About Bistro Merlot

3541 St. Charles Boulevard
Kirkland, QC h9h 3c4
View Larger Map

The moment you enter Bistro Merlot, you know you’re in for a treat. An exquisite interior highlighted with elegant use of tile, lighting and the perfect seating capacity makes this the ideal setting for a casual meal or a special event. But the focal point that impresses all who enter is a stunning open kitchen that offers intimacy between diner and chef, assuring you a dining experience transformed far beyond the ordinary.



Come try our casual, tranquil dining with a menu inspired by great flavors, traditions and the passion of its owner/chef. So whether you’re dreaming of one of the best Filet Mignon, Wild Pacific salmon, Kyle’s famous Cajun Shrimp Pasta or mouth-watering Jambalaya, your taste buds will ask where you’ve been all their lives.



Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
International, Bistro, Global, International

Hours of Operation:
Monday CLOSED
Tuesday 11:30 – 2:30 5:00 - 9:00
Wednesday 11:30 – 2:30 5:00 - 9:00
Thursday 11:30 – 2:30 5:00 - 9:00
Friday 11:30 – 2:30 5:00 - 10:00
Saturday -- 5:00 – 10:00
Sunday CLOSED

Cross Street:
Brunswick

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(514) 697-8989

Website:
http://www.bistromerlot.ca/

Catering:
Whether the party is at our place or yours...
We can do the catering for you!
From formal to casual, we offer a wide variety of delicious menus that can be tailored to events of any size or budget to ensure that your event will be one to remember.


Simply give us a call for more information or an estimate for your catered event or function.

Executive Chef:
Kyle Seles

Private Party Facilities:
Our newly renovated restaurant can serve up to 100 guests. Bistro Merlot can cater to any event; birthdays, holiday parties, christenings, showers, business meetings… Chef Kyle can help you customize the perfect menu for your event.

Private Party Contact:
Melissa Sleno: 5146978989x

Additional:
Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Takeout, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Bistro Merlot
  • Jerked Pork Wit
  • Beer, Bacon, Chipotle Mac N Cheese
  • Filet Mignon And Crab
  • Indian Butter Shrimp
  • Lobster Spring Rolls
  • Maple Salmon
Bistro Merlot
Jerked Pork Wit
Beer, Bacon, Chipotle Mac N Cheese
Filet Mignon And Crab
Indian Butter Shrimp
Lobster Spring Rolls
Maple Salmon

Bistro Merlot Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.7

ambience

3.8

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

neighborhood gem (8)
fit for foodies (5)
good for groups (5)
See All
notable wine list (3)
great for lunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
35 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

Excellent food, well priced...zero ambience

Dined on May 25, 2016

Food was extremely delicious. My friend and I had the drunken shrimp and avocado/tomato bruschetta appetizers as well as Thai Rice Bowl and Fish N'Chips. Not many tables and lots of wasted space. Décor lacklustre and forgettable.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

I'm never disappointed with anything I t ...

vip
Dined on March 17, 2016

I'm never disappointed with anything I try on the menu. Had the fish and chips...delicious! And the blondie brownie for dessert is a must!

food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Wonderful Hidden GEm

Dined on February 9, 2016

This was our first time here and we will be back. Food was fresh and tasty-pizza was good, soup salad and Dumplings very good. Dessert was a decadent blonde brownie. Espresso and Cappuccino were really good - all wonderful ! Recommend - prices also good and fair .

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

The ambiance and service were excellent. ...

Dined on January 23, 2016

The ambiance and service were excellent. The food which has an Asian influence, was good but skimpy on the meat addditives. Moderately priced. Went for dinner, but will try the luncheon menu soon. Would be an excellent choice of restaurants, had it been bring your own wine.

Tags: special occasion, late-night find
food5
ambience3
service5

Fantastic

Dined on November 27, 2015

As it was not my first experience at the Bistro. Everything was up to our expectations. We had the cod, it was excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service5

Great!

Dined on November 18, 2015

The restaurant is a little too large for a cosy setting....

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

The food was amazing, omg the desert!

vip
Dined on November 17, 2015

The food was amazing, omg the desert!

food4
ambience4
service4

Worth discovering

Dined on November 7, 2015

This was our first time at Bistro Merlot but it won't be the last!!! The service was very friendly and the food was delicious. The prices are also very reasonable. Next time we'll try to leave room for their yummy deserts!

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Memorable service as always, thank you B ...

Dined on October 22, 2015

Memorable service as always, thank you Bistro Merlot! Will be back for New York Jazz night!

food5
ambience5
service5

Have been there many times and we have n ...

vip
Dined on October 2, 2015

Have been there many times and we have never been disappointed. Everything is always delicious!

food5
ambience2
service5

Great restaurant

Dined on September 5, 2015

Great restaurant. Food is good. Ate a jambalaya, sure that is not the same flavour than a jambalaya in NOLA, but good. Very nice service. We will certainly go back

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Brought friends again...what a hit!

Dined on August 23, 2015

Kelly is such a delight, and the food was spectacular as usual. I could seriously eat at Bistro Merlot once a week. There are dishes to please every palate, service is always friendly and everyone I have invited to eat there can't wait to go back.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great restaurant!

Dined on August 22, 2015

We've been several times to Bistro Merlot and it never disappoints. The food is always fantastic and the staff are super friendly. The owner/chef even walks around to the different tables to see if everyone is enjoying their meal. Some of our favourite dishes include the lobster mac and cheese, jalapeno soup, blackened salmon, Korean rice bowl and the desserts are divine - toffee brownie, creme brulee, flourless chocolate torte. So good! Highly recommended!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service5

A great West Island find!

Dined on June 20, 2015

Wonderful filet mignon... yes, rare as requested! Soup... seafood chowder, excellent. Great staff, welcoming, enthusiastic and competent. We never waited, courses were timed perfectly. Friendly Chef Kyle. The staff and chef are wonderfully friendly with returning and new customers. Thanks for a great dining experience. We will be back.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service2

Merlot Review - so/so

Dined on June 17, 2015

Restaurant just moved and is now closer to us. Tried it and found the place much nicer and brighter. Also found food to be only ok - chicken was dry. Service was too expeditious. Waiter seemed to be in a rush to serve and present invoice, although the restaurant was fairly empty.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service4

I had a really nice chicken dish but the ...

Dined on April 19, 2015

I had a really nice chicken dish but the potatoes taste old. I didn't like. Really good service, original dishes. I will come back another time.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4

great place

Dined on April 18, 2015

food always excellent, staff always friendly and knowledgeable

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4

You MUST try the jalapeno soup! It's abs ...

Dined on December 20, 2014

You MUST try the jalapeno soup! It's absolutely AMAZING!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5

Relaxed dining

Dined on December 13, 2014

Eclectic choice of dishes and appetizers, that should accommodate almost anybody. Several dishes and appetizers we tried were very tasty. Very strongly recommended.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Bistro Merlot - West Island Gem

Dined on November 1, 2014

Friendly and helpful staff, prompt service, a delicious meal accompanied by a private selection Pinot Noir. Certainly worth return visits to sample other items. Also worth exploring are the take-home meals from an extensive and international menu.

Tags: neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service3

Great food!

vip
Dined on October 19, 2014

First time at this bistro - really enjoyed the food. Will definitely go back!!!

Tags: neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5

Hidden gem

Dined on October 10, 2014

great food, service, setting...unassuming location......will definitely be back

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

Great food and service

Dined on September 6, 2014

Nice variety on the menu and our group had 4 dishes that were all great! Even what we thought would be simple pasta dishes were made special by the great flavors in the sauces. Calamari was perfect as well!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

Great menu - good service

vip
Dined on August 17, 2014

We really enjoyed our dinner (group of 5). The menu is has a nice international variety, everything seemed to be freshly prepared in the kitchen. Also very nicely presented and all dishes (we had 5 different) came out warm on time and tasted very good. The service was excellent. The place is somewhat hidden in a residential neighborhood but the inside decor is very nice.

Tags: kid-friendly, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service5

Nice meal

Dined on August 16, 2014

I was looking for a place in the west island for a nice meal. This is a nice spot, with a good menu.

food4
ambience3
service4

Always good

vip
Dined on August 2, 2014

We've been here 4-5 times now, and have always had a very good dining experience. The menu is varied enough to suit all appetites and tastebuds, the 'special' menu always adds more interesting choices, and the service is always friendly and efficient. Kudos to whomever suggests wine pairings for the special menu - they are spot on!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service4

Something for everyone

Dined on July 12, 2014

Food is always very good with lots off different flavours, so something for all different food palates. Only complaint is the noise level. Would be good if some sort of noise absorbing material could be installed to absorb the noise. Great for a fun night out with friends but would not attempt a romantic evening.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience2
service4

Good Neighborhood Resto

Dined on July 3, 2014

It wasn't our first visit but we enjoyed it more for some reason this time around. From the appetizers to the main, including the wine, everything was tasty & the service was very friendly. I would recommend this place & would love more people to find out about Merlot since it is hidden in the neighborhood.

Tags: romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

I'll be back!

vip
Dined on June 11, 2014

I had heard of Bistro Merlot, but had never been. When I saw the restaurant's name featured in a recent LivingSocial deal ($18 for $40 worth of food/drinks), I bought it. We also went on Ladies' Night (Wednesdays) and chose the table d'hôte, which is normally around $15, but because we were using our voucher and the restaurant's rule - which I think is very fair and understandable - that two promotions cannot be combined, our table d'hôtes were $22.00. We each had salad and delicious thin-crust pizza with asparagus and brie, along with wine. The desserts were also decadent and satisfying. The ambience was quiet and intimate, the space nicely decorated. This was my first time at Bistro Merlot, but it will definitely not be my last!

Tags: romantic, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4

Nice neighborhood dining spot

Dined on May 31, 2014

The food was good as was the service. Bring a sweater or dinner jacket, as I found the dining area quite cold.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience2
service4

Great food, ambiance lacking

Dined on April 11, 2014

Spectacular food and great if you live in the neighborhood. They really have to work on the ambiance, but the gastronomic experience was very good.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service4

Nice Evening

Dined on March 5, 2014

We went on a wednesday night during spring break & it was quiet. I had already visited twice & the food was better this time around. We started with the dumplings, which were very tasty & so were our mains. The service was also very good & I look forward on my next visit.

food4
ambience3
service4

Food was excellent

Dined on February 9, 2014

Would rate a 5 except place was over heated extremely hot very uncomfortable they did lower heating but it was heated up every time heat kicked in.however food was excellent and presentation amazing.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious dinner - again

Dined on January 25, 2014

We had another delicious dinner at Bistro Merlot on Saturday. It is very close to home and such a wonderful restaurant. We ordered the Penne Mendocino, the Fish and Chips and the chicken fingers. All were a hit. Keep up the delicious meals......your restaurant is a true gem.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service4

Great Food !

Dined on January 1, 2014

Went for New Year's Eve, great menu. Liked that they had a vegetarian option. Food looked and tasted great. Service was good and staff was pleasant. Wouldn't of known about this place is it wasn't for OpenTable. Great find, we will return for sure to try out the regular menu

Tags: neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.