Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.83mi
  2. Distance: 1.08mi
  3. Distance: 1.16mi
  4. Distance: 1.18mi
  1. Distance: 0.83mi
  2. Distance: 1.08mi
  3. Distance: 1.16mi
  4. Distance: 1.18mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.83mi
  2. Distance: 1.08mi
  3. Distance: 1.16mi
  4. Distance: 1.18mi
  1. Distance: 0.83mi
  2. Distance: 1.08mi
  3. Distance: 1.16mi
  4. Distance: 1.18mi

About Bistro Merlot

The moment you enter Bistro Merlot, you know you’re in for a treat. An exquisite interior highlighted with elegant use of tile, lighting and the perfect seating capacity makes this the ideal setting for a casual meal or a special event. But the focal point that impresses all who enter is a stunning open kitchen that offers intimacy between diner and chef, assuring you a dining experience transformed far beyond the ordinary.



Come try our casual, tranquil dining with a menu inspired by great flavors, traditions and the passion of its owner/chef. So whether you’re dreaming of one of the best Filet Mignon, Wild Pacific salmon, Kyle’s famous Cajun Shrimp Pasta or mouth-watering Jambalaya, your taste buds will ask where you’ve been all their lives.



3541 St. Charles Boulevard
Kirkland, QC h9h 3c4
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
International, Bistro, Global, International

Hours of Operation:
Monday CLOSED
Tuesday 11:30 – 2:30 5:00 - 9:00
Wednesday 11:30 – 2:30 5:00 - 9:00
Thursday 11:30 – 2:30 5:00 - 9:00
Friday 11:30 – 2:30 5:00 - 10:00
Saturday -- 5:00 – 10:00
Sunday CLOSED

Cross Street:
Brunswick

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(514) 697-8989

Website:
http://www.bistromerlot.ca/

Catering:
Whether the party is at our place or yours...
We can do the catering for you!
From formal to casual, we offer a wide variety of delicious menus that can be tailored to events of any size or budget to ensure that your event will be one to remember.


Simply give us a call for more information or an estimate for your catered event or function.

Executive Chef:
Kyle Seles

Private Party Facilities:
Our newly renovated restaurant can serve up to 100 guests. Bistro Merlot can cater to any event; birthdays, holiday parties, christenings, showers, business meetings… Chef Kyle can help you customize the perfect menu for your event.

Private Party Contact:
Melissa Sleno: (514) 697-8989

Additional:
Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wine

Bistro Merlot Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

3.9

value

4.3

Noise

Quiet

93% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (6)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Casual (4)
See All
Good for a Date (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Healthy (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Tapas (2)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Business Meals (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Romantic (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sort by
S
69 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 2 days ago

Delicious lunch and great service! Lots of choices.

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 30, 2017

Very enjoyable Good food....Good service
We were there on a paint night..although we did not join in it was fun watching.
We would certainly return to try something different

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Montreal)·Dined on November 23, 2017

Slow service this time around but food was delicious ! Had the bacon and jalapeño soup- really good! I had the Tuna Poke bowl -large bowl with nice portion of tuna in pieces with rice, spinach, kimchi, edamame, avocado, onions and nice dressing . Couldn’t eat all A’s was big and filling. My friend has the filet mignon sandwich with fries and gravy on side. Cooked perfectly as asked for and delicious with portobello mushroom in bun as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on November 1, 2017

My friends and I really enjoyed our food.Our waitress was very friendly. Service was good. Will be going back!

Tags: Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on October 28, 2017

The food was excellent. The service was friendly and for the most part , prompt.
The background music was not too loud, so it was easy to keep a good conversation going.
We will definitly visit this restaurant again.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Gluten Free Options
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 27, 2017

The waiter and waitress were very attentive. You weren't rushed. The menu options were creative. I'd go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on October 14, 2017

The only negative

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Montreal)·Dined on October 13, 2017

Another good evening for supper at Bistro Merlot. Lots of great choices on Table d’Hote menu. We had the Brazilian shrimp with penne a d the Thai chicken satay with vegetables and noodles with peanut butter sauce.. both were delicious and filling-good size portions. Then we shared a dessert -brownie with toffee and ice cream delicious .
We drank a caipirinha and a red stripe beer.
Great efficient, attentive and quick service thru out the evening
Bin appetit!!
Will be coming back for sure !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Montreal)·Dined on September 24, 2017

Great food. Super presentation and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 9, 2017

Bistro Merlot had been recommended to us. We we were very pleased. A surprise was that it was Ladies night with a special menu.
The regular menu contains something for everyone. The lobster mac and cheese was delicious as was the filet mignon sandwich.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Casual, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on August 3, 2017

Happy that Bistro Merlot proved that last dining experience there was just a hiccup. We were there for a paint nite and therefore only had time to order mains so I had the Kyle cajun shrimp pasta and DH had the Korean Poke Bowl. Both extremely flavorful. The poke bowl is quite a big serving. Service was very quick and the meal has now erased the memory of a failed fish and chips main that I had there last time. Prior to that all experiences had been positive but that one was a fail.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Montreal)·Dined on July 14, 2017

First visit. Had the peanut dumplings, and then the filet mignon. All done perfectly. Definitely going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Montreal)·Dined on June 29, 2017

Great gem in strip mall! Choices from pasta, pizza, seafood, steak, chicken, salads as well as vegetarian . Many styles available -Asian fusion, creole, Italian. Recommend the bacon jalapeño soup with crusted pastry topping-delicious! The lobster Mac n cheese -very flavourful and good size portion for the $$ you pay. Jambalaya with chicken/sausage/shrimp and veggies was spicy and very appetizing! For dessert suggest the toffee brownie with vanilla ice cream -yummy. Great wine list ; by the glass and the bottle) as well as beer and cocktails for the non wine drinkers. Meal -$35 and under for mains; appetizers -$15 and less.
Highly recommend a visit and we will definitely return! Bon appetit!

Tags: Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Tapas, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Disabled Access, Casual, Great Beer, Fit for Foodies, Quick Bite, Cozy, Authentic, Gluten Free Options, Spicy, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Although location-wise it's not a 5 due to its commercial mall location, they've done a great job making you forget once inside! Food is creative, eclectic and very nicely presented! Tastes great as well! We'll return!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Casual, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Vegan, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 25, 2017

Very tasty! Great lunch menu. Would recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Our Mother's day dinner was very satisfying.Considering that on days like this there are many groups ,Bistro Merlot delivered fantastic food and fine service. I measure a restaurant in how they perform when they are busy,and the people here came through with flying colours.
We were a group of 6 and all had something different from a very diverse and interesting menu. All six were extremely satisfied with our choices.
Bravo!!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Montreal)·Dined on May 10, 2017

I visited at lunch & they have several lunch combo options.
We had the soup of the moment which was a chicken broth with pieces of breast, rice, chick peas & herbs. It was very good.
I had the crispy orange sesame chicken in a soya sauce with rice & assorted veggies it was very good.
My guest had the chicken wrap with fries, they said it was great & the portion was very generous.
We shared the white brownie ice cream with toffee sauce. Highly recommended !!
To bad the coffee/ aren't included in the 2 plate combo @ $16 each.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Great spot for lunch. Great value and service was quick and friendly.

Tags: Business Meals, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Quick Bite, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Une table incontournable de la banlieue ouest. Notre endroit préféré. J'y ai dégusté le homard mac ´n'cheese...un must à découvrir. L'accueil, le service, la nourriture en vaut le détour

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Very good food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on February 28, 2017

Great food, service and value.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Very enjoyable meal. The food was delicious and the service was very nice. The orange and cream creme brûlée was incredible

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Healthy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on February 3, 2017

I love how easy it is to get and park at the restaurant when you walk in the staff makes you feel very welcome. The waitress we had was knowledgeable and could answer all question. Once diner finished we had a wounderfull dessert great coffee. Then we received our bill that I found to be very reasonable for the service and food we had. A great time was had by all that was with me. Thank you. (Our waitress was a young girl called Kelly)

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tasting Menu, Authentic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Very interesting cuisine at a reasonable price.
Nice people and good ambiance.
Great place for a pleasant and relaxing dinner.

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Went on Friday, Jan 7 with 2 other couples. Service was excellent, friendly and attentive. Food was delicious, hot and very tasty. Wait was not long. Restaurant was about half full, which is too bad. People re missing out on a real gem. The other really positive thing is the noise level is low so you can carry on a conversation and hear the rest of your party. We all enjoyed the evening and would highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value, Cozy, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on December 20, 2016

This is just a great place to eat on the West Island. There are so many food choices on the menu that making one choice is difficult. I guess that's why I keep going back. Their lunch menu is also terrific and very reasonable. Have and would recommend Bistro Merlot !

Tags: Outstanding Value, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Great service. Food was fresh and tasty. Decor could be spiced up a bit. Very plain.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on December 17, 2016

What a pleasant find!

A really varied and eclectic menu, bringing Italian, southern and far eastern foods together. I have my meals picked out for many future visits!

Excellent wait staff who are engaging and know their menu and wine list inside out.

This was our first time, but will absolutely not be our last.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fun, Spicy, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on December 13, 2016

We really enjoyed our meal, the service was great and I will be going back soon.

Tags: Authentic, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on November 12, 2016

great food, service was great! loved how many options we had

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Cold atmosphere although service and food good. Needs some warmth .

Tags: Business Meals, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on August 5, 2016

Close to home, great date night with my husband. Enjoyed the food, will go back just to try other menu options. Our server was great.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on July 21, 2016

We had a nice quick meal before paint night. Enjoyed our food and wine :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Montreal)·Dined on July 15, 2016

Never disappoints!
Always delicious and great service...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on May 25, 2016

Food was extremely delicious. My friend and I had the drunken shrimp and avocado/tomato bruschetta appetizers as well as Thai Rice Bowl and Fish N'Chips. Not many tables and lots of wasted space. Décor lacklustre and forgettable.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

vip
 (Montreal)·Dined on March 17, 2016

I'm never disappointed with anything I try on the menu. Had the fish and chips...delicious!
And the blondie brownie for dessert is a must!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on February 9, 2016

This was our first time here and we will be back. Food was fresh and tasty-pizza was good, soup salad and Dumplings very good. Dessert was a decadent blonde brownie. Espresso and Cappuccino were really good - all wonderful ! Recommend - prices also good and fair .

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on January 23, 2016

The ambiance and service were excellent. The food which has an Asian influence, was good but skimpy on the meat addditives. Moderately priced. Went for dinner, but will try the luncheon menu soon. Would be an excellent choice of restaurants, had it been bring your own wine.

Tags: Late-night Find, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on November 27, 2015

As it was not my first experience at the Bistro. Everything was up to our expectations.
We had the cod, it was excellent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on November 18, 2015

The restaurant is a little too large for a cosy setting....

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.