious food
Wednesday is ladies night !

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 20, 2018

We decided to return as has been a while and were very happy we did! Both of us were craving the bacon and jalapeño soup so we started with that. Well worth the wait! Was even better tasting with a bit more kick of heat -Delicious! We ordered the jambalaya-spicy as well the filet mignon with linguini in cream sauce. Both were very good and tasty! Was stuffed half way thru my plate that I took rest of the jambalaya home! Ps was delicious the next day too👍. We drank our favourite drink -caipirinha-just Devine and smooth! No room for dessert this time but hopefully next time . Service was spot on .
Ps Melissa you can take me off the most wanted list lol was a happy diner this time

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 17, 2018

Very good food very good service. I have a gluten intolerance and they made adjustments to a dish that I wanted to order to make it gluten free

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 11, 2018

Great place for dinner with friends

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 3, 2018

C,est un resto qui offre un choix impressionnant de repas qui sont tous produit avec des ingrédients frais et raffinés. les goûts sont parfaits et le service vraiment bien, charmant.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 18, 2018

From service to cozy setting to delicious food everything was perfection!!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 18, 2018

Went there because I like Louisiana style jambalaya - had it twice before. I have an eating disorder and cannot digest red/green pepper (diverticulitis) - They made it for me twice before - only this time they said they could not - very disappointed. Still had a very good meal and so did our friends but not what I went there for.

Service and staff very friendly and really tried to make me something I could eat - will for sure continue to be a patron

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on February 14, 2018

I gave a poor rating for ambiance, each table had a candle, but a Valentines dinner with a full Valentines menu had not one Valentines decoration in the restaurant. Not one red heart, not one red cupid. Ayoy what is that about!!

Food was OK, but the bill was more than I expected, over $140 for 2 without any wine, just one drink each.

My dessert, the creme brule, was dissapointing to say the least, with a runny filling under the creme brule. I did not finish it.

No I would not recommend this place. Too expensive and the waitress had 0 experience. Before recommending this place, I would go back one more to see what the a la carte menu is like.

For Valentines, they should have also offered an a la carte alternative, nevertheless, the food quality did not match the rather high price. I eat out regularly at mid to expensive restaurants and did not feel real value for my $.

The waitress could not advise any food pairing, and had no opinion at all when asked.

Overall, It was my first visit, which I chose based on the good trip advisor ratings, and I do not see myself running back soon. For sure not for next valentines.

Trip advisor rated them well, so maybe a la carte is the way to go. I was unfortunately not of the same opinion as the trip advisor rating, maybe it was an off night for them, being valentines, but at $140 for a meal without any wine, there is no excuse.

Cheers!!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 27, 2018

Great food and service. However, on Saturday night there was a huge party going on and unfortunately with the open concept, it was very loud. We left right after our dinner as we couldn't even hear ourselves talking. Maybe they should do something about it, ie glass partitions to cut the sound at least ?? Also, when we made the reservation on Open Table they asked us if it was for a special occasion and we said that it was our Anniversary, but nowhere throughout the evening did anybody mention it ! Too bad, it would be been a nice gesture.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 26, 2018

Very good food and very good service. reasonable prices for food and wine...we go often. never disappointed.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on January 6, 2018

Been coming here for awhile but recent supper found the service and food taste lacking. Restaurant was quiet only 5 tables occupied. Jambalaya was always my go to meal but thus night was under seasoned and bland taste with not much heat. Ate better previous times! Service was ok not attentive. Never heard of being charged for a coffee refill but they do charge and do not advise you when offering s refill. It’s the principle of advising a customer that there is a cost of refill so you can decide if u want to pay extra . Never had this happen at any other restaurant I have visited ?! Even breakfast places offer free refills ! Anyway was a disappointing evening .

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 27, 2017

Ladies Nights on Wednesdays & Tapas Nights were greatly enjoyed by all.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 14, 2017

Delicious lunch and great service! Lots of choices.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on November 30, 2017

Very enjoyable Good food....Good service
We were there on a paint night..although we did not join in it was fun watching.
We would certainly return to try something different

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on November 23, 2017

Slow service this time around but food was delicious ! Had the bacon and jalapeño soup- really good! I had the Tuna Poke bowl -large bowl with nice portion of tuna in pieces with rice, spinach, kimchi, edamame, avocado, onions and nice dressing . Couldn’t eat all A’s was big and filling. My friend has the filet mignon sandwich with fries and gravy on side. Cooked perfectly as asked for and delicious with portobello mushroom in bun as well.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on November 1, 2017

My friends and I really enjoyed our food.Our waitress was very friendly. Service was good. Will be going back!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on October 28, 2017

The food was excellent. The service was friendly and for the most part , prompt.
The background music was not too loud, so it was easy to keep a good conversation going.
We will definitly visit this restaurant again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 27, 2017

The waiter and waitress were very attentive. You weren't rushed. The menu options were creative. I'd go back.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on October 14, 2017

The only negative

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on October 13, 2017

Another good evening for supper at Bistro Merlot. Lots of great choices on Table d’Hote menu. We had the Brazilian shrimp with penne a d the Thai chicken satay with vegetables and noodles with peanut butter sauce.. both were delicious and filling-good size portions. Then we shared a dessert -brownie with toffee and ice cream delicious .
We drank a caipirinha and a red stripe beer.
Great efficient, attentive and quick service thru out the evening
Bin appetit!!
Will be coming back for sure !

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 23, 2017

Great food. Super presentation and service.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on August 9, 2017

Bistro Merlot had been recommended to us. We we were very pleased. A surprise was that it was Ladies night with a special menu.
The regular menu contains something for everyone. The lobster mac and cheese was delicious as was the filet mignon sandwich.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on August 3, 2017

Happy that Bistro Merlot proved that last dining experience there was just a hiccup. We were there for a paint nite and therefore only had time to order mains so I had the Kyle cajun shrimp pasta and DH had the Korean Poke Bowl. Both extremely flavorful. The poke bowl is quite a big serving. Service was very quick and the meal has now erased the memory of a failed fish and chips main that I had there last time. Prior to that all experiences had been positive but that one was a fail.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on July 14, 2017

First visit. Had the peanut dumplings, and then the filet mignon. All done perfectly. Definitely going back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 29, 2017

Great gem in strip mall! Choices from pasta, pizza, seafood, steak, chicken, salads as well as vegetarian . Many styles available -Asian fusion, creole, Italian. Recommend the bacon jalapeño soup with crusted pastry topping-delicious! The lobster Mac n cheese -very flavourful and good size portion for the $ you pay. Jambalaya with chicken/sausage/shrimp and veggies was spicy and very appetizing! For dessert suggest the toffee brownie with vanilla ice cream -yummy. Great wine list ; by the glass and the bottle) as well as beer and cocktails for the non wine drinkers. Meal -$35 and under for mains; appetizers -$15 and less.
Highly recommend a visit and we will definitely return! Bon appetit!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 9, 2017

Although location-wise it's not a 5 due to its commercial mall location, they've done a great job making you forget once inside! Food is creative, eclectic and very nicely presented! Tastes great as well! We'll return!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 25, 2017

Very tasty! Great lunch menu. Would recommend.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 13, 2017

Our Mother's day dinner was very satisfying.Considering that on days like this there are many groups ,Bistro Merlot delivered fantastic food and fine service. I measure a restaurant in how they perform when they are busy,and the people here came through with flying colours.
We were a group of 6 and all had something different from a very diverse and interesting menu. All six were extremely satisfied with our choices.
Bravo!!!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 10, 2017

I visited at lunch & they have several lunch combo options.
We had the soup of the moment which was a chicken broth with pieces of breast, rice, chick peas & herbs. It was very good.
I had the crispy orange sesame chicken in a soya sauce with rice & assorted veggies it was very good.
My guest had the chicken wrap with fries, they said it was great & the portion was very generous.
We shared the white brownie ice cream with toffee sauce. Highly recommended !!
To bad the coffee/ aren't included in the 2 plate combo @ $16 each.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 31, 2017

Great spot for lunch. Great value and service was quick and friendly.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 16, 2017

Une table incontournable de la banlieue ouest. Notre endroit préféré. J'y ai dégusté le homard mac ´n'cheese...un must à découvrir. L'accueil, le service, la nourriture en vaut le détour

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 8, 2017

Very good food

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 28, 2017

Great food, service and value.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 11, 2017

Very enjoyable meal. The food was delicious and the service was very nice. The orange and cream creme brûlée was incredible

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 3, 2017

I love how easy it is to get and park at the restaurant when you walk in the staff makes you feel very welcome. The waitress we had was knowledgeable and could answer all question. Once diner finished we had a wounderfull dessert great coffee. Then we received our bill that I found to be very reasonable for the service and food we had. A great time was had by all that was with me. Thank you. (Our waitress was a young girl called Kelly)

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 21, 2017

Very interesting cuisine at a reasonable price.
Nice people and good ambiance.
Great place for a pleasant and relaxing dinner.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3